View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

wobble
18 Jan 2006, 13:29
I guess if he is supposed to be signing this week, we'll hear soon enough.

Any reports on Gisborne or any other club?

The BFL thread seems to have dried up a bit.........

Norfolk & Clew
18 Jan 2006, 15:05
I guess if he is supposed to be signing this week, we'll hear soon enough.

Any reports on Gisborne or any other club?

The BFL thread seems to have dried up a bit.........

I know mate, that is why i bothered responding to you today, I just guess not a great deal of Bendigo people know about BF. I'll have to spread the word!!

Jock Clark 2
18 Jan 2006, 17:14
:) YOU guys would be aware Mich. Medallist and key defender Dave Power have re-signed with Gisborne. And they might talk Ty Elliott into playing one more season. he won the Nalder Medal for BOG in last year's BFL grannie.
Sandhurst will go OK with Zac Perez and Mark Fitzgerald back from one of the WAFL clubs. And Mitro will be much fitter this year.
South has signed a heap -- Dane Frew, Zane Taylor (South Mildura, maybe a rover), Beau Shiels (ex-GS, recently Huntly), Nick Knight (Rochie), Brade Rohde (ex Pioneer, recently Nyah), Rick Coburn (W Hills), Shannon Hayes (ruck, W Hills).
Jamie Bond will play HOME games only for M'borough and the Maggies mite get Ashley Noonan back from one of the WAFL clubs where he has been training.
Kyneton get Shannon Carroll from Abers in the EDFL but lose Mattie Waters and Tom Tobin to the HDFL.
Square is chasing this ruckman we've all been hearing about and have grabbed Luke Rosa (bro. of Simon Rosa from the Ben. Bombers) plus Curtain and Tyrrell.
North City has players who were in Redan's recent flag-winning side and with a heap of talented juniors, look out for them -- especially after June when the club has settled in.
E'hawk re-signed Kain Robbins and got his mate Matt Gretgrix from Charlton -- he kicked 4 goals in the 2005 NCFL grannie.
Flat has Mark Salakowski, ex GVFL rep. player, but believed to be 35 or 36.

Jock Clark 2
18 Jan 2006, 17:15
The Gisborne Mich. Medallist re-signing is of course Matt FITZGERALD. Typo error, guys.

chief wiggum
18 Jan 2006, 19:05
Footy finals clash
Luke West
Saturday, 14 January 2006

THE All Seasons Bendigo Football League grand final and the Heathcote District Football League's showpiece day are set to clash this year.
The BFL and HDFL grand finals have both been set down for Saturday, September 23.

However, the possibility of the BFL grand final being shifted to Sunday, September 24, will be discussed at the league's club meeting on February 10.

What may also save a possible clash of grand finals is if the HDFL doesn't play an inter-league match.

The HDFL has set aside the Queen's Birthday long weekend in June as an opportunity for an inter-league game.

The HDFL is talking to both the Golden Rivers and Benalla and District leagues about playing inter-league, but neither is yet to commit.

If the league is unsuccessful in securing an opponent for a representative match, one option could be to bring the season forward a week for the remaining 10 rounds, therefore avoiding a grand final clash with the BFL.

HDFL secretary Trevor Arnel said the league couldn't afford to wait until February 10 to see what the BFL would do about its grand final scheduling before releasing its fixture to its nine clubs.

The Maryborough-Castlemaine District Football League grand final will also be played on September 23.

Arnel said it wouldn't suit the league to switch its grand final to the Sunday.

"It seems clubs struggle to even play on a Sunday when they have those two Sunday finals on the first two weekends (of the finals)," Arnel said.

"And tradition as well - the HDFL has always had a Saturday grand final, whereas the BFL has sometimes had a Sunday grand final.

"But hopefully, we can all work in together and in one way or another, it all works out for everyone involved."The last BFL grand final played on a Sunday was in 2001 when Golden Square defeated Sandhurst.

If the HDFL grand final is played on the Saturday and the BFL decider is played on the Sunday, there is the possibility of a joint ticketing system being put in place that would allow entry into both games.

The HDFL season will start on Saturday, April 22.

BFL general manager Tony Pierce or chairman Damian Drum couldn't be contacted yesterday.

Maybe HDFL and BFL should play an Interleague game against each other. I am willing to take bets that HDFL would defeat BFL
If BFL think they are a "Major" league then GFs should be scheduled for Sundays like other leagues such as GV and OM.

Doona2
18 Jan 2006, 19:19
Flat has Mark Salakowski, ex GVFL rep. player, but believed to be 35 or 36.

I think if you read recent transcripts from the Kyabram DFL thread an informant extremely high up with the Swans disagrees with this rumour.

On The Money
19 Jan 2006, 13:33
Maybe HDFL and BFL should play an Interleague game against each other. I am willing to take bets that HDFL would defeat BFL
If BFL think they are a "Major" league then GFs should be scheduled for Sundays like other leagues such as GV and OM.

Chief Wiggum come on! The Heathcote League is a good district comp much better than the Lodden Valley, Marybrough & C'Maine & co but not a patch on the Bendigo League. Have a look at the calibre of players amongst the sides Kain Robbins, Matt Fitzgerald, Luke Saunders, John Hardinge, Steven Reaper, Wayne Mitrovic and I haven't even scratched the surface yet.

Weapo
19 Jan 2006, 14:15
I agree On The Money, the HDFL would struggle to say the least in a game against the BFL.

Wes Pye is the man that Square have got. From Lake Boga. Very good and big Ruckman.

