View Full Version : Murray Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

hank1
31 Dec 2007, 17:01
Nice work Hank, appreciate the response. Tonny are pretty lucky to be able to be in that position. I'm tippin not many clubs would be able to quote that strike rate of paid vs non-paid recruits.

Still think you are a bit off the mark at times when you refer to some clubs apparent cheque-book footy, but you are going to have your opinion and i'll have mine. As I said before, all clubs are paying blokes (probably too much) and trying to analyse each list to the last dollar aint always that productive.

Cheers.

Totally agree with that Sippawitz, I certainly don't bring up what this blokes on and who is spending this much. The only time I give my opinion on money talks is when someone else has brought it up.
In response to bx bandit your right, we won't win a premiership next season, only one side will do that and it will be one of the Grand Finalists from this year. We will be expecting to improve again and a finals berth would be part of those expectations. Will be interesting though with all the sides that didnt make the finals this year looking like they will improve in 2008.

down the middle
1 Jan 2008, 20:09
Have heard Cobram has recruited well over the summer. The Rudds , Bourke and Price from Yarra will add quality.Also heard the name Newton mentioned (ex Wodonga )and they look like keeping last years group. Also a few locals playing in Melbourne may travel home. Should help them get off the bottom and be pretty competitive. Has any one got an opinion on the quality of these guys and were Cobram may end up ?

big hawk
3 Jan 2008, 11:39
Can anyone give me any information about when Barooga start up training again in the new yr ???
Training kick starts again on about the 14th of Jan. I think it's a Sunday. The boys had a couple of runs pre Christmas and Byso gave us a fitness program to complete until the mentioned date. Hope the boys are doing it!

dartstruth
3 Jan 2008, 14:39
louy marsh in talks with moma, fallout with united after cought in bed with team mates girlfriend.. fireworks..

master21
3 Jan 2008, 16:32
Training kick starts again on about the 14th of Jan. I think it's a Sunday. The boys had a couple of runs pre Christmas and Byso gave us a fitness program to complete until the mentioned date. Hope the boys are doing it!

Cheers, thanks for that!!!

footyguru27
3 Jan 2008, 16:44
louy marsh in talks with moma, fallout with united after cought in bed with team mates girlfriend.. fireworks..

hahahahahahah that is gold! any names at all?? he's a sly dog that boy!

Jarman11
3 Jan 2008, 20:41
Thats true sippa, however if clubs put their money in the wrong players it justs pushes the market value up and thats been happening for years and hurting country footy.

Mulwala must be one of those clubs, no premiership with the recruits they had. Any idea on how they are shaping up this year and how Nathan Parker will go as coach?

dartstruth
3 Jan 2008, 22:45
hahahahahahah that is gold! any names at all?? he's a sly dog that boy!

Very lucky 2 have his nuts aft girlfriend cought him in the sack, with same female as his team mate did 3days before hand, when will the boy ever learn... sly one, wouldn't want 2 be he his shoes...

Kards1
4 Jan 2008, 10:28
Very lucky 2 have his nuts aft girlfriend cought him in the sack, with same female as his team mate did 3days before hand, when will the boy ever learn... sly one, wouldn't want 2 be he his shoes...

So did he shag his mates G/F or just cheated on his missus.....or both?? why would he not be playing with united anymore. He is a tad over rated as a player anyways...

dropthesirenAcky
4 Jan 2008, 14:41
hank, i think tonny are doing the right thing by targeting locals and not paying big bucks as they did in the gv (i think this nearly brought the club to its knees) but they will never win a flag when other clubs are spending what they are currently.
sounds like tonny are going to be cellar dwellers again!

I would like the any club who has never forked any money for a player to cast the first rock , honestly we would love to live in a world where everybody plays for the love of it , but here we are . I suppose Tonny paid Arke Fanua and Baker from down broady way with nesquik and t-bones from Greenhams !

dropthesirenAcky
4 Jan 2008, 14:53
Could someone give me a bit of info on Baker? Also on a bloke I only know as "Bones", works at the Gunny pub

Well nesko , Bones owns the joint I think , He's one of the McGillvray clan . not as feared as old jack but scary enough . Why do you ask , play up ? if so there's plenty of other pubs . And Baker when he's in touch is a hardrunning centerman with good skill's over head , can fill a key position but best used a busting open packs . Also shows some skill at the disco's . Hope I was some help, see you at the gunny races !

hank1
4 Jan 2008, 15:42
I would like the any club who has never forked any money for a player to cast the first rock , honestly we would love to live in a world where everybody plays for the love of it , but here we are . I suppose Tonny paid Arke Fanua and Baker from down broady way with nesquik and t-bones from Greenhams !

Very true buddy, they were paid a stupid amount of money and that is why I never even contacted them about playing on in 2006 with the club when I took over as coach.
Think your on the wrong boat here anyway, I haven't had a crack about clubs spending money, everyone does to some extent, but we have decided to build the club up from within the town first and then maybe once we are able to push finals then look at topping up with a couple of big recruits.

grac
4 Jan 2008, 16:32
Very true buddy, they were paid a stupid amount of money and that is why I never even contacted them about playing on in 2006 with the club when I took over as coach.
Think your on the wrong boat here anyway, I haven't had a crack about clubs spending money, everyone does to some extent, but we have decided to build the club up from within the town first and then maybe once we are able to push finals then look at topping up with a couple of big recruits.Very much the Nathalia way.;)

dropthesirenAcky
4 Jan 2008, 22:06
Think your on the wrong boat here anyway, I haven't had a crack about clubs spending money, everyone does to some extent, but we have decided to build the club up from within the town first and then maybe once we are able to push finals then look at topping up with a couple of big recruits.

Cheers haro ! you haven't tempted any of your ex rochy team mates over , so I reckon you must be throwing straight dice . good luck with the kids , Have worked with some tonny lads and if thats any indication they will have a crack no doubt . but surely you could lure a carl moon or a nathan whipp over , they might give some bite ! While were going after reading your list , Justin Watson for zero dollars what a coup! lucky to snap him up

hank1
5 Jan 2008, 06:40
Cheers haro ! you haven't tempted any of your ex rochy team mates over , so I reckon you must be throwing straight dice . good luck with the kids , Have worked with some tonny lads and if thats any indication they will have a crack no doubt . but surely you could lure a carl moon or a nathan whipp over , they might give some bite ! While were going after reading your list , Justin Watson for zero dollars what a coup! lucky to snap him up

Yes big coup to get Justin back to the club for nothing,;) injured more often than he is on the field though.
The players you mentioned would be nice, but are probably only going to take the spot of someone local with similar ability.
We need a mobile ruckman and a hard at it onballer, got anyone in mind for me?

dropthesirenAcky
5 Jan 2008, 09:02
Yes big coup to get Justin back to the club for nothing,;) injured more often than he is on the field though.
The players you mentioned would be nice, but are probably only going to take the spot of someone local with similar ability.
We need a mobile ruckman and a hard at it onballer, got anyone in mind for me?

