View Full Version : Murray Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36

ringo1
10 Mar 2008, 16:14
I think ringo has the wrong godfrey , Brett is a pacey wingman with a pretty good goal sense , started playing with united at the start of last year along with mouse and topper harley as their season was a late starter . He was to only one who stayed on as his cheese and kisses has family up here . He has slightly crossed eyes , but it didn't seem to affect his footy .

Apologies-thouht of him as a defender-but is the same bloke. I reckon he played as a key defender for Katamatite though.

marc_murphy88
11 Mar 2008, 11:44
Murray league transfers list is starting to make interesting reading.
Mul has 27 blokes transferring out and only one bloke in (he'd want to be a gun.....)

Anyone in the know can shed some light on Mul? Are they getting many (any) to training?

I know Mul had a pretty slick 2's side with plenty of numbers in recent years, but surely no club can have the depth to cover the loss of that many players...

they will be starting from scratch again, they have made the last 4 prelim finals and you can't be dominate all the time... its a shame they are looking like they are going to go so far backwards tho... the only good whisper ive heard is rob lamberti may play again this yr

wangas70
11 Mar 2008, 14:58
Tips for tonight:

Barooga night series -

8.30PM TOCUMWAL VS RUMBALARA

Rumbalara to win by 38 Points should be interesting how teams fair out!!

toquick
11 Mar 2008, 15:25
Tips for tonight:

Barooga night series -

8.30PM TOCUMWAL VS RUMBALARA

Rumbalara to win by 38 Points should be interesting how teams fair out!!

Toc played Deni Rovers last night dude!

goodgolly24
11 Mar 2008, 16:06
then who do we play?? and what was last nights result?

toquick
11 Mar 2008, 16:25
then who do we play?? and what was last nights result?
Im not sure what you guys have organised mate, Toc beat Deni Rovers by over 10 goals.

Homer1
11 Mar 2008, 17:38
Im not sure what you guys have organised mate, Toc beat Deni Rovers by over 10 goals.

Wot the :confused::confused:

big hawk
11 Mar 2008, 21:42
Rumba were playing Cobram tonight. Apparently they changed at the last minute. Toc got up by about 8 goals. Having difficulties with the lights midway through the third quarter of the Waaia / Jerilderie game, so hopefully they would've got on!:D

sweetas
12 Mar 2008, 11:14
Toc played Deni Rovers last night dude!

Whats going on puss nuts, how was your trip?

toquick
12 Mar 2008, 12:24
Whats going on puss nuts, how was your trip?
Yeah the trip was awsome! Fair few stories to share over a cold stubby!

morgs01
12 Mar 2008, 13:15
Rumba were playing Cobram tonight. Apparently they changed at the last minute. Toc got up by about 8 goals. Having difficulties with the lights midway through the third quarter of the Waaia / Jerilderie game, so hopefully they would've got on!:D

We (Rumbalara) had a good hit out last night against Cobram. Tried a few different things with most players having there first hit out for the year.

A good win as well was a bonus for sure. Players to stand out were recruit John Jackson (4 goals) was BOG. Having played two pracy games with the Bendigo Bombers was ready for a good turn out last night. Derek Murray did his job well and big Ronnie Dunbar held down CHB all night.
The Bendigo boys played well, gave alot of run from the back half for us Rex Taylor, Corey Wanganeen(Bombers) and Ryan Hudson(Pioneers).

Other who played well were Ricky Watkins, Walla Briggs, Leithen Briggs and young Dylan Kerr kicked two great second half goals.

big hawk
12 Mar 2008, 13:28
We (Rumbalara) had a good hit out last night against Cobram. Tried a few different things with most players having there first hit out for the year.

A good win as well was a bonus for sure. Players to stand out were recruit John Jackson (4 goals) was BOG. Having played two pracy games with the Bendigo Bombers was ready for a good turn out last night. Derek Murray did his job well and big Ronnie Dunbar held down CHB all night.
The Bendigo boys played well, gave alot of run from the back half for us Rex Taylor, Corey Wanganeen(Bombers) and Ryan Hudson(Pioneers).

Other who played well were Ricky Watkins, Walla Briggs, Leithen Briggs and young Dylan Kerr kicked two great second half goals.
How did Chissy go? What about big Clint?:cool: Did any of the Cobram boys impress?

clifton's lookalike
12 Mar 2008, 16:34
any clubs looking for a practice match on the 29th of March? if so private messgae me and we can possibly try to work something out.

TIGER ROCKET
12 Mar 2008, 19:53
I think ringo has the wrong godfrey , Brett is a pacey wingman with a pretty good goal sense , started playing with united at the start of last year along with mouse and topper harley as their season was a late starter . He was to only one who stayed on as his cheese and kisses has family up here . He has slightly crossed eyes , but it didn't seem to affect his footy .

thanks for the info.sorry i couldn't give you anymore info but the nfl website just said murray football league not which club he was from. but i assumed it was united as the boys from north played there last year.
i don't really care about his cross eyes as long as he plays well:)
cheers for the info

melbdocker
12 Mar 2008, 19:55
hey can anyone tell me if the rams are playing a prac game over easter weekend?

Homer1
13 Mar 2008, 06:24
hey can anyone tell me if the rams are playing a prac game over easter weekend?

Na mate, Got Tongala v Moama on Good Friday at Moama, if ya lookin for a game to watch, should be good one, i be going down there:thumbsu:.

We recieved a bit of a lesson from Barooga last night, in the order of about 17 goals :eek:.

toquick
13 Mar 2008, 08:02
How far from full strength were you guys homer?? Barooga looked very very sharp!

socks down
13 Mar 2008, 10:30
all the talk is the amount of players Mul have lost, has there been any new recruits at all?

bystanding backman
13 Mar 2008, 11:13
all the talk is the amount of players Mul have lost, has there been any new recruits at all?

they have one clearance coming to Mul never heard of the bloke. plus the total for Mul clearances is now up to 30 another three blokes applying to leave the club.

marc_murphy88
13 Mar 2008, 12:03
they are going back to square one for the next couple of yrs... giving their 3s kids a crack at senior footy and giving them the experience so they will be better in a couple of yrs time when they go out and recruit again

big hawk
13 Mar 2008, 12:44
Na mate, Got Tongala v Moama on Good Friday at Moama, if ya lookin for a game to watch, should be good one, i be going down there:thumbsu:.

