View Full Version : Picola District football league
TrainerNo1
14 Mar 2008, 12:26
Anyone know the final score of the yarroweyah V shepp east game last night.
jetter18
14 Mar 2008, 13:02
Anyone know the final score of the yarroweyah V shepp east game last night.
Shepp East won by about 10 goals...
was there a nick tyack playing at waaia and can anyone tell me what he is like as a player???
iwantanotherflag
14 Mar 2008, 13:13
was there a nick tyack playing at waaia and can anyone tell me what he is like as a player???
Gives away a few inches in the ruck, but often beats guys 6" taller than him. Plays like an extra on baller when rucking.
NEXT LEVEL
16 Mar 2008, 01:07
leave him alone ozzie is ok
TrainerNo1
17 Mar 2008, 09:16
Did anyone get over to watch the Strathy V Blighty Game.
I heard Strathy got up by 9 goals in the end.
Did anyone get over to watch the Strathy V Blighty Game.
I heard Strathy got up by 9 goals in the end.
scrappy game early before strathy began to take control, strathy seem to be a much better side then last year, there shepp recruits played well dont no how many players they had out but they lacked a ruckman and there backline didnt look that strong. Blighty didnt look like much but i also dont no if there best side played. blighty seemd to get plenty of numbers behind the ball, mainly played a defensive style which didnt help much
iwantanotherflag
17 Mar 2008, 13:59
scrappy game early before strathy began to take control, strathy seem to be a much better side then last year, there shepp recruits played well dont no how many players they had out but they lacked a ruckman and there backline didnt look that strong. Blighty didnt look like much but i also dont no if there best side played. blighty seemd to get plenty of numbers behind the ball, mainly played a defensive style which didnt help much
So Dogsy Graham didn't play?
TrainerNo1
17 Mar 2008, 14:03
Main ruckman Adam Graham didn't play. Don't know if it would matter who was rucking against the big blighty monster. I thought the Strathy backline held up ok, especially in the third quarter when Blighty put some pressure on. The whole team has made a big improvement on the last few years.:thumbsu:
DRINK HOLDER
17 Mar 2008, 14:37
what do you mean there backline didn't look to stong they kept a side that played finals last season to 4 goals. and blighty were playing defensive because strathy were attacking so hard
cellar dweller
17 Mar 2008, 15:29
I wouldnt go counting Strathy's eggs before they hatch!!
Carlton won the preseason cup to finish last you know!!
jetter18
17 Mar 2008, 15:34
Not sure anyone was counting Strathy's eggs before they hatch......night series is hard too judge sides on but yes Friday night Strathy had a good win and looked like they will improve from last year
TrainerNo1
17 Mar 2008, 16:28
I'm pretty sure that if you look at the last few quotes no-one
has said anything about strathy setting any records this year.
They have just said they will be a better team than last year.
Carlton finished last on purpose, dídn't you watch the footy show.
Ha Ha:D
what do you mean there backline didn't look to stong they kept a side that played finals last season to 4 goals. and blighty were playing defensive because strathy were attacking so hard
blighty didnt really have any options up forward other then when there ruckman moved forward, as for strathys backline well like i said i dont no who they had out but other then brunskill no one really stood out.
theintimidator
17 Mar 2008, 19:13
Cellar Dweller go back to your basement! Somtimes you make the most
ridiculous comparisons. Comparing AFL and PDFL is absurd.
Hey did anyone see both the Strathy and Yarroweyah games? I have been told that strathy should give yarroweyah a good touch up this friday.
LastLine14
17 Mar 2008, 22:11
Hey did anyone see both the Strathy and Yarroweyah games? I have been told that strathy should give yarroweyah a good touch up this friday.
Yeah ive turned on you again cellar dwellar... your a weirdo, as for my old hoppers i think their headed back to the miserable and of the ladder.http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon9.gif
cellar dweller
18 Mar 2008, 09:08
I wasnt comparing the AFL and PDFL, I was giving an example. So forgive me for naming a team that seemed to be playing well in the preseason and then terrible during the season that everybody knows. I supose I could have used Tatong's preseason and start to last years season but I wouldnt think too many people could relate.
Only one way to be prooven wrong on this one boy's, so stop your whining and sooking when you dont like what I have to say. Unless you can proove me wrong that is.
"theintimidator" in your dreams maybe!!
cellar dweller
18 Mar 2008, 09:14
I'm pretty sure that if you look at the last few quotes no-one
has said anything about strathy setting any records this year.
They have just said they will be a better team than last year.
Carlton finished last on purpose, dídn't you watch the footy show.
Ha Ha:D
So are you saying they will win any more games or just be a more competitive side at loosing??
Im saying they will struggle to win the 5 games they won last year.
hectomorphic
18 Mar 2008, 09:21
So are you saying they will win any more games or just be a more competitive side at loosing??
Yeah i agree cellar dwellar. Strathy keep talking all this shit. Who do they think they are! Go team cellar dwellar.
themagicfrog
18 Mar 2008, 10:23
Any one here having a go at the Herald Sun SuperCoach, if so would be interesting to see how much people in here that are talking the talk can back up there footy knowledge, if your interested here's the details
PDFL Bigfooty 603400
TrainerNo1
18 Mar 2008, 12:59
As i said earlier i don't expect any records from them but friday night was encouraging. yes they will win more than last year. Not everyone has recruited as well as shepp east and dookie, they will be the stand outs again, but the majority of teams, especially the bottom 8 will be much the same standard as last year. why not come and watch a game and see for yourself instead of going on hear say.
theintimidator
18 Mar 2008, 14:10
I wasnt comparing the AFL and PDFL, I was giving an example. So forgive me for naming a team that seemed to be playing well in the preseason and then terrible during the season that everybody knows. I supose I could have used Tatong's preseason and start to last years season but I wouldnt think too many people could relate.
Only one way to be prooven wrong on this one boy's, so stop your whining and sooking when you dont like what I have to say. Unless you can proove me wrong that is.
"theintimidator" in your dreams maybe!!
Dribble dribble dribble! Thats all you seem to do on here cellar dwellar. There would be as many examples of teams going well in their pre-season comps then going on to go well in their regular season as the example's you have provided. As jetta said no-one is counting their chickens before they hatch but strathy have shown great improvement. Thats all! Improvement! Dont go off and get on you soap box over it mate!
Oh yeah . Hectomorphic your a fool!;)
cellar dweller
19 Mar 2008, 11:27
Dribble dribble dribble! Thats all you seem to do on here cellar dwellar. There would be as many examples of teams going well in their pre-season comps then going on to go well in their regular season as the example's you have provided. As jetta said no-one is counting their chickens before they hatch but strathy have shown great improvement. Thats all! Improvement! Dont go off and get on you soap box over it mate!
Oh yeah . Hectomorphic your a fool!;)
Do you really think your smat enough to understand what Im saying if I dont give an example?
I dont!
You seem simple and stupid.
I would probably go as far to say you were an idiot!
You think they will be better and I say they wont, time will tell.
TrainerNo1
19 Mar 2008, 12:21
Do you really think your smat enough to understand what Im saying if I dont give an example?
I dont!
I only have one question for you cellar dweller, on what do you base your comments about strathy. You say they will be no good, have you seen them train or play, or is it just you infinate wisdom that guides your comments.:confused:
theintimidator
19 Mar 2008, 13:29
I dont!
Did you even read my post? I didnt say your example was flawed I said the whole basis for your argument was flawed. Or are you to Idiotic to work that out? Give as many examples as you like but your theory still makes no sense. You beleive me to be simple, well thats because I like to get to the point rather than write Dribble all over this forum (and other forums) like yourself!! You need to get over yourself you smart arse arrogant d!ck. YOUR NOT THAT SMART!!!
pace to freeze
19 Mar 2008, 18:58
Hey Cellar Dweller opinions are like one handed sex, every one has one, why don't you try to voice your opinion whilst not doing the other and appreciate others opinion.
Personally I think you have no idea, if you disagree I'll handle a bet on Strathy improving on their wins this season from last season, nothing lower than 3 barrels. One to me , One to Strathy and One to everybody else on here that has had to put up with your dribble.
cellar dweller
20 Mar 2008, 08:33
Hey Cellar Dweller opinions are like one handed sex, every one has one, why don't you try to voice your opinion whilst not doing the other and appreciate others opinion.
Personally I think you have no idea, if you disagree I'll handle a bet on Strathy improving on their wins this season from last season, nothing lower than 3 barrels. One to me , One to Strathy and One to everybody else on here that has had to put up with your dribble.
What are you talking about, d1ck wad?
I think you l find that I give my opinion relating to an existing posts and then have to defend my opinion because all you d1ck wads get into me about it.
Sure Strathy may improve as a team this year but I think you will find that the league as a hole will improve more than they will. So comparing apples to apples Strathy will struggle to win more or as many games as last year. And rucruiting players from Shepparton who arnt good enough to cut it in the GV wont help as much as you wads think.
And P2f I wont bet with a wanker.
hectomorphic
20 Mar 2008, 10:30
I think you l find that I give my opinion relating to an existing posts and then have to defend my opinion because all you d1ck wads get into me about it.
Sure Strathy may improve as a team this year but I think you will find that the league as a hole will improve more than they will. So comparing apples to apples Strathy will struggle to win more or as many games as last year. And rucruiting players from Shepparton who arnt good enough to cut it in the GV wont help as much as you wads think.
The league will step up again this year. It has been on the up for a while.
Cellar dweller what background info you have on the strathy recruits and any other recruits form other teams. PLease share your thoughts.
Big Wheel
20 Mar 2008, 11:07
The league will step up again this year. It has been on the up for a while.
Cellar dweller what background info you have on the strathy recruits and any other recruits form other teams. PLease share your thoughts.
No don't even answer that CD (only reason being i'm sick of reading your dribble). Do us a favour and p!ss off !!
Interesting to seen Robbie Smith signing up at Shepp East.
Very handy player, will cause a few headaches..
Charles Mac
20 Mar 2008, 11:13
How are everyones grounds looking after the last fortnight of 35+ degrees. Will they be upto standard by round 1?
TrainerNo1
20 Mar 2008, 11:15
I would like to know what makes you think the shepp recruits at strathy couldn't cut it in the G.V. Please empart your wisdom on us again cellar dweller.
cellar dweller
20 Mar 2008, 11:49
I guess we will have to wait for the real football season to see who's on the money with Strathy. Will be interesting if anyone has the balls to admit my opinion has a bit of merrit. Wouldnt think you girls would have the "balls" though.
But theres always the chance Im wrong though, doubt it though.
TrainerNo1
20 Mar 2008, 12:38
I guess we will have to wait for the real football season to see who's on the money with Strathy. Will be interesting if anyone has the balls to admit my opinion has a bit of merrit. Wouldnt think you girls would have the "balls" though.
But theres always the chance Im wrong though, doubt it though.
The thing that annoys me about you and people like you cellar dweller, is that you are always on the attack when people make a point that you don't like or you don't think is up to your level of "inteligence". Whenever anyone makes a good point or makes a statement to you that is reasonable, you go missing until someone else gives you an opening. you should learn to give people credit when they prove you wrong or shut you down. Your not right all the time. And please answer my question about why you think the strathy recruits couldn't cut in the G.V.
toquick
20 Mar 2008, 13:42
How can you sit there and type that Dicko didnt cut it in the GV?? The bloke is a gun, correct me if im wrong but he has a GVFL club B and F to his name, if thats " not cutting it " then there are alot of other blokes that are proven players at that level that DIDNT CUT IT EITHER!
DRINK HOLDER
20 Mar 2008, 14:22
How can you sit there and type that Dicko didnt cut it in the GV?? The bloke is a gun, correct me if im wrong but he has a GVFL club B and F to his name, if thats " not cutting it " then there are alot of other blokes that are proven players at that level that DIDNT CUT IT EITHER!
yeah good call toquick dicko is a gun he would start in any midfield in the gvfl. and correct me if im wrong but i think he might have even beat Steven Ash to the B&F when he won it. Now thats saying somthing for the quality player Dicko is. You are A Smoker celler dweller get back in your hole you crawled out of and find some info out before you start talking dribble.
babyfaceassassin
20 Mar 2008, 21:57
Cellar Dweller and toquick put your money where your mouth is, I bet Strathy will win more games than they did last year...start bidding!
theintimidator
20 Mar 2008, 23:43
Have you ever stopped to wonder why everyone gets into about your opinions? Its because they are rubbish! At least you bring some comedy to the forum although i doubt thats your intention. You have proven just how little you know about PDFL footy with those comments about strathy's Shepp recruits. I suggest you go and watch strathy V yarroweyah at Barooga tommorrow night before you post anything else that'll make you look even more stupid than you do now! :p
Having Fun
21 Mar 2008, 13:47
Katandra's ground is awesome. Very green and soft.
Torp from 60
21 Mar 2008, 13:57
Deni Rovers to win the flag. Huge recruits, good coach, great people running the club and the silver fox (robinson) roaming around. Huge chance!!!!!
pace to freeze
21 Mar 2008, 20:01
Easy to make statements when hidding behind a user name, have you got no testicles, why make all these stupid statements and when asked to back it up you try to alter your thoughts.
The fact remains you think Strathy won't win any more games than they did last year, and have kept on going on with it, and I'm prepared to back up my thoughts that they will, are you ???
And rather than just get on here and point out the obvious, I will explain why they will win more games and why I beleive your wrong.
Personal wise they are one of only three clubs which appear to have added significantly to their list , along with Tunga, Rovers and Shepp East, and one of those S.E. were set to have a few very important retirees, Topp , Seagrave and obviously Ahmet so I don't see them improving hugely. Obviously juniors come through , but on the other side of things some are on the other side of their best. If the reports are true with what I've heard about six sides have seen a decrease in numbers for this time of year and most leagues are the same.
I also strongly question your thoughts that the league is improving, especially in the last 10 or so years that I know of and a point to consider is 2 players, Chops Lambourne and Wes Teague are well over 30, chops 40, and have both almost been voted our leagues best player for 2007, I'm sure if you asked them they would both agree their best days are well past them.;);)
Easy to make statements when hidding behind a user name, have you got no testicles, why make all these stupid statements and when asked to back it up you try to alter your thoughts.
The fact remains you think Strathy won't win any more games than they did last year, and have kept on going on with it, and I'm prepared to back up my thoughts that they will, are you ???
And rather than just get on here and point out the obvious, I will explain why they will win more games and why I beleive your wrong.
Personal wise they are one of only three clubs which appear to have added significantly to their list , along with Tunga, Rovers and Shepp East, and one of those S.E. were set to have a few very important retirees, Topp , Seagrave and obviously Ahmet so I don't see them improving hugely. Obviously juniors come through , but on the other side of things some are on the other side of their best. If the reports are true with what I've heard about six sides have seen a decrease in numbers for this time of year and most leagues are the same.
I also strongly question your thoughts that the league is improving, especially in the last 10 or so years that I know of and a point to consider is 2 players, Chops Lambourne and Wes Teague are well over 30, chops 40, and have both almost been voted our leagues best player for 2007, I'm sure if you asked them they would both agree their best days are well past them.;);)
Wes still has plenty of good footy in him. I have played ova 200 senior games with wes and all my juniors and i can tell you he is not slowing down one bit. If anything Wes is the fittest I have seen him in years. One of the best we will see in our leauge again this year again i say
Katandra's ground is awesome. Very green and soft.
Yeah it's good now but a few weeks ago someone ran the dam dry and burnt out the pump(idiot) so it got a bit dry for a while but is looking a treat now. hahahahahahaha
pace to freeze
22 Mar 2008, 13:40
Wes still has plenty of good footy in him. I have played ova 200 senior games with wes and all my juniors and i can tell you he is not slowing down one bit. If anything Wes is the fittest I have seen him in years. One of the best we will see in our leauge again this year again i say
Point taken Balls, don't think anybody who knows Wes would doubt that, the point I was trying to make is that I don't think the league has improved much, if at all, in standard, by basing it on the fact the players who were in their prime in the late 90's early 2000's who are still now fairly handy, or have retired, despite their age.
