View Full Version : Picola District football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

Lazy HJ
29 May 2007, 16:30
[quote=karjam;7673685]

If anyone should its Shepp East. Now I know that its only half way through the year but they are a massive chance to win all 4. They beat Katandra in all 4 grades this year and Katandra are the next best club in the PDFL this year. Shepp East have plenty of money floating around.

Dont rate Waaia, dookie or maybe even Deni there marto. Although the last 2 are probably not up to top 3 i reckon that Waaia could be a serious contender. Bit early to be saying that one side is a "massive" chance to win the flag let alone all four. But we all have our opinions. I still like Picola's chances as well, eventhough they have been off the boil the last couple of weeks. Good to see a fairly even comp at this time of the season.

karjam
29 May 2007, 16:30
[quote=karjam;7673685]

If anyone should its Shepp East. Now I know that its only half way through the year but they are a massive chance to win all 4. They beat Katandra in all 4 grades this year and Katandra are the next best club in the PDFL this year. Shepp East have plenty of money floating around.

How do you know that Shepp East has plenty of money??

toquick
29 May 2007, 16:54
I think people pressume that any successful sporting club must have alot of money behind it. In some cases people are wrong and it is just love of the club or something else that gets good players interested in playing there.But in most cases it is money that bring success.

rogerdoger
29 May 2007, 17:06
I think people pressume that any successful sporting club must have alot of money behind it. In some cases people are wrong and it is just love of the club or something else that gets good players interested in playing there.But in most cases it is money that bring success.
Money does have a lot to do with it, but id say knowing people who know people is just as important. Theres still merrit in playing football with a mate. Its still a game to most people and most people want to be around ther mates. I may be wrong though, its happend before. :D

iwantanotherflag
29 May 2007, 17:12

Yes, money can get you a gun player or two. But I am of the opinion that games are won and lost through your worst 6 players. If your bottom 6 are better than their bottom 6 you will go alright!

Clubs close to Shepp are lucky as many of the boys who grew up on farms, like myself, are now employed in Shepparton. We can all still drive home to play. Bit harder if your juniors have to move further away, very hard to drive 'home' to play footy if its an hour drive or more.
I reckon that's why we do so well...

It's still 30km from Shepp to Katandra, but we do it for nothing because;
1- Its our club
2- We win our share of games
3- What other minor league club would we play for?

Guys that leave Katandra, generally go on to play a better standard of footy. Or were probably struggling for a game in the 2s anyhow and end up at clubs that are unsuccessful.

Not many guys leave our seniors to play seniors at another district club. I can't name any!

Money has Sweet Fck All to do with it. It's an entire culture!

Anyway guys, enough of the novel I have just written. I am going to run around in the rain!!!! Don't make excuses!!!:cool:

Marto121
29 May 2007, 17:22
[quote=Marto121;7675904]

I would probably say they are the richest in the league but I suppose someone has to be.

TTTT
29 May 2007, 18:15
i dont believe succesfull clubs such as shepp east are as rich as what people think, dont get me wrong some clubs do have a bigger budget then others but its how that money is spent is what counts. clubs may choose to spend their money more wisely, creating a better environment around the club which attracts new players to the club and brings back past players where as some clubs may opt to go all out and spend big on players which may bring short term success but in the end creats more problems.

iwantanotherflag
29 May 2007, 18:17
[quote=karjam;7676412]

I would probably say they are the richest in the league but I suppose someone has to be.

I reckon Picola would pay the most $$, but just a hunch. Players don't leave their old clubs for nothing. Brunt would be on big coin, which is fair enough...class player and coach. The Daniels would not be there for a pie and coke. Trennery must have got a bit to sell out his home club on 194 games!

Other players in the past like Stockman and Mallon came up from Melb.

As for Shepp East, the Greater Shepparton Council has really tried to increase the standard of the footy grounds in its shire. You will see nice new community centres at Shepp East, Dookie & Tally. In the near future Katandra will have a new set up too!

watthe
29 May 2007, 19:27
Not a bad bit of homework there Pace! Yes, must take into account where the players come from. Lots of Mathoura guys would either live in Deni or Echuca. Picola United players from Tonny or Echuca.

The question is... is Mathoura more of an Echuca team or a Deni team. If they are a Deni team they should go North, If they are an Echuca team they would be better suited in a Southern League.

gday guys i have spoken to some of my mates from mathoura about the talk of a restructure and they tend to think that it is a bad idea and that it could cost mathoura and some other smaller clubs to go under, i spose the vcfl couldnt really care though, similar situation going on in the lpfl where i play and the vcfl have stuffed around for the past 7 years and in the mean time 3-4 clubs have bitten the dust with 2-3 more to follow

rogerdoger
29 May 2007, 22:36
Money does have a lot to do with it, but id say knowing people who know people is just as important. Theres still merrit in playing football with a mate. Its still a game to most people and most people want to be around ther mates. I may be wrong though, its happend before. :D
Nope I was wrong. :D

BACKS SORE!
30 May 2007, 09:35
G'day lads I know it's a day or two early for tips, but Im gunna put mine in now. As I Wont be near a computer on Thursday or Friday....

Dookie to keep thier good form up and get up by 8-10 goals
The Kats to show Blighty what it takes to be a finals side 10 goals plus
Tungamah could get pushed early by the timbercutters @ their home dunghill but get up by 7 goals.
The boys from the East of Shepparton to roll Picola under 5 goals
Deni to beat the bombers by 2 points coz it's @ thier home ground.
Strathy to celebrate thier second win of the year with a hard fought win over the pies
And hopfully our boys to get points in a close game against the Swannies

Happy punting:thumbsu:

Lazy HJ
30 May 2007, 10:13
All this talk about who is the richest club and who spends the most amount of money is crap talk. How the hell does anyone know how much money other clubs have in the bank. Obviously we can have a little quess as to who spends the money, eg Picola with those mentioned by iwantanotherflag, but to say shepp east is the richest club or whoever is stupid. How do you know that blighty or berrigan or strathy dont have 100k in the bank but dont necessarly go out and spend up. It is easier for those clubs close to bigger towns to recruit. Instead of a player costing 300 a game at picola or yarroweyah, they can go to shepp east or katandra for 100, hence that club getting more for their dollar. But that doesnt necessarly they have a huge payroll. You know when a club goes out and buys a flag, they are the clubs that only stay up the top for 1-2 years.

Big Wheel
30 May 2007, 10:48
All this talk about who is the richest club and who spends the most amount of money is crap talk. How the hell does anyone know how much money other clubs have in the bank. Obviously we can have a little quess as to who spends the money, eg Picola with those mentioned by iwantanotherflag, but to say shepp east is the richest club or whoever is stupid. How do you know that blighty or berrigan or strathy dont have 100k in the bank but dont necessarly go out and spend up. It is easier for those clubs close to bigger towns to recruit. Instead of a player costing 300 a game at picola or yarroweyah, they can go to shepp east or katandra for 100, hence that club getting more for their dollar. But that doesnt necessarly they have a huge payroll. You know when a club goes out and buys a flag, they are the clubs that only stay up the top for 1-2 years.

hahaha Katandra for 100 bucks,

Lazy HJ you may find this hard to believe but Katandra only pay the coach and the assistant. all the rest play for nothing. The club does have incentives starting at 100 bucks for best on, which is normally the teagues or lawless.

And if any one out there is wondering what the club is spending their money on, the answer is saving. We all know what Shepp East clubs rooms are like well out at Kat-land they will be having something very simular to that.

You must admit, picola does seem to be paying a little bit. As well as Tungamah over the last few years.

iwantanotherflag
30 May 2007, 12:09
As our great league has so many clubs who have participated in other leagues, I was wondering as to how many senior premierships each side has won. On our membership card it lists all the premiers since we started in the Benalla-Tungamah League in 1950. There has been 18 of them. Three in the PDFL and 15 in the TFL (or Benalla-TFL). Thats not a bad effort over 57 years. I would guess that they have also been runners up on more than 10 occasions.

I would guess Shepp East and Waaia would have a pretty high number too!

Lazy HJ
30 May 2007, 12:16
hahaha Katandra for 100 bucks,

Lazy HJ you may find this hard to believe but Katandra only pay the coach and the assistant. all the rest play for nothing. The club does have incentives starting at 100 bucks for best on, which is normally the teagues or lawless.

And if any one out there is wondering what the club is spending their money on, the answer is saving. We all know what Shepp East clubs rooms are like well out at Kat-land they will be having something very simular to that.

You must admit, picola does seem to be paying a little bit. As well as Tungamah over the last few years.

I have read that you guys dont spend any money on players and well done on that. I was trying to make the point that sides close to bigger towns (as katrandra is) do have a bigger pool of players to draw from and dont have to spend as much. As iwantantherflag said before the reason you guys can keep your locals is because they travel the 30km from shep home to play. My point is that the clubs close to shep probably dont spend the money most think they do, they just have a better access to the players. But yes Picola and Tungamah do have good lists.

Lazy HJ
30 May 2007, 12:18
As our great league has so many clubs who have participated in other leagues, I was wondering as to how many senior premierships each side has won. On our membership card it lists all the premiers since we started in the Benalla-Tungamah League in 1950. There has been 18 of them. Three in the PDFL and 15 in the TFL (or Benalla-TFL). Thats not a bad effort over 57 years. I would guess that they have also been runners up on more than 10 occasions.

I would guess Shepp East and Waaia would have a pretty high number too!

What clubs would have the least amount of senior flags ??

coconut
30 May 2007, 12:43
See the drought has really affected the players at Dookie. It seems that as soon as the weather gets cold and there is a bit of moisture the boys head inside for training, too cold outside. Good to see plenty of numbers there making use of the new rooms.

Big Wheel
30 May 2007, 13:58
What clubs would have the least amount of senior flags ??

Just by reading the post mobenwhoever posted on here, Wunughu have won four or so in the last 50 years.
What about berrigan MAGIC?
And Yarraweyah?? anyone know.
Tungahmah would of won a few, same as picola back in the day.

BACKS SORE!
30 May 2007, 14:08
Just by reading the post mobenwhoever posted on here, Wunughu have won four or so in the last 50 years.
Yarroweyah flags in pdfl 63, 70, 72, 80, 85, & 88
hope that helps Big Wheel.

Big Wheel
30 May 2007, 14:18
Yarroweyah flags in pdfl 63, 70, 72, 80, 85, & 88
hope that helps Big Wheel.

