View Full Version : Picola District football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47

excitement
29 Feb 2008, 11:48
You guys make me laugh the hole lot of you, why dont you just talk football instead of trying to start arguments, get a bit of maturity and let the talking be done on the footy field.

I am sure no one has any interest in seeing who has the best comeback, but would rather hear about what clubs are doing and how they are looking for season 2008, which in the end what this site is for.

Goodluck for season 08 everyone see you out on the ground

Big Wheel
29 Feb 2008, 13:08
You guys make me laugh the hole lot of you, why dont you just talk football instead of trying to start arguments, get a bit of maturity and let the talking be done on the footy field.

I am sure no one has any interest in seeing who has the best comeback, but would rather hear about what clubs are doing and how they are looking for season 2008, which in the end what this site is for.

Goodluck for season 08 everyone see you out on the ground

P!ss off, go back a few pages champ, we have been talking about footy. Bloody fun nazi !!!!!

Quinten
29 Feb 2008, 13:39
P!ss off, go back a few pages champ, we have been talking about footy. Bloody fun nazi !!!!!

Yes Nick off there is nothing wrong with a bit of lip every now and then

Marto121
29 Feb 2008, 16:24
Why don't you go on the u/17 forum 'Quinten'. You might relate to them a bit better. They might appreciate your childish calls. :thumbsd:

good 1 mate:thumbsd:

jeuno
29 Feb 2008, 19:26
heard freeman from ardmona has been told about the stuff you have written about him on here iwantanotherflag... pencilled u in for round 2 kdfl

theintimidator
29 Feb 2008, 22:28
Hey what sort of standard are the "Doncon" brothers who are requesting clearance from Katandra to Katunga?

Also whats your opinion of Shepp Easts GV recruits. Moore and Cook are pretty handy.... I heard Jaques can be a little soft! But I havnt seen him play for a couple of years.

Big Wheel
29 Feb 2008, 22:39
Hey what sort of standard are the "Doncon" brothers who are requesting clearance from Katandra to Katunga?

Also whats your opinion of Shepp Easts GV recruits. Moore and Cook are pretty handy.... I heard Jaques can be a little soft! But I havnt seen him play for a couple of years.

The doncon's are young kids. Third's or Fourth's
Moore a big body player. Pretty handy, and Cook played ones all year and got droped in the finals (thats why he is out there this year). Did play forward pocket in ones, snagged a few.

iwantanotherflag
3 Mar 2008, 07:04
Saw him (Freeman) and Cam Damon play on each other in 2004, didn't know who spent more in the tattoo parlour!! Could have got a bit physical but I am sure he was scared of Camo!!

That was my post. What is in there you get your back up about?

TrainerNo1
3 Mar 2008, 11:06
Anybody know of any practice matches coming up.
Also, has anyone heard how blighty is shaping up.

jeuno
3 Mar 2008, 15:14
That was my post. What is in there you get your back up about?

I think your mate kristian Davie has been in his ear at work, talking shit to him about what you say ... even if you dont say it if you know what i meanhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon5.gif

iwantanotherflag
3 Mar 2008, 15:46
I think your mate kristian Davie has been in his ear at work, talking shit to him about what you say ... even if you dont say it if you know what i meanhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon5.gif

Thanks Kristian, that's all I need... an angry Freeman.

Has anybody else got to the stage where they just want to get out there and start playing?? Into the real stuff?

jetter18
5 Mar 2008, 07:40
Any word on the Berrigan coaching position yet Magic? Have heard one of the Waasdorp brothers, i think Dujon, mentioned and DA will just play and help out?? Any of this true??

themagicfrog
5 Mar 2008, 09:17
Any word on the Berrigan coaching position yet Magic? Have heard one of the Waasdorp brothers, i think Dujon, mentioned and DA will just play and help out?? Any of this true??

To be honest have missed a few trainings and have not heard the latest, but i was told that an approach had been made to a Waasdrop, But nothing came of it.

It's good to finally see some clearences in for Berrigan!

toquick
5 Mar 2008, 12:31
To be honest have missed a few trainings and have not heard the latest, but i was told that an approach had been made to a Waasdrop, But nothing came of it.

It's good to finally see some clearences in for Berrigan!

What link do we check out the clearences at magic?

iwantanotherflag
5 Mar 2008, 12:53

Go to any leagues VCFL website and click on transfers. That will give you all the info. How's Toc?

themagicfrog
5 Mar 2008, 15:03

http://picoladfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp

toquick
5 Mar 2008, 15:17
Go to any leagues VCFL website and click on transfers. That will give you all the info. How's Toc?
Cheers mate, yeah Toc is going really well. I have been over in Thailand for the last couple weeks but trained last night and the numbers are still not to bad. We are starting to get all those blokes that come when practice matches get close, so it makes training alot better with the amount of drills you can do. We play Rumba on Monday night next week at Barooga so we will know more about where we are at then.
How is Naggers going??

toquick
5 Mar 2008, 15:17
http://picoladfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp
Cheers magic!

theintimidator
5 Mar 2008, 22:13
An interesting point to make with 16 teams/18 rounds is that each team only plays 3 teams twice. After having a look at the draw this could seriously affect how team finish on the ladder at the end of the home and away season. For example the difference between Shepp East and Katandra’s draw is huge and could affect how things play out come September. And before you all say it, I KNOW it all “the luck of the draw” but its worth discussing.

Here are the teams that each club plays twice in order of hardest to easiest draw. Of course its based purely on conjecture (Sorry Quinten I should use smaller words) but you get the point.

