View Full Version : Murray Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

Doona2
22 Jun 2006, 13:25
IN A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN

June 22 2006
Shepparton News

Several Murray and Picola District football league clubs are being targetted as part of an ambitious push to establish a new Echucabased competition.

Tongala, Echuca United, Moama, Deniliquin Rovers, Mathoura and Picola United have all been earmarked as potential foundation members and will be asked to commit to the proposed league within the coming months.

If enough support exists, the league could emerge by as early as next year.

Victorian Country Football League north west area manager Alan Davies yesterday confirmed the proposal was gathering steam.

"It's something that has been simmering away since last year," Davies said.

"A few clubs have been looking at the possibility of establishing a new league to service the Echuca and district region for a few months now.

"While there's no timeline on it, they might be in a position to put a series of recommendations to the VCFL board by October."

The push to establish an Echuca-based competition is being spearhead by disgruntled Central Murray Football League clubs Leitchville-Gunbower, Koondrook-Barham and Cohuna.

The trio, along with Mathoura, Moama and Lockington-Bamawm United formed a working party late last year to explore the logistics behind creating the new league.

After months of research, the party recently released a three-page document outlining the possible framework, including minimum number of clubs, administration structure and even availability of umpires.

The prospectus will be sent to Tongala, Echuca United, Deniliquin Rovers and Picola United in the hope it will trigger interest about a possible move.

The clubs will also be invited to attend a meeting of the existing working party later this month.

Cohuna Football Club official Alan Mitchell said the rising cost of fuel and the tyranny of distance were the major factors behind the proposal, along with the over-crowded landscape of the Murray (13 clubs) and Picola (15 clubs) leagues.

Mitchell said the Echucabased league would only become a reality if no less than eight clubs committed to the new competition.

Picola District president David McKenzie yesterday queried the proposal, bemused at how struggling Picola District league teams would be expected to compete against clubs like Cohuna and Moama.

"The gap between the Picola league and the Murray is pretty big. I can't see how it's going to work," he said.

Punter_22
22 Jun 2006, 13:57
Wouldn't read a whole lot into that. Has been talk for ages but nothing is really happening. I'm guessing it was just a slow news day for the Shepp News so they ran with a story they have probably had sitting there for months.

willo1
22 Jun 2006, 14:10
Wouldn't read a whole lot into that. Has been talk for ages but nothing is really happening. I'm guessing it was just a slow news day for the Shepp News so they ran with a story they have probably had sitting there for months.
Yeah true that. The talk has been going on for a while now. Echuca United are not interested joining this league if it ever formed.

jexjex
22 Jun 2006, 15:25
Can anyone tell me about Peter Walsh's history. He is up and playing in Cairns QLD and dominating. Kicked five in the interleague game.

Andyt30
22 Jun 2006, 23:14
that won't happen you can';t say how long before sides like Waaia, Wunghnu, Tally & Congupa, Tongala would survive ? wouldnt be at all surprise if their wont be some mergers in years to come? like Wunghnu & Tally, Waaia with say Numurkah or Nathalia, small clubs needs to merge especally these days when kids goes to say melbourne for work
so Merge or loose clubs all together mergers the only way to go
i'd rather merge then fold and have no club, we did that end of 2000
Brim & Warracknabeal minor club merged with a major league club , still have 4 at both grounds better then loosing footy all together like Sea Lake nandaly tigers = 4 clubs. Sea lake, nandaly,berriwillock,Culgoa

cheers

Riewoldt12
23 Jun 2006, 11:28
Just wondering how Hendo's return to the Eagles nest went on the weekend. I saw they got thrashed, but wondered how he went and whether he and the crowd were on best behaviour. No doubt a game Hendo was dreading the moment he signed with Tonny.

Punter_22
23 Jun 2006, 12:42
Hendo played through the middle all day. Relatively quiet. Picked up his regular cheap possessions down back with sideway kicks or handball receives but didn't get much of it forward of half way. Mind you, the ball wasn't passed half way a great deal. He wouldn't jot it down as one of his better games that's for sure. Wasn't targeted at all by the United players from what I saw and the crowd treated him reasonably well. I did hear "your a dog henderson" once or twice though.

willo1
23 Jun 2006, 19:09
Hendo played through the middle all day. Relatively quiet. Picked up his regular cheap possessions down back with sideway kicks or handball receives but didn't get much of it forward of half way. Mind you, the ball wasn't passed half way a great deal. He wouldn't jot it down as one of his better games that's for sure. Wasn't targeted at all by the United players from what I saw and the crowd treated him reasonably well. I did hear "your a dog henderson" once or twice though.
Hahaha, that was great. I agree with everything you have said. Good summary of him game although i know he can play bloody good football (such as Rd 10 v Barooga). I was sitting near the United bench and a fair few of the United supporters were yelling out but nothing rude or stupid, just a bit of fun. I didnt see one instance where United players targeted him which was good. There was no reason to get involved in that sort of rubbish as it was a blowout game.

willo1
24 Jun 2006, 19:41
Moama 9.6 (60) v Deniliquin 8.11 (59)
Mulwala 16.7 (103) v Nathalia 19.6 (120)
Rumbalara 9.9 (63) v Finley 16.10 (106)
Tocumwal 9.11 (65) v Barooga 15.4 (94)
Congupna 11.7 (73) v Echuca United 19.9 (123)
Tongala 5.15 (45) v Numurkah 16.8 (104)

An unbelievable 1 point win by Moama over Deni, dont know what happened there. Was anyone at the game or that can fill us in? Was it a good game by Moama and a poor effort by Deni?

Andyt30
24 Jun 2006, 22:12
Go Numurkah ya little beauty :) :thumbsu:

Goorooswami
25 Jun 2006, 12:23
G Day Boys

Had the pleasure of watching the Nathalia Vs Mulwala game yesterday. It was a great game with Nathalia getting over the line by 3 goals. Nathalia kicked 10 goals to 3 in the 1st 1/4 but form there on in Mul outscored / outplayed them.
Looking at Nathalias 2s, thay would be in a heap of trouble if thay got any injuries as only 1 bloke (Rendell) is anywhere near senior selection and the other 20 were deplorable.

Gooroo

Tassie Devil
25 Jun 2006, 22:44
Can anyone in here tell me if Trevor Sutton holds the league record in the Murray League and what is it. Also how many times did he kick over 200 goals there.

sjwt
25 Jun 2006, 23:12
i take it (willo) your the willo who played under 18's interleague this year in the backline:thumbsu:

localfootyguru
25 Jun 2006, 23:35
IN A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN

June 22 2006
Shepparton News

Several Murray and Picola District football league clubs are being targetted as part of an ambitious push to establish a new Echucabased competition.

Tongala, Echuca United, Moama, Deniliquin Rovers, Mathoura and Picola United have all been earmarked as potential foundation members and will be asked to commit to the proposed league within the coming months.

If enough support exists, the league could emerge by as early as next year.

Victorian Country Football League north west area manager Alan Davies yesterday confirmed the proposal was gathering steam.

"It's something that has been simmering away since last year," Davies said.

"A few clubs have been looking at the possibility of establishing a new league to service the Echuca and district region for a few months now.

"While there's no timeline on it, they might be in a position to put a series of recommendations to the VCFL board by October."

