View Full Version : Murray Football League
What has happened to Moama in the Murray league-was a real force not long ago. Congratulations to all those connected to Tonny-Well done boys:thumbsu:
Well all i can put it down to is their administration and commitee. Basically a bunch of ***** who dont know how to run a football club. Did hardly any recruitment over the off-season, and a lot of the players they gained last season, left the club after 2005.
Sorry to be a pest, but is there any update on players to watch from Barooga? Numbers would be helpful:thumbsu:
Heres my tips for Round 4:
Barooga v Deniliquin
Congupna v Rumbalara
Finley v Nathalia
Barooga's star studded line up will be too strong for Deni, Rumbalara in a close encounter with Congupna, and Nathalia will be a much stronger side vs. Finley.
Have a great weekend everyone!
Results from Round 4:
Barooga 13.15 (93) v Deniliquin 9.8 (62)
Congupna 12.9 (81) v Rumbalara 11.11 (77)
Finley 8.6 (54) v Nathalia 14.11 (95)
The only suprise was Congupna's win over Rumba.
Just one question, does anyone know who's jumpers Congupna wore againsed Tocumwal last weekend? Because both clubs wear a red and white strip, Congupna wore Fremantle AFL jumpers with all the Freo sponsors but it had the WorkSafe and VCFL logo's stitched over the front..?
Results from Round 4:
Barooga 13.15 (93) v Deniliquin 9.8 (62)
Congupna 12.9 (81) v Rumbalara 11.11 (77)
Finley 8.6 (54) v Nathalia 14.11 (95)
The only suprise was Congupna's win over Rumba.
No surprise here mate, Rumba obviously thought they were a ltad better than us little minor leaguers but maybe they're just not up to it . . . .
Yeah toally agree Doona, It was only suprising because i thought that maybe after a couple of games, Rumba would have settled and gained some fitness, thus having enough steam to win againsed Congupna. But obviously not, I have no idea where they got the idea of wanting to compete in the GV league and being competitive..
give rumba a couple of years ( a big jump in standard of footy) they will be more than competitive. there looking at the future and are aiming alot higher than alot of other clubs within the area (GVFL) as where they want to be at down the track.
There doing alot of good in the local koorie community. ASHE academy, promoting healthy lifestyle etc, i mean they must be onto something good if collingwood have a partnership with them and i am sure alot of the clubs in the region would love to have that partnership.
i mean they must be onto something good if collingwood have a partnership with them and i am sure alot of the clubs in the region would love to have that partnership.
Im not sure if this is true or not, but didnt Rumbalara FC receive a substantial amount of money from the Collingwood FC for Chris Egan and Richard Cole, to the tune of $500,000? Boora, could you possibly shed some light and truth to this rumour?
The deal is $100,000 a year for the next 5 years, not sure if it goes entirely to the Footy/Netty Club but to community programs also.
Thats alot of money for a country football club, even if only a fraction of that amount goes to the football club, that is a massive advantage over other clubs. One thing that I noticed whilst at the Rumbalara Ground, not one traditional sponsor sign around the fence of the oval.. How can a club survive without sponsors?:confused:
The deal is $100,000 a year for the next 5 years, not sure if it goes entirely to the Footy/Netty Club but to community programs also.
yep thats correct doona....it's all directed at community development, mentoring of coaches etc..no money for buying players or upgrading of facilities etc.
Thats alot of money for a country football club, even if only a fraction of that amount goes to the football club, that is a massive advantage over other clubs. One thing that I noticed whilst at the Rumbalara Ground, not one traditional sponsor sign around the fence of the oval.. How can a club survive without sponsors?:confused:
i don't think that they have a big advantage over other clubs, alot of the clubs in the region have been around for years and have a history, son's of past players (loyalty), local sponsor's etc.
rumba have only been around since 1997 or affiliated in a league since then. I am sure that alot of clubs in the murray league are splashing out big bucks for alot of there players. rumba don't have that luxury they don't even make any money from the bar and thats for real.
they have tried to get sponsors from local traders but no luck whats so ever, so they have to rely on alot of backing from melbourne business/sponsor's to stay a float. Paul Briggs their president is forever up and down that hume highway trying to get money to keep the club a float and to give the community something to be proud of you don't here about those sorts of things in the shepp news.
journeyman
24 Apr 2006, 16:06
Nathalia will be without Marc 'Happy' Quarrell for most of the season. He did he AC joint on the weekend against Finley, he's had surgery and will be lucky to be back for finals.
