View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
Wayne Weideman
14 May 2006, 18:16
just another one for you boys. heard on the grape vine that matty baxter has been offered huge dollors by dunolly. dunolly believe matty baxter one out in the square are the answers to dunollys bad times of late. matty has said "no comment" to the press.
VCFL MAN
14 May 2006, 18:19
Did you do stats on Fitzy mate,or know the person that did ?
I know a source that did do stats on him.
VCFL MAN
14 May 2006, 18:20
axel collins is devastated at missing the interleague try-outs. he believe he is steven reapers young prodigy. he has been quoted saying to brett fitzpatrick "just leave me one out in the square and ill do the rest"
That is a classic post! But I rekon Axel's a bit heavier then the 'ACTION ATTRACTION'
VCFL MAN
14 May 2006, 18:22
wally teasdale is got a mouth bigger than his gimp body. the bfl are fast running out of paitence with his cocky attitude. the bfl have a no game media club {teasedale, jones, west, dole, burke and any other down sydrome blokes} we are sending low calorie pens to your media outlet now.
It takes Wallace 2 hours to watch 60 minutes. He dribbles and stutters that much that he is still commentating at half time to catch up.
Wayne Weideman
14 May 2006, 18:23
and now for the serious topic. apparently the bfl has a men for all season calendar coming out with danny o'bree the centrefold. when asked about featuring in the calendar he said "it should be a hair raising experience" :rolleyes:
VCFL MAN
14 May 2006, 18:28
and now for the serious topic. apparently the bfl has a men for all season calendar coming out with danny o'bree the centrefold. when asked about featuring in the calendar he said "it should be a hair raising experience" :rolleyes:
Al Collins has been nicknamed by his peers, Hannibal, after a comment of, "I eat fullbacks for breakfast
VCFL MAN
14 May 2006, 18:29
I believe Darren Chambers said the same thing:D
The Talking Goat
14 May 2006, 19:31
i'm told mark bourke is offering a stats service. apparantly doing centre breaks and goals from turnovers and riveting stats like that
bearsboy
14 May 2006, 21:59
I know a source that did do stats on him.would you be kind enough to tell me how many possesions where gathered by Fitzy please ,so i can correct our stats man .
Wayne Weideman
14 May 2006, 22:11
would you be kind enough to tell me how many possesions where gathered by Fitzy please ,so i can correct our stats man .
this would be the second time i have heard of him getting 40 or more touches in a game. took south bendigo to shreds in round 2. gun!!!
Wayne Weideman
14 May 2006, 22:14
would you be kind enough to tell me how many possesions where gathered by Fitzy please ,so i can correct our stats man .
bearsboy any news on weather ty elliot will be resuming play this year seeing we are speaking of guns?
bearsboy
14 May 2006, 22:22
bearsboy any news on weather ty elliot will be resuming play this year seeing we are speaking of guns?unsighted as yet , few murmers around though , could be half a chance .
The Talking Goat
14 May 2006, 23:03
bearsboy any news on weather ty elliot will be resuming play this year seeing we are speaking of guns?
weed, you seem to have some sort of fascination with ty elliott. may i ask why this is so. is he a friend of the ugliest man in football
The Talking Goat
14 May 2006, 23:04
fellow footy fans, i know this involves a different league, but i may have thought the biggest story around here at the moment is calivil united getting rolled, bringing an end to their streak
Kings Army
15 May 2006, 10:30
49 touches is incorrect information.
The paper has reported this to be correct. 30 kicks 19 handballs.
Kings Army
15 May 2006, 10:39
typical gisborne idiots. as good as they are and as good as you tell us they are it's just not enough. get over your egotistical ways and get some brains about you. there are twenty odd games in a season and you blokes are so cocky that you think your all cooler than cat :D:D:D:D. go square
Bears Boy has just stated facts that have been confirmed by the Bendigo papers. Gisborne have every right to walk around with their heads held high. Your side has never achieved the level of success that Gisborne have. But don't worry there is plenty of room on the Gisborne band wagon so hop on board and enjoy another Doggie flag. :cool:
The Talking Goat
15 May 2006, 11:01
Gisborne into $2 for the flag, i repeat Gisborne into $2 for the flag.
South Bendigo remains second favourite.
what do we make of eaglehawk. they got within a point, and should have won. no gretgrix as well. still too early to write hawks off. good win by square at mayborough, which is a venue they have struggled at in the past. interesting weekend of footy - a 1 point result, 200-point resuly. flat must have been very ordiniary
GREENMAN
15 May 2006, 12:04
Now its time for some good rumours, The Greenman has all the goss. The bulldogs are flag favs and deserve to be, and South will play of in the g/f against them. The fossils at Eaglehawk cannot keep it up all game, proof on the board now, Old legs cannot run out a BFL game now that the pace of the game is so fast. And Bears Boy, good to see ur on the mark about a club banning CCC from there games, thats not a rumour its about to become fact. Wait for this one to explode
The Talking Goat
15 May 2006, 16:54
flat v north city this week - one club is going to win their first game.
at this early stage of the week, my tip is north city
VCFL MAN
15 May 2006, 19:33
Fitzy had a blinder. I have heard terms used such as, he had AIDS on saturday cos no one would or could touch him. I believe he had 42 possessions. This is from a nuetral source too.:thumbsu:
VCFL MAN
15 May 2006, 19:37
The paper has reported this to be correct. 30 kicks 19 handballs.
