View Full Version : Poor Natan Clarke!!!!

pickos_chick
1 Nov 2001, 11:58
Very Shocked that Natan has been de-listed!!!!

Why he was and Morrison wasn't is beyond me!!

Not Very Happy Lions!!!!!:mad: :mad: :mad:

Danni
1 Nov 2001, 12:09
I have to agree with you there picko's chick it was quite a shock to see him delisted. I think there may have been some underlying issues too. At GF weekend he was quite upset. He wouldn't wear his ressies premiership medal, and when asked why he gave a quite emotional "cause I didn't earn it". He got quite down on himself in the latter part of the year, and it seem to all get on top of him.

I for one wish him all the best in the future, he has a lot of talent that boy.

D.

brissy_lionsgal
1 Nov 2001, 12:52
Gotta agree with you pickos_chick. Why Morrison is still on the list absoulutely bemuses me. I'm not having a go at Shane, after all I'm a fellow Sandgate District State High student, but we have too many players his size, and his position as it is. Morrison has done more then his share of work for the reserves, but I don't think he'll ever play a senior game.

While I think Clarke is in the same sort of predicament, I think he has proven himself before that he can be a valuable addition to the team. I he fallen by the wayside since he got the odd senior game in 2000 (?).

That's very sad Danni, that he didn't think he deserved the reserve premiership medal. All the best Nathan, where ever you end up, and you did deserve it.

Possum Notting
1 Nov 2001, 14:26
Nathan you were one of the players that played for most of the year that unfortunitly got injured or sick so was unable to strut your stuff during the AFLQ finals and Grand Final.

You are a young champion of the sport with a hell of a lot of to offer the sport within Queensland. You have been a great friend and a very down to earth fella and I comend you on that.

I am one chickadee that will miss you around the club. I wish you all the best in whatever you do in the future but lets hope we see you playing for a AFLQ club next season or another AFL club.

Keep smiley Nathan "Natan, Clarkey, Clarkester" Clarke :(

Mr Ripper
1 Nov 2001, 14:43
:eek: :(

If I were a betting person, I'd put some hard earned on him winning a second chance at Hawthorn, either through the internal draft or via their rookie list.

Amazing the number of players that get delisted and then end up at a club against which they've had a particularly outstanding game in the past; in Clarke's case, his debut against the Hawks.

pickos_chick
1 Nov 2001, 17:46
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
:eek: :(

If I were a betting person, I'd put some hard earned on him winning a second chance at Hawthorn, either through the internal draft or via their rookie list.

Amazing the number of players that get delisted and then end up at a club against which they've had a particularly outstanding game in the past; in Clarke's case, his debut against the Hawks.

I don't know whether Nathan would like to be re-rookied or whether he would like to stay up here and play for a QSFL club? While it would be awesome for him to continue his career somewhere else, he might want to stay up here with his family.

Whatever he does I wish him the best of Luck. He sure is a good player and will be missed by all Lions people!!

(That Morrison.......don't get me started.........) :mad:

Denno
1 Nov 2001, 22:19
Yeah, Clarke was VERY stiff IMO, but may have been pushed out due to a lack of foreseeable opportunities.

Morrison - he's got nothing to do with this. I agree, its his last year to prove himself, but he has improved markedly. He has had a few knee injuries just as he has been gaining momentum, and even managed to get named as an emergency for the Geelong game. He's been stopping all the gun forwards in the A.F.L.Q., and with Kennedy going, will have his chance next year. If it doesn't take it, THEN he would probably get the flick. He arrived with a pretty good reputation, lets hope he delivers.

keatings_gal
1 Nov 2001, 23:48
OBVIOUSLY U PEOPLE DIDN'T GO TO THE RESSIES GAMES LIKE WE DID!

Thanks Denno

when i first saw this post i was like how sweet.....
i love clarkey he has tought me many things..........
BUT MORRO!
he hasd worked his butt off ever since he arrived at this club
b4 he came to the club he used to be a slacko
but......... I DIDNT GET HIS # ON MY JUMPER FOR NOTHING!!!!!!

