View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
fork tongue
14 Mar 2007, 11:16
To me it seemed like a good turn out concidering it was at 11.am on a public holiday, possably a few more should've made an appearance but AT THE END OF THE DAY it was a fairly solid session and the standard except sharpy was good in windy conditions.
Something was going on with the Anderson brothers cos Clayton was wearing his girlfriends t-shirt and Dillion did'nt wear one at all!
dillon not wearing a t-shirt, that would have put the fear of god into the opposition.
jumpingjackflash
14 Mar 2007, 12:08
Disagree. AFL Is sanitised crap,i'd say die hard football fans are starting to get disenchanted with watching this garbage and would rather go to their respective local leagues to watch a good old fashioned hard fought game which can only be for local footy.
thoughts?
I'm agreeing with you again Maximus. I get all pumped up over the summer waiting for the footy to start on t.v, then 5 minutes into watching the first game i'm checking the guide to see if there is anything else on to watch. SBS have been letting me down of late so i've always ended up watching the footy, but don't get me wrong if there was anything else better on i'd be changing channels quicker than KA does boyfriends.
The Wombat
14 Mar 2007, 12:43
Is the VCFL finally going to play by the same rules as the AFL does? I don't know any other sporting code that has different rules for their country leagues to their top league. Last year they introduced the kicking out rule, where you could kick before the goal ump waved his flag. Yet this wasn't the rule in the VCFL run comps. All leagues should have the same rules.
It appears that the VCFL are set to bring in the kick out rule but clubs cannot put balls behind the goals. So, really no change at all by the time the ball is retrieved from the crowd.
The front on head high contact is prohibited (Amazing I thought it always was) and do we really want our local umpires to give the tiggy touch hands in the back.
As Max says, We see some good high marks and good solid hip and shoulders at the local level and this is proving more exciting than the glorified keepings off we are watching on TV. I am surprised the local leagues haven't tried to market themselves on this basis "Come and see the Real Thing - Local Football"
Norfolk & Clew
14 Mar 2007, 13:17
Disagree. AFL Is sanitised crap,i'd say die hard football fans are starting to get disenchanted with watching this garbage and would rather go to their respective local leagues to watch a good old fashioned hard fought game which can only be for local footy.
thoughts?
Can't disagree that the AFL is becoming sanitised crap, i just think it is ridiculous that we are playing the same code yet the rules are completely different. The push in the back rule is sh*t, as is many others, but the lack of consistency with the rules for the sport in different leagues is ridiculous. You don't see soccer, rugby or cricket doing the same.
fifth quarter
14 Mar 2007, 13:29
i agree bunnsy --- to jjf mr morris used to sit in the back of the qeo box from what i hve been told
very occasionally he would be asked his opinion
b4 they went to a break i unnerstand
didnt call any games, how could he, as blind from birth
word is the sat brekkie footy show will be more of an early lunchtime show as bfl panel will go to air much later in 07
also seems likely jjf will be calld on to do his boundary rider stuff this season too
bearsboy
14 Mar 2007, 14:31
i agree bunnsy --- to jjf mr morris used to sit in the back of the qeo box from what i hve been told
very occasionally he would be asked his opinion
b4 they went to a break i unnerstand
didnt call any games, how could he, as blind from birth
word is the sat brekkie footy show will be more of an early lunchtime show as bfl panel will go to air much later in 07
also seems likely jjf will be calld on to do his boundary rider stuff this season tooWe'll all be looking forward to that !!!
The Tibbinator
14 Mar 2007, 20:22
The Tibbinator understands that D Brown has put ink to paper with Eaglehawk FC.
The Tibbinator believes this rumor is so fresh that the ink is still drying.
The Tibbnator loves rumors........
bombers 23
14 Mar 2007, 22:34
yeah defanately correct tibsy he will be a hard man to stop in a good side
BillyBobby
14 Mar 2007, 22:56
thoughts?
Agree Max... They're trying to turn AFL into a game of touch footy. My interest in the AFL this year will be in the Herald Sun Supercoach!!!
BillyBobby
14 Mar 2007, 22:57
Is there going to be a BFL night series this year? If so where abouts will it be played?
bombers 23
14 Mar 2007, 22:59
na mate no nite series
Jock Clark 2
15 Mar 2007, 11:10
YERRSSS, BillyBoy and Bomba. The BFL lightning premiership will be staged at Maryborough's Princes Park on Sat. April 21.
It's an all-day format and the original scheme was to use the oval adjacent to PP, used by the MCDFL, so the roster of matches could be worked through.
Whether that oval is still right to go, I'm not sure. But they're playing the 2007 Maryboro nite series at PP right now so its surface is OK.
