View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
wheelbarrow
14 Dec 2005, 14:21
Kangaroo Flat has signed mark dickens as a non-playing assistant coach for next year.
No fooling u Pickles, thats old news matey.
Head off to trg tonight at the Flat and u will c Marks old mate, Salakowski sniffing around, 100% guarntee it..
caveman
14 Dec 2005, 15:04
Kangaroo Flat has signed mark dickens as a non-playing assistant coach for next year.
can you guys give me a run down on this bloke please? Is this a good pick up for the Flat?
Wayne Weideman
14 Dec 2005, 19:54
Correct about the tongue in cheek. May have been in a good paddock over the gym tho. Tries to lose a bit when having dance offs in Universal with Lenny Schmitt though
a bit like ya self i hear "rushy tige". knighta looks and is probably one of the fittest at south's training so far from wat i have seen. plus i don't think a few extra kilos will affect him as he was a rake last year anyway.
look fwd to your training report
can you guys give me a run down on this bloke please? Is this a good pick up for the Flat?
from seymour
Coached Seymour ressies mid 90's
played seymour 1s and 2s for a fair few years
Coached Avenel seniors (Doona2 can comment here)
Coached nagambie Seniors - set them up for when they won back to back flags in 98/99
done some assistant work at seymour as well, should be good as a guide for the young blokes at the club.
hope it goes well for the flat
New assistant for Roos
Luke West
Thursday, 15 December 2005
KANGAROO Flat has appointed Mark Dickens as a non-playing assistant coach for the 2006 All Seasons Bendigo Football League season.
It's understood Dickens was one of the applicants for the coaching job after it was vacated by Damien Brown, who has since been reappointed as the Roos' senior coach.
Dickens has previously been an assistant coach with Goulburn Valley Football League club Seymour, while he is also a former coach of Kyabram District Football League clubs Avenel and Nagambie.
"He will be a very valuable acquisition to the club," Kangaroo Flat president Paul Brooks said yesterday.
"He brings a bit of fresh blood to the off-field side of things to help Browny.
"He will be good for us, and he has the same philosophy as the committee of developing our juniors and looking at the bigger picture, rather than looking at short-term fixes, so hopefully, the rewards will come."The Roos will open the 2006 season on Good Friday when they travel to Canterbury Park to take on Eaglehawk on April 14.
In further BFL news, Kyneton has announced it has signed Shannon Carroll from Essendon District Football League club Aberfeldie.
Carroll is a utility player who can play at either end of the ground.
"He will bring some experience to our footy club," Tigers' coach Neville Massina said.
The Tigers have three players - Mark Scerri, Guy Orton and Brian Ruffell - training with the Bendigo Bank Bombers.
Massina says star full-forward Steven Reaper has indicated he will line up for the Tigers again next year, although he will have to work around his VCFL commitments.
Meanwhile, the BFL is unlikely to fill Brett Fitzpatrick's position on the board until after Christmas.
Fitzpatrick last week resigned from the board to take up a position as a director with the Victorian Country Football League board.
Fitzpatrick joins Hamilton's Gerard Lucas and Ballarat's Tim Bunning as new directors on the VCFL board.
The BFL will speak to two people about filling the position vacated by Fitzpatrick, but it's unlikely any appointment will be made until after Christmas.
Whoever is appointed to the board will be up for re-election at next year's annual general meeting.
The BFL's first meeting with its clubs next year will be held on February 10, where one of the topics on the agenda will be the prospect of playing night finals at the Queen Elizabeth Oval.
The league's fixture has the qualifying final and second semi-final slated as night games at this stage.
blues12
15 Dec 2005, 12:37
heard a rumour that kyneton have approached a few young blokes from the RDFL does anybody know of this? who they are or from which clubs
wheelbarrow
15 Dec 2005, 19:14
Couldnt get down 2 trg last night, could anyone tell me if Mark Salakowski from Shep was giving the Flat the once over.?
randallbone
15 Dec 2005, 20:50
Hank, you might be able to help here, has Troy Auld always had problems with his feet or was it the dance moves that have done it? I know he used to pop Voltaren like tic-tacs. Had a reasonable year in the 2's for South last year but seemed to struggle after the games due to alleged foot problems. Always surprised to see him carving up the dance floor that night....
i wasnt there wheelie, but i'll put the feelers out and report back to you here sometime tomorrow.
On The Money
16 Dec 2005, 13:06
from seymour
Coached Seymour ressies mid 90's
played seymour 1s and 2s for a fair few years
Coached Avenel seniors (Doona2 can comment here)
Coached nagambie Seniors - set them up for when they won back to back flags in 98/99
done some assistant work at seymour as well, should be good as a guide for the young blokes at the club.
hope it goes well for the flat
Pffh Nagambie copped two 15-20 drubbling under Dickens in the '97' finals thats why he didn't coach them again. He aint got much to offer Flat in my opinion.
just on that year at Naggers - didnt they have about 20 blokes missing with a hepatitus epademic? I think you'll find they did well just to get to the finals that year..... and they did win back to back following that.
On The Money
16 Dec 2005, 13:14
just on that year at Naggers - didnt they have about 20 blokes missing with a hepatitus epademic? I think you'll find they did well just to get to the finals that year..... and they did win back to back following that.
No that was 1996 the year before that the guys got crook. They sat on the pace all year in 97 and toppled badly in September. And your right they did win back to back in 98 & 99 but they were topped up with cattle that Premiership coaches Aldous and Auld injected.
Hank, you might be able to help here, has Troy Auld always had problems with his feet or was it the dance moves that have done it? I know he used to pop Voltaren like tic-tacs. Had a reasonable year in the 2's for South last year but seemed to struggle after the games due to alleged foot problems. Always surprised to see him carving up the dance floor that night....
Has been a little injury prone over the past couple of years, but yes does seem to find his feet once presented with a dance floor to carve up.
Might be looking to save himself next year and just coach from the sidelines to have himself 100% for the nights activities.
wheelbarrow
17 Dec 2005, 08:57
No that was 1996 the year before that the guys got crook. They sat on the pace all year in 97 and toppled badly in September. And your right they did win back to back in 98 & 99 but they were topped up with cattle that Premiership coaches Aldous and Auld injected.
True true, just a couple of handy addititons to the 98, 99 sides.
Loveless, Trav Auld, Bibby Doolan, Baryzka, (more than likely spelt it wrong)
Brent Clydy, Chris Malone, (Bushies),Mick Roberts and Lachy McCleod.
Jock Clark 2
19 Dec 2005, 10:12
I SEE today another useful footballer has been lost to Bendigo.
Elliott Bowen, who had a gallop or 2 for the BFL's K. Flat when not required in VFL ranks for the Diggers/Bombers, has joined the ever-expanding ex-BFL list at Rochie.
David Williams is very handy when it comes to recruiting top players from the BFL --- Daniel "Lenny" Schmidt, Clint Whitsed are 2 who come to mind.
Bowen is quoted in 2day's print media as saying the GVFL is regarded by a high percentage of players as being the top country footy league in Victoria. Doesn't seem all that long ago when a rep. BFL squad would trounce the Purple and Golds.
randallbone
19 Dec 2005, 17:14
Elliott Bowen, who had a gallop or 2 for the BFL's K. Flat when not required in VFL ranks for the Diggers/Bombers, has joined the ever-expanding ex-BFL list at Rochie.
