View Full Version : Picola District football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

pace to freeze
27 Mar 2007, 08:28
are u saying katandra isn't over the granny from last year.. its not the end of the world that we lost, i would think everyone is just looking forward tot he year to come around!!!:)

Was not indicating that at all, was actually having a joke about Chops' silver locks.;) :) :)

sizzled
27 Mar 2007, 11:22
are u saying katandra isn't over the granny from last year.. its not the end of the world that we lost, i would think everyone is just looking forward tot he year to come around!!!:)

I see katandra have a praccy match against st pauls this week, How do think you will go against them

themagicfrog
27 Mar 2007, 12:09
From looking at the transfers list Barny have picked up a few handy midfielders. They might be looking to give him a lessor role through the middle?
How have the saints been going in the night series?

Seeing his photo in Border Mail handout seems he has been pulling his hair out and needs a lessor role to stop that stress:p
It's nice of the border mail to give the PDFL a HUGE write up! I know the one in this Thursdays Shepp News will be a whole lot better.
The border mail did mention Blightys recuriting, is Blighty going to have the added pressure to preform this year because of their off season work?

Rascal99
27 Mar 2007, 13:23
Seeing his photo in Border Mail handout seems he has been pulling his hair out and needs a lessor role to stop that stress:p
It's nice of the border mail to give the PDFL a HUGE write up! I know the one in this Thursdays Shepp News will be a whole lot better.
The border mail did mention Blightys recuriting, is Blighty going to have the added pressure to preform this year because of their off season work?

It will be interesting to see how they go this year, couple of big recruits and a different draw from last year.
Will be interesting to see the redeyes progress.

premiers07
27 Mar 2007, 18:06
Was not indicating that at all, was actually having a joke about Chops' silver locks.;) :) :)
sorry i misread it... hahah anything to bag him about that is ok wif me!!!:thumbsu:

premiers07
27 Mar 2007, 18:09
I see katandra have a praccy match against st pauls this week, How do think you will go against them
should improve a fair bit from the night series as we had over half a dozen senior players missing.. hopefully more senior players come back into the team..

pace to freeze
27 Mar 2007, 22:06
It will be interesting to see how they go this year, couple of big recruits and a different draw from last year.
Will be interesting to see the redeyes progress.

Are you suggesting they had an easier draw last season and that there results may have been inflated ?? :confused: :confused: :confused:

Is the draw significant, sure without doubt last season the 3 or 4 sides fighting for fifth had variable draws and you could probably put a case up for either of them, but would any of them beat shepp east, katandra or tungamah ?:confused: :confused: :confused:

Sonic14
27 Mar 2007, 22:21

Have no idea as ive never seen st.pauls before but hopefully should have a few more numbers back that we didnt in the night series.

pace to freeze
27 Mar 2007, 22:28
Have heard Picola have picked up the brother in law of A. Brunt who apparently won a b&f last season, rumour is he is also a member of the 5 ft club, but fortunately is not a helmet head. I think the Picola game plan might be heavily structured around not kicking the ball in the air, either that or their coach has a huge complex about his height. Go the six footer !!!

pdog pizza's
27 Mar 2007, 23:59
The team that Katandra are playing in the practice match this week, St Pauls would they happen to be the same team from Melbourne that play in the Southern Footy League. If so where is the game?

sizzled
28 Mar 2007, 07:51
The team that Katandra are playing in the practice match this week, St Pauls would they happen to be the same team from Melbourne that play in the Southern Footy League. If so where is the game?

Yes it is and its played at katandra

pace to freeze
28 Mar 2007, 09:19
As season nears here is my ladder would appreciate others thoughts.

Top 4 ( no order )
Katandra, ( needed to pick up quick tall key position players ) ?
Tunga, ( Wren, putta etc. getting on )
Shepp East ( needed to maintain , how will loss of quick midfleilders effect ) ?
Picola( Big blokes need to stand up, macca ageing quicker than most)

Fighting for remaining two spots ( no order )
dookie( huge influxes of players can sometimes have negative affect, bad early form might spell trouble) ?
Waaia( Life after Daniels' makes Trimby and Stevens so important in close and ageing, is Stevens back) ?
Katunga( can howden repeat, with huge workload )?
Blighty(should be big improvers, but have lost a good young ruckman, can wooden play whilst coaching )?
Yarraweah( finished year ordinary and have lost possibly their three best)
Mathoura(possibly have the two best key forwards in comp, their midfielders and backs need to use it better) ?
Rovers(most underachieved award for 2006, new coach new attitude )?
Strathy ( were a long way off, possibly the furthest away in last half of last season, no news)?
Katty( not far off strathy, if not further away, once again no news)?
Berrigan( may be a big improver, 5/8 chb needs key postion help) ?
Wunhgyu( commencing on long journey, discipline is at forefront)