Weapo
19 Jan 2006, 14:19
You don't think the new team will be up there Randelbone? Seems like they have picked up some very handy players?

T.Perry
19 Jan 2006, 14:33
I agree On The Money, the HDFL would struggle to say the least in a game against the BFL.

Wes Pye is the man that Square have got. From Lake Boga. Very good and big Ruckman.

Used to play with Wes Pye - don't think he'd be 6 foot 5, prob a couple of inches or so shorter than that, but a very powerful unit. Can run, hits hard, and is a tireless worker who loves to stick up for his teammates and a top bloke, aswell. If anything, there'd be a question mark over his delivery and footy brain in general. I imagine he'd be in the top 3 ruckmen in the BFL next year, but wouldn't have the nous to go with John Hardinge..

BIGANT
19 Jan 2006, 14:40
You don't think the new team will be up there Randelbone? Seems like they have picked up some very handy players? Any truth in Ex Doutta stars & Bendigo boy Damian Lock back in the area ?? was talking w a w/borderfl side pre xmas (fell through).Any info !!

Weapo
19 Jan 2006, 14:41
Yeah your dead right T Perry. Yeah seen Hardinge go around and seems to be one of if not the best big man in Bendigo so it would be an interesting duel. Might have to go and have a look at that clash.

Weapo
19 Jan 2006, 14:42
Signed to coach Colbinabbin.

wheelbarrow
19 Jan 2006, 14:43
Could anyone tell me if the BFL legend Derek Filo is playing Coach again in 06.?

If so how old is he.? 38 - 39. ?? Would there ever have been an older playing coach any where in major country league football.?

T.Perry
19 Jan 2006, 14:44
Any truth in Ex Doutta stars & Bendigo boy Damian Lock back in the area ?? was talking w a w/borderfl side pre xmas (fell through).Any info !!

Damien Lock is certainly back in the area - coaching HDFL side, Colbinabbin. Not sure where he's residing, but I presume he's back living in Bendigo. HJ32 or Giantbug will be able to inform you more of what he's up to..

T.Perry
19 Jan 2006, 14:47
Could anyone tell me if the BFL legend Derek Filo is playing Coach again in 06.?

If so how old is he.? 38 - 39. ?? Would there ever have been an older playing coach any where in major country league football.?

Not sure exaclty how old they would have been, but Dirty Williams was playing coach at Rochester well into his 30's (though maybe not 38 or 39) and I think Tony Pasquali coached Wangarratta in the O & M not much younger than 40. Still, great effort from Filo..not many still go round at major league at his age..

wobble
20 Jan 2006, 09:53
Can confirm Wes Pys has signed with Golden Square.

The deal was made official this morning.

Anyone tell me how Eaglehawk are shaping up?

Always seem to have a high turnover of players yet still finish close to the top without breaking their duck.

Obviously Robins is a big plus but the losses of Rankin x 2, McGlynn & Geary will be tough to cover

Weapo
20 Jan 2006, 10:14
Can confirm Wes Pys has signed with Golden Square.

The deal was made official this morning.

Anyone tell me how Eaglehawk are shaping up?

Always seem to have a high turnover of players yet still finish close to the top without breaking their duck.

Obviously Robins is a big plus but the losses of Rankin x 2, McGlynn & Geary will be tough to cover

Apparently they have also got another from Charlton, Matt Windsall. About 6'2 defender. Can play as a key apparently and is aggressive when required. Don't think he will be a superstar but a handy addition.
Seems like they are getting a few though.

Wayne Weideman
20 Jan 2006, 12:56
how old is woosha walsh?

wobble
20 Jan 2006, 13:20
He turns 35 in September, decorated career though.

Four flags with North Shore in the GFL and held the prestigious honor of captaining the Bendigo Diggers before handing over to the "Mayor" of Bendigo in Nicky Carter.

The bones are starting to creek and the muscles are tightening up on the great D Walsh and I expect he'd be looking to hang them up this year.

His other love in Fishing is starting to take up plenty of his time too....

Norfolk & Clew
20 Jan 2006, 13:25
He turns 35 in September, decorated career though.

Four flags with North Shore in the GFL and held the prestigious honor of captaining the Bendigo Diggers before handing over to the "Mayor" of Bendigo in Nicky Carter.

The bones are starting to creek and the muscles are tightening up on the great D Walsh and I expect he'd be looking to hang them up this year.

His other love in Fishing is starting to take up plenty of his time too....

Actually only 31 from what I know, it seems as though his body is starting to feel the pinch, he can still play a very important role up forward now days if not fit enough for midfield!

This link confirms his D.O.B. -http://www.gsfnclub.com.au/darrenwalsh.htm

BIGANT
20 Jan 2006, 13:49
Outside of metropolitan leagues two tiered leagues have hardly ever been successful. It would never benefit the second division teams, and smaller country clubs would invariably struggle if they were promoted to the top division. Plus the old rivalries would be lost which is a real part of country footy. You office types have to get out a bit more often - the air-con must be getting stale. The news is right that Damian lock is coaching up that way @ Colbinabbin...can he play the game and where,is he wasted out in the bush league ?? i hear he's got white line fever too :thumbsu:........Did he enjoy it at doutta last year ?? Still peeved that we missed out on him for this season 06...seemed like a good fella

Jock Clark 2
20 Jan 2006, 14:27
Heard 2day little Central Murray club Nyah-Nyah West United could struggle in 2006.
Seems playing stocks have been depleted with a lot of their players heading to Bgo clubs
Brad Rohde is one NNWU guy heading to South Bendigo. Anyone hear of others from that club in nthn. Vic ?

