View Full Version : Picola District football league
Adam Brunt has signed on for another year at the helm of Picola.
Shepp East got the job done in both the 1's & 2's - well done to Doyley and the entire club. From a CGFL point of view Im rapt to see one of the old gang getting a flag after an unsettling past 12 months for all involved :thumbsu:
Andyt30
16 Sep 2006, 21:42
Well done Shepp East on your first Premierships in Reserves & Seniors in your firs Year in Piccola how oftern dose sides domenate first year good luck for 2007 season :thumbsu:
The Fev
17 Sep 2006, 20:04
pity it wasn't a draw
Adam Brunt has signed on for another year at the helm of Picola.
Hank i wold of thought he would've returned to Tongala.
Had my fingers crossed but wasnt to be, decided he wanted to coach out there for one more year, which is fair enough. But would have been huge for us if he had of decided to come back. Will be following some other leads now.
Will you keep all your youngsters?
themagicfrog
20 Sep 2006, 09:35
Congats to all who to home a win on the weekend.
Did anyone read the Shepp news on the Monday? the story abour the poor basted who was dropped out of the Shepp Ressy's side from getting his 8TH flag in a row, would be nice just to get close to one!
Magic
themagicfrog
25 Sep 2006, 09:46
C'mon Magic, you can tell us. I think it will be between young Hickey and Thornton, maybe Littlejohn to poll well, also. Am I close?
Our vote count is on a Sunday and all junior and senior football and netball teams are done. A long day, and in the past not done particularly well. The presentation night is to follow the next Saturday night. Senior B&F, maybe between Liam Fleming and Aiden Jenkin. Both been pretty consistent all year.
You were spot on the money Riewoldt 12, Hickey picked up first them Thorno with Littles just beeting Goddard for third.
Jed Towler won the Magoos from equal second in Magill and Bonat.
So how everyones recruiting going, havn't heard much this end yet, I will get back on the committee at AGM next month so I can find out whats goin on.
themagicfrog
29 Sep 2006, 09:48
Blighty picking up Wooden can only be good for them he is a more than handy player. I know Toc wil miss his consistancy.
Magic
themagicfrog
5 Oct 2006, 17:06
Any News? Bit Quiet
Magic
Can Shop
5 Oct 2006, 17:09
Dookie signed new coach. Dale Osborne. Can play. What were dookie like this year?? were they around 6 to 9??
Blighty picking up Wooden can only be good for them he is a more than handy player. I know Toc wil miss his consistancy.
Magic
Matt Woode is a great pick up as a player and a person.:thumbsu:
chicken machine
6 Oct 2006, 13:04
why is shepp east so good, its a **** hole of a joint ? i think if any team can get a good group of spine players they would be able to beat them. whats the recruting news from berrigan way? if they can get a few handy fellas back im sure they might have a chance to sneak into the finals.
themagicfrog
6 Oct 2006, 16:23
why is shepp east so good, its a **** hole of a joint ? i think if any team can get a good group of spine players they would be able to beat them. whats the recruting news from berrigan way? if they can get a few handy fellas back im sure they might have a chance to sneak into the finals.
Hoping to have a coach anounced next week so I've been told. Talking to some Berrigan boys in Melb who want to return and play and have mates that want to come with them. I'm not sure who else they are talking to should find out more at AGM on the 16th.
Magic
Shepp east is strong because they have all the doe. Spend lots win a prem. Look how many ex gvfl players they had playing. Lets hope they are only in the league for a short time and piss of to murry where they should have gone in the first place
Cain:thumbsd: :mad:
hectomorphic
7 Oct 2006, 14:11
They may have had ex gvfl but they also had blokes who have played mainly pDFL in shan laidlaw.
Andyt30
10 Oct 2006, 21:50
shepp east would be too good in any league ya put them in. i'l tip them to go close to winning it again in 2007 they become the Horsham of the Picola and be unbeatable Like Horsham have been in the Wimmera last 4 years
themagicfrog
11 Oct 2006, 09:37
Do they have a high turnover of players each year or do they keep them?