Rascal99
28 Mar 2007, 10:20
Are you suggesting they had an easier draw last season and that there results may have been inflated ?? :confused: :confused: :confused:

Is the draw significant, sure without doubt last season the 3 or 4 sides fighting for fifth had variable draws and you could probably put a case up for either of them, but would any of them beat shepp east, katandra or tungamah ?:confused: :confused: :confused:

If you have a look at their results last year, it shows that they were great against teams below them, but once they played the teams above or at the same level they seemed to struggle a little.

With the pick up of the huge ruckman and wooden it should allow players that had to play in the midfield last year to roam around the flanks etc, and be more damaging up forward. Ie. Napier.

I agree that they wouldnt beat the top four from last year.:thumbsu:

iwantanotherflag
28 Mar 2007, 10:43
Have heard Picola have picked up the brother in law of A. Brunt who apparently won a b&f last season, rumour is he is also a member of the 5 ft club, but fortunately is not a helmet head. I think the Picola game plan might be heavily structured around not kicking the ball in the air, either that or their coach has a huge complex about his height. Go the six footer !!!

Have seen Adam Brunt out mark many 6+ footers. No complex about that boys ability! Brunt & the Daniel boys make Shaun Hart proud!

balls
28 Mar 2007, 11:51
Hey boys looks like Cordy is gonna be stayin at Katandra.He was at training last night and said he most likely will be staying due to the fact that congupna was far to serious and he couldnt enjoy it.

balls
28 Mar 2007, 11:58
Katandra will have a few back from uni and work on the weekend but they will also have a few out due to nigiling injurys.I hvnt seen or heard any thing on st pauls so it is hard to say how the game will pan out.Having a rough crack i would say Katandra will have about 6 senior players not playin and it is also a 6qtr game :thumbsu:

themagicfrog
28 Mar 2007, 12:34
Other night comp results
March 28 2007
Cobram Courier

March 20
Waaia17.15 (117)

Ardmona 3. 3 ( 21)

Goals, Waaia: N. Walker 4, M. Meyland 3, N. Tyack 2, B. Gilmore 2, M. Brown 2, D. Brooks, M. Counsel, S. Scott. Ardmona: P. Meka , C. Brereton.

Best, Waaia: team effort. Ardmona: M. Ferrari, M. Gibson, W. Sanders, D. Freeman, C. Brereton.

Finley8.16 (64)

Cobram4. 5 ()29)

Goals, Finley: P. Massingham 3, M. Jackson 3, N. Braybon, B. Warnett. Cobram: M. Peart 2, J. Brayshaw, J. Murray.

Best, Finley: M. Braybon, L. Congram, J. Platfuss, P. Massingham . Cobram: M. Sim, M. Jaensch, G. Kelly, J. Cherry, B. Johns.

March 22

Tungamah13.9 (87)

Katamatite 7.4 (46)

Goals, Tungamah: T. Hayes 3, L. Buerckner 3, M. Robinson 3, J. Whinray, A. Dodd, D. Clark, J. Thomson. Katamatite: D. Bye 2, G. Feldtmann 2, J. Younger, D. Russell, S. Feldtmann.

Best, Tungamah: L. Buerckner, A. Dodd, T. Hayes, B. Foster, J. Hearn, S. Lidgewood. Katamatite: G. Feldtmann, J. Younger, T. Ross, A. Aldridge, S. Feldtmann.

Nathalia9.10 (64)

Deniliquin6. 7 (43)

Goals, Nathalia: M. Gemmill 2, T. Snelson 2, J. Butler 2, M. Davies, A. Liddell, D. Barnes. Deniliquin: A. Thorpe 2, D. Hall 2, S. Flight, L. Marshall.

Best, Nathalia: M. Davies, T. Snelson, D. Barnes, M. Gemmill, B. Ross, R. Barnes. Deniliquin: A. Landale, D. Hall, T. Bartlett, W. Haines, D. Murphy, B. Leech.

Katandra9.6 (60)

Jerilderie7.6 (48)

Goals, Katandra: C. Wilson 3, J. Sprunt 2, A. Riordan, R. Hopkins, R. Ireland, A. Everard. Jerilderie: S. Way 4, B. Hamilton 3.

Best, Katandra: R. Ford, S. Venables, R. Ireland, D. Kennedy. Jerilderie: J. Williams, J. Payne, B. Nash, D. Price, S. Way, T. Bryce.

