View Full Version : Interesting article in the Age.

raffrox
13 Nov 2005, 10:58
Very interesting if half of this is true. The article is written by Caroline Wilson but having Harvey looking over CC's shoulder can't be too comfortable.

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2005/11/12/1131578270729.html

Bell tolls for Connolly
By Caroline Wilson
November 13, 2005

Chris Connolly should be afraid. Very afraid. The position of a senior coach at a football club that has under-achieved is tenuous enough without having to deal with overseeing an operation that is moving in so many different directions as Fremantle is at present.

And, most worryingly for Connolly, directions that point away from him.

Last week's astonishing reports that Mark Harvey had been offered a staggering $750,000 over three years to move west and take on the role of assistant coach was just the latest in a long line of heavy hints that the Cameron Schwab-Chris Connolly era was nearing its end.

Already the Fremantle coach was heading towards 2006 in the knowledge that his leadership group's faith in him was wavering. Notably, Connolly's captain Peter Bell had made his post-season thoughts on the subject of the club's future under Connolly more than clear to the Dockers' board.

Bell and a group of senior players that included Matthew Pavlich, the Carr brothers and Shaun McManus, made their concerns known to an official convening of the board. And Bell's misgivings regarding his coach - whether fair or not - are not new.

Fremantle chiefs have rightly pointed out that such processes are healthy, particularly after a poor season, but how coach and captain can continue to pull together for another year - Connolly has two years remaining on his contract but in reality 2006 will be his last should the club fail again to reach the finals - is difficult to contemplate.

Another chink in the Connolly armour is the suggestion that his close friend and chief executive Schwab could be contemplating a return to Melbourne over the next 12 months. The West Australian Football Commission said it has been overjoyed with Schwab's performance in turning around the club's financial position but, perhaps, Schwab simply wants to come home.

Most disturbing has been the circumstances surrounding the Harvey offer. Fremantle has been searching for a new assistant for more than two months and, having been turned down by Chris Bond, Peter Mann and Peter Sumich among others, reportedly made the long-time Essendon assistant a massive offer more than a week ago.

Or did it? While an initial approach was made involving Fremantle director - and former Bomber - Tony Buhagiar and then a more concrete expression of interest communicated to Harvey via Dockers chairman Rick Hart during Melbourne Cup Week, Schwab denied over recent days that Harvey had been offered a job.

In fact Schwab told 3AW on Thursday night that Harvey had been invited to fly to Perth for an interview but that no concrete offer had been made. While Harvey was making clear his interest in the position on Perth and Melbourne radio, most of the Fremantle football department had no knowledge of the move to employ him. And yet clearly the respected assistant coach was given the strong impression that the job was his if he wanted it.

More disturbingly for Connolly, it was all but spelt out to Harvey by at least one director - and a boardroom shuffle is imminent - that a senior coaching position could be his by the end of the year. It has been said many times that Mark Harvey must leave Essendon to further his career but perhaps the environment at Fremantle might not be the most attractive place to further it.

And $250,000 a year? As one Victorian football club official pointed out in recent days, Fremantle has made it very difficult for its rivals trying to secure good assistants - and remember they are only assistants - by offering Harvey the sort of money that does not differ significantly from the amount being paid to at least one senior coach.

This is not to say that Harvey does not deserve the money. And we should point out, too, that Connolly's team had significant injury issues in 2005, although nothing should excuse Fremantle's second-half fade-out against Port Adelaide in round 22 when a finals berth was at stake.

But the fact is that Connolly is entering 2006 with a captain who doubts him, the amplified scrutiny of the powerful WA Commission, a board with several new faces and, potentially, a board-appointed highly paid assistant coach who has been given the impression he might not be an assistant for long.

Lucky for Connolly that he is a realist with a good sense of humor who has long seen the writing on the wall. And, according to at least four Victorian clubs, is eminently employable.

Dr Ralph Dagg
13 Nov 2005, 12:24
Very interesting if half of this is true. The article is written by Caroline Wilson but having Harvey looking over CC's shoulder can't be too comfortable.

Bell and a group of senior players that included Matthew Pavlich, the Carr brothers and Shaun McManus, made their concerns known to an official convening of the board. And Bell's misgivings regarding his coach - whether fair or not - are not new.

If true, this is the most damning thing. It keeps cropping up and I've hear Schwab deny variations of this story but not the substance. I've not heard Belly come out with a ringing endorsement of CC.

Ripper
13 Nov 2005, 12:51
If true, this is the most damning thing. It keeps cropping up and I've hear Schwab deny variations of this story but not the substance. I've not heard Belly come out with a ringing endorsement of CC.

Damming on who though Dr. Ralph?

Think back to who appeared happy and who didn't in the box at the end of the Saint's game.

YAKUZA
13 Nov 2005, 13:51
Nothing new or alarming in Wilson's story, after all only fools not in touch with reality thought Connolly was ever going to be the person to take the Club to the ultimate prize.

pinkus maximus
13 Nov 2005, 15:48
So if I read that correctly,Hart offered Harvey the assistant position before consulting Connolly or Shwab?

surfsup
13 Nov 2005, 16:07
Think back to who appeared happy and who didn't in the box at the end of the Saint's game.

He was in the coaches box because he couldn't play due to an injury. With a whole lotta huggin' and back slappin' going on I would say he just wanted to get out of their way.

pinkus maximus
13 Nov 2005, 16:12
He was in the coaches box because he couldn't play due to an injury. With a whole lotta huggin' and back slappin' going on I would say he just wanted to get out of their way.

plus Bell rarely shows emotion anyway

Plugga
13 Nov 2005, 16:54
The article has come from Caroline Wilson's pen....so pause for a moment please.

If we get Harvey, it'll be good for everyone....Connolly will have to pick up his reigns, it gets rid of Malaxos to a development coach position as everyting he has touched has turned to lead & who cares if Hart did approach Harvey off his own back, as said, it'll give Connolly a big kick in the arse & either he'll develop into a better coach or stuff up even further & let Harvey in for the head coach possie.

Win Win in my eyes.

As for Peter Bell...if these comments are true...who cares...probably just good advice for Chris to take on board...nothing personal.

IMO Pav should be skipper anyway

YAKUZA
13 Nov 2005, 19:29
So if I read that correctly,Hart offered Harvey the assistant position before consulting Connolly or Shwab?

That wouldn't be all that surprising for Freo would it?

wehavethepassion
13 Nov 2005, 19:40
The budgie has had a big hand in this. Have Budgie and Hart done this off their own bat without consulting the CEO?

And yes moving malaxos sideways can only be benifical to everyone concern.

chook2734
13 Nov 2005, 20:50
The budgie has had a big hand in this. Have Budgie and Hart done this off their own bat without consulting the CEO?

Ever considered that maybe they discussed the approach with Schwab and Connolly at some stage?? They do work together, in the same buildings you know. Why does everything have to be such a big conspiracy?? :rolleyes:

wehavethepassion
13 Nov 2005, 22:10
Ever considered that maybe they discussed the approach with Schwab and Connolly at some stage?? They do work together, in the same buildings you know. Why does everything have to be such a big conspiracy?? :rolleyes:

according to caro chook the FFC footy dept were in the dark. Now is connolly part of the FFC footy dept?

its Plan B by the some of the very people who were proponents of connoly's extension.

dugrene
13 Nov 2005, 22:30
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2005/11/12/1131578270729.html

And $250,000 a year? As one Victorian football club official pointed out in recent days, Fremantle has made it very difficult for its rivals trying to secure good assistants - and remember they are only assistants - by offering Harvey the sort of money that does not differ significantly from the amount being paid to at least one senior coach.

Who would the senior coach be ?

This is not to say that Harvey does not deserve the money.

Big statement about someone who some on BF think is 1 step away from being mentally handicapped.

I can believe a good assistant would be worth that amount of money. But I would expect the salary to be performance base. IE Base of around 100k plus car, accomodation, phone, clothing etc. Then some definable KPIs addressed by the senior playing group and his peers.

dominguez
13 Nov 2005, 22:51
I've not heard Belly come out with a ringing endorsement of CC.

The silence was deafening from the senior players when CC was under fire after the kangaroos game. Sure when asked during their media contracts they said that they were 100% behind Connolly, but if the players had complete faith in his ability to take us to the summit you would think the senior players would have got together and approached the media off their own bat.

The often disintersted attitude of some players and the whispers that keep eminating from the club suggest that our club will wallow in mediocrity for some time yet.

ImperialPurple
14 Nov 2005, 00:42
I remember on Mad Monday, when interviewed at The Seaview (when Bellie was nowhere to be seen - apparently was too disappointed to be a part of it and to front the cameras....), Pav said when asked about his support for CC, "Well I'm not exactly going to stand here and say anything otherwise, but yeah look, we're totally behind him and we're hopeful of a better seaon next year... but yeah.... look........"

:confused:

Streaker
14 Nov 2005, 01:01
http://www.epinions.com/images/opti/0e/2a/1073194-movie-resized200.jpg

pinkus maximus
14 Nov 2005, 01:20
lol^^^

seriously though. if the guys dont want to play under Connolly surely something has to be done about it. Whats the point of following them this year if they arent going to be in it 100%. I am aware that this all could be false but its been mentioned numerous times in different outlets

ImperialPurple
14 Nov 2005, 01:23
I just did a google search for "moron in blue and yellow" and this is what it returned. A google whack!! No idea what it means but I'm sure it is apt for our friend Streaky....

http://www.keithryan.com/Images/bigteeth.jpg

(I wonder if there's any reason why we keep getting pictures of dogs where you're concerned Streaky.... :confused: )

Streaker
14 Nov 2005, 01:32
Your season hasn't started and your coach, board and team are apparantly at each others throats or stabbing each other in the back, and you wonder why the dog has a huge grin. At least last year they had the decency to wait until the season was underway.

