View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

smellingsmoke
25 Feb 2006, 16:57
whats going on lads. Heard nick knight has been burning it up on the track at harry trot oval for the past week or two. Sounds like he's set for a cracker jack year, wouldn't mind lookin at his odds.

Doona2
26 Feb 2006, 22:11
Doona I reckon you might be being a bit harsh. I've been a country footy journalist in the past and it can be tough to keep track of 4 or 5 leagues at once. If i was still doing it I would log onto Big Footy constantly to see what's going on.

Without trying to sound like Matty Pillios, I'm good mates with T. Perry and I'm sure he wouldn't mind.
All the best with your (many) coaching roles

Spent 5 years in the newspaper caper meself mate, and the first thing I woulda done was at least contacted Tav or a club official to confirm it or at least say a story was being published. The Shepp News boys are also using Big Footy as a tool and theyd be mad not to but why not at least give credit to the source, whether it be a T.Perry, a C.Nolan or "as read on the best source of country football gossip bigfooty.com" . . . . thats all Im saying.

Doona2
26 Feb 2006, 22:13
Bigger Bulldogs ready to bite back
Luke West
Saturday, 25 February 2006

THERE is a sense of unfinished business as Golden Square approaches the 2006 All Seasons Bendigo Football-Netball League season.

For all but two weeks of the home and away season last year, the Bulldogs occupied a position in the top three.

But after losing their last three games of the season, the Bulldogs fell to fourth and were subsequently beaten by South Bendigo by 45 points in the elimination final after looking near-certainties to have the double chance for the majority of the season.

It was a disappointing end to a season that had promised plenty, especially after wins over top-two sides Gisborne and Castlemaine in rounds seven and eight.

"Our last month of footy was disappointing - we lost three of the last four games and due to some key injuries, our depth was tested," Golden Square spokesman Brock Pinner said yesterday.

"We had a few injuries to key guys at that time; Aaron Hawkins was out, Mark Lloyd, Brendan Fraser and Darren Walsh (coach) were out for a few games as well, so leading into the finals, we didn't have the best preparation.

"But at the same time, we didn't have enough depth, although you can't cover that calibre of player.

"We think we've been able to recruit a bit of depth this year so if we do get one or two injuries like that, we will be able to cover it," Pinner said.

"But if you get injuries to four quality players like we did, it certainly is difficult.

"We think we were better than where we were finished last year, so we think there is unfinished business," he said.

"We've prepared ourselves well this year and we think we're ready to have a good crack at it.

"Our younger guys around the club are all a year older and have had a taste of senior football.

"We will be looking to guys like Stacey Fiske, Adrian McErvale, Matt Klien-Brettler and Brenton O'Connell to contuinue their development into solid senior players."The number one area the Bulldogs needed to address over the pre-season was height, and they appear to have done that well.

Among the new recruits who have been cleared to Country Vet Oval are Matt Tyrell (from White Hills), Luke Rosa (Warrack Eagles), Chris Bell (Wycheproof-Narraport), Jason Curtain (Bendigo Bombers), Jason Hewitt (Nullawil) and Wes Pye (Lake Boga), who all stand over six-foot tall.

"Looking back to last year we didn't have enough tall blokes to match up against some taller oppositions, who regulary had several guys over six-foot three," Pinner said.

"Our major focus for our recruiting has been getting a bit more height and adding a bit more depth, and we're very happy with what we've been able to come up with.

"The addition of Chris Martens from Port MacQuarie should also add a bit to our midfield."Walsh is embarking on his third year at the helm of the Bulldogs, while Phillip Walsh will coach the reserves and Jamie Hogan the under-18s.

The Bulldogs have a tough first-up assignment when they host reigning premier Gisborne on Saturday, April 15. Golden Square was the only team to beat Gisborne last year.

Gareth Keenan
27 Feb 2006, 08:57
Spent 5 years in the newspaper caper meself mate, and the first thing I woulda done was at least contacted Tav or a club official to confirm it or at least say a story was being published. The Shepp News boys are also using Big Footy as a tool and theyd be mad not to but why not at least give credit to the source, whether it be a T.Perry, a C.Nolan or "as read on the best source of country football gossip bigfooty.com" . . . . thats all Im saying.

Doona - I'm in the legal game. For someone who likes to have a crack at journos for not revealing sources, I hope you've got the green light from the Advertiser to post their footy stories on this website.

As for Port Adelaide, it's still cricket season. P. Burgoyne went okay though.

Doona2
27 Feb 2006, 09:03
Doona - I'm in the legal game. For someone who likes to have a crack at journos for not revealing sources, I hope you've got the green light from the Advertiser to post their footy stories on this website.

As for Port Adelaide, it's still cricket season. P. Burgoyne went okay though.

Me and everyone else Gareth!!! Mate every news item I post onto Big Footy always has the publication and if possible the journalist to give them added exposure outside their readership area.

Didnt mean to have a crack if thats the way you read into it, would just like to see this wonderful website grow and get a bit of a pump up thru the media outlets.

Grimmett
27 Feb 2006, 09:51
Me and everyone else Gareth!!! Mate every news item I post onto Big Footy always has the publication and if possible the journalist to give them added exposure outside their readership area.

Didnt mean to have a crack if thats the way you read into it, would just like to see this wonderful website grow and get a bit of a pump up thru the media outlets.

I too publish newspaper articles on our club website. Am I wrong in thinking that acknowledgement of source, date and author is sufficient recognition for legal purposes?

You Beauty!!
27 Feb 2006, 11:20
I have been following the transfers pretty closely and it always seems to be interesting that clubs reject players wishes to play at another club. Obviously they would like them to stay at their club and say that they are required players but if the player does not want to play there is there any point trying to hang on to them? Wouldn't it be better long term to work the problem out verbally and even if it is reluctantly, clear them so they might return in the future.

Gareth Keenan
27 Feb 2006, 13:10
I too publish newspaper articles on our club website. Am I wrong in thinking that acknowledgement of source, date and author is sufficient recognition for legal purposes?

I didn't mean to scare you, Charlie.
I wouldn't think the newspapers will take any action, but for your own benefit it would be nice to have something in writing in case something happens down the track.

