View Full Version : Picola District football league
The One Who Watches
7 Jun 2007, 11:49
Didn't clubs like Katamatite, Katandra, Congupna, Dookie, Shepp East leave the Central Goulburn District leagues because of the travel distances to Thorton, Alexandra and Yea, so why would the VCFL even think about letting Colbo and these other clubs into the Picola League
Other than Dookie and Shepp East, none of the other clubs mentioned were ever part of the Central Goulburn League.
All of them were part of the Tungamah League which was disbanded by the VCFL in the mid 1990's. No-one has ever been able to adequately explain why this was done. Was part of a big regional re-structure which was probably not needed.
Ever since the TFL was disbanded there have been big problems fitting teams into a suitable League.
iwantanotherflag
7 Jun 2007, 12:14
Other than Dookie and Shepp East, none of the other clubs mentioned were ever part of the Central Goulburn League.
All of them were part of the Tungamah League which was disbanded by the VCFL in the mid 1990's. No-one has ever been able to adequately explain why this was done. Was part of a big regional re-structure which was probably not needed.
Ever since the TFL was disbanded there have been big problems fitting teams into a suitable League.
18 team comp is bad news. :thumbsd:
A league with Katandra, Dookie United, Shepp East, Tungamah, Katamatite, Tallygaroopna would be quite good. I would be happy playing these teams three times. It would be game on each and every week.
(In this group you have the 1996, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2006 PDFL premiers, 2001 & 2004 CGFL Premiers and the 2005 KDFL Premiers)
Leave the remaining 10 PDFL teams and the 3 CDFL to fight it out up north.
Perhaps the six teams above could offer 3 or 4 teams a place in the new league, bring in the 2002, 2005 Premiers Waaia. But again those Numurkah/Nathalia district teams will be split.
A league with Katandra, Dookie United, Shepp East, Tungamah, Katamatite, Tallygaroopna would be quite good. I would be happy playing these teams three times. It would be game on each and every week.
(In this group you have the 1996, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2006 PDFL premiers, 2001 & 2004 CGFL Premiers and the 2005 KDFL Premiers)
Perhaps the six teams above could offer 3 or 4 teams a place in the new league, bring in the 2002, 2005 Premiers Waaia. But again those Numurkah/Nathalia district teams will be split.
I totally agree! 18 teams is way to many! you could probably slip Waiia into the league with 6 teams in it.
That isnt a bad idea. you would need 7 teams though in my opinion. Waaia would be the obvious choice. The only problem being that as you mentioned above there are so many premiership sides in the comp, 3 of them will miss out on finals. But i suppose it will make them improve even more. Put it forward at the next league meeting, that is all you can do.
iwantanotherflag
7 Jun 2007, 14:13
That isnt a bad idea. you would need 7 teams though in my opinion. Waaia would be the obvious choice. The only problem being that as you mentioned above there are so many premiership sides in the comp, 3 of them will miss out on finals. But i suppose it will make them improve even more. Put it forward at the next league meeting, that is all you can do.
I am sure if it were up and running, Congupna would drop a line! Yes, some teams may miss finals. But they are all proven contenders. While they might go down for a year or two it doesn't take long for the cream to rise again.
Hands Open
7 Jun 2007, 14:32
It has been found that James Emmanuelli is gay. Its expected that he will come out of his closet next weekend against Mathoura. Will be interesting.
What a f*ckin load of sh1t where are u pulling this from??!!
Whoa people. Someone else was on my username making up sh!t. No truth to it. Jimmy is a top bloke and he has a nice girlfriend. Sorry.
Rascal99
7 Jun 2007, 15:28
I am sure if it were up and running, Congupna would drop a line! Yes, some teams may miss finals. But they are all proven contenders. While they might go down for a year or two it doesn't take long for the cream to rise again.
Assuming this goes ahead, It would be interesting to see how these teams would fair in the future if they were missing out on finals regularly, as opposed to their current situation being most of these sides seem to play finals football regularly and have won premierships in the last couple of years.
Would the players still hang around to play for the same side considering they are not as sucessful as they used to be.........or would they go elsewhere to play in a side that will be a premiership contender???
Cause everyone wants to play in a side that is successful.
iwantanotherflag
7 Jun 2007, 17:07
Assuming this goes ahead, It would be interesting to see how these teams would fair in the future if they were missing out on finals regularly, as opposed to their current situation being most of these sides seem to play finals football regularly and have won premierships in the last couple of years.
Would the players still hang around to play for the same side considering they are not as sucessful as they used to be.........or would they go elsewhere to play in a side that will be a premiership contender???
Cause everyone wants to play in a side that is successful.
We all play against eachother anyhow, except Tally & Congupna. These teams all have a 'winning culture' and would not be down for too long.
chicken machine
7 Jun 2007, 18:01
We all play against eachother anyhow, except Tally & Congupna. These teams all have a 'winning culture' and would not be down for too long.
after reading all this stuff about leagues changing and the like, the best option i think would be as i stated at the start of the yr have one big league called VCFL Central or whatever you wanna call it. have
5 grades A= GVFL, B=MFL, C=PDFL, D=KDFL, E=coreen league or whoever else and have the relegation system top two go up bottom two go down have 12 team's in a league, this will allow all the teams to remain competitve at various levels that they can comfortably compete in and that way if the games are mostly close people will not mind if it is very close and no one gets absolutely flogged. that way teams like Shepp east may dominate in one level for one yr but then go up and may also have a chance to win at a higher level and will work same for lesser clubs where they might cop floggings in one league so they drop down and then are competitive again and can then get more numbers on the track and build again. what are others thoughts. to me it just seems the best way out of it. 18 teams in a league is stupid
Just received an email RE: the Finals Venues for 2007 courtesy of Sally Brown Netball secretary - what do you all think?????
Final Venues for 2007
Barooga - Elim Final 1
Elim Final 2
Tungamah - 2nd Semi Final
Deniliquin Rovers - 1st Semi Final
Waaia - Preliminary Final
Strathmerton - Grand Final
Just received an email RE: the Finals Venues for 2007 courtesy of Sally Brown Netball secretary - what do you all think?????
