View Full Version : Picola District football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

TTTT
8 Nov 2007, 11:40
Hmmm Strathy would not be happy with this i wouldnt think, coin good at Dookie?? Would have thought that locals would be getting a little unhappy with all the outsiders coming in.........whats the feeling like out there toquick??

i dont think he has signed at dookie but if he has it will be disapointing for the dogs but not a major loss as he didnt play at all this year

toquick
8 Nov 2007, 11:46
Hmmm Strathy would not be happy with this i wouldnt think, coin good at Dookie?? Would have thought that locals would be getting a little unhappy with all the outsiders coming in.........whats the feeling like out there toquick??
Super coach confirmed that pen was put to paper. Very handy pick up to an already very evenly spread side.He will slot in no worries.
The feeling is great around the club. We were all out there together last Wednesday for an official team photo. The players that got pushed out by the recruits got their chances to put their name on a regular spot during the year. i think most of them were happy sucking on cans after the game and watching us anyway.

cackles23
8 Nov 2007, 12:16
Super coach confirmed that pen was put to paper. Very handy pick up to an already very evenly spread side.He will slot in no worries.
The feeling is great around the club. We were all out there together last Wednesday for an official team photo. The players that got pushed out by the recruits got their chances to put their name on a regular spot during the year. i think most of them were happy sucking on cans after the game and watching us anyway.
Scott was a runner up in the league medal not long ago wasnt he?? Falling out with Strathy maybe?? Or just trying to cash in on the success at Dookie and claim a flag?? or does he have ties out that way??

toquick
8 Nov 2007, 12:40
Scott was a runner up in the league medal not long ago wasnt he?? Falling out with Strathy maybe?? Or just trying to cash in on the success at Dookie and claim a flag?? or does he have ties out that way??
Not sure if he was runner up or just finished well up there. But he is a proven player in this league. I think what has got him over the line with Dookie is, him and Ozzi are very good mates. If there was a little umming and arrring about signing, i think the success side of things helps get the pen to paper! Dookie will be top 2 again next yr.

TTTT
8 Nov 2007, 14:48
Not sure if he was runner up or just finished well up there. But he is a proven player in this league. I think what has got him over the line with Dookie is, him and Ozzi are very good mates. If there was a little umming and arrring about signing, i think the success side of things helps get the pen to paper! Dookie will be top 2 again next yr.

you gotta relax toquick and stop thinking dookie are a world class side. if he has signed it would be mainly because of his friendship with ozzi not success. By the sound of things the dogs are gunna be a very good side next year so which ever side he plays for he will be part of a succesfull team

iwantanotherflag
8 Nov 2007, 14:59
you gotta relax toquick and stop thinking dookie are a world class side. if he has signed it would be mainly because of his friendship with ozzi not success. By the sound of things the dogs are gunna be a very good side next year so which ever side he plays for he will be part of a succesfull team

Yes, it does take more than one in 30. :) I am sure they would like to make it 2 in 30 though!

toquick
8 Nov 2007, 15:06
Yes, it does take more than one in 30. :) I am sure they would like to make it 2 in 30 though!
Your only as good as ure last game iwantanotherflag! hehe so what are u doing with your footy next year mate?

toquick
8 Nov 2007, 15:10
Have another read of what i wrote.... i said if there was any umming or arrring the fact that we were successful last season(and Dookie have kept most there list) would entice someone rather then a side that struggled. I know the main reason is the fact that him and ozzie are very close.

pick me
8 Nov 2007, 18:08
????

Herb
8 Nov 2007, 19:15
sounds like things are looking up out at mathoura ive seen a few of there games very young side and potentially good i might also add if there players all stay id say they will have a good yr under chris mitsch they seem to lack direction, dont get me wrong from wat ive seen and mainly have heard they attack the ball hard and maybe soon they will have a bit of sucsess, they are all just in and under mainly with no sense of direction with out being rude but i guess that comes back to who they usually get to coach out there, they all are mainly under 30 by the looks so that might help in long run also.on p/t/f posts i think there maybe more his played abit more then that west adelaiede might just be one and there is more ill find out off his father and will post you all back..

are you 12?

Big Wheel
9 Nov 2007, 13:01
Your only as good as ure last game iwantanotherflag! hehe so what are u doing with your footy next year mate?

I hear that Iwantanotherflag (ass coach) could be coaching aganist Nathan White in the KDFL? Word on the grape vine is Girgarree is trying to get Whitey out there!!

toquick
9 Nov 2007, 13:08
I hear that Iwantanotherflag (ass coach) could be coaching aganist Nathan White in the KDFL? Word on the grape vine is Girgarree is trying to get Whitey out there!!
iwantanotherflag is Assistant Coach at Nagambie i am led to believe big wheel?? am i correct?

Big Wheel
9 Nov 2007, 15:00
iwantanotherflag is Assistant Coach at Nagambie i am led to believe big wheel?? am i correct?

You might be best asking the man himself, Or he might comment on this shortly as he is always on this!

Hows the trip up to the tropic of capricorn coming along Toquick??