Magic
hectomorphic
13 Oct 2006, 10:21
Any new news? Any news on who is coachin who, recruits for anyone?
bystanding backman
13 Oct 2006, 15:05
Rory Priddle to Picola if true would be a huge pick up for those blokes as another good forward. great goal kicker
BATTEREDSAV
13 Oct 2006, 16:35
Shepp east is strong because they have all the doe. Spend lots win a prem. Look how many ex gvfl players they had playing. Lets hope they are only in the league for a short time and piss of to murry where they should have gone in the first place
Cain:thumbsd: :mad:
I can’t understand your reasoning, stronger clubs improve the league. You're making out Shepp East are some unbelievable outfit. They were beaten by 10 goals to Tungamah two weeks out from finals and only scraped over the line to win the granny. Their a good side but there are probably 4 others that are very close behind or equal and sides like Berrigan, Mathoura, Yarra, Blight and Katunga could be right up there with good recruiting. I was disappointed when both Shepp East and Dookie came into the league, Shepp East, maybe should have gone to the Murray league, but I think Dookie should have gone to Benalla and District. They will never have the side to match it with the big boys, students go on holidays and they aren’t competitive. I have also been told the uni is just about to close, so I don’t know where they will get their players from, they would be a chance to play finals in the Benalla League at least (maybe scrape into 4th position) and reduce the numbers in the Picola
Andyt30
13 Oct 2006, 18:03
i'm sure no one wants to see a one sided grand final. look at Kdfl's Stanhope years loosing by 1 pt in 2005 & 2 pts this year , compared to 18pts for Shepparton East
wait til they win 4 or more in arow i know their reserves won is it 8 in arow or is it 9 now?
i've got the grandfinal on dvd i got most leagues in the area, Picola,Murray goulburn valley & KDFL
cheers
The Flying Wombat
14 Oct 2006, 10:10
G'day Boys,
Big news on the grapevine is tha Wes Teague from Katandra is heading across to colbinabbin to become assistant coach with Damian Lock. Apparently he has a few mates down that way from uni days!
Can Shop
16 Oct 2006, 10:14
I can’t understand your reasoning, stronger clubs improve the league. You're making out Shepp East are some unbelievable outfit. They were beaten by 10 goals to Tungamah two weeks out from finals and only scraped over the line to win the granny. Their a good side but there are probably 4 others that are very close behind or equal and sides like Berrigan, Mathoura, Yarra, Blight and Katunga could be right up there with good recruiting. I was disappointed when both Shepp East and Dookie came into the league, Shepp East, maybe should have gone to the Murray league, but I think Dookie should have gone to Benalla and District. They will never have the side to match it with the big boys, students go on holidays and they aren’t competitive. I have also been told the uni is just about to close, so I don’t know where they will get their players from, they would be a chance to play finals in the Benalla League at least (maybe scrape into 4th position) and reduce the numbers in the Picola
Interesting words on dookie..... A new coach this year from the GVFL and i can assure you that he is talking to players to go out with him.... Be prepared to see a new dookie next year is all i can say... They will be a bit more competitive.
BATTEREDSAV
16 Oct 2006, 11:20
Interesting words on dookie..... A new coach this year from the GVFL and i can assure you that he is talking to players to go out with him.... Be prepared to see a new dookie next year is all i can say... They will be a bit more competitive.
Its great news there getting a GVFL experienced coach, i heard hes a bit of a lose cannon (likes it tough) they certainly need it from seeing them last year. If he can bring a few players with him it will certainly help cover the loses they will have in 07. The rumor i heard (from a solid source) is that Dookie are looking at about 7 seniors players leaving as there studies are over at the college. Thats a big gap to fill. There permanent players, resident players like Ludman and Coston (i think thats there names) are pushing 30 years from what l'm told so there isnt alot of footy left. Then again Shepp East Won a Granny with 13 players over 30, but they were a pretty special side.
