View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
thebadger
4 Jan 2007, 18:29
is everyone on new year's holidays at the moment:rolleyes:
What's the latest on the KF coaching situation goat? How close are they to signing/announcing? I notice the local rag is thinning out over the new year period. What was with that New Year's day front page? It was a shocker.
nesko_25
4 Jan 2007, 19:54
What are the ins and outs at E/Hawk. The Ash Wilson to Huntly rumour is gaining momentem. Whats the latest with Dahl Wazza? Have you coaxed him into staying. Hear Rochy are still chasing him pretty hard.
bigboofer
4 Jan 2007, 20:09
What are the ins and outs at E/Hawk. The Ash Wilson to Huntly rumour is gaining momentem. Whats the latest with Dahl Wazza? Have you coaxed him into staying. Hear Rochy are still chasing him pretty hard.
apparently lots of outs at e/hawk burchell lobb jacobs quite alot of young reserve players nicho tilburn doley maybe mitiamo robins going to mallee u/18s mentioned earlier but robins seems to be piss talk whilst he was home in hopetoun talk now is that lobb to golden square and filo doesnt want wilson although wilson wants to stay latest on lobb is that filo reckons he is too yound for e/hawk and they have signed another old ruckman from m/boro his name is john nicholls also played for carlton
nesko_25
4 Jan 2007, 20:34
apparently lots of outs at e/hawk burchell lobb jacobs quite alot of young reserve players nicho tilburn doley maybe mitiamo robins going to mallee u/18s mentioned earlier but robins seems to be piss talk whilst he was home in hopetoun talk now is that lobb to golden square and filo doesnt want wilson although wilson wants to stay latest on lobb is that filo reckons he is too yound for e/hawk and they have signed another old ruckman from m/boro his name is john nicholls also played for carlton
Phil Lobb? Played ruck? won the goal kicking for e/hawk didnt he. never thought he was anything special in juniors
i thought lobb was off to perth , square would'nt pick up fool like him plus they would'nt offer him the cash he believes he is worth.
a mate of mine spoke to ash wilson the other day down the street and said he was staying at e/hawke as as player only and laughed at the huntly rumour.
Shaggy Rogers
5 Jan 2007, 08:11
Word on the street is that the Flat interviewed an ex-AFL player yesterday and if he signs up- will be all systems go at the Flat for this year. Sources say that the interview went for 2 hours and all parties seemed happy. Another ex AFL player is also looking at playing there this year. Heres hoping.
:)
max powers.
5 Jan 2007, 12:04
i thought lobb was off to perth , square would'nt pick up fool like him plus they would'nt offer him the cash he believes he is worth.
a mate of mine spoke to ash wilson the other day down the street and said he was staying at e/hawke as as player only and laughed at the huntly rumour.
I think this Lobb rumour has circulated because of pre christmas p i ss up G/S had at the national hotel where most of the square boys were. Lobb came in and told a few of the boys including the coach he was keen to come across because he didn't rate the blokes at the borough...a few of the boys apparently commented on the money situation which Lobb replied "i'll play for nothing" which apparently was still too much for some Golden Square officials who politly declined his offer.
Hats off to lobb if that's true! Play for nothing for a shot at a flag i think thats the common practice at G/S these days.
I think this Lobb rumour has circulated because of pre christmas p i ss up G/S had at the national hotel where most of the square boys were. Lobb came in and told a few of the boys including the coach he was keen to come across because he didn't rate the blokes at the borough...a few of the boys apparently commented on the money situation which Lobb replied "i'll play for nothing" which apparently was still too much for some Golden Square officials who poitly declined his offer.
Hats off to lobb if that's true! Play for nothing for a shot at a flag i think thats the common practice at G/S these days.
Good to hear your pay packet has dried up since I was at the square Maxy, word is that you have been struggling since those good old days of getting called up to interleague still smashed and then proceeding to get BOG.
I think this Lobb rumour has circulated because of pre christmas p i ss up G/S had at the national hotel where most of the square boys were. Lobb came in and told a few of the boys including the coach he was keen to come across because he didn't rate the blokes at the borough...a few of the boys apparently commented on the money situation which Lobb replied "i'll play for nothing" which apparently was still too much for some Golden Square officials who poitly declined his offer.
Lobb would never play for nothing. he's a hungry pig
Jock Clark 2
5 Jan 2007, 14:18
OK so we can forget about the big Eaglehawk bloke who played on the Dragons' Martin in the under-18 grannie last Sept.
Lose a few kgs or not, he's not going to get a guernsey now that Coxie has lobbed at the Burra.
Nick Heath, 41, goes into the forward pocket ... in to the centre square goes 37-year-old Coxie
Don't worry about Ash W. With Trav St Clair and Dekka and co. out with Mick M. and the boys, they are going to have a pretty ancient list !!;) ;)
Wot's ur take on it, Goat :confused: :confused:
The Talking Goat
5 Jan 2007, 14:23
OK so we can forget about the big Eaglehawk bloke who played on the Dragons' Martin in the under-18 grannie last Sept.
Lose a few kgs or not, he's not going to get a guernsey now that Coxie has lobbed at the Burra.