David Williams is very handy when it comes to recruiting top players from the BFL --- Daniel "Lenny" Schmidt, Clint Whitsed are 2 who come to mind.
Bowen is quoted in 2day's print media as saying the GVFL is regarded by a high percentage of players as being the top country footy league in Victoria. Doesn't seem all that long ago when a rep. BFL squad would trounce the Purple and Golds.
Nothing against the BFL, but just when are we talking about? The GV has been a pretty good league for some years (more than 15), arguably one of the best two regional leagues outside VFL football. The other problem Bendigo FL seems to have is that the money being offered in the GV is more than most clubs can match. Hard to attract ex AFL players when they can play a higher standard for more money...
One of the dumbest calls on this thread and there are a few. The BFL rep team wouldn't come within 10 goals of the GVFL rep team - not now, not in the last 15 years.
The reason that I heard rochy are picking up a lot of Bendigo boys is primarily due to the coaching ability of David Williams. From what the bendigo boys have stated, Williams is a very intense coach (bit of white line fever) and extremely well prepared. Heard Gary Lyon describe Williams as the Kevin Sheedy of Country footy.....
Before the BFL can move back in with the big leagues they will need to stop paying big money for average players and get a little more professional.
Tilt Carter
19 Dec 2005, 20:37
One of the dumbest calls on this thread and there are a few. The BFL rep team wouldn't come within 10 goals of the GVFL rep team - not now, not in the last 15 years.
The reason that I heard rochy are picking up a lot of Bendigo boys is primarily due to the coaching ability of David Williams. From what the bendigo boys have stated, Williams is a very intense coach (bit of white line fever) and extremely well prepared. Heard Gary Lyon describe Williams as the Kevin Sheedy of Country footy.....
Before the BFL can move back in with the big leagues they will need to stop paying big money for average players and get a little more professional.
Here Here the BFL is heading nowhere fast but backwards and i believe that someone needs to do something. There are a lot of average footballers in the league that think their ******** don't stink, No wonder players such as Bowen are heading to other leagues to continue their playing days.
why is the BFL shizenhousen?
too many clubs in bendigo
to make the bfl strong again, they should go down the line like Football Geelong did. Have the BFL, HDFL and LVFL all under the one banna.
bendigo football going the way of the bommers to much.
Norfolk & Clew
20 Dec 2005, 12:46
to make the bfl strong again, they should go down the line like Football Geelong did. Have the BFL, HDFL and LVFL all under the one banna.
I might get murdered for this suggestion but i agree with HJ32, but have it with a relegation and promotion from the lower leagues to give the teams from HDFL and LVFL who perform well a chance to play in a better league and teams who don't perform in BFL then have to go down to a lower league??
Doubt many people will like this idea, but it is just a thought!!
caveman
20 Dec 2005, 13:51
I might get murdered for this suggestion but i agree with HJ32, but have it with a relegation and promotion from the lower leagues to give the teams from HDFL and LVFL who perform well a chance to play in a better league and teams who don't perform in BFL then have to go down to a lower league??
Doubt many people will like this idea, but it is just a thought!!
Mate I completely agree with you! :thumbsu:
new footballing revolution to bendigo - Football Bendigo Region
Division 1
Sandhurst
South Strathfieldsaye
Eaglehawk
Golden Square
Kyneton
Castlemaine
Maryborough
Gisborne
North rat Juniors
Kang Flat
now here's where the controversy arrives :
Division 2 (merged clubs)
Inglewood/Bridgy
Marong/Newbridge
Pyramid/Mitiamo
Elmore/locky
Huntly/Nth Bendigo
YCW/White Hills
BlSerp/Calivil
Mounts/Colbo
Heathcote***
The 'coates the only club who would stand alone simply because of population.
Broadford would join the newly reformed Waranga North East Comp.
Bendigo Clubs will be stronger again because of less clubs around it....
Country clubs will be viable with plenty of player numbers and support
would make Bendigo area a VCFL superpower again....
thoughts? baring in mind you should only comment on this if you have an open mind and can see the bigger picture, rather than just thinking of the rival club you may have to merge with!
Jock Clark 2
20 Dec 2005, 15:42
:D C'MON guys. It was 1989 (that's 16 years ago, so I'm out by one year) when Bendigo's Blue and Golds defeated Geelong to win the Div. 1 country champs. Four years later -- yep, that's right, 1993 -- they played Geelong again in the Div 1 grannie but lost this time.
Bendigo was coached by Peter Hinck (ex-Geelong West in the old VFA) in the '93 play-off. Not a sniff of the GVFL in either of those grannies.
As recently as 2003, Bendigo played a Div. 1 semi-final on the MCG as a June curtain-raiser to an AFL game.
BTW, Bendigo is 90,000 souls -- Shepp. would be lucky to be half that size. Maybe edge towards the 50,000 mark if the entire fruit-growing GV region was added on to Shepp's. size.
randallbone
20 Dec 2005, 17:31
:D C'MON guys. It was 1989 (that's 16 years ago, so I'm out by one year) when Bendigo's Blue and Golds defeated Geelong to win the Div. 1 country champs. Four years later -- yep, that's right, 1993 -- they played Geelong again in the Div 1 grannie but lost this time.
Bendigo was coached by Peter Hinck (ex-Geelong West in the old VFA) in the '93 play-off. Not a sniff of the GVFL in either of those grannies.
As recently as 2003, Bendigo played a Div. 1 semi-final on the MCG as a June curtain-raiser to an AFL game.
BTW, Bendigo is 90,000 souls -- Shepp. would be lucky to be half that size. Maybe edge towards the 50,000 mark if the entire fruit-growing GV region was added on to Shepp's. size.
Your rep sides are a bit of a ******** anyway Jock. Many high profile players make themselves unavailable for the games because they don't won't to get injured. And more to the point, what do ex AFL players have to prove in these games? That they can do a knee and miss the season?
If your top recruit got injured in these games, where does that leave your season? F**k Interleague.
Norfolk & Clew
20 Dec 2005, 18:34
The only problem that I can see with my idea about the 2 or 3 divisions is sorting out the teams or the bottom 2 leagues, there would be alot of debate about it and clubs would not be happy at all if they were to be in the 3rd division.
Sort of like how the English Soccer leagues work.
Its never gonna happen but I like springing new ideas for peoples thought's.
The only problem with the HDFL and LVFL, is the travelling difference between some of the clubs?? It could be to much. But with clubs like Strathfieldsaye (not yet formed) wanting to join, maybe we could get North bendigo, YCW, Huntly, White Hills, Elmore, Colbinabbin and a few others to make the 2nd division....
