View Full Version : Harvey to go to Freo
meatray
11 Nov 2005, 12:48
I was reading the Herald Sun and I was intrigued to read that Harvey Essondon's assistant coach has been asked to join Connely's side
"Harvey confirmed last night he had been approached by the Dockers to join Chris Connolly's as his No. 2 man." 09/11/05 Herald Sun
Slacker
11 Nov 2005, 12:53
Most freo people are aware that he has been approached, as far as I know it has not been confirmed though.
I would imagine that freo has approached a number of current assistant coaches but for some reason the Harvey story gets all the attention.
theorangeapple
11 Nov 2005, 13:04
I would imagine that freo has approached a number of current assistant coaches but for some reason the Harvey story gets all the attention.
Apparantly you have approached; Sumich, Bond and Micale, who all declined. I think Harvey is the highest profile assistant who has shown interest in joining.
meatray
11 Nov 2005, 13:07
Most freo people are aware that he has been approached, as far as I know it has not been confirmed though.
Of course he would get all the attention due to him having a twenty year partnership with Sheedy, should be good to see how the tactics might change if he does get appointed. Who else are they looking at?
ThePope
11 Nov 2005, 13:12
We've lost 2 assistants to WAFL clubs, which is fair enough, most AFL clubs would prefer to take a coach who's been the head coach at a lower level, not just an assistant coach. Plus, I never rated Eastaugh much as a coach, as I think he's been in charge of clearances...which we've sucked at. Waterman was fairly highly regarded, though.
So, it's obvious that you'd approach quite a few other assistants to replace them. Harvey confirmed on 6PR that he's interested, just had to clear it with Sheeds/Essendon and then he'll come over and have a look around.
You can read into it whatever you want. Other coaches (Suma/Micale) are probably quite happy at the Eagles. Bond may not have wanted to move his family over here again. I'm sure other coaches (German, Prescott etc) have also been at least sounded out, if not officially approached.
Harvey's been fairly highly regarded, should be able iron out any "softness" in the team and will give us a bit more profile in Melb. You might see him as being the "heir apparant" if CC gets the flick mid-year, but I'd hope that he'd see it more as a fresh opportunity after being at one club for 20 odd years or whatever.
fat wombat
11 Nov 2005, 13:59
I say let him be head coach and let CC be #2 :)
dominguez
11 Nov 2005, 14:24
Sports Tonight reported that Sheedy has given his blessing and Harvey will meet with the Freo hierarchy some time in the next week. My tip is he'll be announced as an assistant at Fremantle prior to the national draft on the 26th of November, hopefully along with a major sponsor.
ThePope
11 Nov 2005, 16:34
Harvey Fresh Orange Juice?
Hope it isn't Harvey Beef.
fat wombat
11 Nov 2005, 16:41
Harvey Fresh Orange Juice?
Hope it isn't Harvey Beef.
Maybe that's who he would be advertising for if he gets the gig! :D
ImperialPurple
11 Nov 2005, 16:48
If it helps Scotty too Hotty, Polly, Doddy, Peakey + a couple of others put on a kg or 5, then I'm all for it (despite being a vego)... :thumbsu:
Greg Miller= Messiah
11 Nov 2005, 17:17
Well fremantle must want 2 stay in complete mediocrity if they r seriously considering letting Mark harvey walk thru their front door. Let alone become an assistant and even worse if they make him their next senior coach. Mark harvey is nothing but an overated piece of wood who has only survived 4 so long because hes had his head buried so far up sheedy's a******* it aren't funny. If any1 saw his appaling performances on White Line Fever this year would no he is nothing but a yes man who dosn't have a coaching brain. The reason he's stayed an assistant so long is if he ever got a head job people would realise how hopeless and overated he actually is. Fremantle should look 4 assistants who have tried 2 further their careers by going 2 other clubs not some1 who has stayed in their comfort zone 4 the last 7-8 years
ThePope
11 Nov 2005, 17:27
I can't blame him for staying at Essendon... you call it a comfort zone, I'd call it the team most likely to be looking for a coach in a year or so. Sheeds has just refused to die. Back in 98 or whenever he started as an assistant (he last played in 97), you would have bet that Sheeds would have been given the boot/called it a day by now. Even in 2000 or 2001, after a premiership and then a loss, you would have thought that 1-2 years would be the end of Sheeds, and Harvey would be #1 in line to take over.
So unless you know that his coaching style is poor, I don't think accusing him of staying in his comfort zone is fair. He just stayed where his future job prospects were the highest.
Hawk Dork
11 Nov 2005, 20:54
If you read the reports last year when aproached for coaching Harvey said "I am not going unless I get the head job"
What are they offering down at Freo?
pinkus maximus
11 Nov 2005, 21:20
If you read the reports last year when aproached for coaching Harvey said "I am not going unless I get the head job"
What are they offering down at Freo?
Connolly is playing hard to get making Harvey fly accross the country to get one
dominguez
12 Nov 2005, 19:03
Well fremantle must want 2 stay in complete mediocrity if they r seriously considering letting Mark harvey walk thru their front door. Let alone become an assistant and even worse if they make him their next senior coach. Mark harvey is nothing but an overated piece of wood who has only survived 4 so long because hes had his head buried so far up sheedy's a******* it aren't funny. If any1 saw his appaling performances on White Line Fever this year would no he is nothing but a yes man who dosn't have a coaching brain. The reason he's stayed an assistant so long is if he ever got a head job people would realise how hopeless and overated he actually is. Fremantle should look 4 assistants who have tried 2 further their careers by going 2 other clubs not some1 who has stayed in their comfort zone 4 the last 7-8 years
Even though your post was hard to read (please save the text message type for your mobile) you made a good point about Harvey's weekly performance on white line fever. He certainly doesn't come across as the sharpest tool in the shed and I have doubts about his ability to become a quality senior coach. That doesn't mean that he isn't a good assistant coach though. If his experience and discipline have a positive influence on our playing group his addition will be a benefit.