Jock Clark 2
20 Jan 2006, 14:32
Oh, Mr T. Perry
BFL 2005 grand final Guide quoted Mr D. Filo as 35. That's close to the end of September 05.
I reckon he's older than the age quoted in that publication and closer to the age listed by other forumers on this thread.
Remember he was captain of Castlemaine when they won the 1992 BFL flag. That's a year or 2 ago, now.

gerta
20 Jan 2006, 17:21
Apparently they have also got another from Charlton, Matt Windsall. About 6'2 defender. Can play as a key apparently and is aggressive when required. Don't think he will be a superstar but a handy addition.
Seems like they are getting a few though.

That will be another big loss for charlton.... Looks like we are going to be saving some money next year... I wonder what position Rick Andrews son will be playing in the seniors?//

Wayne Weideman
20 Jan 2006, 19:15
just heard today that rochy and echuca would be playing in the bfl pre season comp. whats everyones opinion on this? interesting to see how it goes.

Wayne Weideman
21 Jan 2006, 09:30
with only 90 or so days to kick off who can tell me which teams will be up there and which players will be match winners come season 2006?

Jock Clark 2
22 Jan 2006, 15:42
:thumbsu: YEAH, WW, will be interesting to c how Rochie and Echuca fare in the Lightning Premiership.
The one-day job is only a fortnight out from the start of the BFL season so reckon Rochie and the Murray Bombers will be keen to make a big impression. So will the Bendigo clubs.
My tips for the BFL 5 (even at this early stage) -- Gissie, South, Square, E'hawk and Sandhurst.
North City will be a real threat I feel especially after the end of June when the club has settled in.
Forget Castlermaine. No forward line left. Kyneton will be OK provided Eve stands up and new boy S. Carroll keeps focussed on the footy, Maryboro will again win 3 to 4 games --OK, maybe 5. Flat might win 2: double the 2005 total.

Doona2
22 Jan 2006, 16:07
just heard today that rochy and echuca would be playing in the bfl pre season comp. whats everyones opinion on this? interesting to see how it goes.

GVFL clubs return to BFL
Luke West
Friday, 20 January 2006

ECHUCA and Rochester will return to the All Seasons Bendigo Football League this year.
But it won't be for the season proper - the two Goulburn Valley Football League clubs were yesterday confirmed as the two "outside" teams to compete in the BFL's inaugural pre-season lightning premiership on April 1.

With the addition of Echuca and Rochester, it means 12 teams will compete in the pre-season competition at the Queen Elizabeth Oval.

"Obviously, both these clubs have a past connection to the BFL and it's great they have accepted the opportunity to come back and play," BFL general manager Tony Pierce said.

"There have been a number of players move from Bendigo to these clubs, and vice-versa, and logistically, they both fit in well, so it should be good."The lightning premiership will double as the BFL's first look at its newest club, North City, which becomes the league's 10th team.

The Ballarat-based North City last year signed a 10-season agreement with the BFL after failing in its bid to be accepted into the Ballarat Football League.

"With Echuca, Rochester and North City, it sets it up for what should be a good pre-season competition," Pierce said.

"The clubs have been receptive to it and included it as part of their pre-season preparations.

"It's a new concept for the league, but an exciting one, and I see no reason why it can't grow into an annual event."Long-time Rochester coach David Williams said the club was looking forward to competing in the lightning premiership.

"We didn't have any practice matches organised for that weekend and we think it's a good concept," Williams said.

randallbone
23 Jan 2006, 12:44
Will be interesting to see how Rochy shapes up against the better BFL teams. Hard to say who will be available for all the clubs given other sporting comittments (cricket, etc) and also dependant on how serious each club takes it.

HJ32
23 Jan 2006, 20:32
That will be another big loss for charlton.... Looks like we are going to be saving some money next year...//

that's interesting reading re; Windsall, there weapo.

will have to see if that comes to fruition.......

Doona2
24 Jan 2006, 16:15
Square signs ruckman
Luke West
Tuesday, 24 January 2006

THE number one aim for Golden Square to boost its list with a ruckman for the 2006 All Seasons Bendigo Football League season has been fulfilled.

The Bulldogs have lured former Bendigo Pioneer and Lake Boga ruckman Wes Pye to Country Vet Oval for this year's BFL season.

And Pye's signing couldn't be more timely, with doubt over Daniel Nalder and Cameron Walsh playing for the Bulldogs this year.

Both Walsh and Nalder shared the rucking duties for Golden Square last season, but Nalder will be based in Geelong and Walsh in Melbourne this year.

While Pye will take on the mantle as the Bulldogs' number one ruckman this year, he has also played up forward and in defence in the past.

"He is a big build, reads the game pretty well and will add some aggression to our side," Golden Square coach Darren Walsh said yesterday.

"Our main target of the pre-season was to get a ruckman, so we're obviously pleased to get him."Pye - a former Central Murray Football League representative - will be based in Melbourne this year.

While Golden Square has added some much-needed height to its list with Pye, its midfield has also been bolstered by the addition of Chris Martens from Port Macquarie, who is a former league medallist.

There has been speculation that Golden Square has signed defender Matt Winsall from Charlton.

However, Walsh said that was not the case, and that he hadn't even spoken to Winsall.

Other recruits who will join the Bulldogs this year include Warrack Eagles' premiership player Luke Rosa, Matt Tyrell - who played in Golden Square's 2001 flag - and Jason Curtain, who spent last year on the Bendigo Bank Bombers' list.