Division 1
Sandhurst
South Strathfieldsaye
Eaglehawk
Golden Square
Kyneton
Castlemaine
Maryborough
Gisborne
North rat Juniors
Kang Flat
Inglewood/Bridgy
Marong/Newbridge
Pyramid/Mitiamo
Elmore/locky
Huntly/Nth Bendigo
YCW/White Hills
BlSerp/Calivil
Mounts/Colbo
Heathcote***
thoughts? baring in mind you should only comment on this if you have an open mind and can see the bigger picture, rather than just thinking of the rival club you may have to merge with!
whats this south strathfieldsaye bull****. its south bendigo and always will be.
will Bendigo FL get a promotion to pool B for country champs now Geelong has pull out of pool A
caveman
20 Dec 2005, 19:22
Division 1
Sandhurst
South Strathfieldsaye
Eaglehawk
Golden Square
Kyneton
Castlemaine
Maryborough
Gisborne
North rat Juniors
Kang Flat
Inglewood/Bridgy
Marong/Newbridge
Pyramid/Mitiamo
Elmore/locky
Huntly/Nth Bendigo
YCW/White Hills
BlSerp/Calivil
Mounts/Colbo
Heathcote***
Mate I agree with you in having divisions but I dont think clubs need to merge. By the way I am a Kangaroo Flat supporter so I am completely open to all your ideas. It would be better to have 3 divisions. Like you said in a later post it would be tough to figure out what teams would go in what divisions.
I know most teams wouldnt want to be in Division 3 but success at a club can make the world of difference and a strong division 3 team would probably get better crowds than a struggling Division 2 team.
I would love to see this happen and promotion and relegation really generates excitement. That is one of the reasons that I really love the VAFA!
Grimmett
20 Dec 2005, 19:38
will Bendigo FL get a promotion to pool B for country champs now Geelong has pull out of pool A
No.
Ballarat FL has been promoted back to Pool A to make the group contain four again. That means Bellarine FL and Ballarat FL are out of Pool B leaving Mornington Peninsula-Nepean and Hmpden leagues who are negotiating to meet each other in a normal four quarter clash.
Pools C and D are left exactly as they were always intended to be in 2006.
wheelbarrow
21 Dec 2005, 07:48
Two divs will never never come in to the BFL.
scotywok
21 Dec 2005, 09:33
Division 1
Sandhurst
South Strathfieldsaye
Eaglehawk
Golden Square
Kyneton
Castlemaine
Maryborough
Gisborne
North rat Juniors
Kang Flat
Inglewood/Bridgy
Marong/Newbridge
Pyramid/Mitiamo
Elmore/locky
Huntly/Nth Bendigo
YCW/White Hills
BlSerp/Calivil
Mounts/Colbo
Heathcote***
Like the idea H, but when was it decided that the Waranga was to be reformed ... When this sort of proposal was put forward during the Goulburn Murray restructure this year, it was flatly rejected by the VCFL gestapo, who have their own pockets and positions at heart, instead of that of the clubs within Victoria.
On The Money
21 Dec 2005, 11:21
I think the standard of the Bendigo League is alright there isn't as much difference between the bfl and the Goulburn Valley as people make out. Sure there is more money and more ex-league players over there which immdiately makes people think that the competition is super human but I think the depth is pretty good which I think having the University here contributes to. Why is there such a difference in interleague performances? The Gouburn Valley has 13 teams to pick there best cattle from while the Bendigo League has only had 9. Gives you some extra fire power I think.
Giantbug
21 Dec 2005, 11:55
Division 1
Sandhurst
South Strathfieldsaye
Eaglehawk
Golden Square
Kyneton
Castlemaine
Maryborough
Gisborne
North rat Juniors
Kang Flat
Inglewood/Bridgy
Marong/Newbridge
Pyramid/Mitiamo
Elmore/locky
Huntly/Nth Bendigo
YCW/White Hills
BlSerp/Calivil
Mounts/Colbo
Heathcote***
Outside of metropolitan leagues two tiered leagues have hardly ever been successful. It would never benefit the second division teams, and smaller country clubs would invariably struggle if they were promoted to the top division. Plus the old rivalries would be lost which is a real part of country footy. You office types have to get out a bit more often - the air-con must be getting stale.
I think the standard of the Bendigo League is alright there isn't as much difference between the bfl and the Goulburn Valley as people make out. Sure there is more money and more ex-league players over there which immdiately makes people think that the competition is super human but I think the depth is pretty good which I think having the University here contributes to. Why is there such a difference in interleague performances? The Gouburn Valley has 13 teams to pick there best cattle from while the Bendigo League has only had 9. Gives you some extra fire power I think.
From my own spectating experiences, the BFL is a long way off the GV as far as standard and pace of their football. Interleague can never be a true judge as more often than not the better players dont play.
Jock Clark 2
21 Dec 2005, 18:03
:cool: I BELIEVE On The Money is On The Mark, Doona.
There's not much difference in standard between the BFl and the GVFL. The GVFL, its supporters and media camp followers are expert in blowing their own bags about what a terrific league they have.
In reality they have only just emerged from the "Dark Ages". Bendigo was winning major league championships back in the 1960s and 1970s when the GV boys were scrubbing about in very ordinary competitions.
a4brianp
21 Dec 2005, 19:19
With your mergers in division 2 wouldnt it be better to merge Whitehills and Huntly as they are very close to one another anyway and North Bendigo and YCW as they are both central Bendigo clubs.
Cheers
anyone know officially know what Kain Robbins is doing?
Sturt or Eaglehawk
heard a whisper it was the borough.....
On The Money
22 Dec 2005, 11:20
With your mergers in division 2 wouldnt it be better to merge Whitehills and Huntly as they are very close to one another anyway and North Bendigo and YCW as they are both central Bendigo clubs.
Cheers
Why is this merger idea coming up? to make the Bendigo League stronger come on. The Bendigo League standard is handy at the moment and like all leagues will go through stages when the standard will flucuate. As far as getting all the Heathcote and Lodden Valley clubs to merg the idea of football in the bigger picture is to participate and have a great time socially. The less clubs around the less opportunity for this to happen. Fair enough if the club is in trouble and merging is better than folding go for it but clubs shouldn't merg just to try and make the standard of the footy in Bendigo League a bit stronger!
Tilt Carter
22 Dec 2005, 17:48
:cool: I BELIEVE On The Money is On The Mark, Doona.
There's not much difference in standard between the BFl and the GVFL. The GVFL, its supporters and media camp followers are expert in blowing their own bags about what a terrific league they have.
In reality they have only just emerged from the "Dark Ages". Bendigo was winning major league championships back in the 1960s and 1970s when the GV boys were scrubbing about in very ordinary competitions.
Can i just remind u guys that very shortly we are heading into 2006, stop talking about the 60's and 70's and look at the leagues as they r today.
The BFL is currently in division 3 and GVFL in division 1 i think this stands alone as to where they are at. The GV would pull the BFL's pants down in a game of football and if the leagues were both serious about interleague especially BFL they would suspend players for not making themselves available, What went on this year was a discrase with a majority of the players out on the ********. I have said it before and will again the BFL is heading no where fast but backwards..
wheelbarrow
22 Dec 2005, 19:50
Watch this space. ??
Well documented Avenel and Nagambie struggling for numbers.
Both are clubs that Mark Dickens (ac at the Flat) had prior involvement in.
He is venturing back to his old KDL stomping grounds poaching players and the natives are not happy campers at all.!!
Keep all ears 2 the ground we have not heard the last of this.!!
Are you related to that legend South Melbourne/Sydney full Rod 'Rocket' Carter.
spoke4923
22 Dec 2005, 20:09
anyone know officially know what Kain Robbins is doing?
Sturt or Eaglehawk
heard a whisper it was the borough.....
