View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

gutted rabbit
10 Feb 2007, 20:12
Well i suppose they cannot go much worse and if the reprted cleanout of a few behind te scenes blokes takes place then that is a good start. Good luck to you, i come from a club that has been in a similar position for many years so i will watch with interest

See, I told you that we agreed.....the main reason that players are leaving Kangaroo Flat is the running of the bench/selection committee over the last 2 seasons....nothing to do directly with the committee, match payments, etc. And that includes the Dahl boys.

gutted rabbit
10 Feb 2007, 20:14
See, I told you that we agreed.....the main reason that players are leaving Kangaroo Flat is the running of the bench/selection committee over the last 2 seasons....nothing to do directly with the committee, match payments, etc. And that includes the Dahl boys.

And this is common knowledge....I don't even support Kangaroo Flat, but have mates who play or played there.

ROOTA#6
10 Feb 2007, 20:14

We may do, but t is a long way back, and if a few of the boys that have been burnt, such as the Dahl boys are going to be relied on to come back and do the work then it will be even further back

gutted rabbit
10 Feb 2007, 20:21
According to my mate, they have been getting 30 to training so far, mostly guys up from the U18's where they have been very well coached to finals over the last 2 years. Blokes who played last year will not be guaranteed automatic selection. He reckons that they are set to name some signings from out of town, big bodies, hard nuts to support the youth policy.....yes, it is a long road back. Will beat Ballarat, match up well with Maryborough and Castlemaine, may be 2 fast for Kyneton.....early to be thinking about this sort of stuff, I know, but at least there is some footy to talk about.

gutted rabbit
10 Feb 2007, 20:22
Strathfieldsaye to adopt South Bendigo next season?

ROOTA#6
10 Feb 2007, 20:25

South or Mount Pleasant. Will be a pretty impressive facility out here when it is completed

galloping gasometer
10 Feb 2007, 20:56
South or Mount Pleasant. Will be a pretty impressive facility out here when it is completed

Mounts have enough cash at present to compete in the BFL as they have inherited significant dollars bequest to the club from a late and great commitee woman.
If they are to move to Strathfieldsaye it would also be inevitable they would try to enter the BFL. Probably the best team outside BFL including HDFL & LVFL. Honourable mention to Calivil

Picador
11 Feb 2007, 14:08
So we agree, aside from Brown, they will not do any worse, and perhaps with some youth and confidence in the playing group, may do a lot better.

So Rabbit, let me get this clear.

You think, that as long as they don't lose Brown, Kangaroo Flat should be better off if they lose the following players likely not to play there this year.....H Dahl, J Dahl, S Milward, C Milward, McInness, Ciavola, M Harrington, Smit, Humphrey, Freeman, Thatcher, Mathieson, Wilmot, Manning, Belz, N Moore, Hutchinson and Nixon.

gutted rabbit
11 Feb 2007, 18:41
So Rabbit, let me get this clear.

You think, that as long as they don't lose Brown, Kangaroo Flat should be better off if they lose the following players likely not to play there this year.....H Dahl, J Dahl, S Milward, C Milward, McInness, Ciavola, M Harrington, Smit, Humphrey, Freeman, Thatcher, Mathieson, Wilmot, Manning, Belz, N Moore, Hutchinson and Nixon.

Brown, will be missed, can play. Both Dahl boys as well, although Jake didn't play all of last season. S Milward, played half a season, not a team player anyway. C Milward, will be missed, may be back. McInness is a goer, i agree. Ciavola? What did he do? Harrington, played a couple of ok games by all reports, but not accountable to an opponent. Smit, didnt do anything much. Humphrey will be missed. Freeman, undisciplined. Thatcher, will have shoulder injuries again. Mathieson, may/will be back. Wilmot, same. Manning, will be back. Belz, how many games did he have an influence on? Moore, will play. Hutchinson, injuries. Nixon, no opportunities. Will get back Hobley into the ruck or key position. Have 15+ coming up from U18's, many of which can play, and have been well coached. Warry and Rombotis as well. Recruiting from other leagues, including Melbourne. Early to say whether losses outweigh gains. The gain of removing the bench is the first real plus for the season.

Picador
11 Feb 2007, 19:01
Brown, will be missed, can play. Both Dahl boys as well, although Jake didn't play all of last season. S Milward, played half a season, not a team player anyway. C Milward, will be missed, may be back. McInness is a goer, i agree. Ciavola? What did he do? Harrington, played a couple of ok games by all reports, but not accountable to an opponent. Smit, didnt do anything much. Humphrey will be missed. Freeman, undisciplined. Thatcher, will have shoulder injuries again. Mathieson, may/will be back. Wilmot, same. Manning, will be back. Belz, how many games did he have an influence on? Moore, will play. Hutchinson, injuries. Nixon, no opportunities. Will get back Hobley into the ruck or key position. Have 15+ coming up from U18's, many of which can play, and have been well coached. Warry and Rombotis as well. Recruiting from other leagues, including Melbourne. Early to say whether losses outweigh gains. The gain of removing the bench is the first real plus for the season.