He is an absolute legend
if you had have been there for training... preseason & through out the year... he would get there early & work soooooo hard........
hence the 2 bottles of roids..... (GATORADE)
He has been like a big bro to me....... we fing like Bro & sis & people think he is my bro....... so i will stick up for him!
You should have seen him when he knew he was getting his contract re-signed
he was the most animated he had ever been.........
so excited
he came to the club under an imense amount of pressure
he knew that this year was gonna be his year..... a premiership.... being best Full bcak in the league & getting picked along with ASHLEY McGRATH & SHANNON RUSCA for the QLD team of the year!~
Not much else i think he could do
He has had a few injuries this season..... spent a while on the sidlelines.......... but he kept his head high..... he may not have always been sooooo cheery towards me & others but i knew how hard he was working to get back out there!
His sheer determination has been very inspiring to me which is just what i have needed this last year with alot of things going on around me!
Everytime i would see him i would ask how he was & it was ALWAYS tired......... working his lil butt off to be part of the team he knew could be a success...... He had faith & i can't believe you people can't have the same in him.
He is a SUPERSTAR Full back but when given a chance up forward he can also give that a bit of a go!
I remember the first final we played at the Gabba against the Northern Eagles......... & i know that i will never forget this act of will power........ the ball was kicked into the goals..... We thought it was over for sure........ it was basically in........................
but.... he did the superman dive into the goals & touched it!
I could have jumped over the fence & kissed him!
He was the turning point in the game~!
ask anyone who was there......... or that cares at least a lil bit
What about Damian Cupido.........
no one questions him......... Clarkey, Ruski, Trenna.... all came at the same time as bubba basically & he is Lethal's little pet
that's why he was not even mentioned in the trades. SERIOUSLY>>>>>>>>>>>>
WHAT THE???????
he plays for himself & no one else.....
get morro out on the field...he is out there helping both his team mates & the young guys who play with us. He has the whole backline set up listening to him....... they call it respect!!!!!!!!
BUBBA>>>>>>> NAH
he wasn't even that great
especially in the ressies finals..... we were yelling dont kick it to bubba because he was playing that bad.....

I JUST DUNNO WHAT ELSE TO SAY!!!!!
i am sure that there is some one out there who thinks that morro played great this year!
Only a select few..... but it is an exclusive club...... if u wanna join..... come & see me.......... I wear the #35!

GRRRRRRRRRRR

ONYA MORRO!!!!! U ROCK BRO!!!!!!

Go_the_young_Guys
2 Nov 2001, 09:10
Well I am sorry to see any player go... but sometimes it is in their best interest...

Also no-one really knows the full story behind why the club or the players (sometimes) do these things...

Good On Ya Keatings_Gal for sticking up for someone that you look up to and respect as a person and not just as a player, and next year will better for us on a personal level and to still have MORRO about for next year will be great for you (PS... I LOVE YOU)...

As for BUBBA (keeping in mind that he is my third fav player) I really didnt think he had it in him this year (he reminded me alot of DESY the year before) so maybe one more year might give him the break he needs, just look at DESY this year... GO DESY !!!!

If Nathan stays in Brisbane to JUST play AFLQ then that is a shame on his behalf... he has to find it in himself to want to play in the big league the AFL...

In closing... I know I haven't been to many Ressie games but I did get to a couple, so maybe a few more should come out and watch them play and see for themselves how the YOUNG GUYS are playing before they start jumping up and down about this player or that... Think about the many younger "RING-INS" the Cubs used that busted their guts just to get a game..

All I then have to say is .... I can't wait till Novemeber 25...
(for those of you who don't know what this date is... it is the DRAFT)

Hence that is how I got my name last year...

"""" GO_THE_YOUNG_GUYS """

Danni
2 Nov 2001, 09:15
Originally posted by Go_the_young_Guys

All I then have to say is .... I can't wait till Novemeber 25...
(for those of you who don't know what this date is... it is the DRAFT)

Hehe It is also the BJAFL early sign on day for junior footy for season 2002! All kids who sign on that day go into the draw for a Lions family pass for 2002.

:)

pickos_chick
2 Nov 2001, 09:40
Sorry Keatings Gal, but if Morrison is so good like you say he is how come he is not playing in the seniors?? 2 years on the list and fair enough he has had injuries but don't you think that is enough time for at least one senior apperance??

