View Full Version : Picola District football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

iwantanotherflag
11 Apr 2007, 17:07
Of those clubs who are given the choice as to where they would like to go in 2008. Is there any that are tempted to go north? Waaia, Picola, Katunga, Strathy, Yarroweyah, Katamatite.

I can see the southern comp being very strong.

It does seem like every minor league is in up in the air at the moment. Benalla District is on the brink, Coreen is joining PDFL, KDFL is full and probably the first choice of many BDFL clubs. Lots will be happening on the league front I guess.

BACKS SORE!
11 Apr 2007, 17:26
Of those clubs who are given the choice as to where they would like to go in 2008. Is there any that are tempted to go north? Waaia, Picola, Katunga, Strathy, Yarroweyah, Katamatite.

It does seem like every minor league is in up in the air at the moment. Benalla District is on the brink, Coreen is joining PDFL, KDFL is full and probably the first choice of many BDFL clubs. Lots will be happening on the league front I guess.

I couldnt see any of the vic clubs wanting to go north, to much travel, plus it could see the end of a few clubs due to numbers. (I might be wrong thou)

Big Wheel
11 Apr 2007, 17:26

I think BDFL teams, the bat's and devinish and tatong will all have to merge so they can be competitive in our league, plus thay dont have 4ths

Poodle boy
11 Apr 2007, 18:43
I think you'll find Cordy has trouble getting to training because of work commitments. Also I believe he wont be staying the whole season as he will be moving to SA later in the year with his job.
If he was to play Murray football league he would fit in quite well considering some of the people playing in that league are a joke !!

Who do you reckon are the people that play in the murray league are a joke? the league is gettin pretty competive lately and its not that bad of standard either.

hank1
11 Apr 2007, 19:55
I think BDFL teams, the bat's and devinish and tatong will all have to merge so they can be competitive in our league, plus thay dont have 4ths
Couple of big statements there Big Wheel, any other leagues u want to rubbish while you're at it. Surely u can find a few jokers running around in the GV or O&M.

pace to freeze
11 Apr 2007, 21:04
I think you'll find Cordy has trouble getting to training because of work commitments. Also I believe he wont be staying the whole season as he will be moving to SA later in the year with his job.
If he was to play Murray football league he would fit in quite well considering some of the people playing in that league are a joke !!
Hey big wheel, think you might be best to sit back on the couch and dream about how good you are or how good you were, your comments above are a big thumbs down. Ever played murray league. If not do not comment, if so you must be frustrated, because I do not know any decent footballer who would call a fellow opponent a joke, it's called respect !!!;) ;) ;)

Big Wheel
11 Apr 2007, 22:40
Hey big wheel, think you might be best to sit back on the couch and dream about how good you are or how good you were, your comments above are a big thumbs down. Ever played murray league. If not do not comment, if so you must be frustrated, because I do not know any decent footballer who would call a fellow opponent a joke, it's called respect !!!;) ;) ;)

Yeah good one champ, i've played in the murray league and i have also played in the GV, so don't try and talk down to me boy.
Sounds like a couple of you boys need tissues.
Why dont you go blow wind up there arse on the MFL blog digs.

Rascal99
12 Apr 2007, 11:07
Yeah good one champ, i've played in the murray league and i have also played in the GV, so don't try and talk down to me boy.
Sounds like a couple of you boys need tissues.
Why dont you go blow wind up there arse on the MFL blog digs.

Where do u play know Big Wheel??

NuggetyBackPocket
12 Apr 2007, 12:28
Reading todays Shepp news can anyone tell me about this Nick McKinley who is out of the dookie side i see he hasn't signed a clearence yet

Big Wheel
12 Apr 2007, 12:28
Where do u play know Big Wheel??

Live in Melb champ. But I like to hear all the goss thats happening up at the home club, wont be playing this year as I'm about to head to the UK.
What about yourself digs?

iwantanotherflag
12 Apr 2007, 12:32
Why go to the half way house of the Murray League. Either play major league (GVFL) of play minor league (PDFL) dont get stuck in the middle and kid yourself that you are playing with the big boys!

Hey guys have a look in the dictionary under L and you will find a word called LOYALTY. As your really good clubs about it... thats how they stay up for so long... not through a fat cheque book that comes out every 5 years!

As for Cordy being soft... well he may not swing many punches but he will sit on your head and steal the footy out of your hands!!

