View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
Does anyone know a guy called Ash Olin, played at Charlton apparently about 4 or 5 years ago. How does he go as a footballer? Where is he playing at the moment?
does he have a twin by the name of Mary-Kate???:D
Jock Clark 2
2 Feb 2006, 16:02
MATTY Tyrrell's clearance application to leave Wh. Hills and join G. Squiare is in the pipeline. It's "In progress" at the moment, according to the HDFL link to the VCFL clearances site.
Now that B. Walsh has snared the seniot coaching job at the Hillies, will he try and circumvent son Woosha's moves and try and get Matt. T. to stay at the Hills ??
jock, you raise an interesting point there especially concidering there not on the best of terms at the moment and you would'nt think brian would want to loose sum1 of the caliber of tyrell if he hopes to be successful.
could cause more friction amoungst the family.
if some of the players that are mentioned leave, the club should have sum spare cash to splash cos i'm sure another condition of brians b4 he excepted the job would've been if the club are prepared to open up the check book so he can try and poach sum high profile players from the area.
its gunna be interesting, his appointment my be the difference to get them over the line in the big one or it may have adverse reactions and cause a slide down the letter, we will all know come september.
i spoke to a bloke 2day from colbo and he said there's been 30 at training , the clubs recruited well along with former premiership players returning, lock is fit and everthing is cruisy at the moment . he'd expect colbo to finish top 3 at this early stage.
Jock Clark 2
2 Feb 2006, 17:24
;) I KNOW it's only a district league ablett, but 30 at training at the start of feb. doesn't sound real good.
The north city coach McCarty said on Bendigo 895 FM radio last nite he had betwen 50 and 60 at training at the North Ballarat Oval. He was at training when he took the call from the radio blokes.
Now I know there a new club just starting out in a new league the North City lads, but Lockie and Co. will have to get more than 30 at training to impress me --- and a heap of other critics, i would day.
By the way North City's most experienced players this season will be 23-year-olds with anything up to 60 or 70 senior games to there credit.
;) I KNOW it's only a district league ablett, but 30 at training at the start of feb. doesn't sound real good.
The north city coach McCarty said on Bendigo 895 FM radio last nite he had betwen 50 and 60 at training at the North Ballarat Oval. He was at training when he took the call from the radio blokes.
Now I know there a new club just starting out in a new league the North City lads, but Lockie and Co. will have to get more than 30 at training to impress me --- and a heap of other critics, i would day.
By the way North City's most experienced players this season will be 23-year-olds with anything up to 60 or 70 senior games to there credit.
Mate for a district league, 30 blokes at training is a great effort...
Grimmett
2 Feb 2006, 21:38
Announced on WIN TV news tonight that North City will participate in the Ballarat FL lightning premiership prior to the season as well as the Bendigo FL version.
Grimmett
3 Feb 2006, 07:51
http://bfl.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=18422&orgID=3&Oname=Ballarat+FL&O1c=7&O10c=10
Ballarat FL website report on their Lightning Premiership competition.
i spoke to a bloke 2day from colbo and he said there's been 30 at training , the clubs recruited well along with former premiership players returning, lock is fit and everthing is cruisy at the moment . he'd expect colbo to finish top 3 at this early stage.
Yaaableettt
not sure who you were chatting to mate, but the top 3 finish is a bit early to predict considering Colbo didn't fare too well last year counting the wins on one hand. There were definately 30 on the track, and tonight there should be more, however all it is, is a marked improvement on last year and thats it. it's the old cliche "one week at a time!"
Remember last year, Mounts were getting 60+ to training
North City is obviously full of enthusiasm which is great for a new club.
Yaaableettt
not sure who you were chatting to mate, but the top 3 finish is a bit early to predict considering Colbo didn't fare too well last year counting the wins on one hand. There were definately 30 on the track, and tonight there should be more, however all it is, is a marked improvement on last year and thats it. it's the old cliche "one week at a time!"
Remember last year, Mounts were getting 60+ to training
North City is obviously full of enthusiasm which is great for a new club.
Sounds like the new side have plenty wanting a game, what about other teams in BFL, how many are they getting to training?
Taxi Cab
4 Feb 2006, 09:40
Have spoken to Dillon since i posted the above and he has reassured me that he is a better footballer than Claude Critchley, sorry to misinform you all:thumbsu:
He may be a better footballer, but they are very equal on the whinging stakes. Can any Golden Square Footballers confirm that Dillon Anderson quoted at training that he was the fittest he's ever been and he's back in the form of 2001 and opposistion clubs better watch out?
Brown's back to play for Maine
Luke West
Saturday, 4 February 2006
PREMIERSHIP skipper Lachie Brown is returning to Castlemaine for the 2006 All Seasons Bendigo Football League season.
Brown, who was co-captain of the Magpies' 2000 premiership side, will return to Camp Reserve after two years at Central Highlands Football League power club, Hepburn.
Brown's two years at Hepburn yielded two premierships.
Castlemaine announced in January, last year, that Brown and Richard Atkin would be returning to the Magpies for 2005.
However, both later chose to remain with Hepburn.
But Brown said he is locked in this year with the Magpies, with whom he will be an assistant coach.
"Castlemaine is my home club, it's where I live, and I'm getting on a bit now, so it's probably my last chance to play at this sort of standard," the 29-year-old said.
"You never know when your body may start to let you down.
"I had a couple of good years under Robbo (Hepburn coach Shane Robertson), but I wanted to come back to Castlemaine because we are going to be a young side, so I'm looking forward to providing some leadership.
"Quite a few of the older guys around the club like Ollie (Steven Oliver) and Blakey (Michael Blake) are gone, so it's going to be good to come back and provide some direction for the younger blokes.
"It might be a tough year for us having lost a few, but we have plenty of young players who are enthusiastic."Magpies' coach Ian Martin was pleased to have regained the services of Brown, who was co-coach of Castlemaine with Oliver in 2003.
"Lachie adds a bit more experience to the side, which will help the younger guys out," Martin said.
"He's really keen on having a big year this year."Forward Adrian Conn will also return to the Magpies.
Conn spent last year playing with Templestowe in the Eastern Football League.
Meanwhile, North City will play in two lightning premierships as part of its build-up to its inaugural BFL season.
North City will play in the BFL's lightning premiership at the Queen Elizabeth Oval on April 1, and then the week after, will line up in the Ballarat Football League's lightning premiership at the Eastern Oval.
"Obviously, the inclusion of North City will create enormous interest in the Eclipse Ford Lightning Premiership, and will help the Ballarat Football-Netball League to continue to develop interest in an event that continues to grow enormously on our football calendar," Ballarat Football League chief executive officer Rod Ward said.
North City will compete in the same pool as Sebastopol and Redan.
Meanwhile, it's expected the Bendigo Football League lightning premiership will include a player's sprint before the grand final, which will be played under lights.
Mark Salakowski Avenel to Kangaroo Flat (clearance lodged)
Jock Clark 2
7 Feb 2006, 16:58
:thumbsu: DOONA .... pls. cut and paste the Bgo Addie Tuesday edition story about whether the BFL grannie will be played on the Sat. or the Sunday, to avoid a clash with the HDFL's big day.
And the discussion about whether the two early Sat. night finals are supported by the clubs --- that's the qualifying and the 2nd semi-finals --- the key finals in the opening fortnite of the BFL finals action.
