View Full Version : Murray Football League
Nah mate we've got Barooga at Barooga. We all like that ground, so i'm tipping an upset in our favour.
Mulwala's Lee James is ment to go alright, let me know after this weekend if he's overrated.
Good luck.
P.S. what about Campell, is it true???
Oh my mistake, the MFL website is stuffed up. Yeah good luck for that, Barooga's ground is beautiful so long as it's not wet.
RoadRunner11
20 Jun 2007, 18:17
Nah mate we've got Barooga at Barooga. We all like that ground, so i'm tipping an upset in our favour.
Mulwala's Lee James is ment to go alright, let me know after this weekend if he's overrated.
Good luck.
P.S. what about Campell, is it true???
Goodgolly, i can confirm for you that Lee James can definately play. We played mulwala on the weekend and he did some extraordinary things. He's not overly tall but is built like a brick s#*t house and he can jump.
no left foot
21 Jun 2007, 11:45
Hey willo can you confirm or deny the rumours about Guy Campbell, Is he retiring?
If Campbell is retired or even missing for a while this will be a huge loss as I'm pretty sure Dale Reyne will miss a few more weeks also. How will United go missing these two big marking targets? Also they have a very big next three weeks, a few guys will need to step up if they plan on winning. Have they got the depth to cover these losses? What are their bigmen stocks like? Could be a rough few weeks for United!!!!!!!!
goodgolly24
21 Jun 2007, 15:57
This just in, Rupert Betheras is set to return this week for Rumbalara. From all reports he's kept reasonably fit in the time off and will be a handy inclusion with the loss of Jarrod Atkinson (VFL), and the absent Guthrie. Despite what people think of him, he's a 30-40 possesion winner and he'll be handy to have back.:)
themagicfrog
21 Jun 2007, 17:03
just a quick question about the Tony / Toc ressy game on the weekend, know a bloke that played for Toc in the game a he is telling me that he kicked 4 goals for the game yet the net says that Toc only kicked 6 points total for the game, is the score right on the net? or is he talking shit.
Hank did you see any of the game?
Simmy #18
21 Jun 2007, 17:31
just a quick question about the Tony / Toc ressy game on the weekend, know a bloke that played for Toc in the game a he is telling me that he kicked 4 goals for the game yet the net says that Toc only kicked 6 points total for the game, is the score right on the net? or is he talking shit.
I was watchin after the 17's and their ressies didnt kick any goals!! He's dribble'n shit too ya mate!
Yeah frog no goals scored for the Toc twos.
themagicfrog
22 Jun 2007, 09:30
Yeah frog no goals scored for the Toc twos.
Thanks, makes things a little more interesting
Round 12 tips:
Barooga v Rumbalara
Echuca United v Mulwala
Tocumwal v Deniliquin Rams
Numurkah v Tongala
Nathalia v Cobram
Finley v Moama
Congupna Bye
chooken
22 Jun 2007, 15:41
He's havin a run for cobram. I did'nt play against them but from what i hear he goe's alright. There strugling again this year but hopefully things will turn around for them.
have played a bit of footy with jas kerr. great bloke, and great player in his day, getting old but still has a huge engine.... good to hear hes going ok.
goodgolly24
22 Jun 2007, 20:08
Round 12 tips:
Barooga v Rumbalara
Echuca United v Mulwala
Numurkah v Tongala
Nathalia v Cobram
Finley v Moama
Congupna Bye
Barooga v Rumbalara
Echuca v Mulwala
Tocumwal v Deniliquin
Numurkah v Tongala
Nathalia v Cobram
Finley v Moama
Round 12 tips:
Barooga v Rumbalara
Echuca United v Mulwala
Numurkah v Tongala
Nathalia v Cobram
Finley v Moama
Congupna Bye
Same, except cant see United getting over Mully:thumbsu:.
Today's results:
Barooga 19.10 (124) v Rumbalara 14.14 (98)
Echuca United 11.8 (74) v Mulwala 21.14 (140)
Tocumwal 9.6 (60) v Deniliquin Rams 14.16 (100)
Numurkah 18.20 (128) v Tongala 6.6 (42)
Nathalia 32.18 (210) v Cobram 3.4 (22)
Finley 26.14 (170) v Moama 8.10 (58)
Rumbalara performed well against Barooga, Mulwala were too good for United, Deniliquin lifted and rolled Tocumwal, Numurkah too good for Tongala, Parker booted 13 majors for Nathalia against Cobram, and Finley big winners over Moama.
Can anyone give some insight into any of the games?
goodgolly24
24 Jun 2007, 01:23
Barooga just too good for us in the end.