Can Shop
16 Oct 2006, 11:48
The players that shepp east had over 30 years old correct me if i'm wrong but i'd say at lest 60 to 80% of them have played a great deal of GVFL senior footy so they would be pretty smart still even if the body is ageing
Dont worry about Dookie they will be fine, in refrence to the B&D League. When Devenish goes look for one if not two coming to our league in the next few years.
themagicfrog
20 Oct 2006, 22:36
Just letting those who are interested in Berrigan that we have a new committee after Mondays AGM. New pres, Vice, Sec.
For all details go to www.berriganfc.vcfl.com.au
Magic
BATTEREDSAV
24 Oct 2006, 13:53
Dont worry about Dookie they will be fine, in refrence to the B&D League. When Devenish goes look for one if not two coming to our league in the next few years.
Interesting point regarding Devenish. Maybe a Dookie Devenish Merge, with both sides combining forces they could be a fighting chance for a top three finish in the Benalla & District League.
Could very well be Sav! Certainly from what I hear, the cricket merger (Dev-Goorambat) is an unlikely possibility in footy, so this may be the most viable alternative...
BATTEREDSAV
24 Oct 2006, 16:37
Big News Hitting Dookie.
I have just been told from a very very reliable source that Charles Edmerson, this years B&F winner at Dookie has walked out of the club. Apparently Virginia Boyd (the president) has appointed a new 4th coach for 2007. Charlie was the coach this year and was told by someone at the pub last week he had been over looked for 07. He was shattered and told them to stick it. This seems to be exactly the same circulstances with the senior coaches last year. Will they ever learn. If history repeats itself Charlie will be winning a Granny in 07 (as did last years coaches with Shepp East). Anyone looking for a classy onballer/winger there is apperantly one on the move.
themagicfrog
24 Oct 2006, 17:04
Big News Hitting Dookie.
I have just been told from a very very reliable source that Charles Edmerson, this years B&F winner at Dookie has walked out of the club. Apparently Virginia Boyd (the president) has appointed a new 4th coach for 2007. Charlie was the coach this year and was told by someone at the pub last week he had been over looked for 07. He was shattered and told them to stick it. This seems to be exactly the same circulstances with the senior coaches last year. Will they ever learn. If history repeats itself Charlie will be winning a Granny in 07 (as did last years coaches with Shepp East). Anyone looking for a classy onballer/winger there is apperantly one on the move.
That not godd news, You'd hope that clubs would look after there B&F winners, cause they don't win them for nothing.
Any news on departures from any other clubs? Will Shepp lose a few after their great year?
Magic
Big News Hitting Dookie.
Very very handy recruit for whichever club he lands at!!!
dazzledavey36
26 Oct 2006, 12:21
Has tungamah picked up any new players yet?
To let every one who cares know, Charlie has not left the club, he was uncertin on his future, either here or at home but no were else. He spoke to the committe about not coaching next year and was happy with the appointment that the club made. As for the coaches from the previous year, they left, did well for themselves at a new club but have no respect at their old club. It must be hard to live in a town were the only people that talk to you are family. Just for the benifit of a few i am not on the committee but know Charlie very well, as a lot of people do in our club, we have a lot of respect for Charlie more then we can say for other people.
Dunno what happened behind the scenes cain1 but I take it you're saying that Burkey, John Weber and Montgomery are not one bit welcome back at Dookie???
lets just say that there is a lot of water under the bridge and no amount of paddaling will get them back up the river. I hope that they are happy were they are, because we are a proud club and the 20 or so members on the committe this year show that we are behind our executive committe and the direction that we are taking. Money is not everything
wheelie
29 Oct 2006, 18:31
lets just say that there is a lot of water under the bridge and no amount of paddaling will get them back up the river. I hope that they are happy were they are, because we are a proud club and the 20 or so members on the committe this year show that we are behind our executive committe and the direction that we are taking. Money is not everythingWhat is going on with deni rovers next year r they looking for a new coach n how does gav leiper go
rabbsy_69
30 Oct 2006, 15:53
Reeve's Leaves Road.