Does anyone know if Tommy Wren is still sticking around at Tungamah?
Surley some clubs in the MFL maybe GVFL clubs would be trying to secure his services!!

toquick
9 Nov 2007, 15:29
You might be best asking the man himself, Or he might comment on this shortly as he is always on this!

Hows the trip up to the tropic of capricorn coming along Toquick??

Does anyone know if Tommy Wren is still sticking around at Tungamah?
Surley some clubs in the MFL maybe GVFL clubs would be trying to secure his services!!

The move is still in the process of happening. Just tying down a few loose ends mate and she is all go!
I was at Barooga when Tommy had a crack at Murray League and if im correct you were at Cobram Big Wheel but he didnt really cut it but he is a quality player in the PDFL so dont see why he wouldnt be a sort after player in higher standards of footy.

Skills01
11 Nov 2007, 14:58
The move is still in the process of happening. Just tying down a few loose ends mate and she is all go!
I was at Barooga when Tommy had a crack at Murray League and if im correct you were at Cobram Big Wheel but he didnt really cut it but he is a quality player in the PDFL so dont see why he wouldnt be a sort after player in higher standards of footy.

Osborne must be smashing the phone bill - he has called about every United and ex-Enited player in the district.
A very reliable source has it that he has been meeting with Brendan Briggs.......
Its amazing what a bit of Cash can attract !

Big Wheel
13 Nov 2007, 09:23
Osborne must be smashing the phone bill - he has called about every United and ex-Enited player in the district.
A very reliable source has it that he has been meeting with Brendan Briggs.......
Its amazing what a bit of Cash can attract !

I dont think the capitan of united would leave his club. Briggs will stay at united surely.

Toquick, your right Tommy and you were at Barooga, and yes I had a little stint at cobram. I think Tommy has gotten better since then thou. He was only a couple of years out of thirds when he went up, (same as you) trying to play a key position. I think it would be a different story if he went back there.

gault
13 Nov 2007, 12:12
just wondering which club has the best looking netball teams ???

toquick
15 Nov 2007, 08:53
I dont think the capitan of united would leave his club. Briggs will stay at united surely.

Toquick, your right Tommy and you were at Barooga, and yes I had a little stint at cobram. I think Tommy has gotten better since then thou. He was only a couple of years out of thirds when he went up, (same as you) trying to play a key position. I think it would be a different story if he went back there.

Yeah i think he might do alot better but the standard of Murray League has also lifted alot since we were all running around out there. We will probably never know because i cant see him leaving Tungamah.

bystanding backman
15 Nov 2007, 15:36
Have heard a little whisper round town that Picola are fairly close to signing a Ruckman who has been playing in the murray leauge. is a very handy footballer has caused a few headaches for sides due to his ability.

Hails from Echuca way i'm told

bystanding backman
16 Nov 2007, 08:57
Friday, 16th November 2007
Rumours scotched

Goulburn Valley legend Chris Kennedy has denied rumours that he'll be playing for Picola District Football League club Tungamah next season.
Kennedy, who retired in September after four seasons coaching Mulwala, said he had heard the whispers, but wasn't keen to pull the boots back on at this stage.
"I know how these stories come about, I'm married to Rob's (Wren) sister Katrina, and she's going back to play netball there next year," Kennedy said.
"But at this stage I've got no intention of going around again, but I'll probably be there watching the netball."
Wren has taken the reins at Jubilee Park for a second stint as coach, replacing David Putamorsi who has moved to Euroa.
Kennedy led the Lions to four preliminary finals in a row and won five best and fairests with Goulburn Valley club Shepparton United, and if the 34-year-old did take the field for the Bears, it would be a massive coup for the club and the league.
But Kennedy said that was unlikely, despite his brother-in-law pumping up the Bears' tyres.
"I speak to Rob a bit, and he keeps telling me they're going all right," Kennedy said.
"I wouldn't rule it out completely, but at this stage I'm enjoying retirement.
"They body is feeling pretty good and I wouldn't be surprised if come January or February, I might get itchy feet to start playing again.
"But I'm too busy with work and other commitments at the moment to even think about it."

Herb
16 Nov 2007, 11:10
Rob Resuggan returning to the Picola League... Looks likely he'll play for Mathoura

bystanding backman
16 Nov 2007, 11:50
Rob Resuggan returning to the Picola League... Looks likely he'll play for Mathoura

Your kidding, thought he would have stayed at deni with the few blokes that are said to have coming back.

He has been there main backman for the last 5 years i reckon.

Good pick up for Mathoura tho if he signs

balls
16 Nov 2007, 12:45
Your kidding, thought he would have stayed at deni with the few blokes that are said to have coming back.

He has been there main backman for the last 5 years i reckon.

