View Full Version : Picola District football league
crabbman_69
2 May 2007, 15:35
Will Sam Ahmet be in for a trip to the tribunal after his 'slap' on Steve Lawless? What is the go with the new coaches being 'loose cannons'? Not the best way to set an example boys!!!;)
themagicfrog
2 May 2007, 16:07
Thanks chicken38 I heard littlejohn got injured a few weeks back, is he back playing?
Are injuries long term and when can we expect a full side and a better guide of where the sainters are at ?
Thank for missing me so much pace to freeze! As Chicken mentioned I havn't had much of a chance to jump on the net and spend a bit of time reading thorugh all that happenings.
Berrigan should get back Scott and Shannon Turner, Thornton, Littlejohn, B Bathman, Watt and McKenzie this week with a few ressy players to push for spots.
scottwestjr
3 May 2007, 11:30
Thank for missing me so much pace to freeze! As Chicken mentioned I havn't had much of a chance to jump on the net and spend a bit of time reading thorugh all that happenings.
Berrigan should get back Scott and Shannon Turner, Thornton, Littlejohn, B Bathman, Watt and McKenzie this week with a few ressy players to push for spots.
keiren hughes of berrigan is a gun along with the turners and is about to hit his prime wen he gets bak from a shoulder injury
scottwestjr
3 May 2007, 11:33
magic frog is on holidays just had a baby girl ,turners are going well berrigan have been very competive but just cant stop players getting injured hard for a club with no depth
yer keiren hughes is a big loss for berrigan and if he wasnt injured he wulda been my b&f tip he is a gun and hard at the ball
He needs to be pretty good, because going on results the Saints seem to be struggling again. Didn't rovers beat them by over 100 points on the weekend?
BACKS SORE!
3 May 2007, 12:41
Rite'o PDL fans, who are gunna be the winners this week?:thumbsu:
my tips for round 5
Waaia to beat Picola by 26points
Tungamah to beat Strathy by 50 points
Dookie def Katamitite
Yarroweyah smash Berrigan by 12 goals
Katandra wollop Wunghnu by 130 points
Deni by 10 points over Mathoura
hurikane
3 May 2007, 13:44
I see Tezza Lumbar, from the Rovers, has poked up in front goal alot so far this season! Got himself a couple of bags!
I got to see a couple of Rovers games last year and he popped up then too - great to see!!
Hope it continues for the big fella!...:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
hurikane
3 May 2007, 13:47
Haven't heard much this year so far from the Mathoura camp re: Willoughby, Todd or Sutcliffe?
Are Mathoura playing "small" this year or something? :confused:
Big Wheel
3 May 2007, 14:29
my tips for round 5
Dookie def Katamitite
I tipping the waaia and picola game will be a blow out waaia to win by over 7 goals.
WAAIA and Picola will play a draw
stays wide
3 May 2007, 18:07
steve lawless of katandra acts like an absolute loser on the footy field. as for off the field i dont no what he is like but he lets himself down on it, who walses onto the footy field after being beaten in last years grand final and reals off the line "remember me" to a player of sam ahmets caliber.if i was lawless i would have a good look at myself and rack up half the record ahmet has before he goes about looking like an idiot.and as for the weekends game maybe if he worried about getting a kick rarther than getting ahmets attention he might be more of an asset to katandra. ahmet is a class above lawless and it has shown out everytime and it will keep on doing so
chicken38
3 May 2007, 20:13
i guess u havent seen him play mate:thumbsu:
iwantanotherflag
3 May 2007, 22:33
steve lawless of katandra acts like an absolute loser on the footy field. as for off the field i dont no what he is like but he lets himself down on it, who walses onto the footy field after being beaten in last years grand final and reals off the line "remember me" to a player of sam ahmets caliber.if i was lawless i would have a good look at myself and rack up half the record ahmet has before he goes about looking like an idiot.and as for the weekends game maybe if he worried about getting a kick rarther than getting ahmets attention he might be more of an asset to katandra. ahmet is a class above lawless and it has shown out everytime and it will keep on doing so
Yes, Sam Ahmet is a very good player, played lots of GV footy and a real class act. Steve is also a very good player and often turns a game on its ear in a few minutes. As for a few mind games... who doesn't try to get an edge on their opponent?
We played poor footy and weren't allowed to play our brand of footy. This shut many players down. To say he acts like a loser... bit harsh! A very good and loyal player at our club who obviously gets under your skin, which would be music to his ears!!
smooth mover
4 May 2007, 00:11
my tips for round 5
Dookie def Katamitite
Well toquick a couple of days ago you posted a message about number 27 from wunghnu & how he unfairly bumped 1 of your soft players off the ball! now it seems the message has disappeared, you didn't get a little scared & remove it yourself did you?? while we're on the subject you forgot to let everyone know how that same player did the same thing to number 27 OFF the ball about 5mins earlier, but you didn't see him fall to the ground like a sook did you?? also you didn't say how your weedy little runner also tried to slyly give that same player a bump from behind but happened to bounce off like a little girl!! then he didn't take himself off the ground the coaches took him off for a quick spell to calm things down! (also he stood on the boundary line in clear view & not hidind in the coaches box like you said, maybe you were thinking of what you would do in that situation). also in the message you were wanting to know his name i was thinking that you could try not to embarrass the whole football world & without to much strain try using some of what little brains you have & look in the little book that they give you for free on the gate at every game called THE SPECTATOR & you will see his name right there next to number 27!!! & you also said how you cant wait to play against him next time, well i'm sure if you pass on your name (instead of your user name) he would be glad to line up on you to!!!