He was clever enough not to get involved at the Coach's Cemetery AKA as the Richmond FC!
Mark Harvey is the most disinterested thing I have seen in a coaches box. Leave him in Melbourne !!
rioli brownlow
13 Nov 2005, 09:37
you are a fair dinkum clown if you think mark harvey is overrated, but i suppose with a name like greg miller=messiah you can be excused for making sensible comments because you have got to have a serious mental problem, you f###en d##khead
Karlostj
13 Nov 2005, 11:29
Mark Harvey is the most disinterested thing I have seen in a coaches box. Leave him in Melbourne !!
disinterested thing?? Not sure what that is suppose to mean. But Harvey would have to be the best coaching move that freo has ever made!
Although, that isn't hard with Neisham, Drum and CC their only head coaches to date.
Drum ended up at Bendigo bombers for a couple of season after freo where he coached them to bottom spot. He is now in politics.
Interesting that he hasn't made it elsewhere as even an assistant...
Neisham - is he still coaching in the WAFL? - surely he has cracked at least an assistants role at another club....? Not likely.
CC - in 3 years he has managed to bring a club from finishing 5th in 2003 with a young side to finishing 10th in 2005.
Super coach that.
Harvey has a lot more creditials then any of the head coaches at the dockers so far. If nothing else, he will surely impact on the softness of guys like Headland and Polak!
Greg Miller= Messiah
13 Nov 2005, 14:02
you are a fair dinkum clown if you think mark harvey is overrated, but i suppose with a name like greg miller=messiah you can be excused for making sensible comments because you have got to have a serious mental problem, you f###en d##khead
Hahahahahahaaha well any1 who thinks an overated fat, slow piece of c*** like Rioli can win a brownlow must be the real d******** he keeps breaking down every 2 weeks. Richmond will win a priemership be4 essendon just u watch. Mark harvey is a blank of wood u will see. If essendon think they can succeed by bringing back players like mark mecuri just see them fall like carlton in a few years
Sidey_87
13 Nov 2005, 21:07
Hahahahahahaaha well any1 who thinks an overated fat, slow piece of c*** like Rioli can win a brownlow must be the real d******** he keeps breaking down every 2 weeks. Richmond will win a priemership be4 essendon just u watch. Mark harvey is a blank of wood u will see. If essendon think they can succeed by bringing back players like mark mecuri just see them fall like carlton in a few years
hahaha true that.
rioli brownlow
13 Nov 2005, 22:25
hahaha true that.
ya both dills,, mercuri won't be coming back ever.
Sidey_87
14 Nov 2005, 12:10
ya both dills,, mercuri won't be coming back ever.
Mate i agreed about the Rioli part more than the Mercuri part, and yes they are thinking of it.
rioli brownlow
14 Nov 2005, 13:30
Mate i agreed about the Rioli part more than the Mercuri part, and yes they are thinking of it.
no they are not i am telling you!! i know mark personally and he will not be playing football at essendon next year, maybe might be doing somehing else though(involves a green shirt and shorts)
wizard_9
14 Nov 2005, 13:39
CC - in 3 years he has managed to bring a club from finishing 5th in 2003 with a young side to finishing 10th in 2005.
Super coach that.
!
U forget the other part, he took us from 16th to 5th.
Karlostj
14 Nov 2005, 17:42
U forget the other part, he took us from 16th to 5th.
Well I guess you might as well extend his contract for another 4 years then??
Ahem...lets see after the season...or the first half if it's going badly!
Karlostj
14 Nov 2005, 17:55
CC didn't take freo from 16th to 5th anyway. They finished 13th in 2002 and then 5th in 2003. Not a bad improvement - 5 extra wins... He did start in 2003 didn't he???
If he started in 2002 then he started with Dockers in 10th place....
You'd expect some measure of improvement after Drum though and much of the list would be unrelated to any influence from CC at such early stages...
Hopefully CC will get the chop mid season and Harvey will take over. I think that he will bring a lot more professionalism to the club. If nothing else, he knows what is like to be involved with a winning club and should bring some self belief to the club...
ImperialPurple
14 Nov 2005, 18:25
2001: 16th place with 2 wins, 20 losses.
Enter CC. His results after taking over the wooden spooners:
2002: 13th place with 9 wins, 13 losses - big tick for the improvement
2003: 5th place (by percentage only from 4th placed Sydney and a double chance) with 14 wins, 8 losses - very big tick for the improvement
2004: 9th place with 11 wins, 11 losses - big cross for the backward slide
2005: 10th place (by minute percentage from 9th) with 11 wins, 11 losses - very, very big cross for the stagnation
Just stating the facts in terms of wins / losses / ladder position. The ticks and crosses are my own thoughts - I would think they'd be fairly universal opinions though. I'm sick of the mediocrity (at best) - I want at least one winning home final in 2006.
ThePope
14 Nov 2005, 18:29
2001. Annus Horribilis. Drum then Allan coach. 2 wins, 16th
2002. CC takes over. 9 wins, 13th spot
2003. 14 wins, 5th spot, lose the EF.
2004. 11 wins, 100.6%, 9th spot.
2005. 11 wins, 100.1%, 10th spot.
Karlostj
14 Nov 2005, 19:22
Fair enough. so his first few seasons did have pretty good improvement.....
