View Full Version : Picola District football league
Run Straight
7 Feb 2007, 09:17
yeh I think it was a bit bulls#it talk but his comment was I am lucky to go to Berrigan once year rather than every second weekend.
a) He would not have been offered that sort of money at Berrigan.
b) If he was, not only would he have to train, but also sweep the rooms and clean the dunnies after each game.
c) I don't think he should ridicule Berrigan, when last time I looked, Wunghnu weren't travelling that flash.
NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 10:06
Well i would answer all Q. honestly. im not sure that all the Q. Shepp East asked you, you answered them honestly because if you did i dont think they would have wasted there time and money on you. but it will all come out during the coming season. hope for shepp east sake they put in your contract a half yearly review!
who said i was on a contract, i'm going out there to have fun and win some games unlike tatura
NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 10:24
Well i would answer all Q. honestly. im not sure that all the Q. Shepp East asked you, you answered them honestly because if you did i dont think they would have wasted there time and money on you. but it will all come out during the coming season. hope for shepp east sake they put in your contract a half yearly review!
i think we should make up tatybulldog and let all this silly talk pass by, as i want to come and play for tatura when we have the bye this year.
chicken38
7 Feb 2007, 11:37
can i get paid $300 a game and not train magic u no how i am and i will deal with u magic the frog !
Tatybulldog
7 Feb 2007, 12:24
who said i was on a contract, i'm going out there to have fun and win some games unlike tatura
Cmon moose a player of your class wouldnt go out and play PDFL without being paid, after all your a superstar, you touched up Rob Wren! pfft what a joke!
Tatybulldog
7 Feb 2007, 12:25
i think we should make up tatybulldog and let all this silly talk pass by, as i want to come and play for tatura when we have the bye this year.
Wont worry me you'll be playing the 12 o'clock game anyway!
a) He would not have been offered that sort of money at Berrigan.
b) If he was, not only would he have to train, but also sweep the rooms and clean the dunnies after each game.
c) I don't think he should ridicule Berrigan, when last time I looked, Wunghnu weren't travelling that flash.
Look I am not saying that he is ridiculing Berrigan at all, he just was not interested due to the travel. I am sure Berrigan is a good club to be around and has strick guidelines with training etc so dont take it the wrong way.:thumbsu:
NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 12:42
Cmon moose a player of your class wouldnt go out and play PDFL without being paid, after all your a superstar, you touched up Rob Wren! pfft what a joke!
can someone call the pound there is a lost dog hanging around annoying everyone and he's barking up the wrong league.
iwantanotherflag
7 Feb 2007, 12:46
Is the clearance in yet NEXTLEVEL?
NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 13:01
Is the clearance in yet NEXTLEVEL?
dont know mate
iwantanotherflag
7 Feb 2007, 13:04
2007 Top 6
Katandra
Shepp East
Waaia
Picola United
Tungamah
Katunga
Not convinced on Dookie yet but they may slip in. Yarroweyah to fall in a big way. Mathoura may push if they keep their 06 list and a few more. Blighty will keep sides honest.
NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 13:07
2007 Top 6
Katandra
Shepp East
Waaia
Picola United
Tungamah
Katunga
Not convinced on Dookie yet but they may slip in. Yarroweyah to fall in a big way. Mathoura may push if they keep their 06 list and a few more. Blighty will keep sides honest.
i'm not that familiar with the teams but just from what i have heard dookie should go alright, they have picked up another mooroopna player in Luke Lebrocq as well as kendall both handy fit players.
NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 13:09
Wont worry me you'll be playing the 12 o'clock game anyway!
thats fine i get on the cans early and enjoy watch paul neville and josh glehill work their magic.
iwantanotherflag
7 Feb 2007, 13:10
Well I would say if they have picked up the guys they have;
Osborne, Weatherly, Kitto, LeBrocq, Kendall they should, if they keep their 06 better players, make the 6 maybe top 3.
iwantanotherflag
7 Feb 2007, 13:32
1/2/2007014067TURNER, Shannon Wunghnu2005 > PlayerBerriganIn Progress1/2/2007014162TURNER, Scott Shepparton East2003 > PlayerBerriganIn Progress1/2/2007114188BATHMAN, Brett Shepparton East2006 > PlayerBerriganIn Progress1/2/2007096824BRASSIL, Mark Murray FL > Congupna2005 > PlayerBerriganApproved7/2/2007060331TURNER, Darren Murray FL > Echuca United2006 > PlayerBerriganIn Progress7/2/2007028820PYLE, Daniel Murray FL > Tocumwal2003 > PlayerBerriganIn Progress7/2/2007015196BODE, Joshua Golden Rivers FL > Nullawil2004 > PlayerDeniliquin RoversIn Progress7/2/2007025558O'CONNOR, Aaron Murray FL > Deniliquin Rams2003 > PlayerDeniliquin RoversIn Progress7/2/2007073168FITZPATRICK, John ThomasGolden Rivers FL > Hay2004 > PlayerDeniliquin RoversIn Progress1/2/2007047542HUGGINS, David Murray FL > Echuca United2003 > PlayerDookie UnitedApproved1/2/2007010955BEATON, Hayden Kyabram District FL > Undera2003 > PlayerDookie UnitedApproved1/2/2007022733WEATHERLEY, Shane Goulburn Valley FL > Shepparton United2003 > PlayerDookie UnitedApproved1/2/2007008399EMANUELLI, James Goulburn Valley FL > Shepparton United2005 > PlayerDookie UnitedApproved1/2/2007020571OSBORNE, Dale Goulburn Valley FL > Shepparton United2003 > PlayerDookie UnitedApproved6/2/2007020563MCNAMARA, Ben Murray FL > Numurkah2004 > PlayerKatungaIn Progress6/2/2007016201HARRISON, Mel Murray FL > Numurkah2006 > PlayerKatungaIn Progress6/2/2007037294SHELTON, Mark Murray FL > Numurkah2003 > PlayerKatungaIn Progress1/2/2007013997HIGGINS, THOMAS Murray FL > Rumbalara2003 > PlayerMathouraRejected5/2/2007013997HIGGINS, THOMAS Murray FL > Rumbalara2003 > PlayerMathouraIn Progress1/2/2007007610TRENERRY, David Yarroweyah2003 > PlayerPicola UnitedIn Progress1/2/2007011530MYERS, RUSSELL Kyabram District FL > Girgarre2003 > PlayerPicola UnitedIn Progress1/2/2007007465PRIDDLE, Rory Murray FL > Moama2003 > PlayerPicola UnitedIn Progress1/2/2007035637HALLETT, Garry Mathoura2004 > PlayerPicola UnitedApproved5/2/2007029966SCARPARI, Sam Kyabram District FL > Ardmona2003 > PlayerShepparton EastApproved5/2/2007008024RACHELE, Matthew Goulburn Valley FL > Shepparton Swans2005 > PlayerShepparton EastIn Progress1/2/2007009916DEANGELIS, Joe Kyabram District FL > Ardmona2003 > PlayerStrathmertonApproved1/2/2007016507THORNE, Stephen Waaia2006 > PlayerStrathmertonIn Progress1/2/2007016482POWLES, Ryan Bendigo FL > Sandhurst2004 > PlayerStrathmertonApproved1/2/2007022710SCOTT, Stephen Goulburn Valley FL > Shepparton United2003 > PlayerWaaiaApproved1/2/2007075072BETSON, Mark Murray FL > Congupna2004 > PlayerWunghnuApproved1/2/2007n/aCOLGER, Collin From EXT.: Diamond Valley FL > BundooraWunghnuIn Progress5/2/2007014095BRANNELLY, MATTHEW Shepparton East2003 > PlayerWunghnuIn Progress1/2/2007115129GREENWAY, Shaun Cobram & District JFL > Cobram & District JFL2005 > PlayerYarroweyahApproved1/2/2007005418WILLIAMS, Justin Kyabram District FL > Ardmona2004 > PlayerYarroweyahIn Progress5/2/2007037275KIMBERLEY, Joel Murray FL > Numurkah2003 > PlayerYarroweyahIn Progress5/2/2007037267FITZPATRICK, Matt Murray FL > Numurkah2003 > PlayerYarroweyahIn Progress
iwantanotherflag
7 Feb 2007, 13:33
That didn't work too well did it. Check it out for yourselves at picoladfl.vcfl.com.au
i'm not that familiar with the teams but just from what i have heard dookie should go alright, they have picked up another mooroopna player in Luke Lebrocq as well as kendall both handy fit players.