Wunghnu - Dookie United, Tungamah, Katandra
Katamatite – Tungamah, Katandra, Deniliquin Rovers
Shepparton East – Waaia, Dookie United, Tungamah
Waaia - Shepparton East, Mathoura, Dookie United
Strathmerton – Katandra, Deniliquin Rovers, Yarroweyah
Yarroweyah – Picola United, Blighty, Strathmerton
Blighty - Deniliquin Rovers, Yarroweyah, Jerilderie
Dookie United- Wunghnu, Shepparton East, Waaia
Jerilderie – Katunga, Picola United, Blighty
Deniliquin Rovers – Blighty, Strathmerton, Katamatite
Tungamah – Katamatite, Wunghnu, Shepparton East
Berrigan – Mathoura, Katunga, Picola United
Mathoura – Berrigan, Waaia, Katunga
Picola United – Yarroweyah, Jerilderie, Berrigan
Katandra – Strathmerton, Katamatite, Wunghnu
Katunga – Jerilderie, Berrigan, Mathoura

Very Unfortunate draws for Katamatite and Wunghnu. 2 teams who would struggle regardless seem to have lucked out!

hectomorphic
6 Mar 2008, 08:22
An interesting point to make with 16 teams/18 rounds is that each team only plays 3 teams twice. After having a look at the draw this could seriously affect how team finish on the ladder at the end of the home and away season. For example the difference between Shepp East and Katandra’s draw is huge and could affect how things play out come September. And before you all say it, I KNOW it all “the luck of the draw” but its worth discussing.

Here are the teams that each club plays twice in order of hardest to easiest draw. Of course its based purely on conjecture (Sorry Quinten I should use smaller words) but you get the point.

Very Unfortunate draws for Katamatite and Wunghnu. 2 teams who would struggle regardless seem to have lucked out!

I imagine that Katandra will have a good side and their run home could give them the boost to finish high on the ladder. Not sure how this is worked out but shouldnt the previous years premiers get the toughest run and so on so teams like Katty and the Ewe have a fighting chance and not just percentage gatherers and point takers for the higher teams?

iwantanotherflag
6 Mar 2008, 09:43

It is either that or a 15 round season, where you play once. Even the AFL can't get it right so I wouldn't expect the PDFL to get a perfect mix. Last years draw was good, playing 5 close (distance wise) teams twice.

theintimidator
6 Mar 2008, 10:23
It is either that or a 15 round season, where you play once. Even the AFL can't get it right so I wouldn't expect the PDFL to get a perfect mix. Last years draw was good, playing 5 close (distance wise) teams twice.

Yeah I dont think a 15 round season would be so bad. Start 1 week later Finish 1 week sooner and add an extra general bye. Play everone once.

cellar dweller
6 Mar 2008, 13:38
Yeah I dont think a 15 round season would be so bad. Start 1 week later Finish 1 week sooner and add an extra general bye. Play everone once.
Cut four sides and play a 24 round season.

themagicfrog
6 Mar 2008, 13:40

It would be easier on the Magoo's!
You would finish your season and have plenty of time to watch all the other comps finals, good for the recruiters.

Quinten
6 Mar 2008, 13:59

Gee you are a wanker.... Who cares who plays who 3 times you idiot..... it should not come down to the last 3 games anyway if you were a half good side.... but looks like you dont reckon your half ranked team wont do any good so oh well.... Like they say There is always next year..... Tosser.

cellar dweller
6 Mar 2008, 14:13
Gee you are a wanker.... Who cares who plays who 3 times you idiot..... it should not come down to the last 3 games anyway if you were a half good side.... but looks like you dont reckon your half ranked team wont do any good so oh well.... Like they say There is always next year..... Tosser.
Its 3 teams twice you idiot.
Get it right before you go of calling someone else an idiot.
Idiot!

TrainerNo1
6 Mar 2008, 14:16
Cut four sides and play a 24 round season.

that would be nice but unfortunately the people who actually play and have to do the travelling don't make the final decision. which 4 teams would you cut out.

cellar dweller
6 Mar 2008, 14:17
It would be easier on the Magoo's!
You would finish your season and have plenty of time to watch all the other comps finals, good for the recruiters.
Cause it is all abou the Magoo's.
Whats wrong with you people?
Do people want to play or watch?
Seems to be a waist of time putting all that effort into football, on and off the track when so many people want to play less football.

cellar dweller
6 Mar 2008, 14:21
that would be nice but unfortunately the people who actually play and have to do the travelling don't make the final decision. which 4 teams would you cut out.
Wunghnu
Jerilderie
Mathoura
Berrigan

theintimidator
6 Mar 2008, 14:30
"but looks like you dont reckon your half ranked team wont do any good so oh well...."

Thats a double nagative dip shit. Learn english before you try and call others an Idiot!!

cellar dweller
6 Mar 2008, 14:38
"but looks like you dont reckon your half ranked team wont do any good so oh well...."

Thats a double nagative dip shit. Learn english before you try and call others an Idiot!!
Dont two negatives make a positive?
And he didnt try and call him an idiot, he did call him an idiot.
Think you mean he should have a look at himself before calling people names.;)

TrainerNo1
6 Mar 2008, 14:55

You are going to have a shit year this year 'Quinten'. Everyone on this forum thinks you are a c**k jockey and even if you aren't ozzie, he is goin to cop a flogging every game on your behalf.:mad:

iwantanotherflag
6 Mar 2008, 15:40
You don't cut any sides :mad:. Country footy teams are the life-blood of the small communities they represent. But yes the PDFL does require some re-jigging.

Cellar Dweller your posts are getting worse.

Quinten; yes Dookie had a good 2007, but it is hardly any sort of 'era' or 'dynasty'. Stay up there once the money has dried up! I think not!

