View Full Version : Picola District football league
cackles23
24 Jan 2007, 07:41
Haven't heard much news out Waaia & Katunga way can anyone update on any new players or any movement, how are the numbers at training etc??
Spoke to a Waaia player over the weekend, they have been getting 20-25 every night, the Bombers are shaping up very well with Ads Waasdorp returning, Mick Henderson returning along with Joe Richardson and they are still chasing Scott from Shepp United, no losses at all and rumour that Rob Rodda might also be headed that way from Yarroweyah
Can Shop
24 Jan 2007, 08:50
Where's Diamondave and Can Shop been lately haven't heard much, how's training goin Diamondave. And Can Shop did you whack a few cans down on Sunday night??
I donthave much news for you karjam. Most clubs have already signed there players up and if any clubs gain players from here there done well. Just a usual sunday night for me Karjam few quiet ones turned into someloud ones.:rolleyes:
Can Shop
24 Jan 2007, 10:45
Karjam do you play waaiia round 1 this year on easter weekend??
shibby44
24 Jan 2007, 10:54
there are a heap,,, Ozzie Locky Weathers Beggsy Kitto Ludy has not missed a trainig yet, Gregy has been training hard, its been a good hard effort from all players tho. it has been very hard and everyone is stepping up to the plate which is good for the DUFC.
G'day diamonddave do you know a guy called AFL dave by any chance......?????
Karjam do you play waaiia round 1 this year on easter weekend??
Strong chance it will be played on GOOD FRIDAY but still to confirm that???
themagicfrog
24 Jan 2007, 12:30
Strong chance it will be played on GOOD FRIDAY but still to confirm that???
Berrigan plays Blighty on Good Friday, everyone thinks its a fantastic idea, leaves the whole weekend for recovery. Berrigan will also have there players Auction that night.
Can Shop
24 Jan 2007, 12:50
Will that up set clubs if there is more then one game in the league getting played on the friday night
username91
24 Jan 2007, 13:12
How many training sessions is everyone having?
I know Rovers are training 3 times a week, with one session at 6am on Wednesdays.
themagicfrog
24 Jan 2007, 13:29
How many training sessions is everyone having?
I know Rovers are training 3 times a week, with one session at 6am on Wednesdays.
Berrigan is Training Monday, Wednesday and Fri but will be going back to the standard Tue/Thu from next week.
Jim Main
24 Jan 2007, 16:09
Rob Rodda is playing at wunghnu.
Has been training with us since last week.Spoke to a Waaia player over the weekend, they have been getting 20-25 every night, the Bombers are shaping up very well with Ads Waasdorp returning, Mick Henderson returning along with Joe Richardson and they are still chasing Scott from Shepp United, no losses at all and rumour that Rob Rodda might also be headed that way from Yarroweyah
Jim Main
24 Jan 2007, 16:15
We have a kid by the name of jess o'keefe playing for us from shepp swans did the 2.5 km time trial in 10 min and 20 secs.
carved it up :eek:who has been burning up the track for there clubs??
Rob Rodda is playing at wunghnu.
Has been training with us since last week.
Who's Rob Rodda
Will that up set clubs if there is more then one game in the league getting played on the friday night
I don't think it will Can Shop, if I remember correctly the Murray play about 2-3 games on the Good Friday, like the Magic Frog said it Free's up the the rest of the weekend for the players, to do other things, camping footy etc. I know the players at our club are keen to play on the Friday.
Rojer_Ramjet
24 Jan 2007, 20:40
I hear Charlie Edmonson is playing for the deni rams travelling to see his girlfriend. Anyone confirm this?
Rascal99
24 Jan 2007, 20:59
I hear Charlie Edmonson is playing for the deni rams travelling to see his girlfriend. Anyone confirm this?
Where's Charlie from??
coconut
24 Jan 2007, 23:33
Don't make up/spread bullsh*t rumours Rojer. If you must know his girlfriend still has a year at Dookie College. I know he's fit but i don't think he can walk that far.
iwantanotherflag
25 Jan 2007, 08:11
Both very overated players and will not get a kick in this league would not talk them up too much. Also takes more than a team of good players it takes heart and wanting to win more than anything which alot of blokes dont have at katandra has been prooved over the last couple of years
Heart. Is that the problem at Katandra? Pretty high standards there! I would put Katandra and Waaia on par as the clubs with the biggest hearts. Katandra are just in the middle of a dynasty, watch the next few years! In the 1970's they played in 9 grand finals for 3 wins, I would still call that successful. And at the moment they have played in 3 of the last 4 grand finals and won two of them. I am sure that all clubs other than Shepp East (100% in PFL)would swap our results with theirs!
