View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

Kings Army
17 Jul 2006, 10:27
Great result for Gissy on the weekend! A big thanks to the Square boys.

With the Borough, Kyneton, Castlemaine, K Flat, North City and Sandhurst to come top spot looks a certainty. What are the odds for Gissy winning all 6 Goat? Only playing 1 team in the top 5 and that game is at the Graveyard in the last round.

bearsboy
17 Jul 2006, 12:12
Is Kain Robbins overated or just having a quiet year , he has been in the best a couple of times , but only against the lower sides on the ladder.

felix the cat
17 Jul 2006, 13:48
:thumbsu: good to see your back on the wagon bb lets hope gissy dont loose again or you might disapear Is Kain Robbins overated or just having a quiet year , he has been in the best a couple of times , but only against the lower sides on the ladder.

Kings Army
17 Jul 2006, 14:14
:thumbsu: good to see your back on the wagon bb lets hope gissy dont loose again or you might disapear

Add some value FTC. You have posted 4 times and twice you have had a crack a BB for going missing. Who do you support?

bearsboy
17 Jul 2006, 14:18
:thumbsu: good to see your back on the wagon bb lets hope gissy dont loose again or you might disapearListen up Felix , im not sure who you are or where your from , but is there any chance you might post something worthwile yourself, people like you are the reason BB has not been on here , this thread is full of absolute morons that dont have to much too say , other than jump on BB and KA's back for mentioning anything to do with the Gisborne footy club , this is without doubt the most boring thread on big footy , so Felix unless youve got something decent to say mind your own business and F*ck off !:thumbsd:

bearsboy
17 Jul 2006, 14:29
:thumbsu: good to see your back on the wagon bb lets hope gissy dont loose again or you might disapearCome to think of it Felix ,you remind me of a mate of mine from Riddell thats on big footy, he to struggles to come up with any decent comments i wonder if you know him ?

fifth quarter
17 Jul 2006, 16:18
great fighting wins by square and gissie but u coodnt place any great store on those results the 2 matches were played in 2 muddy swamps and by the time sept. rolls around weather and ground conditions and personnel will be different breezer and burke and shadbolt will be back for south lloydie (hammy 1st quarter saturday) will be back for square power macfarlane and maybe farrugia for gissie

max powers.
18 Jul 2006, 13:27
great fighting wins by square and gissie but u coodnt place any great store on those results the 2 matches were played in 2 muddy swamps and by the time sept. rolls around weather and ground conditions and personnel will be different breezer and burke and shadbolt will be back for south lloydie (hammy 1st quarter saturday) will be back for square power macfarlane and maybe farrugia for gissie

Yeah i agree fifth quarter both Bulldogs probably won't take too much out of their wins but was very important to get the four points in the context of the season.
Don't forget square still have C Anderson & Brendan fraser aswell to come back aswell but are getting very close to full strength at the right tim of the year.

FinalWord
18 Jul 2006, 13:31

It's tuesday arvo after a Saturday where Sth Bendigo took part and the website has gone a bit quiet with no South news. What's going on?? Have they been muzzled for a few days??
Good to see also no Square loud mouths going on about the win. They are obviously aware there is still alot of hard work to go for their team before the year is out.
Some more big games this week to South vs Sandhurst. Both teams with a few injuries. This will be a beauty . Square vs Eaglehawk. Always big clashes . Another tough game to pick.

max powers.
18 Jul 2006, 13:37
Where the hell is everybody FW??
We've slipped to the second page!!
Goat?? Jock??
you out there??

wobble
18 Jul 2006, 13:50
Where the hell is everybody FW??
We've slipped to the second page!!
Goat?? Jock??
you out there??

Not sure boys, maybe the goat drowned in the downpour over the weekend. I heard his paddock was under water!

I am interested in hearing the Weed and Truth Hurts and their thoughts on the GS V SB clash.

Is the final 5 finalised?

Is the top 3 finalised?

Is Wes Pye back in town?

Plenty to discuss!

The Talking Goat
18 Jul 2006, 14:16
Not sure boys, maybe the goat drowned in the downpour over the weekend. I heard his paddock was under water!

I am interested in hearing the Weed and Truth Hurts and their thoughts on the GS V SB clash.

Is the top 3 finalised?

Is Wes Pye back in town?

Plenty to discuss!

luckily i learned to swim at the same time i was learning to talk, so i survived the downpour. still alive boys, i'm still alive

Truth Hurts
18 Jul 2006, 14:46

Is the top 3 finalised?

Is Wes Pye back in town?

Plenty to discuss!

It was a shocking day for footy, if you can call it footy... but a win is a win, they are all worth the same at the end of the year. Square Gissy and South have all played each other twice this year for a win each. Pretty even and come finals time it will come down to the best team on the day. Slags and Eaglehawk will round out the 5 and could both do some damage.. its good to see a more even comp this year.

Wayne Weideman
18 Jul 2006, 18:00

Is the top 3 finalised?

Is Wes Pye back in town?

