View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

Kings Army
14 Dec 2006, 09:13
Thanks for that so is that 100% finalised

He is training there - be a big surprise if he flips.

jumpingjackflash
14 Dec 2006, 13:12
He is training there - be a big surprise if he flips.

100%. he was keen to go to strathmore, however after watching the BFL prelim last year strathmore's coach put a line through his name.... and the rest of south's side.

zakster
14 Dec 2006, 14:14
supa did u know hurst re-signed mark vigus and sammy richardson from the bgo bombers
new cch gilliland cood be bringing some mates with him so the story goes .... from north vic i imagine

anyone know where brendan jennings is going to we know luke beattie is off to sunbury but south shood cover that with dayne frew at ff and his bro. daniel frew in a key spot somewhere
south also have got danny childs and leigh burke's bro. who is another tall

Truth Hurts
14 Dec 2006, 14:36
supa did u know hurst re-signed mark vigus and sammy richardson from the bgo bombers
new cch gilliland cood be bringing some mates with him so the story goes .... from north vic i imagine

anyone know where brendan jennings is going to we know luke beattie is off to sunbury but south shood cover that with dayne frew at ff and his bro. daniel frew in a key spot somewhere
south also have got danny childs and leigh burke's bro. who is another tall

That would be Brady Childs.... Dan Frew will play onball along with him. Jenno is A/C at gunny this year.

ROOTA#6
14 Dec 2006, 14:56
That would be Brady Childs.... Dan Frew will play onball along with him. Jenno is A/C at gunny this year.

Who will play out of the goal square for South this year?

Lionel Ritchie
14 Dec 2006, 15:02
Have it on good authority that Kangaroo Flat are about to anounce Shane Woewodin as there senior coach in the next couple of days. Apparently he was just waiting to see if he was getting picked up in the pre-season draft. He has relatives in Bendigo and it was reported that he was having a contractual dispute with East fremantle.

ROOTA#6
14 Dec 2006, 15:05
Have it on good authority that Kangaroo Flat are about to anounce Shane Woewodin as there senior coach in the next couple of days. Apparently he was just waiting to see if he was getting picked up in the pre-season draft. He has relatives in Bendigo and it was reported that he was having a contractual dispute with East fremantle.

Bull********

Truth Hurts
14 Dec 2006, 15:10
Who will play out of the goal square for South this year?

Dayne Frew and "Porno" Ashman :thumbsu:

ROOTA#6
14 Dec 2006, 15:11
Dayne Frew and "Porno" Ashman :thumbsu:

Potent!

The Wombat
14 Dec 2006, 15:22
Bull********
Thats a bit rough ROOTA. This bloke isn't singing hello to a blind chick, he really does know his stuff.

Not 100% sure it is Woewy, but apparently it is an Ex AFL player 30 Years Old just married a Perth Girl and is heading to K Flat. Exciting times at K Flat, Woogie stop crying son there is some hope for your fledgling career.

ROOTA#6
14 Dec 2006, 15:24
Thats a bit rough ROOTA. This bloke isn't singing hello to a blind chick, he really does know his stuff.

Not 100% sure it is Woewy, but apparently it is an Ex AFL player 30 Years Old just married a Perth Girl and is heading to K Flat. Exciting times at K Flat, Woogie stop crying son there is some hope for your fledgling career.

Well fair enough, I apologise for jumping the gun. Excellent news for Flat and the League

Lionel Ritchie
14 Dec 2006, 15:25
Bull********

We will wait and see sunshine.

ROOTA#6
14 Dec 2006, 15:32
We will wait and see sunshine.

i just apologised for jumping the gun. Lets hope it does. Will he bring some with him or what?

Warren
14 Dec 2006, 15:33
Now the re-building starts!

Watch this space.... :thumbsu:

nesko_25
14 Dec 2006, 16:23
Flat are looking for a high profile coach and on the GV thread caveman was asking if any1 could give him Rory Hiltons number.....

caveman
14 Dec 2006, 17:58
Flat are looking for a high profile coach and on the GV thread caveman was asking if any1 could give him Rory Hiltons number.....

Yeah I heard there was a chance that he may be available but apparently he is just about signed with Airport West in the EDFL.

hectomorphic
14 Dec 2006, 18:40
was there a bfl team of they year named this year? if so does anyone know it?

ablett
14 Dec 2006, 22:22
wednesday nite training, square started with 60 100's.
looks like the new coach is sending a message to the boys to whats ahead after xmas.
also tyrell has been training at square so the south move looks to be squashed atm.