Can Shop
25 Jan 2007, 08:48
We have a kid by the name of jess o'keefe playing for us from shepp swans did the 2.5 km time trial in 10 min and 20 secs.
carved it up :eek:
Which club r u at jim main. Jesse Is a good kid
Rojer_Ramjet
25 Jan 2007, 09:15
Don't make up/spread bullsh*t rumours Rojer. If you must know his girlfriend still has a year at Dookie College. I know he's fit but i don't think he can walk that far.
Settle down champ. That's just what I heard round the traps mate. Charlie's from Dookie Rascal. So he's not heading to Deni then cocunut?
formguid121
25 Jan 2007, 09:28
Settle down champ. That's just what I heard round the traps mate. Charlie's from Dookie Rascal. So he's not heading to Deni then cocunut?
Charlie Edmonson is a good friend of mine and i know that he wants to play footy at dookie for another year but his girlfriend didn't get back in at the college and there are a few clubs back home after him, i don't think he will play for Deni rojer....
carved it up :eek:
Sounds like he is very fit, but can he get the footy thats the main thing
Where's Charlie from??
For some reason I thought he was from over Ballarat way, a mate teaches at Ballarat and Clarendon College and I was sure Charlie's name was mentioned in conversation . . . . . must be two of them :confused:
Very very handy and if he does leave the Dook's some club gunna be pretty happy
formguid121
25 Jan 2007, 13:05
For some reason I thought he was from over Ballarat way, a mate teaches at Ballarat and Clarendon College and I was sure Charlie's name was mentioned in conversation . . . . . must be two of them :confused:
Very very handy and if he does leave the Dook's some club gunna be pretty happy
Yeah doona he went to Ballarat and Clarendon College but then went to Dookie for Uni. Do you know who he will play for??
Jim Main
25 Jan 2007, 13:14
Wunghnu yes top kid loves to run:)Which club r u at jim main. Jesse Is a good kid
Yeah doona he went to Ballarat and Clarendon College but then went to Dookie for Uni. Do you know who he will play for??
No idea although Im sure he wont have any drama's finding a club, you a BCC boy also?
Wunghnu yes top kid loves to run:)
Yes but can he play footy Jim????
Diamonddave
25 Jan 2007, 14:50
im pretty sure that charlie has got one more yr of uni left at dookie. he also is helping ludey coach the 4ths this season. he is the B+F winner and clubs dont let them go very easily.
also on recruiting news. peter o'donnel is back wearing the dookie colours this season comin. so there is another good pick up for the club!
NuggetyBackPocket
25 Jan 2007, 15:43
Who is this Charlie Edmonston? is he a player worth chasing???? if so what sort of coin would he be worth
formguid121
25 Jan 2007, 16:17
Who is this Charlie Edmonston? is he a player worth chasing???? if so what sort of coin would he be worth
He won the B & F at dookie last year. Im pritty sure there is a team back home that is trying to get him and paying around $230 i think.
Rascal99
25 Jan 2007, 16:24
He won the B & F at dookie last year. Im pritty sure there is a team back home that is trying to get him and paying around $230 i think.
Where is back home?
news for sports fans Dookie will announce shortly another senior GVFL footballer willing to come to the club for a break from the big league. Not from united but in Shepparton area
im pretty sure that charlie has got one more yr of uni left at dookie. he also is helping ludey coach the 4ths this season. he is the B+F winner and clubs dont let them go very easily.
also on recruiting news. peter o'donnel is back wearing the dookie colours this season comin. so there is another good pick up for the club!
Pete O'Donnell? Had the pleasure of being a team mate of his a while back at Oakleigh Districts. Can play. loves a beer too - top fella :thumbsu:
cheers,
formguid121
26 Jan 2007, 10:28
Where is back home?