The push to establish an Echuca-based competition is being spearhead by disgruntled Central Murray Football League clubs Leitchville-Gunbower, Koondrook-Barham and Cohuna.

The trio, along with Mathoura, Moama and Lockington-Bamawm United formed a working party late last year to explore the logistics behind creating the new league.

After months of research, the party recently released a three-page document outlining the possible framework, including minimum number of clubs, administration structure and even availability of umpires.

The prospectus will be sent to Tongala, Echuca United, Deniliquin Rovers and Picola United in the hope it will trigger interest about a possible move.

The clubs will also be invited to attend a meeting of the existing working party later this month.

Cohuna Football Club official Alan Mitchell said the rising cost of fuel and the tyranny of distance were the major factors behind the proposal, along with the over-crowded landscape of the Murray (13 clubs) and Picola (15 clubs) leagues.

Mitchell said the Echucabased league would only become a reality if no less than eight clubs committed to the new competition.

Picola District president David McKenzie yesterday queried the proposal, bemused at how struggling Picola District league teams would be expected to compete against clubs like Cohuna and Moama.

"The gap between the Picola league and the Murray is pretty big. I can't see how it's going to work," he said.

The way country footy is always evolving due to changes in population etc. it wouldn't surprise me at all if this got off the ground. Whilst the issue has been simmering for a long time it seems to have really gained momentum in recent times.

I can certainly understand why Cohuna, Koondrook-Barham and Leitchville Gunbower are spearheading the idea due to the distance factor. These were clubs that were railroaded into the CMFL after changes made by the VCFL in league affilations.

Goorooswami
26 Jun 2006, 00:12
Tassi Devil

Trevor Sutton kicked 249 goals (to my memory) in 1980. The stories say he was an amazing footballer who could have made it anywhere but had other things on his mind (so I'm lead to believe). Only wish I could have seen him play.

Cheers Gooroo

willo1
26 Jun 2006, 11:47
i take it (willo) your the willo who played under 18's interleague this year in the backline:thumbsu:

Yeah mate certainly am. Why's that? Did you play?

journeyman
26 Jun 2006, 14:25
G Day Boys

Had the pleasure of watching the Nathalia Vs Mulwala game yesterday. It was a great game with Nathalia getting over the line by 3 goals. Nathalia kicked 10 goals to 3 in the 1st 1/4 but form there on in Mul outscored / outplayed them.
Looking at Nathalias 2s, thay would be in a heap of trouble if thay got any injuries as only 1 bloke (Rendell) is anywhere near senior selection and the other 20 were deplorable.

Gooroo

You're spot on about Nathalia lacking depth however they do have Smith, Quarrell, Bourke, Liddell, Gemmill and one other who escapes me to come into the team. Once those blokes come in they will be a lot stronger .

It can be hard for clubs with small populations to have good depth when they don't have many imports.

footynuts99
26 Jun 2006, 17:07
Have Nathalia appointed a coach yet?

Yes. Brent Smith who is their ruckman and captain has been appointed coach.

footynuts99
26 Jun 2006, 17:12
Can anyone in here tell me if Trevor Sutton holds the league record in the Murray League and what is it. Also how many times did he kick over 200 goals there.

i think 3 times.

footynuts99
26 Jun 2006, 17:15
I wouldn't go as far as to calling him the 'perfect footballer'. He always has it because once he gets it, he doesn't give it off. Remember there are 17 other players on the ground from your team at any time, but he is oblivious to that unfortunately. A kid that got kicked out of boarding school down in Ballarat, and drinks a half a slab of bourbon before a game? Perfect wouldn't be the word to describe him.

No Punter, I believe those are some valid and interesting comments. I am good mates with Bev, we play together in the Echuca United 3rds and dont get me wrong, he is a very good footballer. He would be one of the fittest players in our team due to his endurance from long distance running, and is still a reasonably fast runner. With his height though, it takes him a couple more steps to get going and yes those few steps can be crucial in a game of football. I'm not sure whether he will be restricted to only Country Football, could possibble play VFL or GV footy depending on whether he chooses football or running. He has played schoolboys and interleague so who knows, only time will tell.;)

I agree. i play u14s for Echuca Utd and i know him. He got selected to play for the bendigo pioneers u16 team or sumthin.

footynuts99
26 Jun 2006, 17:17
Hey Guys can anyone give me an update on how congupna is going? are they going to make finals?? and how there recruits are going for the year, i no they have had a few out over the past few weeks i have read... cheers

Yeah they could make the 6 i rekon but they were beaten by 9 goals to echuca utd on the weekend. Guy Madigan (full forward) kikd 7 the other week.

fish1
26 Jun 2006, 17:27
Matt Pell played for Nathalia a couple of weeks ago during a bye in VFL, heard a very strong rumor that he will be headed back to the country for the rest of the year, as he is sick of the bullants.
would be more then a handy pick up heading in to the back end of the season.

journeyman
26 Jun 2006, 17:31
Matt Pell played for Nathalia a couple of weeks ago during a bye in VFL, heard a very strong rumor that he will be headed back to the country for the rest of the year, as he is sick of the bullants.
would be more then a handy pick up heading in to the back end of the season.

Pelly is a damm good player. He's been at Bullants for three years but he's originally from Nathalia.

Not sure if he'll quit Bullants but I know he's close to it.

At the very least, Nathalia will have him for finals

fish1
26 Jun 2006, 17:41
Journeyman he is very close after an incident last week where pell missed an offical function and was fined for not turning up, his car broke down.

That was just about the final straw i hear.

Will make the purps hard to beat come finals.

journeyman
26 Jun 2006, 18:19
Journeyman he is very close after an incident last week where pell missed an offical function and was fined for not turning up, his car broke down.

That was just about the final straw i hear.

Will make the purps hard to beat come finals.

I hadn't heard about the incident but I know he is a very honest fella. If he said his car broke down, it would have.

It's tough to fine blokes when they play twos and get paid bugger all.

He adds a fair bit of class to nathalia.

footynuts99
26 Jun 2006, 22:04
Mate you have just basically repeated your post from before^^, and i have answered all your questions and queries! Read my post 3 up from this.

Echuca's coach is Mark Heritage. He used to play for Echuca in thr GVFL but vame over to United. No. 23 is Anthony Baker, who also came over from Echuca.

footynuts99
26 Jun 2006, 22:11
why would it be troy muir when they asked that. my name is will smith from Xavier College are these rumours true

i went to school with troy muir. bit older than me though.

T.Perry
27 Jun 2006, 17:22
Looks like Nathalia may have a bit of added depth, with the apparent signing of Rushworth Premiership player, and ex-Tongala and Rochester recruit, Troy Snelson..Very hard at it, fit and determined midfielder..Should provide a lot of grunt to the purps...

willo1
27 Jun 2006, 20:12
Looks like Nathalia may have a bit of added depth, with the apparent signing of Rushworth Premiership player, and ex-Tongala and Rochester recruit, Troy Snelson..Very hard at it, fit and determined midfielder..Should provide a lot of grunt to the purps...

Ahh just when i thought Nathalia couldn't get any stronger they go and pick up one, possibly two extra superstars. Sheesh!

