View Full Version : Picola District football league
Thanks Doona? Which league is the stronger?
Id reckon PDFL would be better footy as far as week to week standard goes - but how often do leagues have their best 20-22 players readily willing and available for interleague duty so we can't really use the clash as a true indicator
Noticed an article in the Border Mail today that suggests Berrigan may not be able to field a 2's team anymore - is this correct, and what will happen with the club in the future? Is this the end of proud, strong club? (hope not)
themagicfrog
21 Apr 2006, 17:31
Noticed an article in the Border Mail today that suggests Berrigan may not be able to field a 2's team anymore - is this correct, and what will happen with the club in the future? Is this the end of proud, strong club? (hope not)
We are really struggling for numbers at the moment have had about 15 players leave the club, most have left town, just one of those things! Some players have retired also. We are playing 16 a side so far and actually had a win last week when some players decided that they will play. I play in the Magoo’s and I can say that not many of the players that are dragged in to play train at all. Any injuries in the Seniors certainly don’t help us. You will see a add in the Shepparton News on Monday saying that we are in desperate need of players. As for the end I don’t think so, I know there are a few people around here that will fight for the club to the death. I’m sure by the end of the season that dirty merger word would have been banded around a bit, but that will not even happen if we can help it. I’d like to think that we will bounce back. We are talking to a number of players and hopefully you will see some extra numbers here soon.
Thanks for your concern Hansie.
themagicfrog
1 May 2006, 15:02
Have Dookie this week any comments on em?
Has anyone heard of Glen "wombat" Edis, From Katty playes eirly similar to the great Greg Williams, Owns the center corridor.
Travvy43
1 May 2006, 16:42
Good to see two former morison medalists and Tongala stars getting among the goals for Picola on the weekend.
Brunt kicking 11, he is a freak and would still walk into most GV sides i would think, and Russel Byrnes kicking 8 in the twos!!
What about glen edis, would run the legs off a cheeta.
What about glen edis, would run the legs off a cheeta. A player by the name of Greg Rudd went around in your league a few years ago. Any one remember him?
Wayne Weideman
7 May 2006, 10:30
does scott mckenzie play for anyone anymore?
carntheblue&whitehoops
8 May 2006, 12:32
picola have started well again this season, how do you guys rate their chances and do you think that they will fade like they did last year?
carntheblue&whitehoops
8 May 2006, 12:36
does scott mckenzie play for anyone anymore?
macca is still playing with picola and is kicking goals for them, i think he is sitting 3rd or 4th on the league goal kicking.
pecker69
11 May 2006, 17:21
Good to see two former morison medalists and Tongala stars getting among the goals for Picola on the weekend.
Brunt kicking 11, he is a freak and would still walk into most GV sides i would think, and Russel Byrnes kicking 8 in the twos!!
Good to see Brunty gettin amongst the goals, you're right he's the best footballer l've had the pleasure of playing with and a great bloke to go with it. Old diesel keeps goin, 8 sausage rolls from a bloke who's 41 is sensational. Scott McKenzie must still be lettin his missus unpack the kids and the car to have enough energy to kick a heap of goals. GO MACCA:) :)
hectomorphic
16 May 2006, 15:33
What happened to Waaia this year? Why have they gone so down hill?
pecker69
19 May 2006, 14:48
What happened to Waaia this year? Why have they gone so down hill?
Cos they are a big bunch of sooks, most have left and gone to Picola to play with real men.
A player by the name of Greg Rudd went around in your league a few years ago. Any one remember him?
Rudd played for the Deniliquin Rovers after coming from Coolamon. A very hard player but a bit erratic at times.:thumbsu:
Rudd played for the Deniliquin Rovers after coming from Coolamon. A very hard player but a bit erratic at times.:thumbsu:Ta ringo:thumbsu:
journeyman
19 May 2006, 15:24
Cos they are a big bunch of sooks, most have left and gone to Picola to play with real men.
Obviously toungue in cheek there Pecker. Waaia didn't appoint a coach till about mid Feb so were a fair way behind the mark. They still have some good players so it is surprising they are going so bad.
Waaia are a great club, one of the most successful in Vic. I think they've won about 10 flags in past 20 years. The blokes that were central to those premierships have packed up after last year's upset grand final win (never back against Waaia in a GF).
I think Matt and Phil Daniels have crossed to Picola. They are handy players andit would hurt Waaia to have those two playing for a traditional rival as Waaia boys are usually very loyal.
hectomorphic
22 May 2006, 15:24
Seems to be a fiar gap in the league between top and bottom. There is even a fair gap between the top and middle. Katandra, Tungamah, shep east all look strong. Who will win out of these three come september?
Andyt30
23 May 2006, 13:45
this weekend winless sides Berrigan v Wunghnu fighting for first pts for the Season especally for Wunghnu going for their first win since Round 20 2004
hope they win they deserve a win the looser could have sealed the Wooden Spoon
Picola United v Katandra
Yarroweyah v Mathoura
Blighty v Waaia
Katamatite v Tungamah
Strathmerton v Shepparton East
Dookie United V Katunga
Berrigan v Wunghnu
Deniliquin Rovers Bye
How does the future look for Berrigan? I know they left the Murray league a few years back but I thought they may have been successful. Surely there must be some concern for 2007 and beyond.