Final Venues for 2007
Barooga - Elim Final 1
Elim Final 2
Tungamah - 2nd Semi Final
Deniliquin Rovers - 1st Semi Final
Waaia - Preliminary Final
Strathmerton - Grand Final
Great call on the Strathy G/F
iwantanotherflag
7 Jun 2007, 22:57
after reading all this stuff about leagues changing and the like, the best option i think would be as i stated at the start of the yr have one big league called VCFL Central or whatever you wanna call it. have
5 grades A= GVFL, B=MFL, C=PDFL, D=KDFL, E=coreen league or whoever else and have the relegation system top two go up bottom two go down have 12 team's in a league, this will allow all the teams to remain competitve at various levels that they can comfortably compete in and that way if the games are mostly close people will not mind if it is very close and no one gets absolutely flogged. that way teams like Shepp east may dominate in one level for one yr but then go up and may also have a chance to win at a higher level and will work same for lesser clubs where they might cop floggings in one league so they drop down and then are competitive again and can then get more numbers on the track and build again. what are others thoughts. to me it just seems the best way out of it. 18 teams in a league is stupid
So in theory Coleambally could play against Yea??
Finals venues seem ok! Hope Strathy turn it on. A few chances of home finals there though! Waaia & Deni
Irontable
8 Jun 2007, 01:15
Great call on the Strathy G/F
I Agree great call on Strathy G/F
Also Great Call on not changing the league
I wonder which Coreen league teams would like to enter PDFL
I also believe that Katunga lost the grand final because they were found to be selling Alcohol illegally.
Finally I have heard a whisper that Darren Turner has left or quit Berrigan.
iwantanotherflag
8 Jun 2007, 08:31
I also believe that Katunga lost the grand final because they were found to be selling Alcohol illegally.
We play them on Saturday so I will let you know if DT turns up. Keep an eye on the clearances though. He will surely get an offer from another club... but it won't be ours!
Darren Turner said after the game against us(dookie) that he would not be playing again. I have heard he has said it befor though!
themagicfrog
8 Jun 2007, 09:27
Darren Turner said after the game against us(dookie) that he would not be playing again. I have heard he has said it befor though!
Has said it before, but this is the first time he has put clearence in.
iwantanotherflag
8 Jun 2007, 09:42
Split league vetoed
A Picola District Football League with two divisions will not go ahead next year after the competition's executive withdrew from the plan following a lack of commitment from NSW clubs.
A joint Victorian Country Football League and AFL NSW project to relocate four Coreen District league clubs into the 15-club Picola District league was to go ahead next season, but Billabong Crows this week expressed concern at the move.
Picola District's executive voted on Tuesday night not to go ahead with the concept on the grounds it would not be viable.
"To work, the competition needed full commitment from all clubs and we believed it needed a 10 and nine club competition to work," McKenzie said.
"Eight clubs could be viable, but if it soon becomes seven you are faced with a lot of issues and really it's not the situation we wanted.
"I still believe there is merit in the concept, but you need a decent number of teams for it to work.
"So we put in on the backburner for next year anyway.
"Clubs can still go through a process of applying, but as far as them all coming in and splitting up the competition, it won't happen next year."
To accommodate the four clubs from Coreen District (Jerilderie, Coleambally, Rennie and Billabong Crows), the league would have 19 teams split into northern and southern divisions.
The move is likely to leave the Coreen District clubs without a home as their league is disbanded at the end of the season.
McKenzie said the VCFL had been supportive of the league's decision and admitted the door was still open in the future.
"I suppose when you look at three leagues in the region with 41 clubs, there is probably a case for another competition," he said.
"John O'Donohue (VCFL area manager) has been supportive throughout the whole process and I suppose it's better to know that it's off now than further on down the track."
Just had a look at the clearence site and DT has put in a clearence to Ardmona! Feel sorry for you magic but everyone warned you blokes!
Looking at the way the teams play off definite advantage to finish in the top top 2 get the week off and play off in the second semi - who will finish top 2?????
Final Venues for 2007
Saturday 25th August Barooga Elim Final 1 (3&6)
Elim Final 2 (4&5)
Saturday 1st September Tungamah 2nd Semi Final (1&2)
Sunday 2nd September Deniliquin Rovers 1st Semi Final ( both winners of elimination Finals)
Saturday 8th September Waaia Preliminary Final Loser 2nd Semi Final VS Winner 1st Semi Final
Saturday 15th September Strathmerton Grand Final Winner 2nd Semi Final Vs Winner Preliminary Final
bradrowe#32
8 Jun 2007, 11:12
BERRIGAN
B: N. Baxter, T. Cooper, S. Pyle.
HB: M. Brassil, J. Ware, J. Bond.
C: D. Pyle, B. Bathman, C. Glanvill.
HF: P. Glanvill, Scott Turner, B. Loomes.
F: Shan Turner, B. Watt, A. Maslen.
Foll: B. Spence, K. Griffiths, J. McKenzie.
Inter: D. Riddle, B. Bonat.
SHEPPARTON EAST
B: M. Frost, D. Whitehead, T. Keady.
HB: S. Marchment, B. Mellington, S. Ahmet.
C: T. Graham, V. Zampaglione, L. Ceechin.
HF: C. Burke, C. Keady, M. Rachele.
F: C. Pearson, G. Segrave, G. Clohesy.
Foll: S. Carboon, T. Topp, M. Kelly.
Inter: P. Fantini, M. Coad, J. Aynsley.
WAAIA
To be selected from: D. Atkins, J. Bell, R. Bradbury, M. Brown, M. Bryant, S. Carey, M. Counsel, S. Gilmour, B. Harris, M. Harrison, M. Henderson, B. Low, T. McMillan, M. Meyland, J. Mullavey, S. Pugh, J. Richardson, S. Scott, N. Tyack, N. Valacava, N. Walker.
KATAMATITE
To be selected from: A. Aldridge, S. Ash, C. Brown, C. Burkitt, T. Bye, S. Dawson, G. Edis, D. Farrant, G. Feldtmann, K. Hamson, P. Hollands, X. Kennedy, S. Nordbye, T. Ross, L. Tillman, J. Wright, J. Wright, S. Wright, G. Younger, J. Younger, M. Younger.
