View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
back again guys after a bit of an absence, just like b birmingham and c u fire
billy b. sez hybrid footy alive and well in ireland but i have to tell u -- in eastern europe they think u r talking rugby when u start explaining our game
never heard of it
wot happened early this month when the benders footy radio station nearly went under someone told me on sunday when i got back its been in the paper on the tv news and all for quite a stretch
They should keep the radio station and get rid of the old dcikheads that commentate on it. Especially Teasesdale! Nuisance, pest, if i went on i would only be swearing. Jock, Bakesy and Richard are the only good ones on there! What good is teasedale anyway. Small man, big mouth idiot! Get some young blood in there to liven it up. NOT that FAT kid, collins! Too many pies, not enough research and footy knowledge!:thumbsd:
max powers.
23 Nov 2006, 08:35
[Get some young blood in there to liven it up. NOT that FAT kid, collins! Too many pies, not enough research and footy knowledge!:thumbsd:[/quote]
Warren i'll actually give that to you........GOLD!
zakster
23 Nov 2006, 11:52
wozz how did you think young zack harvey went on the grand final radio broadcast theres a few wraps on him especially after he ran the ehawk 125th anniversary fuunctions so well last year
people i speak to say zack has a big future
and no this is not him posting under this particular user name
Trent the flight Steward
23 Nov 2006, 11:53
Well people just had a look at Smasher's past posts and this fcukhead thinks he is gods gift to football. If you dont like whats on here, then fcuk off!
Great ploy to put Stevo into the caretaker role. Done a fantastic job with the 3rds. Well liked and respected, so good luck to him. Maybe he can start getting a bit of discipline back into the club.
Cheerio to me old mate Thommo down at the Windee! Back a couple of winners today old son!:D :thumbsu:
Perhaps the Jughead can sit the boys down to his favourite movie remember the titans, but then all the boys will be able to fginish off his quotes in his inspirational speeches
smasher100
23 Nov 2006, 12:16
Well people just had a look at Smasher's past posts and this fcukhead thinks he is gods gift to football. If you dont like whats on here, then fcuk off!
Great ploy to put Stevo into the caretaker role. Done a fantastic job with the 3rds. Well liked and respected, so good luck to him. Maybe he can start getting a bit of discipline back into the club.
Cheerio to me old mate Thommo down at the Windee! Back a couple of winners today old son!:D :thumbsu:
Well you seem to be doing a wonderful job at the 'Flat ;)
Scoobert Doo
23 Nov 2006, 12:23
Perhaps the Jughead can sit the boys down to his favourite movie remember the titans, but then all the boys will be able to fginish off his quotes in his inspirational speeches
:confused:
Another fcukhead that hit the list! If you have been at the club or seem to know everything about it or everyone in it, whats your ideas then know all?
The Wombat
23 Nov 2006, 13:25
has anyone head any recruiting news from kyneton
Carroll leaving, Cook back and Ricky O'Laughlin to the club
Grimmett
23 Nov 2006, 13:49
Another fcukhead that hit the list! If you have been at the club or seem to know everything about it or everyone in it, whats your ideas then know all?
That list must be about the length of a roll of Sorbent by now Waz. ;)
Truth Hurts
23 Nov 2006, 14:03
That list must be about the length of a roll of Sorbent by now Waz. ;)
Nice one, I can't stop myself laughing at that one! very creative..
davis24
23 Nov 2006, 17:53
Carroll leaving, Cook back and Ricky O'Laughlin to the club
Ricky o laughlin thats a huge pick up where did you here that from and where is caroll heading off to
bigchop
23 Nov 2006, 20:19
Ricky o laughlin thats a huge pick up where did you here that from and where is caroll heading off to
Agree , Ricky 'O would dominate the comp , he is still a top tier sanfl player , If he does end up at kyneton he wont come by himself so the tigers might be on to some good recruiting , good on nev be good for the comp.
The Talking Goat
23 Nov 2006, 20:57
Just received strong mail that nick knight is that confident of being picked up by a melbourne-based club on saturday, he has already been down this week checking out the real estate in town. apparantly carlton have showed some late interest, and i understand denis pagan drove up to bendigo today to have a chat with the talented player. i hope he gets picked up. he has put so much effort into achieving his afl dream, and now he is so close. good luck nick, from us all here at big footy.:thumbsu:
Wayne Weideman
24 Nov 2006, 06:04
Just received strong mail that nick knight is that confident of being picked up by a melbourne-based club on saturday, he has already been down this week checking out the real estate in town. apparantly carlton have showed some late interest, and i understand denis pagan drove up to bendigo today to have a chat with the talented player. i hope he gets picked up. he has put so much effort into achieving his afl dream, and now he is so close. good luck nick, from us all here at big footy.:thumbsu:
BIG FOOTY EXCLUSIVE:
prominent media figure luke west has undergone emergency face surgerey to make himself look more attractive and be a bit of a ressemblence to the famous bert newton. it has been a topsy turby ride for luke who was tipped to take over as the new scotty palmer on rex hunts sunday program.