But good to see true locals back in Brendan Briggs, good move. Did you have much of a go at Eddie Dickins?

cellar dweller
6 Mar 2008, 15:47
You don't cut any sides :mad:. Country footy teams are the life-blood of the small communities they represent. But yes the PDFL does require some re-jigging.

Cellar Dweller your posts are getting worse.

Quinten; yes Dookie had a good 2007, but it is hardly any sort of 'era' or 'dynasty'. Stay up there once the money has dried up! I think not!

But good to see true locals back in Brendan Briggs, good move. Did you have much of a go at Eddie Dickins?
Care to eleborate on you "re-jigging" comment??

theintimidator
6 Mar 2008, 16:24
Care to eleborate on you "re-jigging" comment??

I reckon most of the options have already been discussed on this forum in length.

1. 2 divisions north & south
or
2. 1st and 2nd with promotion/relegation.

3.A third opion of merging with Murray leauge and having 2 or 3 divisions as the leagues cover much the same area has also been suggested.

I agree with iwantanotherflag. You can not take away the one thing that binds many of these communities together, Local Footy!!

Clyde's mullet
7 Mar 2008, 08:01
I'm heading over Picola way the next couple of weekends and was wondering if Picola United have any practice games?
Can someone help me out?:confused::confused:

Big Wheel
7 Mar 2008, 08:20
I'm heading over Picola way the next couple of weekends and was wondering if Picola United have any practice games?
Can someone help me out?:confused::confused:

Yeah hot tip... Stay away from Picola...!! hahaha (couldn't ressist)

Nah sorry cob, couldn't tell ya? Maybe check out there website, something might be on it.

Type picolafc into your google search:thumbsu:

Clyde's mullet
7 Mar 2008, 08:34
Yeah hot tip... Stay away from Picola...!! hahaha (couldn't ressist)

Nah sorry cob, couldn't tell ya? Maybe check out there website, something might be on it.

Type picolafc into your google search:thumbsu:
Tried that mate and nothing came up.
I'm actually hoping to see John Walker play.I saw the GF last year in the TAC and thought he was a gun and heard he's playing for them.

iwantanotherflag
7 Mar 2008, 09:28
As much as it hurts me to say it, look out for Shepp East in 2008.

Look at their ins:
Brodie Jaques, Mitch Moore, Scott Turner, Bryden Power, Matt Wishart, Anthony Cook, Brett Foley, Luke Ratcliffe, John & Kim Akers, Mick Marchment, Greg Montgomery

Now I dont' know all these guys but I know Jaques, Moore, Turner, Power, Wishart, Montgomery and Ratcliffe are all senior players and on top of a pretty good list they will be very hard to beat. :mad::thumbsd:

cellar dweller
7 Mar 2008, 09:33
I reckon most of the options have already been discussed on this forum in length.

1. 2 divisions north & south
or
2. 1st and 2nd with promotion/relegation.

3.A third opion of merging with Murray leauge and having 2 or 3 divisions as the leagues cover much the same area has also been suggested.

I agree with iwantanotherflag. You can not take away the one thing that binds many of these communities together, Local Footy!!
What are you blokes talking about?
You wont cut 4 sides but you will cut the whole league in half.
And what has cutting four sides have to do with taking away Local Footy. Seems to me with the extravagant miles your clubs have to travel for a game of football a smallers league in size and distance will help keeping players playing.
Surley there is anouther place for some of the clubs in your league!

themagicfrog
7 Mar 2008, 10:38
What are you blokes talking about?
You wont cut 4 sides but you will cut the whole league in half.
And what has cutting four sides have to do with taking away Local Footy. Seems to me with the extravagant miles your clubs have to travel for a game of football a smallers league in size and distance will help keeping players playing.
Surley there is anouther place for some of the clubs in your league!

Just cause were in NSW were not the answer, the Murray FL merge and 3 Div comp has always been the best option, was talked about in 2002 when we left MFL and again 2 years ago when Shepp and Dookie come in to PDFL no more or less travel compared to now, just a little fairer, this coming from a team that are guaranteed a Div 3 place for a while!

bystanding backman
7 Mar 2008, 15:00
Tried that mate and nothing came up.
I'm actually hoping to see John Walker play.I saw the GF last year in the TAC and thought he was a gun and heard he's playing for them.

unless they are playing intra clubs matches i don't think you'll have any luck, was talking to the coaches brother today about practice matches and he said that they have one on the 29th against Lockington and thats about it.

the pie eater
7 Mar 2008, 15:46
unless they are playing intra clubs matches i don't think you'll have any luck, was talking to the coaches brother today about practice matches and he said that they have one on the 29th against Lockington and thats about it.Think they also have one against Lancaster on the 5th April.Dont know whose ground.

theintimidator
8 Mar 2008, 08:20
As much as it hurts me to say it, look out for Shepp East in 2008.

Look at their ins:
Brodie Jaques, Mitch Moore, Scott Turner, Bryden Power, Matt Wishart, Anthony Cook, Brett Foley, Luke Ratcliffe, John & Kim Akers, Mick Marchment, Greg Montgomery

Now I dont' know all these guys but I know Jaques, Moore, Turner, Power, Wishart, Montgomery and Ratcliffe are all senior players and on top of a pretty good list they will be very hard to beat. :mad::thumbsd:

How do all these recruits compare to the players leaving the club. COAD, GILLESPIE, VAN MERKESTEYN, GOODWIN, MEHMET, CIRILLO, HANDLEY, SERAFINI, ANDREW, DOWIE, YOUNG. Where these guys all senior players or donkeys?