Big lurch not mobile enough? make him cut out the meal between breakfast and brunch . Ash O'brien comes to mind but I think his shoulder pops out when he sneeze's and he's not cosistantly hard , if it's crowd side near the netballers he's like a battering ram. What about Darren Webster? I hear he's coaching the two's . If all else fails you could play him on Mr B Parker , he would talk him to sleep banging on about old days .

hank1
5 Jan 2008, 09:28
Big lurch not mobile enough? make him cut out the meal between breakfast and brunch . Ash O'brien comes to mind but I think his shoulder pops out when he sneeze's and he's not cosistantly hard , if it's crowd side near the netballers he's like a battering ram. What about Darren Webster? I hear he's coaching the two's . If all else fails you could play him on Mr B Parker , he would talk him to sleep banging on about old days .

Yeah Webby loves a chat, big Lurchy needs a hand more than anything, actually showed a bit of mobility last year, roved the pack, took a bounce and kicked one home from 50 on the run in one game, poetry in motion, has trouble slotting them through from 10m out straight in front on the run though:eek:

bystanding backman
7 Jan 2008, 10:40
Monday, 7th January 2008
Family ties lure Whyman home

Tim Doutre
Riverine Herald

Former Kangaroo Djaran Whyman has turned his back on East Perth to join Murray Football League club Moama.
After signing with the West Australian Football League club in October, Whyman admitted he had been wooed back to his hometown.
The Echuca-born Whyman has cited his family as a driving force behind the decision.
``I went over to Perth and it just wasn't for me,'' Whyman said.
``I went over for a bit and got the feel for the footy. I did a few sessions with them (the Royals), but family plays a big part in my life and it (Perth) was just too far away.''
Whyman was keen to end any conjecture about his football future, stating the move to Moama was a done deal.
``This is the final decision,'' he said.
``In the end I am happy to be back in town. I was always going to come back to Echuca-Moama.
``I've been back for a few weeks now. I spent Christmas and New Year's here.''
The 24-year-old had previously expressed a desire to return home after his delisting from the Kangaroos and said when his decision to return to the area had been made, Moama was one of the first clubs that had come to mind.
``Right from the start when I first made contact with Mark (Coe, Moama's recruitment officer), they were really good about it,'' Whyman said.
``And when I went to Perth, they were the only club to stay in contact and wish me luck.
``I was always going to come back to this area and obviously I have come back a lot sooner than I thought, but I thought Moama would be the go.''
Last season, Moama finished second-last, winning two from 18 games.
Magpies coach Shannon Keam, who took over from coach Chris Waterson in October, was pleased with the signing of Whyman.
``He's a good bloke, and obviously to come out of the AFL he is going to be a pretty handy acquisition for the footy club,'' Keam said. ``He is going to be good not only for our club but for the league.''

Kards1
7 Jan 2008, 11:03
Things just keep looking better for Moama, i rekon they will be a fair force this year, some good recruits and locals back at the club.

big hawk
7 Jan 2008, 15:46
Mulwala must be one of those clubs, no premiership with the recruits they had. Any idea on how they are shaping up this year and how Nathan Parker will go as coach?
Reports and speculation are suggesting that Mul are in a bit of strife player wise. Lost up to 12 of the key senior players. See money can only by you so much. 4 prelim defeats is not money well spent! As for Parker as coach, only time will tell! Got some good kids coming through but......................................................... ....................................:confused::confused::con fused::confused::confused:

big hawk
7 Jan 2008, 15:48
Things just keep looking better for Moama, i rekon they will be a fair force this year, some good recruits and locals back at the club.
Looking good but will a couple of recruits be enough. It's not your top 6 or 7 who will win you a premiership but your bottom half dozen, and on 2007's performance don't know if they have got the cattle. Got some good youngsters so hopefully they will have some great role models to work off.

blueeyes
7 Jan 2008, 15:54
any news on a couple of ex seymour boys who played for barroga 2007. are the hanging around and how did they perform. r.e. gerard liddel and pat rattray

Kards1
7 Jan 2008, 16:30
Looking good but will a couple of recruits be enough. It's not your top 6 or 7 who will win you a premiership but your bottom half dozen, and on 2007's performance don't know if they have got the cattle. Got some good youngsters so hopefully they will have some great role models to work off.

There are some good players that have been at the club the last few years and still remain there. the thing is they never had the support and their hard work would be let down by the below average players turnovers/mistakes etc. Now that there have been a good number around 10 senior players recruited or simply joined the club along with your best 10 or so from the year before, plus some new young kids. I suppose we will have to wait and see come playing time.....

dropthesirenAcky
7 Jan 2008, 18:52

Hell have no fury like a woman scorned, and after being on the business of one of her spray's , let's just say try to avoid it ! But no one has been available for comment on the issue , a sorce told me after questioning Luan he was offered a denial . Very Bill Clinton !

goodgolly24
7 Jan 2008, 20:16
Hell have no fury like a woman scorned, and after being on the business of one of her spray's , let's just say try to avoid it ! But no one has been available for comment on the issue , a sorce told me after questioning Luan he was offered a denial . Very Bill Clinton !

A denial? what the. . . .?

I don't know Luan personally, I've only ever played against him once. But seriously what kind of Wayne Kerr. . . I mean a Wayne Carey. . . .Oh hell, what a knob would back door a team mate!!(although it does seem to be happening more often) I don't care how good you think you are. Nothing justifies that sort of conduct!!! I'd never want someone like that to "join" my team. I just wouldn't be able to trust him. Does anyone else share my opinion??? or am i being too politically correct???

Jarman11
7 Jan 2008, 20:37

I don't know Luan personally, I've only ever played against him once. But seriously what kind of Wayne Kerr. . . I mean a Wayne Carey. . . .Oh hell, what a knob would back door a team mate!!(although it does seem to be happening more often) I don't care how good you think you are. Nothing justifies that sort of conduct!!! I'd never want someone like that to "join" my team. I just wouldn't be able to trust him. Does anyone else share my opinion??? or am i being too politically correct???