Another former player in Robert Brown will return to the club this year.

"We also have four or five guys training with us who we hope to sign to add to our list and strengthen our depth," Walsh said.

Golden Square - who was beaten by South Bendigo in last year's elimination final - will play a practice mach against Goulburn Valley Football League club Kyabram on March 19, and Geelong Football League club North Shore in Bendigo on March 25.

For the third year in a row, the club will also hold a weekend training camp at Torquay on March 3-4.

Golden Square will open its 2006 campaign when it hosts reigning premier Gisborne on Sunday, April 16.

The Bulldogs were the only team to beat Gisborne last year, when they triumphed by a point in round seven at Gardiner Reserve.

Weapo
24 Jan 2006, 18:04
Has anyone got any idea on what a club would pay out for players in a year? Don't have to name a club but maybe what you know that a club has paid out lately over a year?

Obviously clubs are doing a fair bit of recruiting and spending a lot. Would hate to see my beloved boys go too far!

wheelbarrow
24 Jan 2006, 18:45
Has anyone got any idea on what a club would pay out for players in a year? Don't have to name a club but maybe what you know that a club has paid out lately over a year?

Obviously clubs are doing a fair bit of recruiting and spending a lot. Would hate to see my beloved boys go too far!

100 to 160K would get u a flag in the GV

25 to 40K dpending on what and who u got would stitch it for u in the KD.

Doona2
24 Jan 2006, 22:14

Yea spent under $20,000 to win last years CGFL flag, Broadford spent $69,000 in '03 when runners up to Colbo in the HDFL

HJ32
24 Jan 2006, 22:30
Yea spent under $20,000 to win last years CGFL flag, Broadford spent $69,000 in '03 when runners up to Colbo in the HDFL

not many clubs can do that doona - under 20k is quite a fantastic statement about the players and the club. Coleambally up in the coreen district comp won the flag last year and spent 25k.

sticking with the bendigo fl theme, it would not surprise me if tyrell does a backflip and stays at the hillies with brian walsh expected to take the job.

Doona2
24 Jan 2006, 22:32
not many clubs can do that doona - under 20k is quite a fantastic statement about the players and the club.

sticking with the bendigo fl theme, it would not surprise me if tyrell does a backflip and stays at the hillies with brian walsh expected to take the job.

Will that entice others to stick around???

HJ32
24 Jan 2006, 22:36
"There has been speculation that Golden Square has signed defender Matt Winsall from Charlton.

However, Walsh said that was not the case, and that he hadn't even spoken to Winsall."

i thought Winsall was heading to the borough! maybe he's going to have a run at south whilst contemplating offers from Slagheads and the flat.

gerta
25 Jan 2006, 07:59
"There has been speculation that Golden Square has signed defender Matt Winsall from Charlton.

However, Walsh said that was not the case, and that he hadn't even spoken to Winsall."

i thought Winsall was heading to the borough! maybe he's going to have a run at south whilst contemplating offers from Slagheads and the flat.

Thats unlike matty to be taking offers from differents clubs ;)

HJ32
25 Jan 2006, 09:36
yes gerta totally agree - it's probably unwanted attention for the poor fella

On The Money
25 Jan 2006, 11:13
Word has hit the street that the Millward brothers are in negotiations with Kerang and are keen to join the Central Murray Club. This would be a major hit in the onion bags for the Flat if proved to be true.

Weapo
25 Jan 2006, 12:40
Word has hit the street that the Millward brothers are in negotiations with Kerang and are keen to join the Central Murray Club. This would be a major hit in the onion bags for the Flat if proved to be true.

I actually heard this rumour and didn't know how serious it was OTM. Must be the real deal if the word is getting around. Will be the a huge loss for the seemed to be improving flat. They have picked up a few and then to lose them would be interesting. Is anyone going with them i wonder? Is this cause they offered the coaching job to one of them and it wasn't pursued? They may have had a falling out by giving it back to Brown, which also seems hard to believe when he didn't want to take the job on again after the season?

Weapo
25 Jan 2006, 13:04

What would coaches in the league be on?

wheelbarrow
25 Jan 2006, 14:08
Could anyone tell me if Kangaroo Flat r trg tonight. ??:confused:

On The Money
25 Jan 2006, 14:08
I actually heard this rumour and didn't know how serious it was OTM. Must be the real deal if the word is getting around. Will be the a huge loss for the seemed to be improving flat. They have picked up a few and then to lose them would be interesting. Is anyone going with them i wonder? Is this cause they offered the coaching job to one of them and it wasn't pursued? They may have had a falling out by giving it back to Brown, which also seems hard to believe when he didn't want to take the job on again after the season?

Yer I don't know heaps about it Weapo but Chris Belz was the other name mentioned with them and he is originally from Kerang so that could be legit. Phil Brichmore who played with the Flat in 2004 is going back there too so they might have a car pool on the go. Who have Flat actually picked up?

gerta
25 Jan 2006, 14:22
yes gerta totally agree - it's probably unwanted attention for the poor fella

Yeah definitely and the money that they force into his pockets ;)

he just hates it ;)

wheelbarrow
25 Jan 2006, 14:32

he just hates it ;)

Who would be the highest paid player, (not coaching) just player in the BFL.?

