View Full Version : Murray Football League
dazzledavey36
14 Mar 2006, 21:39
Tungamah played Ardmona in DIV 2, Tungamah won fairly comfortably, Perry Meka played.
Tonny played Numurkah in Div 1, Numurkah won by 15 goals. Mark Brown best on for Numurkah.
In response to Sonny, Tonny realise what they are up against in the Murray League, wont be much of a drop in standard at all and yes you could bunch them with Finley, Moama, Congupna and Rumbalara maybe as probably the bottom 5 sides, time will tell, under no illusions that it will be easy. Tonny have lost 6 of there 8 paid players from last year which includes their FF, whole onball division and GV Rep Backman. Picked up 4 or 5 players and some good youngsters coming through, but any talk of finals is a long way off the mark.
how did mat howard from tungamah go?? wore number 28 and was the stocky little dark skin fella?? originally from fiji
kanga fan man
16 Mar 2006, 22:29
rumbalara def toc by 37 points .
Hey Lads,
After some info on a bloke by the name of Leigh someone.
Was AC at Nathalia last year and has headed back to Yarrawonga this year.
What can you tell me, is he a player?
journeyman
17 Mar 2006, 10:15
Hey Lads,
Leigh Ramsdale is the bloke you're after. Very good, solid player. Midfielder or half back flanker.
He came across to Nathalia for one year and was AC in a premiership side. He's gone back to Yarrawonga where he's played all of his career.
Very tough and hard at it, been an O&M rep once or twice, finished in top 3 of Yarra's B&F many times and was captain of Yarra for about 5 years.
Would make an excellent coach as he lives and breathes footy. Ripper fella as well.
Gotheroos
17 Mar 2006, 10:40
Hey Lads,
Old Big Ears
Is that meant to read "is he a good player?"
If so then yes he is a good player.
If its meant to read "is he a player"
Then I would have to say no. I know that he loves a beer as I have one or two with him over the years.
Leigh Ramsdale is the bloke you're after. Very good, solid player. Midfielder or half back flanker.
He came across to Nathalia for one year and was AC in a premiership side. He's gone back to Yarrawonga where he's played all of his career.
Very tough and hard at it, been an O&M rep once or twice, finished in top 3 of Yarra's B&F many times and was captain of Yarra for about 5 years.
Would make an excellent coach as he lives and breathes footy. Ripper fella as well.
Thanks Journeyman.
Seen a bit of him lately on the track and I'd believe everything you say.
Very impressive, carries himself very well!
Practice match today Echuca United v Mernda, United won by over 10 goals
kanga fan man
18 Mar 2006, 23:40
Practice match today Echuca United v Mernda, United won by over 10 goals
hope united had a few out mernda are in top 6 of div 2 dvfl
Andyt30
19 Mar 2006, 10:44
Dose Goulbourn Valley Umpires use Independant Goal umpires in the Murray or dose Murray use club goals? i know KDFL uses goulburn valley goals i did a game at Murchison last year against Stanhope ? how about Picola ,
cheers
Andrew
hope united had a few out mernda are in top 6 of div 2 dvfl
Had basically a full strength team
Practice match today Echuca United v Mernda, United won by over 10 goals Did Laingy (coach of mernda) play or just watch from the sidelines ?
Thanks Journeyman.
Seen a bit of him lately on the track and I'd believe everything you say.
Very impressive, carries himself very well!
Do you know where he has been training.
mitch_fc
23 Mar 2006, 19:46
How is Deni looking? my club Lower Plenty play them in a praccy game this saturday. be interesting to see how the sides match up, DVFL Div 2 side, vs Murray side.
should be a good contest. as for your DVFL div2 vs Murray league team comment, echuca united played mernda last saturday and united won by 15 goals. so you decide...
DOCKERS
26 Mar 2006, 19:21
Apparentely Alan Thorpe and Michael Harrison from Rumbalara have signed with Wakool in the Golden Rivers league on big money... Just wondering if they are worth it and if they are any good?
mitch_fc
26 Mar 2006, 20:24
should be a good contest. as for your DVFL div2 vs Murray league team comment, echuca united played mernda last saturday and united won by 15 goals. so you decide...
we played a 5qtr match with 1's, 2's and 3's combined. Deni beat us pretty convincingly, but we were minus several of our top few players and it was our first game.
Apparentely Alan Thorpe and Michael Harrison from Rumbalara have signed with Wakool in the Golden Rivers league on big money... Just wondering if they are worth it and if they are any good?
What do you call "Big Money"??? Reading a variety of threads it appears Wakool and in fact many GRFL clubs are spending big dollars.
Thorpey is still a very dangerous player but has missed a lot of footy the past few years whether it be thru leg injuries or the necessity/importance of the game to the club he coached Rumbalara.
Harro is a very classy footballer, Im unsure of the standard of the GRFL but Id reckon he'll be a ripper for Wakool.
Glen coglan has signed at mulwala after leaving the purps and training at yarra all perseason and looking the best he has in years. They will be hard to beat now. Back them in for the flag.
carntheblue&whitehoops
28 Mar 2006, 14:43
saw thorpe play in the carnival for the fitzroy stars and dominate, won the best finals player in a very very good team. harrison is ment to be the fittest he has been for a few years so should go well. following them is a bloke by the name of matty graham who is a very smart footballer who knows how to use his body very well and for a big bloke is very good at ground level. shane harvey should dominate that league, travel will be a big factor though.
bomberboy_19
28 Mar 2006, 16:13
First round this weekend for the murray league... whats everyones tips for the first round... any real standouts?
Cobram V Nathalia
Moama V Finely
Mulwala V Barooga
Rumbalara V Echuca United
Tocumwal V Numrkah
Tongala V Congupna (Sunday)
First round this weekend for the murray league... whats everyones tips for the first round... any real standouts?
Cobram V Nathalia
Moama V Finely
Mulwala V Barooga
Tocumwal V Numrkah
Cobram V Nathalia
Moama V Finley
Mulwala V Barooga
Tocumwal V Numurkah
its going to be a tough couple of weeks for picking winners in murray league due to a lot of recruiting, etc. hard games to pick between are Mul and Barooga (both strong sides), Toc and Numurkah (havnt heard much) and Congupna and Tonny (the blues new to our league and congupna sound like they recruited well)
one thing i would like to know is what jumpers will Tongala wear this year? they are the blues, but so are Numurkah so obviously their jumpers would clash.. anyone got info on this?
bomberboy_19
28 Mar 2006, 20:33
Yeh Good choice... who do u play for willo? i thinkl tonny are wearing a diffrent coulured jumper just agaisnt cumurkah and there usual gvfl strip agaisnt all other clubs... my tips are and i rekcon the tonny v congupna game will be a cracker!
Cobram V Nathalia
Moama V Finley
Mulwala V Barooga
Tocumwal V Numurkah
Andyt30
29 Mar 2006, 13:31
Cobram V Nathalia
Moama V Finley
Mulwala V Barooga
Tocumwal V Numurkah
thats my tips :D
cheers
it happens in Horsham District club rupanyup had an alternatge strip for some games who that colors would clash,
Even Brim & Nullawil were both Maroon but we were gold and Nullawil had white bands and NFC monogran they had white shorts , maroon socks with white tops
Yeh Good choice... who do u play for willo? i thinkl tonny are wearing a diffrent coulured jumper just agaisnt cumurkah and there usual gvfl strip agaisnt all other clubs... my tips are and i rekcon the tonny v congupna game will be a cracker!
i play for echuca united:thumbsu: how about you?