Reports indicate that talented Congupna on-baller Eamon Reeves has left the road and may be headed in the Dookie direction as an assistant coach. Reeve's who is a regular in the Murray FL country week side is reported to have gained employment with a local company, which is heavily involved with the club. His pace and skill will bode well with the new structure of the team and he could find himself playing on a wing or on-ball.
It is still rumoured that Charlie Edmonston may be staying with the club for season 2007, but this is yet to be confirmed.
rabbsy_69
30 Oct 2006, 21:06
Wheeler and Helder to Stay.
Senior footballers Matt Helder and Tim Wheeler have indicated to Dookie United club officials that they will stay on for season 2007 and not move elsewhere after completing university studies at Dookie College.
This again will bolster the line-up for the Dookie United team as it strives for finals action in 2007.
themagicfrog
31 Oct 2006, 07:17
Just letting everyone know that at last nights PDFL meeting Katunga were stripped of the 2007 Grand final hosting duties for disciplinary reasons. Katunga stated one the night that they are quite happy not to have the grand final anymore. Where the 2007 Grand Final will be played is not known yet. Also a lot of discussion about a final 8 some clubs all for it and some clubs dead against it, fiery discussion all round, will be decided at PDFL AGM next month.
Magic
Just letting everyone know that at last nights PDFL meeting Katunga were stripped of the 2007 Grand final hosting duties for disciplinary reasons. Katunga stated one the night that they are quite happy not to have the grand final anymore. Where the 2007 Grand Final will be played is not known yet. Also a lot of discussion about a final 8 some clubs all for it and some clubs dead against it, fiery discussion all round, will be decided at PDFL AGM next month.
Magic
What was the disciplinary issue Mag?
Also, the 'Jungle' drums tell me that you blokes may be picking up a few - maybe a 'Carr' load...:thumbsu:
Cheers,
themagicfrog
31 Oct 2006, 10:10
What was the disciplinary issue Mag?
Also, the 'Jungle' drums tell me that you blokes may be picking up a few - maybe a 'Carr' load...:thumbsu:
Cheers,
The issue was that they were selling grog at the Grand Final without permission and were asked to stop and they didn't.
We will be talking to those boys this weekend at the Berrigan Cup and hopefully a couple more ex pats from down your way.
Magic
The issue was that they were selling grog at the Grand Final without permission and were asked to stop and they didn't.
We will be talking to those boys this weekend at the Berrigan Cup and hopefully a couple more ex pats from down your way.
Magic
Ahh...I see - ta for that Mag!
I had heard about those other blokes as well - there's a couple of handy lads there if you get 'em!
themagicfrog
31 Oct 2006, 17:37
Ahh...I see - ta for that Mag!
I had heard about those other blokes as well - there's a couple of handy lads there if you get 'em!
could ya give me some details on those boys?, where they play size, skills?
thanks
Magic
flying_eagle
2 Nov 2006, 20:25
Exodus at Shep East.
Tallygaroopna football club have been buoyed by the signing of talented utility/forward John Weber from Shepparton East football club. Weber will return home for season 2007, leaving Shepp East after controversially walking out of the club.
Also, reliable sources have indicated that the 2007 senior coaching position at Shepp East was turned down by Chris Burke due to the unwillingness of the club to consider joint coaches.
Exodus at Shep East.
Tallygaroopna football club have been buoyed by the signing of talented utility/forward John Weber from Shepparton East football club. Weber will return home for season 2007, leaving Shepp East after controversially walking out of the club.
Also, reliable sources have indicated that the 2007 senior coaching position at Shepp East was turned down by Chris Burke due to the unwillingness of the club to consider joint coaches.
What so controvesial about a guy who played 2nds wanting to chance his arm where he might play 1's every week?
Wasn't Sam Ahmet announced as their coach in the Shepp News yesty, are you saying he only got it coz Burkey knocked it back? Thought it was a good little read Kingy put together :thumbsu:
East banks on wizard Ahmet to conjure up another flag
By Steve King
November 1 2006
Shepparton News
Shepparton East has looked to star player Sam Ahmet to guide the club to back-to-back Picola District Football League premierships.
Ahmet, 33, replaces Gerard Doyle, who stepped down as coach following the Eagles' premiership triumph over Katandra.
"It will be something different, and a new challenge," Ahmet said.
Ahmet returned to Central Park this year after a decorated 10-year, 170-game career with Shepparton, which included the 2000 premiership.
Although Ahmet was on the comeback trail from stress fractures in his right foot, suffered in his final year with the Bears, he proved to be a key figure in the Eagles' success in their debut season in the PDFL, claiming the club's best and fairest.
Ahmet is confident of retaining a majority of the playing list from this year and said he was not daunted by the shadow cast by Doyle, who guided the Eagles to multiple premierships.
"He's a club legend," Ahmet said.
"It didn't matter who took on the job, they were going to have big shoes to fill."
Ahmet said he would take bits and pieces from each of his coaches at Shepparton, which included Rod Macpherson, Shane Fitzsimmons, Tony Tranter, Mark Lambourn and Adrian Hickmott.
"They all had stuff which I thought worked and some stuff that might not have," he said.
flying_eagle
2 Nov 2006, 20:51
Wasn't Sam Ahmet announced as their coach in the Shepp News yesty, are you saying he only got it coz Burkey knocked it back coz they wouldnt allow him and Monty to share the role?[/quote]
I agree that John Weber would relish the chance for a season in the seniors.
Yes i know that Ahmet was named as the coach for 2007 but will he ever feel comfortable coaching the club knowing that he was second choice for the position?
I agree that John Weber would relish the chance for a season in the seniors.
Yes i know that Ahmet was named as the coach for 2007 but will he ever feel comfortable coaching the club knowing that he was second choice for the position?
Well he wont feel comfortable now that you've told us all he was the Eagles 2nd pick. Lets hope Sam dont read Big Footy and everyone out there gets behind him.
I actually rated Webber when Yea played Dookie in 2005, reckon he got hurt in the latter stages and didnt play finals, so like I said maybe Tally is a fresh start and a regular senior gig.
I must ask, why is such a strong and repsected club like Shepp East all of sudden appearing a tad unstable with these whispers creeping in?
flying_eagle
2 Nov 2006, 21:22
I actually rated Webber when Yea played Dookie in 2005, reckon he got hurt in the latter stages and didnt play finals, so like I said maybe Tally is a fresh start and a regular senior gig.
I must ask, why is such a strong and repsected club like Shepp East all of sudden appearing a tad unstable with these whispers creeping in?[/quote]
I whole-heartedly agree a new coach with new ideas will strengthen an already strong club. With new ideas and potential new players Shepp East will undoubtedly be the yardstick of the competition.
No doubt the club is strong and respected in football circles, and i guess we'll wait until April to find out how strong. Some whispers can be louder than others.
Travvy43
3 Nov 2006, 08:22
Is brunt coaching picola again next year?
Yes he has signed up again and is being well compensated apparently.Picola always thereabouts but can't seem to win the big one. Must be a few years since they won a flag.
themagicfrog
3 Nov 2006, 14:14
I must ask, why is such a strong and repsected club like Shepp East all of sudden appearing a tad unstable with these whispers creeping in?
What wispers are they Doona2, who are leaving the nest?
Magic
The Flying Wombat
3 Nov 2006, 14:41
Wes Teague has signed at Colbinabbin. Apparently the job went through last night.
themagicfrog
4 Nov 2006, 15:54
Berrigan signs Coach
Berrigan signed Turner from Shep East this morning as it's new coach, players to follow him accross.
Talking to Shuan Downie today and he said that he is on the way to Tocumwal for 2007
Magic
What wispers are they Doona2, who are leaving the nest?
Magic
I never said players were leaving, but flying eagle made it public the fact the Sam Ahmet apparently wasn't their preferred choice surely doesn't help, and obviously Weber to Tally is one mentioned. I have heard though that Berrigan may be a home for a few Eagles in 2007, not confirmed though.
Will Doyley b staying on as a player?
Berrigan signed Turner from Shep East this morning as it's new coach, players to follow him accross.
Sorry Magic I shoulda scrolled down b4 I repsonded to your earlier post. What players may be heading up?
For those who are interested. Dookie United new rooms are coming along fine. There should be alot of new faces around the club, Scott Greig back from honeymoon and indicating he would like to play on and last year players also indicating that they would like to play on next year, looking forward to 2007
themagicfrog
6 Nov 2006, 07:10
Sorry Magic I shoulda scrolled down b4 I repsonded to your earlier post. What players may be heading up?
I've heard both the Turner boy's, Shepps eats CHF and Possible ruck. Tuner has commented he has players interested from other clubs that want to play with him. I'll give ya more details once I here.
Magic
Ozstriker
6 Nov 2006, 09:25
yes heard that dookie are going to have a heap of new players going there next year from the GVFL????? that would be great for the club and its success!!!!!
Ozstriker
6 Nov 2006, 09:30
Which turner did they sign up?
Ozstriker
6 Nov 2006, 10:38
Dookie signed new coach. Dale Osborne. Can play. What were dookie like this year?? were they around 6 to 9??
Where did this New Dookie coach Dale Osborne play last year?
bystanding backman
6 Nov 2006, 10:45
Where did this New Dookie coach Dale Osborne play last year?
Dale played at Shep United he is tall well built can play forward or defence will be a good pick up for Dookie.
Ozstriker
6 Nov 2006, 11:07
Rory Priddle to Picola if true would be a huge pick up for those blokes as another good forward. great goal kicker
Where is Rory from?
Ozstriker
6 Nov 2006, 11:08
Dale played at Shep United he is tall well built can play forward or defence will be a good pick up for Dookie.
Any news on who he will be taking with him?? got any names?
bystanding backman
6 Nov 2006, 11:12
Where is Rory from?
Rory is from moama, he didn't have a great year this year due to injury and a disagreement with the club i think, but the couple of year before that he was a gun and a main focus point for moama forward line. still has a couple of good years in him.
Don't know about Dale he could well take some United boys with him haven't heard.
Ozstriker
6 Nov 2006, 11:18
Got any names of the players he is talking to??
Ozstriker
6 Nov 2006, 11:20
Rory is from moama, he didn't have a great year this year due to injury and a disagreement with the club i think, but the couple of year before that he was a gun and a main focus point for moama forward line. still has a couple of good years in him.
Don't know about Dale he could well take some United boys with him haven't heard.
What was the footy like in the Picola league?? few good players in it?? who do you follow??
Sidey_87
6 Nov 2006, 11:33
Dookie can look forward to winning most disciplined this season with Ozzy at the helm.:)
A few united players will leave to Katandra, Shepp East and Dookie.
Disappointed if the news about Wes Teague is true, really wanted to play a season along side him.
Ozstriker
6 Nov 2006, 11:35
Dookie can look forward to winning most disciplined this season with Ozzy at the helm.:)
A few united players will leave to Katandra, Shepp East and Dookie.
Disappointed if the news about Wes Teague is true, really wanted to play a season along side him.
Is he a good disciplined player is he?? Where did Wes play?
It is amazing how one incident can change what you think of a player. This year i saw many players get hit with little bunny punches around the ground, but never get caught, but i guess that is just part of the game lets hope that none of tunga's thirds ever play football at the senior level after their game at shepp east in the finals that was terrible
bystanding backman
6 Nov 2006, 12:20
What was the footy like in the Picola league?? few good players in it?? who do you follow??
don't play in it, don't really follow anyone, have a couple of mates at picola and waaia but thats about it. my own opinion from what i've seen. is that there are a handful of players in each side which could play MFL or GVFL but other than that the rest would probably play two in both leauges. but in saying that GVFL is made up of mainly large sized towns MFL is medium sized and PFL is medium to smaller towns. this making it harder to attract bigger name players still in their prime to the PFL
Sorry if this offends anyone but it's just my opinion. i could be wrong.
Ozstriker
6 Nov 2006, 13:58
don't play in it, don't really follow anyone, have a couple of mates at picola and waaia but thats about it. my own opinion from what i've seen. is that there are a handful of players in each side which could play MFL or GVFL but other than that the rest would probably play two in both leauges. but in saying that GVFL is made up of mainly large sized towns MFL is medium sized and PFL is medium to smaller towns. this making it harder to attract bigger name players still in their prime to the PFL
Sorry if this offends anyone but it's just my opinion. i could be wrong.
Fair enough then. that sounds not that bad that they have a few players in each side that could go anywhere. thats good for foooty i think.
Ozstriker
6 Nov 2006, 14:00
It is amazing how one incident can change what you think of a player. This year i saw many players get hit with little bunny punches around the ground, but never get caught, but i guess that is just part of the game lets hope that none of tunga's thirds ever play football at the senior level after their game at shepp east in the finals that was terrible
What dont the players get looked after by the umpires or do the umpires not keep up or turn a blind eye??
4-5 good players in most sides, the best one or two often cop alot of attention:thumbsu:
Ozstriker
6 Nov 2006, 14:23
attention from who?
Why does the league give teams that are playing in the finals, finals. It seems to me that the league is more interested in income then evening up the comptetition
themagicfrog
7 Nov 2006, 07:19
Why does the league give teams that are playing in the finals, finals. It seems to me that the league is more interested in income then evening up the comptetition
The PDFL works on a 3 or 4 year rotation for final venues, with the granny at Katunga. Now that Katunga has lost the granny for next year I’m not sure where it will be. Some clubs are pushing to get rid of the Barooga double header so that more PDFL teams can have the finals, but if the final 8 comes in that will change again.
Magic
The PDFL works on a 3 or 4 year rotation for final venues, with the granny at Katunga. Now that Katunga has lost the granny for next year I’m not sure where it will be. Some clubs are pushing to get rid of the Barooga double header so that more PDFL teams can have the finals, but if the final 8 comes in that will change again.
Magic
Why not give the teams that do not make the finals a home final. This would give clubs that do not make finals extra income and help them develop thier clubs
themagicfrog
7 Nov 2006, 13:01
Why not give the teams that do not make the finals a home final. This would give clubs that do not make finals extra income and help them develop thier clubs
There was a suggestion from one the Vic clubs that if a team that has a final and is playing in that final it should be moved, that’s O.K in Vic because of the flexible liquor laws but in NSW you have to give 28 days notice for change of venue. It’s a lot stricter up here and a lot less flexible. They could pick them just before finals, but I don’t think that you really want to be going to play finals at Wunghnu and Mathoura all the time as there ground/rooms are really not up to that standard.
themagicfrog
7 Nov 2006, 14:28
Which turner did they sign up?
Scott Turner.
Check out www.berriganfc.vcfl.com.au for some info on him.
There was a suggestion from one the Vic clubs that if a team that has a final and is playing in that final it should be moved, that’s O.K in Vic because of the flexible liquor laws but in NSW you have to give 28 days notice for change of venue. It’s a lot stricter up here and a lot less flexible. They could pick them just before finals, but I don’t think that you really want to be going to play finals at Wunghnu and Mathoura all the time as there ground/rooms are really not up to that standard.
But would this then give them more incentive/money to up date there facilities and improve there standing in the football comunity
themagicfrog
8 Nov 2006, 07:28
But would this then give them more incentive/money to up date there facilities and improve there standing in the football comunity
I know what yo are trying to say but other clubs will soon get pi$$ed off if they are forever being robed of finals because of their Success, they need to pay for their players some how!
Mathoura recently got a grant to spend on thier rooms and buit new rooms for themselfs but not for the visitors, I suppose yo can only do so much with the money.
Magic
Ozstriker
8 Nov 2006, 07:38
Anyone pick any winners yesterday?
Ozstriker
8 Nov 2006, 07:39
Scott Turner.
Check out www.berriganfc.vcfl.com.au (http://www.berriganfc.vcfl.com.au) for some info on him.
Scott Turner did he play at East last year?
Ozstriker
8 Nov 2006, 13:02
4-5 good players in most sides, the best one or two often cop alot of attention:thumbsu:
So how the Pies gunna go next year Ringo1?
Ozstriker
8 Nov 2006, 13:13
Just heard a rumor that Dookie have signed 5 key position players from Shepparton United and 1 form Tatura. so it looks like they are going to have a pretty strong side!!!! Whether they can play all together or not is another question. because tat and united have a good rivalry together i have heard.....
flying_eagle
8 Nov 2006, 21:20
Just heard a rumor that Dookie have signed 5 key position players from Shepparton United and 1 form Tatura. so it looks like they are going to have a pretty strong side!!!! Whether they can play all together or not is another question. because tat and united have a good rivalry together i have heard.....
Wiith the five players going to Dookie next season, what was there relationship like at Shep United? And who is the player coming from Tatura?
I beleive the players from United all have senior exp two are brothers dont know the one from Tat
Tatybulldog
9 Nov 2006, 06:51
I beleive the players from United all have senior exp two are brothers dont know the one from Tat
yeah all the players from united have senior experience. the bloke from tat has played the last 2 seasons in the ones with the doggies and gone alright. dookie will be very strong this yr. poor old tat has lost about 14 of its senior 22 from last yr!
Can Shop
9 Nov 2006, 08:15
The bloke from tat is a good bloke but thats about all you could say. He'd need to get alot fitter then he was last season for tatura. Apparently works with the coach for dookie. Also Rumour has it waaia are looking to recruit couple of players from gvfl clubs... Ozstrike may know about it not sure ...
Can Shop
9 Nov 2006, 08:57
I'll correct my words and say that the bloke from tatura could be a real good footballer if he got 20% fitter and i'm sure he will be a key player in dookies season along with there other recruits.
Tatybulldog
9 Nov 2006, 09:42
I'll correct my words and say that the bloke from tatura could be a real good footballer if he got 20% fitter and i'm sure he will be a key player in dookies season along with there other recruits.
20 percent fitter is prob a fair call but he still played alot of good footy while he was not at his fittest. he will dominate in the piccola league. anyone know any players without a club?? we (tatura) are in need. we have just got a good coach from SA so come for a look boys!
Can Shop
9 Nov 2006, 09:55
yeah all the players from united have senior experience. the bloke from tat has played the last 2 seasons in the ones with the doggies and gone alright. dookie will be very strong this yr. poor old tat has lost about 14 of its senior 22 from last yr!
Can we see the names of these players that you are picking up. Then we might be able to judge what sort of players your picking up.
Tatybulldog
9 Nov 2006, 10:07
Can we see the names of these players that you are picking up. Then we might be able to judge what sort of players your picking up.
do u play CAN SHOP?
Can Shop
9 Nov 2006, 10:16
Yeah .... I dunno if you call it playing but i do run around out there. Actually ran around with mr Osborn for a few years now.. He will be a great asset for Dookie. I'd just liek to know the united boys he is taking with him.
Tatybulldog
9 Nov 2006, 10:23
did u play seniors or reserves for united? or a bit of both?
yeah it will be very interesting who does go out there hey!
Can Shop
9 Nov 2006, 10:30
Bit of both.. Players i head goign there are Loughnan (tat) Kitto, Kitto, Emmanueli, Riordan, Weatherly (utd) beaton (undera) Iddles (strathmerton)
Tatybulldog
9 Nov 2006, 10:38
where did all this imformation come from??
you must have a great source or ure good friends with ozzie and he try'd to recruit u to.why wont u go out to the hills aswell as all the other united boys? if they are the players goin out there lock can play matty k can play emanuelli can play and ozzi can play also weathers can play.i have played with and against them.