Norfolk & Clew
25 Jan 2006, 14:40

Big Reidy from Eaglehawk!:thumbsu:

caveman
25 Jan 2006, 14:44

This would be a devastating blow to the Flat. I was looking forward to seeing our younger guys with a bit more experience this season but we need as many experienced players as we can get. Geez I hope the Flat keep them! :(

Jock Clark 2
25 Jan 2006, 16:31
OH no, Cavey. All this talk through summer that the Flat might win more than one game in 2006, recruit asst. coach Dickens and experienced inter-league campaigner Salakowski and then 4 guys could disappear overnite.
I've got Phil Birchmore included in that figure of 4, by the way.
And all of them head to the Central Murray league.
Maybe we r back to the scenario of Flat winning one game for the season --- AGAIN.

caveman
25 Jan 2006, 17:38
OH no, Cavey. All this talk through summer that the Flat might win more than one game in 2006, recruit asst. coach Dickens and experienced inter-league campaigner Salakowski and then 4 guys could disappear overnite.
I've got Phil Birchmore included in that figure of 4, by the way.
And all of them head to the Central Murray league.
Maybe we r back to the scenario of Flat winning one game for the season --- AGAIN.

Mate I will stick with the Flat no matter who is playing for them but yes it will be a HUGE blow to the club if it does happen. Wont worry too much until everything is official.

HJ32
25 Jan 2006, 17:56

kain robbins would be i reckon wheeliebin - the story around the traps is that he'd be on at least 800 per game at eaglehawk...

HJ32
25 Jan 2006, 18:00

he just hates it ;)

Gertman - these winky faces you keep producing have all the hallmarks of sarcasm..... care to elaborate??:confused:

gerta
25 Jan 2006, 18:01
Gertman - these winky faces you keep producing have all the hallmarks of sarcasm..... care to elaborate??:confused:

Yeha they do have hallmarks of sarcasm... Just that there are a few gentleman in the NCFL that tend to go fishing at times at the end of year, just to bump up their own price a bit if u know what i mean...

I sure you can join the dots with my sarcasm...

HJ32
25 Jan 2006, 18:14
yeah well there would be a few bendigo clubs who would be a bit peeved off I'd reckon if that was the case. I've got no doubt that the Borough have spoken with him seeing they've got Matt Gretgrix, and South would probably have had a crack to seeing that O'Bree is a former NCFL player.

Wayne Weideman
27 Jan 2006, 12:50
yeah well there would be a few bendigo clubs who would be a bit peeved off I'd reckon if that was the case. I've got no doubt that the Borough have spoken with him seeing they've got Matt Gretgrix, and South would probably have had a crack to seeing that O'Bree is a former NCFL player.

HJ32 you seem to know a bit about the BFL. who will be the teams to beat and which players do you think will impress you this year for season 2006?

randallbone
27 Jan 2006, 13:04
HJ32 you seem to know a bit about the BFL. who will be the teams to beat and which players do you think will impress you this year for season 2006?

Weeds, hard to see South finishing out of the top 3. Pickups like Knight, Shiels, Sims, etc, etc, will mean that they will be hard to beat. Their 2's led by the formidable Troy Auld, will also be in good nick and after missing out on the big one last year. Could see this as their year in the BFL.

Square, Gisborne, and Eaglehawk to provide some stiff competition.
Sandhurst & North City (Ballarat) may be the dark horses, but would be surprised if Sandhurst finished top 4.

Weeds, what is the news on North City?

Wayne Weideman
27 Jan 2006, 13:11
Weeds, hard to see South finishing out of the top 3. Pickups like Knight, Shiels, Sims, etc, etc, will mean that they will be hard to beat. Their 2's led by the formidable Troy Auld, will also be in good nick and after missing out on the big one last year. Could see this as their year in the BFL.

Square, Gisborne, and Eaglehawk to provide some stiff competition.
Sandhurst & North City (Ballarat) may be the dark horses, but would be surprised if Sandhurst finished top 4.

Weeds, what is the news on North City?

word on the street is they must not be under estimated. they are just quietly going about there business away from the spotlight which is a good thing. signed some good players and people must remember that there is a while to go til kick off and there is some good players in and around ballarat that might like to try out the bfl for a bit of a change. they are fairly financial i am led to believe

nevillebartos14
27 Jan 2006, 13:13
if troy auld has taken on the job as the heatcote district football leagues publicity officer, is it fair to say he might not find the time to play at south????

Wayne Weideman
27 Jan 2006, 13:16
if troy auld has taken on the job as the heatcote district football leagues publicity officer, is it fair to say he might not find the time to play at south????

not sure mate but if he did want to coach, south would be stupid to stand in his way. did a very good job last year which nearly resulted in bringing the bacon home

ablett
27 Jan 2006, 13:54
i'd be suprise if hawkins goes to kerang concidering he was g.s training wednesday nite.

Norfolk & Clew
27 Jan 2006, 14:14
i'd be suprise if hawkins goes to kerang concidering he was g.s training wednesday nite.

I just dug a bit deeper into this story and it seems as though the anderson boys, Dillon and Clayton are going back home to Cohuna with Hawkins.

Hawkins was ditched as assistant due to being based in Melbourne and it seems as though he wants an assistants position even though he wont be at training and cohuna may have offered that role to him.

He is trying to convince the Andersons to come with him. I'll keep you posted!

Doona2
27 Jan 2006, 18:09

What's happened to Wayne Fidler???

ablett
27 Jan 2006, 18:44
norfolk, if your info is correct then 1 wood think coach darren walsh wont be a happy camper especially if its eventuated behind his back.
keep us updated bro.

Whippet
28 Jan 2006, 08:41
Could someone please give me some information on a fella that used to play for south by the name of Luke Lowndes? Was this chap any good or what?