Was a bit off the hip when I quoted this, but was trying to defend the calibre of our great league. Extremely sick of people thinking that we play Auskick footy! Sure the Murray League is a better standard than ours, but I still see the MFL as a league where local boys play for their local teams. For Cordy to go to Congupna wouldn't be the move up in standard that everyone seems to think he should take. Why aren't people getting up Brunt and Waasdorp for staying in the PDFL. I know that if I were to win a couple of Pearce medals I might try out at a higher level.... like Tyson Sidebottom and Daryl Harrison (KDL).

karjam
12 Apr 2007, 13:48
Was a bit off the hip when I quoted this, but was trying to defend the calibre of our great league. Extremely sick of people thinking that we play Auskick footy! Sure the Murray League is a better standard than ours, but I still see the MFL as a league where local boys play for their local teams. For Cordy to go to Congupna wouldn't be the move up in standard that everyone seems to think he should take. Why aren't people getting up Brunt and Waasdorp for staying in the PDFL. I know that if I were to win a couple of Pearce medals I might try out at a higher level.... like Tyson Sidebottom and Daryl Harrison (KDL).

Brunt has played GVL won a Morrison Medal, suppose he is putting back into his local club!

Mobbenfuhrer
12 Apr 2007, 13:49
Any of you folks interested in taking the cyber-field in a pretend team? :p

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342

Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League?

Seeking interest in players for a Regional Leagues fantasy footy comp.

This is a) not real footy and b) not pick-a-team-of-AFL-players footy. Its even lazier!

All you do is express interest, I'll do the rest via QOOTY, a crappy random aussie rules simulator I created years ago and have been trying to bring up to speed. FAQs here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75728

I'll try to collate a league of teams that are representative of the more popular local leagues here, so I need raised hands from the posters. I won't make up any names, I won't allow any sudden new arrivals.

So either post here or PM me if you want your Bigfooty alter-ego registered for a team.

Hopefully we can turn some rivalries into some even more potent partnerships!

I'll probably aim for starting the season, say, end of next week. I MAY have to be an inflexible prick with okaying a team and treating latecomers.

For this season, hopefully the inaugural season of an ongoing league, all we need are 20 players per team. There is already a Fantasy league, more closely based on the AFL clubs, at Bigfooty, here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30 - its into its 7th season and has developed a bit of history! There is also another league at another footy forum site, this year with only 3 teams but had been as strong as 5 clubs in its 3 year tenure.

So get in touch if you're interested. Remember you don't have to do anything apart from dob your Bigfooty nickname in for a spot. Please tell me which club/league of regional footy you would prefer to be aligned with (please state both).

We'll see how we go. If it doesn't happen, ah well, if it happens later than I hope ... I'll still give it a burl.

Onward lads! ...

iwantanotherflag
12 Apr 2007, 17:38
Brunt has played GVL won a Morrison Medal, suppose he is putting back into his local club!

Little info for you Karjam, Adam Brunt is born and bred Tongala, not Picola. Did win a Morrison, but I am sure he could be doing a great job if he were putting back into his local (Tongala) club.

I am always one to think that you should be playing at the highest level possible... many guys do not share this same opinion. I hear all to often about guys who just want to play twos. What a cop out! Play where you are selected... where the selectors think you will be required.

Rascal99
12 Apr 2007, 18:04
Live in Melb champ. But I like to hear all the goss thats happening up at the home club, wont be playing this year as I'm about to head to the UK.
What about yourself digs?

Played in the PDFL last year, and have previously played in the murray league as well. Currently not playing:thumbsu:

Poodle boy
12 Apr 2007, 21:49
Hey big wheels you wouldnt by any chance played for katandra a few years back and was number 6 mate were ya.

iwantanotherflag
13 Apr 2007, 00:19
Hey big wheels you wouldnt by any chance played for katandra a few years back and was number 6 mate were ya.

Hey Poodle, sure you aren't a blood hound?

balls
13 Apr 2007, 00:29
hey mate i think ya hit the nail on the head.

Sheep Skin
13 Apr 2007, 07:56
hey mate i think ya hit the nail on the head.

Havent seen big wheels for a long time, whats he up to these days? is he havin a kick.

iwantanotherflag
13 Apr 2007, 12:37
My tips for this weekend:

Katamatite V Katunga by 60
Strathmerton V Yarroweyah by 4
Wunghnu V Waaia by 120
Picola Utd V Deni Rovers by 100
Shepp East V Tungamah by 18
Blighty V Mathoura by 5
Katandra V Dookie Utd by 11

Selections in bold

Big Wheel
13 Apr 2007, 12:39

Yah bloke not that clown

toquick
13 Apr 2007, 12:40
Yah bloke not that clown
i thought young mitchell satori wore number 6.

Big Wheel
13 Apr 2007, 12:40

nah bloke not that clown

themagicfrog
13 Apr 2007, 12:43

Wunghnu V Waaia by 120
Blighty V Mathoura by 5

Selections in bold

1. Your being kind to Wunghnu
2. Will Dookie get that close
Magic

pace to freeze
13 Apr 2007, 13:26
Little info for you Karjam, Adam Brunt is born and bred Tongala, not Picola. Did win a Morrison, but I am sure he could be doing a great job if he were putting back into his local (Tongala) club.