ROOTA#6
15 Dec 2006, 07:47

Wasting his time. Rory Hilton has given footy away

Warren
15 Dec 2006, 07:59
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/post_old.gif Yesterday, 20:25 #1337 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6398190&postcount=1337) t-mac (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=33715) vbmenu_register("postmenu_6398190", true);
BigFooty Member

Club: Melbourne

Re: Ballarat Football League
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kings Army http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6396776#post6396776)
Rubbish - he was drafed as an 18 year old by the pies in 94.

jese K.A you really have copped a hiding lately, and what have i told you about posting without asking me. Naughty little b#tch don't make me tell you again.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_offline.gif

Ha ha..... poor little queenie

ringo1
15 Dec 2006, 08:09
Now the re-building starts!

Watch this space.... :thumbsu:

I hope the rebuilding you are talking about is your own in relation to this forum Warren. :rolleyes:

Sockit151
15 Dec 2006, 08:42
Anyone snapped up Luke Bennett from Lalbert?
Not to often players of this calibre move into town looking for a new club..

Bronco Billy
15 Dec 2006, 08:45

Lionel how many times have I told you not to make up stories!

jumpingjackflash
15 Dec 2006, 10:43
anyone got any news on Castlemaine?? have hardly heard a thing so far, have the picked up/lost anyone of note??

Trent the flight Steward
15 Dec 2006, 11:41
I hear the doors been knocking down with offers, Mr verstitile

Doona2
15 Dec 2006, 13:15

I thought that Bennett was a handy cricketer up that way, he must be a bit of a sporting allrounder - which end of the ground does he play Sockit?

Russ74
15 Dec 2006, 13:53
I thought that Bennett was a handy cricketer up that way, he must be a bit of a sporting allrounder - which end of the ground does he play Sockit?

Obviously I'm not Sockit! But, every time I've seen Bennett play it has been as a BP or HBF- mid sized backman.

Sockit151
15 Dec 2006, 14:00
From what i have seen, would describe him as an untapped talent..
Capable of filling positions anywhere on the ground, but due to attitude and injuries over the years has never reached any great heights.. Maybe with a change of clubs could be a very valuable player!!

Truth Hurts
15 Dec 2006, 15:19
Strathmore gun - Matthew Bourke looks like he might be pulling the boots on for south bendigo this year.

Look out for the mop~

jumpingjackflash
16 Dec 2006, 07:23
heard on good authority that kyneton wrapped up pre-christmas training last night, with another Daniel VandenHam turning up for a run.

fifth quarter
16 Dec 2006, 16:45
Hectomorph ..... Team of the Year for 06 was:

B: Sharp, Holdstock, Borchard.
Hb: Connaughton, Barham, M. Dell
C: Robins, Griffin, Nihill.
Hf: Dillon, Mark Fitzgerald, Martin.
F: Saunders, O'Toole, S. Young.
Foll: Pye, Hawkins, Matt Fitzgerald.
Inter: Hardinge, Jardine, Coburn, O'Reilly.
Coach: Collins (Sandhurst).

Hardluck H. --- have heard Fresh a.g.m. originally scheduled for Thurs. Dec 21st has been postponed. Don't know why, don't know what is going on down there. Who knows when they will hold an a.g.m. Pretty proppy organisation.

Have a great Xmas guys. Catch you in January.

Fifth: out.

Action Jackson
16 Dec 2006, 22:59
Wasting his time. Rory Hilton has given footy away

How would you know you parasitic piece of pelican grey matter go and find your tripolactic extrapilator. Virgin, that is why absolutely everybody on earth hates you, C U N T.

Bendigo thread beware Luke Bennett is Roota #6 and he will talk himself up, ******** head at best and that is being fairly generous.

clifton's lookalike
17 Dec 2006, 10:35
How would you know you parasitic piece of pelican grey matter go and find your tripolactic extrapilator. Virgin, that is why absolutely everybody on earth hates you, C U N T.

Bendigo thread beware Luke Bennett is Roota #6 and he will talk himself up, ******** head at best and that is being fairly generous.

thats a fair spray don't you think jackson? do you really know the bloke well or are you one of the blokes that likes sitting on the outside and judging books by their covers?

ROOTA#6
17 Dec 2006, 11:42

F U C K off back to Tooleybuc Cullen. Have i spoken about myself on here at all you weak prick. How ahbout you and all your c o c k head Tooleybuc mates just concentrate on not choking again this year and all of us on this thread will worry about who's going to win the flag down here.

As for exposing who i am, too late idiot, most of the guys here alrady know so, how bout you give it a rest :thumbsd:

Copa Mundial
18 Dec 2006, 09:52
anyone got any news on Castlemaine?? have hardly heard a thing so far, have the picked up/lost anyone of note??

