View Full Version : Picola District football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

iwantanotherflag
19 Apr 2007, 16:31
Cheers boys thanks for that he will be a big loss if he does leave later in the season, Marc himself was also a good player for the Kats for awhile if i remember rightly.

Yeah they both won 3rds League Medals.

Big Wheel
19 Apr 2007, 16:59
Cheers boys thanks for that he will be a big loss if he does leave later in the season, Marc himself was also a good player for the Kats for awhile if i remember rightly.

Yeah Marc used to run around in the thirds with the ball on a string !!
Was starting to play some good 1's games before he went to SA. But unfortunatly the young fella has had two knee reconstructions since. Nothing like he used to be, but still handy to pick a few possies.

SwampCreature
19 Apr 2007, 22:44
Sorry to disturb your thread fellas, but I’m looking for info and opinions on what the Picola league fans and officials think of the new league restructure for next year. I’m a uni student in Geelong doing an article assignment on the whole thing, and can’t get on to anyone out your way who wants to talk to me about it. Please give us any thoughts on the subject, and if you wanna go on the record, (eg be quoted in the article) go nuts. I think it’s good for footy, but I think its a bit rough you blokes getting forced into all sorts of positions by the VCFL over the past 5 years. The articles just for an assignment in Geelong, so don’t worry about it being printed or anything.

smooth mover
19 Apr 2007, 23:26
Well some of the committee has a bit to go then!
yeah this is true, thats not my department but i know for sure the club is currently trying to solve this problem to!!! good luck for the year!!!

toquick
20 Apr 2007, 09:35
Just wondering if anyone could answer this question... Does the shepp news go all the way up to deni and blighty?? if not why would they have them as the match of the round instead of covering a local clash?

Rascal99
20 Apr 2007, 10:45
Just wondering if anyone could answer this question... Does the shepp news go all the way up to deni and blighty?? if not why would they have them as the match of the round instead of covering a local clash?

Probably because it is the match of the round!!!!!!!!:eek:

Not sure if it goes up there but i would assume a few copies would travel up that way.:thumbsu:

Juddernaut3
20 Apr 2007, 11:15
Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Friday 20th April

http://www.denipastoraltimes.net.au/pics/DEN/20070420/taskercup.jpg
Josh Bode and Paul Schoullar

TOMORROW afternoon the Deniliquin Rovers Football and Netball Club, together with their old rivals the Blighty Footy Club, will unveil the Warner Tasker Memorial Award.

The two clubs got together earlier this year and decided a perpetual cup honoring Warner Tasker would be presented to the winning coach each time these sides meet in the Picola and District Football League home-and-away season.
A best on ground medal will also be given. The medal and cup will be presented by Warner's great mate and former Rovers and Blighty coach Tom Todd.
Warner Tasker, who passed away in October last year, was a well respected part of both clubs. He is life member at Blighty, and served as Chairman of Selectors and senior vicepresident with the Roos.
It is an honor befitting a great local footy lover.

The Tasker family whole-heartedly welcomed the opportunity of a memorial in honor of Warner and both clubs can be proud of making this Memorial Award happen. It truly is a wonderful concept.
"Warner was just a great bloke and both clubs are delighted to honor his memory in this way," Rovers president Mick Fleming said.
No disrespect meant to Warner's sad passing, but this award could not have come at a better time with both clubs on the warpath after some tough times in recent years.
And I'd be surprised if there has been a more anticipated build-up to a local PDFL derby in the past decade.

A huge crowd is expected at Memorial Park tomorrow as the Roos unveil new coach Josh Bode, as well as star recruits John Fitzpatrick and Geoff McCallum.

Arguably the biggest crowd these two sides have attracted was for the Rovers' very first match back in 1977. The Roos hosted Blighty and a massive crowd gathered for the start of a new rivalry.

Tomorrow the rivalry continues. Blighty coach Matt Wooden has his charges pumped and ready to go.
Gun 203cm ruckman Paul Scoullar makes his first return to a Deni footy ground since he was a junior. He is Blighty's marquee recruit and Bode will have his hands full nullifying Scoullar's influence on the match.
The Roos surprised most with a 12-goal win over 2006 finalist Picola last Saturday and may only make one change to this side. Gavin Leiper has put his hand up for selection after overcoming a hamstring injury.

The Rovers' forward set-up worked a treat last week with Benji Hardman at full forward playing out of the goal square with Liam Fleming. Terry Lumbar kicked six goals against Picola, while young centre half forward Chris O'Connor was prominent.

Brad Sneddon will most likely take Hardiman, Jason Andrews to Lumbar, Leigh Culton and O'Connor, and Michael Ibbott should take Fleming.
New recruit Ibbott (back) and Tim Moodie (ankle) are Blighty's only injury concerns according to assistant coach Scoullar. Ibbott is expected to play however.

The midfield clash should be a beauty: Scoullar leading the likes of Wooden, 2006 best and fairest Brett Napier, Jayson Culton, Michael Moodie, Kyel Bain and Tristan Wilson; AND ruckman Bode heading the likes of Ash Germano, Adam Goodear, McCallum, Dave Leetham, John Glowrey and Aaron O'Connor.

Blighty looks to have a slightly better midfield unit, but the Roos' forward line could be hard for Blighty to match.
Blighty also needs to find goalkicking options. If full forward Tim Moodie doesn't play, Michael Norman and left-footer Rob Wettenhall will need to kick some goals.

After kicking 11 majors in round one, Norman was held to one goal last weekend and his impending match-up with Fitzpatrick could prove critical.
Fitzpatrick is a quality tall and Norman will have to be at his best.
It's hard to pick a winner. The Roos were super-impressive against Picola last Saturday and at home may just get the points.

~ Sam Hall

Rascal99
20 Apr 2007, 12:24
Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Friday 20th April

http://www.denipastoraltimes.net.au/pics/DEN/20070420/taskercup.jpg
Josh Bode and Paul Schoullar

TOMORROW afternoon the Deniliquin Rovers Football and Netball Club, together with their old rivals the Blighty Footy Club, will unveil the Warner Tasker Memorial Award.

The two clubs got together earlier this year and decided a perpetual cup honoring Warner Tasker would be presented to the winning coach each time these sides meet in the Picola and District Football League home-and-away season.
A best on ground medal will also be given. The medal and cup will be presented by Warner's great mate and former Rovers and Blighty coach Tom Todd.
Warner Tasker, who passed away in October last year, was a well respected part of both clubs. He is life member at Blighty, and served as Chairman of Selectors and senior vicepresident with the Roos.
It is an honor befitting a great local footy lover.

The Tasker family whole-heartedly welcomed the opportunity of a memorial in honor of Warner and both clubs can be proud of making this Memorial Award happen. It truly is a wonderful concept.
"Warner was just a great bloke and both clubs are delighted to honor his memory in this way," Rovers president Mick Fleming said.
No disrespect meant to Warner's sad passing, but this award could not have come at a better time with both clubs on the warpath after some tough times in recent years.
And I'd be surprised if there has been a more anticipated build-up to a local PDFL derby in the past decade.

A huge crowd is expected at Memorial Park tomorrow as the Roos unveil new coach Josh Bode, as well as star recruits John Fitzpatrick and Geoff McCallum.

Arguably the biggest crowd these two sides have attracted was for the Rovers' very first match back in 1977. The Roos hosted Blighty and a massive crowd gathered for the start of a new rivalry.

Tomorrow the rivalry continues. Blighty coach Matt Wooden has his charges pumped and ready to go.
Gun 203cm ruckman Paul Scoullar makes his first return to a Deni footy ground since he was a junior. He is Blighty's marquee recruit and Bode will have his hands full nullifying Scoullar's influence on the match.
The Roos surprised most with a 12-goal win over 2006 finalist Picola last Saturday and may only make one change to this side. Gavin Leiper has put his hand up for selection after overcoming a hamstring injury.

The Rovers' forward set-up worked a treat last week with Benji Hardman at full forward playing out of the goal square with Liam Fleming. Terry Lumbar kicked six goals against Picola, while young centre half forward Chris O'Connor was prominent.

Brad Sneddon will most likely take Hardiman, Jason Andrews to Lumbar, Leigh Culton and O'Connor, and Michael Ibbott should take Fleming.
New recruit Ibbott (back) and Tim Moodie (ankle) are Blighty's only injury concerns according to assistant coach Scoullar. Ibbott is expected to play however.

The midfield clash should be a beauty: Scoullar leading the likes of Wooden, 2006 best and fairest Brett Napier, Jayson Culton, Michael Moodie, Kyel Bain and Tristan Wilson; AND ruckman Bode heading the likes of Ash Germano, Adam Goodear, McCallum, Dave Leetham, John Glowrey and Aaron O'Connor.

Blighty looks to have a slightly better midfield unit, but the Roos' forward line could be hard for Blighty to match.
Blighty also needs to find goalkicking options. If full forward Tim Moodie doesn't play, Michael Norman and left-footer Rob Wettenhall will need to kick some goals.

After kicking 11 majors in round one, Norman was held to one goal last weekend and his impending match-up with Fitzpatrick could prove critical.
Fitzpatrick is a quality tall and Norman will have to be at his best.
It's hard to pick a winner. The Roos were super-impressive against Picola last Saturday and at home may just get the points.

~ Sam Hall

Bode would have to be on a box or something to be anywhere near schoullar:p

Mobbenfuhrer
20 Apr 2007, 13:02
Starting to wind up the recruiting period for the Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League ... applications are drying up ... but would still love to get at least to four teams!

(69 players, 11 more to enable a fourth team!)

METRO VIC (25 players)
Diamond Valley FL (10)
1. Kickass (Div 1 / Eltham)
2. mattyr (Div 1 Bundoora)
3. Iceman27 (Div 2 / Wallan)
4. Force (Div 2 / Watsonia)
5. Bubble Wrap (Div 2 / Watsonia)
6. Giveyathemail (Div ? / Lalor)
7. Jewelsandbullet (Div ? / Montmorency)
8. Dv_Worm (Div ? / Coburg Amateurs)
9. rompermfc (Div 2 / Macleod)
10. ifyoucandodgeawrench

VFL & VAFA (Vic) (7)
1. can't mark can't kick (VAFA / D1)
2. harper (VAFA / D2 / South Melbourne Districts)
3. youngblood (VAFA / D2 / Aquinas)
4. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / D3 / Old Westbourne)
5. the lemon wedge (Port Melbourne / VFL)
6. Joe Dirt (VAFA / A Grade)
7. FitzroyRamone (VAFA / C Grade / Fitzroy Reds)

Essendon DFL (5)
1. Subway (Essendon DFL)
2. colgate (Essendon DFL / Strathmore)
3. coreybrown (Essendon DFL)
4. litening (Essendon DFL / Airport West)
5. oldfashiondefender (Essendon DFL)

Western Region FL (3)
1. Gemini17 (WRFL Div 2)
2. Blueboy16 (WRFL Div 2)
3. thesilkmeister (Western Region FL)
x. the lemon wedge (WRFL Div 1 / Port Colts) - VFL / Port Melbourne (Bigfooty RL FFL)

WEST MELB & WEST VIC (20 players)
Riddell DFL (4)
1. billylid (Riddell DFL)
2. Itsmyshow (Riddell DFL)
3. Trublueroo (Riddell DFL)
4. Bluecrew #2 (Riddell DFL)

Western, Mallee, Wimmera (9)
1. Bakers_Patrons (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
2. Centre Sqaure (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
3. clifton's lookalike (Central Murray FL / Tyntynder)
4. Whispers (Geelong FL)
5. The Prawn (Millewa FL)
6. MasterOfROC (North Central FL / St Arnaud)
7. ALWHTE (Mininera & DFL)
8. theopacman (Western Border FL / Hamilton Imperials)
9. sheep dogger (Geelong FL)

Bendigo FL / Loddon Valley FL (7)
1. gerta (Loddon Valley FL)
2. A_JET8 (Bendigo FL)
3. Norfolk & Clew (Bendigo FL / Golden Square)
4. max powers. (Bendigo FL)
5. The fatman (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
6. davis 24 (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
7. Courageunderfire (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
x. caveman (Bendigo FL / Kangaroo Flat) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
x. maroon and blue (Bendigo FL / Eaglehawk) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)

EASTERN MELB, EASTERN VIC & OUTSIDE VIC (24 players)
Northern, North-Eastern, Eastern & Gippsland regions (15)
1. FOOTYBOSS (Goulburn Valley FL)
2. Johnny Tapp (Goulburn Valley FL)
3. Zippa (Goulburn Valley FL)
4. Joeyboy (Kyabram DFL)
5. VT#23 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
6. sparra (Kyabram DFL)
7. The Iceman #49 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
8. iwantanotherflag (Picola & DFL / Katandra)
9. Slush Puppy (Kyabram DFL)
10. Darc21 (Ovens & Murray FL / Wangaratta Rovers)
11. goodies (Ellinbank DFL)
12. Marto121 (Picola & DFL)
13. slugga (YVMDFL)
14. MadMan V1.2 (Southern FL / Div 3 / Skye)
15. More Than A Game (Tallangatta DFL)
x. Pie4Life (MPNFL) - Dragons (Sweet FA)
x. OldMav (MPNFL) - Bigfooty Bombers (Sweet FA)
x. Frankston Rover (MPNFL) - Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
x. diablo14 - (MPNFL) Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)

Outside Victoria (9)
1. Bella Buffalo (South Africa)
2. cckid (Ontario AFL / Canada)
3. roorat (Northern Tasmanian FA / Deloraine)
4. bakerman (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Kingborough)
5. head67 (Riverina FL)
6. morphous (Queensland)
7. SJM41 (Queensland / ? FL / Redland)
8. Injury prone (WAFL / Perth)
9. billybrownless16 (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Lauderdale)
x.Ljp86 (WAFL / Subiaco) - Dragons FC (Sweet FA)

Note : Players numbered x. are players who are only available under permit. They do not count amongst the 20 players required for a team, as if they are unavailable just one week, then that team will be unable to field a full contingent. The team's for which these players are primarily registered, are listed alongside the players' names.[/QUOTE]

hectomorphic
20 Apr 2007, 13:57
Just to throw one out there what do people think of making the 2nds and 3rds 16 a side? (This subject might have talked about b4)?:thumbsu:

Yarroweyah and Strathy played 14 a side last weekend as both teams were struggling with numbers. It urt a few blokes who had not trained once all season.

iwantanotherflag
20 Apr 2007, 20:26
Most teams find it tough at the start to field teams. An example we had was in 05 when our reserves were close to forfeiting an early game and then as players made themselves available etc went on and won the flag.

Lots of older players dont seem to be in much of a rush to play, we have a few guys who you dont see playing until July/August and if the twos are a chance of making the finals!

Common sense would say that if both teams are struggling that you would play with a restricted side, if one side had numbers and the other did not some communication would be required between teams to work it out. We often loan players to other clubs to get a game on, be careful the players on loan play serious!

Leigh Simpson once played for Blighty reserves and tackled Allen Everard and I think Ez did his knee!

iwantanotherflag
20 Apr 2007, 20:36

I guess you thought they would cover the more local clash of Shepp East and Dookie? When I first read this post, I thought you were being a bit selfish, but you are right. Surely a job for the Deni paper to cover this one! The Cobram paper covers lots of Yarroweyah stuff, The Numurkah Leader covers Strathy, Katunga, Waaia & Picola. Surely the Shepp News could have covered the Eagles/Dookie clash.

Better still how about they cover all games?

I know I posted tips last week and I underestimated the Rovers and the Tiges so, here's my head on the block again!

Deni Rovers V Blighty draw after Deni open up a big lead.
Shepp East V Dookie by 24 pts
Mathoura V Berrigan by 12 pts
Yarroweyah v Wunghnu by 40 pts

Who knows?

Rascal99
20 Apr 2007, 23:16
I guess you thought they would cover the more local clash of Shepp East and Dookie? When I first read this post, I thought you were being a bit selfish, but you are right. Surely a job for the Deni paper to cover this one! The Cobram paper covers lots of Yarroweyah stuff, The Numurkah Leader covers Strathy, Katunga, Waaia & Picola. Surely the Shepp News could have covered the Eagles/Dookie clash.

Better still how about they cover all games?

I know I posted tips last week and I underestimated the Rovers and the Tiges so, here's my head on the block again!

Deni Rovers V Blighty draw after Deni open up a big lead.
Shepp East V Dookie by 24 pts
Mathoura V Berrigan by 12 pts
Yarroweyah v Wunghnu by 40 pts

Who knows?

Agree with most picks, but if Deni get in front by a decent margin say 6 goals dont expect blighty to come back as they start better than they finish. Expect it to go the other way. Blighty to come out of the blocks then the game to be close until the end.

On form Deni to win by 5 or 6 goals.

But head says blighty to win, deni had a great start to 07 but still to prove they are consistent rather than one gamers. But they may prove me wrong.

iwantanotherflag
21 Apr 2007, 18:57
Its only early but the rovers look like they will win a few games this year, I wont say that they are walk up finalists but they are definately not bottom 6,

pace to freeze
22 Apr 2007, 09:27
Well some of the committee has a bit to go then!
Just wondering what happened yesterday, would have thought you guys, Berrigan, would have gone close to a win. I heard they, Mathoura , were meant to have about 7-8 out, including all their talls, was this the case or just a good rumour ?

Rascal99
23 Apr 2007, 10:16
Agree with most picks, but if Deni get in front by a decent margin say 6 goals dont expect blighty to come back as they start better than they finish. Expect it to go the other way. Blighty to come out of the blocks then the game to be close until the end.

On form Deni to win by 5 or 6 goals.

But head says blighty to win, deni had a great start to 07 but still to prove they are consistent rather than one gamers. But they may prove me wrong.

Yes they did prove me wrong......:D

BACKS SORE!
23 Apr 2007, 15:16
Yes they did prove me wrong......:D
Who played the best out of the two big men in Scoullar & Bode? Looked to be a cracker game by the result!:thumbsu:

Juddernaut3
23 Apr 2007, 16:43
Who played the best out of the two big men in Scoullar & Bode? Looked to be a cracker game by the result!:thumbsu:

Both Bode and Schoullar played well, Bode was better around the ground, whilst Schoullar had the centre bounces, which was expected.

The game was great, with about 8-10 minutes to go, scores were level, or at most a few points in it. Napier for Blighty kicked a freakish goal off the ground. Then Ash Germano kicked a banana goal out of contest from about 45m out to put rovers up by a goal. Then Bode kicked a running goal which sealed the win.

John Fitzpatrick and Jayson Culton won the Warner Tasker medals for best on ground for each team.

watthe
23 Apr 2007, 17:51
gday guys just wondering how mathoura are shaped/shaping this year, i have close ties there but not in the position to get up and watch them, some feedback would be great cheers.

pace to freeze
23 Apr 2007, 19:43
gday guys just wondering how mathoura are shaped/shaping this year, i have close ties there but not in the position to get up and watch them, some feedback would be great cheers.
Good question thought themagicfrog, berrigan played them on the weekend, might be able to assist. My imformation, and not necessarily accurate,but have just confirmed, is that they have had their full forward, centre half forward, centre half back, ruckman ( assistant coach ), ruck rover ( b&f 2006 or runners up ), rover (captain) and two other talls, apparently all in their top 10,either all out for all games ( 3 ) or most out for most games. :confused: :confused: :confused: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

frostyfruits
23 Apr 2007, 22:55
True. Mathoura rolled Berrigan on the weekend, but I think most clubs will this year. Unlucky against Blighty. Few key players missing from the lineup over the past couple of weeks. Next couple of games (Deni, Yarroweyah) should determine whether they will be in the mix this year. Positive signs coming from the Timbercutters this season.

Big Wheel
24 Apr 2007, 13:49
Hey who was that bloke in the shepp news the other week saying how he is going to kick a hundred goals.
How many is he on now?
Is he pulling his willie or is he really that good?

Big Wheel
24 Apr 2007, 13:50
From Shepp East apparently.

BACKS SORE!
24 Apr 2007, 13:58
True. Mathoura rolled Berrigan on the weekend, but I think most clubs will this year. Unlucky against Blighty. Few key players missing from the lineup over the past couple of weeks. Next couple of games (Deni, Yarroweyah) should determine whether they will be in the mix this year. Positive signs coming from the Timbercutters this season.
Timbercutters a dark horse for the top 6 maybe? If full squad is playing week in week out... would be good to see, they like Deni havent been talking themselves up. Power to the under dog!! (I could be very wrong though);)

toquick
24 Apr 2007, 14:43
From Shepp East apparently.
That would be Michael Coad i think he is on 1 goal for the yr....

pace to freeze
24 Apr 2007, 16:30
Having heard much lately about the rnd 5 battle of the titans, is it on ??

Dookie Flops
24 Apr 2007, 17:52
not much talk about dookie lately diamond dave. i hope you can prove my name wrong. maybe you underestimated the standard of the PFL and thought that a few GV 2s players would automatically win you a flag. Might need a bit more than that.

watthe
24 Apr 2007, 18:08
thanks guys, i know going back maybe 2,3,4 season mathoura wernt looking in good shape with like at most 10 blokes on the track but it seems with terry blake and a reasonable list of players there they are actually taking steps in the right direction

Big Wheel
24 Apr 2007, 21:44
That would be Michael Coad i think he is on 1 goal for the yr....

Pffttt so he's traveling alright then. lol

Which game do blokes think is match of the round this week??

Big Wheel
24 Apr 2007, 21:51
thanks guys, i know going back maybe 2,3,4 season mathoura wernt looking in good shape with like at most 10 blokes on the track but it seems with terry blake and a reasonable list of players there they are actually taking steps in the right direction

Yeah your right, I think they were just about to head down the same track as Wunghnu. I'll give Mathoura credit for this turn around. But hey were only a few rounds into the year.

I think a minimum of five win each for Mathoura and Wunghnu will start to get them going in the right direction for the next few years.

Hang in there boys and things will turn around.

Never know Mathoura may catch alot of the consistant teams by surprise.

Good luck to the Mathoura netball girls aswell. There is a few hotties up there.!!!!

The Fev
24 Apr 2007, 22:02
Yeah your right, I think they were just about to head down the same track as Wunghnu. I'll give Mathoura credit for this turn around. But hey were only a few rounds into the year.

I think a minimum of five win each for Mathoura and Wunghnu will start to get them going in the right direction for the next few years.

Hang in there boys and things will turn around.

Never know Mathoura may catch alot of the consistant teams by surprise.

Good luck to the Mathoura netball girls aswell. There is a few hotties up there.!!!!

You're kidding aren't you? Mathoura finished off last year really well and I am expecting them to win a MINIMUM of 7 games. If they won anything under 7 I think they would be very disappointed and that they have really under achieved. I think they will win around 9 games. When they get a full team on the park they will be fine.

iwantanotherflag
24 Apr 2007, 22:18
You're kidding aren't you? Mathoura finished off last year really well and I am expecting them to win a MINIMUM of 7 games. If they won anything under 7 I think they would be very disappointed and that they have really under achieved. I think they will win around 9 games. When they get a full team on the park they will be fine.

Mathoura were easily the best side out of the six last year. They finished really well, and if they had of won a few earlier games would have given it a good honest shake! They beat Waaia in rnd 20. I don't put them in the same genre as Wunghnu. Mathoura, I am expecting big things from them. Some good talls, good on ball division, but defence can be exposed.

One more thing on Mathoura....and I have thought of this for many years. Get someone who can draw and get an emblem with a guy carrying a dirty great axe for your emblem. Not a Demon, we know you wear red and blue, but you have the best nickname "Timbercutters." Get a mascot to match!! Cant wait to see it!

Hands Open
24 Apr 2007, 22:43
not much talk about dookie lately diamond dave. i hope you can prove my name wrong. maybe you underestimated the standard of the PFL and thought that a few GV 2s players would automatically win you a flag. Might need a bit more than that.

...you're a friggin jerk:thumbsd:

karjam
25 Apr 2007, 11:48
Pffttt so he's traveling alright then. lol

Which game do blokes think is match of the round this week??

Would have to be Shepp East v Katandra, it is the only game on in Shepp on the weekend (United v Shepp on Sunday), Shepp Swans play at Euroa so all you footy fans get out the Central Park Shepparton East on Saturday should be a good game hope the rain holds off for a couple of hours (rain forecast for Fri, Sat & Sun)

iwantanotherflag
25 Apr 2007, 11:58
Would have to be Shepp East v Katandra, it is the only game on in Shepp on the weekend (United v Shepp on Sunday), Shepp Swans play at Euroa so all you footy fans get out the Central Park Shepparton East on Saturday should be a good game hope the rain holds off for a couple of hours (rain forecast for Fri, Sat & Sun)

Do we park in the orchard? Should be a real cracker! I know that we haven't played at Central Park since 1995 (we did have a praccy in 03). In 1995 I was in 4ths. So many of our guys would never have played there.

After the 06 Grand Final (one of the best grand finals in PDFL memory, I have watched the DVD :( ) the rivalry has reignited back to that of the 70s, 80s & 90s.

iwantanotherflag
25 Apr 2007, 12:28
In today news, Yarroweyah has elected to stay south. Being the closest club to Berrigan etc on the vic side, probably means they will all choose south. 11 Vic teams in south and 8 NSW teams in north.

Any thoughts or indications from Katty, Strathy, Katunga, Waaia, Picola on which direction they will choose?

karjam
25 Apr 2007, 13:12
Do we park in the orchard? Should be a real cracker! I know that we haven't played at Central Park since 1995 (we did have a praccy in 03). In 1995 I was in 4ths. So many of our guys would never have played there.

After the 06 Grand Final (one of the best grand finals in PDFL memory, I have watched the DVD :( ) the rivalry has reignited back to that of the 70s, 80s & 90s.

Plenty of parks, get their early and you should get one around the ground, the rivalry is good, we obviously both like to beat each other, but off the ground it is good friendly rivalry it was good to to catch up with some old faces from the past last year and looking forward to see you all again - see you all there on Saturday - Go the Eagles

karjam
25 Apr 2007, 13:13
In today news, Yarroweyah has elected to stay south. Being the closest club to Berrigan etc on the vic side, probably means they will all choose south. 11 Vic teams in south and 8 NSW teams in north.

Any thoughts or indications from Katty, Strathy, Katunga, Waaia, Picola on which direction they will choose?

Really cannot see any of them wanting to go North????

The Fev
25 Apr 2007, 19:23
In my opinion, i cant see why clubs such as Yarra dont go north. If they are looking long term, the north option makes more sense, in terms of potential success. Pretty hard to see sides such as yarra competing against the likes of Shepp east and Katandra.

saints_rule23
25 Apr 2007, 19:34
I think that most will struggle against shepp east and
katandra
but teams will have to look long term would teams
be able to get players to play if they had to travel 100km
to NSW to play
clubs would lose players if they had to travel

I still cant see why Shepp East didnt go to the Murray League
when the central goublan folded
i reckon they would have been competive

BODZY#32
25 Apr 2007, 20:26
I think that most will struggle against shepp east and
katandra
but teams will have to look long term would teams
be able to get players to play if they had to travel 100km
to NSW to play
clubs would lose players if they had to travel

I still cant see why Shepp East didnt go to the Murray League
when the central goublan folded
i reckon they would have been competive

Possibly a recruiting and club success ploy..... If GV shep lads wanna play murray theres already rumba and congupna close by, but if its a premiership their looking for wouldn't it be easier to play in a standard just a little bit lower and where they make more of a diffrence... and why change there standard when there on a good thing.....
I think Shep East were the most hated club in the CGFL, well especially from my perspective out at VT, probably more a jealous thing than anything, they just always seemed so arrogant on the field and i suppose with damn good reason...
But i have to agree with you there i think they are more than capable of recruiting just a couple more and being real competitive in the murray league

iwantanotherflag
25 Apr 2007, 21:09
Possibly a recruiting and club success ploy..... If GV shep lads wanna play murray theres already rumba and congupna close by, but if its a premiership their looking for wouldn't it be easier to play in a standard just a little bit lower and where they make more of a diffrence... and why change there standard when there on a good thing.....
I think Shep East were the most hated club in the CGFL, well especially from my perspective out at VT, probably more a jealous thing than anything, they just always seemed so arrogant on the field and i suppose with damn good reason...
But i have to agree with you there i think they are more than capable of recruiting just a couple more and being real competitive in the murray league

True. Bodzy! But as Karjam and myself have said previously there are currently 6 major league teams in Shepp/Mooroopna(Shepp Bears, Shepp Utd, Shepp Swans, Rumbalara, Congupna & Mooroopna). To add Shepp East would make it 7. Look at Bendigo, bigger town and they only have 5 major league teams (Sandhurst, Sth Bendigo, Eaglehawk, Golden Square & Kangaroo Flat). Yes, with a little topping up Shepp East (or Katandra, or Tungamah, or Waaia) would be competitive in the MFL, Shepp East are a country club that happens to be very close to Shepparton. Karjam has mentioned that because they have Shepparton as a part of their name that they get this treatment of 'they should be Murray League.'

As for success lying north of the Murray, yes those few teams may win a flag north of the Murray but over time will find it hard to attract players and will therefore their team would deteriorate. I can see the league south of the border becoming quite strong... not Murray League but above KDL and the current PDFL set up.

Can Shop
26 Apr 2007, 02:25
Good to see Ahmet get best on ground last weekend. Will poll well again in this years medal. Any other big contenders

Dookie Flops
26 Apr 2007, 10:32
...you're a friggin jerk:thumbsd:
I am just saying that a few players or coaches may have underestimated the standard of the leauge, especially the top sides. I really hope that they can prove me wrong because the guys that have gone out there are all great blokes and can all play footy, but they might need to do things a bit tougher than what they first thought.:rolleyes:

LJ&H
26 Apr 2007, 11:07
What is the big turnaround at roverland due to. As a past player, I am rapt to see the opening 2 results. New players? New attitude? Loss of players? Whatever it is, let's hope it continues. GO ROVERS!

toquick
26 Apr 2007, 12:06
I am just saying that a few players or coaches may have underestimated the standard of the leauge, especially the top sides. I really hope that they can prove me wrong because the guys that have gone out there are all great blokes and can all play footy, but they might need to do things a bit tougher than what they first thought.:rolleyes:
Everyone out there is forgetting that dookie has played the top 2 sides from last yr. It is goin to take up some time to gel and our dicipline has been terrible the last 2 weeks, we have given away Thirteen 50m penalties in that time. None of the blokes that have gone out there have under estimated the comp at all.

karjam
26 Apr 2007, 12:34

Why we didn't go to the Murray League was the cost, we just couldn't afford it, believe it or not we don't spend that much on players as I have said before we have a budget and we stick to it, to compete in the Murray League we would have to raise at least another 30,000 to 60,000 grand a year and that would be impossible, (Barooga would spend over $100,000 grand and Mulwala certainly throw the money around, good luck to them if they can), look at Congupna I know they have to work really hard at raising money and it becomes a struggle over the years, and they have only been just around the mark, so we are very happy were we are at the minute.

pace to freeze
26 Apr 2007, 13:17
Sorry, iwantanotherflag , but I totally disagree with your previous comment that Shepp East, Katandra, Tungamah and Waaia would be competetive, with a little topping up in the Murray League. I would guess everyone of those clubs', maybe 5th best player would struggle to play in a competitive murray league side, the biggest difference I believe is depth and the commitment required. That is what makes the PDFL, a kick, a pie and a few frothies with the opposition.

karjam
26 Apr 2007, 14:37
Good to see Ahmet get best on ground last weekend. Will poll well again in this years medal. Any other big contenders

How's sunny London treating the Can Shop, making any runs, picking up any chicks whats goin on?????

Wiseowl66
26 Apr 2007, 14:50
Can anyone tell me if scotty parker is playing with the tunga bears this year??

pace to freeze
26 Apr 2007, 15:50
Rumour mill would suggest, the two big fellas, Schouller and Bode, from over the river might, should , have a few votes already up. Does anyone know if last years medalist, A.Brunt , is returning to the fold this week.

theintimidator
26 Apr 2007, 17:04
True. Bodzy! But as Karjam and myself have said previously there are currently 6 major league teams in Shepp/Mooroopna(Shepp Bears, Shepp Utd, Shepp Swans, Rumbalara, Congupna & Mooroopna). To add Shepp East would make it 7. Look at Bendigo, bigger town and they only have 5 major league teams (Sandhurst, Sth Bendigo, Eaglehawk, Golden Square & Kangaroo Flat). Yes, with a little topping up Shepp East (or Katandra, or Tungamah, or Waaia) would be competitive in the MFL, Shepp East are a country club that happens to be very close to Shepparton. Karjam has mentioned that because they have Shepparton as a part of their name that they get this treatment of 'they should be Murray League.'

As for success lying north of the Murray, yes those few teams may win a flag north of the Murray but over time will find it hard to attract players and will therefore their team would deteriorate. I can see the league south of the border becoming quite strong... not Murray League but above KDL and the current PDFL set up.

Its easy to call Shepp east just a country club but when it comes down to it they have access to recruitment that is far greater than most (not all) PDFL clubs. Im not talking about the big name players getting big $$$ im talking about the depth of players they have access to that may not get payed out there but hold up their standard of player right accross the ground. Think about it.... how is a club like yarroweyah or strathy or NSW clubs supposed to compete with towns of less than 400 people against the population that shepp east has to draw from?

theintimidator
26 Apr 2007, 17:18
I couldnt see any of the vic clubs wanting to go north, to much travel, plus it could see the end of a few clubs due to numbers. (I might be wrong thou)

I Agree! Deciding on going to the proposed northern division would spell the end for any of those clubs, many of which are already struggles to fill a 2nds side (especially on away games). So then what becomes of the northern division? Is 7-8 clubs enough to support a NSW division?

theintimidator
26 Apr 2007, 17:30
Just throwing out a thought. I dont actually believe it would work but over a few beers on the weekend a few boys discussed an option of a super Murray league. The basic structure would include all the current MFL clubs the existing PDFL clubs + 4 proposed 2008 additions to the PDFL put in 1 league totalling about 32 clubs. Split it into two divisions of 16 MFL1 and MFL2 and use a promotion/relegation system like in the amatures???? Whata u think?

pace to freeze
26 Apr 2007, 17:46
Just throwing out a thought. I dont actually believe it would work but over a few beers on the weekend a few boys discussed an option of a super Murray league. The basic structure would include all the current MFL clubs the existing PDFL clubs + 4 proposed 2008 additions to the PDFL put in 1 league totalling about 32 clubs. Split it into two divisions of 16 MFL1 and MFL2 and use a promotion/relegation system like in the amatures???? Whata u think?
Think I like it, only question is, would it effect ex-murray league players joining current pdfl clubs, like they do now, at the latter parts of their careers. Would think there is possibly up to 50 ex-murray league players currently spread across these sides, who are at times already struggling for numbers ?:rolleyes: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :rolleyes:

box_16
26 Apr 2007, 20:14
Can anyone tell me if scotty parker is playing with the tunga bears this year??

No mate scotty is playing at Wahgunyah

iwantanotherflag
26 Apr 2007, 23:42
Sorry, iwantanotherflag , but I totally disagree with your previous comment that Shepp East, Katandra, Tungamah and Waaia would be competetive, with a little topping up in the Murray League. I would guess everyone of those clubs', maybe 5th best player would struggle to play in a competitive murray league side, the biggest difference I believe is depth and the commitment required. That is what makes the PDFL, a kick, a pie and a few frothies with the opposition.

Geez guys, didn't get online today and there has been heaps of good convos on. Where do I start???

Pace to Freeze... excuse me! I hope you are just trying to stir me. Yes, the Baroogas and the Mulwalas would touch us up quite comprehensively. We will never know, cos practice matches are never the real deal. But I would wager that a top tier PDFL side would defeat maybe 3 or 4 MFL teams and push a few others. As for the 5th best player struggling... who of these players would not be snapped up by any MFL club? (Cordy, Lawless, W Teague, G Teague, N Bertoli, S Venables, M Riordan, Lambourn, M Sidebottom, N White, R Ireland).

Could go through other teams but I will leave it to them to respond.

As for a MFL super league, has been mentioned before but as a three tier comp. Dennett (ex MFL pres) originally proposed it. Does have credit.

theintimidator
27 Apr 2007, 00:06
Think I like it, only question is, would it effect ex-murray league players joining current pdfl clubs, like they do now, at the latter parts of their careers. Would think there is possibly up to 50 ex-murray league players currently spread across these sides, who are at times already struggling for numbers ?:rolleyes: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :rolleyes:

Yeah there are a lot of problems we came up with. That was one that was discussed. However I beleive that some players will always move around (the grass is greener syndrome) and older players from the theoretical MFL1 will eventually come to a stage that they can no longer be competetive and invariably end up finishing their careers in the theoretical MFL2! The second main problem with this model is that MFL doesnt have lot to gain. The other problem discussed was the chance that many MFL1 2nds players would go looking for a senior game in the MFL2 but this already happens between MFL and PDFL and I cant see that changing the name and the structure slightly will greatly alter this. One fact that is for sure is that players will move around (whatever their motivation) and remembering that this proposed league covers a similar geographical area I beleive that it actually help the even spread of players across the district.

pace to freeze
27 Apr 2007, 10:56
Geez guys, didn't get online today and there has been heaps of good convos on. Where do I start???

Pace to Freeze... excuse me! I hope you are just trying to stir me. Yes, the Baroogas and the Mulwalas would touch us up quite comprehensively. We will never know, cos practice matches are never the real deal. But I would wager that a top tier PDFL side would defeat maybe 3 or 4 MFL teams and push a few others. As for the 5th best player struggling... who of these players would not be snapped up by any MFL club? (Cordy, Lawless, W Teague, G Teague, N Bertoli, S Venables, M Riordan, Lambourn, M Sidebottom, N White, R Ireland).

Could go through other teams but I will leave it to them to respond.

As for a MFL super league, has been mentioned before but as a three tier comp. Dennett (ex MFL pres) originally proposed it. Does have credit.
The players you mentioned are obviously highly regarded at your club, but lets just agree to disagree. I do not know of all those players but I do believe from Shepp East Premiership side last year the following are the only ones that spring to mind as clear regular senior murray league players. Ahmet, 2 x Turners, Joey P...vick. From there on I think it would be touch and go.

pace to freeze
27 Apr 2007, 12:04
Tips rnd 4
Waaia ( 12 goals ) top 3 v's bottom 3
Picola ( 10 points at home ) Little ground
Tungamah ( 5 goals ) away only problem
Blighty ( 10 goals ) schouller,wooden, moody v's ???
Dookie ( 7 goals ) may kick season off
Rovers ( 2 goals ) upset would not surprise
Shepp East ( 2 points ) home ground, Katandra 5 goal better side on a neutral ground

BODZY#32
27 Apr 2007, 12:34
Its easy to call Shepp east just a country club but when it comes down to it they have access to recruitment that is far greater than most (not all) PDFL clubs. Im not talking about the big name players getting big $$$ im talking about the depth of players they have access to that may not get payed out there but hold up their standard of player right accross the ground. Think about it.... how is a club like yarroweyah or strathy or NSW clubs supposed to compete with towns of less than 400 people against the population that shepp east has to draw from?

LOCATION LOCATION!!

toquick
27 Apr 2007, 13:55
Tips rnd 4
Waaia ( 12 goals ) top 3 v's bottom 3
Picola ( 10 points at home ) Little ground
Tungamah ( 5 goals ) away only problem
Blighty ( 10 goals ) schouller,wooden, moody v's ???
Dookie ( 7 goals ) may kick season off
Rovers ( 2 goals ) upset would not surprise
Shepp East ( 2 points ) home ground, Katandra 5 goal better side on a neutral ground
Have you taken into account it is ment to be very wet?

hectomorphic
27 Apr 2007, 15:05
Shepp East is in a prime posiiton but Bodzy you can't argue that VT is the home of legends!

smallfootyhead
27 Apr 2007, 15:15
VT this and VT that??? Just shut up about VT pleaseeeeeeeeee

Dookie Flops
27 Apr 2007, 16:35
Well said. They are starting to infest every leagues threads

pace to freeze
27 Apr 2007, 16:51
Do not think it knows how to rain , mind you I hope you are right. :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

toquick
27 Apr 2007, 17:22
Dookie vs Wunghu on sunday this week. hopefully it is a cracker day and everyone gets along to see dookie have there first win...touch wood.

Dookie Flops
27 Apr 2007, 17:40
Dookie vs Wunghu on sunday this week. hopefully it is a cracker day and everyone gets along to see dookie have there first win...touch wood.
If Dookie cant win this week I think Ozzie should retire from all forms of Sport. Lets hope yas go alright and a few of the new boys can have their 1st crack at the song.

BODZY#32
27 Apr 2007, 18:36

Shepp East is in a prime posiiton but Bodzy you can't argue that VT is the home of legends!

No worries lads, i'll just bury myself a hole and jump in it then.....
Geez thought i was talking about shepp east, just happened to be honest and mention where i was from, i'l make a mental note to stick to the KDL forum in future.
Hectomorphic do you know Ryan Powles from Strathy? how's he going is he getting a kick this year and is he still workin his way through half the local lasses on a sat nite?

iwantanotherflag
27 Apr 2007, 22:01
The players you mentioned are obviously highly regarded at your club, but lets just agree to disagree. I do not know of all those players but I do believe from Shepp East Premiership side last year the following are the only ones that spring to mind as clear regular senior murray league players. Ahmet, 2 x Turners, Joey P...vick. From there on I think it would be touch and go.

Yes Sam Ahmet would be a walk up start. Joey Perkovic & Chris Turner are currently strutting their stuff at United and Bears. Karjam would be able to give us a bit more info on players that would 'rate' in the MFL.

:mad: Don't insult the standard of our league. Some very professional teams running around, with commitment (playing for $0). With many guys playing for all the right reasons. Don't get me started... if you have been reading this thread you would know where I stand on this great league...

Before you ask I have played in 'higher' leagues and I would rate a big game at Waaia, Tungamah or Shepp East as being up there with the big boys.

theintimidator
28 Apr 2007, 02:52

Sounds like you agree?

pace to freeze
28 Apr 2007, 09:10
Yes Sam Ahmet would be a walk up start. Joey Perkovic & Chris Turner are currently strutting their stuff at United and Bears. Karjam would be able to give us a bit more info on players that would 'rate' in the MFL.

:mad: Don't insult the standard of our league. Some very professional teams running around, with commitment (playing for $0). With many guys playing for all the right reasons. Don't get me started... if you have been reading this thread you would know where I stand on this great league...

Before you ask I have played in 'higher' leagues and I would rate a big game at Waaia, Tungamah or Shepp East as being up there with the big boys.
We are getting off the track a little I think, I am not insulting the PDFL, my point simply is that I think it would be extremely difficult for a PDFL side to slip straight into Murray league and be competitive.

watthe
28 Apr 2007, 12:58
apparenlty mathoura have signed couple real handy players from melbourne, big ruckman bout 6.6 and a solid backman, could add a little bit to there depth and make them a more competitive side

Rascal99
28 Apr 2007, 19:03
apparenlty mathoura have signed couple real handy players from melbourne, big ruckman bout 6.6 and a solid backman, could add a little bit to there depth and make them a more competitive side

yeah and earlier on in the season they were meant to have signed players from the vfl. Coburg and willimastown or something. and where are they??????? Good rumors

pace to freeze
28 Apr 2007, 19:27
yeah and earlier on in the season they were meant to have signed players from the vfl. Coburg and willimastown or something. and where are they??????? Good rumors
Agree, has anyone got any scores from today's games

The Fev
28 Apr 2007, 19:45

http://www.picoladfl.vcfl.com.au/drawresult.asp?comp=4898&OrgID=382

My Bears are looking the goods!

The One Who Watches
28 Apr 2007, 22:25
http://www.picoladfl.vcfl.com.au/drawresult.asp?comp=4898&OrgID=382

My Bears are looking the goods!

Just had a look at that site - no results from the Dookie V Wunghnu game - was it a nil all draw? :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

saints_rule23
28 Apr 2007, 22:28
Just had a look at that site - no results from the Dookie V Wunghnu game - was it a nil all draw? :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

no wasnt a draw
they play tomorrow at wunghnu

balls
28 Apr 2007, 23:09
katandra got done buy 3 goals 4 points.Close one all day katandra were 3 goals up in the 3rd qtr 5 mins to go and the east got a few quick ones to go into the last just 2 pnts down.From there katandra droped there heads and shep east took advantage of that and won the game in the last term.

iwantanotherflag
29 Apr 2007, 09:36
We were very disappointing in the last quarter and a bit.
Other results looked as expected.

pace to freeze
29 Apr 2007, 19:31
katandra got done buy 3 goals 4 points.Close one all day katandra were 3 goals up in the 3rd qtr 5 mins to go and the east got a few quick ones to go into the last just 2 pnts down.From there katandra droped there heads and shep east took advantage of that and won the game in the last term.
Thanks balls actually went and seen the first half of that game and had very similar thoughts of the first half, was not fortunate enough to be able to have a constant view of the score board but would have thought you guys would have been 5 goals to zip with only a couple minutes to go 1st half. white was impressive as were the two sidebottoms, very good additions who will only improve, I would have thought. Got there late but noticed you were carrying a bag, does that mean you had a midday gallop ????

watthe
29 Apr 2007, 21:42

two reasons why they didnt come travel and they had better offers, rumours were true they were about 75% there until other clubs closer to melbourne made better offers

balls
30 Apr 2007, 09:35
Thanks balls actually went and seen the first half of that game and had very similar thoughts of the first half, was not fortunate enough to be able to have a constant view of the score board but would have thought you guys would have been 5 goals to zip with only a couple minutes to go 1st half. white was impressive as were the two sidebottoms, very good additions who will only improve, I would have thought. Got there late but noticed you were carrying a bag, does that mean you had a midday gallop ????
Yer sure did and the way the old body is going it looks like its gona be that way for the year.Dont mind it though get to have a few cool ones watching the boys run around in the arvo:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Big Wheel
30 Apr 2007, 14:30

Pace to freeze I think you are absolutly full of yourself.

Lawless played GV and has also had a stint at cobram, left cob to play in a premiership with his home club.

Cordy, well Congupna and Tatura are keen.

Betoli, played at Congupna, left there to play under lambourn plus he lives close on a farm.

White and and the Teagues Wes and Gregor would slot straight into a side in the Murray.

Plant, played for Albury in the O&M then coach the club in 2004, after that he went O/S traveling with his wife.

Mitch Sidebottom, was at shepp united having a decent run.

Well thats eight off the bat. Know tell me, If Katandra paid players I think they would difinatly give the MFL a nudge, What if Shepp East and Katandra merged how do you think they would go in the MFL?

iwantanotherflag
30 Apr 2007, 15:55

Lawless played GV and has also had a stint at cobram, left cob to play in a premiership with his home club.

Betoli, played at Congupna, left there to play under lambourn plus he lives close on a farm.

White and and the Teagues Wes and Gregor would slot straight into a side in the Murray.

Plant, played for Albury in the O&M then coach the club in 2004, after that he went O/S traveling with his wife.

Well thats eight off the bat. Know tell me, If Katandra paid players I think they would difinatly give the MFL a nudge, What if Shepp East and Katandra merged how do you think they would go in the MFL?

Big Wheel... Katandra & Shepp East merger!! In theory a good side but I couldn't see Steve Lawless and Sammy Ahmet getting too chummy!

balls
30 Apr 2007, 16:03
Big Wheel... Katandra & Shepp East merger!! In theory a good side but I couldn't see Steve Lawless and Sammy Ahmet getting too chummy!
I think that they are both very much alike and that is why they clash.Could be interesting to see though Id say there would be quit a few interclub suspentions if they did merger.Would never happen but so i dont think we need to worry about that one.:D :D :D

iwantanotherflag
30 Apr 2007, 17:31
I think that they are both very much alike and that is why they clash.Could be interesting to see though Id say there would be quit a few interclub suspentions if they did merger.Would never happen but so i dont think we need to worry about that one.:D :D :D

Something a bit more realistic would be the PDFL interleague team, playing as a club not just thrown together for one game, competing in the MFL. Would be quite a squad. But then again if those guys wanted to play MFL they would.

Would 2007 Premiers defeat the PDFL Team of the Year? The old team of champions V champion team stuff.

Big Wheel
30 Apr 2007, 19:47
Something a bit more realistic would be the PDFL interleague team, playing as a club not just thrown together for one game, competing in the MFL. Would be quite a squad. But then again if those guys wanted to play MFL they would.

Would 2007 Premiers defeat the PDFL Team of the Year? The old team of champions V champion team stuff.

What was the inteleague team from last year??

Plus your right, katandra, shepp east never going to happen. Yeah Steve said he wasn't to happy about ahmet.

I heard there was a decent crowd there on saturday aswell.

pace to freeze
30 Apr 2007, 19:47

Ha Ha Ha, the funniest thing is you probably missed Katandra's most decorated and probably still one of their best and most consistant players, heard of M.Lambourn, I to can get on here and make justification for certain issues based on resumes. Perhaps read and understand what is written before jumping off on your little ego trip. My comments related to " currently in competitive sides " ??? Its called freedom of speech ??

Big Wheel
30 Apr 2007, 19:50
Oi how did that coad go from shepp east. Is he near his 100 goals he said he was going to kick? pppfffttt

Ex Tee
30 Apr 2007, 20:23
What was the inteleague team from last year??

Plus your right, katandra, shepp east never going to happen. Yeah Steve said he wasn't to happy about ahmet.

I heard there was a decent crowd there on saturday aswell.

Why is Steve unhappy about ahmet

theintimidator
30 Apr 2007, 22:15
Ha Ha Ha, the funniest thing is you probably missed Katandra's most decorated and probably still one of their best and most consistant players, heard of M.Lambourn, I to can get on here and make justification for certain issues based on resumes. Perhaps read and understand what is written before jumping off on your little ego trip. My comments related to " currently in competitive sides " ??? Its called freedom of speech ??

Guys.... its obvious you disagree on this however it seems to me you are argueing on slightly different topics. PDFL clubs being competitive at their current standard V's PDFL clubs being competitive if they spent big $$$. In my opinion having played PDFL, MFL and GVFL (res only) I believe the top 4 (perhaps 6) PDFL clubs, in their current capacity would be competitve against the bottom 4 or 5 MFL clubs but never be able to push finals. This is my opinion only but having seen most of the Barooga night series matches this year I beleive its a valid observation!

For example based on the 2006 Home and away ladder:

Rumbalara V Tungamah
Moama V Shepp East
Tongala V Katandra (though the Jumpers might clash???)
Cobram V Picola

Having last year of due to injury allowed me to see all (Except Moama) play in 06' and I can assure that these would be competitve matches. As for these PDFL clubs ever becoming strong enough to be truly competitve in MFL i.e make finals... well thats a different story!

theintimidator
30 Apr 2007, 22:42
No worries lads, i'll just bury myself a hole and jump in it then.....
Geez thought i was talking about shepp east, just happened to be honest and mention where i was from, i'l make a mental note to stick to the KDL forum in future.
Hectomorphic do you know Ryan Powles from Strathy? how's he going is he getting a kick this year and is he still workin his way through half the local lasses on a sat nite?

I heard ryan powles was running water for the reserves at strathy cant get a game!!! Also heard he "came out of the closett" so to speak ;)

toquick
1 May 2007, 12:25
I think you will find that the top 6 piccola teams would knock off Tatura this yr!

Big Wheel
1 May 2007, 13:12
Why is Steve unhappy about ahmet

He wasn't happy with ahmet because he hit him first!!!. hahaha

I think it's great as it help keeps the rivalry going between shepp east & katandra.

TTTT
1 May 2007, 14:21
hows strathy coach joe deangelis going so far

theintimidator
1 May 2007, 15:29
hows strathy coach joe deangelis going so far

A bit a mixed reaction so far but I guess a guy like Joe will always stir things up a little. Perhaps strathy needs it.:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

pace to freeze
1 May 2007, 17:54
Where is themagicfrog ? enjoyed hearing a little news from the Berrigan camp. How are the two Turner's going and is there senior side improving even though the scores may not indicate so ?

chicken38
1 May 2007, 20:48
Where is themagicfrog ? enjoyed hearing a little news from the Berrigan camp. How are the two Turner's going and is there senior side improving even though the scores may not indicate so ?magic frog is on holidays just had a baby girl ,turners are going well berrigan have been very competive but just cant stop players getting injured hard for a club with no depth

pace to freeze
2 May 2007, 10:56
magic frog is on holidays just had a baby girl ,turners are going well berrigan have been very competive but just cant stop players getting injured hard for a club with no depth
Thanks chicken38 I heard littlejohn got injured a few weeks back, is he back playing?
Are injuries long term and when can we expect a full side and a better guide of where the sainters are at ?