We had 16 on the field at one stage (yellow carded for swearing!!!!) but that's no excuse. they got a little lead at that time but we pegged them back to go into the last quarter almost even. a couple of stiff umpire decisions later and we down by allot. we got 2 goals back late in the term, and kinda started to build some momentum but the damage was done ad time ran out. Barooga's not to be underestimated but are by no means outside our reach. . . . maybe next time.:)
I would like to know if anyones got any idea how much they've spent on players up there???
Mud_guts
24 Jun 2007, 05:51
rumour has it cobrams gun forward Ross was only kept to 1 goal in their loss to nathalia which had a dramatic affect on the outcome of the game. maybe he needs to drop a couple of kilos in order to be a real match winner and key position player, possibly even lose a couple of inches off the wigg in order to be able to see the pill:thumbsu:. stick at it old son it will come naturally.
We had 16 on the field at one stage (yellow carded for swearing!!!!) but that's no excuse. they got a little lead at that time but we pegged them back to go into the last quarter almost even. a couple of stiff umpire decisions later and we down by allot. we got 2 goals back late in the term, and kinda started to build some momentum but the damage was done ad time ran out. Barooga's not to be underestimated but are by no means outside our reach. . . . maybe next time.:)
I would like to know if anyones got any idea how much they've spent on players up there???
Although I haven't got a solid figure of what they have spent, they do have a massive amount of backing from the Barooga Sports Club. To have recruited about 5-6 GVFL players and another 3-4 from surrounding leagues, they obviously have a very big budget to utilise. Mulwala are the same, as they are backed by the Mulwala Watersports Club.
centerfield
24 Jun 2007, 13:36
Goodgollly, the amount of money other teams have paid to there player is not has nothing to do with ruma losing yesterday! the fact is we are to unfit,the gamewas there to be won but we were 2 unfit thats it,but I predicted will play in a grand final in the next 1-4 years
goodgolly24
24 Jun 2007, 17:30
Goodgollly, the amount of money other teams have paid to there player is not has nothing to do with rubma losing yesterday! the fact is we are to unfit,the gamewas there to be won but we were 2 unfit thats it,but I predicted will play in a grand final in the next 1-4 years
Centrefield, I was by no means trying to make excuse for our lose, we were simply outclassed at the end of the day. I've heard different thing's about thier budget and wanted a second opinion (hopefully more accurate). . . . . SO SHUT YOUR MOUTH!!!:eek::p:eek:
RoadRunner11
24 Jun 2007, 21:59
Today's results:
Rumbalara performed well against Barooga, Mulwala were too good for United, Deniliquin lifted and rolled Tocumwal, Numurkah too good for Tongala, Parker booted 13 majors for Nathalia against Cobram, and Finley big winners over Moama.
Finley v moama started with both sides kicking a couple of goals each early in the 1st qtr, we thought that it might come down to a shoot out but we lifted our intensity and moama didn't match us. Moama had a couple of winners in there positions for the day (Hudson on a wing, van der slys was good, eldridge was serviceable although his opponent kicked 6).
Willo, how did your game go? Where you in front at any stage? Did Dale Reyne play? If not is he due back soon?
Today's results:
Rams very good on Saturday, still very very young and as opposed to last year they are very fit after a long and hard preseason. Toc only the one goal up to half time but came out after that and played much better footy.
Still have quite a few senior players out with injuries, which has made way for some young boys to come through and they are having a red hot go and there is a great feeling at the club this year and mark my word, Rams will be a force again in the next few years when our young kids develop bigger bodies and expeirence.
Rams will beat Numurkah this Saturday.
Cheers:thumbsu:.
Finley v moama started with both sides kicking a couple of goals each early in the 1st qtr, we thought that it might come down to a shoot out but we lifted our intensity and moama didn't match us. Moama had a couple of winners in there positions for the day (Hudson on a wing, van der slys was good, eldridge was serviceable although his opponent kicked 6).
Willo, how did your game go? Where you in front at any stage? Did Dale Reyne play? If not is he due back soon?
Obviously in the end we were flogged, but we did play some very good football. Although we weren't in front at any stage, we were right in it at the 5 minute mark of the last quarter kicking the first 2 goals. Unfortunately Mulwala lifted another cog and kicked 7 goals to bury us.
Dale is a big chance to play this weekend against you blokes. How are you going for injuries and team strength?
RoadRunner11
25 Jun 2007, 18:59
Obviously in the end we were flogged, but we did play some very good football. Although we weren't in front at any stage, we were right in it at the 5 minute mark of the last quarter kicking the first 2 goals. Unfortunately Mulwala lifted another cog and kicked 7 goals to bury us.
Dale is a big chance to play this weekend against you blokes. How are you going for injuries and team strength?