Andyt30
23 May 2006, 14:17
i looked up on picola dfl website the vcfl one, and looked last Year and Berrigan made the Elimination Final so wonder whats gone wrong at berrigan? maby they lost alot of Players from Last year ? i read in last years Shepparton paper Wunghnu where close to folding last year, they should merge with neigbouring TAllygaroopna ? being very close together withing a few Minutes. i been up that way just after Easter and was amazed how close they are about 5-10 ks appart and close to Numurkah they can merge with another club in a differnt league, we done it Brim from Mallee Merged with Wimmera Club Warracknabeal. so they got 2 options
i know all clubs in the league have to give the approval.
i'd say something will have to happen sooner or later
were lucky in one way both Brim & Warracknabeal were both maroon and Gold
we kept our Jumper we were the Eagles and Warrack were The Lions
its a bonus if both clubs from differnt leagues have same colors
one less thing to worry about
i had a look at Wunghnu, Tallygaroopna, Waaia,Katunga & Numurkah all great looking Surfaces and setup. up here its dry especally start of the footy season
i got last years, gvfl, murray , picola & Cgfl & Kyabram dfl Grand final dvd's :)
Thanks for the info andy-perhaps natural attrition will unfortunately claim some clubs.A few years back Terang and Mortlake merged and are now a powerful team i the Hampden league. Perhaps a new thread on mergers and clubs in recess would be worth a read.Sounds like you love your footy.:thumbsu:
themagicfrog
23 May 2006, 14:33
i looked up on picola dfl website the vcfl one, and looked last Year and Berrigan made the Elimination Final so wonder whats gone wrong at berrigan? maby they lost alot of Players from Last year ? i read in last years Shepparton paper Wunghnu where close to folding last year, they should merge with neigbouring TAllygaroopna ? being very close together withing a few Minutes. i been up that way just after Easter and was amazed how close they are about 5-10 ks appart and close to Numurkah they can merge with another club in a differnt league, we done it Brim from Mallee Merged with Wimmera Club Warracknabeal. so they got 2 options
i know all clubs in the league have to give the approval.
i'd say something will have to happen sooner or later
were lucky in one way both Brim & Warracknabeal were both maroon and Gold
we kept our Jumper we were the Eagles and Warrack were The Lions
its a bonus if both clubs from differnt leagues have same colors
one less thing to worry about
i had a look at Wunghnu, Tallygaroopna, Waaia,Katunga & Numurkah all great looking Surfaces and setup. up here its dry especally start of the footy season
i got last years, gvfl, murray , picola & Cgfl & Kyabram dfl Grand final dvd's :)
We lost a number of players mainly due to relocation and retirements. We will have a new coach and the likes next season, with people not currently on the Committee vowing to make sure that next year is going to be a better year. We a still fielding a reserves side, even though we are only managing to play 16 a side, we have won 3 games so far and are looking at another this week.
Magicfrog who is the coach now? How do you rate him and do you have any prospective coaches in the pipeline?:)
themagicfrog
23 May 2006, 14:49
Our current coach is Barry Roe, I don't think he realy want's to be here, Applied for the Jerilderie job and didn't get, so I was told.
His assistant, and current Thids coach put in for the Blight Senior job and didn't get it either!
Only romours so far, nothing to big yet.
Was told other non committee members will make sure something happens.
New Pres next year, new outlook!
Andyt30
23 May 2006, 15:24
i know what its like to not win a game, Brim back in 1997 we couldnt win a game and we oftern have under 16's players play in Senior footy and our Non Playing coach had to Play thats how bad it was back in 1997
98 we won 2 and 99 we made the finals and 2000 made the Grandfinal and lost by 14pts then a few weeks later found out we were merging with Warracknabeal so that shows even if you make the grand final mergers still seem to happen, when we had a good year Warracknabeal had a poor year and vice versa , we oftern take players from warrack, and vice virsa
Our current coach is Barry Roe, I don't think he realy want's to be here, Applied for the Jerilderie job and didn't get, so I was told.
His assistant, and current Thids coach put in for the Blight Senior job and didn't get it either!
Only romours so far, nothing to big yet.
Was told other non committee members will make sure something happens.
New Pres next year, new outlook!
Where is Roe from? Will you target a player to coach from the Murray or GV league?
localfootyguru
24 May 2006, 00:12
Hopefully the Saints can rebound next year. Im sure the club would like to return to finals in 2007. Good to see that despite being short with player numbers that the reserves have won a few games.
MagicFrog, have you heard any news on the restructure of football in the Riverina in 2007? Perhaps Berrigan may be on the move into a new competition that may encourage more local derbies and rivalries - would this be a better option to ensure the future of the club and an increased possibility of on field success?
Riewoldt12
24 May 2006, 09:01
Played Berrigan on the weekend and while they are struggling somewhat, still had a crack all game. Young players like Goddard, Littlejohn, Hawker and Hickey all go pretty well. Unfortunately their 3rds are really down this year.
Our competition looks a 3 team race already with Shepp East, Picola and Tungamah, then daylight between the rest. Maybe throw Katandra on a good day in there as well.
One player to keep an eye on is young Chris O'Connor and Terry Lumbar from the Deni Rovers. Both very talented and only 20 years old.
themagicfrog
24 May 2006, 12:15
Where is Roe from? Will you target a player to coach from the Murray or GV league?
Roe is from Jerilderie applied to coach us 2003 , but we went with a local instead, played with us in 2004 coached us last year and this one, means well but I don’t thinks his head is fully in it this year.
We will target a playing coach like all others will, have heard rumours about a O&M player being targeted, Ex Berrigan player, but have not heard weather they are interested or weather the rumours are even true! Would cost us though as they are still playing good footy in O&M.
Magic
themagicfrog
24 May 2006, 12:16
Hopefully the Saints can rebound next year. Im sure the club would like to return to finals in 2007. Good to see that despite being short with player numbers that the reserves have won a few games.
MagicFrog, have you heard any news on the restructure of football in the Riverina in 2007? Perhaps Berrigan may be on the move into a new competition that may encourage more local derbies and rivalries - would this be a better option to ensure the future of the club and an increased possibility of on field success?
What I have seen Localfootyguru, I can e-mail you if you give me your details, If what they are suggesting happens and we end up in the Northern section not the Southern section it would benefit us on and off the field. We would play teams like Jerilderie, Blighty, Yarroweyah and Strathy and build on current rivalries.
themagicfrog
24 May 2006, 12:18
Played Berrigan on the weekend and while they are struggling somewhat, still had a crack all game. Young players like Goddard, Littlejohn, Hawker and Hickey all go pretty well. Unfortunately their 3rds are really down this year.
Our competition looks a 3 team race already with Shepp East, Picola and Tungamah, then daylight between the rest. Maybe throw Katandra on a good day in there as well.
One player to keep an eye on is young Chris O'Connor and Terry Lumbar from the Deni Rovers. Both very talented and only 20 years old.
The players you named Riewoldt12 do go all right but Goddard looks to be leaving to Join Kangaroo Flat in the Bendigo FL because of work commitments. Will be a big loss.
Disappointed with our game @ Deni, very frustrating to watch our skill level and intent on the day. Hopefully the boys will be switched on against Wunghnu.
Riewoldt12
24 May 2006, 12:33
The players you named Riewoldt12 do go all right but Goddard looks to be leaving to Join Kangaroo Flat in the Bendigo FL because of work commitments. Will be a big loss.
Disappointed with our game @ Deni, very frustrating to watch our skill level and intent on the day. Hopefully the boys will be switched on against Wunghnu.
I reckon you will knock them off. Agree, Goddard will be a massive loss. Thought last week's game was a classic example of 2 down sides having a real go and desperate for a win. We seemed to have more options up forward and our half back line was pretty strong.
Good luck this week.
Roe is from Jerilderie applied to coach us 2003 , but we went with a local instead, played with us in 2004 coached us last year and this one, means well but I don’t thinks his head is fully in it this year.
We will target a playing coach like all others will, have heard rumours about a O&M player being targeted, Ex Berrigan player, but have not heard weather they are interested or weather the rumours are even true! Would cost us though as they are still playing good footy in O&M.
Magic
Thanks froggy:)
hectomorphic
24 May 2006, 15:20
Id be careful of the 'ewe' frog. They kept up with Strathy untill half time and then let strathy get away.i Know strathy arent exactly a good team at the momment but i would be expecting a tough contest.
Riewoldt12
24 May 2006, 21:17
Just wondering if anyone had any ideas of the make-up of the PDFL interleague side. Saw a number of players selected and a number of very good players not selected. A combination of Picola, Tunga, Shepp East and Katandra players would make a very handy side.
themagicfrog
25 May 2006, 09:37
Id be careful of the 'ewe' frog. They kept up with Strathy untill half time and then let strathy get away.i Know strathy arent exactly a good team at the momment but i would be expecting a tough contest.
Don't worry we are not taking it lightly. They have beeten us here before, (Very low point for club), Hopefully have 4 inclusions this week.
Magic
Riewoldt12
25 May 2006, 10:27
Don't worry we are not taking it lightly. They have beeten us here before, (Very low point for club), Hopefully have 4 inclusions this week.
Magic
Who would be your 4 inclusions that weren't there last week. Saw Alderton running around in the 2's. Is he a chance to play this week?
themagicfrog
25 May 2006, 13:09
Who would be your 4 inclusions that weren't there last week. Saw Alderton running around in the 2's. Is he a chance to play this week?
Nah DA is supposed to be retired. Roe, Cooper and Bowden (Melb Boy, will be his second game for us) from injury and Spence from Magoo's
Magic
Riewoldt12
25 May 2006, 13:16
Nah DA is supposed to be retired. Roe, Cooper and Bowden (Melb Boy, will be his second game for us) from injury and Spence from Magoo's
Magic
Hope those boys make the difference. If it is in Berrigan, surely you guys are a good chance. Wunghnu often have a different away side to their home one. Will be interested to hear how you go, as we have Wunghnu the following week over there.