I have to agree with you, but i guess every one deserves a second chance

big hawk
7 Jan 2008, 22:07
Monday, 7th January 2008
Family ties lure Whyman home

Tim Doutre
Riverine Herald

Former Kangaroo Djaran Whyman has turned his back on East Perth to join Murray Football League club Moama.
After signing with the West Australian Football League club in October, Whyman admitted he had been wooed back to his hometown.
The Echuca-born Whyman has cited his family as a driving force behind the decision.
``I went over to Perth and it just wasn't for me,'' Whyman said.
``I went over for a bit and got the feel for the footy. I did a few sessions with them (the Royals), but family plays a big part in my life and it (Perth) was just too far away.''
Whyman was keen to end any conjecture about his football future, stating the move to Moama was a done deal.
``This is the final decision,'' he said.
``In the end I am happy to be back in town. I was always going to come back to Echuca-Moama.
``I've been back for a few weeks now. I spent Christmas and New Year's here.''
The 24-year-old had previously expressed a desire to return home after his delisting from the Kangaroos and said when his decision to return to the area had been made, Moama was one of the first clubs that had come to mind.
``Right from the start when I first made contact with Mark (Coe, Moama's recruitment officer), they were really good about it,'' Whyman said.
``And when I went to Perth, they were the only club to stay in contact and wish me luck.
``I was always going to come back to this area and obviously I have come back a lot sooner than I thought, but I thought Moama would be the go.''
Last season, Moama finished second-last, winning two from 18 games.
Magpies coach Shannon Keam, who took over from coach Chris Waterson in October, was pleased with the signing of Whyman.
``He's a good bloke, and obviously to come out of the AFL he is going to be a pretty handy acquisition for the footy club,'' Keam said. ``He is going to be good not only for our club but for the league.''
Will be very interested to see how he goes! A lot of new players, especially those from a higher standard, have the tendency to come into the comp and think that they will be able to stroll around and get the ball at will. Big grounds (which will suit if he maintains his fitness) and some good old ruff and tumble, with no cameras on you, certainly sorts out the boys from the men!! Hope AFL footy hasn't made him too soft!!!! Just ask Stevo (Michael Stevens) about how is first year of MFL footy went! Good luck to him but he better bringing his playing boots with him!

big hawk
7 Jan 2008, 22:14
any news on a couple of ex seymour boys who played for barroga 2007. are the hanging around and how did they perform. r.e. gerard liddel and pat rattray
HMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!! No the Seymour connection will no longer be with us. Gerard had an interupted season, sustaining an ankle injury about RD 8-9. Played a handful of good games against the weaker sides and had the tendency to try and do a bit too much, especially around goal. Loves a goal!!! Started playing some good footy towards and during the finals. As for Pat, I really don't know how he managed to play in a GVFL premiership team. His work ethic was terrible, especially when he got injured and trying to get himself right again. Extremely disappointed with what we got. Win some, lose some. Must admit that through this connection Matt Collins came on board and added another dimension to the forward line so all was not lost. Good luck to them all with their footy for 08 and beyond.:thumbsu:

big hawk
7 Jan 2008, 22:18
There are some good players that have been at the club the last few years and still remain there. the thing is they never had the support and their hard work would be let down by the below average players turnovers/mistakes etc. Now that there have been a good number around 10 senior players recruited or simply joined the club along with your best 10 or so from the year before, plus some new young kids. I suppose we will have to wait and see come playing time.....
Who would you regard as these good players?:confused:

blueeyes
8 Jan 2008, 07:50
HMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!! No the Seymour connection will no longer be with us. Gerard had an interupted season, sustaining an ankle injury about RD 8-9. Played a handful of good games against the weaker sides and had the tendency to try and do a bit too much, especially around goal. Loves a goal!!! Started playing some good footy towards and during the finals. As for Pat, I really don't know how he managed to play in a GVFL premiership team. His work ethic was terrible, especially when he got injured and trying to get himself right again. Extremely disappointed with what we got. Win some, lose some. Must admit that through this connection Matt Collins came on board and added another dimension to the forward line so all was not lost. Good luck to them all with their footy for 08 and beyond.:thumbsu:
very accurate assumption big hawk.. gerard was only a fringe player those two premeirships he played coming of the bench most of time and as for patty, he would probably need to grow up and have a bit of respect for the people around him

Kards1
8 Jan 2008, 15:43
Who would you regard as these good players?:confused:

Maso, Lukey eldridge, pumps, chickas, shannon keam, john harley, djaran whyman, the sunbury boys etc....
look I'm not sayin they will have a superstar team, but i know they wont have the "weak links" that they have had the last 2 years.. and that is what it will come down to. Moama will have a senior team that is strong and full of "SENIOR LEVEL" footballers which i dont believe they have had lately. There will be some experience and good young ones running around. I believe they will do well this year.

dropthesirenAcky
8 Jan 2008, 18:18

I'm not here to judge his character , all I'm saying is no one gets hung without a trail . Once proven I most definetly agree but until I here some names and some confimation he's a free lad . All I can cofirm is that he has signed with Eagle for the year . spoke to hewy yesterday and this is what he had for me " (Hueston)spoke to Luan and he said it's not true , he just wants to know where it (the rumour) came from because he's a bit annoyed". Oh and that training starts on the 14th. time will tell i guess .

Kards1
13 Jan 2008, 10:18
Looks like a couple of boys from rumba have switched to moama this year... i'm sure there will be some head huntin when the two teams meet.

dropthesirenAcky
13 Jan 2008, 11:06
Looks like a couple of boys from rumba have switched to moama this year... i'm sure there will be some head huntin when the two teams meet.

I think you'll find one of the two is Clayton Mitchell, who is a good kid and not likely to be headhunted , well more than anyone else . also fairly closely related to Lovett-murray might just have a bit of football pedegree mixed in there . What I want to know is who isn't getting on the moama bandwagon? And once there will they turn into jerks like the rest of them ;)?

Kards1
13 Jan 2008, 13:43
I think you'll find one of the two is Clayton Mitchell, who is a good kid and not likely to be headhunted , well more than anyone else . also fairly closely related to Lovett-murray might just have a bit of football pedegree mixed in there . What I want to know is who isn't getting on the moama bandwagon? And once there will they turn into jerks like the rest of them ;)?

Yeh Clayton mitchell and tomy higgins.. great blokes... Moama will be an awesome club to play for and they are an awesome bunch of blokes aswell. you obviously dont know any of the blokes at the club so you should shut your mouth...

goodgolly24
13 Jan 2008, 14:49
Yeh Clayton mitchell and tomy higgins.. great blokes... Moama will be an awesome club to play for and they are an awesome bunch of blokes aswell. you obviously dont know any of the blokes at the club so you should shut your mouth...