No major injuries at this stage which has been good for us. A few little niggles but nothing major. Not sure if we will be at full strength. There is school rep footy this weekend apparently which a couple of our younger boys are involved in. Not to sure if the coach will be happy about them not playing??? What about you boys? Any injuries?
chicken38
25 Jun 2007, 20:01
No major injuries at this stage which has been good for us. A few little niggles but nothing major. Not sure if we will be at full strength. There is school rep footy this weekend apparently which a couple of our younger boys are involved in. Not to sure if the coach will be happy about them not playing??? What about you boys? Any injuries?
gday buddy just wondering is matty jackson going to put in a last minute clearance doesnt seem to be getting much of a go at yarra now would be a handy pick up:thumbsu:
RoadRunner11
25 Jun 2007, 21:54
gday buddy just wondering is matty jackson going to put in a last minute clearance doesnt seem to be getting much of a go at yarra now would be a handy pick up:thumbsu:
Gday chicken, yeah would definately be a handy pick up at this stage of the season. I was talking to him a couple of weeks ago about coming home but i don't think he will be. He is only young and is trying to crack it in a premiership side, so i guess he will be in and out of the side a bit. I noticed he was in the best in the seconds again on the weekend, so he might get another crack in the next week or so. I noticed you where back playing again? Whats happening at your club. Beaten by the bottom side on the weekend?????
oldstyle
26 Jun 2007, 10:15
Hey willo can you tell us any more about Guy Campbell, Is he back playing or not and if not will he be back and when????
goodgolly24
26 Jun 2007, 12:15
Can someone please tell me if the locations for the Finals have been decided yet??? And while we're on the topic why the Grand Final is always at Toc?? (am i the only one that thinks it should be shared?)
I would say that the Finals venues wont change from previous years. They are usually shared between Cobram, Barooga and Tocumwal, and sometimes at Numurkah and Finley. The Grand Final has always been held at Tocumwal as they have the best set-up as far as playing surfaces, parking, catering and facilities go. It's also reasonably central to most teams in the league.
I agree that the finals venues should be shared but the league are hard to budge in having the finals held at other grounds.
Gee - some close results here!!!!!!!!!!!
Who on this thread is in the know at Tongala? How's big lurchy, Cyclops and blokes like Humpo going? Still playing? Are the Harris brothers alive or have they drank themselves into oblivion?
Can someone let me know how Lee James has been trakking. Is he worth the $$$$$$$. Cheers
roaring tiger
26 Jun 2007, 17:55
Can someone let me know how Lee James has been trakking. Is he worth the $$$$$$$. Cheers
3rd on the goal kicking with 42 i think. Missed a few games with injury after doing his hamstring in interleague game. Could of had a lot more goals i think as he seems to kicked 1 behind to every goal he kicks. He could of ended up with 10-12 goals on the weekend if he had kicked straight.
Mulwala look the real deal and will challenge Nathalia for the flag thats for sure. They have a good midfield with hardness, pace and skill while they have a good mix of both talls and smalls at both ends of the ground. Interesting to see on the weekend that Rob Lamberti did not have 1 kick for the game.
The pressure is right on us at the eagles to win this weekend and stay in 4th spot. It will be a tough game with finley having a big win last weekend.
Gee - some close results here!!!!!!!!!!!
Who on this thread is in the know at Tongala? How's big lurchy, Cyclops and blokes like Humpo going? Still playing? Are the Harris brothers alive or have they drank themselves into oblivion?
super, lurch going well at the moment had a blinder the last weekend but he may need a rinse thru his hair soon its going very gray, humpo and reidy are they joint captions this year humps has missed the last two with a cracked jaw and cyclpos didnt play due to a hammy but was in some awesome form before it. haha the harris boys are still alive timmy is playing some good steady footy and nick doesn't play alot thru work commitments. have u pulled the boots on yet mate?
Stop talking about these other guys souts or the coach might get jealous
When are you heading up our way, Ringo?
I think Tongala play Nathalia so I hope to get there then willo1 Who do you play this week?
Emonster
28 Jun 2007, 14:15
Had a couple of our boys down your way last year. Wes kennedy and co how did they go? Also have you heard of a bloke by the name of Louis Johnson who is playing for Rumbalara
I think Tongala play Nathalia so I hope to get there then willo1 Who do you play this week?
We will be taking on Finley this weekend, which is a make or break match for us.
Do you play them at home or away?
Bad news for Rams:mad:
Steven Flight broke his ankle today at skool and is out for the year, was to represent NSW this weekend in Geelong and has been amongst Rams best players this year, but he is out.
Tips for this weekend
Mulwala V Barooga
Echuca United v Finley
Rumbalara V Tocumwal
Rams V Numurkah
Tongala V Congupna
Cobram V Moama
Looks pretty good to me.
All the best everyone :thumbsu: .
goodgolly24
29 Jun 2007, 08:14
Tips for this weekend
Mulwala V Barooga
Echuca United v Finley
Rumbalara V Tocumwal
Rams V Numurkah
Tongala V Congupna
Cobram V Moama
Looks pretty good to me.
