View Full Version : Murray Football League
Ringo,
Personally I believe its a mixture of entering a slightly lesser strength league, good coaching and the fact that they have been lucky as far as injuries go so far this season. At the start of the year I thought that Tonny would only be lucky to win 1 or 2 games this season in their new league, but now that I have seen that teams such as Cobram, Deniliquin, Moama and Rumbalara that have weakened this year, I could see Tonny getting over the line a few more times this so long as they stay fit, no injuries and gell well together.
Are you serious. The MFL is a much weaker league.
Yeah true, sorry about that comment, hopefully we can get up in the Interleague.
surprise 2 see the young finley side have a win over echuca after getting belted by barooga last week
Andyt30
13 May 2006, 20:05
Deniliquin 15.10:100 d Tongala 6.8:44
Cobram 10. 8:68 Lt Congupna 13.10:88
Moama 11.6:72 Lt Tocumwal 13. 8:86
Mulwala 21.17 143 d Rumbalara 12.7:79
Finley 18.11:119 d Echuca United 14.11;95
Nathalia v Nurmurkah Tomorrow
good tipping Willo1 you only got 1 wrong ;) Finley v Echuca united with Finley winning
surprise 2 see the young finley side have a win over echuca after getting belted by barooga last week
Finley really bounced back after their loss last weekend against Barooga, something that Echuca United didnt do after their loss to Nathalia.
Andyt30
13 May 2006, 20:14
i reckond Tipping country sides alot harder then AFL Sides are
Thanks Andy;). I'm not trying to be modest or anything, but if you look through my tips so far this season, I have been fairly well spot on as far as picking winners in the Murray Football League (with the exception of one or two). I suppose tipping for other leagues could be harder but i've never really thought about it.
Is Adrian Hickmott still running around or just coaching? If playing how is he going?
roaring tiger
18 May 2006, 20:27
Is Adrian Hickmott still running around or just coaching? If playing how is he going?
Hes non-playing coach at Rumbalara. They are struggling a bit at the present only won one game so far. They have ex collingwood player rupert bethrus playing forthem.
Is brock weston still playing in deni??
And the big bloke Dalziel is still playing for echuca united?
Brock Weston isnt on Deni's list but big Damian Dalziel is still playing good footy for Echuca United.
Punter_22
19 May 2006, 10:23
Brock Weston left Deniliquin three years ago with his partner to live in Canberra. Last I heard he was playing for Belconnen.
Brock Weston isnt on Deni's list but big Damian Dalziel is still playing good footy for Echuca United.
Westo hasn't been at Deni for quite some time - he plays for Belconnen in the ACTAFL. I got to know him while I was up there, can play and a top bloke. Kicking plenty for the Pies this year, keep an eye on the scores!
journeyman
22 May 2006, 14:23
I was wondering if Hank could give his thoughts on Nathalia from the weekend's game. Do you reckon they could make it back-to-back. David Lucas starts playing in a few week and will be a good inclusion.
Was talking to a Nathalia supporter and his said you guys had a you bloke who was impressive at full forward
When are you back?
Yaaablett
22 May 2006, 15:53
Brock Weston left Deniliquin three years ago with his partner to live in Canberra. Last I heard he was playing for Belconnen.
Are you from Deni Punter?
I was wondering if Hank could give his thoughts on Nathalia from the weekend's game. Do you reckon they could make it back-to-back. David Lucas starts playing in a few week and will be a good inclusion.
Was talking to a Nathalia supporter and his said you guys had a you bloke who was impressive at full forward
When are you back?
I'll be back after the interleague bye against Finley, along with Andrew Reid and Adam Nunn. Nathalia looked the goods, on ball division of Barnes(very Impressed with him) and Nath and Ash Gemmill is imposing to say the least. Up forward Parker was the main man as Liddell didnt play. Down back they could be stretched by the better sides but they did have a couple out. The only problem is being able to win enough ball out of the midfield agaisnt them to put their backline under enough pressure. Our ruckmen probably won 70-80% of the hit-outs but they were too smart and strong when the ball hit the deck.
Can't help you with the full forward, we tried 3 or 4 blokes there, Adam Nunn will be back there after he recovers from his hamstring.
Sly Dog
22 May 2006, 20:32
is the david lucas mentioned the one who played at kyabram years ago. if it is, he will carve up when he starts playing. although age might be an obstacle now. blokes at nathalia are certainly confident with their chances this year. so they should be, already 2 games clear on top. this may have ben answewred, but is there anyone who can stop them. maybe drive a semi truck through a gemmill family reunion could be a start.
Riewoldt12
24 May 2006, 14:23
Are Echuca United a genuine premiership threat again, or is it going to be another case of wasted money?
journeyman
24 May 2006, 14:37
is the david lucas mentioned the one who played at kyabram years ago. if it is, he will carve up when he starts playing. although age might be an obstacle now. blokes at nathalia are certainly confident with their chances this year. so they should be, already 2 games clear on top. this may have ben answewred, but is there anyone who can stop them. maybe drive a semi truck through a gemmill family reunion could be a start.
You've got the right Lucas. He is the brother-in-law of club stalwart Adam Quarrell. He's swiched between Subiaco and Corowa-Rutherglen for past 6-7 years.
Nathalia would be the favourites but like most small towns depth is always going to be their concern. A couple of key injuries could hurt their chances. They do have a few to come back in though.
I reckon Mulwala is still the best challenger.
Are Echuca United a genuine premiership threat again, or is it going to be another case of wasted money?
Genuine premiership threat.
I think the top five will be;
1. Nathalia
2. Numurkah
3. Mulwala
4.Barooga
5.Echuca United.
Apparantly, Nathalia will only get better when David Lucas joins them.:thumbsu:
I think the top five will be;
1. Nathalia
2. Numurkah
3. Mulwala
4.Barooga
5.Echuca United.
Apparantly, Nathalia will only get better when David Lucas joins them.:thumbsu:
Its top 6 this year ringo;)
In no particular order, I believe the final 6 teams this season will be:
1. Tocumwal
2. Echuca United
3. Numurkah
4. Nathalia
5. Barooga
6. Mulwala
1. Tocumwal
2. Echuca United
3. Numurkah
4. Nathalia
5. Barooga
6. Mulwala
I agree with the top 6-but i would keep the same order but i'd have Tocumwal at 6.Only an opinion Willo1 as I'm only looking on from afar.:thumbsu:
journeyman
24 May 2006, 16:46
1. Tocumwal
2. Echuca United
3. Numurkah
4. Nathalia
5. Barooga
6. Mulwala
Come on Willow, put them in order. There's no point doing it otherwise.
1. Nathalia
2. Mulwala
3. Numurkah
4. Tocumwal
5. Echuca Utd
6. Barooga
Come on Willow, put them in order. There's no point doing it otherwise.
1. Nathalia
2. Mulwala
3. Numurkah
4. Tocumwal
5. Echuca Utd
6. Barooga
Ahh.. Sorry mate, That looks pretty good.
Andyt30
24 May 2006, 20:40
I tip Numurkah be well in the mix
1 Nathalia
2 Numurkah
3 Congupna
4 Tocumwal
5 Echuca United
6 Barooga
I tip Numurkah to only loose 3 game both to Natalia and 1 loss to Mulwala
not too many sides will beat Numurkah this year
Rd 20 Numurkah v Nathalia a rematch ;) and possible finalist
:thumbsu:
I tip Numurkah be well in the mix
1 Nathalia
2 Numurkah
3 Congupna
4 Tocumwal
5 Echuca United
6 Barooga
I tip Numurkah to only loose 3 game both to Natalia and 1 loss to Mulwala
not too many sides will beat Numurkah this year
Rd 20 Numurkah v Nathalia a rematch ;) and possible finalist
:thumbsu:
So your saying Mulwala wont make finals? I cant see Congupna climbing that far up the ladder!
Riewoldt12
24 May 2006, 21:12
Wondering how my former coach Brett Henderson is going at Tongala this year. He was by far the best coach I ever played under and wondering if his footy knowledge is rubbing off on the young blues.
themonkeybutlers
25 May 2006, 20:04
Wondering how my former coach Brett Henderson is going at Tongala this year. He was by far the best coach I ever played under and wondering if his footy knowledge is rubbing off on the young blues.
Riewoldt12 where did hendo coach you?
From what i saw and heard about Hendo, he is a bit of a dirty player. I watched 2 games when he was coaching/playing for the Deni Rovers a couple of years back, and all he did for the majority of both games is harass and target the younger kids that were playing. Hitting them behind play etc. Although he is a good teacher. Had him as a teacher a couple of years ago ;)
themonkeybutlers
25 May 2006, 20:50
i played under him for a couple of years and he was a little dirty - nothing too bad. He was one of those blokes who demanded the footy and generally got it (maybe because he was the coach). He was a good bloke though when i knew him.
Yeah mate, I totally agree, he was a great bloke. I loved chatting to him during English about footy;) Always got along with him well, but it must have just been the couple of games that I watched..
themonkeybutlers
25 May 2006, 21:30
Yeah mate, I totally agree, he was a great bloke. I loved chatting to him during English about footy;) Always got along with him well, but it must have just been the couple of games that I watched..
sounds like you just enjoyed getting out of doing work
Hahaha, yes it was pretty good!
Riewoldt12
26 May 2006, 09:29
From what i saw and heard about Hendo, he is a bit of a dirty player. I watched 2 games when he was coaching/playing for the Deni Rovers a couple of years back, and all he did for the majority of both games is harass and target the younger kids that were playing. Hitting them behind play etc. Although he is a good teacher. Had him as a teacher a couple of years ago ;)
Played under Hendo for 4 years, locally and then in Deniliquin. One thing he didn't do was target the young kids. He did get heavily tagged, however, and got quite frustrated with that. Never seen Hendo once hit a bloke behind the play, so sorry Willo1, that is simply not true. Seen him get hit behind play a few times, though.
Quality coach, match day preparation is second to none.
Played under Hendo for 4 years, locally and then in Deniliquin. One thing he didn't do was target the young kids. He did get heavily tagged, however, and got quite frustrated with that. Never seen Hendo once hit a bloke behind the play, so sorry Willo1, that is simply not true. Seen him get hit behind play a few times, though.
Quality coach, match day preparation is second to none.
Only telling what I saw.
Where did you play when you were under him?:confused:
Im guessing either Echuca United, Lockington or Deniliquin. Did he coach anywhere else?
Riewoldt12
26 May 2006, 11:21
Im guessing either Echuca United, Lockington or Deniliquin. Did he coach anywhere else?
Also coached at Leeton in the Riverina League. Was adored by the locals there and produced very good results.
Yaaablett
26 May 2006, 12:14
Also coached Lake Boga where he was suspended for a few weeks for belting a guy behind play.
no left foot
26 May 2006, 12:20
Also coached at Leeton in the Riverina League. Was adored by the locals there and produced very good results.
Besides Echuca United where he had a fall out I am sure all other clubs where Brett Henderson has been involved have a fair amount of respect for him. I know the guy personally however have never played football with him, but have had many a conversation. Doing a great job to still be running around at his age and hopefully passing on a lot of football knowledge to a young tongala side. Carv em up hendo!!!!
Also coached Lake Boga where he was suspended for a few weeks for belting a guy behind play.
Now I know who you are talking about! He got a few weeks but it was a case of hit or be hit as he was often targeted physically due to being coach and not overly big.
Hendo did not coach or play at Locky/ Bamawm United. Got his clearance to LBU trained a few times but did not get picked and did not end up playing a game at all.
Jock Clark 2
26 May 2006, 15:47
OK, boys --- how will MFL coach Gary PARSONS go with your inter-league squad Sat. and Sunday ??
Key MFL players listed in one central Victorian paper midweek were: Michael Stevens (on ball), Brendan parker (FF), Duane Hueston (on ball/forward), Andrew Donaldson (on ball), Guy Campbell (ruck/forward) and Dave farrell (centre half-back).
For starters are all these blokes listed in the paper STILL IN THE FINAL 28 ??
Bendigo plays Murray in the senior opener at 12.30 pm Saturday.
OK, boys --- how will MFL coach Gary PARSONS go with your inter-league squad Sat. and Sunday ??
Key MFL players listed in one central Victorian paper midweek were: Michael Stevens (on ball), Brendan parker (FF), Duane Hueston (on ball/forward), Andrew Donaldson (on ball), Guy Campbell (ruck/forward) and Dave farrell (centre half-back).
For starters are all these blokes listed in the paper STILL IN THE FINAL 28 ??
Bendigo plays Murray in the senior opener at 12.30 pm Saturday.
You can count Hueston out. Is still out with a hamstring injury.
themonkeybutlers
26 May 2006, 18:50
I played with him at Echuca United a few years ago.
results from barooga-murray got beaten by 6points by bendigo and beat wimmera by about 4goals.not the standard you would expect from interleague footy,most topliners aint interested in current format
brett has been a great role model for the younger players at tonny this year, he's easily approchable and great to talk to. He talks well at training and before games, he's an all around top bloke:thumbsu:
Andyt30
28 May 2006, 23:01
I like the new Format i think its better then the Old format i think alot of players didn't like the Old format
Riewoldt12
29 May 2006, 10:32
brett has been a great role model for the younger players at tonny this year, he's easily approchable and great to talk to. He talks well at training and before games, he's an all around top bloke:thumbsu:
Thanks for that, SJWT. That's what I thought might be the case.
Hendo has been really good for the club, on his background a couple of things did come up about a bit of white line fever, but his discipline and attitude at the club this year has been second to none, is great with the younger blokes coming through of which we have a huge amount of and hasnt put a foot wrong in his role.
Travvy43
31 May 2006, 16:41
Hendo has been really good for the club, on his background a couple of things did come up about a bit of white line fever, but his discipline and attitude at the club this year has been second to none, is great with the younger blokes coming through of which we have a huge amount of and hasnt put a foot wrong in his role.
good to hear hendo has been good for the club.
More importantly, it is great to see you back on board hank, hows the scon??
Jock Clark 2
31 May 2006, 16:47
ANY of u guys herd MFL inter-league players --- some of them, anyway -- were in the bottom pub until 1 am Sunday after their 2 Saturday games at Barooga.
Might explain why they got done by Central Murray on Sunday 11 am in a game they were expected 2 win.
Great to hear Hank. Also good to see your back in action and that your noggin is right now.;)
Yeah back in town today mate, all went well and hopefully full recovery, will be pretty slow though. no work for 6 weeks, head down to training tomorrow night and get back amongst it.
Here here Travvy hope all is well Hank1 and the recovery is a speedy one :thumbsu:
tips for Round 9
Deniliquin v Tocumwal by 50pts
Cobram v Rumbalara 25pts
Moama v Mulwala by 20pts
Nathalia v Congupna nathalia by 60 pts
Finley v Tongala
Barooga v Numurkah by 45 pts
ROUND 8 RESULTS:
Deniliquin 20.14 (134) v Tocumwal 6.8 (44)
Cobram 7.8 (50) v Rumbalara 22.19 (151)
Moama 8.5 (53) v Mulwala 22.19 (151)
Nathalia 19.21 (135) v Congupna 13.6 (84)
Finley 15.6 (96) v Tongala 6.10 (46)
Barooga 18.14 (122) v Numurkah 9.8 (62)
Gee Andy.. Didnt go too well with your margin tips, Did you really think Moama would get within 20 point of Mulwala?:p
they could have done :) now i know Barooga plays most of their finals at Barooga and grand final at Tocumwal
baroogas with 2 ovals i heard play 2 finals like elimination final on one ground and 2nd Elimination on the Other oval not many towns have 2 ovals nar Horsham city oval and Coghlan Park not exactly next door but about a 2 minute drive their use to be a 3rd but not used for football now
just used for soccer or footy & Umpire training
was used when Taylors Lake sheds were being rebuilt after they got burnt down
they could have done :)
baroogas with 2 ovals i heard play 2 finals like elimination final on one ground and 2nd Elimination on the Other oval not many towns have 2 ovals
The 2nd oval at Barooga is not used during finals, or any senior games for that matter.. Only Under 14's play on that oval. The rest of the time it is used for soccer. It has 2 soccer pitches marked on it.;)
kangaroos06
5 Jun 2006, 22:45
Just wondering how the boys from Tonny are faring this year?
i know they have got the chocolates at least once, but was wondering exactly how many? Is the club happy to be in the Central league?
Also wondering who some of the better players have been.. In particular Reidy's form? Gun....
cheers
More importantly, it is great to see you back on board hank, hows the scon?? Hey Travy43 Hank went back into hospital start of the week few headaches apparently. should be out tomorrow but from what i've been told just needs to take it a little easy. Hows your footy going?
Travvy43
9 Jun 2006, 09:49
Hey Travy43 Hank went back into hospital start of the week few headaches apparently. should be out tomorrow but from what i've been told just needs to take it a little easy. Hows your footy going?
Yeah i heard last night at training that the hank was back in hospital in melbourne. Good to see you got through your comeback (from hammie) ok, i did see you were involved in a report, an old finley boy getting some redemption for you leaving them a number of years ago maybe???
nice one travvy but not quite, didn't know the guy and he got me from behind, knocked the wind out of me but would hate to be in his way if he had of come off his short run up. The guy has got a history of coming from behind, pang was saying he got him when they played nathalia he's not real happy with him. Wouldn't want to be in his shoes when they play parks again. Ive seen pang do more damage to bigger guys than him.
hectomorphic
9 Jun 2006, 23:16
nice one travvy but not quite, didn't know the guy and he got me from behind, knocked the wind out of me but would hate to be in his way if he had of come off his short run up. The guy has got a history of coming from behind, pang was saying he got him when they played nathalia he's not real happy with him. Wouldn't want to be in his shoes when they play parks again. Ive seen pang do more damage to bigger guys than him.
Didnt happen happen to be a thorne did it? i played junior footy with them and they werent afraid of getting a quiet hit in when they had the chance haha it would be nice to know they are still playing the same sort of footy
cyclop3
12 Jun 2006, 14:42
Didnt happen happen to be a thorne did it? i played junior footy with them and they werent afraid of getting a quiet hit in when they had the chance haha it would be nice to know they are still playing the same sort of footy
yep sure was he got four weeks for it
Good to see you played a great game on Saturday cyclop. See you this Saturday;)
hectomorphic
12 Jun 2006, 17:01
yep sure was he got four weeks for it
Which one was it? Pete or Dave? Dave has red hair and pete has only half his teeth
Which one was it? Pete or Dave? Dave has red hair and pete has only half his teethpete.wonder why he's got no teeth left?dave would've been hiding somewhere
hectomorphic
12 Jun 2006, 20:00
pete.wonder why he's got no teeth left?dave would've been hiding somewhere
Dave still playing out wide is he? A 'receiver' of handballs. Can he take an over head mark? use to be a bit suspect in that area. What position does he play?
cyclop3
13 Jun 2006, 21:17
Good to see you played a great game on Saturday cyclop. See you this Saturday;)
yeah mate played ok just happy to get the body through each week now.
cyclop3
13 Jun 2006, 21:20
Which one was it? Pete or Dave? Dave has red hair and pete has only half his teeth
that would be pete that got me mate he does have very few teeth and if keeps that up will be lucky to keep the ones he has left.
The_KID
13 Jun 2006, 23:32
Just wondering if any of u geezers could give me any infor on a bloke named Tyrone Bradley. Played fro numurkah i think.
Anything appreciated.
Cyclop 3 could you tell me how hard the grounds are up there? Is it affecting how players are pulling up/training and the amount of injuries?:thumbsu:
Just wondering if any of u geezers could give me any infor on a bloke named Tyrone Bradley. Played fro numurkah i think.
Anything appreciated.
In England playing cricket over the winter, made his first 50 last week
The_KID
14 Jun 2006, 12:27
In England playing cricket over the winter, made his first 50 last week
Did u ever play aginst him ? could he getta kick?
cyclop3
14 Jun 2006, 19:09
Cyclop 3 could you tell me how hard the grounds are up there? Is it affecting how players are pulling up/training and the amount of injuries?:thumbsu:
yeah bud grounds are rock hard round here we too struggling with the injuries, i'd imagine its got something to do with it we have had for or five over the last couple of months with hamstrings and a lot just generally pulling up sore. gunna have to toughen up i guess and get used to it, rain is still a long way off:thumbsu:
Yeah I would have to agree with you there cyclop. My legs are really struggling with the surfaces, been pulling up sore and had lingering shin splints and muscle soreness for a few weeks now. I think the only soft ground I have played on this year would be Barooga. That oval is unbelievebly soft and lush.
Thanks for that mate
Did u ever play aginst him ? could he getta kick?
Nah sorry mate first year in Murray League, but believe he is fairly handy around goal although only kicked 9 goals for the year at Numurkah last year.
The_KID
16 Jun 2006, 11:16
Nah sorry mate first year in Murray League, but believe he is fairly handy around goal although only kicked 9 goals for the year at Numurkah last year.
fair enough mate Thanks for ur help.
Deniliquin 9.5 (59) v Mulwala 9.9 (63)
Cobram 12.8 (80) v Moama 4.12 (36)
Nathalia 26.11 (167) v Rumbalara 10.4 (64)
Finley 16.16 (112) v Tocumwal 12.8 (80)
Barooga 15.12 (102) v Congupna 11.10 (76)
Echuca United 23.21 (159) v Tongala 5.2 (32)
Deni seem to be on the improve but didnt quite finish it off, in a close one against Mulwala. Moama's season is one to forget, Tocumwal seem to be losing touch with the top group of teams, and Echuca United continue their winning ways with a big victory over Tonny.
BODZY#32
18 Jun 2006, 22:49
G'day guys, im from down south bit starved of info on the murray league, just got a bit interest in the finley club... how they goin? Anyone know how Mat 'Sideburns' Kelly is goin? last i heard he was puttin in the hard yards on the track but struggling for form...? and what about the little terretz bulldozer man "JOK BOK" Matty Boyd?
bomberboy_19
19 Jun 2006, 18:33
Hey Guys can anyone give me an update on how congupna is going? are they going to make finals?? and how there recruits are going for the year, i no they have had a few out over the past few weeks i have read... cheers
They are going supprisingly well this season. Their recruits are firing and they really do look like finals contendors. Currently sitting in 5th position on the ladder; the finals work with the top 6. The boys from the Road have turned things around this year and obviously new coach Travis Hampshire is doing a great job.
cozza15
19 Jun 2006, 21:05
Yeah Deni's a big paddock. Wheres your home paddock willo?
cozza15
19 Jun 2006, 21:44
Any1 tell me about Willo1? Very knowledgeable bloke! Does he play? Where? Any good?:confused:
Yeah Deni's a big paddock. Wheres your home paddock willo?
Any1 tell me about Willo1? Very knowledgeable bloke! Does he play? Where? Any good?:confused:
I'm from Echuca United, fairly large ground down there. I follow the Murray Football League very closely and am interested in all things associated with it. I play seniors and thirds at United.;)
T.Perry
20 Jun 2006, 13:10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cozza15
Any1 tell me about Willo1? Very knowledgeable bloke! Does he play? Where? Any good?
I'm from Echuca United, fairly large ground down there. I follow the Murray Football League very closely and am interested in all things associated with it. I play seniors and thirds at United.;)
Don't talk yourself down Willo! He's a gun wingman and is likely to win the rookie of the year award this year! He knows so much about the opposition coz they're always ringing him trying to get him to play for them! He'll never leave, though, he's a very loyal bloke and would also be petrified of what Clinton 'pit bull' Perry would do to him if he left :D
Haha thanks mate. But I think your going a bit over the top there! I love my club, I'll never leave. So you got that bit right. And I need to worry about what Pit BUll will do to me if i leave, because it aint gonna happen! ;)
footynuts99
21 Jun 2006, 10:39
Guy Campbell broke his foot playing against Finley a couple of weeks ago. He'll be out for 6-8 weeks.
footynuts99
21 Jun 2006, 10:41
Anyone who is a member/supporter of Shepparton United, why did you let Duane Hueston leave to go to Echuca United?
Guy Campbell broke his foot playing against Finley a couple of weeks ago. He'll be out for 6-8 weeks.
Old news buddy. It's already been 5 weeks since the injury occured, so I cant see the comeback being far off.
bomber_42
21 Jun 2006, 22:03
Hey guys.
Don't get much Murray FL news up my way, wondering whether Jade Pumpa plays in league and how he's goin. lives in moama i think nowadays and was a very handy junior down in the wimmera
Would be good to see if he can still get a few kicks
Hey guys.
Don't get much Murray FL news up my way, wondering whether Jade Pumpa plays in league and how he's goin. lives in moama i think nowadays and was a very handy junior down in the wimmera
Would be good to see if he can still get a few kicks
Yeah he's still having a run around with Moama. They arn't travelling too well this year, sitting 2nd last on the ladder having only won 1 or 2 games.
Go Cohuna
21 Jun 2006, 23:39
Yeah he's still having a run around with Moama. They arn't travelling too well this year, sitting 2nd last on the ladder having only won 1 or 2 games.
Can anyone tell me how Ryan Hudson is going this year i played a game with him against the school boys a few weeks back and he carved them up i think he is an absolute freak at footy i think he plays for echuca United or Moama.
Yeah Huddo, he isn't too bad. Can be a good player but is extremely arrogant and self indulged. He plays 3rds for Moama and broke his collarbone early this season.
Go Cohuna
22 Jun 2006, 11:23
Yeah Huddo, he isn't too bad. Can be a good player but is extremely arrogant and self indulged. He plays 3rds for Moama and broke his collarbone early this season.
Yeh he is a perfect footballer he carrys the ball and always has it so he gets noticed. What do people think about Bevan Charlton-White he's pretty handy i reckon.
Punter_22
22 Jun 2006, 11:41
From the little I have seen of Bevan Charlton-White I don't think he will ever be anything more than a country footballer. Is a very good long distance runner so he has terrific endurance but really lacks pace. Unless he can somehow find some speed from somewhere he will never be a top footballer. He has some good size about him (still skinnny but plenty of time to bulk up), good skills and a great aerobic capacity but it sometimes looks like someone is holding the back of his shirt when he is running. Unfortunately you can't really teach speed. Your thoughts Willo. Am I being a bit harsh?
Yeh he is a perfect footballer he carrys the ball and always has it so he gets noticed. What do people think about Bevan Charlton-White he's pretty handy i reckon.
I wouldn't go as far as to calling him the 'perfect footballer'. He always has it because once he gets it, he doesn't give it off. Remember there are 17 other players on the ground from your team at any time, but he is oblivious to that unfortunately. A kid that got kicked out of boarding school down in Ballarat, and drinks a half a slab of bourbon before a game? Perfect wouldn't be the word to describe him.
From the little I have seen of Bevan Charlton-White I don't think he will ever be anything more than a country footballer. Is a very good long distance runner so he has terrific endurance but really lacks pace. Unless he can somehow find some speed from somewhere he will never be a top footballer. He has some good size about him (still skinnny but plenty of time to bulk up), good skills and a great aerobic capacity but it sometimes looks like someone is holding the back of his shirt when he is running. Unfortunately you can't really teach speed. Your thoughts Willo. Am I being a bit harsh?
No Punter, I believe those are some valid and interesting comments. I am good mates with Bev, we play together in the Echuca United 3rds and dont get me wrong, he is a very good footballer. He would be one of the fittest players in our team due to his endurance from long distance running, and is still a reasonably fast runner. With his height though, it takes him a couple more steps to get going and yes those few steps can be crucial in a game of football. I'm not sure whether he will be restricted to only Country Football, could possibble play VFL or GV footy depending on whether he chooses football or running. He has played schoolboys and interleague so who knows, only time will tell.;)