View Full Version : Murray Football League
oldstyle
8 Apr 2008, 16:29
All though Peng only kicked 1 for the game i am sure if he plays the whole year he will score his 5th hundred in a row which is a great effort, But also great to see a guy give back to the club where he started his footy, A country footy legend.
bystanding backman
9 Apr 2008, 17:40
Hey Hank how did me old mate Lucas Hughes go did he get a kick? ya reckon he has a chance of playing ones.
Didnt play last week, he is working in Melb at the moment during the week. Haven't seen enough of him to say, but would be doubtful at this stage.
Tatsean
10 Apr 2008, 00:29
My predictions this week:
Tocumwal 65pts
Barooga 90pts
Moama 49pts
Rumbalara 150pts
And last of all Tongala by 5pts with Steve Townsend to get 3 votes towards his O'Dwyer Medal after taking a Bob Murray-Like mark to save the game in the dying seconds.... He has to play well this week, I seen him play golf today and he definetely needs to stick to the footy!!! he he.:D:D:D:D
BOMBERCHAMP
10 Apr 2008, 01:58
Tocumwal 65pts
Barooga 90pts
Moama 49pts
Rumbalara 150pts
And last of all Tongala by 5pts with Steve Townsend to get 3 votes towards his O'Dwyer Medal after taking a Bob Murray-Like mark to save the game in the dying seconds.... He has to play well this week, I seen him play golf today and he definetely needs to stick to the footy!!! he he.:D:D:D:D
HEY... I HAVE SEEN YOU ON HERE A FEW TIMES NOW TATSEAN AND IM WONDERING... ARE YOU THE ONE WITH THE TUBBY GUTS IN THE TAT TWOS??? AND ANOTHER THING THERE IS A REACCURING THEME IN YOUR MESSAGES.... DO YOU WANT TO HAVE STEVE TOWNSENDS BABYS OR WHAT...
bystanding backman
10 Apr 2008, 10:03
Tocumwal 65pts
Barooga 90pts
Moama 49pts
Rumbalara 150pts
Tongala by 46pts
Echuca Utd by 10pts
Moama by 60pts
Numurkah by 5pts
Rumbalara by 100pts
gone for a couple of upsets
tuckylives
10 Apr 2008, 10:40
Tongala v Congupna - Tongala by 21 points
Tocumwal v Echuca United - Tocumwal by 11 points
Numurkah v Barooga - Barooga by 43 points
Moama v Deniliquin Rams - Moama by 57 points
Rumbalara v Finley - Rumbalara by 111 points
bx bandit
10 Apr 2008, 13:43
Tocumwal 65pts
Barooga 90pts
Moama 49pts
Rumbalara 150pts
Tocumwal by 10 goals after the flyer they got themselves off to last week???:thumbsd:
t08199883
10 Apr 2008, 22:52
Just wondering if anyone can tell me about Will Robertson from Finley?
What posy did he play and how does he go?
goodgolly24
10 Apr 2008, 23:14
Tongala v Congupna - Tongala by 21 points
Tocumwal v Echuca United - Tocumwal by 11 points
Numurkah v Barooga - Barooga by 43 points
Moama v Deniliquin Rams - Moama by 57 points
Rumbalara v Finley - Rumbalara by 111 points
I reckon Tongala to beat Congupna by more then 40 points because they lost Vance thoughout the week.
Tocumwal by 61 points
Numurkah by 7 points over barooga
Deniliquin by 20 points over Moama
And Rumba by 90 points.
I reckon Tongala to beat Congupna by more then 40 points because they lost Vance thoughout the week.
Tocumwal by 61 points
Numurkah by 7 points over barooga
Deniliquin by 20 points over Moama
And Rumba by 90 points.
Looks like a very uneven comp this year. I can't see Numurkha defeating Barooga.
Tatsean
11 Apr 2008, 00:52
HEY... I HAVE SEEN YOU ON HERE A FEW TIMES NOW TATSEAN AND IM WONDERING... ARE YOU THE ONE WITH THE TUBBY GUTS IN THE TAT TWOS??? AND ANOTHER THING THERE IS A REACCURING THEME IN YOUR MESSAGES.... DO YOU WANT TO HAVE STEVE TOWNSENDS BABYS OR WHAT...
If u had watched the Tat twos last year a lot of us had tubby guts! This year might not be much better!!! If u r at the Swans v Tat game keep a look out......
:D:D .... And do you think Townsend swings both ways and may be interested?? I only love him as a footballer our relationship is purely platonic!! he he....
Tatsean
12 Apr 2008, 18:15
Maybe my tubby guts was the difference!
Shep Swans won by 3pts in the reserves:mad:
Oh well there is always next week! A pity we didn't kick straighter.
Score S.S. 9.2.56 Tat 7.11.53:mad::mad:
How did my mate Townsend and Tongala go today?:o
Maybe my tubby guts was the difference!
