View Full Version : Picola District football league
hey men i an a katandra boy and new to this but i have spent the last few days going over all the old comments and threds and all i see is a bunch of blokes having a winge and i would like to give you my point of veiw.Shepp east beat us in the granny! Get over it! I have. So what if they threw a bit of cash around. Alot of head aches come with that and being at katandra i'm glad we dont have that to deal with so good luck to them and get back to playing the game.At the end of the day all clubs are run different so just worry about the club that you are playing for or if you are that concerned about another club go play there.Good luck to all teams in the leauge this year and i hope it is a good tight comp and not so predictable as it has been in the last few years.CHEERS
Here's some suggestions if you would like to change your name:
Pine Lodge Eagles?
Central Park Eagles?
In all seriousness I really though you guys would have become the Jets in the PDFL and wore one of Essendon's pre-season strips. Possibly the one with heaps of grey in it. As for the Power Rangers, what about Kangaroo Flats jumper and becoming the Wallabies or something?
We wanted to keep our colors (red and black) but the league wouldn't allow us hence the change to Eagles that was the most popular pic!
hey men i an a katandra boy and new to this but i have spent the last few days going over all the old comments and threds and all i see is a bunch of blokes having a winge and i would like to give you my point of veiw.Shepp east beat us in the granny! Get over it! I have. So what if they threw a bit of cash around. Alot of head aches come with that and being at katandra i'm glad we dont have that to deal with so good luck to them and get back to playing the game.At the end of the day all clubs are run different so just worry about the club that you are playing for or if you are that concerned about another club go play there.Good luck to all teams in the leauge this year and i hope it is a good tight comp and not so predictable as it has been in the last few years.CHEERS
well said and good to hear and totally agree with you:thumbsu:
The Fev
14 Feb 2007, 19:33
Any of you Dookie blokes tell me how Lachy Barnes is training? He is a top fella and a great bloke to have around the club.
Rascal99
15 Feb 2007, 08:56
heard that Blightys new ruckman is bringing his brother with him, dies anyone have any info on him?
Heard on the vine that he isnt as tall, but still a big guy. Is a bit older, and played at Wakool last year.
Juddernaut3
15 Feb 2007, 09:04
Michael Moodie is transferring back to Blighty. A player of his class will have a field day roving all day under their ruckman, Schoullar.
themagicfrog
15 Feb 2007, 12:21
Michael Moodie is transferring back to Blighty. A player of his class will have a field day roving all day under their ruckman, Schoullar.
He has done this at the start of the last few years then gone back. Does anyone know if this move is for good.
The Fev
15 Feb 2007, 12:41
Heard on the vine that he isnt as tall, but still a big guy. Is a bit older, and played at Wakool last year.
No Leigh Scoullar isn't playing at all apparantly, won a flag with Wakool last year. I think Mark Scoullar is playing for Blighty, cousin of Paul I think, don't think he has played a lot of footy.
coconut
15 Feb 2007, 12:43
Apparently Charlie Edmonston has been back to dookie recently and by all reports has bulked up, has worked particularly hard on the cannons over the off season
Thats good for carisbrook as long there cheque book has bulked up as much as him.
excitement
15 Feb 2007, 18:55
I think this site should be pissed off it is nothing but an excuse for soft footballers and ******** clubmen to have a go at each other behind a computer screen save it for the footy ground, where the real stuff happens anyone can start rumours but whats the point at the end of the day its not who signs the most players or starts the best rumour on big footy that wins you matches its who plays together on a saturday for four full quarters and to me there are a lot of individuals on this site saying some absoloute crap about there clubs that they would not be happy with i just hope all you bitches that have being talking yourselves can handle the heat on saturdays there is no screen on an oval to hide behind remeber bring on season 07 and lets get em dookie
i agree with ya mate and i also hope dookie will have a good year
rabbsy_69
15 Feb 2007, 22:45
Hey Excitement, if you think this site is a waste of time and should be pissed off, what are you doing writing posts on it? What you just posted sounds rather hypocritical !!!!!!!
iwantanotherflag
16 Feb 2007, 07:30
Great to see Blighty adding to their talent base. Scollar will be a huge pick up and if Moodie stays the whole season he will go well with the Cultons, Nappies and Gossy etc. Pretty amazing for a PDFL club to grab a guy straight from the SANFL like they have, usually they come down through the leagues and don't hit our great league until they are 35 or 40, like Garry Stevens, and Anthony Stevens might!