Have not heard of any big signings flash but can report that the maine have been training for a while now and that the numbers are reasonably strong for this time of the year with no noticable departures.

TuskenRaider
18 Dec 2006, 10:26

You right there mate? Calm down.
I Don't know who Roota#6 is but he's fairly correct on his Hilton post.

Trent the flight Steward
18 Dec 2006, 11:50
F U C K off back to Tooleybuc Cullen. Have i spoken about myself on here at all you weak prick. How ahbout you and all your c o c k head Tooleybuc mates just concentrate on not choking again this year and all of us on this thread will worry about who's going to win the flag down here.

As for exposing who i am, too late idiot, most of the guys here alrady know so, how bout you give it a rest :thumbsd:
Are you talking about Joel Cullen super smart footy brain there rootos, watch out for intelectural dialogue coming from him, i believe in a 3rds game when he was captain he won the toss and said he would kick with the wind only to point against the howling gale

The Talking Goat
18 Dec 2006, 13:45
any chance the poms can get up today. they now need only 230 to win, with still five wickets in hand. with old KP at the crease anything can happen.

bernard the bipolar bear
18 Dec 2006, 13:56
not now freddie is out my animal friend:thumbsu:

Appin Vet
18 Dec 2006, 14:22
KP would have to make 3/4 of the runs with the rest coming in leg byes. England drop off alot after no.7. But back to footy and as you were BFL followers...

JennaJ
18 Dec 2006, 20:20
Just been told that BFL comp has been put back by a month because the grounds are so hard in bendigo. Every team will play 18 games straight no interleague and no split round. And the BFL grannie will be played the sunday after AFL grannie

grunt 02
18 Dec 2006, 23:03
Great to see Ty Elliot,Stewy Hamilton and Levi Moss are back at Gisborne for season 2007.Levi had an injury prone 2005 but had a great 2006 with a Best on for Vic country Div 2 Grand final at the Australian Championships on the Gold coast.
Coach Barham must be an absolute ass Jumping jack inbred with all these former players coming back for more Kyneton and Bendigo scalps.
Looks to be another exciting season for the Dogs with players back and good numbers on the track.

Hello Warren- You Penis head good to see your love for KA is still so strong that you follow him to the Ballarat site.
With so much time on your hands you think you would put it to some use and help pull your club out the hole it is in.We need KF up and strong so Kyneton can eat some wood for a while.

jumpingjackflash
19 Dec 2006, 10:02
good one grunt, good to see all those blokes back at gissy. ty gave the game away cos he couldn't keep up with it, so strange that he would come back. he's more injury prone than fitzy. stu hamilton couldn't get a kick out of a power point. and Levi Moss, well, i'd say you'd need to get there at 12 o'clock to watch him play. why didn't he play at gisborne last year??
as for past players returning to the club, have i not mentioned that Elsum, Vandenham, Scerri, Sam Young and Cook all look like playing for the tigers again next year??

Kings Army
19 Dec 2006, 10:22
good one grunt, good to see all those blokes back at gissy. ty gave the game away cos he couldn't keep up with it, so strange that he would come back. he's more injury prone than fitzy. stu hamilton couldn't get a kick out of a power point. and Levi Moss, well, i'd say you'd need to get there at 12 o'clock to watch him play. why didn't he play at gisborne last year??
as for past players returning to the club, have i not mentioned that Elsum, Vandenham, Scerri, Sam Young and Cook all look like playing for the tigers again next year??

Somehow I don't think those players listed are worth the 30 goals that you need to beat Gissy. Maybe 10.

By the way did you see the team on the year posted by Fifth Quater on the previous page? Have a look at the half back line!
Barham at CHB. Seeing he is the number one CHB in the comp in 06 it makes you posting credability look very shaky.

matt_nicholls
19 Dec 2006, 10:30

Levi Moss, Ty Elliott and Stuey Hamilton would be walk up starts at Kyneton.

It's good to see Cook come back to the Tigers, but it was pretty weak that he left in the first place.

matt_nicholls
19 Dec 2006, 10:35
BFL SEASON DELAYED DUE TO WATER CRISIS

Bendigo Football League chairman Damian Drum today announced that the BFL 2007 season will be delayed by four weeks due to the worsening water crisis in the Bendigo region.

“At the moment there are four clubs that would be without a home ground if we were to follow the original draw,” he said.

“The four-week delay to the season will be achieved by a range of measures, including scrapping the Good Friday/Easter Saturday start to the season. We will also be eliminating the split-round in the latter part of the year.