WUNGHNU
B: S. Tate, D. Lukies, C. Weston.
HB: S. Walker, J. Ritchie, M. Walker.
C: A. Shelton, A. Timmis, D. Weston.
HF: S. Atkinson, R. Gardner, B. Lane.
F: R. Cuthbert, M. Clarke, J. Humphries.
Foll: S. Anderson, J. Cassimaty, D. Clarke.
Inter: M. O'Shea, B. Humphries, I. Hollick.
DOOKIE UNITED
B: J. McKinley, S. Beggs, B. Simpson.
HB: S. Weatherly, T. Dickins, S. Epps.
C: t. Wheeler, P. O'Donnell, L. Hepner.
HF: D. Baulch, C. PayneCroston, W. Johansen.
F: C. Ludeman, D. Osborne, J. Emmanueli.
Foll: M. Oussa, M. Kitto, L. LeBroqc.
Inter: B. Loughlan, X. Hand, J. Morrison.
KATANDRA
B: D. Kennedy, H. Thompson, S. Gledhill.
HB: Bertoli, Cordy, Lambourn.
C: Lawless, Sprunt, Ireland.
HF: Cook, D. Sidebottom, Plant.
F: Hopkins, Dudgeon, M. Sidebottom.
Foll: Ford, W.Teague. N. White.
Inter: C. Thompson, A. Riordan, C. Calder.
Looking at the way the teams play off definite advantage to finish in the top top 2 get the week off and play off in the second semi - who will finish top 2?????
Final Venues for 2007
Saturday 25th August Barooga Elim Final 1 (3&6)
Elim Final 2 (4&5)
Saturday 1st September Tungamah 2nd Semi Final (1&2)
Sunday 2nd September Deniliquin Rovers 1st Semi Final ( both winners of elimination Finals)
Saturday 8th September Waaia Preliminary Final Loser 2nd Semi Final VS Winner 1st Semi Final
Saturday 15th September Strathmerton Grand Final Winner 2nd Semi Final Vs Winner Preliminary Final
There is a HUGE advantage to finish top 2! Extreemly tough run to the Granny from spots 3 to 6.
In my opinion Katandra, Shepp East, Deni, Waiia and Dookie are the sides that will be fighting for the top 2 spots. I think the top 2 sides will only loose 3 games max for the season. It is shaping up to be a cracker last half of the year! A massive log jam is already starting to form! there is 8 or 9 teams vying for a spot!
themagicfrog
8 Jun 2007, 11:19
Just had a look at the clearence site and DT has put in a clearence to Ardmona! Feel sorry for you magic but everyone warned you blokes!
Yes we were, but what can you do!
But I do think he lasted longer then the six weeks everyone though he would:cool:
Yes we were, but what can you do!
But I do think he lasted longer then the six weeks everyone though he would:cool:
Yeah but thats money you could have saved and spent on a player that isnt going to walk out. Thats the risk you take with getting him i spose! He is such a front runner!when the going is tough like a side is down he runs away! Sh*t bloke!
themagicfrog
8 Jun 2007, 11:30
Yeah but thats money you could have saved and spent on a player that isnt going to walk out. Thats the risk you take with getting him i spose! He is such a front runner!when the going is tough like a side is down he runs away! Sh*t bloke!
Lessen learned!
At least ya an move on and look forward to the last half of the season with an extra bloke out there in the red white and black that will put in 100%!
themagicfrog
8 Jun 2007, 11:59
At least ya an move on and look forward to the last half of the season with an extra bloke out there in the red white and black that will put in 100%!
Thats right, thanks for the support.
iwantanotherflag
8 Jun 2007, 12:10
There is a HUGE advantage to finish top 2! Extreemly tough run to the Granny from spots 3 to 6.
In my opinion Katandra, Shepp East, Deni, Waiia and Dookie are the sides that will be fighting for the top 2 spots. I think the top 2 sides will only loose 3 games max for the season. It is shaping up to be a cracker last half of the year! A massive log jam is already starting to form! there is 8 or 9 teams vying for a spot!
The last five rounds will really be on for all money. It is probably a good thing that 1st and 2nd get the rewards they have earned it. Even though we have utilised the final 6 glitch over the last few years. In 2003 we were 4th and 3rd lost so we went into a 2nd Semi and won. In 2006 we finished 3rd and went into a 2nd Semi and won.
Finish 1st or 2nd and you know you'll be busy until at least the Prelim weekend!
Skills01
8 Jun 2007, 12:30
Thats right, thanks for the support.
Why dont you berrigan blokes not give him a clearence.... sit him out in the cold for the rest of the season. Surely he doesnt have a ligitment reason for a clearence and if he is a paid player he would of signed some sought of contract !
Dont give him the opportunity to play for another club when he has screwed you over !
How has Brett Bathman been traveling - does he get a kick ?
themagicfrog
8 Jun 2007, 12:37
Why dont you berrigan blokes not give him a clearence.... sit him out in the cold for the rest of the season. Surely he doesnt have a ligitment reason for a clearence and if he is a paid player he would of signed some sought of contract !
Dont give him the opportunity to play for another club when he has screwed you over !
Since he has lodged a clearance before the deadline when can knock him back 3 times but it will then go to the tribunal, I'm sure we can use his contract as a reason not to clear him but that then insinuates that we want him to play for us again.
There is two thoughts on it, get rid of him as fast as you can or make it hard for him, I know what one you’d go for.
Brett missed a few earlier game but is starting to settle in now, hopefully we will start to see the best of him now.
Big Wheel
8 Jun 2007, 12:54
Since he has lodged a clearance before the deadline when can knock him back 3 times but it will then go to the tribunal, I'm sure we can use his contract as a reason not to clear him but that then insinuates that we want him to play for us again.
There is two thoughts on it, get rid of him as fast as you can or make it hard for him, I know what one you’d go for.
Brett missed a few earlier game but is starting to settle in now, hopefully we will start to see the best of him now.
