View Full Version : Murray Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36

Doona2
25 Mar 2008, 22:46
Derek trained well at Rumba tonight on the back of Phil Guthrie announcing he is having a break from Footy could be short term, could be for ever was what he said.

Repurt Betherus made a surprise appearance at training and is inline to play on the weekend, along with Derek's younger brother.

And welcome back Clayton we missed ya mate, I knew you wouldn't leave us.

Hey Morgs I could do with another tall forward, any chance you could send thru Phil's number ;) Just kidding, has been a bloody handy footballer over the years and seemed a true gentleman to go with it, let's hope he aint lost to footy forever :thumbsu:

ringo1
25 Mar 2008, 23:02
Yeah have to agree-Guthrie a dominant forward that worked very hard to present all day-Not a bad pick-up from Cootamundra NSW:thumbsu:

tuckylives
26 Mar 2008, 09:05
Derek trained well at Rumba tonight on the back of Phil Guthrie announcing he is having a break from Footy could be short term, could be for ever was what he said.

Repurt Betherus made a surprise appearance at training and is inline to play on the weekend, along with Derek's younger brother and Corey Wanganeen a big chance to play his first game in Rumba colors with the VFL reserves not starting until next week.

And welcome back Clayton we missed ya mate, I knew you wouldn't leave us.

i dont know if im the only one who thinks this but dont you think thats a bit rude to be possibly giving someone who has trained at the club once or twice a game first up, over someone who may have trained hard all pre-season??

boora
26 Mar 2008, 10:08
i dont know if im the only one who thinks this but dont you think thats a bit rude to be possibly giving someone who has trained at the club once or twice a game first up, over someone who may have trained hard all pre-season??
rupert has done the pre season with collingwood vfl this year, lives in melbourne and the coaching staff/players/club knew this from the outset.

tuckylives
26 Mar 2008, 11:34
rupert has done the pre season with collingwood vfl this year, lives in melbourne and the coaching staff/players/club knew this from the outset.
oh thats good then. is he in good shape? was a bit round in the past couple of years.

morgs01
26 Mar 2008, 12:41
oh thats good then. is he in good shape? was a bit round in the past couple of years.

looked fit to me. We only had a short session last night to freshen up for the weekend after a pretty full on pre season (game plan zones set ups etc) and Rupert was looking for more after moving nicely through the night. Had a kick for half an hour after training with a couple of the thirds boys.

tuckylives
26 Mar 2008, 12:50
looked fit to me. We only had a short session last night to freshen up for the weekend after a pretty full on pre season (game plan zones set ups etc) and Rupert was looking for more after moving nicely through the night. Had a kick for half an hour after training with a couple of the thirds boys.
sounds good morgs:thumbsu:

bystanding backman
27 Mar 2008, 15:23
Chris Kia Kennedy has signed with Yarrawonga, what a kick in the guts to Mulwala. Ha Ha Ha Ha. reported in todays Shepp News

tuckylives
27 Mar 2008, 16:44
Chris Kia Kennedy has signed with Yarrawonga, what a kick in the guts to Mulwala. Ha Ha Ha Ha. reported in todays Shepp News
that is a massive get for yarrawonga. along with john lucas, ben james, youngsters thomas wilson & dylan flanagan, daniel leary, joel thomas, cameron sanders and glynn ford. will mulwala have anything left at all?

guess those new $2million facilities are gonna be gathering cobwebs this season.

mul have 7 players coming into the club, only 2 of which are senior players. the rest are juniors.

tuckylives
27 Mar 2008, 16:56
also, things aren't looking too crash hot for congupna. out of 17 players being cleared into the club, 14 are kids who will play juniors. the other 4 are stan koullas from shep united, heath platfuss of picola united and nathan lewis of ardmona. 21 players look to be exiting the club.

anyone from the road willing to comment?

morgs01
27 Mar 2008, 22:05
Rumbalara Senior Side for this weekend:

From: Josh Wanganeen, Sam Schubert, Corey Wanganeen, Rupert Betherus, Ronny Dunbar, Des Morgan, Rex Taylor, Josh Atkinson, Mark (Walla) Briggs, Alan Murray, Jamie Atkinson, Tommy Higgins, Derek Murray, Dallas Terlich, John Jackson, Dylan Kerr, Graham Weston, Ricky Watkins, Travis Morgan, Shane Morgan, Darren Turner, Johnno Henderson, Aaron Taylor, Jason Atkinson, Clinton Edwards, Leithen Briggs, Michael Chisholm.