I was actually wondering where the hell my comments had gone about that this situation. I didnt delete them why the hell would i?? I try'd to find my spectator but i must have thrown it out so i cant go and look up his name other wise i would have posted it.When our player got him first it was fair and the ball was right there they both went for it, the ball wasnt 50m away like when number 27 from Wunghnu ran through our player from behind. Our runner ran out and gave him a mouth full and then was grabbed by number 27 also. I was sitting on the sideline iceing my hamstring whilst all this happened so i had clear view of it all. Guttless act from your player. It wasnt the only off the ball insident that happened with your players being loose. Who cares all that matters is we got the points not you blokes. Just adds to the spice of next time the sides meet.
Big Wheel
4 May 2007, 12:40
Yes, Sam Ahmet is a very good player, played lots of GV footy and a real class act. Steve is also a very good player and often turns a game on its ear in a few minutes. As for a few mind games... who doesn't try to get an edge on their opponent?
We played poor footy and weren't allowed to play our brand of footy. This shut many players down. To say he acts like a loser... bit harsh! A very good and loyal player at our club who obviously gets under your skin, which would be music to his ears!!
Your right iwantanotherflag. I think Steve was bread for two things, kick goals and to be hated.
Stay wide I dont think Steve would lose any sleep about you not liking him
smallfootyhead
4 May 2007, 16:09
Lawless is a parrot!! As for iwantanotherflag, stop havin tunnel vision the bloke,s a girl,s dick mate!! tel the bloke to get a kick and a goal against the good teams???? one eyed parrot
Dookie Flops
4 May 2007, 16:27
Lawless is a parrot!! As for iwantanotherflag, stop havin tunnel vision the bloke,s a girl,s dick mate!! tel the bloke to get a kick and a goal against the good teams???? one eyed parrot
SNIPER & A PARROT!!
deni and mathoura should be a ripper game, although i support the timbercutters i think deni may just scrape over the line
Your right iwantanotherflag. I think Steve was bread for two things, kick goals and to be hated.
Stay wide I dont think Steve would lose any sleep about you not liking him
One of the good things about playing with steve is that week in and out you do get to see him getting belted about the ears from someone from the opposistion.Hahahaha :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Big Wheel
4 May 2007, 17:06
One of the good things about playing with steve is that week in and out you do get to see him getting belted about the ears from someone from the opposistion.Hahahaha :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
hahaha how true balls !!
Sounds like there is a few boys on here who he's hit. hahaha
Big Wheel
4 May 2007, 17:12
Does any of you Dookie boys know when Kitto will be back from his hammy?
Where is his bro Gav playing these days?
Does any of you Dookie boys know when Kitto will be back from his hammy?
Where is his bro Gav playing these days?
Was going to be back this week, but.... he gave it a little to much on Tuesday night and hurt it again. Should be in next week!
Gav isnt playing....
Big Wheel
4 May 2007, 17:45
Was going to be back this week, but.... he gave it a little to much on Tuesday night and hurt it again. Should be in next week!
Gav isnt playing....
Poor bloke.
Hows Weathers been playing??
smooth mover
4 May 2007, 19:23
I was actually wondering where the hell my comments had gone about that this situation. I didnt delete them why the hell would i?? I try'd to find my spectator but i must have thrown it out so i cant go and look up his name other wise i would have posted it.When our player got him first it was fair and the ball was right there they both went for it, the ball wasnt 50m away like when number 27 from Wunghnu ran through our player from behind. Our runner ran out and gave him a mouth full and then was grabbed by number 27 also. I was sitting on the sideline iceing my hamstring whilst all this happened so i had clear view of it all. Guttless act from your player. It wasnt the only off the ball insident that happened with your players being loose. Who cares all that matters is we got the points not you blokes. Just adds to the spice of next time the sides meet.
Well while you were worring about your soft tissue injury on the bench i was out on the ground & had a clear view of it all a little closer than you, so it seems we have both got our different opinions & this is not going anywhere! yeah you did get the four points but am i suppose to sit here & sook over that, dont think so mate, i'll just get on with it! & yeah i hope the next contest is a good hard physical 1, thats the way footy should be played, but you's can keep this cheap shot shit out if thats what your thinkin!!!??? till next time!!!
How about you girls either sort your differences out on the field... If you wanna keep talking yaselves up why not do it via private message coz no one else here wants to read your pedantic crap.
hammer_time
4 May 2007, 20:03
I hear Tungamah have signed a couple of yarrawonga players during the week in seymour and T Lewis. anyone know how they go?
pace to freeze
4 May 2007, 20:47
Have just caught up on this weeks gossip. There are a couple of things that need to be recognised. Ahmett started on a half back flank last week in what I would have thought was an important game, has never been regarded a vital, gun, player for his side whilst in GV and his ability now is a mile away from where it was whilst he was in the GV. Maybe I am alone, but it gets frustating when Ex-GV players are classed so highly in other leagues. Some might be surprised by the number of ex-gv, or higher standard, players within the PDFL, and when it's all said and done who gives a hoot, they're in the PDFL.Let's base them on that.
Picola has a morrison medalist, who puts his body on the line in all games and performs every week and would be the last person who would want to be judged on anything other than current form. As for Steve Lawless, he might be a parrot but he only upsets the vunerable, each sides better footballers have always had to deal with taunts every week. Having heard a few of Lawless' attempts, as a sledger, he does not rate !!!
pace to freeze
4 May 2007, 21:05
TIPS RND 5
Waaia by 5 goals Picola ( missing their class A.Brunt )
Tungamahby 10 goals Strathy ( class factor )
Dookie United by 3 goals Katty?? ( Who have Dookie beat ?? A lot of hype and been some what below expectation)
Yarraweah 6 points Berrigan ( home ground )
Katandra 15 goals Wunghnu ( on the rebound )
Rovers 7 goals Mathoura ( Up and going verse's injuries to keys ??? )
pace to freeze
4 May 2007, 21:12
[quote=hurikane;7418066]Haven't heard much this year so far from the Mathoura camp re: Willoughby, Todd or Sutcliffe?
All injured apparently.
TIPS RND 5
Waaia by 5 goals Picola ( missing their class A.Brunt )
Tungamahby 10 goals Strathy ( class factor )
Dookie United by 3 goals Katty?? ( Who have Dookie beat ?? A lot of hype and been some what below expectation)
Yarraweah 6 points Berrigan ( home ground )
Katandra 15 goals Wunghnu ( on the rebound )
Rovers 7 goals Mathoura ( Up and going verse's injuries to keys ??? )
Waaia will beat Picola by 10 goals minimum
My boys over Strathy by 10 goals
Dookie to get over the line by 5 goals
Yarra will beat Berrigan by 12 goals minimum
Katandra to beat Magpies by 20 goals
Rovers to sneak past Mathoura by 4 goals.
hurikane
4 May 2007, 23:45
Pity i wont be in the region this weekend but it sounds like the deni v mathoura game will be a corker!!
Will Tezza be good for another bag this weekend??? Fingers Crossed :D
Juddernaut3
5 May 2007, 00:06
Pity i wont be in the region this weekend but it sounds like the deni v mathoura game will be a corker!!
The only bag tezza will be good for is the one he takes home on Saturday night!!
pace to freeze
5 May 2007, 20:39
Went down and had a look today, was a fizzer, close all day but pretty ordinary footy, only highlight was robison took a good hanger, lots of silly free kicks and fity's, neither side ever looked like a winner. Game never had any real spark or classy passages of play. Hardiman didn't play for Deni and B.Todd and Railton didn't play for Mathoura. Quite a few others looked under done , good crowd. Might surprise but neither did enough to suggest they are contenders.
iwantanotherflag
5 May 2007, 21:13
This is why tipping is such a biiiitch! Looks like top spot might lose 3 or 4 games this year instead of 1 or 2 as per the last 5-6 years.
No comparision but how many games did top spot in AFL & GVL lose in 2006. Would have been 5+ I would think.
2006 Tungamah, Shepp East & Katandra lost 2 each
2005 Katandra lost none (but we all know what happened then)
2004 Katandra lost one
2003 Tungamah lost 1 or 2 and had a draw.
pace to freeze
6 May 2007, 11:28
Just wondering if anyone knew of a link that provided the draw, and if available the results, for season 2006 ?
Juddernaut3
6 May 2007, 12:33
http://www.picoladfl.vcfl.com.au/drawresult.asp?comp=3771&OrgID=382
smooth mover
6 May 2007, 12:40
How about you girls either sort your differences out on the field... If you wanna keep talking yaselves up why not do it via private message coz no one else here wants to read your pedantic crap.
hey listen hear dip shit wana be a full forward! for starters go back & read the msg's i dont recall either of us talking ourselves up, we were having a geniune agree to disagree talk over an onfield incident that happened in our game (both backing up teammates, obviously something you dont do), thats what this site is about isn't it??? talking about ALL footy games, scores, tips ON FIELD INCIDENTS ect isn't it? I've heard plenty of other messages talking bout onfield incidents, you gonna go back through & whinge to all them 2?? NO? well then quiet please!!! So if you don't like what we are talking bout how bout you skip our msg's & go on to reading the next 1 hey or find another site yourself!!! also last time i checked i dont take orders from NOBODY'S!!!
pace to freeze
6 May 2007, 19:18
http://www.picoladfl.vcfl.com.au/drawresult.asp?comp=3771&OrgID=382
Cheers have a bit of difficulty getting around the PDFL site.
themagicfrog
7 May 2007, 09:45
I'm glad your crystal ball wasn't working, Berrigan had a improved effort but still let it slip.
Any info on the romour sleeth from Yarr broke Bestons jaw behind the play when Yarra played the Magpies? Smooth mover may enlighten us on this.
Looks like the Billabong Crows from the CDFL are looking at going north to Hume FL because if they join PDFL players will join Lockhart because of travel.
I'm glad your crystal ball wasn't working, Berrigan had a improved effort but still let it slip.
Any info on the romour sleeth from Yarr broke Bestons jaw behind the play when Yarra played the Magpies? Smooth mover may enlighten us on this.