"luke has been down here for a week now running some pilots to see what he does look like on camera. at first we thought we were onto a winner here but at second, third and fourth glances at luke we thought luke had more of a head like a "bag full of smashed crabs". channel seven spokesman said.
the news i have recieved is that luke went under the knife last night to make him look like bert and should be out of theartre later today. Stay posted to the outcome big footy people.
anything would look better than the thing sitting above his shoulders now wouldn't it?:p
Truth Hurts
24 Nov 2006, 07:14
I think you will find Nick is playing for Mildura this season. Don't know why you would be trying to make him look silly like you are???
Agree , Ricky 'O would dominate the comp , he is still a top tier sanfl player , If he does end up at kyneton he wont come by himself so the tigers might be on to some good recruiting , good on nev be good for the comp.
Ricky Schmicky.... big names have a habbit of not delivering in the bfl!
bigchop
24 Nov 2006, 12:17
oh warren , i forgot that you know everything , doubt youve ever played the game
good player out of luck
24 Nov 2006, 14:43
Hey warren you would have no idea about big name palyers as your team have never been able to get one to make judgement.
KingRich
24 Nov 2006, 14:53
Hey warren you would have no idea about big name palyers as your team have never been able to get one to make judgement.
Good Call!:D
We've had a few and got a few. Remember last year when there was a big write up about B-B-B-Belzy. Big photo with the weights, all oiled up for Doley to come around and do an article. Then what happened to him, couldn't deliver.
Look everyon'e got them and had them, wont be the last!
Good Call!:D
Id love to wipe that cheesy grin off your face!
KingRich
24 Nov 2006, 15:08
Id love to wipe that cheesy grin off your face!
Got him! Another snapper to add to my catches for the day! :D
I hate anyone with a King in their name. They compensate for a range of things. They are small in stature and personality so they get a name that makes them BIG!:cool:
bloodhound!
24 Nov 2006, 15:25
I hate anyone with a King in their name. They compensate for a range of things. They are small in stature and personality so they get a name that makes them BIG!:cool:
Actually warren i reckon you and king rich would get along well, he's from talbot and talbot have caravans next to their ground as well:thumbsu:
The sloth
24 Nov 2006, 15:25
We've had a few and got a few. Remember last year when there was a big write up about B-B-B-Belzy. Big photo with the weights, all oiled up for Doley to come around and do an article. Then what happened to him, couldn't deliver.
Look everyon'e got them and had them, wont be the last!
Warren,
Are you for real??? I would hardly call Belz a big name. It just goes to show that you have no idea about the game in any way shape or form. While belz is'nt a super star he is a little man with a huge ticker constanly putting his body on the line for his team mates.
I think what we are talking about are ex-AFL, SANFL or VFL footballers which have made an impact in these comps.
Sh1t work by you to have a crack at a bloke about his speach sitting at your keyboard. You JellyFish.
KingRich
24 Nov 2006, 15:53
Actually warren i reckon you and king rich would get along well, he's from talbot and talbot have caravans next to their ground as well:thumbsu:
Yeah not bad Blood hound good call! I wont get into a slanging match! Good source of income having the caravan park at the ground!
bloodhound!
24 Nov 2006, 16:20
Yeah not bad Blood hound good call! I wont get into a slanging match! Good source of income having the caravan park at the ground!
Is that where hoggy lives King?
zakster
24 Nov 2006, 17:07
geez im getting tired of all this bitching and slaging off each other how about some footy matters fellas bfl ann. gen. meeting is coming up on wednesday how do the clubs feel about getting a bit over 6 grand each as the air 2006 dividend and will bendigo host ballarat in the 1st of these rivalry interleag games we do have a new lot of change rooms over on the pool side
Wayne Weideman
24 Nov 2006, 20:40
has most clubs started pre-season yet? i know there are quite a few square boys who are really keen at the minute. They are doing two sessions a day at feelgood. one in the morning and one once they have finished work. pretty full on.
South start in early december which is going to involve time trials and sprint tests etc. they have also been given a christmas program which has been set up by coburn that involves running and weights during the break.
the team i have heard least about would have to be sandhurst. has anyone any news about the dragons? pretty interested as i think gilliand is a top bloke and will be a good coach:thumbsu:
davis24
24 Nov 2006, 21:21
has anyone heard where shannon caroll is heading off to casue i heard in a past post that caroll is leaving....... also in the same post it stated that brett cook was coming back why is this after he walked out on the club last year
The Talking Goat
25 Nov 2006, 11:24
I think you will find Nick is playing for Mildura this season. Don't know why you would be trying to make him look silly like you are???
Not trying to make him look silly, just having some fun and games. better than a lot of the other ******** being talked on here. i happen to be an aquaitnace of nick, and know he occasionally logs on to this website and has a read. sorry if I offended anyone. goat out.
Wayne Weideman
25 Nov 2006, 11:37
Not trying to make him look silly, just having some fun and games. better than a lot of the other ******** being talked on here. i happen to be an aquaitnace of nick, and know he occasionally logs on to this website and has a read. sorry if I offended anyone. goat out.
i agree goat to much talk of flat and not enough talk of the other sides involved in the bfl. any news to report on about any side? your the man with the info:thumbsu:
Jock Clark 2
26 Nov 2006, 17:26
I think many of us will be interested to hear Warren's reaction to the AFL draft --- or portions of it anyway.
Andy Collins, bro. of big man Alex Warren had a slash at in earlier post, was picked up by Richmond at pick No. 73 in Sat. draft
Dad David Collins will spend a fair bit of time watching the Tiges VFL side Coburg in action this year Sed cuppla months ago he was finishing up as Sandhurst BFL coach so he could watch Andy in 2007
Dirk Diggler
26 Nov 2006, 22:59
from what i can gather collins and connors are extremely lucky. good on them though. feel sorry for grant weeks though cos he is heaps better than those 2
Am very surprised with this one but congratulations too him. The only way he will go any good is if he gets on Axle's diet real quick, i mean real quick. Pies, chips, dimmies, potatoe cakes, pizza actually just put everything on a plate and then deep fry the lot, plate and all! Plenty of couch time too! Good on him!:thumbsu:
quentinlynchthethumper
27 Nov 2006, 09:48
I hear Kain Robins has been offered a number of coaching jobs. What are the chances of him leaving Eaglehawk?
donwooganowski
27 Nov 2006, 11:17
neville clarke has apparently dragged a few south boys over to the flat. had a special meeting last night for just the senior group and he introduced craig "bulletchin" dobbin, scott "meathead" ryan, and brodie "crackleback" kentucky. seem like good blokes but can anyone give me any insight into their footballing abilities? by all accounts dobbin goes pretty good with the ladies too haha! look universal chicks for the flat boys, we will slay willy nilly
nesko_25
27 Nov 2006, 13:02
Haha Collins was lucky but Connors. Named AA and would of went in the top 20 if it wasnt for his attitude which he has changed now. Was an steal at such a late pick. Well done to Selwood also
The sloth
27 Nov 2006, 14:29
I wasn't aware Neville was coaching the Flat, good luck if he takes on that gig..... Surely he could find some better recruits than these. Dobbin isn't up to bendigo seniors (proven at south). 'Fraudy' Ryan :thumbsd: is just a number in the twos. As for Kentucky... who is he?? Looks like Flat will be in for another long, cold, miserable winter.
I find it strange how south blokes get on here and bag each other other out. I wonder if it's the same blokes that are giving their president prank phone calls??
nesko_25
27 Nov 2006, 14:32
Whats news out at Sandhurst? are the gonna hols on to their young blokes and who is this new coach?
boyfromoz
27 Nov 2006, 20:25
after not been drafted it has been said jarryn geary will be playing with eagleahwk in 2007. anyone else heard of this??
caveman
28 Nov 2006, 08:53
Golden Square and Kangaroo Flat vie for ruckman
GOLDEN Square and Kangaroo Flat are set to battle for the services of the Bendigo Football League's premier ruckman, Hamish Dahl.
Golden Square president Steve Sharp confirmed yesterday that Dahl had signed with the Bulldogs for 2007.
But the 18-year-old is no certainty to play with Square, with Kangaroo Flat vowing not to clear him to its BFL rival.
Dahl, who was the BFL's number one ruckman at this year's VCFL country championships, was one of the few shining lights for Kangaroo Flat this year and he was a clear winner of the club's best and fairest award.
But the desire to play alongside his mates and the lure of on-field success has seen the Bulldogs snap him up.
'‘We're delighted a player of Hamish's quality wants to play with us," Golden Square president Steve Sharp said.
‘‘We were reluctant to chase Hamish because it's not our policy to chase players from other clubs in our league,'‘ But Hamish was adamant he didn't want to play for Kangaroo Flat and was keen to play with Golden Square.
‘‘We'd certainly rather have him playing for us than against us, so the last thing we wanted was to see him play for a Sandhurst, South Bendigo or Eaglehawk.
‘‘He attracted some bigger offers from clubs around the region . . . so we couldn't be happier that he's decided to play at Golden Square." However, Kangaroo Flat president Paul Brooks said the Roos would fight tooth and nail to keep Dahl at Dower Park.
‘‘We will fight this all the way," Brooks said.'‘ We see Hamish as a future captain of the club and we're bemused by his decision.
‘‘He's been very well looked after in his time at Kangaroo Flat and as far as I'm concerned Hamish has no issue with the club.