pace to freeze
8 Mar 2008, 08:43
Wunghnu
Jerilderie
Mathoura
Berrigan

You are a tool head cellar dweller, on what basis do you make these selections ?
Berrigan were big improvers in the later part of 2007, Jerilderie have not even played a game in the league, yes travel may be an issue.
The U is one of the most central clubs of the league and are improving.
Mathoura have lost 8 games in the past 2 season by less than 10 points. In 2006 finished possibly the best side out of the 6 and defeated the Rovers, Waaia and Dookie twice, 3 sides that were in the top 6 last season, their juniors are a concern. I would say they have been competitive.
The league should be looking at assisting all clubs to secure their futures and if that means a change to its current format so be it.
Lets not forget 3 clubs have joined the league in the last 2 seasons, and had their move not been supported by the PDFL, as a whole, they may not have a club.
The clubs with a strong Shepparton tie maybe should look at going up a standard ala Rumba if they are concerned about the current PDFL, is it has for a long time been a district league.
In my opinion the league should look at a move to amateur statis, to return to the district league values, of developing players, forming as a feeder to the major leagues and clubs that are formed from local players, rather than a league where some compete with the major leagues financially for players.

cellar dweller
8 Mar 2008, 09:07
You are a tool head cellar dweller, on what basis do you make these selections ?
Berrigan were big improvers in the later part of 2007, Jerilderie have not even played a game in the league, yes travel may be an issue.
Mathoura have lost 8 games in the past 2 season by less than 10 points. In 2006 finished possibly the best side out of the 6 and defeated the Rovers, Waaia and Dookie twice, 3 sides that were in the top 6 last season, their juniors are a concern. I would say they have been competitive.
The league should be looking at assisting all clubs to secure their futures and if that means a change to its current format so be it.
Lets not forget 3 clubs have joined the league in the last 2 seasons, and had their move not been supported by the PDFL, as a whole, they may not have a club.
The clubs with a strong Shepparton tie maybe should look at going up a standard ala Rumba if they are concerned about the current PDFL, is it has for a long time been a district league.
In my opinion the league should look at a move to amateur statis, to return to the district league values, of developing players, forming as a feeder to the major leagues and clubs that are formed from local players, rather than a league where some compete with the major leagues financially for players.
Nice post ptf but a bit quick on the insults.
The concerns on the tread were that it was an unfair season because all teams dont play each othe twice. Logical fix would be extend the season play on round or cut some teams. Only playing each other only once for a season not a good option (do you agree?). Extending the season so every one plays each other twice would make the season too long. So the better decision for the league (not the clubs) would be cut some sides. Preferably I would cut five so that there was a bye in the long 22 game season but knowing you people wouldnt like it I only said 4 so that you wouldnt get upset. I was asked what teams to cut so I named them. Who would you cut? Knowing the decision was to be best for the league not the clubs.

Herb
8 Mar 2008, 09:23
Hey PTF, how are your mob looking this year? Few transfers out, not many in. You blokes gonna be right to go this year? How's the numbers at training?

TrainerNo1
8 Mar 2008, 10:21

I too am a believer that clubs with strong shepparton ties should take that step up. How are the smaller clubs outside of shepp meant to compete in the recruitment of players from higher leagues, when the prospective players can join the same league and not travel. if these sides took the step up to the higher leagues it would cut down the number of clubs in the comp, make the season more evenly spread with teams playing each other more than once, and it will give the smaller clubs a fighting chance to recruit some class players.

iwantanotherflag
8 Mar 2008, 11:01
How do all these recruits compare to the players leaving the club. COAD, GILLESPIE, VAN MERKESTEYN, GOODWIN, MEHMET, CIRILLO, HANDLEY, SERAFINI, ANDREW, DOWIE, YOUNG. Where these guys all senior players or donkeys?

Coad and Cirillo were the only ones that played seniors from my memory. Also Ahmet out, Their imports outweight their exports by far.

From memory Coad just fell short of kicking 100 goals in 2007 :p

iwantanotherflag
8 Mar 2008, 11:06
I too am a believer that clubs with strong shepparton ties should take that step up. How are the smaller clubs outside of shepp meant to compete in the recruitment of players from higher leagues, when the prospective players can join the same league and not travel. if these sides took the step up to the higher leagues it would cut down the number of clubs in the comp, make the season more evenly spread with teams playing each other more than once, and it will give the smaller clubs a fighting chance to recruit some class players.

There is definately a market for another league in the Goulburn Murray. I like MFL with 3 tier. But a GVFL div 2 done properly might also work.

Look at the PDFL, and the ex Tungamah League teams in it. Tungamah, Katamatite, Katandra, Shepp East & Dookie. Senior premiers in 1996, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007. (remember that Tungamah and Katamatite joined in 1995)

Hasn't left a lot of success for the original PDFL.
1995 Waaia, 1997 Strathy (fresh from MFL), 2000 Blighty, 2002 Waaia

pace to freeze
8 Mar 2008, 14:36
Nice post ptf but a bit quick on the insults.
The concerns on the tread were that it was an unfair season because all teams dont play each othe twice. Logical fix would be extend the season play on round or cut some teams. Only playing each other only once for a season not a good option (do you agree?). Extending the season so every one plays each other twice would make the season too long. So the better decision for the league (not the clubs) would be cut some sides. Preferably I would cut five so that there was a bye in the long 22 game season but knowing you people wouldnt like it I only said 4 so that you wouldnt get upset. I was asked what teams to cut so I named them. Who would you cut? Knowing the decision was to be best for the league not the clubs.