No fee for the legal advice.

If any of you guys are in Ballarat can you give me an update on Contessa at North City.
I wouldn't mind having a crack with Pickles on Contessa for the Michelsen.

You Beauty!!
27 Feb 2006, 14:44
What happened to that other website caveman? Bendigofooty.tk it said it was shut down to lack of interest?

Picklesmeoldmate
28 Feb 2006, 10:43
Righto my fellow punters out there in Big Footy land, we've had a look at the premiership market, we've had a glance at the Michelsen Medal, let's now have a look at the betting for the Ron Best Medal.
Here's how I see it:
Luke Beattie $4.80
Kain Robins $6
Phillip Lobb $8
Matt O'Toole $8.50
Mark Fitzgerald $12
Damien Brown $14
Marty Shadbolt $17
Reed Wills $18
Matt Gretgrix $22
Luke Saunders $26
Matt Stagg $28
Wayne Eve $30
Wayne Mitrovic $32
Derrick Filo $33
Danny O'Bree $40
Darren Walsh $48
Matt Knox $52
Brett Cook $53
Nick Night $55
Brad Else $58
Stuart Crameri $65
Jake Matthews $66
Alexander Collins $67
Shane Davis $70
Brendan Fraser $70
Troy Auld $75
Darren Farrugia $80
Mark Austin $85

Weapo
28 Feb 2006, 10:47
Righto my fellow punters out there in Big Footy land, we've had a look at the premiership market, we've had a glance at the Michelsen Medal, let's now have a look at the betting for the Ron Best Medal.
Here's how I see it:
Luke Beattie $4.80
Kain Robins $6
Phillip Lobb $8
Matt O'Toole $8.50
Mark Fitzgerald $12
Damien Brown $14
Marty Shadbolt $17
Reed Wills $18
Matt Gretgrix $22
Luke Saunders $26
Matt Stagg $28
Wayne Eve $30
Wayne Mitrovic $32
Derrick Filo $33
Danny O'Bree $40
Darren Walsh $48
Matt Knox $52
Brett Cook $53
Nick Night $55
Brad Else $58
Stuart Crameri $65
Jake Matthews $66
Alexander Collins $67
Shane Davis $70
Brendan Fraser $70
Troy Auld $75
Darren Farrugia $80
Mark Austin $85

I'll put $100 on Auld and Collins! Thanks pickles. I think you have overrated Beattie and Lobb though!

You Beauty!!
28 Feb 2006, 10:51
Here's how I see it:
Luke Beattie $4.80
Kain Robins $6
Phillip Lobb $8
Matt O'Toole $8.50
Mark Fitzgerald $12
Damien Brown $14
Marty Shadbolt $17
Reed Wills $18
Matt Gretgrix $22
Luke Saunders $26
Matt Stagg $28
Wayne Eve $30
Wayne Mitrovic $32
Derrick Filo $33
Danny O'Bree $40
Darren Walsh $48
Matt Knox $52
Brett Cook $53
Nick Night $55
Brad Else $58
Stuart Crameri $65
Jake Matthews $66
Alexander Collins $67
Shane Davis $70
Brendan Fraser $70
Troy Auld $75
Darren Farrugia $80
Mark Austin $85

Seems that there is a lot of toungue in cheek there. What about the Flag market Picklesmeoldmate?

Picklesmeoldmate
28 Feb 2006, 11:00
Seems that there is a lot of toungue in cheek there. What about the Flag market Picklesmeoldmate?
You beauty my fellow Big Footy forumer. There is being no tongue in cheek there at all mate, that's honestly what I think. There already is a flag market that has been posted on previous pages that you can have a punt on. If you would like to throw in some multiples, i'm prepared to offer a market on that. who would you back in that goalkicking market my fellow follower of football.

You Beauty!!
28 Feb 2006, 13:22
You beauty my fellow Big Footy forumer. There is being no tongue in cheek there at all mate, that's honestly what I think. There already is a flag market that has been posted on previous pages that you can have a punt on. If you would like to throw in some multiples, i'm prepared to offer a market on that. who would you back in that goalkicking market my fellow follower of football.

My apologies oldmate. Due to my excitement of being a new member i didn't read the full quote and missed that it was the goalkicking not the michelson. Keep up the great work you seem to know most players in the BFL. My money would be with yours, Beattie?

Picklesmeoldmate
28 Feb 2006, 13:53
My apologies oldmate. Due to my excitement of being a new member i didn't read the full quote and missed that it was the goalkicking not the michelson. Keep up the great work you seem to know most players in the BFL. My money would be with yours, Beattie?
Apology accepted my friend, no hard feelings. I'm glad to see you have joined the Big Footy family. I have left Steven Reaper off the list because according to a report in this morning's paper, it's unlikely he will pull the boots on for kyneton. And if he does happen to play, i don't think he would be abe to play enough games because of his roles with the VCFL to be a serious challenger for the goalkicking medal. but we all know how good a player he is, so you never know. my reasons for selecting beattie at the top is that he is they key focal point up forward in what i believe is going to be a very good south bendigo outfit this year. there is going to be a lot of ball going into the bloods attacking 50 this year and i get the feeling beattie is going to be on the end of a lot of them. he showed last year he is capable of kicking big bags of goals, and i think there's going to be more of it this year. How about we get some forumers to toss up some ideas on who they may think could be some of the leading contenders for the rising star award this year. adam pokrvosky is probably out of contention, but from what i hear from down gisborne way, is absolutely flying on the track at the moment. i'm going toi bring him into $24 on my michelsen medal market. my preferred multiples at this stage of the season are gisborne for the flag into kain robins for the michelsen medal into luke beattie for the ron best medal at odds of $14, which presents reasonable value.

BIGANT
28 Feb 2006, 14:39
Whats the word on Matt O'tooles bro..Luke joining him this season ?? if not where is he lining up for 06'

Russ74
28 Feb 2006, 16:26
What is Reaper's role with the VCFL?

Picklesmeoldmate
28 Feb 2006, 16:45
What is Reaper's role with the VCFL?
The paper said he is tied up with the VCFL selection committee for the team to play in the country championships. i guess that means he has to spend a lot of weekends going to various venues and keping an eye on the players who are travelling well. it's a pity we probably won't see him because he is a great player that i enjoyed watching. if he was playing, he would be about $1.90 for the ron best medal.