‘‘Hamish is very much a required player at Kangaroo Flat." Sharp said Golden Square expects Flat to try and keep Dahl.
‘‘Big guys like Hamish are always hard to come by, so we're hoping he'll have a long and successful career with Golden Square," Sharp added.'‘ We realise Kangaroo Flat won't let him go easily, but the bottom line is Hamish doesn't want to play for Kangaroo Flat." Dahl's potential departure from Kangaroo Flat comes on top of the loss of former coach Damien Brown and experienced duo Luke Freeman and Steve Humphrey to Mount Pleasant.
Exciting midfielder Cam Milward is also unlikely to play for the Roos in 2007.
Brooks said Kangaroo Flat is hopeful of appointing a new coach in the coming weeks.
‘‘We're still negotiating with a couple of guys," Brooks said.
‘‘It's not an easy job and losing the experienced players we have doesn't help.
‘‘We're in a strong financial position, but I'm not just going to blow that money on duds.
‘‘We want to make sure we get the right person for the future of the club." Dahl's signature continues a prosperous recruiting drive for the Bulldogs with playing coach Jeff Brennan and key position player Mark Adamson also high-profile additions.
Dahl's signing helped offset the loss of speedy wingman Mark Lloyd who agreed to terms with North Shore in the Geelong Football League on the weekend.
Lloyd joins Glenn Keast and ruckman Wes Pye as departures from Golden Square's 21 that lost to Gisborne in this year's grand final.
What are your thoughts on this one?
Flat Roo
28 Nov 2006, 10:33
Very, very disappointing. Football is all about money now. Not just talking about Kangaroo Flat when I say: Congratulations to the gutsy blokes who stick with their club through thick & thin. When success comes, I hope they remember all the blokes that took the easier road and left when things were getting a little tough. Pathetic.
smasher100
28 Nov 2006, 10:55
Was just reading the Addy in regards to the two Sandhurst boys getting drafted. The article stated that the Dragons were the most successful in the BFL. I am not quite up to date with all the history of each club but Sandhurst's last two premierships were 2004 (or 2003 can't quite remember) and way back in the early 1980's.
Can anyone give me a little rundown on why they would be the most successful club in the BFL? (I know they have always been consistent but it means nothing if you don't win premierships)
Was just reading the Addy in regards to the two Sandhurst boys getting drafted. The article stated that the Dragons were the most successful in the BFL. I am not quite up to date with all the history of each club but Sandhurst's last two premierships were 2004 (or 2003 can't quite remember) and way back in the early 1980's.
Can anyone give me a little rundown on why they would be the most successful club in the BFL? (I know they have always been consistent but it means nothing if you don't win premierships)
haha i just read it too (well had it read to me by Thommo). it sounds like that idiot Ellis thought that Collins was pretty lucky. He didn't pump his tyres up anyway.
Hamish, please come back to the flat. You are the reason i get up on a sat. Well, to see me old mate Thommo too and to place me bets for the main attraction in Melbourne too. We really need you at the moment and also every bloke you know or go to uni with too. Bring them along to training. It will be worth you reconsidering. $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$;)
Truth Hurts
28 Nov 2006, 11:21
Very, very disappointing. Football is all about money now. Not just talking about Kangaroo Flat when I say: Congratulations to the gutsy blokes who stick with their club through thick & thin. When success comes, I hope they remember all the blokes that took the easier road and left when things were getting a little tough. Pathetic.
Prime example - Johnny Hardinge, a true gentleman and as loyal as they come.
I hope he gets a flag at south!
Some people need a change to get the best out of themselves as a footballer, but i agree there isn't as much loyalty as there once was.
caveman
28 Nov 2006, 11:47
I couldnt agree more mate. Unfortunately money has been the priority for a long time now and it is just getting worse!
Footy is just a game, lets remember that. If a person can better their life by going somewhere else for more money, good on em. The only one's upset that they leave are the supporters who want their team to do well and I can understand that as that's all I am- a supporter who drinks cans and barracks. Anyone who loses a mate over changing teams loses nothing cause they wern't a true mate anyway. So who are the selfish ones???? My bet is it's us- the supporters who want a guy to be financially worse off just so their team can win a few games more each year. And we try and guilt them into doing it by the old chestnut- Loyalty. Give it a spell.
nesko_25
28 Nov 2006, 12:25
Footy is just a game, lets remember that. If a person can better their life by going somewhere else for more money, good on em. The only one's upset that they leave are the supporters who want their team to do well and I can understand that as that's all I am- a supporter who drinks cans and barracks. Anyone who loses a mate over changing teams loses nothing cause they wern't a true mate anyway. So who are the selfish ones???? My bet is it's us- the supporters who want a guy to be financially worse off just so their team can win a few games more each year. And we try and guilt them into doing it by the old chestnut- Loyalty. Give it a spell.