For someone who doesn't support the club you certainly have a lot of opinions about their players!!

On The Money
11 Feb 2007, 19:07

What was the issue with the guys running the interchange?

gutted rabbit
11 Feb 2007, 19:25
For someone who doesn't support the club you certainly have a lot of opinions about their players!!

Not difficult, as these are their name players, and I have been following the BFL for many years. 3 of my mates play at the club, so I get along to approx half their games. Do a bit of scouting work for my club.

gutted rabbit
11 Feb 2007, 19:29
What was the issue with the guys running the interchange?

Simple.....same blokes kept getting picked, same names playing injured for a half and coming off, few moves from the bench. Apparently no original ideas when things would go wrong. Reserves players rarely picked and played in 5 minute spells, and dragged off. What can you do in 5 minutes? Whats that do for confidence?

roofan
11 Feb 2007, 19:47
Simple.....same blokes kept getting picked, same names playing injured for a half and coming off, few moves from the bench. Apparently no original ideas when things would go wrong. Reserves players rarely picked and played in 5 minute spells, and dragged off. What can you do in 5 minutes? Whats that do for confidence?

Don't hear many K/flat supporters disagreeing with this. He's right about the bench.

On The Money
11 Feb 2007, 19:59
Don't hear many K/flat supporters disagreeing with this. He's right about the bench.

And has Rombotis decided to give Mark Dickens the flick off the interchange since his arrival? Who is likely to be added to the brainstrust?

roofan
11 Feb 2007, 20:22
And has Rombotis decided to give Mark Dickens the flick off the interchange since his arrival? Who is likely to be added to the brainstrust?

Dickens has wisely not been seen since final round of last season, none of the players liked or respected him. New bench will apparently consist of Rombotis, Stevens (U18 coach) and previous reserves runner. Clean sweep from past years. Keeping it simple.

bloodhound!
12 Feb 2007, 08:24
[quote=bloodhound!;6695566]

hey bloodhound you big mouth girls dik why not tell all the boys about your football achievements? Mouthing off and getting headbutted (in the hdfl magoos). Your the laughing stock of the world

Whatever you say mate...

iwantanotherflag
12 Feb 2007, 10:49

Would South leave the QEO? The Slaggers have finally pushed them out?

If Mt Pleasant became a BFL team would the HDFL be on its death bed?

Surely a LVFL & HDFL merger of some sort will happen in the next 10 years. YCW not playing against White Hills seems a bit strange. Also LBU and Calivil & Mitiamo.

Wildcard
12 Feb 2007, 11:48
Would South leave the QEO? The Slaggers have finally pushed them out?

If Mt Pleasant became a BFL team would the HDFL be on its death bed?

Surely a LVFL & HDFL merger of some sort will happen in the next 10 years. YCW not playing against White Hills seems a bit strange. Also LBU and Calivil & Mitiamo.

I think I heard a rumour about that a year or two ago with a plan to form a second division in the BFL then have a promotion/relegation system between the two divisions. Don't know if it would ever work or happen but I reckon I've heard it.
As for White Hills v YCW they would've played each other in the old Golden City league wouldn't they?

Mylo
12 Feb 2007, 15:06
[quote=Mylo;6695953]

Whatever you say mate...

Well its true isnt it? You are Sam Hargreaves who plays in the back pocket and wears a glove on a perfect day for the Elmore scoobies, right?

The Wombat
12 Feb 2007, 15:14
I think I heard a rumour about that a year or two ago with a plan to form a second division in the BFL then have a promotion/relegation system between the two divisions. Don't know if it would ever work or happen but I reckon I've heard it.
As for White Hills v YCW they would've played each other in the old Golden City league wouldn't they?
Its funny how the wheel turns Wildcard and we want to venture back to the good old days. Why dont we form a Super League with the 18 Sides from the Loddon Valley and Heathcote and play one full round of matches in each league. This would mean 9 games and the bye teams from each division play one another. After nine rounds the top 9 and bottom nine start a new season and play each other once. Finals would then be played in each of the respective divisions.

For some struggling clubs a fresh chance to restart their seasons mid year would be welcomed and the joint league alignment would make it very attractive to club sponsors and league sponsors. Coverage from Lockington to Mitiamo, Heathcote etc etc. The two leagues could streamline their administration and operate with one administration. The LVFL have struggled to find a Treasurer during the past couple of seasons and this pooling of resources would have to have its benefits.

ringo1
12 Feb 2007, 15:14
Gloves should be banned! Tosser uniform

Truth Hurts
12 Feb 2007, 15:38
[quote=bloodhound!;6711220]

Well its true isnt it? You are Sam Hargreaves who plays in the back pocket and wears a glove on a perfect day for the Elmore scoobies, right?

Hargreaves has played a few senior games out at Elmore hasn't he?

bloodhound!
12 Feb 2007, 15:48

Hahahaha I have never seen Sammy wear a glove but that is funny and he actually plays on the wing or back flank in the 2's.
So from your whole sentence just like in your life you have got nothing right. But nice try

bloodhound!
12 Feb 2007, 15:50
[quote=Mylo;6713685]

Hargreaves has played a few senior games out at Elmore hasn't he?

He played seniors the year carmen coached, overseas most of the year after and only played the one senior game last year of which his total game time would have been 5 minutes. Definitely a 2's player these days.

Truth Hurts
12 Feb 2007, 16:14

Just for the record mate, i know sammy and he isn't bloodhound. And its pretty cheap having a go at someone because they play in the twos... he's a good bloke.

bloodhound!
12 Feb 2007, 16:28
[quote=Mylo;6713685]

Just for the record mate, i know sammy and he isn't bloodhound. And its pretty cheap having a go at someone because they play in the twos... he's a good bloke.

Just wondering Mylo, seeing as though you have a very strong disdain for anyone playing reserves, do you play seniors at mounts mate/ You must be an out and out gun the way you talk so how about enlighten us about who you are

The sloth
13 Feb 2007, 07:43
Don't be surprised if both Dahl boys are seen training at Dower Park in the very near future, they are Kangaroo Flat through and through and may have sorted out mis-conceptions with President, especially with new bench/coaching staff on board. Both lads are extremely decent, and the fact that they have played all their footy at Dower Park is significant in their thinking.....both loyal and men of principle.

Well rabbit i hope the big fella reads BF. Because his clearance has been lodged again as of yesterday. I don't think it's as cut and dried as you think. H Dahl will play for square because thats where he WANTS to play. In saying that this will go the longest way possible through the system.

ablett
13 Feb 2007, 10:02
the mail i got was dahl was rejected cos he had a club item, once returned clearance will go thru without needing to go to appeal board.

my ladder at this stage:
gis
g.s
s/hurst-sth either order
e/haw-kyn-castle fighting for fith spot to make up numbers.
rest irrelivent but will be even at the bottom half opposed to the last few years.

fifth quarter
13 Feb 2007, 11:15
gis
hurst
south
square
kyn tigers

medal: gilliland

iwantanotherflag
13 Feb 2007, 12:45
Its funny how the wheel turns Wildcard and we want to venture back to the good old days. Why dont we form a Super League with the 18 Sides from the Loddon Valley and Heathcote and play one full round of matches in each league. This would mean 9 games and the bye teams from each division play one another. After nine rounds the top 9 and bottom nine start a new season and play each other once. Finals would then be played in each of the respective divisions.

For some struggling clubs a fresh chance to restart their seasons mid year would be welcomed and the joint league alignment would make it very attractive to club sponsors and league sponsors. Coverage from Lockington to Mitiamo, Heathcote etc etc. The two leagues could streamline their administration and operate with one administration. The LVFL have struggled to find a Treasurer during the past couple of seasons and this pooling of resources would have to have its benefits.

I know that there is a bit of interest in the more South East teams from the HDFL. People around Shepparton have been talking about a Seymour based league and are eyeing off Heathcote and Broadford to join teams like Nagambie, Avenel, Alexandra, Thornton-Eildon, etc. What about Colbo do they pull their players from Bendigo or would they enjoy playing Rushworth & Stanhope again in a Kyabram league?

The sloth
13 Feb 2007, 14:12
Dickens has wisely not been seen since final round of last season, none of the players liked or respected him. New bench will apparently consist of Rombotis, Stevens (U18 coach) and previous reserves runner. Clean sweep from past years. Keeping it simple.

By the sound of it Rombotis is'nt pulling on the boots for the roos this year. Why wouldn't he play?? why would he come up from Melbourne each week to stand on the side lines when he can do that down there????
If I was a player at the Flat I would want to know the full story. May be roofan or road kill rabbit could fill us in.

Scoobert Doo
13 Feb 2007, 14:27
The way I understand it; Rombotis as senior coach will take control of the forwards, Warry will coach the midfield & Stevens will coach the defenders.

Rombotis & Warry will both play and the runner will feed information between all coaches to get the job done. Sounds like a lot of emphasis is being placed on Stevens to get the job done.

Obviously K/Flat are going to be moving forward using a youth first approach. With the Under 18 coach having a big say in the structure of the senior outfit as well as his team.

Training has been really positive from what I have witnessed & I hear that some big signings might be on the cards for the boys in Green & White.

Good luck to Rombotis, Warry & Stevens, I hope they can right the wrongs of the past.

The sloth
13 Feb 2007, 14:55
The way I understand it; Rombotis as senior coach will take control of the forwards, Warry will coach the midfield & Stevens will coach the defenders.

Rombotis & Warry will both play and the runner will feed information between all coaches to get the job done. Sounds like a lot of emphasis is being placed on Stevens to get the job done.

Obviously K/Flat are going to be moving forward using a youth first approach. With the Under 18 coach having a big say in the structure of the senior outfit as well as his team.

Training has been really positive from what I have witnessed & I hear that some big signings might be on the cards for the boys in Green & White.

Good luck to Rombotis, Warry & Stevens, I hope they can right the wrongs of the past.

Thanks scoob, sounds like there a few boys out there that know the full story. I hope for the sake of the Flat that it works out. Was Stevens a backman in his day? Hard area to coach.

Mylo
13 Feb 2007, 17:24
[quote=Truth Hurts;6714307]

Just wondering Mylo, seeing as though you have a very strong disdain for anyone playing reserves, do you play seniors at mounts mate/ You must be an out and out gun the way you talk so how about enlighten us about who you are

Um when did i ever show any disdain for anyone playing reserves? And just because i know what such a great tosser you does not automatically mean that im from mounts!! I was just stating the fact that you ARE Sam Hargreaves and you DO play for elmore in the twos. The way YOU talk, one would think that YOU are the out and out gun. You contradict what you just said buddy. So there.

silvermagpie
13 Feb 2007, 18:08
Rombotis has been cleared by old club.All you flat supporters will need deep pockets signed about 5 players already all on 4 figure salary includes zantuck and his brother.

bloodhound!
13 Feb 2007, 18:17
[quote=bloodhound!;6714421]

Um when did i ever show any disdain for anyone playing reserves? And just because i know what such a great tosser you does not automatically mean that im from mounts!! I was just stating the fact that you ARE Sam Hargreaves and you DO play for elmore in the twos. The way YOU talk, one would think that YOU are the out and out gun. You contradict what you just said buddy. So there.

Mate you have absolutely no idea do you?? You think you know something about me but you dont. You are right about Sam he does play in the 2's at elmore but thats all you have got right in you life. why dont you tell us abit about yourself coward? Like How much further can you crawl up diggidogs arse??

bigchop
13 Feb 2007, 18:25
Rombotis has been cleared by old club.All you flat supporters will need deep pockets signed about 5 players already all on 4 figure salary includes zantuck and his brother.

zantuck bros have commited with balwyn. Rombotis will play chb starting rnd 3 or 4,, go roos

roofan
13 Feb 2007, 19:13
[/B]

By the sound of it Rombotis is'nt pulling on the boots for the roos this year. Why wouldn't he play?? why would he come up from Melbourne each week to stand on the side lines when he can do that down there????
If I was a player at the Flat I would want to know the full story. May be roofan or road kill rabbit could fill us in.

Rombotis will be cherry-ripe to play by May, if not first round then early on. Get down to the club Thursday, big signing will be there.

roofan
13 Feb 2007, 19:15
Rombotis will be cherry-ripe to play by May, if not first round then early on. Get down to the club Thursday, big signing will be there.

...and those blokes who put in clearances may wish to have them rejected so that they can get back down and help out the re-building.

Mylo
13 Feb 2007, 19:29
[quote=Mylo;6722348]

Mate you have absolutely no idea do you?? You think you know something about me but you dont. You are right about Sam he does play in the 2's at elmore but thats all you have got right in you life. why dont you tell us abit about yourself coward? Like How much further can you crawl up diggidogs arse??

Whatever Sam. Stop talking s h i t. Your only digging your hole deeper

gutted rabbit
13 Feb 2007, 20:18
[quote=bloodhound!;6722807]

Whatever Sam. Stop talking s h i t. Your only digging your hole deeper

Would be good if you guys could meet somewhere and sort this out the old-fashioned way. We could sell tickets, raise some $ for the Big Footy end-of-season trip and get back to talking footy on here.

b birmingham
13 Feb 2007, 20:28

Got to be the worst idea I've ever heard:thumbsd:

The sloth
13 Feb 2007, 20:59

Thats great news roo on both counts!. Any hints with the signing? Local or Melbourne based player?. See you Thursday.

bearsboy
14 Feb 2007, 07:15
Rombotis will be cherry-ripe to play by May, if not first round then early on. Get down to the club Thursday, big signing will be there.Ringa Ding Ding dont ever doubt the King !!!!
Nice work KA

The Talking Goat
14 Feb 2007, 09:27
good numbers out at kangaroo flat training last night. i see they were put through a bit of a weights circuit. johhny rombotis was out there running around. goat out

roofan
14 Feb 2007, 10:49
good numbers out at kangaroo flat training last night. i see they were put through a bit of a weights circuit. johhny rombotis was out there running around. goat out

35+ players, and a rush to get registration forms at the end of the session.

roofan
14 Feb 2007, 10:53
Training 3 nights a week, with a specialist fitness coach. Youth policy will be matched by a run the ball at all costs attitude.....teams will struggle to keep up. Signings will be hard nuts who will clear the way for pacy players to carry the ball. Tyson Holt sighted back on the track...knows about loyalty and playing for the club.