Good pick up for Mathoura tho if he signs
Where ever he plays he will be a good pick up......Used to love a good game with him bein a pain in the arse:D

ringo1
16 Nov 2007, 13:57
Where ever he plays he will be a good pick up......Used to love a good game with him bein a pain in the arse:D

Y isnt h:confused::confused:e going back to Deni Rovers?

ringo1
16 Nov 2007, 13:58

Ruckman from Echuca isn't Dalziel is it?

iwantanotherflag
16 Nov 2007, 14:44

Resuggan definately played at Rovers in 2003. Did he go to the Rams in 2004?

bystanding backman
16 Nov 2007, 14:56

yes cause i think he was there centre half back or full back against Nathalia in the granny

pace to freeze
16 Nov 2007, 20:54
November 16 2007
by Nathan Holahan ( Pastoral Times )
Rovers land Braybon as key 2008 signing

Finley defender mark Braybon has signed with the Deni Rovers for the 2008 Picola and District Football League season.
Rovers coach Josh Bode made the announcement this week and said it was a great signing for the club.
Braybon is expected to be switched between the ruck and centre half forward next year.
Braybon moved to town half-way through last year, but finished the season with his home-town club Finley. The Cats made the finals for the first time in 20 years with Braybon used on-the ball or as a key defender.
Bode said he is currently in negotiation with a Nullawil player and more signings are expected to be announced tomorrow.
Despite local rumours, former Deniliquin Rams defender Robbie Resuggan has not signed with Mathoura. Resuggan confirmed yesterday he had made no decision on his football future.
Mathoura coach Chris Mitsch told the PT yesterday that he had spoken to the 31 year old and that he ( Resuggan) seemed happy to retire from football.
Mitsch said he had also approached a number of other locals, both current and former players.
One of the targets was former Rams on-baller and multiple premiership player Luke Moodie.
Mitsch rates Moodie a " 60 per cent chance " of wearing the red and blue next season.
His brother Sean has also been in contact with new coach.
"The average age on our list is 20 - 21 years-old so we've got a pretty young squad, " Mitsch said.
"Thats why we've been focusing on some older boys. If we can sign someone like Robbie Resuggan it would be a great thing for the younger players and the Mathoura Footy club," he said.
Mitsch is also hoping to retain the services of key forward Brad Todd.

Does anyone know what the Rovers G.Robinson is up to, retired or going again, think he was Rovers highest vote getter in league medal and obviously had a good 2007 season ??

pace to freeze
16 Nov 2007, 20:57
Would be very surprised if Dangers Dalziel did not finish career at United. Mind you to my knowledge he is the only current ruckman who played in the Murray last season and lives in Echuca.
My very rough guess is, that it might be a past Moama forward-ruckman who has been else where for the last couple of years, or perhaps a young tall from United that was in and out of the senior side.

its game on
16 Nov 2007, 21:17
What's happening out Shepp East way, they seem to be flying under the radar with their recruits and departures. Usually plenty of turnover from the Eagles.

Anyone know?

iwantanotherflag
16 Nov 2007, 21:25
Does anyone know what the Rovers G.Robinson is up to, retired or going again, think he was Rovers highest vote getter in league medal and obviously had a good 2007 season ?? [/quote]

Robbo is probably at the hairdressers getting a rinse through his hair, the old cunning silver fox. Can play.

Is it fair to say that the Rovers and the Rams cannot be both 'up' at the same time?

BACKS SORE!
17 Nov 2007, 02:04
Good news at the Hoppers Jimmy Daniel has just signed up Josh Noonan on board with "maybe" Sean Downie to follow?? But biggest talk of the town is Gamblore!! is back from overseas..... Louis... "iam f&*$king White, keen to unleash his rucking surpremisy on the PDFL and already started preseason and looking very fit!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

balls
17 Nov 2007, 06:03
Yeah cant see him playin at the timbercutters but ya neva know even the most faithfull sometimes go to another club.....:D....go to the kdl site notgonnagetaflagthere...hahahahhaha

pace to freeze
17 Nov 2007, 06:39
Have heard that Andrew May, ex Rams premiership player, is a done deal to the rovers, completed in last couple of days, and apparently they have a few more surprise recruits yet.

Mud_guts
17 Nov 2007, 09:47
yes it is the silly season i see tungamah have picked up a few 2 from mul 1 back from perth and one from bendigo and on top of that im pritty sure tj jones and other guy from from the hoppers they have also got doyle coop and saunders back and only lost puda meene burkner look handy at the this point in time

Herb
18 Nov 2007, 15:19
Does anyone know what the Rovers G.Robinson is up to, retired or going again, think he was Rovers highest vote getter in league medal and obviously had a good 2007 season ??

Robbo is probably at the hairdressers getting a rinse through his hair, the old cunning silver fox. Can play.

Is it fair to say that the Rovers and the Rams cannot be both 'up' at the same time?[/quote]

The Fox is going round again.

ringo1
19 Nov 2007, 09:48
May definitely in Rovers colors next year!!!!!Robinson will play again. If u add Resuggan and Moodie they will be hard to beat next year

mercs
19 Nov 2007, 16:23
What's happening out Shepp East way, they seem to be flying under the radar with their recruits and departures. Usually plenty of turnover from the Eagles.

Anyone know?