All the best everyone :thumbsu: .
Mulwala vs Barooga
Echuca vs Finley
Rumbalara vs Tocumwal
Rams vs Numurkah
Tongala vs Congupna
Cobram vs Moama
No Rupert Betheras this week but i reckon we'll do alright without him, though we're still a couple short of our strongest team.
joeblow2
1 Jul 2007, 20:05
3rd on the goal kicking with 42 i think. Missed a few games with injury after doing his hamstring in interleague game. Could of had a lot more goals i think as he seems to kicked 1 behind to every goal he kicks. He could of ended up with 10-12 goals on the weekend if he had kicked straight.
Mulwala look the real deal and will challenge Nathalia for the flag thats for sure. They have a good midfield with hardness, pace and skill while they have a good mix of both talls and smalls at both ends of the ground. Interesting to see on the weekend that Rob Lamberti did not have 1 kick for the game.
The pressure is right on us at the eagles to win this weekend and stay in 4th spot. It will be a tough game with finley having a big win last weekend.
Heard rumor that Lee may be returning to Riddell due to some changes in his personal situation. Can anyone confirm or deny?
Is Brian McKee the funniest man in australia
roaring tiger
2 Jul 2007, 15:56
Doesn't look like it on the transfers list on the murray league website.
roaring tiger
2 Jul 2007, 16:06
No real suprise results on the weekend although i thought moama would of got closer to Cobram and maybe deni to get a bit closer to Rumba.
We played Finley and ended up winning easy enough in the end. It was a very good team effort considering the last 4 or so games we had played pretty poorly. Hopefully with a couple of senior players to return from injury we can start and build some momentum going forward. Will be a big game against Barooga this weekend. The ladder looks pretty much complete with Nathalia, Mul, Barooga, Eagles, Numurkah and congupna.
Finley had a lot of height in there team but relied to heavily in my opionon on Coach sexton through the midfield.
What did you think of congupna Hank?
They played really well, they don't rely on anyone, fairly even across the board, there last 4 or 5 probably drop off a bit, but Madigan didnt play and Sidebottom and Pianto played 3rds only.
Vance played well up forward and took advantage of our key backs who were out. Wolfel is very hard to get past at CHB, similar to Guy for you blokes.
They seem to be similar to you blokes and probably Numurkah.
Hows my Big friend Chuck Braybon Going up in finley. played with the big fella in Wyche a few years ago, an absolute pest on the piss
RoadRunner11
4 Jul 2007, 21:38
Hows my Big friend Chuck Braybon Going up in finley. played with the big fella in Wyche a few years ago, an absolute pest on the piss
Ha ha Truck, your right. He is a bit of a pest on the gas! He's been battling on o.k without being outstanding. He has mainly played down back, but has snuck up forward a few times.
gostanhope
4 Jul 2007, 22:30
any thoughts on luke souter as a footballer, seen him once this year, looks small and slow but tries hard is that fair to say.
Luke has turned his football around a lot this year. His start to the season was average, but a bit of s#*t given to him from his team mates has made him become more determined. His pressure that he puts on and hardness for the ball is a big quality that he was lacking and he seems to be fitting in better now with the senior guys. Can see him having a big future. His speed is a bit of a problem but if he puts himself in the right spot then he can overcome this. Will get better with age now that he is breaking out of his fathers shadow and not seen as a forward only.:thumbsu:
goodgolly24
6 Jul 2007, 14:58
Alright boys,
Theres a few big games on this week, so lets get your tips
:thumbsu::thumbsu:
scottwestjr
6 Jul 2007, 17:53
any thoughts on luke souter as a footballer, seen him once this year, looks small and slow but tries hard is that fair to say. i heard his brother jordan has had a good year in the thirds also with a couple of games in the seniors
Alright boys,
Theres a few big games on this week, so lets get your tips
:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Barooga v Echuca United
Tocumwal v Mulwala
Numurkah v Rumbalara
Congupna v Deniliquin Rams
Nathalia v Tongala
Finley v Cobram
Moama Bye
The region has copped a good drop of rain the the past few days so expect some very interesting and close results. This sort of weather brings all teams back to the same level regardless of how 'good' they are, so there may be a few big upsets this weekend.
Good luck to everyone.
Luke is a good little footballer who definately has a crack every week. Not all good footballers have pace, so he is able to use his body well in contest's. He will develop well at Tongala under the guidance of coach Harrison.
you going to the footy tomorrow ringo or is it a bit wet for ya?