I cant speak for everybody on this thread but I think what they mean is the players that just go from club to club getting the big bucks and as soon as the $$$ drys up they leave. The players that dont care about the club, just the kanga that there getting paid. The sort of people who just rock up an saturday play footy pick up their check and go home.
Agree with that bit.
Lionel Ritchie
28 Nov 2006, 12:30
The Slagheads have won 22 Premierships which is the most of the BFL clubs They were equal with Eaglehawk on 21 until they won their last one a couple of years ago.
bloodhound!
28 Nov 2006, 12:35
I agree. If a player is getting paid well but they put in at training, in games and at social events and truly embrace the club as a whole in their time with that club then i dont mind what they get paid as long as they are putting a bit of it back into the club. And if that person gets a better offer then good luck to them. If they were a money hungry prick who gave nothing in return then you wouldnt want them at the club in the first place. I dont care how good a player they were.
The Talking Goat
28 Nov 2006, 12:39
They have won the most flags in the bfl with 26 - hence, they are the most successful club in the bfl. quite simple i would have thought.
KingRich
28 Nov 2006, 12:44
Everyone is very touchy on this thread ever since all the sooking started!
ablett19
28 Nov 2006, 12:44
Are the Anderson boys leaving Square?
Not this again...
:thumbsd:
The Talking Goat
28 Nov 2006, 12:48
Well d ic khead, if you read my post. I said I didn't know much of any clubs history so I couldn't comment. Hence the reason why I asked.
as they say, you never know if you never ask. but i still believe the answer was obvious. here's a bit of history for you smasher:
Sandhurst - 26 flags
Eaglehawk - 25 flags
South Bendigo - 24 flags
Golden Square - 12 flags
Kyneton - 6 flags
Gisborne - 4 flags
Castlemaine - 4 flags
Maryborough - 2 flags
Kangaroo Flat - 1 flag
North City - 0 flags
TuskenRaider
28 Nov 2006, 13:04
as they say, you never know if you never ask. but i still believe the answer was obvious. here's a bit of history for you smasher:
Sandhurst - 26 flags
Eaglehawk - 25 flags
South Bendigo - 24 flags
Golden Square - 12 flags
Kyneton - 6 flags
Gisborne - 4 flags
Castlemaine - 4 flags
Maryborough - 2 flags
Kangaroo Flat - 1 flag
North City - 0 flags
Goat, is/was North City the former club Northern United?
I thought they might have won a flag around the late 80's before they went out of business.
bearsboy
28 Nov 2006, 13:06
I couldnt agree more mate. Unfortunately money has been the priority for a long time now and it is just getting worse!It amazes me how many blokes from the city play for clubs in the bush where they dont know anyone ,dont have to train and Just rock up on a saturday and get paid stupid amounts of cash .It seems to happen alot in the O&M and G.V.F.L .To many clubs seem to forget about looking after and keeping they're own youth.
Grimmett
28 Nov 2006, 13:06
Sandhurst - 26 flags
Eaglehawk - 25 flags
South Bendigo - 24 flags
Golden Square - 12 flags
Kyneton - 6 flags
Gisborne - 4 flags
Castlemaine - 4 flags
Maryborough - 2 flags
Kangaroo Flat - 1 flag
North City - 0 flags
Geez, all this talk about the Flat and they only have one more flag than a club that is yet to win a game in their history.
That’s sad Wazza.
Tusken, North City is the new club entered by North Ballarat FC. No connection to the old Northern United.
smasher100
28 Nov 2006, 13:07
Sandhurst - 26 flags
Eaglehawk - 25 flags
South Bendigo - 24 flags
Golden Square - 12 flags
Kyneton - 6 flags
Gisborne - 4 flags
Castlemaine - 4 flags
Maryborough - 2 flags
Kangaroo Flat - 1 flag
North City - 0 flags
Considering I've only been alive for one Dragons premiership, I don't think it was that obvious. I actually thought Eaglehawk would have the most (No idea why??)
The Talking Goat
28 Nov 2006, 13:11
Geez, all this talk about the Flat and they only have one more flag than a club that is yet to win a game in their history.
That’s sad Wazza.
Tusken, North City is the new club entered by North Ballarat FC. No connection to the old Northern United.
well answered grimm
Jock Clark 2
28 Nov 2006, 13:20
SMASHER -- as Goatee knows, there has always been a lot of conjecture about the Sandhurst BEFORE 1900 and the one after the turn of the 20th century.
The side called "Sandhurst" in the early years wore a blue and white striped jumper something like North Melb. Roos today. That club won heaps of flags but then didn't form again in 1900.
Then there was NO Sandhurst in the Bgo Footy Association later the BFL, until after World War 1 --- 1919, to be exact. So Sandhurst went into oblivion for 19 years but the new outfit was the club which wore the maroon and blue as we know it today. The Hurst "Maroons" as they were nicknamed back then also won heaps of flags, including just about every one during the Depression in the 1930s.