Plenty to discuss!

glad you asked wobble my mate. i actually got down to wade st. to watch square and south and was amazed at how bad the ground was. however, square for me were just to good, they jumped south early and simply just controlled the game for the rest of the day. hawkins and griffin were super impressive. watching wes pye and having a chat to big john hardiege after the game, who said that wes pye is incredibly strong and it did show whilst watching him play. in the end it really came down to whoever could jump start early and kick a couple of goals would win because i'm sure if south got off to a good start like square did they would have defended there lead all day. i think the teams in the five now will play finals but i think eaglehawk will push ahead of sandhurst for 4th spot. the top three is set i believe.

who is everyone tipping this weekend?

and just out of curiosity how were the hot dogs at gissy? because golden squares were bloody beautiful, i had about 4:D

bearsboy
18 Jul 2006, 20:33
It was a shocking day for footy, if you can call it footy... but a win is a win, they are all worth the same at the end of the year. Square Gissy and South have all played each other twice this year for a win each. Pretty even and come finals time it will come down to the best team on the day. Slags and Eaglehawk will round out the 5 and could both do some damage.. its good to see a more even comp this year.Good call Truth , the team that has its very best side in come finals , will become premiers . I know you blokes will nail me for this , but i think Gisborne full strength will have Square and South covered come September . The majority of this side has been there before and know how to get the job done . please go easy on me for these comments , its only my opinion .

Wayne Weideman
18 Jul 2006, 21:00
Good call Truth , the team that has its very best side in come finals , will become premiers . I know you blokes will nail me for this , but i think Gisborne full strength will have Square and South covered come September . The majority of this side has been there before and know how to get the job done . please go easy on me for these comments , its only my opinion .

fair call bearsboy, just a matter of waiting and seeing, but i respect your comments:thumbsu:

felix the cat
18 Jul 2006, 22:16
it dont matter who i follow does it kA you seem to talk that much crap and bag other people as soon as someone bags your boyfreind you jump on the back foot .quote=Kings Army]Add some value FTC. You have posted 4 times and ice you have had a crack a BB for going missing. Who do you support?[/quote]

felix the cat
18 Jul 2006, 22:22
hey take it easy buddy im glad your back on some of your comments are good i just wonder were you go when gissy loose and who the bitch is you or kA.Come to think of it Felix ,you remind me of a mate of mine from Riddell thats on big footy, he to struggles to come up with any decent comments i wonder if you know him ?

clifton's lookalike
18 Jul 2006, 22:31
Good call Truth , the team that has its very best side in come finals , will become premiers . I know you blokes will nail me for this , but i think Gisborne full strength will have Square and South covered come September . The majority of this side has been there before and know how to get the job done . please go easy on me for these comments , its only my opinion .

Yes it is true Bears Boy, the core group of Gisborne boys have been there before, and know what it's all about to win flags.
But from what i hear, this year they have two big advantages over the Bendigo sides. The first being their team manager, who in my belief has no peer in country victoria, and is surely destined for greater things. I've been told that apart from maybe Ty Elliiot & Luke Saunders, he was the most important key in winning the 05 flag. And the second was the inspirational talk from Rodney Hogg on Saturday night.

GREENMAN
18 Jul 2006, 23:46
Good call Cliftons Lookalike

Kings Army
19 Jul 2006, 10:30
it dont matter who i follow does it kA you seem to talk that much crap and bag other people as soon as someone bags your boyfreind you jump on the back foot .quote=Kings Army]Add some value FTC. You have posted 4 times and ice you have had a crack a BB for going missing. Who do you support?[/quote]

Once again no value added and your butchering the English language. Those 3 years in grade 1 did not help you.

It does matter who you follow - what are you hiding?

zakster
19 Jul 2006, 13:09
thats enuf now greenlad enuf of pumping up pt's tires
standing on the white line you dont get a kick lay a tackle or take a bump
lets get back to some serious posting

bearsboy
19 Jul 2006, 15:08
Good call Cliftons Lookalike......... The Gisborne senior team manager is the rock behind the team, he is without doubt more important to Gis than Luke Saunders and Matty Fitz. With out his inspiration and input on the boundry the Bulldogs would be rabble. He motivates the team, makes moves, and educates the players from his vast footballing back ground...............Dont hink he heard Rodney Hogg on Sat night.........its a long way from the Telstra dome to Gisb and thats where BB was.............Come to think of it BB, HAVE U BEEN TO ANY SOCIAL FUNCTIONS THIS YEAR??????????? Answer to that is NO. Good supporter ur turning out to be.Not sure what your problem is Paul , maybe its jealousy , unlike yourself im liked and respected around our club . Just to let big footy readers know i called Paul this morning for an explanation on these comments and ive never in my life heard a grown man so sh*t scared ,stumbling and stuttering his way through some bullsh*t reason , as you will see from earlier posts from him he likes to do his fighting and arguing from the safety of his home behind his p.c . Thats just the sought of bloke he is [weak as *****] Very dissapointing PT , i hope you enjoy your footy next year in your paid position on the Sunbury commitee:thumbsd: :thumbsd:

GREENMAN
19 Jul 2006, 16:59
Good square up

felix the cat
19 Jul 2006, 18:08
well done bb well said now i know who you are i can understand why your so pasionate and say a lot of qaullity stuff.I wouldnt worry about the other guy just keep writting usefull stuff about the game and stay on even if bourgh upset the dogs on the weekend.Not sure what your problem is Paul , maybe its jealousy , unlike yourself im liked and respected around our club . Just to let big footy readers know i called Paul this morning for an explanation on these comments and ive never in my life heard a grown man so sh*t scared ,stumbling and stuttering his way through some bullsh*t reason , as you will see from earlier posts from him he likes to do his fighting and arguing from the safety of his home behind his p.c . Thats just the sought of bloke he is [weak as *****] Very dissapointing PT , i hope you enjoy your footy next year in your paid position on the Sunbury commitee:thumbsd: :thumbsd:

bearsboy
19 Jul 2006, 18:38
Good square up....now were even..................Sunbury Committee next season, thats news to me and to be paid...........well I wish. that ones got no truth to it. All most