Looks like the Billabong Crows from the CDFL are looking at going north to Hume FL because if they join PDFL players will join Lockhart because of travel.
I heard last week when we played against Wunghnu that Matty Sleeth had king hit Betson and broke his jaw. Sleethy is known for doing s h i t like that.
Big Wheel
7 May 2007, 11:37
Well that blow my predition out of the water.
Well done Picola.
BACKS SORE!
7 May 2007, 13:58
Hey they Magic, good showing from your boys on the weekend:thumbsu: What are your thoughts on DT on the field, as I noticed he took himself off with 5 mins to go in the last quarter when the game was still in the balance was he injured? Cheers.
The Billabong crows wanting to go north might throw a spanner in the works for the VCFL! 8 teams is what they need to make the northern div run I think? What do Berrigan committe think?
themagicfrog
7 May 2007, 14:23
Hey they Magic, good showing from your boys on the weekend:thumbsu: What are your thoughts on DT on the field, as I noticed he took himself off with 5 mins to go in the last quarter when the game was still in the balance was he injured? Cheers.
The Billabong crows wanting to go north might throw a spanner in the works for the VCFL! 8 teams is what they need to make the northern div run I think? What do Berrigan committe think?
Nah he wasn't injured, just spent, I would have liked him out there till the end as our bench was really none existant.
The committe is sending in a letter stating that we are not happy that we haven't had a choice and other clubs do to where they want to go. The Crows think that if they are forced into entering the PDFL that it will be the end of them, so you know what they will be pushing for, which means one of the border clubs will have to come this way.
BACKS SORE!
7 May 2007, 14:41
Nah he wasn't injured, just spent, I would have liked him out there till the end as our bench was really none existant.
The committe is sending in a letter stating that we are not happy that we haven't had a choice and other clubs do to where they want to go. The Crows think that if they are forced into entering the PDFL that it will be the end of them, so you know what they will be pushing for, which means one of the border clubs will have to come this way.
Where is Billabong on the map? And how do clubs (eg. Berrigan etc) appeal this sort of situation?
themagicfrog
7 May 2007, 17:21
Where is Billabong on the map? And how do clubs (eg. Berrigan etc) appeal this sort of situation?
Billabong Crows are Oaklands/Urana. Oaklands is 35 K's away and if they folded we would think we would be in with good chance to players mostly juniors from who don't want to travel to far, Urana based players would go to Lockhart. hope they don't fold, we will have to wait and see what the almighty's at the VCFL decide.
pace to freeze
7 May 2007, 20:42
I heard last week when we played against Wunghnu that Matty Sleeth had king hit Betson and broke his jaw. Sleethy is known for doing s h i t like that.
If true he should be de-registered.
smooth mover
7 May 2007, 20:59
Yeah magic frog its no rumour, this is very true! beto was involved in the contest with another yarra player on the ground when sleethy came up from behind with a king hit & broke his bottom jaw needing a good amount of metal to re-allign it! unfortunately enough for us this now leaves us with out him for majority of the year now, but atleast he's recovering fine! there is currently an invetigation going on at the moment over that incident which we should all know abit more about soon! bad luck on sat also mate, must of been a real team effort to atleast get themselves in that position!!!
rubbishplayer
7 May 2007, 23:41
Yeah magic frog its no rumour, this is very true! beto was involved in the contest with another yarra player on the ground when sleethy came up from behind with a king hit & broke his bottom jaw needing a good amount of metal to re-allign it! unfortunately enough for us this now leaves us with out him for majority of the year now, but atleast he's recovering fine! there is currently an invetigation going on at the moment over that incident which we should all know abit more about soon! bad luck on sat also mate, must of been a real team effort to atleast get themselves in that position!!!
Problem was Berrigan was in a dominant position and should have won, in the 3rd quarter DT, Griffiths, Mckenzie, thornton Riddle and co won every centre clearance, while the other 2 turner boys were in a league of there own, problem was they froze in the last coz they thought they had it won, looked a very very handy side, and once they crack there first win will be hard to beat, problem is they just have to get over that hurdle. Pyle, DT and littlejohn going off didnt help, but the boys just ran out of legs and was a great match to watch, well done to both sides on a brilliant game. Magic question for you, how would you rate your recruits, with so much promise and at this stage of the season not much to show for it?
So is the league investigating this matter? when will we hear a result?
BACKS SORE!
8 May 2007, 14:07
Problem was Berrigan was in a dominant position and should have won, in the 3rd quarter DT, Griffiths, Mckenzie, thornton Riddle and co won every centre clearance, while the other 2 turner boys were in a league of there own, problem was they froze in the last coz they thought they had it won, looked a very very handy side, and once they crack there first win will be hard to beat, problem is they just have to get over that hurdle. Pyle, DT and littlejohn going off didnt help, but the boys just ran out of legs and was a great match to watch, well done to both sides on a brilliant game. Magic question for you, how would you rate your recruits, with so much promise and at this stage of the season not much to show for it?
I think Berrigan are very close to notching up their first win, with a full strength side and once the boys know how each other play's (eg. recruits) they will win games. I reckon fitness might have been a factor on Saturdays game. I'm gunna put it out there and tip Berrigan to upset Katunga this week!;)
This is why tipping is such a biiiitch! Looks like top spot might lose 3 or 4 games this year instead of 1 or 2 as per the last 5-6 years.
No comparision but how many games did top spot in AFL & GVL lose in 2006. Would have been 5+ I would think.
2006 Tungamah, Shepp East & Katandra lost 2 each
2005 Katandra lost none (but we all know what happened then)
2004 Katandra lost one
2003 Tungamah lost 1 or 2 and had a draw.
So how is Katandra really going? What happened in that Shepp East game? That coach goes alright but who else have they got really? Good team when the likes of Lawless, Thompson, Damon are all firing but aren't they past midnight on the premiership clock?
iwantanotherflag
8 May 2007, 22:09
So how is Katandra really going? What happened in that Shepp East game? That coach goes alright but who else have they got really? Good team when the likes of Lawless, Thompson, Damon are all firing but aren't they past midnight on the premiership clock?
We seem to be taking the foot off the pedal. Round one we played right through till the end, but against Dookie, Shep East & Wunghnu we eased off. Had a big change of the guard over the summer with Leigh Simpson, Corey Wilson, Cam Damon, Julyan Howard, Steve Black out of our team. We are a lot younger, but miss the experienced heads of those guys above. Lost a bit of that cunningness I suppose. It is only early and before the year I looked at the first 3 games and thought ... we could be 3-0 or 0-3, so to be 2-1 at this stage isn't too bad.
As for past midnight... possibly, but we'd like to wind it back to 11.55 by September!
themagicfrog
9 May 2007, 09:19
If Scott plays like last week I think he will be fantastic, Shannon has shown so great patches of form, DT I'm not sure yet and Bathman has only played half a game so far.
Griffith has shown that once he gets his hand on it he's fantastic, McKenzie is a real hard nut and goer and Watt is what we know he is.
With Goddard back looks that Bond will return also.
Eventhough is is early in the season, anyone want to have a go at the ladder as at the final round. Who will make the finals ?? There has been some interesting and inconsistant form going around.
iwantanotherflag
9 May 2007, 09:44
Eventhough is is early in the season, anyone want to have a go at the ladder as at the final round. Who will make the finals ?? There has been some interesting and inconsistant form going around.
I can't predict 6 winners in a round let alone a final ladder. I still think that last years top three (Eagles, Kats, Bears) will be the main contenders come September. Not convinced on Deni.
With the tightness of the comp this year if i was Shepp East i would be worried about the run home, i think they play their last 4 games away and they are against dookie, katandra, waaia and tungamah. Tough run into finals. Hypothetically speaking if they lost all 4 games they could be missing the finals...
In no paticular order. I will do a top 8, top 6 is to hard at this stage...
Katandra
Waaia
Sheppeast
Picola
Tungamah
Dookie
Blighty
Deni
In no paticular order. I will do a top 8, top 6 is to hard at this stage...
Katandra
Waaia
Sheppeast
Picola
Tungamah
Dookie
Blighty
Deni
It does look pretty tight this year considering 2 of the above sides will miss out. I think that the jury is still out on Deni and Blighty. We will see where they are at over the next 6 weeks or so. Both clubs play Dookie, Katrandra, waaia, shep east and Tungamah all in a row. They need to stand up against those type of sides before we can talk too much about them. How many games will get you in the finals this year. 11 ot 12 ??
BACKS SORE!
9 May 2007, 15:04
I'll throw it out there, and put the top 6 in order of how I think the ladder will finish!
East
Waaia
Kats
Picola
Tunga boys
Dookie unt
With the top 3 fighting it out for percentage, also the bottom 3-5 (eg.Blighty & Deni) just missing out on percentage maybe???????:confused: ???
iwantanotherflag
9 May 2007, 15:05
It does look pretty tight this year considering 2 of the above sides will miss out. I think that the jury is still out on Deni and Blighty. We will see where they are at over the next 6 weeks or so. Both clubs play Dookie, Katrandra, waaia, shep east and Tungamah all in a row. They need to stand up against those type of sides before we can talk too much about them. How many games will get you in the finals this year. 11 ot 12 ??
Don't know about amount of wins to make the 6 but, percentage will play a big part.
BACKS SORE!
9 May 2007, 15:16
Let's get real technical what about the pearce medal? Top 5 canditates
are as follows:-
Scoullar
Armat (spelling up s#%t creek I know!) east's coach
Brunt (if stays fit)
Bode
Dodd
iwantanotherflag
9 May 2007, 16:35
Let's get real technical what about the pearce medal? Top 5 canditates
are as follows:-
Scoullar
Armat (spelling up s#%t creek I know!) east's coach
Brunt (if stays fit)
Bode
Dodd
If Dookie wins enough games Luke LeBrocq might go okay??
don't discount the older daniel in dave from picole either. although he and brunt may be stealing votes off each other all year which will make it hard.
does anyone out there know if young sam wright from katamatite is still on the bushrangers last, mayb the long term injury list?
Brocky is heading over seas for 8 games though so might count him out of that one! Pete O'Donnell would be leading our B n F at the moment anyways!
smooth mover
9 May 2007, 18:02
So is the league investigating this matter? when will we hear a result?
Yeah definately an investigation going on, exactly how far it goes or when we'll know more is beyond me yet! but pretty sure as soon as we know whats going on most of you will find out too!
Also my thoughts on the top 6- i dont believe that there will be a outright standout this year, only because of the players that east, kats & bears have lost over the summer & the pick ups by other clubs may even things out! still probably way too early to tell at moment though! but hopefuuly i'm right because i think onc we get down to round 16 & we have possibly 8 or so clubs fighting for only 6 spots the games might just step up to the finals level a little early! be good to watch either way!!!
wats the problem out at magpie land are they just a rough bunch??
Hands Open
9 May 2007, 20:39
does anyone out there know if young sam wright from katamatite is still on the bushrangers last, mayb the long term injury list?
I'm pretty sure hes on the injured list at the moment, could be wrong though
smooth mover
9 May 2007, 21:45
wats the problem out at magpie land are they just a rough bunch??
no were no just a rough bunch! i'm not sure what gave you that idea? maybe you could explain why you think this??
iwantanotherflag
9 May 2007, 22:26
no were no just a rough bunch! i'm not sure what gave you that idea? maybe you could explain why you think this??
On Wunghnu, why are the back of the jumpers all black? Shouldn't there be stripes?? Was harder than normal to pick up who was who.
BACKS SORE!
10 May 2007, 10:25
My tips for the weekend are:-
Picola to upset Tunga by no less than 10 points
Waaia 6 goals over Blighty
Dookie by 6 - 8 goals
Berrigan to chalk up it first win by less than 2 goals
Kats 10-12 goals over Kati
Yarroweyah just
East 12- 15 goals
Happy punting!:thumbsu:
iwantanotherflag
10 May 2007, 11:26
My tips for the weekend are:-
Picola to upset Tunga by no less than 10 points
Waaia 6 goals over Blighty
Dookie by 6 - 8 goals
Berrigan to chalk up it first win by less than 2 goals
Kats 10-12 goals over Kati
Yarroweyah just
East 12- 15 goals
Happy punting!:thumbsu:
Tungamah over Picola, they play well at home.
Waaia to show Blighty a thing or two.
Dookie over Strathy
Katunga and Berrigan??? Who can read these two teams?
Us over Katty
Mathoura could beat Yarroweyah but too many guys out.
Shepp East over Wunghnu, lots of goals before they 'flood'
Deni Rovers to have their 2nd bye in 6 weeks, could be a worry for them later on! Must have been a hard draw to crunch together! Shepp East had 2 byes in a row last year!
rabsy323
10 May 2007, 11:50
Rumor has it that ex-Dookie Best and Fairest Charlie Edmonston is in talks with Dookie United and is set to return to the club mid year as he is returning to study at the uni.
Lazy HJ
10 May 2007, 12:06
Tungamah over Picola, they play well at home.
Waaia to show Blighty a thing or two.
Dookie over Strathy
Katunga and Berrigan??? Who can read these two teams?
Us over Katty
Mathoura could beat Yarroweyah but too many guys out.
Shepp East over Wunghnu, lots of goals before they 'flood'
Deni Rovers to have their 2nd bye in 6 weeks, could be a worry for them later on! Must have been a hard draw to crunch together! Shepp East had 2 byes in a row last year!
It would of been a very hard draw to nut out. Rumor has it that the bye has come at the right time for Deni. They have had 5-6 out the last 3 weeks with injuries. Most of them maybe could of come back last week but decided to wait til after the bye. Long run home though for them. Nothing better than a mid year bye. Maybe the queens birthday should be a league bye so that everyone can enjoy so relaxation time.
Rascal99
10 May 2007, 13:08
It would of been a very hard draw to nut out. Rumor has it that the bye has come at the right time for Deni. They have had 5-6 out the last 3 weeks with injuries. Most of them maybe could of come back last week but decided to wait til after the bye. Long run home though for them. Nothing better than a mid year bye. Maybe the queens birthday should be a league bye so that everyone can enjoy so relaxation time.
Who were the five guys out ova the last three weeks???:confused: :confused:
Lazy HJ
10 May 2007, 13:22
Who were the five guys out ova the last three weeks???:confused: :confused:
Unsure of all names. I know Benji Hardman missed last week and Aiden Jenkins has been out for a while. The others i am told are senior players. Whether they are in the top tier of players or middle range players i am unsure.
iwantanotherflag
10 May 2007, 14:57
I think this years draw is great. Play 4 local teams twice. Good for competition and good for the gate $$$.
Long road home for Deni. The critics are just waiting for the Rovers to fall over... how long can they keep them at bay?
All teams should have played the four teams that they will play again by now.
eagle 3
10 May 2007, 17:04
hey guys. see that the bushies have the bye this week. wondering if john walker will be able to play aginst Tungamah. wood be handy if this was the case. give the blues forward line more options.
i think this because all i ever hear about wunghnu is negayive stuff liek how they get 15 ppl to training, snipe behind the play, plus their on field preformances the last few year have been nothing to exciting
smooth mover
10 May 2007, 18:15
i think this because all i ever hear about wunghnu is negayive stuff liek how they get 15 ppl to training, snipe behind the play, plus their on field preformances the last few year have been nothing to exciting
Well thats because thats how everyone likes to talk about the club instead of giving us a go!! for starters this year i think only twice have we had only 15 on the track, the rest have been 25+! secondly the sniping you are probably refering to that you would have recenctly read in these pages was done by a player of another club to 1 of our players & breaking his jaw, there is currently an investigation going on against that player & last of all the on field performances, well i've only been there since last year so any performances before then i can't comment on, but even though we weren't winning games last year i would say that we were a fair bit more competetive than recent years, but I would say that it will still take a few more years before we step up to the more competeive range! So hopefully this has helped with your thoughts on the club!
Well thats because thats how everyone likes to talk about the club instead of giving us a go!! for starters this year i think only twice have we had only 15 on the track, the rest have been 25+! secondly the sniping you are probably refering to that you would have recenctly read in these pages was done by a player of another club to 1 of our players & breaking his jaw, there is currently an investigation going on against that player & last of all the on field performances, well i've only been there since last year so any performances before then i can comment on, but even though we weren't winning games last year i would say that we were a fair bit more competetive than recent years, but I would say that it will still take a few more years before we step up to the very competeive range! So hopefully this has helped with your thoughts on the club!
na fairenuf smooth, i was only going on wat i was told, but uve written the record straight and all is good, thanks mate
smooth mover
10 May 2007, 18:26
On Wunghnu, why are the back of the jumpers all black? Shouldn't there be stripes?? Was harder than normal to pick up who was who.
Yeah your right, i think there should be stripes down the bottom then the numbers should be black (instead of white) & the back ground to the numbers should be white! That would make it a little easier to distinguish when looking at their backs between our two clubs! What you think?
smooth mover
10 May 2007, 18:29
na fairenuf smooth, i was only going on wat i was told, but uve written the record straight and all is good, thanks mate
no dramas mate! Thats what its all about, gotta ask questions to find out info! so what team do you follow or play for?
iwantanotherflag
10 May 2007, 22:40
Yeah your right, i think there should be stripes down the bottom then the numbers should be black (instead of white) & the back ground to the numbers should be white! That would make it a little easier to distinguish when looking at their backs between our two clubs! What you think?
Get onto Eddie McGuire, let him know about your situation and that you are on the up. I am sure he could help organise a new set of jumpers to help out!!!
Great to see a guy like Cassa back at his home club, class act! Timmis lead by example and got lots of the hard footy. Wunghnu got lots of the footy in the centre.
In 2005 I think we kicked 50 goals against Wunghnu, and for other than the guys that kicked a bag, the rest of the game was boring. Everyone wants competitive footy so lets hope the Pies keep improving!! :thumbsu:
smooth mover
10 May 2007, 23:34
Get onto Eddie McGuire, let him know about your situation and that you are on the up. I am sure he could help organise a new set of jumpers to help out!!!
Great to see a guy like Cassa back at his home club, class act! Timmis lead by example and got lots of the hard footy. Wunghnu got lots of the footy in the centre.
In 2005 I think we kicked 50 goals against Wunghnu, and for other than the guys that kicked a bag, the rest of the game was boring. Everyone wants competitive footy so lets hope the Pies keep improving!! :thumbsu:
Yeah good to see timmo get back into some form that we know he can do, easily his best game for the club! Also it is good to see cassa come back to play here, hopefully it lasts longer than 1 season! While we're on the subject of people coming back to their home club maybe you's could hand brad cordy over for a year or two to help out our progress, seeing as though he did win a fourth's B & F for us! think you could run that by the committe!!?? :rolleyes: cheers, good luck against sat!
iwantanotherflag
11 May 2007, 00:29
Yeah good to see timmo get back into some form that we know he can do, easily his best game for the club! Also it is good to see cassa come back to play here, hopefully it lasts longer than 1 season! While we're on the subject of people coming back to their home club maybe you's could hand brad cordy over for a year or two to help out our progress, seeing as though he did win a fourth's B & F for us! think you could run that by the committe!!?? :rolleyes: cheers, good luck against sat!
Cords won the 3rds league medal when at Wunghnu. Cords is moving to SA after this season, so we will both miss out on him. Chris Quaife has been with us for a while now, not many guys play against their old man!!
You have Nudge, Redda, Barnesy, Ashdown and the Clarke family from us! But I guess you would swap them all for Cords??
Here's some ex Wunghnu names for ya! Ralphy, Nick Tyack, Ebborn's, Ricky Thomas, Hodgetts, Cordy. Could you squeeze them in?
smooth mover
11 May 2007, 13:52
Cords won the 3rds league medal when at Wunghnu. Cords is moving to SA after this season, so we will both miss out on him. Chris Quaife has been with us for a while now, not many guys play against their old man!!
You have Nudge, Redda, Barnesy, Ashdown and the Clarke family from us! But I guess you would swap them all for Cords??
Here's some ex Wunghnu names for ya! Ralphy, Nick Tyack, Ebborn's, Ricky Thomas, Hodgetts, Cordy. Could you squeeze them in?
yeah knew it was 1 of them 3rds or 4ths! not alot of people get the chance to line up on their old man, Quaifey snr was guna have a run last sat had his son not hurt his hammy or quad or what eva it was, would've been funny to see! they some good kids coming up (nudge, redda, now little kev clarke) through the ranks! now we got 2 different clarke family's out here! & yeah they were some pretty handy ex wunghnu names you mentioned there, pretty sure we could fit them in, but club policy they would have to come up through the 2's!!! :D
no dramas mate! Thats what its all about, gotta ask questions to find out info! so what team do you follow or play for?
na mate dont play in pdfl but i have family in mathoura that play for the timbercutters, so i try to get up and watch a couple games a year and just check scores on the internet etc etc, good luck for the rest of the season:thumbsu:
pace to freeze
11 May 2007, 18:06
I'll throw it out there, and put the top 6 in order of how I think the ladder will finish!
East
Waaia
Kats
Picola
Tunga boys
Dookie unt
With the top 3 fighting it out for percentage, also the bottom 3-5 (eg.Blighty & Deni) just missing out on percentage maybe???????:confused: ???
I might try my luck as to positions after the finals have been completed, with the final spot questionable.
Kats, premiers ( have improved in right areas )
East ( have seen and thought had declined a little )
Picola ( improvement with Priddle, Brunt's last season )
Tunga ( ageing, injury free may play off in granny )
Dookie / Mathoura / Katunga/ Waaia( will fight for the final, 6th spot , have all started sluggish with reasons, should beat all sides below them and compete with those above )
Deni ( better than expected start, only need possibly 6 more wins, do not
believe they will beat any of the above sides for rest of year,
especially if they get a couple of injuries, but have the runs on
board )
roughie : Yarraweah - have had a favourable draw again this season which sees them with three already on the board. Katty, Wunghnu, Berrigan all at home. Interestingly it appears last season they played Wunghnu and Berrigan twice also, nothing against those clubs but they finished 16th and 15th, an absolutely amazing coincidence.
Pearce Medal
Schouller - appears a good fellow and is hard not to notice.
Germano , Deni, should poll OK.
pace to freeze
11 May 2007, 18:14
Round Six
Tunga- Picola(@ home) by a couple
Waaia- Blighty ( wooden out hamstring ) 4 goals
Dookie-Strathy ( have turned corner ) by 10 goals
Katunga- Berrigan ( just, Berrigan building ) 10 points
Katandra-Katty by 15 goals
Yarraweah - Mathoura( dita Dookie, injuries ??) 10 goals
Shepp East- Wunghnu (deadly at home) 20 goals
smooth mover
11 May 2007, 20:49
I might try my luck as to positions after the finals have been completed, with the final spot questionable.
Kats, premiers ( have improved in right areas )
East ( have seen and thought had declined a little )
Picola ( improvement with Priddle, Brunt's last season )
Tunga ( ageing, injury free may play off in granny )
Dookie / Mathoura / Katunga/ Waaia( will fight for the final, 6th spot , have all started sluggish with reasons, should beat all sides below them and compete with those above )
Deni ( better than expected start, only need possibly 6 more wins, do not
believe they will beat any of the above sides for rest of year,
especially if they get a couple of injuries, but have the runs on
board )
roughie : Yarraweah - have had a favourable draw again this season which sees them with three already on the board. Katty, Wunghnu, Berrigan all at home. Interestingly it appears last season they played Wunghnu and Berrigan twice also, nothing against those clubs but they finished 16th and 15th, an absolutely amazing coincidence.
Pearce Medal
Schouller - appears a good fellow and is hard not to notice.
Germano , Deni, should poll OK.
yeah it seems as though yarra get a fair bit of LUCK in the league! obviously got the right people batting for them!
Hotdog Vendor
13 May 2007, 01:06
just wondering if a heath plattfuss is still playing at Picola? if so, how is he going?
God's Country
13 May 2007, 04:17
after 2 seasons as best and fairest at Mooroopna in the under 18's and a year at senior footy, some would consider that his decision to tell Derek Hall to ride Motorcross and play occasional footy at the magpies is a massive let down for a kid with massive footy ability, lets not be 2 disappointed when he returns to the Cattery with renewed zest for a huge footy career in the GV.
pace to freeze
13 May 2007, 08:47
just wondering if a heath plattfuss is still playing at Picola? if so, how is he going?
Yes and is a good consistant goer
watched dookie v strathy game and i think dookie mite be a little overated, they r a good side with plenty of pace and fire power up forward but i didnt think they were that good, they could of easily have lost if it wasnt for strathy making mistakes at crucial times and switching off in last quarter. dont no about dookie but from what i heard strathy had 3-4 of there top 10 players out.
Marto121
13 May 2007, 12:20
watched dookie v strathy game and i think dookie mite be a little overated, they r a good side with plenty of pace and fire power up forward but i didnt think they were that good, they could of easily have lost if it wasnt for strathy making mistakes at crucial times and switching off in last quarter. dont no about dookie but from what i heard strathy had 3-4 of there top 10 players out.
Dookie were also missing Leigh Hepner, Brent Loughnan, Daniel Le Brocq and Matt Kitto
Hotdog Vendor
13 May 2007, 12:40
Thanks Pace to Freeze.
Have heard that he is an aggressive player that loves to throw his weight around.
Hands Open
13 May 2007, 14:47
Dookie were also missing Leigh Hepner, Brent Loughnan, Daniel Le Brocq and Matt Kitto
...as well as Shane Weatherley and Daniel Beard