Happy doesn't get the wraps of blokes like Nath and Ash Gemm and Parker but he's just as important to the team as he's brilliant at getting to the feet of the forwards. He's also a nasty little sh** who does a lot of hard things.
Nathalia had 5-6 out on the weekend but they were very impressed with Finley. The cats are young but have a real crack. They took they game right up to Nathalia. If they can keep there young blokes together they will be a force. The town suffers heavily from people moving away for work/study reasons though
Ok thanks alot for that insight Boora. That has explained a few myths surrounding the Mercury Drive boys.
nah thats cool willo, it's good that they are getting slapped it will make them appreciate it more when they are winning or making finals is years to come.
i hear that hickmott is just dropping senior players who miss a training session to the ressies no matter who they are.
the club has never had a coach like that before, it will only benefit them in the long term and alot of young kids are getting an opportunity which is always better than buying so called guns.
i have afew mates playing in a certain league that are being paid ridiculous amounts of money and who just get their cash after the game and come straight home.
Not the Golden Rivers FL by any chance?
no comment doona...:cool:
i hear that hickmott is just dropping senior players who miss a training session to the ressies no matter who they are.
the club has never had a coach like that before, it will only benefit them in the long term and alot of young kids are getting an opportunity which is always better than buying so called guns.
Ahhh.. A bit of AFL discipline shining through there! Thats good though, at least the players will be vying for a senior birth. Not just having the mentality that if they rock up to training every now and then, that they will get a game. Makes them work for their spot.. Good move by Hickmott. Stuff like that creates a more proffesional approach to the game.
Good on Hickmott I say, whilst we're still on Rumba is Clinton Edwards playing there this year? Big Nunga would be a very handy aquisition to the ruck stocks with his VFL experience
No, Edwards isnt playing for Rumba this year.
kanga fan man
24 Apr 2006, 22:26
Good on Hickmott I say, whilst we're still on Rumba is Clinton Edwards playing there this year? Big Nunga would be a very handy aquisition to the ruck stocks with his VFL experience
Nungas is playing for south fremantle in the wafl he would have been handy the lad.
dont think betheras played on weekend.
Yes he did. Played well in the 1st half but ran out of puff in the 2nd half much like the rest of the Rumba boys.
rupert didn't play against congupna on saturday, he had an art exhibition in melbourne.
Ahh. Sorry my bad, keep thinking that every team had the bye on the weekend..:o
carntheblue&whitehoops
27 Apr 2006, 12:14
any thoughts on rex taylor? very skillfull player lightly built though, been in rumbas best last 2 weeks.
Yeah he isnt too bad. Only a small lad though, gets in and under the packs and uses the ball well. Was Rumba's only shining light v's Tongala.
Here are my Rd. 5 Tips:
Deniliquin v Echuca United
Cobram v Numurkah
Moama v Tongala
Mulwala v Congupna
Rumbalara v Tocumwal
Nathalia v Barooga
A few good games this round. Echuca United is a close one against Deni, Numurkah will be too strong for Cobram, Moama only just over Tonny, Mulwala to easily defeat Congupna, Tocumwal will get up over Rumba, and the reigning premiers will defeat Barooga.
Looks like its going to be wet, so in those close games i'd say it will be scrappy and hard fought footy. Have a great weekend everyone!
Results for Rd. 5:
Deniliquin 9.9 (63) v Echuca United 23.6 (144)
Cobram 10.8 (68) v Numurkah 26.13 (169)
Moama 13.9 (87) v Tongala 9.7 (61)
Mulwala 24.13 (157) v Congupna 11.5 (71)
Rumbalara 19.10 (124) v Tocumwal 13.9 (87)
Nathalia 11.15 (81) v Barooga 11.6 (72)
Great wins by Echuca United, Numurkah, Rumbalara and Nathalia. Its unfortunate to see that Tongala couldnt bring home the points against Moama, Rumba finally got up for their first victory of the season. Good to see!
Andyt30
29 Apr 2006, 20:13
good to see Numurkah have a big win, i was at Numurkah last week got friends there i got Murray 2005 grandfinal dvd hope Numurkah makes the finals this year is all Murray Grandfinals Played at Tocumwal? or do they share?
not sure if i asked before ?
cheers :thumbsu:
good to see Numurkah have a big win, i was at Numurkah last week got friends there i got Murray 2005 grandfinal dvd hope Numurkah makes the finals this year is all Murray Grandfinals Played at Tocumwal? or do they share?
not sure if i asked before ?
cheers :thumbsu:
Yeah Andy it is good to see that Numurkah's young team are going well. Yes all MFL Grand Finals are played at Tocumwal. Its a massive ground, good facilities and plenty of space to accomodate the spectators.
bomberboy_19
29 Apr 2006, 22:48
hey, i heard a rumour on the grapevine that darren turner walked out/kicked out of rumba on thursday night, does any one know if this is true? and did he play on the weekend?... he is a very good player and rumba could use him if he could be mentally correct about footy.... cheers
darren turner and another were told by hickmott that their not welcome at the club with their attitudes and to basically :D:D:D:D off.
the rumour is that them 2 and another went and spoke to echuca united during the week, maybe willo could shed some light on that rumour.
i reckon that hickmott and the leadership group have taken a good stance and that no one is bigger than the club and if you ain't going to change your attitude well goodbye.
darren turner did not play this week along with 8 other senior players from the week before
kanga fan man
1 May 2006, 13:59
darren turner did not play this week along with 8 other senior players from the week before
morgs when is he due back ? who else didnt play ?
wats happened to Toc this year i thought they were going to give it a crack seing they made the grannie last year. How is the melbourne/Milian (Italy) model dacry Waugh travelling up their in the bush away from the nightlife of the city.
I think Darren will be back in agianst Mulwala following the bye, along with Jarrod Atkinson, who was BOG in the Twos against Toc.
i'll be up at Numurkah when the Murray has the bye due to the interleague so either got and see a Picola game or Goulburn valley game. then come grandfinal time depending if Nurmurkah makes it i'll go up to Tocumwal or a goulburn Valley
Grand Final
kanga fan man
2 May 2006, 23:31
I think Darren will be back in agianst Mulwala following the bye, along with Jarrod Atkinson, who was BOG in the Twos against Toc.
who is the best player at rumba
do u play ?
Even better, who would be the top five players at each club in the MFL?:thumbsu:
who is the best player at rumba
do u play ?
Phil Guthrie
no
Darren Turner applied for a transfer to Echuca United last night, so i guess he will not be back at Mulwala.
Darren Turner is exactly the type of player Echuca United does'nt need-undisciplined and an individual!
Even better, who would be the top five players at each club in the MFL?:thumbsu:
Okay then, Lets start a list of the Top 5 players from each of the Murray League Clubs. Im not sure on other teams but I have a fair idea for Echuca United. In no particular order, they are:
1. Duane Heuston
2. Dale Reyne
3. Anthony Baker
4. Guy Campbell
5. Luke Jones
Other players that could also make that list would be Pat Tarrant and Simon McCarty.
Grimmett
3 May 2006, 17:41
Moama's?
Moama's?
I'll have a crack, Again in no particular order:
1. Ben Mason
2. Adrian Dohnt
3. Jade Pumpa
4. Rory Priddle
5. Eddie Bourke
Grimmett
3 May 2006, 23:16
Adie Dohnt is ex-Ararat so I know his abilities. Ben Mason must go alright.
Thanks for the info Willo 1. Hopefully we can get a few more sides top five. It would be great to get these from different leagues as well.:thumbsu:
Adie Dohnt is ex-Ararat so I know his abilities. Ben Mason must go alright.
Yeah he is certainly a good player, but will be out for the rest of this season with a broken arm. Mason is a very tough in and under type player, started his footy at United and moved to Moama 4 years back.
rioli brownlow
4 May 2006, 14:14
Yeah he is certainly a good player, but will be out for the rest of this season with a broken arm. Mason is a very tough in and under type player, started his footy at United and moved to Moama 4 years back.
our cricket club is coming to echuca this weekend for a end of season trip.
and we were thinking of going and watching echuca ubited v nathalia, is there an admission fee, and will it be a good standard?
I'll have a go at a Rumbalara top 5.
1. Phil Guthrie
2. Jarrod Atkinson
3. Thomas Higgins
4. Leithen Briggs
5. Brad Firebrace
Special mention to Michael Chisholm and Evan Atkinson.
But if Rex Taylor stays at Rumba long enough I think he'll be Number 1 in a few years, still only 16.
kanga fan man
4 May 2006, 14:50
rumba i reckon:
Guthrie
L Briggs
B Firebrace
T Higgins
J Atkinson
and we were thinking of going and watching echuca ubited v nathalia, is there an admission fee, and will it be a good standard?
Hey rioli, I've read some of your work on other threads, good stuff :thumbsu:
Admission will be around $6-8 for an adult, and it promises to be a cracker of a game...Keep an eye on Ash and Nathan Gemmill and Brendan Parker (ex-Carlton) for Nathalia, and Duayne Hueston, Guy Campbell and Simon McCarty for Echuca United..Also a mad back pocket - Clinton Perry..
Hey Rioli Brownlow,
That is a great choice of a game to come and watch. Admision is $8 for adults, and you will witness one of the most anticipated games so far this year as well as most likely being Match Of The Round. T.Perry has done well in naming the players to keep an eye out for, especially that mad dog back pocket Clinton Perry;) I might see you there!
Hey willo, what do you know about Darren Turner (from Rumba) going to your club? Is he playing for you blokes this week, and why did the club bother recruiting him? What kind of $ would he be on..well played against Moama, by the way, went and had a look and thought you went alright :thumbsu: .
Hey Tav, Im sorry but I really dont know a great deal about him or the recruitment of him to United. All I know is that he trained last Tuesday night, this Tuesday night and will most likely train tonight. I'd say he wont get a game strait up, but possibly due to a couple of injuries, but I couldnt be sure.
Thanks for that mate. I got quite a few knocks to the head and felt a bit worse for wear after the game but got a few kicks, which is the main thing!
Cheers.
kanga fan man
4 May 2006, 17:25
pretty sure rumba wouldnt clear D Turner to another murray leauge club
rioli brownlow
4 May 2006, 17:30
Hey rioli, I've read some of your work on other threads, good stuff :thumbsu:
cheers t.perry, looking forward to a big day ,good game and then off to a pub called shamrock, heard thats where there are plenty of chicks, or is there somewhere else in echuca that the female variety attend?
kanga fan man
4 May 2006, 17:34
cheers t.perry, looking forward to a big day ,good game and then off to a pub called shamrock, heard thats where there are plenty of chicks, or is there somewhere else in echuca that the female variety attend?
saturday nite head to OPT
rioli brownlow
4 May 2006, 17:43
thanks mate
Yeah go from the Shamrock to OPT, both are the best nightspots in town.
big-money
4 May 2006, 21:49
thanks matecan anyone tell me if robert lambertie is injured
can anyone tell me if robert lambertie is injured
Yeah mate, Rob is injured. Suffered a fractured cheekbone vs Echuca United 3 weeks ago. Im not sure how long he will be out for though.
I'll have a go at a Rumbalara top 5.
1. Phil Guthrie
2. Jarrod Atkinson
3. Thomas Higgins
4. Leithen Briggs
5. Brad Firebrace
Special mention to Michael Chisholm and Evan Atkinson.
But if Rex Taylor stays at Rumba long enough I think he'll be Number 1 in a few years, still only 16.
What no Lineham #24??? For what's it worth I'll go Guthrie, Briggs, Higgins, Firebrace & when he was fit & firing Lowey
carntheblue&whitehoops
5 May 2006, 15:25
hey willow
who was the moama player that got josh wanganeen? do you think he was a target because he crossed over too united?
carntheblue&whitehoops
5 May 2006, 15:36
hey morgs how long you been following rumba?
my top 5 of all time at rumba
brett lowe
dallas turlich
darcy ronan
roddy briggs
porky atkinson
hey willow
who was the moama player that got josh wanganeen? do you think he was a target because he crossed over too united?
Im not sure who it was, I didnt actually see it happen, but i was talking to him last night at training and he said that it is the reason they got stuck into him, because he played for them (Moama) last season. Should be back in the Eagles jumper next week.
Here are my tips for Rd. 6:
Numurkah v Deniliquin
Tongala v Cobram
Congupna v Moama
Tocumwal v Mulwala
Echuca Unitedv Nathalia
Baroogav Finley
Deni will look to bounce back after a big loss last week, Tongala will make it 2 wins against a badly depleated Cobram, an improved Congupna in a cracker v Moama, Mulwala easily over Tocumwal, Echuca United in the Match Of The Round over Nathalia, and Barooga will be too strong for Finley.
Have a great weekend everyone.
Numurkah 20.12 (132) v Deniliquin 7.4 (46)
Tongala 11.17 (83) v Cobram 9.5 (59)
Congupna 17.8 (110) V Moama 13.5 (83)
Tocumwal 19.14 (128) v Mulwala 12.4 (76)
Echuca United 10.11 (71) v Nathalia 17.6 (108)
Barooga 24.11 (155) v Finley 7.9 (51)
your wrong with a few Willo
Numurkah Killed Deni by86 pts Numurkah now sitting in 2nd sport 1 game behind Nathalia, would put alot of pressure on Nathalia with
» Numurkah » Barooga » Echuca United all on 16pts 1 game behind
i hope Nurmurkah makes the grand final i'd travel all the way up to Tocumwal to watch :) :thumbsu:
good to see Tongala Notch up their 2nd win for the season well done
next week deni v Tongala should be a cracker of a game tongala shoud have a chance to win 2 in arow
also another cracker of a game top 2 sides Nathalia v Numurkah at Nathalia on the Sunday should make a game of the Round. who ever wins it will be hard to loose
cheers
Numurkah 20.12 (132) v Deniliquin 7.4 (46)
Tongala 11.17 (83) v Cobram 9.5 (59)
Congupna 17.8 (110) V Moama 13.5 (83)
Tocumwal 19.14 (128) v Mulwala 12.4 (76)
Echuca United 10.11 (71) v Nathalia 17.6 (108)
Barooga 24.11 (155) v Finley 7.9 (51)
your wrong with a few Willo
Well done Hank and the Tonny boys, seems like a truly positive move for all parties involved (coach and the club) :thumbsu:
rioli brownlow
7 May 2006, 20:49
Well done Hank and the Tonny boys, seems like a truly positive move for all parties involved (coach and the club) :thumbsu:
did go and watch echuca united v nathalia.
i thought it was a good game probably the difference in the end was nathalias abiliyy to use the wind more better
was impressed with number 23 for echuca ,and number 18(who is a spitting image of shannon motlop who plays for melbourne)also the man they called weety has a go aswell.
but the one thing that really impressed me was echuca uniteds coach! the way he spoke would put alot of afl/vfl coaches to shame ,don't know his name ,so if any one could tell me abit about him that would be good.
also the shammy rocks,plenty of girl on girl tagging going on there.
did go and watch echuca united v nathalia.
i thought it was a good game probably the difference in the end was nathalias abiliyy to use the wind more better
was impressed with number 23 for echuca ,and number 18(who is a spitting image of shannon motlop who plays for melbourne)also the man they called weety has a go aswell.
but the one thing that really impressed me was echuca uniteds coach! the way he spoke would put alot of afl/vfl coaches to shame ,don't know his name ,so if any one could tell me abit about him that would be good.
also the shammy rocks,plenty of girl on girl tagging going on there.
G'Day again mate! Yeah it was a good game but i believe the only difference in the end was Nathalia's experience and knowledge of their team-mates. That is a playing group that hasnt changed a great deal in any way and their coach Brent Smith has tuned and drilled them well.
Number 23 is Anthony Baker or Bakes as he is known. He is an excellent player and was a shining light for us on Saturday. Also number 18 is Darren Turner, his first game for the club since being cleared from Rumbalara on Friday. Played very well and impressed all that were watching the game. And as for "Weety", thats Leeroy Weetra. As you said he really does have a fair dinkum crack and is always hitting the ball hard.
Now our coach. His name is Mark Heritage. My belief is that he is a great coach with a wealth of knowledge. He has helped me in a massive way in my move from junior to senior footy, and has turned our side around this season.
I told you the Shamrock rocks! Hope you had a good weekend;)
I was wondering if the wily old veteran Peter Beasley played for Cobram against Tonny on the weekend. I think he holds the games record for Cobram.
rioli brownlow
8 May 2006, 14:00
Im not sure who it was, I didnt actually see it happen, but i was talking to him last night at training and he said that it is the reason they got stuck into him, because he played for them (Moama) last season. Should be back in the Eagles jumper next week.
went and had a look at the echuca united v nathalia game on saturday, not to bad.
difference in the end was nathaila used the ball better into the wind.
was impressed with no.23 for united, aswell as no.18(spitting image of shannon motlop)also the bloke they call weedy did ok aswell,for nathaila the 7 foot spastic no 6(as the united coach called him )was good and so was parker and no.11. all in all a good game.
what impressed me most though was the way echucas coach spoke ! whould put alot of afl coaches to shame. don't know his name or does anyone have any info on him.
I was wondering if the wily old veteran Peter Beasley played for Cobram against Tonny on the weekend. I think he holds the games record for Cobram.
Yes he played on the weekend was solid in the back pocket, also coaches the 3rds who got up by a point against the previously undefeated Tongala side.
:thumbsu: Thanks Hank1- I read an article about him in the Herald-Sun about breaking the game record up there.
went and had a look at the echuca united v nathalia game on saturday, not to bad.
difference in the end was nathaila used the ball better into the wind.
was impressed with no.23 for united, aswell as no.18(spitting image of shannon motlop)also the bloke they call weedy did ok aswell,for nathaila the 7 foot spastic no 6(as the united coach called him )was good and so was parker and no.11. all in all a good game.
what impressed me most though was the way echucas coach spoke ! whould put alot of afl coaches to shame. don't know his name or does anyone have any info on him.
Mate you have just basically repeated your post from before^^, and i have answered all your questions and queries! Read my post 3 up from this.
littleskillsy
8 May 2006, 20:49
Is it true that moama had the chance to get both Muir brothers but they didn't give the old brother a good enough deal. So they lost the younger one as well that is making a huge impact in the school league up at Assumption college.
Is the younger one Troy Muir?
littleskillsy
9 May 2006, 10:41
why would it be troy muir when they asked that. my name is will smith from Xavier College are these rumours true
Punter_22
9 May 2006, 16:55
I think the big difference between Nathalia and United was you willo!
Where were you? I was looking forward to seeing a bit of dash from the wing and alas you were not there.
Baker did a great job considering he was ill, Campbell was down because of the same reason.
Nathalia's midfield was far too slick for United, particularly around the stoppages and when the ball was turned over.
Hueston looked good, but Reyne hardly fired a shot.
At stages during the game I thought United's goal kicking let it down. Nathalia had only two more scoring shots. United had several shots at goal which just missed or should have been kicked.
United will improve on its performance on Saturday and should be an interesting clash when the two sides meet in round 19.
I think the big difference between Nathalia and United was you willo!
Where were you? I was looking forward to seeing a bit of dash from the wing and alas you were not there.
Baker did a great job considering he was ill, Campbell was down because of the same reason.
Nathalia's midfield was far too slick for United, particularly around the stoppages and when the ball was turned over.
Hueston looked good, but Reyne hardly fired a shot.
At stages during the game I thought United's goal kicking let it down. Nathalia had only two more scoring shots. United had several shots at goal which just missed or should have been kicked.
United will improve on its performance on Saturday and should be an interesting clash when the two sides meet in round 19.
Hahaha! Good joke Punter;) I copped a big corky in the 1st quarter v Deni last week in the ones, and besides that fact that i iced it, taped it, rubbed it, tried to run it out, I could not recover quick enough to be game ready for Saturday v Nathalia. Now I'm right for this week against Finley.
I agree with all of your above statements about the game. Dale didnt get many touches due to Nathalia's strong backline as well as poor delivery by United.
rioli brownlow
10 May 2006, 17:08
Mate you have just basically repeated your post from before^^, and i have answered all your questions and queries! Read my post 3 up from this.
sorry willo, thought my first post didn't go through, will be watching from afar on echuca uniteds progress throughout the year, yes had a ball up there,staying on the dinkyi di houseboat.
just wondering if pat tarrant and the wanganeen boys are any relation to chris and gavin?
sorry willo, thought my first post didn't go through, will be watching from afar on echuca uniteds progress throughout the year, yes had a ball up there,staying on the dinkyi di houseboat.
just wondering if pat tarrant and the wanganeen boys are any relation to chris and gavin?
Ahh, no worries mate. Its good to hear that you had a great time!
In answer to your questions, Yes Pat Tarrant is Chris' cousin (explains the freakish resemblance), and Josh Wanganeen from the seniors and Corey Wanganeen from the thirds are cousins of Gavin. ;)
bomberboy_19
10 May 2006, 19:48
hey, whats the go with moama this year? have seemed to lost there touch from the last few years, lost to an improved congupna on the weekend, also whos congupns tops 5, and who played well for them on the weekend...
bomberboy i too would love to see the top five from each side in the Murray League:thumbsu:
bomberboy_19
10 May 2006, 20:00
yeh i am with ya ringo, i would name them but i dont know enough players from each club, clubs like cngupna, cobram, nathalia and numurkah would be good....
Bomberboy I reckon it would be good to know all teams top 5 and not only in the MurrayFL but all leagues. I've only got the top five from Echuca United and Rumbalara. I've had this conversation at Whalers Hotel about the Hampden league and it made for great conversation.
jmain14
11 May 2006, 00:56
how are cobram going so far this year?? am guessing they'd be missing simon hicks who they'd be hoping will return to the club next season after a couple of years o'seas.
jmain14
11 May 2006, 01:02
just reading back through the posts and see that tonny done the tigers last w'end. agree with an earlier poster suggesting that the appointment of harro at tongala has been a win-win. does anyone know if he has/will be able to pull the boots on at all this year?? will be a stronger side yet with him in the line-up (if he hasn't played already). is a finals berth out of the question??
how are cobram going so far this year?? am guessing they'd be missing simon hicks who they'd be hoping will return to the club next season after a couple of years o'seas.
I was talking to someone heavily envolved in the Cobram Football Club and he said that they had only 10 players at seniors training one night, and that low numbers are becoming a trend. The only way they are filling a Seniors side and a Reserves side on a Saturday is relying on players to just rock up and pull on the boots without training. Sounds like things are looking a bit bleak over at Tigerland.
just reading back through the posts and see that tonny done the tigers last w'end. agree with an earlier poster suggesting that the appointment of harro at tongala has been a win-win. does anyone know if he has/will be able to pull the boots on at all this year?? will be a stronger side yet with him in the line-up (if he hasn't played already). is a finals berth out of the question??
It was great to see Tonny get up against the Tigers for their second win for the season. I think finals will only just be out of reach this year, but if their younger and older players stand up, they might just sneak in. As for Harrison, he's a member of this site. Maybe he could shed some light on your queries.;)
Willo1 I see that Tongala have won 2 games this year after being winless for a few seasons. Is that due to going to a weaker league,good recruiting,good coaching or other reasons such as no injuries?
Travvy43
11 May 2006, 12:28
Willo1 I see that Tongala have won 2 games this year after being winless for a few seasons. Is that due to going to a weaker league,good recruiting,good coaching or other reasons such as no injuries?
I would have though the weaker league would be the primary factor behinds the blues notching up a couple of wins so far this year.
Yeah, and don't forget they have lost quite a few good players in Baker, Fonua bros, Connally.... Should be playing finals with these guys. I wonder how the netballers are going? They were in the finals every year in gvfl in most grades
journeyman
11 May 2006, 13:16
Yeah, and don't forget they have lost quite a few good players in Baker, Fonua bros, Connally.... Should be playing finals with these guys. I wonder how the netballers are going? They were in the finals every year in gvfl in most grades
Last year's Tonny side wouldn't make Murray League finals. They dropped down a level to be competitive and after a couple of wins their decision is probably vindicated.
Ringo,
Personally I believe its a mixture of entering a slightly lesser strength league, good coaching and the fact that they have been lucky as far as injuries go so far this season. At the start of the year I thought that Tonny would only be lucky to win 1 or 2 games this season in their new league, but now that I have seen that teams such as Cobram, Deniliquin, Moama and Rumbalara that have weakened this year, I could see Tonny getting over the line a few more times this so long as they stay fit, no injuries and gell well together.
Ringo,
Personally I believe its a mixture of entering a slightly lesser strength league, good coaching and the fact that they have been lucky as far as injuries go so far this season. At the start of the year I thought that Tonny would only be lucky to win 1 or 2 games this season in their new league, but now that I have seen that teams such as Cobram, Deniliquin, Moama and Rumbalara that have weakened this year, I could see Tonny getting over the line a few more times this so long as they stay fit, no injuries and gell well together.
Thanks for that Willo1.:)
Travvy43
11 May 2006, 14:33
Ringo,
Personally I believe its a mixture of entering a slightly lesser strength league, good coaching and the fact that they have been lucky as far as injuries go so far this season..
From what i heard if tonny had of been lucky with injuries they would have bet moama. Andrew Reid doing his hammie was a major blow in that game.
Finals is still a fair way off, dropped two games already that we should have won. I've been training flat out after being given the all clear by the surgeon last month, will take to the park in the next couple of weeks, cant wait. Might yet ease into against Nathalia against Parker, or wait till after the interleague bye against Finley.
My Tips for Round 7:
Deniliquin v Tongala
Cobram v Congupna
Moama v Tocumwal
Mulwala v Rumbalara
Nathalia v Numurkah (Sunday)
Finley v Echuca United
Deni in a tough hit out with the Blues, I'd expect Tonny to really take it up to Deni, Goodluck Hank;), Congupna over a depleated Cobram, Tocumwal to take ther points against Moama, Mulwala easily over Rumbalara, Nathalia comfortably versus Numurkah, but expect the Blues to have a real crack, and Echuca United over Finley. Have a great weekend everyone! Dont forget Mothers Day on Sunday.:)
jmain14
12 May 2006, 20:09
Finals is still a fair way off, dropped two games already that we should have won. I've been training flat out after being given the all clear by the surgeon last month, will take to the park in the next couple of weeks, cant wait. Might yet ease into against Nathalia against Parker, or wait till after the interleague bye against Finley.
good news for the blues, good luck with it hank.