:D Goatee --- the radio boys had the news about the late start to the MCDFL season on last nite. :D
Also the deal about the last 3 rounds of the season being dropped so that the finals could commence, as programmed per the original draw.
Trent the flight Steward
15 Mar 2007, 12:12
Will beat Burra and North City. Not sure if they can beat anyone else but time will tell.
Surely they will roll a few quality sides with the ins they have in the tow zantucks, and rombotis and warry. If they can keep dahl and brown there is the best ruck combo in the league changing in the forward pocket, plus if they can keep thatcher that foward line line suddnely looks very potent, with the two zantucks brown and dahl there, with thatcher and warry spending some time therecould be a bolter to make the five
bearsboy
15 Mar 2007, 12:23
Have the Zantuck's trained yet ?
Shaggy Rogers
15 Mar 2007, 14:02
Yoikes! Scooby has just eaten all of the Scooby Snacks.He is now saying that both Zantuck boys and other recruits will be at Flat training tonight providing Ty is over his bout of illness.Here is today's brain teaser for all of you BFL bandits:What do Matthew Robbins (Western Bulldogs) & Matthew Richardson (Richmond) have in common? - despite the obvious.
AC Rocket
15 Mar 2007, 15:12
YERRSSS, BillyBoy and Bomba. The BFL lightning premiership will be staged at Maryborough's Princes Park on Sat. April 21.
It's an all-day format and the original scheme was to use the oval adjacent to PP, used by the MCDFL, so the roster of matches could be worked through.
Whether that oval is still right to go, I'm not sure. But they're playing the 2007 Maryboro nite series at PP right now so its surface is OK.
:D Goatee --- the radio boys had the news about the late start to the MCDFL season on last nite. :D
Also the deal about the last 3 rounds of the season being dropped so that the finals could commence, as programmed per the original draw.
I believe I heard it on 3BO early on Wednesday morning.
bearsboy
15 Mar 2007, 18:36
Heard a story today about some big time infighting at Kyneton , bit of a dust up between some senior player's , not a good sign at this time of year . Seeing though jjf is best mate's with the captain he should have his finger right on the pulse here.
The Talking Goat
15 Mar 2007, 20:12
pull your head in jock.
The Talking Goat
15 Mar 2007, 21:56
Yoikes! Scooby has just eaten all of the Scooby Snacks.He is now saying that both Zantuck boys and other recruits will be at Flat training tonight providing Ty is over his bout of illness.Here is today's brain teaser for all of you BFL bandits:What do Matthew Robbins (Western Bulldogs) & Matthew Richardson (Richmond) have in common? - despite the obvious.
will they both be attending a kangaroo flat function??
jumpingjackflash
16 Mar 2007, 09:11
Heard a story today about some big time infighting at Kyneton , bit of a dust up between some senior player's , not a good sign at this time of year . Seeing though jjf is best mate's with the captain he should have his finger right on the pulse here.
i'll confirm or deny this bb if you confirm or deny a story that involved one of your star players, a small donation and a homeless chick after a recent 21st birthday celebration in Melbourne.
bearsboy
16 Mar 2007, 09:20
i'll confirm or deny this bb if you confirm or deny a story that involved one of your star players, a small donation and a homeless chick after a recent 21st birthday celebration in Melbourne. Like the Kyneton story jjf , it may all be rumour's my old friend .
max powers.
16 Mar 2007, 12:18
i'll confirm or deny this bb if you confirm or deny a story that involved one of your star players, a small donation and a homeless chick after a recent 21st birthday celebration in Melbourne.
Lets hear these rumours boys??
inthemix
16 Mar 2007, 13:39
Like the Kyneton story jjf , it may all be rumour's my old friend .
Think i may have heard the same rumour. Something to do with an incident near the fringe bar in Flemington
thatswhatimtalkinabout
16 Mar 2007, 14:33
Just heard Dahl's appeal went through - Square will be very hard to beat this year.
PINNACLE HEALTH
16 Mar 2007, 14:35
Good to hear that "The HAMMER Dahl is finally cleared to play for the Square after the tribunal hearing last night.
AT THE END OF THE DAY, if player has no debt or contractual obligations to a club then they should be cleared to where ever they intend.
Truth Hurts
16 Mar 2007, 15:11
Is Dahl some sort of star is he?
So much talk about him....Lot of pressure on the kid, hope he has a good year!
Appin Vet
16 Mar 2007, 15:41
Yes, quite a bit of hoopla.
PINNACLE HEALTH
16 Mar 2007, 16:07
Is Dahl some sort of star is he?
So much talk about him....Lot of pressure on the kid, hope he has a good year!
You'll find most of the talk about Dahl is regarding the way the clearance was handled not about how good he is/will be/can be etc...
