View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
The_Swifferian
10 Jun 2006, 20:03
http://bendigo.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/26.gif (http://bendigo.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=189035&comp=3972&orgid=90) Maryborough 8.6 (54) v Sandhurst 14.15 (99) http://bendigo.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/30.gif (http://bendigo.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=189036&comp=3972&orgid=90) South Bendigo 19.16 (130) v Castlemaine 14.9 (93) http://bendigo.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/26.gif (http://bendigo.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=189037&comp=3972&orgid=90) Golden Square 25.13 (163) v Kangaroo Flat 14.18 (102) http://bendigo.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/30.gif (http://bendigo.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=189038&comp=3972&orgid=90) Gisborne 36.25 (241) v North Ballarat City 12.5 (77)
The_Swifferian
10 Jun 2006, 20:04
Click the little things and you'll get the full match results.
Just arrived home from Wade Street where I enjoyed a few refreshments.
Flat were very good for a half until the Walsh & O'Toole show began. I think O'Toole finished with 7 and Walsh 5.
Interesting to note the Flat coach Brown was reported for striking as was Freeman. Again a very undisciplined performance.
For the past three years Lukey Saunders has been a class above the comp, however I continue to be amazed by the performances of Jason Griffin. He has everyright to be spoken about in the same class as Saunders.
Out and out champion footballer and a great bloke as well!
For all those out there that thought Woosha Walsh is on his last legs........I beg to differ!
Wayne Weideman
10 Jun 2006, 23:06
popped down to the qeo today and watched south beat castlemaine by 37 points. one player that has caught my attention in recent weeks is brendan jennings. his ability to win the ball close in and dish out is very effective for the bloods. after a slow start to the year he is now showing why he was third in south's b+f in 2005, top ten finish in the michelson medal and close to heading the the top five players at south. any thoughts?
caveman
10 Jun 2006, 23:58
Great to see the Flat put in a better performance and even though we still lost by 10 goals it wasnt a bad effort.
Come and check out www.bendigofooty.tk
Exclusive forum dedicated to the BFL!
Headlines will be updated daily!
GREENMAN
11 Jun 2006, 00:08
Gee what a surprise, Browney reported and Flat lost again. When will that club understand that having him as coach is only forcing there cause backwards. Watched the Gisborne machine in full flight for 3 quaters today, I think they took pity on Nth City and decided not to kick a new league record against the young kids from Nth City, Got so dark at Gisborne that u could hardly see the ball in the last 1/4. One thing though Nth City never stopped trying and were ferotious on there attack of the footy all day. Remember this all BFL clubs, when Gisborne entered the BFL there under 18 dominated in there first year and the seniors and reserves struggled..............and in there 3rd season a senior flag and the success continued. Nth Citys under 18 are dominating ( except for 2day) and there seniors and res are struggling..........sound familiar? Enjoy belting them, because soon enough they will be another Gisborne.
bearsboy
11 Jun 2006, 02:11
I heard today ,for the fourth time this year , Gisborne refered to as a cheque book footy club , what a disgraceful comment , if there is a footy club in this league with more locals than the bulldogs i'll be stuffed , everyone of these blokes either went to school in Gisborne or played juniors with Gisborne ,im getting a bit tired of hearing about how Gisborne are so close to Melbourne and keep on recruiting blokes from town , that is absolute rubbish .They are all local boys without exception . can any other club in the BFL claim to even get close to this ?
randallbone
11 Jun 2006, 11:45
popped down to the qeo today and watched south beat castlemaine by 37 points. one player that has caught my attention in recent weeks is brendan jennings. his ability to win the ball close in and dish out is very effective for the bloods. after a slow start to the year he is now showing why he was third in south's b+f in 2005, top ten finish in the michelson medal and close to heading the the top five players at south. any thoughts?
Agree Weed. Saw Daniel "Breeza" O'Bree in that game also. Would have to say he is arguably one of the best one on one marks in the BFL. A couple of the goals he kicked came from very strong marks for such a little bloke. South are travelling well, without being dominant. Their back half with Sullivan, Tasca, Flaherty, Dawson, Schubert is operating very well. Tasca has hit his straps in the last couple of weeks.
fifth quarter
11 Jun 2006, 19:17
weed u would have been impressed by the maine i would think
just one point the diff at the long break ..... 6.9 to 6.8 to south
they went goal for goal in the 3rd but then breezas 4 goals in the last got his side home
maine fought hard and were clearly not outclassed
greenman have you seen the pot stirrer (pt) down at the graveyard in your travels gisborne way
Travelled to gisborne for the 1st time on the weekend and couldnt believe my eyes when i saw the gisborne runner . couldnt help but notice the massive bulge in this guys fluro shorts ,looked like at least 2 pairs of footy socks jammed in there or maybe he was pleased with the way gisborne where going , either way good luck to him . i know this sounds a bit weird but it was that obvious , i thought it was news worthy , has any one else noticed this before , this bloke should be in the movies , not running around at gissy in 5 degree temperatures.
Kings Army
11 Jun 2006, 22:37
Travelled to gisborne for the 1st time on the weekend and couldnt believe my eyes when i saw the gisborne runner . couldnt help but notice the massive bulge in this guys fluro shorts ,looked like at least 2 pairs of footy socks jammed in there or maybe he was pleased with the way gisborne where going , either way good luck to him . i know this sounds a bit weird but it was that obvious , i thought it was news worthy , has any one else noticed this before , this bloke should be in the movies , not running around at gissy in 5 degree temperatures.
You doing the running again bears boy? Dont worry about the cheque book comment as it always happens when a club has success. Tall poopy syndrome.
Just remember all the good gissy players came from St. Brigids.:D
GREENMAN
11 Jun 2006, 23:30
fifth quarter - the pot stirrer if its who I think u mean has been gagged. See him at the footy and he is meak and mild these days, a broken man. From what I hear he has had to many kicks in the guts by the Bendgo media and some former board personal. If I know his character, it wont belong before he his back firing and then watch out folks, stir the pot he may, as someone has to, because the contents of the pot is starting to set in to rot. He has many backers pushing his cause for change.