Sly Dog
29 Mar 2006, 16:39
Tips for the round ill go nathalia, finley, mulwala, echuca united, numurkah and congupna in a close one. think tonny will give them a scare but not quite have enough depth to get over the line.
bomberboy_19
29 Mar 2006, 19:34
Isnt good to hear hopefully that congupna are going to climb up the ladder this year... they shold be competitive in most games this year which is good becuase they need there time in the sun after a few hard years, lets just hope most players stay around for a few years... also anyone got any information on the new mulwala recruits? they looks to have the edge over most sides this year
one thing i would like to know is what jumpers will Tongala wear this year? they are the blues, but so are Numurkah so obviously their jumpers would clash.. anyone got info on this?
At this stage will be wearing both jumpers (Navy Blue and Sky Blue) in different games during the year. Obviously Sky Blue against Numurkah. Decided that didnt want to just wear the Sky blue jumper for just the Numurkah clash as everyone would be used to playing in Navy Blue jumpers, and Numurkah may end up receiving of few more easy possessions. Good to be able to take that excuse away from the players anyway by wearing the sky blue for a couple of games before we play Numurkah for example.
Tuppal Town FC
30 Mar 2006, 16:15
Its a surprise to see the tipsters picking Finley against Moama. Do you know something I don't know? We have the wood on them playing at home, but away, gee we have been flogged rain, hail and shine over the past few years. How are Moama looking this year?
Finley - well we are expecting an improvement from last year, but don't expect to set the world on fire. We have some new recruits & a coach, so things are already looking alot better than the last few years.
A big welcome to the Tongy boys this weekend and all the best for the season. Can't wait to see big Reidy having some hangtime again at the Finley Rec Resevre!
Its a surprise to see the tipsters picking Finley against Moama. Do you know something I don't know?
moama have lost about 10 players from last years list, only recruited a hasbeen coach and 2 new players so i cant see them being successful this year..
Tuppal Town FC
31 Mar 2006, 08:50
moama have lost about 10 players from last years list, only recruited a hasbeen coach and 2 new players so i cant see them being successful this year..
Cheers thanks Willo1.
Does anyone know how Micheal Loughman Goes now days? where he is Playing etc...:)
Tuppal Town FC
31 Mar 2006, 12:55
Does anyone know how Micheal Loughman Goes now days? where he is Playing etc...:)
Still based in Bendigo, but i think playing for Rochester this year. I think he has just had an op on his ankle, so may not be playing in the first few games of the season.
ok thanks for that. does he go any good? thinking of trying to get him in a last ditched effort?
Tuppal Town FC
31 Mar 2006, 13:46
ok thanks for that. does he go any good? thinking of trying to get him in a last ditched effort?
Best of luck! We had a real crack at him this year but was not coming back until we got more younger people on the committee as I don't think he thinks too much of our president.:D
Tuppal Town FC
31 Mar 2006, 14:04
Further to add Bowser, I have not seen him play footy for 3 years so i cannot really make an inform comment. If his good enough to play in the GVFL he should be pretty good to play in any of the other leagues in the surrounding area.
Kelvin 69
1 Apr 2006, 14:36
Anyone heard if Barooga are going to be any good this year. I heard they have picked up a few recruits anyone know anything about them?
Toadfooty
1 Apr 2006, 14:42
Anyone heard if Barooga are going to be any good this year. I heard they have picked up a few recruits anyone know anything about them?
GOOD!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Cobram 4.2 (26) v Nathalia 17.17 (119)
Moama 6.12 (48) v Finley 14.5 (89)
Mulwala 11.15 (81) v Barooga 8.11 (59)
Rumbalara 8.11 (59) v Echuca United 14.10 (94)
Tocumwal 6.13 (49) V Numurkah 8.14 (62)
good Results go Numurkah :thumbsu:
thanks for that Andyt30. iv got all my tips correct so far! hopefully 'the road' can get up againsed the tonny blues tommorow..
your welcome Willo1 i got the scores on country footy scores on a link on Millewa football league website
cheers
yeah the Murray League website has the scores on it aswell.
Punter_22
3 Apr 2006, 14:10
Willo
How did the Eagles go? Looked as though they had control of the match and switched off in the final quarter.