Other BFL clubs, including Eaglehawk, get a little agitated when you discuss S'hurst winning 26 flags as they say (quite rightly) that there have been TWO Sandhursts.
2/. The North City team currently in the BFL comes from the North Ballarat JUNIOR F.C. structure and is NOT affiliated with the North Ballarat Roosters of the VFL competition.
Sockit151
28 Nov 2006, 13:34
It amazes me how many blokes from the city play for clubs in the bush where they dont know anyone ,dont have to train and Just rock up on a saturday and get paid stupid amounts of cash .It seems to happen alot in the O&M and G.V.F.L .To many clubs seem to forget about looking after and keeping they're own youth.
One of the best posts i've seen on BigFooty in recent times!!
So many clubs have young talent that they can build a good team around, that would require little money, just need to stroke their ego's, make them feel appreciated as they should and some loyalty may be returned.. But no, they totally ignore many of their current players, both young and old, and continue to chase the ever ellusive high profile, big dollars, GUN RECRUIT. Who often does little more than suck a hole in the bank balance!!
Grimmett
28 Nov 2006, 13:43
....2/. The North City team currently in the BFL comes from the North Ballarat JUNIOR F.C. structure and is NOT affiliated with the North Ballarat Roosters of the VFL competition.
True. My apologies for making it seem as if it was part of the senior North Ballarat structure.
However, if you receive a newsletter from the North Ballarat setup it includes reports on the Roosters in the VFL, the Rebels in the TAC Cup and North City in the Bendigo FL. One of the reasons Ballarat FL clubs rejected the NBJFC application to enter a senior team was because of those links to the rest of the North structure.
I agree with bearsboy's post in some respects, however i disagree with the comments in regards to GVL and O and M Clubs. Most people would agree that they are the two most prominant leagues in country vic, and anyone involved at those clubs will tell you that the days of just rocking up on a saturday and leaving with coin are just about over, and those who are doing it are usually weeded out of the club instantly anyway. Basically you cant get away with bludging in those comps cos simply becuase the standard of footy is so strong. I know a current successful GVL Club who recruited well from melbourne and all their players were committed to training, functions, and other club activities where required.
Sockit151
28 Nov 2006, 13:55
I agree with bearsboy's post in some respects, however i disagree with the comments in regards to GVL and O and M Clubs. Most people would agree that they are the two most prominant leagues in country vic, and anyone involved at those clubs will tell you that the days of just rocking up on a saturday and leaving with coin are just about over, and those who are doing it are usually weeded out of the club instantly anyway. Basically you cant get away with bludging in those comps cos simply becuase the standard of footy is so strong. I know a current successful GVL Club who recruited well from melbourne and all their players were committed to training, functions, and other club activities where required.
Thats a fair call. I was focusing more on the statement relating to clubs not putting enough time and or money into their own home grown talent.. Much talk of club loyalty is thrown around but clubs need to show some loyalty and interest in their own players also. Of course if they have never had any interest shown in them they are gunna jump ship the first time they get a bit of coin tossed at them!!
super snooper
28 Nov 2006, 13:59
So many clubs have young talent that they can build a good team around, that would require little money, just need to stroke their ego's, make them feel appreciated as they should and some loyalty may be returned.. But no, they totally ignore many of their current players, both young and old, and continue to chase the ever ellusive high profile, big dollars, GUN RECRUIT. Who often does little more than suck a hole in the bank balance!!
I would like to think that clubs nurture and look after their locals and try keep as many as possible, and then go out and recruit to give their locals a chance at team success.
its well and good to look after your locals financially, but there is no point if this means that the team will not be competitive. the best reward you can give your locals is an opportunity to play in a premiership.
it's a delicate balance, and most clubs need both locals and recruits to be successful (ie 75% good locals, 25%good recruits.
Thats a fair call. I was focusing more on the statement relating to clubs not putting enough time and or money into their own home grown talent.. Much talk of club loyalty is thrown around but clubs need to show some loyalty and interest in their own players also. Of course if they have never had any interest shown in them they are gunna jump ship the first time they get a bit of coin tossed at them!!
You can talk about it all you like, everyone has their opinion. In the case that sparked the conversation is Dahl. The simple fact he doesn't want to play at the club! Its very sad. He won the B&F surely he is being looked after...
TuskenRaider
28 Nov 2006, 14:01
Thanks Grimmett, I forgot about the new Ballarat side.
Kings Army
28 Nov 2006, 14:05
You can talk about it all you like, everyone has their opinion. In the case that sparked the conversation is Dahl. The simple fact he doesn't want to play at the club! Its very sad. He won the B&F surely he is being looked after...
The Flat have no coach (Brown has walked out as well) and no recruits so another year of getting smashed would not be appealing to a good footballer. Surlely if the structure in place at a club that shows they will improve over a couple of years they would stay. It is not the case here so I think he should walk. Pitty he didn't keep walking up the Calder!!:D
bloodhound!
28 Nov 2006, 14:07
I would like to think that clubs nurture and look after their locals and try keep as many as possible, and then go out and recruit to give their locals a chance at team success.
its well and good to look after your locals financially, but there is no point if this means that the team will not be competitive. the best reward you can give your locals is an opportunity to play in a premiership.
it's a delicate balance, and most clubs need both locals and recruits to be successful (ie 75% good locals, 25%good recruits.
This is not always easy to do depending on the size of the town, age of the town, gender ratio of the town, quality of players in the town.
I know that some sides in the BFL find it extremely difficult eg South Bendigo, to recruit "locals" as there is no real set locality for them or Sandhurst (who rely on their connection to Catholic College to keep providing them with an inlux of young players). Clubs like Eaglehawk, Castlemain, Kynton, Maryborough, Gisborne have a locality so they are able to recruit local people. I know that schools come into it in junior ranks but still this does not always gaurantee players.
I think Bendigo teams are finding it harder and harder to recruit locals because the lines of locality are quite blurred and South is the best example of this given the amount of new players at the club over the last 3-5 years as well as Golden Square and Sandhurst.
ROOTA#6
28 Nov 2006, 14:21
Get back to Nyah Sockit and stay out of Bendigo!!!
bearsboy
28 Nov 2006, 14:25
I agree with bearsboy's post in some respects, however i disagree with the comments in regards to GVL and O and M Clubs. Most people would agree that they are the two most prominant leagues in country vic, and anyone involved at those clubs will tell you that the days of just rocking up on a saturday and leaving with coin are just about over, and those who are doing it are usually weeded out of the club instantly anyway. Basically you cant get away with bludging in those comps cos simply becuase the standard of footy is so strong. I know a current successful GVL Club who recruited well from melbourne and all their players were committed to training, functions, and other club activities where required.Your right , i shouldnt have singled out these 2 leagues . But i was told that Myrtleford had 15 players turn up each week from town in a bus last year . I apologise if this mail is incorrect .
Sockit151
28 Nov 2006, 14:30
Get back to Nyah Sockit and stay out of Bendigo!!!
You have enough fights on your hand in Swan Hill threads, why start another one here??
ROOTA#6
28 Nov 2006, 14:36
You have enough fights on your hand in Swan Hill threads, why start another one here??
Just trying to keep you blokes from other leagues out of our thread
Sockit151
28 Nov 2006, 14:42
Fair enough, you and Warren should stick together!!
that wouldn't surpise me one bit bearsboy. Myrt have gone 'all out' over the past 2 yrs to achieve a flag recruiting back some locals, and also high profile players such as McKee (ex tiger and pie). Im sure those Melb guys would've had a training plan set up in melbourne and they woulda been required to be at club functions etc as part of their contracts.
As for the flat, it is a little sad that the club are having such a mass exodus of players. It just means that blokes such as Chris Harrington, Noel Shelton, and Ronnie Wicks will have to back up again and carry the load because of the the young blokes leaving or not coming thru.
TuskenRaider
28 Nov 2006, 14:49
Your right , i shouldnt have singled out these 2 leagues . But i was told that Myrtleford had 15 players turn up each week from town in a bus last year . I apologise if this mail is incorrect .
Not sure of the exact numbers there about Myrtleford, but a fair number of those travelling would be local Myrtleford blokes who have shifted to Melbourne due to work/uni.
TuskenRaider
28 Nov 2006, 14:54
that wouldn't surpise me one bit bearsboy. Myrt have gone 'all out' over the past 2 yrs to achieve a flag recruiting back some locals, and also high profile players such as McKee (ex tiger and pie). Im sure those Melb guys would've had a training plan set up in melbourne and they woulda been required to be at club functions etc as part of their contracts.
Guess where Richmond recruited McKee from in the first place.
clifton's lookalike
28 Nov 2006, 15:30
so it was a bfl club that was lucky enough to lure your high profile signature now that i'ts our thread :D
ROOTA#6
28 Nov 2006, 15:32
so it was a bfl club that was lucky enough to lure your high profile signature now that i'ts our thread :D
Can't divulge that info as yet Lookalike
the main reason dahl signed at square is cos he is best mates with stacey fiske.
he knocked back larger offers elsewhere.
i'm sure going to a successful club helps entice the move but at the end of the day these are the problems that occur at clubs like k/flat that have struggled for the last few years and are'nt showing any indications that they won't struggle again next season.
everyone throws up ," where's the loyality in today's game gone ", but the truth to the matter is talented kids don't won't to get smashed week in week out, it becomes demoralising especially when your mates down the road are playing in finals every year.
so if paul brooks had any decency he would let the kid go to a professional club and try and build one himself.
instead of bagging players that move on, clubs should look in their own backyard and wonder why their leaving.
bloodhound!