However, I still don't think that he is the man to take the Dockers to the next level....
Back in 2003, commentators (although that doesn't mean a lot) were calling the dockers and the saints as the two teams to watch over the next few years. The dockers have not fulfilled that expectation. They need a coach that players can have belief in, often this belief comes from having a coach that has tasted success and is proven at the highest level. Mark Harvey, may not be quite that, but he is a lot closer to that then CC.
I'd like to see the Dockers professionalism improve and really push the Eagles in terms of onfield success. I'd like to see the dockers beat the Eagles in a final - it would help to take some of the smugness away from their supporters.
outback jack
14 Nov 2005, 20:24
Apparantly you have approached; Sumich, Bond and Micale, who all declined. I think Harvey is the highest profile assistant who has shown interest in joining.
why are you jealous of fremantle?
Dr Ralph Dagg
15 Nov 2005, 12:43
2001. Annus Horribilis. Drum then Allan coach. 2 wins, 16th
2002. CC takes over. 9 wins, 13th spot
2003. 14 wins, 5th spot, lose the EF.
2004. 11 wins, 100.6%, 9th spot.
2005. 11 wins, 100.1%, 10th spot.
I have a different view:
Round 21, 2003 -- Flogged by Essendon
Elim Final 2003 -- Flogged by Essendon
Pre-Season 2004 -- Flogged by Essendon
Round 10, 2004 -- The Cauldron Match -- Flogged by Essendon
Round 8, 2005 -- Flogged by Essendon
There doesn't seem much improvement on that record. Poaching Harvey seems like a worthwhile idea.
Slacker
15 Nov 2005, 12:50
On that topic Dr Dagg, one of the opponent assistant coaches was quoted in the press after his team beat us this year. He basically gave us a hard time all round and mentioned how easy it was to beat our game plan.
I have a sneaking suspicion that it might have been Harvey, but I can't find the article.
Anyone remember if it was harvey?
ImperialPurple
15 Nov 2005, 12:52
Anyone remember if it was harvey?
Pretty sure it was Shaw.
Dr Ralph Dagg
15 Nov 2005, 13:03
I'd like to see the dockers beat the Eagles in a final - it would help to take some of the smugness away from their supporters.
Chance of beating Eagles in a final = 50%
Chance of taking smugness from (most) Eagles supporters = Dr Ralph eloping with Megan Gale.
Dr Ralph Dagg
15 Nov 2005, 13:04
Pretty sure it was Shaw.
Definitely Shaw. Under that strange code of ethics the coaches have he had to ring CC to apologise. Given he tanked on the comments it was the Shaw-tank Redemption
ImperialPurple
15 Nov 2005, 13:16
Definitely Shaw. Under that strange code of ethics the coaches have he had to ring CC to apologise. Given he tanked on the comments it was the Shaw-tank Redemption
very good.
Does that mean CC would have had to invite Wallet out for a latte after his comments early in the season???
2001: 16th place with 2 wins, 20 losses.
Enter CC. His results after taking over the wooden spooners:
2002: 13th place with 9 wins, 13 losses - big tick for the improvement
2003: 5th place (by percentage only from 4th placed Sydney and a double chance) with 14 wins, 8 losses - very big tick for the improvement
2004: 9th place with 11 wins, 11 losses - big cross for the backward slide
2005: 10th place (by minute percentage from 9th) with 11 wins, 11 losses - very, very big cross for the stagnation
Just stating the facts in terms of wins / losses / ladder position. The ticks and crosses are my own thoughts - I would think they'd be fairly universal opinions though. I'm sick of the mediocrity (at best) - I want at least one winning home final in 2006.
Agreed 100%. We need 14 wins minimum this season. NO excuses.
dockers_bengals
15 Nov 2005, 14:36
the fixtures for 2003 were an easier draw than 2004.The 2005 draw wasn't good either but with the injuries carried by players and the injured players maybe 2005 wasn't that bad.i dont understand why there is so much negativity about the year?yes im shattered we didnt make the eight but we only got 2 wins less than i thought.If things are that bad why do the players keep stay with freo again?Remember connolly is learning too and if he can get them up there how good will he be then.Nothing is easy,all teams have struggled to get the right coach for thier team woosha wasnt first pick for eagles.ayres for crows.schwab for hawks frawley for tigers etc etc.I think harvey is probably the best available assistant coach but it will be interesting to see if he can replace waterman.
R.I.P EDDIE GUERRERO
l
Slacker
15 Nov 2005, 15:16
Thanks for the clarification, Shaw it was. We'll keep that locked in the vault until for 2006 rematch.
Is Harvey official yet. If so, then I have always thought he is an insightful chap, and a remarkeable talent as an assistant coach. If not.....
Dr Ralph Dagg
15 Nov 2005, 15:54
the fixtures for 2003 were an easier draw than 2004.The 2005 draw wasn't good either but with the injuries carried by players and the injured players maybe 2005 wasn't that bad.i dont understand why there is so much negativity about the year?l
Because a fair few of us think we played really badly. It wasn't injuries when we played Essendon. Much of what we see is poor coaching.
Remember connolly is learning too l
He's had more than 80 games. Time's up.
and if he can get them up there how good will he be then.l
It'll be brilliant. Except for Woosha you note all the coaches you quoted have one thing in common. Unemployment.