:thumbsu: DOONA .... pls. cut and paste the Bgo Addie Tuesday edition story about whether the BFL grannie will be played on the Sat. or the Sunday, to avoid a clash with the HDFL's big day.
And the discussion about whether the two early Sat. night finals are supported by the clubs --- that's the qualifying and the 2nd semi-finals --- the key finals in the opening fortnite of the BFL finals action.
Grand final fixture causes division among BFL clubs
Luke West
Tuesday, 7 February 2006
ALL Seasons Bendigo Football League clubs are split on what day to play this year's grand final.
The BFL's showcase day is set down for Saturday, September 23, at the Queen Elizabeth Oval, but the Heathcote District Football League grand final is also slated for the same day.
However, the prospect of switching the BFL grand final from the Saturday to Sunday, September 24, will be one of the topics on the agenda of Friday night's president's meeting in the Sandhurst rooms at the QEO.
It promises to be an interesting discussion with club presidents split on the grand final date when contacted by The Advertiser yesterday.
Four clubs - Castlemaine, Eaglehawk, Gisborne and Sandhurst - indicated they would like to see the grand final remain on the Saturday, as it has been since 2002.
Kangaroo Flat, Maryborough and Golden Square showed favour towards avoiding a clash with the HDFL and switching the grand final to the Sunday.
While a Saturday grand final would clash with the HDFL, it would also be played on the same day as the Maryborough-Castlemaine District Football League showcase game at Princes Park, which is one of the main reasons why Maryborough president Mick Reid said he wanted to see the season-decider played on the Sunday.
The most vehemently opposed president to playing the grand final on the same day as the HDFL was Golden Square's Steve Sharp.
"It's absolutely ridiculous to consider playing a grand final when another local region grand final is on the same day," Sharp said.
"It's a no-win situation. It would be better for both leagues to showcase their grand finals on their own days."BFL general manager Tony Pierce is hopeful the situation will be resolved on Friday night.
"The idea is to get a sense of what the clubs want and if it can be resolved on Friday night, so be it," Pierce said. "I'd like to think we can work something out for the benefit of both finals." The HDFL grand final is all but set in stone for September 23, regardless of whether it plays an inter-league game on June 10.
"The only way it could change would be if clubs agreed to re-do the draw, which I don't think would happen," HDFL secretary Trevor Arnel said.
The date of the BFL's preliminary final is also negotiable.
The preliminary final has been scheduled for Sunday, September 17, but the possibility of it being moved forward a day to September 16 is also an option.
While clubs are split on when to play the grand final, it appears night finals will be given the green light.
The BFL has pencilled in the qualifying final on September 2 and the second semi-final on September 9 to be played under lights at the QEO.
The proposal will also be discussed on Friday night, but nine of the 10 club presidents yesterday showed support for the concept.
The only president who had a differing view was Gisborne's Des Dunn.
"We haven't gone through the issues of it, but I think we would prefer to play a day final," Dunn said.
Should the proposal go ahead as expected, it will be the first time the league has hosted finals at night.
Meanwhile, the round one game between Golden Square and Gisborne at Country Vet Oval has been switched from Sunday, April 16, to Saturday, April 15.
It would be best for the BFL if the GF did go to the Sunday for this year but i also think it would good to stick the old days and keep the tradition of a Saturday GF. Not one in favour to swap to break tradition!
Mitrovic injury a concern for Hurst
Luke West
Thursday, 9 February 2006
SANDHURST captain Wayne Mitrovic is set to miss the start of the All Seasons Bendigo Football League season as he continues to be hampered by osteitis pubis.
Mitrovic's 2005 season was wrecked by osteitis pubis, and the effects of the debilitating condition that affects the groin continue to linger for the player widely regarded as one of the best in the BFL.
"It's probably still going to take a bit of time; it's going along slowly," Sandhurst coach David Collins said yesterday.
"We have to go back and start from scratch, so I imagine he would miss the start of the season.
"It all depends on how it settles down over the next month, but no-one seems to know much about this stuff.
"We're just playing it by ear, but I couldn't see him coming up for the start of the year."With Mitrovic likely to miss the start of the season, it's expected Keiran Nihill will again assume the Dragons' captaincy duties in his absence.
Mitrovic was restricted to just three games last season in what was a massive blow to the Dragons' chances of defending their 2004 premiership.
Key defender Matt Keown was another player who missed almost the entire 2005 season.
Keown played just two games for the Dragons because of a recurring hamstring injury that he couldn't shake.
However, Collins says Keown will be right for the Dragons' round one game against Kyneton.
Sandhurst has lured two players from its 2004 premiership side back to the club this year in Zac Perez and Mark Fitzgerald, who spent last season in the WAFL.
Perez hasn't missed a pre-season session since returning from Perth, while Fitzgerald will join training during the next fortnight.
Perez is one player Collins is earmarking to step up into the midfield in the absence of last year's best and fairest winner, Kieren Prowse, who is overseas, and Brad Comer, who has returned to Newbridge.
Sandhurst will play practice matches against Mansfield and North Old Boys, as well as the BFL lightning premiership at the Queen Elizabeth Oval on April 1.Meanwhile in other BFL news, pacy Castlemaine wingman Travis Stevens has lodged a clearance to join Kangaroo Flat.
While Stevens has indicated he wants to leave Castlemaine, the Magpies have picked up Clinton Aldridge from Geelong Football League club Grovedale.
Key Kyneton defender David Leatch has put in a clearance to join Hoppers Crossing in the Victorian Amateur Football Association.
Leatch crossed the Tigers last year after spending 2004 with Maryborough.
And, Scott Langan will return to Eaglehawk.
Langan played in the Hawks' 2003 grand final side, but spent 2004 coaching YCW in the Loddon Valley Football League and last year with Bears Lagoon-Serpentine.
Key Kyneton defender David Leatch has put in a clearance to join Hoppers Crossing in the Victorian Amateur Football Association.
Kyneton are screwed. They've lost Guy Orton, Brian Ruffle and more improtantly Mark Scerri to the Bombers, there no chance this year.
galloping gasometer
10 Feb 2006, 07:28
I was watching Sth train during the week and noticed that the skills were very good for this time of the year. For about 10 minutes the ball didnt hit the ground and a couple of the players are flying including recruits but most notably the senior coach.
i think nev clark has dyed his hair a brown colour and left his eyebrows red........is this a fashion statement?
spoke4923
10 Feb 2006, 08:29
Kyneton are screwed. They've lost Guy Orton, Brian Ruffle and more improtantly Mark Scerri to the Bombers, there no chance this year.
The loss of Guy Orton to Bombers IS NO LOSS. He played the majority of the season in the 2's last year and got towelled up when he played in the ones. He must have photos of Knights or one of the Bombers coaching staff. Ruffle will be a loss in years to come, Leatch was overpaid and underperformed. "The Rat", Mark Scerri will be their only real loss from those mentioned. IS a gun and just about the tigers best last year, along with Cook. Agree they'll struggle badly though. I heard they only had four blokes turn up to a session one night.