I am always one to think that you should be playing at the highest level possible... many guys do not share this same opinion. I hear all to often about guys who just want to play twos. What a cop out! Play where you are selected... where the selectors think you will be required.
Could not agree more and juniors should be released to play at the highest possible standard, with an agreement in place that they remain there founding clubs player. Not the current situation where they leave disgruntled , sometimes under appeal, and after playing 2-3 years as fringe players they hit their home club up for $$$ to return.
Have a real feeling A.Brunt is using his current situation as a learning curve before returning to Tongala.

iwantanotherflag
13 Apr 2007, 14:40
Could not agree more and juniors should be released to play at the highest possible standard, with an agreement in place that they remain there founding clubs player. Not the current situation where they leave disgruntled , sometimes under appeal, and after playing 2-3 years as fringe players they hit their home club up for $$$ to return.
Have a real feeling A.Brunt is using his current situation as a learning curve before returning to Tongala.

Some sort of extended permit?

That would mean that home grown guys like:
Grant McLarty, Phil Carroll, Shannon Emmett, Jarrod Maskell, Brent Riordan, Matt Carroll, Daniel O'Reilly & David Teague could all return to play finals for Katandra if their clubs don't make it??? :rolleyes:

iwantanotherflag
13 Apr 2007, 14:45
Magic

Katandra V Dookie will be a cracker, I'll give you the tip!

Wunghnu.... Timmis definately has them on the right track, made some very poor recruiting decisions over the years. From memory Timmis is the only coach who has been honest in the papers about the clubs chances. He is looking for a competitive outfit that might win 5 games. Everyone else (Macca and Meka) says they will play finals. If Timmis & Wunghnu keep going like they are they may be realistic for a finals spot come 2010 or so. :thumbsu:

iwantanotherflag
13 Apr 2007, 14:47
nah bloke not that clown

Not sure who Big Wheel is but he maybe Chris Pohlner, who wore number 9.

toquick
13 Apr 2007, 15:02

Wunghnu.... Timmis definately has them on the right track, made some very poor recruiting decisions over the years. From memory Timmis is the only coach who has been honest in the papers about the clubs chances. He is looking for a competitive outfit that might win 5 games. Everyone else (Macca and Meka) says they will play finals. If Timmis & Wunghnu keep going like they are they may be realistic for a finals spot come 2010 or so. :thumbsu:
i agree, i think tomoz will be a great game of footy to come and watch with some class players running around in both sides.

Sheep Skin
13 Apr 2007, 18:27
Not sure who Big Wheel is but he maybe Chris Pohlner, who wore number 9.

Wouldnt be Ben price is it.

Big Wheel
13 Apr 2007, 18:55
Wouldnt be Ben price is it.

Nah champ, I'm friends with him thou.
Whos this? reply through private message if ya wont cob's.

smooth mover
13 Apr 2007, 22:15
Magic
mate either you have a previous problem with wunghnu or you just like to kick people when their down & dont wana see them do any good??? i havin't seen you write anything nice about them! i think a few of you people out there should be happy for them having a crack & trying to be a better side so that they are more competitive for all the teams out there & not just a training drill!!! so maybe some of you guys out there should give them atleast some respect for having a crack!!!!! beside if i were you i'd be worring about my own backyard!!!

smooth mover
13 Apr 2007, 22:21

& this is what i'm talking about, atleast some of the guys who have a clue & care about their league being more competitive give a little credit where credit is due! cheers good luck with gettin another flag bud

cain1
14 Apr 2007, 08:07
[INDENT]Reading todays Shepp news can anyone tell me about this Nick McKinley who is out of the dookie side i see he hasn't signed a clearence yet

Nick will sign his brother has come back to play with him, nick had an opp to clean up his ankle will be back 4-6 weeks

pace to freeze
14 Apr 2007, 09:35
Some sort of extended permit?

That would mean that home grown guys like:
Grant McLarty, Phil Carroll, Shannon Emmett, Jarrod Maskell, Brent Riordan, Matt Carroll, Daniel O'Reilly & David Teague could all return to play finals for Katandra if their clubs don't make it??? :rolleyes:
I am of the opinion that they must have played a certain amount of games during the year to be a qualified player. I think some sort of system would have some merit, surely spectators enjoy seeing home grown talent.