HJ32
28 Jan 2006, 09:14
I just dug a bit deeper into this story and it seems as though the anderson boys, Dillon and Clayton are going back home to Cohuna with Hawkins.

Hawkins was ditched as assistant due to being based in Melbourne and it seems as though he wants an assistants position even though he wont be at training and cohuna may have offered that role to him.

He is trying to convince the Andersons to come with him. I'll keep you posted!

Dills has a suspected stress fracture in his leg....

Wayne Weideman
28 Jan 2006, 09:23
just saw the pools in todays addy for the pre season comp. whats peoples opinion on the pools. rochy are in south and golden square and echuca are in sandhurst and maryborough

Tilt Carter
28 Jan 2006, 09:47
Could someone please give me some information on a fella that used to play for south by the name of Luke Lowndes? Was this chap any good or what?

Whip, lowndes was a good player for south on the wing i think from memory, speedy little player also got a couple of goals each week about 5"9 i would say. currently in London were he has been residing for the past two years and has just signed on for another two through his employment, dating a french poodle so don't expect to see him in the GO region for a while.:D

Norfolk & Clew
28 Jan 2006, 10:19
norfolk, if your info is correct then 1 wood think coach darren walsh wont be a happy camper especially if its eventuated behind his back.
keep us updated bro.

I spoke to a mate who was at squares training this morning and neither anderson boys attended... think of this what you like:thumbsu:

ablett
28 Jan 2006, 11:15
maybe cos it was at 7.00am. well thats what i was told. thats getting a bit serious for country footy dont ya reckon.

Jock Clark 2
28 Jan 2006, 11:45
Innaresting to hear of Lowndes-y's progress through 2004 and o5, Tilt. He was a speedy winger in his time at South, there's no doubt about it.

Weeds: the Lightning Comp. draw for April 1st published in 2day's Addy was writer Luke West's version of what he WOULD LIKE to see. It's not the BFL draw or anything like that.
For others who mite not have seen it, Westy divided the pools up like this -- Pool A: Kyneton, Gisborne and North City. Pool B: South, Rochie and the Square. Pool C: Eaglehawk, C'maine and the Flat. Pool D: M'boro, Sandhurst and Echuca.
When the official draw is finally released, the competing clubs will play 2 15-min. halves, with no time-on. Each club plays 2 pool games. The top club in each pool progresses through to the semis.

nevillebartos14
28 Jan 2006, 12:40
is it true that dillon has been looking for an out alot earlier than this. rumour has it he wanted to move last year, up north to albury to play with former team mate matt crocker, but couldnt find a job with his bank up there...

Wayne Weideman
28 Jan 2006, 15:04
Innaresting to hear of Lowndes-y's progress through 2004 and o5, Tilt. He was a speedy winger in his time at South, there's no doubt about it.

Weeds: the Lightning Comp. draw for April 1st published in 2day's Addy was writer Luke West's version of what he WOULD LIKE to see. It's not the BFL draw or anything like that.
For others who mite not have seen it, Westy divided the pools up like this -- Pool A: Kyneton, Gisborne and North City. Pool B: South, Rochie and the Square. Pool C: Eaglehawk, C'maine and the Flat. Pool D: M'boro, Sandhurst and Echuca.
When the official draw is finally released, the competing clubs will play 2 15-min. halves, with no time-on. Each club plays 2 pool games. The top club in each pool progresses through to the semis.

yeah read over it properly after i wrote that post and found that out jock. sincere apoligies. what do you reckon of the way luke did it. the south, square and rochy clash would be an eye opener for many bfl fans i would think

smellingsmoke
28 Jan 2006, 18:16

Have heard from a reliable source within the bfl that :
POOL A will contain - GSq, Ehawk & Rochy
POOL B - KFlat, M'borough & South Bgo
POOLC - Kyneton, C'Maine & Echuca
POOL D - Gisbourne, S'Hurst & North City

and pools A & C, B & D will play off in semi
which means that South & Rochy can only meet if they make it to the final.

also word is there will be a BFL sprint prior to the start of the final

Wayne Weideman
29 Jan 2006, 07:24
Have heard from a reliable source within the bfl that :
POOL A will contain - GSq, Ehawk & Rochy
POOL B - KFlat, M'borough & South Bgo
POOLC - Kyneton, C'Maine & Echuca
POOL D - Gisbourne, S'Hurst & North City

and pools A & C, B & D will play off in semi
which means that South & Rochy can only meet if they make it to the final.

also word is there will be a BFL sprint prior to the start of the final

well there you go. there would be a couple of blokes from south that would probably want to make that final againest rochy i would think.

Doona2
29 Jan 2006, 14:26
Top dog gone

Luke West
Saturday, 28 January 2006

PREMIERSHIP forward Jordan Barham has quit Gisborne to embark on a Victorian Football League career with Werribee.

Barham has spent the past two years with Gisborne, playing in the club's All Seasons Bendigo Football League premiership last season and losing grand final side to Sandhurst in 2004.

But he is moving on to pit his skills at a higher level with Werribee, who was beaten by Sandringham in last year's thrilling VFL grand final.

"We're rapt to get Jordan; we spoke to him last year, but he said he wanted to have a year playing footy with his brother," Werribee coach Simon Atkins said yesterday.

"He's coming off a fantastic season with Gisborne, and has the benefit of doing a pre-season with Melbourne behind him.

"He offers us height and mobility at either end of the ground and he has set a great example on the training track in the two weeks he has been training with us."

Barham has previously spent time on the Port Power and St Kilda rookie lists, and also spent the first part of the pre-season this summer with Melbourne, but was unsuccessful in being drafted.