Courageunderfire
16 Mar 2007, 16:18
You'll find most of the talk about Dahl is regarding the way the clearance was handled not about how good he is/will be/can be etc...
Well put pinnacle. Dahl can play and will keep developing into a quality country big man:thumbsu:
bombers 23
16 Mar 2007, 16:56
does anyone no if its all saturday games this year or will there be a lot of sundy games wil the qeo be rite 4 round 1
bearsboy
16 Mar 2007, 20:34
Just heard Dahl's appeal went through - Square will be very hard to beat this year. You w a nke r
thatswhatimtalkinabout
17 Mar 2007, 11:01
You w a nke r
Eloquent
Jock Clark 2
17 Mar 2007, 15:08
AND there I was, GoatSter, thinking you were happy to have me back.
You even mentioned it your good self, round about the time the NFL Super Bowl was on --- early Feb. that would have been.
Now when I raise the issue that a couple of news items have been mentioned earlier than the print media release, you tell me "to pull the head in."
That's it. Jock Strap broken and unfixable.
Jock out, and into another universe.
undercover cat
17 Mar 2007, 17:53
whos lookin the goos this year and why
The Talking Goat
18 Mar 2007, 09:43
AND there I was, GoatSter, thinking you were happy to have me back.
You even mentioned it your good self, round about the time the NFL Super Bowl was on --- early Feb. that would have been.
Now when I raise the issue that a couple of news items have been mentioned earlier than the print media release, you tell me "to pull the head in."
That's it. Jock Strap broken and unfixable.
Jock out, and into another universe.
chin up jock strap, and don't ever mention that s hit super bowl on here again
zakster
18 Mar 2007, 15:05
dees got done at skilled goat
gliders fell over the line at cranbourn
jock mite have pulled the pin for good he loves the nfl it wood seem
gutted rabbit
18 Mar 2007, 20:02
Whats this about D Brown going to Eaglehawke? Wasn't he committed to Mt Pleasant, signed, sealed and delivered?
The Talking Goat
19 Mar 2007, 12:15
dees got done at skilled goat
gliders fell over the line at cranbourn
jock mite have pulled the pin for good he loves the nfl it wood seem
essendon to make the eight.
bombers 23
19 Mar 2007, 15:55
Whats this about D Brown going to Eaglehawke? Wasn't he committed to Mt Pleasant, signed, sealed and delivered?
yeah defanately at borough mate was signed at pleasant key word WAS but now his at the borough
gutted rabbit
19 Mar 2007, 20:42
Yes this is the hot story, but you would have to think e/hawk would have Brown’s clearance handed into the vcfl as soon as it landed into their dirty little hands. But there is no sign of it anywhere, looks to me like a case of high expectations from e/hawk. Better off staying where he is, with Dole putting in for 2 clearances only to be knocked back both times (obviously wants to be somewhere else), Robbin’s clearance still in progress to Hopetown and a few others apparently not to keen to hang in with borough, the wheels on this cart are falling off. The truth is no team wins finals if players are persuaded to play for a team, they should want to.
I was amazed to read it in the Addy on Saturday. Wasn't it back page news last year that he was going to Mt P? The Addy writers are a bunch of wimps; where was the probing article about players who sign with a club and then look to move to another club a few months later? Where was the in-depth interview? Or have the Addy got it wrong, again?
gutted rabbit
19 Mar 2007, 20:44
Did they even try to contact E/hawk or Mt P? Do they get all of their stories from this forum?
bombers 23
19 Mar 2007, 20:51
Yes this is the hot story, but you would have to think e/hawk would have Brown’s clearance handed into the vcfl as soon as it landed into their dirty little hands. But there is no sign of it anywhere, looks to me like a case of high expectations from e/hawk. Better off staying where he is, with Dole putting in for 2 clearances only to be knocked back both times (obviously wants to be somewhere else), Robbin’s clearance still in progress to Hopetown and a few others apparently not to keen to hang in with borough, the wheels on this cart are falling off. The truth is no team wins finals if players are persuaded to play for a team, they should want to.
dirty little hands is this coming from some little gisy rat dnt stress mate itl be in the transfers list soon im sure youll be the first one to c it, no high expectations mate ehawk signd him the other nite theres no rush seasons still a month an a half away an as for doly im sure ehawk would like him to stay but at the end of the day if a good player wants to go of coarse they would try an keep him if the clubs only a couple of ks down the road that he wants to go to, and robbins's clearance was a mix up by being put in so no pursation was needed there, the wheels on the this cart are only getn stronger mate that last little thing what u said about no team wins finals if players are persuaded to stay is the bigest load of ****e i have heard in a while:eek:
youknow
19 Mar 2007, 21:38
dirty little hands is this coming from some little gisy rat dnt stress mate itl be in the transfers list soon im sure youll be the first one to c it, no high expectations mate ehawk signd him the other nite theres no rush seasons still a month an a half away an as for doly im sure ehawk would like him to stay but at the end of the day if a good player wants to go of coarse they would try an keep him if the clubs only a couple of ks down the road that he wants to go to, and robbins's clearance was a mix up by being put in so no pursation was needed there, the wheels on the this cart are only getn stronger mate that last little thing what u said about no team wins finals if players are persuaded to stay is the bigest load of ****e i have heard in a while:eek:
No doubt son of squater.