Well I would say if they have picked up the guys they have;
Osborne, Weatherly, Kitto, LeBrocq, Kendall they should, if they keep their 06 better players, make the 6 maybe top 3.
No mention of Loughran - he's obviously not of good enough quality to mention as a good pick up
Tatybulldog
7 Feb 2007, 14:28
No mention of Loughran - he's obviously not of good enough quality to mention as a good pick up
learn how to spell you retard.
NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 14:30
he's to much of a pretty boy haha
learn how to spell you retard.
Very Sorry! with the lack of mentions in best players for the great man I had forgotton how to spell his name. Please enlighten us all
Trent Lovelock
7 Feb 2007, 15:00
Very Sorry! with the lack of mentions in best players for the great man I had forgotton how to spell his name. Please enlighten us all
Loughnan.. and pull ur head in.
theres to much personel attacks going on in here lately, everyones just gotta chill out i say!
Bunny Bill
7 Feb 2007, 15:06
That didn't work too well did it. Check it out for yourselves at picoladfl.vcfl.com.au
Gee, i wish i had read your 14.33 quote before your 4.32 post
NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 15:08
he's a quality player that will help lift the standard of the league watch out for this bloke PDFL
themagicfrog
7 Feb 2007, 15:27
can i get paid $300 a game and not train magic u no how i am and i will deal with u magic the frog !
mate we will talk numbers soon;)
I was impressed with ya style on Teusday night.
chicken38
7 Feb 2007, 20:00
Good Style Ha Thats Worth A Few Bucks I Know Theres A Lot Of Players Out There That Can Train Well But Surley Cant Get A Kick On Game Day. So Isnt Stu Way Playing At Berrigan What A Shame As I Really Enjoyed His Company On The Ground Thank God He Was Up The Other End To Me! So Has Berrigan Picked Up Many Guns Magic
themagicfrog
8 Feb 2007, 07:27
Good Style Ha Thats Worth A Few Bucks I Know Theres A Lot Of Players Out There That Can Train Well But Surley Cant Get A Kick On Game Day. So Isnt Stu Way Playing At Berrigan What A Shame As I Really Enjoyed His Company On The Ground Thank God He Was Up The Other End To Me! So Has Berrigan Picked Up Many Guns Magic
It's a case of wait and see who the guns are, but there is one comming out of a one year retirement, he has been sharpening his skills like he sharpens his knifes down at the local butchers.
Kick it to me
8 Feb 2007, 08:49
It's a case of wait and see who the guns are, but there is one comming out of a one year retirement, he has been sharpening his skills like he sharpens his knifes down at the local butchers.
Got a name for us Magic ??????
Tatybulldog
8 Feb 2007, 08:54
who are clubs playing in their practice matches?
2007 Top 6
Katandra
Shepp East
Waaia
Picola United
Tungamah
Katunga
Dont know if Kantandra will finish on top, have heard that blokes who travel back each year from uni are getting sick of it, and that cordy may be linked to going to Congupna.
who are clubs playing in their practice matches?
Shepp East v Tallygaroopna is on the cards at the minute
Happyharry
8 Feb 2007, 11:53
Shepp East v Tallygaroopna is on the cards at the minute
that will be good to watch & see who has spent the most so far :D
Gee thats funny!!!!
iwantanotherflag
8 Feb 2007, 12:20
The Cheque Book Cup hey?? SE v Tally.
Not sure about the Melbourne boys getting sick of coming back to play. Steve Lawless and Gregor Teague love playing for Katandra and I really couldn't see them going elsewhere, not when we have gone so close and could be there again. Nathan White is back in Shepparton also. Great to see Mitch Sidey with a clearance in, this is the time of the year that all the rumours start to take shape.
We are in the Barooga night series again for our practice games, but I don't know who we play yet. Does anyone know where to find the draw, if it is online?
Can Shop
8 Feb 2007, 12:23
Not sure about the Melbourne boys getting sick of coming back to play. Steve Lawless and Gregor Teague love playing for Katandra and I really couldn't see them going elsewhere, not when we have gone so close and could be there again. Nathan White is back in Shepparton also. Great to see Mitch Sidey with a clearance in, this is the time of the year that all the rumours start to take shape.
We are in the Barooga night series again for our practice games, but I don't know who we play yet. Does anyone know where to find the draw, if it is online?
Mitch is a good kid but he is going backwards playing out there. Would of had a chance to be a no.1 ruckman at a gvfl club this year. Fair enough was treated harsh last year
iwantanotherflag
8 Feb 2007, 12:38
Mitch is a good kid but he is going backwards playing out there. Would of had a chance to be a no.1 ruckman at a gvfl club this year. Fair enough was treated harsh last year
Mitch is only 19 and if he has a year playing 120 minutes at Katandra and enjoys himself, his body will mature more and therefore be harder to move in contests, then next year if he decides that he wants to give GV another crack he will go fine. Compare him to his cousin, Tyson. Had a crack, went home and dominated, went back to GV and dominated. Footy is a confidence game at times, sitting on the pine does nothing for this.
I remember Shooter did a similar thing came out to Katandra and went back to United a better player. To say someone is going backwards to go to PDFL is a bit harsh. Yes, it's a minor league but many positives.
You're funny too, you wouldn't have a clue!!!!!!
iwantanotherflag
8 Feb 2007, 15:14
You're funny too, you wouldn't have a clue!!!!!!
I guess most of the guys going to the East are good mates or family of Ahmet.
Tally has spent a bit, but recruited a group of mates it seems.
themagicfrog
8 Feb 2007, 15:20
Berrigan is playing in the night comp to, I know it starts on the 12th but havn't seen a draw yet.
Dookie playing waaia, congupna and possibly tally at home in march
Diamonddave
9 Feb 2007, 07:48
you have no idea cain1! ozzi told us at our training camp we are definantly playing katunga, congupna and looking to play stanhope but unsure because they usually play the night series.
Can Shop
9 Feb 2007, 08:25
you have no idea cain1! ozzi told us at our training camp we are definantly playing katunga, congupna and looking to play stanhope but unsure because they usually play the night series.
so your telling yourself things again ozzie
Should be a good hitout for Dookie, you still haven't told us what number you are wearing this year Diamondave?????
Yeah Diamonddave what number are you wearing?????
Diamonddave
9 Feb 2007, 11:40
Yeah Diamonddave what number are you wearing?????
I will be wearing No 99 this year. coz this is how many goals ill kick.....hahahahahah
Diamonddave
9 Feb 2007, 11:41
so your telling yourself things again ozzie
You have know idea what you are on about Canshop.
iwantanotherflag
9 Feb 2007, 11:50
Canshop, are you saying that our DiamondDave is Ossie?
Diamonddave
9 Feb 2007, 11:51
He may be but im telling you he is way off the mark.......
Can Shop
9 Feb 2007, 11:57
we all allowed opinions
I reckon your on the money with this one, I starting to get my suspusions to
Happyharry
9 Feb 2007, 18:34
He may be but im telling you he is way off the mark....... I dont think he is i think he is right on the money:thumbsu:
Superfly
9 Feb 2007, 20:09
Is there any news on Katandra this year? Any new recruits...anyone leaving? Will they win the elusive one this year or could they slide a little?
shibby44
10 Feb 2007, 08:45
He may be but im telling you he is way off the mark.......
Will you be at training on Monday night? A few of the boys will be coming back to train from last year.
according to some people on this website he will defintley be at training because he is the coach, whether it is true or not I do not no:thumbsu:
The Fev
11 Feb 2007, 09:01
I can kick a football
shibby44
11 Feb 2007, 09:44
thats great mate do you want a medal. :thumbsd:
dazzledavey36
11 Feb 2007, 11:36
who have the mighty bears picked up
excitement
11 Feb 2007, 13:23
It is finally out diamond dave is brent loughnan came out at dookie training on wed night so we can put a face to the man of many posts well done on keeping it a secret for so long loughnan but now it is out look out also can shop and the rest, you were way off the money werent you
you might want to read above mate
Can Shop
12 Feb 2007, 08:34
Not getting msrt or anything but I still believe DD is dale osborne, as i have many clues as to why it would be him and also brent loughman is on the site under the alias of his former gvfl club if you know what i mean. But its only my opinion.
NEXT LEVEL
12 Feb 2007, 09:07
Not getting msrt or anything but I still believe DD is dale osborne, as i have many clues as to why it would be him and also brent loughman is on the site under the alias of his former gvfl club if you know what i mean. But its only my opinion.
tatybulldog isn't locky its jason dagger another tat player.
Can Shop
12 Feb 2007, 09:36
tatybulldog isn't locky its jason dagger another tat player.
Fair enough my mistake boys. :thumbsu:
rabbsy_69
12 Feb 2007, 10:13
PREDICTIONS.
- Diamond Dave is not Ozzie
- If people are gonna write about Loughnan, spell his name correctly
- Brendon Mellington will win the league medal in 2007
- Shibby 44 would not know which end of the footy to kick
- The Goulburn River will flood
- Petrol will get to $1.50/litre
- Tatura will win the wooden spoon, closely followed by United
- Anthony Stevens will play at least one game at Waaia
- The Aussies will win the world cup
- Frankie Dettori will ride the Melbourne Cup winner
- Carlton, wooden spoon number 2
- Paris Hilton will make another video:thumbsu:
........ and it will be starring me!!!!!!!!!!:D
iwantanotherflag
12 Feb 2007, 10:14
Is there any news on Katandra this year? Any new recruits...anyone leaving? Will they win the elusive one this year or could they slide a little?
Gee I hope we get that elusive flag this year. Many guys wont leave due to the fact that we have ballsed up the last two seasons, could have 4 on the trot. I know myself that I couldn't leave knowing that if I were to go and the guys bought it home I would be shattered. I think most of the guys are of the same opinion. A few of the older guys like Leigh Simpson and Corey Wilson say that they are just going to play reserves, but we will wait and see.
Mitchell Sidebottom will take ruck duties if cleared, Aaron Plant (2004 Premiership Coach) is back as A/C, and a few other young boys on the track that look promising. Should retain most of the list and hopefully we can keep our number 38 who likes to sit on heads!
iwantanotherflag
12 Feb 2007, 10:17
[quote=rabbsy_69;6711639]PREDICTIONS.
- Diamond Dave is not Ozzie AGREE
- If people are gonna write about Loughnan, spell his name correctly WILL TRY
- Brendon Mellington will win the league medal in 2007 IS THAT THE McKENZIE MEDAL IN THE TWOS?
- Shibby 44 would not know which end of the footy to kick ???
- The Goulburn River will flood WOULD BE GOOD
- Petrol will get to $1.50/litre B*LLSH*T
- Tatura will win the wooden spoon PROBABLY, closely followed by United IF ALL THEIR PLAYERS GO
- Anthony Stevens will play at least one game at Waaia DEFINATELY, I'd say 4 plus finals.
- The Aussies will win the world cup IF THEY IMPROVE FROM LAST NIGHT
- Frankie Dettori will ride the Melbourne Cup winner ???
- Carlton, wooden spoon number 2 NUMBER 3
Juddernaut3
12 Feb 2007, 10:18
Anyone have news on Katamatite. There seems to be alot of transfers out and zero transfers in?
iwantanotherflag
12 Feb 2007, 10:27
Anyone have news on Katamatite. There seems to be alot of transfers out and zero transfers in?
Might be a brother of a Morrison Medallist going there. They will struggle this year I think.
shibby44
12 Feb 2007, 11:26
PREDICTIONS.
- Diamond Dave is not Ozzie
- If people are gonna write about Loughnan, spell his name correctly
- Brendon Mellington will win the league medal in 2007
- Shibby 44 would not know which end of the footy to kick
- The Goulburn River will flood
- Petrol will get to $1.50/litre
- Tatura will win the wooden spoon, closely followed by United
- Anthony Stevens will play at least one game at Waaia
- The Aussies will win the world cup
- Frankie Dettori will ride the Melbourne Cup winner
- Carlton, wooden spoon number 2
What are you on about rabsy69 how do you know that DD is not ozzie? Ill find out tonight who it is, ill be making my first training, ill just ask when we are warming up
Tatybulldog
12 Feb 2007, 11:35
I was just reading back on some old pages and it hit me. this DD has played at dookie for a couple yrs and has played GV and for undera. if i remember correctly a fellow GM Water employee name buck mcphee has done all this to.....
how is buck goin out dookie way?
iwantanotherflag
12 Feb 2007, 12:42
TRIVIA:
Who can name the three Morrison Medallists that currently play (2006 and probably 2007) Picola League Footy?
Since 1996, How many PDFL flags have been won by ex-Tungamah League teams?
Brunt and Lambourne? are two and if Russell Byrnes still plays there are the three
NEXT LEVEL
12 Feb 2007, 13:21
I was just reading back on some old pages and it hit me. this DD has played at dookie for a couple yrs and has played GV and for undera. if i remember correctly a fellow GM Water employee name buck mcphee has done all this to.....
how is buck goin out dookie way?
it makes sense good work bulldog
iwantanotherflag
12 Feb 2007, 13:30
Brunt and Lambourne? are two and if Russell Byrnes still plays there are the three
Well done! All three were playing when Katandra played Picola. Byrnes in the Ressies.
rabbsy_69
12 Feb 2007, 14:22
If you go to training tonight Shibby, remember to kick the pointy end of the footy. And to get a kick, don't hang around the edge of the pack GET IN THERE AND GET A TOUCH.
shibby44
12 Feb 2007, 15:14
If you go to training tonight Shibby, remember to kick the pointy end of the footy. And to get a kick, don't hang around the edge of the pack GET IN THERE AND GET A TOUCH.
Come to the pracie match tonight mate and ill go on you then we will see who gets all the footy!!
rabbsy_69
12 Feb 2007, 16:04
Come to the pracie match tonight mate and ill go on you then we will see who gets all the footy!!
Sharpen your knuckles Shibby. IT IS ON. Have your pen and paper ready too, i'll give you a lesson on how to get a kick.
Juddernaut3
13 Feb 2007, 09:16
Very interesting movement out of Yarroweyah, James Daniel putting in a transfer to Tocumwal.
He is a star footballer, and great bloke as well, would have thought the Hoppers would have done everything in their power to keep him.. Can anyone fill us in?
cackles23
13 Feb 2007, 10:10
Very interesting movement out of Yarroweyah, James Daniel putting in a transfer to Tocumwal.
He is a star footballer, and great bloke as well, would have thought the Hoppers would have done everything in their power to keep him.. Can anyone fill us in?
Yes Yarroweyah were very keen to keep him, however he is heading to Toc to play with his mate Shaun Downie. Downie's dad, Gary, is coaching so think Jimmy thought this might be an opportunity to further his footballing skills - big loss for Hoppers both of them
Tatybulldog
13 Feb 2007, 10:13
Yes Yarroweyah were very keen to keep him, however he is heading to Toc to play with his mate Shaun Downie. Downie's dad, Gary, is coaching so think Jimmy thought this might be an opportunity to further his footballing skills - big loss for Hoppers both of them
heard a rumour that he is absolutly flying at trainging aswell. been winning the time trials by 30 plus seconds....
Tatybulldog
13 Feb 2007, 10:13
also add trenery and warsdorp* to that list.
iwantanotherflag
13 Feb 2007, 12:37
They also missed out on Brad Lowe. The Hoppers look like all their hard work in getting to the past 3 finals series has gone sour.
To loose Shaun 'The Freak' Downie will be hard to cover, little guy but so hard to match up on. If we put a shorter guy on him to match his pace he would out mark them. And then a taller guy to punch the ball away and he would burn him on a lead. Will do well in MFL.
The Fev
13 Feb 2007, 12:40
Jose Te Jones won't be playing at the Hoppers either apparantly, they will struggle with the loss of all these blokes.
cackles23
13 Feb 2007, 12:51
Jose Te Jones won't be playing at the Hoppers either apparantly, they will struggle with the loss of all these blokes.
Pretty sure TeJones has been training there but was rumoured to be leaving earlier
iwantanotherflag
13 Feb 2007, 12:54
Pretty sure TeJones has been training there but was rumoured to be leaving earlier
TJ will fit in well at Katandra, should give him a call! Wouldn't mind Adam Brunt too! And while I am going maybe we should poach Blighty's new ruckman. If only we had Shepp East's cheque book.
NEXT LEVEL
13 Feb 2007, 13:24
TJ will fit in well at Katandra, should give him a call! Wouldn't mind Adam Brunt too! And while I am going maybe we should poach Blighty's new ruckman. If only we had Shepp East's cheque book.
instead of going on about shepp east's cheque book, why dont you and your club go out and get some more sponsers and locals to tip in more money, if your so worried about it.
coconut
13 Feb 2007, 14:05
Rabsy dont know if you have the expertise to be handing out pointers,
bargy20
13 Feb 2007, 14:09
i would'nt be worrying about shepp easts cheque book if i were you, l'd be trying to get your boys a little fitter, because all i saw in the last 15 minutes of that Grand Final was bunch of 30 year old guys running the pants off a team in their mid 20's.
iwantanotherflag
13 Feb 2007, 14:11
So that we can buy GVFL 2's players? Was just joking about recruiting our own guys. We rely on a nucleus of home grown talent. Not a nucleus of GVFL has beens.
Can Shop
13 Feb 2007, 14:52
So that we can buy GVFL 2's players? Was just joking about recruiting our own guys. We rely on a nucleus of home grown talent. Not a nucleus of GVFL has beens.
Maybe you need some hasbeens after your performances in the past 2 years finals
i would'nt be worrying about shepp easts cheque book if i were you, l'd be trying to get your boys a little fitter, because all i saw in the last 15 minutes of that Grand Final was bunch of 30 year old guys running the pants off a team in their mid 20's.
Well said Bargy20 get into them!
Shepp East v Congupna in practice match Sat, March 24! Official!
Seriously you Katandra blokes should stop sooking all time and just play footy. All I have heard you guys sooking about is Shepp East cheque book. You are younger side so step up to the plate and match it with them instead of sooking all the time. You won 3 or 4 flags in a row before they came in and they win a flag and it had upset you guys. Katandra should be enjoying Shepp East in the comp because it makes the comp better and brings in a tradional rival. All you need is Congupna back and it tops it all of. so move on:thumbsd:
The Fev
13 Feb 2007, 19:20
It's not Sheps cheque book that does the damage, it's their pulling power being so close to a well populated area. The smaller towns in the league have no where near the pulling power. A club like Blighty for arguments sake, if they chased a player that was close to there area and they missed out offering the same money as everyone else, they can't just look around and recruit someone just as good, where Shep on the other hand can look at another 5-6 players that are just as good.
In a perfect world Shep should be in the Murray League and a team like Rumbalara or Tongala in the Picola League.
It's not Sheps cheque book that does the damage, it's their pulling power being so close to a well populated area. The smaller towns in the league have no where near the pulling power. A club like Blighty for arguments sake, if they chased a player that was close to there area and they missed out offering the same money as everyone else, they can't just look around and recruit someone just as good, where Shep on the other hand can look at another 5-6 players that are just as good.