This is the addy they would have got this straight from the same source as everyone else.
bearsboy
15 May 2006, 20:52
This is the addy they would have got this straight from the same source as everyone else.The so called source is a very experienced statistician , who i believe did stats at the highest level . anyway whats a few p's between friends , Fityz's a jet and there's always next week to rack up another 50 odd disposals. In saying that i'd like to suggest your "neutral source" is a peanut .
Hardluck Harry
15 May 2006, 21:11
can someone please confirm or deny if they have heard the following -
Nick Carter to retire from the Bgo Bombers at the end of this year and take up playing coach role at Golden Square unless D. Walsh takes them to the flag
I've heard there's already clubs in the GVFL who are ready to offer Carter big money but his first option is to play and coach with his brother at Square
To the goat who does the odds - what prices are J. Dawson and L. Brown for the Michelsen
VCFL MAN
15 May 2006, 22:29
The so called source is a very experienced statistician , who i believe did stats at the highest level . anyway whats a few p's between friends , Fityz's a jet and there's always next week to rack up another 50 odd disposals. In saying that i'd like to suggest your "neutral source" is a peanut .
41 possies is a great game, you may be the peanut because my source is still at the highest level:o
VCFL MAN
15 May 2006, 22:31
Nick Carter to retire from the Bgo Bombers at the end of this year and take up playing coach role at Golden Square unless D. Walsh takes them to the flag
I've heard there's already clubs in the GVFL who are ready to offer Carter big money but his first option is to play and coach with his brother at Square
To the goat who does the odds - what prices are J. Dawson and L. Brown for the Michelsen
Dont mean to butt in, but i rekon Dawson about $37 And Lachie Brown $29
GREENMAN
15 May 2006, 23:45
heres a good rumour thats gathering speed in country football. A certain ex Hawk and Roo, currently playing for Boort, is being spoken to by Gisborne, seems a connection at the club has been doing some homework to get him in Bulldog colors. Thats all the league needs is more talent in the red , white and blue. Interesting to see that Ballarat has won the VCFL div one championship over the weekend, one ponders how seriously the BFL will take there div 3 matches next week. Time for some pride and lets get back into div one , cannt have Ballarat doing all the bragging
GREENMAN
16 May 2006, 01:44
opps, they were Runners up to O&M, still a mighty effort, considdering we played them about 3 years ago in div 2. Man enough here to admitt I made a mistake. Sorry
bearsboy
16 May 2006, 09:28
heres a good rumour thats gathering speed in country football. A certain ex Hawk and Roo, currently playing for Boort, is being spoken to by Gisborne, seems a connection at the club has been doing some homework to get him in Bulldog colors. Thats all the league needs is more talent in the red , white and blue. Interesting to see that Ballarat has won the VCFL div one championship over the weekend, one ponders how seriously the BFL will take there div 3 matches next week. Time for some pride and lets get back into div one , cannt have Ballarat doing all the braggingWe need a name greenman , i think Lance Piccione is at Boort ,but could be wrong .
the moth
16 May 2006, 10:04
Greenman, apparently Ballarat were up by around 6 goals in the first half at one stage before being overrun by a pretty handy O&M side
FinalWord
16 May 2006, 10:54
No truth at all to that rumor Hardluck Harry. I know for a fact Walsh will stay at Square for as long as he wants / The club is very happy with him. As long as they improve this year he'll be the judge of whether he stays at the club or not. Certainly not bad rumors like that Hardluck Harry.
Jock Clark 2
16 May 2006, 12:56
:p GREENMAN and Moth --- don't know where you have researching but Ballarat WON the VCFL Pool A championships at the weekend.
For the record, Ballarat came from behind to beat host league the O and M by 9 points --- 8.11 (59) to 7.8 (50).
Ballarat was undefeated during the carnival. GV won just the one game and narrowly avoided relegation. The bragging GV mob beat only West Gippsland-Latrobe.
Good effort by Ballarat. The Navy Blues lost all three in Pool A last year and went back to Pool B but were saved when Football Geelong hauled the Geelong and Bellarine Leagues out of the 2006 titles --- hence Ballarat won a last minute reprieve and went back to Pool A to take the geelong League's spot.
BTW, it was early June 2004 when Bendigo played Ballarat at Austar Arena in the Friday night fixture of the Pool B series. Ballarat won -- Dekka Filo kicked 2 of Bendigo's 3 goals that night.