Nick Heath, 41, goes into the forward pocket ... in to the centre square goes 37-year-old Coxie
Don't worry about Ash W. With Trav St Clair and Dekka and co. out with Mick M. and the boys, they are going to have a pretty ancient list !!;) ;)
Wot's ur take on it, Goat :confused: :confused:
i think you've summed it up pretty well jock strap u old co ck. they will certainly be the oldest list running around this year, and with 18 straight games, plus some bloody hard games, man management will be absolutely crucial out at hawkland. i know the grass is already drying up for me out in the paddock at the moment. i am praying for rain to green my paddock back up.
bigboofer
5 Jan 2007, 16:43
all this crap talk about lobb everyone doesnt realise hes still only 21 he was ******** all money at e/h that he was 3rd ingoal kicking 2 years ago runner up last season and having spoken to square officilals have stated that they would have lobb any day so if people dont know the facts and just trying to talk ******** so if you aregonna get on know the facts
bearsboy
6 Jan 2007, 09:24
Word on the street is that the Flat interviewed an ex-AFL player yesterday and if he signs up- will be all systems go at the Flat for this year. Sources say that the interview went for 2 hours and all parties seemed happy. Another ex AFL player is also looking at playing there this year. Heres hoping.
:)Marty Warry ex Fitzroy ?
bigboofer
7 Jan 2007, 09:38
little rumblings out at the borough new pres leon not happy about all these older signings another young bloke leaving in tim nicholson because of cox story in addy and also griffin from square needing work on knee should be ok but not sure until they have a look
On The Money
7 Jan 2007, 12:17
Marty Warry ex Fitzroy ?
The ex-Fitzroy part is true but it is believed to be John Rombotis that will try and lead Kangaroo Flat back the BFL ladder.
The Talking Goat
7 Jan 2007, 16:40
The ex-Fitzroy part is true but it is believed to be John Rombotis that will try and lead Kangaroo Flat back the BFL ladder.
johnny rombotis hey??????
G'day lads. I'm not from the area but am lately taking a keen interest in the league. I heard the other day that Cameron Hall (ex Pioneers, Woodville West Torrens) has signed on to play at South Bendigo this season. Can anyone confirm or deny this ???
On The Money
7 Jan 2007, 22:47
johnny rombotis hey??????
Yer follow that one up Goat it came from a Kang Flat source.
Cameron Hall to South is also believed to be pretty right and he should be a handy pick up.
edfl2006
8 Jan 2007, 06:27
First Woewodin, then Clinton King, then Marty Warry, then John Rombotis.................................................... ..getting closer! :D
Lionel Ritchie
8 Jan 2007, 09:14
little rumblings out at the borough new pres leon not happy about all these older signings another young bloke leaving in tim nicholson because of cox story in addy and also griffin from square needing work on knee should be ok but not sure until they have a look
Where is Nicholson going?
gday all has anyone heard any more news on kyneton or gisborne lately
going to be an interesting meeting at Strathfieldsaye tonite in regards to a footy club being established.
At the moment, South Bendigo are keen to move there once the new oval is finished, however the other mover is Mt Pleasant FC who have their eye on the facility. Mounts would then move into the BFL if they snagged the deal.Sorry to be a Jonny-cum-lately but whats the latest on this? I say stuff Strathfieldsaye and bring back the mighty Kennington Saints.
Seriously will Kennington ever play again, even in the HDFL? We had in my time a strong Juniors, mostly coming out of Flora Hill SC, but players were poached mainly by South by the time they reached U18.
Does the Sandhurst-Kennington Junior Football Club still exist?
jumpingjackflash
9 Jan 2007, 07:15
gday all has anyone heard any more news on kyneton or gisborne lately
kyneton will announce 3 more signings of note in the next 2 weeks. one believed to be an ex AFL player from last year, played with an interstate club and grew up in the town. has just returned to live in the town for a year or 2 while setting up business interests in country victoria.
galloping gasometer
9 Jan 2007, 08:06
kyneton will announce 3 more signings of note in the next 2 weeks. one believed to be an ex AFL player from last year, played with an interstate club and grew up in the town. has just returned to live in the town for a year or 2 while setting up business interests in country victoria.
Is one of the players possibly Dylan Smith ex Kangaroos and Fremantle you may be alluding to??
inthemix
9 Jan 2007, 08:27
Is one of the players possibly Dylan Smith ex Kangaroos and Fremantle you may be alluding to??
Or maybe Peter Walsh from Port Adelaide?
Jock Clark 2
9 Jan 2007, 10:24
AND what about Sammy Young, Elsum, Brett Cook ??
Are all these guys coming back, too.
Gonna be a big wages bill if all these boys (mentioned above, plus the ex ones MAYBE returning) front up in the yellow and black
Prez Jeff Thaw and his committee are going to have to sell a few slabs and sell a few burgers to pay for the recruiting :eek:
inthemix
9 Jan 2007, 10:37
AND what about Sammy Young, Elsum, Brett Cook ??
Are all these guys coming back, too.