Absolutly love tommy higgins. If fit he's an absolute freak. For his sake i hope he runs a muck

dropthesirenAcky
13 Jan 2008, 16:35

come in spinner!:D:D:D and did I not say that clayto was a good kid ? cool ya heals a bit buddy , learn to take a joke !

Kards1
13 Jan 2008, 19:44
Absolutly love tommy higgins. If fit he's an absolute freak. For his sake i hope he runs a muck

yeh tommy is a bit top heavy at the moment. definately needs to sheed a few pounds and will be very handy player.

Kards1
13 Jan 2008, 19:47
goodgollly24.. do you have any idea why tommy and clayton left rumba to play for moama??

morgs01
13 Jan 2008, 21:00
goodgollly24.. do you have any idea why tommy and clayton left rumba to play for moama??

the same reason everyone else is going to Moama - MONEY.

Doona2
13 Jan 2008, 21:13
Always rated Tommy Higgins :thumbsu: Moama have done well to snag him IMO, even more so if they can get him fit. If r u out there Morgs is it purely a coin thing or did he have a falling out at the club?

Doona2
13 Jan 2008, 21:14
the same reason everyone else is going to Moama - MONEY.

Sorry morgs I shoulda scrolled down before I jumped in :o

goodgolly24
14 Jan 2008, 09:59
Always rated Tommy Higgins :thumbsu: Moama have done well to snag him IMO, even more so if they can get him fit. If r u out there Morgs is it purely a coin thing or did he have a falling out at the club?

No there was no falling out concerning T.H or C.M. and the club or it's players at all. I haven't spoken to either of them since last year so I can only speculate. But I dare say signing Whyman over there would have been a huge factor. I think we (rumba) picked up both players from moama, going years back now, so there already a conection there. should be good fun lining up against them for a change. . . .But Moama still won't make the finals!

Kards1
14 Jan 2008, 14:01
No there was no falling out concerning T.H or C.M. and the club or it's players at all. I haven't spoken to either of them since last year so I can only speculate. But I dare say signing Whyman over there would have been a huge factor. I think we (rumba) picked up both players from moama, going years back now, so there already a conection there. should be good fun lining up against them for a change. . . .But Moama still won't make the finals!

Both the boys live in the area aswell and both blayed there at some stage of there juniors...also the fact that they are playing with djaran might help. so i'm not that sure if money was the factor. as for moama not making the finals......i'd put my left nut on them making the top 5

Kards1
14 Jan 2008, 14:16
Any news on the way Echuca united are shaping up?? Heard of alot of departures and besides Hueston no good pickups?!! anyone know if the coach has brought across any of his GVFL connections? if not they wont be very competative this year i would think

goodgolly24
14 Jan 2008, 15:21
Both the boys live in the area aswell and both blayed there at some stage of there juniors...also the fact that they are playing with djaran might help. so i'm not that sure if money was the factor. as for moama not making the finals......i'd put my left nut on them making the top 5

Left Nut Kards! Your alot gamer then i myself
. I'm curious now as how you'll think the top 6 will pan out late next year? Obviously Nathalia will be the Yard Stick with no reports of departure but who do you see fighting it out with them??

Kards1
14 Jan 2008, 19:37
Left Nut Kards! Your alot gamer then i myself
. I'm curious now as how you'll think the top 6 will pan out late next year? Obviously Nathalia will be the Yard Stick with no reports of departure but who do you see fighting it out with them??

Its very early times and i dont have a whole lot of knowledge about all the clubs...just from what i have read on thi site and last years results...
here goes my top 6... not in order....

Nathalia
Barooga
Moama
Deniliquin
Rumbalara
Congupna

what you think???? i would think Nathalia and barooga would be the two leaders and then the next 5 or 6 should have a good battle

Catfreak
14 Jan 2008, 20:42
I don't think Barooga will be super strong but will be top 5.
Mulwala have lost a car load to some little town out bush with Jason Sanderson as assistant coach I think Nathalia may also come back to the pack a bit. Deniliquin are also rumoured to be spending up big and have a lot of guys returning. As for United I think they will definetely figure come September a lot of quality players have returned with leg speed and what have been lacking there goal kicking ability.

morgs01
14 Jan 2008, 21:22

Yer there was no falling out Djars just told them he will get them more more money to play at Moama then Rumba, which they will.

Clayton won't be missed never really played much senior footy at Rumba tends to go missing for a while during the season.

Tommy does the i'm leaving to go to Mathoura/ Moama routine for more money each year, it was Mathoura last year, I guess it's Moama's turn this year.

If fit and committed Moama get two good pick ups, if not no loss to us. Two of the most fustrating footballers going.

goodgolly24
14 Jan 2008, 21:32
Yer there was no falling out Djars just told them he will get them more more money to play at Moama then Rumba, which they will.

Clayton won't be missed never really played much senior footy at Rumba tends to go missing for a while during the season.

Tommy does the i'm leaving to go to Mathoura/ Moama routine for more money each year, it was Mathoura last year, I guess it's Moama's turn this year.

If fit and committed Moama get two good pick ups, if not no loss to us. Two of the most fustrating footballers going.

Couldn't have said it better myself morgs. But when tommy fires, fit or not, he's capable of turning a game.
As for the ladder, I think the surprise packet of the season will be Toc. With Mellinton and a couple of the other Shepp Bears boys, i thnk they'll bring it in a big way. Congupna might find it harder this year, as will Barooga with Byers actually playing

roccafrom50
14 Jan 2008, 21:39
Its very early times and i dont have a whole lot of knowledge about all the clubs...just from what i have read on thi site and last years results...
here goes my top 6... not in order....

Nathalia
Barooga
Moama
Deniliquin
Rumbalara
Congupna

what you think???? i would think Nathalia and barooga would be the two leaders and then the next 5 or 6 should have a good battle

Still very early, but here is my longshot top six:

Nathalia
Barooga
Echuca United
Deniliquin
Tongala
Tocumwal

Nathalia will continue in leaps and bounds, Barooga will remain a strong force, United will still be solid with a number of previous players returning to the club as well as some youth and experience, Deniliquin likewise as well as a good young bunch of kids, Tongala will be my hot tip to be big improvers, and Tocumwal will also step up the tempo with a number of good signings.

