Players invited to train at the club:

Brayden Shaw (Collingwood)
Billy Morrison (Collingwood)
Alwyn Davey (South Adelaide)
Brett Johnson (Carlton)
Ed Clarke (Sydney)

melbournemartin
6 Nov 2005, 12:16
wouldnt be interested in shaw, morrison or johnson. davey should be interesting, never heard of clarke.

Sylvia Saint
6 Nov 2005, 12:17
Brayden Shaw (Collingwood)
Former Vic Metro captain. Worth a look.

Billy Morrison (Collingwood)
Looked the goods as a junior but couldn't even get a kick for Williamstown reserves. Pass.

Alwyn Davey (South Adelaide)
Apparently he's quicker than Aaron. Yes please!

Brett Johnson (Carlton)
Dud. Pass.

Ed Clarke (Sydney)
Never heard of him.

Johnson#26
6 Nov 2005, 12:20
Are you guys sure you want big Bill? Where would he fit in your forward line of Neitz, Millar, Robbo, Yze, Davey, Green and co?

Sylvia Saint
6 Nov 2005, 12:23
He'd have to kick a few at Trevor Barker Oval first, and that could prove to be difficult with Sandy's already strong forward line.

davey_magik
6 Nov 2005, 13:59
I'd only have a look at Alwyn and maybe Shaw.
Anyone know where Clarke plays and does he have any potential?
The other two I'd pass on.

dutchy12
6 Nov 2005, 14:07
Ed Clarke
Details:
Club: North Shore/NSW
DOB: 11 June 1986 Hgt: 178cm Wgt: 91kg
Position: Ruck Rover
Natural Foot: Right

Honours:
New South Wales 2003, 2004
MVP on New South Wales 2004
All Australian 2004
State Screening Camp 2004

Strengths: Clarke is a powerful centreman who is 91kg of muscle. He is one of the best performed players in underage football this year, having dominated in the under 18 carnival, gathering 10 Morrish Medal votes in 4 games, then winning the MVP in Allies v Victoria game.

He is a freak at the stoppages, just constantly wins the ball out of the centre and pumps it forward. He is also extremely dangerous in front of goal, kicking 6 in the final carnival match. Is a long kick and has clean hands. Also a good leader and strong in the hips. Tackles very hard.

Weaknesses: Clarke's body strength compared to the other kids at this level gives him a massive advantage. Probably has little scope for improvement and lacks pace. Can get the blinkers in front of goal.

Footydraft.com comment: What to do? What to do? This guy is a man playing in a kids comp, but boy can he play. His body shape is all wrong and for every Sam Mitchell there is a David Kellett or Daniel Elstone who hasn't made it. Definitely worth a rookie list at the VERY least, but I think clubs will be too wary to draft

AllStar7
6 Nov 2005, 22:08
Ed Clarke
Details:
Club: North Shore/NSW
DOB: 11 June 1986 Hgt: 178cm Wgt: 91kg
Position: Ruck Rover
Natural Foot: Right

Honours:
New South Wales 2003, 2004
MVP on New South Wales 2004
All Australian 2004
State Screening Camp 2004

Strengths: Clarke is a powerful centreman who is 91kg of muscle. He is one of the best performed players in underage football this year, having dominated in the under 18 carnival, gathering 10 Morrish Medal votes in 4 games, then winning the MVP in Allies v Victoria game.

He is a freak at the stoppages, just constantly wins the ball out of the centre and pumps it forward. He is also extremely dangerous in front of goal, kicking 6 in the final carnival match. Is a long kick and has clean hands. Also a good leader and strong in the hips. Tackles very hard.

Weaknesses: Clarke's body strength compared to the other kids at this level gives him a massive advantage. Probably has little scope for improvement and lacks pace. Can get the blinkers in front of goal.

Footydraft.com comment: What to do? What to do? This guy is a man playing in a kids comp, but boy can he play. His body shape is all wrong and for every Sam Mitchell there is a David Kellett or Daniel Elstone who hasn't made it. Definitely worth a rookie list at the VERY least, but I think clubs will be too wary to draft

They said McLean didn't have much scope for improvement, and I'd take another 10 of him.
A clearance player = something we bloody well need.

He sounds interesting, and could be worth a try. I'd certainly look at him, Shaw and Davey. Maybe give Davey the rookie spot, and take one of Shaw or Clarke as a late pick in the ND or PSD. I'm not sure how many rookies we can afford to have this year, but IMO they are valuable assests at any club. I have a feeling Warnock can become a real player, and we've had great success with rookie listed players before.

Anyone but Woey, please.

mattyc2422
6 Nov 2005, 22:43
Good luck to BJ. Wouldn't think Melbourne would be the club where he could find a spot in the midfield though.

Johnson#26
7 Nov 2005, 06:05
I'd only have a look at Alwyn and maybe Shaw.
Anyone know where Clarke plays and does he have any potential?
The other two I'd pass on.

Brayden Shaw, given the oppotunity, will end up a good AFL footballer - Melbourne may suit him, given their need for tough/hard onballers.

CaptainDavey
7 Nov 2005, 15:38
Agreed, I'd take Davey and Shaw. Replacements for the likes of Ward, Rigoni and McDonald we gotta find, I spose we have Jamar and PJ to follow in the footsteps of Jeffery, time to put some youth injection into the midfield!

demonfire
8 Nov 2005, 19:19
Currently joining the list at Junction Oval are Jordan Barham from Gisborne, Ed Clarke from Sydney, Alwyn Davey from South Adelaide, Danny Hughes from Sandringham, Brett Johnson from Carlton, Billy Morrison from Collingwood, Sean O’Keefe from Sandringham, Brayden Shaw from Collingwood, and Brendan Van Schaik who was on Melbourne's Rookie list in 2005.

demonfire
8 Nov 2005, 19:27
They said McLean didn't have much scope for improvement, and I'd take another 10 of him.
A clearance player = something we bloody well need.