scumbag
bombers 23
19 Mar 2007, 22:59
obviously a passionate e/hawk supporter, or are you part of the golden oldies team yourself.
na not apart of the team, your hopeless with ya knowledge how can ya call it golden oldies do some homework mate there will be 3 blokes in the side over 30, an age doesnt seem to matter the 3 of them still match it with the best, not realy that passionate either, just cause your from all the way down the road i thought id correct u on your so called knowledge an since i am a little closer to where the correct information is i thought id inform u on what was actualy correct an what was not that sweet
thatswhatimtalkinabout
19 Mar 2007, 23:15
No doubt son of squater.
scumbag
For some bizarre reason you Gisborne people have no sense of humility. You win four flags in five years and all you can do is spend all your time *****ing on teams like Kangaroo Flat and Kyneton.
I have not seen one positive post apart from your aparent glee for outing Jarred Ploughman. FFS, that was good.
It is very hard to match wits with half wits, damn impossible with fu*kwits
The Talking Goat
20 Mar 2007, 10:08
I was amazed to read it in the Addy on Saturday. Wasn't it back page news last year that he was going to Mt P? The Addy writers are a bunch of wimps; where was the probing article about players who sign with a club and then look to move to another club a few months later? Where was the in-depth interview? Or have the Addy got it wrong, again?
hard to do an in-depth interview when you can't reach the bloke on the phone old mate. what other things have the addy got wrong cocko, besides, bigger things going on last week than where d. brown was playing this year.
smasher100
20 Mar 2007, 10:36
hard to do an in-depth interview when you can't reach the bloke on the phone old mate. what other things have the addy got wrong cocko, besides, bigger things going on last week than where d. brown was playing this year.
Take it on the chin Goat. The Addy lacks alot, there should be more big stories in regards to in-depth interviews with the big signing's and star's of the league. Not once have we seen one with Nath Gilliand, as it isn't often we get a player of his calibre in our league and I'm sure people would love to hear what he has to say.
Truth Hurts
20 Mar 2007, 10:58
Local media is a harder gig than you would think, Of course everyone loves dirt and a hard hitting story but in the media you would have to be careful you don't offend people too much because next time you want a story they aren't interested in helping....
What would be the point of paying blokes out for something and then 6 weeks later asking for an interview. Its not like players are getting paid 300k a year and its their duty to answer for their performances and decisions. Its country footy boys!
Bendigo has a truck load of other sports going on, not just footy... and only a handful of guys to report... i think they do a good job!
The sloth
20 Mar 2007, 10:59
Take it on the chin Goat. The Addy lacks alot, there should be more big stories in regards to in-depth interviews with the big signing's and star's of the league. Not once have we seen one with Nath Gilliand, as it isn't often we get a player of his calibre in our league and I'm sure people would love to hear what he has to say.
Gee whiz boys your a bit hard on the old goat.
We are still a month away from the season starting, cricket has only just finished and if the goat goes out to hard to early on these 'stars' stories what is he going to write about through out the season? I'm sure at some stage you will hear what Mr Gilliand has to say about his position, his players and the league in good time.
smasher100
20 Mar 2007, 11:05
Local media is a harder gig than you would think, Of course everyone loves dirt and a hard hitting story but in the media you would have to be careful you don't offend people too much because next time you want a story they aren't interested in helping....
What would be the point of paying blokes out for something and then 6 weeks later asking for an interview. Its not like players are getting paid 300k a year and its their duty to answer for their performances and decisions. Its country footy boys!
Bendigo has a truck load of other sports going on, not just footy... and only a handful of guys to report... i think they do a good job!
You think? Seem's like every article is the same, whether it be cricket, football or tennis.
E.g. If Phil Hetherington can have a good day with the bat, Square will be hard to beat.
It's nearly in every Saturday's Addy, just worded slightly different of course ;)
I understand it would be a tough gig with so little personnel, but you would think that a bit of effort to change it up now and then wouldn't go astray? I think I can already hear goat bleating from these comments.
smasher100
20 Mar 2007, 11:08
Gee whiz boys your a bit hard on the old goat.
We are still a month away from the season starting, cricket has only just finished and if the goat goes out to hard to early on these 'stars' stories what is he going to write about through out the season? I'm sure at some stage you will hear what Mr Gilliand has to say about his position, his players and the league in good time.
The big name recruits could be talked to at this time of the season. There is never any one-on-one interviews, it's a major lacking point in regards to the Bendigo Addy Sport section.
Truth Hurts
20 Mar 2007, 11:19
The big name recruits could be talked to at this time of the season. There is never any one-on-one interviews, it's a major lacking point in regards to the Bendigo Addy Sport section.
And what questions would you ask these big name recruits smash?
matt_nicholls
20 Mar 2007, 11:27
I'm on your side Goat. I love picking up the addy still.
Being a journo is harder than you think, especially at a country newspaper.
The sloth
20 Mar 2007, 11:30
I know what your saying smasher, but my point is why talk to these blokes now when their list may not yet be full. The goat could run a one on one interview with Nath then in the next week they sign James Hird ( not saying its true but you never know! ). Then what?? go back the next week and have another interview??
smasher100
20 Mar 2007, 12:08
I know what your saying smasher, but my point is why talk to these blokes now when their list may not yet be full. The goat could run a one on one interview with Nath then in the next week they sign James Hird ( not saying its true but you never know! ). Then what?? go back the next week and have another interview??
Anything could happen. Who would have known at the start of the season Milly would leave the day clearances close? Who cares what may happen. People need some interesting stuff to read all the time, not go all quiet while there is no footy and cricket. Need's a bit of life in the Addy now and then. Seriously, can it be that hard? A big spread on Brennan, would be ideal at this time of year.
Now let's move on from this topic!
gutted rabbit
20 Mar 2007, 12:13
I accept that it would be a hard job if you are under-staffed etc. But what about contacting Mt P, Kangaroo Flat, Eaglehawk and Brown, and if no-one responds, say so in the article. Its called researching a story. Otherwise, hold off on publishing the article until you have some, wait for it, FACTS.
Did the addy, and its editor, consider for a second linking their story last year about Mt P signing Brown with E/H apparently now signing Brown? Where does that now leave Mount? Can E/H even afford Brown?
gutted rabbit
20 Mar 2007, 12:14
Anything could happen. Who would have known at the start of the season Milly would leave the day clearances close? Who cares what may happen. People need some interesting stuff to read all the time, not go all quiet while there is no footy and cricket. Need's a bit of life in the Addy now and then. Seriously, can it be that hard? A big spread on Brennan, would be ideal at this time of year.
Where is Milward going?
bloodhound!
20 Mar 2007, 12:25
I think we would all like to read more in depth stories in regard to BFL and surrounding leagues but the fact is that the addy has about 3-4 sports writers who have to cover all sport in the region and all of those sports would believe that they deserve more coverage. The addy although charging the same as the herald sun for a paper is not the herald sun where they have specific writers covering 1 specific sport.
If you want an interview with Joffa go and interview him and see if the addy will pay you for it.
Also as prev said There is no way the addy would stir the pot because they would run the risk of never getting an interview from that person/club again which is a shame.
The Talking Goat
20 Mar 2007, 13:18
I think we would all like to read more in depth stories in regard to BFL and surrounding leagues but the fact is that the addy has about 3-4 sports writers who have to cover all sport in the region and all of those sports would believe that they deserve more coverage. The addy although charging the same as the herald sun for a paper is not the herald sun where they have specific writers covering 1 specific sport.
If you want an interview with Joffa go and interview him and see if the addy will pay you for it.
Also as prev said There is no way the addy would stir the pot because they would run the risk of never getting an interview from that person/club again which is a shame.
3 sports reporters at the addy to put the entire sports pages together. compare those figures to any other regional daily newspaper and see how they stack up. goat is doing the best he can with the limited resources available. and remember, there is more to sport than just footy. why don;t you boys come in for a week and see how you go
andypipkin
20 Mar 2007, 13:30
i think that the boys at the addy really are up against it. like goat said, three reporters in all to cover the regions sport. cricket is in its own little season, but obviously the covering of football is the main sticking point. lets see, there are three leagues that play in the bendigo region, bendigo, heathcote and the lodden valley, not to mention a couple of other sports to contend with such as soccer, then on top of that we also have the bendigo bombers and the bendigo pioneers to cover. i dont think that everyone is all that fazed with the way the addy are running there paper, the other leagues dont seem to have as big a whing in regards to coverage that they get. praccie matches havent even started and already we are asking for one on one interviews?? there is only so much you could ask a coach or captain how they are travelling, let the games do the talking. maybe its because your new to the league smasher, and your not getting your name up in lights in the addy that is getting your knickers in a knot
gutted rabbit
20 Mar 2007, 13:56
Any news on Milward and where he is playing? How are South looking this year? Any more ladder lists now that transfers have been granted? One month to go until we get under way...
bloodhound!