“The BFL in conjunction with the VCFL and the Ballarat Football League have also decided to abandon our Interleague clash set down for early in the year.

“To gain an extra week we have decided to hold our grand final on the day after the AFL grand final which will bring us in line with the Goulburn Valley Football League which has been using this date for the past 20 years.

“We would like to acknowledge the support we have received from our member clubs, as the majority of our clubs have been able to link their systems up to either recycled water or bore water and are therefore not going to be affected by the extreme water restrictions that we are facing in Bendigo and Ballarat.

“We have been promised that the recycled water coming back from Epsom to Spring Gully will be available for the Queen Elizabeth Oval by mid March, and after discussions with the City of Greater Bendigo we are allowing four to six weeks for the QEO to be brought back to life.

“This additional four weeks will also hopefully give nature an opportunity to help out with some breaking autumn rains throughout April.

“As yet, there is no infrastructure in place to enable the recycled water to get to Kangaroo Flat’s Dower Park or Golden Square’s Wade Street reserves.
To get these two ovals up to playing standard, we are going to need either a lot of rain falling on the surface or we will need to have our storages replenished,” he said.

Mr Drum also urged Coliban Water to look at ways of better utilising the recycled water that’s going to be pumped into Spring Gully.

“Coliban Water is spending $30 million taking the water from Epsom to Spring Gully through the new pipeline but our understanding is that they are not spending one cent getting the water from the pipeline or Spring Gully onto the recreational reserves.”

Full details of the 2007 draw are available on the Bendigo Football League website. Go to www.bendigo.vcfl.com.au and click on competitions.

grunt 02
19 Dec 2006, 12:11

Elsum great player won't go back to kyneton,Vandenham no good,Sam young has been injured for a long time now,cook's days are over,Scerri good player.
If all these players are back you might scrape into the finals.Might

jumpingjackflash
19 Dec 2006, 13:30
agreed that moss, elliot and hamilton would be walk up starters at kyneton - but you've gotta agree that they won't make gissy any better.

agreed that the return of mentioned players to kyneton won't be enough to make up the gap, but it's a fair start. better to get 10 goals better than 10 goals worse wouldn't you say??

players have come back from longer injuries than Sam Young to still play good footy. he is still only young (pardon the pun). Cook isn't past it - if he is past in, then what is duff-tyler??

CAN'T BELIEVE BARHAM was CHB in team of the year. You have got to play on the best forwards to be ranked as the best backman. I bet that was picked by the same media guru's who said Matty Fitzgerald was dominating the GF last year till he got injured. If you watch the video closely, you will notice he only troubled the statistician for 1 kick. Show's how closely those blokes watch the match.

max powers.
19 Dec 2006, 13:35
[quote=matt_nicholls;6418252]Levi Moss, Ty Elliott and Stuey Hamilton would be walk up starts at Kyneton.

Stuey Hamilton is a tagger AT BEST, gets the most out of his ability but if he's not tagging then he's not much value.
Don't get too carried away there Matt.

Cook, Elsum & Sammy Young are massive ins for Kyneton, They may be the big improvers this year?

ablett
19 Dec 2006, 13:41
here's some food for thought, since the bfl has been put back to may, and if the loddon and heathcote start on its original date which will be a few weeks before the bfl , do you think some players might be persuaded to play the first few in the adjacent leagues on agreement their cleared b4 the bfl starts. it might help a few clubs set up the start of their seasons or give some bottom clubs an oppertunity to get an early win. i could see a few young guys lured by $2-300 game for a few games concidering they might be only on minnimum match payments at their regular club if they play seniors there.
i might be onto something here.

inthemix
19 Dec 2006, 15:13

Jack think you will find that Moss played at his home town of Lakes Entrance last year with a few mates trying to win a flag. Also has Scerri signed? Word is he is looking at a couple of metro clubs.

bearsboy
19 Dec 2006, 17:03
[quote=jumpingjackflash;6419381]agreed that moss, elliot and hamilton would be walk up starters at kyneton - but you've gotta agree that they won't make gissy any better.

Cook isn't past it - if he is past in, then what is duff-tyler??

If my memory serves me correctly , Jason Duff -tyler was awarded the Bill Barham medal for pulling Brett Cooks pants down in the Gisborne v Kyneton game last year , i also believe he was awarded best player in Gisbornes recent finals campaign (which included another premiership) . As for Ty Elliot the last game he played in he was awarded B.O.G in the 2005 grand final(another premiership). He was also recently offered the assistant coaching job at Kyneton , but declined so i think you'll find he's going o.k as well .Not sure of your involvement at Kyneton J.J.F but these and all your previous posts suggest your Knowledge of our great game is very limited . But feel free to continue your attacks on Gisborne , they remind me of how Kyneton play they're footy . GUTLESS & WEAK AS P I S S !!!