He sounds interesting, and could be worth a try. I'd certainly look at him, Shaw and Davey. Maybe give Davey the rookie spot, and take one of Shaw or Clarke as a late pick in the ND or PSD. I'm not sure how many rookies we can afford to have this year, but IMO they are valuable assests at any club. I have a feeling Warnock can become a real player, and we've had great success with rookie listed players before.

Anyone but Woey, please.

i think the others have a better chance of staying around than davey... other clubs might select davey earlier after denying aaron a spot... id take him earlier and then give shaw a rookie spot...

BT
9 Nov 2005, 16:30
Heard Robbo on SEN this Morn.

He reckons Alwyn is quicker than Aaron :eek:. Take it with a grain of salt because Robbo might've been exaggerating a tad. Robbo also said he blows up after 50 meters, so he has a long way to go. I'd like to see us rookie list him & give him a few years to develop like his big brother.

It's interesting that almost every player named has some support here. I gotta admit I have some time for Johnson, I thought his first season at Carlton was excellent. He probably has nothing special to offer us apart from depth though.

Not a huge fan of Shaw but I'd rookie him if possible.

Morrison, no way!

Clarke sounds interesting & the type we need but there are a few too many negatives there, dunno...

Bartram_Class
10 Nov 2005, 11:24
Davey is worth a rookie list spot i think.

Woudnt mind Johnson or Shaw on our list as depth players.

grimlock
10 Nov 2005, 13:33
Clarke is a big lad who dominated in the under 18 championships last year, mainly through his well built physique against mostly skinner teenagers.

This year with us, he played mostly back pocket because of the depth in our reserve midfielders and lack of injuries. He looked uncomfortable playing down back and seemed to me in the games I watched to be quite frustrated. I'm somewhat surprised he was cut because I don't think we gave him enough of an opportunity in his favoured in and under position.

Hope he makes it with the Dees.

*PAFC*13
10 Nov 2005, 14:14
He reckons Alwyn is quicker than Aaron :eek:

Absoutley no way in hell, Iv'e seen him play is NOT quicker than Aaron.

dazzledavey36
14 Nov 2005, 15:38
just wondering has anyone been going down to training to see how the boys are going??? if so how are the players who are trying out?

Marns
14 Nov 2005, 15:53
I will be going after exams and schoolies.

CaptainDavey
15 Nov 2005, 08:48
According to the Age, Michael Stevens is going to get the flick from Arden Street, worth a look do you think?

Bartram_Class
15 Nov 2005, 09:11
According to the Age, Michael Stevens is going to get the flick from Arden Street, worth a look do you think?
You'd struggle to find a bigger dud in the AFL, would be like replacing Heffernan.

davey_magik
15 Nov 2005, 13:08

Definitely not.

Theseventhhamster
15 Nov 2005, 14:04
Hell no I go to heaps of kangas games and I have come to the conclusion that if he worked on his kicking he could be the next Godfrey!

dazzledavey36
15 Nov 2005, 15:21
no!

demondavey
15 Nov 2005, 16:35
Currently joining the list at Junction Oval are Jordan Barham from Gisborne, Ed Clarke from Sydney, Alwyn Davey from South Adelaide, Danny Hughes from Sandringham, Brett Johnson from Carlton, Billy Morrison from Collingwood, Sean O’Keefe from Sandringham, Brayden Shaw from Collingwood, and Brendan Van Schaik who was on Melbourne's Rookie list in 2005.

Danny Hughes, fair dinkum! I went to school with Danny, was a few years younger than me and a pretty good sportsman but i didnt realise he was this good. Was friends with his brother throughout high school. Good cricketer as well but thought that he preferred cricket more than footy. Whats the news on him Demon fire?

demon 12
15 Nov 2005, 17:35
Danny Hughes is back from retirement! He can have his number 10 back off Wardy!

dee_molisher
15 Nov 2005, 17:50
Danny Hughes, fair dinkum! I went to school with Danny, was a few years younger than me and a pretty good sportsman but i didnt realise he was this good. Was friends with his brother throughout high school. Good cricketer as well but thought that he preferred cricket more than footy. Whats the news on him Demon fire?

Really stood up and kicked some goals for sandy, especially against the Northern Bullants in the final. Wish he was like his name sake of yesteryear. Love Danny back in our defense.

The Shev
15 Nov 2005, 17:53
Wouldn't mind a Sean Wight either.

demonfire
15 Nov 2005, 20:21

i havent heard heaps about this kid. came into the sandy side at the end of the season, im not even sure if he played out the finals but looks alright in the time he got and thought he would be given a chacne to train iwth the demons. hes 18 or 19 so still young and would be used to the bigger bodies by coming through the VFL, i rekon he could be given a chance coz hed only be a yr older than the other draftees and could have some better experience from playing on bigger bodies. im undecided. im liking okeefe from sandy though. got BOG in the GF but thats not what had me looking at him. hes been consisant all yr and i just thought he was too old to be picked up by a club. im not sure of his age, so any1 feel free to tell, but i wouldnt mind him in the side.

Supermercado
16 Nov 2005, 10:09
I will be going after exams and schoolies.

You won't be able to walk after schoolies.

rick James
16 Nov 2005, 12:48
You won't be able to walk after schoolies.

marns had want to be a chick then.

Marns
16 Nov 2005, 14:01
:confused: How come rJ?

CaptainDavey
16 Nov 2005, 16:32
Because if you're going to Byron Bay, Rex Hunt will be waiting there with a cricket bat to break some legs in revenge