I don't agree with you at all and is why i questioned your reasoning for selecting the 4 clubs you did.
The league has made the choice to continually increase the number of teams in the comp, hence the recent addition of Berri, Dook, Jer and S.E. , so I don't think the decision makers are concerned about whether clubs play each other once, twice or otherwise and let me assure you these changes have not improved the standard or competitive eveness of the comp either.
I have made the point a number of times, that I think district leagues especially should comprise the closest clubs and reduce travel.
We have to keep in mind two comps Coreen and Benalla District both have less clubs than they would like and are on the PDFL's border.
The HDFL is now pretty much based within a 100 klm radius with a couple of exceptions, and it's clubs appear to be well supported and have good numbers.
The Tally situation is a joke and the fact remains those clubs on most leagues edge, struggle for numbers and the further the league is spread out the harder it is.
Quite simple I would have thought, less travel means more players and more players make a better club and greater community envolvment.
Oh and your comment about making a decision for the best of the league not the clubs, the league is only as strong as it's weakest club and the league is a collection of the current clubs and decisions should be made equally by those clubs, unless your of coarse indicating that some underhand agreements are being made about league matters ??

Sonic14
9 Mar 2008, 20:29

Van merkesteyn, goodwin, handley and serafini are all 1st year out of 3rds and will be playing U/18s in GV...

karjam
10 Mar 2008, 12:10
Gillespie (former player 5 years ago), Van merkesteyn, Goodwin, Handley, Serafini, Andrew, Young all thirds kids goin to GVL 3rds, Coad, Cirillo played seniors and Dowie also played a handful of seniors

cellar dweller
11 Mar 2008, 09:41
I don't agree with you at all and is why i questioned your reasoning for selecting the 4 clubs you did.
The league has made the choice to continually increase the number of teams in the comp, hence the recent addition of Berri, Dook, Jer and S.E. , so I don't think the decision makers are concerned about whether clubs play each other once, twice or otherwise and let me assure you these changes have not improved the standard or competitive eveness of the comp either.
I have made the point a number of times, that I think district leagues especially should comprise the closest clubs and reduce travel.
We have to keep in mind two comps Coreen and Benalla District both have less clubs than they would like and are on the PDFL's border.
The HDFL is now pretty much based within a 100 klm radius with a couple of exceptions, and it's clubs appear to be well supported and have good numbers.
The Tally situation is a joke and the fact remains those clubs on most leagues edge, struggle for numbers and the further the league is spread out the harder it is.
Quite simple I would have thought, less travel means more players and more players make a better club and greater community envolvment.
Oh and your comment about making a decision for the best of the league not the clubs, the league is only as strong as it's weakest club and the league is a collection of the current clubs and decisions should be made equally by those clubs, unless your of coarse indicating that some underhand agreements are being made about league matters ??
A lot of dribble there P2F.
If the Picola League is to be seen as a quality league that has got its shit together and not a mickey mouse league to stock pile clubs, they need to cut 5 sides and play a 22 week season. Cut some clubs and travel so that players might want to play in the league therefore clubs wont need to pay the rediculas prices for players they do and the Picola League will be a stronger and more even competition.
Seems a few of you strongly dissagree on cuting clubs on 1 hand but want a restructure of 3 leagues on the other. These opinions could go on and on but seens this is a Picola League thread how bout we just stick to the Picola Leage????

toquick
11 Mar 2008, 12:39
Played against Deni in the night series last night, look out for the Bode and May combo! it will be leathal this year.

jetter18
11 Mar 2008, 12:54
Played against Deni in the night series last night, look out for the Bode and May combo! it will be leathal this year.
What was the end score toquick?? did Deni impress??

toquick
11 Mar 2008, 14:38
What was the end score toquick?? did Deni impress??
Im not sure on how strong there side was but they didnt really impress, apart from Bode and May as the stand outs for me. They didnt seem to have a target up forward and struggled to contain Mellington, which isnt an easy task. We sat our 8 of 10 best players that were availible out for about the last quarter and a half to win by 10 goals.

TrainerNo1
11 Mar 2008, 17:33
Watched Katunga Vs Katty last night in the night series. Katunga won by 7 goals with 7 or 8 final year thirds players rotating off the bench. All the young pups held their own or better in some cases. Katunga thirds looking good to go back to back this year with what i saw last night from their senior brigade. not much to look at from katty. Jed wright was the stand out for them.

NEXT LEVEL
11 Mar 2008, 20:33
how do i find a draw for this year, can anyone post a link or something.

pace to freeze
11 Mar 2008, 20:51
A lot of dribble there P2F.
If the Picola League is to be seen as a quality league that has got its shit together and not a mickey mouse league to stock pile clubs, they need to cut 5 sides and play a 22 week season. Cut some clubs and travel so that players might want to play in the league therefore clubs wont need to pay the rediculas prices for players they do and the Picola League will be a stronger and more even competition.
Seems a few of you strongly dissagree on cuting clubs on 1 hand but want a restructure of 3 leagues on the other. These opinions could go on and on but seens this is a Picola League thread how bout we just stick to the Picola Leage????
P.M. so I can be there when you attend the clubs you named and tell them your thoughts. you knob.

pace to freeze
11 Mar 2008, 21:21
Hey PTF, how are your mob looking this year? Few transfers out, not many in. You blokes gonna be right to go this year? How's the numbers at training?
Sorry for the delay Herb, and apologise for the length but is necessary to fully explain situation.
To confirm a few points as to where the club is at and I'm sure you are well aware of.
I beleive the club at the end of last season identified it needed to maintain all its current players, regain some youth which had played juniors at the club and showed an interest to rejoin the club, and pick-up a couple of tall key position players, which the club had in place or was working towards, which I guess most clubs do.
To my knowledge all players had re-committed, with the exception of a couple of the older players who were looking towards the paddock, but may do a couple of pre-season runs and see how their body was.
A few renumerated players from last season have unfortunately provided the club with extremely late notification of their choices for the coming season, despite some forward asisstance apparently already being provided to some and also despite a committment from the club for season 2008. This does not obviously incurr that all those that have applied for a clearance are in this bracket, or are leaving, some have moved else where due to work and other reasons.
Quite a few juniors have returned / committed to the club, a dual state rep. has trained with the club and a new prospective sponsor is in talks with a few high profile, experienced prospects, all of which I can personally confirm.
To my knowledge around 35 have attended training.
How's your pre-season going herb ???