Juddernaut3
16 Feb 2007, 07:48
I think this site should be pissed off it is nothing but an excuse for soft footballers and ******** clubmen to have a go at each other behind a computer screen save it for the footy ground, where the real stuff happens anyone can start rumours but whats the point at the end of the day its not who signs the most players or starts the best rumour on big footy that wins you matches its who plays together on a saturday for four full quarters and to me there are a lot of individuals on this site saying some absoloute crap about there clubs that they would not be happy with i just hope all you bitches that have being talking yourselves can handle the heat on saturdays there is no screen on an oval to hide behind remeber bring on season 07 and lets get em dookie
He is the weakest footballer i have ever seen does not have a heart and would not know what a hard ball is darren or chris would have him for breakfast
Heard a few rumours bout you big m nothing but a soft footballer with no heart and jim where do i start with you not only are you a smart ass and you sound like you have no idea what your talking bout but i recon that you couldnt even get a kick in a streetfight either let alone on a footy field so worry bout your own team and own game and stop trying to be hereos
very interesting....
iwantanotherflag
16 Feb 2007, 07:53
Well spotted Juddernaut.
What else are we going to talk about until the season starts? A new season always brings such excitement. All clubs think they have the recipe for the premiership and if not they all beleive they can make finals. No team at this stage of the year will be content with aiming for 8th.
dazzledavey36
16 Feb 2007, 13:54
Why dont you ******** off! if you dont like how we discuss our footy then dont bother posting here! stop sooking and deal with it mate!
fathead
16 Feb 2007, 14:27
come on now fellas no need to jump down each others throats.
So who is going to win the flag this year in all grades????? Seniors Reserves and thirds????
Superfly
16 Feb 2007, 14:30
So who is going to win the flag this year in all grades????? Seniors Reserves and thirds????
Katandra, Katandra and Katandra.
shibby44
16 Feb 2007, 15:15
Apparently Charlie Edmonston has been back to dookie recently and by all reports has bulked up, has worked particularly hard on the cannons over the off season
Who is this??
does anyone no the draw for the barooga nite series
Great to see Blighty adding to their talent base. Scollar will be a huge pick up and if Moodie stays the whole season he will go well with the Cultons, Nappies and Gossy etc. Pretty amazing for a PDFL club to grab a guy straight from the SANFL like they have, usually they come down through the leagues and don't hit our great league until they are 35 or 40, like Garry Stevens, and Anthony Stevens might!
heard from a Moama player that he has a jumper already at Moama and if he is going to play it will be with Moama. Just remember they are the ones paying him a wage not Waaia. maybe next year he will play for waaia
I'm gonna say shepp east,katandra,katandra.The blokes that katandra will have running around in the magoo's this year are still senior players but have steped aside for the next wave of young blokes to have a crack at the seniors.3rds are gonna be strong again and i think the seniors will go well but not all the way.
does everyone here know that charlie edmonston isnt playing for dookie this year.
