View Full Version : Picola District football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

TuskenRaider
31 Jan 2007, 14:02
sounds like you need to lift your game if you can't handle playing against those kind of players. wren is big old and slow, cordy small and soft. Not sure about the others but maybe you should drop yourself to the 2's to get some confidents back in yourself.

Sounds like you need to read the post better. He was talking about Tom Wren, not Rob, and you could hardly call Tom old.

NEXT LEVEL
31 Jan 2007, 14:05
Sounds like you need to read the post better. He was talking about Tom Wren, not Rob, and you could hardly call Tom old.
TOM ROB ALL THE SAME, ROB IS BETTER THAN TOM ANY WAY.

Tatybulldog
31 Jan 2007, 14:17
you'd wanna perform this season brendan mellington. your chirping it up on here at the moment.... how has trainging out east way been treating you? any chance of coming back down the midland for another few trainging runs? you looked a bit under done...

NEXT LEVEL
31 Jan 2007, 14:23
you'd wanna perform this season brendan mellington. your chirping it up on here at the moment.... how has trainging out east way been treating you? any chance of coming back down the midland for another few trainging runs? you looked a bit under done...
I WISH I WAS AS GOOD AS MELLINGTON, BUT YOU HAVE GOT THE WRONG PLAYER HERE CHAMP. AS FOR TAT THEY PROB SHOULD BE TRAINING 5 NIGHTS A WEEK TO GET CLOSE TO BEING COMPETITIVE THIS YEAR.

Tatybulldog
31 Jan 2007, 14:50
I WISH I WAS AS GOOD AS MELLINGTON, BUT YOU HAVE GOT THE WRONG PLAYER HERE CHAMP. AS FOR TAT THEY PROB SHOULD BE TRAINING 5 NIGHTS A WEEK TO GET CLOSE TO BEING COMPETITIVE THIS YEAR.
pretty sure i got the right bloke. good luck to ya this year moose.

beaglehound
31 Jan 2007, 20:09
Spot on Next Level, Rob's experience makes him a better option but he is now well and truely past his prime. Tom is too inconsistent and would not be the sort of player who would step up and win you a game by blitzing. Riordan is a good player but I would classify him as a small to medium forward and not necessarily a key forward.He is dangerous when he is on his game. I rate him and hope he plays at United this year instead of Swans

mercs
31 Jan 2007, 21:34
Rob Wren when he was playing at United he was great he unfortually done a serious injury and only played something like 10 games. But in his time he was a great CHF and really made his pressence on the field, only got good things to say about him as a player and should be respected for what he has done in footy:thumbsu:

iwantanotherflag
1 Feb 2007, 07:27
sounds like you need to lift your game if you can't handle playing against those kind of players. wren is big old and slow, cordy small and soft. Not sure about the others but maybe you should drop yourself to the 2's to get some confidents back in yourself.

The question I was refering to was who are the best half forwards in the PDFL. And in my experience playing at Centre Half Back I found those guys as my hardest opponents. I find these guys also had some great support around them. Last year Tungamah's forward line had many guys to try to cover that Tom was normally the one that broke free and exposed most sides.

As to dropping to the twos.... I would like to see you play on Rob Wren. He might be getting a little older but I sure he would give you a BATH!

Thanks for the support guys!

iwantanotherflag
1 Feb 2007, 07:29
Spot on Next Level, Rob's experience makes him a better option but he is now well and truely past his prime. Tom is too inconsistent and would not be the sort of player who would step up and win you a game by blitzing. Riordan is a good player but I would classify him as a small to medium forward and not necessarily a key forward.He is dangerous when he is on his game. I rate him and hope he plays at United this year instead of Swans

What Riordan... United & Swans.... Na guys Katandra!!

Matt Riordan is a Key Forward and 6'3". Brent Riordan who won a B&F where David Mench now plays in Geelong in 2006 might be classified as a small forward.

TuskenRaider
1 Feb 2007, 07:53
Rob Wren when he was playing at United he was great he unfortually done a serious injury and only played something like 10 games. But in his time he was a great CHF and really made his pressence on the field, only got good things to say about him as a player and should be respected for what he has done in footy:thumbsu:

Totally agree. After seeing this bloke play a bit I still cannot fathom how he didn't crack it for a game at Richmond in his 3 years there. A seriously good player who makes up for his lack of pace with the ability to keep going and going and one of the best pack marks you would hope to see.

NEXT LEVEL
1 Feb 2007, 08:42
The question I was refering to was who are the best half forwards in the PDFL. And in my experience playing at Centre Half Back I found those guys as my hardest opponents. I find these guys also had some great support around them. Last year Tungamah's forward line had many guys to try to cover that Tom was normally the one that broke free and exposed most sides.

As to dropping to the twos.... I would like to see you play on Rob Wren. He might be getting a little older but I sure he would give you a BATH!

Thanks for the support guys!
well i have played on him when he played at euroa in the gvfl and kept him goaless yep 0. that was 2 weeks b4 they played finals so he should of been in form. just another day at the office i'd say. good luck playing at 12 champ

sparra
1 Feb 2007, 08:49
well i have played on him when he played at euroa in the gvfl and kept him goaless yep 0. that was 2 weeks b4 they played finals so he should of been in form. just another day at the office i'd say. good luck playing at 12 champ

Yeh well I played on a bloke called Russell Jeffries,CHF coached Jerilderie in the late 80's, played a few at Geelong and St Kilda, kept him goalless also.

Only trouble was he had 38 kicks 22 handballs 24 marks, and I still reckon their statistician missed a few.

Big Roy
1 Feb 2007, 10:00
Next Level if your who i think you are... Whats your claim to fame... Playing full back in the mooroopna ones getting 8.7 kicked on ya by duanne hueston then getting the big article in the paper the next friday all the best for the year at the eagles

Tatybulldog
1 Feb 2007, 10:01
You are talking ******** brendan mellington! there is only one reason why he played vic country....because he deserved to! very handy player rob wren. one of the best sets of hands i have seen!
since ure playing at shepp east this yr moose you will get a chance to have another crack at big wrenny! look forward to looking in the paper and seeing how he/you go.

iwantanotherflag
1 Feb 2007, 10:21
NEXTLEVEL I hope you are the same calibre as Adam Brunt, cos that's the way you are talking.

And going to Shepp East too, looks like we'll be best mates real quick!!

iwantanotherflag
1 Feb 2007, 10:22
Are clearances up yet guys?

NEXT LEVEL
1 Feb 2007, 10:27
You are talking ******** brendan mellington! there is only one reason why he played vic country....because he deserved to! very handy player rob wren. one of the best sets of hands i have seen!
since ure playing at shepp east this yr moose you will get a chance to have another crack at big wrenny! look forward to looking in the paper and seeing how he/you go.
WELL IF I WAS YOU JASSON DAGGER I WOULDN'T BE READING THE FOOTY SCORES THIS YEAR CAUSE I DONT THINK TATURA WILL BE POSTING ANY SCORES WORTH PRINTING. GOOD LUCK AND HAVE SMACKING ASS'S IN THE SHOWERS WITH THE WOODEN SPOON.

NEXT LEVEL
1 Feb 2007, 10:28
NEXTLEVEL I hope you are the same calibre as Adam Brunt, cos that's the way you are talking.

And going to Shepp East too, looks like we'll be best mates real quick!!
NO QUIET I THINK IM ABOUT A FOOT & HALF BIGGER AND ABOUT 10 YEARS YOUNGER BUT WHO KNOWS WILL WAIT AND SEE

NEXT LEVEL
1 Feb 2007, 10:29
Yeh well I played on a bloke called Russell Jeffries,CHF coached Jerilderie in the late 80's, played a few at Geelong and St Kilda, kept him goalless also.

Only trouble was he had 38 kicks 22 handballs 24 marks, and I still reckon their statistician missed a few.
WOW YOU GOT A BATH HEY

Niko87
1 Feb 2007, 10:52
WELL IF I WAS YOU JASSON DAGGER I WOULDN'T BE READING THE FOOTY SCORES THIS YEAR CAUSE I DONT THINK TATURA WILL BE POSTING ANY SCORES WORTH PRINTING. GOOD LUCK AND HAVE SMACKING ASS'S IN THE SHOWERS WITH THE WOODEN SPOON.
At least he still wants to play GV and not step down a league because he couldn't make it in the 1's

Tatybulldog
1 Feb 2007, 11:00
HAHA everyone reading your post is sitting there thinking how much of a tool u have made yourself look like!im proud to say i play for tatura probably the most successful club in the gv over the last 15 yrs. good luck trying to get a kick out there moose. you might forget which foot to use its been that long since u have had one!

Juddernaut3
1 Feb 2007, 11:02
Are clearances up yet guys?

Theres been a few put through at this stage.

It 's definately classified as a "watch this space" for the next few weeks

http://www.picoladfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp

NEXT LEVEL
1 Feb 2007, 11:12
HAHA everyone reading your post is sitting there thinking how much of a tool u have made yourself look like!im proud to say i play for tatura probably the most successful club in the gv over the last 15 yrs. good luck trying to get a kick out there moose. you might forget which foot to use its been that long since u have had one!
I'LL REMEMBER THAT AS FOR A TOOL THIS IS NOT THE HOLY GRAIL OF FOOTBALL ITS FOR GUYS WITH DESK JOBS TO WASTE TIME AT WORK AND TALK SH1T ABOUT FOOTY IF YOU WONT TO TAKE IT ALL TO HEART THEN FINE ENJOY YOUR SHELTERED LITTLE WORLD YOU LIVE IN. AS FOR GETTING A KICK DONT SNAP THOSE CHICKEN LEGS

NEXT LEVEL
1 Feb 2007, 11:14
At least he still wants to play GV and not step down a league because he couldn't make it in the 1's
IT SOUNDS LIKE YOU KNOW ALL THE REASONS.

karjam
1 Feb 2007, 11:28
IT SOUNDS LIKE YOU KNOW ALL THE REASONS.

Are you having fun there NEXT LEVEL!

iwantanotherflag
1 Feb 2007, 12:12
Has anyone got any stories of guys that have played in a freakish amount of grand finals/premierships?

I knew a few guys who played in 3 4ths Grannys, 3 thirds grannys, and then 2 senior grannys all in a row.

Tatybulldog
1 Feb 2007, 12:22
I'LL REMEMBER THAT AS FOR A TOOL THIS IS NOT THE HOLY GRAIL OF FOOTBALL ITS FOR GUYS WITH DESK JOBS TO WASTE TIME AT WORK AND TALK SH1T ABOUT FOOTY IF YOU WONT TO TAKE IT ALL TO HEART THEN FINE ENJOY YOUR SHELTERED LITTLE WORLD YOU LIVE IN. AS FOR GETTING A KICK DONT SNAP THOSE CHICKEN LEGS
if only you were half as good at playing football as you are at throwing out your attacks on me. "chicken legs" geez havent heard that one!

NEXT LEVEL
1 Feb 2007, 12:44
Are you having fun there NEXT LEVEL!
Time flies when having fun

NEXT LEVEL
1 Feb 2007, 12:46
if only you were half as good at playing football as you are at throwing out your attacks on me. "chicken legs" geez havent heard that one!
haha i thought it was i dont wont to get to personal its only for sh1ts and giggles, 4 eyes.

Tatybulldog
1 Feb 2007, 12:58
haha i thought it was i dont wont to get to personal its only for sh1ts and giggles, 4 eyes.
theres another one i havent heard, let me give u the tip. ure not in any position to go throwing out verble dribble like u are. cause i've been thinking about it and i dont think u have got anything goin for you.i could run a list of the things of that im talking about but i honestly dont see any point in trying to make u look any worse then ure making youself look. good luck to ya brendan. hope ya can get a touch of the leather this season.

NEXT LEVEL
1 Feb 2007, 13:19
theres another one i havent heard, let me give u the tip. ure not in any position to go throwing out verble dribble like u are. cause i've been thinking about it and i dont think u have got anything goin for you.i could run a list of the things of that im talking about but i honestly dont see any point in trying to make u look any worse then ure making youself look. good luck to ya brendan. hope ya can get a touch of the leather this season.
CAREFUL YOUR GLASSES DONT FOG UP FROM ALL YOUR CRYING

iwantanotherflag
1 Feb 2007, 14:52
How good will the Picola League be in 2007? Such a high profile super star of the calibre of Brendan Mellington will really get the money through the gate. I can't wait till he plays at our ground cos it is sure to be a great boost to our revenue having him grace our field.

I would like to know if anyone knows a bookie who take Pearce Medal bets as I have $4000 to put on Brendan Mellington to win by a street.

Once again we are so lucky. Look out Rob Wren, cos remember that Brendan fixed you up when you were in the absolute prime of your career.

Is it a co-incidence that Brendan has left Mooroopna just as they are looking like becoming a decent team. I cannot understand why such a quality super star would do that. I mean surely he could get a game in any GVFL side.

As for bagging Tatura, how is Mooroopna's history, oh thats right first ever finals appearance since 1986, and only needed to import 4 guys with AFL experience $$$$ AFL?? On your side TatyBulldog!

NEXT LEVEL
1 Feb 2007, 15:08
How good will the Picola League be in 2007? Such a high profile super star of the calibre of Brendan Mellington will really get the money through the gate. I can't wait till he plays at our ground cos it is sure to be a great boost to our revenue having him grace our field.

I would like to know if anyone knows a bookie who take Pearce Medal bets as I have $4000 to put on Brendan Mellington to win by a street.

Once again we are so lucky. Look out Rob Wren, cos remember that Brendan fixed you up when you were in the absolute prime of your career.

Is it a co-incidence that Brendan has left Mooroopna just as they are looking like becoming a decent team. I cannot understand why such a quality super star would do that. I mean surely he could get a game in any GVFL side.

As for bagging Tatura, how is Mooroopna's history, oh thats right first ever finals appearance since 1986, and only needed to import 4 guys with AFL experience $$$$ AFL?? On your side TatyBulldog!
THAT SHOULD BE PRINTED IN THE SHEPPARTON NEWS BACK PAGE

iwantanotherflag
1 Feb 2007, 15:10
You would like that too... Head Swell!

Tatybulldog
1 Feb 2007, 15:17

I recon thats a super write up, and if u cant understand why he left mooroopna its cause he wasnt even getting looked at to play seniors. It doesnt help when ure struggling to get a touch in the reserve so he cracked the sads. This bloke thinks he is better then he really is. Just say he did beat wrenny that day which i firmly disagree he would have...there isnt any point living in the past because your only as good as your last game brendan!

NEXT LEVEL
1 Feb 2007, 15:40
I recon thats a super write up, and if u cant understand why he left mooroopna its cause he wasnt even getting looked at to play seniors. It doesnt help when ure struggling to get a touch in the reserve so he cracked the sads. This bloke thinks he is better then he really is. Just say he did beat wrenny that day which i firmly disagree he would have...there isnt any point living in the past because your only as good as your last game brendan!
I KNOW WHEN I'M BEATEN BY THE BETTER MEN, I'LL LEAVE YOU TWO IN PEACE TO KISS AND HUG. REMEMBER ITS ONLY A GAME AND NONE OF US ARE AFL PLAYERS SO WE'LL SETTLE FOR DANCE OFF SEE YOU AT THE TOP PUB IN TATURA THIS YEAR. PEACE BROTHER!

themagicfrog
2 Feb 2007, 07:17
With the silly season starting is there any surprises yet? Anyone’s rumours been justified? I know it’s only the first day but a few clubs will like to get the important ones out of the way.

Diamonddave
2 Feb 2007, 09:35
Dookie are having a training camp this weekend. we have been told its going to be flat out. expecting a heap there. rumour has it that there will be a ride to benalla on sat and a few runs up mount major will be involved. ****

cackles23
2 Feb 2007, 09:50
Heard a strong rumour that Waaia's gun centre half back/centre half forward Brad Henderson has been training with Yarrawonga, would put a big dent in the Bombers chances if so

Can Shop
2 Feb 2007, 10:03
Dookie are having a training camp this weekend. we have been told its going to be flat out. expecting a heap there. rumour has it that there will be a ride to benalla on sat and a few runs up mount major will be involved. ****

Maybe on there ride to benalla they can pick up a few more players with that checkbook

karjam
2 Feb 2007, 10:05

What number are you wearing this year Diamonddave?????

themagicfrog
2 Feb 2007, 10:10
Heard a strong rumour that Waaia's gun centre half back/centre half forward Brad Henderson has been training with Yarrawonga, would put a big dent in the Bombers chances if so

Had his name as an in for Yarra in the Border Mail.

NEXT LEVEL
2 Feb 2007, 10:45
i heard there doin 15 min time trial first up sat morn followed by a triathalon. then lunch. after lunch they have got a beep test followed by team building ********. like carryinglogs and tires round the oval and up mt major! then sunday morn ride up mt major then into dookie oval for sprints then ride back to the college for the finish of camp.

tuff w.end for the boys

Can Shop
2 Feb 2007, 10:53
i heard there doin 15 min time trial first up sat morn followed by a triathalon. then lunch. after lunch they have got a beep test followed by team building ********. like carryinglogs and tires round the oval and up mt major! then sunday morn ride up mt major then into dookie oval for sprints then ride back to the college for the finish of camp.

tuff w.end for the boys

Put that in the to hard basket.

karjam
2 Feb 2007, 10:56

tuff w.end for the boys

Who told you all this stuff

karjam
2 Feb 2007, 11:05

tuff w.end for the boys

Shepp East have one next weekend goin to the Murray River and getting on it - good team bonding!!!

The Fev
2 Feb 2007, 11:56

tuff w.end for the boys

Do they even want to field a side this year?

adriantimmis
2 Feb 2007, 12:01
Guys I'm looking at recruiting liam gledhill from numurkah is he any good, your thoughts

Trent Lovelock
2 Feb 2007, 12:04
Guys I'm looking at recruiting liam gledhill from numurkah is he any good, your thoughts

mate shouldnt u already know this if you are "looking to recruit him"??

NEXT LEVEL
2 Feb 2007, 12:34
Who told you all this stuff
one of dookies new recruits, whos good mates with ozzie

NEXT LEVEL
2 Feb 2007, 12:35
Shepp East have one next weekend goin to the Murray River and getting on it - good team bonding!!!
ohhh yummy now that sounds like my kind of camp.

Ex Tee
2 Feb 2007, 15:17
Who is the stronger league PDFL or KDFL, Sounds like there are a few players coming to the respective leagues from GVFL and elsewhere - it can only be good for both leagues but who will be the better league??????

NEXT LEVEL
2 Feb 2007, 15:33
Who is the stronger league PDFL or KDFL, Sounds like there are a few players coming to the respective leagues from GVFL and elsewhere - it can only be good for both leagues but who will be the better league??????
i think PDFL, thats why KDFL dont wont to play interleague againt us, scared.

Happyharry
2 Feb 2007, 20:05
What number are you wearing this year Diamonddave?????i hear you know the coach pretty well!!!!!!!!!!:confused:

Happyharry
2 Feb 2007, 20:24
i think PDFL, thats why KDFL dont wont to play interleague againt us, scared.NO-ONE REALLY KNOWS BECAUSE THE TWO LEAGUES NEVER FILL A REAL TEAM.BLOKES COULDNT BE STUFFED AND THEY GET NO MONEY TO PLAY IN THEM, SO IT'S JUST CRAP THAT THE PDFL IS BETTER THEN THE KDFL!BOTH LEAGUES ARE THE SAME STANDARD!:D:D

WRFLfan
2 Feb 2007, 22:51
Heard Riccardi and the Carson brothers are a chance of heading to Hoppers Xing any one know how true this is

Superfly
2 Feb 2007, 23:59
NO-ONE REALLY KNOWS BECAUSE THE TWO LEAGUES NEVER FILL A REAL TEAM.BLOKES COULDNT BE STUFFED AND THEY GET NO MONEY TO PLAY IN THEM, SO IT'S JUST CRAP THAT THE PDFL IS BETTER THEN THE KDFL!BOTH LEAGUES ARE THE SAME STANDARD!:D:D
agree it's to hard to tell just on interleague games cos of the above mentioned reasons. The top teams from both leagues last year would be pretty even. I think at the moment there might be slightly more depth in the PDFL but it changes every year.

hank1
3 Feb 2007, 08:19
agree it's to hard to tell just on interleague games cos of the above mentioned reasons. The top teams from both leagues last year would be pretty even. I think at the moment there might be slightly more depth in the PDFL but it changes every year.

Yeah I think last year the PDFL would have had the best 20, Brunt and Rob Wren would have been a cut above anyone in the KDL, other than them would have been even.

NEXT LEVEL
3 Feb 2007, 09:34
Yeah I think last year the PDFL would have had the best 20, Brunt and Rob Wren would have been a cut above anyone in the KDL, other than them would have been even.
what about S. Ahmat would he cut it against the best of KDFL

hank1
4 Feb 2007, 08:24
what about S. Ahmat would he cut it against the best of KDFL
Yes mate I'm sure he would along with many others, just stated two blokes whom I believe standout above anything in the KDL, Brenton Gray in the KDL would be rated by many as highly as Sam Ahmat so thats why I didnt mention him as being above any in the KDL, cheers.

iwantanotherflag
4 Feb 2007, 14:48
Top KDFL & Top PDFL sides would have great games. As to arguing which is the better league, they are both very similar. But I think PDFL is faster but possibly a little softer. In terms of aggression towards other players. PDFL players tend to go the ball more... from what I have heard. Lots of 16 year old can play PDFL without worrying about being king hit by some 40 year old Ardmona player!!!

mercs
4 Feb 2007, 18:53
Top KDFL & Top PDFL sides would have great games. As to arguing which is the better league, they are both very similar. But I think PDFL is faster but possibly a little softer. In terms of aggression towards other players. PDFL players tend to go the ball more... from what I have heard. Lots of 16 year old can play PDFL without worrying about being king hit by some 40 year old Ardmona player!!!

I no from speaking to certain players that were playing in the central Goulburn league that it was a much more physical league than the Picola league, infact they reckon the Picola league is real soft. That will explain why the Tungamah league teams dominate the league

Doona2
4 Feb 2007, 20:17
I no from speaking to certain players that were playing in the central Goulburn league that it was a much more physical league than the Picola league, infact they reckon the Picola league is real soft. That will explain why the Tungamah league teams dominate the league

Would agree there mercs, CGFL was a very good standard of footy basically because you had to be tough (not dirty) and also be able to run to be in the mix come September. Thats the difference I found in the KDFL also, a lot more running/playing on and not as many stoppages.

Diamonddave
5 Feb 2007, 07:17
well boys our pre season camp is all over and thank f u c k for that!!! one of the toughest training things i have ever done.
on the saturday morning we arived at 9:30 for a 15 minute time trial. we then broke into 2 teams 8 each team, team 1 doin a triathalon( 600m swim, 14 km ride then 5 km run). this was the hardest thing of the camp. and team 2 ran 5 km carrying a big pine post 2 car tires, 2 bricks 2 drink bottles and an egg. then after lunch the teams swapped over and done the other thing. bother very hard let me give you the tip! that night we ran through the team rules and done some team building role plays and s h i t like that.also had a few green cans! every1 was in the fart sac pretty early though.
on the sunday morning we were up at 6 for a 25 km ride then another 4 km run then some skills work. then back for breakfast and finish of camp!

NEXT LEVEL
5 Feb 2007, 07:47
well boys our pre season camp is all over and thank f u c k for that!!! one of the toughest training things i have ever done.
on the saturday morning we arived at 9:30 for a 15 minute time trial. we then broke into 2 teams 8 each team, team 1 doin a triathalon( 600m swim, 14 km ride then 5 km run). this was the hardest thing of the camp. and team 2 ran 5 km carrying a big pine post 2 car tires, 2 bricks 2 drink bottles and an egg. then after lunch the teams swapped over and done the other thing. bother very hard let me give you the tip! that night we ran through the team rules and done some team building role plays and s h i t like that.also had a few green cans! every1 was in the fart sac pretty early though.
on the sunday morning we were up at 6 for a 25 km ride then another 4 km run then some skills work. then back for breakfast and finish of camp!
wow i wish i could play at dookie

Can Shop
5 Feb 2007, 09:49
Sounds like a BUMMER camp then a summer camp

iwantanotherflag
5 Feb 2007, 10:18

Ex TFL teams dominate this league as they are closer to larger towns. Tungamah & Katamatite used to struggle when the TFL was a 'southern' league. Tungamah was the most northern club in its own league before it left in 1995. Now that they are in a league that is more 'Yarrawonga friendly' they attract better players.

Shepp East & Katandra pull lots of players from Shepparton, as do Dookie now I would guess. Clubs like Picola, Katunga, Strathy, Wunghnu and Yarroweyah cut each others throats when getting players from Numurkah.

It is all about position to a certain extent, plus the mind set of the club. Katandra, Shepp East have always been clubs that are successful and do not tolerate mediocrity. Katandra had to do lots of work changing peoples minds about footy when we entered the PDFL as lots of people wanted it back to the good old Tungamah league and stopped supporting the club in some way. Now that we have reassessed where we are, we are now back trying to set the standard, as we did along with Congupna & Shepp East in the TFL.

Feel like i am writing a novel!

iwantanotherflag
5 Feb 2007, 10:27
Lots of one sided games in the PDFL so brawls wouldn't start due to less pressure. Toughness at the footy is where it counts anyhow.

Saw a final between Shepp East & Yea in 2001 I think at Thornton, was a bit of a blood bath. They really hated each other. Greg Clohesy became my idol for a while after that game, then he went to the Swans and lost his cult figure status!

Ex Tee
5 Feb 2007, 12:27
Lots of one sided games in the PDFL so brawls wouldn't start due to less pressure. Toughness at the footy is where it counts anyhow.

Saw a final between Shepp East & Yea in 2001 I think at Thornton, was a bit of a blood bath. They really hated each other. Greg Clohesy became my idol for a while after that game, then he went to the Swans and lost his cult figure status!

Greg Clohesy will be back at Shepp East this year, he has been training with the club since the start of pre-season

mercs
5 Feb 2007, 16:59
Greg Clohesy will be back at Shepp East this year, he has been training with the club since the start of pre-season

Thats a great pickup for Shepp East a very tough footballer and you will no when he tackles you. Looks like Shepp East are going to be having another year with Bovalino, Clohesy and the Yze's. They are replacing those eights players from the Grand Final side very quickley:thumbsu:

karjam
5 Feb 2007, 19:25
A big contribution from Akka Dakka on the weekend, well batted!!!!!!!!!!!!!

backflank
5 Feb 2007, 20:01
how are all the grounds looking? is there any dust bowls forming in the league that we should know about?

dazzledavey36
5 Feb 2007, 20:31
WOW YOU GOT A BATH HEY

turn the ********ing caps lock off!

Bunny Bill
5 Feb 2007, 20:55
Sounds like a BUMMER camp then a summer camp
Now i know why the Midland Hwy was closed most of the weekend at Nilinga with bush fires and car crashes:o :confused:

akka dakka
5 Feb 2007, 21:16
A big contribution from Akka Dakka on the weekend, well batted!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Everythings back to normal!! :D :thumbsu: . Chocolates and boiled lollies have been mentioned a bit:p

Can Shop
6 Feb 2007, 07:59
Only temporarily. He was hjust being a team player giving everyone else a go.

karjam
6 Feb 2007, 10:32
Only temporarily. He was hjust being a team player giving everyone else a go.

It was the captains rotation that threw him out!

karjam
6 Feb 2007, 10:34
how are all the grounds looking? is there any dust bowls forming in the league that we should know about?

At the minute Shepp East ground is in full bloom green grass all over, looking good.

iwantanotherflag
6 Feb 2007, 12:19
At the minute Shepp East ground is in full bloom green grass all over, looking good.

Sounds a bit better than when they hosted the semi final last year. The league nearly pulled that final from them I hear. Guys going out but in the end too many people to notify if it had to be changed.

On the subject, I do not beleive that any PDFL senior team should get a home final. Katandra had one in 2005 and Shepp East had one in 2006. If the senior side is in it then it should not be at their home. And what about the crap last year Tungamah V Katandra at Blighty. Does that make sense to anyone? What about Tungamah V Katandra at Katamatite??? More sense. Should look at the two senior teams and final a ground smack in the middle I say. Put every clubs ground on standby and go from there.

But the teams on the extremities (like Berrigan and Tungamah) might struggle to host one if it were like that. Maybe just a bit of common sense in the ground selections!

themagicfrog
6 Feb 2007, 12:19

The PDFL just sent out questionare asking all clubs same question, Berrigans ground is looking fine, we will be definatly be ready for the start.

iwantanotherflag
6 Feb 2007, 12:21
Magic Frog... what happened to Stuart Way? Why wont he play for Berrigan, I see he is moving again.

themagicfrog
6 Feb 2007, 12:22
At the moment Katunga does not have the Granny, any sugestions on who should host it?
Who has the right stuff (rooms that dont share a shower or that are not a tin shed, Netball courts, Parking etc) to host them?
Do you think that the PDFL will stick to there guns and not give it back to them with this upcomming appeal?

themagicfrog
6 Feb 2007, 12:26
Magic Frog... what happened to Stuart Way? Why wont he play for Berrigan, I see he is moving again.

had a falling out with alot of people in town, had the bakery in town and it all went to S@#t, upset a few people. Alot of people love him for his skill but not for other things. a bit of a waste really. Hopefully he goes a little better out at Jerilderie, heard a wisper that he signed for 3 years out there but that's a huge call, have heard some people trying to guess how long he will last. good luck to him.

Kick it to me
6 Feb 2007, 13:08
had a falling out with alot of people in town, had the bakery in town and it all went to S@#t, upset a few people. Alot of people love him for his skill but not for other things. a bit of a waste really. Hopefully he goes a little better out at Jerilderie, heard a wisper that he signed for 3 years out there but that's a huge call, have heard some people trying to guess how long he will last. good luck to him.

Magic, surely if he has upset a few people in town the mob down the road would have heard about it and stay clear???? I know he can play when he wants to but a 3 year signing is a big call for a bloke that I hear struggles to train 1 night a week.

Rascal99
6 Feb 2007, 13:26
Sounds a bit better than when they hosted the semi final last year. The league nearly pulled that final from them I hear. Guys going out but in the end too many people to notify if it had to be changed.

On the subject, I do not beleive that any PDFL senior team should get a home final. Katandra had one in 2005 and Shepp East had one in 2006. If the senior side is in it then it should not be at their home. And what about the crap last year Tungamah V Katandra at Blighty. Does that make sense to anyone? What about Tungamah V Katandra at Katamatite??? More sense. Should look at the two senior teams and final a ground smack in the middle I say. Put every clubs ground on standby and go from there.

But the teams on the extremities (like Berrigan and Tungamah) might struggle to host one if it were like that. Maybe just a bit of common sense in the ground selections!

I believe that the grounds for the finals should be set in concrete as soon as possible. Also the major finals should be played on the grounds with the best facilities no matter what... Whether the team hosting is playing or not

The minor finals should be shared around between the other clubs each year so that everyone can get a grab of some finals action.

Its just the luck of the draw, if teams have to travel so be it. As the better team will always win.

Can Shop
6 Feb 2007, 13:42
Interesting recruit on the clearances list of the site. Matt Rachelle going to shepp east. Is that the gun player or is that one of his brothers

Tatybulldog
6 Feb 2007, 14:24
Interesting recruit on the clearances list of the site. Matt Rachelle going to shepp east. Is that the gun player or is that one of his brothers
jason is the gun. matt was just a reserves player for the swans in the GV. Think he played at congupna also.

karjam
6 Feb 2007, 16:06
I believe that the grounds for the finals should be set in concrete as soon as possible. Also the major finals should be played on the grounds with the best facilities no matter what... Whether the team hosting is playing or not

The minor finals should be shared around between the other clubs each year so that everyone can get a grab of some finals action.

Its just the luck of the draw, if teams have to travel so be it. As the better team will always win.

I think common sense should come into it, wait and see who is playing then decide where they play - simple as that!

mercs
6 Feb 2007, 18:15

Agree with you there, the games should be played on the best grounds with the best facilities as that is what the finals is all about. What they could maybe do is get different sides to host the games but keep the games at the best grounds. Interesting to hear today that Travis Brand from Wunghnu was offered $400 a game to play for Berrigan and would not have to train. Must be spending some money out at Berrigan way this year.:confused:

waymo7680
6 Feb 2007, 19:16
wow i wish i could play at dookie
Hey NEXT LEVEL if you are playing in the picola league this year i hope your as good as your BIG ASS MOUTH because all you do is try act tough & shoot everyone down. Why not be a big man that you think you are & reveal yourself & who ya play for & do ya talking on the field or cant you back that mouth????? :confused: :confused: :confused: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Doona2
6 Feb 2007, 20:42
Agree with you there, the games should be played on the best grounds with the best facilities as that is what the finals is all about. What they could maybe do is get different sides to host the games but keep the games at the best grounds. Interesting to hear today that Travis Brand from Wunghnu was offered $400 a game to play for Berrigan and would not have to train. Must be spending some money out at Berrigan way this year.:confused:

Surely there must be two T. Brand's up that way????

mercs
6 Feb 2007, 20:58
Surely there must be two T. Brand's up that way????

No heard it from the T brand in shepparton, I guess it comes down to when you are recruiting players and going all out thats the sacrifices you make

Kick it to me
6 Feb 2007, 21:37

Must be a fair player to attract $400 and not have to train!!
Surely Mercs you speak in jest.

Tatybulldog
7 Feb 2007, 07:02
Hey NEXT LEVEL if you are playing in the picola league this year i hope your as good as your BIG ASS MOUTH because all you do is try act tough & shoot everyone down. Why not be a big man that you think you are & reveal yourself & who ya play for & do ya talking on the field or cant you back that mouth????? :confused: :confused: :confused: :eek: :eek: :eek:
I'd be happy to assist you there waymo. His name is Brendan Mellington, he is playing at shepp east this yr. He is absolutly nothing special. Played gvfl reserves for mooroopna and still struggled to get a touch of the leather! Big mouth who cant back it up on the field!

themagicfrog
7 Feb 2007, 07:32

Mercs can you ask Brand who he has been dealing with as I'm yet to here this name mentioned. $400 is a lot of money, and not the kind of funds we give out, especially to players that we have not even heard of! Training is a must for any Berrigan recruit, so I would ask him if he was trying to increase his profile.

NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 08:03
I'd be happy to assist you there waymo. His name is Brendan Mellington, he is playing at shepp east this yr. He is absolutly nothing special. Played gvfl reserves for mooroopna and still struggled to get a touch of the leather! Big mouth who cant back it up on the field!
Wow sounds like i have my own little fan club, from now on anyone who has any questions about me just refer them to my little assistant Tatybulldog.

phillip needleman
7 Feb 2007, 08:38
Wow sounds like i have my own little fan club, from now on anyone who has any questions about me just refer them to my little assistant Tatybulldog.
looks like your gonna have a tough year brendan mellington

Tatybulldog
7 Feb 2007, 08:42
Well i would answer all Q. honestly. im not sure that all the Q. Shepp East asked you, you answered them honestly because if you did i dont think they would have wasted there time and money on you. but it will all come out during the coming season. hope for shepp east sake they put in your contract a half yearly review!

mercs
7 Feb 2007, 09:03
Mercs can you ask Brand who he has been dealing with as I'm yet to here this name mentioned. $400 is a lot of money, and not the kind of funds we give out, especially to players that we have not even heard of! Training is a must for any Berrigan recruit, so I would ask him if he was trying to increase his profile.

Well thats how it should be, no train no game or no cash. Yes you re correct $400 is alot of money per game whether they were mucking around with numbers, I dont no but for the record Travis Brand said no to the offer anyway and is staying at Wunghnu.

mercs
7 Feb 2007, 09:05
Must be a fair player to attract $400 and not have to train!!
Surely Mercs you speak in jest.

yeh I think it was a bit bulls#it talk but his comment was I am lucky to go to Berrigan once year rather than every second weekend.