Riewoldt 12 have Wungnhu? changed their culture and have they got a future?.I have a mate that is from the area and he used to get me to look up the scores on a Sunday to see how much they were beaten by.:confused: He also reckons they had some real deadbeats in the line-up who just wanted to hit blokes
Riewoldt12
25 May 2006, 13:29
Riewoldt 12 have Wungnhu? changed their culture and have they got a future?.I have a mate that is from the area and he used to get me to look up the scores on a Sunday to see how much they were beaten by.:confused: He also reckons they had some real deadbeats in the line-up who just wanted to hit blokes
They seemed to take some forward steps last year, even though they were again easy beats. In 2004 Perry Meka was at the helm and kicked 100 and they won about 5 games. Last year, they didn't win any. Don't know the guy Timmis, who is in charge there, but they seem a lot more competitive. Unfortunately, juniors has also been a consistent problem for them and there facilities are not going to attract good players there. We played them in 2002 and they turned up on a bus and half the guys went over to the golf club next to the ground to have a few beers.
They came out and got beaten by us (who weren't travelling great) by 45 goals. Unfortunately their coach at the time, McElhinney was the main thug amongst them.
I suppose there is only one way to go from those day and that is up.
:thumbsu: They seemed to take some forward steps last year, even though they were again easy beats. In 2004 Perry Meka was at the helm and kicked 100 and they won about 5 games. Last year, they didn't win any. Don't know the guy Timmis, who is in charge there, but they seem a lot more competitive. Unfortunately, juniors has also been a consistent problem for them and there facilities are not going to attract good players there. We played them in 2002 and they turned up on a bus and half the guys went over to the golf club next to the ground to have a few beers.
They came out and got beaten by us (who weren't travelling great) by 45 goals. Unfortunately their coach at the time, McElhinney was the main thug amongst them.
I suppose there is only one way to go from those day and that is up.
Thanks mate:thumbsu:
Riewoldt12
26 May 2006, 09:38
Heard somewhere that Shane Railton was back playing with Mathoura and some of the sponsors are not too happy about it.
Railton gave the club a bad name after a footy trip a few years back and while he is a classy player and a great bloke, I would say a few guys at the club would not be too happy about him being back.
His wife is a bloody good netballer, though, so that might help.
Riewoldt12
29 May 2006, 12:32
Well done Berrigan FC on your weekend victory. Can anyone give me a rundown about Wunghnu, as we have them over there this week and want any inside info. to feed back to the boys. We are looking for 2 wins in a row and the side we have this year, we may only get another couple of chances.
wobbler
29 May 2006, 14:30
How is the big "T Train" in Wesley Teague going does anyone know did he make interleague call up
themagicfrog
29 May 2006, 14:32
Well done Berrigan FC on your weekend victory. Can anyone give me a rundown about Wunghnu, as we have them over there this week and want any inside info. to feed back to the boys. We are looking for 2 wins in a row and the side we have this year, we may only get another couple of chances.
Thanks for that, it was a close one, and it could have gone any way.
As for inside info, they had a couple of their smaller bloke that seemed to run the game out well I think there numbers were 3 and 4, Shelton looked the goods but looked disinterested, number 15 went allright as did that Shannon Turner when he got his hands on it, Turner is a dirty player though, if we had better umpires we would of recieved a few more 50's.
Now For thier magoo's, they ran out with a full side, but that's where the good news for them stopped, they had one bloke dry reaching most of the game, one big older fella trying to run though everyone when he had the ball with his arms and elbow flying. A few of them took their angry pills at 3 quarter time, usual Wunghnu stuff, to there credit and our lack of concertration they did kick 3 goals.
Hope this helps.
Magic
hectomorphic
4 Jun 2006, 11:53
hey riewvolt (your right i cant spell). Do you play for Deni? Losing to Wunghnu that would be a low point for the club? What happened?
Wunghnu won their first senior game in along long time they celebrating for quite some time well done boys lifts them 1 spot off the Bottom good to see all clubs with wins what a fluke their last win was also against Denni Rovers :)
back rd 20 2004 :thumbsu: how many times has a club done that ;)
they would have won a game sooner or later :) with no games next weekend and Wunghnu has the Following week off they be fresh for rd 12 when they travel a short Distance to Katunga the 2 weeks break should give em time for say any injuries to recover as KAtunga got deni Rovers after the break
which katunga should win fairly easily at deni
Riewoldt12
5 Jun 2006, 09:26
Congratulations to Wunghnu, they were too good for us and we played terrible football. Not sure what the final margin was, as I tore ligaments in my ankle with about 10 minutes to go and ended up at GV hospital. This topped off a fine day.
A credit to them as the ground and supporters were fabulous. The help they gave to me, when I was injured was also very much appreciated.
As for our club, I don't know if rock bottom can describe where we are at, at present. Injuries, lack of numbers and one of our best players now seeking a clearance to Nuliwill all spells a long year for the club.
Congratulations to Wunghnu, they were too good for us and we played terrible football. Not sure what the final margin was, as I tore ligaments in my ankle with about 10 minutes to go and ended up at GV hospital. This topped off a fine day.
A credit to them as the ground and supporters were fabulous. The help they gave to me, when I was injured was also very much appreciated.
As for our club, I don't know if rock bottom can describe where we are at, at present. Injuries, lack of numbers and one of our best players now seeking a clearance to Nuliwill all spells a long year for the club.
Who wants to jump ship?
Riewoldt12
5 Jun 2006, 09:41
Who wants to jump ship?
Benji Hardman
What type of player is he and has he been offered big money? Why is he going?
Riewoldt12
5 Jun 2006, 12:25
What type of player is he and has he been offered big money? Why is he going?
He is a very good player. Plays on-ball or up forward and has played over 200 games for the club.
Don't know about $$$ but would say he would have to. All I know is that he is very chummy with their coach, Josh Bode, who is also an ex-Deni Rovers player.
Very disappointing when ex-players take players! Is there a future for the club up there?
interleague this weekend guys. is anyone willing to have a crack at a side. what are peoples thoughts on the result also
Going, going, gone?
By Mark Brown
June 8 2006
Shepparton News
Picola District Football League could be stripped of up to four clubs as part of an ambitious new plan aimed at galvanising the game's future across southern NSW.
Mathoura, Deniliquin Rovers, Berrigan and Blighty could soon find themselves part of a revamped Coreen District Football League, along with the likes of Finley.
League president David McKenzie yesterday confirmed administrators were again considering a major overhaul of the region's football landscape.
McKenzie said a working party, which includes officials from the Picola, Coreen and Hume football leagues, along with representatives from the VCFL and NSWAFL, had drafted a series of recommendations which outlined the importance of retaining a competition in the southern Riverina.
The recommendations call for the Picola league to review its current 15-club structure and that a competition continue to exist in southern central Riverina, based on the nucleus of clubs in the Coreen league.
The party also advised the Coreen league begin actively sounding out clubs from neighbouring competitions about a possible transfer.
McKenzie said the Picola league had given Coreen officials permission to approach Berrigan, Blighty, Mathoura and Deni Rovers about a potential move.
However, McKenzie stressed that no PDFL club would be forced from the league.
"The Coreen league wants to speak to all our NSW clubs, along with the likes of Tocumwal and Finley (Murray Football League clubs)," he said.
"I think it's important that we retain a league in the Riverina, but I think we'd be loathe to lose any of our clubs."
The future of the Coreen league has again been called into question after officials allbut approved the transfer of the Murray Magpies into the neighbouring Hume competition.
The Magpies' imminent departure will leave the Coreen league with just six clubs.
The PDFL has undergone a major revamp in the past 12 months, with Shepparton East and Dookie United joining the league at the start of this season.
The addition of Shepp East and Dookie now means that clubs can travel up to 21/2 hours for a game of football.
So can someone tell me how the likes of Deni Rovers will compete with Finley and Toc who have improved significantly in recent years?:confused:
Riewoldt12
8 Jun 2006, 10:58
So can someone tell me how the likes of Deni Rovers will compete with Finley and Toc who have improved significantly in recent years?:confused:
I can tell you quite simply, ringo1, we will struggle.
I don't know what the plan is exactly, but a move to that league would surely spell the end for a car load of blokes, including myself, who travel up from Echuca each week.
It is interesting to see that the sides they seem least interested in keeping are those that are not the strongest sides. No doubt they are delighted with the impact Dookie and Shepp East are making, but stuff the struggling clubs.
Will be looking forward to an interesting chat with our president and league treasurer tonight at training.
themagicfrog
8 Jun 2006, 12:28
Couldn't see the likes of Finley or Toc wanting to leave the Murray Fl or the Murray FL letting them go.
A new comp based around the CDFL and the 4 PDFL clubs forming some kind of Southern Riverina FL would only work if the CDFL teams could garneted that they will be able to fill all FOUR grades of footy and not force the four PDFL teams to change there junior structure to suit the weaker CDFL structure. Juniors are the future and we (Berrigan) choose the PDFL over the CDFL because of our juniors.
Some good points there boys. This needs to be handled carefully or some clubs will go. I heard that a new league was on the agenda.As I'm not from the area it might not be accurate but here goes;
Deniliquin
Moama
Tongala
Rochester
Lockington
Cohuna
Leitchville/Gunbower
Kyabram
Echuca United
Barham/Koondrook
Any thoughts:)
Some good points there boys. This needs to be handled carefully or some clubs will go. I heard that a new league was on the agenda.As I'm not from the area it might not be accurate but here goes;
Deniliquin
Moama
Tongala
Rochester
Lockington
Cohuna
Leitchville/Gunbower
Kyabram
Echuca United
Barham/Koondrook
Yeah Ringo, there was talk of the reformation of the Northern & Echuca League earlier this year. Representatives from Moama, Lockington/Bamawm, Cohuna, Leitchville/Gunbower, Deniliquin, Tongala and Kyabram met for discussion of the possible reforming of the league. Echuca United was invited but did not accept the invitation, indicating they wanted to stay in the Murray Football League.
Riewoldt12
8 Jun 2006, 13:44
Deniliquin
Moama
Tongala
Rochester
Lockington
Cohuna
Leitchville/Gunbower
Kyabram
Echuca United
Barham/Koondrook
Yeah, word around Echuca is that they are keen to get the old Northern Echuca league up and running again. Not sure how they would go, but believe they,ve approached Moama, Locky, Echuca United, Deniliquin Cohuna, Gunbower, Barham, as they would be the stronger clubs. Don't know what the clubs thoughts are, but would imagine that Echuca United would be keen to remain in the Murray League, as they are getting stronger every year and a flag may not be far away.
Other clubs they spoke about for this league included Mathoura, Deni Rovers, Tongala, but I doubt they would be strong enough to compete.
Yeah, word around Echuca is that they are keen to get the old Northern Echuca league up and running again. Not sure how they would go, but believe they,ve approached Moama, Locky, Echuca United, Deniliquin Cohuna, Gunbower, Barham, as they would be the stronger clubs. Don't know what the clubs thoughts are, but would imagine that Echuca United would be keen to remain in the Murray League, as they are getting stronger every year and a flag may not be far away.
Other clubs they spoke about for this league included Mathoura, Deni Rovers, Tongala, but I doubt they would be strong enough to compete.
Maybe Tongala could compete but I don't know about Picola sides.Echuca United would benefit as well as I don't believe they can win a MFL flag although they are apparently prepared to spend huge amounts.Would be a great league and when I pop up for Easter something interesting to follow.I think Mathoura could eventually fold.
Maybe Tongala could compete, Echuca United would benefit as well as I don't believe they can win a MFL flag although they are apparently prepared to spend huge amounts, I think Mathoura could eventually fold.
In 2-3 years, Tongala will be a great, competitive team. United are flag contendors. And Mathoura are about | | this close to folding unless they get rid of the *****heads on their committee.
Couldn't see the likes of Finley or Toc wanting to leave the Murray Fl or the Murray FL letting them go.
A new comp based around the CDFL and the 4 PDFL clubs forming some kind of Southern Riverina FL would only work if the CDFL teams could garneted that they will be able to fill all FOUR grades of footy and not force the four PDFL teams to change there junior structure to suit the weaker CDFL structure. Juniors are the future and we (Berrigan) choose the PDFL over the CDFL because of our juniors.finley and toc would be to strong for coreen league,example-finley 3rds currently top of ladder have'nt lost a game yet.not sure if players would want play on the cow paddocks out their either
Hey boys, I'm from the Mallee and I just wanted to find out the story about Benji Hardman. A bit of talk going about that he left in bad circumstances. Any truth?
In 2-3 years, Tongala will be a great, competitive team. United are flag contendors. And Mathoura are about | | this close to folding unless they get rid of the *****heads on their committee.
Willo 1 I'm not saying Echuca United are'nt flag contenders. My sources believe that no one will get close to Nathalia and I would have both Mulwala and Barooga slightly ahead of United come September. My sources have also said that huge money has been spent by united and I don't know if thats sustainable. Congratulations to United for seemingly turning things around. I visit the town on a semi regular basis and they were struggling but are a much better unit now. Tongal will improve but it could be lights out at Mathoura.:thumbsu:
Na, no sweat ringo. Its all good. There is no doubt Nathalia are one of the most well drilled units since the dominant Deni lot a couple of years back. Money may have been spent, just not in a rediculous mannor as some people claim and believe. Im really interested in the way Tongala will evolve in the coming years, but as you said, Mathoura are almost spent.
Yaaablett
9 Jun 2006, 19:12
Na, no sweat ringo. Its all good. There is no doubt Nathalia are one of the most well drilled units since the dominant Deni lot a couple of years back. Money may have been spent, just not in a rediculous mannor as some people claim and believe. Im really interested in the way Tongala will evolve in the coming years, but as you said, Mathoura are almost spent.
Guys, I used to play at Mathoura in the early 90's, just wondering what the problems are? Back then we had a heap of locals who loved to play at Mathoura- with some success too (93 flag). Is it because there is nothing to keep the kids there? I read the scores every Sunday and they seem to get belted each week. I hear rumblings about their committee on this thread- What do they do and why are they d###heads? Can you fill me in Willo?
Basically, they have the money but dont know how to spend it. They used some of it to lure a few of the Deni Rams boys down to play, and they are a little more competitive but are still getting belted regularly. And even if they tried to buy players from further away, people dont want to be travelling all the way to Mathoura to play. Most of the kids either end up playing 2's or heading south to play for Moama. I have heard from a couple of reliable sources that their committee are a bunch of w*nkers because of the way they run the club, and do not use their money to its potential. I'll try and get a bit more info for you.
Yaaablett
9 Jun 2006, 20:48
Basically, they have the money but dont know how to spend it. They used some of it to lure a few of the Deni Rams boys down to play, and they are a little more competitive but are still getting belted regularly. And even if they tried to buy players from further away, people dont want to be travelling all the way to Mathoura to play. Most of the kids either end up playing 2's or heading south to play for Moama. I have heard from a couple of reliable sources that their committee are a bunch of w*nkers because of the way they run the club, and do not use their money to its potential. I'll try and get a bit more info for you.
Much appreciated. Thanks mate, more info would be great. Shame to see them finish up.
No worries, I should have a bit more info early next week. I'll let you know as soon as i do.
Riewoldt12
14 Jun 2006, 08:50
Deni Rovers dead against a move to the CDFL, and from all reports Blighty and Mathoura are happy to stay with the Picola league as well.
themagicfrog
15 Jun 2006, 13:55
Deni Rovers dead against a move to the CDFL, and from all reports Blighty and Mathoura are happy to stay with the Picola league as well.
Berrigan Happy in PDFL, we shouldn't be joining them (CDFL) they should be joining us!
Riewoldt12
15 Jun 2006, 14:12
Berrigan Happy in PDFL, we shouldn't be joining them (CDFL) they should be joining us!
Magicfrog, who have Berrigan got this week. We play Katunga, and although we got rolled by Wunghnu last game, I have a funny feeling we should go alright. Need to contain Howden obviously, but have a good record against them and at home, we may cause an upset. Unfortunately, ankle damage will keep me out of the game and about 6 weeks on the sidelines. Maybe that is why I think we have a chance.
Any inside info on Katunga for me to take to selection tonight.
themagicfrog
15 Jun 2006, 16:52
Magicfrog, who have Berrigan got this week. We play Katunga, and although we got rolled by Wunghnu last game, I have a funny feeling we should go alright. Need to contain Howden obviously, but have a good record against them and at home, we may cause an upset. Unfortunately, ankle damage will keep me out of the game and about 6 weeks on the sidelines. Maybe that is why I think we have a chance.
Any inside info on Katunga for me to take to selection tonight.
We have Shepp and will be doing it without Goddard.
With Katunga if you shut down Howden your half way there, thier coach sat at the back of the packs getting the easy kick, when we got it into our forward line quick we had them stuffed, you should go alright.
Magic
Andyt30
17 Jun 2006, 22:40
if i bet, the side i'd bet on would be Shepparton east to Win their first premiership in their new league :) either tungamah, katunga Picola united or Dookie-United
hectomorphic
19 Jun 2006, 15:02
Would be a sad ol week at strathy. Losing to the bottm side i would say it could be a tough week on the track.
themagicfrog
22 Jun 2006, 10:11
Tung or Picola, whats your pick?
I've taken Tung in the Spectator but what do you think?
Magic
IN A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN
June 22 2006
Shepparton News
Several Murray and Picola District football league clubs are being targetted as part of an ambitious push to establish a new Echucabased competition.
Tongala, Echuca United, Moama, Deniliquin Rovers, Mathoura and Picola United have all been earmarked as potential foundation members and will be asked to commit to the proposed league within the coming months.
If enough support exists, the league could emerge by as early as next year.
Victorian Country Football League north west area manager Alan Davies yesterday confirmed the proposal was gathering steam.
"It's something that has been simmering away since last year," Davies said.
"A few clubs have been looking at the possibility of establishing a new league to service the Echuca and district region for a few months now.
"While there's no timeline on it, they might be in a position to put a series of recommendations to the VCFL board by October."
The push to establish an Echuca-based competition is being spearhead by disgruntled Central Murray Football League clubs Leitchville-Gunbower, Koondrook-Barham and Cohuna.
The trio, along with Mathoura, Moama and Lockington-Bamawm United formed a working party late last year to explore the logistics behind creating the new league.
After months of research, the party recently released a three-page document outlining the possible framework, including minimum number of clubs, administration structure and even availability of umpires.
The prospectus will be sent to Tongala, Echuca United, Deniliquin Rovers and Picola United in the hope it will trigger interest about a possible move.
The clubs will also be invited to attend a meeting of the existing working party later this month.
Cohuna Football Club official Alan Mitchell said the rising cost of fuel and the tyranny of distance were the major factors behind the proposal, along with the over-crowded landscape of the Murray (13 clubs) and Picola (15 clubs) leagues.
Mitchell said the Echucabased league would only become a reality if no less than eight clubs committed to the new competition.
Picola District president David McKenzie yesterday queried the proposal, bemused at how struggling Picola District league teams would be expected to compete against clubs like Cohuna and Moama.
"The gap between the Picola league and the Murray is pretty big. I can't see how it's going to work," he said.
Andyt30
22 Jun 2006, 23:09
can't see it going to work plus can they Guarantee the league will last don;t want to say in 5 years time the league collapses they should have done something when northern & Echuca league was on the brink of folding thats when it should have happened
Magic,
What can you tell me about James Bond, 007? He signed with us at Carey last night, looks like he can go a bit...
Riewoldt12
23 Jun 2006, 11:17
can't see it going to work plus can they Guarantee the league will last don;t want to say in 5 years time the league collapses they should have done something when northern & Echuca league was on the brink of folding thats when it should have happened
Deniliquin Rovers are dead against a move into this new league. We are more keen on seeing a restructure of the existing Picola League, based on location.
Rovers, Mathoura, Blighty, Picola, Berrigan, Yarraweyah, Strathy and maybe Jerilderie
Waaia, Katty, Katandra, Tungamah, Dookie, Wunghnu, Shepp East, Katunga.
Any thoughts on this? I know it has been brought up at league meetings, without much consensus.
Riewoldt12
23 Jun 2006, 11:19
Benji Hardman got a clearance from our club to Nullawil during the week. A big loss for our struggling club at the moment, but we will keep battling on with what we have got.
themagicfrog
23 Jun 2006, 12:56
Magic,
What can you tell me about James Bond, 007? He signed with us at Carey last night, looks like he can go a bit...
Quick, tackles hard and hard at it. A great Backman. His nickname is Jungle. is he player there this week?
Magic
themagicfrog
23 Jun 2006, 12:58
Benji Hardman got a clearance from our club to Nullawil during the week. A big loss for our struggling club at the moment, but we will keep battling on with what we have got.
Goddard will get his clearence 2day and by Hansie's post Jamie Bond want be playing this week either!
Magic
Quick, tackles hard and hard at it. A great Backman. His nickname is Jungle. is he player there this week?
Magic
Thanks Mag, he certainly looked the goods on track last night! He did sign with Old Carey last night, guess it'll depend on the clearance going through in time. He's been named on the HBF in the Ressies tomorrow.
Probably not what you guys need - sorry mate!
Cheers,
Hansie
What are the reasons for him leaving? I get really disapointed in players that leave in late June!
Riewoldt12
30 Jun 2006, 11:52
What are the reasons for him leaving? I get really disapointed in players that leave in late June!
Chasing coin and a flag. Doesn't care that the club is really struggling at present and need all its good players. Still has the nerve to come and train with us on a Tuesday night, when he can't be bothered making the 2 and a half hour trip to Nullawil. Suprising, considering when he played with us, he couldn't get out on the track because he was injured.
If that's the case Riewoldt, then why do the club let him train? If that's the guy's attitude to the place, can't they just tell him to feck off? Let him go train with the Rams!
Personally I would also tell him that he's not wanted. I don't understand why he wants to train there still. The coach needs to show him the door and this is not tolerated at the club!!!!!:thumbsu:
mutton chops
2 Jul 2006, 15:32
why would the club want to burn their bridges. Im sure he will return to the club one day. If he left on good terms why would the club want to burn their bridges.
Mutton chops can't u see that the players are not appy with him-and why would you put the individual before the club. The club needs players even more so when they are really struggling! If the club takes a stance it may stop this happening again inthe future.
Riewoldt12
3 Jul 2006, 12:29
Mutton chops can't u see that the players are not appy with him-and why would you put the individual before the club. The club needs players even more so when they are really struggling! If the club takes a stance it may stop this happening again inthe future.
Agree, completely. The club should tell him where to go, but has not for some reason. He will, no doubt, return next year along with Nuliwill's coach, Josh Bode, so it may be a way to keep Bode happy and willing to coach the club.
Anyway, as I have said before, we will kepp battling along with what we have got and hope to be competitive in the remaining games.
Agree, completely. The club should tell him where to go, but has not for some reason. He will, no doubt, return next year along with Nuliwill's coach, Josh Bode, so it may be a way to keep Bode happy and willing to coach the club.
Anyway, as I have said before, we will kepp battling along with what we have got and hope to be competitive in the remaining games.
I will get it from the horses mouth; What do the players think Riewoldt12? then muttonchops can read it.
Riewoldt12
3 Jul 2006, 13:14
I will get it from the horses mouth; What do the players think Riewoldt12? then muttonchops can read it.
Players, supporters and committee are all disappointed with the outcome and Benji's decision. He knew he was our best player and therefore felt the club revolved around him, not training and watching us bust our guts while he drank cans and still got a game each week.
Nulawill's coach, Josh Bode will probably return to the club as coach next year and I am sure Benji expects to waltz back in and play next year, expecting nothing much to change, but I doubt the boys will be as welcoming as he expects.
mutton chops
3 Jul 2006, 14:46
Players, supporters and committee are all disappointed with the outcome and Benji's decision. He knew he was our best player and therefore felt the club revolved around him, not training and watching us bust our guts while he drank cans and still got a game each week.
Nulawill's coach, Josh Bode will probably return to the club as coach next year and I am sure Benji expects to waltz back in and play next year, expecting nothing much to change, but I doubt the boys will be as welcoming as he expects.
From what i have read he is a former captain and has played over 200 games for the club. I would think that he has done a fair bit for the club. Isnt a change as good as a holiday. You said that he is getting off a sinking ship but it seems the ship has been sinking for a while so why does he leave now ?? Not before .
From what i have read on another thread both he and Bode are staying at Nullawil next year ??
Mate I am very close with the Nully footy club and I'm preety sure the Bode and Benji will stay just from whats been said. But even if he and Bode want to come back next I dont think it would be wise to bad him out and not making him feel welcome. Benji has settled in really well and being playing good footy.