Doona2
27 Mar 2008, 23:18
Rumbalara Senior Side for this weekend:

From: Josh Wanganeen, Sam Schubert, Corey Wanganeen, Rupert Betherus, Ronny Dunbar, Des Morgan, Rex Taylor, Josh Atkinson, Mark (Walla) Briggs, Alan Murray, Jamie Atkinson, Tommy Higgins, Derek Murray, Dallas Terlich, John Jackson, Dylan Kerr, Graham Weston, Ricky Watkins, Travis Morgan, Shane Morgan, Darren Turner, Johnno Henderson, Aaron Taylor, Jason Atkinson, Clinton Edwards, Leithen Briggs, Michael Chisholm.

Not bad :thumbsu: is the old #24 Liners still having a run?

morgs01
28 Mar 2008, 00:19
Not bad :thumbsu: is the old #24 Liners still having a run?

Was around in the pre season. Not sure what's happened to him lately.
I think that old hammy might have given out again.

Doona2
28 Mar 2008, 08:39
Was around in the pre season. Not sure what's happened to him lately.
I think that old hammy might have given out again.

ha ha from memory he always had drama's there, always used to come say gday and have a beer after the games seemed a really nice guy:thumbsu:

Sippawitz
28 Mar 2008, 10:00
Interesting to see DT back at Rumba. How's his weight/fitness/attitude Morgs?

Corey "Chicken Bones" Wanganeen big plus for you blokes I reckon - really started to hit his straps last year with United, several bags of 6 goals. Will he see much action with the Bombers seniors?

Michael Tuck
28 Mar 2008, 10:30
Speaking of Wanganeen. Does Corey have a brother?

I think Joshua? How does he go?

morgs01
28 Mar 2008, 14:23
Interesting to see DT back at Rumba. How's his weight/fitness/attitude Morgs?

Corey "Chicken Bones" Wanganeen big plus for you blokes I reckon - really started to hit his straps last year with United, several bags of 6 goals. Will he see much action with the Bombers seniors?

DT has been told he needs to play a couple of games in the two's before senior selection and has stayed on board. I don't know how many seconds games he's played but it wouldn't be many. Looks OK fitness wise hasn't missed training for a month now and when he hits seniors will give it a good go.

Yer Corey has been a great pick up for us and along with Rex will play about 6 or 7 games this year which will quilify them to play finals with us. It's up to Corey weather he plays senior footy at BB, is ahead of a few blokes there, I think he could play games later in the year.

t08199883
28 Mar 2008, 15:06
I'm new to the thred,

i'm trying to chase up a name of a player from Finley. He is about 21 22, tall ruckman type. He now goes to uni in geelong.

Does this ring a bell and if so how does he go? I would give a name but it has slipped my memory.

Any help would be great.

dropthesirenAcky
29 Mar 2008, 09:06
I'm new to the thred,

i'm trying to chase up a name of a player from Finley. He is about 21 22, tall ruckman type. He now goes to uni in geelong.

Does this ring a bell and if so how does he go? I would give a name but it has slipped my memory.

Any help would be great.

Your not thinking of Tom Hawkins are to8199883 ? if so pal you might want to try the AFL tread . What sort of a name is t08199883 anyway ? It's like you headbutted the keyboard and thought that will do ;)

dropthesirenAcky
29 Mar 2008, 09:10
Speaking of Wanganeen. Does Corey have a brother?

I think Joshua? How does he go?

He's a bit like a Joe Misiti , but fatter , nah just kidding He's actually moving pretty well last time he speed past on the way to the try line

bystanding backman
29 Mar 2008, 09:53
I'm new to the thred,

Any help would be great.

The only ones i can think of are Nick Braybourn, Chuck Braybourn and Jake Plattfuss not sure of there ages just there playing position.

Run Straight
29 Mar 2008, 17:31
I'm new to the thred,

Any help would be great.

Sam Nevins I would guess

smelvin agg
30 Mar 2008, 02:55
ha ha from memory he always had drama's there, always used to come say gday and have a beer after the games seemed a really nice guy:thumbsu:

speaking of drama's , how about seymor's drama's "keeping your "grubby mits of there stock .how about you steal some nathalia players that would help , until someone who has the backing a club with poker machines and then they win a few flags and then another club will pop up and ruin a few lives and win a flag and make a couple of old blokes happy . I don't know where country footy is heading , do you doona ?

Doona2
30 Mar 2008, 12:39
speaking of drama's , how about seymor's drama's "keeping your "grubby mits of there stock .how about you steal some nathalia players that would help , until someone who has the backing a club with poker machines and then they win a few flags and then another club will pop up and ruin a few lives and win a flag and make a couple of old blokes happy . I don't know where country footy is heading , do you doona ?