JennaJ
19 Dec 2006, 20:27
No chance of Elsum going back kyneton loves it at down at douttas. Was named in the team of the year and could have won a grannie (not like kyneton who will sit on the bottom for years to come). Also Elsum went down town to play with factor and he's not coming back to kyneton thats for sure

iron bootz
19 Dec 2006, 20:58
Didn't you blokes finish second last year, seems that you have a bit of catching up to do also! I just reckon that it is prety early to be putting yourelves forward as the front runners. That is coming from someone who is not involved in the BFL

thatz right some 1 whoz NOT INVOLVED IN THE bfl no L wants U:o

ROOTA#6
19 Dec 2006, 22:22
thatz right some 1 whoz NOT INVOLVED IN THE bfl no L wants U:o

Wasn't then, might be now:p

jumpingjackflash
20 Dec 2006, 06:25
i have no involvement at all at kyneton. just like throwing the bait out to the gissy crew who are that in love with themselves is makes me sick!

why didn't ty play last year then if he was so good in 05?? isn't Reaper the assistant coach at kyneton?
how did duff tyler win player of the finals, was that in the seconds?? bit harsh on the young boys that got the medals in the GF not to get that recognition isn't it, or do all the trophies have to go to the big names??
and your saying factor and harry could have won a flag at Doutta's?? They lost the second semi and granny by 13 goals. yep. Nearly.

bearsboy
20 Dec 2006, 07:16
[quote=matt_nicholls;6418252]Levi Moss, Ty Elliott and Stuey Hamilton would be walk up starts at Kyneton.

Stuey Hamilton is a tagger AT BEST, gets the most out of his ability but if he's not tagging then he's not much value.
Don't get too carried away there Matt.

Cook, Elsum & Sammy Young are massive ins for Kyneton, They may be the big improvers this year?(Disco) Stu Hamilton will return to the B.F.L as the leagues (clearly) number 1 tagger , I dont think there is any scalp in this comp that he has not collected .Are you saying Max he would not get a game at the rabble that is known at Kyneton.

max powers.
20 Dec 2006, 07:50
[quote=max powers.;6419413](Disco) Stu Hamilton will return to the B.F.L as the leagues (clearly) number 1 tagger , I dont think there is any scalp in this comp that he has not collected .Are you saying Max he would not get a game at the rabble that is known at Kyneton.

He'd get a game no worries but i'd doubt he'd EVER cut a side up.
And i'm sure you'd agree there BB, Where do you play him if he's not tagging?
He was in and out of the side last time he was at Gissy...
And if we are talking best taggers, give me Button from EH or Kent from square in front of him or even Dawson from south.
Just my opinion?

Junky Bish
20 Dec 2006, 08:08
[quote=max powers.;6419413](Disco) Stu Hamilton will return to the B.F.L as the leagues (clearly) number 1 tagger , I dont think there is any scalp in this comp that he has not collected .Are you saying Max he would not get a game at the rabble that is known at Kyneton.

Is it true BB thats you were giving Kings army's missus one when they split up?

Kings Army
20 Dec 2006, 08:21
[quote=bearsboy;6423172]

Is it true BB thats you were giving Kings army's missus one when they split up?

We have swapped for years JB. Gissy is the family club!

zakster
20 Dec 2006, 09:23
well boys the pre-season lightning prem. will now be played at maryboro where there is bore water to keep princess park green
its on sat. april 21st
wot do we all think of that one
wood stop blokes going out to play h'cote or lodden valley if they have to front 4 theyre bfl clubs on april 21st

ringo1
20 Dec 2006, 10:09
Any players interested in moving, looking, or changing clubs for 2007, register your details at http://www.footyplayers.com.au (http://www.footyplayers.com.au/)
We will match your remuneration, location, and club requirements with potential clubs. For more info please visit http://www.footyplayers.com.au

OK mate got the message now its time to give you the message-stop wasting our time on this thread- Footy is under the pump due to the drought and you are attempting to take players from these areas so you can get a few dollars!

Junky Bish
20 Dec 2006, 10:29
Any players interested in moving, looking, or changing clubs for 2007, register your details at http://www.footyplayers.com.au (http://www.footyplayers.com.au/)
We will match your remuneration, location, and club requirements with potential clubs. For more info please visit http://www.footyplayers.com.au

You are a loser mate!

Fcuk off!

ringo1
20 Dec 2006, 11:00
You are a loser mate!