Yaaablett
28 Jun 2006, 10:33
Big reunion at Deni this weekend- 76,85,86,96 premiership teams. Dinner Friday and the game v Cobram on Saturday, with a few beers if the weather is warm enough! Any on here going?

T.Perry
29 Jun 2006, 13:07
nathalia haven't got their 2 new recruits just yet..Apparently Snelson's first clearance has been knocked back (he's putting in another one before this saturday), and the bullants are refusing to let Matty Pell go back and play for the purps...instead making him sit on the pine in the 2's..

Also, the purps might be in a bit of strife with regards to Pell playing the other week, apparently the bullants were supposed to fill out some forms and filled them out incorrectly...could be costly for the purps...

willo1
29 Jun 2006, 14:06
nathalia haven't got their 2 new recruits just yet..Apparently Snelson's first clearance has been knocked back (he's putting in another one before this saturday), and the bullants are refusing to let Matty Pell go back and play for the purps...instead making him sit on the pine in the 2's..

Also, the purps might be in a bit of strife with regards to Pell playing the other week, apparently the bullants were supposed to fill out some forms and filled them out incorrectly...could be costly for the purps...

Thanks for the update Tav. So does that mean that Nathalia could potentially lose the premiership points for that match?

journeyman
29 Jun 2006, 14:12
Thanks for the update Tav. So does that mean that Nathalia could potentially lose the premiership points for that match?

Yeah, it looks as though they will loose the pints against Rumbulara. I think Rumba will get them but i'm not sure.

Nathalia will be trying to do what they can to not loose the points but it doesn't look good.

boora
29 Jun 2006, 14:50
Yeah, it looks as though they will loose the pints against Rumbulara. I think Rumba will get them but i'm not sure.

Nathalia will be trying to do what they can to not loose the points but it doesn't look good.

The same thing happened to rumba last year, clint edwards played nth ballarat and rumba didn't do the appropriate paperwork and rumba lost the points against dookie.

i don't think rumba would like to receive the points that way, they would know how it feels to lose points. But hey you should make sure that the paperwork is completed properly before you play players.

journeyman
29 Jun 2006, 16:01
The same thing happened to rumba last year, clint edwards played nth ballarat and rumba didn't do the appropriate paperwork and rumba lost the points against dookie.

i don't think rumba would like to receive the points that way, they would know how it feels to lose points. But hey you should make sure that the paperwork is completed properly before you play players.

You're right, they have to make sure.

Just on Rumbulara, they cop a fair bit of flak but the people at Nathalia were full of praise for them when they played at Nathalia about two weeks ago.

They said they were doing great things for the community and were pretty strict on discipline.

Appartently two young blokes in the under-14s went a little crazy belting blokes etc but their umpire called off the game and those two were told not to come back to the club.

boora
29 Jun 2006, 17:03
You're right, they have to make sure.

Just on Rumbulara, they cop a fair bit of flak but the people at Nathalia were full of praise for them when they played at Nathalia about two weeks ago.

They said they were doing great things for the community and were pretty strict on discipline.

Appartently two young blokes in the under-14s went a little crazy belting blokes etc but their umpire called off the game and those two were told not to come back to the club.

they have been big on discipline this year, they have even told players that there not welcome where as in the past they would of just let it slide thats always a good thing.

The murray league has been good for the club and the general consensus amongst all clubs has been really good feedback.

It's just about breaking down the barriers that seem to exist between Koorie and non koorie people and that is something that rumba are continuing to do throughout the GV region and which will not only benefit rumba but the whole region.

Dallas Terlich, Phil Guthrie and Adrian Hickmott are proof of this and i heard a rumour that they may have an ex GVFL coach with AFL experience, has enquired about the CEO job at the club there just in talks with him at the moment so that will be a good thing of they pull that off.

Doona2
29 Jun 2006, 17:21
they have been big on discipline this year, they have even told players that there not welcome where as in the past they would of just let it slide thats always a good thing.

The murray league has been good for the club and the general consensus amongst all clubs has been really good feedback.

It's just about breaking down the barriers that seem to exist between Koorie and non koorie people and that is something that rumba are continuing to do throughout the GV region and which will not only benefit rumba but the whole region.

Dallas Terlich, Phil Guthrie and Adrian Hickmott are proof of this and i heard a rumour that they may have an ex GVFL coach with AFL experience, has enquired about the CEO job at the club there just in talks with him at the moment so that will be a good thing of they pull that off.

I must admit I too wasn't a big fan of Rumba for different reasons, but I too have heard they are really doing well under the guidance of Adrian Hickmott - not to mention Mr. Briggs who I've always said was the ideal man to have as a leader and president.

boora
29 Jun 2006, 17:36
I must admit I too wasn't a big fan of Rumba for different reasons, but I too have heard they are really doing well under the guidance of Adrian Hickmott - not to mention Mr. Briggs who I've always said was the ideal man to have as a leader and president.

hickmott is real good for the club ie, ain't related and don't have ties with anyone and thats a good thing.

paul does alot of work for the club and cops heaps of **** from his own community/people, who just want to attack him every chance they get.

he is forever travelling up and down the hume highway trying to think of ways how to better the club and all of this is done out of his own pocket how many pople would do this.

The local koorie community are forever bagging the club and not wanting to support it, gee alot of other communities would love to have the club and paul doing that stuff in there regions.

willo1
30 Jun 2006, 20:39
My tips for Round 13:
Deniliquin v Cobram
Nathalia v Moama
Finley v Mulwala
Barooga v Rumbalara
Echuca United v Tocumwal
Numurkah v Congupna
Tongala Bye

Deni easily over Cobram, Nathalia comfortably against Moama, Finley could push Mulwala at home, Barooga will bo too good for Rumbalara, Echuca United in a good game versus Tocumwal and Numurkah in a very close game against Congupna.

For those who hadn't noticed or heard, Nathalia have officially had their 4 pts taken off them from the game vs Rumbalara for not filling in the appropriate paperwork for Matt Pell from the Bullants to play that game.

Sippawitz
4 Jul 2006, 12:01

It seems the purps got their man on the second attempt. MFL transfers list has Listed troy Snelson cleared to nathalia on June 29th.

Did he have a falling out with the club, or just getting on the Nathalia bandwagon?
Did he play on the weekend?

T.Perry
4 Jul 2006, 12:19
It seems the purps got their man on the second attempt. MFL transfers list has Listed troy Snelson cleared to nathalia on June 29th.

Did he have a falling out with the club, or just getting on the Nathalia bandwagon?

I'm lead to believe that he played on the weekend, but I'm not too sure how he went..There are a whole lot of different stories as to why he left Girgarree to play for Nathalia, but I haven't spoken with him about it to get the complete story...I do know that his best mate (Walsh) plays for Nathalia, and that Troy does enjoy playing in successful sides (but who doesn't), and that there was a rumour that after the deadline, all of Girgarree's recruits were going to receive a massive pay cut...I'm guessing all of these factors played a part...apparently the purps weren't far off getting him at the start of the year, as well..