28 Nov 2006, 16:11
the main reason dahl signed at square is cos he is best mates with stacey fiske.
he knocked back larger offers elsewhere.
i'm sure going to a successful club helps entice the move but at the end of the day these are the problems that occur at clubs like k/flat that have struggled for the last few years and are'nt showing any indications that they won't struggle again next season.
everyone throws up ," where's the loyality in today's game gone ", but the truth to the matter is talented kids don't won't to get smashed week in week out, it becomes demoralising especially when your mates down the road are playing in finals every year.
so if paul brooks had any decency he would let the kid go to a professional club and try and build one himself.
instead of bagging players that move on, clubs should look in their own backyard and wonder why their leaving.
Couldnt agree more. Flat have been rotting away from the inside since Filo left. Knowing people who have been involved with them in the past they have descibed it as an "evil" place where the people running the show are selfish, backstabbing and incompetent. You just have to look at the Shannon Milward situation to know that the problem has started off the field and subsequently has killed everything on the field.
This kid is 18 years old and all he wants to to is go and play with his mates. Its not a crime especially at that age. He has been at Flat for a few years and given his all and he's making the right choice by getting out.
Truth Hurts
28 Nov 2006, 16:27
Couldnt agree more. Flat have been rotting away from the inside since Filo left. Knowing people who have been involved with them in the past they have descibed it as an "evil" place where the people running the show are selfish, backstabbing and incompetent. You just have to look at the Shannon Milward situation to know that the problem has started off the field and subsequently has killed everything on the field.
This kid is 18 years old and all he wants to to is go and play with his mates. Its not a crime especially at that age. He has been at Flat for a few years and given his all and he's making the right choice by getting out.
"evil" turn it up! its not like they run around murdering people... thats going a bit far.
I know a few blokes around the club that are very passionate about the place and will hang around weather they get thumped everyweek or not. It will make it sweeter when they are up the top again.
bloodhound!
28 Nov 2006, 16:34
"evil" turn it up! its not like they run around murdering people... thats going a bit far.
I know a few blokes around the club that are very passionate about the place and will hang around weather they get thumped everyweek or not. It will make it sweeter when they are up the top again.
Just repeating what i have been told by certain disenchanted people who have left the club over the years. I hope that they weed out the bad element and become competetive again. And well done to the blokes that have and continue to stick it out but you couldnt hold it against people who wanted to leave.
Guess where Richmond recruited McKee from in the first place.
Thanks Tusken!
Just wondering what everyones thoughts are on Michael Dillon going to the Bombers and what effect it will have on Gisborne next year
Footy08
28 Nov 2006, 20:29
just wondering, what ever happend to Rod MacPherson ex pioneers coach is he still in the area/involved in football?
bearsboy
28 Nov 2006, 21:05
just wondering, what ever happend to Rod MacPherson ex pioneers coach is he still in the area/involved in football?I'm pretty sure he's an assistant coach at Werribee this year.
Just repeating what i have been told by certain disenchanted people who have left the club over the years. I hope that they weed out the bad element and become competetive again. And well done to the blokes that have and continue to stick it out but you couldnt hold it against people who wanted to leave.
Who are the bad elemants? Not having a go, just wouldn't mind knowing. Want to see this club back up being competitive again. Maybe they need to be made public for action to be taken.
andypipkin
29 Nov 2006, 09:17
anything been mentioned about matt tyrell leaving the square to join ex teamate rick coburn at south bendigo????
andy, from i what i was told is that tyrrell was offered nearly double to what he was on to go to sth but is committed to square.
that was a few weeks ago have things changed, how recent did you hear about it.
andy, from i what i was told is that tyrrell was offered nearly double to what he was on to go to sth but is committed to square.
that was a few weeks ago have things changed, how recent did you hear about it.
I don't like you Ablett! Know it all. Stick in the mud!
andypipkin
29 Nov 2006, 13:44
was told earlier this week that he was heading to south, although it is very hard to find out who he is committed to play with until a fewmonths b4 the season
i just read in the addy that s.milward has signed at e/hawke which was always on the cards.
i bet ya that was organised by the filo's in july.
andy, any more updates on w/hills.
i hear dickens is strongly considering having a crack at the bfl with sth.
andypipkin
29 Nov 2006, 13:56
wrong thread ablett.
woof woof
29 Nov 2006, 13:57
i just read in the addy that s.milward has signed at e/hawke which was always on the cards.
i bet ya that was organised by the filo's in july.
would still have to be cleared from flat as well wouldn't he because it's less than 3 years that he has played in the league???
ROOTA#6
29 Nov 2006, 14:05
would still have to be cleared from flat as well wouldn't he because it's less than 3 years that he has played in the league???
Is there going to be anyone left at Flat or what???