Think they are talking to Tyson Saunders and appartentley young Cooky from United is looking at going back to Shepp East and bringing 3-4 with him so Shepp East could do a bit of a Dookie and find some mid range GVL players which would balance them off nicely

inside out
19 Nov 2007, 16:37
Heard that Jaques from shep had signed with the east??? also talking to another big fella from shep that also played at congupna a few years ago.... not sure of the name.... Has anyone heard what Betson and Robinson from Tungahmah are doing..... heard that they are requesting big bucks to stay?? R they worth it?? they battled a fair bit this year!!!

Infoking
19 Nov 2007, 17:51
Hey PTF, without getting raggy, have heard a few times that you have certain ties with Lockington and the Rovers, and given your last couple of posts, are considering a move as you aren't happy at the cutters and taking a few with you ??

box_16
19 Nov 2007, 18:31
Heard that Jaques from shep had signed with the east??? also talking to another big fella from shep that also played at congupna a few years ago.... not sure of the name.... Has anyone heard what Betson and Robinson from Tungahmah are doing..... heard that they are requesting big bucks to stay?? R they worth it?? they battled a fair bit this year!!!

If Tungamah can keep them two.. They would be hard to beat next year with all the players they are getting

roaring tiger
19 Nov 2007, 20:22
Ruckman from Echuca isn't Dalziel is it?

Dangers i'm pretty sure is contracted to untied for next season. I couldn't imagine him leaving as he is also on the commitee. Has been 1 of the best ruckman in the MFL over the past 10 years.

toquick
20 Nov 2007, 06:54
Think they are talking to Tyson Saunders and appartentley young Cooky from United is looking at going back to Shepp East and bringing 3-4 with him so Shepp East could do a bit of a Dookie and find some mid range GVL players which would balance them off nicely
Saunders signed on as Numerka's assistant coach. It was in the shepp news 3 weeks ago.....

pace to freeze
20 Nov 2007, 06:55
Hey PTF, without getting raggy, have heard a few times that you have certain ties with Lockington and the Rovers, and given your last couple of posts, are considering a move as you aren't happy at the cutters and taking a few with you ??
Don't beleive everything you hear, it is the silly season. Mathoura had a meet the coaches day on Sunday which I beleive was well attended and very positive .

Big Wheel
20 Nov 2007, 08:38

Cooky will most likely go out there as he wasn't to happy with being dropped in the finals. Also a very reliable source has informed me that he wanted to go out there mid season (2007).

mercs
20 Nov 2007, 13:46
Saunders signed on as Numerka's assistant coach. It was in the shepp news 3 weeks ago.....

sorry mate dont live in shepparton and when i was there last they were talking to him

toquick
20 Nov 2007, 14:10
sorry mate dont live in shepparton and when i was there last they were talking to him
No stress.

toquick
20 Nov 2007, 14:12
Cooky will most likely go out there as he wasn't to happy with being dropped in the finals. Also a very reliable source has informed me that he wanted to go out there mid season (2007).
Ozzie will be no doubt having a crack at Cookie also. He was in talks with the ginger headed goal sneak this time last yr.

mercs
20 Nov 2007, 14:34
Ozzie will be no doubt having a crack at Cookie also. He was in talks with the ginger headed goal sneak this time last yr.

lot of history with Cooky at shepp east and been a former shepp east player myself you tend to go back there, it is one of those type of clubs you enjoy been around

pace to freeze
20 Nov 2007, 20:27
Believe the Rovers had a meet recruits, season kick off, bash on weekend, any further announcements.

iwantanotherflag
20 Nov 2007, 21:26
Believe the Rovers had a meet recruits, season kick off, bash on weekend, any further announcements.

I heard they had a bit of a bash.:eek:

Big Wheel
21 Nov 2007, 08:39
lot of history with Cooky at shepp east and been a former shepp east player myself you tend to go back there, it is one of those type of clubs you enjoy been around

Yeah if cooky went to the pdfl it would only be shepp east as his old man would chop them off if he went to any other club.

iwantanotherflag
21 Nov 2007, 08:58
Rovers are making May while the sun shines

http://search.sheppnews.com.au/pics/NWS/20071121/deniliquin2.jpg
Andrew May

By Richard Goodbody

November 21 2007
Shepparton News

Former Murray Football League representative star Andrew May will return to Deniliquin next year, but this time for the Rovers.
In a major coup, the Picola District Football League club has won the race for the three-time Rams premiership player, who has spent the past two years with Balranald.
After missing the Rams' 2001 flag through suspension, May played in three consecutive premierships before crossing to Balranald at the end of 2004.
The following year he played in another grand final victory before losing this year's Central Murray League decider to Tooleybuc-Manangatang.
A best and fairest winner with the Rams, May also claimed two VCFL medals for the MFL outfit during his three grand final appearances.
"We're pretty happy to have him on board," Deniliquin Rovers coach Josh Bode said yesterday.
"We identified that we probably needed a ruckman or a key position player and an on-baller with some pace.
"We've got Marc Braybon, who played at Finley last year, to play in the ruck and he's a good player and we've obviously got Maysie."