It's about 25km out of Ballarat.
news for sports fans Dookie will announce shortly another senior GVFL footballer willing to come to the club for a break from the big league. Not from united but in Shepparton area
We are spending up big this year aren't we!!!!!!
wonder were the money is coming from
chicken machine
26 Jan 2007, 20:11
Sounds like he is very fit, but can he get the footy thats the main thing
who would be the fittest blokes going around in the picola league and what times would they run 4km in?
adriantimmis
26 Jan 2007, 20:17
Dookie wont be that good this year, i beleive Katunga will be the real deal, benny macnamara from numurkah will be dominant across half forward.
Waiaa will be tough to they need some talls though, rely on gilmour to much for me.
Dookie wont be that good this year, i beleive Katunga will be the real deal, benny macnamara from numurkah will be dominant across half forward.
Waiaa will be tough to they need some talls though, rely on gilmour to much for me.
Any new players at Katunga adriantimmis or they retained the same list as they had. Waaia I agree will be a tough team to beat looking forward to round 1 when they play shepp east it will be a cracker and by the way how is your team Wunghnu looking this year
iwantanotherflag
27 Jan 2007, 09:28
What are the chances of Anthony Stevens going back to where it all started?
Nil this year anyway, has a development role at Moama.
iwantanotherflag
27 Jan 2007, 10:17
I am sure Anthony Stevens could play a few to qualify.
that will be with Moama I take it
waymo7680
27 Jan 2007, 15:21
IF KATUNGA IS GOING TO BE THE REAL DEAL I HOPE THEY GOT SOME PLAYERS WITH SOME BALLS BECAUSE THEY WERE SOFT LAST YEAR:eek: :eek:
adriantimmis
27 Jan 2007, 19:16
big call waymo my old china plate, Chris Odwyer is a real inspiration and Katunga demand respect. i heard a rumour today that travis wayman is on $800 a game at moama
BACKS SORE!
27 Jan 2007, 20:45
IF KATUNGA IS GOING TO BE THE REAL DEAL I HOPE THEY GOT SOME PLAYERS WITH SOME BALLS BECAUSE THEY WERE SOFT LAST YEAR:eek: :eek:
Gee thats a bit harsh I reckon Katunga were not that bad! I think they took it up too shepp east in the later rounds of the year, I could be wrong?
big call waymo my old china plate, Chris Odwyer is a real inspiration and Katunga demand respect. i heard a rumour today that travis wayman is on $800 a game at moama
maybe you should hit him up for a loan with money like that. you obviously must of played footy with Timmis at Katunga or new him from there as you have named yourself after the great man
smallfootyhead
28 Jan 2007, 10:13
your not far off about wayman and 800 at moama there mercs?? heard tally arent guna make it a smooth transition tho??????
mate if you want to get respect get your info correct because you are way of the mark, spoke to him recently
iwantanotherflag
28 Jan 2007, 11:16
Wayman is a good player but $800? I would think a set price like and a goal bonus. If he performs he brings it home $$$.
Getting a bit older now, but can still put it through the sticks.
He would have the largest collection of footy jumpers of anyone around. Since 2000 he has been at Golden Square, BL Serp, Calivil, Katandra, Shepp East, Milawa, Tallygaroopna and now Moama. He also played in the O&M before that.
Who else around the traps qualifies as a journeyman?
your not far off about wayman and 800 at moama there mercs?? heard tally arent guna make it a smooth transition tho??????
Mate he has it all lined up come 1st Feb so once again wrong information, it is going to be straight forward transaction. cannot hold a bloke anyway when they owe no money or have any off the clubs equipment and no contract in place
Superfly
28 Jan 2007, 12:58
Wayman is a good player but $800? I would think a set price like and a goal bonus. If he performs he brings it home $$$.
Getting a bit older now, but can still put it through the sticks.
He would have the largest collection of footy jumpers of anyone around. Since 2000 he has been at Golden Square, BL Serp, Calivil, Katandra, Shepp East, Milawa, Tallygaroopna and now Moama. He also played in the O&M before that.
Who else around the traps qualifies as a journeyman?
Too much money for a guy who might leave at the end of the season for yet another club...not a smart descision. He's probably past his best now anyway.
flying_eagle
28 Jan 2007, 13:14
$800 is a lot of money to give to a bloke who will probably walk at the end of the season. Maybe better off trying to entice 2 younger blokes for $400 and find them a job so they stick around. Thats a lot of footy jumpers. Is he dedicated come round 1 or is it like a job for him, just get it done then p!ss off?
galloping gasometer
28 Jan 2007, 14:00
$800 is a lot of money to give to a bloke who will probably walk at the end of the season. Maybe better off trying to entice 2 younger blokes for $400 and find them a job so they stick around. Thats a lot of footy jumpers. Is he dedicated come round 1 or is it like a job for him, just get it done then p!ss off?
Players dont determine worth, the club does.THey will pay or they wont.
In regards to moving around, if your young enough or not tied down, why not? Good way to see various places.
There are lots of players around that will play a year or 2 in another league,go back to the league they played in and then follow another offer.Footy is about enjoyment and if you want to go somwhere else so be it.
Superfly
28 Jan 2007, 14:12
Players dont determine worth, the club does.THey will pay or they wont.
In regards to moving around, if your young enough or not tied down, why not? Good way to see various places.
There are lots of players around that will play a year or 2 in another league,go back to the league they played in and then follow another offer.Footy is about enjoyment and if you want to go somwhere else so be it.
Not saying he shouldn't travel around if he wants to, just saying that 800 a game is not neccessarily a wise investment for such a short term gain (for the club that is.). If they're willing to pay that much then why wouldn't you travel the extra 45 min to play. Also, it's not like he's moving round the country to see the sights. Moama doesn't look that different to Tally or Calivil.
if wayman can kick 100+ goals like he has in the past then it mite be money worth spent
shibby44
28 Jan 2007, 14:14
Flying eagle good to see your back! how is training going, got enough money to spend this year or what!!
Superfly
28 Jan 2007, 14:14
Leigh Kellet kicked over 120 for Murch last year and they won about 5 games so it's not the be all and end all.
i think u will find that moama is a lot better side than what murch are and moama will benefit more having someone capable of kicking 100+ goals
In the scheme of position in their respective leagues they are very much the same, there is no way Wayman will kick 100 goals in the Murray League.
galloping gasometer
28 Jan 2007, 15:37
Not saying he shouldn't travel around if he wants to, just saying that 800 a game is not neccessarily a wise investment for such a short term gain (for the club that is.). If they're willing to pay that much then why wouldn't you travel the extra 45 min to play. Also, it's not like he's moving round the country to see the sights. Moama doesn't look that different to Tally or Calivil.
What if he was asking $250 a game in his first year but then goes to $1250 in his second year. Do you think he would stay?
Clubs cant structure a contract like this as there are too many options and by rights he could leave before the middle of the year so once again, you are only worth what the club is willing to pay.
BACKS SORE!
28 Jan 2007, 16:26
Any news on how the Tunga boys are looking for the "07" season, any big name signings or big name departures so far?
dazzledavey36
29 Jan 2007, 09:48
They are loking pretty good once again.. the only recruit i know is gus morphett from euroa and another bloke from that way but dont know who.
flying_eagle
29 Jan 2007, 15:01
Has the destination of Anthony Stevens been discussed? Is it still rumoured that he might be going to Waaia?
Tatybulldog
29 Jan 2007, 15:19
Has the destination of Anthony Stevens been discussed? Is it still rumoured that he might be going to Waaia?
anthony is working with the moama footy club. he is the development officer over there. he is not playing footy at all.
you would think if he did decide to play at all it would be with Moama as they are paying him:rolleyes:
Diamonddave
30 Jan 2007, 06:52
Some more great news for Dookie F/C Chris Kendal from Mooroopna F/C trained with the boys last night and has signed with them for this season.....
themagicfrog
30 Jan 2007, 07:42
Some more great news for Dookie F/C Chris Kendal from Mooroopna F/C trained with the boys last night and has signed with them for this season.....
Are Dookie going to have anyone left from last year playing one's?
Can Shop
30 Jan 2007, 08:09
Are Dookie going to have anyone left from last year playing one's?
Dont be suprised if some of these boys play 2nds to find there feet lol. They havent got all that many recruits have they. Karjam have you got any more recruits to mention on here now you been training a couple of weeks
iwantanotherflag
30 Jan 2007, 09:03
I think Anthony will play a few with Waaia, but it wont develop late, like Garry Stevens did last year.
Waaia will be a real threat especially with Mick Cleeland doing the job again. Counsel and Happy Gilmore Sr are AC. With Waasdorp on board as well, things look ominus. Mick Hendo will also be back. Will Brad Hendo hang around? Throw in Herb & Mark Meyland, Chandler, Atkins, Tyack and they'll be up there!
NEXT LEVEL
30 Jan 2007, 10:24
WELL DONE ON SIGNING THE BEST FLOATING (DOESN'T MAN UP EVER) BACKMAN GOING ROUND.
Trent Lovelock
30 Jan 2007, 10:37
WELL DONE ON SIGNING THE BEST FLOATING (DOESN'T MAN UP EVER) BACKMAN GOING ROUND.
haha next level, youve just described the whole mooroopna fc... barring one, who doesnt have to anyway!
NEXT LEVEL
30 Jan 2007, 10:49
haha next level, youve just described the whole mooroopna fc... barring one, who doesnt have to anyway!
who may that be is that one of tatura's new recuite
He'll fit in well we've got heaps of front runners out here at Dookie!!
The Fev
30 Jan 2007, 11:23
I think Anthony will play a few with Waaia, but it wont develop late, like Garry Stevens did last year.
Waaia will be a real threat especially with Mick Cleeland doing the job again. Counsel and Happy Gilmore Sr are AC. With Waasdorp on board as well, things look ominus. Mick Hendo will also be back. Will Brad Hendo hang around? Throw in Herb & Mark Meyland, Chandler, Atkins, Tyack and they'll be up there!
Little Birdy told me that Henderson will be at the Echuca Bombers with the Gilmour boys not so far behind him... Any one know if there's any truth to the rumour?
Diamonddave
30 Jan 2007, 11:45
Dont be suprised if some of these boys play 2nds to find there feet lol. They havent got all that many recruits have they. Karjam have you got any more recruits to mention on here now you been training a couple of weeks
Dookie have recruited 13-15 players this year and all of good quality... there are still alot of players from last year that will be pushing for a senior crack this year. just keeps them honest.......
Can Shop
30 Jan 2007, 11:54
Little Birdy told me that Henderson will be at the Echuca Bombers with the Gilmour boys not so far behind him... Any one know if there's any truth to the rumour?
Kidding yourself there. Dave is assitant coach. And about to get married an stay settled in at waaia. And Junior is just gunna have a run around at waaia if he has the time.
Tatybulldog
30 Jan 2007, 14:09
Dookie have recruited 13-15 players this year and all of good quality... there are still alot of players from last year that will be pushing for a senior crack this year. just keeps them honest.......
of those 13-15 players how many are goin to in the mix for the senior spots in ure opinion Dave>?
Trent Lovelock
30 Jan 2007, 14:19
who may that be is that one of tatura's new recuite
heck no... i meant sir bradley campbell!
The Yze brothers are training well, look very good actually!
akka dakka
30 Jan 2007, 14:41
I thought I saw Damien up with Adem on the weekend
Big Roy
30 Jan 2007, 14:44
Thats great news for the eagles. They'd be firm favourites for the flag. I've seen them around the traps looking fit.
akka dakka
30 Jan 2007, 14:52
Thats great news for the eagles. They'd be firm favourites for the flag. I've seen them around the traps looking fit.
I don't think I've seen Ramadan as fit as he is at the moment!!
Can Shop
30 Jan 2007, 14:53
You must be pretty fit still though akka
akka dakka
30 Jan 2007, 15:04
You must be pretty fit still though akka
couldn't keep up with Ramadan though:p
Can Shop
30 Jan 2007, 15:06
couldn't keep up with Ramadan though:p
Karjam would be able to wouldnt he Akka. Hows this Ramadan Swapping From R/R to forward pocket with Karjam with damien in the square and you in the other pocket Akka while the coach just does whatever pleases. As long as he doesnt get bored
akka dakka
30 Jan 2007, 15:11
Karjam would be able to wouldnt he Akka. Hows this Ramadan Swapping From R/R to forward pocket with Karjam with damien in the square and you in the other pocket Akka while the coach just does whatever pleases. As long as he doesnt get bored
Pretty good setup there but I don't know if the eagles could afford us all.:D :p
I'd only go if u u slotted onto a wing!!
NEXT LEVEL
30 Jan 2007, 15:33
heck no... i meant sir bradley campbell!
HA HE'S A HACK PAST HIS TIME.
bargy20
30 Jan 2007, 16:17
Some hot news hitting the eagles, rumour has it that Mark Reid, Tonnies 300 game legend maybe heading down to the eagles this season to play with his younger brother steven. Steven was recruited to SE last year but struggled with injury (the main one being a serious medicine ball mishap that led to the removal of his right gonad). Steven who is also said to be a dead ringer for joaquin phoenix (star of movies such as gladiator and walk the line) is looking super fit and ready for a big year, hopefully for eagles fans with his brother.
waymo7680
30 Jan 2007, 19:00
you would think if he did decide to play at all it would be with Moama as they are paying him:rolleyes:
shepp east sigin another recruit echuca thirds best an fariest last year and lost joey perkovic
waymo7680
30 Jan 2007, 19:03
shepp east sigin another recruit echuca thirds best an fariest last year and lost joey perkovic
can anyone tell me who is the best half forward in the league is :cool: :cool:
Some hot news hitting the eagles, rumour has it that Mark Reid, Tonnies 300 game legend maybe heading down to the eagles this season to play with his younger brother steven. Steven was recruited to SE last year but struggled with injury (the main one being a serious medicine ball mishap that led to the removal of his right gonad). Steven who is also said to be a dead ringer for joaquin phoenix (star of movies such as gladiator and walk the line) is looking super fit and ready for a big year, hopefully for eagles fans with his brother.
Wishful thinking, but Mark has signed on again at Tongala, and has also been carving up the track, only missing a couple of training runs since mid November.
themagicfrog
31 Jan 2007, 07:31
With the silly season officialy opening 2morrow, how many of these players clearences will we se put in?
Chris Turner was at training last night, and will be training with Berrigan amoungts his other training comitments.
akka dakka
31 Jan 2007, 07:41
Why would Joey leave?
Jaqueline
31 Jan 2007, 07:51
yes mark reid would never leave tonny, as for his brother he is not allowed to play again. He had an accident at training involving a rather overweight team mate, that ex-coach from dookie, montmorrisey or whatever his name is - apparently he landed on him in a tackle which ruptured reid's disc and he had to get the disc surgically removed.
bargy20
31 Jan 2007, 08:22
I would like to retract the rumor of Mark Reid playing for SE. I received the info from his brother Steven, who is a habitual lying stepper, I should of known the info was false. Apologies to all concerned
Diamonddave
31 Jan 2007, 11:55
With the silly season officialy opening 2morrow, how many of these players clearences will we se put in?
Chris Turner was at training last night, and will be training with Berrigan amoungts his other training comitments.
all will be put in for clearences and hopefully they will all be cleared.
beaglehound
31 Jan 2007, 11:57
Why would Joey leave?
I think he is keen to give GV a shot and has committed to the Demons. Hasn't signed as yet but has been a regular at training over the last fortnight and is moving well.
iwantanotherflag
31 Jan 2007, 12:57
can anyone tell me who is the best half forward in the league is :cool: :cool:
To play against I think that Tom Wren is quite a handful, but has had some ordinary days against us over the last couple of years. Nayce Lowe (who I think has moved on) could really expose you also.
Matt Olney (previously at Berrigan in 05) was tough.
Wouldn't like to play against my mates Matt Riordan and Brad Cordy at HF.
iwantanotherflag
31 Jan 2007, 12:59
Clearance time hey guys. Lets just see who was dribbling and who was on the money. But even if some of the stuff isn't true it has been great reading. Names like Yze, Reid, All of Shepp United, Anthony Stevens joining the PDFL will make us a premier league I would think!!:p
NEXT LEVEL
31 Jan 2007, 13:49
To play against I think that Tom Wren is quite a handful, but has had some ordinary days against us over the last couple of years. Nayce Lowe (who I think has moved on) could really expose you also.
Matt Olney (previously at Berrigan in 05) was tough.
Wouldn't like to play against my mates Matt Riordan and Brad Cordy at HF.
sounds like you need to lift your game if you can't handle playing against those kind of players. wren is big old and slow, cordy small and soft. Not sure about the others but maybe you should drop yourself to the 2's to get some confidents back in yourself.