View Full Version : Picola District football league
Diamonddave
8 Jan 2007, 12:14
so whats news around the traps guys??? any more signings at any clubs???
Can Shop
8 Jan 2007, 12:39
so whats news around the traps guys??? any more signings at any clubs???
Let us know who you have signed diamond
iwantanotherflag
8 Jan 2007, 13:08
My thoughts on the large league would be to create a Murray Fl & Picola FL merger with three divisions. 13 + 15 = 28. Div 1 with 10, Div 2 with 9 and Div 3 with 9. Add Tallygaroopna and you can work the numbers a bit. Relegation and promotion would need strict guidelines.
iwantanotherflag
8 Jan 2007, 13:10
Murray League and Picola League are such a good fit, just look at the extremities. North = Deni & Deni Rams, East = Mulwala & Tungamah, South = Rumbalara & Shepp East, West = Echuca United & Mathoura.
Fits so well. But many jumper clashes that would need to be looked at.
Diamonddave
8 Jan 2007, 13:23
Let us know who you have signed diamond
ask me again after wednesday night training and i will tell you if ozzie has got mare players to come out or not,........
My thoughts on the large league would be to create a Murray Fl & Picola FL merger with three divisions. 13 + 15 = 28. Div 1 with 10, Div 2 with 9 and Div 3 with 9. Add Tallygaroopna and you can work the numbers a bit. Relegation and promotion would need strict guidelines.
I think this would be a great idea, it would be great for football in the area and I think it gives clubs incentive to improve and play better opposition. This hopfully would stop some of these un-even beltens that you see in our league and it gives the weaker clubs opportunites to win games and get some confidence
The One Who Watches
8 Jan 2007, 19:08
I think this would be a great idea, it would be great for football in the area and I think it gives clubs incentive to improve and play better opposition. This hopfully would stop some of these un-even beltens that you see in our league and it gives the weaker clubs opportunites to win games and get some confidence
Like it.........
Div 1 is obviously the top 10 from the MFL.
Would mean that Moama, Tongala and Cobram are dropped to Div 2 along with Shepp East, Katandra, Tungamah, Picola, Waaia and Yarroweyah.
Div 3 would be the rest of the PDFL.
Plenty of opportunity to move between divisions. Not sure what it would meant for the BDFL clubs or even Tallygaroopna. Worth more discussion though.
Like it.........
Div 1 is obviously the top 10 from the MFL.
Would mean that Moama, Tongala and Cobram are dropped to Div 2 along with Shepp East, Katandra, Tungamah, Picola, Waaia and Yarroweyah.
Div 3 would be the rest of the PDFL.
Plenty of opportunity to move between divisions. Not sure what it would meant for the BDFL clubs or even Tallygaroopna. Worth more discussion though. I am pretty sure that someone on this thread said that it is very likely that in season 2008 there will be changes and a restructure to the league. this would be fantastic and obvious in my opinion to happen and it would great to see the VCFL actually do the right thing for once
themagicfrog
9 Jan 2007, 07:30
I am pretty sure that someone on this thread said that it is very likely that in season 2008 there will be changes and a restructure to the league. this would be fantastic and obvious in my opinion to happen and it would great to see the VCFL actually do the right thing for once
This idea was raised 4 years ago and peolpe around here thought that this was a great idea, I still think i might be the best thing for the area.
Can Shop
9 Jan 2007, 11:07
Has any one seen or heard from akka dakka or karjam lately. They must be preparing them selves for be pre season coming out of retirement. Good rumour... get on it..
Just got back today from Queensland all refreshed and ready to go
Look out Karjam's back, how was the lovley sunny weather in Queensland, did you and the family have great time.
BACKS SORE!
9 Jan 2007, 19:57
Merry Christmas and happy newyear everyone:thumbsu: Just wondering if anyone has any mail on how the teams over the border are fairin for the coming 2007 season? E.G. Deni, Mathoura, Blighty......
username91
10 Jan 2007, 08:01
Merry Christmas and happy newyear everyone:thumbsu: Just wondering if anyone has any mail on how the teams over the border are fairin for the coming 2007 season? E.G. Deni, Mathoura, Blighty......