Fcuk off!

He is obviously a tight a r s e -get some credability and pay for your ad in the papers in every region your trying to make a quick buck from. I will sum it up in 1 word-MERCENARY!!!!!!!!!:thumbsd:

KingRich
20 Dec 2006, 12:03
well boys the pre-season lightning prem. will now be played at maryboro where there is bore water to keep princess park green
its on sat. april 21st
wot do we all think of that one
wood stop blokes going out to play h'cote or lodden valley if they have to front 4 theyre bfl clubs on april 21st

From what I have heard the water supply is not 100% guaranteed yet so depending on conditions I'm not sure if they will go ahead with the lighting premiership. Might be a bit much for the ground to handle that early as well and I think it might be best to save it for the season proper when there is talk of Bendigo teams perhaps moving their games over there.

jumpingjackflash
20 Dec 2006, 12:32
would it be an idea to play the lightning premiership over a few different grounds with bores?? how bout playing each section at a different ground?? castlemaine, kyneton, gisborne are all close enough so that you could travel from one ground to another for the finals??

Sockit151
20 Dec 2006, 13:36
Why delay the season for a few weeks??
The grounds won't get any softer unless it rains, so it's likely to stay the same all year.. Either call it off if it's unsafe or get on with it, because most likely the grounds won't be any better??

Russ74
20 Dec 2006, 13:56
Why delay the season for a few weeks??
The grounds won't get any softer unless it rains, so it's likely to stay the same all year.. Either call it off if it's unsafe or get on with it, because most likely the grounds won't be any better??

Fair point sockit. Very logical, surely there must be some other explanation to delay the season. It couldn't just be hoping for rain...............could it?

patty O'furnicha
20 Dec 2006, 15:11
i don't think your getting the point, There are two reasons for the delay.

Firstly, They are trying to push it as far back as they can to avoid the hotter months like January when watering the grounds with the recycled water that they are getting from epsom. The later they water and hopefully the cooler the weather, then the more effect it will have on the ground. If they allow say 3 months of watering then Feb, March and April will be better than Jan, Feb and March

Secondly, Even though it probably wont rain, they need to give themselves every chance it might before the start of the season, and it wont happen in before March, but may happen anytime after that.

So why not eliminate novalty ideas like split rounds, feature games and interleague carnivals to push the season back to preserve the season!

KingRich
20 Dec 2006, 15:53
i don't think your getting the point, There are two reasons for the delay.

Firstly, They are trying to push it as far back as they can to avoid the hotter months like January when watering the grounds with the recycled water that they are getting from epsom. The later they water and hopefully the cooler the weather, then the more effect it will have on the ground. If they allow say 3 months of watering then Feb, March and April will be better than Jan, Feb and March

Secondly, Even though it probably wont rain, they need to give themselves every chance it might before the start of the season, and it wont happen in before March, but may happen anytime after that.

So why not eliminate novalty ideas like split rounds, feature games and interleague carnivals to push the season back to preserve the season!

Agreed Patty. Its sound thinking I believe and at this stage its the only thing they can do aside from continue to investigate other avenues to gain water for the grounds. Good on the league for being one of the first to get on the front foot and take some action!

The Talking Goat
20 Dec 2006, 15:57
BFL followers, the reason the season has been delayed is to allow time for the qeo to be brought back to life using the recycled water, which is expected to become available by late march.
obviously, once the water is availble, it's going to take time for the qeo to be brought back to a playable standard, therefore the bfl has allowed six weeks.
with the qeo, it provides options as far as kangaroo flat and golden square go, because it's no secret those grounds are root ed at the moment. with the lights it provides further options for fixturing.
if season had started in april, eaglehawk would have been the only ground in bendigo available.
hopefully, that goes some way to answering your questions.
for those who haven't seen what qeo, square and flat look like, make sure you pick up tomorrow's edition of the addy. they will be on the back page.
merry christmas friends.

nesko_25
20 Dec 2006, 16:16
BFL followers, the reason the season has been delayed is to allow time for the qeo to be brought back to life using the recycled water, which is expected to become available by late march.
obviously, once the water is availble, it's going to take time for the qeo to be brought back to a playable standard, therefore the bfl has allowed six weeks.
with the qeo, it provides options as far as kangaroo flat and golden square go, because it's no secret those grounds are root ed at the moment. with the lights it provides further options for fixturing.
if season had started in april, eaglehawk would have been the only ground in bendigo available.
hopefully, that goes some way to answering your questions.
for those who haven't seen what qeo, square and flat look like, make sure you pick up tomorrow's edition of the addy. they will be on the back page.
merry christmas friends.