Jock Clark 2
28 Feb 2006, 16:48
Big Bundy Reaper is an accountant by profession as I understand it, but he's obviously studying after hours to get higher quals.
Newspaper article said today he's also building a house -- or having one built, more like it.
He's employed by the VCFL. Also a selector for the VCFL team which will contest this year's Aussie country footie titles on the Gold Coast in July.
So he'll have to attend each of the 4 inter-league carnivals this year: most of May and early June.
Never know, could be a gun player going around in the Div. 4 titles in the Yarra Valley who the selectors can slot into the Big V side.
Reaps booted 37 goals for Kyneton last year after resuming from retirement (September 2004). Came back agst. Maryboro in Round 8, 2005.

south_hawk
28 Feb 2006, 19:08
Here's how I see it:
Luke Beattie $4.80
Kain Robins $6
Phillip Lobb $8
Matt O'Toole $8.50
Mark Fitzgerald $12
Damien Brown $14
Marty Shadbolt $17
Reed Wills $18
Matt Gretgrix $22
Luke Saunders $26
Matt Stagg $28
Wayne Eve $30
Wayne Mitrovic $32
Derrick Filo $33
Danny O'Bree $40
Darren Walsh $48
Matt Knox $52
Brett Cook $53
Nick Night $55
Brad Else $58
Stuart Crameri $65
Jake Matthews $66
Alexander Collins $67
Shane Davis $70
Brendan Fraser $70
Troy Auld $75
Darren Farrugia $80
Mark Austin $85

I'd definitely chuck some money on Jake Matthews at $66 if he was still playing. I'll have $50 on Luke Saunders at good odds and I know he's not there so we'll just say you've got him on heaps, so I'll have $200 on Matty Fitzgerald of Gisborne

spoke4923
28 Feb 2006, 19:51
Top work on the markets pickles, though i did notice wayne Eve at $30. Surely they're huge unders? Anyway, what odds on a South-Mark Fitzgerald (Michelsen)- Luke Beattie (Ron Best) triple? Put me down for $20

b birmingham
28 Feb 2006, 20:37
Does anyone know anything about some of the unkown recruits for G square this year? We know a bit about Rosa, Tyrrell and Curtain, but what about some of their other new talls like Pye, Hewitt, and what about Martens, they say he's handy enough too! Does anyone know?

Picklesmeoldmate
1 Mar 2006, 09:05
Top work on the markets pickles, though i did notice wayne Eve at $30. Surely they're huge unders? Anyway, what odds on a South-Mark Fitzgerald (Michelsen)- Luke Beattie (Ron Best) triple? Put me down for $20
I'll give you $25 for that multiple spoke. I can't see Fitzgerald winning the Michelsen Medal this year, so that's what blows those odds out a bit. He is a good player though and he will kick 50 + goals this year, but don't know if he will poll enough votes. I admit mistakes when I make them, and yes, I had jake Matthews in the ron best medal betting when he is obviously playing with the bombers. wayne eve is at $30 because there obviously has to be questions about him playing enough games to win the medal. that's my reasoning behind that.

The Nest
1 Mar 2006, 10:38
I know a bit about Pye for Golden Square. Big strong player. Similar to Tony Plim with a lot more talent, is the perfect addition to the doggies line up. They will have to be a chance this year.

What about Dillon Anderson for the Michelson, if not then Rudy Hawkins would be my next choice.

max powers.
1 Mar 2006, 12:05
I know a bit about Pye for Golden Square. Big strong player. Similar to Tony Plim with a lot more talent, is the perfect addition to the doggies line up. They will have to be a chance this year.

What about Dillon Anderson for the Michelson, if not then Rudy Hawkins would be my next choice.

Geez you've given Wes Pye a bit of a rap there nesty!!! T Plim has been the premier ruckman in the district for the past decade.
As for Dillon Anderson he's been down for a few years through injury & form and i have no doubt he can return to the form which saw him make the VCFL squad in 2002. I think he's currently getting over a stress fracture in his foot.

As for Aaron Hawkins he had a steller 2005 and was a roughie for last years Michelson.....apparently he's been flying on the track and is looking forward to just enjoying his footy after having a stint as Ass Coach.....
Good bet.

Kick It To Me!!
1 Mar 2006, 12:16
A lot of people say that high money recruits are the only way to succeed.Thats correct,but too many of these "blow ins" know that theyre only in town for a season or two so they absolutely rape the clubs.
Generalising they also;
Dont train in melb
Play ,shower,pay envelope, home.
When they stay overnight,they either muck up or cheat on their teammates missuses as they have no respect for the local culture
Paypacket is generally same size as ego
Have many bad debts towards the end of the season
Bring unruly "drinking buddies" up in the car with them
Big mouth about their wages,causing player unrest amongst club doyens.

These are some negatives,i know the positives,how bout some comment or examples of this type of side effect of the "gun recruit"[/quote]
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif

patty O'furnicha
1 Mar 2006, 13:18
Any news on the Nick Knight of south bendigo trying his hand at horse racing??? heard a whisper of Jockey talk! 'onthemoney', your a betting man... any news?

Gareth Keenan
1 Mar 2006, 18:40

According to my Golden Square man your barking up the wrong tree Nesty.
After passing on your thoughts I received the following mail from him
`Wes Pye wouldn't hold a candle to Tony Plim'
`Dillon Anderson has as much hope of winning the Michelsen as Danny Ellis'

Now if my memory serves me correctly I used to play against Danny Ellis years ago and as much as he used to kick a few sausage rolls in his day he'd struggle to pull a few votes in 2006.

Aside from that Nesty the word out of my Wade Street spy is that your boys are going okay but apart from Bovalino (I think that's his name) they might lack a little bit in the hard ball gets department.
My spy reckons there's a few too many outside players at Square these days.

I'd love to get some unbiased thoughts about Square from some of you blokes.

Picklesmeoldmate
1 Mar 2006, 18:47
Okay my fellow friends of big footy, what are our thoughts on the lightning premiership that is coming up. how serious do we think clubs will take it?