Gonna be a big wages bill if all these boys (mentioned above, plus the ex ones MAYBE returning) front up in the yellow and black
Prez Jeff Thaw and his committee are going to have to sell a few slabs and sell a few burgers to pay for the recruiting :eek:
Sam Young and Cookie are confirmed starters for 2007 along with Mark Scerri back from the Bendigo Bombers. Elsum wont be back.
jumpingjackflash
9 Jan 2007, 10:55
Sam Young and Cookie are confirmed starters for 2007 along with Mark Scerri back from the Bendigo Bombers. Elsum wont be back.
your on the money i.t.m elsum considered an offer, but decided to stick out the last year or 2 of his career at douttas. Peter Walsh is the player i was alluding to earlier. Dylan Smith is still overseas i believe is somewhere in africa thinking of anything but footy. Big sister Clea is still the only one of the smith family in sport, opening the bowling for the vic chicks team.
is scerri signed sealed and delivered??
your on the money i.t.m elsum considered an offer, but decided to stick out the last year or 2 of his career at douttas. Peter Walsh is the player i was alluding to earlier. Dylan Smith is still overseas i believe is somewhere in africa thinking of anything but footy. Big sister Clea is still the only one of the smith family in sport, opening the bowling for the vic chicks team.
is scerri signed sealed and delivered??
If kyneton gets all these players they would have to be one of the teams to beat next year so would some1 be able to give me all the signings kyneton has made and the players that have left thankyou
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 12:07
The battle for the wooden spoon seems to be hotting up! Looks to be between Burra,North City & Flat if Kyneton are recruiting well. Maryborough are losing a few apparently, City haven't recruited much as yet and Flat's problems have been well documented on here. Will the league be weaker next year do you think?
Kings Army
9 Jan 2007, 12:37
If kyneton gets all these players they would have to be one of the teams to beat next year so would some1 be able to give me all the signings kyneton has made and the players that have left thankyou
Not sure how these recruits will make up the 30 goals they need to be one of the top teams. 30 goals is a lot to make up with a handful of recruits.
smasher100
9 Jan 2007, 12:47
Not sure how these recruits will make up the 30 goals they need to be one of the top teams. 30 goals is a lot to make up with a handful of recruits.
Shut up you idiot!! How can you measure the amount of goals they got beaten by against the amount of recruits needed? What is it? 3-4-5-6 goals for each recruit! You Wa*nker!
jumpingjackflash
9 Jan 2007, 13:26
kyneton have lost no players that are going to make a big deal.
players to arrive/return: Cook, Scerri, Dodd, Sam Young, 2/3 of the Aboriginals (players names escape me at the moment) and possibly a couple more to come.
kings army you little knob jockey has anyone said kyneton are going to be 30 goals better and beat the bum sniffers at gisborne next year. what do you expect kyneton to do, just sit around and not recruit and stay 30 goals behind, or go out, spend some money and try and improve. if we had an equivalent of the money man Freake (you know who he is) then we to would have won flags in the past few years. when the freakes well runs dry, you will be back with the pack in no time.
Kings Army
9 Jan 2007, 13:28
Shut up you idiot!! How can you measure the amount of goals they got beaten by against the amount of recruits needed? What is it? 3-4-5-6 goals for each recruit! You Wa*nker!
People are talking up Kyneton when they were miles behind in 06. These names will not make them a top club. A loser culture has develped under Messina and they will be ordinary again in 07. Your the w anker if you think any different.
jumpingjackflash
9 Jan 2007, 13:34
People are talking up Kyneton when they were miles behind in 06. These names will not make them a top club. A loser culture has develped under Messina and they will be ordinary again in 07. Your the w anker if you think any different.
can you take me back to the post that said kyneton would be a top club. didn't think so, as no one has said it, just you trying to make yourself sound like you know what your talking about.
it has been said that kyneton have recruited, and kyneton will improve this season.
how has massina developed a loser culture. he has been there for 2 seasons, and made the finals the first one of them, and as everyone knows last year wasn't so good, for a number of reasons.
but anyway, gissy will win the flag by 60 goals next year, as they are the best team ever in any competition. why aren't they in the AFL?? maybe north melbourne could re-locate to the Gardiner??
Kings Army
9 Jan 2007, 13:51
kyneton have lost no players that are going to make a big deal.
players to arrive/return: Cook, Scerri, Dodd, Sam Young, 2/3 of the Aboriginals (players names escape me at the moment) and possibly a couple more to come.
kings army you little knob jockey has anyone said kyneton are going to be 30 goals better and beat the bum sniffers at gisborne next year. what do you expect kyneton to do, just sit around and not recruit and stay 30 goals behind, or go out, spend some money and try and improve. if we had an equivalent of the money man Freake (you know who he is) then we to would have won flags in the past few years. when the freakes well runs dry, you will be back with the pack in no time.
JJF talking up Kyneton is like Wassa talking up the Flat. 2 ordinary teams that have no chance in 07. You have won more wooden spoons in the last 7 years than have had finals apperances. If you think that Gissy have brought their flags your a bigger tosser than you make out to be. Tall poppy syndrome alive an well in Kyneton!
Kings Army
9 Jan 2007, 14:01
Here you go JJF - one of the teams to beat.
Kyenton, Sqaure and Gissy - the big 3!! HA HA HA
bloodhound!
9 Jan 2007, 14:13
Speaking of loser cultures im fairly sure that a very sunbstantial loser culture existed at Gisborne before Mick McGuane came. GIsborne had more chance of winning the raffle when they first got to the BFL from my recollection and It was Mick McGuane that was the catalyst for turning that around. Yes Gisborne are the current powerhouse but you have been in the league for 5 minutes and havnt been on top for all those 5 either. But im still waiting to see when they will erect a stautue of Micky in the middle of town or name the oval after him......then you can all go and bow to it every day and throw flowers at its feet.
Kings Army
9 Jan 2007, 14:27
Speaking of loser cultures im fairly sure that a very sunbstantial loser culture existed at Gisborne before Mick McGuane came. GIsborne had more chance of winning the raffle when they first got to the BFL from my recollection and It was Mick McGuane that was the catalyst for turning that around. Yes Gisborne are the current powerhouse but you have been in the league for 5 minutes and havnt been on top for all those 5 either. But im still waiting to see when they will erect a stautue of Micky in the middle of town or name the oval after him......then you can all go and bow to it every day and throw flowers at its feet.
God you look like a fool Bloodhound - Do some resaerch before making stupid comments!
Gisborne have won 7 flags in the last 10 years. 4 out of the last 5 in the BFL to be one of the greatest (if not the greatest) team ever to complete in the BFL. They only missed the finals once since 2000. And have topped the home and away on top each year for the last 5 years.
jumpingjackflash
9 Jan 2007, 14:31
Here you go JJF - one of the teams to beat.
Kyenton, Sqaure and Gissy - the big 3!! HA HA HA
posted by??? davis 24, probably shane having a laugh. if someone else things those 3 will be the big 3 then good luck with them. kyneton are slim to no chance of being top 3. if they do, then alot of teams have gone backwards.
i'm just going by what i think and what i know.
i will spell it out for you.
kyneton will not win the flag next year.
kyneton will not be 30 goals better next year.
kyneton will probably not beat gisborne next year.
kyneton may not even make the finals next year.
KYNETON WILL IMPROVE NEXT YEAR.
there you go you mongolian spider shagger, that's what I think based on a pretty sound knowledge of what goes on both at Kyneton and in the BFL.
bloodhound, I salute you.
andypipkin
9 Jan 2007, 14:34
no one is denying that gisborne over the last ten years have done very well kings army, and are up there as one of the most dominant teams of there era, doubts would surface among historians as to wether they are the greatest to have played in the league
jumpingjackflash
9 Jan 2007, 14:35
God you look like a fool Bloodhound - Do some resaerch before making stupid comments!
Gisborne have won 7 flags in the last 10 years. 4 out of the last 5 in the BFL to be one of the greatest (if not the greatest) team ever to complete in the BFL. They only missed the finals once since 2000. And have topped the home and away on top each year for the last 5 years.
they would have struggled to make the finals in the 80's and 90's when the league was the strongest in country footy. the BFL now is equivalent to the RFDL when Foxy and Werner were playing.
Kings Army
9 Jan 2007, 14:41
no one is denying that gisborne over the last ten years have done very well kings army, and are up there as one of the most dominant teams of there era, doubts would surface among historians as to wether they are the greatest to have played in the league
AP - Bloodhound is denying it - his post states Gissy had a loser culture before Mick arrived.
Would like to find out a better performed team than Gissy that played in the BFL.
andypipkin
9 Jan 2007, 14:48
like i said, not denying gisborne in the last decade have been great,but in a league that has probably lost its standing slightly, in the last 10 years. not sure about the greatest, you might have to ask claude for that info, but northern united in the 70's and 80's were quite dominant
Kings Army
9 Jan 2007, 15:02
like i said, not denying gisborne in the last decade have been great,but in a league that has probably lost its standing slightly, in the last 10 years. not sure about the greatest, you might have to ask claude for that info, but northern united in the 70's and 80's were quite dominant
Northern won 4 in a row in the late 80's. South Bendigo won 4 out of 5 in the 90's. Gissy is right in the mix 4 the best of all time.
See your point KA but the point that will always be brought up, even if you win another 3 or 4, is the League now would just scrape into the best 10 leagues in Country Vic, when Northern United won 4 in a row Bendigo was close to if not the best country Vic League going around.
when Northern United won 4 in a row Bendigo was close to if not the best country Vic League going around.
Did Gavin Exell play for them then?
Kings Army
9 Jan 2007, 16:11
See your point KA but the point that will always be brought up, even if you win another 3 or 4, is the League now would just scrape into the best 10 leagues in Country Vic, when Northern United won 4 in a row Bendigo was close to if not the best country Vic League going around.
It is the old Wayne Carey V Royce Hart debate - tough to compare different era's. Gissy can only beat what they are put up against. Same debate in the Ballarat league after Ballarat joined the VFL - comp not as strong. All entitled to opinion but facts do the most talking.
bloodhound!
9 Jan 2007, 16:38
In 2000 you didnt play finals and you only won 3 games in 2001 so i doubt you made the finals then (stated on footypedia) Your own website does not even have details on your history.
Yes you have won 4 out of the last five which does make you a good team but you are a baby in this league at a time when it has falllen significantly in standard and is in a rebuilding phase. Also you are having players taken to the Bendigo Bombers while other clubs are now getting them back. Your not the Roman empire mate so pull your head in.
Did Gavin Exell play for them then?
Yeah
In 2000 you didnt play finals and you only won 3 games in 2001 so i doubt you made the finals then .
Yeah thought that was the case, so I'm sure like you Kings Army most did not think Gisborne picked up recruits that would turn them into a 30 GOAL BETTER SIDE! for 2002 when they won their first flag in the BFL. I doubt Kyneton will improve anywhere like that either but, you are getting a few holes in your statements!
jumpingjackflash
9 Jan 2007, 21:10
Yeah thought that was the case, so I'm sure like you Kings Army most did not think Gisborne picked up recruits that would turn them into a 30 GOAL BETTER SIDE! for 2002 when they won their first flag in the BFL. I doubt Kyneton will improve anywhere like that either but, you are getting a few holes in your statements!
good point hank.
the tide is starting to turn KA
bearsboy
10 Jan 2007, 07:19
In 2000 you didnt play finals Just when i thought JJF was set to take the title of most ill informed moron on big footy , you step up . Gisborne , 7 seasons in BFL - 6 in finals (missed 2001) 5 grand finals = 4 flags , before joining the BFL in 2000 , 3 flags in 97 , 98 , 99 in the RDFL . If thats a losing culture , you must follow a very handy football team . Probably best if you give up now JJF & bloodhound your really are making fool's of yourselve's .
bearsboy
10 Jan 2007, 07:50
This is getting a bit tiresome KA , I think were going round in circle's with these inbred Bendigo people , sounds to me as if bloodhound, jjf and hank1 have all been on the end of some absolute hidings from the mighty bulldogs .
Kings Army
10 Jan 2007, 08:17
In 2000 you didnt play finals and you only won 3 games in 2001 so i doubt you made the finals then (stated on footypedia) Your own website does not even have details on your history.
Yes you have won 4 out of the last five which does make you a good team but you are a baby in this league at a time when it has falllen significantly in standard and is in a rebuilding phase. Also you are having players taken to the Bendigo Bombers while other clubs are now getting them back. Your not the Roman empire mate so pull your head in.
Pull your head in f uck head - here is the 2000 ladder. Didn't play finals??
Once again get you facts right before you post. You are starting to look like a stupid window licking country bumpkin!
Casltemaine
Kangaroo Flat
Eaglehawk
South Bendigo
Gisborne
Maryborough
Sandhurst
Golden Square
Kyneton
L.B.U
jumpingjackflash
10 Jan 2007, 09:26
Just when i thought JJF was set to take the title of most ill informed moron on big footy , you step up . Gisborne , 7 seasons in BFL - 6 in finals (missed 2001) 5 grand finals = 4 flags , before joining the BFL in 2000 , 3 flags in 97 , 98 , 99 in the RDFL . If thats a losing culture , you must follow a very handy football team . Probably best if you give up now JJF & bloodhound your really are making fool's of yourselve's .
RDFL does not count. If that counts, then you may as well include practice matches at training in late december.
You gissy rabbits just keep taking the bait don't you.
jumpingjackflash
10 Jan 2007, 09:27
This is getting a bit tiresome KA , I think were going round in circle's with these inbred Bendigo people , sounds to me as if bloodhound, jjf and hank1 have all been on the end of some absolute hidings from the mighty bulldogs .
oh, i'm from bendigo now am i??
Can someone please tell me who is coaching the following teams please
Gisbourne
Golden Square
South Bendigo
Cheers
bearsboy
10 Jan 2007, 09:54
oh, i'm from bendigo now am i??Not sure where your from and dont care but i bet i'm right about you getting some hidings from Gisborne .
bearsboy
10 Jan 2007, 10:02
RDFL does not count. If that counts, then you may as well include practice matches at training in late december.
You gissy rabbits just keep taking the bait don't you.It's easy to call it bait now . Just showing everyone on big footy that you , hank1 and bloodhound know absolutely zilch about the BFL or the mighty G.F.N.C.
TuskenRaider
10 Jan 2007, 10:32
It's easy to call it bait now . Just showing everyone on big footy that you , hank1 and bloodhound know absolutely zilch about the BFL or the mighty G.F.N.C.
Without talking about Gisborne I think hank1, etc. have shown they know a bit about the BFL and its history. Hank's comments about Northern United and the BFL of the 80's ring pretty true.
Whilst Gisborne are doing well at the moment, a little bit of humility wouldn't go astray.
inthemix
10 Jan 2007, 10:36
Can someone please tell me who is coaching the following teams please
Gisbourne
Golden Square
South Bendigo
Cheers
Gisborne - Marcus Barham
Colden Square - Jeff Brennan
South Bendigo - Rick Coburn
It's easy to call it bait now . Just showing everyone on big footy that you , hank1 and bloodhound know absolutely zilch about the BFL or the mighty G.F.N.C.
Unsure who JJF and the hound are exactly but I do know your way off the mark with Hank1's footy knowledge there bearsboy.
Kings Army
10 Jan 2007, 10:42
Unsure who JJF and the hound are exactly but I do know your way off the mark with Hank1's footy knowledge there bearsboy.
He knows little about the BFL - he mainly posts on other leagues. He is no guru.
JJF is a Kyneton boy but wishes his parents raised him in Gisborne. Jump on the band wagon JJF just like Reaper and Elsum did. All the jealousy will then slowly fade away.
Sockit151
10 Jan 2007, 10:59
He knows little about the BFL - he mainly posts on other leagues. He is no guru.
JJF is a Kyneton boy but wishes his parents raised him in Gisborne. Jump on the band wagon JJF just like Reaper and Elsum did. All the jealousy will then slowly fade away.
And you are a guru??
Only stats you you reel off are 4 from 5, 7 from 10 etc etc..
Yes Gisborne have had a good run, but who really cares!!
Show a bit of humilty and stop acting like because you SUPPORT a team that has won a few games that you are the be all of the BFL..
Jock Clark 2
10 Jan 2007, 11:31
HAVE you blokes forgotten Alan "The Fox" McDonald's South teams of the 50s .... 5 flags from 1950-1956, interrupted only by the Maine in 1952 and E'hawk in '53.
McDonald was then snagged by Richmond to coach in the big-time, which he did for half a dozen years
Sandhurst won six back-to-back flags from 1926 under Bob McCaskill. Admittedly times were tough in the Depression but the Hurst just kept on winning. Backed up with more premieships in 1937 and 1940.
Now onto today's happenings. At 3.30 pm today (Wed, 10.1.2007) boys, the Flat will unveil its new coaching panel.
Goat might have some inside info for you BF readers before the magic time.
On The Money
10 Jan 2007, 12:05
HAVE you blokes forgotten Alan "The Fox" McDonald's South teams of the 50s .... 5 flags from 1950-1956, interrupted only by the Maine in 1952 and E'hawk in '53.
McDonald was then snagged by Richmond to coach in the big-time, which he did for half a dozen years
Sandhurst won six back-to-back flags from 1926 under Bob McCaskill. Admittedly times were tough in the Depression but the Hurst just kept on winning. Backed up with more premieships in 1937 and 1940.
Now onto today's happenings. At 3.30 pm today (Wed, 10.1.2007) boys, the Flat will unveil its new coaching panel.
Goat might have some inside info for you BF readers before the magic time.
Yer I gave you the mail on Rombotis a couple of days ago just send through the spotters fee boys!! Read all about it in tommorrow's addy.
Did Rombotis walk out or was he sacked at Roxburgh park before the close of the 2006 EDFL season?
bearsboy
10 Jan 2007, 12:21
Speaking of loser cultures im fairly sure that a very sunbstantial loser culture existed at Gisborne before Mick McGuane came. GIsborne had more chance of winning the raffle when they first got to the BFL from my recollection and It was Mick McGuane that was the catalyst for turning that around. Yes Gisborne are the current powerhouse but you have been in the league for 5 minutes and havnt been on top for all those 5 either. But im still waiting to see when they will erect a stautue of Micky in the middle of town or name the oval after him......then you can all go and bow to it every day and throw flowers at its feet.If some of you read back a page or 2 you would have found this ridiculous post (above) . I'm only stating facts & figures to shut peanuts like this up !
bearsboy
10 Jan 2007, 12:29
Unsure who JJF and the hound are exactly but I do know your way off the mark with Hank1's footy knowledge there bearsboy.Hanks the one suggesting Gisborne didnt play finals in 2000 , which is incorrect . Thats all .
If some of you read back a page or 2 you would have found this ridiculous post (above) . I'm only stating facts & figures to shut peanuts like this up !
Fair enough Bearsboy, but think you'll find everything I have said on here is true and correct, I have a lot of respect for Gisborne and have been beaten in a GF first hand by them and at that point would have had that side up with the best going around in country Vic, but as I've already pointed out I was just stating your short memory on how Gisborne won 3 games in 2001 and then won the flag in 2002 when you were bagging Kyneton and how they are trying to work there way back up the ladder. I also pointed out the sides that have dominated the BFL before the mighty Gisborne that should come into account when you bring up the GREATEST sides to have played in this league.
Cheers.
P.S. Don't write much on here because I only wish to put my view or facts across when I feel there needed, obviously not as often as you. And I dont waste my time slagging off at everyone that comes on here that has a different viewpoint to my own.
Hanks the one suggesting Gisborne didnt play finals in 2000 , which is incorrect . Thats all .
Wrong again, find that statement from me, Bloodhound said that all i was saying was I thought you only won 3 games in 2001 and then won it in 2002
Kings Army
10 Jan 2007, 12:42
And you are a guru??
Only stats you you reel off are 4 from 5, 7 from 10 etc etc..
Yes Gisborne have had a good run, but who really cares!!
Show a bit of humilty and stop acting like because you SUPPORT a team that has won a few games that you are the be all of the BFL..
There the only stats I need.
Who cares? The entire BFL.
Show some humilty - we are flying the flag for the team we support. Don't worry - I love the tall poppy syndrome that is alive and well. The more we win the more people want to have a crack. But that is why Gisborne are one of the all time great BFL sides - the harder it gets the better we get!
bearsboy
10 Jan 2007, 12:59
Fair enough Bearsboy, but think you'll find everything I have said on here is true and correct, I have a lot of respect for Gisborne and have been beaten in a GF first hand by them and at that point would have had that side up with the best going around in country Vic, but as I've already pointed out I was just stating your short memory on how Gisborne won 3 games in 2001 and then won the flag in 2002 when you were bagging Kyneton and how they are trying to work there way back up the ladder. I also pointed out the sides that have dominated the BFL before the mighty Gisborne that should come into account when you bring up the GREATEST sides to have played in this league.
Cheers.
P.S. Don't write much on here because I only wish to put my view or facts across when I feel there needed, obviously not as often as you. And I dont waste my time slagging off at everyone that comes on here that has a different viewpoint to my own.Hank1 do not confuse me with KingsArmy , i dont believe i have stated any of the above , please point it out if i have . Most of my time on here is spent defending Gisborne f.c. from blokes that are continually trying to shoot em down for being succesful. As for your comments regarding Gisborne not making finals in 2000 check page 237 post 3552.
Hanks the one suggesting Gisborne didnt play finals in 2000 , which is incorrect . Thats all .
which page number I cant find it :confused:
zakster
10 Jan 2007, 13:28
tiger fans will be pleased with the confirmed signings
2day sammy young announced as cuming bak which evryone seemd to know
two new names tho at kyneton --- guy sultan from abor all stars team at 2006 aussie country champs he cood be a midfielder or half forward
2nd one is a tall defender, nick doddie from lancefield
u guys who have been saying gissie is just a riddell league team do u guys know about doddie :confused:
Kings Army
10 Jan 2007, 13:28
Cheers.
P.S. Don't write much on here because I only wish to put my view or facts across when I feel there needed, obviously not as often as you. And I dont waste my time slagging off at everyone that comes on here that has a different viewpoint to my own.
I was the one bagging Kyneton as I know they can not do a Gisborne and be successful with that spoon head coach in charge. At best they can go from crap to ordinary this year. Lets see how the year pans out and when Kyneton's season is over after round 5 we can chat further then.
And for research - get to a Kyneton game and have a listen to Messina at quarter and three quarter time. You could not find me a more uninspiring and insipid display.
Some o&m clubs are interested in a fellow called phil lobb from the bendigo league can anyone shed some light on his playing abilities?
Montyposty
10 Jan 2007, 13:36
I was the one bagging Kyneton as I know they can not do a Gisborne and be successful with that spoon head coach in charge. At best they can go from crap to ordinary this year. Lets see how the year pans out and when Kyneton's season is over after round 5 we can chat further then.
And for research - get to a Kyneton game and have a listen to Messina at quarter and three quarter time. You could not find me a more uninspiring and insipid display.
Had him as a coach also and totally agree. "You could not find me a more uninspiring and insipid display."[/quote]
matt_nicholls
10 Jan 2007, 13:41
do u guys know about doddie :confused:
Nick Dodd is his name and he is probably just a handy forward/defender in the BFL. At Lancefield he struggled with injuries but certainly had the ability to kick a good haul of goals or hold down a good forward. He won't help Kyneton too much though I wouldn't think. As long as Massina is there they will never win a flag in the BFL.
bearsboy
10 Jan 2007, 13:57
which page number I cant find it :confused:Found it yet :confused:
jumpingjackflash
10 Jan 2007, 14:05
Not sure where your from and dont care but i bet i'm right about you getting some hidings from Gisborne .
considering that covers most teams in the league you'd probably be right.
jumpingjackflash
10 Jan 2007, 14:11
yep, your right. Reaper jumped on the bandwagon, took $1000 a week and $25 a goal off your club, realised whilst the boys he were playing with were good footballers, he wasn't interested in seeing who could suck the coach's co ck for the longest so he retired. ha, retired. didn't take much to coax him out of that one did it. just the chance to play with a good bunch of blokes.
as for elsum, he's been on more bandwagons that the earlier settlers. Kyneton, Yarrawonga, Diggers, Gissy, Douttas, just to name a few.
I bet if you ask both Harry and Bundy which was the best team they have ever played in, the 95 and/or 97 kyneton premierships would rate a hell of a lot higher than the gissy flags they played in.
jumpingjackflash
10 Jan 2007, 14:16
Nick Dodd is his name and he is probably just a handy forward/defender in the BFL. At Lancefield he struggled with injuries but certainly had the ability to kick a good haul of goals or hold down a good forward. He won't help Kyneton too much though I wouldn't think. As long as Massina is there they will never win a flag in the BFL.
they will always be better than Romsey though.
matt_nicholls
10 Jan 2007, 14:22
they will always be better than Romsey though.
Trouble is though is that I have never played for Romsey. So I don't know why you would even bring them up!
If Kyneton played in the RDFL in 2006 they would have struggled to beat Riddell in the granny.
I'm sure most people on here would agree with me when saying that it is unlikely that Kyneton will never be a force in the BFL over the next two decades.
The junior system is poor, there is very little work in the area to offer recruits and they have screwed over far too many businesses to get adequate sponsorship to pay for Massina's wishlist.
Hank1 do not confuse me with KingsArmy , i dont believe i have stated any of the above , please point it out if i have . Most of my time on here is spent defending Gisborne f.c. from blokes that are continually trying to shoot em down for being succesful. As for your comments regarding Gisborne not making finals in 2000 check page 237 post 3552.
Can't find it, I have replied to a quote from someone else who mentions not making finals in 2000, but my response was to do with the winning 3 games in 2001 which was also in the quote, I'll mark it in bold next time for you. As for Kings Army I wont be wasting my time talking to you after Round 5 when Kyneton's season is over because I couldnt care less about Kyuneton. Anyway thats it for me until something new comes up to talk about as this conversation is dead and buried.
bearsboy
10 Jan 2007, 16:36
Yer I gave you the mail on Rombotis a couple of days ago just send through the spotters fee boys!! Read all about it in tommorrow's addy.Cant get hold of an Addy , my mail was Rombotis to coach , Marty Warry assistant and Ty Zantuck to play if he doesnt go to the Bullant's , great news for the Flat and the BFL if this is true . No doubt we will be hearing from our old mate Wazza very shortly .
davis24
10 Jan 2007, 18:06
Trouble is though is that I have never played for Romsey. So I don't know why you would even bring them up!