Juddernaut3
14 Apr 2007, 20:32

Wunghnu V Waaia by 120
Blighty V Mathoura by 5

Selections in bold

You were close, only about 170 points off

iwantanotherflag
14 Apr 2007, 21:29
You were close, only about 170 points off

Well I think I might have a beer with Larry & Tez cos my tips weren't much chop! Well done Deni & Katty. This looks like it will be a very interesting year! I would have put my left nut on Picola if you had asked me on Friday. Good to see my old mate Benji back at the Rovers.

Even in the KDFL Gig beat Ardmona!

pace to freeze
14 Apr 2007, 22:06
Well I think I might have a beer with Larry & Tez cos my tips weren't much chop! Well done Deni & Katty. This looks like it will be a very interesting year! I would have put my left nut on Picola if you had asked me on Friday. Good to see my old mate Benji back at the Rovers.

Even in the KDFL Gig beat Ardmona!
Unbelieveable, Deni beat picola, Katty beat Katunga and after last week Shepp East give Tunga a touch up, Gig beating Ardmona is interesting, know a few that Gig have picked up and they go alright, but certainly a surprise. Can someone fill me in whether Brunt and, or,Walker played and what happened to Katunga

The Fev
15 Apr 2007, 10:01
Unbelieveable, Deni beat picola, Katty beat Katunga and after last week Shepp East give Tunga a touch up, Gig beating Ardmona is interesting, know a few that Gig have picked up and they go alright, but certainly a surprise. Can someone fill me in whether Brunt and, or,Walker played and what happened to Katunga

Yeah had the pleasure of watching this game sinking a few tins. Brunt didn't play but Walker did. Apparently his last game as his suspension from the Bushies is up.

mercs
15 Apr 2007, 17:49
Interested to see Katandra gave Dookie a hiding, i thought Dookie were looking alright this year on paper any news on the match

Tuffnut
15 Apr 2007, 18:19
Interested to see Katandra gave Dookie a hiding, i thought Dookie were looking alright this year on paper any news on the match

the the kats sure did show dookie up, dookie were going good until the second quarter and it all just fell apart, dookie giving away a countless amount of 50m penalties by the end of the game, ozzie may have to do a bit of thinking during the week and make some changes if dookie are going to be the side they are supposed to be this year.

The One Who Watches
15 Apr 2007, 18:53

Certainly worth noting that all the Dookie roosters who have been crowing all summer have suddenly gone very quiet.

Amazing what a reality check does.

iwantanotherflag
15 Apr 2007, 20:14
Don't worry about Dookie, as I said previously we were very lucky to get them first up, if they had on kicked straight early there would have been a lot more scoreboard pressure on and the result may have been different. LeBrocq got lots of the footy but seemed to get tied up alot. Once they all know each other they will do quite well. Also looked very smart in their shirt, slacks and shoes, pity it was about 35 degrees!

smooth mover
15 Apr 2007, 21:02
hey mercs you looking forward 2 playing this weekend? hope you been working on that fitness tho & layed off the cans this week ???!!!

themagicfrog
16 Apr 2007, 09:52
mate either you have a previous problem with wunghnu or you just like to kick people when their down & dont wana see them do any good??? i havin't seen you write anything nice about them! i think a few of you people out there should be happy for them having a crack & trying to be a better side so that they are more competitive for all the teams out there & not just a training drill!!! so maybe some of you guys out there should give them atleast some respect for having a crack!!!!! beside if i were you i'd be worring about my own backyard!!!

I can see that your only new to this so I’ll explain a few things since I’ve been on here a while and have being writing the Spectator for the last 5 years, If you read some of my older stuff you will see that I have given Wunghnu nothing but praise for there effort in constantly getting teams on the park while they were getting 30 goal plus floggings. No long ago I was asked by one of there committee members to give them a hand by sending them my B&F PowerPoint presentation template that I use here at Berrigan and have used for other clubs to help them out, which I had no hesitation in doing as I think all clubs should help each other, not only did I get no feedback I also got no thanks. I recently had to deal with the committee again and got no joy in that as well. I’ve dealt with other clubs like Waaia and Katandra to give them a hand or feedback on things that they were doing and I got a great response from them, not one of disrespect and aggression. I have nothing against the players because I’ve been out on the park when you’re getting a flogging and it’s not fun, the Wunghnu club does not put across the best image.
When you go out of your way to help someone the same should reciprocated.

toquick
16 Apr 2007, 11:57
1 quarter of footy cost us. In the second quarter we gave away five 50's which 3 or 4 resulted in goals. We were undiciplined and didnt play like the team we have been for the last couple of months. Alot can happen in a week and its a long year, so dont write us off yet.

Big Wheel
16 Apr 2007, 12:07
1 quarter of footy cost us. In the second quarter we gave away five 50's which 3 or 4 resulted in goals. We were undiciplined and didnt play like the team we have been for the last couple of months. Alot can happen in a week and its a long year, so dont write us off yet.

What about the 3 and the 4 quarters, the second half of the game you only managed to kick 5 goals to katandra's 9. Maybe that cost you too?
Very hard to say 1 quarter cost you !!

toquick
16 Apr 2007, 12:11
What about the 3 and the 4 quarters, the second half of the game you only managed to kick 5 goals to katandra's 9. Maybe that cost you too?
Very hard to say 1 quarter cost you !!
Nah i can definantly say that the second quartr cost us. There was no coming back from it. We blew it with the umpires and its hard to make up a 9 goal margin specially when we couldnt kick straight.

Big Wheel
16 Apr 2007, 12:25
Nah i can definantly say that the second quartr cost us. There was no coming back from it. We blew it with the umpires and its hard to make up a 9 goal margin specially when we couldnt kick straight.

Nup fair enough.

toquick
16 Apr 2007, 12:34
Nup fair enough.
were you at the game big wheel? Or did you play?

Big Wheel
16 Apr 2007, 13:55
were you at the game big wheel? Or did you play?

Nah mate I live in Melb, saving my penny's so I can live in the UK for a couple of years.

When will kitto be ready to play? Apart from his recent injury, how is his fitness?

toquick
16 Apr 2007, 14:18
Nah mate I live in Melb, saving my penny's so I can live in the UK for a couple of years.

When will kitto be ready to play? Apart from his recent injury, how is his fitness?
apart from his hammy he was cruising along nicely. He completed a full pre season and is an important part of our structure.he is probably goin to be 3-4 away i would say. probably 4 because he re injured the same one he had already done.

Albert Park
16 Apr 2007, 17:32
Originally Posted by premiers07 http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6950365#post6950365)
nah mate there right!! katy have no hope this year apart from young gun Joseph Wright. maybe the experience of matt, jake, jedd and injury prone sammy wright could get them a win!! also maxxy as president should help the club! good luck to em. they will need it

Underestimate the Tigers at your own peril.

It seems the Tigers do have some hope !!

players
16 Apr 2007, 17:34
so you didn't rate katandra's performance then?

Big Wheel
16 Apr 2007, 17:49

hey TOQUICK I think this question was to you.

Hey PLAYERS To make it easyier click on the quote button, hit enter a couple of times then type your question.

Your lucky I know ya.

players
16 Apr 2007, 17:59
hey TOQUICK I think this question was to you.

Hey PLAYERS To make it easyier click on the quote button, hit enter a couple of times then type your question.

Your lucky I know ya.
i went to the chilli peppers last wednesday and i thought i saw ya. Your not the lead singer for har mar superstar?

Big Wheel
16 Apr 2007, 18:01
i went to the chilli peppers last wednesday and i thought i saw ya. Your not the lead singer for har mar superstar?

Yeah mate thats me. How was my proformance? I'll hook you up with some VIP tickets if ya want !!!

players
16 Apr 2007, 18:05
Yeah mate thats me. How was my proformance? I'll hook you up with some VIP tickets if ya want !!!

PLEASE never take your pants off again and work on your dance moves.
No more running bears!

Big Wheel
16 Apr 2007, 19:52
PLEASE never take your pants off again and work on your dance moves.
No more running bears!

Yeah mate working on a few more dance moves for ya!!

might even try them out this weekend!!

iwantanotherflag
16 Apr 2007, 21:05
Notice in the Spectator in Picolas notes that they are having a vote on which direction they would like to go.

Personally and probably selfishly I would like to see all the Vic teams stay south. But when voting, club might be looking at chances of success and Picola would have a better chance on winning a flag in a northern comp, but it will make it very hard for them to pull players from Shepp, Numurkah, Nathalia, Echuca due to the travel. Tough call.

ontheoutta12
16 Apr 2007, 22:08
Too many individuals playin for themselves!!! Thats wot went wrong!!

ontheoutta12
16 Apr 2007, 22:10

To many individuals playin for themselves!!! Thats wot went wrong!!

iwantanotherflag
16 Apr 2007, 22:26
To many individuals playin for themselves!!! Thats wot went wrong!!

As mentioned earlier, it was discipline.

Did someone (a Dookie player) post it was over at half time? If you were thinking that then it most certainly was. Just one little tip... she's never, ever, ever over!

Look forward to next time and a big well done to you guys for sticking around for a beer! Look forward to having a green one in yer new rooms next time around!

smooth mover
16 Apr 2007, 22:37
I can see that your only new to this so I’ll explain a few things since I’ve been on here a while and have being writing the Spectator for the last 5 years, If you read some of my older stuff you will see that I have given Wunghnu nothing but praise for there effort in constantly getting teams on the park while they were getting 30 goal plus floggings. No long ago I was asked by one of there committee members to give them a hand by sending them my B&F PowerPoint presentation template that I use here at Berrigan and have used for other clubs to help them out, which I had no hesitation in doing as I think all clubs should help each other, not only did I get no feedback I also got no thanks. I recently had to deal with the committee again and got no joy in that as well. I’ve dealt with other clubs like Waaia and Katandra to give them a hand or feedback on things that they were doing and I got a great response from them, not one of disrespect and aggression. I have nothing against the players because I’ve been out on the park when you’re getting a flogging and it’s not fun, the Wunghnu club does not put across the best image.
When you go out of your way to help someone the same should reciprocated.
well for starters no i'm not new to this, i just recently changed my name! yeah fair enough if your abit pissed that you weren't or havin't been thanked for your help towards the club! but does it make you feel any better when you write some of these comments? because correct me if i'm wrong anyone but from where i'm sitting some of your comments come across as a little childish! now i do know what your role is with the berrigan footy club so i'm guessing that you probably dont mean for them to come across that way but they do & it gets a fair bit tiring when we here all these negative comments coming from all different directions towards the club! i know wunghnu's reputation has been very bad over the past say 5 to 10 years, i used to think the same as most before i came out to wunghnu but believe me when i say this if only all the fellow clubs knew how hard all us new players ( & the old 1's, not that there are many left) & the committe are trying to turn wunghnu back into a competitive & respected club!!!

instinct
16 Apr 2007, 23:01

The truth about Dookie......
It wasn't just the 2nd quarter that cost them! They were outplayed from quarter time onwards, in what was a slow strangulation.... Yes inaccurate kicking & discipline (or lack of) played a part BUT it seems to be forgotten that not all thier points were from set shots, Katandra's backline applied immense pressure on their forwards all day, cracks were exposed in their team & they cracked under pressure, the 50m penalties are proof of that. Katandra deserves some recognition for how they played, taught Dookie a thing or two about gelling together... Don't get me wrong, Dookie are a good team but their coach & some others are probably a bit naive when it comes to the stronger clubs of the Picola League & respect should be shown to those clubs.
I give them a few more weeks ATLEAST before Dookie really show their strength, that will come when they settle in & the individuals learn to work with each other... Should be a great season! ;)

toquick
17 Apr 2007, 11:10
Dont get me wrong Katandra played great footy (are definantly contenders) and put pressure on us all game which had influence on the way we a few of our players lost there heads. But if we had of kept our cool and not been undiciplined it would have been a different story. BUT its not and they have the points for this one but dont write us off its a long season and alot can happen between rounds.

Rascal99
17 Apr 2007, 12:46
Just read the scores from the Deni & Picola game.
Thought that it may have been a reversal of the score line, or at least alot closer.
What has been in the water in Deni over the pre season????:eek:

I thought that they would improve this year with a couple of locals returning and with a different coach plus a couple of others..... but this much, who would've guessed.....

Time will tell to see how good they are but what a start for them compared to recent seasons.

May b a good thing for the comp, considering Picola were mentioned in the top six by quite a few.:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

BACKS SORE!
17 Apr 2007, 12:58
Yes well Deni seem to be on the improve! And yes it will make the comp alot more even, which is good. Deni's new coach Bode, what possy does he play? Must be pretty handy...

smoking_joe
17 Apr 2007, 13:12
i watched the game on saturday, bode played in the ruck, on the ball and chf. Played okay. But it was the whole deni team that played well. every deni played beat his opponent! it will be an interesting game this week against blighty.

The Fev
17 Apr 2007, 13:54
Yes well Deni seem to be on the improve! And yes it will make the comp alot more even, which is good. Deni's new coach Bode, what possy does he play? Must be pretty handy...

He wouldn't get a kick in a stampede.

BACKS SORE!
17 Apr 2007, 13:58
i watched the game on saturday, bode played in the ruck, on the ball and chf. Played okay. But it was the whole deni team that played well. every deni played beat his opponent! it will be an interesting game this week against blighty.
So will it be Bode vs Schoullar <(spelling) this weekend? To determind who wins.. Should be a cracker game.:thumbsu:

Son Of Ablett
17 Apr 2007, 14:09
So will it be Bode vs Schoullar <(spelling) this weekend? To determind who wins.. Should be a cracker game.:thumbsu:
203cm ex SANFL ruckman v's 183cm minor league player? You work it out.

toquick
17 Apr 2007, 14:56
How old is Schoular?

BACKS SORE!
17 Apr 2007, 15:15
Fair call that SOA, I dont know Bode's back ground, for all I know he could have played SANFL or WAFL etc. Or how tall he was? Just talking the match up thats all. We'll have to wait and see 5pm Saturday a.

Catter
17 Apr 2007, 15:24

Bode
2007 GRFL B&F. Came a close second a few times
2007&2005 Nulliwal B&F ( Seniors lost to Wakool in GF)
2003 CMFL Premeirship (Lake Boga)
CMFL Representative (Major League)
Plays taller than his size. Also Josh would be taller than 183

jetter18
17 Apr 2007, 15:26
How old is Schoular?
Schoullar is about 26, and when on song would be best ruckman in competition by a mile, saw him play one game last year in the seniors for Central Districts and was awesome, will be intersting to see if he can adjust to the PDFL. Would be a gun ruckman in the GVFL.

BACKS SORE!
17 Apr 2007, 15:38
:thumbsu: Bode
Cheers Catter:thumbsu: Record speaks for itself.

smoking_joe
17 Apr 2007, 15:57
It wont be just bode that blighty will have to consider... the rovers forward line looked very potent against picola. Which was a little surprising to me. I'd be interested to know what are the thoughts of any other people who watched the match between picola and deni.

BACKS SORE!
17 Apr 2007, 16:36
It wont be just bode that blighty will have to consider... the rovers forward line looked very potent against picola. Which was a little surprising to me. I'd be interested to know what are the thoughts of any other people who watched the match between picola and deni.
I didnt see the match, but with Benji Hardman back into the side I belive it would be very potent. Man that bloke has got an awesome leap on him, and hard to stop when on fire. Who else has Deni got up forward to support him?

Rascal99
17 Apr 2007, 16:37
He wouldn't get a kick in a stampede.

Hey there the Fev, Dont like the new coach???
Just having a look at some of your previous posts, seems that you may have left the club or is it that you dont like the coach???:confused:

Or are we just trying to keep a tight lip on things down at roverland this year?

I have heard that Bode moves well and can play,(a reigning league B&F) but i spose ur entitled to ur opinion.......

jetter18
17 Apr 2007, 16:40

didnt watch the game but heard that the Rovers were very quick with their young kids looking very impressive. Good skills and apparently ran all over Picola Utd, good for the comp if they can continue with that impressive form

Son Of Ablett
17 Apr 2007, 16:44
Bode

All fair points for sure, although the years at top are not possible, but still no real comparison. Having seen both play a fair bit, Bode will obviously have the leg speed and mobility, but for such a big bloke, Scoullar moves very well and gets in and under at a lot of contests. His height is unquestionable and has taken about 20 marks in both games this year.
Either way, it should be a good game and I will be there to watch.

Swannies21
17 Apr 2007, 16:55
i think you'll find that Scoullar is about 29 or 30

themagicfrog
18 Apr 2007, 09:23
well for starters no i'm not new to this, i just recently changed my name! yeah fair enough if your abit pissed that you weren't or havin't been thanked for your help towards the club! but does it make you feel any better when you write some of these comments? because correct me if i'm wrong anyone but from where i'm sitting some of your comments come across as a little childish! now i do know what your role is with the berrigan footy club so i'm guessing that you probably dont mean for them to come across that way but they do & it gets a fair bit tiring when we here all these negative comments coming from all different directions towards the club! i know wunghnu's reputation has been very bad over the past say 5 to 10 years, i used to think the same as most before i came out to wunghnu but believe me when i say this if only all the fellow clubs knew how hard all us new players ( & the old 1's, not that there are many left) & the committe are trying to turn wunghnu back into a competitive & respected club!!!

Well some of the committee has a bit to go then!

iwantanotherflag
18 Apr 2007, 12:29
Any thoughts on this years leading goal kicker?

Howden should go well again but might push into the guts.
Freak has gone to Toc.
Cordy playing down back.
Lawless should hit the 50+ again.

BACKS SORE!
18 Apr 2007, 13:21
Any thoughts on this years leading goal kicker?

Howden should go well again but might push into the guts.
Freak has gone to Toc.
Cordy playing down back.
Lawless should hit the 50+ again.
Possible top goal kickers in no particular order
Lawless 75-95
Howden 80-90
Hardman 60-70
Priddle 50-60
Durwood 50-60
M.Meyland 50-70
S.Turner 50-70

A bit hard to say now,but those players might feature there?

themagicfrog
18 Apr 2007, 14:14
Lawless 75-95
Howden 80-90
Hardman 60-70
Priddle 50-60
Durwood 50-60
M.Meyland 50-70
S.Turner 50-70

What about Kennedy out at Kat land?

Big Wheel
18 Apr 2007, 14:19
Lawless 75-95
Howden 80-90
Hardman 60-70
Priddle 50-60
Durwood 50-60
M.Meyland 50-70
S.Turner 50-70

Yeah sounds alright, Lawless wont kick that many, he will be playing on ball a bit and being tagged week in week out. Who does this Priddle play for?
What about Norman he should be good for 50+ shouldn't he?
The other Meyland will grab a few goals too.

As you said, it's one of the tougher qestions to answer this early into the season.

Big Wheel
18 Apr 2007, 14:23
Yeah sounds alright, Lawless wont kick that many, he will be playing on ball a bit and being tagged week in week out. Who does this Priddle play for?
What about Norman he should be good for 50+ shouldn't he?
The other Meyland will grab a few goals too.

As you said, it's one of the tougher qestions to answer this early into the season.

X. Kennady will boot a lot alot aswell.
Katamatite will move most of there forward thrust's through him.

iwantanotherflag
18 Apr 2007, 14:44
What about Kennedy out at Kat land?

Not a bad list of names. Gossy Norman could surprise with the delivery he could get. The ton may not get hit this year, but I have been wrong before!

The days of one forward kicking all your goals leaves a team very one dimensional. Teams like Tungamah who have had (2006) Cheds, Lowe, Haebich, Wren x 2 regularly banging them through seems a lot harder to defend than the likes of Katunga or Yarroweyah who last year just had Howden & Freak to stop.

But Durwood helped out too!

BACKS SORE!
18 Apr 2007, 17:25
Just to throw one out there what do people think of making the 2nds and 3rds 16 a side? (This subject might have talked about b4)?:thumbsu:

Big Wheel
18 Apr 2007, 17:37
Just to throw one out there what do people think of making the 2nds and 3rds 16 a side? (This subject might have talked about b4)?:thumbsu:

It may work OK but what about those blokes who don't get a game because you have so many players.
I know some teams may S.T.ruggle for numbers but there will be teams with a few that have to miss out each week already. I dont think it should change.
Plus imagine how hard it would be on the 2s boys on deni's oval....... Too much ground to cover with only 16.

players
18 Apr 2007, 19:06
Lawless 75-95
Howden 80-90
Hardman 60-70
Priddle 50-60
Durwood 50-60
M.Meyland 50-70
S.Turner 50-70

You all forgot about Coad from sepp east isn't he going to kick 100

iwantanotherflag
18 Apr 2007, 22:52

Are teams really struggling to fill their teams? 16 a side should only be played if a team is really struggling. Do what everyone else does and get the 3s to fill in the 2s and get the 4s to fill in the 3s.

I know a few old guys who love filling in every now and again, but there 'strings hate it.

BACKS SORE!
19 Apr 2007, 08:26
Are teams really struggling to fill their teams? 16 a side should only be played if a team is really struggling. Do what everyone else does and get the 3s to fill in the 2s and get the 4s to fill in the 3s.

I know a few old guys who love filling in every now and again, but there 'strings hate it.
Thanks for the opinion on that one lads:thumbsu: Who's gunna win this weekend? any tips?

Big Wheel
19 Apr 2007, 09:47
Thanks for the opinion on that one lads:thumbsu: Who's gunna win this weekend? any tips?

Strathmerton to win a close one over katunga
Deni over Bligty
Just about a flip of the coin for dookie shepp east. Maybe the easters in a close one.
Mathoura to beat berrigan
and Yarro to beat wunghnu easy.

I may not get one right going by my AFL tipping !!!

jetter18
19 Apr 2007, 10:14
Noticed Brad Cordy has a clearance in to go to Kongorong in the south eastern footy league, wondering if you Katandra boys could fill us in on whats happening with Cords. Would be a huge loss.

iwantanotherflag
19 Apr 2007, 10:37
Noticed Brad Cordy has a clearance in to go to Kongorong in the south eastern footy league, wondering if you Katandra boys could fill us in on whats happening with Cords. Would be a huge loss.

No, not the greatest news. He works on the family farm in Pine Lodge and they also have a farm over that way. He said over the summer that they are going over there during the year (drought conditions not as bad there apparently). I just didn't know it was going to be so soon.

Lets hope its a 'shonky' whereby he is going over to play one game and then get cleared back!!!

Big Wheel
19 Apr 2007, 15:03

Just found out lads, that Brad Cordy is only getting a one week clearance to play with his brother-in-law Marc Trevilyan over in SA. Then will be cleared back to kat land.
He will be leaving for good soon thou, alot later in the year thou.

jetter18
19 Apr 2007, 15:31
Just found out lads, that Brad Cordy is only getting a one week clearance to play with his brother-in-law Marc Trevilyan over in SA. Then will be cleared back to kat land.
He will be leaving for good soon thou, alot later in the year thou.
Cheers boys thanks for that he will be a big loss if he does leave later in the season, Marc himself was also a good player for the Kats for awhile if i remember rightly.