Yeh i heard from an insider from the club that their hopes for the season arent that high
Wayne Weideman
12 Feb 2006, 00:43
Yeh i heard from an insider fros m the club that their hopes for the season arent that high
follow bendigo clubs a nd i think that the way south hAVE REcruited that there is bnot many who will math them
Wayne Weideman
12 Feb 2006, 00:56
word on the street is that kyle sigley otherwise kown as sigas is firm favouroite to take out the medal thid=s year in the bfl. he is stated at 4-1 but will surely drop into unknown terrain for many bfl players.for any other info involing the bfl medal odds phone laurie on 5554446 HE'S GOt YOU COVERERED ILOVE JUKE BOXES OH YEAH
Wayne Weideman
12 Feb 2006, 00:58
I was watching Sth train during the week and noticed that the skills were very good for this time of the year. For about 10 minutes the ball didnt hit the ground and a couple of the players are flying including recruits but most notably the senior coach.
i think nev clark has dyed his hair a brown colour and left his eyebrows red........is this a fashion statement?
gas i need some names of some new recruits that will carve? i then can tell them wat i trhink of them and glo to bed to wake up to a raging hang over boo yesah
Grimmett
12 Feb 2006, 09:10
gas i need some names of some new recruits that will carve? i then can tell them wat i trhink of them and glo to bed to wake up to a raging hang over boo yesah
Gas is right. Right on it. WW with the quiet sip before posting. Nice work! :thumbsu:
Wayne Weideman
12 Feb 2006, 09:51
Gas is right. Right on it. WW with the quiet sip before posting. Nice work! :thumbsu:
apoligies grimmet for those wild posts this morning. i suppose you could say the famous saying once inherited by ben her "things got a little out of control last night"
blues12
12 Feb 2006, 14:34
i have heard that duff tyler will be leaving kyneton for rdfl side woodend this year, can anybody confirm this
Rumour has been duplicated on a number of threads, I guess we'll know when a clearance is lodged.
On The Money
12 Feb 2006, 20:24
apoligies grimmet for those wild posts this morning. i suppose you could say the famous saying once inherited by ben her "things got a little out of control last night"
Just left the Big Footy tribunal and Weed has taken the two week set penalty for posting whilst under the influence. His keyboard has been reposesed and he will recieve counselling from Big Footy Welfare officer Dave Woodyard! Everyone at Bigfooty hopes for a full recovery for the Weed.
Grand finals on Sunday
Monday, 13 February 2006
THE All Seasons Bendigo Football-Netball League's grand final has been pushed back to the Sunday this year.
The BFL's showcase game will now be played on Sunday, September 24.
The league's 2006 fixture released in December had the most anticipated game of the year scheduled for Saturday, September 23.
However, the possibility of the grand final being pushed back 24 hours had been left open by the board. The last BFL grand final played on a Sunday was in 2001 when the Brian Walsh-coached Golden Square downed Sandhurst by 14 points.
The decision to play this year's grand final on the Sunday was made at the BFL's president's meeting at the Queen Elizabeth Oval on Friday night.
'‘We're trialling a few new things this year," BFL general manager Tony Pierce said yesterday.
‘‘It used to be a Sunday grand final, but clubs wanted to go back to the Saturday, which it has been for the past few years.
‘‘We put the idea back up for a Sunday grand final to be trialled again in 2006 and the clubs were receptive to it.
‘‘There was plenty of discussion on it, but the clubs are open-minded and prepared to give it a go." With the BFL grand final being put back to the Sunday, it means it will not clash with the Heathcote District Football League season decider, which will be played on September 23.
‘‘Given the HDFL's scheduling of its grand final on that weekend, it works out well for both leagues," Pierce said.
HDFL secretary Trevor Arnel said the league was pleased with the BFL's decision.
‘‘We're very happy the BFL has chosen to do that," Arnel said.
‘‘It takes the pressure off everyone, and allows everyone to go to both grand finals." The grand final being switched to the Sunday is one of two significant changes to be implemented for the BFL finals this year. The other is the introduction of night finals for the first time.
The qualifying and second semi-finals will both be played under lights at the QEO.
‘‘We considered ways of showcasing the league, and we think with the excellent facilities and lighting at the QEO, night finals give us a great opportunity," Pierce said.
While it's not yet set in stone, it's expected the senior finals to be played at night will start about 7 pm.
The BFL season begins on April 14, with the Good Friday clash between Eaglehawk and Kangaroo Flat at Canterbury Park.
Picklesmeoldmate
13 Feb 2006, 09:21
well old diamond, i've just got mail from a very good bfl source, and i can tell you that those pools you mentioned for the lightning premiership are not right. please do more homework before you post on this website. do i make myself clear.
Gareth Keenan
13 Feb 2006, 09:31
Good morning all.
Some good mail for you blokes from over here in SA.
It seems North City are on the verge of signing former Western Bulldogs duo Adam Contessa and Simon Cox.
Contessa spent a year over here in Adelaide a few years back and became good mates with a couple of blokes who are now back in Ballarat.
Contessa and Simon Cox apprently used to live together in Melbourne and now it looks like they are going to play together with North City.
How's North City looking for their first year???
Will they be a finals team???
Grimmett
13 Feb 2006, 09:52
Good morning all.
It seems North City are on the verge of signing former Western Bulldogs duo Adam Contessa and Simon Cox.
Contessa spent a year over here in Adelaide a few years back and became good mates with a couple of blokes who are now back in Ballarat.
Contessa and Simon Cox apprently used to live together in Melbourne and now it looks like they are going to play together with North City.
If those two definitely suit up then they will be bloody close, if not certainties IMO.
Jock Clark 2
13 Feb 2006, 12:32
AND North City has just signed one of Victoria's largest conveyancing firms as their major naming rights sponsor. Mob is called Balben Property Transfers.
They r very pro-active and if they get those 2 players, Gareth, I'd say they wood be definate finals material.
Picklesmeoldmate
13 Feb 2006, 13:49
With Pete Lenaghan now out of town and working up in Darwin, just wondering if anyone has any ideas about who may host the BFL shows on Triple C this year. Pete was a wonderful commentator I felt and a great bloke. To me, waiting for the announcement of Pete's replacement is like waiting to see who will take over from Eddie McGuire on the Footy Show, that's how big a decision this is for Triple C. My preference would be to see Richard Jones step up and take more of an active on-air role. To me, Richard is a very knowledgable when it comes to the BFL and has obviously been around the league for a very long time. I could see him stepping up and doing a fantastic job in the important anchor role this year. What do some of you other people out there think about who Pete's replacement might be. What do you reckon Jock Clark 2, you seem to know a fair bit about what's going on out there.
i reckon claude would be good replacement .
Picklesmeoldmate
13 Feb 2006, 14:42
Yes, that is a fair comment ablett. claud is another person who seems to know quite a bit about the bfl. i think he would be more than an adequate replacement. he could start perhaps with a trial run at the lightning premiership on april 1
With Pete Lenaghan now out of town and working up in Darwin, just wondering if anyone has any ideas about who may host the BFL shows on Triple C this year. Pete was a wonderful commentator I felt and a great bloke. To me, waiting for the announcement of Pete's replacement is like waiting to see who will take over from Eddie McGuire on the Footy Show, that's how big a decision this is for Triple C. My preference would be to see Richard Jones step up and take more of an active on-air role. To me, Richard is a very knowledgable when it comes to the BFL and has obviously been around the league for a very long time. I could see him stepping up and doing a fantastic job in the important anchor role this year. What do some of you other people out there think about who Pete's replacement might be. What do you reckon Jock Clark 2, you seem to know a fair bit about what's going on out there.
What about the guys from the addy? They write about the footy everyday, they might be a fair replacement. Leneghan did a bit for the addy. Adam Burke does a bit but definately enough already on the radio, so what about Luke West? If he is the main man at the Addy, could he be a candidate?
Picklesmeoldmate
13 Feb 2006, 15:29
Yeah, i suppose luke could be a possible candidate. I read his stuff in the addy and find it quite interesting. When I listened to the BFL show on a saturday morning last year I heard him in the second half of the season and I don't think it was too bad. I have heard Adam on the radio as well and he is quite good. Speaks very clearly and obviously knows his stuff when it comes to the BFL. I guess there are some big decisions facing Wallace Teasdale and the crew in the coming months.
Jock Clark 2
13 Feb 2006, 16:30
PETE Lenaghan put in many hours with the Fresh FM, Picklesouroldmate, becoz he was xtra keen to gain experience & show people his dedication. That included taking the gear to the broadcast game, setting it up and pulling it down and packing it away when the broadcast was over.
And he did a lot of ATG and interviews from down in the rooms at the Phone Dome and the G for the Nat. Indigenous Radio Service's AFL coverage -- again to get experience, and exposure.
Think back to the 80s days when another Bendigo boy in Anthony Hudson was the same age as Pete L., Pickles, and working for the Fresh (back then called 3CCCC). He put in a heap of hours to gain the experience, including the Sat. morning BFL Breakfast Show. Then he headed off to 3AW and eventually landed up with Network Ten.
One of the major considerations for a radio station covering live games is the gear --- who is going to take it to the venue, who is going to set it up, test the levels and all that.
I'm sure there will be an announcement about this year's broadcast team before the end of March. Maybe on the Wednesday evening show One Week Atta Time, which runs from 5 to 6.15 pm.
Picklesmeoldmate
13 Feb 2006, 17:00
I get the feeling you think i was being fececious jock. that's not the case. i admired the work pete did with the station and was a regular listener. but i'm just curious to know how you know pete did all that work with the station. are you tied it up with it or something
galloping gasometer
14 Feb 2006, 09:40
Ugliest man alive that ever played AFL. Please refrain from drinking and typing as I am having great difficulty in understanding your request.
In regards to South training I was watching again last night ( as I like to watch and keep my svelt frame tone and looking good by running down there) and noticed a couple of things. KFC has repeatedly called Brendan Jennings and made big offers on those chicken wings and thighs. Although not much there anymore to nibble on.
Breeza great skills and leading the way at the moment as the coach should do although a couple of the recruits including Knight would be shading him in the overall skill and fitness stakes. Looks a good pickup from training so far but you dont win games in February.
Dawson ( or Forrest....Gump as he shall be called ) looks like he could challege the kenyans to a race and may get a call up to the Commonwealth games.Looks like he could run all day and must be a chance in both the 5K and 10K. Medal prospect.
Shaddbolt and Bourke look like the hill climbing runs have worked wonders over pre season and are training strongly. Shaddbolt will be a big inclusion if he can stay sound for the year and play 16-18 games. He has already lost his lunch on a regular basis and as such will strip light to take those big speccys on opponents heads.
Whats with the comments I heard the other night in regards to Nev.........."your hair is on fire". Is that a new nickname?
smellingsmoke
14 Feb 2006, 12:01
Todays Bgo Addy has the Pools and Draw:
A - EHawk, G Sq, Rochy
B - South, KFlat, Mborough
C - SHurst, CMaine, Echuca
D - Kyneton, Gis, North City
along with the fixture - 10am EH & GSq to start proceedings...
Tough draw for imports
Luke West
Tuesday, 14 February 2006
POOL A of the All Seasons Bendigo Football League's inaugural lightning premiership promises to be the most intriguing.
Pool A will feature Eaglehawk, Golden Square and Goulburn Valley Football League club Rochester.
The four pools for the April 1 tournament at the Queen Elizabeth Oval were officially released yesterday.
Eaglehawk and Golden Square both made the finals last year, and will kick off the lightning premiership at 10 am.
Rochester, which left the BFL after 1971, has been one of the power clubs in the GVFL for the past decade, ensuring the pool will be hotly contested.
"It should be a good challenge," Rochester coach David Williams said yesterday.
"We're looking forward to it, especially having so many Bendigo blokes in our side."Playing with Rochester this year will be four former Bendigo VFL players - Daniel Schmidt, Elliot Bowen, Clint Whitsed and Michael Loughman.There will be plenty of interest surrounding Pool D, which will feature fierce rivals Gisborne and Kyneton, as well as the BFL's newest club, North City.
The lightning premiership will be the BFL's first look at the Ballarat-based North City, who will play its first game against Kyneton at 2.40 pm.
South Bendigo has been handed what could be classed as a dream draw.The Bloods, who finished third last season and are again expected to be around the mark this year, have been placed in Pool B with Maryborough and Kangaroo Flat.
Maryborough and Kangaroo Flat finished on the bottom two places on the ladder last year, winning just four games between them.
Pool C comprises Sandhurst, Castlemaine and GVFL club, Echuca, which along with Rochester has been invited to compete to lift the number of teams to 12.Echuca spent 50 years in the BFL, between 1923 and '73.
Lightning premiership games will comprise 15-minute halves and no time-on.
Each club will play two pool games, with the winners of each pool to advance to the semi-finals.
The first semi-final will pit the winner of Pool A against Pool C, and the second semi-final will feature the winner of Pool B against the winner of Pool D.
The two semi-final winners will advance to the grand final, expected to be played under lights about 7.30 pm.
Clubs can select a squad of 30 players for the tournament, with a maximum of six players allowed to be selected on the bench for each game.
The lightning premiership will also feature netball, with the clubs to be divided into the same pools as the football. Prize money will be awarded to both the winner and runners-up of the football and netball tournaments.
Picklesmeoldmate
14 Feb 2006, 12:05
good to see wayne weideman is abiding by his suspension and not posting.
max powers.
14 Feb 2006, 13:55
Good morning all.
I'll think you'll find this is rubbish.
How sure are you maximum?
Jock Clark 2
14 Feb 2006, 15:00
Max cood be rite, Weapo.
Bloke posting on the SANFL threads suggests Simon Cox has signed with North Adelaide for 2006. However, he didn't say wot Contessa mite be up to.
And Pickles ... Peter L. filled us in at the Eaglehawk 125th function last year about wot he does (or did) do for the local radio station. That was in between his back announcing rolls for the EFC at that impressive nite last year. He sed he rocked up at 9 am to collect the gear to take to the ground he was hosting at that day. Put in a big day each Sat. by wot he told our table.
Picklesmeoldmate
15 Feb 2006, 14:02
Max cood be rite, Weapo.
Bloke posting on the SANFL threads suggests Simon Cox has signed with North Adelaide for 2006. However, he didn't say wot Contessa mite be up to.
And Pickles ... Peter L. filled us in at the Eaglehawk 125th function last year about wot he does (or did) do for the local radio station. That was in between his back announcing rolls for the EFC at that impressive nite last year. He sed he rocked up at 9 am to collect the gear to take to the ground he was hosting at that day. Put in a big day each Sat. by wot he told our table.
sorry jock my friend. i stand corrected. i will suspend myself from positng for 24 hours.
south_hawk
15 Feb 2006, 19:06
I wouldn't completely book in South for the lightening premiership, for those who are wondering I think South will be fielding our Senior side with reserves.
caveman
15 Feb 2006, 19:24
I wouldn't completely book in South for the lightening premiership, for those who are wondering I think South will be fielding our Senior side with reserves.
The Flat will be ready to pounce if the Bloods only field reserves players! :D
Gareth Keenan
15 Feb 2006, 20:10
Simon Cox to North Adelaide is apparently correct, but my man over here is adamant Contessa is heading to Ballarat and he's taking a good player with him.
I see on The Addy website that Derrick Filo is playing again this year.
I remember playing against him 15 years ago. How old is he really???
He'd have to be late 30's or even 40 wouldn't he.
By the way I was down at Alberton Oval today and Peter Burgoyne is flying.... he had a lot of injury problems last year but they are all gone now.....throw a few dollars on him for the Brownlow.
The Flat will be ready to pounce if the Bloods only field reserves players! :D
Interesting to read about who will field who in the lightning premiership. I would've thought that if there is prizemoney up for grabs then clubs would be having a real go at it. Especially if clubs are spending a fair amount on recruits then it would not only be a good opportunity to win the $$ but to also get some match fitness. Or are they keeping their 'weapon's' for the main season?
Jock Clark 2
16 Feb 2006, 14:16
DEKKA listed in 2005 grand final program as 35 but we know to add 4 years onto that, Gareth.
He was skipper of the Maine when they won the flag in 1992.:D
inlimbo
16 Feb 2006, 14:37
Sorry for the late post, but the difference in standard whilst want mean much during the pre-season, echuca and rochy play in a division 1 comp, whilst bendigo is now division 3... Whilst a bloke like Nick Knight was a handy player in the GVFL, look out for him in the BDFL- young quick and skillfull! Forget all these names coming into the leuge from charlton, white hills or wherever, souths recruting of Knight is as big as any
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif
andypipkin
17 Feb 2006, 07:19
im sure that he may be quick, young and skillful, but to disregard there other recruits is utter rubbish. bloke thats come to south by the name of rick coburn is a terrific player. he's in a different mould, one of those blokes who doesnt hang back, who will put his head over the ball and do the tough stuff so that blokes like this quick young and skillful nick knight can get the ball out in the wide open spaces where im sure he likes it
Grimmett
17 Feb 2006, 08:02
Filo will be 38 in March.
Picklesmeoldmate
17 Feb 2006, 09:26
Welcome to all the new people who have joined the website that I STARTED a few months ago. I look forward to hearing what you have to report over the coming months on the BFL. And Gareth, I have just loaded up on Burgoyne for the boundary. He is presently at $77 with one betting agency, so I can't go wrong. My suspension has been lifted and I'm now back.
Gareth Keenan
17 Feb 2006, 12:07
Good to hear Pickles.
If Burgoyne gets up I'll expect a slab of West End Draught in the mail.
My SANFL team the Port Adelaide Magpies were chasing Mark Alvey. I think he was from Bendigo before he played AFL. He knocked back Port Adelaide to play country footy. Is he back in Bendigo????
andypipkin
17 Feb 2006, 12:17
i heard a slight rumour that along with mark rees from castlemaine signing with south bendigo is the story that leigh rees has been training and may also attempt to cross over to the bloods.
as for alvey he has signed with your club in question but has gone missing in adelaide due to the fact he told them quote, "he had cricket finals to play in bendigo"
On The Money
17 Feb 2006, 13:12
Yer Pickles Old Bud Dicky Jones would be alright lets just hope that rambling Wal Teasdale doesn't have to be heard anymore than he has too.
On The Money
17 Feb 2006, 13:14
Yer Pickles Richard Jones would be alright to step up but lets just hope that Wal Teasdale doesnt get more opportunity to ramble on.
Teasdale does have a fair bit to say. Although he may say some things that are tongue in cheek, to be able to do that doesn't he need to know the people personally. Just seems he has ticked a few people off by some comments he has made. I realise he wouldn't be saying these to offend but needs to be careful. What do people think?
Picklesmeoldmate
17 Feb 2006, 15:34
Teasdale does have a fair bit to say. Although he may say some things that are tongue in cheek, to be able to do that doesn't he need to know the people personally. Just seems he has ticked a few people off by some comments he has made. I realise he wouldn't be saying these to offend but needs to be careful. What do people think?
here here weapo. i tend to agree brother
max powers.
17 Feb 2006, 16:08
Max cood be rite, Weapo.
I can tell you that Adam Contessa hasn't even heard of North City let alone Signed with them.
spoke4923
17 Feb 2006, 20:18
I heard a rumour that either Dole or West from the bendigo addy may be in line to do a bit of work on fresh fm this year on the bfl coverage. Anyone heard anything about it or know much about these two blokes?
south_hawk
18 Feb 2006, 08:23
I know that a certain South boy loves to impersonate Luke West
Wayne Weideman
18 Feb 2006, 09:40
gday fellas. well the time has come. i have served my suspension for the indiscretion of last weekend and i am back. my keyboard has been altered slightly with now a built in breathaliser that i must blow into before typing. along with that my keyboard keys have been made bigger and i have had surgery on my fingers and minimized them so that we don't have a reoccurance of the events that took place last weekend. i will end by saying
"WEEEEEEEEEEEED"
Picklesmeoldmate
19 Feb 2006, 11:38
I heard a rumour that either Dole or West from the bendigo addy may be in line to do a bit of work on fresh fm this year on the bfl coverage. Anyone heard anything about it or know much about these two blokes?
obviously these two guys work with the bendigo advertiser
south_hawk
20 Feb 2006, 17:32
Its not for awhile but who will be going along to Bendigo's first game for the year against Werribee at the QEO?
I hope to get along and hope to make it to as many games as i can in 2006.
It should be a good warm up to the 1st round of the BFL the following week!
Gareth Keenan
20 Feb 2006, 18:28
I'm sure most of you guys would have heard of or seen a guy called Ben Doherty play in the BFL a few years ago with Golden Square.
He's been at Ainslie in the ACT the past few years but a mate of mine who coaches in Canberra tells me he's moving back to Melbourne with his work.
Couldn't tell you what he does for a crust but i'm told he's a very good player.
I wonder if he's a chance to return to the sacred turf at Wade Street??
I hope you blokes have had a few dollars on P. Burgoyne for the Brownlow. He's $101.
Picklesmeoldmate
21 Feb 2006, 08:46
I'm sure most of you guys would have heard of or seen a guy called Ben Doherty play in the BFL a few years ago with Golden Square.
He's been at Ainslie in the ACT the past few years but a mate of mine who coaches in Canberra tells me he's moving back to Melbourne with his work.
Couldn't tell you what he does for a crust but i'm told he's a very good player.
I wonder if he's a chance to return to the sacred turf at Wade Street??
I hope you blokes have had a few dollars on P. Burgoyne for the Brownlow. He's $101.
geez gareth, you seem to have footy connections all over australia. from what i remember about ben doherty, he spent a couple of years with the bendigo diggers and bendigo bombers, but couldn't crack a regular game with the bombers in his second year. spent most of it with golden square, where dominated, kicking over 50 goals and winning the b and f. too good a player to be running around in the BFL i reckon. think he may also have spent a bit of time with the brisbane lions and melbourne. good footballer, but if my memory serves me correctly, not the smartest bloke going around
Bloods eye Rees
Tuesday, 21 February 2006
ONE of the best big men in the All Seasons Bendigo Football League has signalled his intention to join South Bendigo this year.
Leigh Rees has lodged a clearance to cross from Castlemaine to South Bendigo in what is a massive coup for the Bloods.
'‘Leigh is a big inclusion for us if we can get him (cleared from Castlemaine)," South Bendigo coach Danny O'Bree said yesterday.
‘‘Obviously, he's an inter-league ruckman and was picked in the VCFL squad last year." Rees was named the BFL's best player at last year's VCFL Pool C country championships at Mount Gambier, but suffered a season-ending knee injury in the final game against Bellarine.
Rees was selected in the VCFL training squad following the country championships, but the knee injury ruled him out.
‘‘This is where he has indicated he wants to play, so if we can get him and keep him fit, he can play either up forward, in defence or in the midfield," O'Bree said.
‘‘And if he can play in the ruck at some stage, that will be good.
‘‘He has been moving around well, so he should be ready to go in round one." With the addition of Rees, the Bloods will boast two of the best big men in the competition in himself and inspirational captain John Hardinge.
Rees shapes as the perfect replacement for Bloods' key tall Jake Matthews, who will try his luck with the Bendigo Bank Bombers in the VFL this year.
Last month, new Castlemaine coach Ian Martin hinted at Rees being the potential replacement in the goalsquare for star Magpies' full-forward Steven Oliver, who is coaching Newstead in the Maryborough-Castlemaine District Football League this year.
‘‘We will be looking for blokes like Leigh Rees to stand up for us this year," Martin told The Advertiser on January 5.
Rees is the eighth player to seek a clearance from Castlemaine since applications opened on February 1.
Among the others wanting to leave Camp Reserve are former coach Paul Eyles, Wayne Burchell, Scott Carson, Brad Lawlor and Travis Stevens, who have all had their clearance applications rejected.
The Bloods have also signed Rees' younger brother, Mark, who played with Castlemaine last year as well.
South Bendigo will be the first team to play the BFL's newest club, North City, when it hosts it under lights at the Queen Elizabeth Oval in round one on Saturday, April 15.
Picklesmeoldmate
21 Feb 2006, 14:57
The big footy community seems to have gone a bit quiet recently. what's going on out there followers of bendigo football. here's my market for the BFL flag at the moment.
$4.50 Gisborne
$7 South Bendigo
$7.50 Eaglehawk
$14 Golden Square
$27 Sandhurst
$38 North City
$47 Castlemaine
$65 Kyneton
$77 Maryborough
$90 Kangaroo Flat
What do we think of that
I reckon the weed would like a nibble at some of those odds
caveman
21 Feb 2006, 15:12
The big footy community seems to have gone a bit quiet recently. what's going on out there followers of bendigo football. here's my market for the BFL flag at the moment.
$4.50 Gisborne
$7 South Bendigo
$7.50 Eaglehawk
$14 Golden Square
$27 Sandhurst
$38 North City
$47 Castlemaine
$65 Kyneton
$77 Maryborough
$90 Kangaroo Flat
What do we think of that
I reckon the weed would like a nibble at some of those odds
Good job mate! :thumbsu: These are my alterations.
$4.50 Gisborne
$6 South Bendigo, Golden Square
$7.50 Eaglehawk
$27 Sandhurst
$30 North City
$60 Kangaroo Flat
$65 Kyneton, Castlemaine
$70 Maryborough
I feel that with the mass exodus at Castlemaine they will drop significantly. Kyneton will not do much at all. Maryborough will struggle. Kangaroo Flat will improve but arent anywhere near the top echelon of teams but I do think they are marginally in front of the above 3. Just my opinion! :)
Picklesmeoldmate
21 Feb 2006, 15:20
Thanks for that man who lives in a cave. tell me, why should kangaroo flat be rated a better chance than kyneton, castlemaine and marybough. I know you're a big fan and loyal supporter of the side.
caveman
21 Feb 2006, 15:27
Thanks for that man who lives in a cave. tell me, why should kangaroo flat be rated a better chance than kyneton, castlemaine and marybough. I know you're a big fan and loyal supporter of the side.
You are exactly right Pickles and maybe I am a little be biased but Kangaroo Flat played some competitive football towards the end of the year last season. The youngsters now have a year under their belt and with a bit more experience should really deliver more. Browny and the Milwards will lead onfield.
We have kept our squad and I just think this is the year that we might even get to 4 wins! :D
i'll take the borough at 7.5
good punting :)
south_hawk
21 Feb 2006, 15:35
I would have Kangaroo Flat at better odds the Kyneton.
Jock Clark 2
21 Feb 2006, 16:01
:thumbsu: Good man, Picklesouroldmate. Dunno about the odds but you've come up with the same 2006 BFL Top 5, and in the same order, as I would have selected.
Bit harsh on Ben Doherty, though, I thought. Wasn't, and isn't, he a print media journo and continued in the game when he moved to the ACT?? Same occupation as a few of our forum mates. Is that an implication that people in that particular craft aren't too sharp ??
Specially as some of our forumers are suggesting Doley, Westie and Bourkie as regulars for the 06 local radio coverage.
All of those above-mentioned gentlemen scrape a crust together by penning the words for a print media outlet, while another forumer works in the same newsroom !!
Gareth Keenan
21 Feb 2006, 18:26
Jock Clark 2 is right about Doherty being journo. One of my mates at Square confirmed for me today that he worked at the Addy. Apparently he's going to melbourne to work for The Age. My Square mate tells me the Bulldogs are having a crack at him but Doherty's work pressures could be a problem as far as being able to train and play.
Speaking of journos can anyone tell me if Richard Jones still rights for the Addy. When I played in the BFL he was the number one footy writer. Good bloke Richard. I read on here that he still calls the footy on the radio. If my memory serves me correctly he loves a beer and a dart.
As for Pickles betting market. I hear if you load up on South you'll make a handy profit come the middle of September.
What about a treble Pickles - Burgoyne for the Brownlow into Port to win the AFL flag into South for the BFL. What odds??
Picklesmeoldmate
22 Feb 2006, 08:48
Jock Clark 2 is right about Doherty being journo. One of my mates at Square confirmed for me today that he worked at the Addy. Apparently he's going to melbourne to work for The Age. My Square mate tells me the Bulldogs are having a crack at him but Doherty's work pressures could be a problem as far as being able to train and play.
Speaking of journos can anyone tell me if Richard Jones still rights for the Addy. When I played in the BFL he was the number one footy writer. Good bloke Richard. I read on here that he still calls the footy on the radio. If my memory serves me correctly he loves a beer and a dart.
As for Pickles betting market. I hear if you load up on South you'll make a handy profit come the middle of September.
What about a treble Pickles - Burgoyne for the Brownlow into Port to win the AFL flag into South for the BFL. What odds??
Gareth my interstate mate, I am prepared to offer you $120 for that treble. Quite simply, I don't think Port is any chance of winning the premiership this year, so maybe those odds of $120 are a bit short.
Now Jock Clark 2 - I don't believe my market for this year is the same ladder as last season. I am prepared to be corrected on this if I am wrong, but I don't believe North City played in the competition last year.
My fellow BFL supporters and punters, how about we take a look at an early Michelsen Medal betting ring:
$4 Kain Robins
$5 Luke Saunders
$6.50 Matt Fitzgerald
$12 Brett Cook
$12.20 Danny O'Bree
$14 John Hardinge
$15 Damien Brown
$19 James O'Brien
$20 Luke Rosa
$22 Ian Martin
$22 Luke Walters
$23 Kieran Nihill
$23 Darren Walsh
$25 Jason Griffin
$26 Joel Malone
$27 Shannon Milward
$29 Neville Clark
$33 Marcus Barham
$34 Brad Rogerson
$35 Rob Thornton
$35 Danny Sipthorpe
$36 Aaron Hawkins
$36 David Taylor
$38 Matt Aston
$40 Ben Hynes
$43 Ty Elliott
$47 Marty O'Rielly
$48 Luke Beattie
$50 Matt O'Toole
$52 Ashley Noonan
$57 Mark Austin
$61 Wes Pye
Any thoughs, criticims, observations please
:Bit harsh on Ben Doherty, though, I thought. Wasn't, and isn't, he a print media journo and continued in the game when he moved to the ACT?? Same occupation as a few of our forum mates. Is that an implication that people in that particular craft aren't too sharp ??
Specially as some of our forumers are suggesting Doley, Westie and Bourkie as regulars for the 06 local radio coverage.
All of those above-mentioned gentlemen scrape a crust together by penning the words for a print media outlet, while another forumer works in the same newsroom !!
Magpies to fight for Rees
Wednesday, 22 February 2006
CASTLEMAINE will be doing all it can to ensure it holds on to Leigh Rees for the 2006 All Seasons Bendigo Football League season.
Rees - last year's BFL inter-league ruckman - has lodged a clearance to join South Bendigo this year.
But Castlemaine president Ray Cawthan said yesterday the club would be doing all it could to try to convince him to remain a Magpie.
'‘We're not over-abundant with players . . . he's working in Castlemaine, he's a local bloke," Cawthan said. ‘‘We will fight to keep him; he is a good player and a good bloke, so we hope we can keep him."Castlemaine has finalised all its coaching positions for the season.
The Magpies' senior side will be coached by classy on-baller Ian Martin.
Martin, last year's joint runner-up in the Michelsen Medal, takes over from Paul Eyles, who has signed as an assistant coach to Derrick Filo at Eaglehawk.
Frank Byrne returns from Newstead to coach the reserves, while Linton Petterson will coach the Magpies' under-18s.On the netball court, Linda Taylor will be in charge of the A and A reserve sides, while club stalwart Vicki McLeod will coach the B Grade and under-17 teams.
The Magpies, who were beaten by South Bendigo in last year's first semi-final, will unveil a new-look side in 2006 that has Martin excited.
‘‘With football teams, there comes a time for generational change," Martin said.
‘‘You can't keep great veterans like Steven Oliver and Michael Blake playing at the top level forever.
‘‘The investment Castlemaine has made in its local talent in the under-16 and under-18 competition is about to pay off for a whole group of keen, fit and physically gifted young players.
‘‘I am a little reluctant to name names, but I believe Magpie supporters will be delighted by the way new names such as Calvin Philp, Michael Thomas, Jarrod James, Brock Bouch, Kirby Bell, Jarrod Millard, James Gale, Nathan Webster, Clint Aldridge and others will have a real chance of becoming regular members of our senior set-up in the 2006 season and beyond.
‘‘We will have a great blend of youth, experience, height, hardness and pace around which the Magpies will build success this year." Castlemaine will open its season on Saturday, April 15, when it travels to Princes Park to take on Maryborough.
At South Bendigo, as well as securing the signature of Rees, the Bloods have also picked up the exciting Daniel Bevan from Rushworth.
Bevan was instrumental in setting up Rushworth's drought-breaking Kyabram District Football League premiership in 2004 with two important goals late in the game to seal the grand final against Lancaster.
He posseses a good leap and agility and blistering pace.
posted by TPerry a week or so back:
Also, South Bendigo have signed excitement machine, Daniel Bevan, from Rushworth. Very similar to Ty Elliott in the way he goes about it - huge leap, awesome pace and agility and a great grab, though obviously has to prove himself at BFL level..
He was instrumental in setting up Rushworth's drought-breaking GF win, with a stellar finals series and a couple of blistering goals late in the game to help seal the big one..could be a sensation on the wing or up forward for South..the boys are looking good..
excellent work bendigo addy scribes! Does T.Perry get a spotters fee for this????:D :D :D
pickles
can you quote me the Eaglehawk/Robins double?
mite be the year of the borough....
Grimmett
22 Feb 2006, 09:49
North City have withdrawn from the Ballarat FL Lightning Premiership to be held on April 8.
T.Perry
22 Feb 2006, 12:09
At South Bendigo, as well as securing the signature of Rees, the Bloods have also picked up the exciting Daniel Bevan from Rushworth.
Bevan was instrumental in setting up Rushworth's drought-breaking Kyabram District Football League premiership in 2004 with two important goals late in the game to seal the grand final against Lancaster.
Also, South Bendigo have signed excitement machine, Daniel Bevan, from Rushworth. Very similar to Ty Elliott in the way he goes about it - huge leap, awesome pace and agility and a great grab, though obviously has to prove himself at BFL level..
He was instrumental in setting up Rushworth's drought-breaking GF win, with a stellar finals series and a couple of blistering goals late in the game to help seal the big one..could be a sensation on the wing or up forward for South..the boys are looking good..
excellent work bendigo addy scribes! Does T.Perry get a spotters fee for this????:D :D :D
Great work HJ, excellent pick up mate. Certainly didn't get a spotters fee, nor, at the very least, a private message to confirm they were going to use it..I don't think it mentioned who wrote the article, if it was old mate Lukey West no dramas..
Anyone got an update on how Troy Auld is going at South? His ankles were giving him grief last year, just wondering how he looks like performing this year?
Also, excellent odds for Ben Hynes, Luke Beattie and Ty Elliot in the league medal voting..
Jock Clark 2
22 Feb 2006, 13:26
OI, Pickles. I'm not suggesting your ladder is the same as last year. Everyone knows North City wasn't in the comp. in 05.
What I was trying to do, but not successfully it seems, was to COMPLIMENT you on your choice of this year's Top 5.
I would go for Gisborne/South/Eaglehawk/Square and Sandhurst -- the same as your good self.
But I might slide the Square up to 3rd overall, just ahead of the Hawkees. basically becoz altho they have recruited well the Borough Boys have not adequately replaced McGlynn and the 2 Rankins in midfield, to my mind.
Gee as an outsider looking in at the BFL for years I was under the impression that South didnt have a great chequebook. Do they now? Or didi I have the wrong impression all along?
I understand that some of their recruits will be fringe players, but they've obviously picked up some quality that wouldnt be cheap.
Picklesmeoldmate
22 Feb 2006, 14:00
I'm sorry Jock Clark 2, I didn't mean to upset you like that. I was just in a bad mood this morning that's all. Anyway Jock, i guess if we have the same top 5, the old saying that great minds think alike is true
CASTLEMAINE will be doing all it can to ensure it holds on to Leigh Rees for the 2006 All Seasons Bendigo Football League season.
Rees - last year's BFL inter-league ruckman - has lodged a clearance to join South Bendigo this year.
But Castlemaine president Ray Cawthan said yesterday the club would be doing all it could to try to convince him to remain a Magpie.
'‘We're not over-abundant with players . . . he's working in Castlemaine, he's a local bloke," Cawthan said. ‘‘We will fight to keep him; he is a good player and a good bloke, so we hope we can keep him."Castlemaine has finalised all its coaching positions for the season.
Martin, last year's joint runner-up in the Michelsen Medal, takes over from Paul Eyles, who has signed as an assistant coach to Derrick Filo at Eaglehawk.
Frank Byrne returns from Newstead to coach the reserves, while Linton Petterson will coach the Magpies' under-18s.On the netball court, Linda Taylor will be in charge of the A and A reserve sides, while club stalwart Vicki McLeod will coach the B Grade and under-17 teams.
The Magpies, who were beaten by South Bendigo in last year's first semi-final, will unveil a new-look side in 2006 that has Martin excited.
‘‘With football teams, there comes a time for generational change," Martin said.
‘‘You can't keep great veterans like Steven Oliver and Michael Blake playing at the top level forever.
‘‘The investment Castlemaine has made in its local talent in the under-16 and under-18 competition is about to pay off for a whole group of keen, fit and physically gifted young players.
‘‘I am a little reluctant to name names, but I believe Magpie supporters will be delighted by the way new names such as Calvin Philp, Michael Thomas, Jarrod James, Brock Bouch, Kirby Bell, Jarrod Millard, James Gale, Nathan Webster, Clint Aldridge and others will have a real chance of becoming regular members of our senior set-up in the 2006 season and beyond.
‘‘We will have a great blend of youth, experience, height, hardness and pace around which the Magpies will build success this year." Castlemaine will open its season on Saturday, April 15, when it travels to Princes Park to take on Maryborough.
inlimbo
23 Feb 2006, 12:49
Gareth my interstate mate, I am prepared to offer you $120 for that treble. Quite simply, I don't think Port is any chance of winning the premiership this year, so maybe those odds of $120 are a bit short.
Now Jock Clark 2 - I don't believe my market for this year is the same ladder as last season. I am prepared to be corrected on this if I am wrong, but I don't believe North City played in the competition last year.
My fellow BFL supporters and punters, how about we take a look at an early Michelsen Medal betting ring:
$4 Kain Robins
$5 Luke Saunders
$6.50 Matt Fitzgerald
$12 Brett Cook
$12.20 Danny O'Bree
$14 John Hardinge
$15 Damien Brown
$19 James O'Brien
$20 Luke Rosa
$22 Ian Martin
$22 Luke Walters
$23 Kieran Nihill
$23 Darren Walsh
$25 Jason Griffin
$26 Joel Malone
$27 Shannon Milward
$29 Neville Clark
$33 Marcus Barham
$34 Brad Rogerson
$35 Rob Thornton
$35 Danny Sipthorpe
$36 Aaron Hawkins
$36 David Taylor
$38 Matt Aston
$40 Ben Hynes
$43 Ty Elliott
$47 Marty O'Rielly
$48 Luke Beattie
$50 Matt O'Toole
$52 Ashley Noonan
$57 Mark Austin
$61 Wes Pye
Any thoughs, criticims, observations please
Love to back south lad Nick Knight- wondering what odds i could get on him
Great work HJ, excellent pick up mate. Certainly didn't get a spotters fee, nor, at the very least, a private message to confirm they were going to use it..I don't think it mentioned who wrote the article, if it was old mate Lukey West no dramas..
Anyone got an update on how Troy Auld is going at South? His ankles were giving him grief last year, just wondering how he looks like performing this year?
Also, excellent odds for Ben Hynes, Luke Beattie and Ty Elliot in the league medal voting..
yep!
I reckon Bill's cousin wrote that article!
You Beauty!!
23 Feb 2006, 13:53
[quote=Doona2]Magpies to fight for Rees
Just thought this qoute was amusing! Who else is there in C/Maine to add?
caveman
23 Feb 2006, 14:00
Guys I have done a webpage for the upcoming lightning premiership. It has the pools and the fixture. Just go to www.bendigofooty.tk and click on lightning premiership!
Cheers
These blokes get paid a good quid to sit on the web and use our mail and then claim it, we should get onto Today Tonight or something for copyright!!! I spoke with a chap from the Shep News last week, couldnt answer his question and said try big footy you's are good at that and he didnt know what to say!!!
journeyman
23 Feb 2006, 15:57
These blokes get paid a good quid to sit on the web and use our mail and then claim it, we should get onto Today Tonight or something for copyright!!! I spoke with a chap from the Shep News last week, couldnt answer his question and said try big footy you's are good at that and he didnt know what to say!!!
Doona I reckon you might be being a bit harsh. I've been a country footy journalist in the past and it can be tough to keep track of 4 or 5 leagues at once. If i was still doing it I would log onto Big Footy constantly to see what's going on.
Without trying to sound like Matty Pillios, I'm good mates with T. Perry and I'm sure he wouldn't mind.
All the best with your (many) coaching roles
T.Perry
24 Feb 2006, 09:49
Doona I reckon you might be being a bit harsh. I've been a country footy journalist in the past and it can be tough to keep track of 4 or 5 leagues at once. If i was still doing it I would log onto Big Footy constantly to see what's going on.
Without trying to sound like Matty Pillios, I'm good mates with T. Perry and I'm sure he wouldn't mind.
All the best with your (many) coaching roles
Completely understand your point journeyman, I'm not too sure about journalistic obligation, but i wouldn't have minded a private message just to confirm that it was ok to use my quote - you must admit that he basically copied word for word..perhaps it's different if it came from a bloke with an alias, but I guess that's why the journo in question used the quote in the first place - coz he knew who i was and that I used to play with Bevo..
I don't really give 2 stuffs and it's a minor issue anyway, but I think if you're gonna use a quote like that you should at least inform the person who made it...
journeyman
24 Feb 2006, 11:35
Completely understand your point journeyman, I'm not too sure about journalistic obligation, but i wouldn't have minded a private message just to confirm that it was ok to use my quote - you must admit that he basically copied word for word..perhaps it's different if it came from a bloke with an alias, but I guess that's why the journo in question used the quote in the first place - coz he knew who i was and that I used to play with Bevo..
I don't really give 2 stuffs and it's a minor issue anyway, but I think if you're gonna use a quote like that you should at least inform the person who made it...
Good point Tav, he should have sent you a private message as they were your words. I was talking more about using BF as a tool. A footy journo would be mad not to check BF a couple of times a day. If the journos read something on here they wouldn't be doing their job if they didn't ring an official from the club for confirmation.
Anyway, as you said minor issue.
Ryan Webster has returned to Gisborne after a year at Perth's colts. Quite talented, ripper kid, could be handy but needs to improve his work rate.
last thursday nite golden square had a intra-club match at ycw, my spies tell me that white was impressive and rosa looked ok.
a few of the young guys playing from the 18's had some toe and looked up to it.
their port mcquarie recruit went off wit a hammy and coach walsh was limping at the end with a thigh injury and tyrell got helped off after hurting his ankle.
alot off key senior players did'nt play but it was'nt a bad hit out for this time of year i was told.
anyone else got any news on other intra-club games.
Wayne Weideman
25 Feb 2006, 10:52
Love to back south lad Nick Knight- wondering what odds i could get on him
now your being silly mate. won't feature in top twenty
On The Money
25 Feb 2006, 13:02
now your being silly mate. won't feature in top twenty
He could be there abouts the boys got talent. Apprently the North Central use to have a bookie at the Feeny Medal that you could have a bet on. Use to be pretty popular apprently.
Wayne Weideman
25 Feb 2006, 16:42
He could be there abouts the boys got talent. Apprently the North Central use to have a bookie at the Feeny Medal that you could have a bet on. Use to be pretty popular apprently.
OTM i respect you and your comments on these posts but your being an idiot!!!!!!