Geez smelv who spoke of drama's :confused: last time I checked Ive had only Seymour bloke train with us this summer (Chippa Douglas a couple of times) and he's heading back to Cairns in 2 weeks - Kyle Gemmill did a pre-season and praccy games and trained a bit with us last year, but there's too much travelling from Nathalia to Broadford to even try sorry :( Maybe buzz someone from cashed up joints like Elmore or Heathcote, they're the one's who might be able to assist in your request :D

smelvin agg
30 Mar 2008, 17:22
Geez smelv who spoke of drama's :confused: last time I checked Ive had only Seymour bloke train with us this summer (Chippa Douglas a couple of times) and he's heading back to Cairns in 2 weeks - Kyle Gemmill did a pre-season and praccy games and trained a bit with us last year, but there's too much travelling from Nathalia to Broadford to even try sorry :( Maybe buzz someone from cashed up joints like Elmore or Heathcote, they're the one's who might be able to assist in your request :D

Just a wind up mate , was wondering if you ever broke from your diplomatic stance . it seems your an oak . yeah elmore would be bang up for it , i reckon . or even my former club in the murray league . but on a serious note doona , everyone I've spoken to is struggling to fill sides , drought related maybe , or is country footy in big trouble?

dropthesirenAcky
30 Mar 2008, 17:49

Who have you been talking to Agg ? and what are you doing posting after midnight you clown . surely your hands are full wiping down tables and washing glass's . Are you still having a kick mate ? or is it just nude wrestles on the beach for you up in tropical far north queensland .

RoadRunner11
30 Mar 2008, 20:31
There is a bloke that played half a season with finley a couple of years ago who went to a geelong league last year, Brendan Paull was his name. He fits that age group. Is a big solid bloke, but doesn't play like he should. There is also a couple of young kids that are going to uni in geelong who are 19-20. Both are tall ruck types. Dane Maxwell and Will Robertson. Both go well, and both will play for finley in uni holidays. Hope this helps.

8ightball
30 Mar 2008, 20:38
There is a bloke that played half a season with finley a couple of years ago who went to a geelong league last year, Brendan Paull was his name. He fits that age group. Is a big solid bloke, but doesn't play like he should. There is also a couple of young kids that are going to uni in geelong who are 19-20. Both are tall ruck types. Dane Maxwell and Will Robertson. Both go well, and both will play for finley in uni holidays. Hope this helps.

This is the first bit of talk about Finley in a while how are they shaping up for the season? also see rumba has Allan Murray waiting to be cleared to them, this would a massive bonus for them.

Doona2
30 Mar 2008, 20:53
Just a wind up mate , was wondering if you ever broke from your diplomatic stance . it seems your an oak . yeah elmore would be bang up for it , i reckon . or even my former club in the murray league . but on a serious note doona , everyone I've spoken to is struggling to fill sides , drought related maybe , or is country footy in big trouble?

For what it's worth I reckon a lot of the geographical side of country footy needs an overhaul in the not too distant future. Growing costs of living placing greater importance on work (unless u pull a good quid from footy), fuel etc will only make it tougher in the future IMO.

I live in Kilmore and are obviously currently coaching Broadford - for example our club has I think 16-17 clubs within an hours drive yet we play just one (Heathcote).

Sippawitz
31 Mar 2008, 11:02
No real surprise to see the Rumba-Congupna scoreline given the ins and outs of both clubs over the summer.

Biggest isue for me to come out of the day was that Joey Day didn't play in the magoo's....

Morgs/Boora - please don't tell me Joey's finally hung up the boots???

boora
31 Mar 2008, 11:26
No real surprise to see the Rumba-Congupna scoreline given the ins and outs of both clubs over the summer.

Biggest isue for me to come out of the day was that Joey Day didn't play in the magoo's....

nah joey hasn't hung up the boots yet. he is trekking around south america on a crusade with his church group and back at the end of april from memory, but with the way damo played on the weekend, joey may struggle to get a game :D.....

bystanding backman
31 Mar 2008, 12:33
For what it's worth I reckon a lot of the geographical side of country footy needs an overhaul in the not too distant future. Growing costs of living placing greater importance on work (unless u pull a good quid from footy), fuel etc will only make it tougher in the future IMO.

I live in Kilmore and are obviously currently coaching Broadford - for example our club has I think 16-17 clubs within an hours drive yet we play just one (Heathcote).

i think the biggest killer of country football is money, so many clubs have folded due to the increase in costs both on and off the field

roader_4
31 Mar 2008, 13:24
Congupna had 5 or 6 blokes from last years 3rds playing as well as a current 3rds player and they will take time to get used to seniors

morgs01
31 Mar 2008, 14:20

It's been Joe's last year for the last 4 seasons, so I can't see why this year would be any different.

Will be back from South America in a few weeks and once again will make the tri-weekly trek from Echuca to play. Along with the other Echuca boys.

marc_murphy88
31 Mar 2008, 15:00
allan murray officially on board at rumba morgs... played on the weekend on permit or something?? another more than handy pick up

toquick
31 Mar 2008, 15:24
Anyone wanna have a crack at this?