Interesting footnote left on Barooga v United score on MFL website:
Echuca United player #11 Luke Jones illegely left the playing field during the last quarterat 4.23pm, and was instructed by the Central Umpire that he could not return to the playing field. Jones returned to the field at 4.27pm. Barooga Captain requested a "head Count" which was refused by the Central Umpire even though player Jones was on the ground at the time. Echuca United did not add to their score after this incident.<
goodgolly24
8 Jul 2007, 19:00
Rumbalara beat Numurkah in awhat ended up being a very sluggish game. It rained on and off all day, so the skill level dropped by halftimeas both teams were just trying to bash the ball thru.I'm not to sure of the scoreline sorry. . . .
Can someone give us an update on the other matches???
:thumbsu:
Rumbalara beat Numurkah in awhat ended up being a very sluggish game. It rained on and off all day, so the skill level dropped by halftimeas both teams were just trying to bash the ball thru.I'm not to sure of the scoreline sorry. . . .
Can someone give us an update on the other matches???
:thumbsu:
good result for rumba goodgolly still a chance to make finals?mul got up after a tough slog in the wet, toc showed a lot of grunt
roaring tiger
9 Jul 2007, 18:06
good result for rumba goodgolly still a chance to make finals?mul got up after a tough slog in the wet, toc showed a lot of grunt
Rumba still are 2 games outside the 6 i think but have a reasonble run home. If they beat Congupna perhaps they will replace Numurkah in the 6 who have a very hard run home. Unfortnuatly for Homer1 Deni wont make the finals thats for sure.
roaring tiger
9 Jul 2007, 18:18
Interesting to see that Pat Rattray played in the barooga 2nds on the weekend, didn't get in there best. Pretty easy money for patty if its correct that he is on $1000 per game!
I thought barooga are a bit behind Nathalia and Mulwala but probably difficult to compare them to much due to the conditions.
Interesting footnote left on Barooga v United score on MFL website:
Echuca United player #11 Luke Jones illegely left the playing field during the last quarterat 4.23pm, and was instructed by the Central Umpire that he could not return to the playing field. Jones returned to the field at 4.27pm. Barooga Captain requested a "head Count" which was refused by the Central Umpire even though player Jones was on the ground at the time. Echuca United did not add to their score after this incident.<
Player in question left the ground during play and tapped on a car window to someone who was heckling. Once coming back onto the ground was informed that he had left the ground incorrectly as was told to get of the ground. Interchange stewarts were not informed as to why and he was not carded so the club sent him back out there. Umpire and opposition were aware that he had come back on and a suggestion for a head count was put forward but the umpires were told not to worry about it and get on with the game by Barooga.
goodgolly24
9 Jul 2007, 18:41
Rumba still are 2 games outside the 6 i think but have a reasonble run home. If they beat Congupna perhaps they will replace Numurkah in the 6 who have a very hard run home. Unfortnuatly for Homer1 Deni wont make the finals thats for sure.
I've got a couple of questions for you Tiger. who do you follow in the league, and do you think Rumba will or deserves to make the finals??
goodgolly24
9 Jul 2007, 19:01
Player in question left the ground during play and tapped on a car window to someone who was heckling. Once coming back onto the ground was informed that he had left the ground incorrectly as was told to get of the ground. Interchange stewarts were not informed as to why and he was not carded so the club sent him back out there. Umpire and opposition were aware that he had come back on and a suggestion for a head count was put forward but the umpires were told not to worry about it and get on with the game by Barooga.
In his defence but I know Jones to be a top bloke off the ground, and a great competiter on it. But I don't think i agree with him jumping the fence to have a go at a spectator (if i got that right). although the bloke probably deserved it. . .
Should players be allowed to pull spectators up???
Should he be punished if he was "wronged" by this spectator???
RoadRunner11
9 Jul 2007, 19:27
In his defence but I know Jones to be a top bloke off the ground, and a great competiter on it. But I don't think i agree with him jumping the fence to have a go at a spectator (if i got that right). although the bloke probably deserved it. . .
If the information is correct and jones did jump the fence and have a go at a spectator, the league officials need to seriously look at it. Your right about jones being a tough as nails competitor on the ground, but there is no excuses for jumping the fence. I'm sure at one stage or another in every ones career they have been heckled by spectators. It's part of being a footballer, whether at league level or country level.
Roaring tiger and willo, what are the thoughts from within your club?
aunt_bunny
9 Jul 2007, 20:37
it will be interesting to see what that weak mongrel general manager has to say about it. I am sure that if it was RUMBA, he would want to have them kicked out of the comp, stripped off points and fined.