Congrats on your senior debut.
Trying to find a site with the results of the Murray league and others up that way.Can anyone help me?:thumbsu:
cfscores
3 Apr 2006, 15:29
Trying to find a site with the results of the Murray league and others up that way.Can anyone help me?:thumbsu:
At risk of a gratuitous plug for my site - www.countryfootyscores.com (http://www.countryfootyscores.com) has the results, ladders, league info for the Murray FL, as well as links to the MFL league and club sites. The site also caters for all Vic country and some southern NSW leagues as well
Cheers,
CFScores
Thanks heaps for that. Well done on the site!:thumbsu:
has anyone got the website for the Murray league? I keep getting one fromm 2004.Ta:)
centreman
3 Apr 2006, 16:10
has anyone got the website for the Murray league? I keep getting one fromm 2004.Ta:)
Try http://mfl.vcfl.com.au
Thanks centreman-appreciated. :thumbsu:
Willo
How did the Eagles go? Looked as though they had control of the match and switched off in the final quarter.
Congrats on your senior debut.
Cheers Mate! :thumbsu: Yeah we went well. That wind was unbelievable which gave Rumbalara an easy way to score goals in the last quarter. We did step off the gas a bit in the last quarter, but it will give us something to work on at training this week.
journeyman
3 Apr 2006, 18:04
Cheers Mate! :thumbsu: Yeah we went well. That wind was unbelievable which gave Rumbalara an easy way to score goals in the last quarter. We did step off the gas a bit in the last quarter, but it will give us something to work on at training this week.
Willow1. I was just wondering if you are one of the many young Echuca blokes that has crossed to united (has been discussed on GV thread). I was wondering about the exodus. I'm a good mate of Dyl Butler and reckon he's a ripper coach (although I'm a bit biased), have any of the players left because of him or is it more committee based. I reckon Dyl would relate really well and be a good teacher of younger players.
How do you think you will go against Nathalia?
Willow1. I was just wondering if you are one of the many young Echuca blokes that has crossed to united (has been discussed on GV thread). I was wondering about the exodus. I'm a good mate of Dyl Butler and reckon he's a ripper coach (although I'm a bit biased), have any of the players left because of him or is it more committee based. I reckon Dyl would relate really well and be a good teacher of younger players.
How do you think you will go against Nathalia?
hey journeyman,
no, i have been at united since i started football in under 12's. this is my eighth year at the club, i have never played for anyone else, and i hope i never do unless i make it further than country footy. from what i know, players havnt crossed to us from echuca because of dylan. if you are thinking of the likes of craig frost and chris allingham, they played all of their junior football at united, and only went to echuca for the 1 year of under 18's (although frosty played majority of seniors)
cheers mate
Congupna 13.10:88 d Tongala 11.9:75 a good effort Tongala good luck for next week, keep it up and you'll be right up their in your first year
cheers
Yaaablett
4 Apr 2006, 16:51
Any Rams boys on this site? I played there in the mid 90's.
My tips for this weeks round of matches:
Nathalia v Deniliquin
Finley v Cobram
Barooga v Moama
Echuca United v Mulwala
Numurkah v Rumbalara
Tongala v Tocumwal
Reigning premiers should be too good for Deni, Cobram look to have the edge over Finley, Barooga easily over Moama, Echuca United in a tough tussle over Mulwala, Numurkah will just get over the line against Rumba, and 2005 runner-up Tocumwal over Tongala in another close hit out.
journeyman
7 Apr 2006, 16:57
My tips for this weeks round of matches:
Nathalia v Deniliquin
Finley v Cobram
Barooga v Moama
Echuca United v Mulwala
Numurkah v Rumbalara
Tongala v Tocumwal
Reigning premiers should be too good for Deni, Cobram look to have the edge over Finley, Barooga easily over Moama, Echuca United in a tough tussle over Mulwala, Numurkah will just get over the line against Rumba, and 2005 runner-up Tocumwal over Tongala in another close hit out.
it will take a big effort from you boys to knock off Mulwala, Willo. I see Lamberti is back for Mul and Coghlan played well last week. United has a ripper list though. How is Pluto Perry going at the Eagles.
yeah it will and we are certainly up to the challenge! Pluto is going extremely well. He's fitting in like he's been at the club for years.:thumbsu: You got some tips journeyman?
journeyman
7 Apr 2006, 17:56
yeah it will and we are certainly up to the challenge! Pluto is going extremely well. He's fitting in like he's been at the club for years.:thumbsu: You got some tips journeyman?
I agree with all of yours except I reckon Mul will get over you boys and Finley to beat Cobram, the word last week was that they were pretty ordinary. Feel free to get into me on Monday if you boys prevail.
I see you're lining up on the wing. A great position on the big murray league grounds
okay will do! yeah its great to be lining up on the wing in a senior side. i loved it last week v's Rumbalara, got plenty of possies so hopefully i can maintain that this weekend. are you going to watch any of the games?
journeyman
7 Apr 2006, 18:21
okay will do! yeah its great to be lining up on the wing in a senior side. i loved it last week v's Rumbalara, got plenty of possies so hopefully i can maintain that this weekend. are you going to watch any of the games?
I am a long way from the Murray but I'm a born and bred Nathalia boy. All the best tomorrow
Results of Round 2:
Nathalia 22.13 (145) v Deniliquin 6.5 (41)
Finley 12.15 (87) v Cobram 6.8 (44)
Barooga 17.12 (114) v Moama 5.3 (33)
Echuca United 16.5 (101) v Mulwala 14.14 (98)
Numurkah 25.21 (171) v Rumbalara 8.9 (57)
Tongala 6.7 (43) v Tocumwal 15.19 (109)
Got all my tips correct bar 1 (Finley)
Some great games today, unbelievable win by Echuca United v Mulwala. Looks like Deni are slowly losing their dominance of previous years. Great win by Numurkah over Rumba.
I heard a whisper that 6 Moama senior players walked out on the club this morning.
Also, Michael Stevens (ex Nth Melb, now with Mulwala) busted his leg early in 2nd quarter, and Lamberti got a broken jaw/cheek/eyesocket, (collision with own team mate) midway through last quarter. Both will be on the sidelines for some time.
See Tongala was soundly beaten again. Who are the sides they can beat and the players that will sand up when needed?:)
Unfortunately i dont think that there are many sides that Tonny will be able to defeat this year.. Possibly a Moama, Cobram or a Deni side. Hard to tell at this early stage of the season, but i wish them goodluck in the new league.
Sly Dog
10 Apr 2006, 22:27
reports i am getting is that tonny need some older heads to play well and stand up. there is only so long you can rely on the reids. apart from them there is no on field leadership. the coach still has a crook knee and the ass coach spent time on the bench on sat which doesnt help. could be a long year but i hope they win some games.
I heard a whisper that 6 Moama senior players walked out on the club this morning.
Dont tell us . . . . Brendan Hehir has returned!!!
hahaha! No he hasnt.. But i think the season is already over for Moama this year.
Can anyone tell me if the Darcy Ronnan that has joined Rumbalara from Kinglake is the same fella that was a pretty handy 1st XVIII player at Assumption College in about 1992 or 1993? Always wondered what happened to him - played against him when we were kids and I remember him being pretty hard at it and was surprised he never bobbed up anywhere with his footy.
Anyone know much about him?
Slydog it certainly does'nt help if the ac is on the pine. Was he not getting the pill in this game or in all games?
journeyman
11 Apr 2006, 11:18
Does the Murray League have a site where you can view the transfers list? Is it up to date?
Cheers
Sly Dog
11 Apr 2006, 11:28
Slydog it certainly does'nt help if the ac is on the pine. Was he not getting the pill in this game or in all games?
From reading the better players in the Shepp News last week the AC must have went ok as he kicked a couple of goal and was named in their best players.
I went and had a look at the footy on Saturday and it was obvious that they are going to struggle a little this season. Many young players making their start in senior footy, however it seems that they need some wise heads with them. With their Coach out at the moment I would have thought that they needed their AC out there more often, particularly when he is a solid contributor. Although I only watched from the outside and for all I know he may have had an injury.
Does the Murray League have a site where you can view the transfers list? Is it up to date?
Cheers
Here you go mate:
http://www.mfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp
Updated every day with all the latest transfers;)
melbdocker
11 Apr 2006, 19:51
hey guys is ur league playin easter weekend and if so are the deni rams at home on sat?
Yeah mate, the traditional rivals face off on Easter weekend. As you can see below, Deni are playing at home against Finley. Get along to it, my tip is its going to be a great game!
Deniliquin v Finley (Good Friday)
Cobram v Barooga (Good Friday)
Moama v Echuca United (Good Friday)
Mulwala v Numurkah (Saturday)
Rumbalara v Tongala (Saturday)
Tocumwal v Congupna (Good Friday)
Nathalia Bye
melbdocker
11 Apr 2006, 21:12
oh really fri dam it hopefuly i'll get up there in time does it starts at 2? might leave early fri morning to see a good game of country footy
Yeah the senior match is scheduled to start at 2pm. If you are in Melbourne which is 2 - 2.5 hours to Echuca, plus about 45mins further to Deni, as you drive into Deni, you will get to a roundabout turn right and you will be at the ground. There is a big entrance with 2 'Rams' on poles at the gate. Dont expect quality that we are all used to seeing Deni perform in previous years.
From reading the better players in the Shepp News last week the AC must have went ok as he kicked a couple of goal and was named in their best players.
I went and had a look at the footy on Saturday and it was obvious that they are going to struggle a little this season. Many young players making their start in senior footy, however it seems that they need some wise heads with them. With their Coach out at the moment I would have thought that they needed their AC out there more often, particularly when he is a solid contributor. Although I only watched from the outside and for all I know he may have had an injury.
Henderson is going well and has been in the best in both games, mid 30's now and his body needs to be managed not only during the week but on game day, he only spent 10 mins on the pine which is totally acceptable for any footballer in this day and age. Yes it would be handy to have more experienced players out there but you play with what you have got and the performances of some 17 and 18 year olds in the ones has been excellent on top of the U/17s having a very talented side, so the future actually looks very bright for the club in the coming years, if handled well. That means not going out and spending money this year to win an extra 2 or 3 games when that money can be better spent in years to come and actually make a difference by getting us into the finals.
By the way, should have beaten Congupna first round and have Rumba and Moama next two so things might not be so doom and gloom in three weeks time, although it will be a tough road ahead from there.
Hendo has and will bring a lot of experience and wealth of knowledge to the club, and will be a solid player for you blokes so long as he keeps his elbows down and his head over the footy! And i couldnt agree with you more on your long term plan to keep the club strong not only this year, but for many years to come. No-one can expect a club that hasn't won a game in a couple of years to be right up in the finals mix after moving to a slightly lesser quality league. So it should be good to see the Mighty Blues up there in years to come!
melbdocker
12 Apr 2006, 19:09
yeah i know deni pretty well i'll have to leave at about 11 and get there just in time for the bounce
greynomad
12 Apr 2006, 20:27
Hendo has and will bring a lot of experience and wealth of knowledge to the club, and will be a solid player for you blokes so long as he keeps his elbows down and his head over the footy! And i couldnt agree with you more on your long term plan to keep the club strong not only this year, but for many years to come. No-one can expect a club that hasn't won a game in a couple of years to be right up in the finals mix after moving to a slightly lesser quality league. So it should be good to see the Mighty Blues up there in years to come!
Henderson about 38ish I think. Sends the average age of the Tonny side to about 22. No doubt about it Tonny need him to stand up and kick goals.
Pupster
12 Apr 2006, 20:54
Hey everyone, i heard darren bradshaw from mulwala has a deal to not be involved in any after game functions etc. as he has a poor influence on the club. he has been told to train, go home and turn up to play, warm down, then go home.. if this is true is this really a guy u want to be on your team even if he can play? Sorry if this topic has been discussed but i couldnt be bothered going through all 19 pages to check. I would just like to know how true it is.. thanks guys:thumbsu:
How is Rumbalara stacking up in the MFL, are there plans to enter the GV on track???
Not at this stage. They really dont look like much of a side that could maintain that standard. Because if they think that they could compete in the GV league, then half of the Murray League sides could too!
kanga fan man
13 Apr 2006, 11:33
Not at this stage. They really dont look like much of a side that could maintain that standard. Because if they think that they could compete in the GV league, then half of the Murray League sides could too!
once Rumba find there feet and get a few players back from injury i think they will go alright, expect Rupert Betheras and hickmont to play this week.
Pupster
13 Apr 2006, 20:47
Hey everyone, i heard darren bradshaw from mulwala has a deal to not be involved in any after game functions etc. as he has a poor influence on the club. he has been told to train, go home and turn up to play, warm down, then go home.. if this is true is this really a guy u want to be on your team even if he can play? Sorry if this topic has been discussed but i couldnt be bothered going through all 19 pages to check. I would just like to know how true it is.. thanks guys:thumbsu:
Feel free to answer any time soon..
My tips for Round. 3:
Deniliquin v Finley (Good Friday)
Cobram v Barooga (Good Friday)
Moama v Echuca United (Good Friday)
Mulwala v Numurkah (Saturday)
Rumbalara v Tongala (Saturday)
Tocumwal v Congupna (Good Friday)
Nathalia Bye
Deni should be too strong for a Finley outfit at home, premiership contenders Barooga will defeat Cobram easily, Echuca United in a tough tussle over Moama, Mulwala looking to bounce back against Numurkah, Rumbalara will be too big and strong for the Tongala boys. And Tocumwal in another tight game versus Congupna.
Everyone have a great Easter break!
Congrats to Hank and the Tonny lads, first senior win since they rolled Seymour in 2003 I believe. Great effort by the mfl to give both newcomers Tonny and Rumba a special little mention on the home page today at www.mfl.vcfl.com.au
I see B. Gray was amongst Tonny's best, any chance of not clearing him back Hank!!! Rupert Betheras was also named amongst Rumba's best in his first game
G'day, im going up for a holiday to Cobram this weekend(22nd) and i was wondering if they are playing at home, if not are Barooga playing at home?
Here are the Seniors Results for Rd.3:
Deniliquin 13.9 (87) v Finley 10.6 (66)
Cobram 6.5 (41) v Barooga 16.8 (104)
Moama 8.6 (54) v Echuca United 16.10 (106)
Mulwala 16.12 (108) v Numurkah 11.6 (72)
Rumbalara 8.10 (58) v Tongala 11.19 (85)
Tocumwal 18.15 (123) v Congupna 8.12 (60)
As Doona has already mentioned, congratulations to Hank and the Tonny boys on their first win in a long while! I bet tonight will be huge for you boys! Well Done and i hope this is the first of many to come.
G'day, im going up for a holiday to Cobram this weekend(22nd) and i was wondering if they are playing at home, if not are Barooga playing at home?
G'Day Barts,
Barooga will be lining up against Deniliquin at the Burkinshaw St. Oval in Barooga, this Saturday (22nd April). My early tip is that Barooga will have a reasonably comfortable win againsed the Rams.
G'Day Barts,
Barooga will be lining up against Deniliquin at the Burkinshaw St. Oval in Barooga, this Saturday (22nd April). My early tip is that Barooga will have a reasonably comfortable win againsed the Rams.
Thanks for that. No Cobram game? And who are the players to watch from Barooga? And what numbers are they?
Cheers
Thanks for that. No Cobram game? And who are the players to watch from Barooga? And what numbers are they?
Cheers
Not a problem mate. No Cobram game, Only 3 games in Rd. 4, all other teams have the bye. Barooga have a star studded line up, im not 100% sure on names, but they are a well tuned side from what i have heard. Maybe someone else on BigFooty could post a few names of Barooga players.
The sports club up there would be behind the reason of a star studded team wouldnt it?
Yeah massive sponsorship, but they had a massive recruitment campaign over the summer.
Congrats to Hank and the Tonny lads, first senior win since they rolled Seymour in 2003 I believe. Great effort by the mfl to give both newcomers Tonny and Rumba a special little mention on the home page today at www.mfl.vcfl.com.au
I see B. Gray was amongst Tonny's best, any chance of not clearing him back Hank!!! Rupert Betheras was also named amongst Rumba's best in his first game
Cheers Doona and Willo, yeah I'm sure a few KDL sides would like that to happen, but no chance, helped us out and he'll be back at the lions den next week. Betheras was serviceable, definately in need of a couple of runs though, as most of Rumba are. Fitness will mean they will find it very hard for atleast the first half of the year. Can be damaging in patches though if allowed.
Yeah big night and morning fellas, let the boys lap it up, especially with the bye next weekend. What an opportunity when we get back into it though, Moama for chance at two in a row, who would of thought!!
Wayde Petersen
16 Apr 2006, 18:08
I saw the Rumba v Tonny game yesterday, and one of the things that struck me about Tonny's side was the number of kids playing in the seniors (that Shannon Tucker's got a good pair of hands, doesn't he ?), and thier ability not to get brow beaten by bigger, tougher opponents, after a pretty even first half, where I thought that Rumba should've walked away with the match (they used the wind poorly, and the scoreline at half time flattered Tonny), Tonny bolted out of the blocks and should've buried them in the 3rd quarter (your ruckman hitting the post 15 metres out with no-one around him was a high (or low) light).
But, if you were a Tonny supporter, not only should you be proud of the way you played (you were the better side when it mattered), not because you broke the drought, but the fact that your kids played well, and that augours well for the rest of the year, and you should be more than competitive this year, and a win like that will provide the self belief they surely need.
Tonny should do pretty well in the MFL, provided that they hang onto thier juniors and gradually start building thier list over time.
Congrats Tonny, you've earned it.
DOCKERS
16 Apr 2006, 18:10
Im from Ballarat way and a young player by the name of Bill Barnes from Deni has made his way down. Just wondering how he goes? does have a big solid frame
Yeah I know young Billy, Great kid and excellent footballer. Has got a good body size, as do alot of the kids from up Deni way. Other players from up that way who could make it big are George Johnston and Jack Lloyd. Billy is on a scholarship down in Ballarat, and George and Jack on scholarships down in Geelong.
Travvy43
18 Apr 2006, 11:28
Big congratulations to you hank and the rest of the boys at TFC.
Would have been great to see the look on some of the boys faces singing the theme song after the game.
Good to see my old mate liam brennan in some good form in the middle and was it him missing the goal from 15m in front that was talked about in previous ppsts, if so it does not surprise me!!
Good to hear the likes of shan tucker receiving some kudos too, his old man would be wrapped.
Lets hope the boys can back it up with another win over Moama in a fortnight.
Big congratulations to you hank and the rest of the boys at TFC.
Would have been great to see the look on some of the boys faces singing the theme song after the game.
Good to see my old mate liam brennan in some good form in the middle and was it him missing the goal from 15m in front that was talked about in previous ppsts, if so it does not surprise me!!
Good to hear the likes of shan tucker receiving some kudos too, his old man would be wrapped.
Lets hope the boys can back it up with another win over Moama in a fortnight.
Cheers Travvy, yeah that was big Lurch, more than made up for it though. Will give it a good shot against Moama. All the best to you blokes in the coming weeks.