View Full Version : Murray Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

Doobie Renshaw
8 Dec 2007, 09:28
Wats goin on at Echuca United.??
I think leitchville gunbower have been talkn to more of ther players.
LG should be called Echuca United bcoz they have that many players from ther!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Heard Balrag Singh is signing at Barooga

No - Balrag contacted Barooga and spruiked himself to them DIDN'T YOU EH PRINCE? Asked for some good coin and said he'd bring some players. Barooga politely declined his kind offer.

Mellington knocked back Barooga's offer of some good coin, a definite chance at a premiership, and travelling up from Shep with a carload of mates. He's getting about $450- per game on top of Barooga's offer. However, he won't play in many winning teams and will get to travel up to Toc all by himself each week. Go figure!

Does that help Grenade and Navy Blue???

hank1
8 Dec 2007, 09:38
No - Balrag contacted Barooga and spruiked himself to them DIDN'T YOU EH PRINCE? Asked for some good coin and said he'd bring some players. Barooga politely declined his kind offer.

Mellington knocked back Barooga's offer of some good coin, a definite chance at a premiership, and travelling up from Shep with a carload of mates. He's getting about $450- per game on top of Barooga's offer. However, he won't play in many winning teams and will get to travel up to Toc all by himself each week. Go figure!

The Toc coach lives in Shepp so I'm sure he will be able to bot a ride off him if he is getting lonely driving by himself Doobie;)

Doobie Renshaw
8 Dec 2007, 18:46
The Toc coach lives in Shepp so I'm sure he will be able to bot a ride off him if he is getting lonely driving by himself Doobie;)
Thanks Hank. What a relief he won't have to drive up by himself!

(I'd still take a bit less coin for a chance at a flag with the Hawks if I was him .....).

roaring tiger
9 Dec 2007, 08:37
I'm sure he will handle the sitting back and yelling out instructions well;). Yeah Percy is going along nicely, booked flights to head up there middle of Jan for a few days, should be good.

Maybe sign a few darwin recruits while you are up there hank!!

hank1
9 Dec 2007, 10:17
Maybe sign a few darwin recruits while you are up there hank!!

Not on the agenda mate, just enjoy a few days in the top end, will keep my eye out though;)

fact or fiction
9 Dec 2007, 15:55
Wats goin on at Echuca United.??
I think leitchville gunbower have been talkn to more of ther players.
LG should be called Echuca United bcoz they have that many players from ther!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Heard Balrag Singh is signing at Barooga

Go Cohuna, who are the apparent echuca united players leitchy gunny are talking to i'd be interested to know coz as far as i know they have lost some of there echuca players!!!!!!!!

No Heart
9 Dec 2007, 16:49

Must have got the same mail about Mellington that I did Doobster. I hope he's not going to be the next Balraj Singh? :cool:

Doobie Renshaw
9 Dec 2007, 19:50
Must have got the same mail about Mellington that I did Doobster. I hope he's not going to be the next Balraj Singh? :cool:

We might have the same source Heartless? Mellington has a long way to go before he is in the Prince's class!

toquick
10 Dec 2007, 07:16
No need to start name calling Leeroy. ;)

Nick is a great bloke and a very good player. Problem is Barooga have ample onballers and not really looking to pay for another one. If he was going there for petrol money they would take him, but not prepared to pay him a whole lot to make it worth his while.

I'll stick by my call with Mellington for the time being, but appreciate that you are probably in a better position than me to know the real story. :thumbsu:

I think you will find that there might be a few gaps in Barooga's on ball division this year. Both O'Calligans are gone.DOC having retired and Rohan going over seas, Toughy has headed back up north, Byers retired and piss ant has gone back to Seymour.

Mellington hasnt signed anywhere yet but we are hoping we have some more news on this at some stage this week.

goodgolly24
11 Dec 2007, 10:08
I thought I'd be the firsat to congratulate Rumbalara's Jarrod Atkinson on being Rookie listed with Essendon. Still got a bit to go, but headed in the right direction, WELL DONE!

NOT TELLIN U
11 Dec 2007, 10:56
I thought I'd be the firsat to congratulate balara's Jarrod Atkinson on being Rookie listed with Essendon. Still got a bit to go, but headed in the right direction, WELL DONE!

yer how good is that. i jus msged him when i found out on the net. hope he gets a gig

themagicfrog
11 Dec 2007, 14:42
Isn't Matt Sacco coaching Finley

toquick
11 Dec 2007, 15:23
Isn't Matt Sacco coaching Finley
Yeah Sacco is coaching Finley, they must have been really struggling to get a coach. From all reports i have heard he isnt going to be very good for the position.

RoadRunner11
11 Dec 2007, 19:51
Yeah Sacco is coaching Finley, they must have been really struggling to get a coach. From all reports i have heard he isnt going to be very good for the position.
Yeah can confirm Matt Sacco is finley's coach. I'm not sure that your comment is fair "toquick"! As you well know, everyone who wants to coach has to start somewhere. I'm sure he will make mistakes, but he won't be on his lonsome there!

toquick
12 Dec 2007, 07:11
Yeah can confirm Matt Sacco is finley's coach. I'm not sure that your comment is fair "toquick"! As you well know, everyone who wants to coach has to start somewhere. I'm sure he will make mistakes, but he won't be on his lonsome there!

i just haven't heard a good report about the bloke thats all. I know the Toc boys are definitly looking forward to running out against him this year though!

Doona2
12 Dec 2007, 07:17
I thought I'd be the firsat to congratulate Rumbalara's Jarrod Atkinson on being Rookie listed with Essendon. Still got a bit to go, but headed in the right direction, WELL DONE!

12 December 2007

Jarrod gets AFL call-up

METRICON Bendigo Bombers defender Jarrod Atkinson was picked up by Essendon in yesterday’s AFL rookie draft.

The 22-year-old, who had been taking part in pre-season training with Essendon, was taken with pick 21 in the second round of the rookie draft.

Atkinson was the only player from Bendigo selected yesterday.

Highly-rated Bendigo Pioneers skipper Grant Ford missed selection as did Bendigo Bombers ruckman Tim Plummer.