There should not be any change to the result in the game or sanctions to the club itself. Why? not condoning what Jones may or may not have done but if as stated the umpires say he left the ground illegally, our full Back left the ground illegally about 15 times on Saturday to go and fetch the ball 50m behind the goals to be able to boot it back into play. So i believe to do with the game that is black and white, doesnt matter what he did once he left the arena, where that does matter is if the league/club wishes to investigate the actions of the player and therefore the only sanctions that should be handed out are to that player and that player alone, the same as any reportable offence.
goodgolly24
10 Jul 2007, 08:16
There should not be any change to the result in the game or sanctions to the club itself. Why? not condoning what Jones may or may not have done but if as stated the umpires say he left the ground illegally, our full Back left the ground illegally about 15 times on Saturday to go and fetch the ball 50m behind the goals to be able to boot it back into play. So i believe to do with the game that is black and white, doesnt matter what he did once he left the arena, where that does matter is if the league/club wishes to investigate the actions of the player and therefore the only sanctions that should be handed out are to that player and that player alone, the same as any reportable offence.
I can see what your saying hank but I have to agree with aunt bunny now that she's said it, because if it were a Rumba player things would be mighty different. Think about it a second, We'd be reading about it in the paper, everyone that reads it wouldn't even question it, it be fact staight away and they'd be asking for our head. The player would player would probably get a hefty fine/sentance or booted and who know the club might even get kicked out if the league caved in to public presure. I guess i can say that because you've only got to look on this web site to see people's feelings about Rumbalara joining this league, compared to Tongala. Or even in the news paper around that time, no-one was happy about us joining, the only thing made public was that dissatisfaction from others.
But i guess this incident was kept out of the paper because. . . . Actually i don't know why. . .
Any thoughts Hank?
roaring tiger
10 Jul 2007, 09:33
I've got a couple of questions for you Tiger. who do you follow in the league, and do you think Rumba will or deserves to make the finals??
I play for the eagles goodgolly. As to whether rumba deserve to make the finals well it will depend on whether you guys win enough games. If you are good enough you will make the finals. If you guys miss out you blokes will probably kick yourself for dropping a couple of early games in the season.
roaring tiger
10 Jul 2007, 09:41
I can see what your saying hank but I have to agree with aunt bunny now that she's said it, because if it were a Rumba player things would be mighty different. Think about it a second, We'd be reading about it in the paper, everyone that reads it wouldn't even question it, it be fact staight away and they'd be asking for our head. The player would player would probably get a hefty fine/sentance or booted and who know the club might even get kicked out if the league caved in to public presure. I guess i can say that because you've only got to look on this web site to see people's feelings about Rumbalara joining this league, compared to Tongala. Or even in the news paper around that time, no-one was happy about us joining, the only thing made public was that dissatisfaction from others.
But i guess this incident was kept out of the paper because. . . . Actually i don't know why. . .
Any thoughts Hank?
I think you Rumbalara blokes need to ease up a bit. There has been know negative press written about you guys this year in the paper's and from my point of veiw have been accepted like tongala have from everyone throughout the league. You have a good ground and facilities are playing pretty good footy at the moment going by the results so know real need to be whinging.
Any thoughts Hank?
I know the negative talk you're speaking about goodgolly, as I am the first to admit that I was involved in it at the start of last season. Obviously they were my first thoughts but over the past 20 months, I have grown to respect Rumbalara as they are playing some good footy and growing something strong in their area.
What people need to realise is that Jones did not harm, hit or physically hinder anyone. He simply went to the car of the person, told them to keep their mouths shut, and returned to the field of play. As you enquire, if a Rumbalara player did the same, in my opinion, they would the treated the same as they haven't done anything to break the law.
RoadRunner: In reply to what you think my thoughts are on the issue - I don't believe anything will come of it. The only thing I query is the fact that Barooga firmly requested a head count of United's players, and the Umpire declined. Shouldn't the Umpire have carried through with the head count and found that United still only had 18 players on the ground?
Any thoughts Hank?
It was in the Riv herald, but not in the Shepp news, I'm sure if it was you blokes it would have been in the Shepp news but not in the Riv.
Rumba didnt come into the league with the best wishes of the other clubs in the league I agree, I believe over the past two years your senior side has gained respect from all and sundry and should be commended.
I also don't think it helps your cause by coming on here and saying that there is double standards and if a Rumba player did the same the club may be booted out of the league, if you always believe that you are going to be harshly treated by the league and you voice that opinion, I'm not sure that anything, in your eyes at least will change.
Look to the future and be positive about were you blokes are heading as finals are a distinct possibility and people on the outside will start looking positively at what Rumbalara is creating for the community. Cheers.
goodgolly24
10 Jul 2007, 14:04
Geez boys go easy. Before I say anymore on this topic or any other for that matter let me just clear up that what i say is my opinion and mine alone. plaese don't assume my opinion is reflective of the club, or it's supporters.
Having said that let me add that if i've offended some of you then I apoligise, I was simply trying to get some of you to think about this from a different prospective. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Geez boys go easy. Before I say anymore on this topic or any other for that matter let me just clear up that what i say is my opinion and mine alone. plaese don't assume my opinion is reflective of the club, or it's supporters.