Barooga11.7 (73)

Rumbalara 6.8 (44)

Goals, Barooga: S. Harrop 4, S. Ryan 2, P. Mason 2, D. Tough 2, J. O'Dwyer. Rumbalara: R. Atkinson, D. Morgan, T. Lovett, P. Guthrie, S. Blackman, L. Briggs.

Best, Barooga: S. Harrop, M. Brooks, D. Tough, N. Flanagon, T. O'Dwyer, J. Brooks, S. Ryan, Z. Goodwin. Rumbalara: P. Guthrie, C. Edwards, W. Morgan, K. Saunders, L. Briggs, M. Chisholm.

Blighty13.14 (92)

Strathmerton 4. 4 (28)

Goals, Blighty: B. Napier 4, T. Moodie 3, J. Culton 2, R. Wettenhall, T. Wilson, M. Moodie, S. Chaplin. Strathmerton: A. Cleary 3, M. Dunston.

Best, Blighty: M. Pearn, M. Moodie, B. Napier, L. Coulton, T. Wilson. Strathmerton: A. Cleary, S. Edgar, S. Cole, S. Thorne.

Mulwala14.10 (94)

Tocumwal10. 3 (63)

Goals, Mulwala: N. Trieze 4, S. Robinson 4, B. James 2, C. Powell 3, C. Kennedy, L. Howroyd. Tocumwal: S. Downie 3, J. Bruce 2, L. Warnett 2, N. Ball, W. Gotschling, D. Farrell.

Best, Mulwala: C. Kennedy, N. Triele, B. James, C. Cowen. Tocumwal: S. Logie, K. Chellew, L. Warnett, J. Daniel, D. Margery
Grand final, division two: Waaia v Yarroweyah at 6.30 pm on Friday, March 30.

It's hard to go past Waaia after watching its two games, so it should be a tight contest with the midfields determining the outcome.

Plus it will be interesting to see how Adam Waasdorp goes against the team he coached for the last couple of years.

Grand final, division one: Barooga v Mulwala is at 8.30 pm on Friday, March 30.

You look at form and player lists and you would have to say Mulwala is the favourite for this one.

Young, quick legs and a heap of experience should have them come on top.

Barooga under new coach Matt Byers has been building and its intensity at the football could make this a tight and interesting final.

Tip with head - Mulwala.

Tip with heart - Barooga.

I would like to thank our sponsors and football fans for their continued support.

Most of all I would like to thank Grahame and staff at the Courier for the time and effort and the wonderful exposure they have given the night series.

- Anton Noble

pace to freeze
28 Mar 2007, 17:54
Have seen Adam Brunt out mark many 6+ footers. No complex about that boys ability! Brunt & the Daniel boys make Shaun Hart proud!
Agree with your comments about brunty have seen him do it his whole footy career, but he is only one of quite a few smaller players out there. Don't you need some talls, they probably have only got two maybe three over 6ft, especially now lias is not going around. Do not think shaun hart would be taken by many before brown or lynch during the same era.In regards to the Daniel boys I agree they go alright and even better one is albino.
Point I make is a good big bloke is better than a good little bloke. You should realise this , I thought it was clearly obvious the Camo was the bloke most likely to win you blokes your last game !!!

rabbsy_69
29 Mar 2007, 14:27
How are the Dookie recruits gelling with the locals? Are there any college boys to keep an eye out for? Where was Payne-Croston against Merrigum? Is he injured? Heard he may have done his ankle again....:eek:

players
29 Mar 2007, 17:35
just wondering how all the grounds are looking with just 1 week before the start of the season.

balls
29 Mar 2007, 21:02
just wondering how all the grounds are looking with just 1 week before the start of the season.
Katandras ground is in the best condition i have seen it in.Good thick cover all over it at the moment.

themagicfrog
30 Mar 2007, 11:43

Berrigan's is fine

iwantanotherflag
30 Mar 2007, 13:53
Katandra's ground is in the best condition i have seen it in EVER!!!. Good thick cover all over it at the moment.

Hosted the Shepp CA B Grade Semi Final and Grand Final, these games are normally played on Shepp Grounds, a big plus to all the work that has been done on the ground. Helps heaps when your coach is pretty high up in the shire!!!

shibby44
30 Mar 2007, 13:59
How are the Dookie recruits gelling with the locals? Are there any college boys to keep an eye out for? Where was Payne-Croston against Merrigum? Is he injured? Heard he may have done his ankle again....:eek:

Payne dog is far from injured rabbsy old boy, he will be one of the best CHF this year he has lost 8kg and has inproved on his speed. Look Out For The DOOKIE CHF!!!!

adriantimmis
30 Mar 2007, 15:38
Just wanted to know how many clubs Darren Turner will play for this year?

hurikane
30 Mar 2007, 15:47
Hav u got any names for these recruits?
News just off the g-vine!