6 weeks is a long time! 18? rounds straight is a bloody long year, have they thought about starting round 1 3 weeks later and playing a few games out side of Bendigo. LVFL, HDFL and MCDFL. It would be good for those league and it would be good for the BFL as they could now have byes and interleague or whatever. I dont see why the must have the QEO up and running to start the footy season.

donwooganowski
20 Dec 2006, 20:50
hey big footy brothers.

heading down to myer city on saturday cos steph macintosh is signing autographs, if anyone wants me to grab a signature on something send me a message and we can meet before, cheers. prob come back to bgo sat night though, found a wallet in someones unlocked glovebox the other day, haha finders keepers, had a benjamin in it so i am cashed up to the max, hitting the warehouse to get real cooked so would be good to see a few of ya's there to talk about the BFL face to face rather than behind this silly thread. go flat!

cheers, don

smasher316
20 Dec 2006, 21:45
Ive heard rumors that Kane "Shooby" Robins might be heading back to his home town Hopetoun apparently they are throwing a fair bit of money at him! they would want to it would be a massive drop in standard but who would say no to alot of money?

Junky Bish
21 Dec 2006, 07:37
Ive heard rumors that Kane "Shooby" Robins might be heading back to his home town Hopetoun apparently they are throwing a fair bit of money at him! they would want to it would be a massive drop in standard but who would say no to alot of money?

Are you in love with him?

jumpingjackflash
21 Dec 2006, 09:53
Are you in love with him?

good question JB.

ringo1
21 Dec 2006, 10:08
Guys I might of missed the Flats coaching appointment! Has there been one made or are they still looking?:)

jumpingjackflash
21 Dec 2006, 11:56
Guys I might of missed the Flats coaching appointment! Has there been one made or are they still looking?:)

what ever happened to the woewodin rumour??!!??

ablett
21 Dec 2006, 12:14
apparent the flat are rapped the league now starts in may, it gives them another month to find a coach!

KingRich
21 Dec 2006, 13:42
6 weeks is a long time! 18? rounds straight is a bloody long year, have they thought about starting round 1 3 weeks later and playing a few games out side of Bendigo. LVFL, HDFL and MCDFL. It would be good for those league and it would be good for the BFL as they could now have byes and interleague or whatever. I dont see why the must have the QEO up and running to start the footy season.

It would be a very costly exercise I would think for clubs to move games to rival venues. Clubs in other leagues are not going to want to put too much stress on their grounds so the fee to use the oval would be exhorbidant.

zakster
22 Dec 2006, 15:37
already square honchos are saying drought will effect their $$$$$$ raising pretty harshly
without home games and fund-raisers at the clubrooms afterwards square and flat will struggle to raise money at least flat gets a fair few $$$$$ from their allokation from the licenced club at dower park
no good playing somewhere else and having a function AWAY from your own rooms casual spectators hop in the car and head straight home after the final siren

and if the bombers can get h. skipworth from the crows (44 afl games i beleve) to their vfl outfit why cant flat get someone with a bit of experience :confused: :confused:
its going to be january b4 we now it and the green and white boys r still coachless ok so mattie knights has a bit of pull but the flattys need to extract the digit

b birmingham
24 Dec 2006, 14:54

The league needs the qeo badly, it's the showcase venue of the league and Square and Flat won't be using their grounds, not at the start of the season anyway.
I'm concerned though with the availability of the qeo. You've already got South or Sandhurst there on a Saturday and then there's also the Bombers and the Pioneers playing games there on some Sundays. I don't think there's a lot of room to fixture extra games at the qeo. Perhaps Cantebury Park out at Eaglehawk might have to be an option. It was used during the finals about 3 years ago when the qeo was out of bounds.

Anyway, how does everyone like my new CD? I've ben fairly busy putting it together, that's why you haven't heard from me in a while.

KingRich
24 Dec 2006, 15:08
The league needs the qeo badly, it's the showcase venue of the league and Square and Flat won't be using their grounds, not at the start of the season anyway.
I'm concerned though with the availability of the qeo. You've already got South or Sandhurst there on a Saturday and then there's also the Bombers and the Pioneers playing games there on some Sundays. I don't think there's a lot of room to fixture extra games at the qeo. Perhaps Cantebury Park out at Eaglehawk might have to be an option. It was used during the finals about 3 years ago when the qeo was out of bounds.

Anyway, how does everyone like my new CD? I've ben fairly busy putting it together, that's why you haven't heard from me in a while.

CD is a corker Billy! Your best yet!