20 Mar 2007, 13:58
3 sports reporters at the addy to put the entire sports pages together. compare those figures to any other regional daily newspaper and see how they stack up. goat is doing the best he can with the limited resources available. and remember, there is more to sport than just footy. why don;t you boys come in for a week and see how you go
Fairly sure i was supporting you there goat.......
I'm with the goat, the Addy do a great job. Last year I played with Rutherglen, and we never got any coverage, despite being a good honest side. Local papers do it hard.
The Talking Goat
20 Mar 2007, 14:17
Fairly sure i was supporting you there goat.......
not having a crack at you bloodhound, sorry about that. and matt nicholls, i respect your comments from a bloke who has an apprciation of the job
Guys it is a dfficult job- a rather large area to cover as well as Lodden Valley, Heathcote, and other district leagues. Ideally it would be great to have a couple of reporters for each league but thats not realistic. The Addydoes a reasnable job- just an opinion:thumbsu:
AC Rocket
20 Mar 2007, 15:48
Keep trotting up the stairs goat and canter out with your head held high. I know first hand what hours you work and what a mammoth job you do. :thumbsu:
The Talking Goat
20 Mar 2007, 16:55
Keep trotting up the stairs goat and canter out with your head held high. I know first hand what hours you work and what a mammoth job you do. :thumbsu:
rocket man, good on you old son, what's making news today.
Junky Bish
20 Mar 2007, 17:35
Guys it is a dfficult job- a rather large area to cover as well as Lodden Valley, Heathcote, and other district leagues. Ideally it would be great to have a couple of reporters for each league but thats not realistic. The Addydoes a reasnable job- just an opinion:thumbsu:
Yep Junky has decided to weigh in with his opinion.
The Addy does a fair job the footy coverage is pretty decent but there isn't the weight on the 3 journo's as most people think. There is alot of AFL and elite sports stories that are copied in from APPT some mid week days it makes up more than 50% of the sports pages.
The Lodden Valley, Heathcote and Marybrough Castlemaine etc in footy and other sports have to supply their own reports which the Addy pays nothing for which is pretty average. The Advertiser sponsors the Bendigo league but they should sponsor all those leagues because they helping to selling papers in the numbers they are.
The Talking Goat
20 Mar 2007, 17:51
if you went through the paper during footy season for the past few years, i bet you would find hardly any day where there was no local footy story in it. sure footy is big, but it ain't the be all and end all.
smasher100
20 Mar 2007, 17:51
Yep Junky has decided to weigh in with his opinion.
The Addy does a fair job the footy coverage is pretty decent but there isn't the weight on the 3 journo's as most people think. There is alot of AFL and elite sports stories that are copied in from APPT some mid week days it makes up more than 50% of the sports pages.
The Lodden Valley, Heathcote and Marybrough Castlemaine etc in footy and other sports have to supply their own reports which the Addy pays nothing for which is pretty average. The Advertiser sponsors the Bendigo league but they should sponsor all those leagues because they helping to selling papers in the numbers they are.
Right on there Junky. They didn't write those HDFL reports, that's for sure!
Don't know too much in regards to LVFL, so can't say as to who writes them.
youknow
20 Mar 2007, 21:04
For some bizarre reason you Gisborne people have no sense of humility. You win four flags in five years and all you can do is spend all your time *****ing on teams like Kangaroo Flat and Kyneton.
I have not seen one positive post apart from your aparent glee for outing Jarred Ploughman. FFS, that was good.
It is very hard to match wits with half wits, damn impossible with fu*kwits
Well TWITA we are are diffrent and its obvious that it works.In the Rdfl days we were seen in the same light weired arrogant and everyone hated us but we got off on it and it worked.
Kyneton is our new Sunbury our biggest rieval it dosent matter about positions on the ladder we love to hate each other and it is healthy in a way the games are played at an intence level.
Kangaroo flat well they havent done much since filo kicked 8 in the last half to beat us at Gisborne some years back a brillant display of football skills and ability.
Now all they are good for is a chain of fast food shops that runs down the calder towards Holy Grail country Gisborne.
TWITA your not a man that should be paying out on Gisborne.
gutted rabbit
21 Mar 2007, 06:49
Thank you Luke West, todays Addy article is what I was talking about with Brown. Well written, and explains the Mt P situation. Seems that the Addy do read BigFooty after all?
swans12
21 Mar 2007, 07:36
Have seen a transfer for Peter Maloney from Kangaroo Flat to a club in our league, hows he go, where's he play any info
smasher100
21 Mar 2007, 09:35
Thank you Luke West, todays Addy article is what I was talking about with Brown. Well written, and explains the Mt P situation. Seems that the Addy do read BigFooty after all?