Deni Rovers have poached all three VFL recruits and their mate from Mathoura right on the death knock of signing...apparently the Rovers did some big deal $$$ for all 4 players, so they are venturing a little further "north"...
shall be interesting come Round 5!...mark that in your diaries!!! maybe a fiery encounter!

adriantimmis
30 Mar 2007, 16:15
News just off the g-vine!

Deni Rovers have poached all three VFL recruits and their mate from Mathoura right on the death knock of signing...apparently the Rovers did some big deal $$$ for all 4 players, so they are venturing a little further "north"...
shall be interesting come Round 5!...mark that in your diaries!!! maybe a fiery encounter!
Dont talk crap mate how would you know, do you know that they are paying big money. Your just starting ****.

smallfootyhead
30 Mar 2007, 18:24
more to the point how many rounds until scotty turner throws in the towel??? im takin bets odds are $3 he and the rest of the turners will be out of there by round 6?? any other round afta that $5.50 The sign on fee will be spent by then!!! im taking bets now

The Fev
30 Mar 2007, 20:00

Yeah, our ground at Tungamah is looking tip top, best I've seen it in 3-4 years I reckon.

HORSE#9
31 Mar 2007, 13:37
Could any one tell me how Clint Phillips and shannon Laidlaw go here there playin up nprth this year.

hurikane
31 Mar 2007, 13:45
Dont talk crap mate how would you know, do you know that they are paying big money. Your just starting ****.

That's what my sources are saying...
I've got pretty tight connections to that area, you?

May well be country footy "talk" but that's what I've been told.

themagicfrog
1 Apr 2007, 14:36
more to the point how many rounds until scotty turner throws in the towel??? im takin bets odds are $3 he and the rest of the turners will be out of there by round 6?? any other round afta that $5.50 The sign on fee will be spent by then!!! im taking bets now

Don't know what info you have about sign on fee cause Scotty will tell ya he hasn't seen one!
What are odd's on him staying all year then?

sizzled
1 Apr 2007, 19:24
I see the katandra boys got a good touch up yesterday,I know you had a few missing but on that form you wouldnt expect to play finals this year would you

premiers07
1 Apr 2007, 19:42
I see the katandra boys got a good touch up yesterday,I know you had a few missing but on that form you wouldnt expect to play finals this year would you
why wouldn't we? got same team as last year, just played poorly and against good opposition..

mercs
1 Apr 2007, 19:43

how much did they loose by roughly

premiers07
1 Apr 2007, 19:51
how much did they loose by roughly
not sure but a fair bit in a 6 quarter game

mercs
1 Apr 2007, 19:57
not sure but a fair bit in a 6 quarter game

would not worry mate, that why they call them practice matches

catch me if u can
2 Apr 2007, 00:32
just been readin a few of the posts from the last couple of months n it seems that strathy are struggling a fair bit...played up that way for 5 years but have been away from the region for a few years now. seems hard to believe they can be struggling after the junior success they had for along time there about 5-10 years back. names that come to mind are oswalds, mcmillian, powels boys, cleary boys, shannon boys, hutchins, carter boys, grillo, names like those were pretty decent players back then and seemed to be takin the club to the right place. what happened there has some of the older blokes left or have they had a bad coach or something...what went wrong?

Rascal99
2 Apr 2007, 10:23
just been readin a few of the posts from the last couple of months n it seems that strathy are struggling a fair bit...played up that way for 5 years but have been away from the region for a few years now. seems hard to believe they can be struggling after the junior success they had for along time there about 5-10 years back. names that come to mind are oswalds, mcmillian, powels boys, cleary boys, shannon boys, hutchins, carter boys, grillo, names like those were pretty decent players back then and seemed to be takin the club to the right place. what happened there has some of the older blokes left or have they had a bad coach or something...what went wrong?

I dont know the correct reasons, but i would assume some of them would have left for job opportunities and / or probably going away to uni etc.

Aaron Davey
2 Apr 2007, 16:16
Could any one tell me how Clint Phillips and shannon Laidlaw go here there playin up nprth this year.