The Talking Goat
27 Dec 2006, 09:16

CD is a corker Billy! Your best yet!

f u ck iing love your new cd billy, especially the cut shots, which are now known as reverse pull shots. you did well to get a guest appearance from andrew V from channel G on there. good work billy

donwooganowski
27 Dec 2006, 10:46
go and eat a big fat d ick billy.

yeah, real funny pretending u made the CD, haha, got me in stitches.

die

The Wombat
28 Dec 2006, 09:44
go and eat a big fat d ick billy.

yeah, real funny pretending u made the CD, haha, got me in stitches.

die
Thats a bit rough Wazz, advising people not to pretend they are someone else. So when is coach stevens getting the boys back after the christmas break?

Trent the flight Steward
28 Dec 2006, 21:38
Thats it bit rough Wazz, advising people not to pretend they are someone else. So when is coach stevens getting the boys back after the christmas break?
are there any boys for the jughead to train?

behind_post
29 Dec 2006, 08:47
Is anyone out there at the moment? Heard a whisper about a certain ex-AFL player being courted by K Flat. Wont give a name just a few cryptic clues. Close liason with Monica and if the queen had some balls she would be one.
haha..nice hints!

ummm.. clinton king???

chick magnet
31 Dec 2006, 08:07
just heard that cain robins has agreed to play at Hopetoun next year,is it true?

bigboofer
31 Dec 2006, 16:23
just heard that cain robins has agreed to play at Hopetoun next year,is it true?
if thats true dont you think the hierachy at eaglehawk would think they have a problem somewhere with most of the U/18sfrom last year going elsewhere and quite a lot of the senior side leaving plus Milward has a broken leg apparently

On The Money
31 Dec 2006, 17:50
if thats true dont you think the hierachy at eaglehawk would think they have a problem somewhere with most of the U/18sfrom last year going elsewhere and quite a lot of the senior side leaving plus Milward has a broken leg apparently

There is talk that they penny's aren't flowing as frequently as in recent years at the Borough, which Under 18 players have they lost?? They had some very good talent in their 3rds team this year.

bigboofer
1 Jan 2007, 07:54
There is talk that they penny's aren't flowing as frequently as in recent years at the Borough, which Under 18 players have they lost?? They had some very good talent in their 3rds team this year.
young richo to nth bgo findlay to sandhurst jaco but probably to pios cant blame him

nesko_25
1 Jan 2007, 13:57
young richo to nth bgo findlay to sandhurst jaco but probably to pios cant blame him

didnt think Jaco got a pio's letter?

bigboofer
1 Jan 2007, 14:31
didnt think Jaco got a pio's letter?
according to his brother he did

Jock Clark 2
1 Jan 2007, 15:38
Has Mick Moneybags bailed out, OTM :confused: :confused:
And is the big bloke who played in the u-18 grannie on S'hurst's Tim Martin -- the ruckman who could have lost a few kilos very easily --- is he still around at C'bury Park ??

bigboofer
1 Jan 2007, 17:59
And is the big bloke who played in the u-18 grannie on S'hurst's Tim Martin -- the ruckman who could have lost a few kilos very easily --- is he still around at C'bury Park ??
i think thats theproblem that money bags still around although he must nt be putting much in because they cant afford to pay out much because they got bugger all by all accounts dont know about the big bloke but a lot of the kids dont want to play with old blokes because by all accounts they have picked up some old ruckman from castlemaine and theyre prepared to pay good money to them than the younger blokes and the latest is milward hasnt broken his leg as has been reported

bloodhound!
2 Jan 2007, 09:31
Heard over the weekend that Charlie and Xavier Thompson will be joining Castlemaine from Harcourt.
Both very good players both played pioneers when they were younger, CHarlie more than Xavier, Charlie has played QAFL, very skillfull. Xavier was best on ground in Harcourts grand final win last year and is a tough and hard running player.
Both should be good pick ups

nesko_25
2 Jan 2007, 15:07

Yeah That'll be Marto, will be Pioneers this year.

zakster
2 Jan 2007, 19:49
Thompsons will be good for the Maine
nesk -- not marto from sandhurst. i know him i was referring to his e'hawkee opponent on grand final day --- the big joker carrying a bit of weight ... the two blue u-18 main ruckman

and guys ... any word on the fresh radio licence business
the paper beaked off befor xmas about 3 situations for the local radio frequency ...... cood be the abc parlament broadcast so the fresh wood be gone
or the fresh cood join with central gospel radio or the 3rd one stay as they are without a partner
only 4 months before the temprary licence runs out

The Talking Goat
4 Jan 2007, 15:54
is everyone on new year's holidays at the moment:rolleyes: