View Full Version : Picola District football league

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

mutton chops
4 Jul 2006, 16:11
Mate I am very close with the Nully footy club and I'm preety sure the Bode and Benji will stay just from whats been said. But even if he and Bode want to come back next I dont think it would be wise to bad him out and not making him feel welcome. Benji has settled in really well and being playing good footy.

good call catter. I agree with ringo, no one player is above the club but the clubs arn't alway the victims. Clubs can take for granted some players and just expect them to hang around while they throw huge money at recruits who might not deserve it, leaving the local player to ask what is going on. If this bloke is as good as Riewoldt12 says he is i think the club should keep him interested by letting him stay around and train. He has stood by them for 200 od games. There seems to be a fair bit more going on behind the scenes at the Deni Rover i think. Their coach quit for the 2nd time on the weekend. The tresurer also threw the towell in. Whats going on down there Riewoldt12 ??

Riewoldt12
4 Jul 2006, 16:22
good call catter. I agree with ringo, no one player is above the club but the clubs arn't alway the victims. Clubs can take for granted some players and just expect them to hang around while they throw huge money at recruits who might not deserve it, leaving the local player to ask what is going on. If this bloke is as good as Riewoldt12 says he is i think the club should keep him interested by letting him stay around and train. He has stood by them for 200 od games. There seems to be a fair bit more going on behind the scenes at the Deni Rover i think. Their coach quit for the 2nd time on the weekend. The tresurer also threw the towell in. Whats going on down there Riewoldt12 ??

Mutton Chops, we are simply disappointed with how the whole season is going. Losing Benji has simply compounded that. I don't know where you heard about the coach and treasurer, because that is all news to me.
As for paying players, the club pays no one, which may be a problem in itself, except for their coaches.
Hopefully things will turn around. As for Bode, he has already contacted an ex-player about sitting on the bench and being chairman of selectors for us next year, so I would say the job is pretty much done there.
Will hopefully have more news for you guys after training tonight.

mutton chops
4 Jul 2006, 16:34
Mutton Chops, we are simply disappointed with how the whole season is going. Losing Benji has simply compounded that. I don't know where you heard about the coach and treasurer, because that is all news to me.
As for paying players, the club pays no one, which may be a problem in itself, except for their coaches.
Hopefully things will turn around. As for Bode, he has already contacted an ex-player about sitting on the bench and being chairman of selectors for us next year, so I would say the job is pretty much done there.
Will hopefully have more news for you guys after training tonight.

Heard on the grape vine about the tresurer and read about the coach quitting on the pastoral times website. Not having ago at the club about paid players just giving an overview from an outsider. I have seen in the past a few local players taken for granted while others get huge money. If that doesnt happen at your club thats great. Let us know how training goes tonight. Could be an interesting night for you. Good luck.. If i hear any more on the hardman and bode issue from my contacts i will let you know.

Riewoldt12
5 Jul 2006, 09:16
Our coach has stepped down as senior coach for the remainder of the year. The big man is due to have major heart surgery and it seems he is able to get in and get that done a little quicker than expected. Therefore, simply does not have the time to go on. Caretaker coach will be formally announced on Thursday night, but more than likely will be assistant coach Gerard Robinson, who is highly respected among the playing group.
As for our treasurer, he is staying on and has been quite vocal in his non-support of the coach from the beginning of the year. He simply should stick to his role and let the football side take care of itself.
A good feeling at training last night. Had close to our best numbers for the year. A few of us senior players also spoke to our ex-coach and wished him the best of luck in the coming weeks. There are definitely no hard feeling between the players and coach.
Maybe, just maybe all things are pointing to an upset win over Mathoura this weekend. WHo knows, stranger things have happened.
That is all.

mutton chops
5 Jul 2006, 09:58
Our coach has stepped down as senior coach for the remainder of the year. The big man is due to have major heart surgery and it seems he is able to get in and get that done a little quicker than expected. Therefore, simply does not have the time to go on. Caretaker coach will be formally announced on Thursday night, but more than likely will be assistant coach Gerard Robinson, who is highly respected among the playing group.
As for our treasurer, he is staying on and has been quite vocal in his non-support of the coach from the beginning of the year. He simply should stick to his role and let the football side take care of itself.
A good feeling at training last night. Had close to our best numbers for the year. A few of us senior players also spoke to our ex-coach and wished him the best of luck in the coming weeks. There are definitely no hard feeling between the players and coach.
Maybe, just maybe all things are pointing to an upset win over Mathoura this weekend. WHo knows, stranger things have happened.
That is all.