If the bloke still has a couple of eligible years to become rookie listed and, keeping in mind he was apparently very very close this year, why would he go back to the BFL? Surely if he was going to have another crack VFL or SANFL would be the only feasible options?
Watch this space. ??
Well documented Avenel and Nagambie struggling for numbers.
Both are clubs that Mark Dickens (ac at the Flat) had prior involvement in.
He is venturing back to his old KDL stomping grounds poaching players and the natives are not happy campers at all.!! Keep all ears 2 the ground we have not heard the last of this.!!
Heard a similar report wheelie, you seem very up with all the local happenings. I know you wish to remain discreet but Im impressed with your efforts on BF of late :thumbsu:
There aint much on offer in regards to BFL footy at either the Swannies of the Lakers so Im tipping Dicko will be forced to shop elsewhere
Dragons sign dynamic duo
Adam Bourke
Friday, 23 December 2005
SANDHURST'S hopes of returning to the top echelon of the All Seasons Bendigo Football League received a sizeable boost yesterday with the club regaining young guns Mark Fitzgerald and Zac Perez.
Fitzgerald and Perez, who were key players in the Dragons 2004 premiership, return to the club after trying their luck in the WAFL this year with West Perth.
The duo were at the top of Sandhurst coach David Collins' Christmas wishlist, and understandably, he was a happy man yesterday.
"Fitzy and Zac are two quality players," Collins said.
"They were very much our top priorities as far as recruiting goes."Fitzgerald, a key forward, played nine games in the West Perth seniors, while the versatile Perez played one game in the seniors.
Collins said Fitzgerald and Perez deserve a pat on the back for their loyalty with several clubs from outside the BFL offering more lucrative deals than what the Dragons could offer.
"I'm sure they could have got more money playing elsewhere," Collins said.
"It says a lot for Fitzy and Zac and the club that they came back to Sandhurst."The return of Fitzgerald and Perez is some silver lining to the dark cloud that was Sandhurst's 2005 season.
The Dragons were rocked by injuries to key position players Matt Keown, Wayne Mitrovic and Sam McGee, and missed the finals.
With those three players to be virtually new recruits as well next year, Collins is growing with confidence about his club's chances.
"We thought we'd be in pretty good shape if we could get Fitzy and Zac back as well as getting those players back that had all the injury trouble," Collins said.
The Dragons have also signed promising youngsters Sam Barnes and Shannon Geary.
Barnes, a ruckman, spent 2005 with the Bendigo Bombers reserves, while Geary, a pacy midfielder, is straight out of the Bendigo Pioneers.
On the down side, Sandhurst will be without two of its premier midfielders next year with Brad Comer (Newbridge) and Kieren Prowse (overseas) departing the club.
The Dragons start pre-season training on January 19
Giantbug
23 Dec 2005, 12:32
Are you related to that legend South Melbourne/Sydney full Rod 'Rocket' Carter.
Are you also related to Mount Pleasant's premiership coach - Cam "Shaft" Carter
what about Rubin 'hurricaine' carter?
Norfolk & Clew
23 Dec 2005, 15:14
what about Rubin 'hurricaine' carter?
Maybe he is Coach Carter....:D
Kain signs with Hawks -- Santa brings early present for Eaglehawk
Saturday, 24 December 2005
THE Christmas wishes of the Eaglehawk Football-Netball Club were answered yesterday when Kain Robins signed with the club for the 2006 season.
In an early Christmas present for Eaglehawk, Robins has decided to return to the Two Blues after a two-year stint with the Bendigo Bank Bombers in the VFL.
A lot of wrapping paper would have been needed to put the 190 cm key forward under the Christmas tree at Canterbury Park.
But Hawks' senior coach Derrick Filo, football director Michael McKern, players and supporters are rapt that Robins will be back in the Two Blue guernsey for the club's 126th year.
Robins, 21, said commitments to his work as a builder with Bendigo Relocatable Buildings were his No. 1 priority.
He said to play for the Bombers in a 25-game career in the VFL had been a tremendous experience and helped improve his game in many areas.
"It's a huge commitment to the Bombers, pre-season and during the season," Robins said.
"But my work comes first," Robins said of his 3sfr1/2 year stint with BRC and becoming a fully qualified builder in February.
Originally from Hopetoun in the Sunraysia region, Robins represented the Bendigo Pioneers in the VFL TAC Cup under-18 competition in 2002 and '03.
In 2004, he lined up for the Bombers, or as a key player in Eaglehawk's attack.
Last football season he was a full-time Bomber.
Although most of his football has been at centre half-forward or on a flank, Robins has also played on a wing, and could tackle an on-ball role next season.
Tilt Carter
28 Dec 2005, 13:09
Maybe he is Coach Carter....:D
For all those Questioning, Sorry boys i can't give out that info, but i can tell you that my cousin was a ******** Carter.:)
galloping gasometer
30 Dec 2005, 11:15
Can i just remind u guys that very shortly we are heading into 2006, stop talking about the 60's and 70's and look at the leagues as they r today.
The BFL is currently in division 3 and GVFL in division 1 i think this stands alone as to where they are at. The GV would pull the BFL's pants down in a game of football and if the leagues were both serious about interleague especially BFL they would suspend players for not making themselves available, What went on this year was a discrase with a majority of the players out on the ********. I have said it before and will again the BFL is heading no where fast but backwards..
Tilt, I strongly agree that the GV comp is better. Instead of talking interleague where you can have 22 good players and make a good contest, look at the clubs and their strengths. In GV most clubs are town based and in Shepparton there are 3 teams. Compare this to Bendigo and you can see why the GV is stronger. Also the finances are easier to obtain in a 1 team town such as Rochester, Echuca or Kyabram. Bendigo football was probably even with GV early 90's but since then has fallen away. In BFL Gisborne has been the force - close to Melbourne and 1 team town -nuff said
galloping gasometer
30 Dec 2005, 11:31
If the Bendigo Bombers were to leave Bendigo and all ties to the VFL were lost would this not help Bendigo clubs and make the league stronger?People seem to think that having a VFL team in Bendigo is positive which in some aspects it is, but remember you wont have that tall CHF or Ruckman for long if they show any promise in junior grades. This is where Bendigo football loses out and as such the kids become better players but then the BFL league teams cannot compete with the dollars offered at a later stage. Lose the middle man and start getting the talented kids coming through again instead of looking at mergers, divisions and the like. The answer is to lose the Bombers
In season 2006 Essendon will supply 16 players each week until finals, which means only 6 players cAN MAKE THE SENIOR TEAM EACH WEEK.
The next best 10-20 players will be running around in the twos and this is where the damage for the league comes from. The administation of the league has to be held to account in regards to development of the game and the poor outcomes for the BFL in this "partnership"
Shiels signs with Bloods
Luke West
Friday, 30 December 2005
SOUTH Bendigo has continued its recruiting in the build-up to the 2006 All Seasons Bendigo Football League season by landing the signature of Beau Shiels.
The former Bendigo Digger, Golden Square and Huntly player signed with the Bloods yesterday.
"To have a bloke with that bit of experience from major leagues and having played in the WAFL and with the Diggers, he has obviously played under some pretty handy coaches," South Bendigo coach Danny O'Bree said."He has that experience we need to teach these young players we have.