If Kyneton played in the RDFL in 2006 they would have struggled to beat Riddell in the granny.
I'm sure most people on here would agree with me when saying that it is unlikely that Kyneton will never be a force in the BFL over the next two decades.
The junior system is poor, there is very little work in the area to offer recruits and they have screwed over far too many businesses to get adequate sponsorship to pay for Massina's wishlist.
these facts about the junirs are a joke the under 15s won the premiership this yr without hardly even being challenged while they had 2 vic country players playing for them they also had 3 or 4 players from both the pioneers and cannons playing for them so i think you shuld get ya facts write b4 making those stupid comments
Courageunderfire
10 Jan 2007, 18:29
these facts about the junirs are a joke the under 15s won the premiership this yr without hardly even being challenged while they had 2 vic country players playing for them they also had 3 or 4 players from both the pioneers and cannons playing for them so i think you shuld get ya facts write b4 making those stupid comments
Here Here Davis, Many Junior interleague players,(6 in the U/15's) and a 15 y.o playing seniors, calder cannons reps, vic reps, pioneer reps in all age groups. A 15a premiership side a 15b side which just missed the finals. Nicholls what are you on mate? Go back to Kilmore News and right second rate dribble and keep handing out blow jobs to the Cricket team you coach:thumbsd:
Courageunderfire
10 Jan 2007, 18:36
I think your scared of him!
davis24
10 Jan 2007, 18:37
Here Here Davis, Many Junior interleague players,(6 in the U/15's) and a 15 y.o playing seniors, calder cannons reps, vic reps, pioneer reps in all age groups. A 15a premiership side a 15b side which just missed the finals. Nicholls what are you on mate? Go back to Kilmore News and right second rate dribble and keep handing out blow jobs to the Cricket team you coach:thumbsd:
thanks mate are u reffering to him as the lancefield coach casue i have heard so many complaints about him some of the players thinks he wouldnt get a job coaching a milo team he is that ******** and as for his newpaper articles no wonder why he has been at that many different papers he keeps getting fired
fifth quarter
10 Jan 2007, 18:43
Happy New year guys ... back after a spell down the beach at Anglesea.
Correct OTM and others -- At Dower Park, Rombotis to coach, Warry to play and be assistant coach and Hamish Dahl to be an odds on cert. to re-sign with the Flat and withdraw from the Square I would say.
Strangely Rombotis altho not much older than Warry says he's only going to coach, not play. Very odd.
Both of them had a gallop with the Roy Boys in the AFL and Rombotis with Richmond and maybe one other AFL club. Not sure if Warry played with any other AFL outfit other that Fitzroy.Perhaps he did and prolly in the SANFL, too.
Warry says in the BFL he will play as a "crash and bash" midfielder and will take a turn down back. Wot's the betting they'll have some mates coming.
Hope Brooksie and his team have plenty of $$$$$$$ coming in--- they're going to need them.
Courageunderfire
10 Jan 2007, 18:44
Hahaha yes my friend the 'Lanny' scum. I find it funny he is a critic of experienced coaches when he has complaints from kids he coaches in a junior side. What a disgrace!:thumbsd:
fifth quarter
10 Jan 2007, 18:47
Hey JJF. If your a gun FF and the club you used to play for says we'll help build you your new house and knock 15-20 per cent off the final price wot are you gonna do ??
You'd go back to paying for the house-building club, wouldnt you ??
bigboofer
10 Jan 2007, 18:52
Some o&m clubs are interested in a fellow called phil lobb from the bendigo league can anyone shed some light on his playing abilities?
21 years old forward player kicked over 100 in junior footy 3rd in league g/kicking 2 years ago 2nd last year no doubt when matures in mind will kick 100 in season i fcan go to club who has forward coach and teach where and when to lead needs to get away from bendigo for a season or two to really learn the game
Halffullonfence
10 Jan 2007, 18:55
Just wondering how many of these gun kids were playing at Woodend in 2005 if this is Kyneton's recruiting regime no wonder they ARE struggling.
Courageunderfire
10 Jan 2007, 19:00
Just wondering how many of these gun kids were playing at Woodend in 2005 if this is Kyneton's recruiting regime no wonder they ARE struggling.
Who are you reffering to?
caveman
10 Jan 2007, 19:16
The Kangaroo Flat Football/Netball Club executive and committee are thrilled to announce the signing of John Rombotis as senior coach and Marty Warry as his assistant for the 2007 season.
Come and have a look at our new website for more info.
www.kangarooflatfnc.com
Great times ahead for the flat! :thumbsu:
wallyon
10 Jan 2007, 19:29
Is leigh Burke fronting up again in the bendigo league. His brother james is apparantly going to join him this year.
smasher316
10 Jan 2007, 19:37
Is leigh Burke fronting up again in the bendigo league. His brother james is apparantly going to join him this year.
Wouldnt be suprised if james burke played in the bendigo league this year..James is a prety good player as well would be good in a league like the bendigo one!