While May will start next season as an early Pearce Medal favourite, Braybon will add some genuine size to the Rovers' line-up.
The key defender, who is a triple premiership player with Ganmain should provide the Roos with some genuine bite.
The Rovers kick off their pre-season with training on Friday, November 30.

JAMA
22 Nov 2007, 17:23
Hey there,

Looking for some information on a guy called Nathan White, play at Katandra ??

What sort of player is he, where does he play, does he go alright ??

Apparently he might be headed down to Melbourne to Play next season ??

Tuffnut
22 Nov 2007, 20:22
Hey there,

Yehh,, hes a spud ****

balls
23 Nov 2007, 06:25
Hey there,

Whitey wont be going anywhere this year mate....Well i hope not:D

Bright Boy
23 Nov 2007, 06:44
How has Berrigan fared in the recruiting stakes? Will the Saints climb the ladder in 2008?

Also is there any Pyle's running around these days?

Inter
23 Nov 2007, 14:50
anyone no who dickinson is taking with him to strathy

themagicfrog
23 Nov 2007, 15:11
How has Berrigan fared in the recruiting stakes? Will the Saints climb the ladder in 2008?

Also is there any Pyle's running around these days?

As all clubs talking to a few and look like keeping all from last year.

Stuart Pyle still running around in the One's, William Pyle in the Thirds and he will be joined by Angus Pyle this season. Andrew Pyle to return this season which will be a huge bonus

pace to freeze
25 Nov 2007, 19:09
Hey Toquick, I here you may be getting about a bit with Toc your likely side for 2008 ??

toquick
26 Nov 2007, 07:02
Hey Toquick, I here you may be getting about a bit with Toc your likely side for 2008 ??
What do you mean by getting about? I live with Lee Warnett so might be seen with him a bit i spose.

iwantanotherflag
28 Nov 2007, 20:31
Final 8 next year for the PDFL. What are peoples thoughts?

I personally think 1/2 the comp should be permitted to play off but could be seen as a bit of a token guesture to those teams that aren't quite there yet.

Remember when teams from 5th used to get a sniff and storm home?? Doesn't seem to happen as much any more.

And enough of the name change ideas guys!:)

dazzledavey36
28 Nov 2007, 22:05
can some one tell who the tungamah plaers that is playing for corawa rutheglen

sparra
29 Nov 2007, 07:44
Final 8 next year for the PDFL. What are peoples thoughts?

I personally think 1/2 the comp should be permitted to play off but could be seen as a bit of a token guesture to those teams that aren't quite there yet.

Remember when teams from 5th used to get a sniff and storm home?? Doesn't seem to happen as much any more.

]And enough of the name change ideas guys[/B]!:)

and what's the matter with iwon'twinanotherflag?

Naggers
29 Nov 2007, 11:44
and what's the matter with iwon'twinanotherflag?

Keep the faith Thommo the Lakers will be the big improvers next season...Some big pickups and returning players...As you know

pace to freeze
29 Nov 2007, 20:45
iwantanotherflag, thommo , not prepared to predict a ladder at this stage but here's a summary on what I've heard..

Katandra : Might slip back a bit, good juniors but think, Cordy, Thompson and Lambourn might not be the only departures, Hall like Bode, will be hard to match up at this level, over 6 ft and can play as a ruck rover ???
Dookie: Very quiet, but might be a few on the move, Toquick. etc. is Iddles joining them, Lebroq a full season ???
Waaia: Ageing list Add's rumoured else where / retirement, Onley, Walker, Glover etc. going again or retired ??
Shepp East : Lots of apparent retirements Topp, Seagrave , Doyle etc.On the decline
Deni Rovers : Huge recruitements with apparently a couple of bigs in the wind, need a big key forward, big improvers if they can continue to go together in right direction.
Blighty :Is Sexton returning, creates interest and success tends to follow, otherwise no news, about the same.
Picola : Big loses, Brunt, Johnstone, Myers, etc. no news of gains ??
Tunga : As per Picola and Shepp East, Macheda, Thompson and obviously Puta, however would expect Rob Wren to come up with a fair side ??
Katunga : No news at all, but did finish the later part of the season in form ??
Katty : Rumours of the Wrights and Xavier Kennedy leaving, no pick ups ??
Strathy : MMMM !!! have heard sh!t loads and expect a big improvement.
Yarra : Finished season ordinarly and does not appear the off season has been great, TeJose, Durwood, Power, Williams ??.
Mathoura : As per most, a lot of rumours which could influence the clubs fortune either way ??
Berrigan : Their last half was a big improvement , think they as a club are heading in right direction, appear to be a good family club, but have they recruited any ???
Wunghnu : Not for me, late coach appointment, ex-coach taking a few ??
That new mob, the dockers : Apparently a few are returning for their first year in the comp, but surely with the dockers jumpers they can't be any good.

toquick
30 Nov 2007, 07:08
iwantanotherflag, thommo , not prepared to predict a ladder at this stage but here's a summary on what I've heard..