"He is really looking forward to getting back and playing a full season of footy; he has had some injury problems and basically missed a year of footy this year.
"Hopefully, we can play him in a versatile role."Shiel's season with Huntly this year was soured by injury, but he easily won the Hawks' best and fairest award in 2004, despite missing four games.
Shiels joins Bendigo Pioneer Brad Rohde, from Nyah, and South Mildura's Zane Taylor as the Bloods' most recent recruits."Brad is about six-foot-two and can run like the wind, so he should bring a bit, but he is still young and it's going to be blokes like Beau who can help these young players out," O'Bree said.
"Zane is a small forward who has kicked five goals in a preliminary final for South Mildura."Earlier in the off-season, the Bloods also landed the signatures of White Hills pair Rick Coburn and Shannon Hayes, Dayne Frew from the Bendigo Bank Bombers and Rochester's Nick Knight.
At this stage, the club has lost tall forward Jake Matthews to the Bombers, while Josh Riddle is heading overseas.Matthews was one of the stars for the Bloods this year, and was particularly good throughout the finals series, kicking eight goals.
"His consistency level improved as the year went on, especially in the finals," O'Bree said.
"We tried to develop him as a centre half-forward and that worked all right, so it's disappointing he has gone at a stage when the club is really looking positive."Full-back James Flaherty, the winner of this year's Rositas Rising Star award, is also training with the Bombers, but is yet to sign.
"James has only played two years of footy and we think we can develop him a little bit further," O'Bree said.
"I think he would make the grade there (at the Bombers) fairly well if he intended to go the year after.
"It would be good for the club if he did stay on and give us one more year."The Bloods will again have the services of full-forward Luke Beattie, who will stay on as O'Bree's assistant.
Beattie topped the Bloods' goal-kicking in 2005 with 77, which included nine hauls of five goals or more.
The Bloods were beaten in the preliminary final this year.
So thats so far at least 5 recruits to South?
Dane Frew
Nick Knight
Beau Sheils
Zane Taylor
Brad Rhode
With Riddle and Matthews gone and Flaherty unsure, they're starting to build quite a list. They look like the team to watch in 06
T.Perry
30 Dec 2005, 12:57
So thats so far at least 5 recruits to South?
Dane Frew
Nick Knight
Beau Sheils
Zane Taylor
Brad Rhode
With Riddle and Matthews gone and Flaherty unsure, they're starting to build quite a list. They look like the team to watch in 06
Definitely. Got some out and out guns and some good youngsters coming through. Nick knight will be quality and if Beau Sheils stays injury free, him and Beattie will cause some mighty headaches for BFL defenders.
..::Rach::..
30 Dec 2005, 13:44
Definitely. Got some out and out guns and some good youngsters coming through. Nick knight will be quality and if Beau Sheils stays injury free, him and Beattie will cause some mighty headaches for BFL defenders.
Aswell as White Hills Rick Coburn.
On The Money
2 Jan 2006, 02:18
U tell us how Golden Square are going Trevor Perry apprently pete Curran might play at South again know anything about that?
Wayne Weideman
2 Jan 2006, 10:55
Aswell as White Hills Rick Coburn.
can anyone tell me anything about shannon hayes who has signed at south bendigo?
Jock Clark 2
2 Jan 2006, 16:27
COULD Hayes be related to one of the Hayes who played at E'hawk (Barry also coached Nth Bgo in the H'cote League).
A son or nephew perhaps, or is he from further up the country ?
smellingsmoke
2 Jan 2006, 16:42
can anyone tell me anything about shannon hayes who has signed at south bendigo?
South have been chasing Hayes for a couple of years as another ruck to help out big john.
peter curran han't played football for 10 years and is assistant with melbourne i think. was at the crows last year
Hayes played at Heathcote and at White Hills when I saw him in action. Personally I dont think he's as good as everyone thinks, not an overly tall ruck option from memory, can certainly jump but never set the world on fire when I saw him play. May be better suited as a second option though instead of carrying the bulk of the duties.
U tell us how Golden Square are going Trevor Perry apprently pete Curran might play at South again know anything about that?
Yeah come on Trevor what do ya know!!!
Jock Clark 2
3 Jan 2006, 10:19
:) QUITE right, Smokey. Curran coached in the Launceston area after leaving Catholic College, Bendigo (where he taught Yr. 12 English, among other subjects) and coached South in the BFL.
He is now at Dee-Land with Daniher.
He did spend a couple of season at the Crows as forward line coach.
Don't think he will toss the AFL $$$$$$ overboard for a BFL playing gig !!
Roos sign former Seymour champ
Luke West
Tuesday, 3 January 2006
KANGAROO Flat has gained the services of former Goulburn Valley Football League representative player Mark Salakowski for the 2006 All Seasons Bendigo Football League season.
Salakowski joins the Roos after a decorated career in the GVFL in which he played 200 senior games with Seymour and was a premiership player with the Lions in 1991 as a teenager.
He will add some valuable experience to the young Kangaroo Flat line-up and will also provide a physical presence on the field.
Roos' coach Damien Brown hinted that he would use Salakowski off a half-back flank during the season.
Salakowski has spent the past several seasons playing for Avenel in the Kyabram District Football League.
The Roos are also likely to pick up Adam Harrop, a small player who played with Heathcote this year, and is also a former Avenel player.
New Bendigo Bank Bombers' recruit Patty Rattray - a premiership player with Seymour this year - has indicated that Kangaroo Flat will be his preferred club when he is not playing in the VFL.
However, with the Bombers now fielding a resderves side, it's unlikely Rattray will spend any time in the BFL.
Kangaroo Flat endured another disappointing year in the BFL in 2005 when it won just one game and finished on the bottom of the ladder for the third season in a row.
The club will resume its pre-season training program on January 16.
The Roos will open the 2006 season with the now-traditional Good Friday clash against Eaglehawk at Canterbury Park.
It will be the third year the Roos and Hawks have met on Good Friday, with Eaglehawk having won the previous two encounters.
Jock Clark 2
5 Jan 2006, 21:36
:D PLENTY of talk on the other BFL thread that Matt Gretgrix has been training with the Square. But becoz he's good mates with Kain Robbins who has tossed in SANFL and VFL aspirations and just re-signed with the Borough, Kain is trying his hardest to convince his mate to pop over Job's Gully Bridge and don the Two Blues guernsey.
galloping gasometer
6 Jan 2006, 10:17
I saw Nick Knight and Marty Shadbolt?? running around last night at a very fair clip. They look to be in very good condition and Knight has put on some muscle on those soon to be released chicken wings into the BFL.......
Do Sportsbet run a book on the Michelson??if so I want to get on:p
What is the feeling out there lads on Nick Carter?
Every year we hear reports on him returning to the BFL, he has achieved pretty much everything there is in footy.
When will he return?
I hear he is keen to represent the VCFL before his career is over....
Anybody heard anything?
Norfolk & Clew
6 Jan 2006, 12:03
Every year we hear reports on him returning to the BFL, he has achieved pretty much everything there is in footy.
When will he return?
Anybody heard anything?
Always here rumors about him coming to square to play with Christian but it never eventuates. I would give him one more year of Bombers and then I think he might consider it:thumbsu:
You play at Square do you mate?
Judging by your last comment I think you might??
They confident this year?
We're going for back to back in the EDFL.
is cobbies bester still at strathmore?
Always here rumors about him coming to square to play with Christian but it never eventuates. I would give him one more year of Bombers and then I think he might consider it:thumbsu:
could be in a Rochy tiger gurnsey in 07
Norfolk & Clew
7 Jan 2006, 08:20
You play at Square do you mate?
Judging by your last comment I think you might??
They confident this year?
We're going for back to back in the EDFL.
Used to mate, still a very keen follower tho. For the last 2 years I have heard rumors about Nick thinking about coming back to play with his brother at square. I think all brothers would like to play (football:D ) with each other at some stage of their careers.
Names fielded for City captain
Luke West
Saturday, 7 January 2006
NORTH City's first captain in the All Seasons Bendigo Football League is likely to come from one of four players.
It's expected either Julian Vallance, Julian Porter, Adam Richardson or Matt Lockett will captain the BFL's newest club in its inaugural season this year.
The quartet of newly-signed players has already been named in the Ballarat-based club's leadership group.
Vallance and Porter are Ballarat Football League premiership players with Redan, while North City has also signed another ex-Lion in Callum Young.
Injury cost Young the chance of playing in the Lions' 2003 flag when he was just 18 years old.
Porter, who previously played with the North Ballarat Roosters in the VFL, and Young, a former North Ballarat Rebel, will play key roles in the midfield for City this year.
Vallance is likely to play on the wing or across half-back.
Richardson and Lockett join Ben Beaston as ex-Daylesford players who have joined North City.
Richardson, Lockett and Beaston all played with Daylesford last year, but the trio are North Ballarat Juniors' products.The versatile Lockett is a distant relation of the AFL's all-time leading goal-kicker, Tony Lockett, but he missed all of last year after suffering a serious knee injury in the opening round.
Beaston is an ex-captain of both the North Ballarat Juniors' under-18 side and St Pats College's football team and will hold down a key position in defence.
North City - which last year signed a 10-season agreement with the BFL - has already signed 40 players, and is still waiting on commitments from up to another 20.
Senior coach Shane McCarty expects to have a list of between 55 and 60 players to select from for North City's senior and reserves sides.
"We'll do that easy, and that was probably my biggest hesitation when I stepped into the job," McCarty said yesterday.
"But we had 40 signed by mid-December, so that was a great start for us."North City has four clashes in its draw with the Roosters and Rebels, but the club has a working party going through issues raised by the fixture.
Options being considered by the working party include the switching of matches to Sunday, finding alternative venues in Ballarat, or on some weekends, reversing the draw to avoid clashes.
North City's first fixture clash will come in its first home game, slated for Saturday, April 22, against Eaglehawk at Austar Arena in round two.
On the same day, the Roosters are scheduled to host the Bendigo Bank Bombers in round three of the VFL.
North City's first game in its new league will be when it's showcased under lights against South Bendigo at the Queen Elizabeth Oval on Saturday, April 15.
Jock Clark 2
7 Jan 2006, 10:13
ANYONE know much about Matt Lockett?
I read in the Addy back page yarn today (as Dooa has posted) that young Lockett missed virtually all of the 2005 season thru' injury.
When will he return?
Anybody heard anything?
Well Nick was at the Golden Square/ South final last year watching his brother or cousin or whoever it was. But i dont think he's finished at the Bombers just yet. Give him 1 or 2 more years, 2 tops.
Norfolk & Clew
7 Jan 2006, 10:35
Well Nick was at the Golden Square/ South final last year watching his brother or cousin or whoever it was. But i dont think he's finished at the Bombers just yet. Give him 1 or 2 more years, 2 tops.
He is at heaps of square games watching his brother, it depends on the success of the bombers if he would go to square
All the news articles posted on here guys are archived on www.geocities.com/bendigofooty
Just click on the news section! :)
Jock Clark 2
8 Jan 2006, 14:52
:thumbsu: GOOD stuff, Cavey.
Don't forget if u can to post the story on an inside Dec. 22, '05 Advertiser page about Jamie Bond agreeing to play for Maryborough in 2006.
But only HOME games for the Princes Park Pies, and not away games.
Still with no byes in the BFL this year Bond could play up to nine games at home for coach Stevie Thomson.
Wonder whether Bondy will still be going around when Maryborough plays its final home game in round 18 agst. Kyneton on Sat. August the 26th ??
That's the concluding h. and a. round for 2006 B4 the finals series gets underway.
Forward thinking
Friday, 6 January 2006
NEW Castlemaine coach Ian Martin is looking upon Leigh Rees as a potential replacement at full-forward for Steven Oliver.
Oliver, a stalwart of the Castlemaine Football Club and one of only two players
to have kicked more than 1000 goals in the All Seasons Bendigo Football League, has departed the Magpies to coach Newstead in the Maryborough-Castlemaine District Football League this year.
It leaves a giant void to be filled at Camp Reserve, with the former Carlton player having won the Ron Best Medal last year with 77 goals.
However, Martin sees Rees as someone who could play out of the goal square in place of Oliver.
Rees was restricted to just four games for the Magpies last year after injuring his knee in the BFL's Pool C inter-league campaign at Mount Gambier in May.
"We will be looking for blokes like Leigh Rees to stand up for us this year," Martin, who has taken over from Paul Eyles, said yesterday.
"Leigh could play at full-forward, and if we kicked the ball well to him, I reckon he could kick 70 goals.
"He's just such a hard player to match up on."
The Magpies are virtually going to have to employ a new-look forward six for the 2006 BFL season.
Along with Oliver departing, Scott Carson is returning to Newbridge, Steven Jarrott and Jason Cordy have both indicated they want to return to the Amateurs in Melbourne, Eyles has joined Eaglehawk as an assistant coach and veteran Michael Blake has moved on.
Between them, those six players kicked 162 goals for the Magpies last year.
The Magpies are basing their recruiting around attracting forwards, and Martin says the club is close to coming to terms with a couple of potential goalkickers.
"We're going to be a small and young side, but we will be quick," Martin said.
"Being a young side, we're going to play some ordinary quarters and some good quarters, so it's just going to be a matter of getting the balance right and making sure we play more good quarters.
"Last season showed that if you make the final five, anything can happen."
Martin and team-mate Luke Walters tied for second place on 15 votes in last year's Michelsen Medal, behind Gisborne skipper Luke Saunders.
Walters was a picture of consistency in defence for Castlemaine in 2005, but Martin has hinted at him spending time in the midfield this season.
"We'll be looking to mix it up a bit more and for Luke to take on a bit more responsibility," Martin said.
The Magpies, who were beaten by South Bendigo in the first semi-final last year, had seven training runs before Christmas with good numbers attending all sessions. They will resume training on January 20.
Jock Clark 2
8 Jan 2006, 15:18
:( IN 2006 who is going to kick the goals for the Maggies, Doona and guys.
That's a whole forward structure goine in one summer period. Rees would be much better used as the mobile ruckman he is, not stuck down around the goal square hoping the pill is going to come his way.
Cordy was really starting to show some form in 2005 and had a reasonable finals series as well. He kicked goals in both games, even tho' the Maine lost to Eaglehawk and then to South in the first two weeks and went out in straight sets.