Navies4
16 May 2006, 13:10
Don't know what you are talking about Old Jock. Ballarat lost unfortunately.
Check the link
http://www.vcfl.com.au
The Talking Goat
16 May 2006, 13:13
:p GREENMAN and Moth --- don't know where you have researching but Ballarat WON the VCFL Pool A championships at the weekend.
For the record, Ballarat came from behind to beat host league the O and M by 9 points --- 8.11 (59) to 7.8 (50).
Ballarat was undefeated during the carnival. GV won just the one game and narrowly avoided relegation. The bragging GV mob beat only West Gippsland-Latrobe.
Good effort by Ballarat. The Navy Blues lost all three in Pool A last year and went back to Pool B but were saved when Football Geelong hauled the Geelong and Bellarine Leagues out of the 2006 titles --- hence Ballarat won a last minute reprieve and went back to Pool A to take the geelong League's spot.
BTW, it was early June 2004 when Bendigo played Ballarat at Austar Arena in the Friday night fixture of the Pool B series. Ballarat won -- Dekka Filo kicked 2 of Bendigo's 3 goals that night.
I thought you were better than that jock. Ballarat LOST the grand final to Ovens and Murray after blowing quite a significant lead. I repeat Jock, they LOST. Just like Geelong will LOSE to Collingwood this week.
patty O'furnicha
16 May 2006, 13:42
opps, they were Runners up to O&M, still a mighty effort, considdering we played them about 3 years ago in div 2. Man enough here to admitt I made a mistake. Sorry
Greenman your not the only one who made this mistake... The herald sun had an article yeserday claiming that Ballarat won also. They even interviewed the winning coach from O&M on his victory but stated it was the Ballarat Coach. Ballarat were up by 42 points at one stage before O&M pile on 5 quick ones before half time. You'd think a 42 point lead would be safe in a game of 2 25 minute halves. Ballarat lost 5 key players to injury in the final and O&M just had to much run in the end
The Talking Goat
16 May 2006, 14:01
i too saw that herald-sun article, a bit confusing, wasn't it?
Kings Army
16 May 2006, 15:14
heres a good rumour thats gathering speed in country football. A certain ex Hawk and Roo, currently playing for Boort, is being spoken to by Gisborne, seems a connection at the club has been doing some homework to get him in Bulldog colors. Thats all the league needs is more talent in the red , white and blue. Interesting to see that Ballarat has won the VCFL div one championship over the weekend, one ponders how seriously the BFL will take there div 3 matches next week. Time for some pride and lets get back into div one , cannt have Ballarat doing all the bragging
Myth-busted - he is no chance to join Gisborne.
bearsboy
16 May 2006, 16:44
Myth-busted - he is no chance to join Gisborne.Dont be so sure K.A this is starting to gain some momentum around the traps .
The Talking Goat
16 May 2006, 17:14
Dont be so sure K.A this is starting to gain some momentum around the traps .
if piccioane goes to gisborne, the bulldogs will be into $1.04 for the flag. i hear he has been burning for boort.
GREENMAN
16 May 2006, 18:41
Hang On............... did I read it correct. The Kyneton coach actuall said something good about Gisborne...............Its true, read the Addy. Neville, this is so out of character, get back to bagging the bulldogs and all other clubs like normal. Im so confused, lets get some normality back to the BFL
The Talking Goat
16 May 2006, 18:59
hmmmm, medal odds.
josh dawson an outsider for me, up at about $50, and who was the other cat someone wanted odds on, i can't remember. that's right, lachie brown.
aahh, the goat has been impressed with lachie brown's return to magpie land and is prepared to offer $22 for the medal.
Jock Clark 2
16 May 2006, 20:32
:o :o :o OK boys, paying the penance for reading the Monday Bun (page 53 to be precise) and they don't know who's won in Albury.
Have cancelled the Monday Current Bun delivery -- don't want the sad tabloid on my front lawn ever again -- and have taken mandatory one week BigFooty suspension.
Agreed, O and M won the Pool A country championship. Rest of my material on earlier page re Ballarat in 2004 title was correct. Catch you all just before Pool C is played in Barooga, starting Sat. week.
Have a nice 10 days !!
Jock Clark 2
16 May 2006, 21:09
Current Bun wasn't confusing, dear old Goat, it was just plain wrong. Sun journo should be taken out the back and hung on the rack.
Have a feeling local TeeV news plugged in with the same incorrect info, as well, on Monday evening.
They are major news outlets. Making a wrong, or incorrect, assertion on here just doesn't count to the same degree.
It is, after all, as one forum poster mentioned a page or three earlier, just a little chat room. Not going to change too many opinions as not all that many people see it.
Chat to you all (chat being the oeprative word) on May 26 !!!)
The Talking Goat
17 May 2006, 11:05
congratulations on standing yourself down jock.
Truth Hurts
17 May 2006, 14:35
How boring has this thread become!!
Bring back Josh McLoed!
The Talking Goat
17 May 2006, 14:46
How boring has this thread become!!
Bring back Josh McLoed!
it's just a quiet week man who is hurt by the truth
Truth Hurts
17 May 2006, 18:03
it's just a quiet week man who is hurt by the truth
I'm not hurt by the truth...
The truth is this place lacks entertainment value. Big time, I used to enjoy reading a bit of banter.. i'd even get involved at times. Now i nearly fall asleep reading these boring posts...
bearsboy
17 May 2006, 20:45
Any BFL interleague news , has the squad been culled yet ? i watched training tonight at Gisborne for about ten minutes, 20 on the track , so i guess it has been . who will captain the side ?
GREENMAN
17 May 2006, 23:10
Only 20 players turned up Bears Boy. Looks like the interleague for this season is once again a joke...................... Just wonder that if training was in Bendigo how many players would have turned up and which Einstein in the BFL split the training groups so that the senior squad trained at Gisborne and the U18 squad trained in Maryborough, smart move Mr Administraters in the league. Why dont we follow the Geelong Football League and boycott the interleague until we can get people serious about being involved in all levels, and have a red hot dip at it then. So Gisborne Football Netball Club can add another Bendigo based organization to stay away from Gardiner Reserve.....Interleague players, they join the growing group, including the BFL officials, opposition supporters, CCC FM, and the bendigo press who find Gisborne to hard to find on the map
GREENMAN
17 May 2006, 23:16
Heres a good rumour with some weight. The Umps are considdering a name change to what we dont know, but we are led to believe it will embrase the whole of the areas or districts they cover.....Maybe The Central Victorian Umpires Association. Hey theres a good idea lets do the same for football, why not get rid of the Bendigo Football League name and call the league Central Victorian Football League, not bad, encompasses Ballarat and all the country clubs and the 5 Bendigo clubs, think of the sponsorship opportunities for the league and clubs. Let me know what u think
hmmmm, medal odds.
josh dawson an outsider for me, up at about $50, and who was the other cat someone wanted odds on, i can't remember. that's right, lachie brown.
aahh, the goat has been impressed with lachie brown's return to magpie land and is prepared to offer $22 for the medal.
Chatty Goat - What odds can I get on Nick Knight - heard he's starting to find a bit of the ball in the last few games...
Could you possibly tell me what possy he plays, as I assume he is a forward as he kicked 5 a few weeks back?
Hardluck Harry
18 May 2006, 12:31
Only 20 players turned up Bears Boy. Looks like the interleague for this season is once again a joke...................... Just wonder that if training was in Bendigo how many players would have turned up and which Einstein in the BFL split the training groups so that the senior squad trained at Gisborne and the U18 squad trained in Maryborough, smart move Mr Administraters in the league. Why dont we follow the Geelong Football League and boycott the interleague until we can get people serious about being involved in all levels, and have a red hot dip at it then. So Gisborne Football Netball Club can add another Bendigo based organization to stay away from Gardiner Reserve.....Interleague players, they join the growing group, including the BFL officials, opposition supporters, CCC FM, and the bendigo press who find Gisborne to hard to find on the map
COuldn't agree more about inter-league. This carnival set-up is crap and not a true indication of how strong a league is.
It's just a good chance for the players and coaches to get away for a weekend of drinking interrupted by three meaningless games of footy.
Waste of good money that would be better spent in other areas.
Last weekend shows how terrible this format is.
There's no way the Ballarat league is the second best in country Victoria.
I'd back the Bendigo league to beat Ballarat in a real 120-minute game (what odds Goat man).
Of course, I'd only back Bendigo if I knew they couldn't get on the sauce the night before.
Kings Army
18 May 2006, 13:01
COuldn't agree more about inter-league. This carnival set-up is crap and not a true indication of how strong a league is.
It's just a good chance for the players and coaches to get away for a weekend of drinking interrupted by three meaningless games of footy.
I'd back the Bendigo league to beat Ballarat in a real 120-minute game (what odds Goat man).
Of course, I'd only back Bendigo if I knew they couldn't get on the sauce the night before.
The teams in Div 1 take a lot more serious than the Div 3 teams.
Gisborne would be 10/1 to win the flag in the Ballarat league but is at even money in the Bendigo league. And Gisborne would be the only Bendigo team to finish in the top 5 out of the 2 leagues. That is why I was amazed Gisborne went to a lesser league where it had no rivalry with any team. Sunbury, Melton, Melton South and Darley all have a greater rivalry with Gisborne than any of the Bendigo teams. :confused:
GREENMAN
18 May 2006, 14:33
KA.................. news flash, Sunbury have set up a task force for the future about where football is going for the old RDFL clubs, know for fact that they have spoken to Gisborne about rejojning the RDFL with them and the clubs that left 10 yrs ago, ie Melton, Darley, Melton Sth, gaining pace is this break away group. Lets be honest, its there natural home is the RDFL and add a few other teams from other comps ie Greenvale, Bacchus Marsh, Wallan, Deer Park and Keilor and you would have the strongest football comp in country Victoria................... . Also KA , I believe the bulldogs went to Bendigo due to a Footyball Victoria directive trying to aline comps to highways, ie Calder Hwy to Bendigo and Western Hwy to Ballarat. Lets get Sunbury in the BFL so at least someone will challenge Gisborne
patty O'furnicha
18 May 2006, 15:13
How often do you get to either Bendigo league or Ballarat league games Harry? i think you'll find that the Ballarat league is a fair bit stronger than the Bendigo league.
Kings Army
18 May 2006, 15:16
KA.................. news flash, Sunbury have set up a task force for the future about where football is going for the old RDFL clubs, know for fact that they have spoken to Gisborne about rejojning the RDFL with them and the clubs that left 10 yrs ago, ie Melton, Darley, Melton Sth, gaining pace is this break away group. Lets be honest, its there natural home is the RDFL and add a few other teams from other comps ie Greenvale, Bacchus Marsh, Wallan, Deer Park and Keilor and you would have the strongest football comp in country Victoria................... . Also KA , I believe the bulldogs went to Bendigo due to a Footyball Victoria directive trying to aline comps to highways, ie Calder Hwy to Bendigo and Western Hwy to Ballarat. Lets get Sunbury in the BFL so at least someone will challenge Gisborne
Heard that as well - VCFL is looking very hard into this due to dwindling numbers at games. In the old days Sunbury V Gisborne would pull a crowd of 2,000 - Gisborne V Golden Square would lucky to get 200 (including players). Same at Sunbury V Redan match - no-one attends and these are meant to be the best games of the year.
Same in Bendigo - no one would get excited about playing against Gisborne excpet for Kyneton (maybe). Even then they have all been blow outs so no-one attends. No one would miss Gisborne in the Bendigo League - but the ex RDFL teams would love to play against them.
Bring the rivalry back the crowds will follow.:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
FinalWord
18 May 2006, 15:47
Heard that as well - VCFL is looking very hard into this due to dwindling numbers at games. In the old days Sunbury V Gisborne would pull a crowd of 2,000 - Gisborne V Golden Square would lucky to get 200 (including players). Same at Sunbury V Redan match - no-one attends and these are meant to be the best games of the year.
Same in Bendigo - no one would get excited about playing against Gisborne excpet for Kyneton (maybe). Even then they have all been blow outs so no-one attends. No one would miss Gisborne in the Bendigo League - but the ex RDFL teams would love to play against them.
Bring the rivalry back the crowds will follow.:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Will be interesting to see what crowd attends the Golden Square vs Gisborne game next time they meet. If predictions are on song both teams should be 8 w & 1 L with G/Square beating Gisborne 2 of their last 3 encounters. Should bring people out, but it probably won't as crowds have dwindled in the BFL as stated. You would get a far better crowd at a normal HDFL game these days.
Interleague format is terrible too hardluck harry as I stated about 40 posts back!!!!!!!
Gareth Keenan
18 May 2006, 16:09
wally teasdale is got a mouth bigger than his gimp body. the bfl are fast running out of paitence with his cocky attitude. the bfl have a no game media club {teasedale, jones, west, dole, burke and any other down sydrome blokes} we are sending low calorie pens to your media outlet now.
From someone who doesn't live in Bendigo I reckon the local media does a great job of covering the footy.
I get the Monday, Friday and Saturday Addy sent to me and the coverage of all footy leagues is pretty good.
From what I can remember the radio coverage of footy in Bendigo is the equal of any in country Victoria.
Sounds like you are pretty narrow minded Dutchman and I'd appreciate if you wouldn't call people by that term. Maybe you're not smart enough yourself to come up with something more creative and have to resort to using people less fortunate than most of us as a tool to downgrade others.
To everyone else - keep up the good work - I enjoy the banter. Let's hope Square keeps up its form.
hectomorphic
18 May 2006, 16:14
The administrators cant be that serious about interleague having training at gisborne. No one likes traveling to gisborne on a saturday let alone mid week after a day of work. No wonder blokes didnt go.
Who would want Sunbury in the BFL?? Just let Gisborne go.
As for the crowds, I dont think there is the same family atmosphere at BFL games compared to HDFL and other country leagues. Those leagues get the family there to watch the kids then stick around to watch the seniors and get behind the club. Alot of parents in the BFL im sure just drop their kid off then pick them up after they finish.
From someone who doesn't live in Bendigo I reckon the local media does a great job of covering the footy.
I get the Monday, Friday and Saturday Addy sent to me and the coverage of all footy leagues is pretty good.
From what I can remember the radio coverage of footy in Bendigo is the equal of any in country Victoria.
Sounds like you are pretty narrow minded Dutchman and I'd appreciate if you wouldn't call people by that term. Maybe you're not smart enough yourself to come up with something more creative and have to resort to using people less fortunate than most of us as a tool to downgrade others.
To everyone else - keep up the good work - I enjoy the banter. Let's hope Square keeps up its form.
I reckon Final Word hopes Square keep their form up too!!!!
Would I be right in saying that FW?
max powers.
18 May 2006, 16:34
Will be interesting to see what crowd attends the Golden Square vs Gisborne game next time they meet. If predictions are on song both teams should be 8 w & 1 L with G/Square beating Gisborne 2 of their last 3 encounters. Should bring people out, but it probably won't as crowds have dwindled in the BFL as stated. You would get a far better crowd at a normal HDFL game these days.
Interleague format is terrible too hardluck harry as I stated about 40 posts back!!!!!!!
We'll what is the solution FW?
Back to the old format?
We need to start getting the quality players interested in playing interleague again.
Kings Army
18 May 2006, 16:47
"by that term" - are you talking about the word gimp?
max powers.
18 May 2006, 16:57
enough of the PC crap
FinalWord
18 May 2006, 17:00
That's spot on Wobble. Square to keep form of winning up ,but they must improve as a 4 qtr side before they meet Gisborne again.
They seem to be just coasting at the minute a bit too much.
Don't be surprised Kyneton give them a huge scare this weekend after the way Kyneton dealt with them at Country Vet Oval last year.
Remedy to fix or show some more interest in the BFL Interleague would be to play a full scale match against either ballarat/Sunraysia league & also a match against a HDFL rep side. Their would be huge interest in that game.. get some spirit back in the concept. That would certainly make the BFL boys play for their Pride and not to be embarrassed.HDFL huge following and I could envisage a huge crowd. Playing for certain bragging rights
Hold the games at headquaters QEO and really pump the games up. The more in the papers/tv the better. Give blokes a jumper to wear for a full scale game and reward them if the win by the way of a match payment or something to make them feel they represented the league well.
max powers.
18 May 2006, 17:07
The BFL rep side would pump HDFL....
And you shouldn't need to pay $$$ to lure the stars back!!!
Whatever happened to the good old days?
Gareth Keenan
18 May 2006, 17:08
"by that term" - are you talking about the word gimp?
I think you know which term I'm talking about
FW - surely Kyneton won't get within 10 goals of Square???
How's the form of Clayton and Dillon Anderson??
FinalWord
18 May 2006, 17:16
Dillon has been in the best consistantly as has Clayton. I think Clayton may be injured. I see he didn't play last week.
Kings Army
18 May 2006, 17:20
No I don't that is why I asked:confused: :confused:
Give this link a run "the evolution of dance"- Josh it has your Chicken Dance on it and Bears Boy it has your gangsta moves from when you ran with the Browns!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dMH0bHeiRNg
Dillon has been in the best consistantly as has Clayton. I think Clayton may be injured. I see he didn't play last week.
Dillon has been in the best twice in five games, I wouldn't call that consistent
bearsboy
18 May 2006, 17:49
No I don't that is why I asked:confused: :confused:
Give this link a run "the evolution of dance"- Josh it has your Chicken Dance on it and Bears Boy it has your gangsta moves from when you ran with the Browns!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dMH0bHeiRNg Your'e a very funny man KA , i just fell off my chair.
bearsboy
18 May 2006, 18:33
How often do you get to either Bendigo league or Ballarat league games Harry? i think you'll find that the Ballarat league is a fair bit stronger than the Bendigo league.I know this argument is getting tired , but i have seen quite a bit of both and in my opinion the best of Bendigo would beat the best of Ballarat all day ,same with edfl , i have spoken to 5 players that have played Bendigo fl and edfl in quality sides and 5 agree that bendigo footy is better footy, its only supporters that seem to disagree.
Coach Kennedy
18 May 2006, 20:10
THe only way to get all the players invoved in interleague footy is to pick the players that are prepared to give their league 110% of total committmnet. Its a well known fact that many players are picked on previous performances and in name only. Many leagues full for the trap of picking players that have no interest in playing interleague footy and have nothing to prove in playing interleague footy accept if they don't play they get penalised. They don' want to play, their clubs don't want them to play as they are contracted and have a commitment to their club. The selectors must look at players that want an opportunity to impress. I don't agree this is the best concept but its here this year so surely the selectors have got the message that many of the players that have been picked in the BFL squad have nothing left to prove. They must review their squad immediately and pick young, running enthusiasic side with plenty to prove and to gain some recognition for the BFL. The concept demands quick movement in running the ball for 2X20minute halves. Agree crap concept but?????? play players that want to play.
