View Full Version : Picola District football league

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

dazzledavey36
13 Nov 2005, 21:08
has anyone heard any news on what club is picking up who? so far i know is tungamah is getting rob wren from barooga duane heabich from devernish scott parker from Waguanya and some ruckman from Euroa. David Putermorsi has signed onm as coach again. Also look out for a kid called Mat howard! he is only 15 and boy can he play! started playing seniors when 14 and since then has developed greatly! played all season this year and was even captain for the thirds! but grabbed the oppertunity and got the call up. he also vice captain for the inter league side this year. His pace is blistering and is a very hard at it forward midfielder. The thing about him is that he has great leadership quality's has been talked about as been in the leadership group. will be trying out for the bushrangers under 18 so look out for him! oh besides im best mates with him and he is a fijian born so he has a rugby background. other news i have heard is Katandra are getting a couple of shepp guys coming down. strathy to lose a few with but there has been a rumour Lance Oswald is coming back!!??

any other talks??

dazzledavey36
15 Nov 2005, 17:14
ricky thomas to change club to katmatite.

slim18
15 Nov 2005, 20:02
has anyone heard any news on what club is picking up who? so far i know is tungamah is getting rob wren from barooga duane heabich from devernish

any other talks??

Are you sure about haebach. Iheard he was leaving devenish and going to Yarrawonga with team mate josh maher

Punter_22
16 Nov 2005, 07:16
Heard a whisper that Blighty and Mathoura are vying for the signiture of four-time Deniliquin Rams premiership coach Gary Parsons. That would be a huge coup if either club could get him.

dazzledavey36
16 Nov 2005, 16:29
Are you sure about haebach. Iheard he was leaving devenish and going to Yarrawonga with team mate josh maher
hmm he told me old man that him and his brother drew are coming back but yeah i also heard he is going to yarra?

themagicfrog
18 Nov 2005, 15:52
Does anyone know what the result of the meeting between the VCFL, NSW footy, CDFL and the PDFL was last night (Thursday 17/11/05). I know they had one that was compulsoury for the leagues to go to

dazzledavey36
19 Nov 2005, 21:03
Does anyone know what the result of the meeting between the VCFL, NSW footy, CDFL and the PDFL was last night (Thursday 17/11/05). I know they had one that was compulsoury for the leagues to go to

dont know mate? they mite have it on the website or something? but yea sorry cant help ya

hank1
22 Nov 2005, 17:07
What about the Meyland brothers (Mark and Greg) from Waaia, are they hanging around? How do they go?

Doona2
22 Nov 2005, 19:57
What about the Meyland brothers (Mark and Greg) from Waaia, are they hanging around? How do they go?

Just go and ....... ask they Meyland brothers!!!

Grimmett
22 Nov 2005, 20:19

:D :thumbsu:

themagicfrog
23 Nov 2005, 18:57
I don't know if this is old news but I just read that the PDFL will have a final 8 this year and that they will play interleauge footy againts the KDFL (league minuets). Is there any news on what Shep United and Dookie have decided on in the way of team colours and that? I know that they have to have something by PDFL meeting

dazzledavey36
23 Nov 2005, 19:00

yea the meyland brothers are still around and again they were up there with the goalkicking. from what i have heard i think they are staying around at waaia though again rumours were around saying they were leaving.

themagicfrog
23 Nov 2005, 19:21
yea the meyland brothers are still around and again they were up there with the goalkicking. from what i have heard i think they are staying around at waaia though again rumours were around saying they were leaving.
I think there would be a number of clubs in the PDFL love to see them go!

hank1
23 Nov 2005, 19:32

I will ask them personally Chris, but just thought I'd get some other peoples views first. Thanks for your thoughtful input though.
Cheers

dazzledavey36
23 Nov 2005, 19:32
the thing i dont like about them is they are so arrogent!! they think they own the bloody football league!!

but they are damn good players!!!!!

hank1
23 Nov 2005, 19:58
the thing i dont like about them is they are so arrogent!! they think they own the bloody football league!!

but they are damn good players!!!!!

Thanks for the comments mate.

Doona2
25 Nov 2005, 18:35
Boyd isn't sitting on her laurels

By Bill McCarthy

November 25 2005
Shepparton News

Winner of the Central Goulburn Football League's Administrator of the Year last season, Virginia Boyd, is not resting on her laurels.
Boyd has taken on the presidency of Dookie United Football Club as it prepares for its first Picola District Football League season.

Last season she was Dookie United's secretary after being treasurer in 2004.

"I'm pretty excited to take on the challenge. I think I have the skills to bring to the job," Boyd said.

"I learned a lot last year from Central Goulburn secretary Keith Wellman. He was fantastic to work with."

There would be no doubt in the Dookie community that she has the ability.

The former Notre Dame College student worked in the secretarial area at Dookie College, obtained a degree in Bachelor of Business at Charles Sturt University in Wagga Wagga and worked in the employment field in Shepparton and Albury before returning to Dookie 21/2 years ago,

Her husband manages the dairy farm at the college.

While her brothers from the Ellis family played football for Dookie United, Boyd played for the netball club, winning a best and fairest award in B-grade.

Boyd sees a successful football club in a country town as contributing to the community - something she is doing in other ways.

She is a member of Lifestyle Dookie, which includes a group of women who run events such as the recent day out featuring local produce such as wines, olives and lavender.

Along with others in the football-netball club and Lifestyle Dookie, she is working to lift the profile of the district.

One of the projects they are all supporting is the new community pavilion which will include much-improved facilities for football, netball, the tennis club and other local organisations.

The pavilion work is expected to start early next year.

Back to the football!

The changes at Dookie see former president Chas Dickins, a stalwart since his playing days, staying on the committee.

Frank O'Connor is senior vice-president, player Sam Verlin junior vice-president, Ian Lowden treasurer, while the new secretary is Paula Ludeman, wife of long-serving player Chris.

Players Chris Payne-Croston and Chris Ludeman are both on the committee, which has expanded to 24.

The club will hold a special meeting on Wednesday night to discuss the jumper change involved in joining Picola District league.

A sub-committee is interviewing candidates for the senior coaching position.

Joint playing coaches in recent seasons, Chris Burke and Brad Montgomery, have reapplied.

"Buck" McPhee is again reserves coach and last season's Lawless medallist Scott Greig has been appointed thirds coach.

The club is working hard on finding thirds players, after not having an under-17 team, last season.

Sidey_87
27 Nov 2005, 01:28
I don't know if this is old news but I just read that the PDFL will have a final 8 this year and that they will play interleauge footy againts the KDFL (league minuets). Is there any news on what Shep United and Dookie have decided on in the way of team colours and that? I know that they have to have something by PDFL meeting
I believe Shepp United are staying with the demons colours.
Why would they change?
Lol.
Shepp East are going to be same colours but redbacks, and dookie dragons, dark blue, light blue and white.

themagicfrog
30 Nov 2005, 12:53
I believe Shepp United are staying with the demons colours.
Why would they change?
Lol.
Shepp East are going to be same colours but redbacks, and dookie dragons, dark blue, light blue and white.
To many bloddy Shep Teams!
Any news on when teams are starting Pre season?

Doona2
6 Dec 2005, 08:07
Rangers are ready to ride into future

By Richard Goodbody
December 6 2005
Shepparton News

Dookie United's identity crisis is over.
After months of soul searching, the club officially became the Dookie United Rangers last week, and as a result, has also confirmed it will be wearing a new playing guernsey for the 2006 season.