Deni have signed Josh Bode as senior coach, with John Fitzpatrick and Ash Germano as his assistants
Blighty have signed Wooden from tocumwal as senior coach, and have also signed SANFL ruckman Paul Scoullar
Mathoura as per last year, which will be interesting to see, as they finished off the year really well once the team became to gel.
Look out Karjam's back, how was the lovley sunny weather in Queensland, did you and the family have great time.
Had a great time, had a ball Boogie Boarding and the Superman ride at Movieworld is unreal recommend it highly, put on heaps of kilos need to get into pre-season training which starts on Monday, 4km time trial is first on the agenda I will probably last for 1 km and that will pull me up
Geez a few of you lads could have some fun with this invitation from the Shepp News . . . .
It's football's silly season.
Players are weighing up club loyalties, ensuring their career progression and chasing a buck for the new season.
So tell us who's coming to your club.
Email sport@mcmedia.com.au or phone 5820 3228.
Had a great time, had a ball Boogie Boarding and the Superman ride at Movieworld is unreal recommend it highly, put on heaps of kilos need to get into pre-season training which starts on Monday, 4km time trial is first on the agenda I will probably last for 1 km and that will pull me up
Making a comeback mate
akka dakka
10 Jan 2007, 12:10
Making a comeback mate
In my opinion a comeback is long overdue and would just about make Shepp East untouchable this season with the way you can dominate games:D
yeh have to agree karjam was not a bad player in his DAYS (Sh#t stirring) but from memory can kick a ball on average around 60 metres. Just need to build his training up and then he should peak by September
akka dakka
10 Jan 2007, 13:01
yeh have to agree karjam was not a bad player in his DAYS (Sh#t stirring) but from memory can kick a ball on average around 60 metres. Just need to build his training up and then he should peak by September
saw him haul in about 15 marks at CHB in one GF and roosted it nearly 60 every time. Simply awesome in his day - and that is no bs
Can Shop
10 Jan 2007, 14:39
Akka Dakka Make a deal with karjam if he plays CHF you'll Play FF for the east this year. Then you only have to run straight lines and not handball. Plenty of youth left in you yet.
akka dakka
10 Jan 2007, 14:49
Akka Dakka Make a deal with karjam if he plays CHF you'll Play FF for the east this year. Then you only have to run straight lines and not handball. Plenty of youth left in you yet.
U know I'd almost consider that if you were going to be drilling me lace out from the wing:D I reckon I'd have to get into the hamburgers and amber fluid if I was going to hold down FF in the PDFL being built like peewee herman isn't good for full forwards.
A bit of a preseason on the pies coke and beer should help and you will write to kick 100 goals standing in the square using you bulk
themagicfrog
11 Jan 2007, 07:21
How's everyones preseason going. Turner is pushing the boys pretty hard in our first week with decent numbers on the track.
How many numbers are you getting at training and how many new recruits would you guys have this year
cackles23
11 Jan 2007, 07:33
Word on the street has Brad Lowe already returning to Ardmona anyone confirm or deny this - big loss for Yarraweyah if true
themagicfrog
11 Jan 2007, 08:04
How many numbers are you getting at training and how many new recruits would you guys have this year
got around 28 on Monday and 22 last night with a few not able to train, quite a few spectators on Monday. Recruits wise we still going 6 up on Monday and Last night.should be a couple more come over next week for there first runs.
Big Roy
11 Jan 2007, 09:26
Word on the street has Brad Lowe already returning to Ardmona anyone confirm or deny this - big loss for Yarraweyah if true
Interesting would love to hear more on this one. Just wondering if BOG has turned up to dookie training yet after reading some of the conversations on here before christmas...
got around 28 on Monday and 22 last night with a few not able to train, quite a few spectators on Monday. Recruits wise we still going 6 up on Monday and Last night.should be a couple more come over next week for there first runs.
How many Turners trained - Darren, Shannon, Chris and Scott???????????
Can Shop
11 Jan 2007, 09:58
I spoke to DT the other week and he said he not bothering with footy yet he just gunna decide alot closer to season not really worrying about things yet
Greg Montgomery (Shepp East ruckman) has returned to Tallygaroopna to play with brother Neville
Can Shop
11 Jan 2007, 10:33
Greg Montgomery (Shepp East ruckman) has returned to Tallygaroopna to play with brother Neville
You may have to play in the ruck KARJAM
Diamonddave
11 Jan 2007, 13:06
would be great news if brad lowe is heading back to Ardmona!
dookie training started back last night and we had 18 blokes there with about 5 apologies which is great. we got put through our paces with sprints competitive and ball work straight up.also big gregy trained which was good to see he done a majority of the session. and as for BOG whoever it is he has been a no show which was what we all expected! or if he is there he is keeping his mouth shut about it!
jetter18
11 Jan 2007, 13:27
Strathy kicked off training last night - 26 on track and full of enthusiasm, couple of new faces Adam Cleary returning along with Ryan Powles and some more news to come in a week or two on recruits. coach Joey D also moved well and looks to be a good coach already gaining respect of playing group
You may have to play in the ruck KARJAM
I'll be playing behind the bar thanks very much Can Shop maybe thats where you should be to with a name like that I heard you like a can or two
would be great news if brad lowe is heading back to Ardmona!
dookie training started back last night and we had 18 blokes there with about 5 apologies which is great. we got put through our paces with sprints competitive and ball work straight up.also big gregy trained which was good to see he done a majority of the session. and as for BOG whoever it is he has been a no show which was what we all expected! or if he is there he is keeping his mouth shut about it!
Still haven't worked out who I am hey? ah well all in good time.
I'm disappointed if lowey doesn't play - I would have put my hand up to have first crack at taggin him.
Ozzie is gunna be a SUPER SUPER coach apart from a little bit of favoritism showing out - what's your opinion Diamond?
Diamonddave
11 Jan 2007, 13:54
I'm disappointed if lowey doesn't play - I would have put my hand up to have first crack at taggin him.
Ozzie is gunna be a SUPER SUPER coach apart from a little bit of favoritism showing out - what's your opinion Diamond?
nah still havent worked out who u are.but really doesnt phase me either.
how has he had his favorites??? i think the 5 sessions we have had were all very good for a first time coach.
nah still havent worked out who u are.but really doesnt phase me either.
how has he had his favorites??? i think the 5 sessions we have had were all very good for a first time coach.
only that he need to realise that he is the Coach now not JUST a player but it probably takes time to adjust
Big Roy
11 Jan 2007, 14:17
Coaches that show favouratism really irk me up the way. What ever happend to just being judged on what you are in the funy old game:rolleyes:
Can Shop
11 Jan 2007, 14:21
Dont worry Karjam a can here n there isnt to bad.
Also BOG it may take Ozzie a bit to get used to the whole coaching this as he wasnt coaching or anythign last year so give him some leadway. If you think he favouring the recruits that often the case so they stay isnt it.
WOODLANDS
11 Jan 2007, 14:24
hey, the BOG is back, where have you been?
Diamonddave
11 Jan 2007, 14:24
only that he need to realise that he is the Coach now not JUST a player but it probably takes time to adjust
i still dont get how u think he is favouring anyone...... not very good at explaining yourself.
themagicfrog
11 Jan 2007, 15:06
Scott, Shannon and Darren have trained both nights so far, Friday is Optional so they will be doing a bit in Shepp and not coming up. Going to have someone local here to take traing if they take on assistant coach. Havn't heard much about chris for a while now after it was mentioned that he is looking at having crack in GVFL. All Turners are really positive on the track and are keen to play from what they have done so far.
Magic
NEXT LEVEL
11 Jan 2007, 15:20
Hey Does Any One Know Where I Can Find A Draw For The 2007 Season.
themagicfrog
11 Jan 2007, 15:25
Hey Does Any One Know Where I Can Find A Draw For The 2007 Season.
http://picoladfl.vcfl.com.au/drawresult.asp?comp=4898&OrgID=382
that'l get ya there
akka dakka
11 Jan 2007, 15:25
Dont worry Karjam a can here n there isnt to bad.
Also BOG it may take Ozzie a bit to get used to the whole coaching this as he wasnt coaching or anythign last year so give him some leadway. If you think he favouring the recruits that often the case so they stay isnt it.
Once again u r on the money Canshop (with your first sentence) but if BOG is even partly right having favorites is the quickest way to start divisions in the playing group.
Having said that I don't think Ozzie is really the sort of guy to have favorites and he's pretty determined to create some success out their while he is at the helm so I don't think he will allow it to be a factor
Marto121
11 Jan 2007, 16:11
dookie united has a terrible draw. katandra and shepp first up.
Run Straight
11 Jan 2007, 16:26
http://picoladfl.vcfl.com.au/drawresult.asp?comp=4898&OrgID=382
that'l get ya there
You are a freak Magic. The Berrigan FC website is evidence of someone with way too much time on their hands.
you guys would be nearly expecting to finish in the 6-8 area with your new players and a good draw
excitement
11 Jan 2007, 18:38
dookie united has a terrible draw. katandra and shepp first up.
Excuses no such thing as a bad draw
Thats the way the cookie curmbles this year, The NSW area sides play each other more often and it really gives them the opportunity to make the finals this year. You would think Shepp East, Katandra, Tungamah, Waaia and Piccola will be good sides again this year which only leaves one spot vacant, but if you good enough you need to beat the good sides anyway.
Jim Main
12 Jan 2007, 06:13
Can conform that brad lowe is staying at ardmona.
Bryden power is not happy
Diamonddave
12 Jan 2007, 07:02
thats great news!!!!
we wont be making any excuses about a bad draw if we dont make finals either. we really think we should play finals footy this season coming. im sure there are others sides that think they should aswell.
thats great news!!!!
we wont be making any excuses about a bad draw if we dont make finals either. we really think we should play finals footy this season coming. im sure there are others sides that think they should aswell.
From word it sounds like Yarra will drop off this year, Dookie should improve and push for finals, the five sides meationed earlier will be the pase setters, Deni Rovers have not heard much but they will most likely struggle, Berrigan will be the team everybody will keep a close eye on, Katunga have not heard much but you would think they would be middle of the road, Strathy dont no much about but you would think middle of the road also, Blighty will be a handy side with South Aussie recruit and will push for finals, Mathoura, Wunghnu and Katamatite have not had much said about them either so it looks like at this EARLY stage its between 7-8 sides to push for finals in 2007
themagicfrog
12 Jan 2007, 07:28
You are a freak Magic. The Berrigan FC website is evidence of someone with way too much time on their hands.
Or someone with a local government job!
you guys would be nearly expecting to finish in the 6-8 area with your new players and a good draw
Bloody oath, every team should be going in there with the same idea, you don't play otherwise. Our first test will be Barooga night comp, Who else out there will be in it?
cackles23
12 Jan 2007, 07:28
From word it sounds like Yarra will drop off this year, Dookie should improve and push for finals, the five sides meationed earlier will be the pase setters, Deni Rovers have not heard much but they will most likely struggle, Berrigan will be the team everybody will keep a close eye on, Katunga have not heard much but you would think they would be middle of the road, Strathy dont no much about but you would think middle of the road also, Blighty will be a handy side with South Aussie recruit and will push for finals, Mathoura, Wunghnu and Katamatite have not had much said about them either so it looks like at this EARLY stage its between 7-8 sides to push for finals in 2007
Katunga havent lost anyone from last year and were probably stiff not too play finals, definately best side outside six last year, have picked up a centrehalf back/centre half forward in Ben MCNamaara played at Numurkah & Shepp united, also in talks with others from what i can gather
username91
12 Jan 2007, 07:47
Signed new coach, who won the Golden Rivers League medal last year, and another assistant coach, while also picking up a few handy players, and at this stage have a few players returning to the club who are proven senior players, in Chris O'Connor & Benji Hardman.
And have only lost one player from last years team.
So defintately won't struggle as much as you would have first thought.
Hey Jim your spelling is terrible - conform or do you mean confirm!
Big Roy
12 Jan 2007, 08:25
Excuses no such thing as a bad draw
Pressure might be on the Dookie Coach if he fails to win one of the big games first up. I'm sure that wouold be the plan. But going off last year they need big improvement. As Excitement has said ya cant use the draw as an excuse. "You have to beat the best to be the best":eek:
Can Shop
12 Jan 2007, 08:32
Waaia started up the other night with 1.2km run something light to start with then a few drills witht he balls. Easing into it i think you would find.
Tatybulldog
12 Jan 2007, 08:34
didnt dookie win the first 7 or 8 on the trot last yr then didnt win another game?? why did they crumble so badly?
Can Shop
12 Jan 2007, 08:37
didnt dookie win the first 7 or 8 on the trot last yr then didnt win another game?? why did they crumble so badly?
I think they won a few taty but they lose people mid year that dont go back to dookie uni i think that may be a problem
iwantanotherflag
12 Jan 2007, 14:14
Katandra have signed 2004 Premiership Coach Aaron Plant as assistant coach.
Marto121
12 Jan 2007, 14:33
Taty, the untimely accident to Sam Verlin had far reaching results to the entire club.
iwantanotherflag
12 Jan 2007, 14:51
My 2007 Predictions
Blighty: Position 7-10th B&F Nappies
Berrigan: 11-15th Craig Thornton/Denis Hickey
Deni: 11-15th Benji Hardman
Dookie: 5th-8th Chris P-Croston
Katamatite: 8-13th
Katandra: 1-3rd Shane Venables
Katunga: 4-8th Matt Wellington
Mathoura: 4-7th John Jasper/Brad Todd
Picola: 2-4th Adam Who?
Shepp East: 1-2nd Sam Ahmet
Strathy: 9-12th Carter, maybe Chunka!
Tungamah: 3-6th Dodd
Waaia: 3-6th Dave Gilmour
Wunghnu: 14-15th Team Effort
Yarroweyah: 7th-10th TJ
Pearce; Adam Brunt, Shane Venables, Sam Ahmet, Adam Dodd
Big Improvers: Mathoura, Dookie
Tatybulldog
12 Jan 2007, 14:59
Taty, the untimely accident to Sam Verlin had far reaching results to the entire club.
oh ******** yeah i didnt even think outside the loop. im pretty sure something like that would wreck any side! dookie still only missed finals by a game or 2 didnt they?
themagicfrog
12 Jan 2007, 15:20
My 2007 Predictions
Blighty: Position 7-10th B&F Nappies
Berrigan: 11-15th Craig Thornton/Denis Hickey
Deni: 11-15th Benji Hardman
Dookie: 5th-8th Chris P-Croston
Katamatite: 8-13th
Katandra: 1-3rd Shane Venables
Katunga: 4-8th Matt Wellington
Mathoura: 4-7th John Jasper/Brad Todd
Picola: 2-4th Adam Who?
Shepp East: 1-2nd Sam Ahmet
Strathy: 9-12th Carter, maybe Chunka!
Tungamah: 3-6th Dodd
Waaia: 3-6th Dave Gilmour
Wunghnu: 14-15th Team Effort
Yarroweyah: 7th-10th TJ
Pearce; Adam Brunt, Shane Venables, Sam Ahmet, Adam Dodd
Big Improvers: Mathoura, Dookie
I hope your wrong then!
It would be nice to see someone else than Brunt will the Pearce, you can take Dodd out of there to, after seing him and a number of his supporters have a big sook the year he came Close to Howard Yelland in 2003 I'm not a big fan.
iwantanotherflag
12 Jan 2007, 15:42
I hope your wrong then!
It would be nice to see someone else than Brunt will the Pearce, you can take Dodd out of there to, after seing him and a number of his supporters have a big sook the year he came Close to Howard Yelland in 2003 I'm not a big fan.
Adam Brunt is a really unique player in the PDFL, but he can win all the Pearce Medals he likes as he probably wont win a premiership anytime soon. But they should go extremely close I would think.
Marto121
12 Jan 2007, 15:46
oh ******** yeah i didnt even think outside the loop. im pretty sure something like that would wreck any side! dookie still only missed finals by a game or 2 didnt they?
Yep not by much. Big Greigy and prez Gini Boyd were exceptional during this period.
iwantanotherflag
12 Jan 2007, 15:52
I like Dookie... cos they hate Shepp East just as much as us.
username91
12 Jan 2007, 16:25
Blighty: Position 9th Paul Scoullar
Berrigan: 12th Craig Thornton/Denis Hickey
Deni: 8th Chris O'Connor/Ash Germano
Dookie: 6th Unsure
Katamatite: 14th Unsure
Katandra: 2nd Brad Cordy
Katunga: 13th Unsure
Mathoura: 7th Tim Sparey
Picola: 4th Adam Brunt
Shepp East: 1st Sam Ahmet
Strathy: 11th Carter
Tungamah: 3rd Adam Dodd
Waaia: 5th Richardson
Wunghnu: 15th Unsure
Yarroweyah: 10th James Daniel
Pearce; Paul Scoullar, Adam Brunt, Adam Dodd
The One Who Watches
12 Jan 2007, 18:45
I like Dookie... cos they hate Shepp East just as much as us.
Dont under estimate the old TFL rivalries. The hatred between Tungamah, Katamatite, Katandra, Dookie and Shepp East has been brewing for a long time.
If only Benalla All Blacks were in this league, every team worthy of eternal loathing would be back playing together.:mad: :thumbsd:
The One Who Watches
12 Jan 2007, 18:48
Katandra have signed 2004 Premiership Coach Aaron Plant as assistant coach.
Plant back, McLarty and Sidey on the way. Don't think that any other teams have caught as many big fish as Katandra.
Does not bode well for the other contenders..........:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Jim Main
12 Jan 2007, 19:13
O well but i can still kick goals karjam:)Hey Jim your spelling is terrible - conform or do you mean confirm!
Jim Main
12 Jan 2007, 19:18
Didnt they hit the shepp east wall and never won a game after thatI think they won a few taty but they lose people mid year that dont go back to dookie uni i think that may be a problem
excitement
12 Jan 2007, 19:36
Plant back, McLarty and Sidey on the way. Don't think that any other teams have caught as many big fish as Katandra.
Both very overated players and will not get a kick in this league would not talk them up too much. Also takes more than a team of good players it takes heart and wanting to win more than anything which alot of blokes dont have at katandra has been prooved over the last couple of years
excitement
12 Jan 2007, 19:39
Didnt they hit the shepp east wall and never won a game after that
If you are going to ask a question there is no point answering it yourself you wont get feed back silly little boy JIM
Jim Main
12 Jan 2007, 19:41
statement numb nuts ! and no one asked u anywayIf you are going to ask a question there is no point answering it yourself you wont get feed back silly little boy JIM
The One Who Watches
12 Jan 2007, 20:38
Both very overated players and will not get a kick in this league would not talk them up too much. Also takes more than a team of good players it takes heart and wanting to win more than anything which alot of blokes dont have at katandra has been prooved over the last couple of years
Overrated?
I don't think I actually rated them.
The fact is that not many PDFL clubs are signing blokes who played 5 senior games in the GVFL let alone 20 games and 40 goals (not to mention very sharp elbows)!!!!!:D
beaglehound
12 Jan 2007, 21:05
Only 50% right. Mclarty is remaining at United. Sidey has definitely decided to go back after the biggest dummy spit ever seen. For him to be a impact back there he will have to change his work ethic considerably. Shame he is leaving the GV as he had so much more to learn about the game.
statement numb nuts ! and no one asked u anyway
Look out Jim and excitement are at it again and look out it wont take long for BIG M to enter in soon.
Dont under estimate the old TFL rivalries. The hatred between Tungamah, Katamatite, Katandra, Dookie and Shepp East has been brewing for a long time.
If only Benalla All Blacks were in this league, every team worthy of eternal loathing would be back playing together.:mad: :thumbsd:
Only problem with All Blacks is they used to always choke and the results they have been doing in the O & K league they would not beat any off the old Tungamah league teams
rabsy323
14 Jan 2007, 00:01
Apparently dookie united stalward Percy Clayton has been out sprinting Ozzie and the new recurits at dookie this pre-season so far no doubt perc will be pushing for selection for the round 1 opener
How many players has Ozzie brought to club this year
About 5 or 6 from United
United going to have decent side this year or there players leaving one by one. Stephen Scott also gone to Waaia hasn't he? I no Ralphy was going to Tally and I think there was couple going there to with him
shibby44
14 Jan 2007, 09:47
Just asking if anyone knows the players that Dookie will lose this year....cheers
excitement
14 Jan 2007, 16:27
United going to have decent side this year or there players leaving one by one. Stephen Scott also gone to Waaia hasn't he? I no Ralphy was going to Tally and I think there was couple going there to with him
Yeah scott to waaia will carve it up, palmer ralph and riordan to tally as well as dizzy schirmer and cowman dissapearing to other clubs plus the 6 or 7 that oz takes to dookie and grant searle to congupna massive loss. so i recon they might be in a bit of trouble with depth first 21 will be as good as any side but if injuries kick in they will struggle
beaglehound
14 Jan 2007, 17:40
Yeah scott to waaia will carve it up, palmer ralph and riordan to tally as well as dizzy schirmer and cowman dissapearing to other clubs plus the 6 or 7 that oz takes to dookie and grant searle to congupna massive loss. so i recon they might be in a bit of trouble with depth first 21 will be as good as any side but if injuries kick in they will struggle
Schirmer is definitely staying and has been training. Cowman possibly to Mulwala but yet to be confirmed. When last spoken to Scott was staying at United. Two Kitto Brothers, Emanuelli, Ozzie to Dookie, Bovalino to Shepp East and Dizzy down to Melbourne. Searle will not be a loss as he never really played last year and is mid 40's. However there are over a dozen new recruits at the club so numbers and depth will not be a problem. The club is confidsent of covering the losses and improving this year. Also a few ex players have returned to the club from other district leagues.
Apparently there was more than that heading off to Dookie can you confirm
excitement
14 Jan 2007, 18:34
Apparently there was more than that heading off to Dookie can you confirm
there are more heading to the hills to have a kick w akers s weatherley j poole d vidler b scott and in talks with m moore who would be a big signing for dookie
and s scott will be playing at waaia for sure
there are more heading to the hills to have a kick w akers s weatherley j poole d vidler b scott and in talks with m moore who would be a big signing for dookie
Dookie would have to be happy with that nine players, Ozzie must be on a fortune.
beaglehound
14 Jan 2007, 20:28
Spoke to Mitch Moore on Friday and he is staying at United, Brendan Scott is going to England to play cricket. Akers is definitely leaving. When Weatherley, poole and vidler were interview they were still to determine their future. I find it hard to see United clearing 9 players to Dookie espicially when they have nothing to bargin with, and may play hardball with one or two. Weatherley for instance has a huge opportunity to claim a senior spot this year, he wasn't far away last year and missed lot of games with a broken arm, I think United will be keen to retain him. United will clear the Kittos, Emanuelli and Ossie.
Young Weathers should stay at United don't worry about playin with mates its your turn to play good footy in the ones, go get em digger
Jim Main
15 Jan 2007, 06:10
gav kitto is not going to dookie, having a year out of footy .
Any light on that daimonddave ?Apparently there was more than that heading off to Dookie can you confirm
Can Shop
15 Jan 2007, 08:29
D.Vidler isnt playing football this year. Travelling overseas to play cricket with spofforth.
Who are the old united boys that are heading back to the club...
Big Roy
15 Jan 2007, 08:57
The post about g kitto is on the money heard is concentrating in doing his car up on weekends and goign motorbike riding for the year. So thats a blow for dookie.
Excitement: If S.Scot has signed at waaia why wouldnt his brother follow him there.
By all reports Mitch sidebottom isnt a certainty at Katandra yet his is in talk with the pruples
Tatybulldog
15 Jan 2007, 08:59
The post about g kitto is on the money heard is concentrating in doing his car up on weekends and goign motorbike riding for the year. So thats a blow for dookie.
Excitement: If S.Scot has signed at waaia why wouldnt his brother follow him there.
By all reports Mitch sidebottom isnt a certainty at Katandra yet his is in talk with the pruples
as reported by a couple of other users b scott is heading over seas to play cricket!
akka dakka
15 Jan 2007, 09:07
Young Weathers should stay at United don't worry about playin with mates its your turn to play good footy in the ones, go get em digger
Great call Karjam it would be good for both club and player for him to remain at United and if he did hopefully a few others might take a leaf out of his book
Tatybulldog
15 Jan 2007, 09:26
Great call Karjam it would be good for both club and player for him to remain at United and if he did hopefully a few others might take a leaf out of his book
weatherly should have got a go last yr befor he hurt his arm and didnt. plus ozzie is married to his sister so weathers is the one that i would think is most certain to head out to dookie out of all the recruits.