Travvy43
4 Jul 2006, 12:21
I'm lead to believe that he played on the weekend, but I'm not too sure how he went..There are a whole lot of different stories as to why he left Girgarree to play for Nathalia, but I haven't spoken with him about it to get the complete story...I do know that his best mate (Walsh) plays for Nathalia, and that Troy does enjoy playing in successful sides (but who doesn't), and that there was a rumour that after the deadline, all of Girgarree's recruits were going to receive a massive pay cut...I'm guessing all of these factors played a part...apparently the purps weren't far off getting him at the start of the year, as well..

there is a connection there with him and the nathalia coach brent smith playing a few years together at Tongala.

journeyman
4 Jul 2006, 12:21

Nathalia got Snelson a day before the cut off from Gigarre. I understand Snelson was unhappy at Gigarre because of promises they had made which he felt hadn't come through.

The Nathalia connection comes from Brendon Parker. Parker coached him at Tongala and Snelson has been keen to play with him again. Nathalia tried at the start of the year but he was offered big money at Gig.

Apparently he's a really good player and was impressive against Moama on weekend. Nathalia lack depth but with Snelson and Lucas in the team it sures them up a bit.

T.Perry
4 Jul 2006, 12:24
Nathalia got Snelson a day before the cut off from Gigarre. I understand Snelson was unhappy at Gigarre because of promises they had made which he felt hadn't come through.

The Nathalia connection comes from Brendon Parker. Parker coached him at Tongala and Snelson has been keen to play with him again. Nathalia tried at the start of the year but he was offered big money at Gig.

Apparently he's a really good player and was impressive against Moama on weekend. Nathalia lack depth but with Snelson and Lucas in the team it sures them up a bit.

Hey journeyman - any updates on the Pell situation? Is he a chance to finish the year with the purps?

journeyman
4 Jul 2006, 12:52
Hey journeyman - any updates on the Pell situation? Is he a chance to finish the year with the purps?

He played agiain on the weekend and went well. I'm still not sure what's going on. Apparently the Bullants have said he is a required player but he's played the past 3-4 for Nathalia.

The Bullants aren't looking out for him, they're only using him - you know what VFL clubs are like.

bomberboy_19
5 Jul 2006, 19:35
hey guys, can any one tell me if there is a limit of games you can in seniors so that you can play reserves finals...??? or if you play over a certtain number of games in seniors so that you can't play reserves finals... thanks

cfscores
5 Jul 2006, 21:07
hey guys, can any one tell me if there is a limit of games you can in seniors so that you can play reserves finals...??? or if you play over a certtain number of games in seniors so that you can't play reserves finals... thanks

From my time playing in the Murray FL (finished in 2004) I'm fairly sure that if you played more than 8 senior games you couldn't play reserves finals unless both senior and reserve teams where in the finals.

Don't quote me, as things may have changed but I'm pretty confident that was the ruling.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
CFScores:)

Sippawitz
6 Jul 2006, 16:03
Does anyone have the official word on how the finals will operate this year, with a final 6 instead of 5?

willo1
6 Jul 2006, 16:59
Does anyone have the official word on how the finals will operate this year, with a final 6 instead of 5?

This is how the finals opperate with the top 6:

Week 1: Elimination 3 v 6 & 4 v 5

Week 2: 1st Semi Final between the winners of Elim. Finals (Sunday) & 2nd Semi Final 1 v 2 (Saturday)

Week 3: Preliminary Final between the loser of 2nd Semi v winner of 1st Semi

Week 4: Grand Final between winner of 2nd Semi v winner of Preliminary

Hope that helps.;)

Doona2
7 Jul 2006, 14:29
Driving force

July 7 2006
Shepparton News

The push to establish an Echucabased competition is being spearheaded by disgruntled Central Murray Football League clubs Leitchville-Gunbower, Koondrook-Barham and Cohuna.

The trio, along with Mathoura, Moama and Lockington-Bamawm United have spent the past six months exploring the logistics behind creating the league.

The working party recently released a three-page document outlining the possible framework, including minimum number of clubs, administration structure and even availability of umpires.

It is hoped the prospectus will help clubs make an informed decision about the new league.

FALLING FLAT

July 7 2006
Shepparton News

The push to establish a new Echucabased football league appears doomed.
A News survey yesterday revealed the ambitious proposal doesn't have the necessary support at club level to become a reality.

At least four of the 11 clubs pivotal to the project's success have indicated a reluctance to sever their current allegiances and form a new league.

The Deniliquin Rovers, Echuca United, Picola United and Tongala are all expected to reject an official invitation to join the new venture.

"We've talked about this on several occasions and we're absolutely not interested," Echuca United president Robin Rowbottom said yesterday.

"We're more than happy in the Murray league and we think this proposed move would be a big step backwards."

Deni Rovers counterpart Michael Fleming agreed, saying his club would prefer to remain in Picola District Football League.

"While we're not delighted with the current 15-club composition, we see our future in the Picola league," Fleming said.

"We think there would be too great a gap in the standard of the clubs earmarked for the Echuca league."

Deni Rovers, Echuca United, Picola United and Tongala have all been earmarked as potential foundation members of the proposed league, along with Pyramid Hill, Moama, Mathoura, LeitchvilleGunbower, Lockington-Bamawm United, Cohuna Kangas and Koondrook.

Victorian Country Football League official Alan Davies has spent the past week gauging the level of support that exists for the venture.

Davies, along with fellow VCFL representative John O'Donohue, has been pitching the new league to several clubs throughout the Goulburn Murray region.

The new league will only become a reality if at least 10 clubs pledge their support.

Davies said a vote would be taken by the end of the month and a definitive decision made one way or the other.

"By the end of July we'll know if we're going to push ahead or defer discussions for another 12 months," he said.

journeyman
7 Jul 2006, 14:40
Driving force

July 7 2006
Shepparton News

The push to establish an Echucabased competition is being spearheaded by disgruntled Central Murray Football League clubs Leitchville-Gunbower, Koondrook-Barham and Cohuna.

The trio, along with Mathoura, Moama and Lockington-Bamawm United have spent the past six months exploring the logistics behind creating the league.

The working party recently released a three-page document outlining the possible framework, including minimum number of clubs, administration structure and even availability of umpires.

It is hoped the prospectus will help clubs make an informed decision about the new league.

FALLING FLAT

July 7 2006
Shepparton News

The push to establish a new Echucabased football league appears doomed.
A News survey yesterday revealed the ambitious proposal doesn't have the necessary support at club level to become a reality.

At least four of the 11 clubs pivotal to the project's success have indicated a reluctance to sever their current allegiances and form a new league.

The Deniliquin Rovers, Echuca United, Picola United and Tongala are all expected to reject an official invitation to join the new venture.

"We've talked about this on several occasions and we're absolutely not interested," Echuca United president Robin Rowbottom said yesterday.

"We're more than happy in the Murray league and we think this proposed move would be a big step backwards."

Deni Rovers counterpart Michael Fleming agreed, saying his club would prefer to remain in Picola District Football League.

"While we're not delighted with the current 15-club composition, we see our future in the Picola league," Fleming said.

"We think there would be too great a gap in the standard of the clubs earmarked for the Echuca league."

Deni Rovers, Echuca United, Picola United and Tongala have all been earmarked as potential foundation members of the proposed league, along with Pyramid Hill, Moama, Mathoura, LeitchvilleGunbower, Lockington-Bamawm United, Cohuna Kangas and Koondrook.

Victorian Country Football League official Alan Davies has spent the past week gauging the level of support that exists for the venture.

Davies, along with fellow VCFL representative John O'Donohue, has been pitching the new league to several clubs throughout the Goulburn Murray region.

The new league will only become a reality if at least 10 clubs pledge their support.

Davies said a vote would be taken by the end of the month and a definitive decision made one way or the other.

"By the end of July we'll know if we're going to push ahead or defer discussions for another 12 months," he said.

What do you reckon Doona, could it work?

I see they said they need 10 clubs. Wouldn't eight be enough for a start and try and poach a couple as time goes on. They alread have 6 keen.

willo1
7 Jul 2006, 17:16
What do you reckon Doona, could it work?

I see they said they need 10 clubs. Wouldn't eight be enough for a start and try and poach a couple as time goes on. They alread have 6 keen.

In my opinion, it really wouldnt work. I have been giving this issue a bit of thought over the last few weeks and thought about this situation. I see that the Coreen & District Football League is home to only 7 clubs. Would it be possible for clubs like the Deniliquin Rovers, Mathoura, Berrigan and possibly a couple of the other Picola League teams to head to the Coreen DFL? I'm not 100% sure on the geographical position that the Coreen league is centered around but it isnt that far from Deni, is it?
Looking at the results of the latest round of the Picola District Football League, surely there needs to be a re-shuffle of the teams at the end of this season. 15 teams, and each of the games were an absolute blow out.
Could teams like Cohuna and Leitchville-Gunbower head into the Heathcote District Football League?

themagicfrog
7 Jul 2006, 17:20
In my opinion, it really wouldnt work. I have been giving this issue a bit of thought over the last few weeks and thought about this situation. I see that the Coreen & District Football League is home to only 7 clubs. Would it be possible for clubs like the Deniliquin Rovers, Mathoura, Berrigan and possibly a couple of the other Picola League teams to head to the Coreen DFL? I'm not 100% sure on the geographical position that the Coreen league is centered around but it isnt that far from Deni, is it?
Looking at the results of the latest round of the Picola District Football League, surely there needs to be a re-shuffle of the teams at the end of this season. 15 teams, and each of the games were an absolute blow out.
Could teams like Cohuna and Leitchville-Gunbower head into the Heathcote District Football League?

the Picola teams don't want to join the CDFL, the CDFL teams should be looking at comming over to the PDFL.

journeyman
7 Jul 2006, 17:41
the Picola teams don't want to join the CDFL, the CDFL teams should be looking at comming over to the PDFL.

THe Picola league couldn't take in more clubs. It's too lobsided as it is now.

Are mergers the option? Berrigan seem to be struggling but clubs in the Riverina are quite isolated.

What about two divisions??

I find it strange that Shepp East didn't come into the Murray league which would have made it 14 team in both the Picola and Murray leagues.

When Rumbulara goes to GV league I reckon Shepp East should come into the Murray League.

willo1
7 Jul 2006, 18:40

I find it strange that Shepp East didn't come into the Murray league which would have made it 14 team in both the Picola and Murray leagues.

When Rumbulara goes to GV league I reckon Shepp East should come into the Murray League.

Correct.

Great Idea.

Interesting point. Not sure why they didnt join the MFL.

Rumbalara wont enter the GVFL. Shep East should just enter the MFL and make an even number of clubs.

My Shout
7 Jul 2006, 22:12
New to Bigfooty fellas sorry if this has already been talked about (cant be stuffed going through all the posts) can anyone let me know how Stevos going at Mulwala this year, any chance for the medal?

willo1
7 Jul 2006, 23:01
New to Bigfooty fellas sorry if this has already been talked about (cant be stuffed going through all the posts) can anyone let me know how Stevos going at Mulwala this year, any chance for the medal?
Going pretty well. Injured his leg againsed Echuca United in round 2 and missed about 5 games. So could have missed the chance to nab some votes.

Doona2
8 Jul 2006, 01:27

Are mergers the option? Berrigan seem to be struggling but clubs in the Riverina are quite isolated.

As Ive said for close to two years, Mr O'Donohue and co. need to completely revamp country football in the North East, realign clubs and leagues with some geographic common sense or we'll see more clubs struggle in the not to distant future.

On the other topic, I reckon Shepp East would be very competitive in the MFL so yeah I thought it a bit strange they didnt go there with Rumba

themonkeybutlers
8 Jul 2006, 10:47
"Deni Rovers, Echuca United, Picola United and Tongala have all been earmarked as potential foundation members of the proposed league, along with Pyramid Hill, Moama, Mathoura, LeitchvilleGunbower, Lockington-Bamawm United, Cohuna Kangas and Koondrook"

Isn't this proposal basically the old Northern and Echuca Football League?

willo1
8 Jul 2006, 11:50
"Deni Rovers, Echuca United, Picola United and Tongala have all been earmarked as potential foundation members of the proposed league, along with Pyramid Hill, Moama, Mathoura, LeitchvilleGunbower, Lockington-Bamawm United, Cohuna Kangas and Koondrook"

Isn't this proposal basically the old Northern and Echuca Football League?
Correct, with the exception of Deniliquin, Tongala, Mathoura, Picola United and a couple of others.

hank1
15 Jul 2006, 20:58
Results today
Echuca United 12.13 (85) v Rumbalara 6.4 (40)
Numurkah 7.4 (46) v Tocumwal 12.6 (78)
Congupna 11.9 (75) v Tongala 4.10 (34)

Toc's win keep them in the running for finals, and Numurkah are starting to stumble again the same as last year.

Wilbur
17 Jul 2006, 16:40
Can someone help out with Mulwala`s fixture for the rest of the season? Particularly dates & opposition for their home games - For some reason I cannot access the leagues website.
Cheers
Wilbur

willo1
17 Jul 2006, 16:45
Can someone help out with Mulwala`s fixture for the rest of the season? Particularly dates & opposition for their home games - For some reason I cannot access the leagues website.
Cheers
Wilbur
Try this: http://www.mfl.vcfl.com.au/drawresult.asp?comp=3964&OrgID=95

ringo1
17 Jul 2006, 18:13
Willo how are the new sides going in their first season and who are there better players? Do you think Nathalia can be beaten

willo1
17 Jul 2006, 19:25
Willo how are the new sides going in their first season and who are there better players? Do you think Nathalia can be beaten
Both Tongala and Rumbalara are going well in their opening season in the MFL. Tongala are developing well and coach Harrison is giving the young kids pelnty of opportunities to show their wares and strengthen the future of the club. Mark Reid, Ash Nunn, Shannon Tucker, Brad Tinning and Brett Henderson have been solid contributers for the season so far. Rumbalara are also going reasonably well. Players who have stood tall are Brad Firebrace, Jarrod Atkinson, Phil Guthrie and youngster Peter Harrison. Both clubs, particularly Tongala are focussing more on the development of the club for the future, rather than direct success within the next 18 months.

As for Nathalia, yes I do believe they are beatable. Although they are a well drilled unit, there are clubs such as Mulwala and Echuca United which at full capacity would be capable of defeating Nathalia. They are one of the few remaining country footy clubs that have a group of guys that want to play footy without worrying about the amount of kanga they collect after the game. Although there would be a bit of coin thrown around the place, they are quite simply a successful club. My honest Grand Final prediction is Nathalia and Echuca United to play off on the last day in September.

ringo1
18 Jul 2006, 08:28
Willo 1 you have given a great overview.Thanks. I see on the country footy scores site that you guys play Mulwala this week. I assume that could really decide who has the best chance to topple nathalia. also heard a strong rumour that the Seymour coach has been offered the nathalia role next season. Will your coach be staying?

willo1
18 Jul 2006, 09:20
Willo 1 you have given a great overview.Thanks. I see on the country footy scores site that you guys play Mulwala this week. I assume that could really decide who has the best chance to topple nathalia. also heard a strong rumour that the Seymour coach has been offered the nathalia role next season. Will your coach be staying?
No worries mate, pleasure to help. Yeah travelling over to Mulwala this weekend. We are capable of toppling them, as we did in Round. 2. But it will be a different game over there and we will adapt to that. As for our coach staying on next season I'm not actually 100% sure, so I honestly couln't tell you.

hank1
18 Jul 2006, 11:52
Travis Hampshire has signed on for another year at the Road. Has done a great job this year to have them in contention for a finals spot.

King_Cobra
18 Jul 2006, 12:49
Just wanna know how Rob Resuggan and the boys at the deni rams are travelling?

hank1
18 Jul 2006, 13:52
Just wanna know how Rob Resuggan and the boys at the deni rams are travelling?

Deni are 5 and 7 and I'd say out of the finals race as they only play one side below them to finish the year off. Only one win away from home hasnt helped.
Resuggan must be going alright, picked in the NSW state squad.

ringo1
18 Jul 2006, 14:02
Deni are 5 and 7 and I'd say out of the finals race as they only play one side below them to finish the year off. Only one win away from home hasnt helped.
Resuggan must be going alright, picked in the NSW state squad.

just going through transfer lists from other leagues and see that he attempted to gain a transfer to Navarre-( home of Tim Notting) around June 30. Perhaps he is unhappy there. I don't know anything about him as a player though.

King_Cobra
18 Jul 2006, 14:27
just going through transfer lists from other leagues and see that he attempted to gain a transfer to Navarre-( home of Tim Notting) around June 30. Perhaps he is unhappy there. I don't know anything about him as a player though.

What league is that in. Iknow he was offered big money else where over summer...

King_Cobra
18 Jul 2006, 14:29
do u guys have an offical website?

King_Cobra
18 Jul 2006, 14:31

who does that squad play. is it just from ur league that they r picked from?

ringo1
18 Jul 2006, 14:32
What league is that in. Iknow he was offered big money else where over summer...

The Lexton football league.

King_Cobra
18 Jul 2006, 14:39
The Lexton football league.

is that a nsw league or a vic league

ringo1
18 Jul 2006, 14:48
is that a nsw league or a vic league

Victoria-district league nth west from Ballarat.Does draw players from Ballarat and that area

willo1
18 Jul 2006, 16:44
do u guys have an offical website?
Murray Football League: www.mfl.vcfl.com.au
Each of the clubs in the VCFL are assigned their own wesbite, but a lot of the clubs do not update or maintain them, and Deni are one of them unfortunately.

Goorooswami
19 Jul 2006, 02:26
Willo

You seem to be pretty confident about Echuca Uninted chances come finals time. Obviously you play for them and you have to be a bit bias in you views but what about Barooga? For what its worth, I think the GF will be between Nathalia and either Barooga or Mulwala. If Mulwala manages to get a full team on the park (apparantly 6 out at the moment) they could be a dark horse. Ran them to within 3 goals a month or so ago after giving them a 10 goal head start.
Barooga are a tough side and if they get on a roll with big Moose Brooks leading the way anything is possible.
Will be an interesting game EU vs Mul this weekend with the winner near on guaranteed a spot in the top 3 with a chance at 2nd.

Cheers Gooroo

hank1
19 Jul 2006, 14:42
Willo

You seem to be pretty confident about Echuca Uninted chances come finals time. Obviously you play for them and you have to be a bit bias in you views but what about Barooga? For what its worth, I think the GF will be between Nathalia and either Barooga or Mulwala. If Mulwala manages to get a full team on the park (apparantly 6 out at the moment) they could be a dark horse. Ran them to within 3 goals a month or so ago after giving them a 10 goal head start.
Barooga are a tough side and if they get on a roll with big Moose Brooks leading the way anything is possible.
Will be an interesting game EU vs Mul this weekend with the winner near on guaranteed a spot in the top 3 with a chance at 2nd.

Cheers Gooroo

Would have Nathalia and Echuca United as the two best sides I've seen this year, only side havent come across is Mulwala will see them in a couple of weeks. Nathalia by far the best onball(Gemmill's, Barnes, Lucas) in the league and United the best forward line McCarty, Campbell, Hueston, Reyne, Turner, Rowbottom) if all are fit.

willo1
19 Jul 2006, 17:09
Willo

Cheers Gooroo

Yeah I am confident about United but it is not a biased opinion, It is an honest opinion. I do not belive that Barooga have that little bit extra to be successful come finals. They suffered a huge blow when Ramadan Yze returned to his original club (one of the Shep sides). I still stand by my word. Nathalia and Echuca United, Tocumwal, 28th September.

Would have Nathalia and Echuca United as the two best sides I've seen this year, only side havent come across is Mulwala will see them in a couple of weeks. Nathalia by far the best onball(Gemmill's, Barnes, Lucas) in the league and United the best forward line McCarty, Campbell, Hueston, Reyne, Turner, Rowbottom) if all are fit.

I would agree 100% with you on everything you have said there hank.

ringo1
19 Jul 2006, 21:10
talk up all the sides you want guys, no one is getting near nathalia. I just cant see who can stop their onball division and who will stop parker. the defence is tight and all runners go all day with no passengers. this would be the certainty in country footy if you had to pick it.

willo1
19 Jul 2006, 22:15
talk up all the sides you want guys, no one is getting near nathalia. I just cant see who can stop their onball division and who will stop parker. the defence is tight and all runners go all day with no passengers. this would be the certainty in country footy if you had to pick it.

Although you say no-one is getting near Nathalia, looking at results so far this year, there is every possibility that they can be beaten.
In Round 1, Mulwala 11.15 (81) def Barooga 8.11 (59).
In Round 2, Echuca United 16.5 (101) def Mulwala 14.14 (98).
In Round 5, Nathalia 11.15 (81) def Barooga 11.6 (72), Only a 9 point buffer and Parker only kicked 4 goals, so obviously someone did the job on him.
In Round 6, Nathalia 17.6 (108) def Echuca United 10.11 (71), although it was a 37 point win, Parker had only kicked 3 goals until 3 qtr time. Campbell had done the job on him for those 3 quarters but was moved to the centre in the final term. United got within 17 points of Nathalia but couldn't quite pull it off. Also in Round 6, Tocumwal 19.14 (128) def Mulwala 12.4 (76). Although Toc have struggled with a couple of injuries, they arn't as good as people say Mulwala are.
In Round 8 Echuca United 10.11 (71) def Barooga 10.9 (69). If it wasnt for United's snow start and the fact they were without Campbell in the last quarter show that they were capable of a bigger winning margin. After a 6 goal first quarter, Barooga only kicked 4.4 after quarter time.
In Round 10, Nathalia 17.11 (113) def Tocumwal 5.3 (33), this shows that Tocumwal must be the goods against Mulwala, but not so great against Nathalia.
In Round 12, Nathalia 19.6 (120) def Mulwala 16.7 (103). Only a 17 point margin, shows that Mulwala were capable of defeating Nathalia, Parker kicking only 4 goals.
In Round 14, Barooga 13.5 (83) def Mulwala 9.8 (62). So Barooga are capable of defeating Mulwala.

Basically, above are the figures, now here is the summary. Nathalia are a great side, dont get me wrong but there are teams who can and have gotten near them. Mulwala, Echuca United and even Barooga have the firepower to A) Hinder Parker's impact on the game, and B) Defeat Nathalia. Although teams can have off days and do occasionally drop games that they perhaps should have won, but there is the total possibility of Nathalia being defeated.

Goorooswami
20 Jul 2006, 02:09
Willo

Great summation and wrap of what has happened in the league so far. The major point you highlited though was that Nathalia haven't been beaten yet. When Parker has an off day and only kick 4, the Gemmills are down a bit and the other 15 top players have a bit of a bad day, they still manage to win even if sides are getting close to them. Great side that will take a fair bit to shake.
Got a whisper from a loyal Lion fan that they will have 4 back in the 1s (FF, C, RR & CHB - fairly handy returns) and another few in the 2s. I wouldn't mind having a quid that they roll you blokes on the weekend in both grades. Are you playing? If so where abouts? Might get over and have a look if possible.

Cheers Goorooswami

willo1
20 Jul 2006, 09:20
Willo

Great summation and wrap of what has happened in the league so far. The major point you highlited though was that Nathalia haven't been beaten yet. When Parker has an off day and only kick 4, the Gemmills are down a bit and the other 15 top players have a bit of a bad day, they still manage to win even if sides are getting close to them. Great side that will take a fair bit to shake.
Got a whisper from a loyal Lion fan that they will have 4 back in the 1s (FF, C, RR & CHB - fairly handy returns) and another few in the 2s. I wouldn't mind having a quid that they roll you blokes on the weekend in both grades. Are you playing? If so where abouts? Might get over and have a look if possible.

Cheers Goorooswami

Thanks mate,
Yes, I know they havn't yet been defeated, but one of the points I was trying to get at is I dont believe it will be too long before they suffer defeat either in the second half of the season or even finals.
United have players such as Baker, Nuttal, Jones, Campbell, Hueston, Guinan and Frost who are more than capable of limiting the possession of the likes of Barnes, Butler, the Gemmil brothers and Trimby. Big Dalzeil has the experience and head smarts to be competitive against Lucas.
As for Mulwala, Nathan Parker, Chris Kennedy, Michael Stevens and Justin McCabe are huge contributers for the Lions each week and also have enough to beat the Purps.
Yeah come over and have a look. I'm not sure yet if i'm in the Seniors or Thirds this week, as both games are crucial in deciding if we finish in the top two. If im in seniors, look for a lightly built winger/flanker wearing #44.;)

journeyman
20 Jul 2006, 11:21
All good points you blokes make about Nathalia. Nathalia gets Kyle Gemmill back this week and he is just as important to the team as his cousins Ash, Nath and Marc.

He doesn't get the recognition they get because he plays in defence. He's the most courageous player I've seen and with Bourke, Liddell and him back in the team their backline looks a lot stronger.

It's also only a couple of weeks to Happy Quarrell returns. He gives plenty of bite and nastiness to the team.

The top four in the league looks very even.

willo1
21 Jul 2006, 17:56
Tips for Round 15:
Deniliquin v Nathalia
Cobram v Finley
Moama v Barooga
Mulwala v Echuca United
Rumbalara v Numurkah
Tocumwal v Tongala
Congupna Bye

Some tough hit outs this weekend. Echuca United in a blockbuster against Mulwala, and Tongala to give Tocumwal a red hot go.

azza32
21 Jul 2006, 20:26
how do the brothers from barooga go? Rowan and Damion O'Callaghan that is??

willo1
21 Jul 2006, 21:49
how do the brothers from barooga go? Rowan and Damion O'Callaghan that is??
The O'Callagahan boys are both having a solid season. Rowan is chipping in with a couple of goals each week and Damion is also going well. Both very hard at it and solid contributers for the Hawks.

hank1
23 Jul 2006, 16:53
Tips for Round 15:
Deniliquin v Nathalia
Cobram v Finley
Moama v Barooga
Mulwala v Echuca United
Rumbalara v Numurkah
Tocumwal v Tongala
Congupna Bye

Some tough hit outs this weekend. Echuca United in a blockbuster against Mulwala, and Tongala to give Tocumwal a red hot go.

Willo should have left that little quote off the end.
What happened in your game, heard Stevens and Cooper were injured late, Toc were very good, too quick and committed for our blokes, very disappointing performance.

willo1
23 Jul 2006, 17:37
Willo should have left that little quote off the end.
What happened in your game, heard Stevens and Cooper were injured late, Toc were very good, too quick and committed for our blokes, very disappointing performance.
Yeah I thought your boys would have performed a lot better than they did. As in Round 2, Stevens injured his leg late in the 3rd quarter. It was a tough game but unfortunately we didnt come home with the 4 points. I still believe that United are a stronger unit, but did not capitalise on its chances throughout the game.

Goorooswami
23 Jul 2006, 22:02
G Day all MFL supporters (& Willow)

Took the chance to have a look at the Echuca U- 3rd vs Mulwala -4th game and what a ripper it was. It was one of the fastest, highly skilled & tough games I have seen for a long time. Willow - I think your comments are bordering on being very biased because of a few things I saw. 1- The EU forward line as a combined unit is probably the best bar none in the MFL BUT if they all want to be receivers and not do the hard work the team will suffer. Dissapointed with the games of Campbell & Reyne but impressed with Baker & Hueston. 2 - At 3/4 time I made my way to the EU huddle to have a look. At this stage when the game was in the balance & a big blue had just finished, I thought it would have been a perfect chance for Heritage to settle the troops and get their minds back on the job. Instead he was wanting to have a blue with a Mulwala supporter who had made their way to the EU huddle. I don't know if he has the support from the players or not but seems like he could be a bit of a loose cannon and costly to the club sometimes.
After the game my tip for the finals is Nathalia V Barooga or Mulwala with EU finishing in around 4th spot.
Willow - you also mentioned capatalising on chances, Mul had 10 more scoring shot so maybee you were lucky to get within 4 goals.
Apparantley Stephens has a broken leg and Cooper a suspected broken cheek bone so Mulwalas horror run of injuries continue.

In the 2s EU-3rd Vs Mul4th was also an interesting game with Mul running away with it in the end. For Mul, O&M and MFL legend Dennis Phibbs gathered countless possesions on the wing while big Bennett was unstopable up forward. For EU I thought big Brownlie did a top job in the ruck and Weetra played his usual livewire game.

The 3rds was another top game with EU 2nd Vs Mul 4th going hard at it. EU seemed to have the size advantage all over the ground but Mul seemed the more disiplined team and come away with the 4 points. Willow - It looks as though a good feed would not hurt you! All the best for the rest of the year.

Cheers Goorooswami

willo1
23 Jul 2006, 22:22
G Day all MFL supporters (& Willow)

Took the chance to have a look at the Echuca U- 3rd vs Mulwala -4th game and what a ripper it was. It was one of the fastest, highly skilled & tough games I have seen for a long time. Willow - I think your comments are bordering on being very biased because of a few things I saw. 1- The EU forward line as a combined unit is probably the best bar none in the MFL BUT if they all want to be receivers and not do the hard work the team will suffer. Dissapointed with the games of Campbell & Reyne but impressed with Baker & Hueston. 2 - At 3/4 time I made my way to the EU huddle to have a look. At this stage when the game was in the balance & a big blue had just finished, I thought it would have been a perfect chance for Heritage to settle the troops and get their minds back on the job. Instead he was wanting to have a blue with a Mulwala supporter who had made their way to the EU huddle. I don't know if he has the support from the players or not but seems like he could be a bit of a loose cannon and costly to the club sometimes.
After the game my tip for the finals is Nathalia V Barooga or Mulwala with EU finishing in around 4th spot.
Willow - you also mentioned capatalising on chances, Mul had 10 more scoring shot so maybee you were lucky to get within 4 goals.
Apparantley Stephens has a broken leg and Cooper a suspected broken cheek bone so Mulwalas horror run of injuries continue.

In the 2s EU-3rd Vs Mul4th was also an interesting game with Mul running away with it in the end. For Mul, O&M and MFL legend Dennis Phibbs gathered countless possesions on the wing while big Bennett was unstopable up forward. For EU I thought big Brownlie did a top job in the ruck and Weetra played his usual livewire game.

The 3rds was another top game with EU 2nd Vs Mul 4th going hard at it. EU seemed to have the size advantage all over the ground but Mul seemed the more disiplined team and come away with the 4 points. Willow - It looks as though a good feed would not hurt you! All the best for the rest of the year.

Cheers Goorooswami

Great summary there Gooroo. I'd say Reyne was having an off day, but Campbell was coming back from injury so it may have had an affect on the game and possibly unable to get into the swing of things. I was waiting for you to say that YOU were the Mulwala bloke who Hedge got angry with, luckily you wern't!

It's a massive coincidence that Stevens injured his leg against us, as he did in Round 2. Could be a massive blow for Mulwala's finals campaign.

It was a disapointing loss for us in the thirds. Unfortunately discipline is one of the key area's we struggle with in our games. Hopefully this can be eradicated as it will be an important factor for us heading into the finals. Haha yeah i'm trying to put on a few extra kg's! I've always been built like a whippet but this being my final year of thirds, I will have to work on my body size to make sure im a regular in the Ones next season.;)

Cheers Mate.

Sippawitz
24 Jul 2006, 10:15
Great summary there Gooroo. I'd say Reyne was having an off day, but Campbell was coming back from injury so it may have had an affect on the game and possibly unable to get into the swing of things. I was waiting for you to say that YOU were the Mulwala bloke who Hedge got angry with, luckily you wern't!

It's a massive coincidence that Stevens injured his leg against us, as he did in Round 2. Could be a massive blow for Mulwala's finals campaign.

It was a disapointing loss for us in the thirds. Unfortunately discipline is one of the key area's we struggle with in our games. Hopefully this can be eradicated as it will be an important factor for us heading into the finals. Haha yeah i'm trying to put on a few extra kg's! I've always been built like a whippet but this being my final year of thirds, I will have to work on my body size to make sure im a regular in the Ones next season.;)

Cheers Mate.
Interesting to see how people watching the same game can come away with completely different perspectives. I thought Reyne played a ripper - his attack on the pill was first class, he has a big engine and ran all day, and a few of United's other forwards could take a leaf out his book in terms of tackling and defensive pressure. I thought it was a pretty good game from him given his form has been patchy at best over the last month.
Though Nathan Rowbottom did pretty fair job on Lamberti after quarter time, but the damage was done by then - Lamberti's early goals set up the situation where United was playing catch up footy for the rest of the day.

Cracker of a game though, very willing and there'll be plenty of sore bodies around Echuca and Mul today.

Goorooswami
24 Jul 2006, 17:54
G Day Boys

I was having a read of the local rag (Shep news) today and I saw that they gave Reyne Echuca's best. I couldnt believe it as I thought Baker & Hueston were standouts.
As for Mulwala's Maher, he was a standout and won BOG honors hands down. The tackle he put on Number 16 (I think) in the last 1/4 left him wondering what world he was in or what he had been hit by. Maher looks a very tough & hard at it player.

Cheers Goorooswami.

hank1
24 Jul 2006, 18:02
At 3/4 time I made my way to the EU huddle to have a look. At this stage when the game was in the balance & a big blue had just finished, I thought it would have been a perfect chance for Heritage to settle the troops and get their minds back on the job. Instead he was wanting to have a blue with a Mulwala supporter who had made their way to the EU huddle. I don't know if he has the support from the players or not but seems like he could be a bit of a loose cannon and costly to the club sometimes.

He used to be a loose cannon as a player, but unsure of the way he goes about his coaching.

willo1
24 Jul 2006, 18:53
G Day Boys

I was having a read of the local rag (Shep news) today and I saw that they gave Reyne Echuca's best. I couldnt believe it as I thought Baker & Hueston were standouts.
As for Mulwala's Maher, he was a standout and won BOG honors hands down. The tackle he put on Number 16 (I think) in the last 1/4 left him wondering what world he was in or what he had been hit by. Maher looks a very tough & hard at it player.

Cheers Goorooswami.
That player who was tackled by Maher in the final term was Liam Guinan, no. 19. I was doing water and went straight up to him after it happened and he didn't know if he was Arthur or Marther, a true quality tackle.

ringo1
25 Jul 2006, 09:59
Disappointing to see a coach lose it when the stakes seemed so high. Perhaps this could be the difference come finals time.Incidents like these can cause changes at the top.Will he be there next year?

journeyman
25 Jul 2006, 12:15
Just wondering ive heard some good things on Luke Quinn, is he still at Nathalia? Is he any good?

He's a pretty handy player and a really good bloke. Small defender with good skills who played in Nathalia's premiership last year.

Chose to cross to Kyabram this year and he seems to be going well. His younger brother Ash plays at Nathalia and is a really good player.

Nathalia was disappointed to lose him at the end of last year as all the boys were keen to have a crack at back-to-back.

madtiger
25 Jul 2006, 18:10
Disappointing to see a coach lose it when the stakes seemed so high. Perhaps this could be the difference come finals time.Incidents like these can cause changes at the top.Will he be there next year?

Why would they not reappoint a coach who has almost single handedly recruited players like Hueston,Campbell,Baker and Reyne. I have been a EU supporter for over 10 years and before that Echuca East i can't remember the club ever having this much interst or positive vibes they barely used to get 10 to traning now they get in excess of 30. What is the problem in telling an opposition supporter who is in the huddle slagging off United players to F*** off most coaches woud do that I would think, united had a very average game but that is not the coaches fault. Cambell was coming back from a broken foot after 8 weeks on the side lines they were also missing Mcarty who has been one of their best all year.