Dookie United, who up until last season was known as the Kangaroos, was ordered to adopt a new identity including playing strip as a condition of its entry into the Picola District Football League for next year.

"The design for this jumper reflects our local area really well," United president Virginia Boyd said.

"It has the colours of the Blue and Black (from Dookie) and a white sash winding down the middle of the jumper to reflect the Dookie bends and the link between Dookie and Dookie College.

"The back of the jumper will be white with black numbers and be printed with a sponsor's logo under the number."

After United was formally accepted into the PDFL in October, the league's executive informed the club that it would have to adopt a new identity in order to prevent a jumper and name clash with the Deniliquin Rovers, who also wear the Kangaroos' colours.

"Much consideration was given to ensuring that our design did not conflict with any current club of the PDFL," Boyd said.

"We're still awaiting final approval of the jumper design by the PDFL, but we're hopeful.

"If not, our second option is to adopt the Port Adelaide (AFL) jumper."

Shepparton East, which was also ordered by the PDFL to change identities, will make a decision on its identity later this week.

themagicfrog
15 Dec 2005, 15:11
Any news on Shepp's Jumper?

Doona2
16 Dec 2005, 07:15
Wren returns to the roost at Tungamah

December 16 2005
Shepparton News

Star forward Rob Wren is set to play out his career at his home club after agreeing to return to Picola District Football League club Tungamah.
The former Victorian Country representative, who has spent the past two seasons with Murray Football League club Barooga, coached Tungamah to its most recent premiership in 1999.

Scott Parker also returns to the Bears after two seasons as coach of Wahgunyah.

"For Wrennie to come back is just fantastic for the club," Bears coach David Putamorsi said.

"I rated him as the best player I've ever seen in country footy and I obviously played with him at Euroa so it will be good to be alongside him again.

"When I agreed to coach Tungamah we made a pact that we'd play together again."

Wren began his career with the Bears before joining AFL club Richmond and stints at West Adelaide, Weston Creek, Yarrawonga, Shepparton United, Montmorency, Moonee Valley Magpies, Euroa and Barooga.

He was one of the best players in the Goulburn Valley during his two years with Euroa and represented the Goulburn Valley and Victoria Country in 2003.

"He'll give the club a real boost because he's a favourite son here and he wants to play some footy with his brother Tom, who was chased pretty hard by Barooga," Putamorsi said.

Tungamah lost the Picola District league grand final to Waaia.

Putamorsi said the club was also negotiating with former player George Nicolopoulos.

Meanwhile, Ramadan Yze, younger brother of Melbourne's Adem, has signed with Barooga.

Yze, a prime mover for Goulburn Valley club Shepparton Swans for the past three seasons, joins Swans teammate Luke Simpson at the Hawks.

The 25-year-old is the youngest sibling in a famous football family, with oldest brother Damien one of the best full-forwards in country football.

Yze's signature comes on top of those of Wodonga Raiders bigman Brendan Page, former Yarrawonga defender Nathan Morris, Diamond Valley star Lee Price and Simpson.

arceri
21 Dec 2005, 12:04
bloody hell Tungamah must be paying big coin.

Scott Parker was on plenty at Wahgunyah, Wren would be on a packet, Dodd the same and Macheda the same.

MrsKenGriffeySnr
21 Dec 2005, 13:57
hmmm, arceri... Dodd is a Tunga Boy through and through, his dad is president and he has played there since he was in 4ths. Rob Wren was born there, played all his junior footy there and now wants to play a couple of years with younger brother Tom and brother-in-law Josh Buerckner before he hangs up the boots. Scott Parker played all his junior footy there, his brother plays there, his mum is a furious supporter and last time he left Wahgunyah for Tunga he took a pay cut! That only leaves Macheda, who has played there for pretty much the last 5 years and has a lot of good mates there. He might be on a bit but cash is not the only reason blokes play footy.....

arceri
21 Dec 2005, 14:34
not saying Tunga is the only club forking out, but these blokes don't play for anything less than a very good quid.

Parker, Wren and Macheda won't drop big dollars just to play for their "home club''

It's like saying Darren Bradshaw played for stuff all at Wodonga because it was his "home club''.

It's not the only reason they play, but a huge factor

dazzledavey36
21 Dec 2005, 14:59
hey guys i play out at tunga with macheda and all those blokes and i asked mecheda how much he was getting paid and all he said was he plays for his mates and for the team he doesn't care on how much he gets paid. at tunga here we are all stick together. once someone arrives at the club they don't wanna leave cause the friendship around here is awsome!! trained with wrennie last week and he is a huge man with fantastic skills also a great bloke to. the good news also no one has left to. looking forward for a big year for us.

Doona2
21 Dec 2005, 15:21
hey guys i play out at tunga with macheda and all those blokes and i asked mecheda how much he was getting paid and all he said was he plays for his mates and for the team he doesn't care on how much he gets paid. at tunga here we are all stick together. once someone arrives at the club they don't wanna leave cause the friendship around here is awsome!! trained with wrennie last week and he is a huge man with fantastic skills also a great bloke to. the good news also no one has left to. looking forward for a big year for us.

Macheda aint gunna say what he's on, nor will Wrenny and co. Every club has to play a few players - and what the club decides depends on the budget. A player is only worth what a club is prepared to pay, so if Wrenny is getting his $500-$600 a game then that is what the Tungamah committee deems he is worth.

How is the old boy Wren looking dazzler??? Next time you're on the track tell him Doona says hi and that the Broady boys are glad he stuck at his footy coz he struggled down this way at cricket and tennis!!!

themagicfrog
21 Dec 2005, 16:09
hmmm, arceri... Dodd is a Tunga Boy through and through, his dad is president and he has played there since he was in 4ths. Rob Wren was born there, played all his junior footy there and now wants to play a couple of years with younger brother Tom and brother-in-law Josh Buerckner before he hangs up the boots. Scott Parker played all his junior footy there, his brother plays there, his mum is a furious supporter and last time he left Wahgunyah for Tunga he took a pay cut! That only leaves Macheda, who has played there for pretty much the last 5 years and has a lot of good mates there. He might be on a bit but cash is not the only reason blokes play footy.....
I know a few blokes that play for there home towns that have been offered a money, jobs and accommodation to play in near by towns, but declined and still are playing for nothing because of there loyalty to the town and the club. Then there are those who have come back because of the money and not showed anything near there potential or heart for there Club. Most locals will do it for there club but there will always be those who will make sure they get the money and then give there loyalty.

dazzledavey36
21 Dec 2005, 20:33
Macheda aint gunna say what he's on, nor will Wrenny and co. Every club has to play a few players - and what the club decides depends on the budget. A player is only worth what a club is prepared to pay, so if Wrenny is getting his $500-$600 a game then that is what the Tungamah committee deems he is worth.

How is the old boy Wren looking dazzler??? Next time you're on the track tell him Doona says hi and that the Broady boys are glad he stuck at his footy coz he struggled down this way at cricket and tennis!!!

you can tell wrennies footy career is coming to a end soon but i dont really know his age> maybe 36-38?? il tell him you said gday doona :thumbsu:

Doona2
22 Dec 2005, 08:13
you can tell wrennies footy career is coming to a end soon but i dont really know his age> maybe 36-38?? il tell him you said gday doona :thumbsu:

Yeah Id appreciate that, am intending to come watch when ya's play SHepp East. Dont think he's that old, more around the 33 mark. From memory it was around 90-91 when he was drafted to Richmond from Assumption College. I'll stand corrected if Im wrong though.