Slacker
14 Nov 2005, 10:48
Unfortunately, I find most of that article quite believable.

Sailor
14 Nov 2005, 11:03
Does this mean that George was right all along???????

ThePope
14 Nov 2005, 12:05
Your season hasn't started and your coach, board and team are apparantly at each others throats or stabbing each other in the back, and you wonder why the dog has a huge grin. At least last year they had the decency to wait until the season was underway.
Or they've simply had to raise the stakes, to get a decent assistant coach after their first couple of targets turned them down. And just because they were turned down, doesn't mean anything. Why leave the runners-up team. Why cross the country with your family for a similar job.

And any player who came out strongly backing CC and saying we're 110% behind him, etc etc would have been attacked for "obviously accepting mediocrity" or trying to get the "gold pass" for 2006.

It's a lose-lose situation until we make the finals, win a few, and ultimately win the flag. We'll be attacked by all who are on the outside, sometimes with good reason, but often, because it's the off-season and the Age/West/Slimes/Hun still have to fill a page or two with footy news to keep the non-soccer/racing/rugby fan masses happy.

Bottom line is we've been accused of being soft. Harvey played hard. Essendon have generally smashed us when they've played us recently. Sheedy is one of the best coaches of the past 40 years. If Harvs is not a complete dimwit, he might have picked up a little bit. I don't know if Hart/Budgie conspired to bring down CC/Schwab by bringing in the "heir apparant" or just inocently happen to know that we were looking for assistants, and bumped into Harvs at the Melb Cup and got talking.

If he comes, it will be the good. The rest is all speculation, and the end result will entirely match what our results are like for the year. Do well, CC and Harvs are a good team, do poorly, Harvs may well find himself with the main job.

Dr Ralph Dagg
14 Nov 2005, 16:39
.. do poorly, Harvs may well find himself with the main job.
... unless... Waterman does a great job with Peel ... Michael Broadbridge proves to be the best candidate... etc etc.

dominguez
14 Nov 2005, 16:48
If we are looking for a senior coach next year I will be extremely disappointed if we hire another coach without experience. If we have $250,000 to pay an assistant we should be willing to pay whatever it takes to lure a coach from his current club. Membership fees increasing by 5% to pay Denis Pagan a million dollars a season would be fine with me.

Lach72
14 Nov 2005, 17:13
If we are looking for a senior coach next year I will be extremely disappointed if we hire another coach without experience. If we have $250,000 to pay an assistant we should be willing to pay whatever it takes to lure a coach from his current club. Membership fees increasing by 5% to pay Denis Pagan a million dollars a season would be fine with me.
...well he does have some experience with a big, gun CHF!!

malpaso
14 Nov 2005, 17:45

Paul Roos didnt have any head coaching experience. Neither did Woosha. As you know both had their teams in the Grand Final this year. Head coaching experience is not where its at, I think it comes down to being either a 'players' coach or an analyst type coach. As far as I can tell ALL the successful coaches in the AFL are a 'players' coach.

I fear that Connolly is an analyst so the writing is on the wall.

dominguez
14 Nov 2005, 23:07
Paul Roos didnt have any head coaching experience. Neither did Woosha. As you know both had their teams in the Grand Final this year. Head coaching experience is not where its at, I think it comes down to being either a 'players' coach or an analyst type coach. As far as I can tell ALL the successful coaches in the AFL are a 'players' coach.

I agree with you regarding assistant coaches. With the right people making the decision, promoting an assistant to a senior role is often successful. But our club has stuffed up so many times that I have my doubts about their ability to select the right applicant. Hiring someone already filling the role at another club is a much safer bet, and if we have plenty of money we might as well put it to use.

If Mark Harvey is at Freo next year and we are looking for a new senior coach at the end of the 2006 season it's likely that he will get the job. From what I have seen I think that would be a mistake. Like CC he is a very good assistant but I don't think he has the intelligence to run a football club.

I think the problem with CC is that he is one of the boys (just like Danny Frawley and Peter Rohde). He came in, boosted everyones confidence, created a fun environment and it paid off in his first 2 seasons. But when leadership was required and when he needed to lay down the law that approach didn't work.

A senior coach needs the respect of his players and to demand discipline. Sure he needs to have a good working relationship with the players, but they have to know whose boss. By molly coddling the players he didn't have that dominating personality required to whip the players into shape when results aren't going your way. The lack of discipline accompanied by the fact that he is a poor match day coach makes him a very average senior coach.