R.I.P EDDIE GUERRERO
l[/QUOTE]
dockers_bengals
15 Nov 2005, 16:34
The point im trying to make is that we not as bad as you think for the whole of the year.I do agree there were times and areas where we were lacking eg.centre clearances but there was also positives like the defence was different but still did good.Im not saying he should go or stay and i agree there seem to be coaching errors but unless your there to know the situation whether its his judgement or someone elses hes relying on or the other options are available or not,how can you say it his fault.Do you honestly think we would get a better coach next year?just remember getting a new coach doesnt get you instant success all the time.maybe we get blighty win a flag or two then when we start losing we find another coach to rebuild the team because he ran away. :D
R.I.P EDDIE GUERRERO
Harvey's looking for the fast track into senior coaching ranks and Freo is just the team to provide it.
Dr Ralph Dagg
16 Nov 2005, 11:27
The point im trying to make is that we not as bad as you think for the whole of the year.I do agree there were times and areas where we were lacking eg.centre clearances but there was also positives like the defence was different but still did good.Im not saying he should go or stay and i agree there seem to be coaching errors but unless your there to know the situation whether its his judgement or someone elses hes relying on or the other options are available or not,how can you say it his fault.
You say it like this. "It's Connolly's fault". ;) Seriously, my job (uni lecturer) is to assess the output of groups of people. I don't get into whether they worked hard, or their bright, or they attended classes. I just assess them on what they present to me. That's what I'm doing on Connolly's record.
Do you honestly think we would get a better coach next year?just remember getting a new coach doesnt get you instant success all the time.maybe we get blighty win a flag or two then when we start losing we find another coach to rebuild the team because he ran away. :D
Hands up everyone who would settle for a flag or two before we went downhill?
We are just entering our prime Dr. Ralph IMHO. We did make some gains in 2005.
e.g. We won three out of four (and lost the other one by a goal) when Bellie didn't play.
How is the Saints strike rate without Harvey?
How is the Pies strike rate without Buckley?
How do the Lions go without Voss?
No way we would have been able to do that in 2002 , 2003 or even 2004.
[QUOTE=Slacker]Thanks for the clarification, Shaw it was. We'll keep that locked in the vault until for 2006 rematch.
Shaws left the Bombers allready heading west maybe
Slacker
16 Nov 2005, 13:26
[QUOTE=Slacker]Thanks for the clarification, Shaw it was. We'll keep that locked in the vault until for 2006 rematch.
Shaws left the Bombers allready heading west maybe
Dammit, can't win a trick here. :D
Agreed 100%. We need 14 wins minimum this season. NO excuses.
See there we go again talk about minimums, seems the lazy way to me. We should be saying, all or none (inclusive of finals games). That puts our planning into perspective in that a GF win is the only outcome we will accept. If it's good enough for the Slime to roam around town talking about their 2006 premiership then it's good enough for us.
fat wombat
17 Nov 2005, 11:44
Heard Harvey talk on the radio this morning saying the challenge at Freo was a big one and it seems to be exactly what he needs at the moment. News paper articles gave the impression the only stumbling block was relocating his 2 kids.
We are just entering our prime Dr. Ralph IMHO. We did make some gains in 2005.
e.g. We won three out of four (and lost the other one by a goal) when Bellie didn't play.
How is the Saints strike rate without Harvey?
How is the Pies strike rate without Buckley?
How do the Lions go without Voss?
No way we would have been able to do that in 2002 , 2003 or even 2004.
I will be stoned and treated as a lepar but perhaps Bell is the problem. He just doesn't result in clearances anymore. I think it should be either Hasleby or Bell on the ball but not both especially if Josh Carr spends time on the ball. And at the moment i think Hasleby has surpassed Bell in creating clearances and resulting in clearances around the ball.
I think Bell should play on the HFF or forward pocket only making cameo's on the ball. As corageous as he is, his evasive skills and straight line foot speed aren't what they were. It wasn't surprising that our on-ball brigade looked refreshed when he was out of the team.
Hopefully with a full preseason he can recapture his 2003 form. Because though many thought his 2005 was excellent, the time he spent on the ball left a lot to be desired. It wasn't helped by the fact our next best midfielder in Hasleby was injured, but it proved that Bell can't be the focus for clearances.
I guess thats the problem, if Hasleby doesn't clear the ball, no-one will. Actually i forgot about Longmuir, he single handedly (when in form) results in clearances, but apart from those two, our other midfielders aren't particularly creative.
Peake showed glimpses of brilliance, which was refreshing, but was only given a chance in the middle when the more experienced cattle went down. I hope we stear away from the traditional Bell, Hasleby + either J.Carr, Cook, M.Carr next year.
Undertaker
17 Nov 2005, 13:43
I will be stoned and treated as a lepar but perhaps Bell is the problem. He just doesn't result in clearances anymore.
Hopefully with a full preseason he can recapture his 2003 form.
I agree in part, the problem last year with Belly was the lack of a pre season, next season we should see the Belly of old. He only has 2 seasons left in him and I believe next year will be a big one for him.
I will be stoned and treated as a lepar but perhaps Bell is the problem. He just doesn't result in clearances anymore. I think it should be either Hasleby or Bell on the ball but not both especially if Josh Carr spends time on the ball. And at the moment i think Hasleby has surpassed Bell in creating clearances and resulting in clearances around the ball.
I think Bell should play on the HFF or forward pocket only making cameo's on the ball. As corageous as he is, his evasive skills and straight line foot speed aren't what they were. It wasn't surprising that our on-ball brigade looked refreshed when he was out of the team.
Worse - when he didn't have the ball he ran to the wrong spots and such is his command the players went to him. When they shouldn't have.
dugrene
17 Nov 2005, 17:22
Harvey supposedly said he would have moved to Fremantle four years ago except his kids were too young.
