View Full Version : Murray Football League
roaring tiger
14 Jul 2007, 23:15
So Mul is spending $90,000 on 10 players? I don't think so. What about the other 12 players in the team, if u seriously think they would be spending well over 100k u r kidding yourself.
The other 12 players are probably all getting paid to Gutnik!! So they are probably spending over $150,000!!
So Mul is spending $90,000 on 10 players? I don't think so. What about the other 12 players in the team, if u seriously think they would be spending well over 100k u r kidding yourself.
haha gutnik u would be kidding your self, lets say the best six players or 6 of there best, stevens, ben and lee james, kennedy, banch and lamberti and then u add cowman and i think we would be closer to 150 000 then what we are to 100 000.
Gutnik42
15 Jul 2007, 16:25
haha gutnik u would be kidding your self, lets say the best six players or 6 of there best, stevens, ben and lee james, kennedy, banch and lamberti and then u add cowman and i think we would be closer to 150 000 then what we are to 100 000.
Well maybe tonny throw their money away so that could be your excuse for coming up with such a ridiculous figure. But u obviously have no idea, it's not even close to that.
lionsden
15 Jul 2007, 22:15
Well maybe tonny throw their money away so that could be your excuse for coming up with such a ridiculous figure. But u obviously have no idea, it's not even close to that.
what makes you such an expert on player payments souts. you obviously think you know what people get paid and just because mul is going well you believe that they must be paying these players so much money.is nathalia or barooga doing the same?is it your belief that if a team is winning games they must be paying the most money?if it is true then get over it otherwise stop speaking crap. do you know how much leigh james gets or how much cowman gets?i think you might be a touch jealous because these blokes can play the game unlike your good self. i am sick of reading about things written by people like you who whinge about other teams because they are doing well. losers like you are will never change.get a life souts
roaring tiger
16 Jul 2007, 10:47
what makes you such an expert on player payments souts. you obviously think you know what people get paid and just because mul is going well you believe that they must be paying these players so much money.is nathalia or barooga doing the same?is it your belief that if a team is winning games they must be paying the most money?if it is true then get over it otherwise stop speaking crap. do you know how much leigh james gets or how much cowman gets?i think you might be a touch jealous because these blokes can play the game unlike your good self. i am sick of reading about things written by people like you who whinge about other teams because they are doing well. losers like you are will never change.get a life souts
You need to ease up lionsden everybody is entitled to an opinon on here. Obivously nobody know's who gets paid what from any team in the league, other than the committee and players in question. I think that the successful sides are paying out big money and good on them if they can afford to do it. Everybody wants to win flags so if you have the money to do it well good luck.
This is my opionon on who i think would be paying out the most money in order:
1. Mulwala, 2.Barooga, 3. Nathalia, 4. Echuca United, 5. Congupna, 6. Rumbalara, 7. Tocumwal, 8. Numurkah, 9. Finley, 10. Tongala, 11. Moama, 12. Deni Rams, 13. Cobram
You need to ease up lionsden everybody is entitled to an opinon on here. Obivously nobody know's who gets paid what from any team in the league, other than the committee and players in question. I think that the successful sides are paying out big money and good on them if they can afford to do it. Everybody wants to win flags so if you have the money to do it well good luck.
1. Mulwala, 2.Barooga, 3. Nathalia, 4. Echuca United, 5. Congupna, 6. Rumbalara, 7. Tocumwal, 8. Numurkah, 9. Finley, 10. Tongala, 11. Moama, 12. Deni Rams, 13. Cobram
Thats not a bad effort tiger, reckon toc and numurkah would be above congupna and Rumba though.
goodgolly24
16 Jul 2007, 11:26
Ok boy, just for a slight change in topic, what were the other results of the weekend????
And could somebody please work out for me what it would take for us (Rumba) to still make the finals. I only ask because i'm hearing conflicting senario's and i don't know how it works my self.
roaring tiger
16 Jul 2007, 12:13
Ok boy, just for a slight change in topic, what were the other results of the weekend????
And could somebody please work out for me what it would take for us (Rumba) to still make the finals. I only ask because i'm hearing conflicting senario's and i don't know how it works my self.
My view is the 6 wont change Goodgolly. Numurkah have a very tough run home and you guys are basically 3 games outside the 6 as you have a bad %.
Ladder
Seniors
NATHALIA 12 0 0 2 1648 522 315.71 48
MULWALA 12 1 0 1 1685 778 216.58 48
BAROOGA 9 4 0 1 1437 1007 142.70 36
ECHUCA UTD 8 5 0 1 1334 1072 124.44 32
CONGUPNA 8 5 0 1 1280 1060 120.75 32
Finley 7 6 0 1 1280 1118 114.49 28
Numurkah 7 6 0 1 1051 1204 87.29 28
Rumbalara 5 8 0 1 1088 1262 86.21 20
Deni Rams 4 9 0 1 861 1301 66.18 16
Tongala 4 9 0 1 911 1447 62.96 16
Tocumwal 3 9 0 2 921 1357 67.87 12
Moama 2 11 0 1 968 1668 58.03 8
Cobram 2 10 0 1 727 1395 52.11 8
round 16
BaroogavTocumwal
RumbalaravNathalia
TongalavCobram
Deniliquin RamsvMoama
MulwalavCongupna
Echuca UnitedvNumurkah
FinleyvBye
round 17
NumurkahvBarooga
CongupnavEchuca United
NathaliavMulwalaMoamavRumbalaraCobramvDeniliquin Rams
FinleyvTocumwalTongalavBye
round 18
BaroogavCongupna
Echuca UnitedvNathaliaMulwalavMoama
RumbalaravCobramTongalavFinleyTocumwalvNumurkah
Deniliquin RamsvBye
round 19
NathaliavBarooga
MoamavEchuca United
CobramvMulwalaDeniliquin RamsvTongala
CongupnavTocumwal
FinleyvNumurkahRumbalaravBye
round 20
Echuca UnitedvCobram
RumbalaravTongala
Deniliquin RamsvFinley
TocumwalvNathalia
NumurkahvByeMoamavByeCongupnavByeBaroogavByeMulwalavBye
round 21
CobramvBarooga
TongalavMulwalaDeniliquin RamsvRumbalara
MoamavTocumwalNathaliavNumurkahCongupnavFinleyEchuca UnitedvBye
goodgolly24
16 Jul 2007, 13:13
Cheers mate.:thumbsu:
Gutnik42
16 Jul 2007, 14:50
If u think mul is spending more than barooga u r dreaming!!
goodgolly24
16 Jul 2007, 16:05
For some reason i don't think Nathalia would be spending much at all. I just get the feeling a lot of there players are there for the ride rather than the money?
rockstarr
16 Jul 2007, 17:12
If u think mul is spending more than barooga u r dreaming!!
Well he must be dreaming because thats what he thinks Gutnik
My predicted Top 8 at end of Home and Away
Nathalia 18 wins 380%
Mulwala 16 wins 235%
Barooga 14 wins 160%
Finley 12 wins 120%
Ech Utd 11 wins 125%
Congupna 10 wins 115%
Rumba 9 wins 95%
Numurkah 8 wins 85%
Have Congupna's only two wins against Ech Utd and Toc, they would need to lose every game for Rumba to make it, which is a possibility but I'm sure they will get home in atleast one. Rumba would have to win its last 4 games which are against 4 of the bottom 5, but they only won 1 of those 4 games first time round. (Have them winning all for this ladders sake). Have Finley knocking off Congupna in last round to snatch 4th from Utd. Deni have 4 home games (Moama, Tongala, Finley & Rumba) in there last 5, with Cobram there only away game so they might be able to finish on as high as 9 wins, but could also fall short in any of those games, unbelievably they have only won 1 game at home so far.
I don't think there would be to many that could argue that they would be the top 2 spenders in the league this year, without any knowledge of who's on what, my educated guess would be that Barooga would be spending the most and probably by a little bit too. Also let it be known I'm not having a crack at anyone for spending such and such, if you've got the money and the club can afford it good luck to you, Nathalia is showing that you can win flags without spending big, but not every club is as fortunate to have that sort of home grown talent in the one era. Each to their own.
Everybody: who cares what clubs are paying what? It is a bit of penis envy, worrying who might have the biggest. If a club feels that they need to spend money,which they have,to recruit players then good luck to them. If in the long run, it affects that their juniors leave, or they run out of cash, that will be the extra price that they will pay. I watch with interest the way Deni is going. When they were a power, it was a large group of local players who carried that club and now, even though they have dropped off, they are using their kids to improve. I am sure that if they passed the hat around, they would have been able to raise enough cash to compete against the other clubs spending up, but using their brains , they will become stronger with locals. Nathalia has had a return of local players who left to play elsewhere but decided to return because of the support that the local people have supplied. The good thing with this club is that at the head of the club , there are non ego's, so people are working together. That is why players friends and in-laws come to the club, because it is a comfortable community to be in and will not be backstabbed if they are either not playing well or not good enough to play in the one's. Both clubs lay a good footprint for the future, but in saying that, everything comes in cycles so it will someone elses turn next.:)
lionsden
16 Jul 2007, 21:41
let me just say that people should stop kidding themselves about nathalia.just because they have alot of locals coming back to play doesnt mean they are not getting paid.dont for one minute anyone tell me that lucas flys over because his brother in law is coach and wants to play for the love of it.in my opinion good luck to the clubs who have the capacity to pay players it is a part of sport these days whether it be footy or lawn bowls.each team espicallysmall country towns need to pay a group of players to make them competitive.if you dont do it you will languish down the bottom and it will effect the whole club.good luck to all clubs but dont hang it on the successful ones.
Gutnik42
16 Jul 2007, 22:07
Thanks for the update genius.
lionsden
16 Jul 2007, 22:16
good comment rockstarr.that must have taken alot of time to think about before you wrote it.you must be such a well educated person.cannot wait for your next comment.dead....
Cash Man
17 Jul 2007, 08:51
Yes, he made his return from a corked thigh on the weekend v Barooga and took BOG honors. He has shaped into a very good CHF and from what I can remember, he has only ever been in 1 or 2 ruck contests while he has been at United.
I haven't heard anything about him leaving. One thing though, to put him in the ruck would probably be a waste of talent as he is a strong marking, quick leading target at CHF.
With his price tag i don't think St.Arnaud would be able to afford him!!!!:D
journeyman
17 Jul 2007, 11:26
let me just say that people should stop kidding themselves about nathalia.just because they have alot of locals coming back to play doesnt mean they are not getting paid.dont for one minute anyone tell me that lucas flys over because his brother in law is coach and wants to play for the love of it.in my opinion good luck to the clubs who have the capacity to pay players it is a part of sport these days whether it be footy or lawn bowls.each team espicallysmall country towns need to pay a group of players to make them competitive.if you dont do it you will languish down the bottom and it will effect the whole club.good luck to all clubs but dont hang it on the successful ones.
Lucas has only played three games so even if he's getting big money (which he's not) it's hardly a big slice out of the budget. If Lucas was driven by money he could have stayed at Subiaco as they are easily the richest WAFL club. There are many country clubs in WA who would pay money that Nathalia wouldn't be able to match but he doesn't want to play there.
I don't know what other clubs pay, and like you I don't care, but I do know that Nathalia doesn't pay big money.
Lucas has only played three games so even if he's getting big money (which he's not) it's hardly a big slice out of the budget. If Lucas was driven by money he could have stayed at Subiaco as they are easily the richest WAFL club. There are many country clubs in WA who would pay money that Nathalia wouldn't be able to match but he doesn't want to play there.
I don't know what other clubs pay, and like you I don't care, but I do know that Nathalia doesn't pay big money.
Nifty resopnse. Glad they don't have to pay big Scad's because to feed this man would cripple a small country's budget.
rockstarr
17 Jul 2007, 19:38
good comment rockstarr.that must have taken alot of time to think about before you wrote it.you must be such a well educated person.cannot wait for your next comment.dead....
Sorry boys my bad. I apologise
goodgolly24
19 Jul 2007, 12:13
Ia Anyone willing to give their tips for this round? (not sure who's playing)
My tips for Round 16 are:
BAROOGA VS TOCUMWAL 70 POINTS
RUMBALARA VS NATHALIA 60 POINTS
TONGALA VS COBRAM 25 POINTS
DENI RAMS VS MOAMA 35 POINTS
MULWALA VS CONGUPNA 48 POINTS
ECH UNITED VS NUMURKAH 35 POINTS
godogsgo
20 Jul 2007, 22:07
Can someone have a crack at saying who would be in the top ten players in the comp.
My tips for Round 16 are:
BAROOGA VS TOCUMWAL 70 POINTS
RUMBALARA VS NATHALIA 60 POINTS
TONGALA VS COBRAM 25 POINTS
DENI RAMS VS MOAMA 35 POINTS
MULWALA VS CONGUPNA 48 POINTS
ECH UNITED VS NUMURKAH 35 POINTS
Can someone have a crack at saying who would be in the top ten players in the comp.
Only seen every side once each, but here is a list to start with, yes its more than 10 and not in order.
Nathan Gemmill (Nathalia)
Ash Gemmill
Drew Barnes
Brendan Parker
Michael Stevens (Mulwala)
Jake Cowman
Ben James
Matt Byers (Barooga)
Sean Harrap
Dale Reyne (United)
Damian Sexton (Finley)
Shannon Emmett (Congupna)
Brad Collins (Numurkah)
Linc Wellington
Phil Guthrie (Rumbalara)
Michael Roberts (Tongala)
Andrew Reid
Sean Logie (Tocumwal)
godogsgo
21 Jul 2007, 00:54
Thanks for the start hank1. I see you have sexton in there he is a gun
you pick up the paper every monday and he is in there best and i would think he would be every part of 38 years old. Can anyone add to this?
goodgolly24
23 Jul 2007, 12:06
Any incidents from the weekend people want to share???
roaring tiger
23 Jul 2007, 12:41
Only seen every side once each, but here is a list to start with, yes its more than 10 and not in order.
Nathan Gemmill (Nathalia)
Ash Gemmill
Drew Barnes
Brendan Parker
Michael Stevens (Mulwala)
Jake Cowman
Ben James
Matt Byers (Barooga)
Sean Harrap
Dale Reyne (United)
Damian Sexton (Finley)
Shannon Emmett (Congupna)
Brad Collins (Numurkah)
Linc Wellington
Phil Guthrie (Rumbalara)
Michael Roberts (Tongala)
Andrew Reid
Sean Logie (Tocumwal)
What about Guy Campbell hank. Is by far the best CHB in the league. Would be in the top 4 or 5 most valuable players in the comp.
roaring tiger
23 Jul 2007, 13:47
Team of the year 2007
Backs: L Eldridge (Mo) N Parker (Mul) G Wolfel (Con)
H Backs: K Gemmill (Na) G Campbell (EU) D O’Callaghan (Bar)
Centres A Reid (Ton) B James (Mul) T Snelson (Na)
H Forwards S Robinson (Mul) D Reyne (EU) M Roberts (Ton)
Forwards S Harrop (Bar) B Parker (Na) C Powell (Mul)
Rucks C Edwards (Rum) D Barnes (Na) N Gemmill (Na)
Inter J Cowman (Mul) S Logie (Toc) P Guthrie(Rum) M Byers (Bar)
Coach: D Sexton (Leads from the front and has got the best out of a team that doesn't have as good as list, in my opionon, to some other clubs that will finish lower than them on the ladder)
Obivously alot of players unlucky to miss out.
Tried to pick players in there set positions and who have been in form and not on past reputations along with who I thought were good players when we (EU) played them.
Anyone else willing to have a crack at there team of the year?
Coach: D Sexton (Leads from the front and has got the best out of a team that doesn't have as good as list, in my opionon, to some other clubs that will finish lower than them on the ladder)
Tried to pick players in there set positions and who have been in form and not on past reputations along with who I thought were good players when we (EU) played them.
Lee james from mulwala s***s all over any other leading forward in the league
Haven't seen Lee James play as he didnt play against us, so can't comment. As for Guy Campbell yes he did cross my mind but has missed too many games at this stage for me to include, was good against us, but we made his job very easy with poor disposal. Cheers
Trent Lovelock
23 Jul 2007, 20:20
Youve got to be kidding not having Linc Wellington not in that side... im guessing he would be in the top three players in the comp, along with Gemmill and Matt Byers
Yes Trenty boy your ex Captain would be a starter, Tigers bench would all probably start in my best side, Cowman is the best ruckman by a long way, Byers (Centre) Logie (changing Rover) and Guthrie (CHF), Ash Gemmill would have to be in the side also.
Always good debate when people come up with these sides, a solid effort Roaring Tiger.
roaring tiger
23 Jul 2007, 22:02
Yes Trenty boy your ex Captain would be a starter, Tigers bench would all probably start in my best side, Cowman is the best ruckman by a long way, Byers (Centre) Logie (changing Rover) and Guthrie (CHF), Ash Gemmill would have to be in the side also.
Always good debate when people come up with these sides, a solid effort Roaring Tiger.
Forgot to mention boys it was team of the year and who have performed the best in season 2007 not other seasons. Wellington was a bit unlucky to miss out some would say but to me the other onballers i picked have been better players and influenced game's more than him this year.
What about a team of the year from you hank, willo, goodgolly, homer??
The No 1 Bombers Fan
23 Jul 2007, 23:45
Forgot to mention boys it was team of the year and who have performed the best in season 2007 not other seasons. Wellington was a bit unlucky to miss out some would say but to me the other onballers i picked have been better players and influenced game's more than him this year.
No interset in B Vallender from Nathalia in these sides. Thought he would prob be the best CHF in the league. I agree Byers got to be in starting line up with Wellington and Gemmill
goodgolly24
25 Jul 2007, 21:17
I probly would have done it more this way:
B: K.Gamill(nat) N.Parker(mul) S.Emmett(con)
HB: M.Stevens(mul) G.Wolful(con) M.Chisholm(rum)
C: P.Harrison(rum) M.Byers(bar) T.Snelson(nat)
HF:M.Roberts(ton) P.Guthrie(rum) S.Logie(toc)
F: S.Harrap(mul) B.Parker(nat) L.Marsh(ech)
R: C.Edwards(rum) N.Gamill(nat) L.Wellington(num)
Int: J.Cowman(mul) A.Baker(ech) B.Vallander(nat)
Chisholm was unlucky to miss out on state duties but must have done something right to get the call up so has earnt a spot.
Harrison is one of the quickest kids i've seen and has played well off the wing in most games.
Wellington a definate starter for me.
I reckon Baker and Marsh and possibly Jones from echuca united would be in before Reyne only because he never played against us.
Emmett from Congupna would also be a definate starter for me. He's so crucial in his teams setup. He handpasses alot to bring his team mates into the game and they look to him to steady the ship.
Stevens is alot the same.
Any thoughts???
gostanhope
25 Jul 2007, 21:47
What about Guy Campbell hank. Is by far the best CHB in the league. Would be in the top 4 or 5 most valuable players in the comp.
guy campbell are you joking. as in the guy campbell gettin paid over 1000 a game, the guy campbell who sat at full back all day in last years grand final to watch nathalia roll them, when he had to stand up for his team he stood back and watched them get done.
Backs S. Emmett (Con) G. Campbell (Utd) S. Logie (Toc)
Half Backs B. Collins (Num) G. Wolfel (Con) N. Parker(Mul)
Centres A. Reid (Ton) M. Byers (Bar) M. Stevens (Mul)
Half Fwds M. Roberts (Ton) P. Guthrie (Rum) A. Gemmill (Nath)
Forwards S. Harrap (Bar) B. Parker (Nath) B. James (Mul)
Rucks J. Cowman (Mul) L. Wellington (Num) N. Gemmill (Nath)
Inter D. Barnes (Nath) D. Lucas (Nath) D. Sexton (Fin)
Full Back was hardest spot to pick, no one jumped out at me, see a few put Parker there, he hasnt manned up in any game I've seen him play, zones off very well and sets up from defence so thats why I have him on a back flank. Brad Collins from Numurkah is one that I have in my side that no one else has, not too sure how many games he has played as he is on Port Melbournes list, but was extremely impressive against us. Wolfel definately best CHB. Ash Gemmill is still as good as they come in the league whether it be up forward or onball. Would have Wellington changing with Logie in BP, Nath Gemmill with Ben James in FP, Lucas on bench as 2nd Ruckman, Barnes could go straight into the pivot to give Byers a rest if need be, and even Sexton for that matter. Rest similar to most others.
gostanhope
25 Jul 2007, 21:54
I probly would have done it more this way:
B: K.Gamill(nat) N.Parker(mul) S.Emmett(con)
HB: M.Stevens(mul) G.Wolful(con) M.Chisholm(rum)
C: P.Harrison(rum) M.Byers(bar) T.Snelson(nat)
HF:M.Roberts(ton) P.Guthrie(rum) S.Logie(toc)
F: S.Harrap(mul) B.Parker(nat) L.Marsh(ech)
R: C.Edwards(rum) N.Gamill(nat) L.Wellington(num)
Int: J.Cowman(mul) A.Baker(ech) B.Vallander(nat)
Chisholm was unlucky to miss out on state duties but must have done something right to get the call up so has earnt a spot.
Harrison is one of the quickest kids i've seen and has played well off the wing in most games.
Wellington a definate starter for me.
I reckon Baker and Marsh and possibly Jones from echuca united would be in before Reyne only because he never played against us.
Emmett from Congupna would also be a definate starter for me. He's so crucial in his teams setup. He handpasses alot to bring his team mates into the game and they look to him to steady the ship.
Stevens is alot the same.
Any thoughts???
why didnt ashley gemmill slot into this side. have seen him play CHF in some games and absolutly kill the opposition. nick named the rolls royce. not hard to tell why. awesome set of hands brilliant kick both feet and knows how to get the ball. very similar player to brad campbell of mooroopna
Joe Czak
26 Jul 2007, 11:02
why didnt ashley gemmill slot into this side. have seen him play CHF in some games and absolutly kill the opposition. nick named the rolls royce. not hard to tell why. awesome set of hands brilliant kick both feet and knows how to get the ball. very similar player to brad campbell of mooroopna
Mate, since you're an expert perhaps you could post your own side rather that crapping on everyone else's. Failing that stick to the KDFL U18's thread.
goodgolly24
26 Jul 2007, 15:13
Backs S. Emmett (Con) G. Campbell (Utd) S. Logie (Toc)
Half Backs B. Collins (Num) G. Wolfel (Con) N. Parker(Mul)
Centres A. Reid (Ton) M. Byers (Bar) M. Stevens (Mul)
Half Fwds M. Roberts (Ton) P. Guthrie (Rum) A. Gemmill (Nath)
Forwards S. Harrap (Bar) B. Parker (Nath) B. James (Mul)
Rucks J. Cowman (Mul) L. Wellington (Num) N. Gemmill (Nath)
Inter D. Barnes (Nath) D. Lucas (Nath) D. Sexton (Fin)
Full Back was hardest spot to pick, no one jumped out at me, see a few put Parker there, he hasnt manned up in any game I've seen him play, zones off very well and sets up from defence so thats why I have him on a back flank. Brad Collins from Numurkah is one that I have in my side that no one else has, not too sure how many games he has played as he is on Port Melbournes list, but was extremely impressive against us. Wolfel definately best CHB. Ash Gemmill is still as good as they come in the league whether it be up forward or onball. Would have Wellington changing with Logie in BP, Nath Gemmill with Ben James in FP, Lucas on bench as 2nd Ruckman, Barnes could go straight into the pivot to give Byers a rest if need be, and even Sexton for that matter. Rest similar to most others.
Did you have any trouble picking your ruckmen hank??
roaring tiger
26 Jul 2007, 16:35
Will be a big game between Nathalia and Mulwala to determine who will finish on top. I think Nathalia will win especially with Lucas back in the side and tip Parker to kick his 100th goal this weekend. What are other people's thought's on this weekend's round of matches?
gostanhope
26 Jul 2007, 22:34
Mate, since you're an expert perhaps you could post your own side rather that crapping on everyone else's. Failing that stick to the KDFL U18's thread.
i will say what i wat want. open thread isnt it? get a life
Did you have any trouble picking your ruckmen hank??
No, Cowman definately the best, Lucas is as good a ruckman that has played outside the AFL, obviously Edwards would be the next best clearly ahead of the rest, assuming that is why you are asking. Pretty happy if that is the only possy that has come under scrutiny.
Tips for this week
Numurkah v Barooga 30pts
Congupna v Echuca United 12pts
Nathalia v Mulwala 8pts
Moama v Rumbalara 36pts
Cobram v Deniliquin 48pts
Finley v Tocumwal 60pts
Think final six settled now with top six all healthy percentages and all deserve to play finals this year.
Watch for Deni and Rumba next year, both to take that next step up and will be the big improvers for 2008.
Joe Czak
27 Jul 2007, 10:11
i will say what i wat want. open thread isnt it? get a life
That's right you can say what you want, it's just that your opinion holds no weight. You're a kid bagging out senior footballers from a higher league.
roaring tiger
27 Jul 2007, 10:32
No, Cowman definately the best, Lucas is as good a ruckman that has played outside the AFL, obviously Edwards would be the next best clearly ahead of the rest, assuming that is why you are asking. Pretty happy if that is the only possy that has come under scrutiny.
I would of thought you would of picked your team of the year on current form this year hank not past reputations. Ie: lucas has only played 3 games not including this weekend. And i picked my team on where players play for there clubs on weekends. Ie: Mick Stevens wouldn't of played on the wing all year for Mulwala and brad collins like lucas may have only played a couple of games.
roaring tiger
27 Jul 2007, 10:35
Tips for this week
Numurkah v Barooga 30pts
Congupna v Echuca United 12pts
Nathalia v Mulwala 8pts
Moama v Rumbalara 36pts
Cobram v Deniliquin 48pts
Finley v Tocumwal 60pts
Think final six settled now with top six all healthy percentages and all deserve to play finals this year.
Watch for Deni and Rumba next year, both to take that next step up and will be the big improvers for 2008.
Maybe homer if you guys recruit some players. It will come down to who recruit the best players and keep losses at a minimum.
What coaches have been appointed for next year? I can only think of bartlett and hampshire.
Maybe homer if you guys recruit some players. It will come down to who recruit the best players and keep losses at a minimum.
What coaches have been appointed for next year? I can only think of bartlett and hampshire.
Bartlett has been reappointed and has already started gathering good staff to assist him for next year and have got some good experienced players indicating that they will be back next year and maybe some handy recruits lined up mixed in with the young kids playing good footy in the ones atm.
Good feeling around the club this year and a lot of enthusiasm starting to build up for the next few years.
I hear Heritage is stepping aside! Is this true and I would assume some Echuca players would be targeted as potential coaches
I would of thought you would of picked your team of the year on current form this year hank not past reputations. Ie: lucas has only played 3 games not including this weekend. And i picked my team on where players play for there clubs on weekends. Ie: Mick Stevens wouldn't of played on the wing all year for Mulwala and brad collins like lucas may have only played a couple of games.
How did you pick Barnes in your side when he didn't play against EU and also played games with Geelong two's. What was your selection criteria again?
forty one
27 Jul 2007, 18:39
That's right you can say what you want, it's just that your opinion holds no weight. You're a kid bagging out senior footballers from a higher league.
He will be rapt to be called a kid
Poodle boy
27 Jul 2007, 20:05
If Jake Cowman plays like he did against congupna last week and has done that throughout the year he would be 1st ruckman.
Just picked my best side full stop. Lucas and Collins may have only played a handful of games but they would be in my best MFL side, they are eligible to play for their clubs come finals so I've picked them. Mick Stevens played quiet a few AFL games on the Wing so I'm sure he could adapt!
Yes I also heard a couple of weeks ago Heritage is not coaching next year. You can pencil me in to be going around again with Bartlett and Hampshire, was reappointed for another two years at start of this year.
how many MFL games have you seen this year? was the game tonny VS mul the only one?
bruce almighty69
30 Jul 2007, 14:14
how many MFL games have you seen this year? was the game tonny VS mul the only one?
Where is Nathan Gemmell these days??
roaring tiger
30 Jul 2007, 17:12
How did you pick Barnes in your side when he didn't play against EU and also played games with Geelong two's. What was your selection criteria again?
Would of thought he has played about 10 games and has been a regular in there best.
roaring tiger
30 Jul 2007, 17:14
[quote=hank1;8237747]Just picked my best side full stop. Lucas and Collins may have only played a handful of games but they would be in my best MFL side, they are eligible to play for their clubs come finals so I've picked them. Mick Stevens played quiet a few AFL games on the Wing so I'm sure he could adapt!
Yes I also heard a couple of weeks ago Heritage is not coaching next year. You can pencil me in to be going around again with Bartlett and Hampshire, was reappointed for another two years at start of this year.[/quot
With another 3 or 4 quality recuits and few losses you would be looking at finals action next year.
roaring tiger
30 Jul 2007, 17:17
Where is Nathan Gemmell these days??
Nathalia. Best rover in the comp in my opionon.
gostanhope
31 Jul 2007, 19:52
Nathalia. Best rover in the comp in my opionon.
by a mile:thumbsu:
how many games have u seen this season?
None I don't think. Too busy fulfilling his waterboy duties. ;)
gostanhope
1 Aug 2007, 19:50
Just picked my best side full stop. Lucas and Collins may have only played a handful of games but they would be in my best MFL side, they are eligible to play for their clubs come finals so I've picked them. Mick Stevens played quiet a few AFL games on the Wing so I'm sure he could adapt!
Yes I also heard a couple of weeks ago Heritage is not coaching next year. You can pencil me in to be going around again with Bartlett and Hampshire, was reappointed for another two years at start of this year.
lucas is a big game player, last years grand final gettin nathalia over the line in what was a game that could have gone to united quite easily in a best on feild preformance, and i think it was nathalias first final last year when he kicked 7 goals also against united. not 100% on that but pretty sure.
None I don't think. Too busy fulfilling his waterboy duties. ;)
haha yeah willo, those water duties would keep him busy as he trys to have a foot in 3 different clubs!:p
Hey Souts are you and the coach still an item? Long time since we've chatted. Didn't get to Nathalia a few weeks back as it was a terrible day
lucas is a big game player, last years grand final gettin nathalia over the line in what was a game that could have gone to united quite easily in a best on feild preformance, and i think it was nathalias first final last year when he kicked 7 goals also against united. not 100% on that but pretty sure.
Lucas only kicked 1 goal in the 2006 finals series, which was in the Grand Final.
Hey Souts are you and the coach still an item? Long time since we've chatted. Didn't get to Nathalia a few weeks back as it was a terrible day
ringo i was wondering when i would hear from u, nah ive how to back off from the coach, his wife was starting to get a bit jealous. yeah i didnt expect to see ya there with the weather!
Souts hopefully I will be there for the last game of the year so we might have a beer then:thumbsu:
Rumba, very very lucky today
goodgolly24
5 Aug 2007, 01:19
Yeah we were.
We got out of jail in the end after trailing the whole game. We didn't prepare properly for this game, everybody thought it was gonna be a walk in the park, but to cobrams credit they really served it up. They had nothing to lose and played accordingly. Hopefully we'll be ready to work again after the break!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Yeah we were.
We got out of jail in the end after trailing the whole game. We didn't prepare properly for this game, everybody thought it was gonna be a walk in the park, but to cobrams credit they really served it up. They had nothing to lose and played accordingly. Hopefully we'll be ready to work again after the break!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:
hey josh, GO THE PIES.......:D
Sippawitz
7 Aug 2007, 14:54
Been a bit quiet on here, boys.
Only three weeks to go, who's your O'Dwyer medallist?
Will it come from one of the top three sides, or will someone form a middle of the road side like Wellington or Emmett take it out?
Interested in your thoughts....
I'll tell ya one thing the Rumba Boys will be out at Congupna trying to help bring Toc home, would make things a little interesting if The Road lose and we beat Tonny at home in a fortnight.
roaring tiger
7 Aug 2007, 17:20
I'll tell ya one thing the Rumba Boys will be out at Congupna trying to help bring Toc home, would make things a little interesting if The Road lose and we beat Tonny at home in a fortnight.
Going on Toc's effort against numurkah last week you would think they are in with a real chane of beating the road.
Purps lose Lucas aid
Nathalia ruckman David Lucas appears to have played his last game for the club after confirmation he will not travel from Perth to play the three more matches needed to qualify for the Murray Football League finals series.
The premiership ruckman, who travelled from Perth to play a key role in the club's finals campaign, last season told the club last week family commitments would end any chance of a return to qualify for this year's September action.
A 1996 Kyabram premiership player in the Goulburn Valley league, Lucas has also enjoyed a distinguished career with Ovens and Murray club Corowa-Rutherglen as well as with WAFL club Subiaco.
"He was going to be a bonus for us, that's for sure, but we've been careful not to plan our side around him," coach Marc Quarrell said yesterday.
"He's obviously a fantastic player, but with work, a young family and he's just bought a new house I think it was going to be just too much for him.
"We were expecting him to play a couple of weeks ago for us, but he told us on the Friday it was just going to be too hard and we certainly respect that."
Lucas played for the Purples in rounds four and five this season and needed three more games to ensure he was eligible to play during the finals series.
But with the return of former coach Brent Smith to the senior team after a nagging knee injury, the Purples will not go into the finals short in the big man stakes.
"I think we're pretty balanced and we've been able to achieve a lot without "Luky", but he's a popular bloke around the place and really treated Nathalia like his home."
First-year coach Quarrell was last week reappointed to lead the club into next season, adding stability to the club which has had four coaches in the past four years.
John Nihill led the Purples to their drought-breaking flag two years ago after Dylan Butler left to take the reins at Echuca in Goulburn Valley league, while Smith took over from Nihill last season.
"Obviously I've been rapt with the guys' performance so far and I'm learning to really enjoy the job," Quarrell said.
"It's a challenge to make sure the boys are up every week, but they are a fantastic bunch of blokes and hopefully my decision to stay on helps a few of the more experienced guys go again."
forty one
9 Aug 2007, 23:03
Yeah we were.
Doodgolly24, just a question on how your favourite son is going (Chris Egan). I hear that he has done his knee again and is gone for the season, which puts a bit of presure on with trade week looming.
goodgolly24
10 Aug 2007, 08:21
Doodgolly24, just a question on how your favourite son is going (Chris Egan). I hear that he has done his knee again and is gone for the season, which puts a bit of presure on with trade week looming.
Thats true. It actually happened a couple of weeks after he got that club suspension. I'd seen him last weekend at Rumba and he'd seemed to be in high spirits. he said his knee was coming along nicely, and i reckon as long a Malthouse is at the wheel next year I reackon they'll hang on to him. . .
Swooper 33
10 Aug 2007, 11:42
Who is Echuca United playing this week and where ?
Sippawitz
10 Aug 2007, 12:36
United plays Moama on Sunday at Moama.
roaring tiger
10 Aug 2007, 12:39
Arch rival Moama at moama on Sunday.
bomberboy_19
10 Aug 2007, 22:07
you would want to hope that they get flogged in the remaining games for the year just by looking at the percentage rate, but hey not out of the question that is for sure. just can't see toc beating them sorry!
goodgolly24
11 Aug 2007, 19:06
Anyone got the results of this round yet???
Nathalia 23.14 (152) v Barooga 7.10 (52)
Moama v Echuca United tomorrow
Cobram 6.1 (37) v Mulwala 26.30 (186)
Deniliquin Rams 21.13 (139) v Tongala 7.9 (51)
Congupna 19.15 (129) v Tocumwal 13.7 (85)
Finley 20.7 (127) v Numurkah 14.4 (88)
Sorry to let the Deni and Rumba boys know but my calculations would see that the finals are now out of the question.
Deni smashed us today and are finishing the year off well, we were very poor and our 2nd 1/4 would have been our worst for the year.
Nathalia showed again just how far they are ahead of the rest with an 11goal first term against the 3rd best side in the comp.
Bryan Vance kicked 11 in Congupna's win against Toc to sew up a finals berth.
goodgolly24
11 Aug 2007, 21:04
Nathalia 23.14 (152) v Barooga 7.10 (52)
Moama v Echuca United tomorrow
Cobram 6.1 (37) v Mulwala 26.30 (186)
Deniliquin Rams 21.13 (139) v Tongala 7.9 (51)
Congupna 19.15 (129) v Tocumwal 13.7 (85)
Finley 20.7 (127) v Numurkah 14.4 (88)
Sorry to let the Deni and Rumba boys know but my calculations would see that the finals are now out of the question.
Deni smashed us today and are finishing the year off well, we were very poor and our 2nd 1/4 would have been our worst for the year.
Nathalia showed again just how far they are ahead of the rest with an 11goal first term against the 3rd best side in the comp.
Bryan Vance kicked 11 in Congupna's win against Toc to sew up a finals berth.
Cheers.
How's Deni travel at home Hank??
Cheers.
How's Deni travel at home Hank??
deni seem to play there ground well goodgolly, they use the middle of the ground well and dont get sucked out to the wide wings. deni played with a short foward line, thorp and lloyd were really good kicking more then half there score. bartlett and marshell were also strong thru the midfield. for tonny roberts carryed on his great season with 2 goals and some good efforts thru the midfield.
have a RHG
13 Aug 2007, 12:58
Yeah we were.
Hey gg i've been scouting around the Tallangatta and District thread and the rumour has it that derek Murray will be coaching Rumba next year. can you confirm or deny this. If that is the case they will be getting a gun.
there maybe two murrays at rumba next year:D
iwantanotherflag
13 Aug 2007, 14:40
On Rumbalara, most people know of Paul Briggs long term vision of Rumbalara participating in the GVFL. Now 2 years into the MFL, what are the feelings and possible timespan of such a move.
One would expect Rumbalara to win a premiership or become perennial finalists in the MFL before they would be admitted to the GVFL.
Have sights changed? Is the club now happy in the MFL rather than upping stumps again?
Any thoughts?
morgs01
13 Aug 2007, 16:03
On Rumbalara, most people know of Paul Briggs long term vision of Rumbalara participating in the GVFL. Now 2 years into the MFL, what are the feelings and possible timespan of such a move.
One would expect Rumbalara to win a premiership or become perennial finalists in the MFL before they would be admitted to the GVFL.
Have sights changed? Is the club now happy in the MFL rather than upping stumps again?
Any thoughts?
I'm very happy in the MFL, and hope we stay here for a long time, But the dream of being in the GVFL will still be there, i guess. Give it a couple of decades in the MFL and see were we are then.
morgs01
13 Aug 2007, 16:06
Could be four or five if Corey and John make another comeback.
bomberboy_19
13 Aug 2007, 18:59
its that time of year again boys, who is going to win the o'dwyer medal? any thoughts...?
wellington, ben james tie
have a RHG
15 Aug 2007, 13:08
Would that be Derek and Matt as the rumour mill here is throwing about or is Alan in that mix or could it be the three of them
alan, derek, i suspect and who knows if they come across, maybe matt might aswell.
interchange steward
17 Aug 2007, 00:17
wellington is a class act. has been given nowhere near the acolades he deserves as a footballer in this league anyway. How has Brad Collins's form been for Numurkah this year? I notice the blues have slipped out of the finals race...?
Best on against us (Tongala), and noticed he has been named best in the paper a couple of times since.
Hank,
I was wondering about your credentials. Do or have you coached?
Simmy #18
17 Aug 2007, 20:35
Hank,
I was wondering about your credentials. Do or have you coached?
Hank is tonnys coach!
Thanks