Totally agree. Committee members especially executive committee members should stick to running the club and let the coach do what they have employed him to do, coach. Bugs me alot when committee members try to influence what happens out on the field. I they want to coach they should apply for the position when it comes available, if not show some support.
Mathoura this weekend. Didnt i hear that there were a couple of players neally come to Rovers this year but opted to travell to mathoura for huge money ? Should be a good game.
With the coach gone, will the new assistant still welcolme mr hardman back to training or do you think that door will be closed ? interesting couple of weeks for you guys. good luck this weekend.

Riewoldt12
5 Jul 2006, 11:08
Totally agree. Committee members especially executive committee members should stick to running the club and let the coach do what they have employed him to do, coach. Bugs me alot when committee members try to influence what happens out on the field. I they want to coach they should apply for the position when it comes available, if not show some support.
Mathoura this weekend. Didnt i hear that there were a couple of players neally come to Rovers this year but opted to travell to mathoura for huge money ? Should be a good game.
With the coach gone, will the new assistant still welcolme mr hardman back to training or do you think that door will be closed ? interesting couple of weeks for you guys. good luck this weekend.

Yeah, a few of the Mathoura guys were virtually through the door, in particular Brad Todd, but Mathoura came in with a very big cheque book and lured down the road.
Club would love nothing better than to take it right up to them this weekend.
As for Robbo welcoming Benji back. Unsure about that. I know he is not happy with what has happened, but he would also know that he only has the job for 6 weeks, therefore may simply put up with it. Robbo travels from Echuca and is unlikely to be there next year.

mutton chops
5 Jul 2006, 11:28
Yeah, a few of the Mathoura guys were virtually through the door, in particular Brad Todd, but Mathoura came in with a very big cheque book and lured down the road.
Club would love nothing better than to take it right up to them this weekend.
As for Robbo welcoming Benji back. Unsure about that. I know he is not happy with what has happened, but he would also know that he only has the job for 6 weeks, therefore may simply put up with it. Robbo travels from Echuca and is unlikely to be there next year.

The stand in coach has no aspirations of coaching next year ? Why is it doubtful that he will not return ? Is it the travel? It is probably one of the biggest issues in footy i think, travelling especially with the price of fuel. Players who travell dont want to be out of pocket (which is fair enough) so the clubs normally would wear the extra costs. Which is what may be pushing up the ever increasing player costs to clubs. Tough issue but no simple answer.

Riewoldt12
5 Jul 2006, 11:35
The stand in coach has no aspirations of coaching next year ? Why is it doubtful that he will not return ? Is it the travel? It is probably one of the biggest issues in footy i think, travelling especially with the price of fuel. Players who travell dont want to be out of pocket (which is fair enough) so the clubs normally would wear the extra costs. Which is what may be pushing up the ever increasing player costs to clubs. Tough issue but no simple answer.

Robbo is probably at the end of his playing days. He is mid-30's and has 2 little boys. He also has a very good job, which requires a lot of travel itself and the added pressure of training and playing is taking it's toll. The club has been really good to both of us, who have travelled from Echuca for 5 years now, but in the end, the cost and wear and tear on the car and body is too much.

ringo1
5 Jul 2006, 11:54
Robbo is probably at the end of his playing days. He is mid-30's and has 2 little boys. He also has a very good job, which requires a lot of travel itself and the added pressure of training and playing is taking it's toll. The club has been really good to both of us, who have travelled from Echuca for 5 years now, but in the end, the cost and wear and tear on the car and body is too much.

I thought the club had turned the corner recently. As u may know i get up that way for a break every now and then and I remember someone saying the club had improved.

journeyman
5 Jul 2006, 12:02

The rovers seems to be going through a tough time.

What's your relationship with the Rams like? They look like they aren't going to make finals for the first time in years.

Could you entice a couple of players from the Rams across in coaching roles or is the relationship that bad that they would never come.

LOCKETT
6 Jul 2006, 09:24
Just to though my two bob in - the Deni Rams next year will be offering Josh Bode a paying position next year along with Paul Schoullar (former SANFL Player). Hardiman is believed to be also headed to Ramland after the bad publicity from certain Rovers players and officials. Unfortunately, the Rovers are headed down the tube as it fails to attrach quality players due to the poor image and backstabbing which has been going on down there for years. May I also note that some of the players from out of town playing for Rovers would struggle to get a senior game in a half competitive side.

Catter
6 Jul 2006, 09:46
As I been saying over the last few post, Bode will be staying at Nulli next year. Whether it being coach or just a player not quite sure. As for Benji Im not quite sure what he is doing, but the way the rovers are treating him he wont go back to the rovers!

mutton chops
7 Jul 2006, 12:11
Just to though my two bob in - the Deni Rams next year will be offering Josh Bode a paying position next year along with Paul Schoullar (former SANFL Player). Hardiman is believed to be also headed to Ramland after the bad publicity from certain Rovers players and officials. Unfortunately, the Rovers are headed down the tube as it fails to attrach quality players due to the poor image and backstabbing which has been going on down there for years. May I also note that some of the players from out of town playing for Rovers would struggle to get a senior game in a half competitive side.

Whos looking like coaching the Rams next year ? Is the current coach putting in for the position or are they looking for another option ? Picking up bode, schoular and hardman would be a good start to the season.

ringo1
7 Jul 2006, 13:07
The Rams or the Rovers? are both positions up for grabs?:thumbsu:

Doona2
7 Jul 2006, 14:28
Driving force

July 7 2006
Shepparton News

The push to establish an Echucabased competition is being spearheaded by disgruntled Central Murray Football League clubs Leitchville-Gunbower, Koondrook-Barham and Cohuna.

The trio, along with Mathoura, Moama and Lockington-Bamawm United have spent the past six months exploring the logistics behind creating the league.

The working party recently released a three-page document outlining the possible framework, including minimum number of clubs, administration structure and even availability of umpires.

It is hoped the prospectus will help clubs make an informed decision about the new league.

FALLING FLAT

July 7 2006
Shepparton News

The push to establish a new Echucabased football league appears doomed.
A News survey yesterday revealed the ambitious proposal doesn't have the necessary support at club level to become a reality.

At least four of the 11 clubs pivotal to the project's success have indicated a reluctance to sever their current allegiances and form a new league.

The Deniliquin Rovers, Echuca United, Picola United and Tongala are all expected to reject an official invitation to join the new venture.

"We've talked about this on several occasions and we're absolutely not interested," Echuca United president Robin Rowbottom said yesterday.

"We're more than happy in the Murray league and we think this proposed move would be a big step backwards."

Deni Rovers counterpart Michael Fleming agreed, saying his club would prefer to remain in Picola District Football League.

"While we're not delighted with the current 15-club composition, we see our future in the Picola league," Fleming said.

"We think there would be too great a gap in the standard of the clubs earmarked for the Echuca league."

Deni Rovers, Echuca United, Picola United and Tongala have all been earmarked as potential foundation members of the proposed league, along with Pyramid Hill, Moama, Mathoura, LeitchvilleGunbower, Lockington-Bamawm United, Cohuna Kangas and Koondrook.

Victorian Country Football League official Alan Davies has spent the past week gauging the level of support that exists for the venture.

Davies, along with fellow VCFL representative John O'Donohue, has been pitching the new league to several clubs throughout the Goulburn Murray region.

The new league will only become a reality if at least 10 clubs pledge their support.

Davies said a vote would be taken by the end of the month and a definitive decision made one way or the other.

"By the end of July we'll know if we're going to push ahead or defer discussions for another 12 months," he said.

Yaaablett
7 Jul 2006, 14:57

Paul is going back to Deni and is actually still the no1 ruckmen for Central Districts (SANFL) and his brother Leigh will also return to Deni. No talk of Bode or Hardiman though at the reunion last weekend. Andrew May to return they hope.

willo1
8 Jul 2006, 21:53
Is there any truth to the rumour that Deniliquin Rovers coach Jeff Fehring has been given the sack?

LOCKETT
11 Jul 2006, 15:23
Pretty sure that is correct - had a meeting with Rovers committee and said he would coach out the year but the committee elected to stand him down as coach.

willo1
11 Jul 2006, 16:45
Pretty sure that is correct - had a meeting with Rovers committee and said he would coach out the year but the committee elected to stand him down as coach.
Whats the reason for this? Only a rumour, and may not be true but i heard on the grapevine that he was caught sleeping with a 14 year old. As i said im not sure if this is true so dont take my word for it.

LOCKETT
11 Jul 2006, 16:49
Whats the reason for this? Only a rumour, and may not be true but i heard on the grapevine that he was caught sleeping with a 14 year old. As i said im not sure if this is true so dont take my word for it.

I hope that's not true! I believe he went off a bit at a few people and the committee didn't like his attitude.

willo1
11 Jul 2006, 16:55
I hope that's not true! I believe he went off a bit at a few people and the committee didn't like his attitude.
I hope not aswell. Possibly just a clash of personalities.

themagicfrog
11 Jul 2006, 17:24

That's a shocking rumour their!
I think Riewoldt12 might shed some light on that.

ringo1
11 Jul 2006, 17:54
Gee that is a really bad rumour.I would have thought Fehring would have kept the club competitive. I reckon they played finals a few years ago. It seems the club may have bottomed out. Hopefully they can turn it around as they did a few years ago.

Juddernaut3
12 Jul 2006, 10:10
definately not the case and couldnt be further from the truth, its a shame how those things get spread around.
the reason for the announcement from jeff came due to him feeling he lacked the players respect and also the respect from parents of players and committee members, he felt he had said all he could say and done all he could do to get the team to play at its best and that wasnt happening, and on top of the fact that he has some health issues, all lead to his departure.
so i guess we can put that issue to rest now?

ringo1
12 Jul 2006, 11:04
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: definately not the case and couldnt be further from the truth, its a shame how those things get spread around.
the reason for the announcement from jeff came due to him feeling he lacked the players respect and also the respect from parents of players and committee members, he felt he had said all he could say and done all he could do to get the team to play at its best and that wasnt happening, and on top of the fact that he has some health issues, all lead to his departure.

Thats good Juddernaut-I thought that it was a bit far fetched.Its a shame rumours like those go around.I hope all can now move forward.

willo1
12 Jul 2006, 17:28
definately not the case and couldnt be further from the truth, its a shame how those things get spread around.
Thanks for clearing that up mate. Rumours like that are terrible and i wanted to make sure it wasnt true.

themagicfrog
17 Jul 2006, 16:52
Barry Roe announced that he will retire at the end of the season. So Berrigan is on the look for a new coach next year.

bamawmbandit
17 Jul 2006, 18:11
With just over a month to go, who do we like for the flag?

Is Shepp E the real deal?

Are Waiaa just gaining the momentum at the right time?

Will Picola tighten up at the season end..again?

journeyman
17 Jul 2006, 18:26
With just over a month to go, who do we like for the flag?

Is Shepp E the real deal?

Are Waiaa just gaining the momentum at the right time?

Will Picola tighten up at the season end..again?

You can never write off Waaia in the finals. They have one of the best records in the state. Jury is still out on Picola, they seem to be bottom side bullies.

If they play off against Waaia in the opening final I reckon they would be in trouble. Waaia has some hard nuts, including Garry Stevens.

Heard that when Waaia beat Picola a few weeks back, a few of Picola's lower-tier players that had been going well wouldn't go near Stevens - they were frightened.

Don't know enough about Shepp East but based on results of this year I'm surprised they didn't go into Murray League. You'd think it would also help them entice more GV players.

ringo1
18 Jul 2006, 08:31
When did Gary stevens start playing for Waaia? They are finals specialists.

bamawmbandit
18 Jul 2006, 17:58
Gary Stevens has played most of the year at Waaia and is said to be looking fwd to the big games to come.

Mat Cason, another Finals specialist is set to have a real crack.

ringo1
18 Jul 2006, 18:00
Gary Stevens has played most of the year at Waaia and is said to be looking fwd to the big games to come.

Mat Cason, another Finals specialist is set to have a real crack.

Bandit I see you found the right PDFL site. I remember Stevens from his Swans Days. The brutal aspect of district football should suit him.:thumbsu:

mutton chops
19 Jul 2006, 11:43
how have the Deni Rovers been going since the coach finishing up. I havent keept up with any footy news as of late. except of course the Michael Gardiner situation. Funny stuff !!!

ringo1
19 Jul 2006, 13:20
The Rovers will need to lure a top-line coach,players and spend some coin to hope for any improvement. Reiwoldt 12 is the man to talk to about this club. Looking back at past results they appear to have played finals in 2003 and been competitive for a 3-5 yr period.:)

themagicfrog
21 Jul 2006, 10:06
What's everyone doing on there weekend off?
You will see some of the Berrigan boys at the WC/Coll game on Sat.
Magic

Riewoldt12
27 Jul 2006, 13:25
G'day guys.
Still been struggling a bit of late up at Rover land, but the bye has refreshed us and with a couple of blokes back this week are confident of a good showing against Katty and Blighty in the next fortnight. Numbers at training are still pretty good and it is surprising somewhat about the positive vibe around the club still.
With finals fast approaching, do guys wanna give their thoughts about how they see the finals panning out.
Personally, top 6 will be Shepp East, Tungamah, Katandra, Picola, Waaia and maybe Katunga to slip into 6th. Yarroweyah seem to be struggling with injuries at present. If the finals series is wet, I expect Picola to do a bit of damage, but a dry August will definitely suit Tungamah's big forwards. Waaia and Katandra are finals specialists and know how to get the job done, but it looks like Shepp East's class all over the ground and ability to play in any kind of weather, may mean they will take some beating. Shepp East v Tungamah grand final.
Cheers

ringo1
27 Jul 2006, 13:56
Riewvoldt 12 where have you been buddy????Will u play again up there next year???If not where?:thumbsu:

Riewoldt12
27 Jul 2006, 14:12
Riewvoldt 12 where have you been buddy????Will u play again up there next year???If not where?:thumbsu:
Been away for a couple of weeks. Unsure about next year. If not at the rovers, probably Echuca, with a few mates.

ringo1
27 Jul 2006, 15:41
Been away for a couple of weeks. Unsure about next year. If not at the rovers, probably Echuca, with a few mates.

Thanks.U r always welcome down Warrnambool way.

willo1
27 Jul 2006, 16:44
Are you talking Echuca Football Club, or possibly Echuca United?

themagicfrog
27 Jul 2006, 16:53

Any news on Deni coach for next year, I know that there has been a few names throw around here, but there always is untill they turn up to the first game.
Magic

ringo1
27 Jul 2006, 16:56
frog who is on your shortlist???:thumbsu:

themagicfrog
27 Jul 2006, 17:25
I wont name names yet, but I've heard a fella from Yarrawonga, an ex O&M coach, Someone from Shepp that was going to come this year but wasn't chased hard enough and someone from Deni way. But like I said I don't believe much of it untill see it.
Goddard looks to be a possible return for next year.
Magic

Riewoldt12
28 Jul 2006, 09:13
Are you talking Echuca Football Club, or possibly Echuca United?
Echuca, Willo1, been at United before.
Magicfrog, how is Goddard going down in Bendigo?
We play Katamatite tomorrow. Got a sneaking feeling an upset may be on the cards.

themagicfrog
28 Jul 2006, 09:58
Echuca, Willo1, been at United before.
Magicfrog, how is Goddard going down in Bendigo?
We play Katamatite tomorrow. Got a sneaking feeling an upset may be on the cards.

Goddard has had to work a couple of weekends so he hasn't played to many yet, hasn't settled into a possy yet.
might be a chance to get him back next year if we have a new president
Magic

The Fev
31 Jul 2006, 10:02
Get on the Rover Train, we're back!

Andyt30
31 Jul 2006, 15:43
what date is this years Picola Grand final on ? is it close to last years date ? last year it was the 10th would it be the 9th of september?

cheers

The Fev
31 Jul 2006, 17:51
what date is this years Picola Grand final on ? is it close to last years date ? last year it was the 10th would it be the 9th of september?

cheers

nope, it's on the 16th

Riewoldt12
1 Aug 2006, 08:45
Told you guys an upset might be on the cards. Look out Blighty this week!
Magicfrog, you guys seemed to push them all the way on Saturday. Good game by you guys or are they struggling at present.

themagicfrog
1 Aug 2006, 09:33
Told you guys an upset might be on the cards. Look out Blighty this week!
Magicfrog, you guys seemed to push them all the way on Saturday. Good game by you guys or are they struggling at present.

They lost their ruckman early, and we seemed to get on top in the guts, all we needed was a marking forward and we would of had the game sown up!
They also lost one player to suspension, 4 weeks.
If you guys win the centre you'll win the game.
Magic

Riewoldt12
2 Aug 2006, 11:36
They lost their ruckman early, and we seemed to get on top in the guts, all we needed was a marking forward and we would of had the game sown up!
They also lost one player to suspension, 4 weeks.
If you guys win the centre you'll win the game.
Magic

Magic,
Thanks for that. We are pretty confident again this week against our arch rivals.
You mentioned about Goddard probably returning if you got a new president. Why?

Still like Shepp East for the premiership, but Tungamah's forward line on a dry day is going to take some stopping.

mutton chops
2 Aug 2006, 13:58
Magic,
Thanks for that. We are pretty confident again this week against our arch rivals.

Still like Shepp East for the premiership, but Tungamah's forward line on a dry day is going to take some stopping.

Riewoldt, any news around the traps about a new coach for you guys next year. As mentioned in a previous quote there has been a couple of names thrown about. I also hear the RAMS will be looking for a new one. Any news there ?? This will be a first for Deni. Not having a side in the final series. Have you guys been keeping an eye on Mr Hardman over in his new side. How has he been going ?? Is he back at training with you guys ? Congrats on the win on the weekend..

The Fev
2 Aug 2006, 14:41
Riewoldt, any news around the traps about a new coach for you guys next year. As mentioned in a previous quote there has been a couple of names thrown about. I also hear the RAMS will be looking for a new one. Any news there ?? This will be a first for Deni. Not having a side in the final series. Have you guys been keeping an eye on Mr Hardman over in his new side. How has he been going ?? Is he back at training with you guys ? Congrats on the win on the weekend..

No news on a new coach as yet, worry about that when the time arises, we will get through the rest of the season first. Benji is travelling along very well, settled in down there and is playing some good footy out of the goal square and the middle.

themagicfrog
2 Aug 2006, 14:47
Magic,

Our current Pres was the only one really holding him back from getting his clearence, Roe asked of him to stay for a number of games and he did what they wanted but the Pres was still playing hard ball. We will have a new Pres next year, Goddard didn't play again this week he told me he has lost interest.
Magic

chicken machine
3 Aug 2006, 12:27
regaridng the retirement of Roe as coach at seasons end would the club be looking at getting timmy back to the club? If so that would bring quite a few blokes back from other leagues id imagine, and he'd be worth every cent the club had and provide great leadership for the young kids at the club. who else is rumoured to be heading back to the mighty saints for next season?

themagicfrog
3 Aug 2006, 14:32
regaridng the retirement of Roe as coach at seasons end would the club be looking at getting timmy back to the club? If so that would bring quite a few blokes back from other leagues id imagine, and he'd be worth every cent the club had and provide great leadership for the young kids at the club. who else is rumoured to be heading back to the mighty saints for next season?

Tim's name has been mentioned since mid season, but I think that it would be a big ask to get him, you could gaurantee a flood of players back if we got him. But one of his team mates that is getting named at the moment as one we are chasing.
Another that we are chasing from O&M would see Bush back, but I'm not sure who else would come back though, Possible Pretzle and Goddard.
Will you make the finals down there Brad?
Magic

hectomorphic
3 Aug 2006, 14:53
Has goddard lost passion because he has to work all the time or is it Kangaroo Flats culture and low rating in the league that has him not caring about football?

themagicfrog
3 Aug 2006, 16:52
Has goddard lost passion because he has to work all the time or is it Kangaroo Flats culture and low rating in the league that has him not caring about football?

He has told me that he doesn't feel comfortable their as he did @ Berrigan, but I supposed that's bound to happen when you change clubs. I know he loves his new job the Flat got for him, I just hope that they don't use that againts him if he was to decide that he want's to play with his mates and family again.
Magic

Riewoldt12
4 Aug 2006, 14:00
Magicfrog, I hope you have picked us this week to topple Blighty. A great feeling amongst the players group. Saturday is also sponsors and past players day at the Club. All looks towards being a tough day for the Redeyes. Another upset on the cards I am thinking.

themagicfrog
4 Aug 2006, 16:34
Magicfrog, I hope you have picked us this week to topple Blighty. A great feeling amongst the players group. Saturday is also sponsors and past players day at the Club. All looks towards being a tough day for the Redeyes. Another upset on the cards I am thinking.

Sorry Riewolt12, I didn't should of last week though, I'm still coming third, 3.5 behind leader, so much for winning it 3 years in a row, and they have better prizes this year!
magic

vote for pedro
7 Aug 2006, 13:35
Any goss on my old club Katandra? Who is playing well? Chasing any recruits for next season?

bamawmbandit
7 Aug 2006, 20:07
Aparently All the goss at Katandra is off field

Riewoldt12
8 Aug 2006, 08:48
Aparently All the goss at Katandra is off field

Don't leave us hanging bamawmbandit. What have you heard?

bamawmbandit
8 Aug 2006, 16:02
Touchy subject but all I will say is that Past Premiership player and local sporting identity had massive fall out and a punch on that resulted in one of them being questioned by local cops.

Doona2
10 Aug 2006, 15:43
What is eveyone's thoughts on the 1st vs 2nd showdown atTungamah this Saturday . . . should be an absolute ripper!!!

The Fev
10 Aug 2006, 17:00
What is eveyone's thoughts on the 1st vs 2nd showdown atTungamah this Saturday . . . should be an absolute ripper!!!

hopefully tungamah win and Macheda kicks 8!

bamawmbandit
10 Aug 2006, 17:22
Shepp East too good.
Are bringing this league to a new level.
I hear that last week their Reserves had afull blown training drill during half time of the thirds!
..mind u the training drill continued during theirmatch as they thumped Waaia..

themagicfrog
15 Aug 2006, 17:27
anyone got any news for next years doings, I know some are still thinking about this year but some of us have been thinking about next year for a while!
Magic

homebake
17 Aug 2006, 15:25
anyone got any news for next years doings, I know some are still thinking about this year but some of us have been thinking about next year for a while!
Magic

Magic, have you heard any more news on the whether the Ovens and Murray boys are heading back to Berrigan, (particularly bush and timmy)and what other news of recruits have you heard? Oh and as for Brad making the finals, have to beat camberwell away this weekend, tough ask!

Riewoldt12
17 Aug 2006, 15:48
No doubt as soon as the final game is over, we will be pretty aggresive in our recruiting of players and especially trying to secure a coach. Still a bit of talk about Bode returning to the club.

Finals just around the corner. What is everyone thinking, especially seeing Tunga gave Shepp East a nice old touch up on the weekend. Still like Shepp East, but as I have always said. A dry finals series and good days are going to make Tunga's forward line very hard to control.

The Fev
17 Aug 2006, 17:27
like what i saw on the weekend with tunga thumping shep. Hope Tunga go all the way, if not them then a traditional picola league side.... I'd hate to see Shep win it in their first year, whether or not they do I hope it's their first and last year in the comp!

themagicfrog
17 Aug 2006, 17:31
Magic, have you heard any more news on the whether the Ovens and Murray boys are heading back to Berrigan, (particularly bush and timmy)and what other news of recruits have you heard? Oh and as for Brad making the finals, have to beat camberwell away this weekend, tough ask!

Tim has signed with Yarra for another year, he said he will have a look the year after, Have not heard much else on coaching, We advertised this week in the paper. Hopefully will here some more soon, i will have to get back on the committee so I'm in the loop again.
Magic

BODZY#32
17 Aug 2006, 17:54
like what i saw on the weekend with tunga thumping shep. Hope Tunga go all the way, if not them then a traditional picola league side.... I'd hate to see Shep win it in their first year, whether or not they do I hope it's their first and last year in the comp!

Here here.... just an outsider looking in and i must say its great to see the love for shepp east continues...... go everyone else!!! it brought a big smile to my face seeing the results of tungamah vs shepp east... i was in central goulburn footy league til least year now in the kdfl, and by the sounds of it they still are and always have been a club that everyone loves too hate.... :D love it! keep up the atmosphere against them pdfl.... i hate to admit it, but you will probably never see there seniors and seconds outside the top 3 or 4 ever......:(

themagicfrog
18 Aug 2006, 11:01
Here here.... just an outsider looking in and i must say its great to see the love for shepp east continues...... go everyone else!!! it brought a big smile to my face seeing the results of tungamah vs shepp east... i was in central goulburn footy league til least year now in the kdfl, and by the sounds of it they still are and always have been a club that everyone loves too hate.... :D love it! keep up the atmosphere against them pdfl.... i hate to admit it, but you will probably never see there seniors and seconds outside the top 3 or 4 ever......:(

I was told that after they lost there first game they went out and brought the extra players they needed to get where they are now, Is this typical of them? to keep bying untill they happy!
Magic

The Fev
18 Aug 2006, 12:19
I was told that after they lost there first game they went out and brought the extra players they needed to get where they are now, Is this typical of them? to keep bying untill they happy!
Magic

I don't think that was the case, they had about 10 out against katandra rd 1

themagicfrog
18 Aug 2006, 14:30
Has anyone heard any more on the PDFL, CDFL redevelopment? It's been quinte for a while, Are they still looking at doing something before 2007?
Magic

BODZY#32
18 Aug 2006, 15:16
Magic

To be honest, i'd only be guessing if answered that. Look we always liked to think they just spent up big n bought success, but it was probably more just jealous of them coz of how easy and good they seem to run as a club. At the end of the day success brings success and they always seem to be well ran off and on the field. And being so close to shepp id imagine recruiting wouldn't be overly hard for them. Obviously there commitee are top notch and get it right year in year out and they get strong support. For my home team, beating them at any level, rarely happened, so when it did it meant the world and probably why we loved to have a strong rivalry full of hatred with their club....

bamawmbandit
21 Aug 2006, 10:38
Correct me if I am wrong guys,
Do Waaia play Elim Final both Reserves and Seniors this Sunday on their Home ground?

The Fev
21 Aug 2006, 19:14
can someone tell me what went on with tungamah over the weekend? How can you go from smashing the league leaders and then only kicking 2 goals for the whole match the following week? Bizarre....

Can Shop
22 Aug 2006, 21:16
Just wondering what are the chances of Scott Iddles winning the medal in the seniors this year. I know he's playing for a team that tries hard each week and doenst normally get the right result but has only not been in the best 3 players once or twice al year

themagicfrog
23 Aug 2006, 10:09
Just wondering what are the chances of Scott Iddles winning the medal in the seniors this year. I know he's playing for a team that tries hard each week and doenst normally get the right result but has only not been in the best 3 players once or twice al year

Well Howard Yelland won it in our first year and we didn't win to many but he came into the leauge with a fair reputation. I think Brunskill gets noticed more at Strathy than Iddles.
Magic

Can Shop
23 Aug 2006, 10:50
fair enough he's still a fair player if u ask me

Riewoldt12
23 Aug 2006, 11:05
I think it is fair to say Adam Brunt will take some beating again and surely Howden and Downie both kicking 100 will poll well.

themagicfrog
23 Aug 2006, 12:10
Local B&F's
How does everybody else do there's, Ours is now a formal night for all grades, with the Count presented on Powerpoint, large screen, large hall. We got around 400 to ours last year, the girls love to dress up!
We are having ours on the 23rd Sept, how about everyone else. Who will win yours, i know ours so I cant say untill the day.
Magic

Riewoldt12
23 Aug 2006, 12:29
Local B&F's
How does everybody else do there's, Ours is now a formal night for all grades, with the Count presented on Powerpoint, large screen, large hall. We got around 400 to ours last year, the girls love to dress up!
We are having ours on the 23rd Sept, how about everyone else. Who will win yours, i know ours so I cant say untill the day.
Magic

C'mon Magic, you can tell us. I think it will be between young Hickey and Thornton, maybe Littlejohn to poll well, also. Am I close?
Our vote count is on a Sunday and all junior and senior football and netball teams are done. A long day, and in the past not done particularly well. The presentation night is to follow the next Saturday night. Senior B&F, maybe between Liam Fleming and Aiden Jenkin. Both been pretty consistent all year.

The Fev
23 Aug 2006, 13:55
C'mon Magic, you can tell us. I think it will be between young Hickey and Thornton, maybe Littlejohn to poll well, also. Am I close?
Our vote count is on a Sunday and all junior and senior football and netball teams are done. A long day, and in the past not done particularly well. The presentation night is to follow the next Saturday night. Senior B&F, maybe between Liam Fleming and Aiden Jenkin. Both been pretty consistent all year.

I wouldn't be surprisedif the Silver Fox made a late surge, he had a good second half of the year, as did Aidan, where as Bones was consistent all year.

Go Cohuna
27 Aug 2006, 18:32
Can anyone tell me of any new coaching positions in this league because i have heard of some one over my way is supposed to be coaching a team in the picola league.

themagicfrog
29 Aug 2006, 09:41

Have to apologise their Can Shop, Scott done well for himself last night at the count picking up best opposition player, in what was a tight contest, then he managed to get runner up in the big one going down to favourite Brunt.
Well done to all who picked up awards, Brunt was always going to win as was Scott Evans in the Magoo’s.

Heard last night that Ad’s will leave his coaching role at Yarroweyah and return to Waaia and that Berrigans new coach might be coming from with in the PDFL.

Magic

Can Shop
29 Aug 2006, 10:49
Whats the best opposition player award??? Wills waarsdorp be coaching Waaia??

themagicfrog
29 Aug 2006, 11:03
Whats the best opposition player award??? Wills waarsdorp be coaching Waaia??

Each week the opposition team vote on the 3 best players from your team in a 3,2,1 vote card system, it's called the Barooga Sporties Award, its a cash award, if you check out www.pdfl.vcfl.com.au you can see the results from the Seniors vote and the Reserves one.
I don't know if Ad's is going back to coach.
Magic

Can Shop
29 Aug 2006, 11:26
looks like its skiddles shout then... i can nearly guarantee you unless strathy sign up a few of his mates from his old club he will be leaving them next year to play with them

themagicfrog
29 Aug 2006, 11:36
looks like its skiddles shout then... i can nearly guarantee you unless strathy sign up a few of his mates from his old club he will be leaving them next year to play with them

Where is his old club?

Can Shop
29 Aug 2006, 11:43
Shepp United

hectomorphic
29 Aug 2006, 12:40
How do you know this Can Shop?

Can Shop
29 Aug 2006, 12:46
I happend to be very good mates with him.

Can Shop
31 Aug 2006, 13:48
I thought there owud be more posts her econsidering its finals

hectomorphic
31 Aug 2006, 15:09
What mates would strathy have to recruit do you think? Shepp U mates? Who?

The Fev
11 Sep 2006, 18:44
Unlucky for Tungamah, wish they would of beat Shep and thumped Katandra in the big one, don't want Shep to win in their first year in the league and Katandra are a cocky bunch.... hope it's a draw

themagicfrog
13 Sep 2006, 17:21
Now that the finals are nearly over does anyone look like losing any players of note?
Magic

themagicfrog
15 Sep 2006, 14:26
With the rumours that Gary Downie will coach Tocumwal next near and bring two players with him, does this mean Yarroweyah will lose Ads back to Waaia and Sean Downie to Toc?
Has anyone heard anything on this?
Magic