Originally from the Rumbalara Football Club in Shepparton, Atkinson was rewarded by his former Bendigo Bombers coach Matthew Knights for a consistent VFL season this year.

Atkinson impressed in the VFL with his hard running and creativity across half-back.

At 192 cm and 88 kg, Atkinson has the build to cope with senior footy should Essendon need to promote him to its AFL list next year.

Bendigo Bombers general manager Jeff Brennan said Atkinson’s selection in the rookie draft was a feather in the club’s cap.

‘‘It’s fantastic for Jarrod and the club,’’ Brennan said.

‘‘Jarrod had one year in our system and has been given an opportunity at the next level.

“That just proves to the younger guys on our list and to other prospective players that there is a pathway through the Bombers to an AFL club.

‘‘The bonus for us is that Jarrod was picked up by Essendon, but he’ll still get to play with the Bendigo Bombers next year.’’

Yesterday’s pre-season and rookie drafts didn’t hurt the Bombers.

With Ford missing selection he’s likely to join the Bendigo Bombers, while a number of Gippsland Power players are now expected to make the move to Bendigo after failing to get picked up by an AFL club.

New Bombers coach Adrian Hickmott led the Power to the minor premiership in the TAC Cup this year.

Only one Power player, ruckman Ben Connelly, was taken in the rookie draft yesterday.

‘‘Now that the pre-season draft and rookie draft is over we can go after the players we’ve had listed as recruiting targets,’’ Brennan said.

‘‘We’ll be chasing players who are still young enough to come into our system and improve their game and give themselves the chance of being picked up by an AFL club.

‘‘We expect to add 12 to 15 TAC Cup players to our list this ye

hank1
12 Dec 2007, 07:25

Think you might find a couple of you blokes are on the wrong track thinking toquick is the senior coach at Toc. As Toquick openly mentioned throughout this season who he played for, and it wasn't a Murray League club!

8ightball
12 Dec 2007, 08:08
I'm just wondering how many games, Byers of Barooga will play this year? I think its a real blow to the league that a player of his standards wont be playing, a full season.

And now its nearly christmas can somebody give me a run down on how all clubs are shaping up? As from just reading on here its going to be a real fight in the middle of the pack!

ringo1
12 Dec 2007, 12:20
I'm just wondering how many games, Byers of Barooga will play this year? I think its a real blow to the league that a player of his standards wont be playing, a full season.

And now its nearly christmas can somebody give me a run down on how all clubs are shaping up? As from just reading on here its going to be a real fight in the middle of the pack!

Nathalia will still be the team to beat. Barooga have recruited well but also appear to have lost some. I believe Echuca United and Mulwala will drop off. Finley appear to be strugglng.The suprise packet could be Deniliquin who improved as the year went on. Tongala have a good coach and some qualiy players and should show further improvement. Cobram will be better as will Rumbalara. As for Toc and Moama I'm not sure although I think Moama have a long way to go . Hope that helps and is reasonably accurate

goodgolly24
12 Dec 2007, 15:10
Nathalia will still be the team to beat. Barooga have recruited well but also appear to have lost some. I believe Echuca United and Mulwala will drop off. Finley appear to be strugglng.The suprise packet could be Deniliquin who improved as the year went on. Tongala have a good coach and some qualiy players and should show further improvement. Cobram will be better as will Rumbalara. As for Toc and Moama I'm not sure although I think Moama have a long way to go . Hope that helps and is reasonably accurate

I heard a rumor on the grapevine that Djarrin Whyman may have signed for Moama??

boora
12 Dec 2007, 15:25
I heard a rumor on the grapevine that Djarrin Whyman may have signed for Moama??
gee, i would of thought that he would sign with rumba. i can't wait for rumba v moama game if it is true and morgs would have to know something.

he josh, how is your tatt and has it been colored in yet?

hank1
12 Dec 2007, 15:53

They are throwing around a fair bit of kanga. Have already lost one signing though, with Tom Roberts deciding to head back to his former club Lancaster after committing to Moama.
On where clubs are at;
Nathalia and Barooga look like they could be head and shoulders above the rest. The next four from this years Top 6, Mulwala, Echuca Utd, Finley and Congupna all seem as though they may drop back a bit.
Every side that missed out on the finals looks as though they will improve. Cobram have added a lot of experience which they have lacked.
Moama as mentioned early are very actively recruiting and have already landed a few signings including the playing coach.
Tongala havent lost anyone of note and picked up four locals who have been playing in district leagues, all have played major league footy before though.
Toc, also actively on the recruiting drive, toquick has gone there, coaches brother Ben from Finley, and they seem to be the front runner for Mellington's service, lost a couple of good players in Pollard, Clancy and Margery though.
Rumba still improving and should push for finals.
Deni finished the year off well and with a young list look to be back on the up
Numurkah have signed a couple of established major league players already and should be on the cusp again.

So outside the Grand Finalists from this year it seems as though everyone else could be fairly even next year.

Homer1
12 Dec 2007, 16:07
ringo1 and hank1, sssshhhh, just keep it quiet guys ;) :) :D.

Cheers :thumbsu:

fact or fiction
12 Dec 2007, 16:28
do u know what players from echuca united are going to l/G

givethemthebird
12 Dec 2007, 16:33
I have heard Mul has lost a sh!t load of players.... And i hear the Billabong Crows have pick up a few....

chicken38
12 Dec 2007, 19:31
Yeah can confirm Matt Sacco is finley's coach. I'm not sure that your comment is fair "toquick"! As you well know, everyone who wants to coach has to start somewhere. I'm sure he will make mistakes, but he won't be on his lonsome there!why didnt they ask u to coach road runner? or is it true that u an sexton are both being poached by blighty or is that just a rumour

willo1
12 Dec 2007, 19:50
do u know what players from echuca united are going to l/G
I don't think there are any. My mail has Shwenke, Retallick and Hazelman returning to Echuca United from their stints at Leitchville/Gunbower.

hank1
12 Dec 2007, 20:07
I don't think there are any. My mail has Shwenke, Retallick and Hazelman returning to Echuca United from their stints at Leitchville/Gunbower.
What are your losses at the moment Willo?

Campbell to Echuca,

also heard Luke Jones and Anthony Baker?

Huey will obviously be a big inclusion any others along with the guys from L/G?

Hand Grenade
12 Dec 2007, 20:33
I have heard Mul has lost a sh!t load of players.... And i hear the Billabong Crows have pick up a few....

Spot on. Apparently plenty of players can't get out of Mul quick enough. Plenty going to Billabong - some on big coin (stuffed if i know where they're getting their $ from in Oaklands?). Rumours of others going to Tungamah and Howlong, plus Rennie might try and pick around the carcass. Mul = sinking ship.

GREENMAN
12 Dec 2007, 21:17
Spot on. Apparently plenty of players can't get out of Mul quick enough. Plenty going to Billabong - some on big coin (stuffed if i know where they're getting their $ from in Oaklands?). Rumours of others going to Tungamah and Howlong, plus Rennie might try and pick around the carcass. Mul = sinking ship.

OK ........Newsflash..Moama football club has made one of the biggest signings in Country Footy.............Former North Melbourne player and Nth Ballarat on baller Djaran Whyman has signed with the club for season 2008. He played 4 games with Nth Melbourne last year as well as finals with Nth Ballarat, add him to the other signings from Sunbury and a new playing coach and watch the Magpies fly in 08. Looks like the Magpies recruiters have been busy in the of season..........

bx bandit
12 Dec 2007, 21:35
OK ........Newsflash..Moama football club has made one of the biggest signings in Country Footy.............Former North Melbourne player and Nth Ballarat on baller Djaran Whyman has signed with the club for season 2008. He played 4 games with Nth Melbourne last year as well as finals with Nth Ballarat, add him to the other signings from Sunbury and a new playing coach and watch the Magpies fly in 08. Looks like the Magpies recruiters have been busy in the of season..........

My mail is that Djar's is making the trip across the nullabor . the WAFL has called and there not taking na mate I'm playing in the murray league for an answer . so it will be the cott on sunday's for young Whyman .
One thing i would like to know is which club in the echuca area hasnt djars comitted to for 2008???

Goorooswami
12 Dec 2007, 23:03
From what I can gather coming out of Mulwala, any team that finishes below them on the ladder this year will be in big trouble. They have got no one left. Its amazing when you look back how big of bunch of soft over-rated mercenarys they had playing for them with no commitment or loyalty to the club whatsoever. Sources tell me thay have lost at least 16 senior players from last years prelim side. You would think that with the new facilitys they now have it would make players want to stay.
Having known Nathan Parker, Muls new coach from his days in Shep, surely he is not the reason? Can anyone enlighten us more on why the mass walkout?
Gooroo

ringo1
13 Dec 2007, 06:42
ringo1 and hank1, sssshhhh, just keep it quiet guys ;) :) :D.

Cheers :thumbsu:

Homer I reckon u blokes have a bit of momentum and willdo well in 08:thumbsu:

goodgolly24
13 Dec 2007, 09:52
My mail is that Djar's is making the trip across the nullabor . the WAFL has called and there not taking na mate I'm playing in the murray league for an answer . so it will be the cott on sunday's for young Whyman .
One thing i would like to know is which club in the echuca area hasnt djars comitted to for 2008???
AAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHHAHAHAHAhahhahahahahhahahaha

oldstyle
13 Dec 2007, 12:01
Moama will need a heap more signing's if they want to climb the ladder, Also it will be interesting to see if they can change the defensive attitude as i watched a game last year on their ground where the coach was happy with the score but mind you they had 12 in the back line!!!!!!!

dropthesirenAcky
13 Dec 2007, 12:18

Campbell to Echuca,

Well , Baker has the role of AC at lockington , wishing him all the best hope he doesn't think heathcote league will be walk over but . Jones is of to the west coast , not sure if footy is a factor in the move , Ollie and his wife are touring oz . Haven't yay's or nay's from anyone else ,

bystanding backman
13 Dec 2007, 12:22
Moama will need a heap more signing's if they want to climb the ladder, Also it will be interesting to see if they can change the defensive attitude as i watched a game last year on their ground where the coach was happy with the score but mind you they had 12 in the back line!!!!!!!

I watched that game as well oldstyle, 8 of those 12 were on parker i reckon.

willo1
13 Dec 2007, 15:47

Campbell to Echuca,

Well , Baker has the role of AC at lockington , wishing him all the best hope he doesn't think heathcote league will be walk over but . Jones is of to the west coast , not sure if footy is a factor in the move , Ollie and his wife are touring oz . Haven't yay's or nay's from anyone else ,

Well Hank, dropthesirenAcky has those ones fairly well spot on. Baker to LBU as assistant coach, and Luke Jones is moving to Western Australia with his girlfriend and will most likely play footy with his mate Ben Wilson over there.

It's good to have Huey back and at the helm, as well as the Leitchville/Gunbower blokes back in the Eagles jumper.

SLUGGA1
13 Dec 2007, 19:13
From what I can gather coming out of Mulwala, any team that finishes below them on the ladder this year will be in big trouble. They have got no one left. Its amazing when you look back how big of bunch of soft over-rated mercenarys they had playing for them with no commitment or loyalty to the club whatsoever. Sources tell me thay have lost at least 16 senior players from last years prelim side. You would think that with the new facilitys they now have it would make players want to stay.
Having known Nathan Parker, Muls new coach from his days in Shep, surely he is not the reason? Can anyone enlighten us more on why the mass walkout?
Gooroo
Soft over-rated mercenarys a! Everyone has left for different reasons, and who might you play for soft c o c k.

RoadRunner11
13 Dec 2007, 19:42
why didnt they ask u to coach road runner? or is it true that u an sexton are both being poached by blighty or is that just a rumour
Ha ha chicken, no blighty hasn't approached me, and i know for a fact that they haven't spoken to secco either. You'll more than likely see the both of us running round in the early game, if required. I'll be helping in other ways around the place, so coaching wasn't an option for me mate. What are you doing this year? Has DA convinced you to play again?

the duke
14 Dec 2007, 00:15
Gooroo

got nothing to do with the coach gooroo u piss stain!!! he will do fine at the helm, Who are the over-rated mercenarys you speak of with no commitment or loyalty? shut up wanker and post something about a club you know something about.

inside out
14 Dec 2007, 16:17
Hey Duke. You seem pretty passionate about Mul. Are you in the know with whats going on there??? How many are leaving and why. Would it be fair to say the your biggest loss is kennedy himself? he seemed pretty well respected by players and opposition. where do you see Mul been at this year? how did they go with cod open? Another good year??

bystanding backman
15 Dec 2007, 10:32
Nathalia had there meet and greet last night a few beers and a bbq. Great night had by all. close to 50 players turned up Seniors, Seconds and a couple of thirds. looking in good shape with those numbers. Couple of new faces which was good. Start training on Tuesday then Friday, then a break over Christmas starting again in early January.

bystanding backman
15 Dec 2007, 10:39
Gooroo see below

got nothing to do with the coach gooroo u piss stain!!! he will do fine at the helm, Who are the over-rated mercenarys you speak of with no commitment or loyalty? shut up wanker and post something about a club you know something about.

as highlighted i don't think he said it was the coach who caused the walk out he was merely asking for info on any other reasons as to the mass walk out.
Got to admitt tho it doesn't look that good, they appoint Parker as Coach and with in a week or two there's rumour's going round that Mul have lost 16, 20 or even 30 odd players.

oldstyle
15 Dec 2007, 10:51
see below

as highlighted i don't think he said it was the coach who caused the walk out he was merely asking for info on any other reasons as to the mass walk out.
Got to admitt tho it doesn't look that good, they appoint Parker as Coach and with in a week or two there's rumour's going round that Mul have lost 16, 20 or even 30 odd players.
From what i heard from an insider last year is that Mul trained hard to improve but maybe they went to hard and by the end of the year they were spent as i have watched them the last few years and they are a totally differant side come finals time.

dropthesirenAcky
15 Dec 2007, 13:30
Nathalia had there meet and greet last night a few beers and a bbq. Great night had by all. close to 50 players turned up Seniors, Seconds and a couple of thirds. looking in good shape with those numbers. Couple of new faces which was good. Start training on Tuesday then Friday, then a break over Christmas starting again in early January.

Fantastic news that . Fantastic bloody news . But as the marker stick of the whole comp they have less to prove and the most to lose .

bx bandit
15 Dec 2007, 15:59

i think you need to settle down duke! gooroo just asked a question, he didnt make any statements. i think we all would like some light shed on the mul departures... however when you pay 20 odd players to play you tend to turn away the mid to lower end of your senior list away and then when the mercenarys leave for greener pasture your left with a few reserves blokes and thats no ones fault except for the clubs!!
As a new comer to the league i reckon there is some well overpayed players in this comp, there are blokes that get in excess of 500 per game that wouldnt get more than 100 in melbourne, but thats country footy in the 21 st century.
keep punchin

godogsgo
16 Dec 2007, 00:14
Sorry your right ben james to yarra true but sanderson knocked cdhbu job back and is a certain starter at billabong crows lamberti has pulled the pin and matt kennedy is going to crows as well him and almond are not that good of mates and that is all true make what you want of it:D

Whats that they are not that good of mates did you say?
Then why did kennedy go to Almonds bucks day last weekend and looks like signing with Howlong? They must be ok mates. and that all ture make what you want of it!

colbys-dad
16 Dec 2007, 08:56
can you give us the names/game style of all of the magpies recruits for 08:thumbsu:

Goorooswami
16 Dec 2007, 20:58
Duke

Never said it had anything to do with Parker. He is a top bloke and I wish him well.

Over-rated under-achieving dis-loyal mercenaries. You can't agruee with that after their past few years performances.
Loyalty means sticking together when things get tough, not pissing off in search of a better quid somewhere else when you haven't achived much as an individual or team at the club you are with. That is the soft option.Truth hurts.

Credit must go to Robert Lambertii though. He may have been getting paid a fair bit of coin but at least he has given the club loyal service over the past 7 years or so. I'm sure he could have got alot more at many clubs around the state and not have had to drive from Melbourne to Mulwalla every wekend.
Gooroo

interchange steward
17 Dec 2007, 13:40
who else has moama recruited from sunbury?

howzat
17 Dec 2007, 17:58
who else has moama recruited from sunbury?probably only 2s players . i no nothing about moama but who ever is doing there recruiting (from melbourne way) is a disgrace, offering stupid amounts of money ($600-$800) a game to very average footballers . clubs like this are the reason country football is headed for some real big trouble very shortly .

almost there
18 Dec 2007, 11:25
probably only 2s players . i no nothing about moama but who ever is doing there recruiting (from melbourne way) is a disgrace, offering stupid amounts of money ($600-$800) a game to very average footballers . clubs like this are the reason country football is headed for some real big trouble very shortly .
Have heard of a couple of the boys that moama have signed, one is Cam McCabe a very talanted forward/on-baller, will defintely be ranked among the best players in your comp, I have nothing to do with your leauge, I am from down Sunbury way so no need to bullsh#t anyone up there! Another one is Ross Sleight, a very good footballer probably the same age as Cam I think around the 22/23 mark. Another one is a handy forward named Luke Allen he was in and out of the Sunbury seniors the last couple of years.
I agree with your comment of country footballers getting paid way to much, Cam will be worth it not sure bout the others, but in saying that I have a van at Mulwala and having seen a few games there not alone in the way of players getting paid to much and not being worth it.

bx bandit
18 Dec 2007, 14:14
Have heard of a couple of the boys that moama have signed, one is Cam McCabe a very talanted forward/on-baller, will defintely be ranked among the best players in your comp, I have nothing to do with your leauge, I am from down Sunbury way so no need to bullsh#t anyone up there! Another one is Ross Sleight, a very good footballer probably the same age as Cam I think around the 22/23 mark. Another one is a handy forward named Luke Allen he was in and out of the Sunbury seniors the last couple of years.
I agree with your comment of country footballers getting paid way to much, Cam will be worth it not sure bout the others, but in saying that I have a van at Mulwala and having seen a few games there not alone in the way of players getting paid to much and not being worth it.

Cant see these guys making to much diference to the moama side! First of all they wont be training there and secondly one of the boys is a fringe player in a league not that far greater than the murray (ballarat league from memory). lets hope moama didnt open up the cheque book for a fringe player or maybe lets hope they did.

down the middle
18 Dec 2007, 15:40
From what i heard from an insider last year is that Mul trained hard to improve but maybe they went to hard and by the end of the year they were spent as i have watched them the last few years and they are a totally differant side come finals time.

Another problem Mul face is they play on a very small ground by Murray League standards. Come finals time they are found wanting on the bigger grounds. A lot of GV & O&M players that I have spoken to that have come to play for Murray League clubs all say it takes time to adjust to the ground sizes.

dropthesirenAcky
18 Dec 2007, 17:30
i think you need to settle down duke! gooroo just asked a question, he didnt make any statements. i think we all would like some light shed on the mul departures... however when you pay 20 odd players to play you tend to turn away the mid to lower end of your senior list away and then when the mercenarys leave for greener pasture your left with a few reserves blokes and thats no ones fault except for the clubs!!
As a new comer to the league i reckon there is some well overpayed players in this comp, there are blokes that get in excess of 500 per game that wouldnt get more than 100 in melbourne, but thats country footy in the 21 st century.
keep punchin

I tend to agree with the bandit here lads , a man probably should read things through a couple of times before firing up at something that you could have taken out of context . Also I think that players should be happy with a pie and a coke after the game . Blokes fetching 3 , 4 or $500 a game I hope your ready for the pressure ,I think clubs are stupid to pay it , but they do so there you go . But finally " keep Punchin" who are you Palmers punchlines ? anyone else's catchphrase you want to knock off . Show the big footy readers a bit of respect , please . that's my two cents .

Hand Grenade
18 Dec 2007, 21:05
I tend to agree with the bandit here lads , a man probably should read things through a couple of times before firing up at something that you could have taken out of context . Also I think that players should be happy with a pie and a coke after the game . Blokes fetching 3 , 4 or $500 a game I hope your ready for the pressure ,I think clubs are stupid to pay it , but they do so there you go . But finally " keep Punchin" who are you Palmers punchlines ? anyone else's catchphrase you want to knock off . Show the big footy readers a bit of respect , please . that's my two cents .

I didn't know that Palmer owned or had the patent on the phrase "keep punchin"?!?!?! Any other commonly used phrases we are not permitted by you to use?:)

ringo1
19 Dec 2007, 07:28
Another problem Mul face is they play on a very small ground by Murray League standards. Come finals time they are found wanting on the bigger grounds. A lot of GV & O&M players that I have spoken to that have come to play for Murray League clubs all say it takes time to adjust to the ground sizes.

A few players were not disciplined as far as accountability went and this catches up in finals

dropthesirenAcky
20 Dec 2007, 18:39
I didn't know that Palmer owned or had the patent on the phrase "keep punchin"?!?!?! Any other commonly used phrases we are not permitted by you to use?:)

I'd like if you could avoid the phrase " say hi to your mum for me " , Not because rove own's it ,just because it's crap . All other phrases and cliche's are okay with me . And if possible talk only in cliche's on sundays . And that's the end of that chapter!

goodgolly24
20 Dec 2007, 21:06
Announced tonight at training, Rumbalara's new senior coach for season 2008 is Mark "Mud" O'Meara (I think thats how it's spelt). I don't know much about him, but i've heards he's been around abit in a football sense. Can anyone shed some light on his background?
From what i've seen he knows what he's on about, and I think it's deffinatly a positive move by the club.

FYI. Rumbalara's pre season recommences on January 15th 2008at Mercury Drv. All current and potential players welcome

hank1
21 Dec 2007, 00:09
Announced tonight at training, Rumbalara's new senior coach for season 2008 is Mark "Mud" O'Meara (I think thats how it's spelt). I don't know much about him, but i've heards he's been around abit in a football sense. Can anyone shed some light on his background?
From what i've seen he knows what he's on about, and I think it's deffinatly a positive move by the club.

FYI. Rumbalara's pre season recommences on January 15th 2008at Mercury Drv. All current and potential players welcome

Never heard of him, but I'm sure you blokes have researched well and have got what you need, big year for Rumba and expect them to move quickly up the ladder.

goodgolly24
21 Dec 2007, 14:55
[quote=goodgolly24;9720949]Announced tonight at training, Rumbalara's new senior coach for season 2008 is Mark "Mud" O'Meara (I think thats how it's spelt).

At least we will all have a better golf swing by years end anyway

HUH?????

Go Cohuna
21 Dec 2007, 16:08

He's overrated..

inside out
22 Dec 2007, 06:28
Mud has played alot of country footy and done a bit of coaching over his time. I am supprised that he is doing the rumba job as he was reported to have been offered a few gvl jobs.... why would you go to rumba???? a fair chance the money must have been bloody good. Next thing we will know that Brenton Cooper will make a come back with rumba.... Mud was the brains behind cooper at benalla....... could be interesting.... look out rumba he is full on...as he is a personal trainier.....could be just what they need....

goodgolly24
22 Dec 2007, 09:24
Mud has played alot of country footy and done a bit of coaching over his time. I am supprised that he is doing the rumba job as he was reported to have been offered a few gvl jobs.... why would you go to rumba???? a fair chance the money must have been bloody good. Next thing we will know that Brenton Cooper will make a come back with rumba.... Mud was the brains behind cooper at benalla....... could be interesting.... look out rumba he is full on...as he is a personal trainier.....could be just what they need....

I don't really want to get into it, but the Rmbalara Football Netball Club has a bit more to offer then just money. We've got excellent facilities, a good supporter base, a great mix of members and where on the rise. You ask why would you choose Rumba, I ask why (at this stage in our development) wouldn't you ???

dropthesirenAcky
23 Dec 2007, 11:28
[quote=goodgolly24;9720949]Announced tonight at training, Rumbalara's new senior coach for season 2008 is Mark "Mud" O'Meara (I think thats how it's spelt).

At least we will all have a better golf swing by years end anyway

I get it . o'meara =golf . what's the go with jars ? didn't like the west? Also spoke to a bloke on the sunbury board he reckons those boy's mo town recruited are embarrased how much coin they are getting , and local boy's Gread and Petty are chasing some travel assistance and the clubs pockets suddenly bottomed out . Is that because Whyman is to become a magpie ? or was it turbo's severence pay ?

HitEmHardFreo
23 Dec 2007, 12:24

Is this for real, seriously?

footyguru27
23 Dec 2007, 18:35
Moama are definately going to have a massive improvement on the last couple of years. hopefully the club can get back to where it used to be. Does anyone have any info on these sunbury players? positions etc? are they worth the $ they are getting or what? Also has Djaryn 100% signed or not.......

aunt_bunny
23 Dec 2007, 18:42
Yes, Very.

i heard from a friend that djaran whyman was after a grand a game from rumba is it true?

i don't think he is worth that even if he is just out of the afl and you would think with what rumba could offer him (job/there connections/family) that he would of went there.

boora
23 Dec 2007, 20:55
Rumba would never be able to offer anyone that kind of money and won't be able to for another couple of decades.

i would hope that rumba, would never offer that type of money unless it was for a wayne carey/lockett match winner type. djars is a good player, but he ain't worth that and rumba have heaps of players that play similar to him.

i think we need more of the key position type and tough on ballers.

football ain't gonna be forever, 18,000 grand for the season ain't much, when you think about it, compared to a fulltime job and the chance to work with the new academy and stuff.

but ah well, i am sure he has his reasons and good luck too him and can't wait for the moama clash.

hank1
23 Dec 2007, 21:06
Moama are definately going to have a massive improvement on the last couple of years. hopefully the club can get back to where it used to be. Does anyone have any info on these sunbury players? positions etc? are they worth the $ they are getting or what? Also has Djaryn 100% signed or not.......

You'd think Moama might have learnt from their cross the border rivals that throwing stupid money around won't get you anywhere in the long run. United may have played off last year but they dropped off this year and look to be going further back next year. Moama may sneak into the finals with what they are recruiting but will the club be able to sustain this long term?
This year they recruited Knox and Faulkner from Gisborne who both couldnt get a senior finals game for them, Jackson from Rochy who also struggled to get a regular senior game at Rochy, as their big recruits, do any of the recruits they have signed up so far have solid major league credentials? Obviously Whyman is an exception if they have got him, but you have to look at why he would have chosen Moama over Rumbalara, money is the only consideration that I can come up with. Anyone in the loop at these clubs that can give us some definitive answers?

footyguru27
23 Dec 2007, 21:50
Hank1, I totally agree with your statement about them learning from united "mistakes". clubs arent worrying about the long terms affects of spending big these days.... Moama had to change something though, cos what theyve been doing over the last few years obviously hasnt worked. Maybe spendin some money in the junior area to develop some younger kids (future of the club) would be a good option too?? The New Coach Shannon Keam and Assistant coach John Harley are both handy players by all reports, a few of the older players have come back ie. Chris eddy, and noone has really left. Need some keys position players with a bit of size thats all. hopefully these sunbury guys fill that gap?!

hank1
24 Dec 2007, 10:19
Hank1, I totally agree with your statement about them learning from united "mistakes". clubs arent worrying about the long terms affects of spending big these days.... Moama had to change something though, cos what theyve been doing over the last few years obviously hasnt worked. Maybe spendin some money in the junior area to develop some younger kids (future of the club) would be a good option too?? The New Coach Shannon Keam and Assistant coach John Harley are both handy players by all reports, a few of the older players have come back ie. Chris eddy, and noone has really left. Need some keys position players with a bit of size thats all. hopefully these sunbury guys fill that gap?!

Yeah reports I have got back are that the coach can play, as I mentioned no idea on the Sunbury blokes, hopefully they have got a bit of size about them and can hold down some key positions for them.

colbys-dad
24 Dec 2007, 10:31
Yeah reports I have got back are that the coach can play, as I mentioned no idea on the Sunbury blokes, hopefully they have got a bit of size about them and can hold down some key positions for them.
watched the boys train last week and they certainly looked very sharp.i believe the full forward can get amongst it,by all reports kicked over 60 goals in the BFL last season.:thumbsu:

goodgolly24
24 Dec 2007, 11:00
I ran into anthoney mellinton on the weekend, hhe said he's definatly playing a Toc!

hank1
24 Dec 2007, 13:57
watched the boys train last week and they certainly looked very sharp.i believe the full forward can get amongst it,by all reports kicked over 60 goals in the BFL last season.:thumbsu:

The players mentioned earlier are;

Cam McCabe 46 goals Early 20s, so assume thats the FF you are talking about. He also had Luke Beattie and Damian Houlihan in the Forward line with him at Sunbury so would have got the 3rd best backman most weeks, that is something that will change at Moama, but certainly looks to have the credentials to go well in the MFL.

Ross Sleight 20 goals, got BOG in their GF loss and also 2nd best in their 2nd Semi defeat, that shows that he can obviously play the game and will be one to watch closely.

Luke Allen 13 goals in the twos, 3 senior games, early 20s.

howzat
24 Dec 2007, 14:53
The players mentioned earlier are;

Cam McCabe 46 goals Early 20s, so assume thats the FF you are talking about. He also had Luke Beattie and Damian Houlihan in the Forward line with him at Sunbury so would have got the 3rd best backman most weeks, that is something that will change at Moama, but certainly looks to have the credentials to go well in the MFL.

Ross Sleight 20 goals, got BOG in their GF loss and also 2nd best in their 2nd Semi defeat, that shows that he can obviously play the game and will be one to watch closely.

Luke Allen 13 goals in the twos, 3 senior games, early 20s.$600 a game to a guy that kicked 13 goals for the year playing key position in the sunbury 2's...... Moama fc should be ashamed of themselves !

footyguru27
24 Dec 2007, 21:08
Is that bloke really getting $600 a game? do you know this for a fact?? thats bullsit.... some local players that have done lots fot the club both on and off the field dont get offered near that.....if they dont perform they should be ashamed to accept that Much!!!! :(

big hawk
25 Dec 2007, 22:10
Believe me people, there are a lot of overpayed, underworked footballers out there playing in the MFL. The money that some of these so-called "superstars" are getting is just beyond reason. Having played in several premiership sides at senior level, and having played with some outstanding footballers in those sides, there is no-one running around in the MFL who would even come close to their calibre yet are on twice the amount they would have received. I'm talking about blokes like Brunner, Tranter, O'Dwyer, Brooks. Some of these country clubs, especially the big spenders need to pull their heads in and have a hard look at the coin they are willing to part with. That includes Barooga. It is killing country footy! These pricks who reckon they can play the game come from downtown, pillaging the small county clubs and not giving a damn as to what happens as long as they get their pay packet. The worst thing about it is the country clubs are stupid enough to pay this kind of money to these bastards. It's just totally wrong!

big hawk
26 Dec 2007, 23:22
I ran into anthoney mellinton on the weekend, hhe said he's definatly playing a Toc!
Yeah, that's after he bidded Barooga and Toc against each other to see who would come up with the fattest pay cheque!!!:mad:

hank1
27 Dec 2007, 09:16
Yeah, that's after he bidded Barooga and Toc against each other to see who would come up with the fattest pay cheque!!!:mad:

Not surprised with that Hawk, Toc outbid us well and truly on a couple last year and even put a big pay packet in front of our B&F winner from this year, luckily he had already signed on for next year the week before and was loyal.

GREENMAN
27 Dec 2007, 09:51
$600 a game to a guy that kicked 13 goals for the year playing key position in the sunbury 2's...... Moama fc should be ashamed of themselves !

You have to understand the circumstances why he didnt perform last year..............Sunbury recruited Damian Houlihan as the key forward and that pushed Luke Allen into a role upfield..........He is a f/f and kicked 60 goals the year before and he got injured and then suspended until the finals..........he will do very well in this comp and if the supply is good then he will kick alot of goals.......watch out for Scott Lobb..........a gun at Sunbury....

hank1
27 Dec 2007, 13:35
You have to understand the circumstances why he didnt perform last year..............Sunbury recruited Damian Houlihan as the key forward and that pushed Luke Allen into a role upfield..........He is a f/f and kicked 60 goals the year before and he got injured and then suspended until the finals..........he will do very well in this comp and if the supply is good then he will kick alot of goals.......watch out for Scott Lobb..........a gun at Sunbury....

yes did kick 60 in 2006 so must go alright.

quick stix
27 Dec 2007, 15:51
$600 a game to a guy that kicked 13 goals for the year playing key position in the sunbury 2's...... Moama fc should be ashamed of themselves !

it's more than 600, and they had'nt even seen these blokes kick a footy b4 signing. funny stuff..

all good players and will all play good ones footy up there!!

fact or fiction
28 Dec 2007, 11:00
i have played against scott lobb in the bfl is a good player but for luke allen he is shit and is not worth $600 A GAME

nesko_25
29 Dec 2007, 01:02
Could someone give me a bit of info on Baker? Also on a bloke I only know as "Bones", works at the Gunny pub

master21
29 Dec 2007, 15:10
Can anyone give me any information about when Barooga start up training again in the new yr ???

hank1
29 Dec 2007, 16:03
Could someone give me a bit of info on Baker? Also on a bloke I only know as "Bones", works at the Gunny pub

Strong well built 6 foot onballer, R/Up in league medal 2006, didnt have a great year this year, rates himself very highly.

footyguru27
29 Dec 2007, 17:19
Is that Bakes from united you talking about? had a good year in 2006 cos of a massive pre season. Pretty inconsistent year this year. Good size, big upper body with skiny legs and has a funny running style. Pretty solid player. I believe he is to be the ass-coach out locky now.

bx bandit
30 Dec 2007, 13:57
You'd think Moama might have learnt from their cross the border rivals that throwing stupid money around won't get you anywhere in the long run. United may have played off last year but they dropped off this year and look to be going further back next year. Moama may sneak into the finals with what they are recruiting but will the club be able to sustain this long term?
This year they recruited Knox and Faulkner from Gisborne who both couldnt get a senior finals game for them, Jackson from Rochy who also struggled to get a regular senior game at Rochy, as their big recruits, do any of the recruits they have signed up so far have solid major league credentials? Obviously Whyman is an exception if they have got him, but you have to look at why he would have chosen Moama over Rumbalara, money is the only consideration that I can come up with. Anyone in the loop at these clubs that can give us some definitive answers?

nice pot shot at united and moama hank! Sounds like you dont like having competition from the 2 echuca based sides. I'm not sure what club your aligned with but the "throwing stupid money around" tag belongs to clubs like mul and barooga which finished 3rd and 2nd last year and would have spent double what united did who finished 4th and that could not be disputed.
Will be interesting to see how the mowers go with an increase in player payments...maybe they might even spend a couple of dollars to pay their local blokes that are living in melbourne to come home, might be better than spending on sunburys 2's side!
Could anyone even guess what mul spent on player payments last season?

hank1
30 Dec 2007, 14:08
nice pot shot at united and moama hank! Sounds like you dont like having competition from the 2 echuca based sides. I'm not sure what club your aligned with but the "throwing stupid money around" tag belongs to clubs like mul and barooga which finished 3rd and 2nd last year and would have spent double what united did who finished 4th and that could not be disputed.
Will be interesting to see how the mowers go with an increase in player payments...maybe they might even spend a couple of dollars to pay their local blokes that are living in melbourne to come home, might be better than spending on sunburys 2's side!

Tongala
Agree with you that those sides would have been well above United, although if the 4 Heidelberg blokes had of stayed for the year they may have been up there.
Yes it is hard recruiting against Moama and United with the money that they have to offer, but happy where we are at and the way we are going about becoming more competitive.

Sippawitz
30 Dec 2007, 16:25
Oh, come on bx bandit, a pot shot from Hank? I thought that was his official job as social conscience and financial auditor of the Murray League... Hey Hank, with your exceptional inside knowledge of the fiscal inner sanctums of these clubs can you let me know how much the player memberships are at Barooga this year, the pies at Moama and the ball tickets at United??

Or perhaps you could just let us know how you get the recruits Tonny have picked up in the last 2 years from GV and district leagues to just play for the love of the jumper??

It can be pretty easy to have misconceptiona about footy clubs when you are on the outside looking in... but at the end of the day, all clubs are paying players..so these arguments about who's paying what is just a way to fill in time till the ball bounces..

Homer1
30 Dec 2007, 17:26
Tongala
Agree with you that those sides would have been well above United, although if the 4 Heidelberg blokes had of stayed for the year they may have been up there.
Yes it is hard recruiting against Moama and United with the money that they have to offer, but happy where we are at and the way we are going about becoming more competitive.

:thumbsu:well said hank1

hank1
30 Dec 2007, 17:59
Oh, come on bx bandit, a pot shot from Hank? I thought that was his official job as social conscience and financial auditor of the Murray League... Hey Hank, with your exceptional inside knowledge of the fiscal inner sanctums of these clubs can you let me know how much the player memberships are at Barooga this year, the pies at Moama and the ball tickets at United??

Or perhaps you could just let us know how you get the recruits Tonny have picked up in the last 2 years from GV and district leagues to just play for the love of the jumper??
It can be pretty easy to have misconceptiona about footy clubs when you are on the outside looking in... but at the end of the day, all clubs are paying players..so these arguments about who's paying what is just a way to fill in time till the ball bounces..

Cheers Sippawitz, wouldn't say it was exceptional but would have more of an idea than most, I approach players from the Shepparton district - where Toc, Barooga and Mulwala have done a bit of recruiting over the past couple of years., and the Echuca area - Moama and United.
When you are trying to recruit guys during the off-season, in the end most of the talks come down to money and when they tell you what other clubs have offered them (some may over exaggerate a little) you get a fair idea on what clubs are offering.
On recruiting for Tongala over the past two years;
Michael Roberts - paid( half of what he was offered to join a rival MFL club)
Simon Harrison - 0 lives Stanhope
Matt Ohlsen - 0 lives Tongala
Kyle Harrison - 0 paid for petrol lives Melb
Dylan Martin - 0 paid for petrol lives Melb from Tongala
Justin Watson - 0 lives Tongala
Daniel Cox - 0 lives Tongala
Nick Harris - 0 lives Melb/Tongala
Tim Harris - 0 lives Tongala
Scott Waasdorp - paid( still eligible for incentives) lives Tongala

Shannon Dixon - 0 lived in Echuca
Ash Nunn - paid (still eligible for incentives) lives Melb from Tongala

12 recruits, 3 paid with 2 still on incentives. 8 out of 12 live or grew up in Tongala. You may now get a bit of a picture of our recruiting philosophy, if not this might strengthen it a bit more;
2008 recruits Adam Brunt AC paid, Travis Johnstone - 0, Darin Ohlsen - 0, Keiren Brennan - 0 all live in Tongala and have played majority of their football at the club.

P.S. Barooga player membership is $100, pie at Moama was $3.20, didnt have one so don't know how good they are, United ball ticket was $70 all inclusive, good night had by all.

Cheers.

fromthebackline
30 Dec 2007, 20:29
Tongala

Just got back from O/S. Is it true Nathalia is the best side ever seen in the comp,this year? If so must be geat side. Had person say the other day would beat G.V and Maybe O/M even though been away for 2 years I thought this was a bit over the top. Can anyone help?

hank1
31 Dec 2007, 07:08
Just got back from O/S. Is it true Nathalia is the best side ever seen in the comp,this year? If so must be geat side. Had person say the other day would beat G.V and Maybe O/M even though been away for 2 years I thought this was a bit over the top. Can anyone help?

Great Murray League side but Seymour would have their measure in the GV, haven't seen any O&M footy so can't comment.

bx bandit
31 Dec 2007, 08:10

Thats true sippa, however if clubs put their money in the wrong players it justs pushes the market value up and thats been happening for years and hurting country footy.

bx bandit
31 Dec 2007, 08:17
Cheers Sippawitz, wouldn't say it was exceptional but would have more of an idea than most, I approach players from the Shepparton district - where Toc, Barooga and Mulwala have done a bit of recruiting over the past couple of years., and the Echuca area - Moama and United.
When you are trying to recruit guys during the off-season, in the end most of the talks come down to money and when they tell you what other clubs have offered them (some may over exaggerate a little) you get a fair idea on what clubs are offering.

12 recruits, 3 paid with 2 still on incentives. 8 out of 12 live or grew up in Tongala. You may now get a bit of a picture of our recruiting philosophy, if not this might strengthen it a bit more;
2008 recruits Adam Brunt AC paid, Travis Johnstone - 0, Darin Ohlsen - 0, Keiren Brennan - 0 all live in Tongala and have played majority of their football at the club.

P.S. Barooga player membership is $100, pie at Moama was $3.20, didnt have one so don't know how good they are, United ball ticket was $70 all inclusive, good night had by all.

Cheers.

hank, i think tonny are doing the right thing by targeting locals and not paying big bucks as they did in the gv (i think this nearly brought the club to its knees) but they will never win a flag when other clubs are spending what they are currently.
sounds like tonny are going to be cellar dwellers again!

goodgolly24
31 Dec 2007, 10:30
hank, i think tonny are doing the right thing by targeting locals and not paying big bucks as they did in the gv (i think this nearly brought the club to its knees) but they will never win a flag when other clubs are spending what they are currently.
sounds like tonny are going to be cellar dwellers again!

I've gotta disagree with you there bandit, Just because they don't want to pay the big bucks doesn't make them cellar dwellers (not in this league anyway). I'm not involved with tonny, but I strongly beleive you don't need GV players just to be flag contenders. To have the odd KPP is definatly handy, but hey don't make the team. there's this misconception that you need to pay big $$$ to win premierships. But premierships are earnt, not brought. All that big name players do is give the rest of the team confidence if you ask me.
Tonny's list will mature a fair bit over the summer and although they might'nt be in the top 4, they definatly won't be at the bottom i don't think.
I could be wrong though??

Sippawitz
31 Dec 2007, 11:35

Cheers.

Nice work Hank, appreciate the response. Tonny are pretty lucky to be able to be in that position. I'm tippin not many clubs would be able to quote that strike rate of paid vs non-paid recruits.

Still think you are a bit off the mark at times when you refer to some clubs apparent cheque-book footy, but you are going to have your opinion and i'll have mine. As I said before, all clubs are paying blokes (probably too much) and trying to analyse each list to the last dollar aint always that productive.

Cheers.