View Full Version : Picola District football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

theintimidator
13 May 2007, 17:28
watched dookie v strathy game and i think dookie mite be a little overated, they r a good side with plenty of pace and fire power up forward but i didnt think they were that good, they could of easily have lost if it wasnt for strathy making mistakes at crucial times and switching off in last quarter. dont no about dookie but from what i heard strathy had 3-4 of there top 10 players out.

Strathy are missing Will Power, Adam Cleary, Si Cole, Beau Maidment, Brad Carter and a number of guys carrying injury and still playing due to their lack of depth in the 2's. All in all the game could have gone either way at 3/4 time but dookie kept their concentration solid when strathy dropped the bundle over a very dubious umpiring descsions. Match up of the day was the Ruckmen Adam Graham V Jimmy Emanuali both rucking well but Graham more mobile around the ground. Also thought that Dale Osborne got taught a thing or two by John Brunskill.

Marto121
13 May 2007, 18:38
Strathy are missing Will Power, Adam Cleary, Si Cole, Beau Maidment, Brad Carter and a number of guys carrying injury and still playing due to their lack of depth in the 2's. All in all the game could have gone either way at 3/4 time but dookie kept their concentration solid when strathy dropped the bundle over a very dubious umpiring descsions. Match up of the day was the Ruckmen Adam Graham V Jimmy Emanuali both rucking well but Graham more mobile around the ground. Also thought that Dale Osborne got taught a thing or two by John Brunskill.

You say that as if he's a bad bloke. He's a good coach and a good player and all the players reckon he's great. Had a blinder a few weeks ago.

iwantanotherflag
13 May 2007, 18:44

JB has handed out many lessons over the years! Has been the best CHB of the league for many years. Even now in the twilight of his great career will continue to show CHF a thing or two! As a regular CHB myself I do like the way he goes about the gig.

toquick
14 May 2007, 10:46
I was at the game and there is no way that JB gave Ozzie a lesson. I thought it was a pretty even contest!Ozzie went into the middle in the last quarter and provided some grunt for Dookie. We still havent played our best footy and probably wont for a few more weeks. Everyone is still learning about each others style of game and we have had 5 senior players out every week thus far.Matty Kitto should play his first game for the club against Picola this weekend coming which is a big inclusion.

hectomorphic
14 May 2007, 12:45
I was at the game and there is no way that JB gave Ozzie a lesson. I thought it was a pretty even contest!Ozzie went into the middle in the last quarter and provided some grunt for Dookie. We still havent played our best footy and probably wont for a few more weeks. Everyone is still learning about each others style of game and we have had 5 senior players out every week thus far.Matty Kitto should play his first game for the club against Picola this weekend coming which is a big inclusion.

It would appear that before dookie become serious contenders they will need to learn each others strengths and weaknesses as when pressure was applied the 'team' started to break down though there was some classy individuals. As the season progresses they will mould and become a better team for the experience. Strathy by the sounds of it will need to look to their two's to add depth to the squad. A fit full team will be competitive and as the season goes on I think the dogs will also improve greatly.

Lazy HJ
14 May 2007, 13:33
I might try my luck as to positions after the finals have been completed, with the final spot questionable.

Kats, premiers ( have improved in right areas )
East ( have seen and thought had declined a little )
Picola ( improvement with Priddle, Brunt's last season )
Tunga ( ageing, injury free may play off in granny )
Dookie / Mathoura / Katunga/ Waaia( will fight for the final, 6th spot , have all started sluggish with reasons, should beat all sides below them and compete with those above )
Deni ( better than expected start, only need possibly 6 more wins, do not
believe they will beat any of the above sides for rest of year,
especially if they get a couple of injuries, but have the runs on
board )

roughie : Yarraweah - have had a favourable draw again this season which sees them with three already on the board. Katty, Wunghnu, Berrigan all at home. Interestingly it appears last season they played Wunghnu and Berrigan twice also, nothing against those clubs but they finished 16th and 15th, an absolutely amazing coincidence.

Pearce Medal
Schouller - appears a good fellow and is hard not to notice.
Germano , Deni, should poll OK.

Not keen on Blighty's chances pace ?? They will finish higher that Mathoura as will Deni IMO. I think Waaia will might finish in the top 3. Very well drilled side. BOunced back well after last week. Good sides can put a dissapointing performance behind them and move on. As Picola has done since the Deni game. Not sure on Dookie yet. Schouller is a little hard not to notice but does come with a fair bit of expectations, which will not help his chances.

Big Wheel
14 May 2007, 14:10
It would appear that before dookie become serious contenders they will need to learn each others strengths and weaknesses as when pressure was applied the 'team' started to break down though there was some classy individuals. As the season progresses they will mould and become a better team for the experience. Strathy by the sounds of it will need to look to their two's to add depth to the squad. A fit full team will be competitive and as the season goes on I think the dogs will also improve greatly.

Yeah but Strathy improving may have to be delayed for another couple of weeks as they are taking on Katandra this week then Shepp East.
I wish them good luck but I dont see them being competitive until after the East game when they play wunghnu. But that still doesn't mean they will win. The maggies will push them considering Sthathy's injuries

smallfootyhead
14 May 2007, 18:27
Does anyone else agree that Toquick is the coach of Dookie???? since we havent seen DiamondDave for a long time??

hank1
14 May 2007, 19:00
Does anyone else agree that Toquick is the coach of Dookie???? since we havent seen DiamondDave for a long time??

no.....

smooth mover
14 May 2007, 19:27
Just to let everyone know that this thursday night the Wunghnu Football Club are having billy brownless from the footy show there with THE WHEEL! We were given confirmation today by channel 9!! So if your in the area & not doing much (or have just finished footy training) drop out to the club & have a look!!

smooth mover
14 May 2007, 19:33

Nah toquick isn't the coach, i'm pretty sure of that!!

iwantanotherflag
14 May 2007, 19:39
Just to let everyone know that this thursday night the Wunghnu Football Club are having billy brownless from the footy show there with THE WHEEL! We were given confirmation today by channel 9!! So if your in the area & not doing much (or have just finished footy training) drop out to the club & have a look!!

Great news! Should be a few there!

iwantanotherflag
14 May 2007, 19:39
Nah toquick isn't the coach, i'm pretty sure of that!!

I'll second that. But he does play there.

smooth mover
14 May 2007, 20:41
Great news! Should be a few there!

Yeah hopefully! I'm mainly looking forward to seeing the big fella in action after he has a few (lots) of his beloved frothies!!

sparra
15 May 2007, 08:32

How long do we have to wait for Dookie to Gel? what a load of crap. I reckon they have been training since Jan, so almost 5 months, and if you spend a bit of time with someone surely you must get to know there strengths and weaknesses.
I don't spend that much time with my missus, but I reckon I know her strengths, especially when I get home late.

toquick
15 May 2007, 09:00
How long do we have to wait for Dookie to Gel? what a load of crap. I reckon they have been training since Jan, so almost 5 months, and if you spend a bit of time with someone surely you must get to know there strengths and weaknesses.
I don't spend that much time with my missus, but I reckon I know her strengths, especially when I get home late.
Its hard to gel when you have got 5 of your better players out every week. Matty Kitto, Shane Weatherly and Leigh Hapner all are still yet to play a game and they are definantly in our best 21.

balls
15 May 2007, 09:16
Its hard to gel when you have got 5 of your better players out every week. Matty Kitto, Shane Weatherly and Leigh Hapner all are still yet to play a game and they are definantly in our best 21.
All i have heard from Dookie players and supporters all pre season is that we are gonna be unreal, watch out for us, we have this player and that player...Now all im hearing is exuses. What do ya think your the only bloody team with players out! Wake up mate you arnt that good and i cant see that improving any time soon sorry.Dont get me wrong I dont want your club to fail but at this point in time you are going to if you keep coming up with exuses and not sollutions

sparra
15 May 2007, 09:27

Worrying about who you have out has never come into my way of thinking.
You take to the ground with what you have, and play to the best of your ability, without even thinking about who is missing from the team.
If, after the game you are standing around havin a drink, and realise that you still have 4 or 5 good ones to come back in, look at it as a bonus. You cannot set your season up on who you have missing, or who you have to come in, go with what you have got.

jetter18
15 May 2007, 09:33
All i have heard from Dookie players and supporters all pre season is that we are gonna be unreal, watch out for us, we have this player and that player...Now all im hearing is exuses. What do ya think your the only bloody team with players out! Wake up mate you arnt that good and i cant see that improving any time soon sorry.Dont get me wrong I dont want your club to fail but at this point in time you are going to if you keep coming up with exuses and not sollutions

Good call i would think every team in the league has players out but we are not hearing about it from them!!!

theintimidator
15 May 2007, 09:35
You say that as if he's a bad bloke. He's a good coach and a good player and all the players reckon he's great. Had a blinder a few weeks ago.

No not a bad bloke at all. I played in the same team as ozzie a few years ago. But at the start of the season there was a huge hype around his move to Dookie from Shepp United along with Kitto, wheatherly and Emanueali (sorry about the spelling). This hype wasnt generated by him he is a fairly modest bloke but everyone seemed to be saying that he (and the other ex GV guys) would be perhaps too hard a task for picola leauge players but the two that played on saturday being Ozzie and Emanuali were definatly shown a thing or two by Brunskill and Graham. Maybe they had an off day or maybe the strathy guys played a blinder but at the end of the day they were not in dookies major contributers.

Big Wheel
15 May 2007, 10:08
Yeah hopefully! I'm mainly looking forward to seeing the big fella in action after he has a few (lots) of his beloved frothies!!

Yeah he wouldn't be a bad bloke to get on the piss with, but I think you'll find that Billy wont have any or many as he is on SEN (radio station) in the mornings down here in Melb.

Good luck with the wheel and hope you get a bit of money out of it !! :thumbsu:

Big Wheel
15 May 2007, 10:11
No not a bad bloke at all. I played in the same team as ozzie a few years ago. But at the start of the season there was a huge hype around his move to Dookie from Shepp United along with Kitto, wheatherly and Emanueali (sorry about the spelling). This hype wasnt generated by him he is a fairly modest bloke but everyone seemed to be saying that he (and the other ex GV guys) would be perhaps too hard a task for picola leauge players but the two that played on saturday being Ozzie and Emanuali were definatly shown a thing or two by Brunskill and Graham. Maybe they had an off day or maybe the strathy guys played a blinder but at the end of the day they were not in dookies major contributers.

So.... how have you been playing then Mr Maidment?

jetter18
15 May 2007, 11:38
So.... how have you been playing then Mr Maidment?
Sorry mate but i have been trying to work out who it is too and definately not Mr Maidment as he is away on holidays and wasnt there saturday and also played with Shepp Bears not United.....hmmm the guessing game continues

iwantanotherflag
15 May 2007, 12:23
How are teams enjoying playing the Kats and the Eagles in two consecutive weeks?

coconut
15 May 2007, 14:29
Where was Loughnan on the weekend? Spending too much time in the shower room in front of the mirror? Heard his hair was out of place on Saturday so he didn't play. Heard a rumour that O'Rourke wants his number back too.

Big Wheel
15 May 2007, 14:58
Sorry mate but i have been trying to work out who it is too and definately not Mr Maidment as he is away on holidays and wasnt there saturday and also played with Shepp Bears not United.....hmmm the guessing game continues

Sorry bloke it's not Maidment, Scott Iddles.

How have you been Mr Iddles

toquick
15 May 2007, 15:26

Worrying about who you have out has never come into my way of thinking.
You take to the ground with what you have, and play to the best of your ability, without even thinking about who is missing from the team.
If, after the game you are standing around havin a drink, and realise that you still have 4 or 5 good ones to come back in, look at it as a bonus. You cannot set your season up on who you have missing, or who you have to come in, go with what you have got.

Good call i would think every team in the league has players out but we are not hearing about it from them!!!

No one is uses excuses out at Dookie. We are sitting 3 wins with 2 losses which is one win from where ozzie wanted us to be at the start of the year.

Yeah i dont doubt that every club has players out aswell.

And whoever you are sitting there saying that ozzie and jimmy got taught a lesson you are talking nothing but b u l l s h i t.

Everyone can keep doubting us we dont mind. its extra insentive. The ppl that were on here raving and ranting about dookie pre season were not us players that are in the senior group either. We know every week is going to be a test for us doesnt matter if we are playing Wunghnu or Shepp east!

Skills01
15 May 2007, 16:37
...as well as Shane Weatherley and Daniel Beard

Matt Kitto - someone just refresh my memory, did he only play a small handfull of senior GV games, is he now heavier then when he was playing at United ?
Dookie are certainly pinning alot of their hopes on him and claiming him to be a "big inclusion" - Have a look at the calibre of players like Steven Scott, Adam Brunt, Nathan White etc who all play in the midfield, do you think he can keep up ?
The kid has got some skill but would not consider him a game breaker.

toquick
15 May 2007, 16:46
Matt Kitto - someone just refresh my memory, did he only play a small handfull of senior GV games, is he now heavier then when he was playing at United ?
Dookie are certainly pinning alot of their hopes on him and claiming him to be a "big inclusion" - Have a look at the calibre of players like Steven Scott, Adam Brunt, Nathan White etc who all play in the midfield, do you think he can keep up ?
The kid has got some skill but would not consider him a game breaker.
I think you will find he is a big inclusion for our side when he finally gets his string right. We arent pinning all our hopes on him but he is a part of our teams structure,he isnt a player that needs to keep up he is an in and under type so he will be fine.We will find out on Saturday though!
I might be wrong but i think he played more then a hand full of senior GV games.

iwantanotherflag
15 May 2007, 17:34
Who cares who won out of JB and Ossy or Emmanuelli & Dogsy Graham?? Dookie won the game, did they not? I have heard enough!

smooth mover
15 May 2007, 18:22
Yeah he wouldn't be a bad bloke to get on the piss with, but I think you'll find that Billy wont have any or many as he is on SEN (radio station) in the mornings down here in Melb.

Good luck with the wheel and hope you get a bit of money out of it !! :thumbsu:

Yeah, i've got a mate who plays at barnawartha where billy did his first wheel this year, he said that billy was there till after midnight still on the turps, either way yeah it should hopefully be a great night! he's a funny prick pissed or not! cheers :thumbsu:

iwantanotherflag
15 May 2007, 18:58
Really wanting to know how the league is going to be split for 2007. Haven't heard much news about it recently. Presuming they will all stay south of the Murray??

iwantanotherflag
15 May 2007, 19:41
Just for kicks... how do you think this would work???

3rds & 4ths might be a problem though!

Shepp/Ky FL: Ardmona, Dookie United, Girgarre, Katandra, Lancaster, Merrigum, Murchison, Rushworth, Shepp East, Stanhope, Tally, Undera

Southern Riv FL: Berrigan, Billabong Crows, Blighty, Coleambally, Deni Rovers, Jerilderie, Mathoura, Rennie

Picola FL: Katamatite, Katunga, Picola United, Strathy, Tungamah, Waaia, Wunghnu, Yarroweyah

Strathbogie FL: Alexandra, Avenel, Bonnie Doon, Goorambat, Longwood, Nagambie, Swanpool, Tatong, Thornton-Eildon, Violet Town, Yea

theintimidator
15 May 2007, 20:31
Sorry bloke it's not Maidment, Scott Iddles.

How have you been Mr Iddles

Ha ha does scott iddles even know how to turn a computer on???

theintimidator
15 May 2007, 20:33

Shepp/Ky FL: Ardmona, Dookie United, Girgarre, Katandra, Lancaster, Merrigum, Murchison, Rushworth, Shepp East, Stanhope, Tally, Undera

Southern Riv FL: Berrigan, Billabong Crows, Blighty, Coleambally, Deni Rovers, Jerilderie, Mathoura, Rennie

Picola FL: Katamatite, Katunga, Picola United, Strathy, Tungamah, Waaia, Wunghnu, Yarroweyah

Strathbogie FL: Alexandra, Avenel, Bonnie Doon, Goorambat, Longwood, Nagambie, Swanpool, Tatong, Thornton-Eildon, Violet Town, Yea

Finally an idea that makes some sense. Although im still of the belief that shepp east should be a murray league side.

Oxygen Thief
15 May 2007, 21:09
Is it just me or is Xavier Kennedy one of the most overrated footballers going around?
If he's serious he should hit the gym and lose 25 kilos from his arse!

theintimidator
15 May 2007, 22:47
Is it just me or is Xavier Kennedy one of the most overrated footballers going around?

After a coment like that Id say that your tag name of "oxygen theif" is an appropriate one. Get a clue before posting fool!

its game on
15 May 2007, 22:51
Finally an idea that makes some sense. Although im still of the belief that shepp east should be a murray league side.

I agree

It might upset more than one, but SE are a big chance to win all 4 this year. No good for a "village "competition.

smooth mover
15 May 2007, 23:05

Yeah i also like the sound of that, the only thing i wouldn't mind changing is tally into the picola league? they're right on the border of our league as it is! this would also help, as you have got it now there is 12 in the SHEPP/KY League & only 8 in the PICOLA League, it would give both leagues an uneven amount 11 & 9 respectively! Which is good for a bye! We all know the body could use a week of during the season sometime!

Also I'm pretty sure it has been mentioned before but do you think it would work to have a relegation system between these two leagues? Seeing as though the travel in either league wouldn't be to much at all! (the furtherest possible travel i could see would be rushy to yarra, bout an 1hr 10 or so? That is if they ever end up in the same division?) The biggest problem here would be the fight over who is DIV 1 & who is DIV 2?

Can Shop
15 May 2007, 23:32
Just wondering who the standout players in the league are so far to this point of the season??

iwantanotherflag
16 May 2007, 10:40
Just wondering who the standout players in the league are so far to this point of the season??

Good to see you back Can Shop. Players creating a bit of hype this year are:

Schoullar (Blighty), Bode (Deni), Scott (Waaia), White (Katandra), Priddle (Picola), Ahmet (Shep East), Osborne & LeBrocq (Dookie)

They seem to be the names that keep coming up.

Oxygen Thief
16 May 2007, 11:49

Any bloke that has played on Xavier Kennedy so far...

toquick
16 May 2007, 11:50
I would say more Pete O'Donnell from Dookie, he has been in our best every week. Only player to do so at our club. Would agree with all your other selections.

Big Wheel
16 May 2007, 12:46
Yeah i also like the sound of that, the only thing i wouldn't mind changing is tally into the picola league? they're right on the border of our league as it is! this would also help, as you have got it now there is 12 in the SHEPP/KY League & only 8 in the PICOLA League, it would give both leagues an uneven amount 11 & 9 respectively! Which is good for a bye! We all know the body could use a week of during the season sometime!

Also I'm pretty sure it has been mentioned before but do you think it would work to have a relegation system between these two leagues? Seeing as though the travel in either league wouldn't be to much at all! (the furtherest possible travel i could see would be rushy to yarra, bout an 1hr 10 or so? That is if they ever end up in the same division?) The biggest problem here would be the fight over who is DIV 1 & who is DIV 2?

Yeah I like the relegation system !! :thumbsu:

To solve the problem of who would be in Div 1 and Div 2, you'd go off the ladder. Say if this relegation system happened next year you'd get the teams who finished in the top five of both the leagues in Div 1.

themagicfrog
16 May 2007, 15:30
Yeah I like the relegation system !! :thumbsu:

To solve the problem of who would be in Div 1 and Div 2, you'd go off the ladder. Say if this relegation system happened next year you'd get the teams who finished in the top five of both the leagues in Div 1.

the relegation system has been put forward many times with a combined MFL, PDFL and CDFL, 3 tier system. you would think that some one at the VCFL would listen to what the players and supporters want to happen.

Lazy HJ
16 May 2007, 16:41
the relegation system has been put forward many times with a combined MFL, PDFL and CDFL, 3 tier system. you would think that some one at the VCFL would listen to what the players and supporters want to happen.

Sorry is this has been said before but here we go. I dont think the league will split next year. Billabong crows are definatly not coming across to the PDFL. Their players ( mainly form the Albury area) have said that they will not travel. They are looking at joining the hume league. Blighty have said that they will not support the split and i think Mathoura and Rovers are in the same opinion. There will be a new option put forward that being that three or four of the CDFL teams join the PDFL and make a 18 - 19 team league, with a final 8. Everyone playes every one once. whether this works of not im not sure, but by the sounds of it Blighty, Deni and Mathoura are not supporting the split league are a a couple of the CDFL leagues. Wonder what the VCFL will do ???
The regulated leagues system with div 1 and div 2 will make it hard for the div 2 sides to recruit players IMO. There is enough trash talk now about major and minor leagues and the comparison. Imagine what it would be like is it was a major league a minor league and a minor minor league.

Uptheladder
16 May 2007, 16:42

Gee Oxygen Thief, what is your obsession with kennedy??:confused:

recapitalise
16 May 2007, 16:56
If Scott plays like last week I think he will be fantastic, Shannon has shown so great patches of form, DT I'm not sure yet and Bathman has only played half a game so far.
Griffith has shown that once he gets his hand on it he's fantastic, McKenzie is a real hard nut and goer and Watt is what we know he is.
With Goddard back looks that Bond will return also.

"watt is what we know he is"
what is this suppose to mean? i noticed he kicked a goal on the weekend,where have they been playing him up until this time as in melb he predominently played half fwd changing on ball and was a real in and under type very good at giving off the quick hands to running players in tough situations, down in melb was ear marked as one of the leaders of the reserves in the ammos, hows he been going there aren't they giving him much of a run as i see that mckenzie has been in the best a few times and watt is just as good a player as him and has better skills.

Big Wheel
16 May 2007, 17:24

Oi Oxygen Thief. Did Xavier towel you up or something?

Beleive it or not, he is actually a good bloke.

rubbishplayer
16 May 2007, 18:29
"watt is what we know he is"
what is this suppose to mean? i noticed he kicked a goal on the weekend,where have they been playing him up until this time as in melb he predominently played half fwd changing on ball and was a real in and under type very good at giving off the quick hands to running players in tough situations, down in melb was ear marked as one of the leaders of the reserves in the ammos, hows he been going there aren't they giving him much of a run as i see that mckenzie has been in the best a few times and watt is just as good a player as him and has better skills.

Recapalitise = watt, that is my tip. Being a saints supporter I can only comment on what I have seen and mckenzie getting in the best he has actually deserved them because he has got a s hitload of kicks and is probably the most physical player in the seniors team. While Watt may be more highly skilled than macca Berrigan is unable to see this becuase Watt hasnt got many kicks to back this up. And as for the goal he kicked on the weekend, was it not macca who kicked it to him? While Watt may have this repuatation down in Melbourne, why cant he prove it with the saints? As for them both being equal players, i know who id prefer to have in my side. Any thoughts Magic or other saints supporters

mercs
16 May 2007, 18:53

hey smoothy going to have burgers to feed Billy on the night

premiers07
16 May 2007, 19:54
sounds like all good ideas but what about the future of this league in the juniors.. kdfl only have under 18s and that isnt really suited to our junior system..

iwantanotherflag
16 May 2007, 20:08
Sorry is this has been said before but here we go. I dont think the league will split next year. Billabong crows are definatly not coming across to the PDFL. Their players ( mainly form the Albury area) have said that they will not travel. They are looking at joining the hume league. Blighty have said that they will not support the split and i think Mathoura and Rovers are in the same opinion. There will be a new option put forward that being that three or four of the CDFL teams join the PDFL and make a 18 - 19 team league, with a final 8. Everyone playes every one once. whether this works of not im not sure, but by the sounds of it Blighty, Deni and Mathoura are not supporting the split league are a a couple of the CDFL leagues. Wonder what the VCFL will do ???
The regulated leagues system with div 1 and div 2 will make it hard for the div 2 sides to recruit players IMO. There is enough trash talk now about major and minor leagues and the comparison. Imagine what it would be like is it was a major league a minor league and a minor minor league.

WOW. So only Jerilderie, Rennie & Coleambally will come across? Very easy to blame the VCFL, but teams tend to migrate. Leagues totally move. The Picola League now has Picola as one of its border teams. Same this happened to the Tungamah League. I know I have put up a few scenarios, surely us footy tragics can think of a good remedy for this situation. Leagues should have 9 or 10 teams. That way everyone can play everyone in 18 rounds.

There are 15 PDFL, 13 KDFL, 6 BDFL, 3 CDFL teams. Making 37 teams to distribute amongst the leagues. Alexandra & Thornton-Eildon would throw their hat into the ring. Making 39. Not sure about Broadford? That would make 40 teams to make into 4 leagues. Surely a better fit can be made??

iwantanotherflag
16 May 2007, 20:11
sounds like all good ideas but what about the future of this league in the juniors.. kdfl only have under 18s and that isnt really suited to our junior system..

The KDFL only has under 18's because that is what they have made available. Explain to me why an area like Nathalia, Picola, Katunga, Waaia, Numurkah, Strathy, Yarroweyah, Wunghnu can all field sides in 3rds & 4ths. Surely the KDFL teams could fill them aswell. If the opportunities are there the kids will come. I am sure everyone agrees that 4ths footy has a much better atsmosphere than any school footy comp, even at 9am!!

Lazy HJ
16 May 2007, 21:02
The KDFL only has under 18's because that is what they have made available. Explain to me why an area like Nathalia, Picola, Katunga, Waaia, Numurkah, Strathy, Yarroweyah, Wunghnu can all field sides in 3rds & 4ths. Surely the KDFL teams could fill them aswell. If the opportunities are there the kids will come. I am sure everyone agrees that 4ths footy has a much better atsmosphere than any school footy comp, even at 9am!!

Not blaming the VCFL at all. just explaining what i have heard. But it is up to the VCFL to decide what they think is the best option. As we have all heard there are many options and senairos out there. If the VCFL have one in mind then i think that that senairo will be the one adopted. Correct me if im wrong but didnt the MFL object to Rumbalarra coming into the league for a couple of years but the VCFL pushed them in. Im not sure of the best senairo for the PDFL. It use to work ok in the beginning and it seems to work ok now. Why change anything. It is a good problem to have, h aving too many teams in a league, makes it stronger. I know a lot of leagues that are struggling for sides due to mergers and clubs folding.

Who will win this weekend ? Any tips ? Whos got odds for the flag at this early stage ??

iwantanotherflag
16 May 2007, 21:11
Odds for the flag??? I dont think Sportsbet has come down to the PDFL yet. But you can bet on the GV.

Not really a punter, of course I think my team will win it, Shepp East & Waaia should be up there. I am not convinced on the Rovers, I don't think they have picked up enough players to go from bottom 3 to top 3, but I have been wrong before. Tungamah have had a real tough start to the year, three losses to three of the better teams but may enjoy not having the spot light on them. Picola are a good side, especially at home.

saints_rule23
16 May 2007, 22:29

You are right Big Wheel Xavier Kennedy is a top bloke
just leave him alone Oxygen Thief
kicked 8 the other week 4 in the last quarter an won the game for Katty against Katunga
most of the time attracts the other sides best player
has been playing abit all over the shop this year as well
seems as he has been around forever but is only 22 i think
started playing 1sts when he was about 15 years old
played his 100th match last weekend

theintimidator
17 May 2007, 08:16
This week some fairly straight forward games, perhaps Dookie V Picola or Deni V yarroweyah might produce an upset but i doubt it. Havent seen much of Deni yet. Anyone seem them play? are they as good as their ladder position or just a good draw?? Dont think Dookie will get over Picola unless they are able to produce 4/4 like their last 1/4 against strathy!

themagicfrog
17 May 2007, 09:38
Recapalitise = watt, that is my tip. Being a saints supporter I can only comment on what I have seen and mckenzie getting in the best he has actually deserved them because he has got a s hitload of kicks and is probably the most physical player in the seniors team. While Watt may be more highly skilled than macca Berrigan is unable to see this becuase Watt hasnt got many kicks to back this up. And as for the goal he kicked on the weekend, was it not macca who kicked it to him? While Watt may have this repuatation down in Melbourne, why cant he prove it with the saints? As for them both being equal players, i know who id prefer to have in my side. Any thoughts Magic or other saints supporters

I said what i said because Watt is a local player and didn't realy have anything to live up to as we know what he is capable of. He has been played in possys that he used to play when he was here. He did look o.k when he was up forward in the last quarter. Macca has been impressive so far and they kind of hard nut we need more of.

Albert Park
17 May 2007, 09:43

Does that include the bloke he kicked 8 on, ya knobhead. (Maybe it was you!!)

Lazy HJ
17 May 2007, 09:52
Tips for this week:

Blighty in a tight one.
Picola easily. I think Picola are the team to beat.
Waaia by 10 goals
Mathoura to win a close one.
Shepp East by a fair bit.
Deni by 4 goals
Katrandra by 10 goals

chicken machine
17 May 2007, 11:23
well i have no idea who recapitalise is but thanks for pumping up my tyres, mckenzie has much quicker acceleration than myself and im guessing thats why he has been getting more game time although would flog him in long distance, ive just been doing what im told and has resulted in limited game time and pretty much filling in the spots at the moment due to injuries, played pretty good for the 10mins i was in the fwd line in the last qtr, would love to continue playing up forward will just have to wait and see what happens. as for being hard at the footy id say i can hit anyone just as hard as macca its just when you sit on the pine for 3qtrs you dont get much of a chance to bump shoulders if you know what i mean, and with regard to the other spots ive played in during the yr you can't really lay a bloke out for no reason that would be a reportable offence.

iwantanotherflag
17 May 2007, 12:05
Berrigan... why are you bagging your own players?

homebake
17 May 2007, 12:26
Berrigan... why are you bagging your own players?

I wantanotherflag, i wreckon the Berrigan boys are having a bit of friendly banter between them, just quielty i wreckon they are all mates, and being a berrigan player myself its prob good that they trying to rev each other up because it takes the focus off us not having a win yet. Definently not baggin each other out, been no standouts this year for us, but hopefully we will gel soon. And Watto, just relax mate your time will come.

BACKS SORE!
17 May 2007, 14:15
Tips this week are:-

Tunga boys - 5 goals
Picola unt - 4 points
Kat's - 10 goals (not with out a dip from the dogs first!)
Timercutters - 2 goals (hard to pick that one)
Waaia - 15 goals
East- 10 goals (maybe more if they can shrug Kati off early)
Yarra - 1point ( an upset maybe?)

Happy punting:thumbsu:

Danny MacGill
17 May 2007, 14:19
Katandra $3.25
Shepp East $4
Waiaa $4.25
Picola $5.50
Dookie $9
Tungamah $11
Deniliquin $13
Blighty $17
Mathoura $31
Katamatite $51
Strathy $51
Yarroweyah $51
Katunga $51
Berrigan $51
Wunghnu $101

iwantanotherflag
17 May 2007, 14:37
Katandra $3.25
Shepp East $4
Waiaa $4.25
Picola $5.50
Dookie $9
Tungamah $11
Deniliquin $13
Blighty $17
Mathoura $31
Katamatite $51
Strathy $51
Yarroweyah $51
Katunga $51
Berrigan $51
Wunghnu $101

Lets say I put $1000 on each of the top 3. If Katandra gets up I will still be $500 up. If Shepp East gets up $1000 up and if the Bombers take it out $1250 up. Try shortening the odds a little. Considering those three clubs have won every flag since 2002!

Shepp East $1.80
Waaia $1.85
Katandra $ I won't put one in
Picola $1.95
Dookie $5
Tungamah $5.05
Deni $7
Blighty $10
The rest: Not this year.

iwantanotherflag
17 May 2007, 14:43
I wantanotherflag, i wreckon the Berrigan boys are having a bit of friendly banter between them, just quielty i wreckon they are all mates, and being a berrigan player myself its prob good that they trying to rev each other up because it takes the focus off us not having a win yet. Definently not baggin each other out, been no standouts this year for us, but hopefully we will gel soon. And Watto, just relax mate your time will come.

No worries.
Is Turner not a big user of the bench? To increase competitiveness you must have clinical rotations on the pine. Players must know that if they are on the pine it won't be for longer than 10 mins. Remove the stigma of being dragged, get off and then get on. You are no good to the team having a rest on the ground and getting nowhere near it.

toquick
17 May 2007, 14:56
Wouldnt you have Tungamah above us (dookie), they proved themselves last year. We are yet to beat a top tear side and show that we are a contender.

homebake
17 May 2007, 15:38
No worries.
Is Turner not a big user of the bench? To increase competitiveness you must have clinical rotations on the pine. Players must know that if they are on the pine it won't be for longer than 10 mins. Remove the stigma of being dragged, get off and then get on. You are no good to the team having a rest on the ground and getting nowhere near it.

During the quarters since Turner is playing obviously he has no control of the Bench or rotations that go on during the quarter but during the breaks obviously makes the decisions. Previously I havent noticed the bench too much to be honest, however against Katunga I did notice a fair rotation during the quarters because of the pace of the game and the unusually hot conditions meant rotations had to be made. While some players on this forum may complain about being on the bench, when they hit the ground they have a chance to prove there worth to the side. This goes for ALL sides not just ours. The stigma of being on the bench will always remain whether your off for a breather or dragged for poor performance no one likes going off the ground. And as for Waaia beating us by 10-15 goals this weekend.. dont count on it, it will be a much tougher and harder game than most are expecting.

iwantanotherflag
17 May 2007, 15:46
Wouldnt you have Tungamah above us (dookie), they proved themselves last year. We are yet to beat a top tear side and show that we are a contender.

At the moment? No, but Tungamah have still plenty of class and Putamorsi must have a huge hunger to get a premiership. I rate Dookie highly but I also know that you can never ever underestimate the Bears.

themagicfrog
17 May 2007, 16:26

That would be right Homebake, nothing better then to talk Berrigan up, then we will talk it up even more when we have a win:D
It's great to see you posting on here Homebake and not just reading.

woof woof
17 May 2007, 17:18
The Tyntynder F.C in the Central Murray Football League (previously Mid Murray Football League) is having a reunion this weekend 18th, 19th & 20th of May at their clubrooms in Swan Hill. We will be acknowleging the premiership sides of the mid 80's but any player, supporter etc is welcome to attend this great weekend. If you would like more info you can contact keg18wilson@hotmail.com or ring the clubrooms on 03 50322974

chicken38
17 May 2007, 20:17
That would be right Homebake, nothing better then to talk Berrigan up, then we will talk it up even more when we have a win:D
It's great to see you posting on here Homebake and not just reading.i didnt think home bake could read magic
:thumbsu:

Danny MacGill
17 May 2007, 22:28
Lets say I put $1000 on each of the top 3. If Katandra gets up I will still be $500 up. If Shepp East gets up $1000 up and if the Bombers take it out $1250 up. Try shortening the odds a little. Considering those three clubs have won every flag since 2002!

Shepp East $1.80
Waaia $1.85
Katandra $ I won't put one in
Picola $1.95
Dookie $5
Tungamah $5.05
Deni $7
Blighty $10
The rest: Not this year.
Your odds are way too short.
There's no way i'd rate Any of Shepp East Waiaa or Picola a more than 50/50 chance yet you have them all odds on.
There's 4 class sides and 2 unknown quantity's in Dookie and Deni, the others won't win unless they improve dramatically.
Tungamah will be competitive but i don't think they can win 3 or 4 crunch games in a row.

homebake
18 May 2007, 09:54
i didnt think home bake could read magic
:thumbsu:

Chicken i so too can read im like at a 3rd grade level and my mum says im very bright and shes proud of me. Chicken38 you playing on the weekend? Better be. Yeah Magic had to Post coz when I see my name getting compared to my best mates considering we are 2 diff players i gots to have a say! Anyway this weeks tips:

Blighty
Dookie
Berrigan v Waaia...I aint saying nothing
Katandra
Katunga
Shepp East
Deni Rovers

themagicfrog
18 May 2007, 10:37
Chicken i so too can read im like at a 3rd grade level and my mum says im very bright and shes proud of me. Chicken38 you playing on the weekend? Better be. Yeah Magic had to Post coz when I see my name getting compared to my best mates considering we are 2 diff players i gots to have a say! Anyway this weeks tips:

Blighty
Dookie
Katandra
Katunga
Shepp East
Deni Rovers

The Chicken size 38 has been named in the earlier match, some different tips Homebake, but I cant say to much as I'm not going to well in the spectator!

chicken machine
18 May 2007, 10:46
No worries.

As Homebake said its pretty hard when you're on the groud all game to make changes and see everyone from an objective perspective and make the right changes at the right time. also its his first yr as a coach so im guessing it will be a very steep learning curve for turner, but at least he's giving it a shot and trying his best, and with our list not having a great deal of depth i guess it also makes it hard to make the rotations you speak of, although it would provide the ideal learning environment for the younger final yr 3rds boys that will most likely be playing in the ones next yr, yarroweyah did this quite well and so did blighty, from what i saw.should be a tough tussle with the boys from waiaa or however you spell it, i'm guessing there will be a fair bit of banter between a few of the boys with ads and happy having played for berrigan before just hope someone can contain their full forward (meyland?) so it can be a decent battle, im going to tip the saints in a nail biter on the home turf by 3 points, also the dude whos doing the odds, mate you need to go to booky classes otherwise you will end up bankrupt three times over. i'd have the top three teams at about $1.05.
all the best to everyone this weekend should be a good weekend for wet weather footy with a few of the old chest marks coming out of the wood work and go the Sainters!

bradrowe#32
18 May 2007, 12:45
For toquick.

KATANDRA
B: Kennedy, H. Thompson, W. Wilkie.
HB: Bertoli, Cordy, Lambourn.
C: Ireland, Sprunt, D. Sidebottom.
HF: White, Riordan, Cook.
F: Hopkins, Dudgeon, Lawless.
Foll: M. Sidebottom, G. Teague, W. Teague.
Inter: Ford, K. Wilkie, C. Thompson.

KATUNGA
B: C. Harris, A. Howden, T. Few.
HB: D. Peddermont, F. Russo, L. Few.
C: T. Hinck, C. Carkeek, R. Duffy.
HF: J. Hodgkin, D. Jenkins, H. Fox.
F: N. Howden, I. Phillips, B. McNamara.
Foll: M. Keane, M. Harvey, M. John.
Inter: B. Crowther, M. O'Callaghan, P. Lahm.

SHEPPARTON EAST
B: M. Frost, D. Whitehead, C. Cirillo.
HB: T. Keady, B. Mellington, S. Ahmet.
C: M. Rachele, V. Zampaglione, M. Coad.
HF: C. Burke, C. Keady, S. Marchment.
F: G. Segrave, G. Clohesy, C. Pearson.
Foll: P. Fantini, T. Graham, T. Topp.
Inter: M. Kelly, J. Aynsley, L. Ceechin.

PICOLA UNITED
To be selected from: D. Atkinson, S. Baxter, D. Birch, A. Bray, A. Brunt, B. Byrne, M. Byrne, A. Corry, D. Daniel, M. Daniel, S. Evans, A. Holyman, D. Holyman, T. Johnstone, S. Miles, T. Muir, R. Myers, H. Plattfuss, R. Priddle, J. Thompson, D. Trenerry.

STRATHMERTON
To be selected from: T. Bramich, J. Brunskill, S. Cole, B. Davis, J. DeAngelis, M. Dunstan, S. Edgar, N. Foote, A. Graham, D. Henderson, P. Henderson, A. Luci, J. Luci, A. Maskell Dunstan, R. Powles, S. Powles, D. Ryan, B. Shannon, M. Shannon, P. Thorne, S. Thorne.

KATAMATITE
To be selected from: A. Aldridge, S. Ash, T. Bye, B. Clurey, G. Edis, D. Farrant, G. Feldtmann, S. Feldtmann, K. Hamson, P. Hollands, X. Kennedy, S. Nordbye, D. Pendlebury, T. Ross, D. Russell, T. Steers, T. Thompson, J. Wright, S. Wright, G. Younger, J. Younger.

YARROWEYAH
To be selected from: M. Baker, G. Benson, C. Cheong, B. Cowcher, A. Demaio, T. Durward, M. Fitzpatrick, M. Hennessy, D. Kelly, J. Kimberley, S. McDowall, T. McKellar, J. Mende, I. Oliver, K. Oliver, L. Olson, C. Pescod, B. Power, J. Shannon, M. Smith, J. Tejones, J. Williams.

toquick
18 May 2007, 14:13
cheers Rowey!

chicken38
18 May 2007, 20:49

Blighty
Dookie
Katandra
Katunga
Shepp East
Deni Roversthe local butcher told me that u cant read so i was just forwarding the message buddy

premiers07
18 May 2007, 21:15
it hurts to say this but it seems to look like shepp east may win all 4 flags this year if not in a couple of years time.looking at the ladder there sides are currently..
1sts are fourth with 1 loss.
2nds are first with no losses
3rds are second with no losses
4ths are first with no losses...
seems to me this could be the trend for many years to come..

smooth mover
18 May 2007, 21:42
it hurts to say this but it seems to look like shepp east may win all 4 flags this year if not in a couple of years time.looking at the ladder there sides are currently..

yeah they are in a good position at the moment! & good luck to them for the rest of the year but just remember it is only round 7 tomorrow so theres a fair way to go, & then once finals come its a different style of footy all together!!! may the best teams win!!! :thumbsu:

its game on
19 May 2007, 20:18
I think you will find he is a big inclusion for our side when he finally gets his string right. We arent pinning all our hopes on him but he is a part of our teams structure,he isnt a player that needs to keep up he is an in and under type so he will be fine.We will find out on Saturday though!
I might be wrong but i think he played more then a hand full of senior GV games.

Spot on toquick, in and under and a little to fine for Picola's liking.

Lazy HJ
19 May 2007, 20:21
Some interesting scores. Blighty easily and Berrigan gave Waaia a run for their money. R Waaia not as good as first seemed or havent Berrigan been given the respect they should have ?? Deni kept rolling on with 40 point win while Mathoura finally won a close game. That would be a relief for them after a few near misses. Katrandra seem to win well when they win. Any news out there ?? Injuries, good performances ??

mercs
20 May 2007, 10:51

well they have been a very strong football club for a long time, it mainly goes back to there junior players coming back to the club and a topup of GV players. but it has been a good social club for a long time also which also helps

iwantanotherflag
20 May 2007, 14:04

We had a crack at it in 2003, all four flags, where our 1s, 3s & 4s won and the 2s got done by Waaia. Yes they are competitive across the board, but as someone said. A long way to go.

Aaron Davey
21 May 2007, 08:58
Hey Smooth how has danny clarke been going for u guys. havent seen his name in the paper much. is this cos hes gone soft and plays as a loose man in defence each week

BACKS SORE!
21 May 2007, 15:53
Deni Rovers I belive "COULD" be in the mix come finals time! If they can win away from home, and stay injury free. (Which I know would be every clubs wish).

happy_feet
21 May 2007, 18:21
how has ross duffy been going his year? is he still getting plenty of the ball?

Talk_It_Up
21 May 2007, 20:58
i tell u wat Blighty have got a young gun.. Dave Chalmers played a blinder on the weekend... he would be pushing for first selection

smallfootyhead
21 May 2007, 21:02
Ross Duffy,s grand career is over he dislocated his shoulder and has retired!!!!!!

iwantanotherflag
21 May 2007, 21:12
Deni Rovers I belive "COULD" be in the mix come finals time! If they can win away from home, and stay injury free. (Which I know would be every clubs wish).

If they survive the next six weeks, @ Katunga, v Waaia, @ Tungamah, v Dookie, @ Katandra & v Shepp East. If they will ever know where they are at they will after these tough games!

Big Wheel
22 May 2007, 15:35
Good to finally see Matt Kitto have a run.
Well done Dookie boys!!

I seriously thought Waaia would of smashed Berrigan, but to the sainters credit they done really well.

Your thoughts on the game Magic? Did your boys have a good chance of claiming the four points?

Lazy HJ
22 May 2007, 16:02
If they survive the next six weeks, @ Katunga, v Waaia, @ Tungamah, v Dookie, @ Katandra & v Shepp East. If they will ever know where they are at they will after these tough games!

Both Rovers and Blighty play the "tougher" sides over the next month or so. Will be a good test for both sides to see how much they have inproved. What has happened to Tungamah. The talk was that they were going to be a top 4 side. They dont seem to be playing like one at the moment.

themagicfrog
22 May 2007, 16:41
Well done Dookie boys!!

I seriously thought Waaia would of smashed Berrigan, but to the sainters credit they done really well.

Your thoughts on the game Magic? Did your boys have a good chance of claiming the four points?

Sorry big wheel wasn’t at the match on Sat, Chicken38, Chicken Machine or Homebake might be able to fill you in on what happened.

iwantanotherflag
Both Rovers and Blighty play the "tougher" sides over the next month or so. Will be a good test for both sides to see how much they have inproved. What has happened to Tungamah. The talk was that they were going to be a top 4 side. They dont seem to be playing like one at the moment.

Tungamah had two losses first up, then they have lost to Picola and Blighty. Will be a big ask, should still push the 6... shouldn't they?

homebake
Well done Dookie boys!!

Magic unfortunately wasnt at the game on saturday however Berrigan were 5 goals up at 1/4 even at half time and a goal up at 3/4, and when the siren went waaia were only 2 points up but managed to kick a goal after the siren. Both sides had there chances to win and to say it was a game Berrigan could have won,well.... so was katunga and Yarroweyah. Its amazing how when a few boys come back from injury what an amazing difference they can make to they side and ill tip us to roll Tungamah this week. Anyway big wheel the following report was taken straight from the berrigan website which may give you a bit of indication on saturday.

"Almost but not quite. We are definitely on our way to winning our first game. It goes to show what we can do with a couple of blokes who know a bit about footy. Congrats to John Thomson on his 250 games and played like the champion he is. Big Kev McQualter was back in the ones after a couple of years layoff, and was fantastic to have in the back line. Brent Bonat and Chris Cameron played 2 games and would have had 80 possessions between them. The usual suspects gave there all in Spence, Thornton, McKenzie, Ware and Cooper. Shannon Turner put in some unbelievable runs down the ground and the crowd loved it"

iwantanotherflag
22 May 2007, 16:44
Did anyone notice the former Katandra senior premiership player pull on the boots in the Magoos on Saturday in the Strathy-Katandra match. The whisper is with a little more fitness and touch on the footy he might fill the goal square in the main game. He even bagged a few!

balls
22 May 2007, 17:58
Did anyone notice the former Katandra senior premiership player pull on the boots in the Magoos on Saturday in the Strathy-Katandra match. The whisper is with a little more fitness and touch on the footy he might fill the goal square in the main game. He even bagged a few!
sorry mate but i think the bloke that your talking about has been and seen his day.Nar just joking he was in fantastic form and will be a huge boost at the kattery.What did you think of his game BIGWHEEL?:D