Premier:
Runner Up:
Smokey:
Wooden Spoon:
Disappointment:
League Medal:
Leading Goalkicker:
Recruit of the Year:
Headline of the Year:

boora
31 Mar 2008, 16:06

Premier: barooga
Runner Up: nathalia
Smokey: rumba
Wooden Spoon: finley
Disappointment: no idea.
League Medal: djars or allan murray (if he stays)
Leading Goalkicker: parker or d murray
Recruit of the Year: john jackson (rumba)
Headline of the Year:
phil guthrie comes out of retirement :D

morgs01
31 Mar 2008, 19:12
allan murray officially on board at rumba morgs... played on the weekend on permit or something?? another more than handy pick up

Officially on board, but for how long i'm not too sure about. Maybe one more, maybe two more, maybe the rest of the season or maybe we'll see if he comes across next year.

Which ever it is I've been asured by his brother that's it not the last time we'll see Allan Murray in a Rumba uniform.

morgs01
31 Mar 2008, 19:26

Premier: Nathalia
Runner Up: Barooga
Smokey: Rumbalara (of course)
Wooden Spoon: Finley
Disappointment: Echuca United
League Medal: Djaran Whyman (Moama)
Leading Goalkicker: Derek Murray (Rumbalara)
Recruit of the Year: Allan Murray (Rumbalara, If stays, if not Djaran Whyman)
Headline of the Year: .

Gilbert McAdam comes out of retirement.

seventynine
31 Mar 2008, 19:40
how did the rumba game go?

marc_murphy88
1 Apr 2008, 09:38
how did the rumba game go?

rumba a class above congupna who played some good young kids from their 3rds flag last yr... rex taylor superb with 4 goals and murray classy up forward with 5... i'm tipping rumba will be top 4 if they hold that form all yr

girlscanplay2
1 Apr 2008, 16:05
[quote=toquick;10499207]Anyone wanna have a crack at this?

Premier: Barooga
Runner Up:Nathalia
Smokey:toc:confused:
Wooden Spoon:mul:thumbsd:
Disappointment:mul:thumbsd:
League Medal:A Mellington
Leading Goalkicker:d.murray
Recruit of the Year:gallagher boys(barooga)
Headline of the Year:Merger/crisis talks

toquick
1 Apr 2008, 16:25
Smokey: Tocumwal
Wooden Spoon: Finley
Disappointment: Moama
League Medal: Linc Wellington
Leading Goalkicker: A.Mellington
Recruit of the Year: Whyman
Headline of the Year: Finley Vs Mulwala results in a nil all draw.

goodgolly24
1 Apr 2008, 21:19
[QUOTE=toquick;10499207]Anyone wanna have a crack at this?

Premier:Nathalia
Smokey:Rumba
Wooden Spoon:Mulwala
Disappointment:Moama
League Medal:Troy Snelson-Nathalia
Leading Goalkicker:Anthony Mellington
Recruit of the Year:Djars Whyman
Headline of the Year: Adrien McAdam fly's south for the winter QUOTE]

morgs01
2 Apr 2008, 00:45
Adrian McAdam fly's south for the winter

That headline could still be on the cards, give him three weeks I'm told. Alice Spings does get a bit warm this time of year.

big hawk
2 Apr 2008, 10:45
[quote=goodgolly24;10514525][quote=toquick;10499207]Anyone wanna have a crack at this?

Premier:Barooga
Runner Up: Nathalia
Smokey:Tocumwal
Wooden Spoon:Finley
Disappointment:Murray FL Representative side (if they lose Div.3)League Medal:Linc Wellington
Leading Goalkicker:Sean Harrap
Recruit of the Year:Tyron Hill
Headline of the Year: Nathalia Busted For Performance-Enhancing Substances!:D

bystanding backman
2 Apr 2008, 12:14

Premier: Mulwala
Runner Up: Rumbalara
Smokey: Moama
Wooden Spoon: Barooga
Disappointment: Nathalia
League Medal: who knows maybe an umpire will win it this year
Leading Goalkicker: Brendan Parker
Recruit of the Year: Troy Gread
Headline of the Year: Barooga In Crisis talks, club has finally run out of money players leave mid year:D

ha ha that one was just a bit of a laugh

Premier: Hopefully Nathalia
Runner Up: Rumbalara
Smokey: Moama
Wooden Spoon: Mul
Dissapointment: Echuca United
League Medal: Troy Snelson
Leading Goalkicker: Brendan Parker
Recruit of the Year: Derek Murray
Headline of the Year: Mass Exodus from Mulwala

bx bandit
2 Apr 2008, 13:06
Hank, how are guys shaping up for this wekends game? full list? Should be a competitive game from what i saw from the moama game, we both have pretty young sides!

