View Full Version : Picola District football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

its game on
26 Jun 2007, 17:37
Five teams there that could do it. Injuries will play a part and that top 2 finish will be very important.

Very similar runs home

Shepp East @Deni, v Yarro, @Katunga, v Waaia, @Tunga, v Dookie, @Katandra, Bye

Dookie @Katunga, v Waaia, @Tunga, Bye, v Katandra, @SEast, v Wunghnu, @Katy

Katandra @Yarro, v Katunga, @Waaia, v Tunga, @Dookie, Bye, vSEast, @Wunghnu

Waaia v Tunga, @Dookie, v Katandra, @ SEast, v Wunghnu, @Katy, v Strathy, @ Picola

Wouldn't write off Deni or Picola yet either.

Having a better percentage will be very handy.

its game on
26 Jun 2007, 17:43
Dookie because they have the best forward line and midfield in the competition

I agree that they know how to score a goal with, Ludeman,Hand and Osbourne all in top 10 leading goal kickers in the league.

I'd like to see how the backline goes in the next month or so. I think they might be a KPP short, but they do work hard and so far have been effective.

pace to freeze
27 Jun 2007, 08:49
I agree that they know how to score a goal with, Ludeman,Hand and Osbourne all in top 10 leading goal kickers in the league.

I'd like to see how the backline goes in the next month or so. I think they might be a KPP short, but they do work hard and so far have been effective.
Forward Line may be ok but how will they go against,
Katandra's -Thompson, Lambourn, Bertoli, G. Teague etc. etc. or
Shepp Easts - Frost, Ahmet, Seagrave, Whitehead, Doyle etc. etc.

mmmm !! big ask especially as you mentioned down the other end, Dookie's backline, they are likely to fall short of quality and struggle to hold forward lines.

toquick
27 Jun 2007, 09:02
Prediction still remains Katandra to win over Shepp East both appear to be currently easing, resting a few key players, both also have key players on the half back line.

Of the Rest :
Picola - A.B's injuries, currently ankle, is destroying them, do not see it improving.
Tungamah - Are always about there ??.
Dookie - LeBroc will be tagged during finals, do not believe they have enough quality midfielders if he is taken out of game.
Deni - Germano still remains promident when they play well.
Waaia - Has, or is Adds, returned or is he a chance to return come finals time, if so improves their chances significantly ??

Peter O'donnell is playing just as good and has been just as effective as LeBroqc! also the inclusion of Charlie Edmonston last years best and fairest will give some extra drive from the wings. He makes his return to the club this weekend!

Lazy HJ
27 Jun 2007, 09:58
Last weekends results have made for a more interesting round this week.
Can Deni upset Shep East, Katunga are still a finals chance but will have to get over Dookie on the weekend, A MUST win game for Tungamah if they want a bit of september action, can Strathy knock off blighty who are still in with a finals birth. Interesting round. Any tips, comments of predictions ?

its game on
27 Jun 2007, 10:09
Peter O'donnell is playing just as good and has been just as effective as LeBroqc!

Correct, also there is now 2 LeBrocqs with Daniel back, he looked very good on Saturday, Kitto back playing a midfielder in the role of Brett Kirk and then Hepner getting better, the midfield is not the problem (only oppositions problem) and therefore the delivery to the forward line is resulting in Dookies having the highest for in the league. There are many ponies with lots of tricks (Loughnan, Payne-Croston, Johannsen,and Emanuelli) who also kick also goals.

As I said before, just see how the backline goes in the next month or so.

iwantanotherflag
27 Jun 2007, 10:59
Forward Line may be ok but how will they go against,
Katandra's -Thompson, Lambourn, Bertoli, G. Teague etc. etc. or
Shepp Easts - Frost, Ahmet, Seagrave, Whitehead, Doyle etc. etc.

mmmm !! big ask especially as you mentioned down the other end, Dookie's backline, they are likely to fall short of quality and struggle to hold forward lines.

I knew he, Doyle, wouldn't stay out of it for long! Back in the ones. Perhaps I misinterpreted the retirement, was it just a retirement from coaching?

As for back 6's. 6 on 6 most teams can manage, it's the opposition on ballers coming down into attack who cut you to pieces.

Skills01
27 Jun 2007, 11:55
Correct, also there is now 2 LeBrocqs with Daniel back, he looked very good on Saturday, Kitto back playing a midfielder in the role of Brett Kirk and then Hepner getting better, the midfield is not the problem (only oppositions problem) and therefore the delivery to the forward line is resulting in Dookies having the highest for in the league. There are many ponies with lots of tricks (Loughnan, Payne-Croston, Johannsen,and Emanuelli) who also kick also goals.

Its never about your best six but more so your bottom six and the depth that the club has - which is why Katandra, Tung and Shepp East have been so strong over the past few years.

There is no doubt that dookie now has some talent at the club.... the question will always be over the depth - would be good to see the club win it with a few more local boys in the team !

There us also the x-factor to consider when picking a premiership side and in my opinion is a massive influence - its the human spirit, guts, determination, playing as a unit and for each other, putting your body on the line for your mates, putting your hand up when the tough gets going ! Its something you cant buy, you cant get in a can it has to be developed over a long period of time.

So no doubt teams in the top six have the talent.... who has the X Factor ?

iwantanotherflag
27 Jun 2007, 14:03
Its never about your best six but more so your bottom six and the depth that the club has - which is why Katandra, Tung and Shepp East have been so strong over the past few years.

There is no doubt that dookie now has some talent at the club.... the question will always be over the depth - would be good to see the club win it with a few more local boys in the team !

There us also the x-factor to consider when picking a premiership side and in my opinion is a massive influence - its the human spirit, guts, determination, playing as a unit and for each other, putting your body on the line for your mates, putting your hand up when the tough gets going ! Its something you cant buy, you cant get in a can it has to be developed over a long period of time.

Yes, but you can get lots of good things in a can!

toquick
27 Jun 2007, 14:32

Like it has been said already on this forum, a majotrity of the recruits have ties with Dookie. Chris Kendal has won a best and fairest out there, Lebrocq boys grew up there and their father played there, Matty Kitto works out there and my Dad lives there and i lived there a few years ago.

formguid121
27 Jun 2007, 16:26
Peter O'donnell is playing just as good and has been just as effective as LeBroqc! also the inclusion of Charlie Edmonston last years best and fairest will give some extra drive from the wings. He makes his return to the club this weekend!

Is charlie edmonston going to return to Dookie this weekend? how do you know that?

toquick
27 Jun 2007, 16:46
Is charlie edmonston going to return to Dookie this weekend? how do you know that?
They were waiting for his clearence to come through when i left training last night.

hurikane
27 Jun 2007, 18:20
Geez, if the Dookie blokes aren't whinging and sooking...their boasting and bragging at how good they are! :thumbsu:

They'll have egg on their faces if it all goes "pear" shaped! In a few months...:(

There is a lot of football to be played out yet this season...

P.S: That goes for on and off the forum

pace to freeze
27 Jun 2007, 21:12
Everybody has their thoughts and thats what makes footy interesting, the smart money from those I have heard from, is that LeBroqc is a fair way ahead of most of your side in class and would be an early favourite for the PDFL charlie ( the Pearce Medal ). I notice somewhere on this site that Kitto was mentioned in the same sentence as Brett Kirk, Sydney's I suggest ??. :cool::cool: A few games of GV in a bit role position I don't think quite stacks up against Kirk's resume.

1Mitch1
27 Jun 2007, 21:49
Everybody has their thoughts and thats what makes footy interesting, the smart money from those I have heard from, is that LeBroqc is a fair way ahead of most of your side in class and would be an early favourite for the PDFL charlie ( the Pearce Medal ). I notice somewhere on this site that Kitto was mentioned in the same sentence as Brett Kirk, Sydney's I suggest ??. :cool::cool: A few games of GV in a bit role position I don't think quite stacks up against Kirk's resume.
agreed. its game on talks ****

Big Snorky
27 Jun 2007, 22:13

As I said before, just see how the backline goes in the next month or so.Show some respect Mitch, It's Game On didn't say he played LIKE Brett Kirk, he said he played in the ROLE of Brett Kirk. Your lack of knowlege of the Swans is understandable with you being a Hawthorn Supporter.

themagicfrog
28 Jun 2007, 12:29
Jerilderie has put in their application to join PDFL in 2008. PDFL to meet with them soon.

hectomorphic
28 Jun 2007, 13:15
Brett Kirk is a bloody legend. All hail, Kirky!!

toquick
28 Jun 2007, 14:19
Geez, if the Dookie blokes aren't whinging and sooking...their boasting and bragging at how good they are! :thumbsu:

They'll have egg on their faces if it all goes "pear" shaped! In a few months...:(

There is a lot of football to be played out yet this season...

P.S: That goes for on and off the forum

Who do you follow or play for hurikane?

iwantanotherflag
28 Jun 2007, 14:59
Jerilderie has put in their application to join PDFL in 2008. PDFL to meet with them soon.

Would any of the other teams be interested? 16 team comp, it just keeps getting bigger.

Rennie would be interested wouldn't they?

How long ago were Jerilderie MFL?

hectomorphic
28 Jun 2007, 15:18
Would any of the other teams be interested? 16 team comp, it just keeps getting bigger.

THey might have left just before strathy did.

themagicfrog
28 Jun 2007, 17:05

They left in 1994 a year after Strathy, I think the VCFL were happy to leave this alone till next year now Jerilderie has forced the issue again, will be interesting.

Lazy HJ
28 Jun 2007, 17:10
They left in 1994 a year after Strathy, I think the VCFL were happy to leave this alone till next year now Jerilderie has forced the issue again, will be interesting.

They would be fairly competitive in the PDFL. 16 teams is a big league but it would still work. Good luck to them.

iwantanotherflag
28 Jun 2007, 17:50
They would be fairly competitive in the PDFL. 16 teams is a big league but it would still work. Good luck to them.

Would two 8 team comps would be better?

Berrigan, Blighty, Deni, Jerilderie, Katunga, Mathoura, Strathmerton, Yarroweyah.

Dookie, Katamatite, Katandra, Picola, Shepp East, Tungamah, Waaia, Wunghnu.

Let's be realistic.

its game on
28 Jun 2007, 23:32
Who do you follow or play for hurikane?

Mathoura netball>football

NEXT LEVEL
29 Jun 2007, 09:17

Berrigan, Blighty, Deni, Jerilderie, Katunga, Mathoura, Strathmerton, Yarroweyah.

Let's be realistic.
thats a great idea we have to drive all the way to deni this w.end, **** that it sux having to drive so far to play footy. i'd hate to play for deni who travel every 2nd week.

go eagles

themagicfrog
29 Jun 2007, 09:20

Let's be realistic.

Maybe this is the way to go, alot of organising to doo before next year, judging by this years form the two comps would be more or less even.

A meeting with Jerilderie and PDFL clubs will be held on the 10th July.

themagicfrog
29 Jun 2007, 09:23

Let's be realistic.

Maybe this is the way to go, alot of organising to do before next year, judging by this years form the two comps would be more or less even.

A meeting with Jerilderie and PDFL clubs will be held on the 10th July.

hectomorphic
29 Jun 2007, 09:33

Let's be realistic.

Wouldnt Wunghnu be slaughtered by the rest of the teams (apart from the odd close game)? Not sure how keen Katunga the hoppers and Strathy would be on being put in the 'Northern' competition. Picola would be closer to Deni and Blighty i would imagine then some other teams not sure what the distance is from Picola to Berrigan, Jerrilderie is though. At this rate teams will just keep coming in, we'll play everyone once and have to have a top 8!!! PDFL should learn to say no. Just my thoughts anyway.

toquick
29 Jun 2007, 10:01
thats a great idea we have to drive all the way to deni this w.end, **** that it sux having to drive so far to play footy. i'd hate to play for deni who travel every 2nd week.

go eagles

Every side has to do the deni trip every 2nd year. Stop sooking! haha it is similar distance to the mansfiield trip. Are you guys getting a bus moose? Good bonding trip home!

hurikane
29 Jun 2007, 10:38
Mathoura netball>football

Good guess!
Close - but no cigar...go a little more south!

Got mates that play for Mathoura though and check up on whats going on up there.

toquick
29 Jun 2007, 11:06
Good guess!
Close - but no cigar...go a little more south!

Got mates that play for Mathoura though and check up on whats going on up there.

So where do you play then?

hurikane
29 Jun 2007, 11:09
So where do you play then?

I play for Echuca.

Lazy HJ
29 Jun 2007, 11:46

Let's be realistic.

Probably the best idea put forward so far. Dont think it will happen next year but maybe it coupld if everyone put there foot down. Both comps would be fairly competitive. Cannt see the vic clubs wanting to go north but it might be time for the VCFL of the PDFL heavys to make some hard decisions and put clubs where they think is best. It will no doubt upset people but in a years time everyone will have got over it and be complaining about something else, like another club spending too much money, or the umpiring or something. At least everyone will get a competitive game of footy.

jetter18
29 Jun 2007, 12:21
Probably the best idea put forward so far. Dont think it will happen next year but maybe it coupld if everyone put there foot down. Both comps would be fairly competitive. Cannt see the vic clubs wanting to go north but it might be time for the VCFL of the PDFL heavys to make some hard decisions and put clubs where they think is best. It will no doubt upset people but in a years time everyone will have got over it and be complaining about something else, like another club spending too much money, or the umpiring or something. At least everyone will get a competitive game of footy.
Everyone except Wunghnu

NEXT LEVEL
29 Jun 2007, 13:59
Every side has to do the deni trip every 2nd year. Stop sooking! haha it is similar distance to the mansfiield trip. Are you guys getting a bus moose? Good bonding trip home!

no bus its not the gv mate we have to find our own horse and cart ride up their.

BACKS SORE!
29 Jun 2007, 14:00
Waaia over the bears:- 2 goals
Deni's bubble to burst down to the East boys:- 4 goals
Timbercutters to lose agaisnt a rampant "U":- 2 points (but are the "U" still partying from last week?)
Hungry, Hungry Berrigan to sing the song after the game up by 2 goals over Kati.
Strathy for their second upset in a row and get the points over the Redeyes:- 5 points
A very fit and firing Dookie outfit to run over the
Swans:- 6 goals
Kats to strong for a young hoppers line up

toquick
29 Jun 2007, 14:42
no bus its not the gv mate we have to find our own horse and cart ride up their.
We took a bus. You would love the pub crawl home moose!

balls
29 Jun 2007, 15:55
If it was the gv mello you would still have to find your own way or do they get there in time for the magoos:D Nar just jokin mate but i hope you's are fit.Dennie's ground is huge and after the drive can be testing on the body but the good thing about playing at denni is all the pubs on the way home.:thumbsu:

NEXT LEVEL
29 Jun 2007, 18:43
If it was the gv mello you would still have to find your own way or do they get there in time for the magoos:D Nar just jokin mate but i hope you's are fit.Dennie's ground is huge and after the drive can be testing on the body but the good thing about playing at denni is all the pubs on the way home.:thumbsu:
hahaha very funny hairy balls.

im fit enough to sit in the back line a stop a couple of goals.

pubs i dont really like them, i'm not a big drinker

pace to freeze
29 Jun 2007, 19:11
Waaia over the bears:- 2 goals
Deni's bubble to burst down to the East boys:- 4 goals
Timbercutters to lose agaisnt a rampant "U":- 2 points (but are the "U" still partying from last week?)
Hungry, Hungry Berrigan to sing the song after the game up by 2 goals over Kati.
Strathy for their second upset in a row and get the points over the Redeyes:- 5 points
A very fit and firing Dookie outfit to run over the
Swans:- 6 goals
Kats to strong for a young hoppers line up
Shepp East by heaps of the rovers
The chippers to start a bit of a stretch, might be biased but not often a club gets in access of 900 games of , fit , experience back in a week with more to come.
The kats to chew on the hoppers.
Saints over Tigers, opposite in AFL Saturday night.
The big noters just v the Swannies. They fell in hole about this time last season ???
Schouller over the Yappers.
Waaia over the bears.

CTFP#8
29 Jun 2007, 19:40
How is your knee pace to freeze? are you part of the 900 games experience?

pace to freeze
29 Jun 2007, 19:49
Funny that you mention Laz. Has anyone else noticed that OTC browse the rubbish we post on here to help out their marvellous column in the SPECTATOR?

Time to make up some dirty great rumour to see if it'll get printed!!
Funny you should mention these couple of blokes, I have a few light hearted suggestions and questions for them.
In print - Be carefull that who they call, veteran etc. , they do not play against for a while. Names from smartarse team mates such as old c__t , fossil etc wear thin.;)
On radio - Find someone outside Strathy and Yarra to be interviewed, brother to big brother entrants and the like do not do much. Next we will be hearing from the local undertaker.
- Get a car aerial and stick it up so that every second week the reception from the Cobram Showgrounds is not r--ted.
- Buy Brucey a box of soothers or the like, so we do not have to listen to him coughing up his previous evenings dinner.
- If this does not work make him shave his, pretend , beard off so there is no chance of him getting a hair caught in his throat.
- Lastly start broadcasting some of the names, adresses etc. left in Yarra's visitor's book.

Know old Brucey pretty well and is not a bad old Bast--d who has good intentions. Unfortunately he has the voice of columist.;);):o

pace to freeze
29 Jun 2007, 19:53
How is your knee pace to freeze? are you part of the 900 games experience?
Yo I is, nice cover, never heard of getting the pills dis-enabled, referred to as a knee injury !!

Can Shop
29 Jun 2007, 22:11

Dont put kitto in the same sentence as brett kirk again.
Also emmanuelli is lukcy to kick the ball over a jam tin!!

themagicfrog
2 Jul 2007, 11:35
Had a Billabong Crows supporter try to tell me on the weekend that Hay will be joining the PDFL next year.
They were that serious that they even put money on it! What should I spend my new found money on?

coconut
2 Jul 2007, 14:44
Ten games in a row. First time in however many years. Do you think that the Dookie boy's have started to gel yet?? Good luck with the doggies Tuesday boys. Isn't it funny that the doggies are in place to create discipline, yet it is the same undisciplined player giving away 50 meter penalties each week. Maybe a harder punishment for the perpetrator?

iwantanotherflag
2 Jul 2007, 15:48
Ten games in a row. First time in however many years. Do you think that the Dookie boy's have started to gel yet?? Good luck with the doggies Tuesday boys. Isn't it funny that the doggies are in place to create discipline, yet it is the same undisciplined player giving away 50 meter penalties each week. Maybe a harder punishment for the perpetrator?

Ten games in a row is good work.
Still a lot of footy for all teams over the next six weeks, could be some big moves as the top 4 sides all play each other over the coming weeks.

iwantanotherflag
2 Jul 2007, 15:50
Had a Billabong Crows supporter try to tell me on the weekend that Hay will be joining the PDFL next year.
They were that serious that they even put money on it! What should I spend my new found money on?

If your source is so confident, will that also mean the split will be back on the table? With Rennie, Jerilderie and Colly?

Rascal99
2 Jul 2007, 16:22
If your source is so confident, will that also mean the split will be back on the table? With Rennie, Jerilderie and Colly?

For Hay to join the PDFL, they would first of all have to find some players as they are forfeiting games of footy in the two's due to lack of numbers and also some players dont like travelling to play.
So unless there is an influx of new players for 2008 there is buckleys chance of them joining.
There would be little or no chance even if they did have enough numbers, to join the PDFL anyway.

Rascal99
2 Jul 2007, 16:34

The results of Dookie's next four games will be interesting to watch!!!!

Can they beat the consistent performers of the past few years ???? :confused:

Or will they finish off the year the same as 2006 ?? :confused: :p

Time will tell!!

themagicfrog
2 Jul 2007, 17:02

I nearly spit my drink out when they tryed to convince me that Hay is comming our way, what a joke, who's going to travel 2 hrs to play out there? Such a boring drive out that way for us!
They were slightly cut at the posts on the CDFL website blaming the Crows for the PDFL thing falling through.

Hand Grenade
2 Jul 2007, 22:12

Double your money. The crows are talking flags now. See if your mate will go double or nothing for the crows to win the comp. They'll get whacked (on the scoreboard and behind the ear) by the likes of CDHBU and Wahgunyah come finals time when things get a bit more serious.

Hay to the PDFL? They have enough travel in the current comp. Why the hell would they want to come further south? Doubt it.

pace to freeze
3 Jul 2007, 21:12
Double your money. The crows are talking flags now. See if your mate will go double or nothing for the crows to win the comp. They'll get whacked (on the scoreboard and behind the ear) by the likes of CDHBU and Wahgunyah come finals time when things get a bit more serious.

Hay to the PDFL? They have enough travel in the current comp. Why the hell would they want to come further south? Doubt it.
Funny you should mention Hay and the PDFL in the same breath. Both appear to be over priced at the minute. Can not believe the amount of un-proven bit players that are getting paid serious dough in this league. Not so long ago , 6-7 years, a certain player,intials D. Sexton, was rumoured to be recieving 20 G to coach and pay players and it was looked upon as outrageous. Won 2 or 3 league medals, represented the league and state, and had a dramatically positive effect on his club, I think they played in 3-4 grand finals.
I may be wrong but would suggest that it be possible that up to half of the leagues clubs exceed this amount in player and coaching payments.
Some players who's highest accolade is playing PDFL, and not necesssarily league medalist nor are they capable of playing for the league or state, are being payed higher than a lot higher profile players in major leagues.
Appreciate opinions !!

premiers07
3 Jul 2007, 22:40
Just like to know who are each clubs most important player/s is? and reasons.. for my club it would be Brad Cordy, gives structure to our backline, never looses a contest and can run forward and kick goals and is highely skilled.. Opinions appreciated..

Marto121
3 Jul 2007, 23:21
Just like to know who are each clubs most important player/s is? and reasons.. for my club it would be Brad Cordy, gives structure to our backline, never looses a contest and can run forward and kick goals and is highely skilled.. Opinions appreciated..

I'd probably say from Dookie Tom Dickins and Sam Beggs (Backline), both rarely loose a contest. From the midfield, Luke Lebroq, Peter O' Donell and Brent Loughnan, all have great disposal, run and dont mind a goal. Chris Ludeman and Ozzie from the forward line, Ludey has silky skills and great at ground level and ozzie has a great kick and is a big marking option.

iwantanotherflag
4 Jul 2007, 12:05

Yeah Cords is a freak, must be all the training he does.:D We are in the process of cloning him so that we can have one up forward, one down back and one in the guts!

Skills01
4 Jul 2007, 12:31
Did Charlie Edmonso ?? play for Dookie last weekend...... did he get cleared. Could be the final piece of the puzzel to make them more than just a contender.

toquick
4 Jul 2007, 12:45
Did Charlie Edmonso ?? play for Dookie last weekend...... did he get cleared. Could be the final piece of the puzzel to make them more than just a contender.
Yeah Hotdogs suited up in the teal, white and black! Added a fair bit of run along the wing for us. Massive inclusion at theis stage of the year!

Lazy HJ
4 Jul 2007, 13:26
Getting to the important part of the season with 7 important rounds to come. Anyone want to have a go at the ladder after these 7 rounds. Can any of the top 8 teams at the moment win the big one ?? Dookie Waaia this weekend is a huge game. Waaia are sneaking under the radar a little having only lost the one game still. Who are possible contenders on their day ??

toquick
4 Jul 2007, 14:48
Getting to the important part of the season with 7 important rounds to come. Anyone want to have a go at the ladder after these 7 rounds. Can any of the top 8 teams at the moment win the big one ?? Dookie Waaia this weekend is a huge game. Waaia are sneaking under the radar a little having only lost the one game still. Who are possible contenders on their day ??
I think the top four sides should all be aiming to finish in the top 2 spots on the ladder. We (dookie) need to take a couple of the top scalps in Shepp East, Katandra or Waaia. If we win 2 out of them 3 massive games we should finish top 2. But if we drop them we will finish 3rd or 4th. I spose our situation is similar to the other top 4 sides if they drop a game or 2 they could miss out on that top 2 finish which is where im sure we are all aiming!

Skills01
4 Jul 2007, 15:20
I'd probably say from Dookie Tom Dickins and Sam Beggs (Backline), both rarely loose a contest. From the midfield, Luke Lebroq, Peter O' Donell and Brent Loughnan, all have great disposal, run and dont mind a goal. Chris Ludeman and Ozzie from the forward line, Ludey has silky skills and great at ground level and ozzie has a great kick and is a big marking option.

Similar to rating your top or key player / players, who are your best underated players ?
The one who causes damage with out any one noticing
The one who does not attract alot of attention but if they were out of the side would sure be missed !

Tubby1
4 Jul 2007, 15:55
can anyone tell me how Mick Moodie is going at Blighty? the boy is keen travelling from mildura each week to play, will they figure in the finals action?

pace to freeze
4 Jul 2007, 19:07
Will give an opposition point of a few on some of the better sides -
Yarraweah - Power
Katunga - Fox
Deni - Germano / Robinson
Blighty - Schouller
Waaia - Warsdorp / Walker
Picola - Brunt / Corry
Shepp East - Frost / Ahmet
Katandra - Lambourn
Dookie - LeBroc/ or the bald bloke, think its Dickens
Tungamah - Dodd / Thompson

Maybe a few surprises, but all are for the same reason, they all regularly set-up, off half back or through midfield, and most importantly do not turn the footy over !!
Give them 25-30 possies and you generally lose the game.
I think the Sydney irishman is also the most important player, to a side, in the AFL, missed a few at the start of last season and a few this season and they have been dramitically effected. What are others thoughts AFL wises ???

pace to freeze
4 Jul 2007, 19:11
can anyone tell me how Mick Moodie is going at Blighty? the boy is keen travelling from mildura each week to play, will they figure in the finals action?
Would think he would be in Blighty's top 2, the other being Schouller. Blighty will struggle to play finals.

NEXT LEVEL
4 Jul 2007, 19:17

overated, he never looses a contest cause he never mans up and of course he is bound to kick a few goals if you play loose all game from the half back.

he play in last years grand final and got 40 possensions and still couldn't win them the game

iwantanotherflag
4 Jul 2007, 19:51
Just saw on the news tonight that a few PDFL boys have made the VCFL squad, from memory it was Cordy, Bode, Waasdorp, and maybe Schoullar and Dodd.

As we didn't have an interleague this year would any of you experts like to pick a PDFL Team of the Year. I'll have a go, but as you all know I am way too biased!

B: J Bode, Cassimaty, Waasdorp
HB: Ahmet, Cordy, Bertoli
C: Scott, Dodd, N White
HF: Osborn, Seagrave, Payne-Croston
FF: M Meyland, Dudgeon, Pearson
Foll: Schoullar, LeBrocq, Brunt
Int: Graham, Lambourn, S Wright, Plant, TeJones, D Sidebottom, Power, Baxter, Walker, Fox, Brunskill

Go on attack it!!!!:D

CTFP#8
4 Jul 2007, 19:58
Just saw on the news tonight that a few PDFL boys have made the VCFL squad, from memory it was Cordy, Bode, Waasdorp, and maybe Schoullar and Dodd.

As we didn't have an interleague this year would any of you experts like to pick a PDFL Team of the Year. I'll have a go, but as you all know I am way too biased!

Int: Graham, Lambourn, S Wright, Plant, TeJones, D Sidebottom, Power, Baxter, Walker, Fox, Brunskill

Leave me out of Seagrave at CHF. Tom Wren can play a bit, should be CHF. Corry from Picola also goes well.
Couple of pretty handy back pockets in Waasdorp and Bode.

pace to freeze
4 Jul 2007, 21:23

Well interesting 7 at least from your own side and neither Teague is amongst them, apologise to Cassimity and Graham never heard of either of you.
Your CHF, from what I have seen, has been playing across half back. But no sense in bagging if not prepared to have a go.

B. Robinson(De) Magner (M) Lambourn (Kat)

HB. Frost (SE) Cordy ( Kat ) Corry( P )

C. Waarsdorp (W) LeBrocq (Do) Ahmet (SE)

HF. Brunt (P) T. Wren (T) N.White ( Kat)

F. Priddle (P) Dudgeon(kat) T.Durwood(y)

FOLL. Schouller ( B ) Dodd (T) Germano (De)

INT.
N.Howden ( Katu), Moodie (B), Bode(De), Dickens(Do)

Full forward hardest spot to fill, Brunty and Dodd picked on past more so than apparent current form.
Side probably lacks big body on ball or in the guts to win enough clearances other than Germano, I know he's not big but is good at clearances.
Who are sides best clearance player/s.

iwantanotherflag
4 Jul 2007, 22:16
Well interesting 7 at least from your own side and neither Teague is amongst them, apologise to Cassimity and Graham never heard of either of you.
Your CHF, from what I have seen, has been playing across half back. But no sense in bagging if not prepared to have a go.

INT.

Full forward hardest spot to fill, Brunty and Dodd picked on past more so than apparent current form.
Side probably lacks big, steve ash GVFL ilk, body on ball or in the guts.

Mags played up forward against us, but yes he can play a bit. Would be a good full back.

I didn't analyse the players too much just on a bit of reputation and who i can remember from games this year.

iwantanotherflag
4 Jul 2007, 22:18
Leave me out of Seagrave at CHF. Tom Wren can play a bit, should be CHF. Corry from Picola also goes well.
Couple of pretty handy back pockets in Waasdorp and Bode.

Don't think Corry played against us. Bode would swap with Schoullar and Waasdorp would obviously get a run in the guts. True back pockets never get a run in these type of things they play an onballer there usually.

pace to freeze
5 Jul 2007, 08:57
Mags played up forward against us, but yes he can play a bit. Would be a good full back.

I didn't analyse the players too much just on a bit of reputation and who i can remember from games this year.
Mags has had an up and down year, and played almost everywhere due to injuries in our side. However has played a couple of pearlers when left at full back, like last year, on the likes of Priddle and Kellet.
Picking the side is hard, because based on what you read there would be probably quite a few who could argue their case, especially given Brunty has only featured in the best on one occasion, and apparently is on one leg.
Then again Dodd and Lebrocq were clearly BOG against us, yet from memory they didn't feature highly in their sides best players ???
Bode is interesting, but would create terrific flexability. Against us played as a ruch rover, but could quite easily see him playing as a key position player at either end, so could Robinson. Fitzpatrick, from Deni, would also be close at CHB purely as a stopper and similar to Mags, not highly skilled but great competitor who gets the job done.

Lazy HJ
5 Jul 2007, 12:51
Don't think Corry played against us. Bode would swap with Schoullar and Waasdorp would obviously get a run in the guts. True back pockets never get a run in these type of things they play an onballer there usually.

In a good side like the interleague side Scoullar would be a great CHF or even FF. What CHB could stop him, especially getting the delivery he would with the side posted. Just a thought.

TTTT
5 Jul 2007, 16:53
In a good side like the interleague side Scoullar would be a great CHF or even FF. What CHB could stop him, especially getting the delivery he would with the side posted. Just a thought.

I would play scoullar in the ruck and swaping into a forward pocket and leigh kellet would be full forward

TTTT
5 Jul 2007, 17:02
[quote=pace to freeze;8017332]

INT.

very good team but i rekon strathys john brunskill would be better at CHB then cordy

premiers07
5 Jul 2007, 17:32
overated, he never looses a contest cause he never mans up and of course he is bound to kick a few goals if you play loose all game from the half back.

he play in last years grand final and got 40 possensions and still couldn't win them the game
Thats your opinion.. After watching him over the last few years tho, he along with Lambourne is the reason Katandra has been at the top.. probably the most talented player in the league from what i've seen.. if only he trained tho!:D

iwantanotherflag
5 Jul 2007, 17:39
I would play scoullar in the ruck and swaping into a forward pocket and leigh kellet would be full forward

No doubt to Kellett's talents (KDFL last year), but haven't seen him yet.

Rascal99
5 Jul 2007, 18:05
No doubt to Kellett's talents (KDFL last year), but haven't seen him yet.

Going on from what i heard he did on the weekend, wouldnt be in the interleague team...
Struggled for most of the game. Kicked two maybe three goals
Apparently took a mark in the goal square, on the line, played on and kicked it through the points...

Doesnt sound like a full forward to me... They always know where the goals are..:p

balls
5 Jul 2007, 18:26
[quote=pace to freeze;8017332]

INT.

very good team but i rekon strathys john brunskill would be better at CHB then cordy
JBs a very good CHB but only on the right man.If you get a CHF with a bit of pace I dont think he is up to the job.Playing with Cords I can can say he is far better than alot of players think. Most of the time the opposisition usualy end up chasing cords most of the day instead of him taging them.Not trying to take any thing away from my old mate Jonny:D

Big Wheel
5 Jul 2007, 20:22
[quote=TTTT;8024868]
JBs a very good CHB but only on the right man.If you get a CHF with a bit of pace I dont think he is up to the job.Playing with Cords I can can say he is far better than alot of players think. Most of the time the opposisition usualy end up chasing cords most of the day instead of him taging them.Not trying to take any thing away from my old mate Jonny:D

What about Robbie Wren when he is up and firing fully fit would dominate STILL !!!!!

TTTT
5 Jul 2007, 23:24
Going on from what i heard he did on the weekend, wouldnt be in the interleague team...
Struggled for most of the game. Kicked two maybe three goals
Apparently took a mark in the goal square, on the line, played on and kicked it through the points...

Doesnt sound like a full forward to me... They always know where the goals are..:p

dont known how his gone this year other then he has kicked a bag of goals a couple of times. have watched him play in the kdfl and is probaly one of the best full forwards in the goulbourn-murray region

Lazy HJ
6 Jul 2007, 09:42
A couple of big games this weekend. Blighty and Picola do battle for maybe a finals birth, almost winner take all. Dookie and Waaia for maybe 2nd spot. Even with alot of footy left to play there are games every week that could be seen as mini finals. Makes for a great part of the season. Any tips ??

iwantanotherflag
6 Jul 2007, 11:26
A couple of big games this weekend. Blighty and Picola do battle for maybe a finals birth, almost winner take all. Dookie and Waaia for maybe 2nd spot. Even with alot of footy left to play there are games every week that could be seen as mini finals. Makes for a great part of the season. Any tips ??

Wunghnu to come up short to Deni
Shepp East to continue Yarroweyah's poor season
Katamatite in a close one over Mathoura
Katandra to get up over Katunga
Strathy over Berrigan
Dookie Utd and Waaia in a cracker and I can't choose!
Picola Utd just over Blighty, just cause it's at home.

TTTT
6 Jul 2007, 11:37
just a thought, When there is no interleague game during the season mabe the PDFL could have a VIC(players from VIc based teams) Vs NSW(players from NSW based teams) match and it could be used to pick an interleague squad if there was an interleague game

iwantanotherflag
6 Jul 2007, 14:11
just a thought, When there is no interleague game during the season mabe the PDFL could have a VIC(players from VIc based teams) Vs NSW(players from NSW based teams) match and it could be used to pick an interleague squad if there was an interleague game

Vic would romp it home!! 30 + goals!

jetter18
6 Jul 2007, 14:45
Vic would romp it home!! 30 + goals!

Haha would be interesting, think much closer than that, here is a couple of sides, apologies if forgotten anyone.

VIC NSW

B: Sneddon (B), Magner (M), T. Cooper (Be)
F: Priddle (PU), Kellett (Wu), M. Meyland (Wa)

HB: J. Bode (De), Fitzpatrick (de), Railton (m)
HF: Osborne (DU), T. Wren (T), N. Howden (Ka)

C: T. Wilson (Bl), M. Wooden (Bl), A. Jenkin (De)
C: White (Kat), Dodd (T), Corrie (PU)

HF: Sh Turner (Be), Schoullar (Bl), B. Napier (Bl)
HB: Ahmett (SE), Brunskill (ST), Cordy (Kat)

F: Robinson (De), Hardman (De), Sparey (M)
B: Frost (SE), Cassimaty (Wu), Lambourn (Kat)

R: Willoughby (M), Germano (De), Moodie (Bl)
R: Graham (ST), LeBroq (DU), S. Scott (Wa)

I: A. Goodear (de), C Thornton (be), B Bathman (be)
I: Waasdorp (wa), Durrwood (Ya), Fox (ka)

themagicfrog
6 Jul 2007, 16:48
Interesting Concept, But Vic should shit it in everytime just because weight of numbers.

iwantanotherflag
6 Jul 2007, 17:21
Interesting Concept, But Vic should shit it in everytime just because weight of numbers.

Probably not by 30 goals:) 4 teams Vs 11 teams!!

pace to freeze
6 Jul 2007, 22:11
Haha would be interesting, think much closer than that, here is a couple of sides, apologies if forgotten anyone.

VIC NSW

B: Sneddon (B), Magner (M), T. Cooper (Be)
F: Priddle (PU), Kellett (Wu), M. Meyland (Wa)

HB: J. Bode (De), Fitzpatrick (de), Railton (m)
HF: Osborne (DU), T. Wren (T), N. Howden (Ka)

C: T. Wilson (Bl), M. Wooden (Bl), A. Jenkin (De)
C: White (Kat), Dodd (T), Corrie (PU)

HF: Sh Turner (Be), Schoullar (Bl), B. Napier (Bl)
HB: Ahmett (SE), Brunskill (ST), Cordy (Kat)

F: Robinson (De), Hardman (De), Sparey (M)
B: Frost (SE), Cassimaty (Wu), Lambourn (Kat)

R: Willoughby (M), Germano (De), Moodie (Bl)
R: Graham (ST), LeBroq (DU), S. Scott (Wa)

I: A. Goodear (de), C Thornton (be), B Bathman (be)
I: Waasdorp (wa), Durrwood (Ya), Fox (ka)

Interestingly, as per the possible team of the year sides, very few players under that 25 yr old bracket and quite a few well into their 30's and some, sorry chops, on the other side of their 30's.

Is there any players in the lower ranked, outside the six, sides that could make a real impact in a finals contenders side ??

karjam
9 Jul 2007, 14:29
What was the ground like at Dookie on Saturday, must have been fairly heavy only 4 goals kicked??

toquick
9 Jul 2007, 15:17
What was the ground like at Dookie on Saturday, must have been fairly heavy only 4 goals kicked??

Ground was fairly heavy, just an absolute slog fight all day. 2 teams having a red hot crack at each other.

Did you blokes play the hoppers at home karjam? the middle must have been very muddy judging by the photo on the back page of todays news..

karjam
9 Jul 2007, 15:33
Ground was fairly heavy, just an absolute slog fight all day. 2 teams having a red hot crack at each other.

Did you blokes play the hoppers at home karjam? the middle must have been very muddy judging by the photo on the back page of todays news..

Yeah that was on the half forward flank, the soccer boys set up their goals in that area when the train and play so its getting a fair bit of traffic, Footballers train twice a week and soccer twice a week plus a game each weekend so it cops a hiding, but it will recover well

Run Straight
9 Jul 2007, 16:27
Can't believe no-one has mentioned the biggest news of the year. The mighty Saints saluting over the Dogs. (It wasn't a mis-print was it ??)

karjam
9 Jul 2007, 17:24
Can't believe no-one has mentioned the biggest news of the year. The mighty Saints saluting over the Dogs. (It wasn't a mis-print was it ??)

Go Bruzzy bout f-----n time!

iwantanotherflag
9 Jul 2007, 19:59
Not sure if many of you guys out there play a bit of cricket or not, but there is BigCricket aswell. Had a look and its a bit dead at the moment, I think it works the same as BigFooty but I found that I had to re-register as my BigFooty nick didn't work. Just thought I'd let you know.

chicken38
9 Jul 2007, 20:56
Can't believe no-one has mentioned the biggest news of the year. The mighty Saints saluting over the Dogs. (It wasn't a mis-print was it ??)no it wasnt a miss print good for club as they r struggling with numbers but r having a go r very competive at times but just lacking a bit off leadership on the ground. ps your mob are going all right in the tallangatta comp good to see you beat two bobs team as well:thumbsu:

Run Straight
10 Jul 2007, 09:25
no it wasnt a miss print good for club as they r struggling with numbers but r having a go r very competive at times but just lacking a bit off leadership on the ground. ps your mob are going all right in the tallangatta comp good to see you beat two bobs team as well:thumbsu:

Yeah, going along nicely Chicken. It just goes to show that there is hope for teams that have been closer to the bottom than the top for many years. The match against bob's team was a real arm wrestle, and only just got in by 6 points. Saints any chance against Picola, or do we wait for Mathoura at home in Round 18 ?

themagicfrog
10 Jul 2007, 10:04
Go Bruzzy bout f-----n time!

You can say that agian!
He even belted out a tune at the Party, Shan Turner showed he can move on the dance floor as well as the footy field!

TTTT
10 Jul 2007, 14:12

i wouldnt say it is the biggest news of the year. from what i was told the wet conditions played a big part and suited the saints alot better than the dogs

Kick it to me
10 Jul 2007, 15:13
no it wasnt a miss print good for club as they r struggling with numbers but r having a go r very competive at times but just lacking a bit off leadership on the ground. ps your mob are going all right in the tallangatta comp good to see you beat two bobs team as well:thumbsu:

Chicken, its very hard to get leadership on the ground when a few talented locals would rather watch from the sidelines than play!!!

How did Thorno end up after his stint at the hospital?