Warren
14 Feb 2007, 10:59
Yeah, spot on Roofan!

Other teams will struggle to keep up this year!! The bigger bodies will smash a few around this year!

Go rooers!

roofan
14 Feb 2007, 11:01
Roos still working to keep Wheelhouse, Dahl x2, Nixon and Davey. 12 months is a long time in footy, for those planning on leaving now to lesser leagues and returning in 08 once the hard work is done. No player guaranteed selection....Rombotis has made it very clear that the players selected will be those that stick with the club AND train hard every session. Players should not need to be held by the hand and walked back to the club....don't give me this rubbish about ringing players, everyone knows when training is!

Kings Army
14 Feb 2007, 11:16
Yeah, spot on Roofan!

Other teams will struggle to keep up this year!! The bigger bodies will smash a few around this year!

Go rooers!

Is Zantuck big enough signing Was? You must be in the know at the club if I knew before you!

Warren
14 Feb 2007, 11:20
How much do you want on it that he doesn't play a game for flat this year queenie?

roofan
14 Feb 2007, 11:20
Is Zantuck big enough signing Was? You must be in the know at the club if I knew before you!

Zantuck appears to have signed everywhere.

The sloth
14 Feb 2007, 11:21
Training 3 nights a week, with a specialist fitness coach. Youth policy will be matched by a run the ball at all costs attitude.....teams will struggle to keep up. Signings will be hard nuts who will clear the way for pacy players to carry the ball. Tyson Holt sighted back on the track...knows about loyalty and playing for the club.

Sounds good roo. Who is the specialist fitness coach? Looking at the clearance sheet most of the blokes have been there for a while. It's been said before on this thread the loyalty line starts to wear a bit thin after 2 or 3 years of getting flogged.

roofan
14 Feb 2007, 11:24
Sounds good roo. Who is the specialist fitness coach? Looking at the clearance sheet most of the blokes have been there for a while. It's been said before on this thread the loyalty line starts to wear a bit thin after 2 or 3 years of getting flogged.

Some local fitness trainer with a head like a bullet. Agree re the loyalty and getting a hiding each week....players have to weigh up the value of leaving for 12 months and then expecting to come back as if they never left.

Kings Army
14 Feb 2007, 11:44
How much do you want on it that he doesn't play a game for flat this year queenie?

If he does play a game you must complete a nude lap at Gissy at half time of the Gissy V Flat game. If he doesn't play I will pay for you to get into rehab and off the hezza. Methadone may be your last chance.

roofan
14 Feb 2007, 11:55
If he does play a game you must complete a nude lap at Gissy at half time of the Gissy V Flat game. If he doesn't play I will pay for you to get into rehab and off the hezza. Methadone may be your last chance.

Like it....either way Gisborne suffer.

bernard the bipolar bear
14 Feb 2007, 12:47
Some local fitness trainer with a head like a bullet. Agree re the loyalty and getting a hiding each week....players have to weigh up the value of leaving for 12 months and then expecting to come back as if they never left.

So players that leave this season won't be welcomed back in the future? Not sure if that's a good policy.:thumbsd:

roofan
14 Feb 2007, 12:53
So players that leave this season won't be welcomed back in the future? Not sure if that's a good policy.:thumbsd:

That's not what I said...players that leave for 12 months and then come back will naturally need to prove themself to those that stayed, as well as the coaching/selection staff...players that stay on this year will have a fantastic opportunity to establish themselves as senior players in a side that is rebuilding.

roofan
14 Feb 2007, 12:55
Actually bear, re-reading what i initially said I can see how you interpretted it as you did....hope that i explained it better the second time.

bigchop
14 Feb 2007, 12:56

He is ex Inglewood trainer , personal trainer at feelgood bendigo.
my nephew does gym there and says he knows his stuff so might be a good pick - up

bernard the bipolar bear
14 Feb 2007, 13:12
Actually bear, re-reading what i initially said I can see how you interpretted it as you did....hope that i explained it better the second time.

I see, no worries. Are finals a realistic goal this year?

The Talking Goat
14 Feb 2007, 13:40
I doubt it

The sloth
14 Feb 2007, 13:54
I doubt it

Hey there goat, why were youy out at the Flat last night??
Come on knackers give us some thing!!!

roofan
14 Feb 2007, 14:12

If the signings are good, may scrape in. 08 4 sure.