bx bandit
2 Apr 2008, 13:16
Premier: Barooga
Runner Up:rumba
Smokey:deni?
Wooden Spoon:to many to choose from
Disappointment:nathalia
League Medal:?
Leading Goalkicker:A Mellington
Recruit of the Year:matty rogers Echuca united
Headline of the Year: Nathalia "from premiers to nursing home"

CATSfinallydidit
2 Apr 2008, 16:02
hey boora! how did your coaching debut go?

morgs01
2 Apr 2008, 16:33

Didn't have to do much. Had a pretty expearanced team. Just came to the huddles ranted something about handpass and kick goals, swore abit and left.

Nah you done a good job mate keep at it mate. And just remember I can't play every week.

CATSfinallydidit
2 Apr 2008, 16:46
Didn't have to do much. Had a pretty expearanced team. Just came to the huddles ranted something about handpass and kick goals, swore abit and left.

Nah you done a good job mate keep at it mate. And just remember I can't play every week.

whats happening damo?
brad swear! never!

hank1
2 Apr 2008, 17:31
Hank, how are guys shaping up for this wekends game? full list? Should be a competitive game from what i saw from the moama game, we both have pretty young sides!

We will have 2 or 3 out from moama game, 2 blokes have weddings and 1 under an injury cloud. Get Adam Nunn back.
Yeah would expect both sides to be pretty evenly matched.

bomber 7
2 Apr 2008, 17:56
hey dropthesirenacky how do you know brett godfrey

ringo1
2 Apr 2008, 19:02
We will have 2 or 3 out from moama game, 2 blokes have weddings and 1 under an injury cloud. Get Adam Nunn back.
Yeah would expect both sides to be pretty evenly matched.

The run under the belt for Tongala may get them over the line. Irrespective, both sides will have a good idea what the season may hold by sat 5pm

dropthesirenAcky
2 Apr 2008, 21:39
hey dropthesirenacky how do you know brett godfrey

I couldn't tell you much about him mate only that we both played at united last year and i think he is married or getting married to Blighty's sister . his favorite color is blue and when he gets bigger he want to be a fire truck ;) but seriously he's a good egg , would have liked him to grace the high street oval wing this year again , but sadly not the case

boora
2 Apr 2008, 23:28
well 10 minutes from game time, running around like a headless chook cursing and swearing :D and being told i had to play. when i had accepted i had to play, i was told i wasn't needed :confused:, which has left me totally lost.

i am happy now, got the 1st game out of the way, we get afew back this week and things are looking good for both seniors and ressies this year.

i will probably have to pull the boots on this week, as we lose morgs :D and i see the surgeon on monday, so i can go and hurt myself i surpose.

boora
2 Apr 2008, 23:31

that will come this week, i will have to watch the club and remember the titans :D

CATSfinallydidit
3 Apr 2008, 09:35
well 10 minutes from game time, running around like a headless chook cursing and swearing :D and being told i had to play. when i had accepted i had to play, i was told i wasn't needed :confused:, which has left me totally lost.

i am happy now, got the 1st game out of the way, we get afew back this week and things are looking good for both seniors and ressies this year.

i will probably have to pull the boots on this week, as we lose morgs :D and i see the surgeon on monday, so i can go and hurt myself i surpose.

easy now there buddy, think of your drumming career. where will you play yourself this week?
who you playing?

t08199883
3 Apr 2008, 09:43
The only ones i can think of are Nick Braybourn, Chuck Braybourn and Jake Plattfuss not sure of there ages just there playing position.

Jake Plattfuss from Finley - can anyone tell me anything about him?
What position does he play and how does he go?

marc_murphy88
3 Apr 2008, 09:50
Jake Plattfuss from Finley - can anyone tell me anything about him?
What position does he play and how does he go?

Had 2 yrs in the bushies and played finley last yr but has left and gone back to wang rovers... tall ruckman or key position type, neva really fulfilled his potential with bushies i dont think

Sippawitz
3 Apr 2008, 10:58
[QUOTE=toquick;10499207]Anyone wanna have a crack at this?