Shep Swans won by 3pts in the reserves:mad:
Oh well there is always next week! A pity we didn't kick straighter.
Score S.S. 9.2.56 Tat 7.11.53:mad::mad:
How did my mate Townsend and Tongala go today?:o
6 goals up, Townsend struggled, said he was up all night with you
toquick
14 Apr 2008, 09:24
Tocumwal by 10 goals after the flyer they got themselves off to last week???:thumbsd:
Alot can happen in a week cant it bx bandit...
rumberlarez
14 Apr 2008, 10:52
mitch sidebottom should play out the season at the road he is handy can ruck play forward and back he will be good for them
bx bandit
14 Apr 2008, 11:16
Alot can happen in a week cant it bx bandit...
yeah pretty dissapointing result for us, didnt play with enough intensity for most of the match and a 6 goal to 2 first quarter was pathetic.
Both of our matches this year we have let slip with one quarter fade outs, we are going to have to improve a lot before we get to the barooga/nathalia games. Pretty confident we wont put up another soft effort like that for the rest of the year.
ps still a couple of goals short of a 10 goal loss:p
oldstyle
14 Apr 2008, 14:13
They tell me there was a good blew at 3/4 time between Barooga and Numurkah and that a couple of numbers were taken.
Also wasn't great to see the pies go down to the blues.
browser
14 Apr 2008, 18:03
They tell me there was a good blew at 3/4 time between Barooga and Numurkah and that a couple of numbers were taken.
can anyone tell me about the finley coach and his recruits from melb plz
Tatsean
15 Apr 2008, 01:38
6 goals up, Townsend struggled, said he was up all night with you
No, didn't spend the night with him. After we lost by 3pts, watched our seniors get flogged by 147pts then went down to the MCG to watch me pies lose to the blues, maybe I should have spent the night with him! he he:D:D
Saw him at work this arvo and he agreed that he did struggle but the Tonnie boys had a good win!!
TimBurr
15 Apr 2008, 10:52
was a blew at 3/4 time. started with a barooga player hitting one of the Numurkah boys and then it was on. Ben Mcnamara from Numurkah got a week and think 2 barooga boys got rubbed out to. as for the football Barooga used the ball a 100 times better than the blues and won easily
oldstyle
15 Apr 2008, 11:34
was a blew at 3/4 time. started with a barooga player hitting one of the Numurkah boys and then it was on. Ben Mcnamara from Numurkah got a week and think 2 barooga boys got rubbed out to. as for the football Barooga used the ball a 100 times better than the blues and won easily
How do you see Barooga shaping up against Nathalia this year??
TimBurr
15 Apr 2008, 16:32
How do you see Barooga shaping up against Nathalia this year??
barooga seemed to be a younger fit side than nathalia so the hot weather saturday suited them. id imagine the game should be close when they both meet but id tip barooga from what ive seen.
ArnelDavis
15 Apr 2008, 17:12
can anyone tell me about the finley coach and his recruits from melb plz
As a past player and supporter it's a big worry!!!!!!!!!!! However i think it's a sheer consequence of being 3 hours from Melbourne, and the furtherest North in the league.
Great club though, just an unfortunate predicament!!!!!
As a past player and supporter it's a big worry!!!!!!!!!!! However i think it's a sheer consequence of being 3 hours from Melbourne, and the furtherest North in the league.
Great club though, just an unfortunate predicament!!!!!
arnie how are ya? any prank phone calls of late :D
hey a quick question for anyone affiliated with a mfl side or a league official. how many players are allowed on the team sheet in the 2's is it 22 or 21 now?
girlscanplay2
15 Apr 2008, 18:55
hey a quick question for anyone affiliated with a mfl side or a league official. how many players are allowed on the team sheet in the 2's is it 22 or 21 now?
I am about 95% sure its 22 18 on 4 on bench if someone else can confirm great if not i will ask around.
cool thanks, i got told on the weekend it was surpose to be 21. but i thought that only applied to the 1's, as all leagues that i have played in use 22.
big hawk
15 Apr 2008, 22:14
From where I was standing Burr it was McNamara who got it to fistacuffs! The weak prick came over the top and collected Robbo while he was having a bit of a wrestle with another player. This took everything to another level and started getting out of control. Not the toughest thing to do when a player you're going to hit can't protect himself!!!:thumbsd::thumbsd::mad:
big hawk
15 Apr 2008, 22:18
21 in the team for firsts and seconds and I can tell you, it gets harder and harder each week to fill all positions in the 2's with ably bodied and aged fellas!!!! From what I can gather, there are a lot of teams struggling out there to fill a side! 3 on the bench in both 1's and 2's.