Well now his eldest is 14 years old a move for him at his age is going to be tough on the kid. Most kids at that age have set up their circle of friends and it can be a hard road get close mates. Can take a couple of years. Boys can find getting into scene harder than girls.
It will be a hard road for the whole family for a while. If they (the family) cant adjust 3 years will be a long time.
One thing though they will be living in one of the best places in the world.
I just hope Harvey can add that little bit extra we need to become the team we all want.
fat wombat
17 Nov 2005, 17:25
Harvey supposedly said he would have moved to Fremantle four years ago except his kids were too young.
Well now his eldest is 14 years old a move for him at his age is going to be tough on the kid. Most kids at that age have set up their circle of friends and it can be a hard road get close mates. Can take a couple of years. Boys can find getting into scene harder than girls.
It will be a hard road for the whole family for a while. If they (the family) cant adjust 3 years will be a long time.
One thing though they will be living in one of the best places in the world.
I just hope Harvey can add that little bit extra we need to become the team we all want.
Correct me if I'm wrong but is CC not a qualified school teacher? He'd be able to offer a bit of advice and support there. And his own family went through the same thing not so long ago.
What a load of absolute bullsh-t and in keeping with the soft c-ck society in which we now live. How would you know anyway?
If Harvey can't make a simple decision like this he's not going to be much value to Freo.
dugrene
17 Nov 2005, 22:23
What a load of absolute bullsh-t and in keeping with the soft c-ck society in which we now live.
True. I'm with you.
But it is the world we live in now.
He is not a poor immigrant or refugee. If he thinks he and his family can handle a change then he should do it. If not, stay in the comfort zone, its a great place.
How would you know anyway?
I did it a six years ago. girl 13 boy 12. You feel guilty knowing you have taken the ones you care most about away from friends. It took 3 years before my boy fully settled. You dont say to your kids " you soft c##k" you spend time until they hook up with others.
Having talked to other parents who have done the same thing boys do find making friends harder.
Ask yourself this.. how many good mates do you have?
Many players want to head back to family and friends, it is normal.
The thing is when your "dad" you call the shots. If there is no pressing need to relocate I dont recommend it.
Karlostj
18 Nov 2005, 12:02
Freo have got their man - good decision, I think it could signal a new era in the Freo footy club - an era of success rather then mediocracy.
Harvey has accepted a job at Fremantle.
Harvey heads West
Friday, November 18, 2005
Essendon assistant coach Mark Harvey has today informed the club that he will be taking on an assistant coaching role with the Fremantle Dockers. The move ends Harvey’s 24-year association with Essendon that began when he joined the club as a 17-year-old in 1982, playing in the under 19 side.
"It wasn’t a decision I took lightly but I just felt the time was right to make a move. I have had a fantastic time with Essendon and have made a lot of life-long friends at the club. Naturally it will always be an important part in my life," Harvey said.
"I want to thank Kevin Sheedy for the opportunities he has given me both as a player and a coach. He has provided me with great direction and I appreciate the support that he, Peter Jackson and the board have given me in making this move.
"I should also thank the playing group I have worked with over the past eight years, my fellow coaches, the administration staff and all the support staff, particularly our club doctors Bruce Reid and Ian Reynolds who have been great colleagues and friends.
"Heading to Fremantle will provide a significant challenge for me. I look forward to working with Chris Connolly and his coaching staff." Harvey is expected to head to Perth in a week’s time to take up his new role.
Essendon chief executive Peter Jackson re-iterated that the club was supportive of Harvey’s move and thanked him for everything he has given the club.
"We understand Mark needed to make a move to further his career and we wish him well," Jackson said. "He will always be a part of this club – he is a triple Premiership player and he was ranked as the 18th best player this club has seen in our Champions of Essendon. He has provided terrific support to Kevin Sheedy as an assistant coach."
"I also think this is a great opportunity for Essendon Football Club to bring in a new assistant coach with some different ideas. The evolution of a coaching panel is important from time to time."
Jackson said the club would now commence the search for an assistant coach to replace Harvey. He said no time-line had been placed on when that decision would be made.
surfsup
18 Nov 2005, 12:07
Freo have got their man - good decision, I think it could signal a new era in the Freo footy club - an era of success rather then mediocracy.
Thanks, we hope so too.
True. I'm with you.
But it is the world we live in now.
He is not a poor immigrant or refugee. If he thinks he and his family can handle a change then he should do it. If not, stay in the comfort zone, its a great place.
I did it a six years ago. girl 13 boy 12. You feel guilty knowing you have taken the ones you care most about away from friends. It took 3 years before my boy fully settled. You dont say to your kids " you soft c##k" you spend time until they hook up with others.
Having talked to other parents who have done the same thing boys do find making friends harder.
Ask yourself this.. how many good mates do you have?
Many players want to head back to family and friends, it is normal.
The thing is when your "dad" you call the shots. If there is no pressing need to relocate I dont recommend it.
You shouldn't bother with this Yakuza character. You're obviously twice the man he is.
You're like a bad smell that just wont go away! Like the Beck lyric goes, "No one likes you monkey boy!" :D
Not being picky, but I think that was The Bloodhound Gang. Sentiment still holds true though.
I'm looking forward to the Connolly/Harvey era.
Freo Shark
18 Nov 2005, 18:57
I think his appointment is a step in the right direction, if only to put CC under a little more pressure to lift his game.
I just caution people not to think he's another messiah.
Kapow!!!
18 Nov 2005, 19:21
I think his appointment is a step in the right direction, if only to put CC under a little more pressure to lift his game.
I just caution people not to think he's another messiah.
Agreed. He is definately no messiah. It's more a step in the right direction, a "Connolly, you're on notice" step. Connolly now has to lift his game or be replaced.
Harvey might toughen up the players aswell but still he could easliy be another failure and we go backwards after picking up a high profile recruit.
I'll only be happy if I see results!
fat wombat
18 Nov 2005, 21:54
He's being put in charge of defense right? So here's hoping he can do something with Gilmore!
Like a heart transplant and how to use his right leg?
fat wombat
19 Nov 2005, 09:20
Like a heart transplant and how to use his right leg?
How awkward, somebody doesn't know how to take a hint! (I think Dr Evil said that about Mini Me on Austin Powers).
coasting
19 Nov 2005, 10:14
So much for the Broadbridge boosters, the guy obviously has no chance at the top job.
The Eagles should have him join them, would be a decided acquisition.
I say let him be head coach and show CC the door.
Wrapped that he is there and any improvement will be from his input, not CCs.
Just hope that CC does not step on hid toes.
Dr Ralph Dagg
21 Nov 2005, 15:15
I say let him be head coach and show CC the door.
Wrapped that he is there and any improvement will be from his input, not CCs. Just hope that CC does not step on his toes.
Kudos to jarman for being the first to jump in and highlight the Harvey win-win scenario.
We do well next year, it must be Harvey and he should get the head job. We do badly next year and it must be CC, so Harvey should get the head job. Expect George and Adrian to run with this.
Freo Shark
21 Nov 2005, 18:24
We do well next year, it must be Harvey and he should get the head job. We do badly next year and it must be CC, so Harvey should get the head job. Expect George and Adrian to run with this.
So Doc, either way a head job is heading Harveys way ?
I agree, George, Barra and Fanta will all be for giving Harvey the head job.
:D
wehavethepassion
21 Nov 2005, 21:46
Is harvey doing to get a head job?
He'll bring Sheedy's "rat cunning" to the Dockers.
I really thought after 5 yrs with Darth vader on the dark side Broadbridge would have brought much more than what we have got.
In reality, we are looking from the outside and thus how do we know how much the assistant coaches input influences the team?.
I have heard very good reports about Broadbridge, but as I am not a player, I am unable to say if the senior coach or the assistants is "working their arse off".
As I've said before, we can talk about coaches till we are blue in the face, but the 18 players on the field have to give their all. At times in 2005, I felt that the players were escaping the scrutiny and ALL the blame went on the coaches.
Dr Ralph Dagg
22 Nov 2005, 11:07
As I've said before, we can talk about coaches till we are blue in the face, but the 18 players on the field have to give their all. At times in 2005, I felt that the players were escaping the scrutiny and ALL the blame went on the coaches.
Medhurst, Farmer, Polak, Josh Carr and Headland might disagree with you. They seem to come under a fair bit of scrutiny.
But I never got the sense the players weren't trying. I often got the sense they were disorganised, and were trying really hard to overcome what I consider coaching deficiencies. We don't look "well drilled".
dockertor
22 Nov 2005, 13:50
Medhurst, Farmer, Polak, Josh Carr and Headland might disagree with you. They seem to come under a fair bit of scrutiny.
But I never got the sense the players weren't trying. I often got the sense they were disorganised, and were trying really hard to overcome what I consider coaching deficiencies. We don't look "well drilled".
It’s hard to look well drilled when your chasing tail because the other side wins at the clearance. Whether that is due to coaching or players not up to the job is a very debatable point. Who has the job of setting up the centre square? One of the assistants I presume.
FS - don't forget me from the list, I am very much in favour for giving Harvey the head job - RIGHT NOW. CC is totally useless as a footy coach.
I was not really enthusiastic about 2006 with CC in charge. But it has all changed now with Harvey here.
ThePope
22 Nov 2005, 14:59
Call me a "spouting the club line", "accepting mediocrity" or whatever, but comments like that sh1t me jarman.
CC took us from dismal last, 2 game winning, 17 game straight losing season in 2001 to overachieving in 2003. Yep, we've gone sideways since then, but to blame it all at his feet, and then to basically say any improvement this year is to do with Harvey's arrival is just immature.
CC, along with Ball and Larcom introduced the frequent rotations, which all clubs are now using.
CC has twice had to rebuild both the forward line (the Croad/Simmonds trial didn't work, so lets go with Elvis/Pav) and also the backline (first the no-namers, then they all got injured so it was no-namers mk 2). We had Bell and Hase running on 1 leg combined for most of last year.
He's overseen the recruitment of both some experience (Black, Carr) and some good youth (211, Mundy, Schammer, Dodd, Crowley). Yep, we all wish Polak, Medhurst, Farmer, & Headland would be more consistant. But why is that CC's fault?
I'm most happy about Eastaugh moving on, because, as far as I'm aware he was responsible for rucks and clearances... and that was where we sucked.
I'm also heartened to see late in the year, we were abandoning the 4 man forward line idea, which never seemed to work. CC's desire to always have a free man in the half back/midfield worked on occaison (the win vs Adel away in 2004 when Thornton got 26 touches the best example) but I think this was also our downfall in the big matches. I noticed in the JLo-Saints game that he had gone away from this to a degree. So he is actively coaching, not just blindly sticking to plans that aren't working.
I'm excited for 2006 because of our team. Not because of an assistant coach. Yep, I'd be a lot more confident if we had had 3 years of finals experience. But we've got the team in place, we did well in the 2nd half of the year, and to me that bodes well for 2006.
dockertor
22 Nov 2005, 15:03
FS - don't forget me from the list, I am very much in favour for giving Harvey the head job - RIGHT NOW. CC is totally useless as a footy coach.