grunt 02
20 Jul 2006, 11:11
FIRST POST: As i am a keen supporter whilst only seeing a few games this year and a former player of the Bendigo football league i have to ask the question is the Gisborne fc one of the top five clubs in country football?Dont all jump down my throat im not a Gfc player or member.The reason i ask this is my job involves driving all over coutry Vic staying in pubs and hotels an i get into talks with other die hards and allot know Gisborne and how successful they are.So are they this good?I had to do a bit of research and found they have won six premierships in nine years even though three were in an average league and a number of 2's and 18's to add.So is this mantle warranted ? Im keen to know more.Two of the four games i have seen this year involved GFC and as i watch them run out all i see is a young,no muscle no height buch of players,but when they play all you see is speed,tuff at the ball two way running footballers.Not one of them hang out waiting for the easy one a disease in Bendigo football.Although i hear South matched them for this in their win well done bloods.Finally with GFC and its success and i belive bragging wrights to be a top five club in country Vic who is next?Is it the young Nth Ballarat ?S**t i hope not Bendigo not another out of town club.:confused:

Jock Clark 2
20 Jul 2006, 13:26
I AM back, Maxie P.
To answer your Gisborne question, grunt, Gisborne is a very good outfit. As you have seen not overly tall, especially since Duff-Tytler went down with injury, but run all day and always have teammates in support.
Last weekend was their 16th straight win, including 2 grannies and a prelim. final, over Eaglehawk --- the Two Blues have NOT beaten Gissie since Rd. 4, 2001. Don't know how many other Vic. country clubs shudder under such a big hoodoo as E'hawk, but there could not be too many.
My tips for this weekend --- Tigers, Gissie (at Maryboro), Square, South and the Maine.
Jock -- out !

zakster
20 Jul 2006, 13:30
good on u bb 4 keeping pt's posts up on the site
even tho he went in and cleared them we can still c wot he wrote becoz you have cut and paste them i hadn't seen the one about the sunbury committee but thanks to u we can all c it now even after he again went in and deleted half of his post

FencePainter
20 Jul 2006, 14:02
Was priveleged to witness a courageous act from Dillon Anderson on the weekend, backing back to an approaching pack of South forwards to kill the contest. A feature of his game that has gone missing I would have thought.

Good to see the ruckman Pye out there again, probably still needs to prove himself to gain the title of star recruit. A huge second half the year and finals series beckons him...he will explode I'm tipping!!!

zakster
20 Jul 2006, 20:45
i am going to go 4 sandhurst and the burra boys reckon square and south will b flat after the games in the heavy slush and dragons and hawks have had 2 weeks off and didnt play in last weeks lakes

jimmyboy
20 Jul 2006, 21:57
Where is the square and eaglehawk game?

b birmingham
20 Jul 2006, 22:59
i am going to go 4 sandhurst and the burra boys reckon square and south will b flat after the games in the heavy slush and dragons and hawks have had 2 weeks off and didnt play in last weeks lakes

Zakster, don't you think the trip down to Gisborne LAST weekend to play in very heavy conditions will have any effect on the burra boys, not saying they won't win, but played the same week as square, so last weeks conditions will affect both you would think

b birmingham
20 Jul 2006, 23:12
Yeah i agree fifth quarter both Bulldogs probably won't take too much out of their wins but was very important to get the four points in the context of the season.
Don't forget square still have C Anderson & Brendan fraser aswell to come back aswell but are getting very close to full strength at the right tim of the year.

Just wondering if there is anyone else still to come back in for the square MP??? Will there be anyone out of last week's side, things seem to be coming togther down at wade street.:thumbsu:

FinalWord
21 Jul 2006, 12:17
Just wondering if there is anyone else still to come back in for the square MP??? Will there be anyone out of last week's side, things seem to be coming togther down at wade street.:thumbsu:

Out-Walsh, Keast & Lloyd

Those 3 players plus other noted senior players to come back this season would be C Anderson, B Fraser & A Bovalino.

They still have a lot of work to do to sew up top 3 spot it would seem!

wobble
21 Jul 2006, 13:46
Out-Walsh, Keast & Lloyd

Those 3 players plus other noted senior players to come back this season would be C Anderson, B Fraser & A Bovalino.

The wheels would need to fall off big time FW for Square to miss a top 3 berth.

The leaders at the club I'm sure will ensure this doesn't happen.

Need to get their injury list under control though!

FinalWord
21 Jul 2006, 13:52
The wheels would need to fall off big time FW for Square to miss a top 3 berth.

The leaders at the club I'm sure will ensure this doesn't happen.

Need to get their injury list under control though!

The wheels fell off for them this time last year.
Will be interested to see if their leaders stand up against Eaglehawk this week. Big test with a big day planned at the Burra. The crowd will be acting like Goats as usual, bluey watts will be looking for a fight too.

Country footy will be alive at the Burra this week.
Mckern will be sitting on their bench pretending to make important moves when really he'd be better suited when it comes to football knowledge & tactics to cutting oranges with Bluey Watts!

The Talking Goat
21 Jul 2006, 14:16
[quote=FinalWord]The crowd will be acting like Goats as usual, bluey watts will be looking for a fight too.

quote]
What's that all about final word, are you having a go at someone like me. there's nothing wrong with acting like a goat. i am deeply offended by that remark. what have i ever done to you. i'm just a simple goat who lives on the back of a pick up truck. the old man who brought me back from the hills of europe doesn't give a stuff about me. am i happy on that truck, the old man doesn't give a f u c k

Gareth Keenan
21 Jul 2006, 14:18
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: I hear its Derrick Filo's 400th game this week - fantastic effort.
He was a champion player back in my era.
I do hope Square can spoil the party though.

Weed, the hot dogs are mighty fine over here at Alberton Oval.
If you're ever in Adelaide I'll shout you one.