Eyles, of course, hardly played at all but he's a Michelsen medallist so a top player in his own right. Blake played inter-league footy at Mt Gambier in May, but with his great mate Ollie leaving Apples was always likely to leave the Camp Reserve.
Jarrott was another, like Cordy, who was starting to show something.
Plenty of soul searching for the new coach and the committee before Easter Saturday's round 1. And for that matter, the Lightning Premiership in early April.
Jock Clark 2
9 Jan 2006, 11:42
:thumbsu: MATT Gretgrix has officially igned with Eaglehawk.
One source close to the club sez G. will probaly slot in at CHB (they desperately need height) with good mate Robbins at CHF.
They could use another new signing in former C'maine coach Paul Eyles in the guts, but going on his injury worries in 05 that would be too big an ask, I'd say.
localfootyguru
9 Jan 2006, 12:43
Just wondering on how things are travelling at Maryborough and how they are looking in their preparations for season 2006? I saw them play last year and they were a very young side, but seemed to be well coached and showed some promise.
Any information on coaches, recruits etc would be great.
On The Money
9 Jan 2006, 13:14
:( IN 2006 who is going to kick the goals for the Maggies, Doona and guys.
That's a whole forward structure goine in one summer period. Rees would be much better used as the mobile ruckman he is, not stuck down around the goal square hoping the pill is going to come his way.
Cordy was really starting to show some form in 2005 and had a reasonable finals series as well. He kicked goals in both games, even tho' the Maine lost to Eaglehawk and then to South in the first two weeks and went out in straight sets.
Eyles, of course, hardly played at all but he's a Michelsen medallist so a top player in his own right. Blake played inter-league footy at Mt Gambier in May, but with his great mate Ollie leaving Apples was always likely to leave the Camp Reserve.
Jarrott was another, like Cordy, who was starting to show something.
Plenty of soul searching for the new coach and the committee before Easter Saturday's round 1. And for that matter, the Lightning Premiership in early April.
Yer I think Castlemaine will find it tough if they have a good season and get a good run with injuries they might sneak fifth. They've lost a significant amount of firepower and they got to 4th with that side.
Tilt Carter
9 Jan 2006, 16:48
:thumbsu: MATT Gretgrix has officially igned with Eaglehawk.
One source close to the club sez G. will probaly slot in at CHB (they desperately need height) with good mate Robbins at CHF.
They could use another new signing in former C'maine coach Paul Eyles in the guts, but going on his injury worries in 05 that would be too big an ask, I'd say.
Ha JC2 Why would filo slot the G train down back when he is known as a key forward and kicked 4 in charltons gf win last season playing out of the goal square, sounds pretty stupid to me. Perhaps the borough needs to recruit backman coz they haven't had any for years, just ask their supporters.
Jock Clark 2
9 Jan 2006, 18:42
JAMIE Bond, the '96 Mich. Medallist, will play HOME games only for M'boro in 2006, LFG.
So if he saddles up for all of those, injuries and work commitments permitting, he'll run out for 9 games in all.
Rememeber the BFL is a 10-club organisation now with North City the 10th club and there's no byes in the 18 home and away game roster.
Ashley Noonan has been training with one ot the Perth clubs in the WAFL. Not sure if he's returning for the BFL season.
And 21-year-old Joel Malone will captain the Princes Park Pies in 2006. Stepping down as skipper was Mattie Aston, the 2002 Mich. Medallist.
Read all about the Maryboro situation, and loads more, by logging onto www.geocities.com/bendigofooty (http://www.geocities.com/bendigofooty), going to the "news" thread and clicking on the Maryborough news story near the top of the news stories pile.
Ha JC2 Why would filo slot the G train down back when he is known as a key forward and kicked 4 in charltons gf win last season playing out of the goal square, sounds pretty stupid to me. Perhaps the borough needs to recruit backman coz they haven't had any for years, just ask their supporters.
Dunno i have always thought of the G train as a better back man than forward... Just that he has rarely been forced to play in defence...
Eaglehawk wins the race for Gretgrix
Luke West
Tuesday, 10 January 2006
EAGLEHAWK has won the battle to secure forward Matt Gretgrix for the 2006 All Seasons Bendigo Football League season.
It's understood a number of BFL clubs approached Gretgrix, but the forward has chosen the Hawks, where his good mate Kain Robins has also just signed.
Gretgrix, who stands at more than 190 cms tall, was a member of Charlton's North Central Football League premiership side last year, starring in the side's grand final win.
"It's just a bit of good luck for us; he's good mates with Kain, so that's the main reason why he is coming along," Eaglehawk coach Derrick Filo said yesterday.
"From all reports, he is a quality centre half-forward; he has some mates at the club and wants to come along and have a kick with them."Filo says it's likely Gretgrix will play at centre half-forward for the Hawks, shaping as an ideal replacement for Daniel Geary, who has joined Huntly as an assistant coach.
"Daniel was a good player for us, but I think we have more forward options now this year than we have in the past," Filo said.
"The majority of our goals last year came from Daniel and Phillip Lobb (107 between them), but I think we now have three or four options who can provide a target that we can go through."I'm happy with our forward structure."Robins has been the marquee recruit for the Hawks so far this pre-season.
In joining the Hawks, Robins has turned his back on a potential AFL career after knocking back an offer from SANFL club Sturt, which would have kept him under the eye of AFL scouts.
Robins has spent the past two seasons with the Bendigo Bank Bombers, while he also began the pre-season with Hawthorn in the hope of being drafted.While Robins will be able to fill a key position at either end of the ground, Filo has hinted at him being used on the wing or in the midfield.
Filo has also confirmed that he will play on for another season.
Following the Hawks' 31-point loss to Gisborne last year, the veteran of more than 370 BFL senior games said he was undecided about playing for another year.
But he confirmed yesterday he would play on in 2006.
"I've been training for a couple of months now," Filo said.
"Last year I didn't start training until late-January, early-February, so I'm well ahead of where I was.
"I still feel like I can play good footy."New assistant coach Paul Eyles, recruited from Castlemaine, is also coming along nicely after enduring a wretched run with soft-tissue injuries last year.
He has been on a modified training program and Filo says he is happy with how the former Michelsen medallist is progressing in his return to Canterbury Park. Eyles is expected to play both up forward and on the ball this year.
The Hawks will open the season with the now-traditional Good Friday clash with Kangaroo Flat at Canterbury Park on April 14.
Tigers' skipper fit for 2006
Luke West
Wednesday, 11 January 2006
KYNETON skipper Wayne Eve is confident he won't be again plagued by hamstring injuries during the 2006 All Seasons Bendigo Football League season.
Last year, Eve was restricted to just a handful of games after suffering a total of seven hamstring injuries.
But he says his hamstrings now feel fine and he is looking forward to a good year."I'm feeling really good at the moment, so it should be good this year," Eve said yesterday.
"Everything is looking good at the club and we've been able to pick up some good recruits."While a fit Eve will virtually be like a new recruit for the Tigers this year, they have also landed the signature of Aberfeldie's Shannon Carroll, who has impressed Eve so far.Carroll is a versatile player who will be able to play at either end of the ground, or through the midfield for the Tigers.
The Tigers have also been buoyed by the full-time return of classy on-baller Brent Dryden, who virtually missed all of last year with Melbourne Fire Brigade commitments.