Magic, I'd say to you clear him!, but not just yet. Let him miss a couple of weeks first then clear him.
Alittle bit of payback doesn't hurt from time to time.
The worst part is, if this goes to the tribunal they will just ask him why you want to go, all he has to say is the travel and etc.. and the clearence would be granted.
Make him sweat it out !!:D:thumbsu:
magic whats the coaches thoughts on DT and the clearance to ardmona and is there any chance Kev McQualter will get serious and start playing
Rascal99
8 Jun 2007, 15:42
Finals venues seem ok! Hope Strathy turn it on. A few chances of home finals there though! Waaia & Deni
Does it matter if they play at home? Just the way it falls.
Im sure katandra would welcome a home final, if it fell that way ;)
[quote=themagicfrog;7774783]Since he has lodged a clearance before the deadline when can knock him back 3 times but it will then go to the tribunal, I'm sure we can use his contract as a reason not to clear him but that then insinuates that we want him to play for us again.
Brett missed a few earlier game but is starting to settle in now, hopefully we will start to see the best of him now.[/quot
Just wondering if you have heard the rumour that the strathy blokes don't like there coach?
I agree totaly with ya on this one.DONT CLEAR HIM.He has a history of screwing clubs over and it would be good to see him to get some of his own back and it also might teach the spoilt little brat a lesson in life.
First clearance REJECTED. ON ARDYS WEBSITE
[quote=Just wondering if you have heard the rumour that the strathy blokes don't like there coach?
from what i have heard is that strathy are pretty happy with deangelis in the way that he has added some grunt and passion to the side and gets along well with everyone
iwantanotherflag
8 Jun 2007, 17:04
Does it matter if they play at home? Just the way it falls.
Im sure katandra would welcome a home final, if it fell that way ;)
We had one in 2005 against Picola. It was just like a home game. So many of those finals nerves were gone cos we had our own ground to play on. A big advantage. But it has been called early so if it happens it happens.
Rascal99
8 Jun 2007, 17:25
First clearance REJECTED. ON ARDYS WEBSITE
I would have waited to reject it until just before the time frame allowed instead of straight away. I would also do it for the second one aswell. So he doesnt get to play footy for a month or so.
Then it might get him to hav a good hard think about his actions and the club he plays for next time.
Will be interesting to see how the sainters fair without him.
Hopefully it will bring them closer together as a unit.:thumbsu:
And win a few more games
themagicfrog
8 Jun 2007, 18:41
magic whats the coaches thoughts on DT and the clearance to ardmona and is there any chance Kev McQualter will get serious and start playing
After todays happenings he is more then likley to come back. He was gonna play last week but he was crook.
DT will be cleared straight away, club just wants to be rid of him. Meeka wants him for this weekend and he can have him as far as Im concerned.
chicken machine
8 Jun 2007, 22:00
well it seems to work in melb and travel is not a problem, rupertswood play teams like parkdale which is down near mentone/brighton way 2hr drive minimum one way or even white friars etc.. and recently a game was played between two ammo teams in ballarat and no one seemed to mind good excuse for a bus trip. there are quite a few blokes in the league that travel long distances to play in the pdfl and surrounding leagues from melb so i dont think it would make too much difference if the games were to be exciting and not heavily one sided affairs. thats just my thoughts and i understand where you are coming from and something needs to be done i guess its a matter of nutting it out to ensure everyone gets a fair go and the leagues remain competitive and relatively even to some extent.
all the best for the weekend everyone
Big Wheel
9 Jun 2007, 18:51
Tungamah may be the bear waking up from hibernation. Would not of thought the Bears to win by that much !!
And the Waaia and Yarra match alot closer than what I would of thought.
Was anyone at those games?
pace to freeze
9 Jun 2007, 21:03
Tungamah may be the bear waking up from hibernation. Would not of thought the Bears to win by that much !!
Just maybe the rovers bubble has burst ???
i see leigh kellet is playing for wunghu, definetly on big bucks, $600+ i would say. makes you wonder how wunghnu can afford all these players because a majority of their players are on good money
Jim Main
10 Jun 2007, 21:32
i see leigh kellet is playing for wunghu, definetly on big bucks, $600+ i would say. makes you wonder how wunghnu can afford all these players because a majority of their players are on good money
Leigh is a good mate of mine and joel ritchy and was going to sit out for the year so I got him out to help us win some games and its wunghnu not wunghu.
seen leigh play a few games for murch and he is a gun full forward. its a petty WUNGHNU didnt have him from the start coz he will make a big difference to the side
themagicfrog
12 Jun 2007, 14:24
All clubs were informed last night that there will be no changes in PDFL next year as the whole CDFL thing is dead. After some descussion the conclusion by some clubs is that only Jerilderie had a chance of Jioning PDFL.
I don;t know what NSW AFL is planing on for CDFL, might be a 4 team comp next year. Billabong Crows have tried to get us to join them in forming a new FL taking in some Hume FL teams, we said no way, we are happy in PDFL and PDFL are happy with all NSW teams.
iwantanotherflag
12 Jun 2007, 14:58
All clubs were informed last night that there will be no changes in PDFL next year as the whole CDFL thing is dead. After some descussion the conclusion by some clubs is that only Jerilderie had a chance of Jioning PDFL.
I don;t know what NSW AFL is planing on for CDFL, might be a 4 team comp next year. Billabong Crows have tried to get us to join them in forming a new FL taking in some Hume FL teams, we said no way, we are happy in PDFL and PDFL are happy with all NSW teams.
A new comp will have to open up somewhere. It is already the middle of June and this is still a topic of discussion, it should be all done and dusted by now!
Can't have a comp with 4 teams!
BACKS SORE!
12 Jun 2007, 14:58
Waaia vs Yarra match was a scappy sort of game, tight all day till the older heads of Waaia broke the game open in the first 5-10 mins of the final quarter, Hoppers finished strong to kick the last 3 goals of the game. Waaia to good on the day.