We recieved a bit of a lesson from Barooga last night, in the order of about 17 goals :eek:.

The boys were pretty impressive. Great to be back and playing this great game. Interested to see how many were out of the Deni side? A lot of your blokes look like they've been in good paddocks over the summer Homer.

morgs01
13 Mar 2008, 12:44
How did Chissy go? What about big Clint?:cool: Did any of the Cobram boys impress?

Yer Chissy was in our best players, laid some nice hard tackles early which set the seen for the night. Clint started at CHF , with stints in the ruck and off the bench in three way rotation, actually moved well, will be right up there again as one of the premier big men in the league.

Homer1
13 Mar 2008, 14:06
The boys were pretty impressive. Great to be back and playing this great game. Interested to see how many were out of the Deni side? A lot of your blokes look like they've been in good paddocks over the summer Homer.

lol :D, yeh less than 1/2 strength last nite, good experience for the kids against a very tidy unit, they will certainly take some beating.

girlscanplay2
13 Mar 2008, 15:35
I travelled to watch barooga last night very impressed who stood out do you think?

ringo1
13 Mar 2008, 20:39

Moama V Tonny will be a great game and perhaps an indicator of which side may make the finals. I reckon Tonny may get over the line with Brennan in the ruck,Brunt and Harrison on ball and the Reid boys up front. Whyman will be the key for Moama no doubt

ringo1
14 Mar 2008, 21:43
Hank just wondering if u can fill us in about the ex GVFL rivals Tonny and Ky who played tonight up at KY?:thumbsu:

smelvin agg
15 Mar 2008, 09:26
Hey readers , long time reader first time poster smelvin here . just have a few questions for the moama boys , how are you looking ? are petty and gutsy turning up to play or just turning up ? what's this I hear about recruiting from sunbury ? weren't the Timmins boys from colac available ? is anyone going to punch Kilborn this year ? til next time Smelvin !

hank1
15 Mar 2008, 09:38
Hank just wondering if u can fill us in about the ex GVFL rivals Tonny and Ky who played tonight up at KY?:thumbsu:

Disappointing result for us went down by 6pts, Ky 7goals 6pts 48 to Tongala 5goals 12pts 42.
Our skill level was still pretty poor especially when not under any pressure, and as you can see our goalkicking was atrocious, self included 2pts from 30-40m out in front.
Had a lot more of the ball, but bad kicking is bad footy, we will look to take that next step on Good Friday against Moama.
Only had Perc out of any note, and they didnt have Balraj and Withers that I know of.

ringo1
15 Mar 2008, 09:47
Hank, with Roberts back and another week on the track you should get the chocolates(pardon the pun)on Good Friday

Kards1
15 Mar 2008, 09:48
Hey readers , long time reader first time poster smelvin here . just have a few questions for the moama boys , how are you looking ? are petty and gutsy turning up to play or just turning up ? what's this I hear about recruiting from sunbury ? weren't the Timmins boys from colac available ? is anyone going to punch Kilborn this year ? til next time Smelvin !

smelv, things are definately lokking better than the previous few years, petty and gutsy are both playing, petty's height will be helpful, recruited 4 blokes from sunbury pretty handy players, dont know about these timmins boys?? you coming back to play ever?? ha

roader_4
15 Mar 2008, 12:54
Hank, will many of the tonny 3rds be getting a run in the 1s this season?

hank1
16 Mar 2008, 11:10
Hank, will many of the tonny 3rds be getting a run in the 1s this season?

Would expect Jordan Souter to play a fair bit of 1s, a couple of others will come under consideration during the season.

scottwestjr
16 Mar 2008, 11:11
Would expect Jordan Souter to play a fair bit of 1s, a couple of others will come under consideration during the season.
how did jordan play in the practice match?

bystanding backman
17 Mar 2008, 09:08
Nath went down to Rochester on the weekend by about 4-5 goals i think. we had Mark Gemmill, Marc Quarrell, Troy Snelson and Nathan Trimby as the only senior seniors playing but the young blokes played very well should be a good year for the club hopefully.

kicktheballlong
17 Mar 2008, 13:07
Can anyone tell me what Pat Rattray from Barooga is like. I hear he has moved to Cairns. I also hear he had some problems in 2007. Any help would be appreciated.

BunnalooBallyhoo
17 Mar 2008, 14:22

Smelvin, good to have you on board. l am sure l have hird of the sunbury (and/or insert outer Melbourne suburb here) experiment being undertaken by the odd club in the echuca/moama area but not sure if it has ever paid off, will be interesting to see how the pies progress.

BunnalooBallyhoo
17 Mar 2008, 14:25
The Eagles are playing Koondrook/Barham from Central Murray League next weekend (15th) - coached by former Eagle Peter Taylor, and then follow-up with a hitout against Shepp United on the 29th

how did united go V The Drook?

Also how was Taylor? Was the cheer squad there?

Michael Tuck
17 Mar 2008, 15:54
Apparently Tongala dont take the regular season too seriously as Harrison was quoted at 3/4 time saying something along the lines of "Dont worry about round one, the result today is more important!" Any truth in this rumour? Inspirational words any way!!

ringo1
17 Mar 2008, 16:04
Apparently Tongala dont take the regular season too seriously as Harrison was quoted at 3/4 time saying something along the lines of "Dont worry about round one, the result today is more important!" Any truth in this rumour? Inspirational words any way!!

Depends what context u put it in. Perhaps he was wanting his players to go flat out to top of their preparation at the time instead of worrying about Moama this week.

hank1
17 Mar 2008, 16:19

Haha, probably said something like that, doubt that I said the result was more important than round 1, but there is nothing more important than the game your playing at present, don't want to look too far ahead!! Do remember there was something along the lines of how important a win would be for our confidence going into next week.

Anyway it obviously didnt work as we went down by a goal, and I know what win I'd be taking if I had the choice of winning Round 1 or in a practice match.

Michael Tuck
17 Mar 2008, 16:47
Haha, probably said something like that, doubt that I said the result was more important than round 1, but there is nothing more important than the game your playing at present, don't want to look too far ahead!! Do remember there was something along the lines of how important a win would be for our confidence going into next week.

Anyway it obviously didnt work as we went down by a goal, and I know what win I'd be taking if I had the choice of winning Round 1 or in a practice match.

Very true. Thought the rivalry might have got people not thinking too logically!

Gonna be a tough clash this Friday...word is Moama might be quite handy this year with more so the locals returning...not the Big name recruits?

19th Man
17 Mar 2008, 17:30
I was told that Dave Farrell could be headed to Melbourne.
Oak Park are said to have offered in the region of $500-$600 per game for his services? Is he really that good?

I reported this back in late November, and was shot down for doing so.
Having just read the transfers list, a submission has been lodged for a transfer to Oak Park. Money talks!!

RIVERS
17 Mar 2008, 17:45
Smelvin, good to have you on board. l am sure l have hird of the sunbury (and/or insert outer Melbourne suburb here) experiment being undertaken by the odd club in the echuca/moama area but not sure if it has ever paid off, will be interesting to see how the pies progress.

Watched them on weekend and They looked the good.
Especially the very Large fullforward.:thumbsu:

girlscanplay2
17 Mar 2008, 21:11
How was rumbas effort tonight in the night series.they forgot to turn up 2 weeks in a row. very professional.:confused:

boora
17 Mar 2008, 23:21
How was rumbas effort tonight in the night series.they forgot to turn up 2 weeks in a row. very professional.:confused:

we didn't forget to turn up 2 weeks in a row! we had a request to move our game last week from monday to tuesday, which we did and didn't have to do. we were under the impression, that we were still to play tuesday night and not tonight.

so before you start bagging out clubs, get your facts correct ********!

goodgolly24
17 Mar 2008, 23:44

I'm not sure where your getting your mail from, but we played on tuesday last week, against Cobram, and are looking forward to playing on tuesday (tomorrow) this week, although i'm not sure who against. Last week we seemed to be insync with the series as our names were on the changing rooms wall, now i'm taking that as we were expected. Last week we were supposed to play Toc, (or so it said on the MFL website) but it was changed to Cobram. We turn up where we're asked to, when were asked to!! So if you want to have a digg at professionalism, start with yourself by getting your facts straight before you shoot your mouth off about the workings of MY club. I'm not sure where the breakdowns happened, but I know it's not from us. We can only go off the information given to us. But if your saying this information is inaccurate maybe you should take it up with the league.
how do you like dem apples????:eek::cool::eek:

toquick
18 Mar 2008, 08:03
I'm not sure where your getting your mail from, but we played on tuesday last week, against Cobram, and are looking forward to playing on tuesday (tomorrow) this week, although i'm not sure who against. Last week we seemed to be insync with the series as our names were on the changing rooms wall, now i'm taking that as we were expected. Last week we were supposed to play Toc, (or so it said on the MFL website) but it was changed to Cobram. We turn up where we're asked to, when were asked to!! So if you want to have a digg at professionalism, start with yourself by getting your facts straight before you shoot your mouth off about the workings of MY club. I'm not sure where the breakdowns happened, but I know it's not from us. We can only go off the information given to us. But if your saying this information is inaccurate maybe you should take it up with the league.
Obviously there are some issues with who ever is organising you guys then, because you were ment to play last night. It just means it has put alot of ppl out like the ppl that give there time up to help make the night series go ahead from the organisaton to the ladies in the canteen. Also all the ppl that travelled and stuff aswell. Its not good enough it has just wasted alot of ppl's time!

girlscanplay2
18 Mar 2008, 09:06

dem apples were nice thanks;)
rumba's orig. game set for tonight in orig. draw was against cobram in which you played last week,so wouldn't you think that you would ring and double check changes and atleast ring and find out who you are playing.well you would think so. it wasn't the organisers fault,toc obviously rang to see who they were playing.

TimBurr
18 Mar 2008, 09:19
Can anyone please post the results of the games so far in the night series?? Shep east won easily over Yarroweyah and Numurkah won easily over Congupna last thursday.

girlscanplay2
18 Mar 2008, 10:05
Can anyone please post the results of the games so far in the night series?? Shep east won easily over Yarroweyah and Numurkah won easily over Congupna last thursday.

Division two Waaia 10.5.65 defeated Jerilderie 9.6.60
Best: Waaia G. Meyland, S. Carey, C. Armstrong, M. Meyland, S. Scott; Jerilderie D. Kilmartin, C. Hickey, B. Nash, J. Whitty, S. Lawrence, C. Marshall Goals: Waaia M. Meyland 3, G. Meyland 2, L Henderson 1, C. Armstrong 1, N. Walker 1, S. Scott 1; Jerilderie D. Herrick 2, A. Purcell 2, J. Bryce 2, T. Bryce 1, G Lawton 1, R. Batten

Division one Rumbalara 13.11.89 defeated Cobram 7.6.48 Best: Rumbalara J. Jackson, R. Watkins, L. Briggs, R. Taylor, M. Briggs, M. Chisholm; Cobram S. Rudd, T. Kernaghan, N. Sim, T. Parish, C. George, J. Murray
Goals: Rumbalara J. Jackson 4, D. Kerr 2, D. Murray 1, L. Briggs 1, A. Taylor 1, C. Edwards 1, B. Firebrace 1, T. Lovett-Murray 1; Cobram S. Rudd 3, M. Shannon 2, J. Kerr 1, T. Keraghan 1
Wednesday, March 12

Division two

Katandra 11.10.76 defeated Wahgunyah 5.12.42

Best: Katandra N. Dunham, S. Gledhill, A. Riordan, C. Calder, R. Staeher, B. Ford; Wahgunyah S. Parker, P. Trembley, M.Callow, H Northey, B Eales

Goals: Katandra J. Sprunt 3, N. Dunham 2, J. Leg 1Wilkie 2, C. Damon 1, J. Minogue 1, R.Campbell 1, B.Lawn 1; Wahgunyah H. Northey 2, B. Corcoran 2, S. Parker 1

Division one

Barooga 20.13.133 defeated Deniliquin Rams 4.2.26
Best: Barooga Ridgeway, Round, Harrop, C. Gallagher, T. Hill, Mason; Deniliquin J. McGee, B. Robson, L. Clark, S. Callinan, P. Eames Goals: Barooga Ridgeway 7, S. Harrap 3, McIntyre 2, J. Hazelman 3, Round 1, Mason 1 D. Gallagher 1, Chapman 1, G. Nye 1; Deniliquin P. Eames 1, A.Thorpe 1, J. Dohnt 1, J. Whelan 1

Thursday, March 13Division two
Shepparton East 13.14.93 defeated Yarroweyah 8.5.53
Best: Shepparton East M. Marchment, D. Baldi, B. Jaques, D. Gibson, M. Moore, B. Power; Yarroweyah C. Lincoln, C. Cheong, K. Oliver, M. Hennassy, C. Satari, J. Daniels Goals: Shepparton East A. Cook 4, M. Marchment 3, M. Moore 2, B. Jaques 1, D. Gibson 1, M. Moore 1, G. Doyle 1, B. Foley 1; Yarroweyah L. Olsen 2, J. Daniel 2, C. Pescod 1, C. Lincoln 1, C. Cheong 1, K. Oliver 1

Division two Numurkah 13.3.81 defeated Congupna 4.4.28 Best: Numurkah J. Collins, L. Wellington, T. Saunders, M. Johns, B. McNamara, M. Fitzpat Leg 2rick; Congupna S. Bencsh, G. Archer, S. Emmett, B. Grace, D. Giles
Goals: Numurkah C. Byrne 3, B. Wellington 3, D. Gledhill 1, M. Pendlebury 1, J. Agnew 1, B. McNamara 1, M. Fitzpatrick 1, P. Stammer 1, L. Gledhill 1; Congupna B. Playfuss 1, G. Kontakos 1, C. Bell 1, S. King 1
Friday, March 15

Division two Strathmerton 13.7.85 defeated Blighty 4.5.29 Best: Strathmerton N. Foote, J.Bunge, S. Dickson, A. Taylor; Blighty J. Andrews, T. Trevetham. L. Coclton, P. Scouller, G. Bain Goals: Strathmerton D. Shadbolt 4, A. Smith 2, S. Edgar 2, N. Foote 1, B. Davidson 1, J. Luci 1, A. Richardson 1, D. Limbrick 1; Blighty K. Bain, P. Scoullier, T. Moodie, T. Lloy

Division one
Leeton-Whitton 11.13.79 defeated Finley 8.5.53 Best: Leeton A. Gordan, L. Fish, S. Ianelli, P. Ianelli, M. Smith, J. Hall; Finley L. Brooks, P. Massignham, M. Sacco, P. Murrwood, C. McPharlane[ Goals: Leeton P. Ianelli 3, S. Ianelli 2, J. Hall 1, J. Hodge 1, M. N. Dolan 1, A. Gordan 1, M. Smith 1, G. Lee 1; Finley P. Murrwood 2, R. Jewell 1, N. Cullen 1, C. Woolston 1, Pettit 1, C. McPharlin 1, Parmley 1

DIVISION2
JERILDERIE 10.9.69 DEFEATED KATAMATITE 5.3.33

BEST- JERIDERIE C MARSHALL, D KILMARTIN, B NASH, J WHITTY, J PAYNE, S LAWRENCE, C HICKEY[
KATAMATITE T ROSS, D BYE, K HAMSON, S ASH, T ROACHE, D MARKOVIC
GOALS- JERILDERIE S WAY 2, J PAYNE 2, T BRYCE 1, A PURCELL 1, B NASH 1, J WILLIAMS 1, R BATTERN 1
KATAMATITE C ALDRIDGE 2, D BYE 1, M ARTAVILLA 1,M ROSS 1

DIVISION 1
TOCUMWAL WON ON FORFEIT AGAINST RUMBALARA

bx bandit
18 Mar 2008, 10:12
how did united go V The Drook?

Also how was Taylor? Was the cheer squad there?

played a 6 quarter game in very hot conditions and got a bit of a touch up by a side that we would be competetive with in a home and a away game.
there was a lot of new/young guys playing and we will all be better for the run.
Richard Fromberg couldnt play because his tennis gf was shifted to the saturday and he was sorely missed!!
Peter Taylor on the other hand pretty much single handedly tore us a new bum and was pretty impressive, i thought i would be in his ear all day but that only lasted about 5 minutes cos he had already kicked a couple and set a couple up as well. Liz and arty were at the game and did get a mention in my 5 minutes of abuse.:)

morgs01
18 Mar 2008, 11:01
DIVISION 1

Well I guess we don't have to worry about playing two games in a row next week.

Was looking forward to tonight as well, so I think someone needs a stern talking too.

girlscanplay2
18 Mar 2008, 11:20
DIVISION 1

Well I guess we don't have to worry about playing two games in a row next week.

Was looking forward to tonight as well, so I think someone needs a stern talking too.

the worst thing about this whole stuff up is you guys (rumba) were great contenders for the final:confused:

goodgolly24
18 Mar 2008, 11:31
Obviously there are some issues with who ever is organising you guys then, because you were ment to play last night. It just means it has put alot of ppl out like the ppl that give there time up to help make the night series go ahead from the organisaton to the ladies in the canteen. Also all the ppl that travelled and stuff aswell. Its not good enough it has just wasted alot of ppl's time!

We were told at barooga last week (tuesday night, from somebody outside the club) that our match had been swaped with this weeks, meaning we play Cobram then and Tocumwal now. Now as i said before, we could only go off the information they gave us. Now I apoligise if we've wasted anybodies time, but I will not apoligise for not being there last night. I mean it sounds like people think we didn't turn up last night on purpose. . . . . .Just to piss people off?? When it seems like we might suffer the biggest lose out of everyone. I mean yes people may have wasted their time, but if we don't play tonight we've missed out on a practice match and a chance to gather some match fitness, as well as the chance to compete for the Night Series Shield.

People can bitch and moan all they want (and they will) about who's fault they think it is/was. But who's ever "fault" it was, I don't think it was intentional as everybody's had something to lose. But do not attack the proffesionalism of this club over an incident that clearly involves other parties, that may or maynot have had a hand in it. Because you can't know for sure if we're souly responsible!!

Now can sombody please change the topic. . . . . . .:o:o

bystanding backman
18 Mar 2008, 12:49
A lot of talk over on the picola leauge thread about the leauge being to big and should they split it up.

What would people think of the MFL and PDFL joining together and making it three divisions with relegations and promotions with in the three divisions.

Division 1 - 10 teams top 10 in MFL
Division 2 - 10 teams Bottom 3 in MFL to 7 in PDFL
Division 3 - 9 teams the rest of PDFL

Grand Finallists of Div 2 and Div 3 get promoted
while bottom 2 of Div 1 and Div 2 get relegated down a leauge

does it have merit?

(theres a change of topic for ya goodgolly24)

ringo1
18 Mar 2008, 15:13
[quote=bystanding backman;10357738]A lot of talk over on the picola leauge thread about the leauge being to big and should they split it up.

What would people think of the MFL and PDFL joining together and making it three divisions with relegations and promotions with in the three divisions.

does it have merit?

Possibly-but I could only see Shep East and perhaps Deni Rovers having the population bases to be competitive at MFL level. Then its a long way up for the last placed team in div 3-sides in this position could possibly fold

goodgolly24
18 Mar 2008, 15:32
A lot of talk over on the picola leauge thread about the leauge being to big and should they split it up.

does it have merit?

:thumbsu::thumbsu:
That's how it works in the EFL down melbourne, and it works well down there. And Althought i'd like to see it work like that here i think the biggest problems going to be travel. But i'd like to see something like that done.

themagicfrog
18 Mar 2008, 15:46
Travel wouldn't be much differen't from now. This has been up for a while and still is best idea going around, I'm sure some old CDFL teams would look to cross over as well

toquick
18 Mar 2008, 16:03
We were told at barooga last week (tuesday night, from somebody outside the club) that our match had been swaped with this weeks, meaning we play Cobram then and Tocumwal now. Now as i said before, we could only go off the information they gave us. Now I apoligise if we've wasted anybodies time, but I will not apoligise for not being there last night. I mean it sounds like people think we didn't turn up last night on purpose. . . . . .Just to piss people off?? When it seems like we might suffer the biggest lose out of everyone. I mean yes people may have wasted their time, but if we don't play tonight we've missed out on a practice match and a chance to gather some match fitness, as well as the chance to compete for the Night Series Shield.

People can bitch and moan all they want (and they will) about who's fault they think it is/was. But who's ever "fault" it was, I don't think it was intentional as everybody's had something to lose. But do not attack the proffesionalism of this club over an incident that clearly involves other parties, that may or maynot have had a hand in it. Because you can't know for sure if we're souly responsible!!

Now can sombody please change the topic. . . . . . .:o:o

Stop shielding the fact that there has been a stuff up from someone at your end!

The String
18 Mar 2008, 18:12

does it have merit?

What about the netballers and other footy teams? What happens if a club has a premiership netball side do they get relegated to?

boora
18 Mar 2008, 20:27
Stop shielding the fact that there has been a stuff up from someone at your end!
how did we stuff up? we were going by the draw that was given to us, so stop your whingeing and whinning. i am sure that you can use it for motivation, if your that worried, when we play you guys during the season.

big cigar
18 Mar 2008, 21:29
Sounds like a plan back man and a good one at that!!! I think that something will need to be done in the next 2 years. I think with some fine tuning that a systam like that could be done!!! The only problem is that there are some poeple involved in both leagues that have there head stuck that far up there ass that they can't see outside the square! The thought of some, to think that they might end up in div 3 might hurt.... But it is a huge reality!! What poeple have to realise is that country footy is slowly on the decrease and some clubs may fold in years to come, so people need to... look outside the square to see how they can inprove things for there club, even if it means swallowing some pride. I would love to hear some more feedback on this because i think that something major needs to be done! And ideas have got to start somewhere!

iwantanotherflag
19 Mar 2008, 08:27
What about the netballers and other footy teams? What happens if a club has a premiership netball side do they get relegated to?

That's the issue, automatic promotion and relegation based on the senior footy side should not be the only factor. Look at how the club went as a whole, where did they finish on the Club Champion point system.

I think the league executive would have to look at the whole picture before promotion and relegation is done, not just an automatic grand finalists up and bottom 2 down.

I really like the idea and it is good to see some others warming to the plan. As I have said before the travel isn't too bad and we don't mind travelling for a good game and this system will help to ensure that.

BunnalooBallyhoo
19 Mar 2008, 09:19

l have been reminded by hawka54 that the Echuca United Sunbury (and/or insert outer Melb suburb here) Experiment included Dayly, Carso and one other. They may have lasted 2 seasons but did stuff all for the club and some how got lost on the way to berigan or did they just drink the bong water again??

Anyway l just don't see it as a long term propect having 2-3 flash in the pans turining up each week and from what l here of Moama they need blokes to hang around and re-biuld the club. having said this l will reserve full judgement until the season has progressed.

bystanding backman
19 Mar 2008, 09:37
That's the issue, automatic promotion and relegation based on the senior footy side should not be the only factor. Look at how the club went as a whole, where did they finish on the Club Champion point system.

I think the league executive would have to look at the whole picture before promotion and relegation is done, not just an automatic grand finalists up and bottom 2 down.

I really like the idea and it is good to see some others warming to the plan. As I have said before the travel isn't too bad and we don't mind travelling for a good game and this system will help to ensure that.

these are the sort of things that need fine tuning, the way you have suggested is a lot fairer than just the senior side of things. do the netballers get included in the current club championship or is it just the footy. if it is just the footy you would have to add the netty to make the idea complete.

toquick
19 Mar 2008, 09:41
Who plays in the night series tonight?

girlscanplay2
19 Mar 2008, 10:34
Who plays in the night series tonight?

shepparton east v wahgunyah
deniliquin v congupna

bx bandit
19 Mar 2008, 10:55
[quote=bystanding backman;10357738]A lot of talk over on the picola leauge thread about the leauge being to big and should they split it up.

does it have merit?

Definately has merit, as mentioned works extremely well in the Eastern league and VAFA in melb however doesnt work that well in the WRFL (western). The EFL has 4 div and 35+ clubs and it alows clubs to play at the level they are currently at. Clubs that are struggling are also not forced to pay players to be competitive like they do in a single league set up. However there is a problem of juniors and netball following the senior team in to a standard they might not be at. The EFL does not have netball and the junior comp is set up in divisions not based on the senior clubs.

iwantanotherflag
19 Mar 2008, 11:29
Murray Valley FNL

O'Dwyer - 10 teams top 10 in MFL
Pearce - 10 teams Bottom 3 in MFL to 7 in PDFL
Lawless - 9 teams the rest of PDFL

Name the leagues something different other than Divvy 1, 2, 3. This might reduce a bit of the stigma.

The Lawless name comes from the Tungamah League, was the League B&F trophy. Of the 29 teams in the MFL & PDFL, Mulwala, Congupna, Katandra, Katty, Dookie, Shepp East, Tungamah, (Rumbalara were in GVFL Div 2 and CGFL) were in the TFL so that's where I got the connection from.

Would players still be able to play on permits in higher divisons?

ringo1
19 Mar 2008, 11:41
Murray Valley FNL

O'Dwyer - 10 teams top 10 in MFL
Pearce - 10 teams Bottom 3 in MFL to 7 in PDFL
Lawless - 9 teams the rest of PDFL

Name the leagues something different other than Divvy 1, 2, 3. This might reduce a bit of the stigma.

The Lawless name comes from the Tungamah League, was the League B&F trophy. Of the 29 teams in the MFL & PDFL, Mulwala, Congupna, Katandra, Katty, Dookie, Shepp East, Tungamah, (Rumbalara were in GVFL Div 2 and CGFL) were in the TFL so that's where I got the connection from.

Would players still be able to play on permits in higher divisons?

Don't reckon you could have permits-Lower division teams woud want to field their best sides instead of proppig up div 1 teams

Sippawitz
19 Mar 2008, 16:21
Can anyone tell me what Pat Rattray from Barooga is like. I hear he has moved to Cairns. I also hear he had some problems in 2007. Any help would be appreciated.
Came to Barooga with a pretty reputation from the GVFL. I only saw him play once in the Two's and I have never seen anyone so lazy and disinterested in a game of footy in all my life. We gave him heaps of verbal spray (as opposition), and we could barely keep in front of the bagging and abuse he was copping from some of his team mates.

I repeat that this was the only time I saw him play - Big Hawk should have a more balanced opinion....

girlscanplay2
19 Mar 2008, 17:52
Scores from last night if anyone interested:thumbsu:

DIVISION 2
WAAIA 10.7.67 DEFEATED KATANDRA 5.5.35

BEST- WAAIA A GREAT TEAM EFFORT
KATANDRA A RIORDAN, C CALDER, R IRELAND, S VENABLES
GOALS- WAAIA M MEYLAND 4, B LOWE 2, A DOOFUS 1, N WALKER 1, G MEYLAND 1, S PERCH 1
KATANDRA A RIORDAN 2, D SIDEBOTTOM 1, C DAMON 1, C CALDER 1

DIVISION 1
DENILIQUIN 11.6.72 ROVERS DEFEATED COBRAM 7.12.54
GOALS- DENILIQUIN ROVERS A JENKINS 3, T LUMBAR 2, J BODE 2, B HARDMAN 2, A MAY 1, A GERMANO 1
COBRAM C BAKES 1, B KERR 1, S TAYLOR 1, M ROSS- SODEN 1, A HAYES 1, M JAENSCH 1, P BOURKE 1

BEST- DENILIQUIN ROVERS M BRAYBON, D CARMICHAEL, A GERMANO, S HOWARD, P LEWIS
COBRAM T VANDER MERNWE, J CHERRY, T KERNAGHAN, M ROSS-SODEN, J MURRAY

girlscanplay2
20 Mar 2008, 11:20
RESULTS FROM LAST NIGHT
DIVISION 2

SHEPPARTON EAST 10.11.71 DEFEATED WAHGUNYAH 9.11.65

GOALS - SHEPPARTON EAST PEARSON 2, A COOK 2, G SEAGRAVE 2, P FANTINI 2, B FOLEY 1, C AYNSLEY 1

WAHGUYAH A HOUSTON 2, H NORTHEY 2, M OSBOURNE 2, B CHANDLER 1, J ROWNFELDT 1, P TREMBLEY 1

BEST - SHEPPARTON EAST GIBSON, GRAHAM, MOORE, FANTINI, FOLEY, OSWALD

WAHGUNYAH T VONARX, M OSBOURNE, M DURYEA, P TREBLEY, A VONARX

DIVSION 1

DENILIQUIN RAMS 12.7.79 DEFEATED CONGUPNA 5.6.36

BEST- DENILIQUIN R RESUGGAN, J LLOYD, N HOWE, T BARTLETT, S BESSELL, S CALLAGHAN

CONGUPNA W GRACE, C DICKSON, S EMMETT, L WHITEHEAD, G ARCHER

GOALS- DENILIQUIN T BARTLETT 4, S LLOYD 3, L MARSHALL 2, S HALL 1, N HOWE 1, L SCOULLAR

CONGUPNA G ARCHER 2, L WHITEHEAD 1, C DICKSON 1, W GRACE 1

Michael Tuck
20 Mar 2008, 15:46
Any one out there got the line ups for Good friday...Tonny v Moama?

Hank? Any one?

hank1
20 Mar 2008, 16:08
Any one out there got the line ups for Good friday...Tonny v Moama?

Hank? Any one?

Moama's 21
19 ALLEN, Luke
11 BOOKHAM, Clay
3 BOURKE, Edward
25 DUNHAM, Luke
21 ELDRIDGE, Luke
24 FOSKETT, John
27 GREAD, Troy
26 HARLEY, John
6 JACKSON, Matthew
48 JAY, Brendan
8 KEAM, Shannon
1 LOBB, Scott
9 MASON, Benjamin
16 MC CABE, Cameron
18 PETTIGROVE, Andrew
31 PHIPPS, Darren
15 PUMPA, Jade
45 ROSCOE, James
2 SLEIGHT, Ross
10 VAN DER SLUYS, Paul
5 WHYMAN, Djaren

hank1
20 Mar 2008, 16:10
Tongala's
10 BRENNAN, Kieran
25 BRENNAN, Liam
8 BRUNT, Adam
14 COOMBS, Mitchell
1 DENHAM, Jarrad
45 GILLIE, Zachary
33 HARRIS, Timothy
5 HARRISON, Daryl
18 HARRISON, Simon
22 JOHNSTONE, Travis
12 MCGILL, Luke
42 OHLSEN, Darin
20 OHLSEN, Matthew
3 REID, Andrew
6 REID, Mark
4 ROBERTS, Michael
2 TOWNSEND, Stephen
9 TUCKER, Shannon
21 TYLER, James
29 TYLER, Matthew
28 WYATT, Thomas

hank1
20 Mar 2008, 16:14
B- J Tyler S Townsend S Tucker
HB- M Ohlsen K Brennan M Tyler
C- D Ohlsen J Denham T Wyatt
HF- D Harrison L McGill T Johnstone
F- S Harrison M Roberts M Reid
Foll- L Brennan A Reid A Brunt
Inter- T Harris Z Gillie M Coombs

RIVERS
21 Mar 2008, 12:43
Moama's 21
19 ALLEN, Luke
11 BOOKHAM, Clay
3 BOURKE, Edward
25 DUNHAM, Luke
21 ELDRIDGE, Luke
24 FOSKETT, John
27 GREAD, Troy
26 HARLEY, John
6 JACKSON, Matthew
48 JAY, Brendan
8 KEAM, Shannon
1 LOBB, Scott
9 MASON, Benjamin
16 MC CABE, Cameron
18 PETTIGROVE, Andrew
31 PHIPPS, Darren
15 PUMPA, Jade
45 ROSCOE, James
2 SLEIGHT, Ross
10 VAN DER SLUYS, Paul
5 WHYMAN, Djaren

Here is my tip Number 16 Cameron McCabe will kick 5 Goals and be a class Above.
See how close I am.

Hyde
21 Mar 2008, 14:55
How did Finley go last night ?

Junky Bish
21 Mar 2008, 16:43
How did Finley go last night ?

Not sure but there are updates on todays game on the centralvicfooty site Mowers away to a good one

ringo1
21 Mar 2008, 20:45
Good win by Moama=53 pts. Closer than scores indicate with Tongala within a couple of kicks late 3rd 1/4. Very strong wind affected standard but good to get up there over Easter. Whyman instrumental early and Phipps and Mason also good. Harrison,A Reid,Roberts v good for Tongala.Young Whyatt excellent for Tongala for a young guy

colbys-dad
22 Mar 2008, 00:30
Good win by Moama=53 pts. Closer than scores indicate with Tongala within a couple of kicks late 3rd 1/4. Very strong wind affected standard but good to get up there over Easter. Whyman instrumental early and Phipps and Mason also good. Harrison,A Reid,Roberts v good for Tongala.Young Whyatt excellent for Tongala for a young guy
how did the new recruits for moama fair??:thumbsu:

hank1
22 Mar 2008, 10:20
Here is my tip Number 16 Cameron McCabe will kick 5 Goals and be a class Above.
See how close I am.

Good call Rivers, only kicked 4 though!!, was very damaging and a smooth mover.
Whyman was a class above, Sleight was also very good.
Allen was ok at Full Forward looked strong on lead but only kicked 2.
Lobb was good, Eldridge and Keam gave the hardness in the middle.

Skut17
22 Mar 2008, 10:57
Good call Rivers, only kicked 4 though!!, was very damaging and a smooth mover.
Whyman was a class above, Sleight was also very good.
Allen was ok at Full Forward looked strong on lead but only kicked 2.
Lobb was good, Eldridge and Keam gave the hardness in the middle.

Whyman was good early but I reckon he faded out later in the game after he decided to get a bit flashy. I reckon Hank that a couple of the younger blokes you played on him just got a bit starstruck and were too worried with where Whyman was instead of watching the ball thus getting caught out a little. Definitely showed in patches you guys had the capabilities to stick with them but just dome poor disposal @ times along with not sticking tackles probably cost you a fair bit. ???

hank1
22 Mar 2008, 11:20
Whyman was good early but I reckon he faded out later in the game after he decided to get a bit flashy. I reckon Hank that a couple of the younger blokes you played on him just got a bit starstruck and were too worried with where Whyman was instead of watching the ball thus getting caught out a little. Definitely showed in patches you guys had the capabilities to stick with them but just dome poor disposal @ times along with not sticking tackles probably cost you a fair bit. ???

Yeah spot on with the two things we need to improve on, disposal was poor still, even without pressure, tackling from everyone needs to lift, but a couple of them were good at giving the don't argue.
Agree with what you said on Whyman about watching him and not the ball, even when I was on him a bit I was also getting caught watching him and not the ball.
Some good signs for us but just need to get some consistency in the coming weeks if we are going to push up the ladder, would expect them to play finals from what I saw yesterday, 8 new faces into their side so would think that they will only get better.

Michael Tuck
22 Mar 2008, 16:08
Yeah spot on with the two things we need to improve on, disposal was poor still, even without pressure, tackling from everyone needs to lift, but a couple of them were good at giving the don't argue.
Agree with what you said on Whyman about watching him and not the ball, even when I was on him a bit I was also getting caught watching him and not the ball.
Some good signs for us but just need to get some consistency in the coming weeks if we are going to push up the ladder, would expect them to play finals from what I saw yesterday, 8 new faces into their side so would think that they will only get better.

Hank - saw the game. Moama were reasonably impressive. Is there any chance of some one tackling Whyman??

Roberts for you guys...a champion footballer, thank god you had him playing or score board may have looked different!

One question... No.1 for you blokes with the worst boots ive seen! Was throwing (what little) weight he had around early (and a few punches!) Then got about 3 touches for the day! Any back ground on him? If he didnt have those boots...i probably wouldnt be asking!!

marc_murphy88
23 Mar 2008, 10:35
Hank - saw the game. Moama were reasonably impressive. Is there any chance of some one tackling Whyman??

Roberts for you guys...a champion footballer, thank god you had him playing or score board may have looked different!

One question... No.1 for you blokes with the worst boots ive seen! Was throwing (what little) weight he had around early (and a few punches!) Then got about 3 touches for the day! Any back ground on him? If he didnt have those boots...i probably wouldnt be asking!!

hahahahahaha spot on mate... jarrad denham is his name... couldnt hav got a kick in pub brawl... come from their juniors i think maybe 18-19 yo... moama will win bout 5-8 games i reckon on that performance, i didnt think they were too bad

Cats_Fan
24 Mar 2008, 02:57
Only the one game has been played so far, so let's fill out the questions below and see who is closest at the end of the season.

Premiers:
Runner-Up:
Wooden Spoon:
Leading Goalkicker:
ODwyer Medal:
Team that will make finals that didn't make it last year:

hank1
24 Mar 2008, 09:27
Only the one game has been played so far, so let's fill out the questions below and see who is closest at the end of the season.

Premiers:
Runner-Up:
Wooden Spoon:
Leading Goalkicker:
ODwyer Medal:

Nathalia
Barooga

B. Parker
Whyman
Moama will be one of four

girlscanplay2
24 Mar 2008, 10:55
GRANDFINALISTS FOR THE NIGHT SERIES
DIVISION 2 6.30PM

STRATHMERTON VS WAAIA

DIVISION 1

BAROOGA VS TOCUMWAL

girlscanplay2
24 Mar 2008, 11:09

Premiers:
Runner-Up:
Wooden Spoon:
Leading Goalkicker:
ODwyer Medal:

Barooga(Upset )
Nathalia
Mulwala/tongala(couldn't decide)
D.murray(Rumba)
T.hill
Toc

souts
24 Mar 2008, 12:04

yes the bright orange boots bring a bit of added attention. jarryd was the caption of the thirds last season and friday was his first senior game, he might of struggled a bit on friday but all young blokes starting seniors findthe going tough at some stage. always plays with a bit of go in him and loves a old scrag.

ringo1
24 Mar 2008, 18:33

yes the bright orange boots bring a bit of added attention. jarryd was the caption of the thirds last season and friday was his first senior game, he might of struggled a bit on friday but all young blokes starting seniors findthe going tough at some stage. always plays with a bit of go in him and loves a old scrag.

How did you go on the weekend???

souts
24 Mar 2008, 19:45
[quote=souts;10416428]

How did you go on the weekend???

picked up a few kicks in the 2's

ringo1
24 Mar 2008, 21:58
Please don't tell me its all over between you and the coach:D. I'm sure you will be back in the side shortly and hope to see you play one weekend. Was going to last year over at Nathalia but it was a dirty day and I wondered where you were last Friday

sizzled
25 Mar 2008, 15:24
Barooga(Upset )
Nathalia
Mulwala/tongala(couldn't decide)
D.murray(Rumba)
T.hill
Toc
IS DEREK MURRAY STILL PLAYING FOR RUMBA? HAVE HEARD OTHERWISE

goodgolly24
25 Mar 2008, 15:34

What have you heard??

souts
25 Mar 2008, 16:48
Please don't tell me its all over between you and the coach:D. I'm sure you will be back in the side shortly and hope to see you play one weekend. Was going to last year over at Nathalia but it was a dirty day and I wondered where you were last Friday

haha nah were still hanging in there ringo! ah we will just have to wait and see how things go mate but yes would be good to catch up one weekend!:thumbsu:

girlscanplay2
25 Mar 2008, 21:03

well good question??? let me no to lol i need to do some home work

morgs01
25 Mar 2008, 22:42

Derek trained well at Rumba tonight on the back of Phil Guthrie announcing he is having a break from Footy could be short term, could be for ever was what he said.

Repurt Betherus made a surprise appearance at training and is inline to play on the weekend, along with Derek's younger brother and Corey Wanganeen a big chance to play his first game in Rumba colors with the VFL reserves not starting until next week.

And welcome back Clayton we missed ya mate, I knew you wouldn't leave us.