Having said that let me add that if i've offended some of you then I apoligise, I was simply trying to get some of you to think about this from a different prospective. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
No problems mate, u asked for my thoughts and thats all they are as I accept your thoughts and obviously your perspective coming from the inside is going to be different to ours who don't really know the problems/issues that your club face, All the best for the rest of the year.
Yep, I'm with hank. What I said was my honest opinion and viewpoint only.
goodgolly24
10 Jul 2007, 14:35
Cheers boys!!!:cool::cool:
[quote=aunt_bunny;8067297]
Aunt Bunny, Why do you think the General Manager would want to do this to Rumba?:confused:
aunt_bunny
10 Jul 2007, 16:20
[quote=aunt_bunny;8067297]
it will be interesting to see what that weak mongrel general manager has to say about it. I am sure that if it was RUMBA, he would want to have them kicked out of the comp, stripped off points and fined. Aunt Bunny, Why do you think the General Manager would want to do this to Rumba?:confused:
maybe you should ask mr general manger that question
Come on now, no personal attacks on members of the league.
forty one
10 Jul 2007, 18:44
Geez you guys get excited easily. The only time this sort of thing doesn't happen in the KDL is when Ardmona has the bye
Come on now, no personal attacks on members of the league.
come on aunty, do you know something juicy? we need some excitement in the league at an executive level ie, affairs/fights/swingers etc....
roaring tiger
10 Jul 2007, 22:08
[quote=grac;8074500]
Aunt_bunny you should be greatful people like the gereral manager and other league members are prepared to give up there own time, so we all have the opportunity to play football. They do a lot of work behind the scenes that they get no credit for.
roaring tiger
10 Jul 2007, 22:12
VCFL TEAM/Squad
Dan JordanEast Point Ballarat
Brady Herdman Eaglehawk Bendigo
Dean Talbot (VC) Bell Park Geelong
Jeremy Humm Newtown Chilwell Geelong
Mark Corrigan South Barwon Geelong
Scott Thompson South Barwon Geelong
Jim Cail St. Mary's Geelong
Paul Scanlon (VC) Seymour Goulburn Valley
Saad Saad Seymour Goulburn Valley
Michael Barlow Shepparton United Goulburn Valley
Tim Little Tatura Goulburn Valley
Stephen Sinnott Camperdown Hampden
Simon O'Keefe Koroit Hampden
Joe McLaren (C) Koroit Hampden
Kurt Niklaus Warrnambool Hampden
Adam Hunter Dromana MPNFL
Will Gayfer Keysborough MPNFL
Ricky Clark Narre Warren MPNFL
Michael Chisholm Rumbalara Murray
Ross Funcke Donald North Central
Lee Schmidt Corowa Rutherglen Ovens & Murray
Xavier Leslie Yarrawonga Ovens & Murray
Marcus McMillan Yarrawonga Ovens & Murray
Scott Oswald Yarrawonga Ovens & Murray
Ryan Davey Warragul WGLFL
On a positive note well done to Mick Chisolm on making the VCFL team.
Cash Man
10 Jul 2007, 22:51
Willo1: Is Dale Reyne back on the field for united? Interesting to know if he spends much time in the ruck over there? There has been some whispers in the North Central that Dale is thinking of heading back to St.Arnaud in 2008!:eek: Maybe to take the post of 1st ruck!
goodgolly24
11 Jul 2007, 14:11
Geez you guys get excited easily. The only time this sort of thing doesn't happen in the KDL is when Ardmona has the bye
Hahaha. Very funny mate:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Willo1: Is Dale Reyne back on the field for united? Interesting to know if he spends much time in the ruck over there? There has been some whispers in the North Central that Dale is thinking of heading back to St.Arnaud in 2008!:eek: Maybe to take the post of 1st ruck!
Yes, he made his return from a corked thigh on the weekend v Barooga and took BOG honors. He has shaped into a very good CHF and from what I can remember, he has only ever been in 1 or 2 ruck contests while he has been at United.
I haven't heard anything about him leaving. One thing though, to put him in the ruck would probably be a waste of talent as he is a strong marking, quick leading target at CHF.
[quote=grac;8074500]
No I am asking you as you made the claim against him.:rolleyes:
pace to freeze
11 Jul 2007, 21:02
Can anybody confirm that there is two investigations, being conducted from Saturday's games at Barooga, v United ??
I can confirm one investigation being launched. The incident between Echuca United reserve player Leigh Pentreath being deliberately struck in the nose by a Barooga player's elbow. Pentreath's nose was severely broken and requires specialist surgery to re-align.