Doona2
26 Dec 2005, 18:44
Greig to take the helm at Dookie
By Bill McCarthy
December 26 2005
Shepparton News

Scott Greig has ideal credentials to take over as senior playing coach of Dookie United Football Club.
Not only did the strongly-built 193 cm Greig win the Dookie United best and fairest last season, he was also Central Goulburn Football League's best and fairest.

Add the fact that he moved to Dookie to live about a year ago and became a popular member of the club and the community.

Then throw in coaching experience with Merrigum and the Shepparton United reserves.

And the fact that he can play knock ruckman, centre halfforward or full forward.

Club president Virginia Boyd said Greig was very popular with the university students in the team.

"It's an important time in our history - going into a new league, with a new jumper, a new coach and a new president," she said.

Boyd said training was expected to start about midJanuary, but the students would not be back until February.

"We are looking at doing a lot of pre-season at the college, where there is a pool, gym and an oval," Boyd said.

Last season's joint coaches, Chris Burke and Brad Montgomery, did not reapply.

Doona2
27 Dec 2005, 09:14
Waaia reels as Varcoe rejects coaching job

By Mark Brown
December 27 2005
Shepparton News

Defending Picola District Football League premier Waaia is back in the hunt for a senior coach.

The Bombers' bid for back-to-back flags has been dealt a major blow following the unexpected withdrawal of leading candidate Jon Varcoe from the coaches' race.

Varcoe, who led Waaia to successive premierships in the mid '90s, was considered a near-certainty to replace outgoing coach Mick Cleeland.

However, club president Doug Larkin yesterday confirmed that Varcoe had withdrawn his application.

"I can definitely say that Jon won't be coaching Waaia next year," Larkin said yesterday.

"It's a bit disappointing, but that's footy."

Waaia had been in negotiations with Varcoe for several weeks.

Larkin said while Waaia would have preferred to have had its coaching position filled heading into the Christmas/New Year break, the club certainly wasn't hitting the panic button as a result of this latest setback.

"Not at all," he said.

"I can guarantee you that we'll have a coach when we run out for the first game."

Waaia stunned the PDFL when it upset ragingfavourite Tungamah to win this year's grand final.

Doona2
30 Dec 2005, 11:25
Barden to take reins at Blighty

By Tim Rowe
December 30 2005
Shepparton News

Blighty has appointed Matt Barden as coach for next season as it attempts to force its way back up the Picola District Football League ladder.
Barden, who played for Blighty in 2002, takes over from Rob Daniel in a nonplaying capacity.

Daniel will play on with the Redeyes next year.

The Redeyes won three games and suffered 15 losses and finished in 11th place on the ladder this year.

The talented former Bendigo Pioneers, Gunbower and Echuca player's onfield career has been cut short due to his constant battle with knee problems.

"I'm genuinely excited about the proposition. I always thought I'd like to coach," Barden said.

"Starting at senior level is going to be a challenge but being aware of their history, that's the main reason I took the job, they're such a strong community."

New Blighty president Graeme Barker, who recently replaced Gilbert Bain in the role, said the club had a strong playing base for Barden to work with.

"There's some good juniors coming through the ranks, we probably just need two or three players and we'll be back up there again," Barker said.

"And I can honestly say we are looking forward to playing (new league clubs) Shepparton East and Dookie United."

Barden, whose appointment was only made official last week, said he had put the feelers out in an effort to attract recruits.

"I've grown up around Echuca so hopefully I can bring a few across," Barden said.

"With the new league, we're looking at making the top six. I'm certainly aware of the Picola league standard.

"If we can achieve that, then I think we will have done well."

On The Money
2 Jan 2006, 01:48
Barden to take reins at Blighty

By Tim Rowe
December 30 2005
Shepparton News

Blighty has appointed Matt Barden as coach for next season as it attempts to force its way back up the Picola District Football League ladder.
Barden, who played for Blighty in 2002, takes over from Rob Daniel in a nonplaying capacity.

Daniel will play on with the Redeyes next year.

The Redeyes won three games and suffered 15 losses and finished in 11th place on the ladder this year.

The talented former Bendigo Pioneers, Gunbower and Echuca player's onfield career has been cut short due to his constant battle with knee problems.

"I'm genuinely excited about the proposition. I always thought I'd like to coach," Barden said.

"Starting at senior level is going to be a challenge but being aware of their history, that's the main reason I took the job, they're such a strong community."

New Blighty president Graeme Barker, who recently replaced Gilbert Bain in the role, said the club had a strong playing base for Barden to work with.

"There's some good juniors coming through the ranks, we probably just need two or three players and we'll be back up there again," Barker said.

"And I can honestly say we are looking forward to playing (new league clubs) Shepparton East and Dookie United."

Barden, whose appointment was only made official last week, said he had put the feelers out in an effort to attract recruits.

"I've grown up around Echuca so hopefully I can bring a few across," Barden said.

"With the new league, we're looking at making the top six. I'm certainly aware of the Picola league standard.

"If we can achieve that, then I think we will have done well."

U love this site don't u doona posting articles and that! do you work at a paper now seen u mention something about working at the Kilmore paper when there some fireworks with Locky on here.

Doona2
2 Jan 2006, 15:01
U love this site don't u doona posting articles and that! do you work at a paper now seen u mention something about working at the Kilmore paper when there some fireworks with Locky on here.

I do read most papers on line daily mate and love me footy thats all. I spent 4 and a bit years doing sport for the local papers in Kilmore and I guess part of reading papers is the hope of finding a way back into it someday. I actually have found some things very informative over the past 6 months, and things I think may be appealing to others I try to pass on (articles etc)

Doona2
2 Jan 2006, 15:01
Coach predicts strong showing

By Tim Rowe
January 2 2006
Shepparton News

Last year's Picola District Football League runner-up Tungamah has denied it is facing a player exodus this season.
Coach David Putamorsi has strongly rejected the claims, saying it will be even stronger than the side that lost to Waaia in the grand final.

The Bears managed to lure star forward Rob Wren, a Victorian Country representative, and onballer Scott Parker back to the club.

Wren coached Tungamah to its most recent premiership in 1999 and Parker has spent the past two years in charge of Wagunyah.

"We'll be strong again," Putamorsi said.

"We were pretty lucky with injuries last season. But everyone's hungry and keen to stick around because we've still got a goal we want to achieve (a premiership)."

Putamorsi said doubt remained whether talented young on-baller Tim Cooper would return to the Bears.

"He might be going to college in Melbourne but we're hopeful that he'll come back and play for us," he said.

In a further boost to the Bears, Putamorsi has been able to entice his brother-inlaw, ruckman-forward Scott Meehan, to the club.

Meehan most recently played for Lalbert in the Central Murray Football League.

Putamorsi said the Bears were still in talks with a number of possible recruits, including former player George Nicolopoulos and Mulwala's Trent Creek.

n Meanwhile, Katandra has been quiet in the recruiting stakes, according to coach Mark Lambourn.

Lambourn said the Kats had a few possible new additions to the side but as yet none had put pen to paper.

"I've spoken to a lot and I'll probably do a bit more next week," Lambourn said.

"But I'd suspect we'd lose more than we gain.

"It's one of those things, no-one's prepared to commit just yet."