Here are a few who were in their prime, that I remember, in that era Secco, Desy Jenkins, Sullivan, Modra McLarty, The big horse Ewan Schultz ??, Shane Heard, The Collins', Gypsy and Xavier Kennedy, The Fox brothers, Brian Burke, Robbie Ressugan, Fart McMartin, Mark Martin, Cheds, Robbie Wren, Happy Gilmour, Danny Glover, The Trimby's, Neil Walker, W.Teague, Travis Thompson, Bryan Schreenan, Yourself fit, yes I can remember that, he he.
Given your probably one of a few that have remained in the league over the past 10-15 years what are your thoughts on whether the league has improved ??
Point taken Balls, don't think anybody who knows Wes would doubt that, the point I was trying to make is that I don't think the league has improved much, if at all, in standard, by basing it on the fact the players who were in their prime in the late 90's early 2000's who are still now fairly handy, or have retired, despite their age.
Here are a few who were in their prime, that I remember, in that era Secco, Desy Jenkins, Sullivan, Modra McLarty, The big horse Ewan Schultz ??, Shane Heard, The Collins', Gypsy and Xavier Kennedy, The Fox brothers, Brian Burke, Robbie Ressugan, Fart McMartin, Mark Martin, Cheds, Robbie Wren, Happy Gilmour, Danny Glover, The Trimby's, Neil Walker, W.Teague, Travis Thompson, Bryan Schreenan, Yourself fit, yes I can remember that, he he.
Given your probably one of a few that have remained in the league over the past 10-15 years what are your thoughts on whether the league has improved ??
Yeah I think the leauge has gotten better over the years or is it that i just find it harder keeping up with the younger and fit kids running around these days....If you can remember me bein fit you have a better memory than me..hahahahahahah. I expect to see you have a trot on the park round 8 mate or if your not and gonna be waving the white flags i hope this time ya can keep an eye on the game and not the netballers warming up on the other side of the fence. :D One of the funnyest things I have see in footy that:thumbsu:
pace to freeze
23 Mar 2008, 16:23
Yeah I think the leauge has gotten better over the years or is it that i just find it harder keeping up with the younger and fit kids running around these days....If you can remember me bein fit you have a better memory than me..hahahahahahah. I expect to see you have a trot on the park round 8 mate or if your not and gonna be waving the white flags i hope this time ya can keep an eye on the game and not the netballers warming up on the other side of the fence. :D One of the funnyest things I have see in footy that:thumbsu:
yeh thanks for reminding me, talking about funny things the funniest i've ever seen was :
Myself and a couple of teammates had met at the local on a friday night and one or two lead to a few to many, anyone the next day as the coach gave his last speal on the ground one of the offenders let rip. Another character replied that smelt like sh!t.The offender put his hands down his strides mucking around and sound yeh it was a bit wet, little did he know he had sh!t himself and when he removed his fingers had sh1t on them, subsequentially missed the first couple of minutes of the game and left us a man short.
Absolute pisser !! any others feel free to add funny stories you may have experienced.
Another pisser was when we played katty at katty last season when an offical, umpire, turned up late, smelt of grog when he did front, and gave a silly decision early, when I asked him what it was for he was unable to get out his reason due to a spluring of words, after half time he told his counterpart he was injured and only umpired one half forward line for the rest of the game. Had great delight in throwing the ball away from him when he had to ball it up and bumping into him when possible. Poor bastard he was really hurting. Funny enough didn't come in for a sherbet afterwards. ha ha
pace to freeze
23 Mar 2008, 17:11
have heard picola may have lost a few ,
Brunt, Johnstone, Brennan , Myers all gone and cleared, with Al Corey, Nathalia, and Trennary and Priddle ( retired )also fairly strong rumours ?? can anybody confirm or deny. Only known apparent pick-up is Walker.
TOPP and SEGRAVE have not retired and are playing again, Ahmet is also still a chance to play some games as the Bendigo Bombers play 9 Sunday games so don't count him out yet either???????
Tradward
24 Mar 2008, 13:44
yeh thanks for reminding me, talking about funny things the funniest i've ever seen was :
Myself and a couple of teammates had met at the local on a friday night and one or two lead to a few to many, anyone the next day as the coach gave his last speal on the ground one of the offenders let rip. Another character replied that smelt like sh!t.The offender put his hands down his strides mucking around and sound yeh it was a bit wet, little did he know he had sh!t himself and when he removed his fingers had sh1t on them, subsequentially missed the first couple of minutes of the game and left us a man short.
Absolute pisser !! any others feel free to add funny stories you may have experienced.
Another pisser was when we played katty at katty last season when an offical, umpire, turned up late, smelt of grog when he did front, and gave a silly decision early, when I asked him what it was for he was unable to get out his reason due to a spluring of words, after half time he told his counterpart he was injured and only umpired one half forward line for the rest of the game. Had great delight in throwing the ball away from him when he had to ball it up and bumping into him when possible. Poor bastard he was really hurting. Funny enough didn't come in for a sherbet afterwards. ha ha
hahaha
pace to freeze
24 Mar 2008, 18:53
TOPP and SEGRAVE have not retired and are playing again, Ahmet is also still a chance to play some games as the Bendigo Bombers play 9 Sunday games so don't count him out yet either???????
Well huge for the club and enough to consider them as a real big chance to win the flag, I'd suggest.
bigbrother35
25 Mar 2008, 17:05
Just to weigh into the Strath debate, from what i saw last fri night Cellar Dweller, they look to have most of the bases covered as long as they remain injury free (which is the case with most clubs at this level). The midfield will be the equal of any in the comp, may not dominate but will break even with the best midfields, the back six although not their strongest line has plenty of experience with JB, and Cole, and will cope well with most matchups, and from what i saw on friday night their forward line could be the dangerous in the comp, with plenty of options, both tall and small. I understand that this is still preseason, but from what i have seen they will be top four material, they will get a good test this week against Waaia. I suggest you go out this friday night and have a look Dweller before making anymore hollow predictions.
Hey drink holder how is the head after the Sunday Session.:thumbsu:
TrainerNo1
25 Mar 2008, 17:31
it is good to see that cellar dweller has held true
to my comment and gone missing after he was proven
wrong by more than one peson. quick to give an opinion,
doesn't like being proven wrong.:thumbsd:
TrainerNo1
27 Mar 2008, 12:47
Anyone going over to the night series grand final tomorrow night.
Should be a good game.:thumbsu:
themagicfrog
27 Mar 2008, 14:24
Who here thinks the PDFL website needs a little more info, from week to week stuff such as umpire placements and the likes, as well as what's happening in the PDFL it's self. I know that the PDFL rely on club officials to pass in league meeting stuff but they could post the more important stuff on the website. Extra menus for the likes of the league medal winners and granny winners would be good. I'm sure the sponsors would like a go on there as well. I know that Deanne is busy (a does a great job) but I’m sure there is someone out there who's up to date on the history side of things could help out.
It might make us look more professional that's all.
theintimidator
28 Mar 2008, 12:37
Who here thinks the PDFL website needs a little more info, from week to week stuff such as umpire placements and the likes, as well as what's happening in the PDFL it's self. I know that the PDFL rely on club officials to pass in league meeting stuff but they could post the more important stuff on the website. Extra menus for the likes of the league medal winners and granny winners would be good. I'm sure the sponsors would like a go on there as well. I know that Deanne is busy (a does a great job) but I’m sure there is someone out there who's up to date on the history side of things could help out.
It might make us look more professional that's all.
I agree. The website is a great place to get info across. I notice that in OCT 07 the PDFL advertised for a publicity officer maybe this should be part of their role. I also think many clubs under-use thier website. Its a fantastic free medium to get information out to players and supporters alike quickly and effectively.
What's everyones tips for tonight's barooga night series.
Strathmerton, the newly invigorated, new look, in form side of the competition?
or
Waaia the battle hardened , mostly unchanged (and very successful) squad form 2007?
I agree. The website is a great place to get info across. I notice that in OCT 07 the PDFL advertised for a publicity officer maybe this should be part of their role. I also think many clubs under-use thier website. Its a fantastic free medium to get information out to players and supporters alike quickly and effectively.
What's everyones tips for tonight's barooga night series.
Strathmerton, the newly invigorated, new look, in form side of the competition?
or
Waaia the battle hardened , mostly unchanged (and very successful) squad form 2007?
I'd of originally thought Waaia, but somehow leaning towards Strathy. I think I'll go the safe option and say that Waaia will win, but I think either way there'll be only 2-3 goals in it, if that.
Any other teams got any practice matches coming up?
TrainerNo1
28 Mar 2008, 15:04
I'd of originally thought Waaia, but somehow leaning towards Strathy. I think I'll go the safe option and say that Waaia will win, but I think either way there'll be only 2-3 goals in it, if that.
Any other teams got any practice matches coming up?
Waaia will be without Sam Richardson and Nick Tyack who haven't played any games so don't qualify for the final.
who won ?
theintimidator
29 Mar 2008, 17:46
Sam Richardson played. Not sure about Tyack. Strathy and Waaia came to an agreement to play players who haddent qualified in the first 2 rounds. Waaia got up by 2 or 3 points in the end but the flow of play was with strathy but were beaten by the clock in the end. Both teams were missing 3-4 players. All in all a good hit out.
cellar dweller
31 Mar 2008, 07:46
Sam Richardson played. Not sure about Tyack. Strathy and Waaia came to an agreement to play players who haddent qualified in the first 2 rounds. Waaia got up by 2 or 3 points in the end but the flow of play was with strathy but were beaten by the clock in the end. Both teams were missing 3-4 players. All in all a good hit out.
How do you get beaten by the clock?
Was the last quarter shortened?
cellar dweller
31 Mar 2008, 07:47
it is good to see that cellar dweller has held true
to my comment and gone missing after he was proven
wrong by more than one peson. quick to give an opinion,
doesn't like being proven wrong.:thumbsd:
Hey **** breath, Ive been away.
theintimidator
31 Mar 2008, 08:26
Hey **** breath, Ive been away. How do you get beaten by the clock?
Hey knob-jockey why dont you do us all a favour and go away permanently. To be "beaten by the clock" is just an expression. It was used as a way to describe the flow of the game in the final stages. But once again I am forced to explain the most basic of things to you. Your stupidity astounds me.
cellar dweller
31 Mar 2008, 09:32
Hey knob-jockey why dont you do us all a favour and go away permanently. To be "beaten by the clock" is just an expression. It was used as a way to describe the flow of the game in the final stages. But once again I am forced to explain the most basic of things to you. Your stupidity astounds me.
Thats right you blokes spend too much time sucking each other to tell it how it is!
TrainerNo1
31 Mar 2008, 10:05
Thats right you blokes spend too much time sucking each other to tell it how it is!
Care to elaborate on this last comment. It makes f**k all sense to me. Maybe you should just go back into hiding.
bigbrother35
31 Mar 2008, 15:31
so boys, one week out from round one, with some teams going under the radar in the preseason, some showing improvement, and plenty of sledging on this thread, what are the thoughts of this esteemed panel of judges, time to give us your final predictions of a pre finals ladder, i will give it a go first,
Dookie United
Katandra
Waaia
Strathmerton
Shepp East
Deni Rovers
Tungamah
Katunga
Picola United
Jerilderie
Blighty
Yarroweyah
Berrigan
Katamatite
Mathoura
Wunghnu
Let the bagging begin,
To all good luck in '08:thumbsu:
jetter18
31 Mar 2008, 15:49
Very Interesting there BigBrother......my attempt is below:
Dookie Utd
Deni Rovers
Tungamah
Strathmerton
Waaia
Shepp East
Katandra
Katunga
Picola Utd
Blighty
Jerilderie
Katamatite
Yarroweyah
Berrigan
Mathoura
Wunghnu
TrainerNo1
31 Mar 2008, 16:53
Top 8 only,
Dookie
Tungamah
Deni
Strathmerton
Shepp East
Waaia
Katandra
Blighty
Good luck to all.
cellar dweller
31 Mar 2008, 20:00
Top 8 only,
Dookie
Tungamah
Deni
Strathmerton
Shepp East
Waaia
Katandra
Blighty
Good luck to all.
Shepp East to beat someone in the GF.
Dookie will fall away.
Think you all may have miss spelled Picola United or Jerilderie as Strathmerton in the eight!!!
Dookie will fall away.
Think you all may have miss spelled Picola United or Jerilderie as Strathmerton in the eight!!!
Strathy will make the 8 for sure.
My prediction:
Deni Rovers
Dookie
Shepp East
Waaia
Katandra
Strathmerton
Tungamah
Jerilderie as a smokey
theintimidator
1 Apr 2008, 08:38
My prediction:
Deni Rovers
Dookie
Shepp East
Waaia
Katandra
Strathmerton
Tungamah
Jerilderie as a smokey
Herb My list is similar to yours.
Deni
Dookie
Shepp East
Katandra
Waaia
Tungamah
Strathy
Picola
Jerilderie
Blighty
Katunga
Yarroweyah
Berrigan
Katty
Wunghnu
Mathoura
Deni V Shepp East Grand Final
TrainerNo1
1 Apr 2008, 11:16
Dookie will fall away.
I think you miss spelled 'people think i'm a wanker' with cellar dweller.
cellar dweller
1 Apr 2008, 11:27
I think you miss spelled 'people think i'm a wanker' with cellar dweller.
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
you really come up with some original stuff
TrainerNo1
1 Apr 2008, 11:39
you really come up with some original stuff
I'd rather come up with something like that then the crap that you post on here. There are still a few people on here who want an explaination about your opinion on the strathy recruits. i was going to let it slide past but we all want you to share some of you wonderful knowledge.
hectomorphic
1 Apr 2008, 12:00
My prediction:
Deni Rovers
Dookie
Shepp East
Waaia
Katandra
Strathmerton
Tungamah
Jerilderie as a smokey
Probably the same as you Herb. Heard a few mumblings that Jerilderie will be ok.
cellar dweller
1 Apr 2008, 12:48
I'd rather come up with something like that then the crap that you post on here. There are still a few people on here who want an explaination about your opinion on the strathy recruits. i was going to let it slide past but we all want you to share some of you wonderful knowledge.
I said I dont think Strathy will be as good compared to the competition as some of you think. I also dont think the recruits are senior GV players.
Their both my opinion. Hard to argue my opinion on the Shepparton players but I guess we will find out how good Strathy are in the coming weeks. You cant sit there and say that my opinion is wrong but you can put foward an argument to help change my mind. Other than that we will just have to wait and see how the season pans out.
Hmmmmmmm, let me think....
Nope, no change at the moment.
Keep up the good posts!!
Oh almost forgot, you didnt come up with your post by yourself did you??
You had some help hey??
TrainerNo1
1 Apr 2008, 14:08
I said I dont think Strathy will be as good compared to the competition as some of you think. I also dont think the recruits are senior GV players.
Their both my opinion. Hard to argue my opinion on the Shepparton players but I guess we will find out how good Strathy are in the coming weeks. You cant sit there and say that my opinion is wrong but you can put foward an argument to help change my mind. Other than that we will just have to wait and see how the season pans out.
Hmmmmmmm, let me think....
Nope, no change at the moment.
Keep up the good posts!!
Oh almost forgot, you didnt come up with your post by yourself did you??
You had some help hey??
Just two tiny, almost insignificant peices of info you may have over looked in your haste to put forward another opinion no-one wants to hear, but Dicko has a G.V. club B&f to his name and Taylor is a G.V. interleague rep.
There are just a couple of things that to me would highlight a little bit of ability. But as you said, it's just your opinion. You stick to your guns, i'll stick to mine.
Hey CD your arguments are getting old, time to move on. We have all read your opinion more then once. We get ure point.
cellar dweller
1 Apr 2008, 14:42
Hey CD your arguments are getting old, time to move on. We have all read your opinion more then once. We get ure point.
I had moved on clown, he asked more than once so I replied.
Looks like there will be a shake up from the VCFL affecting the O&K and the Picola leagues in particular. Wont need to cut the four teams from the league.
DIGGER11
1 Apr 2008, 18:36
Can anyone confirmed that berrigan has signed 2 ex locals from carey grammarians in B grade and 2 Xavier A grade players and 1 B&F from Olinda today.
theintimidator
1 Apr 2008, 18:59
I had moved on clown, he asked more than once so I replied.
Looks like there will be a shake up from the VCFL affecting the O&K and the Picola leagues in particular. Wont need to cut the four teams from the league.
Interesting rumour. What have you heard. I was talking to a bloke I know from the VCFL on easter weekend about the problems with the PDFL and he didnt say anything involving the O & K. But then again maybe he didnt know then. (or not allowed to say)
theintimidator
1 Apr 2008, 19:02
Can anyone confirmed that berrigan has signed 2 ex locals from carey grammarians in B grade and 2 Xavier A grade players and 1 B&F from Olinda today.
With all the info you put in that question doesnt sound like your really looking for confirmation. Sounds like you are advertising the fact. Maybe magic frog can help.
pace to freeze
1 Apr 2008, 19:20
My prediction:
Deni Rovers
Dookie
Shepp East
Waaia
Katandra
Strathmerton
Tungamah
Jerilderie as a smokey
Those in bold will be there I think, with the final spot tight, obviously Jerilderie are the ????
themagicfrog
2 Apr 2008, 08:50
With all the info you put in that question doesnt sound like your really looking for confirmation. Sounds like you are advertising the fact. Maybe magic frog can help.
Although no paperwork in yet i hear the Ratty and Duke (ex-locals) have decided to travel this year along with a couple of mates, not sure where they have played last or how good they are, so I hope the previous stats are correct. Ratty, Duke and one of the mates all own/mangers the "Y" bar Glenferrie rd Hawthorn, so you know where our footy trip will be!
cellar dweller
2 Apr 2008, 12:02
Just two tiny, almost insignificant peices of info you may have over looked in your haste to put forward another opinion no-one wants to hear, but Dicko has a G.V. club B&f to his name and Taylor is a G.V. interleague rep.
There are just a couple of things that to me would highlight a little bit of ability. But as you said, it's just your opinion. You stick to your guns, i'll stick to mine.
B&F in what?
Senior rep?
Have they really?
On last years form-
Dicko 3 games in the 2s before being promoted to the seniors round 9. Only in the best once in the seconds and that was in a 10 goal loss. Then with 10 games in the seniors he scraped into the best once.
Taylor played 16 games for 5 games in the best. 2 games were a 15 goal loss.
Easy to say they one has won a B&F and the other a GV rep but going on form they didnt show that sort of form last year.
When was Taylor a GV rep and what was Dicko's B&F????????
TrainerNo1
2 Apr 2008, 13:04
B&F in what?
Senior rep?
Have they really?
On last years form-
Dicko 3 games in the 2s before being promoted to the seniors round 9. Only in the best once in the seconds and that was in a 10 goal loss. Then with 10 games in the seniors he scraped into the best once.
Easy to say they one has won a B&F and the other a GV rep but going on form they didnt show that sort of form last year.
You said they couldn't cut in the G.V. Now you start going on about 1 year of their career. They probably didn't show that form last year, injuries are good for setting players back just a little bit. I would be happy to make it into the seniors in the g.v. and get in the best, if only once, after a knee reco as dicko did. 16 senior games and 5 in the best, that's one every three games. Doesn't seem too bad to me. But your entitled to your opinion, as is everyone.
cellar dweller
2 Apr 2008, 13:47
You said they couldn't cut in the G.V. Now you start going on about 1 year of their career. They probably didn't show that form last year, injuries are good for setting players back just a little bit. I would be happy to make it into the seniors in the g.v. and get in the best, if only once, after a knee reco as dicko did. 16 senior games and 5 in the best, that's one every three games. Doesn't seem too bad to me. But your entitled to your opinion, as is everyone.
Thats in a list of 5 players. Dont think you could say Shepp was much of a side either. Think you might find Strathy will be depending on how they play football now, not in years long past. In saying that you will find that my opinion is based on last year. You dont expect it based on how they play this year, do you?
B&F in what?
Senior rep?
Have they really?
On last years form-
Dicko's Best and Fairest was in "02" im pretty sure and was a senior best and fairest at that, he beat Ashy quiet easily. The reason he played a couple in the 2's last year was he was coming back from a knee reconstruction.
CATSfinallydidit
2 Apr 2008, 16:29
how will picola go this year guys? what locals are still around the club?
what about mathura? where will they finish and waht locals are still around the club? just checking up on 2 of my former teams. go the blueys!!
theintimidator
2 Apr 2008, 19:13
Thats in a list of 5 players. Dont think you could say Shepp was much of a side either. Think you might find Strathy will be depending on how they play football now, not in years long past. In saying that you will find that my opinion is based on last year. You dont expect it based on how they play this year, do you?
Cellar Dweller do you ever say anything positive about anyone or any team? Or are you above everyone? I started out despising you .... Now I just pity you!:thumbsd:
Charles Mac
3 Apr 2008, 09:14
Cellar Dweller do you ever say anything positive about anyone or any team? Or are you above everyone? I started out despising you .... Now I just pity you!:thumbsd:
There should be no negative talk about any club at the moment. All sides will be starting with a positive attitude. Cannt see how someone can get on here and totally bag out any side, especially if they have done some good recruiting over the summer. Last year Strathy had a good young running side, they can only improve their footy with the inclusion of their older more experienced recruits. They were far from the worst side we played last year.
cellar dweller
3 Apr 2008, 09:35
There should be no negative talk about any club at the moment. All sides will be starting with a positive attitude. Cannt see how someone can get on here and totally bag out any side, especially if they have done some good recruiting over the summer. Last year Strathy had a good young running side, they can only improve their footy with the inclusion of their older more experienced recruits. They were far from the worst side we played last year.
You girls are unreal. Stop reading whats not there. I havnt bagged Strathy or their players and I certainly haven't said they were the worst side last year. But I have said that I cant see them improving on last year with the recruits they have. When your down near the bottom you need to improve more than the rest of the league to climb the ladder. Improving wont be good enough if every one else improve as well. Sure a couple of sides will fall away (Dookie being one of them) but I still cant see them improving enough to be a threat come finals time.
Charles Mac
3 Apr 2008, 09:46
You girls are unreal. Stop reading whats not there. I havnt bagged Strathy or their players and I certainly haven't said they were the worst side last year. But I have said that I cant see them improving on last year with the recruits they have. When your down near the bottom you need to improve more than the rest of the league to climb the ladder. Improving wont be good enough if every one else improve as well. Sure a couple of sides will fall away (Dookie being one of them) but I still cant see them improving enough to be a threat come finals time.
Fair Point.. For those teams looking at improving and making the finals another team (from last year) has to drop out. Any predictions who may fall out of contention? Improvement for strathy might just be to be more competitive, or could be to win more games than last year or could mean 100 things. im not involved with the club so i wouldnt know what their goals for the season are. The point i was trying to make is that everyside in the comp at this time of the year should be looking forward to the season and aiming to improve on what they achieved last year.
DRINK HOLDER
3 Apr 2008, 10:52
How can you say you cant see strathy improving on last year?? they won 5 games and lost 5 or 6 by around 10 to 15 points. They had a great base with there good young running players and have topped up there list with 10 recruits. So in my opinion strathy should win 10 or more games this year because i dont think the comp as impoved as much as you are saying it going to be. let me in on your thoughts to why it is going to improve that much and who the sides are???
cellar dweller
3 Apr 2008, 12:20
How can you say you cant see strathy improving on last year?? they won 5 games and lost 5 or 6 by around 10 to 15 points. They had a great base with there good young running players and have topped up there list with 10 recruits. So in my opinion strathy should win 10 or more games this year because i dont think the comp as impoved as much as you are saying it going to be. let me in on your thoughts to why it is going to improve that much and who the sides are???
Move on boys and let the footy to the talking in a couple of weeks........
cellar dweller
3 Apr 2008, 12:21
Pity the fool that pity's me.
Charles Mac
3 Apr 2008, 12:29
Move on boys and let the footy to the talking in a couple of weeks........
Lets get back to the footy.
Winners for round 1??
My Tips
Jerilderie
Mathoura
Jerilderie
Yarraweyah
Rovers
Katandra
Tungamah
Dookie
Waaia
I know i have picked Jerilderie twice but they play two round 1 games, playing Berrigan this weekend. Could be a good start for the new side if they can win the first 2.
bigbrother35
3 Apr 2008, 13:42
Celler Dweller well done on putting up a good argument, on your thoughts about the strath recruits, you have made some good football points. Even if the three main recruits from Shepp Bears Dicko, Taylor, and Shadbolt, aren't world beaters at that level, the drop from GVFL to Pilcola league is massive, i have played in alot of country comps around Aus, and in my experience if you can introduce between 6 to 10 good solid recruits to a club at this level, and also some depth by the way of 6 average recruits and retain most players from the previous year, you will just about double your win loss ratio. Now ten to eleven wins may get them as high as sixth or as low as ten. I don't want to dwell on preseason results, but to come within one kick of Waaia, without two of their best players, and with a completely different squad that has only played two games together, you must consider that they maybe the real deal. Also dweller i have noticed that you have not put your neck out and given us your top 8, are you scared to be wrong.:confused:
cellar dweller
3 Apr 2008, 14:34
Celler Dweller well done on putting up a good argument, on your thoughts about the strath recruits, you have made some good football points. Even if the three main recruits from Shepp Bears Dicko, Taylor, and Shadbolt, aren't world beaters at that level, the drop from GVFL to Pilcola league is massive, i have played in alot of country comps around Aus, and in my experience if you can introduce between 6 to 10 good solid recruits to a club at this level, and also some depth by the way of 6 average recruits and retain most players from the previous year, you will just about double your win loss ratio. Now ten to eleven wins may get them as high as sixth or as low as ten. I don't want to dwell on preseason results, but to come within one kick of Waaia, without two of their best players, and with a completely different squad that has only played two games together, you must consider that they maybe the real deal. Also dweller i have noticed that you have not put your neck out and given us your top 8, are you scared to be wrong.:confused:
Not scared bro.
My opinion on strathy is that only an opinion. I could be wrong and it could change. I wouldnt think that my opinion is the way it is. Ive already given my thoughts on last years premiers and my early pick for this year.
As far as the rest go, hmmmmmm.
Nope I dont really care.
Any news out Tungamah way? Seem to have a few clearances coming in. Any good players amongst them?
Hey **** breath, Ive been away.
We know - school holidays!
Big Wheel
4 Apr 2008, 09:48
Not scared bro.
My opinion on strathy is that only an opinion. I could be wrong and it could change. I wouldnt think that my opinion is the way it is. Ive already given my thoughts on last years premiers and my early pick for this year.
As far as the rest go, hmmmmmm.
Nope I dont really care.
Well buddy if you don't really care p!ss off then....
I bet your a friggin umpire, thats why you don't have a team up...
Fun nazi of the football world you are.!!