What is the other investigation that you have heard about?
pace to freeze
12 Jul 2007, 10:18
I can confirm one investigation being launched. The incident between Echuca United reserve player Leigh Pentreath being deliberately struck in the nose by a Barooga player's elbow. Pentreath's nose was severely broken and requires specialist surgery to re-align.
What is the other investigation that you have heard about?
The other if true is a croc.
Launched by Barooga against United, assummably the club, for Toothy returning onto the ground against the request of the umpires.
Would have thought the umpires should have launched it if there was an issue, and so what if he did what are they going to do take the points, that the club didn't get, off them ???
themagicfrog
12 Jul 2007, 10:52
I know Toc isn't goin along to well but who have been the better players this year?
How have you seen there recruits preform this year, Downie, Sacco and the rest?
Joe Czak
12 Jul 2007, 15:09
Interesting to see that Pat Rattray played in the barooga 2nds on the weekend, didn't get in there best. Pretty easy money for patty if its correct that he is on $1000 per game!
I could see that he had no heart but now I can see that he has no conscience either. Taking $1000 for cherry picking one from the goalsquare is a disgrace. Hope he put it back through the pokies becuase he doesn't deserve it.
The other if true is a croc.
Launched by Barooga against United, assummably the club, for Toothy returning onto the ground against the request of the umpires.
Would have thought the umpires should have launched it if there was an issue, and so what if he did what are they going to do take the points, that the club didn't get, off them ???
I don't think I can see anything happening. It may be a different story if United had of scored 3 goals and won the match, but what can they do now? Fine us? Strip us of points from another game? Sounds like rubbish to me.
goodgolly24
13 Jul 2007, 02:03
I could see that he had no heart but now I can see that he has no conscience either. Taking $1000 for cherry picking one from the goalsquare is a disgrace. Hope he put it back through the pokies becuase he doesn't deserve it.
I think Rafferty played againgst us (Rumba) a couple of weeks ago and I can't judge because i'm not perfect, but he isn't worthy of $1000 a game, wheather it's seniors or reserves. . . .
Joe Czak
13 Jul 2007, 09:41
I think Rafferty played againgst us (Rumba) a couple of weeks ago and I can't judge because i'm not perfect, but he isn't worthy of $1000 a game, wheather it's seniors or reserves. . . .
Nobody with the exception of Ex-AFL players is worth that kind of coin. Both offering and accepting that kind of cash leaves you open to the sort of ridicule I have previously posted.
I'd be extremely surprised if he was on that money, was chasing him pre-season and I think $500 would be more on the money, and yes that is still too much.
goodgolly24
13 Jul 2007, 11:29
I'd be extremely surprised if he was on that money, was chasing him pre-season and I think $500 would be more on the money, and yes that is still too much.
You were seriously willing to spend $500 a game on him hank, why?? i mean how would you justify it?? what did/would you want from?? would you expect him to bring others?? i just figuered if someone was worth that money i would have heard of him before i'd actually played with/against him??? I mean from what i saw his body was breaking down (bad knee(s) i think), he did't jump once and he was very unfit.
I know you'd wouldn't take someone in on their reputation alone but i still reckon it would of been a bad idea
???
roaring tiger
13 Jul 2007, 11:54
You were seriously willing to spend $500 a game on him hank, why?? i mean how would you justify it?? what did/would you want from?? would you expect him to bring others?? i just figuered if someone was worth that money i would have heard of him before i'd actually played with/against him??? I mean from what i saw his body was breaking down (bad knee(s) i think), he did't jump once and he was very unfit.
I know you'd wouldn't take someone in on their reputation alone but i still reckon it would of been a bad idea
???
I think thats why hank and tonny didn't end up signing him goodgolly. He wanted to much coin and was injured. There are a lot of over paid players in this league and all over the state for that matter. Every club in the murray league would be paying at least 1 player more than what he is worth i reckon.
???
As Roaring Tiger said we didnt offer him $500, we were well below that and thats why he went to Barooga, and reading between the lines I believe thats about what he was offered there.
In saying that you probably should have heard of him before, he kicked 3 goals and was instrumental in Seymour's Grand Final win in 2005, on that performance he would be worth it, but producing that on a consistent basis has been a problem and his knee injuries haven't helped him.
As Roaring Tiger said we didnt offer him $500, we were well below that and thats why he went to Barooga, and reading between the lines I believe thats about what he was offered there.
In saying that you probably should have heard of him before, he kicked 3 goals and was instrumental in Seymour's Grand Final win in 2005, on that performance he would be worth it, but producing that on a consistent basis has been a problem and his knee injuries haven't helped him.
Lee james would be on more than $500 wouldnt he?:D
and another 10 mul players also
Gutnik42
14 Jul 2007, 19:59
and another 10 mul players also
So Mul is spending $90,000 on 10 players? I don't think so. What about the other 12 players in the team, if u seriously think they would be spending well over 100k u r kidding yourself.