TimBurr
15 Apr 2008, 22:49
From where I was standing Burr it was McNamara who got it to fistacuffs! The weak prick came over the top and collected Robbo while he was having a bit of a wrestle with another player. This took everything to another level and started getting out of control. Not the toughest thing to do when a player you're going to hit can't protect himself!!!:thumbsd::thumbsd::mad:
well you are going to stick up for the barooga player and im going to stick up for the numurkah boys. i was actually in the fight and this is what happened. number 30 or 31 for barooga got tackled by mick laidlaw then hit him in the guts. this resulted in micks brother adam running in and wrestling with the barooga player. Robbins then came in saying he's only a kid etc and then punches were thrown. after this everyone was involved and ben mc and robbins traded blows while most of us were on the ground wrestling. maybe west coast could take a leaf out of both teams book by sticking up for each other
21 in the team for firsts and seconds and I can tell you, it gets harder and harder each week to fill all positions in the 2's with ably bodied and aged fellas!!!! From what I can gather, there are a lot of teams struggling out there to fill a side! 3 on the bench in both 1's and 2's.
is that a new rule brought in by the mfl hierachy for this year? it becomes very hard for teams that pick up injuries, as having the extra guy on the bench helps for the 2's. it will definately create problems for 2's teams that have more than enough players, i had to find this out on the weekend when i had to drop a guy from the bench in the 2's.
are most 2's teams struggling for players this year?
big hawk
16 Apr 2008, 01:16
well you are going to stick up for the barooga player and im going to stick up for the numurkah boys. i was actually in the fight and this is what happened. number 30 or 31 for barooga got tackled by mick laidlaw then hit him in the guts. this resulted in micks brother adam running in and wrestling with the barooga player. Robbins then came in saying he's only a kid etc and then punches were thrown. after this everyone was involved and ben mc and robbins traded blows while most of us were on the ground wrestling. maybe west coast could take a leaf out of both teams book by sticking up for each other
How the hell would you know what happened then if you were in the fight. For God's sake man, Roundy is might be a terrier but I don't think he is going to do too much damage!!!! Punches weren't thrown until that tosser came over the top and belted Robbo! Weak as piss! Not only that, when Robbo has gone to ground one of your blokes decided to give the inside of his eye a massage with their finger. Just wish we had of kicked a bit straighter in that last quarter with one less player and really given you blokes a shellacking!!! See you next time!!!!:eek::eek:
girlscanplay2
16 Apr 2008, 08:27
cool thanks, i got told on the weekend it was surpose to be 21. but i thought that only applied to the 1's, as all leagues that i have played in use 22.
sorry to give you the wrong info the murray must be the only ones that use 21 as you said and i know of every other league i have been involved with was 22. Big hawk said 21 and he no's so its 21!!!!!
oldstyle
16 Apr 2008, 09:59
How the hell would you know what happened then if you were in the fight. For God's sake man, Roundy is might be a terrier but I don't think he is going to do too much damage!!!! Punches weren't thrown until that tosser came over the top and belted Robbo! Weak as piss! Not only that, when Robbo has gone to ground one of your blokes decided to give the inside of his eye a massage with their finger. Just wish we had of kicked a bit straighter in that last quarter with one less player and really given you blokes a shellacking!!! See you next time!!!!:eek::eek:
So who got reported and how many weeks did they get.
sorry to give you the wrong info the murray must be the only ones that use 21 as you said and i know of every other league i have been involved with was 22. Big hawk said 21 and he no's so its 21!!!!!
Yeah definately 21, should be 22 like all other leagues though, don't see the point of any more players missing out on a game than have to. Realise most sides are struggling for numbers, but if you are fortunate enough to have the numbers then why not give the extra bloke a run.
Echuca United had 8 blokes miss out on a game against us the other week.
We had 10 miss out last week, I am sure that number will dwindle as the season goes on. ( First time for a few years we have had players having to stand out)
marc_murphy88
16 Apr 2008, 10:24
anyone know how leigthen briggs is going?? heard he did an ankle on the weekend and might miss a couple??
ArnelDavis
16 Apr 2008, 11:44
arnie how are ya? any prank phone calls of late :D
Yeah. I get them a bit particularly from Alice Springs Mob!!!!!!!!! lol
Congratulate the Rumba boys on Winning the Self named and Proclaimed Arnel Davis Cup Finley Vs Rumba. (Idiot) lol
morgs01
16 Apr 2008, 16:41
anyone know how leigthen briggs is going?? heard he did an ankle on the weekend and might miss a couple??
Leigthen has just streched the ligaments in his ankle slightly and will be Back in 2 weeks, 3 weeks to be sure it's right. we will not be rushing him only three games in and a long season ahead.Will leave a hole in the mid field, but a couple of guys in the two's will step into a rotation there somewhere. namely Tyson lovett-Murray, Brady Cooper, Des and shane Morgan or brad firebrace with young Joel Atkinson or Clayton Murray-Mitachell outside chances to play there first senior game for the year.
marc_murphy88
16 Apr 2008, 17:01
Leigthen has just streched the ligaments in his ankle slightly and will be Back in 2 weeks, 3 weeks to be sure it's right. we will not be rushing him only three games in and a long season ahead.Will leave a hole in the mid field, but a couple of guys in the two's will step into a rotation there somewhere. namely Tyson lovett-Murray, Brady Cooper, Des and shane Morgan or brad firebrace with young Joel Atkinson or Clayton Murray-Mitachell outside chances to play there first senior game for the year.
is tyson lovett-murray handy?? what posi would he play in the 1s?? im liking the look of rumba's form, ill def go 4 a squiz against nathalia in 2 weeks time
Tatsean
16 Apr 2008, 20:14
My tips for this week:)
Tocumwal 55pts Numurkah 63pts Barooga 99pts Nathalia 5pts Rumba 48pts Finley 1pt. :thumbsu:
one would think the people in there would have more of an idea what was going on then others watching.
goodgolly24
16 Apr 2008, 21:30
A couple of big names were thrown around in the pre-season, And i'm just wondering how they're going??
One of them is Tyson Saunders now at Numurkah, who hasn't had boo said about him??
And another one is Robbo, now at Barooga. Apart from his involvment in the "blue" on the weekend what kind of influence has he had??
big hawk
16 Apr 2008, 23:44
And another one is Robbo, now at Barooga. Apart from his involvment in the "blue" on the weekend what kind of influence has he had??[/quote]
Robbo has settled in really well at Hawkland. BOG in the preseason final and gives the side a lot of versatility playing down back, up forward or in the ruck. He will be sorely missed this weekend against Cobram. Champion guy as well!:D
big hawk
16 Apr 2008, 23:50
one would think the people in there would have more of an idea what was going on then others watching.
Souts, Souts, Souts........ mate, are you trying to suggest that if you were on the ground wrestling with an opposition player you would be able to see what was happening around you???? You play the game differently to me mate because my attention would be solely fixed on the bloke who's trying to rip my head off! Nice to be as multi-talented as you champ!!:p
dropthesirenAcky
17 Apr 2008, 07:38
Souts, Souts, Souts........ mate, are you trying to suggest that if you were on the ground wrestling with an opposition player you would be able to see what was happening around you???? You play the game differently to me mate because my attention would be solely fixed on the bloke who's trying to rip my head off! Nice to be as multi-talented as you champ!!:p
everyone has a mate with ninja like skills , usually after a few beers they can run you through every blow, and how they were dodging punches like they were in the matrix . I my self got smashed last year and while I told the puplic that I was headbutted , three witnesses told me it was an elbow . so much for being at ground zero :thumbsd:
Tatsean
17 Apr 2008, 11:35
Souts, you aren't playing this week so go and watch another game and see if you get more of an idea then. If you do then let us know and I will back you up 100%! Make sure you freshen up over the weekend and help out Townsend to get the 3 votes next week for me champ! :D:D
bx bandit
17 Apr 2008, 13:06
everyone has a mate with ninja like skills , usually after a few beers they can run you through every blow, and how they were dodging punches like they were in the matrix . I my self got smashed last year and while I told the puplic that I was headbutted , three witnesses told me it was an elbow . so much for being at ground zero :thumbsd:
That king hit wouldnt have been from a barooga player would it, aka "the beast", I thought numurkah were the only low down dog club that has ever struck any one:cool:
Sippawitz, what is DTS ackys chance of claiming his spot back after his late night indiscression the other week?
Sippawitz
17 Apr 2008, 16:24
That king hit wouldnt have been from a barooga player would it, aka "the beast", I thought numurkah were the only low down dog club that has ever struck any one:cool:
Sippawitz, what is DTS ackys chance of claiming his spot back after his late night indiscression the other week?
BX, you know it is club policy not to publicly comment on selection matters prior to the team being picked.....
Having said that, let me say this, DTS took his punishment on the chin, as such he will be 'in the mix' when we gather round the selection table tonight....
Hawk, Hawk, Hawk.............mate, like i said people involved in the "bue" would have a greater understanding of what was going on and who did what then someone else would who wasn't involved. do u get it now hawk?
Souts, you aren't playing this week so go and watch another game and see if you get more of an idea then. If you do then let us know and I will back you up 100%! Make sure you freshen up over the weekend and help out Townsend to get the 3 votes next week for me champ! :D:D
yeah i might go watch another game tatsean, but i think u and hawk need to have a look at how a "blue" works haha. as for Steve i would already have him down for 3 votes, already told me he is going to have a blinder.
Hawk, Hawk, Hawk.............mate, like i said people involved in the "bue" would have a greater understanding of what was going on and who did what then someone else would who wasn't involved. do u get it now hawk?
Crawl back into your little hole Luke. If you are involved in a melee your telling me you could give a better account of what went on throughout than someone who is sitting back on the fence with view of everyone and not worrying about getting their head knocked off. Give us all a break.
By the way do you call it a "bue" or a "blue"
dropthesirenAcky
18 Apr 2008, 07:36
Back in the line up , thank's for your concern . All be it on thin ice , better get a kick . I guess I don't have the luxury of anomimity(did i just make up a word?) with some anymore
Tatsean
18 Apr 2008, 12:12
yeah i might go watch another game tatsean, but i think u and hawk need to have a look at how a "blue" works haha. as for Steve i would already have him down for 3 votes, already told me he is going to have a blinder.
I don't think I experienced a "blue" last year Souts. Every team was too busy trying to flog us on the scoreboard than fighting us! :D:D
If I have a "blue" this year I will let you know. No chance this week, not playing as got my sisters wedding in Albury. She just doesn't understand that there is a 2 week window between cricket and footy seasons to get married. he he:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Tatsean
18 Apr 2008, 12:14
Crawl back into your little hole Luke. If you are involved in a melee your telling me you could give a better account of what went on throughout than someone who is sitting back on the fence with view of everyone and not worrying about getting their head knocked off. Give us all a break.
Hank, maybe you can give your players a spelling lesson at Tuesdays training...............Dod Souts got a nock on te hed in the "Bue" and is still recuvverring??? :thumbsu:
OH NO!! Souts and his beloved Hank are blueing. Is it over???? Surely not.:)
Nah its ok ringo, hank is just a little bitter towards me after we did a bit of contested marking last night at training, it will take a while for the proud man to accept defeat.
yes hank that is what im trying to tell you. It may be a little different for you tho hank, watching the news after the Good friday game i can understand that it would be hard for youto see whats going on when your at the bottom of the pack.:thumbsu:
goodgolly24
18 Apr 2008, 20:23
Tips for this weekend:
Congupna Vs Tocumwal by 40 points
Echuca United Vs Numurkah by 13 points
Barooga Vs Cobram by 112 points
Nathalia Vs Moama by 30 points
Deni Vs Rumba by 90 points (i hope)
Finley Vs Mulwala by 9 points
I also tip Harrap to kick double figures for Barooga. And Nathalia to come away from their game with a couple of "Key" long term injuries (Not a hope, just a prediction)
As Always, good luck to all.
Nah its ok ringo, hank is just a little bitter towards me after we did a bit of contested marking last night at training, it will take a while for the proud man to accept defeat.
I only speak the truth on here Luke and you contested marking needs a lot of work.
And Yes I did end up under the pack against Moama, maybe you should try and get under there once in a while!!, obviously thats how you have a full version of events whenever there is a melee, you stand back 20m and watch!!
I only speak the truth on here Luke and you contested marking needs a lot of work.
And Yes I did end up under the pack against Moama, maybe you should try and get under there once in a while!!, obviously thats how you have a full version of events whenever there is a melee, you stand back 20m and watch!!
This is not good!:eek: a lovers tiff in public:confused: Pleeasse stay together you are made for each other. Perhaps you need to just spend some time together; QUALITY TIME!!! Take a leaf out of Tatsean and Townsends relationship . It can be fixed:D
It's gone to far Ringo there is no turning back, just wish he was a year younger and you may have had to deal with him instead.:D
bit quiet on here atm, i certainly am anyway :( :thumbsu:
colbys-dad
21 Apr 2008, 14:45
good effort by lukey,4 goals ,he's on his way back!:thumbsu:
bx bandit
21 Apr 2008, 17:18
bit quiet on here atm, i certainly am anyway :( :thumbsu:
yeah all these losses are ruining big footy for us homer...:mad:
On a brighter note moama had a bit of their yap knocked out of them on the weekend:D
GREENMAN
21 Apr 2008, 20:38
good effort by lukey,4 goals ,he's on his way back!:thumbsu:
Direct from the clubs mouth..........Luke was terrific today....presented well and since he kicked 40%of the total teams goals they have nothing but praise for him, as for the other Sunbury boys.......keep up the good work and how about a fee of 10% for the contact...lol
Tatsean
23 Apr 2008, 04:14
Yes Ringo, it sounds like all of the Tonnie players need a bit of bonding....I hope there was plenty of love in the air at Training....Townsend has quit our quality time and changed shift at work so he can be with Hank and Souts so it better be worth it. He He.:D
down the middle
23 Apr 2008, 10:17
Tips for this weekend:
Congupna Vs Tocumwal by 40 points
Echuca United Vs Numurkah by 13 points
Barooga Vs Cobram by 112 points
Nathalia Vs Moama by 30 points
Deni Vs Rumba by 90 points (i hope)
Finley Vs Mulwala by 9 points
I also tip Harrap to kick double figures for Barooga. And Nathalia to come away from their game with a couple of "Key" long term injuries (Not a hope, just a prediction)
As Always, good luck to all.
You are a long way out with Barooga / Cobram tip goodgolly. My mail is Cobram have improved this year (with a first round win up in Ramland). The Tigers didnt give the Hawks the easy win many expected. Perhaps Bighawk could fill us in.
ok people game of the round rumba Vs nathalia whats the tips for the game?
i'll start i think rumba by 23pts if they play 4 quarters of hard footy?
"hard footy", just like they did against the Rams?......wont get away with that against Nathalia, i can assure you.
Goorooswami
23 Apr 2008, 12:47
Could anybody fill us in on what happened over at Deni on Saturday between the Rams and Rumbalara?
Have herd that there were a couple of incidents behind play (King Hits) that left a couple of young Deni boys with facial injurys. Possible investigations underway.
Also herd that since the heat is being put on Rumba with this matter, they are doing the usual and blaming the opposition for instigation?? Interesting times.
Gooroo
Could anybody fill us in on what happened over at Deni on Saturday between the Rams and Rumbalara?
Have herd that there were a couple of incidents behind play (King Hits) that left a couple of young Deni boys with facial injurys. Possible investigations underway.
Also herd that since the heat is being put on Rumba with this matter, they are doing the usual and blaming the opposition for instigation?? Interesting times.
Gooroo
hmmm probably not the best place to discuss this, however, yes Rumba play hard footy and there where no reports.
Gooroo
what incidents gooroo? and if your talking about the 2's, i can think of afew between both sides that could of been sending off's. homer, were the 2's umpires official umpires from the league or did you guy's have to get them 2 old guys to fill in?
You are a long way out with Barooga / Cobram tip goodgolly. My mail is Cobram have improved this year (with a first round win up in Ramland). The Tigers didnt give the Hawks the easy win many expected. Perhaps Bighawk could fill us in.
Would expect Cobram to be right in the mix for a spot in the final 6. Have recruited extremely well.
tuckylives
23 Apr 2008, 14:48
hmmm probably not the best place to discuss this, however, yes Rumba play hard footy and there where no reports.
cant see why not. there are plenty of rumba people on here so perhaps they might give their side of the story and you homer can tell us how you saw it. just as long as it doesn't get out of hand.
i had a read over yesterdays pastoral times and in the deni v rumba report it says one player left the ground with a broken nose, another with possibly broken ribs and betheras for rumba was yellow carded for high contact. any other incidents homer?
you say there were no reports, but gooroo said there were possibly some behind-play king hits, so umpires obviously didn't see them happen, otherwise there would have been reports. care to comment?
goodgolly24
23 Apr 2008, 15:21
cant see why not. there are plenty of rumba people on here so perhaps they might give their side of the story and you homer can tell us how you saw it. just as long as it doesn't get out of hand.
i had a read over yesterdays pastoral times and in the deni v rumba report it says one player left the ground with a broken nose, another with possibly broken ribs and betheras for rumba was yellow carded for high contact. any other incidents homer?
you say there were no reports, but gooroo said there were possibly some behind-play king hits, so umpires obviously didn't see them happen, otherwise there would have been reports. care to comment?
I know I got absolutly smashed in the opening bounce of the seniors game, and later that quarter busted my ear and left the ground briefly(couldn't hear out of it for the rest of the game) now i'd like to think they might have been dirty hit's but we've taken action about them (probably because we won) and i haven't heard anything at our end yet of any action coming against us. And Rupert charged a bloke, but just shook him up, and didn't even hit him. I think if Barry hall wasn't in the news it probably would have just been a free kick cause i don't think there was even much in it. But as for the hit's behind play, there was none. There was plenty of trash talkin from both sides, some good hip and shoulder's but it was all in play.
tuckylives
23 Apr 2008, 15:30
good stuff mate thats exactly what i was after. (hope your ears alright!). morgs, have you got anythin to add mate?
goodgolly24
23 Apr 2008, 15:50
might wanna rethink that margin mate, looks like we've lost at least 2 from our line up last week, and they are definatly going to be hard to replace.
However, i hope it's a hard game of footy, and hope we come out on top.
might wanna rethink that margin mate, looks like we've lost at least 2 from our line up last week, and they are definatly going to be hard to replace.
However, i hope it's a hard game of footy, and hope we come out on top.
c'mon googolly24 no confidence in your own team:thumbsd::thumbsd:
morgs01
23 Apr 2008, 16:53
good stuff mate thats exactly what i was after. (hope your ears alright!). morgs, have you got anythin to add mate?
Pretty much what gg24 wrote, I didn't see any all in fights or anything as a result of behind the play stuff. So just a hard game of footy as far as I know as good golly said he come off and couldn't hear a thing after a smack around the ears (which he probably needs) rupert didn't play much of the last 1/4 with brused ribs, derek got stood on and didn't play the whole last 1/4 and will miss this weeks game and there were a few sore boys at recovery on monday night.