Yes, I do go to ressies games and I know what he can do when he plays, but I also remember such guys as Leigh McMahon who played some really great football for us. Don't you think guys like him deserve a chance to have a go as well??

I do like the way you stick by your boy and hey, we all have to. Just look at Picko?? To the Bulldogs and I will still try to watch every game he plays next season just to see how he's doing. My sis has even offered to buy me a Bulldogs membership, but I just couldn't bring myself to do that!!!

And as for Bubba Cupido, hmmmm...........how to put this nicely. I agree that Lethal sure does like him and that is probably why he is on the list, but until he removes that pole from his A.. and starts to play as a team player,he has no respect from me. Yes, he is a great player when on song,he needs to learn that there is no I in TEAM.And the quicker he learns that the better off he will be!

BrainOfMorbius
2 Nov 2001, 11:02
:) That's putting it nicely, is it? Hmmm...

Loz
2 Nov 2001, 16:37
Your not turning into Ol Billy Hartnell are ya by any chance Morbius ?
Hehe

Olmy
2 Nov 2001, 17:22
Well I am sorry to see any player go... but sometimes it is in their best interest...

Also no-one really knows the full story behind why the club or the players (sometimes) do these things...

If Nathan stays in Brisbane to JUST play AFLQ then that is a shame on his behalf... he has to find it in himself to want to play in the big league the AFL...

Well said. I reckon N.Clarke would have struggled to make the seniors with the Lions. He is a talented player, but we have a very talented list. To some extent, I think Clarke has a limited game, and with the amount of extremely talented flanks and midfielders in our side, Clarke would find it hard to make the team.

I also think a certain degree of player turn-over every year is a good thing, if only just to keep the list fresh, and enthusiastic.

You're spot on with the comment, that if he wants to play on, he should give it a shot elsewhere. Perhaps in Victoria. I'm sure there'd be a number of clubs who would be keen to pick him up.

Olmy
2 Nov 2001, 17:28

As for BUBBA (keeping in mind that he is my third fav player) I really didnt think he had it in him this year (he reminded me alot of DESY the year before) so maybe one more year might give him the break he needs, just look at DESY this year... GO DESY !!!!

Well said again.

Olmy
2 Nov 2001, 17:32
Originally posted by pickos_chick
And as for Bubba Cupido, hmmmm...........how to put this nicely. I agree that Lethal sure does like him and that is probably why he is on the list, but until he removes that pole from his A.. and starts to play as a team player,he has no respect from me. Yes, he is a great player when on song,he needs to learn that there is no I in TEAM.And the quicker he learns that the better off he will be!

Cupido ordinary?? You've got to be kidding?!

Perhaps his application to certain parts of his game is ordinary, and it could be debated by some on-field performances that his attitude to team-work is ordinary, but he is hardly and ordinary footballer. In fact, you'd have to say he's one of the most exciting young football prospects around, that is yet to be tapped into.

I've seen Cupido perform right from junior level, and he is definitely a special football talent. You can't write him off as being "ordinary" because he hasn't refined his game to the standard of a senior AFL footballer, in only his second year at an AFL club.

Given time, Cupido could become a very, very good player. He is definitely not ordinary, and definitely has the potential and talent to become a truly great player.

Olmy
2 Nov 2001, 17:40
I've heard some pretty good ratings of Morrison of recent. There are a number of people from this board, who are very good judges of football talent, who have seen him play, and rate him highly. So, I'm not really in a position to argue!

One of the reasons he hasn't made the seniors as yet, is down to the fact that in the time he's been at the club, we have had many, many good tall defenders, or at least enough to cover all bases before needing to pick a rookie. Leppitsch, Kennedy, Heuskes, Molloy, Brown, Michael, Pike, White, and even the Scott brothers are capable of playing tall.

Considering Morrison is only young, I am quite happy to see him stay on the list for another year. Perhaps he could be gradually introduced off the bench, allowing Leppitsch to play up forward.

Go_the_young_Guys
2 Nov 2001, 18:54
Thanks Olmy...

Go_the_young_Guys