Congupna will drop of the pace fairly significantly with quite a few players returning to their home clubs in Shepparton, Rumbalara and Moama will be on the fringe on the top group of teams. I can't see Moama's 'big name signings' pulling them up the ladder into September action. I would expect Mulwala to drop back a few notches as will Finley, Cobram will again improve and will challenge a few of the top teams. I haven't heard much from Numurkah's edge of the woods, so I cannot see them moving up the ladder.

dropthesirenAcky
15 Jan 2008, 05:57
Any news on the way Echuca united are shaping up?? Heard of alot of departures and besides Hueston no good pickups?!! anyone know if the coach has brought across any of his GVFL connections? if not they wont be very competative this year i would think

I'm sure everyones aware of the departures at united , but all is not lost there is some very enthusiastic Kids at training and a new leadership group which seems to have it's head screwed on right .As for the recruits , a few lads have returned after stints in the central murray and a few more are ready to play this year after personality clash's with Heritage in others years . Also talks continue with key players from other leagues but time will tell on that . Who are have the Deni boys recruited ?, they are pretty tight lipped , it worries me !

Kards1
15 Jan 2008, 07:51
I'm sure everyones aware of the departures at united , but all is not lost there is some very enthusiastic Kids at training and a new leadership group which seems to have it's head screwed on right .As for the recruits , a few lads have returned after stints in the central murray and a few more are ready to play this year after personality clash's with Heritage in others years . Also talks continue with key players from other leagues but time will tell on that . Who are have the Deni boys recruited ?, they are pretty tight lipped , it worries me !

I'm not sure if deni have made alot of big signings....it seems to be more a case of players returning to the club after chasing money...ie the boys that went to balranald. As for united. i live in echuca and havent heard one positive thing about there campaign this year. Who has returned from the gunny/leichy??? i know that R.hill has gone from united to gunny this year to play with teddy and no doubt more money

Kards1
15 Jan 2008, 07:56

Clayton does seem to be a player with talent but may not always give 100%, tommy has always been a good footballer and i believe if he committed himself when he was younger, could have played at AFL level.
as for them being fit... i'll let you know djars has been puttin the pressure on them to train hard and there doing just that at the moment

dropthesirenAcky
15 Jan 2008, 16:52
I'm not sure if deni have made alot of big signings....it seems to be more a case of players returning to the club after chasing money...ie the boys that went to balranald. As for united. i live in echuca and havent heard one positive thing about there campaign this year. Who has returned from the gunny/leichy??? i know that R.hill has gone from united to gunny this year to play with teddy and no doubt more money

Balranald ran themselves out of business hey! I live in echuca too mate and like I said before time is going to have to tell with us . Returning home from L/Gunny would be Marty Retalic, Luke Swanke and Phil Hazelman . Shwank should be able to fill a Key position and the other two will be handy on a flank or a wing .
I'd say rowan hill would be the most replacable of the departures but a good player none the less. Replacing the likes of Campbell ,Rayne,Jones and baker is what we are more worried about . All of that group mentioned missed a lot of footy or played injured ,so I'd like to hope we aren't starting too far behind where we were .

roccafrom50
16 Jan 2008, 10:36

Returning home from L/Gunny would be Marty Retalic, Luke Swanke and Phil Hazelman . Shwank should be able to fill a Key position and the other two will be handy on a flank or a wing .
I'd say rowan hill would be the most replacable of the departures but a good player none the less. Replacing the likes of Campbell ,Rayne,Jones and baker is what we are more worried about . All of that group mentioned missed a lot of footy or played injured ,so I'd like to hope we aren't starting too far behind where we were .

Of course you haven't heard anything positive from Echuca United's campaign, you're involved with Moama! No-one over there is going to concede that their number one rival club is having fantastic recruitment campaign, even if they were or weren't.
The past few years at Moama have been absolutely dreadful, and to be perfectly honest, I haven't heard anything positive about Moama's recruiting this off-season either. Although they were lucky enough to snare the ink of Djarran Whyman, there is a very fine line between a club going very well, and a club going to dirt when such a high profile player signs with a country football club. Yes, Moama have also picked up a quality playing coach, but the other players which have been recruited from Sunbury are said to be hardly up to scratch and incapable of holding a position in a senior side.
As for what dropthesirenAcky mentioned about Campbell, Reyne, Baker and Jones, he is very much on the money. Those blokes missed at least six games each throughout last season, with Baker, Reyne and Jones all playing a fair chunk of the season carrying injury. In the games which were played with those blokes out of the team, United performed very well from what I saw, so I couldn't see them being too far behind the eight ball in 2008, compared to 2007. I guess time will tell, Kards.

Has anyone heard anything from the Numurkah camp? Have they recruited, or had many depart? They seem to be the only club which hasn't been mentioned on here.

Kards1
16 Jan 2008, 11:28
[quote=roccafrom50;9878084]Of course you haven't heard anything positive from Echuca United's campaign, you're involved with Moama! No-one over there is going to concede that their number one rival club is having fantastic recruitment campaign, even if they were or weren't.
The past few years at Moama have been absolutely dreadful, and to be perfectly honest, I haven't heard anything positive about Moama's recruiting this off-season either. Although they were lucky enough to snare the ink of Djarran Whyman, there is a very fine line between a club going very well, and a club going to dirt when such a high profile player signs with a country football club. Yes, Moama have also picked up a quality playing coach, but the other players which have been recruited from Sunbury are said to be hardly up to scratch and incapable of holding a position in a senior side.
As for what dropthesirenAcky mentioned about Campbell, Reyne, Baker and Jones, he is very much on the money. Those blokes missed at least six games each throughout last season, with Baker, Reyne and Jones all playing a fair chunk of the season carrying injury. In the games which were played with those blokes out of the team, United performed very well from what I saw, so I couldn't see them being too far behind the eight ball in 2008, compared to 2007. I guess time will tell, Kards.

Moama have recruited very well, and i'm not being bias. Also i do agree that united did play well together when some of the "big names" were injured last year. it gave others the chance to step up and i hope they can do that this year. I would love nothing more than to see both moama and united have strong teams so we could give the town a GREAT RIVAL MATCH and be competative in the league...unlike the encounters the last two years. just like in 2005 when the results where a draw, and moama by a goal. As for the sunbury boys. Ross sleight got best on in the 2nd semi and the grand final in the ballarat league(obviusly can play), Mcabe was consistently in sunbury best players and luke allen is supposed to be a solid fullfoward who kicked 60 goals in 2006, but had an interupted season last year. Ballarat league is a standard above murray, if these boys can dominate at their level, i would dare say they could play some good footy at ours.....

toquick
16 Jan 2008, 14:15
Of course you haven't heard anything positive from Echuca United's campaign, you're involved with Moama! No-one over there is going to concede that their number one rival club is having fantastic recruitment campaign, even if they were or weren't.