Yeah cheers Backs Sore. I just back and counted them up aswell.
The hardest part is trying to find out where the clubs original came from, what league etc...

BACKS SORE!
30 May 2007, 14:24
Yeah cheers Backs Sore. I just back and counted them up aswell.
The hardest part is trying to find out where the clubs original came from, what league etc...
Yeah ya not wrong! Yarroweyah have been in the pdfl since "56" in it's first year as a footy/netball club.

iwantanotherflag
30 May 2007, 14:55
See the drought has really affected the players at Dookie. It seems that as soon as the weather gets cold and there is a bit of moisture the boys head inside for training, too cold outside. Good to see plenty of numbers there making use of the new rooms.

Yeah not many 2s players at training last night! We actually got through with no rain during training.

Still was good to train with a breeze considering we go up to the windy plains at Blighty this week. Always blows a bit up there!

Just looking at this weeks games. All sides will be going into this round thinking they can have a win. I know you always think you can win, but all 7 games this week could go either way! Been a very long time since that was the case. 7 games of the round!

themagicfrog
30 May 2007, 15:48

Sorry Big Wheel not sure off hand

Lazy HJ
30 May 2007, 16:02
Tips for the weekend

Dookie to keep on the improve
Blighty to fight back after a disapointing loss last week
Tungamah by 10 goals
Picola to get back on track at home
Waaia just over Deni
Wunghnu, i hope over strathy, sorry strathy
in the match of the round Katunga just to get over the line

karjam
30 May 2007, 16:54

Well said Lazy HJ

chicken machine
30 May 2007, 17:54

for berrigan the last flag won was in 1980, off the top of my head seniors have won about 6 flags in the MFL could be wrong so if someone could verify this would be much appreciated, berrigan had a very strong list in the 50's and 60's with Les Foote coming from North Melb to coach the club in the early 50's. last time Berrigan came close was in 1994 with Skeita's brother at the helm as captain/coach the mighty number 28, was a top team use to love watching our senior boys flog the likes of tocumwal finley etc...

mercs
30 May 2007, 21:45
Well said Lazy HJ

hey karjam how are u mate the easters going nicley mate which is great to see, Carby saying that Mick Kelly had a blinder on the weekend

premiers07
30 May 2007, 21:50
[quote=Marto121;7675904]

able to get sponsors from shepp that are bigger and better than any other club are able to afford... 1 in particulur shepp get that i have heared that really does help the club out with the money side of it..

premiers07
30 May 2007, 22:02
dont get me wrong i respect the way shepp goes about there club.. they have a really good structure around the club and its a credit to them..:thumbsu:

Big Wheel
30 May 2007, 22:46
for berrigan the last flag won was in 1980, off the top of my head seniors have won about 6 flags in the MFL could be wrong so if someone could verify this would be much appreciated, berrigan had a very strong list in the 50's and 60's with Les Foote coming from North Melb to coach the club in the early 50's. last time Berrigan came close was in 1994 with Skeita's brother at the helm as captain/coach the mighty number 28, was a top team use to love watching our senior boys flog the likes of tocumwal finley etc...

Thanks for the numbers !

Yeah I know Les Foote, he was a family friend of me grandfarther's before he died. They played tennis together, I remember me grandfarther saying that Les had everypart of his body tapped up before he would play.

Legend of a man !!:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

How about Blight how many cups have they won?? anybody know?

premiers07
30 May 2007, 23:11
Thanks for the numbers !

Yeah I know Les Foote, he was a family friend of me grandfarther's before he died. They played tennis together, I remember me grandfarther saying that Les had everypart of his body tapped up before he would play.

Legend of a man !!:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

How about Blight how many cups have they won?? anybody know?
not sure but i remember watching th footy shows 10 year dvd that came out, had the best of allmost footy legends and it had cleeland from waaia kicking a goal after the siren to beat blight in the 1990's.. there was a freekick and 5o metres paid then the siren went and he slotted it from 55 with a barrell..:thumbsu:

Big Wheel
31 May 2007, 10:05
not sure but i remember watching th footy shows 10 year dvd that came out, had the best of allmost footy legends and it had cleeland from waaia kicking a goal after the siren to beat blight in the 1990's.. there was a freekick and 5o metres paid then the siren went and he slotted it from 55 with a barrell..:thumbsu:

I beleive that was in a reserves game.

Anyone out there know if this is true???

Lazy HJ
31 May 2007, 10:12
I beleive that was in a reserves game.

Anyone out there know if this is true???

Definatley was a senior game. Blighty gave away a free on the siren the bloke with the ball (blighty player) threw the ball in the air as he thought they won, gave away the 50m penality. The waaia player kicked a huge goal to win the game. Funny to watch it now, the blighty spectators ran on the field is congratulate the players and within seconds they had lost it. The old saying, gone from stud to dud the matter of a 30 seconds. It might of been in the late 80's early 90's cannt exactly tell you.

karjam
31 May 2007, 10:55
hey karjam how are u mate the easters going nicley mate which is great to see, Carby saying that Mick Kelly had a blinder on the weekend

Yeah he is starting to find a bit of form which is good for him, hows Lakes Entrance travelling Mercs are ya getting a kick?

TTTT
31 May 2007, 16:31
anyone know whats happening with the grany this year?, has katunga got it back? mabe the pdfl should follow the kdfl and look outside the league to find a ground to host the big day EG- give barooga the GF instead of semis, mabe cobram etc

Rascal99
31 May 2007, 16:58
anyone know whats happening with the grany this year?, has katunga got it back? mabe the pdfl should follow the kdfl and look outside the league to find a ground to host the big day EG- give barooga the GF instead of semis, mabe cobram etc

Dunno what the go is with the grand final.

But my opinion is that the grand final should be played at one of the leagues grounds, i dunno what barooga gets out of the double header thing but i wouldnt imagine they would do if for nothing...

If they move any of the finals games to other venues outside the league, why not move all home and away games there aswell, when the actual home team (eg. barooga) isnt playing...

Just my opinion:thumbsu:

Skills01
31 May 2007, 17:00
As we are a country football League I am a big fan of leaving the Granny in the bush. Sure there are plenty of arguments to have it at a larger venue and there for potentially make more money......... but leave it at the grass roots level, perhaps move it to some of the better grounds in the league, Dookie could be a good option or others.

karjam
31 May 2007, 17:09
As we are a country football League I am a big fan of leaving the Granny in the bush. Sure there are plenty of arguments to have it at a larger venue and there for potentially make more money......... but leave it at the grass roots level, perhaps move it to some of the better grounds in the league, Dookie could be a good option or others.

There is a League Meeting on Monday, June 14 - I'm sure it will come up in discussions - is the double header at Barooga a goer again this year, cause I heard a lot of the clubs where not particularly happy with the concept ???????? Last year was the first time I had experienced it and I didn't like it - too much going on, seemed to back and forth from both grounds and the netball - can't get settled - where the Grand Final will be played is anyones guess at this stage?

themagicfrog
31 May 2007, 17:26
There is a League Meeting on Monday, June 14 - I'm sure it will come up in discussions - is the double header at Barooga a goer again this year, cause I heard a lot of the clubs where not particularly happy with the concept ???????? Last year was the first time I had experienced it and I didn't like it - too much going on, seemed to back and forth from both grounds and the netball - can't get settled - where the Grand Final will be played is anyones guess at this stage?

Barooga double header stays but final 6 changed to that of Murray FL.
I think all clubs will put there hands up for the granny, but how many have the rooms, netball, parking, grandstand to cater for that many people.
I know we have, and like i said other will put there hands up and say that they have what it takes, but we know that there are some shockers of rooms in our leagues, Mathoura, Tung (rooms to small) Picola, Waaia (shared showers) etc. I'm yet to see Shepp or Dookie so I'm not sure what thiers are like.

premiers07
31 May 2007, 17:31
Definatley was a senior game. Blighty gave away a free on the siren the bloke with the ball (blighty player) threw the ball in the air as he thought they won, gave away the 50m penality. The waaia player kicked a huge goal to win the game. Funny to watch it now, the blighty spectators ran on the field is congratulate the players and within seconds they had lost it. The old saying, gone from stud to dud the matter of a 30 seconds. It might of been in the late 80's early 90's cannt exactly tell you.
yes thats correct.. i probably should of expanded on what i said.. very amusing to look back now and watch it.. im preety sure it was the 90's when waaia won a few flags in arow..

iwantanotherflag
31 May 2007, 17:32

No I do not like the idea. I know many clubs would love to hold the GF. It has been at Katunga for years. Give some others a go!

I am pretty sure we'd have it!

iwantanotherflag
31 May 2007, 17:37
Lets go the whole hog!!! Have the GF at Rumba at night!!!! :thumbsu: :eek: :) ;) :D :thumbsd:

TTTT
31 May 2007, 17:46
id say the league would want to keep the gf in a central location, but if katunga doesnt get it again then i think the next place would be shepp east, they pretty much have all the requirements to host the gf and one of the biggest advanages it has is that its located in shepp, which could attract a bigger crowd.

mercs
31 May 2007, 21:56
yes thats correct.. i probably should of expanded on what i said.. very amusing to look back now and watch it.. im preety sure it was the 90's when waaia won a few flags in arow..

yeh it was around 3 flags in a row when Barooga went to the Murray league. Barooga were the only team that could get in Waaia way back then

mercs
31 May 2007, 21:57
Lets go the whole hog!!! Have the GF at Rumba at night!!!! :thumbsu: :eek: :) ;) :D :thumbsd:

well why not they have a fantastic ground with lots of open spaces

Juddernaut3
1 Jun 2007, 10:41
anyone have any news on Waasdorp from Waaia, wasn't listed on the picoladfl website in the selected sides this week??
Is he injured?

karjam
1 Jun 2007, 14:35
well why not they have a fantastic ground with lots of open spaces

To windy at Rumba the wind never stops blowing

pace to freeze
1 Jun 2007, 21:28
anyone have any news on Waasdorp from Waaia, wasn't listed on the picoladfl website in the selected sides this week??
Is he injured?
I am led to believe may have missed the last couple also.

hank1
1 Jun 2007, 22:07
I am led to believe may have missed the last couple also.

Word is he has lost interest and working flat out on his farm

The Fev
2 Jun 2007, 09:32
No I do not like the idea. I know many clubs would love to hold the GF. It has been at Katunga for years. Give some others a go!

I am pretty sure we'd have it!

I could not think of a worse place to play footy let alone a grand final. Cold prick of a place, not a big enough area anyway.

If Katunga don't have the grand final I'd like to see Strathmerton have it, it's a big and very good ground to play on. It's also relatively central of all towns too, just like Katunga.

TTTT
3 Jun 2007, 12:22
whats the go with wunghu, for the past few years they have recruited heavily and promised so much through the pre-season only to fail during the season. After yesterdays convincing loss to strathy in a game that many would have seen as wunghus only chance to have a win this year, surely there must be growing concerns at the pies. With 07 looking like a another long year could this be the begining of the end for wunghu

iwantanotherflag
3 Jun 2007, 13:26
whats the go with wunghu, for the past few years they have recruited heavily and promised so much through the pre-season only to fail during the season. After yesterdays convincing loss to strathy in a game that many would have seen as wunghus only chance to have a win this year, surely there must be growing concerns at the pies. With 07 looking like a another long year could this be the begining of the end for wunghu

Didn't read the papers last week? 2 point loss to Katamatite? Don't write off all the work they have done. Strathy are not a bad side.

Wunghnu have taken many positive steps over the last 2-3 years. I would see this as the beginning of the start not the end.

Big Ump
3 Jun 2007, 13:36
Didn't read the papers last week? 2 point loss to Katamatite? Don't write off all the work they have done. Strathy are not a bad side.

Wunghnu have taken many positive steps over the last 2-3 years. I would see this as the beginning of the start not the end.

Gee u must do some Ks over the football season!!!!:rolleyes:

iwantanotherflag
3 Jun 2007, 21:32
Gee u must do some Ks over the football season!!!!:rolleyes:

????

toquick
4 Jun 2007, 11:07
Hey magic, is it time to get rid of Darren Turner? The out burst he gave at 3 Q time was an absolute discrace. Everyone in the whole ground would have heard what he was saying and the lack of respect he had for the jumper he was wearing and the supporters watching. Save your money and get rid of him. With blokes like that around your club there is only one way it will go. Sorry to say mate, but its down hill. The bloke that was on me was embaressed that he was playing in the same team as him. Also was it you that was the one coping the disrespect from him?

themagicfrog
4 Jun 2007, 12:29
Hey magic, is it time to get rid of Darren Turner? The out burst he gave at 3 Q time was an absolute discrace. Everyone in the whole ground would have heard what he was saying and the lack of respect he had for the jumper he was wearing and the supporters watching. Save your money and get rid of him. With blokes like that around your club there is only one way it will go. Sorry to say mate, but its down hill. The bloke that was on me was embaressed that he was playing in the same team as him. Also was it you that was the one coping the disrespect from him?

Nah it wasn't me I had to leave just before 3 qtr time, if it was a official and DT going at it would have been our Pres Ross Dickins trying it sort things out, I'm only Vice and havn't had to put up with half the stuff poor Ross has had to.

Big Wheel
4 Jun 2007, 13:02
Nah it wasn't me I had to leave just before 3 qtr time, if it was a official and DT going at it would have been our Pres Ross Dickins trying it sort things out, I'm only Vice and havn't had to put up with half the stuff poor Ross has had to.

I have heard a lot of stories about DT and none of them are any good !!:thumbsd:

MAGIC only one way to sort this bloke out and thats start deducting money from his pay-check !!

toquick
4 Jun 2007, 13:17
Well whoever the bloke was he was getting showed no respect from DT. I think it was the president to. Not 100% sure though.

facts_rite
4 Jun 2007, 13:23
hey all just wondering how Josh Bode and Benji Hardman are going out @ Deni Rovers??

Rascal99
4 Jun 2007, 15:58
hey all just wondering how Josh Bode and Benji Hardman are going out @ Deni Rovers??

looks as though and from word of mouth that bode is starting to play really good footy at the moment. Was ok early but starting to hit his straps, probably getting used to different players, club etc after swapping from nullawil. Playing in the ruck and accross half forward.

Hardman plays deep in the forward line and swaps in the middle occasionally, has kicked a few goals this year. not sure on how many though. Has missed a couple this year i think due to an arm injury sustained at nullawil last year

Ex Tee
4 Jun 2007, 16:21

Why was he going off????????

toquick
4 Jun 2007, 16:34
Why was he going off????????
Going from what i heard, i think he got taken off for doing something stupid and didnt like getting the advice he was getting so let rip. It was terrible to listen to, im glad i wasnt a Berrigan player because if i was and he got away with it i would be telling the club im outter there.

BACKS SORE!
4 Jun 2007, 17:02
Going from what i heard, i think he got taken off for doing something stupid and didnt like getting the advice he was getting so let rip. It was terrible to listen to, im glad i wasnt a Berrigan player because if i was and he got away with it i would be telling the club im outter there.
Couldn't agree more with that one toquick! Why would you want to play with someone who is going to abuse you! I think clubs have got to stop paying him coin, look at his track record how many clubs in the past 3-4 years.... When we played Berrigan he told their runner to get far away etc etc etc and came off the ground when the game was still in the balance with 5 min to go. I think Berrigan are a good club and deserve better.

toquick
4 Jun 2007, 17:21
Couldn't agree more with that one toquick! Why would you want to play with someone who is going to abuse you! I think clubs have got to stop paying him coin, look at his track record how many clubs in the past 3-4 years.... When we played Berrigan he told their runner to get far away etc etc etc and came off the ground when the game was still in the balance with 5 min to go. I think Berrigan are a good club and deserve better.
I would agree the saints are definantly a good club with a proud history. The sad thing is clubs recruit players so that the club and playing group can move forward to success but with the players the saints have recruited this yr, they are moving backwards. And after the weekend i can confirm it is not the locals wrecking it.The bloke i was on was embarressed to be playing in the same team as a couple of their recruits. I felt sorry for the blokes that have been around the club for yrs.

Big Wheel
4 Jun 2007, 21:29
I see the waaia and Deni game was close, anyone have any feed back on the game?

Big Wheel
4 Jun 2007, 21:30
Also Rob Wren kicked a couple of goals. Was last week his first for the year??

balls
4 Jun 2007, 21:46
Hey big wheel looks like the goal square has been taken over in the 2s.Sorry mate looks like its gonna be the back line for you this week.:D :D :D

Big Wheel
4 Jun 2007, 21:51
Hey big wheel looks like the goal square has been taken over in the 2s.Sorry mate looks like its gonna be the back line for you this week.:D :D :D

Mate, I think you can stay there!! But if you keep playing like I herd you did you might be taken Dudgeon spot in the one's!!

balls
4 Jun 2007, 22:13
Mate, I think you can stay there!! But if you keep playing like I herd you did you might be taken Dudgeon spot in the one's!!
HaHa stuff that I was only up there cos i couldnt run. Id say once Im right to run again the will deport me straight to the back line again:D

Lazy HJ
5 Jun 2007, 12:05
I see the waaia and Deni game was close, anyone have any feed back on the game?

Havent heard too much on the game. I know Deni did hit the lead in the last quarter but Waaia were able to get over the top. COuple of silly mistakes from Deni apparently late in the game.
What has happened to Blighty. 2 goals in a game is struggling. Didnt see this game either but i am starting to worry. I was tipping big things from the Blighty boys. Their forward line seems to struggle against the better sides. Another big one again agaist Shepp east this week.
Anyone got feedback on either game ??

Big Wheel
5 Jun 2007, 14:35
Havent heard too much on the game. I know Deni did hit the lead in the last quarter but Waaia were able to get over the top. COuple of silly mistakes from Deni apparently late in the game.
What has happened to Blighty. 2 goals in a game is struggling. Didnt see this game either but i am starting to worry. I was tipping big things from the Blighty boys. Their forward line seems to struggle against the better sides. Another big one again agaist Shepp east this week.
Anyone got feedback on either game ??

I heard it was raining @ blighty all day hence the low score. But thats all I have heard Lazy HJ. Hopefully there will be someone else out there to help inform you abit more, aswell as the Shepp East game.:thumbsu:

iwantanotherflag
5 Jun 2007, 14:56
I heard it was raining @ blighty all day hence the low score. But thats all I have heard Lazy HJ. Hopefully there will be someone else out there to help inform you abit more, aswell as the Shepp East game.:thumbsu:

No it wasn't raining all day. A couple of spits here and there. We played lots of dumb footy, and overall not too happy with our game. They pulled us down to their level a bit. We kicked straight to the big fella lots! Come home with the win, but the process wasn't right!

Lazy HJ
5 Jun 2007, 15:15
No it wasn't raining all day. A couple of spits here and there. We played lots of dumb footy, and overall not too happy with our game. They pulled us down to their level a bit. We kicked straight to the big fella lots! Come home with the win, but the process wasn't right!

How did Scoullar play ? Was he in the best ? did he play in the ruck or up forward ?

toquick
5 Jun 2007, 16:01
We played blighty a couple weeks ago and in the first Q. we kicked it to schools 7 times and made him look really good, when we switched on and kicked around him, he faded out of the game.

themagicfrog
5 Jun 2007, 16:43
We played blighty a couple weeks ago and in the first Q. we kicked it to schools 7 times and made him look really good, when we switched on and kicked around him, he faded out of the game.

seems to be a trend by clubs in the first quarter, I know we did it to, makes him look realy good when he doesn't have to go chasing a kick.

iwantanotherflag
6 Jun 2007, 09:31
seems to be a trend by clubs in the first quarter, I know we did it to, makes him look realy good when he doesn't have to go chasing a kick.

All credit to him, he does know where to stand!

Lazy HJ
6 Jun 2007, 09:50
All credit to him, he does know where to stand!

Predictions this week anyone ? Key matchups ? Potential game winning performances ?

iwantanotherflag
6 Jun 2007, 11:11
Katandra to be too strong for Berrigan
Dookie to continue their improvement over Mathoura
Shepp East to sink Blighty even further back with the pack.
Tungamah and Deni to go down to the wire, the Bears at home for me.
Wunghnu to run out of legs against Picola
Waaia to show Yarroweyah it still has lots of work to do
Katamatite and Strathy to draw!

karjam
6 Jun 2007, 13:04
League meeting on next Monday night, I'm sure the finals venues will come up for discussion where do you think the Grand Final will be played, any comments – I reckon Yarroweyah would be a good choice good facilities and a very well run footy club if not there Dookie would be my next choice.

Lazy HJ
6 Jun 2007, 13:28
League meeting on next Monday night, I'm sure the finals venues will come up for discussion where do you think the Grand Final will be played, any comments – I reckon Yarroweyah would be a good choice good facilities and a very well run footy club if not there Dookie would be my next choice.

Eventhough a fair few clubs would jump up and down if Dookie did host the Grand Final, it would be a good choice for spectator attendance. I havent had a look at the draw but if the grand final doesnt clash with a GV final or Murray League final there would be alot of people out at Dookie for the game. More people at the game, better gate, better for the catering, better for the beer sales etc. All that needs to be taken into account IMO. Open for discussion.

BACKS SORE!
6 Jun 2007, 14:10
I hope your at the league meeting next Monday karjam! Yazza would be a great spot to hold the granny, parking should'nt be a issue for the old fourths ground has lots of space and it's close by. As for Dookie I'm yet to see the new improvements, but from what people have been saying it could well be the best or next best place to hold it?? Why did Katunga loose the granny?

themagicfrog
6 Jun 2007, 14:13
Just through on the e-mail
"Hello All
Just to let you know that David is doing to do an interview with Win TV today about the restructure involving the 4 Coreen clubs
At the Executive meeting held last night at Strathmerton FC it was decided that as the Billabong Crows are not interested in the recent recommended proposal therefore the Worksafe VCFL & Picola League Executive feel that it is not viable.

As a result the Coreen League Clubs have to follow the correct process if any club/s wishes to change leagues in 2008"

BACKS SORE!
6 Jun 2007, 14:21
"Hello All
Just to let you know that David is doing to do an interview with Win TV today about the restructure involving the 4 Coreen clubs
At the Executive meeting held last night at Strathmerton FC it was decided that as the Billabong Crows are not interested in the recent recommended proposal therefore the Worksafe VCFL & Picola League Executive feel that it is not viable.

As a result the Coreen League Clubs have to follow the correct process if any club/s wishes to change leagues in 2008"
Looks like it's gunna be an 18 team comp....

Lazy HJ
6 Jun 2007, 14:30
Looks like it's gunna be an 18 team comp....

It can only be an 18 team comp if the majority of the current clubs in the PDFL vote to include the 3 from coreen league. If the PDFL cannot get that vote then these clubs will have to look elsewhere, which will be hard. The VCFL has said that if these clubs want to change leagues then they have to go through the "correct process". Correct me if im wrong but i think that 75% of clubs have to agree to introduce a new club to the league. Cannt see to many of the shepp based sides keen to bring in Colly. Some difficult times ahead i reckon.

BACKS SORE!
6 Jun 2007, 14:37
It can only be an 18 team comp if the majority of the current clubs in the PDFL vote to include the 3 from coreen league. If the PDFL cannot get that vote then these clubs will have to look elsewhere, which will be hard. The VCFL has said that if these clubs want to change leagues then they have to go through the "correct process". Correct me if im wrong but i think that 75% of clubs have to agree to introduce a new club to the league. Cannt see to many of the shepp based sides keen to bring in Colly. Some difficult times ahead i reckon.
Yes good point Lazy. What clubs would want to travel that far? I reckon 0% of clubs might say no to the changes. Would'nt those clubs in question be better off going to the Hume league Travel wise?

iwantanotherflag
6 Jun 2007, 15:58
"Hello All

Well, well, well. I don't expect this to be the end of this. Now there is a few clubs that do not have a home.

That fact of the matter is that the Goulburn Murray region is down one league. And whether it keeps going with large leagues, like ours or makes a 2 div set up or makes a whole new league it will effect all our Saturdays.

There is no obvious solution and any movements will make some people complain, but after a while you get used to it!

Time to have an open mind and as long as we are in leagues that support all the footy and netty games and that your team is playing at their level and not having to drive 2 or 3 hours we should all be happy! :D

themagicfrog
6 Jun 2007, 17:02
You would think that Colly would suffer the most out of this.

iwantanotherflag
6 Jun 2007, 17:22
You would think that Colly would suffer the most out of this.

They will not be left high and dry. After all it is all about playing a game of footy. Something will happen, people will be upset, what can you do?

Marto121
6 Jun 2007, 17:29
I think this may have been brought up before but why can't we just have north and south and 9 teams in each league?

Lazy HJ
6 Jun 2007, 17:38
I think this may have been brought up before but why can't we just have north and south and 9 teams in each league?

It has been bought up before and the clubs dont support the idea, so it has been squashed. From all reports Colly are a great country football club and they would be more than competitive in the PDFL. People wont mind travelling if it is for a good game of footy. No doubt things will work out and as iwantanotherflag points out, some people will be upset, but we all have to work together to keep country footy alive. Have to remember that most of the little communities wouldnt be around if there wasnt a footy club. We need to keep that in mind when making these types of big decisions.

Hands Open
6 Jun 2007, 17:47
This has probably been brought up but how much further would we have to travel if these new teams enter the league??

The One Who Watches
6 Jun 2007, 19:45

Back in the old days of the Tungamah League, the Grand Final used to rotate around but was held regularly at both Shepp East and Dookie.

Whilst this might not be popular given both clubs are new to the League these venues certainly have merit.

Shepp East has good facilities and is very close to Shepp which could potentially mean a big crowd of neutral watchers.

On the other hand, Dookie is probably the best spot to watch minor league footy in the Goulburn Valley. The view from the southern side of the ground (from the hill) is second to none. I also think that they have a new complex/facility that should certainly count in their favour.

Only problem is that both are a long way from the geographic centre of the League.

Interesting :cool::cool::cool: :confused::confused::confused:

iwantanotherflag
6 Jun 2007, 20:26
This has probably been brought up but how much further would we have to travel if these new teams enter the league??

Yeah, we have talked about this before.

From Colly to Shepp East it is 215km.

Two nine team comps would result in splitting up the teams through the centre of the league. They are all extremely close together and most have been playing one another for 100 years!

Obvious Southern teams would be Shepp East, Dookie, Katandra, Wunghnu, Tungamah, Katamatite.

From there choosing the next three from Waaia, Katunga, Strathmerton, Picola, Yarroweyah (Which two would be SENT north??)

Northern teams of Deni, Blighty, Berrigan, Colly, Rennie, Jerilderie

And Mathoura... don't know where they fit! Maybe Northern but they also have lots of Echuca guys.

You work it out!

The Fev
6 Jun 2007, 20:42
Back in the old days of the Tungamah League, the Grand Final used to rotate around but was held regularly at both Shepp East and Dookie.

Whilst this might not be popular given both clubs are new to the League these venues certainly have merit.

Shepp East has good facilities and is very close to Shepp which could potentially mean a big crowd of neutral watchers.

On the other hand, Dookie is probably the best spot to watch minor league footy in the Goulburn Valley. The view from the southern side of the ground (from the hill) is second to none. I also think that they have a new complex/facility that should certainly count in their favour.

Only problem is that both are a long way from the geographic centre of the League.

Interesting :cool::cool::cool: :confused::confused::confused:

I think Strathy (if not Katunga) should get the Grand Final, great ground and big enough to hold lots of people. I still think they should leave it, Katunga is a good ground and has huge amount of car space, more importantly it's a central location.

Hands Open
6 Jun 2007, 20:44
Yeah, we have talked about this before.

From Colly to Shepp East it is 215km.

Two nine team comps would result in splitting up the teams through the centre of the league. They are all extremely close together and most have been playing one another for 100 years!

Obvious Southern teams would be Shepp East, Dookie, Katandra, Wunghnu, Tungamah, Katamatite.

From there choosing the next three from Waaia, Katunga, Strathmerton, Picola, Yarroweyah (Which two would be SENT north??)

Northern teams of Deni, Blighty, Berrigan, Colly, Rennie, Jerilderie

And Mathoura... don't know where they fit! Maybe Northern but they also have lots of Echuca guys.

You work it out!

215ks ey.. bit of a hike:eek:

So what are these clubs like? People have said Colly is pretty good but what are the others like?

Lazy HJ
6 Jun 2007, 21:42
215ks ey.. bit of a hike:eek:

So what are these clubs like? People have said Colly is pretty good but what are the others like?

Unsure. I know Jerilderie have tasted a fair bit of success over the last 10 or so years. Im sure they are like all of the country clubs. Couple of d i c k heads but the majority of people involved would be good people. Look at the positives. It will give sides a chance to take a couple more bus trips. 215km from Shepp east should take about 5 hours on the way back. That would get you back in Shepp just in time to head straight to the strippers, sober no doubt.

iwantanotherflag
7 Jun 2007, 09:00
Unsure. I know Jerilderie have tasted a fair bit of success over the last 10 or so years. Im sure they are like all of the country clubs. Couple of d i c k heads but the majority of people involved would be good people. Look at the positives. It will give sides a chance to take a couple more bus trips. 215km from Shepp east should take about 5 hours on the way back. That would get you back in Shepp just in time to head straight to the strippers, sober no doubt.

What about the 4ths who are in the car at 6am to make it for their 9am game?

I am sure the cows will be milked early!

toquick
7 Jun 2007, 09:11
What about poor old Colly, who every 2nd week will have to drive 2 hours to play.....

Lazy HJ
7 Jun 2007, 09:50
What about poor old Colly, who every 2nd week will have to drive 2 hours to play.....

Yes the 4ths will have to be up early. BUT if it is an 18 team comp you will only travel there once every two years. Not much of a sacrifice i say.
It will be hard on Colly travelling every 2nd week but, half of their games will be under 1hr and 20min. If they are keen to come to the PDFL i am sure they have taken that into account. I think clubs should relise that they will only travel up there every 2nd year.

karjam
7 Jun 2007, 10:06
Yes the 4ths will have to be up early. BUT if it is an 18 team comp you will only travel there once every two years. Not much of a sacrifice i say.
It will be hard on Colly travelling every 2nd week but, half of their games will be under 1hr and 20min. If they are keen to come to the PDFL i am sure they have taken that into account. I think clubs should relise that they will only travel up there every 2nd year.

Didn't clubs like Katamatite, Katandra, Congupna, Dookie, Shepp East leave the Central Goulburn District leagues because of the travel distances to Thorton, Alexandra and Yea, so why would the VCFL even think about letting Colbo and these other clubs into the Picola League