On ya Goat!
The Talking Goat
21 Mar 2007, 09:55
I thought it was no secret the addy reads big footy.
Well I guess all those bagging the Addy's sports coverage would have an argument if ya's didn't read it - but like just about every newspaper going around Big Footy is becomming the best (and easiest) way to report of rumour, innuendo or even get leads for sports stories :thumbsu:
I just cant wait for the Addy's big footy marquee at the QEO in September, when all those who've helped fill their pages with sports chat from the neighbouring leagues are assembled for a beer an a sausage sizzle to say thanks :D
bombers 23
21 Mar 2007, 11:42
Well TWITA we are are diffrent and its obvious that it works.In the Rdfl days we were seen in the same light weired arrogant and everyone hated us but we got off on it and it worked.
Kyneton is our new Sunbury our biggest rieval it dosent matter about positions on the ladder we love to hate each other and it is healthy in a way the games are played at an intence level.
Kangaroo flat well they havent done much since filo kicked 8 in the last half to beat us at Gisborne some years back a brillant display of football skills and ability.
Now all they are good for is a chain of fast food shops that runs down the calder towards Holy Grail country Gisborne.
TWITA your not a man that should be paying out on Gisborne.
yeah yas are different most sides in our league could walk into a lower comp like lvfl or hdfl an win 4 flags so get ya head out of ya ass an start realising that yas stole some glory from a league when it was at its weakest
I love to attend..... just to stab queenie in the face!
bearsboy
21 Mar 2007, 12:27
yeah yas are different most sides in our league could walk into a lower comp like lvfl or hdfl an win 4 flags so get ya head out of ya ass an start realising that yas stole some glory from a league when it was at its weakestYou sound like a bitter Eaglehawk boy that's been repeatedly smashed by Gisborne .
Shut up Warren your a smack head !!!
Kings Army
21 Mar 2007, 12:30
I love to attend..... just to stab queenie in the face!
Hey Was - 2 weeks since your last post. That would mean you relapsed last week and was banned from using the computer. Good to see you have had a good week this week. Keep up the good work. And if I don't hear from you in another 2 weeks - don't stress as I know you in a safe enviroment with lots of padding.
Fat Boy and Queenie....
you two are just too easy! So predicable...... i love toying with you two gisborne gutter rats.
gutted rabbit
21 Mar 2007, 14:28
Fat Boy and Queenie....
you two are just too easy! So predicable...... i love toying with you two gisborne gutter rats.
Hey, ease up, theres nothing wrong with gutted stuff, look at how a gutted rabbit looks....kind of familiar? 'Gutter rats' is harsh...
donwooganowski
21 Mar 2007, 15:26
in light of these West Coast Eagles rumours, which BFL clubs do you think would take the most illicit drugs? i have heard gisborne love the stuff, comments?
bearsboy
21 Mar 2007, 15:33
Fat Boy and Queenie....
you two are just too easy! So predicable...... i love toying with you two gisborne gutter rats.I thought i told you to shut the F u c k up crack boy !!!
Kings Army
21 Mar 2007, 15:35
Fat Boy and Queenie....
Was - 2 posts in a day - the nuffy's waiting for a turn will be getting restless. Time to share now Was!
fifth quarter
21 Mar 2007, 15:39
radio time for u agen 2day goat
tied up in the back of the old mans ute get him to roll the passengr side window down so u can hear
mite not hear from jock agen tho
gave him a nice old serve the other day but pretty nice to bloodhound
tom nixon
21 Mar 2007, 16:01
yeah yas are different most sides in our league could walk into a lower comp like lvfl or hdfl an win 4 flags so get ya head out of ya ass an start realising that yas stole some glory from a league when it was at its weakest
i cant believe how much of a W A N Ker you really are, gisborne didnt walk into a lower comp, why would any club do that.. gisborne are obviously killing it and you bendigo folks just cant handle that it isnt one of your beloved teams up there. pull your own head out of your ass..
Kings Army
21 Mar 2007, 16:07
i cant believe how much of a W A N Ker you really are, gisborne didnt walk into a lower comp, why would any club do that.. gisborne are obviously killing it and you bendigo folks just cant handle that it isnt one of your beloved teams up there. pull your own head out of your ass..
I think he was saying that the success Gissy had in the RDFL should not be celebrated as Melton, Darley, Melton South and Sunbury had left. If I am correct the weaker comp was the RDFL - and that South or GS etc could have walked into the RDFL and won flags as easy as Gisborne did. Is this correct Bombers?
The fact that South and GS can't beat them now is not a factor - more of a very touchy subject.
Truth Hurts
21 Mar 2007, 16:25
I think he was saying that the success Gissy had in the RDFL should not be celebrated as Melton, Darley, Melton South and Sunbury had left. If I am correct the weaker comp was the RDFL - and that South or GS etc could have walked into the RDFL and won flags as easy as Gisborne did. Is this correct Bombers?
The fact that South and GS can't beat them now is not a factor - more of a very touchy subject.
Pretty sure both South and Square beat Gisborne last year.
Truth Hurts
21 Mar 2007, 16:26
in light of these West Coast Eagles rumours, which BFL clubs do you think would take the most illicit drugs? i have heard gisborne love the stuff, comments?
Where did you hear that Don?
Any players in particular? or just the club in general?
A.K.A kenny
21 Mar 2007, 16:39
Obviously not in the game that counted!!!!!!!
Truth Hurts
21 Mar 2007, 16:46
Obviously not in the game that counted!!!!!!!
Did i say anything about that fcukwhit? KA said square and south can't beat gisborne, i merely pointed out that they both beat them last year.
Kings Army
21 Mar 2007, 16:49
Sorry TH - I meant when it counted but if beating Gissy in round 1 is something to rejoice about then you go and ahead.
A.K.A kenny
21 Mar 2007, 16:58
Did i say anything about that fcukwhit? KA said square and south can't beat gisborne, i merely pointed out that they both beat them last year.
its ok TH, dry those tears no need to get your knickers in a knot.
i know what you ment i was just pointing out they cant seem to do it where it matters!
everyone at this level plays for flags dont they???? not how many wins they accumulate through the season
Truth Hurts
21 Mar 2007, 17:11
its ok TH, dry those tears no need to get your knickers in a knot.
i know what you ment i was just pointing out they cant seem to do it where it matters!
everyone at this level plays for flags dont they???? not how many wins they accumulate through the season
You're right, gisborne are the best, this has been established 400 pages ago, they will win again this year! whatever.
Now fcuk off and let someone else have an opinion or say something without you spanks chiming in and saying "can't beat gisborne, gisborne will win the flag, gisborne are the best team ever" thanks for the input but for fcuk sake, fcuk off or come up with something else!
bloodhound!
21 Mar 2007, 17:17
You're right, gisborne are the best, this has been established 400 pages ago, they will win again this year! whatever.
Now fcuk off and let someone else have an opinion or say something without you spanks chiming in and saying "can't beat gisborne, gisborne will win the flag, gisborne are the best team ever" thanks for the input but for fcuk sake, fcuk off or come up with something else!
Now that deserves a standing ovation!! Well said Truth, well said.
A.K.A kenny
21 Mar 2007, 17:35
when did i say anything like that truth. i never said gisborne cant be beaten, i never said they would win the flag and i never said they were the best team ever i was just stating facts that in the last few years there has only been one side that has won when it has counted other than gisborne
i must of hit a real sore spot for you to get back on here carry on saying fcuk this and fcuk that maybe you should come up with something else other than showing how good you are at swearing.
stay wierd L O S E R!!!!
bearsboy
21 Mar 2007, 20:31
Now fcuk off and let someone else have an opinion or say something without you spanks chiming in and saying "can't beat gisborne, gisborne will win the flag, gisborne are the best team ever" thanks for the input but for fcuk sake, fcuk off or come up with something else! Maybe if South showed some of your fight Truth instead of being the bunch of insipid pea hearts they are (i think that's the way they are generally perceived in this league ) we might be able to talk about how they could be a challenge to Gisborne or Golden Square this year .
Truth , please find 1 post where any one from Gisborne has stated any of those highlighted comment's .
donwooganowski
22 Mar 2007, 09:49
Where did you hear that Don?
Any players in particular? or just the club in general?
im not saying the club in general Truth, because im sure the lady who cooks up the feeds at thursday selection nights is clean, but i have heard roughly 22 get on it there. but im not saying there the only club, i have met a few north city boys in ballarat out on the town, i met them on adultfriendfinder.com and they looked like they were eating steak!
tom nixon
22 Mar 2007, 10:23
im not saying the club in general Truth, because im sure the lady who cooks up the feeds at thursday selection nights is clean, but i have heard roughly 22 get on it there. but im not saying there the only club, i have met a few north city boys in ballarat out on the town, i met them on adultfriendfinder.com and they looked like they were eating steak!
Roughly 22, thats a bit of a specific number dont you think? where do you bendigo folks hear this s hit from, rumours rumours rumours, its all a load of S hit, thats like reading other posts that believe gisborne pays big dollars for players. the fact is the the majority of boys down there are actually from gissy and not brought in on the big bucks.