iwantanotherflag
11 Mar 2008, 22:26
www.picoladfl.vcfl.com.au (http://www.picoladfl.vcfl.com.au)

then click on competitions. This is the same for all leagues. You staying at the Eagles, Moose? Will probably be a good year for you guys.

themagicfrog
12 Mar 2008, 08:37
Anyone got the results from Barooga?

cellar dweller
12 Mar 2008, 08:38
P.M. so I can be there when you attend the clubs you named and tell them your thoughts. you knob.
Whats your problem?
What part of my opinion dont you agree with. You among others seem very quick to jump in all defensive against me but never put foward an argument on why Im wrong. Theres always a lot of dribble but no argument put foward against my posts. It is easy to call me a knob isnt it but not so easy to proove me wrong. Personally I dont think you have any testicles, you need to grow some balls!!!

As I said, there are too many clubs in the picola league and its not for the better of the compitition. Cut 5 sides and have a stronger more even comp, that wont be so expensive for clubs to compete.

watthe
12 Mar 2008, 09:53
Whats your problem?
What part of my opinion dont you agree with. You among others seem very quick to jump in all defensive against me but never put foward an argument on why Im wrong. Theres always a lot of dribble but no argument put foward against my posts. It is easy to call me a knob isnt it but not so easy to proove me wrong. Personally I dont think you have any testicles, you need to grow some balls!!!

As I said, there are too many clubs in the picola league and its not for the better of the compitition. Cut 5 sides and have a stronger more even comp, that wont be so expensive for clubs to compete.

In saying that CD do you mean to cut the 5 weaker sides in the league to make it stronger? if so, what would happen to them, what would determine the 5 weakest teams in the league?? ladder position of the previous year? seems a like a fairly unfair way to do things

cellar dweller
12 Mar 2008, 10:32
In saying that CD do you mean to cut the 5 weaker sides in the league to make it stronger? if so, what would happen to them, what would determine the 5 weakest teams in the league?? ladder position of the previous year? seems a like a fairly unfair way to do things
Think you are all getting carried away with the cutting of teams!
My responce was to post's that were saying that the draw the way it is is unfair. And it is. Teams only play some teams twice.
So to make it fair the league will be best to cut 5 teams, play a 22 round season so the all teams play each other twice(1 home and 1 away). There would be two byes to help break up the long 22 round season.
I dont care who got cut and I dont care on what grounds they were cut but I would cut them to help relieve the distance being traveled within the league. I would also try and cut weaker clubs to help keep the strength.
Cutting the distance in the league will help clubs in recruiting players and should cut the costs involved, including how much money will need to be payed to attract players.
I only named clubs because I was asked and I dont care who was to be cut.
And just because a team is cut from the Picola League doesnt mean they wont be able to play in anouther or more suitable league.
In finishing my point is-
For the best of the league cut 5 clubs.
And watthe it was nice to have a responce to my posts without the abuse.:):thumbsu:

Big Wheel
12 Mar 2008, 10:35

Thats because CD is a nuff nuff. He has no idea what he's talking about. Full of crap!!

What will he write next, most likely a lot more dribble.

sweetas
12 Mar 2008, 11:12

Get a life you deadshit, he's just having a bit of fun!

iwantanotherflag
12 Mar 2008, 11:15
I think we all recognise that 16 teams is too many. But the idea of simply cutting teams is not the option. All clubs and their futures need to be thought of.

cellar dweller
12 Mar 2008, 11:17
Thats because CD is a nuff nuff. He has no idea what he's talking about. Full of crap!!

What will he write next, most likely a lot more dribble.
Think you might be wrong there Big Wheel. Its just my opinion and every one knows opinions are like you (a$$holes), every one has one.

Big Wheel
12 Mar 2008, 11:52
Think you might be wrong there Big Wheel. Its just my opinion and every one knows opinions are like you (a$$holes), every one has one.

Well your a funny ****er...... Does it bother you that no-one on here likes you ...... hahaha as Iwantanotherflag has stated.. you are a joke.

Opps sorry that's just my opinion..

Big Wheel
12 Mar 2008, 11:56

Read your own words deadbeat, "he's just having fun"...... what do you think the theintimidator doing........:eek:

TrainerNo1
12 Mar 2008, 12:37

You dookie boys are a little bit touchy aren't you. I bet theintimidator is loving this. He keeps throwing the bait out and you idiots just keep on biting. I bet he's having a good laugh.

pace to freeze
12 Mar 2008, 13:27
Whats your problem?

You think there are to many clubs in the comp and so might I, but the fact is our league is made up of delegates from each club who have equal voting right, and are untrusted by their clubs to make the correct decision and behalf of their club.
For the last ten years at least the league has known that it is not possible to play each side twice and play 22 rounds and yet the league as a whole has decided to continue to expand the league, hence my thought that as a whole the league is not concerned about playing each other twice within 22 rounds.
Furthermore you forget that 3 teams have entered the league recently, berrigan who left a stronger league, and shepp east and dookie who had the choice to go to a stronger league I assume as per Rumba.
Don't also forget that Deni and Dookie both finished well down in 2006 and that our league is made up of more than one football side and also includes netball.
See no insults, by the way children generally indicates that someone has testicles. ;););)

sweetas
12 Mar 2008, 13:31
Read your own words deadbeat, "he's just having fun"...... what do you think the theintimidator doing........:eek:

Read your words shitlips, get a life mate!

Big Wheel
12 Mar 2008, 13:39
Read your words shitlips, get a life mate!

hahaha get back on the thirds forum buddy. OR.... is this Ozzie.. haha signing up as another ursername. hahaha....

sweetas
12 Mar 2008, 14:58
hahaha get back on the thirds forum buddy. OR.... is this Ozzie.. haha signing up as another ursername. hahaha....

Get back on the thirds forum.....nice come back gramps! No it's not Oz but he is a great bloke and great coach

Hands Open
12 Mar 2008, 16:03
Re: Who are you?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hands Open
Is this you Ozzie? haha i wont say if it is you

Quinten (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=53805)
BigFooty Member

Hey there.. no its not Ozzie and im telling the truth... im getting everyone to think i am but im really from Katandra... Do you play at dookie?

This sh*t stirrer isn't even from Dookie!

bystanding backman
12 Mar 2008, 16:04
Would splitting the PDFL into 2 divisions work each club play each other twice making 14 rounds,
once you have each played each other once and after you play each other for the second time then say div 1 1st vs div 2 1st div 1 2nd v div 2 2nd and so on just to add another two games of footy.
have a general bye for Interleague and then have another 2 general byes say 4 weeks in and 4 weeks before finals thus making it a 19 round season 16 games 3 byes.
it makes it a little more even if you all have byes at the same time. it adds 1 week in season length.
then have either a final 4 or 5 system depending which suits better.
you could work it as a relegation system where bottom 2 from div 1 go down and the top 2 from div 2 go up. or just split the divisions into north and south

people thoughts, i don't know how well the bold parts would work but its just an idea.

Big Wheel
12 Mar 2008, 16:29
Get back on the thirds forum.....nice come back gramps! No it's not Oz but he is a great bloke and great coach

Coz your heads how far up Ozzies arse........:eek:

Marto121
12 Mar 2008, 17:52
Would splitting the PDFL into 2 divisions work each club play each other twice making 14 rounds,
once you have each played each other once and after you play each other for the second time then say div 1 1st vs div 2 1st div 1 2nd v div 2 2nd and so on just to add another two games of footy.
have a general bye for Interleague and then have another 2 general byes say 4 weeks in and 4 weeks before finals thus making it a 19 round season 16 games 3 byes.
it makes it a little more even if you all have byes at the same time. it adds 1 week in season length.
you could work it as a relegation system where bottom 2 from div 1 go down and the top 2 from div 2 go up. or just split the divisions into north and south

people thoughts, i don't know how well the bold parts would work but its just an idea.

Nah I wouldn't go with that because 14 rounds probably isn't enough considering how much people get paid and sponsorship etc.
I reckon a division 1 and division 2 and the relegation promotion idea would be good but then again it could be a mismatch in all the other grades.
North and south would have to be the best option i think.

pace to freeze
12 Mar 2008, 18:23

Like your thinking bystanding regards north, south. My concerns are that there is less playing the game, more on the streets and more clubs are struggling for numbers in all standards.
The best system I have seen and /or be involved in was a three teir type system which was being floated around.
How it works is as follows.
Leagues are formed geographically around clubs which form the league above them and provided as feeder clubs to those clubs directly and above and all players remain registered to the minor league club.
eg. Dookie and Katandra are their own identity, have their own registered players and play in their own league. Their players however are able to play during the season for say Numurkah.
Shepp East and the U players are able to play with Congupna.
Players from all four original clubs, dook, Kats, u, s.e. are able to be selected for say Shepp Bears. From then goes on to state league ala the GV feeds say Bendigo Bombers.
Players float to and fro from leagues pending on form and are paid handsomely to play the higher standard, however if they wish they can stay at their original club.
The clubs continue to do their own fund raising and funny enough gain a real core group.
In turn what happens is that more money is put back into the grass roots of real country footy. ala pre AFL draft and zoning days, the good days of footy.
Sounds complicated but actually quite simple, I have seen it part work and can't see why it can't work in it's entirity, would appreciate thoughts.

LastLine14
12 Mar 2008, 19:55
I'm with you cellar dwellar!
I've argued with you on the kdfl site before, but you have come up with some good posts,bad posts and some entertaining posts, dont know much bout the other guys but iwantanotherflag... who has transferred to NAGAMBIE (gotta change your name) has holes all through what he writes and then backs down when the pressure is on...which mind you wont be helpful in the nagambie backline.http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon12.gif

iwantanotherflag
12 Mar 2008, 20:13
I've argued with you on the kdfl site before, but you have come up with some good posts,bad posts and some entertaining posts, dont know much bout the other guys but iwantanotherflag... who has transferred to NAGAMBIE (gotta change your name) has holes all through what he writes and then backs down when the pressure is on...which mind you wont be helpful in the nagambie backline.http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon12.gif

Cellar Dweller is mentioning just cutting sides into the abyss. Putting them 'somewhere.' I don't want to see any club fold or be pushed out. As I said yes 16 teams is too many, but just pissing off clubs to make the rest stronger is not the way... and is frankly laughable as it cannot be taken seriously.

As for changing my name on Bigfooty. WTF for? As I am playing for a club that is not a walk up finals contender does that mean that I should not be wanting to drink Premiership Pots again??? What a joke. I'll stick by it thanks mate.

Cellar Dweller has come up with some good posts,bad posts and some entertaining posts? I beleive you (been a while since he has had a good post) but many on here see Cellar Dweller as a pest, who just shoots his mouth off on here trying to get a rise (which must bring him lots of satisfaction). Everyone knows who I am on here, and who would you be Cellar Dweller?? :thumbsu:

cellar dweller
12 Mar 2008, 21:41
Cellar Dweller is mentioning just cutting sides into the abyss. Putting them 'somewhere.' I don't want to see any club fold or be pushed out. As I said yes 16 teams is too many, but just pissing off clubs to make the rest stronger is not the way... and is frankly laughable as it cannot be taken seriously.

As for changing my name on Bigfooty. WTF for? As I am playing for a club that is not a walk up finals contender does that mean that I should not be wanting to drink Premiership Pots again??? What a joke. I'll stick by it thanks mate.

Cellar Dweller has come up with some good posts,bad posts and some entertaining posts? I beleive you (been a while since he has had a good post) but many on here see Cellar Dweller as a pest, who just shoots his mouth off on here trying to get a rise (which must bring him lots of satisfaction). Everyone knows who I am on here, and who would you be Cellar Dweller?? :thumbsu:
Well Im not a piss ant who wont say what they really think just because it may offend someone. You might find it easier to speak your mind bus if no one knows who you are.
The problem with you ants is that your reading into what Im not saying rather than what I am.
Why the fukc is it so hard for you people to see that your league has toooooooooooo many clubs?
And why the fukc couldnt some of these clubs find a suitable league outside of the Picola league?
Cutting a club from the Picola league isnt death.
Stop being so pig headed and admit what you think.
Oh, is the Picola the only league worth playing in?
I dont think so!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

cellar dweller
12 Mar 2008, 21:42
I dont argue LastLine14.
Just put my opinion foward that differs, thats all.

Herb
13 Mar 2008, 07:50
How's your pre-season going herb ???

Well I played a practice match the other day and I got more kicks in the shin than I did of the footy.

sweetas
13 Mar 2008, 08:04
Coz your heads how far up Ozzies arse........:eek:

All the way up there ya doughnut puncher, we are a strong team out dookie way!:D

catch me if u can
13 Mar 2008, 11:02
Used to play footy for strathy...back then they were a real strong club alround. Just wondering how Strathy are shapping up this year? i see a few clearences into the club are those played any good?

theintimidator
13 Mar 2008, 12:00
Re: Who are you?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hands Open
Is this you Ozzie? haha i wont say if it is you

Quinten (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=53805)
BigFooty Member

Hey there.. no its not Ozzie and im telling the truth... im getting everyone to think i am but im really from Katandra... Do you play at dookie?

This sh*t stirrer isn't even from Dookie!

Hands open. That has to be the worst attempt at "quoting" a post that doesnt exist that I have ever seen. I think the people on this forum need to be aware that the above "supposed" conversation never actually took place. Ive been back through ''Quintens and Hands Opens'' posts and no such post exists. ITS A FAKE POST! Whats in the water out at dookie that could possibly make you this stupid!

Also the person on here lipping off who calls them selves "sweetas" is the same person behind the "quinten" posts. He just registered and all his posts were directed immediately at me. He has also made a post on Murray league to Toquick who had also received many posts from quinten directly. We are on to you again d!ckhead! :eek:

Big Wheel
13 Mar 2008, 13:16
All the way up there ya doughnut puncher, we are a strong team out dookie way!:D

Ozzie you have been busted again. Might be time to create another username.......

So how much coin have you ripped from dookie?? Has half the town had to sell there house's yet????

themagicfrog
13 Mar 2008, 13:22
Hands open. That has to be the worst attempt at "quoting" a post that doesnt exist that I have ever seen. I think the people on this forum need to be aware that the above "supposed" conversation never actually took place. Ive been back through ''Quintens and Hands Opens'' posts and no such post exists. ITS A FAKE POST! Whats in the water out at dookie that could possibly make you this stupid!

Also the person on here lipping off who calls them selves "sweetas" is the same person behind the "quinten" posts. He just registered and all his posts were directed immediately at me. He has also made a post on Murray league to Toquick who had also received many posts from quinten directly. We are on to you again d!ckhead! :eek:

Not wanting to get to involved in this, by the look of Hands Open's quote it is from a Private message not a post. Just a thought, but I could be wrong (not the first time!)

toquick
13 Mar 2008, 13:49
You have hit the nail on the head there magic i am thinking i would be tipping it is a private msg not a post, "sweat as" isnt ozzie either, it is that gay guy that plays on the wing for Dookie with curly hair.

B.O.G.
13 Mar 2008, 14:07
You have hit the nail on the head there magic i am thinking i would be tipping it is a private msg not a post, "sweat as" isnt ozzie either, it is that gay guy that plays on the wing for Dookie with curly hair.

we all thought it may have been the other gay guy from Dookie that went to Tocumwal:o Oh well wrong again:p

theintimidator
13 Mar 2008, 14:37
Not wanting to get to involved in this, by the look of Hands Open's quote it is from a Private message not a post. Just a thought, but I could be wrong (not the first time!)

No they are trying to pass it off as a post. Losers! Thats why they have "originally posted by" at the top of the message.

Hands Open
13 Mar 2008, 20:41

its a PM d*ckhead

Hands Open
13 Mar 2008, 20:46
No they are trying to pass it off as a post. Losers! Thats why they have "originally posted by" at the top of the message.

have a look at your PMs too i think you'll find that they do have 'originally posted' on them. i am in no way trying to start sh!t this is all truth - i'd give you my password so you could see for yourself but thats goin a bit too extreme!

Herb
13 Mar 2008, 21:22
Does anyone know any other results of the night series. How'd Jerilderie go against Waaia?

pace to freeze
13 Mar 2008, 21:32
Does anyone know any other results of the night series. How'd Jerilderie go against Waaia?
Only a rumour but heard down by a couple.

toquick
14 Mar 2008, 07:57
Only a rumour but heard down by a couple.
Waaia by 2 goals is the mail i recieved.