Smokey: Rumba
Wooden Spoon: Mulwala
Disappointment: Moama
League Medal: Dangers Dalziel
Leading Goalkicker: Big Pang Parker
Recruit of the Year: Murray Boys at Rumba
Headline of the Year: DTS Acky kicks 6 in GF Triumph - AFL scouts talk up draft chances.

j-funk
3 Apr 2008, 11:01

remember morgos i want to see more run and draw in your game this weekend!!!:D:D:D

tuckylives
3 Apr 2008, 11:19
tips for the first official round of the season:

Echuca United v Tongala - Tongala by 6 points
Tocumwal v Barooga - Barooga by 39 points
Nathalia v Numurkah - Nathalia by 42 points
Deniliquin Rams v Cobram - Deniliquin by 19 points
Finley v Moama - Moama by 68 points
Mulwala v Rumbalara - Rumbalara by 284 points (Mulwala not to score)
Congupna Bye

bystanding backman
3 Apr 2008, 12:09
Echuca United v Tongala - Tongala by 16 points
Tocumwal v Barooga - Barooga by 60 points
Nathalia v Numurkah - Nathalia by 25 points
Deniliquin Rams v Cobram - Cobram by 18 points
Finley v Moama - Moama by 72 points
Mulwala v Rumbalara - Rumbalara by the biggest winning score ever recorded, Mul to get one point due to a rushed behind

boora
3 Apr 2008, 12:44
remember morgos i want to see more run and draw in your game this weekend!!!:D:D:D
hahahaha......:D

boora
3 Apr 2008, 12:45
tips for the first official round of the season:

Echuca United v Tongala - Tongala by 6 points
Tocumwal v Barooga - Barooga by 39 points
Nathalia v Numurkah - Nathalia by 42 points
Deniliquin Rams v Cobram - Deniliquin by 19 points
Finley v Moama - Moama by 68 points
Mulwala v Rumbalara - Rumbalara by 284 points (Mulwala not to score)
Congupna Bye
mul can't be that bad can they :confused:

boora
3 Apr 2008, 12:55
easy now there buddy, think of your drumming career. where will you play yourself this week?
who you playing?
if i play, i might position myself in the backline either chb or fb. the days in the forward line are gone i think, what about you where will you play?

bomber 7
3 Apr 2008, 13:46
I couldn't tell you much about him mate only that we both played at united last year and i think he is married or getting married to Blighty's sister . his favorite color is blue and when he gets bigger he want to be a fire truck ;) but seriously he's a good egg , would have liked him to grace the high street oval wing this year again , but sadly not the case

yeah i heard he went back to his old club north heidelberg cause united lost a heap of players and he wasnt to keen on the travel again

girlscanplay2
3 Apr 2008, 14:08
Echuca United v Tongala - Tongala by 30 points
Tocumwal v Barooga - Barooga by 40 points
Nathalia v Numurkah - Nathalia by 50 points
Deniliquin Rams v Cobram -Deni by 25 points
Finley v Moama - Moama by 80 points
Mulwala v Rumbalara - Can Mulwala fill a side thought they might have a forefit um Rumba by 151 points
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_offline.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=10529489)

morgs01
3 Apr 2008, 14:42
Echuca United v Tongala - United in close one

Tocumwal v Barooga - Barooga, just as well

Nathalia v Numurkah - Nathalia easy

Deniliquin Rams v Cobram - Deni comfortably

Finley v Moama - Moama will win easily. Djars to kick 7 goals.

Mulwala v Rumbalara - We should win got some key ins this week which should give us more balance. Taylor and Wanganeen will return to Bendigo Bombers this week. Alan Murray to play his second game for us.

morgs01
3 Apr 2008, 14:50
Originally Posted by j-funk
remember morgos i want to see more run and draw in your game this weekend!!!

hahahaha......:D

Laugh all you want Boora but remember: In this life he who laughs longest, laughs last. And that will be me next Tuesday Night when I see you dragging your hammy's around.

dropthesirenAcky
3 Apr 2008, 20:47
yeah i heard he went back to his old club north heidelberg cause united lost a heap of players and he wasnt to keen on the travel again

you cant blame him for that mate , I wouldn't mind some fuel money myself and I live down the street from the ground . as for the player exodus , I say crisis creates opportunity

souts
3 Apr 2008, 21:13
Tongala V Echuca United

Tocumwal V barooga

Nathlia V Numurkah

Deni V cobram

Finley V moama

Mulwala V rumbalara

souts
3 Apr 2008, 21:23
how is your side shaping up for round 1 bystanding backman? have heard that a very low amount of last seasons senior have been training? good luck tho mate.

Tatsean
4 Apr 2008, 08:40
Tongala V Echuca United

Tocumwal V barooga

Nathlia V Numurkah

Deni V cobram

Finley V moama

Mulwala V rumbalara
Is Tongala going to be stronger this year? Is Steve Townsend a chance for the league medal? I have never seen him play but rumours are circulating that he is due for a big one.

bystanding backman
4 Apr 2008, 09:08
how is your side shaping up for round 1 bystanding backman? have heard that a very low amount of last seasons senior have been training? good luck tho mate.

we are going to be pretty good i reckon Hap has done another good job over the summer, the last season seniors have been training they had just been doing their own thing up until feburary, most are fighting fit and should be ready for Sunday. will be a good clash on Sunday advise alot of people to get there to see a good match

big hawk
4 Apr 2008, 10:51
Just want to get an idea how everyone's reserves are shaping up number wise? Is every club going to battle or what to get a team together each Saturday?:confused::confused::confused:

CATSfinallydidit
4 Apr 2008, 11:01
if i play, i might position myself in the backline either chb or fb. the days in the forward line are gone i think, what about you where will you play?

not playing this year. will only pull the boots on if we are really struggling. if i do ill sit loose in the backline so i dont have to chase anyone.

bystanding backman
4 Apr 2008, 11:08
Just want to get an idea how everyone's reserves are shaping up number wise? Is every club going to battle or what to get a team together each Saturday?:confused::confused::confused:
we should be right have lost a couple of 1 or 2 to uni but have kept everyone else. we should be around the same if not a bit stronger.

i see in the shepp news that out of the eight sides to have named a side Tongala, Toc, Moama, Rumba and echuca are able to field a side easily but cobram and your team big hawk have named about 12 -15 players and deni has named about 5. one would assume Mul may struggle but i think us and numurkah will be ok with numbers

big hawk
4 Apr 2008, 13:26
we should be right have lost a couple of 1 or 2 to uni but have kept everyone else. we should be around the same if not a bit stronger.

i see in the shepp news that out of the eight sides to have named a side Tongala, Toc, Moama, Rumba and echuca are able to field a side easily but cobram and your team big hawk have named about 12 -15 players and deni has named about 5. one would assume Mul may struggle but i think us and numurkah will be ok with numbers
Don't read too much into Toc's reserves squad... I think you'll find that a lot of the names have been repeated from the first grade squad. Bit concerned regarding numbers and amount of work the majority have done. Could be in for a long year!!!

Homer1
4 Apr 2008, 15:02

Not sure about naming 5, our team is on mfl website along with the others, we got bout 8 players out, but we will have a bit of a crack and see how we go.
looking forward to it, goodluck everyone :thumbsu:.

bx bandit
4 Apr 2008, 16:39
Not sure about naming 5, our team is on mfl website along with the others, we got bout 8 players out, but we will have a bit of a crack and see how we go.
looking forward to it, goodluck everyone :thumbsu:.

We (Echuca United) have 10 missing out on a game this week, not sure that translates into senior wins but there is a positive feeling at the club with over 40 training this week. I think our 2's will be big improvers this year.

hank1
4 Apr 2008, 19:24
We (Echuca United) have 10 missing out on a game this week, not sure that translates into senior wins but there is a positive feeling at the club with over 40 training this week. I think our 2's will be big improvers this year.

We are similar, 10 missed out against Moama, but through injuries and unavailability(weddings) only one had to miss out this weekend, great to be able to cover that many not available though.

dodgy_boy
4 Apr 2008, 21:24
I see M. Clarke and D. Sexton named in the reserves for Finley.

Anyone got info as to why they are in the reserves?

ringo1
4 Apr 2008, 23:31
Is Tongala going to be stronger this year? Is Steve Townsend a chance for the league medal? I have never seen him play but rumours are circulating that he is due for a big one.

Townsend is a free-wheeling,aggressive,attacking and dour defender if in the mood! Could win every award going:thumbsu:

Tatsean
5 Apr 2008, 04:44
Good, I heard he had a bit of lean year last year after a nasty leg break so look out for a big improvement....Can you bet on Murray League Games and Medals? If so My money will be on Barooga Premiers, Townsend the O'Dwyer Medallist.

chicken38
6 Apr 2008, 00:31
I see M. Clarke and D. Sexton named in the reserves for Finley.

Anyone got info as to why they are in the reserves?
taking the soft option i was told, road runner mite no more:)

Tatsean
6 Apr 2008, 01:57
Good, I heard he had a bit of lean year last year after a nasty leg break so look out for a big improvement....Can you bet on Murray League Games and Medals? If so My money will be on Barooga Premiers, Townsend the O'Dwyer Medallist.

I think I am on the money. Big win to Barooga and I heard in Tongala's good win that Townsend got 20 possessions (12 to direct advantage), 0 Clangers, 5 Contested Marks, 1 clearance, 2 tackles. Champion Data would have him at 112 pts. Wish I had him in my SuperCoach team instead of Tom Harley!! Ha Ha.

pace to freeze
6 Apr 2008, 08:54
Homer1, did sheep have a run for you blokes and if so, what possy did he play and how'd he go ?

big hawk
6 Apr 2008, 14:41
taking the soft option i was told, road runner mite no more:)
Easy there chicken! Don't know about being soft. Not sure on Clarkey's situation but surely Secco has done enough to warrant a bit of a spell. I think it's terrific that he is still making himself available, remembering he is knocking on the door of the big 40!!! I'm wondering how old you might be and see if you were or are intending to still be running around at this age! To demonstrate the miles that Secco has covered, one pre-season he was attempting to run 10 km each day for 40 days straight!!! And I suppose you haven't heard about him running back home, some 15-20kms away, after a pre-season game in which he felt he hadn't played as well as he could of. So I think your analysis of him taking the soft option is a bit harsh! GO THE OVER 30'S!!!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::)

Homer1
6 Apr 2008, 18:57
Homer1, did sheep have a run for you blokes and if so, what possy did he play and how'd he go ?

yeh sheepy had a good run on the ball, changing from the bench and did some very nice things.
we still a bit undermanned but will come good as the year goes on, great win by cobram, downie unstopable with 11 goals for B.O.G.

RoadRunner11
6 Apr 2008, 21:40
Easy there chicken! Don't know about being soft. Not sure on Clarkey's situation but surely Secco has done enough to warrant a bit of a spell. I think it's terrific that he is still making himself available, remembering he is knocking on the door of the big 40!!! I'm wondering how old you might be and see if you were or are intending to still be running around at this age! To demonstrate the miles that Secco has covered, one pre-season he was attempting to run 10 km each day for 40 days straight!!! And I suppose you haven't heard about him running back home, some 15-20kms away, after a pre-season game in which he felt he hadn't played as well as he could of. So I think your analysis of him taking the soft option is a bit harsh! GO THE OVER 30'S!!!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::)
Thanks for the back up big hawk! There comes a time in ones career when the mind is willing, but the body isn't able. We will struggle for numbers this year and both will fill in when needed. Secco is coaching the interleague side, so that will take up some time as well.

bystanding backman
7 Apr 2008, 10:07
Echuca United v Tongala - Tongala by 16 points
Tocumwal v Barooga - Barooga by 60 points
Nathalia v Numurkah - Nathalia by 25 points
Deniliquin Rams v Cobram - Cobram by 18 points
Finley v Moama - Moama by 72 points
Mulwala v Rumbalara - Rumbalara by the biggest winning score ever recorded, Mul to get one point due to a rushed behind

Eventual Results
Tongala by 6 points
Barooga by 108 points
Cobram by 22 points
Moama by 103 points
Rumbalara by 92 points
Nathalia by 30 points

Homer1
7 Apr 2008, 10:43
Eventual Results
Tongala by 6 points
Barooga by 108 points
Cobram by 22 points
Moama by 103 points
Rumbalara by 92 points
Nathalia by 30 points

smartarse ha ha, well done :thumbsu:

chicken38
7 Apr 2008, 20:09
it was just a joke big hawk :) sexton has every right to retire have been told all of those storys about him as he is a fitness FREAK as i personally no but i was hoping for a reply from Clarkey.cheers for the storys for every one else on this thread to read good luck for the year hawk P.S i can hardly run around now and get a kick and im only 30 no hope when i get to 40 i guess:thumbsu:

tuckylives
8 Apr 2008, 11:39
Eventual Results
Tongala by 6 points
Barooga by 108 points
Cobram by 22 points
Moama by 103 points
Rumbalara by 92 points
Nathalia by 30 points

BB, can you tell me who played on nathalia's big brendan 'peng' parker on the weekend for numurkah? only kicked 1 goal which is unusual.
obviously was a fairly competitive game. margin much lower than it could have been in previous years. do numurkah look to be improvers?

bystanding backman
8 Apr 2008, 12:01
BB, can you tell me who played on nathalia's big brendan 'peng' parker on the weekend for numurkah? only kicked 1 goal which is unusual.
obviously was a fairly competitive game. margin much lower than it could have been in previous years. do numurkah look to be improvers?

i think it was hopkins from mooroopna, while Peng was only held to 1 goal he still made a contest everytime and brought the ball to the ground for the small forwards think he assisted in a few of the other goals as well. Skills from both sides were pretty average as i think both coaches pointed out. Numurkah should improve but not sure by how much i think they will be better than last year.

tuckylives
8 Apr 2008, 12:13
i think it was hopkins from mooroopna, while Peng was only held to 1 goal he still made a contest everytime and brought the ball to the ground for the small forwards think he assisted in a few of the other goals as well. Skills from both sides were pretty average as i think both coaches pointed out. Numurkah should improve but not sure by how much i think they will be better than last year.
oh thats good to hear then, does the old boy look to be in his last year of footy?

bystanding backman
8 Apr 2008, 14:03
oh thats good to hear then, does the old boy look to be in his last year of footy?

Only Brendan could tell you that, i reckon he could keep going for ages, he's just a champion player, it will be a sad day for the club when he does give it away.