View Full Version : Picola District football league
Big Wheel
22 May 2007, 18:01
Magic unfortunately wasnt at the game on saturday however Berrigan were 5 goals up at 1/4 even at half time and a goal up at 3/4, and when the siren went waaia were only 2 points up but managed to kick a goal after the siren. Both sides had there chances to win and to say it was a game Berrigan could have won,well.... so was katunga and Yarroweyah. Its amazing how when a few boys come back from injury what an amazing difference they can make to they side and ill tip us to roll Tungamah this week. Anyway big wheel the following report was taken straight from the berrigan website which may give you a bit of indication on saturday.
"Almost but not quite. We are definitely on our way to winning our first game. It goes to show what we can do with a couple of blokes who know a bit about footy. Congrats to John Thomson on his 250 games and played like the champion he is. Big Kev McQualter was back in the ones after a couple of years layoff, and was fantastic to have in the back line. Brent Bonat and Chris Cameron played 2 games and would have had 80 possessions between them. The usual suspects gave there all in Spence, Thornton, McKenzie, Ware and Cooper. Shannon Turner put in some unbelievable runs down the ground and the crowd loved it"
Thanks very mush for the update homebake.
Good luck agaist the Tungamah game !!!:thumbsu:
vote for pedro
22 May 2007, 18:50
sorry mate but i think the bloke that your talking about has been and seen his day.Nar just joking he was in fantastic form and will be a huge boost at the kattery.What did you think of his game BIGWHEEL?:D
Who is this that you may be talking about?? Wouldn't be doggy bassett would it? Just a guess!
iwantanotherflag
22 May 2007, 22:19
Who is this that you may be talking about?? Wouldn't be doggy bassett would it? Just a guess!
Nah, Doggy would love to still be out there.
This guy is a bit younger 24-25!
pace to freeze
22 May 2007, 22:37
Is it just me or are most of the better footballers within the PDFL, on the other side of 30 ? Would be interesting to perhaps compare an over 30's PDFL side v's under 30's PDFL. Any thoughts ?
premiers07
22 May 2007, 22:45
are u wanting doggy would pull on the boots for the kats again.. maybe u should come back to your home club and get him out of retirement.. good to play with your family for 1 last time wouldnt it!! bring your brother back 2 and i'll get my older 1 back aswell.. :D
Big Wheel
22 May 2007, 23:48
Magic unfortunately wasnt at the game on saturday however Berrigan were 5 goals up at 1/4 even at half time and a goal up at 3/4, and when the siren went waaia were only 2 points up but managed to kick a goal after the siren. Both sides had there chances to win and to say it was a game Berrigan could have won,well.... so was katunga and Yarroweyah. Its amazing how when a few boys come back from injury what an amazing difference they can make to they side and ill tip us to roll Tungamah this week. Anyway big wheel the following report was taken straight from the berrigan website which may give you a bit of indication on saturday.
"Almost but not quite. We are definitely on our way to winning our first game. It goes to show what we can do with a couple of blokes who know a bit about footy. Congrats to John Thomson on his 250 games and played like the champion he is. Big Kev McQualter was back in the ones after a couple of years layoff, and was fantastic to have in the back line. Brent Bonat and Chris Cameron played 2 games and would have had 80 possessions between them. The usual suspects gave there all in Spence, Thornton, McKenzie, Ware and Cooper. Shannon Turner put in some unbelievable runs down the ground and the crowd loved it"
Thanks very much for the update homebake.
Comisserations for the lose but good luck this week tungamah.
I can see the sainters having a few wins in the next month or so!!!:thumbsu:
Big Wheel
22 May 2007, 23:59
sorry mate but i think the bloke that your talking about has been and seen his day.Nar just joking he was in fantastic form and will be a huge boost at the kattery.What did you think of his game BIGWHEEL?:D
Yeah as you know BALLS I traveled back up to see the boys play, and I know the person your talking about!
I played basketball with the big fella tonight, he just said he was happy to get through half a game coming back from injury.I'll give you the hot tip he's alot better player at footy than basketball thats for sure.
I think he is really keen for this week too, maybe wilson and blacky might sneak him on again this week if they can. I may have to come up and watch this weekends game again, set up to be an absolute cracker.
Anything happening at the club rooms this week BALLS?
Big Wheel
23 May 2007, 00:13
Does anyone one know who has been nominated for you rookie of the year award yet?
jetter18
23 May 2007, 09:32
You Katandra boys at a guess wouldnt be talking about Ben Price??
Also the Rookies nominated so far are:
Brady Lewis Berrigan
Brad Crowther Katunga
Alistair Corry Picola Untied
Nathan Foote Strathmerton
Dylan Sidebottom Katandra
Keegan Oliver Yarroweyah
iwantanotherflag
23 May 2007, 09:38
are u wanting doggy would pull on the boots for the kats again.. maybe u should come back to your home club and get him out of retirement.. good to play with your family for 1 last time wouldnt it!! bring your brother back 2 and i'll get my older 1 back aswell.. :D
I am guessing that you are trying to get all the Riordans on the one park? Would be great!
As for the better players being over 30? Many of them are. We currently only have Lambourn and W Teague over 30. But I know a few of our reserves players who are over 30 could slot in!
BACKS SORE!
23 May 2007, 14:01
Any updates on the league changes for "08"? Be interested to find out what clubs like Berrigan, Deni, Blighty & Mathoura think? Clubs close to the border like Yarroweyah & Strathy could to be forced to go north by almighty VCFL. Seems the poor old VCFL cannnot seem to make their mind up on MAJOR changes like this one!
Mobbenfuhrer
23 May 2007, 14:46
Here is a list of the blokes (or birds) representing your forum in the Bigfooty Rregional Leagues Fantasy Football League (BRLFFFL) (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=322536)
The four teams competing are the the Central Sharks (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320213&page=6), Donkey Floggers (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320211&page=8), the North-Eastern Wolves (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320215&page=6) and the Western Wallabies (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320214&page=13).
These folks are representing you lot at the liest level, and you all should be proud of their efforts. Many big leagues (Ballarat, West Gippsland La Trobe, Eastern FL, THE WHOLE OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA!) aren't represented at all, so these guys are making a hefty imprint on the virtual footballing community!! Maybe a quick visit to their match threads to talk 'em up and can their opponents wouldn't be out of order?
(If you are on this list, and there is a x in front of your name, this means you are yet to even read the private message I sent about picking a guernsey number. It means you probably aren't aware of the season in progress, and your club needs you!)
North-Eastern Wolves - Picola & DFL - iwantanotherflag
North-Eastern Wolves - Picola & DFL - Marto121
Lazy HJ
23 May 2007, 15:05
Any updates on the league changes for "08"? Be interested to find out what clubs like Berrigan, Deni, Blighty & Mathoura think? Clubs close to the border like Yarroweyah & Strathy could to be forced to go north by almighty VCFL. Seems the poor old VCFL cannnot seem to make their mind up on MAJOR changes like this one!
The billabong crows have thrown a spanner in the works by saying they will not join the "northern" picola league as they will not have the players to travel. Blighty are dead against the northern and southern split and from what i have heard want to leave the league the way it is, even bring in a couple of the coreen sides to make an 18 team comp. Deni are of a similar opinion. I dont think there will be a split at this stage unless a couple of the vic sides will make the move, which as we all know wont happen. 18 team comp with a final 8 wouldn't be that bad, what do people think. Have 18 rounds with a general bye and a split round in there somewhere. sounds ok and will keep the league big and strong.
BACKS SORE!
23 May 2007, 15:32
The billabong crows have thrown a spanner in the works by saying they will not join the "northern" picola league as they will not have the players to travel. Blighty are dead against the northern and southern split and from what i have heard want to leave the league the way it is, even bring in a couple of the coreen sides to make an 18 team comp. Deni are of a similar opinion. I dont think there will be a split at this stage unless a couple of the vic sides will make the move, which as we all know wont happen. 18 team comp with a final 8 wouldn't be that bad, what do people think. Have 18 rounds with a general bye and a split round in there somewhere. sounds ok and will keep the league big and strong.
If that was the case it could be better off having two 9 team comps, so then everyone plays each other twice and therefore might make the comp fair for all clubs?? But an 18 team comp could work with a final 8!!! Will be very interesting to see the out come, I just hope that the VCFL think of the big picture (eg:- Juniors, player number etc)and look after all clubs involed in the situation.:thumbsu:
Lazy HJ
23 May 2007, 15:39
If that was the case it could be better off having two 9 team comps, so then everyone plays each other twice and therefore might make the comp fair for all clubs?? But an 18 team comp could work with a final 8!!! Will be very interesting to see the out come, I just hope that the VCFL think of the big picture (eg:- Juniors, player number etc)and look after all clubs involed in the situation.:thumbsu:
Spot on. Need to think of the whole picture. Clubs also have to think of the big pitcure. Is it better to be in a bigger stronger league and travel a bit, or be left in a 8 team league and have the proposition of a couple of clubs folding in the near future. There are a few leagues around that only have 7 or so clubs, i cannt see much of a future there. The north central league play most sides 3 times, cannt say i would enjoy that. I think that it would be a trouble in the making to split into NSW and VIC. We all know that country footy is alot stronger and has a brighter future within vic so to make the NSW teams break away from that would not be a good think IMO. 9 side comps sounds ok. How would you split it if
Lazy HJ
23 May 2007, 15:40
Spot on. Need to think of the whole picture. Clubs also have to think of the big pitcure. Is it better to be in a bigger stronger league and travel a bit, or be left in a 8 team league and have the proposition of a couple of clubs folding in the near future. There are a few leagues around that only have 7 or so clubs, i cannt see much of a future there. The north central league play most sides 3 times, cannt say i would enjoy that. I think that it would be a trouble in the making to split into NSW and VIC. We all know that country footy is alot stronger and has a brighter future within vic so to make the NSW teams break away from that would not be a good think IMO. 9 side comps sounds ok. How would you split it if you were the VCFL
Lazy HJ
23 May 2007, 15:40
Sorry lads. computer chucked a spaz.
iwantanotherflag
23 May 2007, 16:33
Spot on. Need to think of the whole picture. Clubs also have to think of the big pitcure. Is it better to be in a bigger stronger league and travel a bit, or be left in a 8 team league and have the proposition of a couple of clubs folding in the near future. There are a few leagues around that only have 7 or so clubs, i cannt see much of a future there. The north central league play most sides 3 times, cannt say i would enjoy that. I think that it would be a trouble in the making to split into NSW and VIC. We all know that country footy is alot stronger and has a brighter future within vic so to make the NSW teams break away from that would not be a good think IMO. 9 side comps sounds ok. How would you split it if you were the VCFL
Too hard to split and keep everyone happy. If we have an 18 team comp that means that some clubs are going to have to wait a very long time to taste any success. Saying 'We finished 12 this year' what does that mean in an 18 team comp?
I don't like it. 9 or 10 teams per comp is the way to go. But again very very hard to split. I have tried a number of times to find something that works but it always gets guys noses out of joint. The fact is changes are going to happen in 2008.
Lets reincarnate the TFL. Katandra, Shepp East, Dookie, Tungamah, Katamatite are the five TFL teams in the PDFL. Take on board Violet Town again, Benalla All Blacks... there is 7. Pull in Tally as well there is 8. And find out if Congupna is enjoying spending the big bucks... they might like to join as well. There is a 9 team comp. Leaves the PDFL with 10 plus the CDFL teams. Who knows some of the PDFL teams might like in as well!!
Lazy HJ
23 May 2007, 16:44
Too hard to split and keep everyone happy. If we have an 18 team comp that means that some clubs are going to have to wait a very long time to taste any success. Saying 'We finished 12 this year' what does that mean in an 18 team comp?
I don't like it. 9 or 10 teams per comp is the way to go. But again very very hard to split. I have tried a number of times to find something that works but it always gets guys noses out of joint. The fact is changes are going to happen in 2008.
Lets reincarnate the TFL. Katandra, Shepp East, Dookie, Tungamah, Katamatite are the five TFL teams in the PDFL. Take on board Violet Town again, Benalla All Blacks... there is 7. Pull in Tally as well there is 8. And find out if Congupna is enjoying spending the big bucks... they might like to join as well. There is a 9 team comp. Leaves the PDFL with 10 plus the CDFL teams. Who knows some of the PDFL teams might like in as well!!
Good points. 9 or 10 teams is ideal. My only concern is the NSW and VIC split. I think that it would spell the end for a couple of NSW clubs. could be wrong. Obvioulsy some hard and big decisions to be made. Alot of clubs jump up and down about the amount of travelling that has to be done. But travelling is alway going to be part of the equation. an hour in the car isnt much different than and hour and a half. Just an extra can or two.
This topic has been discussed to death almost. You would think that the leagues would be closer to an outcome so that the topic can be put to rest.
BACKS SORE!
23 May 2007, 16:54
I hate to say it but I think the only way to split it would be by the map!
eg: Comp1 (maybe??) Blighty, Berrigan, Deni, Math, Strathy, Colly, Rennie, Yarroweyah, & Jerilderie. If Billabong dont want in!!
Comp 2 (again maybe??) Kats, East, Dookie, Katunga, Waaia, Wunghu, Tungamah, Katty, Picola.
God only knows whats best!!!!!!!
jetter18
23 May 2007, 16:55
Agree with getting old Tungamah league up and running with Tungamah, Katandra, Dookie Utd, Shepp East, Tallygaroopna, Katty, Congupna, Benalla All Blacks, Violet Town but leave the PDFL as is after that no CDFL teams and reckon most PDFL teams would be very happy. Maybe Cobram if they dont improve could enter the 'old Tungamah league' but might have to much cash.
Big Wheel
23 May 2007, 17:02
You Katandra boys at a guess wouldnt be talking about Ben Price??
Also the Rookies nominated so far are:
Brady Lewis Berrigan
Brad Crowther Katunga
Alistair Corry Picola Untied
Nathan Foote Strathmerton
Dylan Sidebottom Katandra
Keegan Oliver Yarroweyah
Yeah the boys have been chatting about him. Do you know him?
Whos your tip to win the rookie of the year out of those players Jetter18?
Lazy HJ
23 May 2007, 17:12
Agree with getting old Tungamah league up and running with Tungamah, Katandra, Dookie Utd, Shepp East, Tallygaroopna, Katty, Congupna, Benalla All Blacks, Violet Town but leave the PDFL as is after that no CDFL teams and reckon most PDFL teams would be very happy. Maybe Cobram if they dont improve could enter the 'old Tungamah league' but might have to much cash.
What teams were in the original or (close to original) PDFL ??
jetter18
23 May 2007, 17:25
Yeah the boys have been chatting about him. Do you know him?
Whos your tip to win the rookie of the year out of those players Jetter18?
Yeah played junior footy against him, and saw him running around on Saturday.
Think A. Corry from Picola Utd or Keegan Oliver from Yarroweyah. Closely followed by Dylan Sidebottom and Nathan Foote but very even between these four i would imagine
chicken machine
23 May 2007, 17:33
Is it just me or are most of the better footballers within the PDFL, on the other side of 30 ? Would be interesting to perhaps compare an over 30's PDFL side v's under 30's PDFL. Any thoughts ?
thats an interesting thought i have never really thought of it like that perhaps it would also be interesting to see where these vintage fellas played their junior footy as well that way you would be able to better compare the two age groups as possibly the older blokes started their junior footy in better leagues with better junior coaches/development programs, but then again the pdfl isnt that shabby, the stevens boys, teagues, just off the top of my head all originally came from the pdfl i think? i dunno what are everyone elses thoughts? i have noticed though it is quite hard for clubs to find junior coaches these days as it requires alot of time and planning to do it properly whilst also making it enjoybale for the boys full credit to them all.
Mobbenfuhrer
23 May 2007, 17:35
The original? :D :D :D
Timeline :
1905 (Picola & DFA) :
The Picola & DFA was formed.
Participating clubs were (complete) :
- Barmah Federals,
- Kotupna,
- Lower Moira,
- Picola and
- Nathalia.
Barmah Federals were premiers.
1906 (Picola & DFA) :
- Barmah Federals,
- Kotupna,
- Moira Ramblers,
- Picola and
- Nathalia Juniors.
Picola were premiers.
1907 (Picola & DFA) :
Participating clubs were (complete, in final ladder order) :
1. Picola,
2. Nathalia,
3. Nathalia Imperial,
4. Barmah Federals,
5. Lower Moira and
6. Kotupna.
Picola were premiers.
But your probably mean this :
1934 (Picola & DFA) :
This new reappearance of the Picola & DFA is basically a follow on from the final season of the Western & Moira Ridings FA.
Participating clubs were (complete, in ladder order after H&As) :
1. Barmah (premiers),
2. Picola,
3. Yalca North,
4. Kotupna,
5. Moira and
6. Nathalia Juniors (changed name to Nathalia Second 18 next season).
Which until recently was more like this :
2000 (Picola & DFL) :
- Blighty,
- Deniliquin Rovers,
- Katamatite,
- Katandra,
- Katunga,
- Mathoura,
- Picola United,
- Strathmerton,
- Tungamah,
- Waaia,
- Wunghnu and
- Yarroweyah.
Grand Final - Blighty 11.9.75 defeated Katamatite 7.6.48.
[/nerd] :)
iwantanotherflag
23 May 2007, 17:35
Here's what I know about PDFL. In 1994 There was Blighty, Deni, Katunga, Picola, Mathoura, Strathy, Waaia, Wunghnu, Yarroweyah
Early 1990's; Strathy and Mathoura joined
1995; Tungamah & Katamatite joined
1996; Katandra joined
2003; Berrigan joined
2006; Shepp East & Dookie joined
Barooga went to MFL
Mobbenfuhrer
23 May 2007, 17:38
Here's what I know about PDFL. In 1994 There was Blighty, Deni, Katunga, Picola, Mathoura, Strathy, Waaia, Wunghnu, Yarroweyah
Early 1990's; Strathy and Mathoura joined
1995; Tungamah & Katamatite joined
1996; Katandra joined
2003; Berrigan joined
2006; Shepp East & Dookie joined
Barooga went to MFL
I'll put the whole shebang into another thread in this sub-forum for yers.
If you get the chance, buy the Picola DFL's yearbook, VERY comprehensive!!!!
Mobbenfuhrer
23 May 2007, 17:46
Here it is ... just check the forum itself out : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=189
Lazy HJ
23 May 2007, 17:56
This one doesnt sound to bad then. That means it would be the original PDFL plus berrigan and the old tungamah league. Both would be of a pretty good standed. Only problem being the CDFL teams. Should this be the PDFL problem ?? No (being selfish of course)
Yeah as you know BALLS I traveled back up to see the boys play, and I know the person your talking about!
I played basketball with the big fella tonight, he just said he was happy to get through half a game coming back from injury.I'll give you the hot tip he's alot better player at footy than basketball thats for sure.
I think he is really keen for this week too, maybe wilson and blacky might sneak him on again this week if they can. I may have to come up and watch this weekends game again, set up to be an absolute cracker.
Anything happening at the club rooms this week BALLS?
Casino night mate.Could be a quiet one! Chops has his 40th on aswell.Good chance I will spot you out at the pub after that and see you burrning a hole in the dance floor. Haha :D
yep thats whats got to happen the old tunga league to happen and good to see u add tally in there. Tungamah league even beat the murray league once in a intra club match in the 80's
theintimidator
23 May 2007, 20:54
I for one (among others) have raised the idea before of having a 2 or 3 tier MFL league comprising of approx 30 clubs i:e 3 leagues of 10 or 2 of 15 with the promotion relegation system OR just the 20 or so proposed PDFL clubs in a 2 tier situation. The extended travel to some of the NSW clubs would not be avoided however I believe that people / clubs would be happier to travel if the leagues were a little more competitve by using the 2 tier system rather than going 2-3 hours away to get pumped.
Big Wheel
23 May 2007, 23:19
The original? :D :D :D
Timeline :
1905 (Picola & DFA) :
The Picola & DFA was formed.
- Barmah Federals,
- Kotupna,
- Lower Moira,
- Picola and
- Nathalia.
Barmah Federals were premiers.
1906 (Picola & DFA) :
- Barmah Federals,
- Kotupna,
- Moira Ramblers,
- Picola and
- Nathalia Juniors.
Picola were premiers.
1907 (Picola & DFA) :
Participating clubs were (complete, in final ladder order) :
1. Picola,
2. Nathalia,
3. Nathalia Imperial,
4. Barmah Federals,
5. Lower Moira and
6. Kotupna.
Picola were premiers.
But your probably mean this :
1934 (Picola & DFA) :
This new reappearance of the Picola & DFA is basically a follow on from the final season of the Western & Moira Ridings FA.
Participating clubs were (complete, in ladder order after H&As) :
1. Barmah (premiers),
2. Picola,
3. Yalca North,
4. Kotupna,
5. Moira and
6. Nathalia Juniors (changed name to Nathalia Second 18 next season).
Which until recently was more like this :
2000 (Picola & DFL) :
- Blighty,
- Deniliquin Rovers,
- Katamatite,
- Katandra,
- Katunga,
- Mathoura,
- Picola United,
- Strathmerton,
- Tungamah,
- Waaia,
- Wunghnu and
- Yarroweyah.
Grand Final - Blighty 11.9.75 defeated Katamatite 7.6.48.
[/nerd] :)
Cheers for the uploads, there is some good reading here!!!:thumbsu:
Big Wheel
23 May 2007, 23:23
Can any one inform me of how the NSW grounds are looking??
Green or ashfelt ??
Big Wheel
23 May 2007, 23:31
Whats ya tips for this weeks games?
I'm tipping
Dookie over Blighty (only coz it's @ Dookie)
Heads saying Tungamah over Berrigan (but hoping the sainters get up)
Katandra to beat Picola only coz it's at the Kattery
Waaia in a close one
Shepp East by 10 goals
Katamatite by 5-7 goals
Katunga @ home over Deni just !
Lazy HJ
24 May 2007, 08:04
Whats ya tips for this weeks games?
I'm tipping
Dookie over Blighty (only coz it's @ Dookie)
Heads saying Tungamah over Berrigan (but hoping the sainters get up)
Katandra to beat Picola only coz it's at the Kattery
Waaia in a close one
Shepp East by 10 goals
Katamatite by 5-7 goals
Katunga @ home over Deni just !
Tips:
Dookie, they need to kick around scoullar.
Berrigan to be a struggling Tungamah
Picola to bounce back in a tight one
Waaia easily
Shepp East by 10 goals
Katty by 5 goals
Deni by 6-7 goals.
homebake
24 May 2007, 09:56
Can any one inform me of how the NSW grounds are looking??
Green or ashfelt ??
Berrigans ground is in immaculate condition as I am sure everyone who has played us would agree with, green all over and when it was raining all last week, on the saturday it held the water so well that players in the seniors game were able to bounce the ball.
Run Straight
24 May 2007, 12:13
I for one (among others) have raised the idea before of having a 2 or 3 tier MFL league comprising of approx 30 clubs i:e 3 leagues of 10 or 2 of 15 with the promotion relegation system OR just the 20 or so proposed PDFL clubs in a 2 tier situation. The extended travel to some of the NSW clubs would not be avoided however I believe that people / clubs would be happier to travel if the leagues were a little more competitve by using the 2 tier system rather than going 2-3 hours away to get pumped.
I think you make a very valid point there intimidator, People who live in the country are used to travelling for everything. Travelling to get pumped is no-one's idea of fun tho, and if the Leagues are kept competitive thru a promotion/relegation system, I think the travel will be less of a problem.
This is the Picola League in 1993
Picola
Waaia
Mathoura
Yarroweyah
Katunga
Blighty
Wunghnu
Deni Rovers
and the Tungamah League in 1993
Congupna
Katandra
Alexandra
Mansfield
Katandra
All Blacks
Violet Town
Shepp East
Dookie
Tungamah
How would you rehash it NOW?????????? Take into account Alexandra, Mansfield, All Blacks and Violet Town are gone and add the Coreen District League new clubs or anyone else you think may be worthwhile??
iwantanotherflag
24 May 2007, 13:07
This is the Picola League in 1993
Picola
Waaia
Mathoura
Yarroweyah
Katunga
Blighty
Wunghnu
Deni Rovers
and the Tungamah League in 1993
Congupna
Katandra
Alexandra
Mansfield
Katandra
All Blacks
Violet Town
Shepp East
Dookie
Tungamah
How would you rehash it NOW?????????? Take into account Alexandra, Mansfield, All Blacks and Violet Town are gone and add the Coreen District League new clubs or anyone else you think may be worthwhile??
If an 18 team league is made, it should be seperated into two tiers. Two nine team comps. You're right you don't mind travelling for a good game. Two leagues with 9 teams. In 18 rounds you will play everyone in your div twice. Gives struggling teams a real chance to make finals. Gives good games all round.
Need lots of thought and discussion. Would it be top 9 from 2007 ladder in div 1 and the bottom 6 and the 3 CDFL teams in div 2? Big incentive to get in top 9!
Lazy HJ
24 May 2007, 13:57
If an 18 team league is made, it should be seperated into two tiers. Two nine team comps. You're right you don't mind travelling for a good game. Two leagues with 9 teams. In 18 rounds you will play everyone in your div twice. Gives struggling teams a real chance to make finals. Gives good games all round.
Need lots of thought and discussion. Would it be top 9 from 2007 ladder in div 1 and the bottom 6 and the 3 CDFL teams in div 2? Big incentive to get in top 9!
The two divisions could work but would take a couple of years to work itself out. Who goes where ? Examples of this are Deni and Dookie this year. Both sides would of been in div 2 this year, with mathoura and blighty in div 1. is that fair ? Unsure. Right on with the travelling. Would rather travel and have a good game than pop down the road and either get flogged or flog a struggling side.
What about an 18 team league split into the two smaller 9 team leagues. Both have a final 4. Come finals time combined the two final 4's and have a cross over final series. You would still play everyone in your smaller league twice. It would make for a longer final series but have a bit of an interleague feeling as you might be playing sides you havent seen or know little about. Bit different but could work. COmments ??
BACKS SORE!
24 May 2007, 14:11
I just wish the VCFL would leave the comp as is!!!!!!!!!! The Coreen league isnt even a part of the VCFL, Im pretty sure it's AFL/NSW I could be wrong? Any news when the final decison is made? I heard it was going to be in July or late June?
BACKS SORE!
24 May 2007, 14:19
Tips this weeks are:-
Dookie - 6 goals
Berrigan - 2 points, in one of the upsets of the round!
Kats- 2 goals
Waaia- 5 goals
Shepp- 12 goals
Deni- 6 goals
Wunghnu- 2 goals, in the other upset of the round!
Happy punting:thumbsu:
themagicfrog
24 May 2007, 15:31
I just wish the VCFL would leave the comp as is!!!!!!!!!! The Coreen league isnt even a part of the VCFL, Im pretty sure it's AFL/NSW I could be wrong? Any news when the final decison is made? I heard it was going to be in July or late June?
latest roumor is that it will be an 18 team comp. I don't think they are going to keep everyone happy no matter what they do but with a little thought they should be able to keep most happy.
Lazy HJ
24 May 2007, 15:50
[quote=themagicfrog;7623746]latest roumor is that it will be an 18 team comp. I don't think they are going to keep everyone happy no matter what they do but with a little thought they should be able to keep most happy.[/quote
Must be the same rumor as i have heard magic. 18 team comp with a final 8. As i have mentioned before in earlier posts it could work, but wouldnt be ideal. It would be a great bus trip from Colly to shep east or dookie.
iwantanotherflag
24 May 2007, 16:36
[quote=themagicfrog;7623746]latest roumor is that it will be an 18 team comp. I don't think they are going to keep everyone happy no matter what they do but with a little thought they should be able to keep most happy.[/quote
Must be the same rumor as i have heard magic. 18 team comp with a final 8. As i have mentioned before in earlier posts it could work, but wouldnt be ideal. It would be a great bus trip from Colly to shep east or dookie.
How many cans do you reckon you could sink in the trip home from Colly. Jerilderie Pub, Finley Pub, Toc Pub, Katty Pub. I think you could make a big mess of yourself!!! :o Pissed!
themagicfrog
24 May 2007, 17:05
[quote=Lazy HJ;7623909]
How many cans do you reckon you could sink in the trip home from Colly. Jerilderie Pub, Finley Pub, Toc Pub, Katty Pub. I think you could make a big mess of yourself!!! :o Pissed!
you would think quite a few clubs would be taking a bus to Colly, has to hurt Collys gate takings!
Big Sticks
25 May 2007, 01:48
Can anyone tell me how Josh Bode is traelling? Super footballer, must be doing something right with Deni
BACKS SORE!
25 May 2007, 08:55
Can anyone tell me how Josh Bode is traelling? Super footballer, must be doing something right with Deni
From what I seen of him, he would easy be in the top 3 ruckmen in the league. Massive leap and very good around the ground. And with his team 5 & Zip I'd say he's doing good things up @ Deni.
iwantanotherflag
25 May 2007, 09:32
From what I seen of him, he would easy be in the top 3 ruckmen in the league. Massive leap and very good around the ground. And with his team 5 & Zip I'd say he's doing good things up @ Deni.
Who would be the top 3 ruckmen in the league?
BACKS SORE!
25 May 2007, 10:57
Who would be the top 3 ruckmen in the league?
This is just my opinoin but I'd say Scoullar, Bode, Sidebottom. Those blokes have all stood out this year so far. Plus you could throw a Holyman, Fantini & Tyack in there as well. So we might call it top 6 a:rolleyes: .
Who would be @ the top of your list iwantanotherflag??:thumbsu:
jetter18
25 May 2007, 11:52
This is just my opinoin but I'd say Scoullar, Bode, Sidebottom. Those blokes have all stood out this year so far. Plus you could throw a Holyman, Fantini & Tyack in there as well. So we might call it top 6 a:rolleyes: .
Reckon Adam Graham from Strathy would be high up there
iwantanotherflag
25 May 2007, 12:02
I wish I could put myself in there!!! I have always found the taller tap ruckman hard opponents. Guys like Fantini are hard to beat in the centre. Tyack plays taller than he is. Haven't seen Bode or Schollar yet. Had some good games against H Buckley. Mick Keane is mobile for a big guy. Dogsy Graham does lots of extra running that most ruckman don't do.
I wont put the guys in order cos I have to play against them, don't want to pump up their tyres too much!
I have found that it is usually the onballers that make a ruckman look really good, cos they get to the right spots... which helps.
BACKS SORE!
25 May 2007, 12:15
I wish I could put myself in there!!! I have always found the taller tap ruckman hard opponents. Guys like Fantini are hard to beat in the centre. Tyack plays taller than he is. Haven't seen Bode or Schollar yet. Had some good games against H Buckley. Mick Keane is mobile for a big guy. Dogsy Graham does lots of extra running that most ruckman don't do.
I wont put the guys in order cos I have to play against them, don't want to pump up their tyres too much!
I have found that it is usually the onballers that make a ruckman look really good, cos they get to the right spots... which helps.
Yes very good point, their only as good as their onballers make them to be... Like ya said "being in the right spots" etc. And also a big sorry to Jetter18 I forgot about big Dogsy!! He's having a great year so far:thumbsu:
iwantanotherflag
25 May 2007, 12:36
Yes very good point, their only as good as their onballers make them to be... Like ya said "being in the right spots" etc. And also a big sorry to Jetter18 I forgot about big Dogsy!! He's having a great year so far:thumbsu:
I have won many taps that turn into an opposition centre break and lost many taps that turn into our centre break... go figure!
BACKS SORE!
25 May 2007, 12:47
(iwantanotherflag) are your boys @ full strength this week no injuries? Should be a good game!
Big Sticks
25 May 2007, 12:59
I played with Bodey last year, very good ruckman, and for someone who isn't overly tall, excellent around the ground. Top Bloke too.
toquick
25 May 2007, 13:06
Can some1 please give me a bit of a run down about blighty. I havent heard much about them except for schoular and i know wooden is a very handy player.
BACKS SORE!
25 May 2007, 13:29
Can some1 please give me a bit of a run down about blighty. I havent heard much about them except for schoular and i know wooden is a very handy player.
Played them about 2-3 weeks ago. Scoullar played up forward & ruck, Wooden didnt do to much (hammy I think?) Mick Moodie handy in the guts with Wilson. There backline could be thier weakness not to much tall timber down there (unless Scoullar driffs back while rucking) But overall a much improved side from last year:thumbsu:
iwantanotherflag
25 May 2007, 13:50
(iwantanotherflag) are your boys @ full strength this week no injuries? Should be a good game!
Yeah. No Yellow VB at Kat land. All full strength!!
Some suprised guys getting up a bit earlier tomorrow morning!
Not very often you play in a team where your playing coach has just clocked up the big four 0!
toquick
25 May 2007, 14:08
Played them about 2-3 weeks ago. Scoullar played up forward & ruck, Wooden didnt do to much (hammy I think?) Mick Moodie handy in the guts with Wilson. There backline could be thier weakness not to much tall timber down there (unless Scoullar driffs back while rucking) But overall a much improved side from last year:thumbsu:
Thanks mate!
BACKS SORE!
25 May 2007, 14:37
Not very often you play in a team where your playing coach has just clocked up the big four 0!
Do you think he will rack up 40 possys to mark his 40th birthday:D He proberly still gets that much of the ball every week anyway!!
iwantanotherflag
25 May 2007, 16:46
Do you think he will rack up 40 possys to mark his 40th birthday:D He proberly still gets that much of the ball every week anyway!!
He is still a class player. Could play for another 5 years in the PDFL I think. But who knows?? Then start in the ressies for another 5!
Yeah. No Yellow VB at Kat land. All full strength!!
Some suprised guys getting up a bit earlier tomorrow morning!
Hey mate did you have a look at the team last night or not?I had a bit of a glance and noticed 2 of our best men out for the day.There are a few blokes on the pine that i would start on ground before some of the ones that are named on.:) :) :)
pace to freeze
25 May 2007, 20:27
Have seen this season and appears to be playing as a ruck rover. Has certainly not impressed as much as germano. Thought Deni were the biggest underachievers last season and a couple of in's have certainly helped , obviously Bode has them playing well together.
pace to freeze
25 May 2007, 20:41
TIPS RND 8
All the home sides
The inconsistant Swans to stop the ute musters' run and the U to sneak one over the tigers. Tunga over the sainters, by a bees.The College in a tight one over redeyes, just. Kats to continue on over Pick. O . La . Cleeands mob to get the job done over the wood spliters and The Fruiters" on the circle over the yappers.
smooth mover
25 May 2007, 21:54
I haven't seen bode, schoullar, graham or buckley yet so can't comment on them?! but from what i hear on their day they are very handy players! I think tyack is underrated, his workrate against us was very good! I'm not sure what anyone else thinks but I know our ruckman shannon anderson (another doggsy) works very hard for his size! not a big build at all, prob 6'2" @ 85kg & week in week out keeps stepping up against his opponent who are usually bigger bodies! but I guess we all have an opinion of our own ruckman?! Besides anyone who has to keep running at someone & jumping into them all day deserves some sort of credit!!! That goes to all the ruckmen!
iwantanotherflag
25 May 2007, 23:29
I haven't seen bode, schoullar, graham or buckley yet so can't comment on them?! but from what i hear on their day they are very handy players! I think tyack is underrated, his workrate against us was very good! I'm not sure what anyone else thinks but I know our ruckman shannon anderson (another doggsy) works very hard for his size! not a big build at all, prob 6'2" @ 85kg & week in week out keeps stepping up against his opponent who are usually bigger bodies! but I guess we all have an opinion of our own ruckman?! Besides anyone who has to keep running at someone & jumping into them all day deserves some sort of credit!!! That goes to all the ruckmen!
Yes... we are dumb!!! Could go and sit in the forward pocket and snag a few, but we have to play smash up derbies!!!
iwantanotherflag
27 May 2007, 12:37
Wunghnu... so close!
Lazy HJ
27 May 2007, 16:52
Wunghnu... so close!
Havent caught up with many scores yet, away fishing for the weekend. Only score i had was the blighty game. Bit of a surprise. Dookie must be travelling along well. Any other scores out there, better players stc. What happenend with Wunghnu ??
premiers07
27 May 2007, 19:13
Havent caught up with many scores yet, away fishing for the weekend. Only score i had was the blighty game. Bit of a surprise. Dookie must be travelling along well. Any other scores out there, better players stc. What happenend with Wunghnu ??
wunghnu lost by 2 points to katy,
katandra flogged picola by over 12 goals
tungamah beat berrigan
shepp east won convicingly against strathy
waaia also won easily to mathoura.. not sure about the game between deni and katunga
Marto121
27 May 2007, 19:56
wunghnu lost by 2 points to katy,
katandra flogged picola by over 12 goals
tungamah beat berrigan
shepp east won convicingly against strathy
waaia also won easily to mathoura.. not sure about the game between deni and katunga
Deni beat Katunga by about 30-40 points and of course dookie smashed Blighty. Dookie is awesome.
iwantanotherflag
28 May 2007, 13:31
Seniors
Ovens & Murray FL 4.4 5.5 1.1 2.0 (12.10) d. Goulburn Valley FL 4.0 2.2 1.2 5.3 (12.7)
Goals
Ovens & Murray FL CRAIG EDNIE 2, BRENDAN PAGE 2, TIMOTHY HARGREAVES 2, MARCUS MCMILLAN 2, SCOTT OSWALD 2, LANCE OSWALD 1, KADE STEVENS 1
Goulburn Valley FL SAAD SAAD 4, PAUL NEWMAN 2, SAM DAWES 2, PAUL SCANLON 1, MATT FORYS 1, DUANE HUESTON 1, MATHEW PASCOE 1
Best
Ovens & Murray FL SCOTT OSWALD, KADE STEVENS, XAVIER LESLIE, DANIEL LESLIE, AYDAN BROWN, LANCE OSWALD
Goulburn Valley FL PAUL SCANLON, COLIN DURIE, MATTHEW O'KEEFE, NICHOLAS ALLAN, MICHAEL BARLOW, TIM HOOPER, TIM LOOBY
Wouldn't the Bulldogs love to have this combo back along with the Carters. Might be fair to say that they have one of the best lists that is playing elsewhere!
What ex juniors has your club 'loaned'?
I know we would love to have David Teague, Grant McLarty, Matt & Phil Carroll, Shannon Emmett, Jarrod Maskell, Braden & Dave Pullen, Mick Baxter to name a few back in the Navy Blue and White!
Jayden Wilkie Is A Star For Katandra Chris Judd In The Making
Seniors
Ovens & Murray FL 4.4 5.5 1.1 2.0 (12.10) d. Goulburn Valley FL 4.0 2.2 1.2 5.3 (12.7)
Goals
Ovens & Murray FL CRAIG EDNIE 2, BRENDAN PAGE 2, TIMOTHY HARGREAVES 2, MARCUS MCMILLAN 2, SCOTT OSWALD 2, LANCE OSWALD 1, KADE STEVENS 1
Goulburn Valley FL SAAD SAAD 4, PAUL NEWMAN 2, SAM DAWES 2, PAUL SCANLON 1, MATT FORYS 1, DUANE HUESTON 1, MATHEW PASCOE 1
Best
Ovens & Murray FL SCOTT OSWALD, KADE STEVENS, XAVIER LESLIE, DANIEL LESLIE, AYDAN BROWN, LANCE OSWALD
Goulburn Valley FL PAUL SCANLON, COLIN DURIE, MATTHEW O'KEEFE, NICHOLAS ALLAN, MICHAEL BARLOW, TIM HOOPER, TIM LOOBY
Wouldn't the Bulldogs love to have this combo back along with the Carters. Might be fair to say that they have one of the best lists that is playing elsewhere!
What ex juniors has your club 'loaned'?
I know we would love to have David Teague, Grant McLarty, Matt & Phil Carroll, Shannon Emmett, Jarrod Maskell, Braden & Dave Pullen, Mick Baxter to name a few back in the Navy Blue and White!dont forget JAYDEN WILKIE
iwantanotherflag
28 May 2007, 16:40
dont forget JAYDEN WILKIE
Yeah, Curl!
pace to freeze
28 May 2007, 17:04
Notice a couple of clearances to Waaia during last week, one from Townsville the other from what appears to be the Geelong footy league, anyone know anything about them ??
iwantanotherflag
28 May 2007, 17:58
Notice a couple of clearances to Waaia during last week, one from Townsville the other from what appears to be the Geelong footy league, anyone know anything about them ??
Meant to be pretty handy too! Apparently to help them keep up with the top 2 or 3 .
Lazy HJ
28 May 2007, 19:10
Meant to be pretty handy too! Apparently to help them keep up with the top 2 or 3 .
Did they play on Sat. Pace, did you watch the game on saturday. 8.16 isnt the best kicking from the mathoura boys. Dookie must be travelling along nicely. Living up to all the preseason hype..
[quote=iwantanotherflag;7624334]
you would think quite a few clubs would be taking a bus to Colly, has to hurt Collys gate takings!
I think the leages will go like this (Picola FL)
shepp east swap for congupna
dookie
tungamah
katandra
katty
wunhue
picola
waai
strathy
yarrawheoe
and the (Riverina FL)
deni
bligty
mathoura
berrigan
katunga
renni
CDU
jerildery
bilabong crows
wagunya
Finally an idea that makes some sense. Although im still of the belief that shepp east should be a murray league side.
i totaly agree with u intimidator sheep east should swap with congupna
pace to freeze
28 May 2007, 19:29
Did they play on Sat. Pace, did you watch the game on saturday. 8.16 isnt the best kicking from the mathoura boys. Dookie must be travelling along nicely. Living up to all the preseason hype..
Unsure of the new bombers will try to find out, Mathoura appear dissapointing, after all the hype and a good finish to last season. On other hand Dookie appear to be up and going, good coaching effort, not easy when there is a heap of hype and a slow start.
pace to freeze
28 May 2007, 19:34
[quote=themagicfrog;7624627]
dookie
tungamah
katandra
katty
wunhue
picola
waai
strathy
yarrawheoe
and the (Riverina FL)
deni
bligty
mathoura
berrigan
katunga
renni
CDU
jerildery
bilabong crows
wagunya
Do not know what the VCFL would be thinking but would almost be certain that it is unlikely, as more than one club in the Riv league you have mentioned ,will cease existance, fold, should they be forced into this type of set-up
pace to freeze
28 May 2007, 20:15
Have just looked up the maps to see the distances that are likely to be covered by all the PDFL players based in Echuca, to ( 8 ) away games , should the above possibility happen. Keeping in mind quite a few Picola players either work and , or , live in Echuca also.
From Echuca
Mathoura 40 klms
Deni 74 klms
Katunga 83 klms
Berrigan 154 klms
Jerilderie 177 klms
Wahgunyah 184 klms
Oaklands 189 klms
Renni 191 klms
Coleambally 242 klms
For Deni players ( know there is at least one ) to travel to :
8 home games
train twice a week during season only ( no pre season )
all away games
a total of 7976 klms, ave of 498.50 over 16 weeks
to away games and return 2600 klms
For Mathoura blokes , ( would think 75 % of players ) to travel to :
8 home games
all away games
a total of 5256 klms, ave of 328.50 over 16 weeks
to away games and return 2668 klms
Is hard to expect players to travel these sorts of distances, would doubt very few , if any , AFL clubs would spend as much time travelling to games.
iwantanotherflag
28 May 2007, 21:22
Have just looked up the maps to see the distances that are likely to be covered by all the PDFL players based in Echuca, to ( 8 ) away games , should the above possibility happen. Keeping in mind quite a few Picola players either work and , or , live in Echuca also.
From Echuca
Mathoura 40 klms
Deni 74 klms
Katunga 83 klms
Berrigan 154 klms
Jerilderie 177 klms
Wahgunyah 184 klms
Oaklands 189 klms
Renni 191 klms
Coleambally 242 klms
For Deni players ( know there is at least one ) to travel to :
8 home games
all away games
a total of 7976 klms, ave of 498.50 over 16 weeks
to away games and return 2600 klms
For Mathoura blokes , ( would think 75 % of players ) to travel to :
8 home games
all away games
a total of 5256 klms, ave of 328.50 over 16 weeks
to away games and return 2668 klms
Is hard to expect players to travel these sorts of distances, would doubt very few , if any , AFL clubs would spend as much time travelling to games.
Not a bad bit of homework there Pace! Yes, must take into account where the players come from. Lots of Mathoura guys would either live in Deni or Echuca. Picola United players from Tonny or Echuca.
The question is... is Mathoura more of an Echuca team or a Deni team. If they are a Deni team they should go North, If they are an Echuca team they would be better suited in a Southern League.
iwantanotherflag
28 May 2007, 21:25
[quote=themagicfrog;7624627]
dookie
tungamah
katandra
katty
wunhue
picola
waai
strathy
yarrawheoe
and the (Riverina FL)
deni
bligty
mathoura
berrigan
katunga
renni
CDU
jerildery
bilabong crows
wagunya
Shepp East are not that good!! Sure they are doing pretty well at the moment but as has been stated many times before, a huge amount of $$ are required to hit that next level of MFL.
Skills01
28 May 2007, 21:26
Are Katandra really a 12 goal better side than Picola or were Picola just particularly bad on the day ?
Danny MacGill
29 May 2007, 00:45
Are Katandra really a 12 goal better side than Picola or were Picola just particularly bad on the day ?
Apparently had 5 or 6 senior players out i reckon they are a better side than Katandra.
Katandra are over rated, Shepp East put them in their place.
toquick
29 May 2007, 08:52
There is no way that Congupna and Shepp East should swap. Congupna are a 5 goal better side then Shepp East at least, they also have a larger amount of coin to spend on players.
iwantanotherflag
29 May 2007, 09:44
Picola kicked 5 of their 8 goals late in the last quarter. Struggle in the big man department. Lots of great on ballers but short across all lines.
Was a new guy there, don't know his name, but can really roost the footy!
vote for pedro
29 May 2007, 09:49
What is the website that you can see all of the clearances to and from leagues??
Big Wheel
29 May 2007, 11:14
Apparently had 5 or 6 senior players out i reckon they are a better side than Katandra.
Katandra are over rated, Shepp East put them in their place.
Yeah I heard the Kats had 4 or 5 out aswell, sounds like your making excuses like there players did after the game.
I think the correct word is OVER-HATED !!
toquick
29 May 2007, 11:17
Nearly at the half way point of the season, who are people tipping for the flag and the medals?
iwantanotherflag
29 May 2007, 12:12
Yeah I heard the Kats had 4 or 5 out aswell, sounds like your making excuses like there players did after the game.
I think the correct word is OVER-HATED !!
Only had Cordy, Venables, K Wilkie out.
Its not who doesn't play... it is who does play!
iwantanotherflag
29 May 2007, 12:15
Nearly at the half way point of the season, who are people tipping for the flag and the medals?
I know that our only ever Senior league medallist since 1950 was Harry Brittain, back in the 1950's.
Sounds odd for a club that has won 18 senior premierships in that time!
I would say that at this stage our B&F would be wide open, so probably no Pearce Medal at Kat land.
jetter18
29 May 2007, 12:17
Premiership to be decided by Katandra and Shepp East again.
Pearce Medal tip Stephen Scott from Waaia
themagicfrog
29 May 2007, 12:38
What is the website that you can see all of the clearances to and from leagues??
here she is
http://picoladfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp
[quote=ENGNE;7666837]
Shepp East are not that good!! Sure they are doing pretty well at the moment but as has been stated many times before, a huge amount of $$ are required to hit that next level of MFL.
You're right there, will cost too much, we just cannot afford to go into the Murray League plus we don't want to go into the Murray League
Marto121
29 May 2007, 15:54
[quote=iwantanotherflag;7668480]
You're right there, will cost too much, we just cannot afford to go into the Murray League plus we don't want to go into the Murray League
If anyone should its Shepp East. Now I know that its only half way through the year but they are a massive chance to win all 4. They beat Katandra in all 4 grades this year and Katandra are the next best club in the PDFL this year. Shepp East have plenty of money floating around.