Not to bad shannon played for shepp east ones last year not sure if he played in there grand final team or not. clint goes alright i guess. There Both Atsouth cairns im pretty sure along with mark shelton and steve davies and brock neeve and matt reghanzani left for the same club today. so theres a couple of katungas recruits gone

players
2 Apr 2007, 17:01
At katandra we never think we will play finals!

cackles23
2 Apr 2007, 17:25
Think you will find Oswalds and McMillan are excellent players at Yarrawonga in the Ovens & Murray, Luke Carter is playing in Bendigo, Powles boys think most have left along with Grillo and Clearys for work/travel etc. Some will return in the future you would imagine, John Brunskill has been coaching them and from all reports is a good coach just players leaving for one reason or another. They have struggled the last two years but were strong before that so just going through a rough trot as most clubs do but will struggle i think this year again as havent heard much about them.

chicken machine
2 Apr 2007, 17:52

id like to think he would stay the duration of the season for the clubs sake but ive heard on the grape vine he didnt do that well in the night series can anyone shed some light on this

themagicfrog
3 Apr 2007, 09:27
id like to think he would stay the duration of the season for the clubs sake but ive heard on the grape vine he didnt do that well in the night series can anyone shed some light on this

He was more interested in seeing how the boys played, First time coaches need to stick it out to get that reputation they need to go onto other coaching jobs. No one's going to put on a coach that leaves half way through the season.

Diamonddave
3 Apr 2007, 11:51
Dookie played Tally on sat and won by 57 points.......

Big Wheel
3 Apr 2007, 12:11
Dookie played Tally on sat and won by 57 points.......

How many GVFL boys did tally have playing?

Diamonddave
3 Apr 2007, 13:30
How many GVFL boys did tally have playing?

5 of them played.

Big Wheel
3 Apr 2007, 14:42
5 of them played.

Was Dookie @ full strength? Who were your better players?

Diamonddave
3 Apr 2007, 14:51
Was Dookie @ full strength? Who were your better players?
Dookie wasnt at full strength im pretty sure we werent far off it though. Loughnan was over is over seas but will be back at training this week and M Kitto has done his hammy or calf.should be right for our first game since we have the bye round 1.
better players lebrock boys, kendal, ozzi, luedey and dickins.

chicken machine
3 Apr 2007, 14:54
everyone looking forward to the opening of the season?
first game should be a cracker of a game both teams from what i have read have done alright on the recruiting side of things so am looking forward to what should be a good friday show down!
the biggest question of the week will the berrigan canteen be selling their famous burgers with gravy and all other things meaty, being good friday?

Big Wheel
3 Apr 2007, 14:56
Dookie wasnt at full strength im pretty sure we werent far off it though. Loughnan was over is over seas but will be back at training this week and M Kitto has done his hammy or calf.should be right for our first game since we have the bye round 1.
better players lebrock boys, kendal, ozzi, luedey and dickins.

Do you still have a core group of Dookie College boys still there? I know you guys have picked up alot and Ozzi was very smart trying to get players who are not involved or enrolled in the college.

smallfootyhead
3 Apr 2007, 17:38
geez diamondave your quick to put yourself up in the best early in the year??? i was at that game and would say u were only a just player at best despite a few wayward shots at goal didnt really c ya and i wasnt even drunk??? tally had 6 out before the game and lost 3 more by halftime, wouldnt read to much into there performance!! i do admit the dookie boys do look like a well drilled commited team?? good luck diamondave!!!!

Diamonddave
4 Apr 2007, 09:46
geez diamondave your quick to put yourself up in the best early in the year??? i was at that game and would say u were only a just player at best despite a few wayward shots at goal didnt really c ya and i wasnt even drunk??? tally had 6 out before the game and lost 3 more by halftime, wouldnt read to much into there performance!! i do admit the dookie boys do look like a well drilled commited team?? good luck diamondave!!!!

And who is it you are talking about being a just player???? ME????? Do you even know who i am??

Big Wheel
4 Apr 2007, 10:37
Hey just going over a few of the pages here and haven't really seen anything on old Tungamah, it that because they don't have the internet out there? haha They may have to vote for Rudd in the next election seeing his promiss to provide 98% of Australia with it. Has anyone got any info on Tungamah?......

dazzledavey36
4 Apr 2007, 11:06
Hey just going over a few of the pages here and haven't really seen anything on old Tungamah, it that because they don't have the internet out there? haha They may have to vote for Rudd in the next election seeing his promiss to provide 98% of Australia with it. Has anyone got any info on Tungamah?......

tungamah are gonna become seriouse threats this year as they have recruited a good number of gun players. i was talking to David Putamorsi a couple of weeks ago as i was playing in Euroa he said this would have to be the strongest tungamah team he has coached so far and he believes that they can go all the way. also that he said that this year he will have alot of depth in his team with some of these young kids making a good impression on the track and in the barooga night seriouse. My tip for premiers this year.

toquick
4 Apr 2007, 11:06
From what i have heard they nearly had the signature of guy morfet* from euroa but he pulled the pin because of all the travel. but i think they have lost a few out of there side and picked up not many. a couple of blokes from congupna played in the night series for them but havent heard if they signed. they should be top 6 again.