Since he returned to Gisborne from Myrtleford in 2004, Barham has been one of the most difficult key forwards for opposition sides to match up on in the BFL.

Last year, he kicked 59 goals for the Bulldogs, including six hauls of five goals or more.

He kicked three in Gisborne's 31-point win against Eaglehawk in the grand final at the Queen Elizabeth Oval, but it could have been considerably more after he had 12 shots at goal.

Gisborne coach Marcus Barham - Jordan's brother - said the 194 cm athletic forward would be a loss, but his departure gives younger players at Gardiner Reserve an opportunity.

Matthew Knox - a Rositas Rising Star nominee in round two last year - is one player who looms as a potential replacement at full-forward.

In his debut senior game last season, Knox booted six goals against Maryborough in an encouraging performance.

Another possible full-forward for the Bulldogs is Richard White, who kicked five goals against Kangaroo Flat late in the season.

"We've got some good young players coming through who will get their opportunity, so we can't worry about it too much," Marcus said.

The Bulldogs have pre-season matches lined up against Sunshine and Sunbury, and the BFL lightning premiership on April 1.

Gisborne played in last year's Ballarat Football League lightning premiership, and Marcus says the club is looking forward to competing in the Bendigo Football League's version.

"It's a good concept and a good chance to see new recruits from other sides," Marcus said.

"We go out to win every game, but because it will be our last hit-out before the season starts and our side for round one won't be decided, we will be giving a few blokes a chance."

The Bulldogs' first game of the premiership season will be when they play Golden Square at Country Vet Oval on Sunday, April 16.

Meanwhile, South Bendigo's active recruiting campaign has continued, with the Bloods' luring Ryan Connaughton back to the club.

Connaughton spent last year with Goulburn Valley Football League club, Rochester.

"It's good to have Ryan back at the club," South Bendigo coach Danny O'Bree said.

"We might play him down back this year; I think he will enjoy the challenge of playing off a half-back flank."

The Bloods will be the first team to confront the BFL's newest club, North City, when they clash under lights at the QEO on Saturday, April 15.

South Bendigo finished third last year, beaten by Eaglehawk in the preliminary final.

Gareth Keenan
30 Jan 2006, 13:21
Afternoon fellow footy fans.

I've heard this is the forum to come to to find out what's going on in Bendigo footy.
I'm an ex-BFL player who now lives interstate.
I love Bendigo footy and like to stay in touch with what's going on.

I still have a few mates in town and the word going around is that there's a crisis brewing at one Bendigo-based club.
It seems a practical joke by team-mates aimed at the sexuality of one of the league's high-profile players backfired and he's now threatened to head to the Central Murray league (Kerang or Cohuna I think) for big bucks.

Anyone else heard anything about it????

ablett
30 Jan 2006, 13:52
word is that dillion anderson is waiting on a work transfer to albury, if it comes thru he's off.

jets06
30 Jan 2006, 14:35
the Power brothers (Dave & Kuke) will return to Gisborne after a couple of years at Doutta Stars in the Essendon District, i thought both were happy in town playing and were going back to Gisborne to finish out their careers. Elsum will play at Doutta in 2006:rolleyes:

Big news from Gisborne. Jordan Barham is doing a pre-season with Melbourne- a chance of getting on the rookie list. At the very least will play V.F.L .Simon Elsum (Michelson Medalist) and David Power (premiership defender) will be back at Gisborne next year. Both players did not enjoy their year at Dooda Stars. Chris Curcio may make a comeback. Adam Potroskvy is trying his luck at Coburg and Rick Watts at Williamstown- Both wont make it-Adam too slow (good player but too slow). Tai Elliot may not play.

Picklesmeoldmate
31 Jan 2006, 12:08
I've just been away on a six week holiday overseas, so haven't had a chance to catch up on what has been happening around the BFL scene for a while. Seems there has been a fair bit going on and like always at this time, a lot of rumours flying around. Looking forward to clearances opening tomorrow so that these rumours may now start to become fact. It seems that there is a few big stories brewing at the moment that will be worth keeping an eye on. At this early stage, i reckon it's shaping as a replay of last year's grand final between gisborne and eaglehawk. gisborne have had little player movement so far, but the big loss is the big Jbar - jordan barham - who is off to the vfl. there's no doubt the loss of jordan brings gisborne back a few begs, but they will still be the team to beat. eaglehawk has recruited very well so far and i'm putting my hard-earns on kain robins to win the michelsen. i also like south as well. the bloods will be a serious threat this year under o'bree and are another side that has recruited well.

nevillebartos14
31 Jan 2006, 12:43
heard that dillon anderson will not head up albury way

ablett
31 Jan 2006, 12:50
i can add that clayton anderson is deffinately not heading back to cohuna.

wobble
31 Jan 2006, 13:32
Why would Square be worried about the Anderson boys leaving??

Dillon couldn't get a kick in a street fight at the moment and Clayton is more intent on becoming the biggest serial pest on the grog since Christian Carter!!

Word has it they were both told they'll spend considerable time in the two's at Square this year hence the thought to move back to Coona was born.

If Clayton does go, expect his mate "Dogboy" to be trekking along behind him on all fours!

BIGANT
31 Jan 2006, 15:20
:rolleyes:How did Elsum play last year ?? where did doutta's play him

Jock Clark 2
31 Jan 2006, 16:03
WELCOME back Pickles.
Where did u go, and how was the flying time. I remember one time not long back a marathon haul from Dubai to Melbourne -- 13 hours in an Emirates SkyBus.