GREENMAN
18 May 2006, 22:06
Well Done Coach.............good comment and I agree, pick young, enthusiastic kids that will give it there all. Why dont we just play 1 game per year against Ballarat. We could play 4 football games on 1 day, showcasing the best the Bendigo has to offer against the best Ballarat has to offer. We can play an Under 18 game, then a TAC CUP U18 game followed by the BFL against the Ballarat Football league then have the Bombers verses the Nth Ballarat Rebels as a night game, Split the proceeds and share the work loads and you will get a bumper crowd, and bridge the gap between all the leagues, it will be Bendigo vrs Ballarat, include netball and let the profits role in........................
Wayne Weideman
19 May 2006, 00:02
just a little bit of news that i have heard out eaglehawk. dynamic full foward phill lobb had a falling out with the the borough on tuesday night and was told that he was not required as a player at the eaglehawk football club. however two days later lobb and eaglehawk have settled things and he will now continue to play for the borough. what's peoples opinions on this one? WEIDEMAN OUT!!! P.S- WEED'S BACK!!!!:D
Johnny Tapp
19 May 2006, 04:00
just a little bit of news that i have heard out eaglehawk. dynamic full foward phill lobb had a falling out with the the borough on tuesday night and was told that he was not required as a player at the eaglehawk football club. however two days later lobb and eaglehawk have settled things and he will now continue to play for the borough. what's peoples opinions on this one? WEIDEMAN OUT!!! P.S- WEED'S BACK!!!!:D
You always have the good goss Wayne - too bad you're so ugly....
Kings Army
19 May 2006, 10:31
I know this argument is getting tired , but i have seen quite a bit of both and in my opinion the best of Bendigo would beat the best of Ballarat all day ,same with edfl , i have spoken to 5 players that have played Bendigo fl and edfl in quality sides and 5 agree that bendigo footy is better footy, its only supporters that seem to disagree.
"quite a bit of both" Name 1 official Ballarat Football Club match you have seen?
There is no more debate BB - Ballart is rated higher. Only Gisborne would be be a chance at beating the top 4 clubs. You desparately need Bendigo to be better becuase that is all you watch and all you know.
themagicfrog
19 May 2006, 11:03
I don’t know if any of these questions have been answered on this forum before but I’m not reading through 90 odd pages to find out!
Just wanted some info on Kangaroo Flat, what are there players, committee like?
What is the general consensus about the club?
My Brother is looking to play with them and I just want to know what he is up for.
Thanks in advance
Magic
T.Perry
19 May 2006, 11:48
Well Done Coach.............good comment and I agree, pick young, enthusiastic kids that will give it there all. Why dont we just play 1 game per year against Ballarat. We could play 4 football games on 1 day, showcasing the best the Bendigo has to offer against the best Ballarat has to offer. We can play an Under 18 game, then a TAC CUP U18 game followed by the BFL against the Ballarat Football league then have the Bombers verses the Nth Ballarat Rebels as a night game, Split the proceeds and share the work loads and you will get a bumper crowd, and bridge the gap between all the leagues, it will be Bendigo vrs Ballarat, include netball and let the profits role in........................
That is a sensational idea :thumbsu: There is no reason why that shouldn't work...Get on board bendigo addy journo's! Push hard for this one - you could alternate venues between the QEO and North Ballarat...would get a huge following...if you pump it up enough, the top players will play..
For sure, reckon that would be a spot-on idea - and should be rolled out to other regions. "Rivalry Interleague" that would see Bendigo/Ballarat, GV/O&M, Geelong/Hampden etc...
KingRich
19 May 2006, 12:42
North City to post first win this weekend I'd say! From all reports Flat are no good.
Dillon has been in the best twice in five games, I wouldn't call that consistent
How has Aaron Hawkins been going do you know Wobble?
I don’t know if any of these questions have been answered on this forum before but I’m not reading through 90 odd pages to find out!
Just wanted some info on Kangaroo Flat, what are there players, committee like?
What is the general consensus about the club?
My Brother is looking to play with them and I just want to know what he is up for.
Thanks in advance
Magic
Not very succesful on the feild in the past few years, as you are prob aware. Good club and committee though. a great deal of good blokes at the club. Is he a handy player?
How has Aaron Hawkins been going do you know Wobble?
Playing his role I think Bowser, at his age that is all you can expect......
FinalWord
19 May 2006, 13:01
Hawkins may look 40 , but he is only 28-29 I think. Should be at his peak and not expecting anything else I'd say..
Bit surprised he isn't in the Interleague Squad as he was in the Squad last year and his last 2 games I see he has figured in the best!
Need some experienced players in the team.. Maybe he has slowed up a bit. Only seen him twice this year.
I think he had a falling out with Mckern who is interleague team manager and he may have had a quiet word to selectors.
themagicfrog
19 May 2006, 14:13
Not very succesful on the feild in the past few years, as you are prob aware. Good club and committee though. a great deal of good blokes at the club. Is he a handy player?
Yep he is, Had a number of Murray FL clubs after him but decided to stay on @ Berrigan as our Brother in Law is Captain.
Is our top 3 players, in his third full Senior year, runner up in Senior B&F first two years, Only Berrigan Player to make PDFL team of the year last two years in row. Plays on ball or as forward, great mark, nice long kick.
Truth Hurts
19 May 2006, 14:49
What would you know about Flat?
Wayne Weideman
19 May 2006, 15:13
just reading that luke beattie did his hammy at interleague training on wednesday night. huge blow for south, great player. you hate to think about breeza losing anymore hair over this one.
patty O'furnicha
19 May 2006, 15:13
Congratulations Greenman... i think you've just came up with the first post in 90 odd pages that everyone seems to agree with. I love the idea
Yeah but ne still goes allright from what I hear, what position is he playing do you know? On the ball i would expext? Also when is Bova expected to return to the Bulldogs?
Wayne Weideman
19 May 2006, 16:11
Yeah but ne still goes allright from what I hear, what position is he playing do you know? On the ball i would expext? Also when is Bova expexted to return to the Bulldogs?
good question there bowser. very interested to know when bova will return. he is a blue chip onballer of the bfl!!
The Talking Goat
19 May 2006, 16:24
North City $1.80
Kangaroo Flat $1.95
Golden Square $1.08
Kyneton $5.50
Gisborne $1.06
Castlemaine $5.70
South Bendigo $1.40
Maryborough $3
Eaglehawk $1.50
Sandhurst $2.75
Truth Hurts
19 May 2006, 16:30
Yeah but ne still goes allright from what I hear, what position is he playing do you know? On the ball i would expext? Also when is Bova expected to return to the Bulldogs?
Don't you ignore me pin head!
Hey bowser did you ever play for barham years back?
The Talking Goat
19 May 2006, 16:38
for me, flat v north city is the hardest game to split.
FinalWord
19 May 2006, 16:54
for me, flat v north city is the hardest game to split.
I'll have $1000 on K Flat at those ODDS. Take it out of my winnings from the $500 I had on Square when they beat the Burra boys.. Thanks Goat.
bearsboy
19 May 2006, 23:31
"quite a bit of both" Name 1 official Ballarat Football Club match you have seen?
There is no more debate BB - Ballart is rated higher. Only Gisborne would be be a chance at beating the top 4 clubs. You desparately need Bendigo to be better becuase that is all you watch and all you know."KINGS ARMY" Biggest c*ckhead on bigfooty , claims to be a Gisborne supporter , what a joke , this bloke is the laughing stock of this club . couldnt get within kooee of Gardiner reserve ,without getting punched up . hasnt seen a game since the 1999 rdfl grand final when he turned up in a Riddell jumper, then donned the red ,white and blue when Gisborne hit the front . you will see the name kings army , on a number of different threads stating all kinds of facts . let me tell you , this bloke doesnt know sh*t , he has never given a second of his time as a player ,commitee member , supporter or sponsor , the only name that comes to mind , for this moron is "band wagon jumper " as you will see on other threads he cops a bit for following the leader . So KA stop boring us with your second hand news and go away .
GREENMAN
20 May 2006, 02:31
Me thinkith the Bears Boy has his period....................... hes like a women, disagree and he bleeds and spits it. Dont give in KA, fire him up some more. Maybe he should change his name to Softy Icecream, put the heat on him and he melts..........lol. Really BB if u cannot handle the heat you should just melt out of the cone. Sure this will fire him up 2, but he knows better than to pick on the Green Man, a battle he cannot win. In saying that I better withdraw all previous comments I just made about him. (IM scared of Mrs BB)..........................................oopps, push the send button by mistake
bearsboy
20 May 2006, 08:38
Me thinkith the Bears Boy has his period....................... hes like a women, disagree and he bleeds and spits it. Dont give in KA, fire him up some more. Maybe he should change his name to Softy Icecream, put the heat on him and he melts..........lol. Really BB if u cannot handle the heat you should just melt out of the cone. Sure this will fire him up 2, but he knows better than to pick on the Green Man, a battle he cannot win. In saying that I better withdraw all previous comments I just made about him. (IM scared of Mrs BB)..........................................oopps, push the send button by mistakeJust thought i'd kick the weekend off with some friendly banter .;)
max powers.
20 May 2006, 10:17
Do you know the Anderson Boys Gareth?
On The Money
20 May 2006, 10:33
You guys are struggling............................
I'll have a dip at some selections for todays game.
Golden Square to beat Kyneton by 27 points(The tigers will fight back today).
South Bendigo to touch up Marybrough 58 points. (Should be to good all over and on the Q.E.O.
Eaglehawk will show that Sandhurst are just an average side with a 7 goal win.
Kangaroo Flat to sneak over the line by 10 points with a couple more big guns that North City.
Gisbourne to overcome a plucky Castlemaine by 38 points.