Wayne Weideman
21 Jul 2006, 14:31
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: I hear its Derrick Filo's 400th game this week - fantastic effort.
He was a champion player back in my era.
I do hope Square can spoil the party though.

Weed, the hot dogs are mighty fine over here at Alberton Oval.
If you're ever in Adelaide I'll shout you one.

stay tuned as to where the weed's going to be this weekend for a dog Mr. keenan. will have an update for you within a couple of hours.
weideman out!

Kings Army
21 Jul 2006, 14:47
[quote=FinalWord]The crowd will be acting like Goats as usual, bluey watts will be looking for a fight too.

quote]
What's that all about final word, are you having a go at someone like me. there's nothing wrong with acting like a goat. i am deeply offended by that remark. what have i ever done to you. i'm just a simple goat who lives on the back of a pick up truck. the old man who brought me back from the hills of europe doesn't give a stuff about me. am i happy on that truck, the old man doesn't give a f u c k

Odds for this weekend? Eaglehawk V Square would be close. Surley Eaglehawk will try to be up for Filo.

randallbone
21 Jul 2006, 14:50
stay tuned as to where the weed's going to be this weekend for a dog Mr. keenan. will have an update for you within a couple of hours.
weideman out!

Can someone tell me whether Griffin from Square went up to the tribunal this week? Can't believe he got put in the book for the 'love tap' on Tasca at last weeks game. I would imagine that it was withdrawn. Also, this week's South vs Sandhurst game, are Shadbolt, Burke and O'Bree likely to play?

FinalWord
21 Jul 2006, 15:01
No Pun intended Talking Goat!!
Your the finest goat in the land.

Wayne Weideman
21 Jul 2006, 15:34
Can someone tell me whether Griffin from Square went up to the tribunal this week? Can't believe he got put in the book for the 'love tap' on Tasca at last weeks game. I would imagine that it was withdrawn. Also, this week's South vs Sandhurst game, are Shadbolt, Burke and O'Bree likely to play?

griffin is right to play but has a one week ban hanging over his head from now until the end of the year if he decides to get reported again and is now ineligable to win the medal. as for the three south boys, i believe shadbolt and burke are still missing but danny "tony mokbel" o'bree is ready to go and will turn it on, is chomping at the bit to get going again my sources tell me.

fifth quarter
21 Jul 2006, 15:41
griffin found guilty of striking tasca boney
been given a suspended one-week sentence which applies to the end of season 2006 he cant win the michelson tho becoz been found guilty
he can play for square at burraland on sat breezer coburn and big strange ins for south v sandhurst shadbolt still out & also l burke nifty nev clark out injured so 3 of their guns on the fence for the s'hurst boyz mattie keown and cam taylor are ins but a big out for them is chf mark fitzg.
xxl collins was relegated to the scooby doos

max powers.
21 Jul 2006, 16:24
xxl collins was relegated to the scooby doos[/quote]

Isn't daddy coaching this week??:confused:

b birmingham
21 Jul 2006, 16:33
Out-Walsh, Keast & Lloyd

Can you tell me FW what injuries Walsh and Keast have. It said in the Addy that Lloyd done his hammy but I didn't know about the other two.

If the square were to get all those players back that you mentioned, they would have a good lineup. I think that's what it's going to come down to this year, who can have their best side on the park at the right time of year, south and gisborne have had a lot of players miss during the year so it's going to be interesting!

b birmingham
21 Jul 2006, 16:37
xxl collins was relegated to the scooby doos

Isn't daddy coaching this week??:confused:[/quote]

Dave is coaching this week but big axle has been committed to a pie eating contest down at gillies this weekend for 12 months, he's the defending champ so he has to turn up! Career has to come before footy i'm afraid :p

The Talking Goat
21 Jul 2006, 16:42
Welcome to today's edition of gamble with the goat for round 13 of the BFL. let's have a look at this weekend's games and see if we can pick a winner for all you punters out there.
eaglehawk $2 would have to start under dogs after square's good win last week. at home though must not be discounted, particularly with the incentive of filo's 400th
golden square $1.85 good win over south last week would see square favourites, but there could be a late change:rolleyes::confused: so we will see.

South Bendigo $1.45 has performed better than sandhurst over the course of the year and should win
Sandhurst $2.40 no fitzgerald hurts, but the dragons have won 3 straight

Kyneton $1.18 would be too strong at home. reaper to kick 15.
North City $3.80 will be overwhelemed by the bigger bodies. if reaper kicks 15, margin will be over 100

Castlemaine $1.30 tough to beat at home, kicked itself out of the game against sandhurst last start
Kangaroo Flat $3.70 the roos may have won last game, but can't see them doing it two games in a row

gisborne $1.02 no contest, will win comfortably. game will be over at quarter time
mayrobough $8 no chance, will be a blowout.

so there we go, any comments

wobbler
21 Jul 2006, 16:43
Rock On Boys!

Weapo
21 Jul 2006, 16:47
Congrats to all involved in last couple of pages, cause there has been some great discussions related to footy!! Good to see! Keep it up! Still waiting for the weeds tips though!

The Talking Goat
21 Jul 2006, 17:24
yes, congrats from me to to everyone. three cheers for the discussion. hip bip hooray, hip bip hooray, hip bip hooray. wobbler, are you wobble's brother.:confused:

Truth Hurts
21 Jul 2006, 17:26
Congrats to all involved in last couple of pages, cause there has been some great discussions related to footy!! Good to see! Keep it up! Still waiting for the weeds tips though!

Pipe down kiss ass.....

there is way too much love going round at the moment!

upncomer
21 Jul 2006, 17:49
I am from inner Melbourne and follow Diamond Valley. Just wondering if Bendigo League is good quality footy because some other countries leagues are?

Wayne Weideman
21 Jul 2006, 18:31
urgent Message From Wayne Weideman:

Wayne Weideman
21 Jul 2006, 18:33
MY KEYBOARD IS PLAYING UP I CAN'T POST MY TIPS IT'S A REAL KICK IN THE ARSE:cool:

Weapo
21 Jul 2006, 19:36
MY KEYBOARD IS PLAYING UP I CAN'T POST MY TIPS IT'S A REAL KICK IN THE ARSE:cool:

Shannon Noll wrote a song for blokes like you, LIFT!! Cmon Weed Lift!

Wayne Weideman
21 Jul 2006, 20:40
Shannon Noll wrote a song for blokes like you, LIFT!! Cmon Weed Lift!

minute computers have been around and the keyboard is right to go now.

weed's tips for the weekend:

eaglehawk to beat square by 9 points and my mate beside me says 10 points. o'reilly the difference

gisborne by 60 points over maryborough. the gisborne runner to run out of puff in the warm up

south to win againest sandhurst by 25 points. late inclusion of mokbel the key

castlemaine to narrowly account for flat by 6 points. word on the street the maggies pie warmer blew up during the week. it is now cold soup and stale bread to be served

kyeton to easily beat north city by 75 points. reaper to match dayne frew's efforts of 15 sausauge rolls

see you all at the footy. have a hot dog with sauce for yours truly wayne weideman
WEIDEMAN OUT!!!

On The Money
21 Jul 2006, 21:20
I am from inner Melbourne and follow Diamond Valley. Just wondering if Bendigo League is good quality footy because some other countries leagues are?

I think it's pretty fair to say the Bendigo League is a good standard I don't think they could claim to best the best league in the country but if you get along I don't think you would be dissapointed to shell $8 for the privlidge with some of the players on display.

b birmingham
21 Jul 2006, 21:40
Pipe down kiss ass.....

there is way too much love going round at the moment!

Looks like someone is still grumpy after last weekend's result and weather, cheer up TH, the sun will come out tomorrow!!:D

fifth quarter
22 Jul 2006, 14:45
:( come in goaty wot odds on square now considering griffin has been sidelined courtesy of a vcfl decision and scrubbed for 1 week
how can the bgo indep. tribunal get it so wrong offering griffo a suspended sentence valid until the end of 2006
he still cant win the michelson but concentrateing on 2day his loss is a big one oreilly is in for the hawks so griffo could be sorely missed

zakster
22 Jul 2006, 20:16
filo snagged 3 sausage rolls as his burra boys belted square by 61 points the loss of griffin must have upset square they kicked just 8 goals for the day with tooley getting 4 of those hurst was good versus south but astray with there kicking south ran away in the end frew was great with 6 goals for the red n whites

Jock Clark 2
23 Jul 2006, 15:17
HELLOOOOOO: anyone here ?? 2.15 pm on a Sunday, almost 24 hours since Rd. 13 ended.
Wayne Eve a lazy 11 sausage rolls for the Tiges against North City.

The Talking Goat
23 Jul 2006, 15:40
HELLOOOOOO: anyone here ?? 2.15 pm on a Sunday, almost 24 hours since Rd. 13 ended.
Wayne Eve a lazy 11 sausage rolls for the Tiges against North City.
g'day jockette, what's up my friend.
i was tied to the pick-up truck i live on with a three-foot rope yesty, so couldn't get out to canterbury park. any big news out there. how did d. filo play, what was up with square. i hear they had players out, but didn't really give a yelp. get it, they are the bulldogs. bit of champagne comedy there from the goat

kanga jack
23 Jul 2006, 22:08
What was the reasoning behind the Jason Griffin decision? Looking in from the outside it looks like a very unprofessional decision whoever you point the finger at?

The Talking Goat
24 Jul 2006, 10:01
any exciting news from the weekend friends. did eaglehawk signal a warning at the weekend? is square falling way, lost three of past four. sure, they have injuries, but still. i don't think sandhurst lost any friends with their performance against south. goat out

Big Brother Of Footy
24 Jul 2006, 11:23
Can anyone tell me what involvement, if any, Rob Cluff has with E/hawk? Former player. Hope its just a rumour but could be tied up with coaching next year. Hope its with kids? Dekka wouldn't be going would he?

FinalWord
24 Jul 2006, 13:30
Watched the first half of the Eaglehawk vs Golden Square clash.
Square were terrible. 2 nd to the ball and in complete contrast to the week before where they won the 50/50 ball. Eaglehawk were certainly pumped up for Derrik Filo. He didn't have much influence at all in the first half , neither did O'Reily ,but it didn't matter the rest of them just wanted the ball more and played hard running clean footy!

Can't blame the 6-7 players Square had out as they shouldn't have got beaten by what they did. Just simply put a terrible effort and certainly puts some ??????? on alot of their players. They no doubt have 5 weeks to get back into some shape.

Top 5 settled well and good and geeezzzz anyone on their day could possibly win it ..Eaglehawk have a chance to show the league they can play on the QEO.. Time will tell!!

Daniel Motlop. Absolutely choked on the weekend!! had to feel sorry for him after he wedged it through for a point.. Gut wrenching!!

The Talking Goat
24 Jul 2006, 14:05
Watched the first half of the Eaglehawk vs Golden Square clash.
Square were terrible. 2 nd to the ball and in complete contrast to the week before where they won the 50/50 ball. Eaglehawk were certainly pumped up for Derrik Filo. He didn't have much influence at all in the first half , neither did O'Reily ,but it didn't matter the rest of them just wanted the ball more and played hard running clean footy!

Can't blame the 6-7 players Square had out as they shouldn't have got beaten by what they did. Just simply put a terrible effort and certainly puts some ??????? on alot of their players. They no doubt have 5 weeks to get back into some shape.

Top 5 settled well and good and geeezzzz anyone on their day could possibly win it ..Eaglehawk have a chance to show the league they can play on the QEO.. Time will tell!!

Daniel Motlop. Absolutely choked on the weekend!! had to feel sorry for him after he wedged it through for a point.. Gut wrenching!!
not if you barrack for the saints

bendigofootyboy
24 Jul 2006, 14:27
any exciting news from the weekend friends. did eaglehawk signal a warning at the weekend? is square falling way, lost three of past four. sure, they have injuries, but still. i don't think sandhurst lost any friends with their performance against south. goat out

Sandhurst were as week as **** on the weekend south only toyed with them for the first half, and when the needed to, they picked it up to another level. J lake tried to start something and there was not one Sandhurst played the did anything. They are a team of kids and untill they are more than that they will only be making uo the numbers. Awsome day for South with Brad being able to hold the Cup up at the end.
Go Bloods

Truth Hurts
24 Jul 2006, 15:38
Sandhurst were as week as **** on the weekend south only toyed with them for the first half, and when the needed to, they picked it up to another level. J lake tried to start something and there was not one Sandhurst played the did anything. They are a team of kids and untill they are more than that they will only be making uo the numbers. Awsome day for South with Brad being able to hold the Cup up at the end.
Go Bloods

Sandhurst were pretty good on the weekend, they were quicker early on but as the game wore on south were able to play the style of footy they like. Don't think south were trying to start anything, just a hip and shoulder here and there maybe to try to slow the pace of sandhurst a little. I agree with FW It's anyone flag.....

Great day for Brad to play in a day named after his father.... must be a massive day emotionally for him. Just great to see the smile on his face and the faces of his family!

caveman
24 Jul 2006, 20:23
Where do you think Damian Brown will play in 2007 since he is departing Kangaroo Flat? Will he stay in the BFL? I know Keilor Football Club would be keen to have him back in the EDFL.

What are your thoughts?

Hardluck Harry
24 Jul 2006, 21:18
Where do you think Damian Brown will play in 2007 since he is departing Kangaroo Flat? Will he stay in the BFL? I know Keilor Football Club would be keen to have him back in the EDFL.

What are your thoughts?

I would like to see how good Brown can play in a decent team.
He hasn't done much at Flat but playing in Flat's forward line is as tough as getting a beer out of Darts.
I reckon Square would love to have Brown. They need another tall forward and someone with a bit of mongrel.

Warren
25 Jul 2006, 10:25
Brown would be the best player in the BFL on his day.... he is a superstar. He has played many good games for k-flat, would hate to see him go to another club in the bfl.

Go roos!!!

Warren
25 Jul 2006, 10:29
By the way, its high time that the roos got a mention on this site! i have been a keen follower of big footy from the start but i'm sick of square south and gis dominating the thread. The roos are the best off field club in the comp and will be right up there next year with our young stars coming though. Mark my words.

FinalWord
25 Jul 2006, 11:29
By the way, its high time that the roos got a mention on this site! i have been a keen follower of big footy from the start but i'm sick of square south and gis dominating the thread. The roos are the best off field club in the comp and will be right up there next year with our young stars coming though. Mark my words.

Can't see Flat improving On -Field next season.
Rumor has it Hamish Dahl wants to leave with his brother Jacob.
Brown no certainty to stay. C Harrington will retire you'd think. That would end Matt Harringtons playing days at Flat. N Shelton would have to retire. Should of 3 years ago.
The flat would need to recruit at least 9 quality senior players to add to their current team and up & coming juniors before supporters of them start making outlandish comments about being up there amongst it next season. It doesn't happen overnight the improvement Flat need and it hasn't helped the fact they haven't improved one bit in the last 2 years under D Brown.
I hope D Brown stays at K Flat because they need him to as a player and the league needs the Roos back on the winning list regualry as the were in the D Filo/A hawkins/D lancaster days! Not the DENZO days as they are at the moment. I feel sorry for my little mate Gregory Stevens who puts his heart & soul into the club.

Warren
25 Jul 2006, 12:10
Can't see Flat improving On -Field next season.
Rumor has it Hamish Dahl wants to leave with his brother Jacob.
Brown no certainty to stay. C Harrington will retire you'd think. That would end Matt Harringtons playing days at Flat. N Shelton would have to retire. Should of 3 years ago.
The flat would need to recruit at least 9 quality senior players to add to their current team and up & coming juniors before supporters of them start making outlandish comments about being up there amongst it next season. It doesn't happen overnight the improvement Flat need and it hasn't helped the fact they haven't improved one bit in the last 2 years under D Brown.
I hope D Brown stays at K Flat because they need him to as a player and the league needs the Roos back on the winning list regualry as the were in the D Filo/A hawkins/D lancaster days! Not the DENZO days as they are at the moment. I feel sorry for my little mate Gregory Stevens who puts his heart & soul into the club.

Greg is a legend, he has a good time and gets into it regardless! I said mark my words, K-flat will play finals next year. Thanks for your run down of the ins and outs for next year pal but with all due respect, you don't know what will happen. the Filo/Milly/Fox/Jorgy days were great... (probably wouldn't have hawkins in there) but we have a fresh crop coming through... at least 3 of the under 18s will/can play good senior football next year.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Warren.

Jewelsandbullet
25 Jul 2006, 12:27
Greg is a legend, he has a good time and gets into it regardless! I said mark my words, K-flat will play finals next year. Thanks for your run down of the ins and outs for next year pal but with all due respect, you don't know what will happen. the Filo/Milly/Fox/Jorgy days were great... (probably wouldn't have hawkins in there) but we have a fresh crop coming through... at least 3 of the under 18s will/can play good senior football next year.

Warren.

Apologies- do not know much about the league. But I am interested in K Flats mid-year recruit: D. Ciavola.

Ex- Montmorency (and more recently Kyabram) - he used to play with Brown at Mont. Probably only played two games so far - but has he made a difference Warren? Good in an under player..

FinalWord
25 Jul 2006, 12:32
Warren.

No worries Warren. Happy to discuss and add my thoughts from the outside point of view.
Hawkins did play 99 games I think for the flat and lost by a vote to Milward in the B & F the year they lost to Castlemaine in the granny, back in 2000 I think... That should warrant his name being included. From memory Jorgy had stacked on the pounds a bit for Flat that year too..
Flat always have a good following. Would be good to see that grow once again!
What are your thoughts Warren on what you think the club needs to get back up there???

Warren
25 Jul 2006, 12:49
No worries Warren. Happy to discuss and add my thoughts from the outside point of view.
Hawkins did play 99 games I think for the flat and lost by a vote to Milward in the B & F the year they lost to Castlemaine in the granny, back in 2000 I think... That should warrant his name being included. From memory Jorgy had stacked on the pounds a bit for Flat that year too..
Flat always have a good following. Would be good to see that grow once again!
What are your thoughts Warren on what you think the club needs to get back up there???

If Hawkins is such a legend back there, then why wouldn't he go back there? Didn't he get dropped for GF? Is that why he left? Character?

The mighty flat need a strong leader at the club that is well liked and respected. Can bring a couple of mates but pull these ripper juniors through. Hammer would stay for sure then. Great bloke and player. Best in the league by a mile!!

zakster
25 Jul 2006, 12:50
ciavola goes v. nicely bullet hey warren and fw -- wot happened to salla
& warren how come dickens the ass cch didn't get many recruits in the summer to come across from his neck of the woods ... around the kyabram dist leag area werent they good enuf to play bfl

Warren
25 Jul 2006, 12:53
& warren how come dickens the ass cch didn't get many recruits in the summer to come across from his neck of the woods ... around the kyabram dist leag area werent they good enuf to play bfl

Big move to come across. Leave work etc. Not just an overnight decision for a lot of people. We might have got a few more if we won a couple of games early but it didn't happen. Things will start to fall into place soon!

Warren
25 Jul 2006, 12:57

It is not just an overnight decision to move huts! Leaving work etc. Maybe if we won a couple of games early we might have got a couple more. Need the right characters at the club. The ones that get in and give a bit back. Like Hammer, Harro, Humma and Aussie! Need some more of these type. Can play footy a bit too would help but it would create an atmosphere that people would want to be around!

Warren
25 Jul 2006, 13:00
Apologies for similar posts, thort it didnt work. These flat computers are quite up to todays speed

FinalWord
25 Jul 2006, 13:04
Well it obvious you don't like Hawkins Warren.
Hawkins I think didn't leave the club because he was dropped for a Grand Final. He played in Flats last Grand Final Appearance and was one of the best. He was only 17 or 18 when he got dropped from an earlier Grand Final team. I'm sure he moved on from that when he stayed at the club for 3-4 years after it happened. Other players , more immature players would of left & cracked them ,but he stayed & improved himself..
In the end I think he left the flat for friendship reasons and because he had some issues with the club which to this day have been kept between him & the club which is a credit to him not bagging the club like he could. He still thinks highly of the Flat from what Iv'e heard.

Enough of talking about him anyway !

Being a relatively new person on this thread Warren what are your thoughts on who will win the Flag this year and WhY??

Warren
25 Jul 2006, 13:28
Well it obvious you don't like Hawkins Warren.
Hawkins I think didn't leave the club because he was dropped for a Grand Final. He played in Flats last Grand Final Appearance and was one of the best. He was only 17 or 18 when he got dropped from an earlier Grand Final team. I'm sure he moved on from that when he stayed at the club for 3-4 years after it happened. Other players , more immature players would of left & cracked them ,but he stayed & improved himself..
In the end I think he left the flat for friendship reasons and because he had some issues with the club which to this day have been kept between him & the club which is a credit to him not bagging the club like he could. He still thinks highly of the Flat from what Iv'e heard.

Enough of talking about him anyway !

Being a relatively new person on this thread Warren what are your thoughts on who will win the Flag this year and WhY??

Yeah enough about Aaron, he has done the best with what he has got.. at least he reached his potential, thats more than many in the bfl can say.

Its a bit of a raff this years isn't it! i would like to see anyone of the top 5 other than Gisborne to win.

wobble
25 Jul 2006, 14:04
Yeah enough about Aaron, he has done the best with what he has got.. at least he reached his potential, thats more than many in the bfl can say.

Its a bit of a raff this years isn't it! i would like to see anyone of the top 5 other than Gisborne to win.

Warren,

I read with interest your thoughts on the youth at Kangaroo Flat and found myself agreeing with some of your points.

They are looking for a coach with strong work ethic, someone who will lead from the front and importantly some discipline.

Can you please provide me the ages and a few thoughts on each of these players:-

- Jarrod Weigard
- Travis Thatcher
- Hamish Dahl
- Chris Belz
- Tyson Holt
- Chris Mathesion
- Dylan Holzer
- Aidan Moore
- Chris Wilmot
- Tim Brooks

Would I be right in saying these guys are the future of the club?