Has anyone heard anything from the Numurkah camp? Have they recruited, or had many depart? They seem to be the only club which hasn't been mentioned on here.

Numerka have gained the services of Former GV inter league rep and Shepp Bear Tyson Saunders, he will be joining the club as the ass coach. Saunders is about 6'4 and will play in the ruck for Numerka, he is fairly mobile and has good decent skills.
they also recruited Hokins from Mooroopna. Not really sure about the info on this bloke. I think he is a CHF or CHB.
Colins is off to Rochester and Bryce wellington is still struggling with his hamstrings.

hank1
16 Jan 2008, 21:38
Have to agree with Kards, as I posted on here a couple of weeks ago the Sunbury boys stats do stack up and they will be very handy acquisitions for the club.
Is the mail true that the Good Friday clash between Moama and United has been scrapped?

morgs01
16 Jan 2008, 21:45
Rumba had their first training run for the year on Monday had around 25-30 blokes on the track. Interesting to see Darren Turner back again.
With a new coach, someone else for him to break in before going somewhere else.

Echuca United's Corey Wanganeen has signed on to have Rumbalara as his interchange Club when not playing with Bendigo Bombers, along with Rex Taylor. Both will play between 4 - 6 games back at Rumba this year. Will come in very handy indeed.

Summer recuits Derick Murray and John Jackson looked in good nick and will be handy as well. And a couple of blokes I didn't know but was told they can go abit.

So far so good. See how we look in a months time. Until then. Morgs.

Kards1
16 Jan 2008, 21:46
Have to agree with Kards, as I posted on here a couple of weeks ago the Sunbury boys stats do stack up and they will be very handy acquisitions for the club.
Is the mail true that the Good Friday clash between Moama and United has been scrapped?

Thanks hank...
well its not on the site... but people are still sayin its happening?? surely they would not leave it out. the rival games are great to watch and they bring in alot of money to the clubs. its always a great way to kick of the season and good way to put your rivals back in there place and give some braggin rights around town for a few months haha
would be great if someone in the know could give us a definate answer??!!

Goorooswami
17 Jan 2008, 01:00
Kards 1 - Hank

I think you will find that the Murray Football League has an agreement in place with the Murray Valley Cricket Association that no games of football will take place regardless before 1st April. Doesn't make alot of sence to me when clubs could cash in on bigger gates takings $$ around Easter with extra people about.

Hooroo from the Gooroo

dropthesirenAcky
17 Jan 2008, 05:36

I was said that they may swap it from round five , but then I think it was too early and would have thrown out the preparation . As for the Guru , who cares if two clubs get bigger gate takings , I believe It was there brain child , so they deserve the spoils , even if were all going to hell for It according to my mum!;)

bystanding backman
17 Jan 2008, 08:00
Kards 1 - Hank

I think you will find that the Murray Football League has an agreement in place with the Murray Valley Cricket Association that no games of football will take place regardless before 1st April. Doesn't make alot of sence to me when clubs could cash in on bigger gates takings $$ around Easter with extra people about.

Hooroo from the Gooroo
Not sure of the agreement with the MVCA but that association is seriously ridiculas all there finals are finished by 15 or 16 of march. they are just an average leaugue but think there are bordering on Melbourne premier cricket status its a joke.

I think with easter around the 20th of march it will be to early for the clubs in way of their preparation, imagine if either one loses that game and the come finals they miss out by one game. if they had of not played on easter weekend and used the extra two weeks (think we start 5th April) for prep it may have turned out differently. i know matches are truely the only way to get match fitness but in the grand scheme of playing finals it could be to costly for the clubs.

hank1
17 Jan 2008, 08:58
Thanks hank...
well its not on the site... but people are still sayin its happening?? surely they would not leave it out. the rival games are great to watch and they bring in alot of money to the clubs. its always a great way to kick of the season and good way to put your rivals back in there place and give some braggin rights around town for a few months haha
would be great if someone in the know could give us a definate answer??!!

Well can let you all know, confirmed last night at training, Moama will be playing Tongala @ Moama on Good Friday. True what bystanding backman is saying with preperation for the season, has put us two weeks behind where we thought we would be at, but in the end the incentives for both clubs outweigh that. We will just have to train for an extra half hour or so everynight to get ourselves up to scratch!!

Homer1
17 Jan 2008, 09:20
Well can let you all know, confirmed last night at training, Moama will be playing Tongala @ Moama on Good Friday. True what bystanding backman is saying with preperation for the season, has put us two weeks behind where we thought we would be at, but in the end the incentives for both clubs outweigh that. We will just have to train for an extra half hour or so everynight to get ourselves up to scratch!!

Which is the last round game, suppose that means both teams have a bye rd 20, could be handy before finals to have a bye.....or not maybe.

toquick
17 Jan 2008, 10:39
Congupna approached us ( Toc ) to play the traditional Good Friday game for points but we have gone against the idea only for the reason that it cuts a couple of weeks off the pre season program. We will still be playing a practice match against them though.

Kards1
17 Jan 2008, 12:29
Which is the last round game, suppose that means both teams have a bye rd 20, could be handy before finals to have a bye.....or not maybe.

will it be the round 7 or the round 20 match that will be a bye for both teams?????

bystanding backman
17 Jan 2008, 12:35
Congupna approached us ( Toc ) to play the traditional Good Friday game for points but we have gone against the idea only for the reason that it cuts a couple of weeks off the pre season program. We will still be playing a practice match against them though.

That is definatly the better option at least it will be a proper hitout and gain match fitness but there is nothing on the line. it will give the blokes who may be a little behind a way to gain some extra fitness before the serious stuff starts.

Just think there is only 66 odd days left till Good Friday
Not long till the season Yipee.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

hank1
17 Jan 2008, 12:56
will it be the round 7 or the round 20 match that will be a bye for both teams?????

Not sure that that has been decided yet, Round 20 could be ok with one or both sides maybe getting a week off to freshen up for a finals game. Round 7 is the week before the General Bye so would probably rather play that week as its not ideal to have two weeks off in a row. Playing a side twice in the first 6 games would be different though.

toquick
17 Jan 2008, 14:25
Not sure that that has been decided yet, Round 20 could be ok with one or both sides maybe getting a week off to freshen up for a finals game. Round 7 is the week before the General Bye so would probably rather play that week as its not ideal to have two weeks off in a row. Playing a side twice in the first 6 games would be different though.
How is NT treating ya Hank?

hank1
17 Jan 2008, 15:01
How is NT treating ya Hank?