In a perfect world Shep should be in the Murray League and a team like Rumbalara or Tongala in the Picola League.
yeh the problem is the Murray League cost are far to high and it hard to find the extra helpers and the extra sponsorship. Rumba have got the funds, they have a whole organisation so they can afford it and I guess for Toni they were in GVL so the cost for them have got to cut down been in the Murray League. You also have to look at it Shepp East are also competing against Rumba, Tally, Congupna and the three teams that already play in the GVFL Shepp Swans, United and Shepparton. There is also the school footy so the kids either play school footy or for a club so that is another competive market in the junior ranks. My experience with Shepp East is they have been a good family club to be around and a close bunch so thats what attracts the guys to play there. Shepp East have also been lucky to have a connection with United which also has helped
Maybe we should change our to name to East Eagles or something like that, because with the Shepparton in our name everyone thinks we should be playing a higher standard (Murray or Goulburn valley league), we just wouldn't be able to compete or raise the funds to play in those leagues.
iwantanotherflag
14 Feb 2007, 07:33
:rolleyes: Ok guys, I guess many of you don't understand the Katandra and Shepp East rivalry? It has been dormant for many years due to being in seperate leagues and now it is back and firing, I will bag Shepp East until the day I die. Don't get me wrong I have many mates who play or have played there and it's just a dig. They probably don't pay that much but it is great getting into the ears of the guys from the East! And to make it even better I work in Shepp East!!! :p I have played in two losing grand finals against the East one in 4ths where again we went through the season undefeated only to be rolled by a point in the GF, and last year in the seniors where we didn't make the most of our last quarter opportunities. So yeah a bit of fire in the belly against the Eagles/Bombers!
But well said about the pulling power! As I have said previously 'traditional' PDFL teams will struggle against the infrastructure that former TFL teams have in place (they are also closer to more populated towns in Shepp and Yarrawonga). Numurkahs talent pool is stretched to its limit already!
iwantanotherflag
14 Feb 2007, 07:40
Maybe we should change our to name to East Eagles or something like that, because with the Shepparton in our name everyone thinks we should be playing a higher standard (Murray or Goulburn valley league), we just wouldn't be able to compete or raise the funds to play in those leagues.
That Karjam is why we need a 3 division 'Murray Valley' Footy League. 10 best MFL teams in Div 1, 3 worst MFL teams and 6 best PDFL teams in Div 2, Bottom 9 PDFL teams in Div 3. So instead of waiting from April 2nd till 16th September to play you guys and the like. We would have a cracker of a game week after week! Can you imagine last year if the weakest side you played was Yarroweyah? Would have been brilliant!
Katandra tried for the Murray League in 1987. Back then many guys thought we had the players and the $$, but now we are saying thank god we didn't go or we would have probably gone the way of Strathy & Berrigan and struggled and then dropped down. Cannot compete with the spending of these clubs, Mul, Ech Utd, etc. It seems like Congupna save themselves up for every third year or so to match the cash!!
iwantanotherflag
14 Feb 2007, 08:50
Here's some suggestions if you would like to change your name:
Pine Lodge Eagles?
Central Park Eagles?
In all seriousness I really though you guys would have become the Jets in the PDFL and wore one of Essendon's pre-season strips. Possibly the one with heaps of grey in it. As for the Power Rangers, what about Kangaroo Flats jumper and becoming the Wallabies or something?
dazzledavey36
14 Feb 2007, 10:40
far out aren't you guys over last years grand final or what! stop sooking and deal with it. you should be happy with the players you have.. some of the clubs would die for the amount of talent you mob have.
themagicfrog
14 Feb 2007, 12:20
heard that Blightys new ruckman is bringing his brother with him, dies anyone have any info on him?
rabsy323
14 Feb 2007, 12:40
Apparently Charlie Edmonston has been back to dookie recently and by all reports has bulked up, has worked particularly hard on the cannons over the off season