The Kats went through the home-and-away season undefeated before losing twice in the finals series, being bounced out in the preliminary by Waaia.

League centre halfforward of the year Ray Bramley, who travelled from Maryborough for most of the season, has departed.

Doona2
2 Jan 2006, 15:04
By Bill McCarthy
December 26 2005
Shepparton News

Scott Greig has ideal credentials to take over as senior playing coach of Dookie United Football Club.
Not only did the strongly-built 193 cm Greig win the Dookie United best and fairest last season, he was also Central Goulburn Football League's best and fairest.

Add the fact that he moved to Dookie to live about a year ago and became a popular member of the club and the community.

Then throw in coaching experience with Merrigum and the Shepparton United reserves.

And the fact that he can play knock ruckman, centre halfforward or full forward.

Club president Virginia Boyd said Greig was very popular with the university students in the team.

"It's an important time in our history - going into a new league, with a new jumper, a new coach and a new president," she said.

Boyd said training was expected to start about midJanuary, but the students would not be back until February.

"We are looking at doing a lot of pre-season at the college, where there is a pool, gym and an oval," Boyd said.

Last season's joint coaches, Chris Burke and Brad Montgomery, did not reapply.

Burke keen to set the record straight

January 2 2006
Shepparton News

To whom it may concern:

After reading the article regarding the Dookie United coaching appointment in Monday's (December 26) Shepparton News, there was a statement made that caught my attention.

I refer to the closing sentence that stated that past coaches Brad Montgomery and Chris Burke had not reapplied for the position.

I wish to correct that by stating that we did reapply for the position and did in fact have an interview meeting with the selection committee.

There were two applicants interviewed after the initial application time had closed.

From here it was a committee decision that no appointment would be made and that the position would be readvertised as we, or the other applicant obviously were not successful in our application.

It was after the readvertising of the position, which occurred without even informing us of our unsuccessful application, that we decided to withdraw the application for the position as it was made very clear that we would not be supported in a coaching position at the club.

It also had been stated in a previous article run some weeks ago by The News that we (Brad and myself) had reapplied.

Personally, I wish Scott Greig and the players at Dookie United a successful year, however, I feel it is very important that people receive the correct information.

Regards,

Chris Burke

themagicfrog
3 Jan 2006, 07:13

I know that Iv'e said this before but I'm now located 3200 km's away from my beloved Berrigan Saints and don't exactly get the Shep News up here and I can not wait for Doona to post another article so I can find out what's going on down there with the Picola, Murray and other comps.
Keep up the great work Doona.

Doona2
3 Jan 2006, 17:06
This one is for you magicfrog!!!!

:thumbsu:

Golden fleeced Ram joins a new mob

By Mark Brown
January 3 2006
Shepparton News

Deniliquin has lost the services of explosive onballer Andrew May.
Rams coach Chris Mitsch yesterday all but confirmed the four-time premiership star had quit the club and would cross to Balranald for the coming season.

"Things aren't looking too bad (for next season), apart from Andy," Mitsch said.

"He's apparently heading over to Balranald, which is a bit of a blow for us. He's a very good player."

May, widely regarded as one of the premier onballers in Murray Football League, was a member of the Rams' all-conquering premiership quadrella from 2001-04.

His loss will leave a considerable hole in Deniliquin's on-ball stocks, however, it's not all bad news for the Rams.

Key defender Rob Resuggan has baulked at an invitation to follow May and will remain at Deniliquin next season.

"Rob has committed, which is great news," Mitsch said.

"He had a bit of a think about it (rival offer) but has decided to stick around.

"Rob's developed into a top-line defender.

"He did some great jobs for us last season and it's nice to know he's there to cover the opposition's key forward."

Mitsch said the club had also regained the services of premiership player Tim Holobowski, who has returned from the Gold Coast.

Troy Bartlett will also resume playing after missing most of last year with the dreaded osteitis pubis.

Mitsch said he was quietly confident the Rams could remain a genuine contender this year.

"We've probably got 10 or a dozen guys who walked straight into this side from juniors and played in two or three flags," he said.

"I'm not saying they got it easy, but hopefully last year was a reminder how hard premierships are to win and that sparks them to work even harder this year."

Deniliquin finished fourth last season, missing the grand final for the first time since 1999

dazzledavey36
4 Jan 2006, 16:55
Coach predicts strong showing

By Tim Rowe
January 2 2006
Shepparton News

Last year's Picola District Football League runner-up Tungamah has denied it is facing a player exodus this season.
Coach David Putamorsi has strongly rejected the claims, saying it will be even stronger than the side that lost to Waaia in the grand final.

The Bears managed to lure star forward Rob Wren, a Victorian Country representative, and onballer Scott Parker back to the club.

Wren coached Tungamah to its most recent premiership in 1999 and Parker has spent the past two years in charge of Wagunyah.

"We'll be strong again," Putamorsi said.

"We were pretty lucky with injuries last season. But everyone's hungry and keen to stick around because we've still got a goal we want to achieve (a premiership)."

Putamorsi said doubt remained whether talented young on-baller Tim Cooper would return to the Bears.

"He might be going to college in Melbourne but we're hopeful that he'll come back and play for us," he said.

In a further boost to the Bears, Putamorsi has been able to entice his brother-inlaw, ruckman-forward Scott Meehan, to the club.

Meehan most recently played for Lalbert in the Central Murray Football League.

Putamorsi said the Bears were still in talks with a number of possible recruits, including former player George Nicolopoulos and Mulwala's Trent Creek.

n Meanwhile, Katandra has been quiet in the recruiting stakes, according to coach Mark Lambourn.

Lambourn said the Kats had a few possible new additions to the side but as yet none had put pen to paper.

"I've spoken to a lot and I'll probably do a bit more next week," Lambourn said.

"But I'd suspect we'd lose more than we gain.

"It's one of those things, no-one's prepared to commit just yet."

The Kats went through the home-and-away season undefeated before losing twice in the finals series, being bounced out in the preliminary by Waaia.

League centre halfforward of the year Ray Bramley, who travelled from Maryborough for most of the season, has departed.

keep it up mate that is top job your doing!!:thumbsu: we are starting to look a mighty team now but trent creeck will be a huge boost if we can get him on bored!! doesn anyone know about this meehan bloke??

go bears!!!

Doona2
5 Jan 2006, 06:13
Pies' recruiting drive reaps dividends

By Tim Rowe
January 5 2006
Shepparton News

An ambitious recruiting drive by perennial Picola District Football League cellar dweller Wunghnu appears to have paid dividends.

After failing to win a game and their coach Kim McElhinney walking out mid-year, the Magpies have gathered the basis of a whole new side for the coming season.

"We've recruited a few, about 15 blokes actually . . . and I'm working on a few more," new coach Adrian Timmis said yesterday.

"If we get them we'll be laughing. They just wanted to wait until after Christmas and new year before making their decision."

Mooroopna reserves best and fairest winner Luke Anderson and Shepparton East quintet Ross Cuthbert, Travis Brand, Allistair Wood, Danny Clark and Mark Wayman will line up with the Magpies this year.

Tocumwal pair Justin Ivens and Gary Kelly and former Shepparton Swans half-back Cliff Rowan have also agreed to terms.

And in a further boost for Timmis, former Ballan coach Stuart Craig and Shepparton East midfielder Steven Walker will share the assistant coaching role.

Timmis, a premiership player in the Magpies' thirds side in 1993, said the league would see a far more competitive and determined outfit this season.

"We're not looking to play finals, we're just wanting to stabilise the club and try and win six or seven games," the former Shepparton East premiership player said.

"We've got a fairly hard start with Waaia first up and Katamatite, but we've got Blighty at home in round four and they don't travel that well.

"The gate takings won't be that flash, but at least we'll be looking at pencilling that one in.

"We're just trying to be realistic."

Timmis said the Magpies' reigning best and fairest winner Adrian Brand would again line up with the club this year.

"In hindsight they only really had a handful of senior standard guys (last year)," he said.

"A lot of blokes were really only seconds footballers that had to play two games."

TuskenRaider
5 Jan 2006, 07:40
doesn anyone know about this meehan bloke??

go bears!!!
Meehan will be very handy up forward for Tungamah, he can take a strong grab and could play out of the square or up at CHF if needed. I would imagine he'll play in the ruck for fair periods and he'll take plenty of marks around the ground when he does.

It'll give Tunga a lot of flexibility as Buckley will be able to go forward more for a rest and with the Wren brothers and Macheda floating around the Bears are going to give some opposition backlines a nightmare.

dazzledavey36
5 Jan 2006, 10:00
Meehan will be very handy up forward for Tungamah, he can take a strong grab and could play out of the square or up at CHF if needed. I would imagine he'll play in the ruck for fair periods and he'll take plenty of marks around the ground when he does.

It'll give Tunga a lot of flexibility as Buckley will be able to go forward more for a rest and with the Wren brothers and Macheda floating around the Bears are going to give some opposition backlines a nightmare.

sounds good to me! just what we needed another ruckman to ease the load from bucko. how tall is he??

TuskenRaider
5 Jan 2006, 12:29
sounds good to me! just what we needed another ruckman to ease the load from bucko. how tall is he??
I don't think he'd be as tall as Buckley, but he's a a good workhorse who will just keep competing all day.

galloping gasometer
6 Jan 2006, 09:09
Is Scotty McKenzie still kicking around for Picola up there? What about Byrnes at Picola......havent been around for a couple of years and was wondering whether still going or pensioned off.........:)

Travvy43
6 Jan 2006, 09:31
Is Scotty McKenzie still kicking around for Picola up there? What about Byrnes at Picola......havent been around for a couple of years and was wondering whether still going or pensioned off.........:)

Not sure about McKenzie, but Byrnes was still having the occasional run int he twos with Picola last year and helping Brunt out on the bench in the seniors.

Doona2
11 Jan 2006, 10:33
Two clubs still to sign senior coaches

By Richard Goodbody
January 11 2006
Shepparton News

Reigning premiers Nathalia and Waaia are the only clubs in the Goulburn Murray region without a senior coach for the forthcoming season.
The premiership clubs, which are the current Murray and Picola District football leagues' champions respectively, remain on the lookout for new headhonchos after Mick Cleeland and John Nihill retired at the end of last season.

While Nathalia remains optimistic that it will sign a coach in the coming days, the Bombers are yet to make an announcement on who will lead them this year with just 11 weeks remaining before the season proper begins.

Speculation continues to mount that Cleeland will return to the Bombers' post, despite having resigned from the role and having rejected the Purples' position, but the whispers are getting louder by the day.

In all, there are 53 clubs in the Goulburn Murray region, which incorporates the aforementioned competitions, as well as the Goulburn Valley and Kyabram District football leagues.

In a major shake-up, there will be 25 new coaches for the coming season, while the remaining 28 will enter their second year or more in charge respectively.

GVFL

Peter Tossol (Mansfield)

Travis Ryan (Tatura)

David Williams (Rochester)

Steve Daniel (Seymour)

Dylan Butler (Echuca)

Anthony Mellington (Shepparton)

Steve Hazelman (Shepparton United)

David Gleeson (Euroa)

Jason MacFarlane (Benalla)

Jarrod Sutherland (Shepparton Swans)

Mark Adamson (Kyabram)

Derek Hall (Mooroopna)

MFL

Chris Mitsch (Deniliquin)

Chris Kennedy (Mulwala)

Leon Higgins (Tocumwal)

Tony Tranter (Barooga)

Rob McCartney (Numurkah)

Travis Hampshire (Congupna)

Mark Heritage (Echuca United)

Greg Brain (Finley)

Trevor Mills (Cobram)

Adrian Hickmott (Rumbalara)

Daryl Harrison (Tongala)

Paul Clarke (Moama)

??? (Nathalia)

KDFL

Scott Hanson (Rushworth)

Corey Carver (Lancaster)

Mark Patten (Stanhope)

Peter Thorpe (Avenel)

Matt McDonald (Murchison)

Gerard Osborne (Tallygaroopna)

Brian Simpkin (Ardmona)

Ross Andrews (Nagambie)

Jodie Canavan (Girgarre)

Shane McLennan (Merrigum)

Darren Kirkpatrick (Violet Town)

Adrian Wilson (Yea)

Jason Whittaker (Undera)

PDFL

Mark Lambourn (Katandra)

Adrian Timmis (Wunghnu)

Adam Brunt (Picola United)

Darren Ogier (Katamatite)

Adam Waasdorp (Yarroweyah)

Scott Greig (Dookie United)

David Putamorsi (Tungamah)

Terry Blake (Mathoura)

Jeff Fehring (Deniliquin Rovers)

Chris O'Dwyer (Katunga)

Matt Barden (Blighty)

Gerard Doyle (Shepparton East)

Barry Roe (Berrigan)

John Brunskill (Strathmerton)

??? (Waaia)

gazza12
11 Jan 2006, 11:12
doona is there any links to read the kilmore papers on the net if so can you pm them to me please thanks mate

Doona2
11 Jan 2006, 20:06
doona is there any links to read the kilmore papers on the net if so can you pm them to me please thanks mate

Nah they're not up to speed with the latest in technology or web based media unfortunately.

Doona2
17 Jan 2006, 08:12
Tigers boss hunts for recruits

By Tim Rowe
January 17 2006
Shepparton News

First-season Katamatite coach Darren Ogier has quickly become accustomed to the tough Goulburn Murray recruiting climate.
Echoing the sentiments of most football coaches in the region, Ogier said it was frustrating not to be able to get potential signings to commit to the club.

Ogier, a former Carlton, Sydney and Melbourne player, was appointed to the helm of the Tigers in October after playing in their losing 2004 grand final side.

"There's a few blokes in the pipeline," Ogier said yesterday.

"But the thing I've found up here is, it's either football or cricket season.

"No-one wants to commit yet, and that's their prerogative."

A non-playing coach, Ogier has approached 40 to 50 players since taking over, but was yet to get any to put pen to paper.

"There's still quite a few on the go," he said.

"If we get three or four, even one or two of those, we've done well."

Ogier said the Tigers were trying to nurture home grown talent and attract recruits from within the region.

Jason Biggs and Duane Farrant will be virtual recruits for the Tigers after missing the majority of last season through injury.

Ogier also expects star forward Xavier Kennedy to return to the club after spending a season with North Albury in the Ovens and Murray Football League.

"It's an ongoing battle," he said.

"You hear about clubs that have picked up eight blokes, not so much in our league, but that means there's a few that have slipped down the pecking order.

"Hopefully, we'll get a couple of them.

"We're still battling away."

The Tigers will kick-off their pre-season training after Australia Day.

themagicfrog
25 Jan 2006, 06:55
Just seeing if what's been happening on the recruits front at the clubs,
Being a berrigan Boy I know that we look to be loosing a few and if what I here is true it might be a tough year for the Mighty Saints.

Travvy43
25 Jan 2006, 07:29
Any thouhgts on how shepp east will go this year. Heard last night that they have picked up some handy recruits, ian Boyd from Kyabram, Jason Rechale (spelling) originally from swans, Steve Reid from Tongala is also going to pull the boots on with them.

themagicfrog
25 Jan 2006, 09:45
"Any thouhgts on how shepp east will go this year. Heard last night that they have picked up some handy recruits, ian Boyd from Kyabram, Jason Rechale (spelling) originally from swans, Steve Reid from Tongala is also going to pull the boots on with them."

Have they signed just the one Rachelle? is jason the bloke that played with Congupna the other year? if so is very handy

missionbreed
25 Jan 2006, 14:14
Does anyone know where Henry Button is playing his footy these days? i remeber he was a very exciting player for the blueys in the mid 90s

bigblackalsation
27 Jan 2006, 16:00
Does anyone know where Henry Button is playing his footy these days? i remeber he was a very exciting player for the blueys in the mid 90s

Works at Northcote Pool and plays for Fitzroy Reds in the D2 ammos

bigblackalsation
27 Jan 2006, 16:11
Just seeing if what's been happening on the recruits front at the clubs,
Being a berrigan Boy I know that we look to be loosing a few and if what I here is true it might be a tough year for the Mighty Saints.

U are Stewie Way based at the bakery.

U guys like Finley and Toc when they have a cash shortage will just about always struggle its crap to see but it will be interesting to see what happens up that in the next few years. Just don't appoint porker captain.

Matty O - Gone don't know where might change seeing he is engaged to that girl from town.

Baldwin and Davis - Departures form the Cattery, even though they never really played.

Wheres Nevo, Bonga, Marrett and Bushie these days?:thumbsu: :D

carntheblue&whitehoops
1 Feb 2006, 19:04
Works at Northcote Pool and plays for Fitzroy Reds in the D2 ammos
dont know where you herd that one but he has never played at fitzroy reds, he played at simpson last season and is headed to colac imps this season.

Doona2
2 Feb 2006, 14:50
Few Shepp East boys put in for clearances to Wunghnu - refresh my memory which one has the senior gig?

bigblackalsation
2 Feb 2006, 17:35
\Where is Gregor Teague these days?

ringo1
3 Feb 2006, 12:05
Disappointing to see that Berrigan are losing a couple. They had a good foundation to build on. Is Onley still there?How is Terry Blake going at Mathoura? They need someone to change things around there.

Doona2
8 Feb 2006, 20:48
By Bill McCarthy
December 26 2005
Shepparton News

Last season's joint coaches, Chris Burke and Brad Montgomery, did not reapply

Burke keen to set the record straight

January 2 2006
Shepparton News

To whom it may concern:

After reading the article regarding the Dookie United coaching appointment in Monday's (December 26) Shepparton News, there was a statement made that caught my attention.

I refer to the closing sentence that stated that past coaches Brad Montgomery and Chris Burke had not reapplied for the position.

I wish to correct that by stating that we did reapply for the position and did in fact have an interview meeting with the selection committee.

There were two applicants interviewed after the initial application time had closed.

From here it was a committee decision that no appointment would be made and that the position would be readvertised as we, or the other applicant obviously were not successful in our application.

It was after the readvertising of the position, which occurred without even informing us of our unsuccessful application, that we decided to withdraw the application for the position as it was made very clear that we would not be supported in a coaching position at the club.

It also had been stated in a previous article run some weeks ago by The News that we (Brad and myself) had reapplied.

Personally, I wish Scott Greig and the players at Dookie United a successful year, however, I feel it is very important that people receive the correct information.

Regards,

Chris Burke

Massive news at Dookie . . . . . Would the fact that Burkey, Monty and John Weber have all lodged clearances to leave Dookie and join Shepp East have anything to do with the apparent fallout over Dookie's coaching appointment???

Doona2
13 Feb 2006, 07:05
Rangers to pull on Port Power colours

By Richard Goodbody
Shepparton News

Dookie United will attempt to "power up" this year after officially adopting Port Adelaide's playing strip for this season.

The Rangers yesterday confirmed they would be wearing the teal, black and white colours this season after the Picola District Football League had ordered them to change jumpers and nicknames over the summer.

The league's decision was prompted by the fact Deniliquin Rovers, who are also in the league, currently wear the same jumper as Dookie did last year.

"It's good to have our colours finalised and now we can get on with things," Dookie president Virginia Boyd said.

"Things are looking really good at the moment, so we're happy with where we're at."

In early December, Dookie announced it would wear a unique strip for the coming season which consisted of blue and black, and a white sash winding down the middle of the jumper to reflect the Dookie bends.

However, the league recently rejected that move and duly ordered Dookie to rethink its decision.

As a result, the club felt it had no other option but to adopt its second choice design.

"It was an extremely close vote when we first voted on the two jumpers, so I don't think it's going to matter too much," Boyd said.

"But the league thought there was a perceived jumper clash with Picola United and they wanted us to find something else.

"Personally, I'm disappointed and so are some of our members, but that's the way it goes.

Meanwhile, dual premiership coach Chris Pohlner has accepted a position with the Rangers.

Pohlner, who is a former player with Dookie, recently agreed to join the club's selection panel.

"It's good to have Chris on board," Boyd said.

"We're still talking to a lot of players and we've still got to sign up an assistant coach, but we're getting there.

"Hopefully we can lock a few up over the next few weeks."

Doona2
15 Feb 2006, 08:30
Ex-coaches cross to East

By Tim Rowe
February 15 2006
Shepparton News

Shepparton East has landed the prized signatures of former Dookie United coaches Chris Burke and Brad Montgomery as it prepares for its inaugural Picola District Football League season.

Eagles coach Gerard Doyle confirmed the duo's presence at the club, along with ex-Dookie teammate John Weber.

Burke and Montgomery, who jointly coached Dookie last season, had re-applied for the position, but the committee overlooked the pair in favour of ruckman Scott Greig.

"They've been great pickups," Doyle said.

"Burkey will play in the midfield and half-back and Montgomery will probably play as a permanent forward pocket.

"And John Weber, he can play just about anywhere, I'm rapt with him."

Shepparton East's other confirmed pre-season signings so far include:

** Cousins Chris and Scott Turner (Murchison);

** Joe Perkovic (Shepparton United);

** Jason Hanley (Mathoura);

** Steven Reid will move from Tongala; and

** Former Shepparton Gators basketball captain Brett Bathman will try his hand with the Eagles.

Doyle said Shepparton East, which finished third in the now-defunct Central Goulburn Football League last year, needed to improve if it was to push the top sides in the PDFL.

"I'm very unsure," the experienced coach said.

"We're told through research we've done that we'll be competitive.

"I'd say we'll have a better side that we did last year, but my opinion is that we're going to a stronger competition, so we needed to (improve)."

The Eagles' biggest losses for the 2006 campaign are Darwin-bound Hayden Bray, Glenn James (Undera), Adrian Cole (Numurkah) and Dale Piggott, who is moving to Melbourne.