Any info you could provide would be appreciated.

jimmyboy
25 Jul 2006, 14:04
If Hawkins is such a legend back there, then why wouldn't he go back there? Didn't he get dropped for GF? Is that why he left? Character?

The mighty flat need a strong leader at the club that is well liked and respected. Can bring a couple of mates but pull these ripper juniors through. Hammer would stay for sure then. Great bloke and player. Best in the league by a mile!!
If you question Hawkins character, then surly you must question Millwood's character to leave the club he is captain of on june 29th.

Warren
25 Jul 2006, 14:55
[quote=wobble]Warren,

I read with interest your thoughts on the youth at Kangaroo Flat and found myself agreeing with some of your points.

They are looking for a coach with strong work ethic, someone who will lead from the front and importantly some discipline.

Can you please provide me the ages and a few thoughts on each of these players:-

- Jarrod Weigard
- Travis Thatcher
- Hamish Dahl
- Chris Belz
- Tyson Holt
- Chris Mathesion
- Dylan Holzer
- Aidan Moore
- Chris Wilmot
- Tim Brooks

You have hit the nail on the head there Wob... players like Holt, Belz, Dahl and Thatcher are already good senior players and will only improve, i think those guys would be at worst pushing for senior selction in any bfl team.

wobble
25 Jul 2006, 15:44
[quote=wobble]Warren,

- Jarrod Weigard
- Travis Thatcher
- Hamish Dahl
- Chris Belz
- Tyson Holt
- Chris Mathesion
- Dylan Holzer
- Aidan Moore
- Chris Wilmot
- Tim Brooks

You have hit the nail on the head there Wob... players like Holt, Belz, Dahl and Thatcher are already good senior players and will only improve, i think those guys would be at worst pushing for senior selction in any bfl team.

Their Ages Wazza, I need to know their ages.

Are they all around the 18-19 bracket?

Truth Hurts
25 Jul 2006, 17:30
You have hit the nail on the head there Wob... players like Holt, Belz, Dahl and Thatcher are already good senior players and will only improve, i think those guys would be at worst pushing for senior selction in any bfl team.[/quote]

Hey Warren,

I've got your baseball!

You don't get it back until you speak some sense.... struggler!

Wayne Weideman
26 Jul 2006, 08:02
any truth to the rumour getting around town that it was in fact the eaglehawk football club that dobbed in jason griffin from square to the V.C.F.L about him having to serve at least one week from the the tribunal. anyone know anything about this? if true would have thought square would be livid.

bearsboy
26 Jul 2006, 09:06
Brown would be the best player in the BFL on his day.... he is a superstar. He has played many good games for k-flat, would hate to see him go to another club in the bfl.

Go roos!!!A couple of very big calls there Warren , i think you may be getting a little carried away old mate .

Truth Hurts
26 Jul 2006, 10:07
any truth to the rumour getting around town that it was in fact the eaglehawk football club that dobbed in jason griffin from square to the V.C.F.L about him having to serve at least one week from the the tribunal. anyone know anything about this? if true would have thought square would be livid.

I think the old boy griff was pretty crook anyway... probably didn't hurt him to have a week off.

Kings Army
26 Jul 2006, 10:11
Well done to the 3 gissy boys to make the VCFL final cut. Saunders, Dillon and Davis are great representatives for the BFL. Saunders was given the honour of being the vice captain - great achivement. :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Warren if you would like to poll the people on Big Footy on who is the best player in the BFL could you put 1 vote down for Saunders on behalf of the King.

FinalWord
26 Jul 2006, 10:37
Rumor file has it that Michael Mckern from Eaglehawk alerted the Bendigo League to the issue regarding Square player J griffin.
Hasn't been founded that he was the one who did it,but wouldn't be surprised. He would have to be the biggest parasite in the Bendigo football League. He was the goose who claimed Eaglehawk would win the Flag this year with the team they had on the Back page of the Addy early in the season. The bloke has no idea about footy at all and gets away with acting important because he has money behind him. He has small man syndrome big time.

It was either him or the umpires advocate rumor says. Square are looking into this from all reports There you go Weideman.

Hardluck Harry
26 Jul 2006, 12:02
Yawn, yawn... all this Kangaroo Flat talk is making me sleepy.
Let's get back to some interesting stuff.

Had a good look at Square and Eh last week.
Gretgrix is a star for the Borough - if he and Robins have big September's look out.
I know Square had a lot out, but they have got no tall defenders. I'm a bit worried they might be found wanting by EH's and South's tall forwards on a dry day in September.
There's also some doubts on Rosa's ability. Myself and a few blokes who were watching the game on Saturday can't have him as far as being in the top group of players in the comp.

Does anyone know when South's Leigh Burke and Gisborne's Ollie Messaoudi will be back from injury???

max powers.
26 Jul 2006, 12:26
Does anyone know when South's Leigh Burke and Gisborne's Ollie Messaoudi will be back from injury???[/quote]

I think you'll find Ollies been right for a while but been busy with work at the show. The dodgem cars don't run themselves you know Harry!!

Hardluck Harry
26 Jul 2006, 14:59
I think you'll find Ollies been right for a while but been busy with work at the show. The dodgem cars don't run themselves you know Harry!!

Ha ha - I like your work Aaron ...... or is it Dillon :thumbsu:

Warren
26 Jul 2006, 15:08
A couple of very big calls there Warren , i think you may be getting a little carried away old mate .

I'm not your mate fat boy!

I would appreciate it if you would not address me as mate you gisborne rat, its God to you!