Big Wheel
4 Apr 2007, 12:01
From what i have heard they nearly had the signature of guy morfet* from euroa but he pulled the pin because of all the travel. but i think they have lost a few out of there side and picked up not many. a couple of blokes from congupna played in the night series for them but havent heard if they signed. they should be top 6 again.

Cheers boys for the info.
Hot tip Katamatite and Wunghnu to arm wrestle for the wooden spoon this year. Katamatite needed to close the gates on the cows, stoping them running out on the club this year. Mass number leaving!! They picked up ex-player Xavier Kennady (full forward) but they are still going to need to get the ball down there!
Anyone else know some more goss on the matter?

adriantimmis
4 Apr 2007, 14:16
Aaron Shelton from wunghu signed last night with Numurkah footy club, major coup for the blues in 07, these are the signings you want just close to the season.
Poor old pies hang in there.

smallfootyhead
4 Apr 2007, 15:48
Dale Osborne, Coach of Dookie remember

toquick
4 Apr 2007, 15:52
now that everyone has played there practice matches and knows how each team is fairing after a long pre season top 6 pridictions would be good to know.

here is mine. in no particular order.

shepp east
tungamah
dookie
katandra
waiia
picola

mercs
4 Apr 2007, 20:14
Aaron Shelton from wunghu signed last night with Numurkah footy club, major coup for the blues in 07, these are the signings you want just close to the season.
Poor old pies hang in there.

mate you need to get your shi#t together as Aaron Shelton was at Wunghnu training last night so stop starting bulls*it rumours

The Fev
4 Apr 2007, 20:21

They are the Bears.

FullForward
4 Apr 2007, 21:53
Dale Osborne, Coach of Dookie remember

Yeah what about him

toquick
5 Apr 2007, 12:10
Small footy i think you will find that DD is Buck Mcphee, he has come out at training and admitted it.

Ex Tee
5 Apr 2007, 13:33
Small footy i think you will find that DD is Buck Mcphee, he has come out at training and admitted it.

Don't lie everyone knows Diamond Dave is Ossie!

chicken machine
5 Apr 2007, 14:36
now that everyone has played there practice matches and knows how each team is fairing after a long pre season top 6 pridictions would be good to know.

here is mine. in no particular order.

shepp east
tungamah
dookie
katandra
waiia
picola

you left out berrigan i think they will be the dark horse this yr might surprise a few clubs i think.

toquick
5 Apr 2007, 14:42
you left out berrigan i think they will be the dark horse this yr might surprise a few clubs i think.
nah i think if there is a dark horse it would be blighty. im guessing because of the travel berrigan would be tough to beat at home am i right?

chicken machine
5 Apr 2007, 17:04
nah i think if there is a dark horse it would be blighty. im guessing because of the travel berrigan would be tough to beat at home am i right?
that and the crowd on the hill is quite intimidating especially after half time and a few tinnies have been sunk but i guess time will tell should be a cracker of a game tomorrow

karjam
5 Apr 2007, 17:18
that and the crowd on the hill is quite intimidating especially after half time and a few tinnies have been sunk but i guess time will tell should be a cracker of a game tomorrow

Go Berrigan - Bruzzy to turn it on and kick 10 then sink 10 white nights after the game - go Bruz

smooth mover
5 Apr 2007, 17:50
so whats everyones tips for round 1??? who's tipping upsets? who's tipping straight down the line???

box_16
6 Apr 2007, 17:34
Tungamah V Katandra should be an absolute cracker, anyone have any predictions ???

pace to freeze
6 Apr 2007, 19:40
Scores and a bit of a run down on games would be of interest and appreciated .

mercs
6 Apr 2007, 21:15
Scores and a bit of a run down on games would be of interest and appreciated .

I dont have a run down on the game because i was not there but appartley Waaia were fantastic against Shepp East today and won by 64 points

Rascal99
6 Apr 2007, 22:06
any news on the Berrigan & Blighty match????

box_16
6 Apr 2007, 22:33
Blighty 20.18
Berrigan 9.13

premiers07
6 Apr 2007, 22:49
Blighty 20.18
Berrigan 9.13
with blighty michael moddie i think kicking 11... can anyone tell me what kind of player he is???
was it any suprises waaia beat shepp east by so much

The Fev
7 Apr 2007, 11:54
with blighty michael moddie i think kicking 11... can anyone tell me what kind of player he is???

Michael Norman (gossy) kicked 11 goals for Blighty, not Moodie. Moodie kicked 4-5 from the midfield, he is very handy.

I picked Berrigan very early for the wooden spoon, they have been so over hyped it isn't funny. I hope for their sake that they had a few out, they run ok but have no height what so ever.

I was in the rooms listening to Turner at half time and wasn't impressed at all. The Saints were 7-8 goals down at half time and he had basically conceded the game. He told the boys they were on track to lose by 15 goals and that they should try harder and hopefully they will only lose by 3-4. There was no talk of a comeback or chipping away at the lead to try and win the game.

I wasn't real impressed with the speech, but to their credit they still looked as though they tried and didn't give up.

pace to freeze
7 Apr 2007, 20:19
is a small player who played there 2000 or there abouts,under sexton,was only young then and like all, most, young players was a little intimidated, had all the makings of a good player though

Kick it to me
7 Apr 2007, 21:01
Magic, how did Mark Brassil go on friday v Blighty? Not named in the best or goal kickers. I see the score line wasn't great, anyone to come in and help out? I hear there were a few likely types sitting on the fence with stubbies in their hands.

pace to freeze
8 Apr 2007, 18:35
Speaking to a couple of Picola boys, brunty did not play, priddle was fairly quiet, the umpiring was favourable and without changing result certainly had an influence, can anybody tell me how the recruits from the various clubs faired.

big cigar
8 Apr 2007, 23:30
Is it true that Tungahmah is spending close to the $80,000 this year?? If so where does a club get that kind a coin?

Can Shop
9 Apr 2007, 10:54
I watched shepp east waaia on friday n the difference was basically the last quarter. I think shepp east lacked couple of big blokes but sam ahmet has hit the nail on head saying they'll take a bit of time adapting to new plans. I though waasdorp was outstanding for waaia while whitehead n ahmet were good for the east

chicken38
9 Apr 2007, 14:50
Magic, how did Mark Brassil go on friday v Blighty? Not named in the best or goal kickers. I see the score line wasn't great, anyone to come in and help out? I hear there were a few likely types sitting on the fence with stubbies in their hands. i think he played at full back ktm and the full forward kicked 11 so we can only go from there :D

iwantanotherflag
10 Apr 2007, 10:27
Is it true that Tungahmah is spending close to the $80,000 this year?? If so where does a club get that kind a coin?

I would not agree with that. They wouldn't be spending that much.

themagicfrog
10 Apr 2007, 10:31
Magic, how did Mark Brassil go on friday v Blighty? Not named in the best or goal kickers. I see the score line wasn't great, anyone to come in and help out? I hear there were a few likely types sitting on the fence with stubbies in their hands.

Brassil had a day to forget, seems like we picked up the forwards that we needed and lost the backmen. With Ednie, Hill, Bond and Hickey gone and Stu Pyle injured and the local butcher lacking in motivation our back line isn't looking as strong as it has.
there was Ednie, Eales, Cameron, Andrew Pyle and some injured players watching on.

Big Wheel
10 Apr 2007, 10:42

I don't think thats the right amount!! I think someone was pulling ya willie on this one.
There is a Mawson's mine or gravel or something out there to which the wren boys are related to in some way, i'll bet ya thats how Tungamah get there coin to surrvive but it will be now where near $80,000 on players.

Iwantanotherflag how have you been how did you pull up after the wedding down at Portsea? more to the point how did you play on the weekend?

Big Wheel
10 Apr 2007, 10:49
Wanting to start a poll and ask you all who is the most arrogant team in the competition? and why?

This is all good for footy thou!!!

toquick
10 Apr 2007, 15:27
Wanting to start a poll and ask you all who is the most arrogant team in the competition? and why?

This is all good for footy thou!!!

i have not played a game in this league yet but i have heard that shepp east are pretty bad.

karjam
10 Apr 2007, 15:47
i have not played a game in this league yet but i have heard that shepp east are pretty bad.