Doona2
1 Mar 2006, 20:29
`

Where is Plim running around these days? One big unit T.Plim

Picklesmeoldmate
1 Mar 2006, 20:33
Where is Plim running around these days? One big unit T.Plim
I don't think he is playing anywhere doona old son. last i heard, he was involved in bodybuilding.

HJ32
1 Mar 2006, 20:44
patty o'furnicha: do you have an old mate posting on the north central page by the name of Kon Kreteshoes?:)

thumbs up for the user name

signing off.... plain old HJ32

Doona2
1 Mar 2006, 20:44
I don't think he is playing anywhere doona old son. last i heard, he was involved in bodybuilding.

Was it ever true or just exaggerated hype amongst rival clubs that he was on about $800 when at Elmore a few years ago?

inlimbo
1 Mar 2006, 20:46
Interested to hear if Chris Malone from Golden Square is a standout player in the BFL?

Saint
1 Mar 2006, 21:07
Kick it To Me/:
Your club has obviously had some bad recruits through in the last few years. It's up to the club to screen the recruits not only about their football, but their personality and values, to see if they'll fit into the club culture. Recruits can be the answer, but only if they fit in to the culture of the club, otherwise you can end up paying guys who are detrimental to the club.

Our club has several city guys come and play, and they train in the city together, so they know who is and isn't showing up, and when the club has functions, they're the first to put the majority of their pay packed back over the bar.

A club should always ensure that recruits will fit in, and then they can add a lot to the club both on and off the field.

Kick It To Me!!
1 Mar 2006, 21:18
Great call sainter,but in all seriousness ,what club would knock back a champ that will guarantee a flag?Even with the occasional indiscretion expected?

woody07
2 Mar 2006, 02:21
Kyneton gone before they started-Turmoil at the club, few recruits poor numbers at training and word has it a lot of them a jumping off the ship and joining neighbouring clubs in lesser leagues like Woodend in the R.D.F.L-Now we'll see if Nifty Nev is as good coach as he thinks he is!

spoke4923
2 Mar 2006, 07:54
Kyneton gone before they started-Turmoil at the club, few recruits poor numbers at training and word has it a lot of them a jumping off the ship and joining neighbouring clubs in lesser leagues like Woodend in the R.D.F.L-Now we'll see if Nifty Nev is as good coach as he thinks he is!

Good call Woody, is it just me or is Kyneton starting to have a Maryborough feel about it? Players leaving, no real recruits...I wonder if Kyneton will be the next Maryborough/Kangaroo Flat in the next couple of years...and if Nev will still be around.

max powers.
2 Mar 2006, 12:36
`Dillon Anderson has as much hope of winning the Michelsen as Danny Ellis'

Now if my memory serves me correctly I used to play against Danny Ellis years ago and as much as he used to kick a few sausage rolls in his day he'd struggle to pull a few votes in 2006.

Aside from that Nesty the word out of my Wade Street spy is that your boys are going okay but apart from Bovalino (I think that's his name) they might lack a little bit in the hard ball gets department.
My spy reckons there's a few too many outside players at Square these days.

I'd love to get some unbiased thoughts about Square from some of you blokes.

Gareeth what is your football background? Or do you just make up crap rumours like the Contessa one??? Who is Your "mate" at square?
Why don't you get an opinion of your own or isn't your football knowledge up to it?:cool:

Picklesmeoldmate
2 Mar 2006, 13:33
i notice the transfer list seems to have gone a bit quie the moment

The Nest
3 Mar 2006, 10:38
Geez you've given Wes Pye a bit of a rap there nesty!!! T Plim has been the premier ruckman in the district for the past decade.
As for Dillon Anderson he's been down for a few years through injury & form and i have no doubt he can return to the form which saw him make the VCFL squad in 2002. I think he's currently getting over a stress fracture in his foot.

As for Aaron Hawkins he had a steller 2005 and was a roughie for last years Michelson.....apparently he's been flying on the track and is looking forward to just enjoying his footy after having a stint as Ass Coach.....
Good bet.

Maybe I did exaggerate with the Pye man. He will be handy for Square though.

Keenan me old mate, Im not a Square follower, do think that they will go ok in 06 though. I think that the square boys have consistantly been the best drinkers and uncle Doug consumers in the league for some time now, if they can put it on the park i dont think it will matter how many skirts they have, they can still win it.

I'll go Square, Kain Robins double!

Picklesmeoldmate
3 Mar 2006, 11:29
Maybe I did exaggerate with the Pye man. He will be handy for Square though.

Keenan me old mate, Im not a Square follower, do think that they will go ok in 06 though. I think that the square boys have consistantly been the best drinkers and uncle Doug consumers in the league for some time now, if they can put it on the park i dont think it will matter how many skirts they have, they can still win it.

I'll go Square, Kain Robins double!
The Square-Robins double. I'm prepared to offer you $16 for that return. How do those odds grab you nesty. Do you want in?

HJ32
3 Mar 2006, 13:26
Here's how I see it:
Luke Beattie $4.80
Kain Robins $6
Phillip Lobb $8
Matt O'Toole $8.50
Mark Fitzgerald $12
Damien Brown $14
Marty Shadbolt $17

POSSIBLE LATE SCRATCHING!

Hold your bets Punters, my mail suggests that Fitzgerald might be heading to Elmore.......

Gareth Keenan
3 Mar 2006, 14:57
Gareeth what is your football background? Or do you just make up crap rumours like the Contessa one??? Who is Your "mate" at square?
Why don't you get an opinion of your own or isn't your football knowledge up to it?:cool:

Looks like I've struck a chord with you Maxy - are you one of the above mentioned outside players.

This forum is all about discussing footy and that's all I'm doing.
I've played footy in the BFL and even though I'm in Adelaide I still like to know how the comp is going - particularly Square.

One of my mates in Bendigo gives me some gossip about the league and Square but I find this forum gives me an unbiased look at the clubs.

If you don't like what I've written Maxy - stiff cheddar.

To everyone else - thanks for your input it's an entertaining forum.

Picklesmeoldmate
3 Mar 2006, 15:06
Looks like I've struck a chord with you Maxy - are you one of the above mentioned outside players.

This forum is all about discussing footy and that's all I'm doing.
I've played footy in the BFL and even though I'm in Adelaide I still like to know how the comp is going - particularly Square.

One of my mates in Bendigo gives me some gossip about the league and Square but I find this forum gives me an unbiased look at the clubs.

If you don't like what I've written Maxy - stiff cheddar.

To everyone else - thanks for your input it's an entertaining forum.
Looks like our friend Gareth has stirred a few people up here on this forum, most notably good old maxy powers.
Let's look at a market of who good old gareth will fire up next:
$3.30 Doona2
$6 Weapo
$8 Wobble
$12 Me
$16 Jock Clark 2
$22 HJ32
$26 Spoke 423
$35 On the Money
$44 Grimmet
$49 The Nest
$54 Tilt Carter
$60 Nuffy O'Dwyer (I reckon I know who this bloke is)
$65 South Hawk
$77 Woody 07
Speaking of markets, just a quick change of tact. Get on Doug Bromac at Harold Park tonight. race one, number eight. if anyone has some hot racing tips around the country, lets hear them on here as well.

Wayne Weideman
3 Mar 2006, 15:12
Looks like our friend Gareth has stirred a few people up here on this forum, most notably good old maxy powers.
$3.30 Doona2
$6 Weapo
$8 Wobble
$12 Me
$16 Jock Clark 2
$22 HJ32
$26 Spoke 423
$35 On the Money
$44 Grimmet
$49 The Nest
$54 Tilt Carter
$65 South Hawk
$77 Woody 07
Speaking of markets, just a quick change of tact. Get on Doug Bromac at Harold Park tonight. race one, number eight. if anyone has some hot racing tips around the country, lets hear them on here as well.

pickles lets not rule out myself the weed in these online betting schemes. everyone knows that i am as firey as the next person and i am comfortable with you having me at $15. i know i was recently given a set penalty suspension from this website a couple of weeks ago for a minor indiscretion but all i wish to say is don't rule out the "WEED" and $15 is a good bet. thank you all for your time.

Wayne Weideman
3 Mar 2006, 15:16
Any news on the Nick Knight of south bendigo trying his hand at horse racing??? heard a whisper of Jockey talk! 'onthemoney', your a betting man... any news?

haha young knighta had a minor altercation with a jockey last thursday night but i think he got out of that ok. according to OTM he was beaten by dirty fighter. a good old fashioned ankle biter.

Grimmett
3 Mar 2006, 15:25
$3.30 Doona2
$6 Weapo
$8 Wobble
$12 Me
$16 Jock Clark 2
$22 HJ32
$26 Spoke 423
$35 On the Money
$44 Grimmet
$49 The Nest
$54 Tilt Carter
$65 South Hawk
$77 Woody 07

44s for myself! Would have said I was way under the odds but ya never know. Gary might upset me at some stage.

On The Money
3 Mar 2006, 15:27
$3.30 Doona2
$6 Weapo
$8 Wobble
$12 Me
$16 Jock Clark 2
$22 HJ32
$26 Spoke 423
$35 On the Money
$44 Grimmet
$49 The Nest
$54 Tilt Carter
$65 South Hawk
$77 Woody 07

The only market you know pickles is when little piggy went to market......

Wayne Weideman
3 Mar 2006, 15:31

i'll second that

Rhan
3 Mar 2006, 15:31
Here's how I see it:
Luke Beattie $4.80
Kain Robins $6
Phillip Lobb $8
Matt O'Toole $8.50
Mark Fitzgerald $12
Damien Brown $14
Marty Shadbolt $17
Reed Wills $18
Matt Gretgrix $22
Luke Saunders $26
Matt Stagg $28
Wayne Eve $30
Wayne Mitrovic $32
Derrick Filo $33
Danny O'Bree $40
Darren Walsh $48
Matt Knox $52
Brett Cook $53
Nick Night $55
Brad Else $58
Stuart Crameri $65
Jake Matthews $66
Alexander Collins $67
Shane Davis $70
Brendan Fraser $70
Troy Auld $75
Darren Farrugia $80
Mark Austin $85

Pickles would you happen to be related to Beattie? coz I'm thinking someone may be playing favourites here

Wayne Weideman
3 Mar 2006, 15:34
Pickles would you happen to be related to Beattie? coz I'm thinking someone may be playing favourites here

i have actually seen a little bit of south's training at the harry trott oval and i reckon beatties skills are lacking a little. someone justs needs to say to him "beats it'll come mate, it'll come"

Picklesmeoldmate
3 Mar 2006, 15:36
Massive oversight by me leaving the weed off the market. happy to put him in at $15. I have the ugliest man in football also in at the short odds of $2.70 to be the next forumer suspended because i don't believe he has learned his lessons yet. OTM, if you continue posts like that, i will have no choice but to report you. now pull your head in. your at odds of $3 to be the first to feel my fists of fury. any takers on david bromac yet at harold park tonight.

ilovetogetblind
3 Mar 2006, 15:36
haha young knighta had a minor altercation with a jockey last thursday night but i think he got out of that ok. according to OTM he was beaten by dirty fighter. a good old fashioned ankle biter.

wouldn't take any more than a jokey (females included) to beat up knighta.... hehe

Picklesmeoldmate
3 Mar 2006, 15:37
Massive oversight by me leaving the weed off the market. happy to put him in at $15. I have the ugliest man in football also in at the short odds of $2.70 to be the next forumer suspended because i don't believe he has learned his lessons yet. OTM, if you continue posts like that, i will have no choice but to report you. now pull your head in. your at odds of $3 to be the first to feel my fists of fury. any takers on david bromac yet at harold park tonight.

Picklesmeoldmate
3 Mar 2006, 15:39
Rhan my friend, never met beattie in my life. tell my why it's playing favourites having him first on the market. i think you will find a lot of people would take those odds i have out there

On The Money
3 Mar 2006, 15:45

Yer run into young Knighta the other day and his altercation with the jockey has knocked him a bit but he still has the girl!!

Rhan
3 Mar 2006, 16:35
Rhan my friend, never met beattie in my life. tell my why it's playing favourites having him first on the market. i think you will find a lot of people would take those odds i have out there

Jus thought you were rating him a bit high. And considering no one ever really talks about him I thought this was strange to have him so high. How old is he?

caveman
3 Mar 2006, 16:41
Have just updated the website with the new logo for North City. Would also like some feedback of the new design of the website.

Feel free to join the forum dedicated exclusively to Bendigo Footy!

spoke4923
3 Mar 2006, 18:40
$3.30 Doona2
$6 Weapo
$8 Wobble
$12 Me
$16 Jock Clark 2
$22 HJ32
$26 Spoke 423
$35 On the Money
$44 Grimmet
$49 The Nest
$54 Tilt Carter
$65 South Hawk
$77 Woody 07

I'll have 20 on myself firing up at yourself old mate. Clearly there's a 9 missing from the above market and i can only see it as being made out of a lack of respect. By the way Blizzardly tomorrow in the 1st at caulfield. Peace out.

spoke4923
3 Mar 2006, 18:49
What's this I read about Mark Fitzgerald going to Elmore? This could throw my multiples into disarray! Also, man that lives under rock, did you have any solutions to getting onto your bendigofooty.tk site? It's still coming up blank on my computer. Something to do with the Norton software?

Wayne Weideman
4 Mar 2006, 13:09
just a little bit of news coming out of the rumour mill for the B.F.L is that brendan jennings has declared that he has the body of the B.F.L for season 06' and would like to be centre fold for the much anticipated men for all season calendar for the B.F.L which also features a famous B.F.L supporter for november, that being Claude.

caveman
4 Mar 2006, 14:18
Also, man that lives under rock, did you have any solutions to getting onto your bendigofooty.tk site? It's still coming up blank on my computer. Something to do with the Norton software?

Gday mate,

I am still awaiting a response but can you tell me what is the exact name of your nortons product and year. Thanks mate. :thumbsu:

caveman
4 Mar 2006, 14:27
Spoke I also found this while trying to solve your problem.

You have to let Nortons Internet Security allow pop-ups for the bendigo footy site, to do this for NIS 2006 you need to follow these instructions....
1) Open Norton Internet Security
2) Click on "Privacy Control"
3) Click the Configure button
4) Click the "Advanced" button
5) Click "Add Site"
6) Type in "www.bendigofooty.tk". (bendigofooty.tk should now appear in the list of sites on the left hand panel)

7) click on "bendigofooty.tk"
8) click on the "User Settings" tab
9) remove the tick in "Use ad blocking settings"
10) select "Permit"
11) click OK.

You also need to allow pop ups for bendigofooty.tk in your browser as well.

Good Luck! :thumbsu:

spoke4923
4 Mar 2006, 15:30
Spoke I also found this while trying to solve your problem.

You have to let Nortons Internet Security allow pop-ups for the bendigo footy site, to do this for NIS 2006 you need to follow these instructions....
1) Open Norton Internet Security
2) Click on "Privacy Control"
3) Click the Configure button
4) Click the "Advanced" button
5) Click "Add Site"
6) Type in "www.bendigofooty.tk". (bendigofooty.tk should now appear in the list of sites on the left hand panel)

7) click on "bendigofooty.tk"
8) click on the "User Settings" tab
9) remove the tick in "Use ad blocking settings"
10) select "Permit"
11) click OK.

You also need to allow pop ups for bendigofooty.tk in your browser as well.

Good Luck! :thumbsu:
Great work caveman, i got on to the site today. Cheers for all your help mate and kudos on the website.

caveman
4 Mar 2006, 15:40
Great work caveman, i got on to the site today. Cheers for all your help mate and kudos on the website.

Thanks mate. I expect to see you as an active contributor to the bendigofooty.tk forum! :thumbsu:

Jock Clark 2
5 Mar 2006, 15:55
Makes sense the Mark Fitzgerald-Elmore possibility.
B4 he went to WA for a year, Fitzy used to be head barman or similar at the refurbished Bridge Hotel in Bendigo (wot used to be the Waterloo, just down from the Sports Centre).
Guess who was the front man for the syndicate which ran the upmarket new boozer.
Yep, Bluey Southcombe -- Elmore's 2006 coach -- that's who !!

Weapo
6 Mar 2006, 11:35
Rhan i think just by looking at Beattie that he could be 30 odd? Been around a while.

spoke4923
6 Mar 2006, 14:44
Rhan i think just by looking at Beattie that he could be 30 odd? Been around a while.
Reasonably sure he's 28

Weapo
6 Mar 2006, 14:50
Reasonably sure he's 28

IS HE REALLY? He sure looks more mature than 28. Then again there are some players in the league that woulod get away with saying that they are a lot older than they are: Aaron Hawkins, John Hardinge... Who else out there is there that look a LOT older than they are?

The Nest
6 Mar 2006, 15:13
Aaron Hawkins does look a lot older than he actually is. I heard that he was going to play for Cohuna with the Anderson boys in the CMFL....

Con Kreteshoez
6 Mar 2006, 15:31
the new recruit for south Nick knight has been seen lurking near stables out at the Bendigo Racetrack. Maybe young Knight wants to get his own back and serve up some of his renowned pusishment hes set to deliver on the field this year a bit early. Moves include a explosive left hook that he mastered from ROCKY on the PS2.

Mountain_Boy
7 Mar 2006, 08:32
I always thought ex-Eaglehawkian Kurt McGlynn looked older then he was. Luke Beattie is definitely a good one. But we all seem to have forgotten the coach, the best Youngy-looking-Oldie, Mr South………………Mr Danny O’Bree.

Poor O’Bree is 24yrs old (I think) and the poor bloke looks like he’s 31 and should be married with kids. Do we think O’Bree maybe should follow in his twin Brent Guerra’s footsteps and do the Tony Lockett and go to ‘Advanced Hair..yeh yeh’?

Danny O’Bree is definitely the BFL’s best Man-Child

Picklesmeoldmate
7 Mar 2006, 08:47
I always thought ex-Eaglehawkian Kurt McGlynn looked older then he was. Luke Beattie is definitely a good one. But we all seem to have forgotten the coach, the best Youngy-looking-Oldie, Mr South………………Mr Danny O’Bree.

Poor O’Bree is 24yrs old (I think) and the poor bloke looks like he’s 31 and should be married with kids. Do we think O’Bree maybe should follow in his twin Brent Guerra’s footsteps and do the Tony Lockett and go to ‘Advanced Hair..yeh yeh’?

Danny O’Bree is definitely the BFL’s best Man-Child
Couldn't agree more my fellow friend he resides in the mountains.

Delray
7 Mar 2006, 10:47
the new recruit for south Nick knight has been seen lurking near stables out at the Bendigo Racetrack. Maybe young Knight wants to get his own back and serve up some of his renowned pusishment hes set to deliver on the field this year a bit early. Moves include a explosive left hook that he mastered from ROCKY on the PS2.

how are south looking for 06. is it true that dawson is called the king cus he is good at footy?? or is it for the other reason?? who is training the house down at south??

wobble
7 Mar 2006, 11:04
Is this what this website has reverted to?

Gutless ordinary footballers hiding behind alias names intent on bagging people. Footballers of the calibre of Danny O'Bree shouldn't be subjected to this crap.

If you want to have a crack at someone Mountain Boy at least have the guts to use your real name!

Because I'd be willing to be bet my balls you wouldn't blow wind up O'Bree as a footballer and that is what this website is about - Football!!

Your mate Gareth Keenan isn't much better!

Picklesmeoldmate
7 Mar 2006, 11:48
I believe south bendigo is shaping up really well this season with the recruiting they have been able to do. danny o'bree obviously has some good connections through country football. bloods will definitely finish top 3 this year. here's a little market i have developed for the bloods:
premiership $9
making the top five $2.15
wooden spoon $657
any takers punters

Picklesmeoldmate
7 Mar 2006, 12:05
might shorten those odds for the top five for south to 1.85

Mountain_Boy
7 Mar 2006, 12:19
Is this what this website has reverted to?

Gutless ordinary footballers hiding behind alias names intent on bagging people. Footballers of the calibre of Danny O'Bree shouldn't be subjected to this crap.

If you want to have a crack at someone Mountain Boy at least have the guts to use your real name!

Because I'd be willing to be bet my balls you wouldn't blow wind up O'Bree as a footballer and that is what this website is about - Football!!

Your mate Gareth Keenan isn't much better!

Settle down love. O'Bree is an awesome footy player, definitely, but so's Fraser Gehrig and he'd cop sh*t everyday.

O'Bree or any other local footballers will never read the crap we write on here so just feel sorry for Fraser Gehrig.

What the hells a Gareth Keenan??

Travvy43
7 Mar 2006, 12:57
What the general feel on how gisborne will go this year??

south_hawk
7 Mar 2006, 13:21
Wobble do you know Breeza or are you just a fan? I don't think Danny would really care.
I think the general look on Gissy is that they'll be one of the top teams as usual but will be given a run for their money. In my opinion Matty Fitz will be great for the club and don't think Gissy are done recruiting yet, I know a few young fellas they're about to pick up.

Picklesmeoldmate
7 Mar 2006, 13:25
I think most bfl followers would agree gisborne is shaping up well this year. obviously losing j barham will hurt, but gisborne is a good side. Gisborne to start flag favourites for me.
Here is my market on them.
Premiership $2.20
Top Five $1.15
wooden spoon $22,000
did anyone get on doug bromac at harold park the other night. got into a bit of trouble going around the corner into the home stretch, which just saw it get pipped at the post.
how do we think the afl game is going to go in bendigo this friday night. essendon versus hawthorn. should be a good game.
i have Essendon at $1.95 for the game, the Hawks at $2.20.
for the wooden spoon, carlton at $1.04

Travvy43
7 Mar 2006, 13:27
I think most bfl followers would agree gisborne is shaping up well this year. obviously losing j barham will hurt, but gisborne is a good side. Gisborne to start flag favourites for me.

Appreciate the info boys, Sunshine in the WRFL are playing them tom night in a praccy match at whitten oval.

Where did this J Barham go to??

Travvy43
7 Mar 2006, 13:28
sorry, also does Ty elliot still play for gisborne, did he last year, if not, anyone know where he ended up??

How was his form also while he played with them?

south_hawk
7 Mar 2006, 13:42
Here is my market on them.
Premiership $2.20
Top Five $1.15
wooden spoon $22,000
did anyone get on doug bromac at harold park the other night. got into a bit of trouble going around the corner into the home stretch, which just saw it get pipped at the post.
how do we think the afl game is going to go in bendigo this friday night. essendon versus hawthorn. should be a good game.
i have Essendon at $1.95 for the game, the Hawks at $2.20.
for the wooden spoon, carlton at $1.04

The Dons Hawks game should be good, club says Crawf is a 50/50 chance, I'd say thats probably not. But should be a good game, Hawks should get up and hopefully I'll be getting along to watch them, just don't want to go if its gonna be packed and think it probably will. Anyone on here going?

Thanks for your continuous online odds for us Pickles, your a gun.

Jock Clark 2
7 Mar 2006, 16:14
Jordan Barham is a 6 ft 5 CHF, Travvy. Can also ruck a bit. Gone to VFL club Werribee for 06.
J. Barham is bro. of senior coach Marcus Barham who took over from Mick McGuane at Gisborne for the 2005 season .... and of course Gissy won the flag last Sept.
Ty Elliott is a pacy wingman. Won the Nalder Medal as BOG in the grand final last season so he goes alright. And I understand he's committed to 1 more year at Gis.
Dave Power has his clearance application in to come back to Gis. from EDFL, so he will help strengthen the backline.

Picklesmeoldmate
7 Mar 2006, 16:17
The Dons Hawks game should be good, club says Crawf is a 50/50 chance, I'd say thats probably not. But should be a good game, Hawks should get up and hopefully I'll be getting along to watch them, just don't want to go if its gonna be packed and think it probably will. Anyone on here going?

Thanks for your continuous online odds for us Pickles, your a gun.
Jordan Barham went to werribee in the vfl to play under the axe - simon atkins. Ty Elliott is playing on for another season. There is a chance he was going to pull up stumps after last year's grand final win.
Classy player who moves so well and is a good disposal.
I will be going along to the game on friday night for a look at the two sides. pity its not the mighty fremantle dockers playing, but we're still on the big stage in the nab cup against geelong on friday night.
here is my market for this week's games if anyone wants a nibble on "Punt with the Pickle''.
Adelaide v Melbourne
Adelaide - $1.90
Melbourne - $2.30
Geelong v Fremantle
Geelong - $1.80
Fremantle - $3.20
And my odds for the cup are:
Geelong - $2.40
Adelaide $2.70
Melbourne $3.20
Fremantle $4.80

Picklesmeoldmate
7 Mar 2006, 16:19
Jock Clark 2 my old sparring partner. How do you see the season shaping up at the moment. There isn't too long to go now. You seem to have been around the league for a while and have some good knowledge on how things are going

Picklesmeoldmate
7 Mar 2006, 16:23
anyone interested in taking part in a bfl tipping comp this year. i'm sure we may be arrange something. a tipping comp would be something added to this growing forum, that is attracting new posters all the time, like good old mountain boy and our former footscray forward in delray (i know his last name was del-re)

Jock Clark 2
7 Mar 2006, 16:33
:thumbsu: WE'VE got the same Final 5, Pickles .... Gisborne/South Bgo/Square/Eaglehawkees/Hurst. But Hurst to be less potent up forward if Mark Fitzgerald decides to join his old Bridge Hotel boss "Blue" Southcombe and play for Elmore in the H'cote League.
North City to finish just outside the Top 5. Castlemaine to finish 7th, then Kyneton, Maryboro and the Flat.
Reaper to play a handful of games for Kyneton after his VCFL inter-league commitments in May and early June have been concluded ... but then to miss another couple when the VCFL v Vic. Amateurs match rolls around (the lead-up and maybe the week straight after).
Maine to fight hard to retain Leigh Rees and South to get involved in some huge raffle selling and other fundraising ventures to pay for what looks like being a virtually brand new side !

Picklesmeoldmate
7 Mar 2006, 17:01
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: WE'VE got the same Final 5, Pickles .... Gisborne/South Bgo/Square/Eaglehawkees/Hurst. But Hurst to be less potent up forward if Mark Fitzgerald decides to join his old Bridge Hotel boss "Blue" Southcombe and play for Elmore in the H'cote League.
North City to finish just outside the Top 5. Castlemaine to finish 7th, then Kyneton, Maryboro and the Flat.
Reaper to play a handful of games for Kyneton after his VCFL inter-league commitments in May and early June have been concluded ... but then to miss another couple when the VCFL v Vic. Amateurs match rolls around (the lead-up and maybe the week straight after).
Maine to fight hard to retain Leigh Rees and South to get involved in some huge raffle selling and other fundraising ventures to pay for what looks like being a virtually brand new side !
:thumbsu: You make some valid points there jock _ do you mind if i call you strap. although i have eaglehawk finishing above golden square in third position. think fifth spot will be fought out between sandhurst and north city. and you never know what north city will be like do you. if reaper plays a few games, it certainly increases kyneton's chances of tasting a couple of victories this season. Gisborne to start favourite though without question, while the flat would be the favourite to take the spoon, like you say strap.

Rhan
7 Mar 2006, 17:32
News is that Kyneton's gonna struggle to field a 2 sides. They've only had 14 for under 18's training

spoke4923
7 Mar 2006, 17:48
News is that Kyneton's gonna struggle to field a 2 sides. They've only had 14 for under 18's training

I heard the senior squad has been training with less than 20! Plenty of clearances from Kyneton seem to be going in to the league. I wouldn't mind a wager on them for this year's spoon. Pickles, you seem like the man to talk to about that one. what would a Kyneton spoon-wobble to end up in an anger management course double get me?

Picklesmeoldmate
8 Mar 2006, 08:34
I heard the senior squad has been training with less than 20! Plenty of clearances from Kyneton seem to be going in to the league. I wouldn't mind a wager on them for this year's spoon. Pickles, you seem like the man to talk to about that one. what would a Kyneton spoon-wobble to end up in an anger management course double get me?
Spoker, that double might be surprisingly short. wobble did tee off the other day didn't he, and from the outside, there are a lot of players leaving kyneton isn't there. The odds for that double with Punt with the Pickle are $4.20. You interested?

Picklesmeoldmate
8 Mar 2006, 09:23
what do we think of the prize money up for grabs in the lightning premiership. do we think the $2000 up for grabs for the winner will be a bit of extra incentive for the teams to perhaps field stronger sides for it.

Weapo
8 Mar 2006, 09:47
what do we think of the prize money up for grabs in the lightning premiership. do we think the $2000 up for grabs for the winner will be a bit of extra incentive for the teams to perhaps field stronger sides for it.

'Punt with the Pickle' sounds like a good thread to start? Do you do anything else in your life Pickles? I'm not complaining at all, just seem to have a lot of time my knowledgable friend!!

wobble
8 Mar 2006, 10:34
Apologies to all for my outburst directed at Mountain Boy the other day.

I just felt we were getting away from the football related discussions by continually referring to individuals looks etc rather than their football ability.

Hey Travvy43, can you confirm Gisborne are playing Sunshine tonight @ Whitten Oval and if so what time?

Picklesmeoldmate
8 Mar 2006, 13:35
Apologies to all for my outburst directed at Mountain Boy the other day.

I just felt we were getting away from the football related discussions by continually referring to individuals looks etc rather than their football ability.

Hey Travvy43, can you confirm Gisborne are playing Sunshine tonight @ Whitten Oval and if so what time?
To the man who calls himself wobble. You are forgiven for your outburst at the man who lives on a mountain. Weapo my good friend, i do do something away from posting odds, how about you. what do you do when you're not enjoying the wonders of big footy

Weapo
8 Mar 2006, 13:39
To the man who calls himself wobble. You are forgiven for your outburst at the man who lives on a mountain. Weapo my good friend, i do do something away from posting odds, how about you. what do you do when you're not enjoying the wonders of big footy

Look at my emails and then quickly return for an updated episode of Big Footy!

Rhan
8 Mar 2006, 14:59
Sounds like an intersting & enjoyable life you have there dear Weapo