I'm gonna say shepp east,katandra,katandra.The blokes that katandra will have running around in the magoo's this year are still senior players but have steped aside for the next wave of young blokes to have a crack at the seniors.3rds are gonna be strong again and i think the seniors will go well but not all the way.
so you are backing against the shepp East twos they have not lost a grand final since 1998 against Rumba. they are going for there 9 success flag and before anyone says i no they have not all been in the picola league but still a good effort
Yeah i know its a good effort but it will have to come to an end one day and i think that it will be katandra's 2s to do it this year with the hand full of blokes that will be dropping back from the seniors
chicken38
18 Feb 2007, 20:31
Yeah i know its a good effort but it will have to come to an end one day and i think that it will be katandra's 2s to do it this year with the hand full of blokes that will be dropping back from the seniorsi do hear that berrigan 2nds will be pretty hard to beat with a lot of ex playerscoming back to play wasnt that far of the mark 2 years ago when they had a handy 1st side a the way they have been talkin 1st side looks strong so 2nds side will be stronger?
Kick it to me
18 Feb 2007, 20:55
i do hear that berrigan 2nds will be pretty hard to beat with a lot of ex playerscoming back to play wasnt that far of the mark 2 years ago when they had a handy 1st side a the way they have been talkin 1st side looks strong so 2nds side will be stronger?
Who are the ex players returning Chicken????
iwantanotherflag
19 Feb 2007, 10:07
Kind predictions for the flag boys! But I am sure it is going to be a cracker of a season. I think that Picola have primed themselves well and should have a good line up with and should be their best chance for a number of years. Shepp East again will be a force. Tungamah will be interesting to see how they go. I really like the way Mathoura finished off last year and will be good with a little 'topping up.' Dookie should be good if they gel together. Katunga will be going ok but there engine room is very experience and will need to fire again and win the close ones it lost last year.
formguid121
19 Feb 2007, 12:30
does everyone here know that charlie edmonston isnt playing for dookie this year.
Yeah he is, how do you know him, im very good mates with him...
iwantanotherflag
19 Feb 2007, 12:55
News on the KDFL thread is that Adam Brunt has damaged his ACL, can anyone confirm what is going on with our Pearce Medallist? A huge blow to Picola's chances if so.
From what ive heard he isnt playing and the only reason he is training is because he had to finish of a course at the college.
chicken38
19 Feb 2007, 16:26
Who are the ex players returning Chicken????porka dickins is one who has been training the house down watch out
porka dickins is one who has been training the house down watch out
and the rest is ?????:confused:
The Fev
19 Feb 2007, 20:07
News on the KDFL thread is that Adam Brunt has damaged his ACL, can anyone confirm what is going on with our Pearce Medallist? A huge blow to Picola's chances if so.
ACL was it? Little birdy told me it was a heart string.
iwantanotherflag
20 Feb 2007, 07:16
ACL was it? Little birdy told me it was a heart string.
Just what I read on the KDFL thread. Probably a load!
How's everyone's numbers at training been 20's, 30's 40's?????
Just what I read on the KDFL thread. Probably a load!
had a arthroscope friday, havent heard the outcome but was believed to be a bit of cartilage damage, not reco material at this stage. Should be right for 1st round.
iwantanotherflag
20 Feb 2007, 14:35
had a arthroscope friday, havent heard the outcome but was believed to be a bit of cartilage damage, not reco material at this stage. Should be right for 1st round.
Good news! Quality player and good bloke. But probably would be better if he was playing at 'Home'?? Got a spot for him Hank?
iwantanotherflag
20 Feb 2007, 14:38
We started real well about 28-30. But Monday night was a bit light on? Bloody hot! Makes you look forward to those frosty nights, especially now when its 40 degrees in the shade. Lots of 3rds kids that will come up, some will be certain starters and I would expect to see many more of them during the year. Last year we had about 10 kids from 3rds play at least one game at 2pm.
We always seem to have 2 or 3 kids who are senior starters when they are 16 or 17. Two years out of 4ths!!!!
Good news! Quality player and good bloke. But probably would be better if he was playing at 'Home'?? Got a spot for him Hank?
haha, yeah keeping a spot open for him for next year.