Rupert when he came off said he aimed for the hips of the Deni lad but he slipped or fell or something like that, but there was no malice in it at all. Free kick yes, yellow card border line. reportable no. We started poorly against Deni and they really came out to play, Rumba in the past may have just let them run away with the game due to our fitness levels in the past, but this season we have turned around our fitness base levels and can now get ourselves back into games when starting slowly (we may not win alot of them, but get back in to them none the less). But like Homer said against Nathalia if you relax or get of to a slow start it's all over by half time.
We'll be a little undermanned in terms of three of our best players will miss this week due to injury, but having said that we have a couple of handy replacements in a 3 time senior premiership player and a former North Ballarat Rebels player. So we'll give it go and like everyone else we have nothing to lose by going in thinking we can win the game.
Just wish I could be there.
goodgolly24
23 Apr 2008, 17:00
c'mon googolly24 no confidence in your own team:thumbsd::thumbsd:
Plenty of confidence mate, I just don't want to get ahead of myself.
goodgolly24
23 Apr 2008, 17:33
Gooroo
Seriously, growup d1ckhead!!
I mean you make it sound like we're always in this position. . . . . Time's have changed . . . Catch up! I mean I get the feeling your insinuating something??? Well let me give you a hot tip. . . . . .QUIT WHILE YOUR AHEAD!
Sippawitz
23 Apr 2008, 18:53
While Rumba is the topic of conversation, I see that Darren Turner has been in the best for the seniors in the last couple weeks, but not in the goal kickers.
Hey, Morgs/Boora/GG24, where you been playing DT. Don't tell me he's a defender??
While Rumba is the topic of conversation, I see that Darren Turner has been in the best for the seniors in the last couple weeks, but not in the goal kickers.
Hey, Morgs/Boora/GG24, where you been playing DT. Don't tell me he's a defender??
yep, hbf and stints on the ball. Since he has been back at the club, he has been helping out with the 3rd's boys, played the 2 games in the reserves and has been terrific. i think that he has matured alot over the last year, is trying to better himself off/on the field and i couldn't speak more highly of him.
i am sure that there are going to be the doubter's out there, but think about the cards that he has been dealt and the changes that he is trying to make in his life.
i think that there is know better club than rumba that can support him and that is no disrespect to the other clubs that he has played either.
Yes Ringo, it sounds like all of the Tonnie players need a bit of bonding....I hope there was plenty of love in the air at Training....Townsend has quit our quality time and changed shift at work so he can be with Hank and Souts so it better be worth it. He He.:D
yes tatsean very good night on the track and everyone is looking forward to the match this weekend. townsend was back to his silkybest expect a big match from the big fella.
goodgolly24
24 Apr 2008, 17:10
Alright boys, anyone wanna offer up there tips??
Here's mine:
Numurkah vs Congupna by 110 points
Moama vs Barooga by 29 points
Rumbalara vs Nathalia by 25 points
Mulwala vs Deni by 18 points
Tocumwal vs Tongala by 8 points
Finley have the bye
tuckylives
24 Apr 2008, 18:10
Alright boys, anyone wanna offer up there tips??
Here's mine:
Numurkah vs Congupna by 110 points
Moama vs Barooga by 29 points
Rumbalara vs Nathalia by 25 points
Mulwala vs Deni by 18 points
Tocumwal vs Tongala by 8 points
Finley have the bye
what about united cobram mate?
Big game for Tonny and if they win this would have to be a big chance to play in finals
morgs01
24 Apr 2008, 23:15
Here's Mine:
Numurkah vs Congupna
Moama vs Barooga
Rumbalara vs Nathalia
Mulwala vs Deni
Tocumwal vs Tongala
Cobram vs Echuca Unted
Finley Bye
big hawk
24 Apr 2008, 23:31
Big game for Tonny and if they win this would have to be a big chance to play in finals
Ringo, do you suffer from premature ejaculation???? What are we..... 5 rounds in and youre suggesting that Tongala will be a big chance of playing in finals if they win this week??? I would suggest that if they win this week, it will mean they have won a game of footy against a side who will be vying for possibly 5 or 6th position with them. At present, you would have to argue that Rumba, Nathalia, Moama and Barooga are the top 4 material, with Toc, Tonny, Cobram, Numurkah and possibly Echuca fighting for the other two spots. Long season to go so I wouldnt be jumping to conclusions just yet. Good luck to them though because it is great for their club and great for the league!!!:thumbsu:
goodgolly24
24 Apr 2008, 23:59
My bad:o
United Vs Cobram by 27 points
Tatsean
25 Apr 2008, 01:42
Prediction: Townsend to get BOG after getting 30 touches and running down the wing like Phil Matera and slotting home a 50mtr goal on the siren to win by 1pt. Go you good thing.:D:D
Me just hope to get a kick against Mooroopna....:D:D
I would suggest that if they win this week, it will mean they have won a game of footy against a side who will be vying for possibly 5 or 6th position with them. At present, you would have to argue that Rumba, Nathalia, Moama and Barooga are the top 4 material, with Toc, Tonny, Cobram, Numurkah and possibly Echuca fighting for the other two spots.
About the same as what I think with where sides are at Hawk, don't think a win would mean finals for either side, but a loss would make any finals aspirations pretty hard.
We will know where we are at in 4 weeks with the interleague bye, as we play each side you mentioned who are vying for that 5th & 6th spot as well as Moama again. Toc, Numurkah, Cobram, Moama. Don't think Echuca Utd are in the mix.
tuckylives
25 Apr 2008, 10:52
had a flick thru todays pastoral times (deni's local rag) and was interested by this letter on the back page:
Sir,
May I through your newspaper express how disgusted I was at the behaviour of a visiting football club at the weekend.
As a visitor to Deniliquin, my family and I thought we would go along to see the local team, the Rams, compete against Rumbalara.
Rather than seeing a good display of sportsmanship, I watched as a young man was elbowed in the face and knocked to the ground by a Rumbalara opponent.
In the next game (I think it was the firsts), I watched in disgust as a Rumbalara player jumped on the leg of a man who lay injured on the field.
If that wasn't enough, my own children were accosted by a group of visiting youths, who threw rocks and what appeared to be tiles, at them.
I won't even go into the shocking display of umpiring.
Were the umpires from Rumbalara or were they simply intimidated by a very physical side?
Disgusting! I certainly hope that the Deniliquin Rams Football Club takes some sort of action against Rumbalara for their disgraceful display on and off the football field.
They should be banned, or at least severely fined for their lack of respect for fellow footballers and the clubrooms of teams they visit.
Shame on you Rumbalara, and well done to Deni for playing with honour against some pathetic excuses for sportsmen.
Yours etc,
S Mackey
what are people's thoughts on this? pretty scathing attack on the rumba footy club.
bx bandit
25 Apr 2008, 11:05
Numurkah vs Congupna (35)
Moama vs Barooga (60+)
Rumbalara vs Nathalia (47)
Mulwala vs Deni (45)
Tocumwalvs Tongala (5) close one, i think tonny have the better forwards will depend on the mid fields.
Cobram vs Echuca Unted, wait and see! got a feeling these guys will be better than our first 3 opponents(tony, toc, numurk)
Finley Bye, I think the bye will account for finley by 10 goals
had a flick thru todays pastoral times (deni's local rag) and was interested by this letter on the back page:
Sir,
May I through your newspaper express how disgusted I was at the behaviour of a visiting football club at the weekend.
As a visitor to Deniliquin, my family and I thought we would go along to see the local team, the Rams, compete against Rumbalara.
Rather than seeing a good display of sportsmanship, I watched as a young man was elbowed in the face and knocked to the ground by a Rumbalara opponent.
In the next game (I think it was the firsts), I watched in disgust as a Rumbalara player jumped on the leg of a man who lay injured on the field.
If that wasn't enough, my own children were accosted by a group of visiting youths, who threw rocks and what appeared to be tiles, at them.
I won't even go into the shocking display of umpiring.
Were the umpires from Rumbalara or were they simply intimidated by a very physical side?
Disgusting! I certainly hope that the Deniliquin Rams Football Club takes some sort of action against Rumbalara for their disgraceful display on and off the football field.
They should be banned, or at least severely fined for their lack of respect for fellow footballers and the clubrooms of teams they visit.
Shame on you Rumbalara, and well done to Deni for playing with honour against some pathetic excuses for sportsmen.
Yours etc,
S Mackey
what are people's thoughts on this? pretty scathing attack on the rumba footy club.
Might stay out of this one!! I think you would need to hear from others at the game and then make comment. Its hard to make assumptions on one letter
Ringo, do you suffer from premature ejaculation???? What are we..... 5 rounds in and youre suggesting that Tongala will be a big chance of playing in finals if they win this week??? I would suggest that if they win this week, it will mean they have won a game of footy against a side who will be vying for possibly 5 or 6th position with them. At present, you would have to argue that Rumba, Nathalia, Moama and Barooga are the top 4 material, with Toc, Tonny, Cobram, Numurkah and possibly Echuca fighting for the other two spots. Long season to go so I wouldnt be jumping to conclusions just yet. Good luck to them though because it is great for their club and great for the league!!!:thumbsu:
Yes I do when with Jen Hawkins is that fair enough?? If they win they go 3-1 and are then gaining momentum. If they lose they go right back to the pack!
Poodle boy
25 Apr 2008, 12:00
Nathalia by close to 100 points
i cant see rumbalara beating nathalia
down the middle
25 Apr 2008, 14:34
Might stay out of this one!! I think you would need to hear from others at the game and then make comment. Its hard to make assumptions on one letter
Word is that a meeting took place between the MFL ,VCFL & Rumbalara FC
yesterday (Thurs.)