The Flying Dutchman
12 Jun 2006, 04:06
[quote=Kings Army]You doing the running again bears boy? Dont worry about the cheque book comment as it always happens when a club has success. Tall poopy syndrome.
Just remember all the good gissy players came from St. Brigids.:D[/q
**** you ****
The Flying Dutchman
12 Jun 2006, 04:08
You doing the running again bears boy? Dont worry about the cheque book comment as it always happens when a club has success. Tall poopy syndrome.
Just remember all the good gissy players came from St. Brigids.:D
Hey, arron noonan said to me he was the best on baller foir south this year 2006.. any feedback?
The Flying Dutchman
12 Jun 2006, 04:10
[quote=The Flying Dutchman]Hey, arron noonan said to me he was the best on baller foir south this year 2006.. any feedback?[/quote
hothead101
12 Jun 2006, 20:43
shutup caveman, im with u goat! everyone suck my va gina. everyone talks about luke saunders being the best bfl player...but what about the bulldog! he snagged one and then celebrated to his brother brett. not only did he snag this sausage roll when the game was long over, he also laid one tackle deemed too high, his second possession out of two was called deliberate and he was in his own forward line, and he drank 3 full powerades after the match...pretty impressive stats, look out for a no place finish in the michelson from this young chook.
Rojer_Ramjet
12 Jun 2006, 23:08
Dylan Clarkson from maryborough is he a true talent coming up through the ranks? Any comments
Kings Army
12 Jun 2006, 23:10
[quote=Kings Army]You doing the running again bears boy? Dont worry about the cheque book comment as it always happens when a club has success. Tall poopy syndrome.
Just remember all the good gissy players came from St. Brigids.:D[/q
**** you ****
Yeah along side James Kelly, Ryan Crowley, Justin Burt, Matty Fitzy and Luke Saunders to name a few.
Hey Bears Boy - could you sing me that Gisborne Tip Toe song once more - the poms over here want to take it to Germany.
bearsboy
13 Jun 2006, 09:37
[quote=The Flying Dutchman]
Yeah along side James Kelly, Ryan Crowley, Justin Burt, Matty Fitzy and Luke Saunders to name a few.
Hey Bears Boy - could you sing me that Gisborne Tip Toe song once more - the poms over here want to take it to Germany.Just once more for you old mate ; Tip toe into Gisborne , put your boots on and get your heads kicked in . An oldy but a goody that one . On 2 seperate matters,firstly the comments about the Gisborne runner , absolutely true , this is an extraordinary package this young man carries with him day to day , secondly unless something goes terribly wrong, Michael Dillon WILL win the Michelson medal this year , not sure what odds the goat has him into , but must be the clear cut favourite and a monty to make the vic country side ths year
T.Perry
13 Jun 2006, 10:43
Went and watched the bendigo bombers 2nd's play down at Box Hill yesterday, there was a massive man called Steel, 210cm and 100+kg, who I think was from Maryborough, and a bloke up forward, Sawyer, from White Hills, who were both pretty impressive..what's the mail on these blokes - background, potential, reputation, etc..
I went to watch Jake Lloyd, but he came off at the start of the 2nd quarter with his finger bone sticking out of his finger...
fifth quarter
13 Jun 2006, 14:20
:thumbsd: no good hiding behind an assumed name dutchie
darts bourke spilled the beams sat nite
by the way aaron was one of 4 named as south i/change for sat game
for the cigar guess which one was dropped to the scooby doos
yeah u got it --- aaron went down to th dew kickrs
south_hawk
13 Jun 2006, 19:39
Hey, arron noonan said to me he was the best on baller foir south this year 2006.. any feedback?
He definitely hit the nail on the head there Mr.Aaron Noonan did. Stubbie's skills with the ball is immaculate and is definitely by far the best on baller for south and the ENTIRE BFL. Stubbie is truly one of the greats and its a shame he's wasting away in the BFL when the AFL are clearly in need of our awesome little Stubs.
bearsboy
13 Jun 2006, 21:31
heard on the grape vine this week that a certain bfl club in the top five has signed an out and out gun from vfl club northern bullants. i know that he has played AFL and is a big hard hitting centre half forward. this could be the difference come finals. don't ask the dutchman for a name cause i'm not obliged to give it away. keep you all postedAnyone got any more info about this , or any guesses as to who it is ?
2006 Premiers Inglewood
13 Jun 2006, 21:52
anyone herd the news on how woodys knee is going he should be back this week fu ck he is toey its been a long pre season for the old timer but once he gets that bell back in his hands blowies will be dished out to anyone in his path and can he swollow.. is rough beard gets all sticky with cum and its so fuc king sexy... come one cruseir from 50 into em boy.
Gee what a surprise, Browney reported and Flat lost again. When will that club understand that having him as coach is only forcing there cause backwards. Watched the Gisborne machine in full flight for 3 quaters today, I think they took pity on Nth City and decided not to kick a new league record against the young kids from Nth City, Got so dark at Gisborne that u could hardly see the ball in the last 1/4. One thing though Nth City never stopped trying and were ferotious on there attack of the footy all day. Remember this all BFL clubs, when Gisborne entered the BFL there under 18 dominated in there first year and the seniors and reserves struggled..............and in there 3rd season a senior flag and the success continued. Nth Citys under 18 are dominating ( except for 2day) and there seniors and res are struggling..........sound familiar? Enjoy belting them, because soon enough they will be another Gisborne.
crap
2006 Premiers Inglewood
13 Jun 2006, 22:06
:eek:BBBBBBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRR:e ek:
spoke4923
13 Jun 2006, 22:30
RIP: What's happening in the BFL thread.
Cheers, Pickles, Doona, Weids, Goat, and few others for making this a once enjoyable and often informative thread. All good things must come to an end, and sadly, this is the case yet again.
hothead101
13 Jun 2006, 22:56
in regards to when the wood duck would be back doing the bell, it all depends on how his back pulls up from arching it so much, especially when cruiser smashed him when the white hills fish shop burnt down. but woodies form has been quite consistent and mcpherson is having a serious look at him, especially at 6am at the YMCA where he is saving water and getting that cum out of his masculine beard.
in other woody news, word is he is going to be an uncle in 9 months time, and a father...yep same women...figure that out. f uck my head is hot.
hudeanie
13 Jun 2006, 23:23
Is troy auld pulling the boots on ths season?
T.Perry
14 Jun 2006, 09:55
Originally Posted by The Flying Dutchman
heard on the grape vine this week that a certain bfl club in the top five has signed an out and out gun from vfl club northern bullants. i know that he has played AFL and is a big hard hitting centre half forward. this could be the difference come finals. don't ask the dutchman for a name cause i'm not obliged to give it away. keep you all posted
Anyone got any more info about this , or any guesses as to who it is ?
Digby Morrell...big chance he's going to South..
T.Perry
14 Jun 2006, 09:56
Is troy auld pulling the boots on ths season?
Nah, had an operation on his feet and is flat out with the HDFL publicity officer's role..
Jock Clark 2
14 Jun 2006, 12:42
:thumbsu: Nifty Nev Massina got off an alleged abusive language charge last night at the Tribunal. His case came from the Kyneton-Eaglehawk match.
Wayne Eve also got off last night -- his case arose from the previous week's match against South and he had been booked for allegedly abusing the umpires at 1/2-time in that fixture.
hectomorphic
14 Jun 2006, 15:51
WQhat do people think about 'taking the week'? Is one week enough for some of the offences that people commit? One week is fair enough when the umpie gets on his high horse and reports someone becuase it looked rough but what about when some blokes smack blokes right in the pie hole. Should 2 weeks be more deserving? Maybe then some players wouldnt be so keen on being undisciplined or letting their temper get the better of them.
Wayne Weideman
14 Jun 2006, 17:51
:thumbsu: Nifty Nev Massina got off an alleged abusive language charge last night at the Tribunal. His case came from the Kyneton-Eaglehawk match.
Wayne Eve also got off last night -- his case arose from the previous week's match against South and he had been booked for allegedly abusing the umpires at 1/2-time in that fixture.
did damien brown have a case to answer for from the weekend? if so what's the go, playing this weekend?
Wayne Weideman
14 Jun 2006, 17:53
Nah, had an operation on his feet and is flat out with the HDFL publicity officer's role..
and doing a bang up job in the paper every week. would be a handy inclusion for south if he was fit as he would add a fair bit of physical pressence around the packs
Coach Kennedy
14 Jun 2006, 21:00
:thumbsd: RIP: What's happening in the BFL thread.
Cheers, Pickles, Doona, Weids, Goat, and few others for making this a once enjoyable and often informative thread. All good things must come to an end, and sadly, this is the case yet again.
agree spoke4923. Too much junk coming onto this once enjoyable site. Let's stick to having an enjoyable, informative chat. No need to get into the gutter when most of us really know what's happening are interested in the Bendigo League.I read with interest the comments of the blokes you listed above and and many others and enjoy the banter between them without the grotty comments that are starting to appear.:thumbsd:
bearsboy
14 Jun 2006, 21:25
Wayne Eve also got off last night -- his case arose from the previous week's match against South and he had been booked for allegedly abusing the umpires at 1/2-time in that fixture.Maybe coach Neville Massina and captain Wayne Eve need to concentrate a little more on things that are in their control , like trying to get their football side to at least be competive each week ,Nevilles always whingeing , if its not injuries its the umpires . every team has injuries , some more than Kyneton and we all know how frustrating the umpiring in the BFL can be . I cant understand why Kyneton dont win more games , i dont think their population is that different to Gisbornes , and they also have a few handy imports , as ive said before the future doesnt look all that rosey either with the u18 s winless the 2s have won a couple and i dont think the netballers have won a game between their 3 or 4 teams . This is not a cheap shot im having , just wondering if anyone can shed some light on why this club is struggling so much . There has been talk down our way about them maybe joining the Riddell league in the future .
bawkedya
15 Jun 2006, 13:35
Does anyone know how josh mcleod's groin injury is coming along? i noticed he played for the first time on the weekend and slotted a lazy 3 but i got word he is going to be out again. is it OP or just maybe poor management?
it's a shame he cant get fit because he would definatlety be playing one's like he did in 04, plenty of talent
Wayne Weideman
15 Jun 2006, 22:03
Does anyone know how josh mcleod's groin injury is coming along? i noticed he played for the first time on the weekend and slotted a lazy 3 but i got word he is going to be out again. is it OP or just maybe poor management?
it's a shame he cant get fit because he would definatlety be playing one's like he did in 04, plenty of talent
macca is picked and playing in the two's on the weekend. played well last week, for a little bloke gives a fair bit of bite in the midfield and up forward. not sure if it's OP but his groin is giving him some grief at the minute.
Wayne Weideman
15 Jun 2006, 22:18
can anyone tell me if damien brown is playing this weekend? wasn't sure if he was rubbed out or not?
bearsboy
15 Jun 2006, 22:51
VCFL announced their team today , 3 players from the Bendigo football league , fantastic effort . Luke Saunders , Michael Dillon and Shane Davis have been named in the 26 man squad . I think Luke would be in with a massive chance to captain this side , any thoughts ?
Wayne Weideman
16 Jun 2006, 13:06
VCFL announced their team today , 3 players from the Bendigo football league , fantastic effort . Luke Saunders , Michael Dillon and Shane Davis have been named in the 26 man squad . I think Luke would be in with a massive chance to captain this side , any thoughts ?
three guns picked there bearsboy no doubt about it. do you reckon there would have been any others from the bfl squad that would have been close to selection for vic country.