Katandra : Might slip back a bit, good juniors but think, Cordy, Thompson and Lambourn might not be the only departures, Hall like Bode, will be hard to match up at this level, over 6 ft and can play as a ruck rover ???
Dookie: Very quiet, but might be a few on the move, Toquick. etc. is Iddles joining them, Lebroq a full season ???
Waaia: Ageing list Add's rumoured else where / retirement, Onley, Walker, Glover etc. going again or retired ??
Shepp East : Lots of apparent retirements Topp, Seagrave , Doyle etc.On the decline
Deni Rovers : Huge recruitements with apparently a couple of bigs in the wind, need a big key forward, big improvers if they can continue to go together in right direction.
Blighty :Is Sexton returning, creates interest and success tends to follow, otherwise no news, about the same.
Tunga : As per Picola and Shepp East, Macheda, Thompson and obviously Puta, however would expect Rob Wren to come up with a fair side ??
Katunga : No news at all, but did finish the later part of the season in form ??
Yarra : Finished season ordinarly and does not appear the off season has been great, TeJose, Durwood, Power, Williams ??.
Mathoura : As per most, a lot of rumours which could influence the clubs fortune either way ??
Berrigan : Their last half was a big improvement , think they as a club are heading in right direction, appear to be a good family club, but have they recruited any ???
That new mob, the dockers : Apparently a few are returning for their first year in the comp, but surely with the dockers jumpers they can't be any good.

Not a bad speal pace to freeze!

TTTT
30 Nov 2007, 12:49
FAVOURITE: Dookie closely followed by deni

MOVERS
UP: katunga,Tungamah,Strathmerton
DOWN: East, Katandra,Waaia,Picola

NOT LOOKING GOOD: Katy,Wunghu,Yarra(heard the money has run dry)

Can Shop
30 Nov 2007, 16:06
Look out for some big news to hit league within the week

waymo7680
30 Nov 2007, 18:13

X coach has not taken anybody! picked up a about 6 or 7 so far a few new an a couple come back because the coach has gone.So with everyone fit the u will be no roll over side;)

kicking_goals
30 Nov 2007, 19:53

From the Wright boys will most likely be staying
but Sam will probably play mostly with Murray Bushrangers most of the time and come back for the odd game when possible.

Katty started pre-season during the week and there were a couple of new players there from what i heard.

premiers07
30 Nov 2007, 20:31

MOVERS

at this stage is only cordy and thompson who are leaving for katandra, whille lambourne is sticking around.
will still be a strong side with the new coach bringing a couple of players to the club. looking promising for us.
cant see East dropping to far down, would be suprised if they dont recruit heavily in the next few weeks.

TTTT
1 Dec 2007, 12:07
just on the u waymo is bliekic and brand comming back if so deferently changes the side around. Bleckic down back and brand up forward along with ritchie and kellett have heard kellett is on the move tho. the middle of clarke, shelton,anderson and oshea can stand up to any1

waymo7680
1 Dec 2007, 13:36
just on the u waymo is bliekic and brand comming back if so deferently changes the side around. Bleckic down back and brand up forward along with ritchie and kellett have heard kellett is on the move tho. the middle of clarke, shelton,anderson and oshea can stand up to any1

yeah brand is but still working on bleakas, kellett off to tally i think an dont know wheather joel is staying but we got a whole new midfield that should surprise a few teams we wont win a flag or nothing like that should win about 6 or 7 game if thing go our way ??

giveitawash
1 Dec 2007, 17:47
Sam Ahmet has been rumoured to be leaving shep east as coach to take up an assistant coaches role at bendigo bombers with good mate hickmott?? where,s that leave shep east at?

mercs
2 Dec 2007, 16:02
yeah brand is but still working on bleakas, kellett off to tally i think an dont know wheather joel is staying but we got a whole new midfield that should surprise a few teams we wont win a flag or nothing like that should win about 6 or 7 game if thing go our way ??

Wunghnu to win one game at the most will lack leadership lol
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif

watthe
2 Dec 2007, 22:09
pace to freeze, have mathoura locked in any new players thus far?? working on any big names??? can you see them improving or doing the usual and winning 3 games for the year??? do they have a young list or what???

Big Wheel
3 Dec 2007, 13:12

MOVERS

Write Shepp East, Waaia and Katandra off at your own peril. All teams have been up there for the last what?.... few years. I dont see them droping to far down the ladder. Plenty of time to pick up a lot more players. Even thou Shepp east have lost a few in retirment, you watch how many kids they will pick up from the GVFL thirds, as well as a few two's and the odd one or two regular senior players.

Three players from Mooroopna to go out to Katandra with Hall, and quite possibly the return of a one Daniel O'rielly.

pace to freeze
3 Dec 2007, 15:54
pace to freeze, have mathoura locked in any new players thus far?? working on any big names??? can you see them improving or doing the usual and winning 3 games for the year??? do they have a young list or what???
Have not been at club since presentation night, have not heard of any across the line as yet, but apparently working on a few.
The onfield success of the club will obviously be based on who ends up on the park, as usual some say there are heaps coming and others beleive there are a few leaving so ???? There would be I think six under 17's coming up, with 3 having already played senior football, whilst there is also possibly another 5 or so that have been out of under age footy for a couple of seasons. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

jetter18
4 Dec 2007, 07:30
Write Shepp East, Waaia and Katandra off at your own peril. All teams have been up there for the last what?.... few years. I dont see them droping to far down the ladder. Plenty of time to pick up a lot more players. Even thou Shepp east have lost a few in retirment, you watch how many kids they will pick up from the GVFL thirds, as well as a few two's and the odd one or two regular senior players.

Three players from Mooroopna to go out to Katandra with Hall, and quite possibly the return of a one Daniel O'rielly.

Agree and the inclusions of Sam Richardson and Chris Armstrong will ensure the Bombers remain a force.

pace to freeze
4 Dec 2007, 19:39
I believe it is, or will be shortly, official that Sam Ahmet is going to be ass. coach with the Bendigo Bombers, who does this leave to coach Shepp East, mmmmm !! ??

NEXT LEVEL
4 Dec 2007, 20:13
I believe it is, or will be shortly, official that Sam Ahmet is going to be ass. coach with the Bendigo Bombers, who does this leave to coach Shepp East, mmmmm !! ??
i have heard that phillip needleman is the man for the eagles top job, he's a living legend from tatura way

WALKERTOBETTS
5 Dec 2007, 06:33
FYI specially to those who have got no where else to go!

All is welcome - please PM me for futher info

The Fitzroy Stars FC are holding a BBQ to seek interest of potential players. The Northern Football League are seeking a list of potential players to coincide with our application, the NFL will be considering our entry into the NFL on Monday 10th December;

When:
This Wednesday 5th December 2007

Where:
Aborigines Advancement League
2 Watt Street, Thornbury

Time:
5.30pm Onwards

Supporters and any Interested Members are encouraged to come along, we hope to see you there.

its game on
6 Dec 2007, 14:45

Would Chris Burke be interested?

He has coached at a senior level b4.

Big Wheel
7 Dec 2007, 10:58

Why wouldn't shepp east try and poach a few more boys out of the GVFL Bovalino would have a couple of mates from previous clubs wanting to get some coin.

toquick
7 Dec 2007, 11:39
Why wouldn't shepp east try and poach a few more boys out of the GVFL Bovalino would have a couple of mates from previous clubs wanting to get some coin.
Bova moved to Noosa 2 months ago..

coconut
7 Dec 2007, 12:17

Wasn't it stated last season that Burke and Montgomery got offered the joint senior coach before it was offered to Ahmet, but knocked it back??

NEXT LEVEL
7 Dec 2007, 16:35
Bova moved to Noosa 2 months ago..
he moved back about 2 weeks ago.

they should try and find a good playing coach to replace a great playing coach and not jsut appoint some1 already there, wouldn,'t do any favors for the club, recuiting wise

pace to freeze
7 Dec 2007, 17:13
he moved back about 2 weeks ago.

they should try and find a good playing coach to replace a great playing coach and not jsut appoint some1 already there, wouldn,'t do any favors for the club, recuiting wise
Look nothing certainly against Sam Ahmet personally as I do not know the goings on of the club, but I think there appeared to be gaps in the Shepp East club that certainly weren't their in 2006.
I watched them only 4 times for the season and from what I saw I would say that the players didn't seem to conduct themselves anywhere near to the level they did in 2006, also he and his coaching panel didn't appear to have full control of the club like they did in 2006.

hank1
7 Dec 2007, 20:29
Look nothing certainly against Sam Ahmet personally as I do not know the goings on of the club, but I think there appeared to be gaps in the Shepp East club that certainly weren't their in 2006.
I watched them only 4 times for the season and from what I saw I would say that the players didn't seem to conduct themselves anywhere near to the level they did in 2006, also he and his coaching panel didn't appear to have full control of the club like they did in 2006.

As Sam said in an interview with the Shepp News, he didnt really have the desire to coach, and still doesn't know what he wants to do. Have never listened to him to talk or how he goes about his coaching, but I'm pretty sure we all know he only got his gig in Bendigo from his connection with Hickmont, not from his coaching capabilities, know playing against him he never said boo out on the field, just went about his job and did it well, but when you're a playing coach I think you need to do a bit more than that.

Herb
8 Dec 2007, 09:15
As Sam said in an interview with the Shepp News, he didnt really have the desire to coach, and still doesn't know what he wants to do. Have never listened to him to talk or how he goes about his coaching, but I'm pretty sure we all know he only got his gig in Bendigo from his connection with Hickmont, not from his coaching capabilities, know playing against him he never said boo out on the field, just went about his job and did it well, but when you're a playing coach I think you need to do a bit more than that.

Not that I heard him speak that often, but when they beat Blighty in that final at Deni, I listened to him at 3/4 time and I was very disappointed in not so much what he said, but the way he said it. He showed little passion and never got the boys going (even though they won the game). He was very vague, just didn't have the speaking skills to be a coach I reckon. Not taking anything away from his ability to play the game, just seemed that coaching wasn't his forte'.

waymo7680
9 Dec 2007, 18:07
Found out it look like we might be having a top 8 next year in the piccola league finals, They will have a double header on the first weekend top 4 on sat an bottom 4 on sun good for the league i reckon what does everyone else think??:thumbsu:

big boy borat
10 Dec 2007, 11:52
Hey there,

he is pretty handy on both sides of the body
held katandra up during the finals
be a big loss if he left!!

iwantanotherflag
10 Dec 2007, 11:52
Found out it look like we might be having a top 8 next year in the piccola league finals, They will have a double header on the first weekend top 4 on sat an bottom 4 on sun good for the league i reckon what does everyone else think??:thumbsu:

Final 8 rewards mediocrity. Also you could win every game of the year and lose the prelim and that is it.

I haven't heard a district league have an 8, but lets see how it goes. Nothing beats the final 4 or 5 systems.

I would think that the PDFL will not be a 16 team comp for long... something will be done.

NOT TELLIN U
11 Dec 2007, 10:48
the problem wit shepp east is that sammy is great one on one but as a senior coach he wasnt no good. as some of em told me. the difference in the playing group from 06-07 is that in 06 we were pretty good mates n in 07 they couldnt care less bout each other. thats y i left n went else where. the selection panel was no good this year. they wouldnt no how to even play footy themselves. let alone pick a side to play footy.

TTTT
13 Dec 2007, 15:53
whats the latest rumours going around

Skills01
14 Dec 2007, 06:19
whats the latest rumours going around

I got giggled at when I stated that Brendan Briggs Shepp United captin would pull on a Dookie Jumper next year......... The rumour keeps getting stronger.

Did Dookie rob a Bank, small drought effected town.....where did that bag of cash come from ?

Juddernaut3
14 Dec 2007, 09:52
Rovers sign up big Timbercutter

December 14 2007
Deniliquin Pastoral Times

THE Deniliquin Rovers Football Club unveiled its third key signing this week.
As expected, former Mathoura and Deniliquin full forward Brad Todd officially joined the Roos' ranks yesterday.
Todd, who has kicked over 50 goals in a season for both the Rams and Timbercutters, will start training with the Rovers after Christmas.
The key forward has followed his former coach Terry Blake to the club. Blake only recently signed on as the Roos' reserves coach after two seasons alongside Todd at Mathoura.
The Rovers' Picola Football League premiership stocks have soared since the end of the 2007 season.
Bode has also signed on Finley big man Marc Braybon and former Deni Rams best and fairest Andrew May in recent weeks.
This trio, plus the possibility of veteran Blake taking on a senior role, has Bode smiling about the 2008 season.
"Brad's a big signing for us. He can allow guys like Benji [Hardman] to play up the field a bit more.
"We were after a big man who can kick goals and Toddy fits this description perfectly. He's a long kick for goal and strong mark, very valuable," Bode said.
Todd missed most of last season for Mathoura with a serious knee injury, but resumed running a couple of months ago.

pace to freeze
14 Dec 2007, 15:50
Rovers sign up big Timbercutter

December 14 2007
Deniliquin Pastoral Times

THE Deniliquin Rovers Football Club unveiled its third key signing this week.
As expected, former Mathoura and Deniliquin full forward Brad Todd officially joined the Roos' ranks yesterday.
Todd, who has kicked over 50 goals in a season for both the Rams and Timbercutters, will start training with the Rovers after Christmas.
The key forward has followed his former coach Terry Blake to the club. Blake only recently signed on as the Roos' reserves coach after two seasons alongside Todd at Mathoura.
The Rovers' Picola Football League premiership stocks have soared since the end of the 2007 season.
Bode has also signed on Finley big man Marc Braybon and former Deni Rams best and fairest Andrew May in recent weeks.
This trio, plus the possibility of veteran Blake taking on a senior role, has Bode smiling about the 2008 season.
"Brad's a big signing for us. He can allow guys like Benji [Hardman] to play up the field a bit more.
"We were after a big man who can kick goals and Toddy fits this description perfectly. He's a long kick for goal and strong mark, very valuable," Bode said.
Todd missed most of last season for Mathoura with a serious knee injury, but resumed running a couple of months ago.

Win, Win, Win, I beleive for all involved.
Think Rovers have put the final link in their premiership hopes chain.
Think it gives greater opportunity obviously, through necessity, for the developement of key position players from within the Mathoura junior ranks.
Brad gets a greater opportunity to play in a very formidible line up in 2008.
Lets not forget Rovers bottomed out for a few years and during which time they developed their own players and turned the club around through junior development and by improving the success of their junior players/sides over 4-5 years.
Think they have been extremely clever in topping up over the past couple of years when their own juniors have had a few years of experience.
Keep an eye on the way Katty are going about things, I think they are on a similar track !!!

TTTT
14 Dec 2007, 15:56
i know its still early guys but deni have to be the big winners in recruiting to date with maybe Strathy second also big names.Brendan Briggs to Dookie if true wat is this world comming to how are they signing stars like that and was uniteds captain this year.any1 heard anything from Blighty