You wouldn' know you ********!

toquick
10 Apr 2007, 16:31
You wouldn' know you ********!
I knew that would get a nibble karjam! haha. i was actually casting that line for moose to nibble at but ahwell.
is it possible for a whole team to be arrogant or just an individual?

chicken machine
10 Apr 2007, 17:23
Brassil had a day to forget, seems like we picked up the forwards that we needed and lost the backmen. With Ednie, Hill, Bond and Hickey gone and Stu Pyle injured and the local butcher lacking in motivation our back line isn't looking as strong as it has.
there was Ednie, Eales, Cameron, Andrew Pyle and some injured players watching on.

blighty's mid field had a field day in the corporate box. I think if the coach had of put on a few tags and made the mid field be more accountable or gave others a crack at it instaed of the regulars, they might have quelled the barrage of kicks that went to blighty's fwd line. if someone had of done the mid fields stats for blighty, if you included the ruck they would have accumulated over 100 posessions between the 4 of them. so if you stop blighty's mid field you will win for sure coz their fwd line is ok but not brilliant.
berrigan has quite a few new players and once they gell together will only improve should be interesting over the next few weeks to see what happens.

Poodle boy
10 Apr 2007, 22:00
Just wonderin if cordy made the right choice stayin at katandra or should he of went to congupna? Congupna might have been prob better standard for him to see how he goes or is it to serious for him?

big cigar
10 Apr 2007, 22:13
Is cordy staying at Katrandra? did he play on saturday... i reckon he would find Congupna a bit hard. I heard that they have a no train no play policy this year and that wouldn't suit cordy.. i think he is a bit of a soft C@%K

Big Wheel
11 Apr 2007, 11:15
Is cordy staying at Katrandra? did he play on saturday... i reckon he would find Congupna a bit hard. I heard that they have a no train no play policy this year and that wouldn't suit cordy.. i think he is a bit of a soft C@%K

I think you'll find Cordy has trouble getting to training because of work commitments. Also I believe he wont be staying the whole season as he will be moving to SA later in the year with his job.
If he was to play Murray football league he would fit in quite well considering some of the people playing in that league are a joke !!

iwantanotherflag
11 Apr 2007, 11:48
I don't think thats the right amount!! I think someone was pulling ya willie on this one.
There is a Mawson's mine or gravel or something out there to which the wren boys are related to in some way, i'll bet ya thats how Tungamah get there coin to surrvive but it will be now where near $80,000 on players.

Iwantanotherflag how have you been how did you pull up after the wedding down at Portsea? more to the point how did you play on the weekend?

Yeah mate, we had a win. Still quite rusty but hey, body got through! Nothing to write home about but snagged a major, few a far between for this backman!

iwantanotherflag
11 Apr 2007, 11:54
Just wonderin if cordy made the right choice stayin at katandra or should he of went to congupna? Congupna might have been prob better standard for him to see how he goes or is it to serious for him?

I think you'll find Cordy has trouble getting to training because of work commitments. Also I believe he wont be staying the whole season as he will be moving to SA later in the year with his job.
If he was to play Murray football league he would fit in quite well considering some of the people playing in that league are a joke !!

Why go to the half way house of the Murray League. Either play major league (GVFL) of play minor league (PDFL) dont get stuck in the middle and kid yourself that you are playing with the big boys!

Hey guys have a look in the dictionary under L and you will find a word called LOYALTY. As your really good clubs about it... thats how they stay up for so long... not through a fat cheque book that comes out every 5 years!

As for Cordy being soft... well he may not swing many punches but he will sit on your head and steal the footy out of your hands!!

BODZY#32
11 Apr 2007, 12:20
Can anyone fill me in if they know anything about a guy i used to do uni with from Strathmerton Ryan "BIG SLONG....TRIPOD" Powles?
See him playing at Sandhurst last couple of years and just wondering how he's settling back at Strathy, will he play ones if anyone knows?

Big Wheel
11 Apr 2007, 12:58
Can anyone fill me in if they know anything about a guy i used to do uni with from Strathmerton Ryan "BIG SLONG....TRIPOD" Powles?
See him playing at Sandhurst last couple of years and just wondering how he's settling back at Strathy, will he play ones if anyone knows?

Nah sorry bloke I wouldn't have a clue.
But how is the new coach going out at sandhurst, Nathan Gillieland isn't it?

BODZY#32
11 Apr 2007, 13:40
Nah sorry bloke I wouldn't have a clue.
But how is the new coach going out at sandhurst, Nathan Gillieland isn't it?

I left Bendigo myself in november so can't really fill ya in on that one, but last time i saw Gilly was at 'THE PUB' on a tues night in early nov. and he said things were looking good then and he was excited about the year ahead.....

iwantanotherflag
11 Apr 2007, 16:58
Isn't it great that footy is back. Praccy matches dont cut it! And also the way the draw gives you four local teams first up, lots of rivalry and some great games. No easing into the season.

We had Tungamah and it was a cracker of a game
Now Dookie... the great unknown
Bye
Our best mates at Shepp East
Then the Maggies

Not a bad start to they year.