T.Perry
16 Jun 2006, 13:16
I was wondering if anyone knew how ex-Rushworth, now Sth Bendigo player, Daniel Bevan, is going in his rehab? How much longer til he's back in the team, is he likely to play one's when he's back?
Should be a good pick-up when fit, super quick, great grab for his size, capable of the freakish - and the nephew of warwick 'wizzer' capper..:p got some great stories about him..
Wayne Weideman
16 Jun 2006, 13:21
I was wondering if anyone knew how ex-Rushworth, now Sth Bendigo player, Daniel Bevan, is going in his rehab? How much longer til he's back in the team, is he likely to play one's when he's back?
Should be a good pick-up when fit, super quick, great grab for his size, capable of the freakish - and the nephew of warwick 'wizzer' capper..:p got some great stories about him..
yeah trev, bevo is picked to play his first game back for south tomorrow againest flat in the twos. has trained the last couple of weeks and is right to go now. not sure what the senior coaches are thinking at the minute about him going back into the ones eventually or just let him play out the year in the two's to get some confidence back. can play when he is fit
MasterOfRoc
16 Jun 2006, 14:29
Hows all the NCFL alumni going over there this year? i haven't been as up to speed with the BFL as i have in prev years
Jarman03
16 Jun 2006, 14:41
Anyone tell me how Brett Cook at Kyneton and Matty Fitsgerald at gisborne are going this year
fifth quarter
16 Jun 2006, 15:13
can help u weeds
brownie and fos freeman of the flat both took the mandatory 1 week suspension didnt contest the charges from the square game
leaves the rooers pretty weak for the game against south the locals cood b talking about the suspensions under the tree of knowlege cum saturday I'd say
The Talking Goat
16 Jun 2006, 15:33
Afternoon footy friends, here we are on another friday afternoon before bfl footy.
now, the goat will say this, after a rather lacklustre couple of weeks of bfl footy where there hasn't been much to get excited about, things will start to pick up from this week, starting with the sandhurst-gisborne clash at the Q. here are my odds this weekend:
Gisborne $1.35
Sandhurst $2.30
Golden Square $1.09
North City $8
South Bendigo $1.07
Kangaroo Flat $7.50
Castlemaine $1.80
Eaglehawk $1.90
Maryborough $1.65
Kyneton $2.10
Now, some flag odds my friends
Gisborne $1.55
South Bendigo $3.60
Golden Square $3.80
Sandhurst $5.15
Eaglehawk $7
That is all the goat is offering on flag odds there as they will be the teams that make the top five, and probably in that order to. I'm tipping those odds will change though over the next three weeks.
Michelsen Medal:
Michael Dillon $5
Darren Farrugia $7.50
Danny O'Bree $8.50
Mark Fitzgerald $11
Luke Saunders $12
Jason Griffin $15
Kain Robins $16
Linc Sullivan $17
Chris Jardine $18
Matt O'Toole $21
Matt Fitzgerald $23
Seamus Young $24
Josh Ketterer $25
John Hardinge $27
Dylan Clarkson $30
Brent Dryden $33
Cameron Richardson $35
No doubt the Goat has missed a few there, but please don't have a crack at me. feel free to add a few more in there.
Ron Best Medal
Luke Beattie $1.95
Matt O'Toole $2
Darren Farrugia $3.30
Mark Fitzgerald $3.60
Phil Lobb $4
Steven Reaper $6
Matt Gretgrix $7
Luke Saunders $8
Dylan Clarkson $11
Clint Aldridge $18
Seamus Young $24
Damien Brown $30
FinalWord
16 Jun 2006, 16:08
[quote=The Talking Goat]Afternoon footy friends, here we are on another friday afternoon before bfl footy.
now, the goat will say this, after a rather lacklustre couple of weeks of bfl footy where there hasn't been much to get excited about, things will start to pick up from this week, starting with the sandhurst-gisborne clash at the Q. here are my odds this weekend:
Good work Goat. I'll have $100 on Matt O'Toole(Goalkicking) & Jason Griffin(medal) thanks.
You'd think O'toole would stretch his lead even further this week against nth City and should be raging favourite with Beattie out of action again.
My tips for the weekend.
Gisborne by 42, but wouldn't be surprised if it was a very close one.
Square by over 80 pts
Eaglehawk to beat Castlemaine by 13 pts
South to beat flat by 135 pts
Maryborugh to beat Kyneton by 2 pts
Saunders to be captain of VCFL squad. Dillon to just miss out. Davis to miss out altogether!!]
bawkedya
16 Jun 2006, 17:03
thanks for the info about macca weed! i must confess that i am a female supporter of the BFL and dont know too much about footy, but am a fan of little macca.
is it true what they say about him in the physicality side of things? anyone seen him in the showers, i have heard he is quite a fine specimin.
FencePainter
16 Jun 2006, 17:16
[quote=The Talking Goat]Afternoon footy friends, here we are on another friday afternoon before bfl footy.
Good work Goat. I'll have $100 on Matt O'Toole(Goalkicking) & Jason Griffin(medal) thanks.
You'd think O'toole would stretch his lead even further this week against nth City and should be raging favourite with Beattie out of action again.
My tips for the weekend.
Gisborne by 42, but wouldn't be surprised if it was a very close one.
Square by over 80 pts
Eaglehawk to beat Castlemaine by 13 pts
South to beat flat by 135 pts
Maryborugh to beat Kyneton by 2 pts
Saunders to be captain of VCFL squad. Dillon to just miss out. Davis to miss out altogether!!]
u sound like a keen Supporter of the square FINALWORD.
Takin the Tooly - Griffo doubla
wouldnt happin to hold a position of importanz at da sqaure do u mate?