I was not really enthusiastic about 2006 with CC in charge. But it has all changed now with Harvey here.
dear oh dear
inferno66
22 Nov 2005, 16:19
Great post Pope...tottaly agree with you
Do we have a new ruck coach to replace Eaustuagh?
Freo Shark
22 Nov 2005, 16:29
[QUOTE=jarman]FS - don't forget me from the list, I am very much in favour for giving Harvey the head job - RIGHT NOW.[QUOTE]
Somehow that doesnt surprise me about you!
Pope - you are entiltled to your opinion and I will have mine. With the squad that we have CC has not done much with it and we have failed for two years on a row. The players do not respect him either.
I have had a gut full of accepting mediocrity. I have also woken up to the fact that CC will not take us anywhere and would not hestitate to get rid of him tomorrow.
So bring on Harvey.
dominguez
22 Nov 2005, 18:52
Call me a "spouting the club line", "accepting mediocrity" or whatever, but comments like that sh1t me jarman.
CC took us from dismal last, 2 game winning, 17 game straight losing season in 2001 to overachieving in 2003. Yep, we've gone sideways since then, but to blame it all at his feet, and then to basically say any improvement this year is to do with Harvey's arrival is just immature.
What bothers people though is that the bottom 3 in 2001 was Freo, St Kilda an wet toast. We've missed the finals the last 2 years and look where the other 2 clubs are at. The draft is structured to propel teams from the bottom fairly quickly. Brisbane were last in 98 and turned it around in 3 years. The pies were bottom in 99 and made grand finals 3 and 4 years later. Everyone is talking up the bulldogs for 2006, and they were 16th in 2003.
I don't think we overachieved in 2003. Sure we won a lot of close games, but I think 14 wins was a fair indication of the talent on our list. At the end of 2001 the consensus was that we had a better list than the mob up the road. Under Worsfold this year they missed the flag by less than a goal, we missed the 8.
We are clearly a team that lacks strong leadership, both on and off the field. It was evident in our woeful performances against the roos, hawks, bombers, richmond away and the 2nd derby. Connolly has failed to instill the discipline required to thrive at the highest level, and accompanied by the fact that he struggles on match day makes him a very poor coach.
Hopefully the discipline that Harvey will bring to the table will be enough for us to turn things around next year. But there is clearly a problem between CC and some of the players, and it's very rare that a coach can win back the faith of his players.
wehavethepassion
22 Nov 2005, 23:13
Thats what the preseason is for DOM!! He needs to build bridges.
Connolly is contracted to coach and the players(supposedly professionals) are contracted by the FFC to play.
http://www.wehavethepassion.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=413
I think the game plan for 2006( and to train accordingly) is the move the ball quickly to PAV and Gero.
There are a lot of careers on the line at FFC in 2006, playing and non playing.
I'm most happy about Eastaugh moving on, because, as far as I'm aware he was responsible for rucks and clearances... and that was where we sucked.
You aint wrong there....any idea who's going to replace him?
But gee, I wish I could be excited about 2006 in the same way - I love the game and love the club - but beyond that i'm not overly optimistic. If I picked a final 8 for 2006 I wouldn't have us there.
Dr Ralph Dagg
23 Nov 2005, 10:40
You aint wrong there....any idea who's going to replace him?
But gee, I wish I could be excited about 2006 in the same way - I love the game and love the club - but beyond that i'm not overly optimistic. If I picked a final 8 for 2006 I wouldn't have us there.
I can relate to this but I'm excited at the thought of potential success in 2006. We'll either be petty successful or it will be the same as this year -- up and down.
Round 5 away against the Sainters, Round 6 home derby against West Coast and Round 8 home game against the Kangaroos are the litmus test games. We'll know by then if we are consistent enough. We've lost 2004 and 2005 home games against Kangaroos. You could also add round 1 against Hawthorn. We haven't beaten them since 2002.
And if its the same as this year ,then Connolly would probably have to go sooner rather than later. Harvey would then be in the box seat as caretaker coach.
dockertor
23 Nov 2005, 14:59
What bothers people though is that the bottom 3 in 2001 was Freo, St Kilda an wet toast. We've missed the finals the last 2 years and look where the other 2 clubs are at. The draft is structured to propel teams from the bottom fairly quickly. Brisbane were last in 98 and turned it around in 3 years. The pies were bottom in 99 and made grand finals 3 and 4 years later. Everyone is talking up the bulldogs for 2006, and they were 16th in 2003.
Which neatly overlooks the facts that The saints had been bouncing along the bottom for years collecting top draft picks and players and the only reason WC was there was due to a real poor run with injuries.
The whole WC scenario is the reason the priority pick rules have been changed as a team that really shouldn't have got them did.
fat wombat
23 Nov 2005, 15:09
The Hawks seem to be the team that is doing that now.
dominguez
23 Nov 2005, 17:57
Which neatly overlooks the facts that The saints had been bouncing along the bottom for years collecting top draft picks
Did the saints have pick 2 in '98, picks 2, 4 and 5 in '99 and pick 6 in 2000?
They had the 1997 GF & Minor Premiership side that they traded off for picks.
The twins
Spider Everitt
Barry Hall
I can relate to this but I'm excited at the thought of potential success in 2006. We'll either be petty successful or it will be the same as this year -- up and down.