Got back Tuesday mate, was a good week, some solid drinking. Wasn't too hot either 32 during the day and 26 at night. Walked out of nightclub Sundy morning to be told the city was in lockdown, no way to get home, rain was pelting down, they had 250mm in 2hrs, most towns around here would be happy with that in a year in the current climate.
Footy was good watched 3 senior games Satdy, Southern Districts went down to St. Marys in the night game by 5pts, Percy kicked 1 goal 5 from CHF.
Watched game Sunday also with 3 Ky boys running around 2 in the twos and Ryan Butler in the ones.

toquick
17 Jan 2008, 15:20
Got back Tuesday mate, was a good week, some solid drinking. Wasn't too hot either 32 during the day and 26 at night. Walked out of nightclub Sundy morning to be told the city was in lockdown, no way to get home, rain was pelting down, they had 250mm in 2hrs, most towns around here would be happy with that in a year in the current climate.
Footy was good watched 3 senior games Satdy, Southern Districts went down to St. Marys in the night game by 5pts, Percy kicked 1 goal 5 from CHF.
Watched game Sunday also with 3 Ky boys running around 2 in the twos and Ryan Butler in the ones.

Yeah i was talking to Purce Sunday morning and he said he was on his way to pick you up. He gave me the run down of the first loss he has been involved in since being up there. He wasnt happy with snagging 1 goal 5 either.
How did Butts go??

hank1
17 Jan 2008, 16:00
Yeah i was talking to Purce Sunday morning and he said he was on his way to pick you up. He gave me the run down of the first loss he has been involved in since being up there. He wasnt happy with snagging 1 goal 5 either.
How did Butts go??

started off slowly as a permanent forward pocket, but worked into the game in the last half, spent a bit of time onball and got in the best. They (waratahs 5th) went down to nightcliff(6th) by 4 or 5 goals.

Homer1
17 Jan 2008, 16:27

would think it be round 20 as it is Moama's home game, dont think Tonny would want to play Moama twice at Moama

dropthesirenAcky
18 Jan 2008, 00:28
Not sure of the agreement with the MVCA but that association is seriously ridiculas all there finals are finished by 15 or 16 of march. they are just an average leaugue but think there are bordering on Melbourne premier cricket status its a joke.

I think with easter around the 20th of march it will be to early for the clubs in way of their preparation, imagine if either one loses that game and the come finals they miss out by one game. if they had of not played on easter weekend and used the extra two weeks (think we start 5th April) for prep it may have turned out differently. i know matches are truely the only way to get match fitness but in the grand scheme of playing finals it could be to costly for the clubs.

I clearly just got home from an establishment much frequented , but I firmly agree with you bystand bako . as much fun as it is playing in front of a finals size crowd pre winter it is much better in september . There clearly only one bloke to blame for the lack of the much awaited grudge match , and that is Jesus !;)who takes forty days to rise again honestly ?:D

pace to freeze
18 Jan 2008, 07:18
I appreciate that rumours are very frequent at this time of year but can somebody in the know confirm or deny the following few Moama rumours.
Whyman $ 1500
Gutsy Gread, Tommy Higgins, Pettigrove, $ 400 + $ 100 fuel
The Sunbury connection $ 1600 plus $ 150 fuel a week between them
J. Fosset $ 500

Kards1
18 Jan 2008, 07:54
I appreciate that rumours are very frequent at this time of year but can somebody in the know confirm or deny the following few Moama rumours.
Whyman $ 1500
Gutsy Gread, Tommy Higgins, Pettigrove, $ 400 + $ 100 fuel
The Sunbury connection $ 1600 plus $ 150 fuel a week between them
J. Fosset $ 500

I think your right with the sunbury guys. Thats what djaran was first offered but i think he may have settled with 1200.....still a f#ck load of cash. as for gutsy and petty not to sure, i only know that they r gettin travel money, havent spoken to either of them in a while as they havent trained. Tommy higgins was brought to training by Djaran, i dont think moama approached him, so i dont know how much he asked for. And john foskett signed for $200 and thats definate

hank1
18 Jan 2008, 08:10
would think it be round 20 as it is Moama's home game, dont think Tonny would want to play Moama twice at Moama

I'm sure we'd swap the venue around Homer, but I'd be backing the Rd 20 bye anyway.

bx bandit
18 Jan 2008, 09:08

Not sure what every one thinks of a tonny moama showdown, but i can tell you it will keep the punters away like an out break of ebola virus!
I personally believe the benefit of promoting united and moama in echuca on that weekend far outways the possibility of losing points because it is so early in the year, the best team ham has won in the past matches so i dont see the difference this year.
If tonny wants a grudge match they should play koyuga on the wyuna tennis courts where someone might give a crap.

Kards1
18 Jan 2008, 09:44
I'm pretty sure Moama and Tongala used to play one another in the old league...so there is a bit of history there. defiantely not the onfield hatred we get between moama and united,and this year i reckon it would have been an awesome game to watch because both teams are confident, where last year moama new they were gonna cop a floggin.
Does anyone know why its moama vs tony??? did united decline or something???

8ightball
18 Jan 2008, 10:00
Not sure what every one thinks of a tonny moama showdown, but i can tell you it will keep the punters away like an out break of ebola virus!
I personally believe the benefit of promoting united and moama in echuca on that weekend far outways the possibility of losing points because it is so early in the year, the best team ham has won in the past matches so i dont see the difference this year.
If tonny wants a grudge match they should play koyuga on the wyuna tennis courts where someone might give a crap.

We get up there every easter and go watch the the good friday game and the last few have been blow outs, but its still good to watch. Plus theres nothing else to do on that day so why not go and watch the footy and suck some cans!
Sounds like moama have added some players over the summer, which they needed to, but how are the locals or last years players shaping up, because they had some crap footballers running around last year. Sounds like your a player there Kards, maybe you could fill me in?

themagicfrog
18 Jan 2008, 10:46
I know Mul have lost S#$t loads but is it true Finley are down 12 players on last year, and have only picked up Sacco as coach with 4 of his mates comming up to play, a FF, CHF, CHB and Onballer?

Kards1
18 Jan 2008, 10:46
We get up there every easter and go watch the the good friday game and the last few have been blow outs, but its still good to watch. Plus theres nothing else to do on that day so why not go and watch the footy and suck some cans!
Sounds like moama have added some players over the summer, which they needed to, but how are the locals or last years players shaping up, because they had some crap footballers running around last year. Sounds like your a player there Kards, maybe you could fill me in?

Yeh definately have added some players both recruited or returned.
Recruited 3 blokes from sunbury(full forward, onballer, and wingman/Flanker), Shannon keam(playin coach) John harley(ass coach) from Robinvale, Djarayn whyman just out of AFL. Tommy higgins and Clayton mitchell from Rumbalara, John Foskett From Echuca Bombers, Gutsy and pettigrove who were local boys will come home from melbourne each weekend to play, Chris Eddy returned after ass/coach role at cohuna, have kept the better players from previous year ie Pumps, Maso, Eldridge, jackson, dunham etc and gained a handful of other locals

Kards1
18 Jan 2008, 10:47
I know Mul have lost S#$t loads but is it true Finley are down 12 players on last year, and have only picked up Sacco as coach with 4 of his mates comming up to play, a FF, CHF, CHB and Onballer?

They have seem to have lost alot, including sexton (their inspiration)
If saco's mates are anygood and they can keep the ball down the coridor they might go ok ahaha

hank1
18 Jan 2008, 12:36

You've had a few big digs at Tonny Bandit, any history their or just don't the place?

dropthesirenAcky
18 Jan 2008, 16:39
I'm pretty sure Moama and Tongala used to play one another in the old league...so there is a bit of history there. defiantely not the onfield hatred we get between moama and united,and this year i reckon it would have been an awesome game to watch because both teams are confident, where last year moama new they were gonna cop a floggin.
Does anyone know why its moama vs tony??? did united decline or something???

I don't recall tonny and motown ever playing in the same league , til now . They do however have a long history of sharing players , the likes of Tony and John Jones and Dave Connelly to name just a few . Also the did play practice games against each other almost every year until Tonny's induction to the MFL . I'd say the two clubs are more Affiliates than rivals ;);) I cant answer on the declination but I'll suss it out for ya . And failing something better to do I be there good friday drinking cans and hurling abuse . A good day had by all

morgs01
18 Jan 2008, 16:43
Recruited 3 blokes from sunbury(full forward, onballer, and wingman/Flanker), Shannon keam(playin coach) John harley(ass coach) from Robinvale, Djarayn whyman just out of AFL. Tommy higgins and Clayton mitchell from Rumbalara, John Foskett From Echuca Bombers, Gutsy and pettigrove who were local boys will come home from melbourne each weekend to play, Chris Eddy returned after ass/coach role at cohuna, have kept the better players from previous year ie Pumps, Maso, Eldridge, jackson, dunham etc and gained a handful of other locals

Not too sure about the two Rumba boys just yet, tommy higgins' girlfriend just picked up a coaching role with a junior netball side at rumbalara, and Clayton was ringing around looking for a ride to Shepp for training last night. So I guess we will just wait and see what happens threre.

Kards1
18 Jan 2008, 17:29
Not too sure about the two Rumba boys just yet, tommy higgins' girlfriend just picked up a coaching role with a junior netball side at rumbalara, and Clayton was ringing around looking for a ride to Shepp for training last night. So I guess we will just wait and see what happens threre.

Haha ok fair enough, maybe training was to hard for them?? Hows training over rumba way going?? the new coach is a fitness freak isnt he???

morgs01
18 Jan 2008, 21:59
Haha ok fair enough, maybe training was to hard for them?? Hows training over rumba way going?? the new coach is a fitness freak isnt he???

Numbers have been OK, not great but Ok averaging around 20 per session. The main senior players are on the track bar Phil Guthrie who is doing his own thing until end of Feb I'm told.

Yer Mark owns his own gym and has most players now on a personal fitness program outside of footy training, the three sessions so far have been well planned and the boys are responding well to the hard work and like every club at this time of year, we believe we will be well prepared for this, our third season in the MFL.

Kards1
18 Jan 2008, 22:18
Numbers have been OK, not great but Ok averaging around 20 per session. The main senior players are on the track bar Phil Guthrie who is doing his own thing until end of Feb I'm told.

Yer Mark owns his own gym and has most players now on a personal fitness program outside of footy training, the three sessions so far have been well planned and the boys are responding well to the hard work and like every club at this time of year, we believe we will be well prepared for this, our third season in the MFL.

Sounds good, having a person trainer coaching you guys should certainly sort out the men from the boys... i would like to think the murray league standard this year will be better than previous years and hopefully the competition is a bit more even..

pace to freeze
19 Jan 2008, 09:43

Definate ????

Kards1
19 Jan 2008, 12:00
Definate ????

Chris Eddy may be playin for lancaster not moama now....not sure why...may have to do with $$$??!! And Rumba boys havent actually signed yet...

8ightball
19 Jan 2008, 13:16

what i was getting at, are the local blokes having a crack on the track or are they just sitting back and going to let the new recruits come in and lift them?
Are there any other clubs playing good friday?

bx bandit
19 Jan 2008, 14:11
You've had a few big digs at Tonny Bandit, any history their or just don't the place?

nah mate just trying to stir you up, my point still stands that people from echuca want to see the two echuca clubs play

hank1
19 Jan 2008, 14:51
nah mate just trying to stir you up, my point still stands that people from echuca want to see the two echuca clubs play

That would be a given, obviously they couldn't come to an agreement so we were more than happy to fill the void. Maybe United are approaching another club as we speak about playing, although it is getting a bit too close to be pushing your preperation forward two weeks.

dropthesirenAcky
19 Jan 2008, 15:32
That would be a given, obviously they couldn't come to an agreement so we were more than happy to fill the void. Maybe United are approaching another club as we speak about playing, although it is getting a bit too close to be pushing your preperation forward two weeks.

Definetly not the case hank . it was purely a preperation thing . I do speak for myself only but I'm going to need every last minute of pre season so that I can crack into a canter .

Kards1
19 Jan 2008, 15:46
what i was getting at, are the local blokes having a crack on the track or are they just sitting back and going to let the new recruits come in and lift them?
Are there any other clubs playing good friday?

I think there are a couple of practice matches on good friday, but none for points except moama/tonny...
As for the local boys, they are definately having a crack. a matter a fact i think the majority of the group are all training hard and trying to earn a spot in the senior team. which is the way it should be.

pace to freeze
19 Jan 2008, 16:21
Chris Eddy may be playin for lancaster not moama now....not sure why...may have to do with $$$??!! And Rumba boys havent actually signed yet...

Heard the same thing but was told it was based on him now working in shepp or the new bride working in shepp or something ??

Kards1
20 Jan 2008, 09:01
Heard the same thing but was told it was based on him now working in shepp or the new bride working in shepp or something ??

Yeh that sounds more likely to be true... i wouldnt of thought he would be one to chase money. Would have been a pretty handy inclusion to Moama. Good player and good bloke. was definately welcomed back by all the boys...