Weapo
1 Feb 2006, 08:53
Seem pretty confident with the square team Wobble if you think the Andersons would play 2's. They were pretty consistent i thought. I also remeber the coach saying last year (when one or both were injured) that they would add a lot of speed and class and that they would be a far better side with them? It was when they lost a couple on the trot. Has there has been a falling out of sorts?

Picklesmeoldmate
1 Feb 2006, 10:14
I went to the hills of Europe for a bit of back packing. was good fun, but you don't get much news on the bfl over there. It's good to be back. 28 hours in the plane.

wobble
1 Feb 2006, 10:15
Not that I am aware of Weapo, sources close to the club tell me they are becoming increasingly frustrated by their lack of fulfilled potential.

I did however hear last night that if Clayton did leave he would certainly be a loss, so I will retrack what I mentioned yesterday on bf, but as for Dillon Claude Critchley has provided more entertainment in BFL ranks.

Anyone out there know what nights the Square train?

Wouldn't mind going along for a look, haven't been to a circus for awhile!

ablett
1 Feb 2006, 10:43
wobble, you dont seem to be a fan of andersons for some reason.
is it true that if dillion stood on claytons head they'ed be 5ft!

wobble
1 Feb 2006, 11:15
To be honest with you Ablett, I don't really know them, played against Dillon and few times and he hardly bothered the stats man.

I don't know about them only being 5ft tall together, Clayton seems to think he is 10ft tall and bulletproof after a couple of cans of courage.

Seem him at the Universal the other week and you would have thought he was the next Tony Plim the way he was going about his business!

Norfolk & Clew
1 Feb 2006, 11:29
Not that I am aware of Weapo, sources close to the club tell me they are becoming increasingly frustrated by their lack of fulfilled potential.

I did however hear last night that if Clayton did leave he would certainly be a loss, so I will retrack what I mentioned yesterday on bf, but as for Dillon Claude Critchley has provided more entertainment in BFL ranks.

Anyone out there know what nights the Square train?

Wouldn't mind going along for a look, haven't been to a circus for awhile!

The square are training tonight mate, at the moment I think it is Monday Wednesday and the odd friday! As for comparing Dillon to Claude, Claude probably has more skill too.

wheelbarrow
1 Feb 2006, 11:47
Kangaroo Flat have offered a bloke in the KDL, $200 a game, a room for the nights he plays and also an extra $30 for every trg session he attends.
Who by the way is not good enough to play GV 1's, nor has he ever played major comp.?

Where is the bottom of the barrell in country footy. ??

T.Perry
1 Feb 2006, 12:28
Kangaroo Flat have offered a bloke in the KDL, $200 a game, a room for the nights he plays and also an extra $30 for every trg session he attends.
Who by the way is not good enough to play GV 1's, nor has he ever played major comp.?

At a guess, I'd say you're talking about Shaun Pearce from Stanhope? (There were rumours Flat were chasing him). Sure, he's never played major league, but has kicked a lot of goals over the last 3-4 seasons in the KDL. Personally i don't think $200/wk is a lot to pay a TOP KDL footballer to take the step up to the BFL. Flat need a goal-kicker or 2, so I reckon he'd be a great recruit for them if they got him for that price (and if indeed he's the player in question...)

Saint
1 Feb 2006, 12:35
I heard from a guy at cricket that there was a league best and fairest from Gippsland training with Kangaroo Flat. Anyone from Kangaroo Flat care to comment?

Weapo
1 Feb 2006, 12:42

I guess clubs at the bottom and trying to rebuild look at getting the ball rolling, even though they have been trying and maybe should have tried a lot earlier but maybe the are taking the angle that they have to try and get players and spend a little more than they should. They are obviously struggling and its disappointing for a few at the club who deserve success.

In saying that, people do up there price because they will end up getting somewhere!

wheelbarrow
1 Feb 2006, 13:07
At a guess, I'd say you're talking about Shaun Pearce from Stanhope? (There were rumours Flat were chasing him). Sure, he's never played major league, but has kicked a lot of goals over the last 3-4 seasons in the KDL. Personally i don't think $200/wk is a lot to pay a TOP KDL footballer to take the step up to the BFL. Flat need a goal-kicker or 2, so I reckon he'd be a great recruit for them if they got him for that price (and if indeed he's the player in question...)

Its not Pearce, he would be worth that to a struggling major league club..

Not this bloke..

HJ32
1 Feb 2006, 13:14
hey wheelie you reported on the gvl thred that salakowski is training at shepp utd, what has happened to the 'flat deal'? has he pulled the pin on the idea? or is he just doing pre-season with united to get fit for his alledged Bendigo Footy assault?

do fill us in wheeliebin :)

HJ32
1 Feb 2006, 13:20

What amazes me is that clubs like the flat will go and do this for a player in a comp they have probably never even seen (apart from Dicko obviously), yet some of these bendigo clubs won't even bother trying to recruit good young players from the HDFL to build up their list.

The HDFL by the way, would be easily infront of the KDL comp....

Saint
1 Feb 2006, 13:22
Does anyone know a guy called Ash Olin, played at Charlton apparently about 4 or 5 years ago. How does he go as a footballer? Where is he playing at the moment?

Norfolk & Clew
2 Feb 2006, 10:19
The square are training tonight mate, at the moment I think it is Monday Wednesday and the odd friday! As for comparing Dillon to Claude, Claude probably has more skill too.

Have spoken to Dillon since i posted the above and he has reassured me that he is a better footballer than Claude Critchley, sorry to misinform you all:thumbsu: