View Full Version : Murray Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36

bystanding backman
19 Feb 2008, 14:58
BB what about the rumours suggesting that Parker has relocated to Adelaide and Ash Gemmill is up north. Any truth in this???:cool:
They are excatly that "Rumours", Brendan was at training the other week and he seemed keen for this year. Ash Gemm has been at training pretty much every night so far so i dont think they are going anywhere just yet but who knows what next year holds.

;)
And I'm just curious about the use of the word "yet"! Are there some other players maybe moving on. I hope so as it gives all the other teams in the comp a bit of a chance now!!!;)

Nah no one else. you never know what people are thinking so maybe some could leave but not at the moment.

Kards1
19 Feb 2008, 15:48
hey kards, have greed and pettigrove signed or still in negotiations?

They came on the footy camp and are definately playing, Whyman is good mates with them and i he helped sway their decision to play for moama.. pettigrove will provide some much needed height in a fairly small team.. gutsy was playin some good footy up in queensland and was one of our better players in 2005 so hopefully he can get himself fit and be a good contributor...

Kards1
19 Feb 2008, 15:57
He's back at Wodonga got offered a very nice package from all reports, he play half the year in the 1's and half in the 2's and due to a couple of injury clouds going into the granny he got a spot on the bench as a back up midfielder/backman.

bit dirty on him leaving he's a top bloke on and off the field.

yeh mark was a pretty hard footballer with some pace to burn...last time i saw him though he was out in bendigo and he looked like he had been in a good paddock... his family still lives in albury dont they?? i was supposed to go to his 21st the other week and catch up with him.. is a good bloke, weird sense of humor though ha

head67
19 Feb 2008, 17:06
AFL Practice game at the Narrandera Sports ground will be Sydney Vs Richmond.

goodgolly24
19 Feb 2008, 20:44
heres one for you boys. Sean Charles signed a clearence yesterday for us (rumba). Very handy pick up for us.

hank1
19 Feb 2008, 21:00
heres one for you boys. Sean Charles signed a clearence yesterday for us (rumba). Very handy pick up for us.

noticed that on the transfers Goodgolly, not a bad pick up at all, have you seen him, how good of nick is he in? Was living in Kyabram at one stage not long back, has he moved back to the area?

boora
19 Feb 2008, 21:19
noticed that on the transfers Goodgolly, not a bad pick up at all, have you seen him, how good of nick is he in? Was living in Kyabram at one stage not long back, has he moved back to the area?
charlesy is in very good nick. with his experience/class, will add heaps to rumba on and off the field this year.

i think with all the pick up's so far and a fit rupert betheras we will definately surprise afew teams.

marc_murphy88
20 Feb 2008, 08:28
is that THE sean charles? the one that played afl for carlton/melb etc? rumba are firming for the flag every week...

boora
20 Feb 2008, 12:15
is that THE sean charles? the one that played afl for carlton/melb etc? rumba are firming for the flag every week...

yep, thats the same sean charles. i think we are some way off being flag fav's, that would still sit with nathalia and barooga and all other places will be between the rest. the murray league will be fairly even this year, especially with all teams picking up new recruits and i am sure that we will be in for afew surprises.

marc_murphy88
20 Feb 2008, 12:25
no by no means flag faves but definite finals contenders... murray, wanganeen, taylor, charles, l briggs... handy side

boora
20 Feb 2008, 12:52
no by no means flag faves but definite finals contenders... murray, wanganeen, taylor, charles, l briggs... handy side

yeah certainly a handy side, i reckon we are a good chance to make the finals for sure this year, barring any major injuries and it helps having mark o'meara as coach (personal trainer) and we have added 8 or 9 new players. i think that the comp will be fairly even and come finals anything can happen.

goodgolly24
20 Feb 2008, 15:10

WHAT!! What about J Atkinson?? AAAAGGGHHH AHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAH HAHAHAHA HAHAHAHHAH

boora
20 Feb 2008, 15:33
WHAT!! What about J Atkinson?? AAAAGGGHHH AHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAH HAHAHAHA HAHAHAHHAH

yeah, jarrod is actually a essendon rookie this year.....hahahaha....josh will probably hold down a key defensive post i think...hahahaha..

goodgolly24
20 Feb 2008, 15:54
yeah, jarrod is actually a essendon rookie this year.....hahahaha....josh will probably hold down a key defensive post i think...hahahaha..

Yeah. . . . . A key defensive post in the 2's

morgs01
21 Feb 2008, 08:44

Yeah young Jason Atkinson will step up to seniors this year if he misses selection with the Murray Bushrangers. Being bottom aged will get another chance next year at TAC Cup level and with full year of senior footy at Rumba he will be another good player for the Club this season.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

bystanding backman
21 Feb 2008, 09:06
Thursday, 21st February 2008
Rumba signs Charles

Ashleigh Williamson

Former AFL player Sean Charles will reunite with good friend Mark O'Meara this season after agreeing to play with Rumbalara for the upcoming season.
Originally from Cummeragunja, Charles played 56 league games with Melbourne (47), Carlton (one) and St Kilda (eight), kicking 60 goals before retiring in early 2001.
In 2002 O'Meara, then coach of Central Murray League side Lalbert, enticed Charles to play with him at the Eagles where he has spent the past seven seasons, before making his decision to play at Mercury Drive.
``I recruited him back when I was coaching Lalbert and I rate him as one of the best country footballers I've played with or against,'' O'Meara said.
``He's 32, 33 in May, and likes to keep himself in good condition; all the boys are quite pumped that he's about.
``I think Sean just likes to sit back and relax and give a bit back to country footy so he's not at Rumbalara in an official capacity, we're just going to let him play footy.''
O'Meara said Charles had already made an impact among the playing group in the short time he had been training with the club.
``He gives out bits of experience. In the few training runs he's had with us his presence around not only the young ones but the more senior guys has been noticeable,'' O'Meara said.
``Having played at the highest level and seeing the condition he keeps himself in, the boys are chucking in some extra sessions to improve their fitness.
``They are preparing themselves for a good year with Sean I think.''
Charles' talent allows him to play at any position on the ground, a luxury O'Meara is happy to have.
``He could play anywhere; he's got the tank to run through the midfield and is dangerous around goals,'' he said.
``He's got a good leap on him as well and can take a grab, although he's not overly tall, but I played him at centre half-forward at Lalbert. ``We won't have a lot of talls but picking him up along with Derek Murray and a few others I think we're on the way to improving from last season.''

goodgolly24
21 Feb 2008, 10:52
Yeah young Jason Atkinson will step up to seniors this year if he misses selection with the Murray Bushrangers. Being bottom will get another chance next at TAC Cup level and with full year of senior footy will be another good player for Rumba this year.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Very-F@#king-Funny. . . . . . . .Smartass!!:cool::cool:

latemail
21 Feb 2008, 12:32
Can anyone tell me anything about Patrick Tarrant ?

souts
21 Feb 2008, 15:44

drafted to the kangaroos in the first round, i think at about 15. tall forward.

the pie eater
21 Feb 2008, 15:53
drafted to the kangaroos in the first round, i think at about 15. tall forward.That was Robbie Tarrant. Can't help with Patrick.

hank1
21 Feb 2008, 16:15
That was Robbie Tarrant. Can't help with Patrick.

Played last few years at Echuca Utd, key defender, before that was at Kyabram. Very ungainly type but from games I've seen seems to get the job done down back.

hank1
21 Feb 2008, 16:16
drafted to the kangaroos in the first round, i think at about 15. tall forward.

you d...head seater!!

latemail
21 Feb 2008, 16:28
cheers fellas.

He may be looking to relocate down to melbourne so just interested whether he can play or not.

roccafrom50
21 Feb 2008, 17:42

As Hank said, he's a tall key position backman who has played at Echuca United for the past couple of seasons. Held his own at centre half back very well and is a very valuable player. I'm not sure he'll be moving to Melb to live, I think his Mrs. just has a lot of work going on down there at the moment. Will most likely be in the Eagles jumper in 08.

watthe
21 Feb 2008, 19:48
jack lloyd from deni rams to mathoura, done deal signed last nite, reasonable loss for deni, was rumoured to be a key member of their team this year

Homer1
22 Feb 2008, 07:32
jack lloyd from deni rams to mathoura, done deal signed last nite, reasonable loss for deni, was rumoured to be a key member of their team this year

you idiot

walshy 4
25 Feb 2008, 19:44
matty tyler remember that name upencoming fantastic footballer his at tongala this year and has dominated the thirds in past years, mite have to add a lil muscle though haha

forty one
26 Feb 2008, 00:33
you d...head seater!!

Guessing seater is an in joke. Hate to think you can't spell the name of Tonny's prodigal son's son. By the way - if you feed your apprentice....you keep him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hancock cant get pants for him now!!!!!!!!!!!

hank1
26 Feb 2008, 08:30
Guessing seater is an in joke. Hate to think you can't spell the name of Tonny's prodigal son's son. By the way - if you feed your apprentice....you keep him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hancock cant get pants for him now!!!!!!!!!!!

haha, what are you doing up that late old man? Yes Seater is an in joke.

j-funk
26 Feb 2008, 15:59
im new to this area what are some big name recruits going round this year??

souts
26 Feb 2008, 17:12

Adam Brunt - Tongala

dropthesirenAcky
26 Feb 2008, 19:03

I think moama have picked up alright , and a couple of real bargains:D Tocumwal snavelled a couple of recruits , as did barooga and got rid of some dead wood aswell I believe . Tonny regained the services of a morrison medalist . Mul and united continue to turn over rocks trying to replace stock after mass exodus . Don't know about Congupna but I do know Shane Bench found a pair of shoes on the Stanhope pub roof if that counts as a recruit for them . and watch out for Deni they have been a bit secret squirrel for my likes !

big hawk
26 Feb 2008, 20:44
Adam Brunt - Tongala
Gee you are in trouble Souts if you only single out Brunt as the only recruit going around! Some of the clubs have picked up much bigger names than him. Moama with Whyman, Rumba with Derek Murray and Sean Charles, Cobram have Simon Rudd returning, Toc have secured Mellington. Hueston returns to Echuca, Dallas Gallagher is fronting up for Barooga. Not sure on some of the other clubs. Deni seem to have a lot of blokes from PDFL, Finley, Congupna and Mul look like there has been a lot of player movement out and not too much in. Nathalia seem to be fairly stable and have picked up a couple. Numurkah are another club who have recruited a lot of blokes from the local comps. Tongala have Brunt back but you would be hoping that Roberts is still hanging around as he has much more to offer! Should make for an interesting year!

iwantanotherflag
27 Feb 2008, 07:48
Gee you are in trouble Souts if you only single out Brunt as the only recruit going around! Some of the clubs have picked up much bigger names than him. Moama with Whyman, Rumba with Derek Murray and Sean Charles, Cobram have Simon Rudd returning, Toc have secured Mellington. Hueston returns to Echuca, Dallas Gallagher is fronting up for Barooga. Not sure on some of the other clubs. Deni seem to have a lot of blokes from PDFL, Finley, Congupna and Mul look like there has been a lot of player movement out and not too much in. Nathalia seem to be fairly stable and have picked up a couple. Numurkah are another club who have recruited a lot of blokes from the local comps. Tongala have Brunt back but you would be hoping that Roberts is still hanging around as he has much more to offer! Should make for an interesting year!

You obviously haven't seen Adam Brunt play to often! Yes, they are some big names, but Brunt still has good footy left in him. And I bet he will be longer than a one year proposition. Unlike many of the names above.

Don't give too much away Souts.

j-funk
27 Feb 2008, 10:18
derek murray heard he hasnt been sighted as of yet at training, was at training once i heard and looking abit plump, sean charles great pick up for the club will add quality leadership and skills.

forty one
27 Feb 2008, 11:01
haha, what are you doing up that late old man? Yes Seater is an in joke.

Was emptying the mini bar

bx bandit
27 Feb 2008, 12:03

Hawk, how many shitters you running through the shed???

bystanding backman
27 Feb 2008, 12:05
derek murray heard he hasnt been sighted as of yet at training, was at training once i heard and looking abit plump, sean charles great pick up for the club will add quality leadership and skills.
got introduced to derek on friday night in good old nathalia town, he looks fit to me and he reckons Rumbalara are a good chance of making finals this year, i'd probably agree with him after our chat. not sure how far they'd get but i think they may make an appearance this year.

ringo1
27 Feb 2008, 12:33
Adam Brunt - Tongala

My old mate is the coach still arousing u?

grac
27 Feb 2008, 13:19
got introduced to derek on friday night in good old nathalia town, he looks fit to me and he reckons Rumbalara are a good chance of making finals this year, i'd probably agree with him after our chat. not sure how far they'd get but i think they may make an appearance this year.
Rumour is that LARGE Scott Adams is having one final go at a comeback. Heard he started pre-season at Sizzlers and will be moving up to the Middle's menu in a couple of weeks time. Will be good to see the big boy back in shape for winter, just like a big bear.:D

morgs01
27 Feb 2008, 13:25

Derek was on track last night and looked in good nick to me, did everything the coached asked at good pace. Will be more than a handy part of a new mid field rotation.

If anyone will be Bendigo on Saturday come and have a look at the bomber at the QEO with about 8 senior Rumba boys running around. Res start 10.10am and senior 1pm V Coburg Tigers.

BALLABEN
27 Feb 2008, 14:58
Hi,
Can Anyone Tell Me If Sean Moodie Is Still Playing At The Rams, Old College Friend Of Mine & I Havent Seen His Name Around For A Couple Of Years.
Thanks.

bystanding backman
27 Feb 2008, 15:38
Rumour is that LARGE Scott Adams is having one final go at a comeback. Heard he started pre-season at Sizzlers and will be moving up to the Middle's menu in a couple of weeks time. Will be good to see the big boy back in shape for winter, just like a big bear.:D

He's looking in good nick, has been doing a fair bit of walking and has been down at training most nights, would be good to see him and stork play the required games left to bring up their milestones. think stork has about 3-4 games till 300 and i don't think scads is to far off 200 or 250 cant remember.

bystanding backman
27 Feb 2008, 15:52
Just looked at the transfer site and it doesn't look good for Mul

Jake Cowman
Jeremy Stevenson
Ben James
John Lucas
Chris Powell
Damien Payne
Lee James
Jason Sanderson
Scott Sanderson
Daniel Hawkins
Issacc Orr

Some very big departures
Don't think they will be going for 5 in a row

grac
27 Feb 2008, 15:55
He's looking in good nick, has been doing a fair bit of walking and has been down at training most nights, would be good to see him and stork play the required games left to bring up their milestones. think stork has about 3-4 games till 300 and i don't think scads is to far off 200 or 250 cant remember.
BB, can you find out from Scott about what happened at the Casino last year. It was reported that some large CRACK was seen to be taken out at Dandenong and then seen around the Port Melbourne area.:confused:

Homer1
27 Feb 2008, 16:19
Hi,
Can Anyone Tell Me If Sean Moodie Is Still Playing At The Rams, Old College Friend Of Mine & I Havent Seen His Name Around For A Couple Of Years.
Thanks.

Has been playing good footy with us, but has heavy work commitments atm:thumbsu:

souts
27 Feb 2008, 16:23

in your post big hawk you have only named one player per club except for rumba which i take it is each clubs best pick up? I also only named one and adam is our biggest signing. i dont know who you are big hawk but my guess would be you havent seen adam play in a long time or at all! yes he is in his early 30's but is by far the fittest player at our club and i would back his every time to beat any other midfielder in the comp!

dropthesirenAcky
27 Feb 2008, 16:30

Jake Cowman
Jeremy Stevenson
Ben James
John Lucas
Chris Powell
Damien Payne
Lee James
Jason Sanderson
Scott Sanderson
Daniel Hawkins
Issacc Orr

Some very big departures

how many of these lads are off to the billabong crows ?

smiling assasin
27 Feb 2008, 18:38
G'day Latemail,
A little bit about Pat Tarrant a fantastic footballer who came from the G.V two years ago and has played with E.U since.
Was known as more of a forward in the G.V but has really excelled as a backman over the last couple of years, he represented the M.F.L squad last year and held his own would rate him in E.U top 5 players for sure.
Married with 2 kids top bloke
cheers

smiling assasin
27 Feb 2008, 18:52
Can anyone shine a little bit of light on just who are uniteds in's and out's heard a rumour that they lost probably 7 of their best players,(any truth).
Has hueston coming to the club been a downfall not the glory train they thought it would be?
I know he shot himself in the foot at the start of last year for reasons (that aren't anyones buisness) but has this effected their recruiting this year.:rolleyes:
P.s. Is it true Baker has an assistant coaching job at lockington if so what the?

Hand Grenade
27 Feb 2008, 19:21

One of the Sandersons (at least) and Hawkins. You can add Kieran Kelly to that list off to the crows - he's pretty handy.

big hawk
27 Feb 2008, 21:39
You obviously haven't seen Adam Brunt play to often! Yes, they are some big names, but Brunt still has good footy left in him. And I bet he will be longer than a one year proposition. Unlike many of the names above.

Don't give too much away Souts.
Hey Wann, I have seen Brunt play when he was running around for Congupna a couple of seasons ago. Correct me if Im wrong but didn't he have a fairly ordinary season with injury in 07. It might be suggesting that he is starting to feel the pinch a bit:confused: Coming back to MFL standard might just increase that intensity on the body even more so. So the question beckons.... will he be the valuable superstar that you're making him out to be? Or will he become another very good footballer who still loves playing the game, who will be of serviceable value to the side without dominating the comp? As I said hopefully Roberts is staying on for Tonny as he definitely has the goods to control and dominate!

big hawk
27 Feb 2008, 21:42

Jake Cowman
Jeremy Stevenson
Ben James
John Lucas
Chris Powell
Damien Payne
Lee James
Jason Sanderson
Scott Sanderson
Daniel Hawkins
Issacc Orr

Some very big departures
19 players in all bystanding!!! Don't forget Parker is down and out at present following major back surgery! Will be a very interesting year for the lions!

big hawk
27 Feb 2008, 21:47
in your post big hawk you have only named one player per club except for rumba which i take it is each clubs best pick up? I also only named one and adam is our biggest signing. i dont know who you are big hawk but my guess would be you havent seen adam play in a long time or at all! yes he is in his early 30's but is by far the fittest player at our club and i would back his every time to beat any other midfielder in the comp!
Souts, he was running around for Congupna in 04!!! Has I said to your mate, he had a injury interrupted year in 07 so it will be interesting to see how he stands up coming back into the MFL after a couple of years running around in what I regard as pretty ordinary footy. Sh#t any bloke with a bit of fitness, can play the game should be able to dominate a comp like that! As for beating any other midfielder in the comp, you are kidding! Put his weary body up against some gun-ho 24-28 year old with a bit of ability, who possesses a solid defensive game, I think that your main man would struggle to get a touch!

dropthesirenAcky
27 Feb 2008, 22:01
Can anyone shine a little bit of light on just who are uniteds in's and out's heard a rumour that they lost probably 7 of their best players,(any truth).
Has hueston coming to the club been a downfall not the glory train they thought it would be?
I know he shot himself in the foot at the start of last year for reasons (that aren't anyones buisness) but has this effected their recruiting this year.:rolleyes:
P.s. Is it true Baker has an assistant coaching job at lockington if so what the?

If you knew Huey , and anyone that does would back me up , he is a diamond ( ability to both wow! and cut people to shreds!) he is not the reason , I think . There was was indeed a big exodus of players as is usual over a two year period . I think it is better to bid goodbye than to make stay, someone who's heart is not there . Sure united have no huge recruits but the one's representing the jumper have no other motivation:thumbsu: I also have close tie's with the Lockington/Bamwamn FC and Tony Baker has been appointed as assistant coach to former United player Rick Pritchett . (lots of learning going on there;);) ). A few exited cocky's around that district I can tell you . A flag is paying 3 meg's to 1 . I think time will tell :cool:

bystanding backman
28 Feb 2008, 08:11
only 4 so far, the rest are going to tungamah, yarra, ridell and other leauges.

bx bandit
28 Feb 2008, 10:26

Outs: G Cambell (echuca), D Reyne(travelling around oz), T Bone (relocated) , L Jones (perth), A Baker (LBU), R Hill (LG), P Tarrant (Melbourne), J Rowbottom(Melbourne).

Probably 8 of the highest paid players (one would assume) from last year gone!! Maybe we can afford to get some lights so there is a couple of spots on the ground we can see the footy when we train, or atleast provide all the players with miners helmets.:D( i know the powers that be are reading this)
As mentioned previously Reyne, Cambell, Jones and Baker missed or played with injury for a large portion of 07 but they are big losses all the same.
As for big name recruits I dont know whether there is going to be any or not but big names dont win games of footy any way.
On the Huey front im not sure how he shot himself in the foot but it seems that he has the full respect of all the players at the club.
And what the hell is a glory train??

Whitefang
28 Feb 2008, 11:10

heard that too hope he brings his A game to rumba, another one to watch is John Jackson out of the sanfl, hard hitting rugby style tackler with pace to burn and a dead eye dick when it come to drilling the ball with hand balls kicks(over the ground) and shots at goal

hank1
28 Feb 2008, 11:45
As I said hopefully Roberts is staying on for Tonny as he definitely has the goods to control and dominate!

Yes Big Hawk, Roberts is staying, actually flew back for the weekend and trained with us Moday night before flying back out to Darwin for Southern Districts 2nd Semi Final clash this weekend.

As for your comments about Brunt probably struggling to get a touch against the "gun ho 24-28yr olds", I think you may be a little off the track there. Where are these gun 24-28yr olds, the best onballers I seen running around last year were all over 30, ala Byers, Wellington, Gemmill X 2, O'Callaghan X 2(think they are over 30)& Sexton. The only young guns that comes to mind are Drew Barnes and Sean Logie who don't fit into your age bracket as they are both only 20-21.

boora
28 Feb 2008, 13:02
Yes Big Hawk, Roberts is staying, actually flew back for the weekend and trained with us Moday night before flying back out to Darwin for Southern Districts 2nd Semi Final clash this weekend.

As for your comments about Brunt probably struggling to get a touch against the "gun ho 24-28yr olds", I think you may be a little off the track there. Where are these gun 24-28yr olds, the best onballers I seen running around last year were all over 30, ala Byers, Wellington, Gemmill X 2, O'Callaghan X 2(think they are over 30)& Sexton. The only young guns that comes to mind are Drew Barnes and Sean Logie who don't fit into your age bracket as they are both only 20-21.

age is never in issue in my books, just look at dallas terlich & phil guthrie for rumba. you never lose your footy smarts and with experience you find different ways to outsmart the younger lads. we definately would have brunt at rumba and i am sure that most clubs in the mfl would.

souts
28 Feb 2008, 16:30
Souts, he was running around for Congupna in 04!!! Has I said to your mate, he had a injury interrupted year in 07 so it will be interesting to see how he stands up coming back into the MFL after a couple of years running around in what I regard as pretty ordinary footy. Sh#t any bloke with a bit of fitness, can play the game should be able to dominate a comp like that! As for beating any other midfielder in the comp, you are kidding! Put his weary body up against some gun-ho 24-28 year old with a bit of ability, who possesses a solid defensive game, I think that your main man would struggle to get a touch!

so you seen him running arond at congupna the season he won there b&f? your probaly right about any fit person being able to get a kick in PDFL but i think to win a morrison medal in a side who didnt win alot of game takes something special and a tiger never loses his strips, big hawk. also i still this he would beat a midfielder ten years younger then him with ease, and our club will back the main man in;)

big hawk
28 Feb 2008, 20:47

Well Hank I think that you'll find that Byers, Wellington and Row O'Callaghan are all UNDER 30 and fit nicely into that bracket mentioned! And when I'm talking about a gun-ho 24 -28 year old I'm meaning someone who has run around at a higher standard, not spent their life running around in the MFL thinking that they're superstars. I still believe that if one of the sides out in the league who have recruited a player like this will towel Brunty up!

big hawk
28 Feb 2008, 20:51
so you seen him running arond at congupna the season he won there b&f? your probaly right about any fit person being able to get a kick in PDFL but i think to win a morrison medal in a side who didnt win alot of game takes something special and a tiger never loses his strips, big hawk. also i still this he would beat a midfielder ten years younger then him with ease, and our club will back the main man in;)
So we should expect Tonny to make the finals then riding on the shoulders of your ageing superman. Says alot about the rest of your list! Good luck!:p

smiling assasin
29 Feb 2008, 09:47
Outs: G Cambell (echuca), D Reyne(travelling around oz), T Bone (relocated) , L Jones (perth), A Baker (LBU), R Hill (LG), P Tarrant (Melbourne), J Rowbottom(Melbourne).

Probably 8 of the highest paid players (one would assume) from last year gone!! Maybe we can afford to get some lights so there is a couple of spots on the ground we can see the footy when we train, or atleast provide all the players with miners helmets.:D( i know the powers that be are reading this)
As mentioned previously Reyne, Cambell, Jones and Baker missed or played with injury for a large portion of 07 but they are big losses all the same.
As for big name recruits I dont know whether there is going to be any or not but big names dont win games of footy any way.
On the Huey front im not sure how he shot himself in the foot but it seems that he has the full respect of all the players at the club.
And what the hell is a glory train??
The glory train is a bit of a personal joke, looks like they are in a bit of strife which is a shame because the club was starting to get somewhere over the last couple of years THANKS For THE INFO cheers

hank1
29 Feb 2008, 09:58
Well Hank I think that you'll find that Byers, Wellington and Row O'Callaghan are all UNDER 30 and fit nicely into that bracket mentioned! And when I'm talking about a gun-ho 24 -28 year old I'm meaning someone who has run around at a higher standard, not spent their life running around in the MFL thinking that they're superstars. I still believe that if one of the sides out in the league who have recruited a player like this will towel Brunty up!

Not sure of their exact birthdates Hawk, but Byers is 30 this year if not already and Wellington is 29 this year if not already both outside your age range, so I concede I was wrong by saying they were all over 30 but they are all outside your "gun-ho 24-28yr olds", as for Rowan O'Callaghan as I mentioned not sure on his age and would assume you'd know, but even if he is in your range it has been stated he is on the move anyway so Brunty won't need to worry about him keeping him quiet, not that that would ever happen.
So as I asked before, have you got anyone out there that I need to look out for who will keep Brunty out of the game who is 24-28years old.

"So we should expect Tonny to make the finals then riding on the shoulders of your ageing superman. Says alot about the rest of your list! Good luck!"

As for this comment, your probably right, our list isnt anywhere near where it needs to be to be a geniune finals contender, in saying that myself and the rest of the playing list will be doing everything with the ability we have got to get ourselves into the Top 6 and we won't be relying on any one player to do that for us. Cheers.

big hawk
29 Feb 2008, 14:36
Not sure of their exact birthdates Hawk, but Byers is 30 this year if not already and Wellington is 29 this year if not already both outside your age range, so I concede I was wrong by saying they were all over 30 but they are all outside your "gun-ho 24-28yr olds", as for Rowan O'Callaghan as I mentioned not sure on his age and would assume you'd know, but even if he is in your range it has been stated he is on the move anyway so Brunty won't need to worry about him keeping him quiet, not that that would ever happen.
So as I asked before, have you got anyone out there that I need to look out for who will keep Brunty out of the game who is 24-28years old.

"So we should expect Tonny to make the finals then riding on the shoulders of your ageing superman. Says alot about the rest of your list! Good luck!"

As for this comment, your probably right, our list isnt anywhere near where it needs to be to be a geniune finals contender, in saying that myself and the rest of the playing list will be doing everything with the ability we have got to get ourselves into the Top 6 and we won't be relying on any one player to do that for us. Cheers.
Good on ya Hank. Only having a bit of fun stirrin you Tonny boys up! Byers is 29 this year and Row would be turning 25. I believe we do have a player on our list who I'm expecting to make huge inroads into the comp this year. Keep your ear close to the ground and within 5 rounds you'll know who I'm talking about! It's great to see a player of Brunt's calibre return to the comp and I hope that we have a really competive season with all sides on par and having to work for wins (plus one of us needs to knock off those Violet Crumbles!!!!). By the way, how are Leeton shaping up for 08?

hank1
1 Mar 2008, 09:12
Good on ya Hank. Only having a bit of fun stirrin you Tonny boys up! Byers is 29 this year and Row would be turning 25. I believe we do have a player on our list who I'm expecting to make huge inroads into the comp this year. Keep your ear close to the ground and within 5 rounds you'll know who I'm talking about! It's great to see a player of Brunt's calibre return to the comp and I hope that we have a really competive season with all sides on par and having to work for wins (plus one of us needs to knock off those Violet Crumbles!!!!). By the way, how are Leeton shaping up for 08?

Cheers Hawk, the young bloke to make huge inroads, did he play last year, or one of the recruits?
You might be on the wrong train with Leeton, know its in NSW but never been there, think you may need to ask the new Echuca 3rds coach about them I'm sure he had a spell coaching them at some stage!!

remus junior
1 Mar 2008, 10:22
Cheers Hawk, the young bloke to make huge inroads, did he play last year, or one of the recruits?
You might be on the wrong train with Leeton, know its in NSW but never been there, think you may need to ask the new Echuca 3rds coach about them I'm sure he had a spell coaching them at some stage!!

The Comp is looking great.

marc_murphy88
2 Mar 2008, 08:56

wouldnt happen to be talking about tyron hill would you? heard his form in pre season training has been sensational, has an awesome running capacity i hear... could fill the void left by matty in the guts?

dropthesirenAcky
2 Mar 2008, 09:53

Is Henderson coaching Echuca 3rds ? has to be a good sign for tonny ;)

souts
2 Mar 2008, 10:17
Is Henderson coaching Echuca 3rds ? has to be a good sign for tonny ;)

What do you mean acky?

dropthesirenAcky
2 Mar 2008, 17:09
What do you mean acky?

Is that you Hendo? Nothing bad knackers, a change is as good as a holiday, even though Hank is calling the shot's it would have been a bit like two chefs with one egg flip . That and he might have been due to have a wrestle with one of the commitee ;)

j-funk
5 Mar 2008, 08:09
come on guys say something this is terrible,this aint a chat forum its a funeral parlor!!!!!

Homer1
5 Mar 2008, 08:24
come on guys say something this is terrible,this aint a chat forum its a funeral parlor!!!!!

ha ha well said

how are we all shaping up for the night series next week?

we looking to play the young fellas that have really put in a good pre season training and prob most of them wont play many senoir games this year, so good chance to reward them with a senior game now.

Goodluck everyone:thumbsu:

Homer1
5 Mar 2008, 08:31
on a lighter note;), going by the rules if a blackout occurs before half time there will be no result and if a blackout occurs after half time the team in front takes the points:rolleyes:.

We aiming to hit the front just after the long break and then pull the fuse :p

big hawk
5 Mar 2008, 08:44
Sorry Hank, thought you were someone else. :cool:

big hawk
5 Mar 2008, 08:47
wouldnt happen to be talking about tyron hill would you? heard his form in pre season training has been sensational, has an awesome running capacity i hear... could fill the void left by matty in the guts?
Good to see we've got someone in this forum who has a bit of football knowledge. Don't want to put too much pressure on the young fella but expecting big things. Only time will tell if he's able to fill the void......big shoes to fill!!! I hope so. The boys are really keen. Just came off a huge preseason camp at Yarra. Saturday was huge and then they had to back up again Sunday as a couple of the players missed the curfew. Beware the hawk!!!:eek:

big hawk
5 Mar 2008, 08:50
ha ha well said

how are we all shaping up for the night series next week?

we looking to play the young fellas that have really put in a good pre season training and prob most of them wont play many senoir games this year, so good chance to reward them with a senior game now.

Goodluck everyone:thumbsu:
should be good! Can't believe we're back into it!! Got you blokes first up Homer, next Wednesday. See you then!!! How will the Rovers go in Div 1. Should've got Knuckles to set up a Rams vs. Rovers game in Wk.2!!! I reckon that would be worth the admission fee and some!

goodgolly24
5 Mar 2008, 10:18
Is anyone taking the night series serious. I don't mean in a joke context, i mean as in all or nothing. We at Rumba are going to enjoy the hit out, but i don't think we'll put our strongest team on the park. If we get too many wanting a run, I think we'd more prefer our young kids had a crack then our best senior players. . . . .Does anyone agree?

And have any clubs participated/ing in pracie matches other then the night series. If so, share some details.

Homer1
5 Mar 2008, 10:54
Is anyone taking the night series serious. I don't mean in a joke context, i mean as in all or nothing. We at Rumba are going to enjoy the hit out, but i don't think we'll put our strongest team on the park. If we get too many wanting a run, I think we'd more prefer our young kids had a crack then our best senior players. . . . .Does anyone agree?

And have any clubs participated/ing in pracie matches other then the night series. If so, share some details.

yeh, i agree goodgolly24, think it really good oppurtunity to play kids that wont play much senior footy but have trained really hard out on the track and deserve some sort of reward for their efforts, should be good and looking forward to it.
Think u guys mite slide into the September action this year, all the best;).

marc_murphy88
5 Mar 2008, 11:23
Good to see we've got someone in this forum who has a bit of football knowledge. Don't want to put too much pressure on the young fella but expecting big things. Only time will tell if he's able to fill the void......big shoes to fill!!! I hope so. The boys are really keen. Just came off a huge preseason camp at Yarra. Saturday was huge and then they had to back up again Sunday as a couple of the players missed the curfew. Beware the hawk!!!:eek:

haha thanks 4 that... im tipping barooga can make the granny again this yr... what's collins doing?

No Heart
5 Mar 2008, 14:50
haha thanks 4 that... im tipping barooga can make the granny again this yr... what's collins doing?

Spoke to him a while ago, and reckons he is retired but the Hawks were trying to talk him into a handful of games throughout the year and then play finals.

If I were a betting man, I'd say the Hurricane will take up the offer. Usually keeps himself in pretty good nick so it's not like he'll blow out to the size of Poopsy Jago.:cool:

hank1
5 Mar 2008, 15:48

Tongala are playing Sunshine (Western Region Football League) this Saturday at Stanhope. Have half a dozen or so playing cricket GF's but will still have two 4 1/4 games.
Play Kyabram the week after then obviously Moama Good Friday.

scottwestjr
5 Mar 2008, 17:08
Tongala are playing Sunshine (Western Region Football League) this Saturday at Stanhope. Have half a dozen or so playing cricket GF's but will still have two 4 1/4 games.
Play Kyabram the week after then obviously Moama Good Friday.
Many thirds from last year who are too old playing hank?

big hawk
5 Mar 2008, 20:01
Spoke to him a while ago, and reckons he is retired but the Hawks were trying to talk him into a handful of games throughout the year and then play finals.

If I were a betting man, I'd say the Hurricane will take up the offer. Usually keeps himself in pretty good nick so it's not like he'll blow out to the size of Poopsy Jago.:cool:
Not sure on Collo's movements. No Heart is spot on in that the boys spoke to him and he was not sure of what he was up to? Would be great to have him back on board again as he added another dimension to the forward line last year, plus his presence made the young blokes stand a bit taller. Socially he was terrific as well and really gelled well with the younger guys. I hope he does decide to have another run as it would strengthen our chances of going that one step better!!!

toquick
6 Mar 2008, 07:05

We ( Toc ) play against Rumba and Deni Rovers in the night series then we have a Good Friday clash with Tatura at Toc. Congupna pulled out of the traditional clash, im not sure why.

marc_murphy88
6 Mar 2008, 08:40
Not sure on Collo's movements. No Heart is spot on in that the boys spoke to him and he was not sure of what he was up to? Would be great to have him back on board again as he added another dimension to the forward line last year, plus his presence made the young blokes stand a bit taller. Socially he was terrific as well and really gelled well with the younger guys. I hope he does decide to have another run as it would strengthen our chances of going that one step better!!!

just a classy forward which are invaluable... and he can play back or in the centre at a pinch... i saw the game against numurkah at numurkah last year and he was the difference, kicked 6 and barooga only won by a kick... if he plays barooga will hav a much betta chance of getting near the purples

bystanding backman
6 Mar 2008, 08:42
We (Nath) are having a Intra Club match this Saturday, on the 15th we play Rochester at home i think in either a 6 1/4 match or a 4 1/4 with longer quarters just depending on player availability. then on the 29th we play Mooroopna in seniors seconds and thirds i think to have a full blown hitout before the first week.

Sippawitz
6 Mar 2008, 08:56
The Eagles are playing Koondrook/Barham from Central Murray League next weekend (15th) - coached by former Eagle Peter Taylor, and then follow-up with a hitout against Shepp United on the 29th

hank1
6 Mar 2008, 09:18
Many thirds from last year who are too old playing hank?

Tom Wyatt, Matt Tyler, Jarrod Denham.
Dylan Smith going to Ky thirds and Joss Gentle not playing.

BunnalooBallyhoo
6 Mar 2008, 13:35
The Eagles are playing Koondrook/Barham from Central Murray League next weekend (15th) - coached by former Eagle Peter Taylor, and then follow-up with a hitout against Shepp United on the 29th

will be interested to hear your appraisal of the big toosh wagon after the koony hit out there sippa.

Sippawitz
7 Mar 2008, 11:35
Murray league transfers list is starting to make interesting reading.
Mul has 27 blokes transferring out and only one bloke in (he'd want to be a gun.....)

Anyone in the know can shed some light on Mul? Are they getting many (any) to training?

I know Mul had a pretty slick 2's side with plenty of numbers in recent years, but surely no club can have the depth to cover the loss of that many players...

bystanding backman
7 Mar 2008, 11:55
Murray league transfers list is starting to make interesting reading.
Mul has 27 blokes transferring out and only one bloke in (he'd want to be a gun.....)

Anyone in the know can shed some light on Mul? Are they getting many (any) to training?

I know Mul had a pretty slick 2's side with plenty of numbers in recent years, but surely no club can have the depth to cover the loss of that many players...

i was just looking at the same thing it just keeps getting worse and worse for Mul, i don't hink Nathan is going to have a very successful first year as coach.
Seniors COWMAN, Jake Goulburn Valley FL Mooroopna
Seniors STEVENSON, Jeremy Essendon DFL Aberfeldie
Seniors JAMES, Ben Pau l Ovens & > Yarrawonga
Seniors LUCAS, John Ovens & > Yarrawonga
Not Sure POWELL, Christopher Picola & District FL > Tungamah
Not Sure MCKEOWN, Mitchell Picola & District FL > Tungamah
Seniors PAYNE, Damian Picola & District FL > Tungamah
Not Sure MCINTYRE, Lloyd Mornington Peninsula Nepean FL > Mount Eliza
Seniors JAMES, Lee Riddell District Football League > Riddell
Thirds CHILD, Joel Goulburn Valley FL > Mooroopna
Not Sure GIGGINS, Jack Picola & District FL > Tungamah
Not Sure FORSYTH, Scott Hume FL > Walla Walla
Not Sure NEWCOMEN, Scott Hume FL > Billabong Crows
Seniors Seconds SANDERSON, Scott Hume FL > Billabong Crows
Seniors SANDERSON, Jason Hume FL > Billabong Crows
Seniors Seconds HAWKINS, Daniel Hume FL > Billabong Crows
Seniors ORR, Isaac Victorian Amatuer Football League > University Blues
Not Sure COOK, Damian Ovens & > Yarrawonga
Not Sure DOMINIC, Glenn Picola & District FL > Tungamah
Not Sure WILSON, Thomas Ovens & > Yarrawonga
Not Sure HORE, Christian Picola & District FL > Tungamah
Seniors SLATTERY, Josh (Diamond Valley FL) > Montmorency
Seniors KREECK, Trent (Diamond Valley FL) > Lower Plenty
Not Sure GALLAGHER, Christopher Barooga
Not Sure THOMAS, Joel Ovens & > Yarrawonga
Not Sure FLANAGAN, Dylan Ovens & > Yarrawonga
Seniors STEVENS, Michael Goulburn Valley FL > BenallaI

13 seniors so far the rest i'm assuming seconds and thirds players but that is deffinatly to many for one club to lose.
i should also add not all of these are cleared the are a couple reject and a couple in progress.

TimBurr
7 Mar 2008, 12:22
Numurkah is playing their first practice match this weekend against Hopeton, numbs on the track have been ok and should be a final contender in 08. also Liam Gledhill is commited himself to the blues in 08 after talk of joining rival club nathalia.

bystanding backman
7 Mar 2008, 12:43
Numurkah is playing their first practice match this weekend against Hopeton, numbs on the track have been ok and should be a final contender in 08. also Liam Gledhill is commited himself to the blues in 08 after talk of joining rival club nathalia.
don't think we ever stood a chance with him.

big hawk
8 Mar 2008, 08:53
i was just looking at the same thing it just keeps getting worse and worse for Mul, i don't hink Nathan is going to have a very successful first year as coach.
13 seniors so far the rest i'm assuming seconds and thirds players but that is deffinatly to many for one club to lose.
i should also add not all of these are cleared the are a couple reject and a couple in progress.
They appear to be in all sorts of trouble. A lot of the guys Bystanding wasn't sure on made up the nucleus of a gun reserves outfit last year whilst some of the thirds, notably wilson and thomas, would be playing senior footy for sure in 08. Wilson in particular has won numerous junior awards, including League Band F's at U14 and U17 level! Don't forget that Parker will be laid up for sometime after back surgery! Will be a very interesting year for the Lions in 08! Oh I forgot, they should be right though because they have Rob Lamberti shelving retirement plans to come back and play with them!!! :D:D:p

bystanding backman
8 Mar 2008, 09:31
They appear to be in all sorts of trouble. A lot of the guys Bystanding wasn't sure on made up the nucleus of a gun reserves outfit last year whilst some of the thirds, notably wilson and thomas, would be playing senior footy for sure in 08. Wilson in particular has won numerous junior awards, including League Band F's at U14 and U17 level! Don't forget that Parker will be laid up for sometime after back surgery! Will be a very interesting year for the Lions in 08! Oh I forgot, they should be right though because they have Rob Lamberti shelving retirement plans to come back and play with them!!! :D:D:p

well with there two and seniors stuffed it should make some room come finals or nother team in each, of the teams that playd in the twos finals last year how are they going to compare. Nathalia's two should be stronger with a few more of the boys doing pre season, have picked up one or two so hopefully we will play finals again.
Barooga twos and Moama twos should be strong again having recruited well, Congupna will struggle i think and maybe so for Echuca United. should be a more even year in the twos.

TIGER ROCKET
9 Mar 2008, 19:47
can anyone tell me anything about brett godfrey who is now playing with north heidelberg in nfl.any info would be appreciated

ringo1
10 Mar 2008, 13:46
can anyone tell me anything about brett godfrey who is now playing with north heidelberg in nfl.any info would be appreciated

There was a Godfrey that payed with Katamatite in the Picola league and then played with Echuca United. If its him a defender that gets the best out of himself most weeks.

dropthesirenAcky
10 Mar 2008, 14:32

I think ringo has the wrong godfrey , Brett is a pacey wingman with a pretty good goal sense , started playing with united at the start of last year along with mouse and topper harley as their season was a late starter . He was to only one who stayed on as his cheese and kisses has family up here . He has slightly crossed eyes , but it didn't seem to affect his footy .