Shepparton East will travel to Katandra for its first opening round on April 1.

ringo1
15 Feb 2006, 10:56
Could someone tell me if big Jeff Fehring is still involved with Deni Rovers?-ex St.Kilda. I read that he was coach up there last year.

dazzledavey36
18 Feb 2006, 08:25
Could someone tell me if big Jeff Fehring is still involved with Deni Rovers?-ex St.Kilda. I read that he was coach up there last year.

yep still coaching them this year....

willo1
18 Feb 2006, 11:27
mathoura had 45 seniors on the track thursday night

themagicfrog
3 Mar 2006, 10:00
Can anyone add to the rumour that there looks to be 3 CDFL clubs entering the PDFL next year, Jerilderie, Renie and Colly. Supposed to be outcome of meetings between PDFL clubs and VCFL officials (I’m not sure who else attended, but the clubs had to go one at a time).

TuskenRaider
3 Mar 2006, 10:38
Can anyone add to the rumour that there looks to be 3 CDFL clubs entering the PDFL next year, Jerilderie, Renie and Colly. Supposed to be outcome of meetings between PDFL clubs and VCFL officials (I’m not sure who else attended, but the clubs had to go one at a time).
Surely if they did that they'd have to split the league into 2 divisions. You wouldn't think Tunga, Shepp East, Katandra etc. would be that happy with the travelling.

ringo1
3 Mar 2006, 11:05
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: Also heard that there are moves afoot to have a league with the following sides: Cohuna, Echuca United,Moama,Lockington,Gunbower-Leitchville,Tongala,Deniliquin Rams,Deniliquin Rovers,Barham-Koondrook,Kyabram? Any truth in this and would it be viable?

ringo1
3 Mar 2006, 11:05
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: Also heard that there are moves afoot to have a league with the following sides: Cohuna, Echuca United,Moama,Lockington,Gunbower-Leitchville,Tongala,Deniliquin Rams,Deniliquin Rovers,Barham-Koondrook,Kyabram? Any truth in this and would it be viable?

RiverinAFL
3 Mar 2006, 11:13

There is a meeting coming up Mid Year between the Southern NSW AFL and VCFL. Southern NSW is the admin structure that supports Coreen, Hume, Riverina, Farrer and Northern Riverina League.

There will be bid discussions in relation to a whole restructure of the region which will included Vic border leagues including PDFL.

There are a quite a number of Clubs in Hume, Coreen that wished to move leagues this year but were told to wait one more year.

The discussions will hopefully create some very strong Major and minor leagues.

I'm waiting in anticipation of the results of the talks.

The last time something this big happened was in 1981 when the VCFL re-structured the Southern Riverina. With it ended the strong South West District League, Central Riverina and Farrer leagues. A number of clubs gained transfers to other nearby leagues (Hume, Coreen and tallangatta)

In the end we have ended up with and weaker 8 team RFL and 7 team Farrer and with a number of district clubs all over struggling over the rest ofthe region.

carntheblue&whitehoops
8 Mar 2006, 09:15
can any one tell me what are picola's chances this year and what happened to them last year when they faded at the end of the year?
are neil walker and chris o'hara still running around? they were very good junior players. where is paul ebborn playing these days?

ringo1
8 Mar 2006, 09:24
Picola are being coached by Adam Brunt-Morrison medallist and won the Picola league medal last season. A very good player. Picola are always there abouts but I think its been awhile since they won a flag. Tungamah would have to be favorites to win it as I saw they have recruited Rob Wren. Wren will go close to kicking 2oo goals in that league.

carntheblue&whitehoops
8 Mar 2006, 09:42
Picola are being coached by Adam Brunt-Morrison medallist and won the Picola league medal last season. A very good player. Picola are always there abouts but I think its been awhile since they won a flag. Tungamah would have to be favorites to win it as I saw they have recruited Rob Wren. Wren will go close to kicking 2oo goals in that league.

the last time picola made the gf was in 94 and waaia beat em by 7 goals, mckenzie was out with a broken arm and their midfielders got slaughterd.

no left foot
8 Mar 2006, 13:49
Ringo, Wren will kick 200 you think. I think he is an awesome player, I played against him when he was at Euroa. Then watched him play for Barooga a couple of times and he didnt appear to chase his man, punch from behind and became a little despondant when they didnt kick the ball to him. I am not so sure he will kick as many as you think. Besides plays best at Centre half back.

Doona2
8 Mar 2006, 17:04
Tungamah would have to be favorites to win it as I saw they have recruited Rob Wren. Wren will go close to kicking 2oo goals in that league.

Wrenny plays quite well at CHB I reckon, besides if Macheda boots 100 another 200 from Robbie will be a bit of overkill!!!

ringo1
9 Mar 2006, 06:20
Didn't wren play as a chf in GV and interleague? Perhaps I'm wrong

no left foot
9 Mar 2006, 07:15
Pretty sure Wren played CHB when GVFL was beaten by Geelong a couple of years ago at Deaken. I think he was best on for GV (from memory). He played CHB against us each time, but he is very valuable up forward. I think he started playing more forward when went Barooga. No doubt if he is 100% should be a good year.

themagicfrog
11 Mar 2006, 17:31
I just wanted to know what you all thought of these 3 proposals.
MODEL 1

Presented by the Coreen DFL

MATHOURA
DENI ROVERS
BLIGHTY
BERRIGAN
JERILDERIE
COLEAMBALLY
BILLABONG CROWS (OAKLANDS/URANA)
RENNIE
CDU (COREEN/DAYSDALE)
WAHGUNYAH

Remaining clubs form the PDFL
MODEL 2

Presented by the PDFL, 2 x 9 CLUB LEAGUE

LEAGUE 1 (9)
DENI ROVERS
MATHOURA
PICOLA UNITED
KATUNGA
STRATHMERTON
YARROWEYAH
COLEAMBALLY
JERILDERIE
BLIGHTY

LEAGUE 2 (9)
SHEPPARTON EAST
DOOKIE UNITED
TUNGAMAH
RENNIE
BERRIGAN
KATAMATITE
WAAIA
WUNGHNU
KATANDRA

TO HUME (3)
BILLABONG CROWS
CDU
MURRAY MAGPIES

TO TALLANGATTA
WAHGUNYAH

MODEL 3

Composite of all parties, 2 x 10 CLUB LEAGUES

LEAGUE 1
COLEAMBALLY
JERILDERIE
DENI ROVERS
BLIGHTY
MATHOURA
PICOLA
WAAIA
KATUNGA
STRATHMERTON
YARROWEYAH

LEAGUE 2
SHEPP EAST
DOOKIE UNITED
TUNGAMAH
RENNIE
CDU
BILLABONG CROWS
BERRIGAN
KATAMATITE
WUNGHNU
KATANDRA

OTHERS TO HUME
MURRAY MAGPIES

TO TALLANGATTA
WAHGUNYAH

These are official models, there is more info but I thought that this was enough to give you an idea on what they are thinking.

Sonny
12 Mar 2006, 19:17
Wrenny plays quite well at CHB I reckon, besides if Macheda boots 100 another 200 from Robbie will be a bit of overkill!!!
Rob Wren has previously played at Tungamah and didn't kick 200. He played on the ball and obviously was a gun. May have won the medal or was very close. He then went to Broadford, Euroa etc. Macheda kicked 100 but of that 45-50 against Wunghnu !!! How many against top sides. Trevor Sutton kicked 249 at Deni Rams but didn't win the flag because they didn't play as a team.

themagicfrog
20 Mar 2006, 06:29
It's been a while, any news around the traps?

greenlawn05
20 Mar 2006, 08:47
Lancaster Football Club is currently on the look out for a praccy match this Saturday the 25th. Yarroweah has pulled the pin after making the Night series GF and see’s no reason to play us.
Seniors, Ressies, Thirds, A-grade, B-Grade, C- Grade and the U16’s are all after a hit out. We are open to most options as the season proper is just around the corner. Any help in the electronic world of gossip would be much appreciated. A game mid week could even be a possibility. Post a reply if you can help and we can sort out the details on the phone

themagicfrog
20 Mar 2006, 14:05
has anyone out there read the article on the PDFL web site,
http://picoladfl.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=19325&orgID=382&Oname=Picola+%26+District+FL&O1c=7&O10c=2 ,
if so do they agree with what is said? Is the stuff about your club correct, There is only one thing correct in Berrigans write up.

Doona2
22 Mar 2006, 20:14
Ahmet signs with Eagles

By Tim Rowe
March 22 2006
Shepparton News

Gifted wingman Sam Ahmet will bolster Shepparton East's impressive midfield as it prepares for its inaugural Picola District Football League season.
Eagles coach Gerard Doyle confirmed Ahmet's and Shepparton Swans onballer Dale O'Neill's arrival at the club yesterday.

Ahmet, an ex-Goulburn Valley Football League representative, missed the Bears' finals campaign last year because of a foot injury.

"Sam knew what he had to do to get over his injury," Doyle said.

"He had to take his time with his cricket, but seems to be all right now.

"He's done a lot of running with his cricket."

The addition of O'Neill, who spent some years with Ardmona before crossing to the Swans, will also only increase the depth of the Eagles' midfield brigade.

"(Ahmet) will play around the midfield. I'll probably talk to him," Doyle said.

"But we might talk to him and take it easy with him for his first few games . . .

"Dale will play in the midfield as well."

An affiliate of the nowdefunct Central Goulburn Football League last year, Doyle said the Eagles' legspeed had been questioned in recent seasons.

"We probably lacked a few quicks in our midfield," he said.

"But with the players we've recruited over the last couple of seasons, we've picked up in that area."

The Eagles are expected to be at full strength for their round one clash with Katandra on April 1.

"We'll find out a little bit more against Katandra as regards to where we're at," the coach said.

T.Perry
27 Mar 2006, 06:40
Rushworth played Shepp East on the weekend and got done by 6 goals after leading at half-time. The eagles looked pretty slick and are obviously well coached. They have 2 good, young ruckman, a solid CHF back and some pretty handy on-ballers. Pearce looked good up forward, but was only really strong on a lead, and didn't look as confident in pack situations or when the ball was bombed into the forward line. Brett Bathman (who I think was capt of GV gators, but got suspended for a year) played up forward and looked ok. Good athlete, great leap, lots of confidence, will be a hand-full when on song. Sam Ahmet was clean and used it well (as you'd expect), but I reckon will be able to get tagged out of it pretty easy - he's not soft, but prefers to get the ball through handball receives rather than getting it himself. They also had a couple of quick flanker/winger types. Sensational CHB line, may be exploited on the last line of defence - when we got it over their CHB line, we scored quite easily..

Andyt30
1 Apr 2006, 18:41
Rd 1 Picola DFL
Yarroweyah 24.19 (163) v Strathmerton 7.9 (51)
Blighty 5.9 (39) V Dookie United 13.16 (94)
Katamatite 11.20 (86) v Berrigan 7.12 (54)
Tungamah 29.16 (190) V Deniliquin Rovers 8.14 (62)
Waaia 20.12 (132) v Wunghnu 8.8 (56)
Mathoura 10.8 (68) v Katunga 11.8 (74)
Katandra 10.12 (72) V Shepparton East 8.14 (62)

ROOBOY14
5 Apr 2006, 10:30
Watched Tungamah smash Deni Rovers on the weekend not from the league but have a brother that plays over there. Forget Rob Wren what about Tom Wren he looked like a class act to me. Any comments. Looks like the bears will take some beating to me. I'm on board go bears..

wobbler
5 Apr 2006, 10:36
How is Wes Teague and the Katandra Boys looking this year??

ringo1
5 Apr 2006, 10:54
Tungamah were hot favs last year and choked on the big day. You would think that they will be almost unbeatable this year. Katandra will be healthy opponents but I think they may have slipped a bit.Waaia and Yarroweyah may be the best of the rest. A strong Deni Rovers would be great for both the Picola and Murray Leagues and even up the two clubs in that town a bit.

Hotdog Vendor
6 Apr 2006, 16:35
Just wondering if anyone knows of Heath Plattfuss and whether he is any good?

roaring tiger
6 Apr 2006, 16:43
Just wondering how you reckon Yarroweyah will go this year? Any chance of finals action?

TuskenRaider
7 Apr 2006, 09:09
Tungamah were hot favs last year and choked on the big day. You would think that they will be almost unbeatable this year. Katandra will be healthy opponents but I think they may have slipped a bit.Waaia and Yarroweyah may be the best of the rest. A strong Deni Rovers would be great for both the Picola and Murray Leagues and even up the two clubs in that town a bit.
Tungamah would have to be favourites this year, but I would expect Shepp East won't be easy to beat either.

ringo1
7 Apr 2006, 09:21
Tungamah may go through the season undefeated-but the real ? is will they handle themselves better if they make the Grand Final this year. Yarroweyah may finish 3-6.

wobbler
7 Apr 2006, 10:49
The Teague boys will get Katandra up there i reckon

Andyt30
8 Apr 2006, 20:19
Strathmerton 9.17 (71) v Picola United 18.12 (120)
Dookie United 17.15 (117) v Yarroweyah 12.12 (84)
Berrigan 6.4 (40) v Blighty 24.15 (159)
Deniliquin Rovers 12.7 (79) v Katamatite 12.16 (88)
Wunghnu 7.7 (49) v Tungamah 31.12 (198)
Katunga 24.13 (157) v Waaia 7.7 (49)
Shepparton East 28.18 (186) v Mathoura 6.10 (46)

Doona2
14 Apr 2006, 07:44
Robbie Wren has been announced in the Shepp News as the coacing of the PDFL's interleague side to play the KDFL.

Dunno about the term "glamour forward" as Richie Goodbody referred to him as, from memory the big fella removes a few fangs before he runs out each week dont he? Anyways a great appointment, Wrenny has always leant himself to rep footy and is certainly the best choice.

hansie
18 Apr 2006, 12:36
Robbie Wren has been announced in the Shepp News as the coacing of the PDFL's interleague side to play the KDFL.

Dunno about the term "glamour forward" as Richie Goodbody referred to him as, from memory the big fella removes a few fangs before he runs out each week dont he? Anyways a great appointment, Wrenny has always leant himself to rep footy and is certainly the best choice.

Can confirm that mate, nice shot of Wren on the Toc page (in his Barooga colours) in the Shepp News Footy mag missing a couple of teeth....

ringo1
18 Apr 2006, 12:51
Who will the Picola league play in the interleague stuff? By the sounds of it Tungamah would be competitive in a higher standard with this years side.

Doona2
18 Apr 2006, 15:28
Who will the Picola league play in the interleague stuff? By the sounds of it Tungamah would be competitive in a higher standard with this years side.

Scheduled to play the KDFL ringo

ringo1
18 Apr 2006, 16:34
Thanks Doona? Which league is the stronger?