Don't get me wrong - i'm excited about the new season (i've already got plane tickets to Launceston in Round 1), but i'm just not overly optimistic. Even if we won early games I still wouldn't be going around bragging about how we're going to have a good year. Made that mistake before. ;)
Freo Shark
25 Nov 2005, 18:31
i'm just not overly optimistic. Even if we won early games I still wouldn't be going around bragging about how we're going to have a good year. Made that mistake before. ;)
I'm looking forward to Harvey stirring up the place and perhaps the Polaks of the side shifting into top gear to make a good impression. I think hes going to want to be seen making the effort and not just waiting for CC to roll over.
I think we have all been caught bragging especially after a derby win. The weevils are just such arrogant snots.
Unfortunately you cant ever be confident what Freo will do from game to game. Its an aspect they need to fix.
wehavethepassion
25 Nov 2005, 22:12
Don't get me wrong - i'm excited about the new season (i've already got plane tickets to Launceston in Round 1), but i'm just not overly optimistic. Even if we won early games I still wouldn't be going around bragging about how we're going to have a good year. Made that mistake before. ;)
we have tickets for the Colon wood game at MCG july 16th anyone else thinking of going across for this game?
Yeah, i'm looking at that game as my annual Melbourne trip. I went to the same game last season, and it was pretty enjoyable because you can virtually sit where you like at the MCG and go and sit behind the cheer squad with all the other Freo fans. At TD, only the top level is general admission, and the club provides absolutely no assistance if you want a seat with other Dockers fans. Which gives me the royal sh*ts because when clubs come to Perth, their supporters can buy seats in the same block. Our club tells us to get stuffed if we want to do the same thing for our away games. But that is part of a much longer rant. ;)
We really should have an annual away game each year that all Dockers fans make an effort to get to, I reckon we could get 2 or 3000 flying over for it.
wehavethepassion
26 Nov 2005, 14:51
yes Rob we went over for the Colon wood game in 2004 round 4 at TD. our first time to melb. the then Dockers Vic based manager(went to carlton) was most helpful. rang me here in perth acouple of times.
this year we went to the tigers game at MCG. had to do our own asking around to find out things. a lot wiser
If your a dockers fan you should get out to the Brunswick hotel for a drink and a meal (tram #19 along elizabeth street) Michael the publican is a one eyed dockers fan.
This game against Colon wood is in the middle of the july school holidays and yes getting a seat at the MCG won't be aproblem!!
So lets get heaps of us in melbourne for this game.
yes Rob we went over for the Colon wood game in 2004 round 4 at TD. our first time to melb. the then Dockers Vic based manager(went to carlton) was most helpful. rang me here in perth acouple of times.
this year we went to the tigers game at MCG. had to do our own asking around to find out things. a lot wiser
The previous Vic manager seemed to be bloody good. I went over for the round 21(?) game in 2003 against Essendon at TD, and Wayne Hughes (I think his name was) organised reserved seats (dirt cheap from memory, about $16) amongst a bunch of other Dockers fans that I picked up at the ground beforehand, and they had an after match function at a local pub.
The year after, I went to the Collingwood game you're talking about, I gave the club a call, I think there was actually no Victorian manager at the time (Hughes just resigned) but they basically said organise your own seats. Fair enough, given the club's Victorian manager just left. The club did have a kick arse after match function in the TD food court with full strength beer, the works.
Last season, I went to the Collingwood and Port Adelaide away games, rang the club both times regarding seats, both times was told you basically have to organise your own. Fair enough for the MCG given it's mostly general admission, but for AAMI i'm sure the club can get an allocation of reserved seats, they just chose not to provide them to anyone but the Victorian cheer squad. Ended up sitting amongst some of the worst ferals i've ever seen. Interesting experience in itself, but it would have been much better sitting with fellow Dockers. At least you could say what you liked without fear of getting spat on.
And what made it especially bad was that there were no after match functions for either game, the club website was still advertising some players meetup in Melbourne 6 weeks earlier.
Why does every other club when it comes to Perth have functions, organise reserved seats for members travelling over etc, but our club does jack sh*t for our away games? It's not that hard and it wouldn't cost much. What the hell does the Victorian manager do all day if he's not looking after stuff like that?
wehavethepassion
26 Nov 2005, 18:03
Rob I think the docker supporters in melbourne are not as organized as the various afl groups here in perth.Different factions ie cheer squad etc
Thanks for jogging my memory about Wayne hughes great fella.
I think the current melb.manager's name is shane rogers.
Actually I got more info about going to melb this yr by talking to the office staff at FFC headquarters in freo then from Mr Rogers in melb!
The visitors to melb are encouraged to go to the duke of wellington before an MCG game but the local docker supporters go to the cricketers Arms!
Rob I think the docker supporters in melbourne are not as organized as the various afl groups here in perth.Different factions ie cheer squad etc
Which is a deadset blight on the club given we have a paid Victorian manager. AFAIK all local interstate club supporter groups here in Perth are staffed entirely by volunteers. Like I said, what the hell does this guy do? Because he certainly doesn't do much in the way of organise seats for members or run social functions pre or post match.
dugrene
26 Nov 2005, 19:34
Yeh... I've pencilled it in.
Going to try and get to the dome as well watch the roos and lions on Saturday.
I've already got to 2nd base. ie. mentioned it to the missus. :)
wehavethepassion
26 Nov 2005, 20:05
Yeh... I've pencilled it in.
Going to try and get to the dome as well watch the roos and lions on Saturday.
I've already got to 2nd base. ie. mentioned it to the missus. :)
We'll probably go to that as well.
dugrene
29 Dec 2005, 17:46
We'll probably go to that as well.
I've applied for some leave for that week. Wont know until march if it is approved.... Stupid bureaucracy were i work. Should be ok.
Am trying to convince a mate to come along. He is a pies supporter. :D