FinalWord
16 Jun 2006, 17:34
[quote=FinalWord]
u sound like a keen Supporter of the square FINALWORD.
Takin the Tooly - Griffo doubla
wouldnt happin to hold a position of importanz at da sqaure do u mate?
Actually follow Sandhurst fencepainter!!
And I reckon they are definately on the March too. Might surprise gisborne this week.
Just think O'Toole is a logical bet and Griffin has just about been in the best every week.
Fitzy may go well in Michelson and plus he's been on the ball a bit lately too.
Still have Mcgee to come back into the side and that will further strengthen our forward line.
Lachlan Pinner got told off at training last night. Dave went off his head. It was lachy's first training run back after about 7-8 weeks when he did his shoulder early on in the season.
Truth Hurts
16 Jun 2006, 17:52
[quote=FencePainter]
And I reckon they are definately on the March too. Might surprise gisborne this week.
Just think O'Toole is a logical bet and Griffin has just about been in the best every week.
Still have Mcgee to come back into the side and that will further strengthen our forward line.
Lachlan Pinner got told off at training last night. Dave went off his head. It was lachy's first training run back after about 7-8 weeks when he did his shoulder early on in the season.
Bull ***** you don't follow square... you play for them!
ditchdavey
16 Jun 2006, 18:31
Has anyone got any news on what's happening with as far as the Bendigo Football League goes. The BFL doesn't seem to get much coverage on here
Thats because nothing happens in the Bendigo League. Standad has dropped from a few years ago, but atleast it is a little bit more competitive, I mean a little bit.
hectomorphic
16 Jun 2006, 23:54
[quote=FencePainter]
Dave's goin off at Pinnar wasnt very cool.
bearsboy
18 Jun 2006, 02:38
FINALWORD take note , M.Dillon another best on !
bearsboy
18 Jun 2006, 02:41
BIRDMAN where are you ?
south_hawk
18 Jun 2006, 15:00
thanks for the info about macca weed! i must confess that i am a female supporter of the BFL and dont know too much about footy, but am a fan of little macca.
is it true what they say about him in the physicality side of things? anyone seen him in the showers, i have heard he is quite a fine specimin.
Josh Mcleod? a fine specimin? Are you off your tree? No darlin Josh Mcleod is nothing of that sort
bawkedya
18 Jun 2006, 17:22
thanks for the info south hawk, i talked to him last night actually and he is a kinda nice guy, really nice eyes and a cute smile.
dayne frew kicked 15 goals against flat and i also think hes hot
south_hawk
18 Jun 2006, 18:58
thanks for the info south hawk, i talked to him last night actually and he is a kinda nice guy, really nice eyes and a cute smile.
dayne frew kicked 15 goals against flat and i also think hes hot
Frewy ay, yes Frewys a fine specimin, a real hottie. Great to see him kick 15, that Beattie blokes devastated.
Josh Mcleods smile makes me melt also.
Wayne Weideman
18 Jun 2006, 20:40
There is a big footy panel on this Sunday @ The Brian Boru Hotel.
The Bendigo, Heathcote & Lodden Valley thread will be covered.
South Coach Danny O'Bree will be just one of the guests interviewed.
See the H.D.F.L Thread for full details.
GREENMAN
18 Jun 2006, 23:17
Oh Dear...... watch out Square, this weekend its all about revenge. Its with out doubt the match of the season, the battle of the Bulldogs at the Graveyard. Square won last time at Wade St, but this week at the Graveyard, Gisborne is primed, in form and hungry for revenge. Sandhurst thought they could give Gisborne a fright, but a 9 goal opening quarter saw that dream of the dragons quickly dismissed and a nightmare began. Lets hope a big crowd travels down to the graveyard from Bendigo, rug up its likely to be freezing.Maybe even radio QEO or is it still called CCC might even venture down to broadcast the game of the year. Lets not kid ourselves not all dreams come true, maybe Wallace can wish for a country Melways and venture out of Bendigo. Its not so scarey, and Gisborne people dont bite, well not all of them. We even promise to put a restraining order on Paul to keep you safe Wallace.
Truth Hurts
19 Jun 2006, 10:00
Oh Dear...... watch out Square, this weekend its all about revenge. Its with out doubt the match of the season, the battle of the Bulldogs at the Graveyard. Square won last time at Wade St, but this week at the Graveyard, Gisborne is primed, in form and hungry for revenge. Sandhurst thought they could give Gisborne a fright, but a 9 goal opening quarter saw that dream of the dragons quickly dismissed and a nightmare began. Lets hope a big crowd travels down to the graveyard from Bendigo, rug up its likely to be freezing.Maybe even radio QEO or is it still called CCC might even venture down to broadcast the game of the year. Lets not kid ourselves not all dreams come true, maybe Wallace can wish for a country Melways and venture out of Bendigo. Its not so scarey, and Gisborne people dont bite, well not all of them. We even promise to put a restraining order on Paul to keep you safe Wallace.
"The Graveyard" ha ha.... thats a good one!
FencePainter
19 Jun 2006, 10:32
Graveyard you say Greenman???
Didn't Square beat you down there last year as well??
FinalWord
19 Jun 2006, 10:51
Watched the First qtr of Gisborne & Sandhurst on weekend thinking our boys the Slags would give a good sight, but they were just overwhelmed by the Flag favourites who were relentless.M Dillon was fantastic again. Hope he makes the VCFL side because his form certainly warrants it. Fitzgerald was excellent too, having a hand in about 6 goals in the first qtr.
Then went out and watched Elmore & White Hills which was a very good game. White Hills certainly gave it to Elmore ,but to Elmores credit their class & fight to win was the difference.
Well what a big game down at the GRAVEYARD this week against the 2 bulldogs..... Gisborne will be primed for this and the short priced Flag favourites will be out to shorten their ODDS even further.. Scary to think they can improve even more, with what Saunders said in todays ADDY....
See O'Toole kicked 8 also which has strengthened my bet on him for leading goalkicker.
Dillon certainly should be raging fav for Mickelson. May have to change my bet!!
FencePainter
19 Jun 2006, 13:22
Any truth to the word that along with O'Toole dominating up forward (another 8 i see); Walsh and Fiske again cashing in with goals...that Aaron Hawkins could soon be a permanent forward and join them?
Square could use him similarly to Buckley to prolong his career given that he slotted another 4 majors on the weekend.
Kings Army
19 Jun 2006, 14:05
Very interesting to see if any Square supporters come out this week. They got very lippy after round 1 but even the die hard supporters know they will struggle to get wintin 10 goals. Interesting to see the betting - Goat would have them aroung the $1.40 mark I would think.
Speaking of the Goat - who do you support? Looking at past posts I can not work it out.
hotdogs17
19 Jun 2006, 15:46
Does anyone know when 'Wiggy' Fraser is due back from his troublesome groin injury for the Square?
I've heard he's put on about 15kg whilst being injured, his diet of donuts and beer isn't helping his cause....
max powers.
19 Jun 2006, 16:17
Very interesting to see if any Square supporters come out this week. They got very lippy after round 1 but even the die hard supporters know they will struggle to get wintin 10 goals. Interesting to see the betting - Goat would have them aroung the $1.40 mark I would think.
Speaking of the Goat - who do you support? Looking at past posts I can not work it out.
Why would squares supporters think they couldn't win?? That is a ridiculous Comment.
They won at the so called "Graveyard" last year.
Stop ****ing in Billy's pockets KA.
Kings Army
19 Jun 2006, 17:48
Why would squares supporters think they couldn't win?? That is a ridiculous Comment.
They won at the so called "Graveyard" last year.
Stop ****ing in Billy's pockets KA.
So your tipping the Square this week? They will be tip toeing into Gisborne and hoping it in not a 10 goal hiding. And I will be the first to apoligise if I am wrong but I think you know they have no chance.
Last year - who cares about the home and away last year? The Kanagroos beat the Swans during the home and away season - does that mean they are as good?
Truth Hurts
19 Jun 2006, 18:41
So your tipping the Square this week? They will be tip toeing into Gisborne and hoping it in not a 10 goal hiding. And I will be the first to apoligise if I am wrong but I think you know they have no chance.
Last year - who cares about the home and away last year? The Kanagroos beat the Swans during the home and away season - does that mean they are as good?
This week is home and away... so what your saying is, who gives a f u c k about this week... square have had it over gis the last few times. From what you say, home and away doesn't matter.... so how about you pipe the f u ck down!
bearsboy
19 Jun 2006, 19:14
Gisborne are still a fair way from being full strength with at least 5 regular senior players to return in the next few weeks , including previous best & fairest winners Daniel Sipthorpe and Ollie Messoudi , pretty sure this will make Gisborne almost unbeatable , no doubt square will be quietly confident of knocking Gisborne off this week , but this side is playing a very different type of footy than it was round 1 , i dont think the wade st dogs can match Gisbornes intensity for 4 quarters , i know "almost unbeatable " is a big call, but i dont think ive seen Gisborne playing better football than they are right now , and its going to take something pretty special for square [ or south ] to beat them .
Gisborne are still a fair way from being full strength with at least 5 regular senior players to return in the next few weeks , including previous best & fairest winners Daniel Sipthorpe and Ollie Messoudi , pretty sure this will make Gisborne almost unbeatable , no doubt square will be quietly confident of knocking Gisborne off this week , but this side is playing a very different type of footy than it was round 1 , i dont think the wade st dogs can match Gisbornes intensity for 4 quarters , i know "almost unbeatable " is a big call, but i dont think ive seen Gisborne playing better football than they are right now , and its going to take something pretty special for square [ or south ] to beat them .The kernal online and looking forward to some good hard footy debating.Ps is it true rockank FBC are looking for some quaility personal around the club.
bearsboy
19 Jun 2006, 20:57
The kernal online and looking forward to some good hard footy debating.Ps is it true rockank FBC are looking for some quaility personal around the club.Affirmative Kernal , can confirm this about Rockbank , offering big dollars to the right people , there was talk early in the year of them trying to poach a very high profile Gisborne person , but to this blokes credit he ignored the big money on offer and after some lengthy discussions decided on staying with the dogs . Not sure you'll get to much hard debating on this thread old mate most are a bit timid , none the less im sure you will add some very important views of your own .
gisborne should win budget of 80k
Hardluck Harry
19 Jun 2006, 20:57
Gisborne are still a fair way from being full strength with at least 5 regular senior players to return in the next few weeks , including previous best & fairest winners Daniel Sipthorpe and Ollie Messoudi , pretty sure this will make Gisborne almost unbeatable , no doubt square will be quietly confident of knocking Gisborne off this week , but this side is playing a very different type of footy than it was round 1 , i dont think the wade st dogs can match Gisbornes intensity for 4 quarters , i know "almost unbeatable " is a big call, but i dont think ive seen Gisborne playing better football than they are right now , and its going to take something pretty special for square [ or south ] to beat them .
I agree Bear but my only worry is height. If Gissy loses Belcher to injury theres no one else. South has two good rucks. Jury still out on Square ruckman Wes Pye.
If Belcher stays fit Gissy wins.
Wayne Weideman
19 Jun 2006, 21:01
I agree Bear but my only worry is height. If Gissy loses Belcher to injury theres no one else. South has two good rucks. Jury still out on Square ruckman Wes Pye.
If Belcher stays fit Gissy wins.
hardluck harry or bearsboy what can you tell me about belcher. heard a lot of good things about this bloke, must go alright?
bearsboy
19 Jun 2006, 21:10
gisborne should win budget of 80kCan the Bigfooty boss please ban this moron for making such a comment
Wayne Weideman
19 Jun 2006, 21:16
Can someone tell me about Marty O'Reilly from Eaglehawk. I've heard some mixed comments about him but haven't seen him play yet this year. Does he still play at the Burra? I've heard he's a gun from some and others have said he's got a bit of a reputation as a thug? Is it true he has a younger brother at the club. Tristan?
marty o'reilly is a very good footballer. he gives a little bit out but i'm sure he would cop a little bit to, being tagged most weeks.
bearsboy
19 Jun 2006, 21:19
If Belcher stays fit Gissy wins.Good point Harry , definetily would make things a bit tough if Belch went down , Matty Mckenzie still plays in the ruck occasionally , and is more than handy in this position , as he was our number 1 ruckman for quite a few years before big Duff came along .
bearsboy
19 Jun 2006, 21:38
hardluck harry or bearsboy what can you tell me about belcher. heard a lot of good things about this bloke, must go alright?Gun player , not the tallest ruckman getting around , but easilly the most athletic , big leap ,kicks goals , big grab . he'll have no problems taking the place of Duff , because he is so versatile .His old man played over 300 games with the bulldogs at fullback
Kings Army
20 Jun 2006, 09:27
This week is home and away... so what your saying is, who gives a f u c k about this week... square have had it over gis the last few times. From what you say, home and away doesn't matter.... so how about you pipe the f u ck down!
Am I using big words that you are having trouble understanding? You said Square beat Gisborne last year in the home and away season - I replied who cares as Gisborne won the flag - Sqaure beating Gissy last year at the graveyard stands for nothing. The same as the Roos beating the Swans last year - counts for nothing as the Swans won the flag.
The thing I am happy about is that your getting your hopes up that you may be able to win this week. So you should know your role and pipe the f u c k down.
bearsboy
20 Jun 2006, 09:42
Am I using big words that you are having trouble understanding? You said Square beat Gisborne last year in the home and away season - I replied who cares as Gisborne won the flag - Sqaure beating Gissy last year at the graveyard stands for nothing. The same as the Roos beating the Swans last year - counts for nothing as the Swans won the flag.
The thing I am happy about is that your getting your hopes up that you may be able to win this week. So you should know your role and pipe the f u c k down.Nice work KA i didnt think it was to hard to understand either , i think that most on big footy understand that 'truth hurts 'struggles a bit .
FinalWord
20 Jun 2006, 09:47
The thing I am happy about is that your getting your hopes up that you may be able to win this week. So you should know your role and pipe the f u c k down.
Max Powers was referring to your quotes/comments on this weeks game Kings Army not the end of the season or Grand Final. Youv'e taken it to another level there.
You seem to be a very die hard Gisborne supporter and they are Yes the yardstick and have been for last 4-5 years but to suggest Golden Square don't have any chance is a ridiculous comment. You were commenting on this week ,not this years grand Final. Golden Square must have a chance becuse they obviously match up well having won 3 out of the last 4 encounters. Also if their ruckman is back they should have an advantage there even though Belcher is an excellent replacement for Duff..
Have to agree with MAX POWERS that you may be a little bit too far up Billy Barhams Ar$e!! Surely your a smarter person than the comments your dishing up..Square may lose , but to say they haven't got a hope in hell is a N U F F I E S comment.
Truth Hurts
20 Jun 2006, 10:06
Nice work KA i didnt think it was to hard to understand either , i think that most on big footy understand that 'truth hurts 'struggles a bit .
You 2 litte fags can pash my s h it..... Go and pull each other little ones somewhere else.
Kings Army
20 Jun 2006, 10:55
Max Powers was referring to your quotes/comments on this weeks game Kings Army not the end of the season or Grand Final. Youv'e taken it to another level there.
You seem to be a very die hard Gisborne supporter and they are Yes the yardstick and have been for last 4-5 years but to suggest Golden Square don't have any chance is a ridiculous comment. You were commenting on this week ,not this years grand Final. Golden Square must have a chance becuse they obviously match up well having won 3 out of the last 4 encounters. Also if their ruckman is back they should have an advantage there even though Belcher is an excellent replacement for Duff..
Have to agree with MAX POWERS that you may be a little bit too far up Billy Barhams Ar$e!! Surely your a smarter person than the comments your dishing up..Square may lose , but to say they haven't got a hope in hell is a N U F F I E S comment.
I have stated that Gissy will win by 10 goals. If I am wrong I will admit it it. I am saying Square do not have a chance and history stands for nothing.
Coud I have FW, MP and TH's prediction for the Gissy V Square game. You keep saying Sqaure are a chance please list the winner and margin and we will chat again after the game on Saturday.
Kings Army
20 Jun 2006, 10:57
You 2 litte fags can pash my s h it..... Go and pull each other little ones somewhere else.
Little ones? Obviously you do not know the legendary BB! Has had your mum in tears for years.
FinalWord
20 Jun 2006, 11:14
I have stated that Gissy will win by 10 goals. If I am wrong I will admit it it. I am saying Square do not have a chance and history stands for nothing.
Coud I have FW, MP and TH's prediction for the Gissy V Square game. You keep saying Sqaure are a chance please list the winner and margin and we will chat again after the game on Saturday.
Square by 11 points Kings Army. BOG- Lloyd from Square.
Hopefully it's on radio as I will be unable to go down due to work.Could be the blockbuster of the Home & Away season.Should be a huge crowd if both teams supporters are fairdinkum.
If there were to be a blowout you'd have to say Gisborne would be the team to have a day out.I don't think this will be the case though .
If Square take their A game down to Gissy then the BFL is in for a treat.
On another topic !! Frew from South..15 goals.. That is a fantstic effort even though it was only against Flat. Still has to get them through the big sticks and work hard.. hats off to the bloke for such a good return . He may be a bonus for them too coming back from injury now that Beau Shiels doesn't seem to be playing anymore.
Final 5 in order- Gisborne,Square,South,Sandhurst,Eaglehawk.
Sandhurst are the real smokeys of the league. They will thump Eaglehawk again next time they play each other and give South & Square a real run too... I think the second half of the year is just starting to heat up....
Over & Out until Sat Night my fellow Bigfooty mungers!
Jock Clark 2
20 Jun 2006, 13:15
:thumbsu: YOU could be the lucky one, FW.
Despite the dreaded lergy sweeping the station's staff, word is that the radio call will be coming from the Graveyard this Saturday.
Gisborne (1) vs. G Square (3) as we know.
Also gives an opportunity for 2 radio protagonists to meet in calm circumstances (pt from the graveyard and maybe wt). BBoy knows about this one.
max powers.
20 Jun 2006, 14:49
Obviously gisborne will start favourites and rightly so but it's a two horse race and to say they have no chance just slaps of arrogance.
All i know is square will back themselves as any team would?
No wonder the whole league is itching for a crack at Gisborne when you only have to look at the arrogance and disrespect a couple of their supporters show on here........bring on saturday.
max powers.
20 Jun 2006, 14:56
:thumbsu: YOU could be the lucky one, FW.
Despite the dreaded lergy sweeping the station's staff, word is that the radio call will be coming from the Graveyard this Saturday.
Gisborne (1) vs. G Square (3) as we know.
Also gives an opportunity for 2 radio protagonists to meet in calm circumstances (pt from the graveyard and maybe wt). BBoy knows about this one.
What's the story behind this one jock??
Kings Army
20 Jun 2006, 15:17
Obviously gisborne will start favourites and rightly so but it's a two horse race and to say they have no chance just slaps of arrogance.
No wonder the whole league is itching for a crack at Gisborne when you only have to look at the arrogance and disrespect a couple of their supporters show on here........bring on saturday.
If I am correct then I am not arrogant, I just know my footy. If wrong then you have a case.
No disrespect to Square - they are a good side. But not in the same class as Gissy at the graveyard. This is very similar to when South tip toed into gissy with big hopes. I just think it will end in tears again.
But still no winner or margin from you MP? If you can get closer than my prediction I will give you some credit.
What about the Kernal, Bears Boy, Goat and Greenman - can I get your prediction as well.
Thats_Special
20 Jun 2006, 15:58
Can anyone from Gissy tell me what Aaron James was like when he was around the club... On field and off field behaviours with teammates etc....?
Thanks
Kings Army
20 Jun 2006, 16:05
Can anyone from Gissy tell me what Aaron James was like when he was around the club... On field and off field behaviours with teammates etc....?
Thanks
Bears Boy will be able to give you more - but word is he was a gun player however he hit the booze hard. Trashed a hotel room on a footy trip and was asked to leave the club. I think he also got into trouble with booze when playing with the Tigers - p issed on a lady while drunk at a bar.
wheelbarrow
20 Jun 2006, 16:17
Could anyone tell me if they have seen or played against Salakowski at the Flat.?
Is he getting a kick or is he s t u f f e d.?
Thats_Special
20 Jun 2006, 16:22
Bears Boy will be able to give you more - but word is he was a gun player however he hit the booze hard. Trashed a hotel room on a footy trip and was asked to leave the club. I think he also got into trouble with booze when playing with the Tigers - p issed on a lady while drunk at a bar.
Fair enough.. What was he like with teammates and the like.. Did he have an im better than you complex?? Did he hit the pi ss and carry on with them etc... Or was he ok in that way???
Thanks for the info....:thumbsu:
bearsboy
20 Jun 2006, 18:06
No wonder the whole league is itching for a crack at Gisborne when you only have to look at the arrogance and disrespect a couple of their supporters show on here........bring on saturday.Maxy boy , the whole league gets a crack at Gisborne at least twice a year , generally to no avail ,so i dont quite get your point there mate. not sure about the disrespect comment , i personally hold square in a very high regard both on and off the field and have no doubt they will put up one hell of a fight this week , as they always do . As for the arrogant call , could easily be mistaken for confidence , the Gisborne supporters have seen their team win the last 8 or so games by an average of about 100 points , so i reckon thats where that comes from . as for my tip , with the expected return of gun midfielder Danny Sipthorp and u18 bfl rep Jimmy Mcfarlane , Gisborne by 26
Jock Clark 2
20 Jun 2006, 20:30
MAXIE, an answer to your earlier query about the friction between certain parties. Not about the Gis-GS result, altho' I'll predict the Gissie boys will win at the Graveyard pretty comfortably -- especially if Sippy is back in.
Back about mid-Jan/early Feb. an approach was made to the BFL that Gisborne home matches be allowed 2 be b'cast by a little Kyneton community radio station.
This outfit has the output and power of 2 mosquitoes. You'd be lucky to pick up its signal on the outskirts of Kyneton, so dozens and dozens of klicks down the Calder into Gisborne was clearly out of the question.
The BFL refused the request as the Fresh radio station is the league's official broadcaster (and has been for some time). Inter-league, finals, Michelsen medal night etc.... are all covered by the broadcaster. Now because the Gissie ground is in a dip and the radio transmitter is beaming from Mt Alexander occasionally reception into Gisborne can be a tad difficult but you can still pick it up.
Anyway after the BFL decision, relations between a cuppla people became a little strained, shall we say.
bearsboy
20 Jun 2006, 20:36
Fair enough.. What was he like with teammates and the like.. Did he have an im better than you complex?? Did he hit the pi ss and carry on with them etc... Or was he ok in that way???
Thanks for the info....:thumbsu:Very handy player for Gisborne , as he was straight out of league footy at the time , bit of a loose cannon off the field , was caught pi ssing over the balcony one night in the rooms , nothing to serious though, did enjoy the odd beer with the boys as you do , generally hung out with his brother and old man .there was a little bit of arrogance about him [sorry, confidence] but thats to be expected from a league footballer i suppose .Dont know anything about him being asked to leave the club though