The Talking Goat
14 Feb 2007, 14:49
Hey there goat, why were youy out at the Flat last night??
Come on knackers give us some thing!!!
pulling on the whites with the cricket club old diamond. they have had good numbers which is good, but as for making the finals. lets be realistic, 4 or 5 wins in the past 4 years shows the side is coming from a fair way back. i would think 4 or 5 wins for this year would be a good return for the side, and that ain't going to get them into the finals.

gutted rabbit
14 Feb 2007, 15:11
That's not what I said...players that leave for 12 months and then come back will naturally need to prove themself to those that stayed, as well as the coaching/selection staff...players that stay on this year will have a fantastic opportunity to establish themselves as senior players in a side that is rebuilding.

All that may be true Roofan, but the fact remains that all of those guys that you named would still be at Kangaroo Flat if there was a complete change to the bench from last year. My understanding is that one person remains and he is the reason why Newbridge suddenly has Kangaroo Flat guys, including possibly Milward, going there.

AC Rocket
14 Feb 2007, 15:41
pulling on the whites with the cricket club old diamond. they have had good numbers which is good, but as for making the finals. lets be realistic, 4 or 5 wins in the past 4 years shows the side is coming from a fair way back. i would think 4 or 5 wins for this year would be a good return for the side, and that ain't going to get them into the finals.

How did you strike them Goat? I hear you're in good form. A well made 60 odd on Saturday. Must have had a good feed of grass after that recent rain.

caveman
14 Feb 2007, 15:57
All that may be true Roofan, but the fact remains that all of those guys that you named would still be at Kangaroo Flat if there was a complete change to the bench from last year. My understanding is that one person remains and he is the reason why Newbridge suddenly has Kangaroo Flat guys, including possibly Milward, going there.

who are you talking about mate? Give us a name and tell us why these players have such a problem. I am not trying to be smart but I am a Flat supporter and am interested in why all these guys are leaving!

The Talking Goat
14 Feb 2007, 16:05
How did you strike them Goat? I hear you're in good form. A well made 60 odd on Saturday. Must have had a good feed of grass after that recent rain.
found a little bit of form in the thirds ocket man which was good. the recent rain did bring on a bit of green grass in the paddock, which gave me plenty of energy at the crease. dower park is in very ordiniary condition. hard surface which is certainly not conjusive to footy training, but certainly good for run-making. goat out

bearsboy
14 Feb 2007, 19:47
Rombotis has been cleared by old club.All you flat supporters will need deep pockets signed about 5 players already all on 4 figure salary includes zantuck and his brother. I believe former bomber Mark Mercuri may also be added to that list . Are you selling your a ss at the caravan park Warren ?

Blues1995
14 Feb 2007, 22:44
Lake Wendouree in the Ballarat Footy League is strapped for cash and is seeking a merger with North City. Obviously nothing confirmed as to where they play etc but apparently it could be this year. Interesting to see if they stay in the Bendigo comp alltogether and if they do how much the lakers players will strengthen them.

Visited my former club lakers tonight to see where the club is at and it was revealed to me that Nth City are struggling for players this season and instigated the merger talks, they were only getting around 13 - 20 on the track and really worried that numbers would not improve. Both clubs have cash and are financially sound.

Since then both clubs numbers have picked up a bit and it has been averted for 2007, but very much on the cards for the future.

I'm told that Nth City will get the ok by the VCFL to leave the bendigo league only if they merge with lakers.

No issue with the exeutive of the board of the vcfl, Bendigo league are filthy and Ballarat board dont want to see another ballarat based club disappear, Daylesford, East Ballt & Golden Point, Maryborough, Beaufort, all have gone from the once strong Ballarat Football League, the Ballarat league have some serious issues and it has to start fixing it starting at the top, otherwise where will the list of clubs disappearing end.

What is the views of you bendigo league people of Nth City and what may happen if they leave your league.

I want the the VCFL to look at the maps and do some serious work at getting clubs in all areas to play in the geographical area that they are from and this may eliminate some of the serious issues that face country clubs.

Scoobert Doo
15 Feb 2007, 07:39

mate the person you are talking about will not be there. Jugga (Stevens) & Rombo (Rombotis) had a discussion about it on Tuesday night, where Jugga told Rombo that they needed to get this particular person out of selection meetings and bench duties.

Rombotis only wants Stevens and the runner involved with himself and Warry on a Saturday and the person you talk about will not be involved.

I know this for a fact, because Stevens will not assist the seniors if last seasons chairman of selectors is involved. I heard him say that to Tyson Holt on Tuesday night.

Sounds like there is much love between the players and last seasons chairman of selectors.

bearsboy
15 Feb 2007, 07:46
mate the person you are talking about will not be there. Jugga (Stevens) & Rombo (Rombotis) had a discussion about it on Tuesday night, where Jugga told Rombo that they needed to get this particular person out of selection meetings and bench duties.

Rombotis only wants Stevens and the runner involved with himself and Warry on a Saturday and the person you talk about will not be involved.

I know this for a fact, because Stevens will not assist the seniors if last seasons chairman of selectors is involved. I heard him say that to Tyson Holt on Tuesday night.

Sounds like there is much love between the players and last seasons chairman of selectors.Scoobert can you confirm or deny .... Mark Mercuri will play for Kangaroo Flat this year .

The Talking Goat
15 Feb 2007, 09:11
any truth bryan coghlan and shaun makepeace will be calling bfl games this year with the situation at triple c

matt_nicholls
15 Feb 2007, 09:20
any truth bryan coghlan and shaun makepeace will be calling bfl games this year with the situation at triple c

I don't know if Coggo is the man. If I wasn't so tied down here in Kilmore I would make a return to the microphone. Haha.

AC Rocket
15 Feb 2007, 11:11

Some of your bleatings might come in handy behind the mike Goat. You could nip out of the Comm box during the breaks and enjoy some freshly recycled watered green grass.

The Talking Goat
15 Feb 2007, 11:19
Some of your bleatings might come in handy behind the mike Goat. You could nip out of the Comm box during the breaks and enjoy some freshly recycled watered green grass.
as you can see from my picture, i have a head more suited to television. maybe i could take the position vacated by the man known as THE HYPHEN - John Michael-McLinden. If the QEO has green grass, that's where I will be spending most of my winter saturdays. goat out

The Talking Goat
15 Feb 2007, 11:20
I don't know if Coggo is the man. If I wasn't so tied down here in Kilmore I would make a return to the microphone. Haha.
what's your commentating credentials pickles old diamond

matt_nicholls
15 Feb 2007, 11:32
what's your commentating credentials pickles old diamond

In the spring of 05 I did some boundary riding for Fresh FM in the Kyneton reserves and Gisborne games.

I was a bit nervous in the first game or so but started to get the hang of it.

As I no longer cover BFL games I was unable to re-commit last year.

But hopefully I can get behind the mike again one day.

ablett
15 Feb 2007, 11:34
bearsboy, is mecuri the big signing within a bendigo club KA is talking about.

fifth quarter
15 Feb 2007, 11:35
get up close to the old man's kitchen window goaty, where u can here the radio
dartfiles and co. are back on wed. nites darts reckons goat and his mates are avid listeners on wed nites so they can pick up a few rumors on which players r going where

coggo wood need to pick up a lot from last year when he tried calling the ess vs hawks afl praccy game adem white from fox footy was xcellent but coggo was a dud

The Talking Goat
15 Feb 2007, 12:46
get up close to the old man's kitchen window goaty, where u can here the radio
dartfiles and co. are back on wed. nites darts reckons goat and his mates are avid listeners on wed nites so they can pick up a few rumors on which players r going where

coggo wood need to pick up a lot from last year when he tried calling the ess vs hawks afl praccy game adem white from fox footy was xcellent but coggo was a dud
did not no dart's show was back on air. can categorically say, do not listen to wednesday night show on triple c.:p

The Talking Goat
15 Feb 2007, 12:47
In the spring of 05 I did some boundary riding for Fresh FM in the Kyneton reserves and Gisborne games.

I was a bit nervous in the first game or so but started to get the hang of it.

As I no longer cover BFL games I was unable to re-commit last year.

But hopefully I can get behind the mike again one day.
SEN are probably looking for callers pickles. there could be an opening there.

Norfolk & Clew
15 Feb 2007, 14:31
News on any clubs other than the flat?

Ex Digger Chris Atkins to square?

The Talking Goat
15 Feb 2007, 15:11
News on any clubs other than the flat?

Ex Digger Chris Atkins to square?
heard a number of clubs vying for the services of atkins, including one in the ballarat football league

Jock Clark 2
15 Feb 2007, 15:19
GET real, Goat.
You know you have the headphones firmly attached Wed. evenings 5-6 pm at this time of the year --- headphones in place 5-7 pm as winter approaches. Otherwise where would you get the hot goss ??:confused: :confused:

;) Matt N. will be hard pressed to get a gig on SEN. Former print editor and more recently NIRS regular AFL matchday caller Brucie "Beaver" Eva is one of the guys aiming to be on SEN this year.
Our bigfooty Kilmore forumer would need a tad more experience than being the boundary rider for Kyn and Gissie Twos matches on 89.5 The Fresh

Kings Army
15 Feb 2007, 15:39
heard a number of clubs vying for the services of atkins, including one in the ballarat football league

He really shopped himself around. Darley thought they had him. Ended up at Balranald.

The Talking Goat
15 Feb 2007, 16:19
GET real, Goat.
You know you have the headphones firmly attached Wed. evenings 5-6 pm at this time of the year --- headphones in place 5-7 pm as winter approaches. Otherwise where would you get the hot goss ??:confused: :confused:

;) Matt N. will be hard pressed to get a gig on SEN. Former print editor and more recently NIRS regular AFL matchday caller Brucie "Beaver" Eva is one of the guys aiming to be on SEN this year.
Our bigfooty Kilmore forumer would need a tad more experience than being the boundary rider for Kyn and Gissie Twos matches on 89.5 The Fresh
not lying jockstrap, don't listen. at my establishment of employment, you can't pick up triple c inside the office, therefore i can not tune in to your program. how did you go watching the replay of the superbowl when i was talking to you last week. goat out

bearsboy
15 Feb 2007, 16:22
He really shopped himself around. Darley thought they had him. Ended up at Balranald.Gisborne also thought they had him at one stage.

bearsboy
15 Feb 2007, 16:30
bearsboy, is mecuri the big signing within a bendigo club KA is talking about.Could be ablett , not sure how good my mail is on this one. I think KA was refering to the Zantuck rumour i'm not sure . I guess we will find out soon enough with a big signing reportedly at Flat training tonight .

bigboofer
15 Feb 2007, 17:25
apparentlty the robins rumours have been correct he will be putting in atransfer to hopetoun this season but not happy campers at eaglehawk with gretgrix and shooter both resigning on the belief that robins was staying got ********s with him it will go to appeal but he has been appointed in coaching role so should win

bigboofer
15 Feb 2007, 17:32
Could be ablett , not sure how good my mail is on this one. I think KA was refering to the Zantuck rumour i'm not sure . I guess we will find out soon enough with a big signing reportedly at Flat training tonight .
according to essendon thread mercuri is playing at keilor and zantuck is playing at balwyn with mcguane but did talk to doutta stars as well with the brown rumour he may as well play at eaglehawk now that they are losing a few players they arent intent on keeping there young players because one was told the other night the best thing he can do is play somewhere else rest in peace eaglehawk

Warren
15 Feb 2007, 17:34
I believe former bomber Mark Mercuri may also be added to that list . Are you selling your a ss at the caravan park Warren ?

BB, the C Park is absolutely flying at the moment and we've managed to put a bit more into the footy club!

quentinlynchthethumper
15 Feb 2007, 18:16
apparentlty the robins rumours have been correct he will be putting in atransfer to hopetoun this season but not happy campers at eaglehawk with gretgrix and shooter both resigning on the belief that robins was staying got ********s with him it will go to appeal but he has been appointed in coaching role so should win

Where will Gretrix end up do you think? Maybe follow Robins to Hopetoun?

bigboofer
15 Feb 2007, 18:21
Where will Gretrix end up do you think? Maybe follow Robins to Hopetoun?
not sure maybe back at charlton or now that robins has gone might be offered a little more to stay

weetbix
15 Feb 2007, 19:04
borough has signed former bendigo bomber and kerang midfielder kyle robertson.. handy pik up with the loss or robins (STILL IN TALKS) and milward to balranald???? could go either way... we may see the borough either end up on the bottom or rite up on top!

weetbix
15 Feb 2007, 19:07
not sure maybe back at charlton or now that robins has gone might be offered a little more to stay
i dont think he would do such a thing and leave his mates at eaglehawk..

roofan
15 Feb 2007, 20:00

Sounds like there is much love between the players and last seasons chairman of selectors.

Well described Scoobert, spot on, 100% correct. My understanding talking to those in the know is that it has been made clear all along, footy decisions/communication/selection will be captain, coach, assistant, runner, Jugga. And thats how it should be.....less chiefs, more clarity. And thats why the recruits are keen, including a big signing announced tonight. Those who left, its not too late to get back down to training...

youknow
15 Feb 2007, 20:11
Good to see gisborne had 50 + on the track the other night things going along nicelly.
Out of trainning one name springs to mind and that is ollie(mad dog) missoudi.I have never in my years seen such a display of mental toughness as was witnessed by many.
The last drill of the night involved the pyramid sprint a killer of a drill organised by matty (you got a fivea) fitzgerald. And on the last leg the 100m sprint it was all tied between you got a fivea,Danno(the new disco)Saunders and mad dog.
And it would not have mattered if the SAS the SOG or Megan gale stepped on the track Mad dog would have run through you all. An absolute brillant display of fitness and 90% mental tougness and to ollie's tally he has not lost yet but plenty are gainning.
This is what i belive is the diffrence, Gisborne players play for the club and will do anything for the RED,WHITE and BLUE and their mental strength will get them over the line every time.
Bendigo clubs recruit ********s that are their for the minute and find it easy to jump ship when things are down and get tuff.

Just my opinion.

Shane you are the real Dog ,Ollie your just a mad Dog.