Lazy HJ
12 Jun 2007, 15:09
The high hopes of Blighty and the good start by the Rovers are fading into the night. Both sides seem to struggle against the "quality" sides of the competition. Pretenders of contenders ???
its game on
12 Jun 2007, 15:25
I wasn't at the game but how did Leigh "Elmo" Hepner go in his first run in a year? Dookie Vs Mathoura game.
toquick
12 Jun 2007, 15:53
I wasn't at the game but how did Leigh "Elmo" Hepner go in his first run in a year? Dookie Vs Mathoura game.
The running helmet went really well. He picked up his share of the footy and his knee pulled up fine. He copped a couple of big knocks to the face one of which is being investigated by the league.
its game on
12 Jun 2007, 16:08
The running helmet went really well. He picked up his share of the footy and his knee pulled up fine. He copped a couple of big knocks to the face one of which is being investigated by the league.
Probably wouldn't like to share a raffle ticket with his luck.
Led the Dookie B&F by a mile last season before the injury to his knee, happened like Rd 9 or so, and still came second.
The running helmet..........................gold LOL
does that mean jerilderie will be part of the pdfl next year?
toquick
12 Jun 2007, 16:22
Probably wouldn't like to share a raffle ticket with his luck.
Led the Dookie B&F by a mile last season before the injury to his knee, happened like Rd 9 or so, and still came second.
The running helmet..........................gold LOL
Maybe its time his luck changed though! it probably wont be another 5 or 6 weeks until we see the best out of elmo but as long as he gets through each week he is taking steps forward!
Mothman
12 Jun 2007, 17:06
Maybe its time his luck changed though! it probably wont be another 5 or 6 weeks until we see the best out of elmo but as long as he gets through each week he is taking steps forward!
how is josh Mckinley going for dookie this year has he got himself fit yet
Rascal99
12 Jun 2007, 18:02
Can u give anymore details on the investigation by the league??
Billabong Crows have tried to get us to join them in forming a new FL taking in some Hume FL teams, we said no way, we are happy in PDFL and PDFL are happy with all NSW teams.[magic/quote]
how could berrigan be happy with the bottom of the ladder? they have struggled in the picola league since they joined, except 2005. a move to the CDFL would be beneficial wouldnt it?
Hand Grenade
12 Jun 2007, 22:15
Billabong Crows have tried to get us to join them in forming a new FL taking in some Hume FL teams, we said no way, we are happy in PDFL and PDFL are happy with all NSW teams.[magic/quote]
how could berrigan be happy with the bottom of the ladder? they have struggled in the picola league since they joined, except 2005. a move to the CDFL would be beneficial wouldnt it?
Hey guys. A recently retired ex Coreen and Murray League Player here taking a peek at your site. It's ironic that the Billabong Crows (consistently the CDFL's most sh^&house club on and off the field over over the last 20 years pre and post merger) are trying to be the movers and shakers in forming a new league when they have been the ones dragging down the CDFL. Their actions have effectively jeapardised the futures of 3 good clubs in Rennie, Coly and Jerilderie. I've got good mates at all 3 of those clubs and they were really looking forward doing something with the PDFL. I can tell you that those 3 clubs (their brand of footy and their people) would have been great additions. I hope that the powers that be don't keep tip toeing around the Billabong Crows - those pr#$ks stand to do great damage not only to 3 top country footy clubs, but to 3 great communities who really support and depend on those footy clubs.
Best of luck fellas with your league and hope they can sort things in so that I might watch a few of your clubs going against ours.
toquick
13 Jun 2007, 09:04
how is josh Mckinley going for dookie this year has he got himself fit yet
Can u give anymore details on the investigation by the league??
Josh is fairly fit this year he has been playing some solid footy down in the backline for us.He hasnt missed many training sessions since the season started.
I dont know anymore details other then there is an investigetion into an incident which involved Leigh Hepner getting hit. Sorry i cant help any more.
Lazy HJ
13 Jun 2007, 13:08
It will be interesting to see what Colly, Jerilderee and Renne decide to do. Also be interesting to see what the PDFL clubs reactions will be if the above sides submit to join the PDFL.
Any news about this weekends games ? Tips ? It would be good to hear from any Deni people about the feeling around the club after 2 losses in a row. Are we starting to see the "rovers of old" or have they just had a couple of bad games ??
iwantanotherflag
13 Jun 2007, 13:22
It will be interesting to see what Colly, Jerilderee and Renne decide to do. Also be interesting to see what the PDFL clubs reactions will be if the above sides submit to join the PDFL.
Any news about this weekends games ? Tips ? It would be good to hear from any Deni people about the feeling around the club after 2 losses in a row. Are we starting to see the "rovers of old" or have they just had a couple of bad games ??
And it doesn't get any easier with Dookie, Katandra and the East over the next few weeks. Could be 6 & 5.
Skills01
13 Jun 2007, 14:07
Josh is fairly fit this year he has been playing some solid footy down in the backline for us.He hasnt missed many training sessions since the season started.
I dont know anymore details other then there is an investigetion into an incident which involved Leigh Hepner getting hit. Sorry i cant help any more.
Has Josh learnt to kick yet - one of the weirdest kicking styles I have ever seen..... Any word on the return of his brothers to the club ?
The Running helmet aka the Ginger Ninger !!!!!!
How are clubs coping with mid winter injuries, it looks accross the board if some are starting to struggle - I noticed Katandra had four 3rds kids all running around ?
themagicfrog
13 Jun 2007, 14:15
does that mean jerilderie will be part of the pdfl next year?
Depends on how CDFL end up next year and weather they apply, but it takes a while for the whole thing to go through doesn't it?
iwantanotherflag
13 Jun 2007, 14:54
Has Josh learnt to kick yet - one of the weirdest kicking styles I have ever seen..... Any word on the return of his brothers to the club ?
How are clubs coping with mid winter injuries, it looks accross the board if some are starting to struggle - I noticed Katandra had four 3rds kids all running around ?
Great time of the year to blood your 3rds. Keep them keen for next year. Let them know that they are up to senior footy so that they don't go into Shepp for another year of 3rds.
8 goals isnt a bad effort from an under 17 player. Hardly a kid though!
Off the top of my head we have played:
Dylan Sidebottom, Sean Gledhill, Dennis Mullane, Andrew Riordan and Cam Calder and a couple of others might still get a run.
toquick
13 Jun 2007, 15:36
Nah "the hammer" kicking style is still going strong! His brother is playing over at Tatura. Nick wanted money to play out at Dookie and the club wasnt willing to pay him so he went else where!
We are starting to have a few niggles come along. I will more then likely miss this week with my hamstring and there is a couple others that are a little suspect.
BACKS SORE!
13 Jun 2007, 17:21
Where is everyone headed for the annual footy trips of "07"??
toquick
13 Jun 2007, 17:27
Where is everyone headed for the annual footy trips of "07"??
Adelaide,AFL Prelim weekend!
hurikane
13 Jun 2007, 17:32
I dont know anymore details other then there is an investigetion into an incident which involved Leigh Hepner getting hit. Sorry i cant help any more.[/quote]
I've heard from various sources that several Dookie players (mostly ex GV) "give out" but don't receive well...
Who instigated the investigation? Was it whinging? or is there a case to answer for?
:confused::confused::confused:
pace to freeze
13 Jun 2007, 20:54
]I've heard from various sources that several Dookie players (mostly ex GV) "give out" but don't receive well...
Who instigated the investigation? Was it whinging? or is there a case to answer for?
:confused::confused::confused:[/quote]
[/I]
No-one seen the incident , including his own club officials, except apparently his father.
It is senior football, there was certainly no incident involving him that caused any spite from any of his own team mates, towards anyone.
Apparently he was knocked out cold, yet never went off assisted ???
However, Osborne might choose his target a little better in the future and who he calls a soft c__k, got opened up by a beauty:p:p.
Lazy HJ
14 Jun 2007, 09:56
]I've heard from various sources that several Dookie players (mostly ex GV) "give out" but don't receive well...[/I]
No-one seen the incident , including his own club officials, except apparently his father.
It is senior football, there was certainly no incident involving him that caused any spite from any of his own team mates, towards anyone.
However, Osborne might choose his target a little better in the future and who he calls a soft c__k, got opened up by a beauty:p:p.[/quote]
Who got him ? Your coach or your ruckman? Both go alright according to a few blokes.
toquick
14 Jun 2007, 10:10
]I've heard from various sources that several Dookie players (mostly ex GV) "give out" but don't receive well...[/I]
However, Osborne might choose his target a little better in the future and who he calls a soft c__k, got opened up by a beauty:p:p.[/quote]
Opened up by a beauty my A R S E! he got hit from behind! then the bloke practically ran away! Toe to Toe i would back Oz Hands down! People have long memories to! Ozzy wont forget about it for a long time!
Lazy HJ
14 Jun 2007, 10:16
However, Osborne might choose his target a little better in the future and who he calls a soft c__k, got opened up by a beauty:p:p.
Opened up by a beauty my A R S E! he got hit from behind! then the bloke practically ran away! Toe to Toe i would back Oz Hands down! People have long memories to! Ozzy wont forget about it for a long time![/quote]
WHO WAS IT ??
BACKS SORE!
14 Jun 2007, 11:29
Tips for this week are:-
The Kats to inflict a 13 goal drubbing to the Timbercutters,
East end boys to pump the lads up north of the border by 15 goals,
Dookie could be "THE REAL DEAL" as they make the roadtrip to the edward river and win by 6 goals.
Redeyes to beat the pies in a close battle. (3 goals)
Picola to find their early season form back, and beat the Tigers by 10 goals.
Katunga to pull one out of the bag and beat Waaia @ home by 2 points!
All the best this weekend:thumbsu:
iwantanotherflag
14 Jun 2007, 12:00
Tips for this week are:-
The Kats to inflict a 13 goal drubbing to the Timbercutters,
East end boys to pump the lads up north of the border by 15 goals,
Dookie could be "THE REAL DEAL" as they make the roadtrip to the edward river and win by 6 goals.
Redeyes to beat the pies in a close battle. (3 goals)
Picola to find their early season form back, and beat the Tigers by 10 goals.
Katunga to pull one out of the bag and beat Waaia @ home by 2 points!
All the best this weekend:thumbsu:
Us over Timbercutters (love the change rooms!)
The East to let Scotty Turner know how green the grass was
Dookie to expose some more cracks over Deni
Redeyes against a competitive Wunghnu + Leigh Kellett
Blues over Tigers, if the Blues don't get a quick start it will be a slog.
Waaia to shake off their jitters and do enough over Katunga.
Tungamah over the Hoppers
toquick
14 Jun 2007, 12:12
Opened up by a beauty my A R S E! he got hit from behind! then the bloke practically ran away! Toe to Toe i would back Oz Hands down! People have long memories to! Ozzy wont forget about it for a long time!
WHO WAS IT ??[/quote]
number 13, dunno his name. he is the same bloke that got elmo as well.
jetter18
14 Jun 2007, 14:17
Great too see former Strathy young guns and now Yarrawonga stars Scott & Lance Oswald and Marcus McMillan all named in the VCFL Vic country squad - some big names amongst them......wouldnt the Bulldogs love them this year!!!
iwantanotherflag
14 Jun 2007, 14:42
Great too see former Strathy young guns and now Yarrawonga stars Scott & Lance Oswald and Marcus McMillan all named in the VCFL Vic country squad - some big names amongst them......wouldnt the Bulldogs love them this year!!!
You will see them in the red, white and blue I think. Strathy had many powerful 3rds and 4ths teams over the years, but most of them have seemed to have moved on.
jetter18
14 Jun 2007, 14:49
You will see them in the red, white and blue I think. Strathy had many powerful 3rds and 4ths teams over the years, but most of them have seemed to have moved on.
Yeah went undefeated in thirds in 1999 or 2000 cant remember now but that was a great side and one hopes that in a few years we can all play together in the same side again......
iwantanotherflag
14 Jun 2007, 14:58
Yeah went undefeated in thirds in 1999 or 2000 cant remember now but that was a great side and one hopes that in a few years we can all play together in the same side again......
Funny how players move on. From our 96 & 97 undefeated 3rds premierships there is only Steve Lawless and myself playing senior footy at Katandra.
pace to freeze
14 Jun 2007, 19:22
WHO WAS IT ??
number 13, dunno his name. he is the same bloke that got elmo as well.[/quote]
Ah isn't it amazing how people beat stories up, I was told osborne had another player on the ground and when told to let him go, he called the bloke that hit him a soft c--k, whilst facing him, standing toe to toe :confused::confused:. Obviously toquick you were playing and fairly close to both the incidents so who are we to argue. Hope ya got a kick. Out of interest, if new to the club how have you found it this year compared to your previous club, if not how has it been with such an inflow of new players and the new facilities ??
toquick
15 Jun 2007, 09:11
number 13, dunno his name. he is the same bloke that got elmo as well.
Ah isn't it amazing how people beat stories up, I was told osborne had another player on the ground and when told to let him go, he called the bloke that hit him a soft c--k, whilst facing him, standing toe to toe :confused::confused:. Obviously toquick you were playing and fairly close to both the incidents so who are we to argue. Hope ya got a kick. Out of interest, if new to the club how have you found it this year compared to your previous club, if not how has it been with such an inflow of new players and the new facilities ??[/quote]
Yeah its funny how ppl twist things around. I put my left nut on the king hit from behind. Ozzi kicked a running goal 2 steps later he was layed out from a round house right from over his right hand shoulder.
yeah i got a kick mate which is good, its good to have 21 contributors on a Saturday.
Yeah im new to the club, i come from Tat so its alot different to playing over there. Obviously we had little success in the last 2 years at Tatura so everyone had lost the spark it is great to have found that again. With the inflow of players we were all linked to dookie somehow.I lived there for a couple years with my dad and he still lives there. Luke and Daniel Lebrock* grew up out there and there father and grandfather played there. Chris kendal has won a B&F out there when he was at college and Matty Kitto works out there.so a majority of the new players have something to do with dookie. As for the facilities they are sensational! ground is looking great at the moment also. Do you get a chance to come for a run around there this season?
toquick
15 Jun 2007, 09:23
It was also very disopointing that after the game last week that only the president and one other mathoura person came into the room after the game to have a beer and listen to the other games around the league's score. Thats the way ya dont get a good reputation! sore losers!
toquick
15 Jun 2007, 09:26
Dookie has been hit with a massive blow with there number one on baller dislocating his little finger and now requires surgery to fix it. Billy Bob was having a run around with the 3'rds last night when this tragic accident happened. our thoughts go out to you billy! haha
bradrowe#32
15 Jun 2007, 10:46
BERRIGAN
B: K. McQualter, T. Cooper, J. Bond. HB: J. Thomson, J. Ware, D. Riddle. C: C. Glanvill, B. Bathman, P. Glanvill. HF: K. Griffiths, G. Towler, Shannon Turner. F: A. Maslen, Scott Turner, M. Brassil. Foll: S. Ansell, C. Thornton, J. McKenzie. Inter: B. Watt, B. Bonat, N. Baxter.
SHEPPARTON EAST
B: M. Frost, D. Whitehead, T. Keady. HB: N. Bovalino, B. Mellington, S. Ahmet. C: L. Ceechin, V. Zampaglione, B. Draper. HF: C. Burke, C. Cirillo, G. Segrave. F: C. Pearson, C. Keady, G. Glohesy. Foll: P. Fantini, T. Graham, T. Topp. Inter: J. Aynsley, M. Kelly, S. Carboon.
WUNGHNU
B: B. Clarke, J. McPherson, J. Humphreys. HB: M. Walker, M. Betson, S. Walker. C: C. Speeley, J. Cassimaty, B. Lane. HF: B. Humphreys, J. Ritchie, R. Cuthbert. F: C. Colger, J. Lane, S. Tate. Foll: L. Hullick, D. Clarke, M. O'Shea. Inter: G. Weston, M. Clarke, M. Tate.
KATANDRA
B: S. Gledhill, C. Thompson, Collins. HB: G. Teague, H. Thompson, Lambourn. C: D. Sidebottom, Sprunt, Ireland. HF: Cook, Bertoli, Plant. F: Hopkins, Dudgeon, Wilson. Foll: Ford, N. White, W. Teague. Inter: L. Minogue, Damon, Black. Emerg: A. Riordan
DOOKIE UTD
B: J. McKinley, S. Beggs, B. Simpson. HB: T. Wheeler, T. Dickins, W. Johanson. C: L. Hepner, P. O'Donnell, D. Boulch. HF: J. Morrison, C. Payne-Croston, S. Weatherly. F: C. Ludeman, D. Osborne, X. Hand. Foll: J. Emmanuelli, L. LeBrocq, M. Kitto. Inter: C. Kendall, P. Kirkby, N. Geddes.
DENILIQUIN ROVERS
To be selected from: J. Bode, S. Bode, A. Bond, A. Bradley, N. Buckley, D. Carmichael, R. Dunbar, J. Fitzpatrick, L. Fleming, J. Glowery, A. Goodear, B. Hardman, A. Jenkin, P. Lehman, G. Leiper, P. Lewis, T. Lumbar, G. McCallum, C. O'Connor, G. Robinson, L. Walker.
YARROWEYAH
To be selected from: M. Baker, G. Benson, C. Bogdan, E. Cameron, C. Cheong, B. Cowcher, M. Fitzpatrick, M. Hennessy, D. Kelly, S. McDowall, T. McKellar, J. Mende, I. Oliver, L. Olson, B. Power, K. Sampson, J. Shannon, M. Smith, J. Sweeney, J. Tejones, J. Williams.
PICOLA UNITED
To be selected from: D. Atkinson, M. Atkinson, L. Batters, S. Baxter, D. Birch, A. Brunt, M. Byrne, A. Corry, M. Daniel, T. Gilby, A. Holyman, D. Holyman, T. Johnstone, S. McKenzie, S. Miles, W. Miles, T. Muir, H. Plattfuss, R. Priddle, D. Trenerry, S. Vale.
KATAMATITE
To be selected from: A. Aldridge, S. Ash, C. Burkitt, T. Bye, G. Edis, D. Farrant, G. Feldtmann, K. Hamson, D. Kennedy, X. Kennedy, T. Mynard, S. Nordbye, D. Pendlebury, T. Ross, T. Steers, L. Tillman, J. Wright, J. Wright, S. Wright, G. Younger, J. Younger.
jetter18
15 Jun 2007, 11:56
No Cordy and Cam Damon back in ones.....is there a few injuries out at Kat land boys??
iwantanotherflag
15 Jun 2007, 12:32
No Cordy and Cam Damon back in ones.....is there a few injuries out at Kat land boys??
Nah, just our YOUTH policy! Giving Young Cameron Damon a run, he has been going real well in the 3rds! :D
I dont think its the youth policy that has got him in the ones I think it is the fact that he and steve black are the two fittest players at the club and are the only ones that will be able to run out 2 games for the day as both are playing in the magoos aswell.:D:D:D
Big Wheel
15 Jun 2007, 12:55
Ah isn't it amazing how people beat stories up, I was told osborne had another player on the ground and when told to let him go, he called the bloke that hit him a soft c--k, whilst facing him, standing toe to toe :confused::confused:. Obviously toquick you were playing and fairly close to both the incidents so who are we to argue. Hope ya got a kick. Out of interest, if new to the club how have you found it this year compared to your previous club, if not how has it been with such an inflow of new players and the new facilities ??
Yeah its funny how ppl twist things around. I put my left nut on the king hit from behind. Ozzi kicked a running goal 2 steps later he was layed out from a round house right from over his right hand shoulder.
yeah i got a kick mate which is good, its good to have 21 contributors on a Saturday.
Yeah im new to the club, i come from Tat so its alot different to playing over there. Obviously we had little success in the last 2 years at Tatura so everyone had lost the spark it is great to have found that again. With the inflow of players we were all linked to dookie somehow.I lived there for a couple years with my dad and he still lives there. Luke and Daniel Lebrock* grew up out there and there father and grandfather played there. Chris kendal has won a B&F out there when he was at college and Matty Kitto works out there.so a majority of the new players have something to do with dookie. As for the facilities they are sensational! ground is looking great at the moment also. Do you get a chance to come for a run around there this season?[/quote]
So TOQUICK or can I call you Brent. Are you really getting a kick???
toquick
15 Jun 2007, 13:35
Yeah im new to the club, i come from Tat so its alot different to playing over there. Obviously we had little success in the last 2 years at Tatura so everyone had lost the spark it is great to have found that again. With the inflow of players we were all linked to dookie somehow.I lived there for a couple years with my dad and he still lives there. Luke and Daniel Lebrock* grew up out there and there father and grandfather played there. Chris kendal has won a B&F out there when he was at college and Matty Kitto works out there.so a majority of the new players have something to do with dookie. As for the facilities they are sensational! ground is looking great at the moment also. Do you get a chance to come for a run around there this season?
So TOQUICK or can I call you Brent. Are you really getting a kick???[/quote]
There is no secret to who i am. Never has been. Yeah i would like to think im going alright. Missing this week with injury but will be back in against the hoppers next week.
its game on
15 Jun 2007, 13:43
Ive seen Dookie play a few times and TOQUICK is getting a few of his kicks straight through the big sticks.
One blinder, 3 bounces along the right flank, and potted on the run from the sideline!
Big Wheel
15 Jun 2007, 14:45
Ive seen Dookie play a few times and TOQUICK is getting a few of his kicks straight through the big sticks.
One blinder, 3 bounces along the right flank, and potted on the run from the sideline!
Yeah I know TOQUICK goes alright, I've played footy against the arse banger a few years ago.
It hurts me to type this but he's not a bad bloke:D haha
Lazy HJ
15 Jun 2007, 15:13
Heading to watch the Deni Dookie game on the weekend. Any possible matchups i should be concentrating on. From reading the paper deni seems to have only one change to their side from last week. Reckon they would have to improve on that performance a great deal.
BACKS SORE!
15 Jun 2007, 16:44
There is no secret to who i am. Never has been. Yeah i would like to think im going alright. Missing this week with injury but will be back in against the hoppers next week.[/quote]
What injury have ya got toquick??
toquick
15 Jun 2007, 17:00
There is no secret to who i am. Never has been. Yeah i would like to think im going alright. Missing this week with injury but will be back in against the hoppers next week.[/quote]
What injury have ya got toquick??
My hamstring has been playing up for a few weeks now but i have try'd to play with it. i have been able to still do my bit for the team but it got a little worse towards the end of the game against mathoura so im sitting out.Better off having a bloke that can get through 4 quarters then risk a bloke that might not in my opinion.
Rascal99
15 Jun 2007, 17:30
Heading to watch the Deni Dookie game on the weekend. Any possible matchups i should be concentrating on. From reading the paper deni seems to have only one change to their side from last week. Reckon they would have to improve on that performance a great deal.
You would think....
Are you only going to watch or are you going to pull the boots on aswell??:confused::confused:
premiers07
15 Jun 2007, 18:16
yer we have around 8 senior players out this week but the talent depth is there so no real worries at the moment.. Mathora forfieting in 3rds will help the reserves out aswell..
Lazy HJ
15 Jun 2007, 19:09
You would think....
Are you only going to watch or are you going to pull the boots on aswell??:confused::confused:
Just watching. May have a couple of tins as well.
Mothman
15 Jun 2007, 20:32
why would josh mckinley be playing in a back pocket for dookie wouldn,t he be better of up the field further as he is one of the hardest at the ball players in country football. his kicking style may not be great but he is very effective and has a great set of hands
pace to freeze
15 Jun 2007, 21:52
It was also very disopointing that after the game last week that only the president and one other mathoura person came into the room after the game to have a beer and listen to the other games around the league's score. Thats the way ya dont get a good reputation! sore losers!
Hang on minute, I was the last mathoura person, supporter, to leave and was only approximately two minutes after a group of approx. 5- 10 Mathoura people had left, a bit harsh. There are a lot of good people in every club that is what makes country footy.