Shepp East averaging between 23-28 at this stage, started with 30 odd, but has dwindled a bit in last couple of weeks, some nights 20, some nights 25 a bit up and down, our thirds have over 30 kids at the minute looking good for the kids, 4ths start training tonight.
dcspeccy
20 Feb 2007, 15:59
Word around town is that Adz Waadorp is having a good time bagging out his old club. Suppose he doest want his old mate brydon power doing a better job than him!
will they have grounds to not clear him this year as I noticed they rejected his clearence
pesonly I hope they stuff him around with his clearence cos i think he is a cocky little prick that needs a good belting.I would love to do it myself but if i started i dont think i would stop!!!!
so do you no why they are not clearing him
dcspeccy
20 Feb 2007, 19:53
same as any other club i guess, dont clear someone unless you have to
chicken38
20 Feb 2007, 21:55
pesonly I hope they stuff him around with his clearence cos i think he is a cocky little prick that needs a good belting.I would love to do it myself but if i started i dont think i would stop!!!!big call behind a computer screen buddy:D
Brunt right for opener despite knee surgery
By Steve King
February 21 2007
Shepparton News
Picola United coach Adam Brunt has quashed rumours a torn anterior cruciate ligament will see him miss the Picola District Football League season.
Brunt, 31, had an arthroscope last Friday to clean out some cartilage from his right knee.
"The operation went well," Brunt, the 1998 Morrison Medallist and dual Pearce Medallist said.
"I hurt the knee five or six years ago playing for Tongala and it has flared up again."
Brunt admits the arthroscope will hinder his pre-season campaign.
"But it was best to get it done now, rather than during the season," he said.
"I've just got to take it easy for the next couple of weeks, but I'll definitely be right for round one."
He will revisit the specialist in a fortnight where he hopes to get the green light to resume training.
Brunt has been one of the Picola league's most dominant forces since joining the Blues as coach in 2005 and was a key factor in the club reaching last year's first-semi final.
Picola United opens its season against Mathoura on April 7.
big call behind a computer screen buddy:D
Trust me mate its not a big call :) haha
iwantanotherflag
21 Feb 2007, 07:25
Hank & Balls, up early! Wet the bed? :D
iwantanotherflag
21 Feb 2007, 07:37
Any comments on recruiting from within the PDFL?
Many players at Picola have come from neighbouring teams. Daniel x 3 (Waaia), Trennery (Yar) & Lias (Mathoura, but been at Picola for a while now).
& few others: Brunskill Blighty & Strathy, Waasdorp Yarr & Waaia, Fox Katty & Katunga, Edgar Strathy & Katunga.
NEXT LEVEL
21 Feb 2007, 08:53
Shepp east about 30 blokes and looking super fit
Hank & Balls, up early! Wet the bed? :D
Nar mate we dont get to sleep in like you school teachers:D
fathead
21 Feb 2007, 11:45
Nar mate we dont get to sleep in like you school teachers:D
What are you talking about us school teachers do not get much sleep................
themagicfrog
21 Feb 2007, 12:21
big call behind a computer screen buddy:D
I'm with Chicken on this one!
fair enough mate:D
switch the play
21 Feb 2007, 13:01
Thats quite amazing.I started a thread called heartbreak to premiership glory and no-one has responded to it,i'm quite embarassed could you post this fact on there so it looks as though my thread has created some interest please.I would do it myself except that would bring the total to 5 of which i would have been three.:) :thumbsu: I also spelt heartbreak without an e so that doesnt add much credibility either.
iwantanotherflag
21 Feb 2007, 13:40
What are you talking about us school teachers do not get much sleep................
We turn up to work at 9am and leave by 3.30 and have 13 weeks off a year
chicken38
21 Feb 2007, 17:53
fair enough mate:Ddo they call u big balls or little balls:)
phillip needleman
21 Feb 2007, 18:02
Shepp east about 30 blokes and looking super fit
must be the pure blondes.. low carbs hey next level
do they call u big balls or little balls:)
haha yer good one actualy it should be ball cos i only have one but yer its is's not a bad size but then again i havn't grabbed another blokes to compare.You must have by the sounds of it but! :)
ha ha so what are saying balls you are one short of sack
Kick it to me
21 Feb 2007, 20:36
Must be a fair size. He doesn't mind spruking off a bit.
abit of balls and all in that one
chicken machine
21 Feb 2007, 21:13
How well do you know adz my friend? i dont think he would be one to bag something out unless it was true, and as for wanting to belt him he obviously gets under your skin coz he obviously beats you on the ground, so what if hes a bit lippy all the good players are mate so just give it a rest, ive known for quite some time and coached me at one stage and i think hes a top bloke but everyone is entitled to their opinion yours might be just a little misguided.
chicken machine
21 Feb 2007, 21:22
upon reading previous comments on who should have the grand final and not being part of the league, i happened to be driving through berrigan the other day and noticed how well thier ground looks and how big the space is for parking and viewing the ground from the hill and also the lawn area would make a great spot for the grand final has nice big rooms for the teams to warm up etc... so would make a great spot for the g/f. i have only been to katungas ground once and its a dive have no idea why they have the g/f crap facilities and crap ground. If not berrigan another idea would be to have a lotto draw and the club that gets to hold it that year is not in the draw for the following year, i think that every club should have the chance to hold finals at their ground that way everyone gets a piece of the pie. what does everyone else think?
iwantanotherflag
22 Feb 2007, 07:29
upon reading previous comments on who should have the grand final and not being part of the league, i happened to be driving through berrigan the other day and noticed how well thier ground looks and how big the space is for parking and viewing the ground from the hill and also the lawn area would make a great spot for the grand final has nice big rooms for the teams to warm up etc... so would make a great spot for the g/f. i have only been to katungas ground once and its a dive have no idea why they have the g/f crap facilities and crap ground. If not berrigan another idea would be to have a lotto draw and the club that gets to hold it that year is not in the draw for the following year, i think that every club should have the chance to hold finals at their ground that way everyone gets a piece of the pie. what does everyone else think?
Berrigan has a great set up but I think you will find that the league will want to keep the Grand Final in a central location. That way all teams meet in the middle for the great day. But yes better facilities should be sought, I personally think that cars should be about 2-3m away from the fence to allow for standing/sitting area. Many clubs, including mine should be working to make their grounds more spectator friendly.
Yer :D good one boys i'v herd em all.... lol
How well do you know adz my friend? i dont think he would be one to bag something out unless it was true, and as for wanting to belt him he obviously gets under your skin coz he obviously beats you on the ground, so what if hes a bit lippy all the good players are mate so just give it a rest, ive known for quite some time and coached me at one stage and i think hes a top bloke but everyone is entitled to their opinion yours might be just a little misguided.
Yer fair enough mate he is one of many players that gets under my skin and to be honest some of the blokes i play with do to.I guess I'm one of those blokes that like to get on with playing the game in stead of mouthing off to the opposition.Sorry if I did offend ya but untill he proves me wrong i will have to stick with my guns on this and yes I have been proven to be wrong a few times in my time.....:thumbsu:
NEXT LEVEL
22 Feb 2007, 09:12
must be the pure blondes.. low carbs hey next level
yes i dont mind the odd beer or two for a special occasion.
iwantanotherflag
22 Feb 2007, 09:39
I will pencil Dookie into the top 6 at this stage of the year.
Would it be unreasonable to expect Wunghnu to win 5 or 6 games this year. They have picked up a few players and were not too far away from more wins in 2006. Betson, Colger, Brannelly, Howard, Ritchie and Cassimaty returns home.
NEXT LEVEL
22 Feb 2007, 10:15
I will pencil Dookie into the top 6 at this stage of the year.
Would it be unreasonable to expect Wunghnu to win 5 or 6 games this year. They have picked up a few players and were not too far away from more wins in 2006. Betson, Colger, Brannelly, Howard, Ritchie and Cassimaty returns home.
dookie will be top 4 easy with the amount of players they have picked up.
shepp east
katandra
blighty
dookie
fathead
22 Feb 2007, 10:41
We turn up to work at 9am and leave by 3.30 and have 13 weeks off a year
Yes its a hard life isnt it........
fathead
22 Feb 2007, 10:46
shepp east
katandra
blighty
dookie
I would have to agree on that one NEXT LEVEL. They seem to have done well in the recruiting. but they still have to put it together on the park. they can have a good side on paper but its a total different thing on the ground....
iwantanotherflag
22 Feb 2007, 10:50
I would have to agree on that one NEXT LEVEL. They seem to have done well in the recruiting. but they still have to put it together on the park. they can have a good side on paper but its a total different thing on the ground....
Blighty in 3rd? Scoullar & Moodie are great players but they will need more support to move the likes of Waaia & Dookie from the top of the tree.
cackles23
22 Feb 2007, 10:56
shepp east
katandra
blighty
dookie
Shepp East
Picola United
Katandra
Katunga
Waaia
Dookie
Blighty to just miss out
fathead
22 Feb 2007, 11:00
Shepp East
Picola United
Katandra
Katunga
Waaia
Dookie
Blighty to just miss out
Yes i see that there are a few players heading to Katunga thats good news for their club....
Rascal99
22 Feb 2007, 11:43
shepp east
katandra
blighty
dookie
My thoughts are that blighty will improve alot but not enough to challenge Shepp, Katandra and the like and not the same draw as last year. Also Dookie have picked up players but it will take some time to play as a team and get used to the new guys. Will be slow out of the blocks but will improve from round 4 or 5 onwards.
In no particular order:
Katandra
Shepp East
Picola
Waaia
Tungamah
And battle for sixth between:
Dookie (will be an unknown quantity, smokey for top six)
Blighty (will improve, but how much??)
Katunga (have a couple additions)
Hoppers (lost a few, will drop off, probably contend for 10 - 15)
Rovers (new coach, picked up a couple, will need to improve)
Mathoura (looking at the clearances not many additions, be around the same as 06)
Strathy (picked up a couple, not much info on them)
Berrigan (picked up a few, should improve on last year)
Wunghnu (picked up a few, will improve on last year)
Katamatie (lost a few, may struggle)
Diamonddave
22 Feb 2007, 11:50
My thoughts are that blighty will improve alot but not enough to challenge Shepp, Katandra and the like and not the same draw as last year. Also Dookie have picked up players but it will take some time to play as a team and get used to the new guys. Will be slow out of the blocks but will improve from round 4 or 5 onwards.
In no particular order:
Katandra
Shepp East
Picola
Waaia
Tungamah
And battle for sixth between:
Dookie (will be an unknown quantity, smokey for top six)
Blighty (will improve, but how much??)
Katunga (have a couple additions)
Hoppers (lost a few, will drop off, probably contend for 10 - 15)
Rovers (new coach, picked up a couple, will need to improve)
Mathoura (looking at the clearances not many additions, be around the same as 06)
Strathy (picked up a couple, not much info on them)
Berrigan (picked up a few, should improve on last year)
Wunghnu (picked up a few, will improve on last year)
Katamatie (lost a few, may struggle)
Dookie have already had a few scratch matches and they are all playing well together so i will say they wont need 4-5 weeks to gel together. so definate top4.
shepp east
katandra
blighty
dookie
I think these four in no particuler order will be shoe ins but after that it's gonna be a close race to finnish off for the finnals.I would back Dookie but I think they might take too long to gel as a team and i think mathoura will take the wooden spoon of the wunghnu boy's this year.
katandra
shepp east
waaia
picola
iwantanotherflag
22 Feb 2007, 12:48
I think these four in no particuler order will be shoe ins but after that it's gonna be a close race to finnish off for the finnals.I would back Dookie but I think they might take too long to gel as a team and i think mathoura will take the wooden spoon of the wunghnu boy's this year.
katandra
shepp east
waaia
picola
Never, ever underestimate the Bears! Guys like Dodd, Buerkners etc will keep them up. But yes Shep East, Picola, Waaia, Katandra, Dookie, Tungamah, Katunga, Blighty, Mathoura should be in the mix in the top half of the ladder.
You will probably see a the top 4 seperated by 1 game and a half & percentage! That is what I would predict.
Never, ever underestimate the Bears! Guys like Dodd, Buerkners etc will keep them up. But yes Shep East, Picola, Waaia, Katandra, Dookie, Tungamah, Katunga, Blighty, Mathoura should be in the mix in the top half of the ladder.
You will probably see a the top 4 seperated by 1 game and a half & percentage! That is what I would predict.
Shepp East have lost nine players from Grand Final side last year and have only picked up 5 or 6 according to the transfers so I wouldn't be rating them on top like a lot of people are saying?????
My top 6 would be
Dookie (picked up 15 new players - spending heaps)
Katandra
Waaia
Shepp East
Blighty
Katunga with Picola and Tungamah (all around 6th spot)
shibby44
22 Feb 2007, 13:19
Is it fair to say that Shepp East is the most hated club in this league!.......
cackles23
22 Feb 2007, 13:42
Fair to say all sides close to Shepp piss off all other sides cause they are just that too close to shepp and the large pool of players, reform the old Tungamah League and FAST!!
They should never have touched the Tungamah league in the first place it was a great little league with some good rivalary until they dismantled it to pieces!
iwantanotherflag
22 Feb 2007, 15:18
Bring it back without the southern clubs.
Shepp East, Dookie, Katandra, Tungamah, Katamatite, Congupna, Violet Town & maybe Tallygaroopna. If the All Blacks are any good bring them in too! Not sure whats happening in BDFL, but Goorambat fits geographically.
Would any other teams like Waaia/Strathy/Picola want to be involved?
NEXT LEVEL
22 Feb 2007, 15:19
only cause they are so good
iwantanotherflag
22 Feb 2007, 15:32
A few of the guys on the GVFL page are prediction round one teams barring injury would anyone care to have a punt on how their sides might line up?
Us?
B: Lambourn, Herezo, Kennedy
HB: Thompson, Bertoli, W Teague
C: Venables, Plant, Ireland
HF: Wilkie, M Riordan, Cook
FF: Lawless, Cordy, Sprunt
FOLL: M Sidebottom, G Teague, N White
INT: Damon, Mitchell, Dudgeon, Howard, Thomson, B White, Gledhill, D Sidebottom, S Riordan,
iwantanotherflag
22 Feb 2007, 15:33
[quote=iwantanotherflag;6786912]A few of the guys on the GVFL page are prediction round one teams barring injury would anyone care to have a punt on how their sides might line up?
Us?
INT: Damon, Mitchell, Dudgeon, Howard, Thomson, B White, Gledhill, D Sidebottom, S Riordan, B Minogue
Probably missed a few guys but thats about it in a nutshell. Maybe some others, but ???
shibby44
22 Feb 2007, 15:46
only cause they are so good
Ha no way they are hated because they are so arrogant, they will be taught a few things this year i hope!
yeh success does hurt you guys doesn't it. Why not put Katandra in that category to. They won 3 or 4 flags in row so did you hate them then
Bring it back without the southern clubs.
Shepp East, Dookie, Katandra, Tungamah, Katamatite, Congupna, Violet Town & maybe Tallygaroopna. If the All Blacks are any good bring them in too! Not sure whats happening in BDFL, but Goorambat fits geographically.
Would any other teams like Waaia/Strathy/Picola want to be involved?
yeh I agree I would like to see a competition with the following teams
They could call the league Goulburn Murray League /Shepparton & District League
Shepp East
'Katandra
Katatamitie
Tungamah
Benalla All Blacks
Congupna
Dookie United
Violet Town
Rumbalara
Tallygooroopna
The Fev
22 Feb 2007, 19:17
yeh success does hurt you guys doesn't it. Why not put Katandra in that category to. They won 3 or 4 flags in row so did you hate them then
yes.... yes we did.... and some things will never change
waymo7680
22 Feb 2007, 19:33
Shepp East have lost nine players from Grand Final side last year and have only picked up 5 or 6 according to the transfers so I wouldn't be rating them on top like a lot of people are saying?????
My top 6 would be
Dookie (picked up 15 new players - spending heaps)
Katandra
Waaia
Shepp East
Blighty
Katunga with Picola and Tungamah (all around 6th spot)
yeah i agree with you here Ex Tee, i think this is probably the most accurate prediction, the only thing i would change is to put tungamah into 3rd spot waaia 4th shepp east 5th & blighty into the fight with picola & katunga for 6th spot.
my prediction would be no order for six
Shepp East (Should be a top side again and around the top three)
Katandra (Will be the team to beat and will have a good season)
Waaia (Added to there depth and could go all the way)
Dookie United (Pick up alot of players and if gel could go all the way)
Tungamah (cannot write them off & but will drop off from last year)
Picola United (Will be very good again and could be in the top four)
Blighty (Could easly be playing finals hard to leave them out)
Katunga (Will just miss out again as the teams have impoved)
Mathoura (Will be there abouts but not quite make it)
Wunghnu (will improve with new faces but if injuries in trouble)
Strathmerton (Cannot see them doing to much)
Yarra (Lost alot and will fall down)
Berrigan (Picked up some players but will win a few games)
Deni Rovers (Will struggle)
Katatmatite (Will be lucky to win a game)
I cannot see from Wunghnu to Katty making any impact finals wise it is like there is two different comps. but will be a close season:thumbsu:
A few of the guys on the GVFL page are prediction round one teams barring injury would anyone care to have a punt on how their sides might line up?
Us?
INT: Damon, Mitchell, Dudgeon, Howard, Thomson, B White, Gledhill, D Sidebottom, S Riordan,
if thats the way you think katandra will line up your an idiot.For starters irland wont play at kat land cordy is gonna start at congupna but will end up home herezo will be over seas damon will start off in the 2s cos of an knee injury and will be happy to stay there.havent seen howard or riordan yet.If katandra will have Mitchell,dudgeon,Sidebottom there wont be any room for thompson or the other sidebottom and you have it just right for the engine room which will be hard to match by any team.
yes.... yes we did.... and some things will never change
katandra dont pay their players ! But im not sayin you shouldnt hate them because they dont. You should probaly hate them more because of that can get away with not paying them and still getting the succses that they do.
yeh success does hurt you guys doesn't it. Why not put Katandra in that category to. They won 3 or 4 flags in row so did you hate them thencan you tell me who you are mercs cos i would love to know.Old rivals and all:)
NEXT LEVEL
23 Feb 2007, 08:21
Ha no way they are hated because they are so arrogant, they will be taught a few things this year i hope!
arrogance comes from winning, but i wouldn't say they are that, its just confidence in their own ability as a team
iwantanotherflag
23 Feb 2007, 11:10
if thats the way you think katandra will line up your an idiot.For starters irland wont play at kat land cordy is gonna start at congupna but will end up home herezo will be over seas damon will start off in the 2s cos of an knee injury and will be happy to stay there.havent seen howard or riordan yet.If katandra will have Mitchell,dudgeon,Sidebottom there wont be any room for thompson or the other sidebottom and you have it just right for the engine room which will be hard to match by any team.
Pretty confident that Cords will stay, cos he hasn't been at training doesn't mean much cos we don't see him at training until August. The bench was a list of guys that will be playing senior footy this year. Probably had a bit of last years team in mind first and then slipped a few others in. Couldn't fit everyone in of course. News to me about Herezo. But yeah I am not Chops Lambourn so the team isn't worth the space it has taken up, but hey a bit of discussion.