"Brent is fit as hell at the moment and a gun player, so he will be good for us," Eve said.The skipper also spoke highly of Leigh Erwin, who spent last season in the Tigers' under-18 side.
"He's about six-foot-four and you should see him play," Eve said.
"He will be a good back-up for Cooky (ruckman Brett Cook)."Kyneton will be again coached by Neville Massina, who will be at the helm of the club for the second year.
The Tigers were in the finals hunt until late in the season last year, but finished sixth on the ladder with six wins and 10 losses.
Kyneton's first game of its 2006 season will be on Saturday, April 15, when it hosts Sandhurst at the Kyneton Showgrounds.
However, Eve will miss the clash with the Dragons because of a one-match suspension he still has hanging over his head after being found guilty of using abusive language towards an umpire in the round 18 game against arch-rival Gisborne.
The Tigers resumed pre-season training on Monday night.
Wayne Weideman
14 Jan 2006, 10:25
can anyone tell me how marty shadbolt goes? from wat i can understand he is a very good fotballer who is highly underrated by his opposition sides.:confused:
Jock Clark 2
14 Jan 2006, 13:18
:thumbsu: SURE, WW. Saw him off and on in 2005 and he impressed me as a terrific marking option up forward
Of course South had Luke Beattie at FF but Shadbolt was v. handy in finals series
Shaddy booted 2 in elim. final win over Square (that's when the Bloods booted 11 gls. in 4th term), 3 in 1st semi-final win over C'maine (and named in South's best 3 players) and main goalkicker with 4 of South's ten in prelim. final loss to Eaglehawk
Shadbolt again named in South Bendigo's best 3 in the prelim. final so as u can c he was excellent in the finals
galloping gasometer
16 Jan 2006, 12:49
can anyone tell me how marty shadbolt goes? from wat i can understand he is a very good fotballer who is highly underrated by his opposition sides.:confused:
has been seen training strongly with another South recruit. I heard his hill climbing runs arent flash at present and has seen a couple of lunches laid out on the bitumen although can only improved.
Golden Square continue to gather momentum.
Will sign a quality ruckman before the end of the week.
Height was their problem last year and having gained Rosa, Tyrell, Curtain and now the ruckman I'd say their list is pretty well cherry ripe.
Almost lost Mark Lloyd to a Geelong club but with the club on the rise and the list looking 6 goals stronger he was retained!
Easter Sunday Round 1 - Square v Gisborne looks a ripper!
Norfolk & Clew
16 Jan 2006, 15:41
Golden Square continue to gather momentum.
Will sign a quality ruckman before the end of the week.
Height was their problem last year and having gained Rosa, Tyrell, Curtain and now the ruckman I'd say their list is pretty well cherry ripe.
Almost lost Mark Lloyd to a Geelong club but with the club on the rise and the list looking 6 goals stronger he was retained!
Easter Sunday Round 1 - Square v Gisborne looks a ripper!
Wobble, you seem to know quite a bit about the Square Doggies, where do you get all the info? Who ya know? How do we know this stuff is legit?
I was at a Emu Valley cricket game the other day and got talking to one of the umpires during the tea break. Said his name was "Darts" and that his brother was team manager at the Square.
He was certainly talking up their chances.
Then I heard no one will get near Gisborne!
What do you reckon Norfolk?
randallbone
16 Jan 2006, 16:34
I was at a Emu Valley cricket game the other day and got talking to one of the umpires during the tea break. Said his name was "Darts" and that his brother was team manager at the Square.
Darts is indeed the brother of Ken Bourke, the team manager at Square. "Paul Hogan" would no doubt have the inside running on who is going where.
Top 4 (in no particular order, calling it before a ball has been bounced...)
Gisborne
South
Eaglehawk
Square
Norfolk & Clew
16 Jan 2006, 17:29
Sounds on the money mate, Ken Bourke would know quite a bit. haven't heard of the ruckmen, will be looking in the addy for a bit of an update!! I will trust your judgement mate!!
Footy finals clash
Luke West
Saturday, 14 January 2006
THE All Seasons Bendigo Football League grand final and the Heathcote District Football League's showpiece day are set to clash this year.
The BFL and HDFL grand finals have both been set down for Saturday, September 23.
However, the possibility of the BFL grand final being shifted to Sunday, September 24, will be discussed at the league's club meeting on February 10.
What may also save a possible clash of grand finals is if the HDFL doesn't play an inter-league match.
The HDFL has set aside the Queen's Birthday long weekend in June as an opportunity for an inter-league game.
The HDFL is talking to both the Golden Rivers and Benalla and District leagues about playing inter-league, but neither is yet to commit.
If the league is unsuccessful in securing an opponent for a representative match, one option could be to bring the season forward a week for the remaining 10 rounds, therefore avoiding a grand final clash with the BFL.
HDFL secretary Trevor Arnel said the league couldn't afford to wait until February 10 to see what the BFL would do about its grand final scheduling before releasing its fixture to its nine clubs.
The Maryborough-Castlemaine District Football League grand final will also be played on September 23.
Arnel said it wouldn't suit the league to switch its grand final to the Sunday.
"It seems clubs struggle to even play on a Sunday when they have those two Sunday finals on the first two weekends (of the finals)," Arnel said.
"And tradition as well - the HDFL has always had a Saturday grand final, whereas the BFL has sometimes had a Sunday grand final.
"But hopefully, we can all work in together and in one way or another, it all works out for everyone involved."The last BFL grand final played on a Sunday was in 2001 when Golden Square defeated Sandhurst.
If the HDFL grand final is played on the Saturday and the BFL decider is played on the Sunday, there is the possibility of a joint ticketing system being put in place that would allow entry into both games.
The HDFL season will start on Saturday, April 22.
BFL general manager Tony Pierce or chairman Damian Drum couldn't be contacted yesterday.
Norfolk & Clew
18 Jan 2006, 09:42
Sounds on the money mate, Ken Bourke would know quite a bit. haven't heard of the ruckmen, will be looking in the addy for a bit of an update!! I will trust your judgement mate!!
Wobble, once again you are on the money, I checked it out and it seems as though they will be signing him this week. Is an interleague ruckman from maybe the Ovens and Murray League (not quite sure). Meant to have alot of mongrel, about 6 foot 5. Didn't get a name though.
Was also said to have been offered alot more to go to Mooroopna, yet chose square because he thinks they have a better chance of success!
Jock Clark 2
18 Jan 2006, 09:57
NORFOLK and W. Look on the other bigfooty BFL threads (there's a second one on the regional leagues site) and you'll find the mail on the GS ruckman.
Seems as though he played inter-league footy for Central Murray in 03 and 04 and is NOT Ryan O'Sullivan who was CM's ruckman in May last year in Sth. Aust -- the Pool C championships.
Norfolk & Clew
18 Jan 2006, 10:05
NORFOLK and W. Look on the other bigfooty BFL threads (there's a second one on the regional leagues site) and you'll find the mail on the GS ruckman.
Seems as though he played inter-league footy for Central Murray in 03 and 04 and is NOT Ryan O'Sullivan who was CM's ruckman in May last year in Sth. Aust -- the Pool C championships.
Still doesn't say quite a great deal mate, is meant to be about 25 if that helps. i'll see what else I can hear about him!!