View Full Version : What's happening in the Bendigo Football League
davis 24
5 May 2007, 21:13
The best players on the BFL website for the Gisborne v Castlemaine have been entered the wrong way round (both teams).
Luke Saunders best on by a mile followed by J.Duff-Tytler (b birmingham please take note).
Not a bad unit Castlemaine, had a real crack all day .
same as kyneton maryborough
Trent the flight Steward
6 May 2007, 00:27
bak to the drawing board bloods boys
only booted a handful of goals and hurst smashed ur lot
ruedin kicked half a doz. snag rolls 4 the dragons
kyneton boys might not be as good as tipped earlier on
maryboro won at p park and if tiges going to be any good would have to win that one
maine very competitive against gissie
two blueboys smashed flat at canterbury park
Why was nev clark in the seconds?
looks like prickles could be a challenger for the both the michelson and ron best and kyneton would be bitterly disapointed with their performance
Kings Army
6 May 2007, 10:46
All the chat and hype for the Flat and Kyneton went down the drain yesterday. Another long season coming up and if it was not for North City these two would be fighting it out for the spoon.
All the chat and hype for the Flat and Kyneton went down the drain yesterday. Another long season coming up and if it was not for North City these two would be fighting it out for the spoon.they are the 2 clubs spending the most money on players as well i'd say.
massina cannot coach !
Kings Army
6 May 2007, 12:35
they are the 2 clubs spending the most money on players as well i'd say.
massina cannot coach !
Spot on. Have been saying it for a while now. Surley the Kyneton people can take the rose colour glasses off and see that Massina is a cat.
bearsboy
6 May 2007, 15:41
Why was nev clark in the seconds?
looks like prickles could be a challenger for the both the michelson and ron best and kyneton would be bitterly disapointed with their performanceMartin spent time in the middle, but was very dangerous when he went forward kicking 6 i think . Peake was Castlemaines best, very slippery customer .
I cant believe Jardine was in their best, Saunders clearly had the better of that contest and ended up with 4 goals .
HankBolger
6 May 2007, 16:44
kyneton 16s are the best side since forever.
that midfeild group is unstoppable.
max powers.
7 May 2007, 13:53
kyneton 16s are the best side since forever.
that midfeild group is unstoppable.
Great news Hank!!!
Now time to get back to your homework....
PINNACLE HEALTH
7 May 2007, 15:22
I see sportsbet are taking bets for the BFL premiership, has anyone put any money on anyone?
Sandhurst's odds would've shorted from the weekends win i'd imagine.
matt_nicholls
7 May 2007, 15:29
I see sportsbet are taking bets for the BFL premiership, has anyone put any money on anyone?
Sandhurst's odds would've shorted from the weekends win i'd imagine.
I had $50 on Gisborne with a Sandhurst bloke who gave me 4-1. Better than Sportsbets $2.20
fifth quarter
7 May 2007, 15:43
bloke from eaglehawk had the maximum available at 7-1 on the 2 Blues for the flag last friday
after sat's big win with dad and son filo playing looks an OK bet
did u know sportsbet.com have limited the total any one person can win to 2 grand
square looked fair enough yesterday with new ass. coach adamson handy up forward coach joffa only played in patches --- on and off the pine
tooley's bro. lachlan looked a very likely type and big dahl-ey conrolled the ruck as you would expect against the northies
BillyBobby
7 May 2007, 18:31
Spot on. Have been saying it for a while now. Surley the Kyneton people can take the rose colour glasses off and see that Massina is a cat.
The Kyneton boys thought you were in for an easy win coming to the park, the went away with 0 wins for the day..... oh hang on they did have a win... Nev Massina won the Maryborough Netball raffel - $200 of beauty work products.....hahaha!
bearsboy
7 May 2007, 19:08
The best players on the BFL website for the Gisborne v Castlemaine have been entered the wrong way round (both teams)
This has now been corrected (Gisbornes anyway)
pentium1111
7 May 2007, 21:52
Saw the Kyneton game on the weekend boys. It was an arm wrestle all day and I thoiught Kyneton would take it out after half time but Maryborough just didn't give up. Bond at 40 years of age or thereabouts continually picked of long bombs into the forward line of the Tigers. Kyneton have good forwards they just need to spot them up not bomb into them. Unless you mark like Luke Saunders, your not going take take enough pack marks in a game to get you a winning score. Just my opinion.
bearsboy
8 May 2007, 09:13
Saw the Kyneton game on the weekend boys. It was an arm wrestle all day and I thoiught Kyneton would take it out after half time but Maryborough just didn't give up. Bond at 40 years of age or thereabouts continually picked of long bombs into the forward line of the Tigers. Kyneton have good forwards they just need to spot them up not bomb into them. Unless you mark like Luke Saunders, your not going take take enough pack marks in a game to get you a winning score. Just my opinion.Bond is the master of that, i remember a few years ago against Gisborne he took something like 28 marks for the day doing the same thing.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
8 May 2007, 10:46
Watched Sandhurst V South on Saturday 5 May @ the QEO - all that money the Bloods are throwing around to recruit quality players was to no avail. Sandhurst on the other hand.... common knowledge that they don't pay big money and yet put on an awesome display for such a young side.
On Sunday 6 May @ Canterbury Park, watched GSquare v North City.
Was an arm wrestle early on and thought North had improved a lot.... then at half time, one of the North Committee members told me they had over 20 of their senior list out with injury or were unavailable. Suddenly the 80-odd point win by Square look spectacularly unimpressive and unconvincing.
FencePainter
8 May 2007, 13:13
Watched Sandhurst V South on Saturday 5 May @ the QEO - all that money the Bloods are throwing around to recruit quality players was to no avail. Sandhurst on the other hand.... common knowledge that they don't pay big money and yet put on an awesome display for such a young side.
On Sunday 6 May @ Canterbury Park, watched GSquare v North City.
Was an arm wrestle early on and thought North had improved a lot.... then at half time, one of the North Committee members told me they had over 20 of their senior list out with injury or were unavailable. Suddenly the 80-odd point win by Square look spectacularly unimpressive and unconvincing.
The Northies story re their list is becoming a broken record...they've been in the BFL for over 12 months now and have had approx. 16-20 players unavailable every week!!!
PINNACLE HEALTH
8 May 2007, 14:21
This weeks games-
E/Hawke v C/Maine- E/Hawke should be too strong at home especially with their prominant forward line. If C/Maine are going to be finalists this year they'll need to win most of their home games and be very competitive playing away. It could be a battle for most of the game with E/Hawke to strong in the end winning by 3-4 goals or if E/Hawkes forward line is on song it could be a blowout. Big test for C/Maines backline cos thats where the game will be won or lost.
Kyneton v K/Flat- If Kyneton are finish anywhere near the top five this is a game they should win comfortably but on the other hand if K/Flat have improved on last years results this is a game they could win or atleast get close.
Gisbourne v Nth/City- Going by Nth/City's last two game losses Gisbourne would be dissappointed if they did'nt kick atleast 20 goals and it would'nt be a big suprise if they registered 30 goals. I have a funny feeling Saunders might kick a dozen in this game.
Sth Bendigo v M//Burra- I'm sure Sth will bounce back and have a convincing win but winning form is good form and M/Burra might take some beating. Could be a danger game for Sth as they might not know what to expect.
G/Square v S/Hurst- This is one of those games where no one would be suprised on who wins and i don't think the losing team will be to devasted in the loss concidering the opposition unless it's a blow out ofcourse. If the games played at G/Square then Square would have to start favourites but if it's changed to a nuetral venue then it brings it back to evens. S/Hurst having that extra game under their belt could be an advantage also. Should be a cracker.
Jock Clark 2
8 May 2007, 14:37
NOW here's a new one, as far as posters go, boys.
We've headed away from nom-de-plumes beginning with "The" --- as in The Talking Goat, The Tibbinator, The Wombat, The Sloth. Mind you, they could all be one and the same person !!
Think on that one.
:cool: Now we have Dr Kenneth Noisewater. No "The" in that tagline.:cool:
As for Rd. 2: if Kyneton's going to be any good, surely they'd beat Rombotis' Flatty side; Eaglehawk to down the Maine even if Conn and Aldridge come back in for the Maggies; South to recover some form and edge out Maryboro; Gisborne to belt North City (North's 'outs' last Sunday included Paul McMahon, Aiden Kickett. Ben Beaston, Ryan Luke, Matthew Doyle and Billy Barnes so they had some handy ones out; and Hurst to beat Square. Doesn't matter whether they play at Backhaus Oval or C'bury Park, Hurst to win,.
Norfolk & Clew
8 May 2007, 15:32
If Hurst beat square I will not post on the Bgo footy League thread for a week
More Than a Game
8 May 2007, 16:21
The Northies story re their list is becoming a broken record...they've been in the BFL for over 12 months now and have had approx. 16-20 players unavailable every week!!!
FencePainter, I sense an allegiance to the Blue and Gold in your comments there!
Hi lad's,
Can anybody tell me if Nev Clark is injuried or is lacking form due to his stint on the midday show last Saturday.
Truth Hurts
9 May 2007, 09:27
Hi lad's,
Can anybody tell me if Nev Clark is injuried or is lacking form due to his stint on the midday show last Saturday.
He had an op on his lower back in december and didn't play the practice matches so he was having a run in the twos. Should be right to go this week i would think.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
9 May 2007, 10:25
Fence-painter - If what you say is true about the Northies injuries becoming a "broken-record", then that reflects even more poorly on Square's performance last Sunday. The bulldogs looked slow and top-heavy. Too many key position players for my liking.
E/Hawke v C/Maine- Eaglehawk, but will be pushed all the way by the Pies and would not be surprised if Cmaine come away with a win
Kyneton v K/Flat- Ty Zantuck should be in the middle, he did a pre season with Carlton, so why waste him at FF when the supply is limited?? Kyneton to win
Gisbourne v Nth/City- too obvious to comment.
SthBen v MaryB- South to win, need to redeem themselves. They were too cocky last week and dropped their heads as soon as things didn't go their way.
G/Square v S/Hurst- Hmmm... close one... flip a coin - the Dragons to win by 2 goals
The Talking Goat
9 May 2007, 12:06
[quote=Jock Clark 2;7471023]NOW here's a new one, as far as posters go, boys.
We've headed away from nom-de-plumes beginning with "The" --- as in The Talking Goat, The Tibbinator, The Wombat, The Sloth. Mind you, they could all be one and the same person !!
Think on that one.
Wouldn't have thought so Jock, although i have said i enjoy reading the tibbinator's work.
Old School Biff
9 May 2007, 15:33
Bond is the master of that, i remember a few years ago against Gisborne he took something like 28 marks for the day doing the same thing.
Bond being Jamie Bond? I didn't know he had returned to Borough. In that case, I will give them a way better chance of improving on last years performance.
The guy is close to the best country footballer I have ever seen. Best CHF by a mile.
:thumbsu: To Borough. Hopefully they can turn their last few years around and do it without the 'help' of an overpaid over rated coach.
Bond being Jamie Bond? I didn't know he had returned to Borough. In that case, I will give them a way better chance of improving on last years performance.
The guy is close to the best country footballer I have ever seen. Best CHF by a mile.
:thumbsu: To Borough. Hopefully they can turn their last few years around and do it without the 'help' of an overpaid over rated coach.there is some good positive stuff on this thread at the moment which is good for a change . but i cant help but comment about nev massina i have never ever heard of a coach with such a bad reputation as this fella .continues to throw around big bucks for little results !
BillyBobby
10 May 2007, 00:11
there is some good positive stuff on this thread at the moment which is good for a change . but i cant help but comment about nev massina i have never ever heard of a coach with such a bad reputation as this fella .continues to throw around big bucks for little results !
There's a lot of negative stuff that gets said about Nev, he an alright bloke but he comes to clubs and brings these so called big stars and throws huge cash at them.
He hasn't won a flag in 8 years at the moment but clubs still want him to come coach? why is that?
The fatman
10 May 2007, 04:40
There's a lot of negative stuff that gets said about Nev, he an alright bloke but he comes to clubs and brings these so called big stars and throws huge cash at them.
He hasn't won a flag in 8 years at the moment but clubs still want him to come coach? why is that?
BillyBobby having played under nev years ago and being around kyneton i can say why people want him is the amount of players he s prepared to talk to and what he offers to them. (ie employment accomidation and other oppurtinities) No doubt he offers money but i would say at the moment the spending that kynetons doing. would not be in the highest bracket in the league. kyneton having had the same treasurer for nearly 25 years i think she would have a very good idea what funds are available.
There are people who will dislike some and others that like you. Its all apart of the job. The more your been around the more people hope you fail thats at all levels. I haven't agreed with everything he s done or said but i have seen other good things he s done.
Its a long season 18 weeks straight if we do get plenty of rain. some of the bendigo grounds will go to shit you would think and it might be like the old days at the showgrounds and the side that wants it most will win not just on skill.
One thing about nev is he not scared to get on the phone.
pentium1111
10 May 2007, 15:17
Bond played a typical Bond game and racked them up. Kyneton just kept coughing it iup to him, although I think most sides do when he is playing around CHB. The blokes a magnet. Kyneton would possibly have the match of their season this week against the Flat. If they can't account for them it will be a long, long year. Should have a few boys back T.Williams, Reaper, G.Chambers which will help, all big bodies.
Looking at Gisborne and North I know its only round 2 but would you consider resting the likes of Saunders, M.Fitzgerald, Olly and Big Duff just to cut back on the amount of games they play in a row. I reckon if it were Rd 6 they deffinately would, and it makes sense. Injuries this year will cost a least one side their finals chance, with no weeks off during the year to sort out niggles.
The Hawk 7
10 May 2007, 16:12
This has now been corrected (Gisbornes anyway)
Did Anthony Belcher Play?
How did he go?
Now that Duff Tytler's back and Macca, where is his best position?
zakster
10 May 2007, 16:39
any of u guys hear last nite's radio show darties got stuck into the flat and said the 2 zantucks would be pulling the pin soon
he had it on good authority the flat skipper and ty z. had a big verbal go in the rooms after the saturday game darty said, when harrington told zy he should kick for goal more deliberately or something
anyway after the little radio serve onto the line comes flat coach rombotis he was ringing in from melb. after someone phoned him to tell of the serve
romby said it was rubbish the zantucks were pulling the pin altho he did say trent zantuck would NOT be available for the round 4 game against square and the round 5 game against gizzy
to give romby credit he did say on radio back in march trent z. would miss a few games in 06 becoz of his clothing garment label business in melb.
BackPocketBattler
10 May 2007, 18:40
any of u guys hear last nite's radio show darties got stuck into the flat and said the 2 zantucks would be pulling the pin soon
he had it on good authority the flat skipper and ty z. had a big verbal go in the rooms after the saturday game darty said, when harrington told zy he should kick for goal more deliberately or something
anyway after the little radio serve onto the line comes flat coach rombotis he was ringing in from melb. after someone phoned him to tell of the serve
romby said it was rubbish the zantucks were pulling the pin altho he did say trent zantuck would NOT be available for the round 4 game against square and the round 5 game against gizzy
to give romby credit he did say on radio back in march trent z. would miss a few games in 06 becoz of his clothing garment label business in melb.
Watching the game vs the Hawks on the weekend just gone, Ty certainly looked as if he did not want to be there. I was speaking with one of the Burra's water runners after the game who said on several occasions Ty was openly and loudly "paying out" on teammates. Though he may want to exit, he may not have a choice in whether he stays or leaves. Word is there is something keeping him there.. Tibbinator, I'm sure you've heard the rumours..?
He had an op on his lower back in december and didn't play the practice matches so he was having a run in the twos. Should be right to go this week i would think.
Cheers mate.
KingRich
11 May 2007, 00:48
You love lighting flames Zakster! I reckon you have no idea!!! In saying that..... I'm sure Zantuck was fully aware of the quality of side he was walking into before he signed up so I cant see the problem!
Kings Army
11 May 2007, 12:31
Odds for round 2
Kyneton $1.30
Flat $3.50
South $1.10
Mary $4.30
Square $1.70
Sandhurst $2.10
Gis $1.01
City $10.00
Eaglehawk $1.20
Castlemaine $3.90
Match of the round will be very close with Square just for mine. All the favs fairly easily.
The sloth
11 May 2007, 17:25
Odds for round 2
Kyneton $1.30
Flat $3.50
South $1.10
Mary $4.30
Square $1.70
Sandhurst $2.10
Gis $1.01
City $10.00
Eaglehawk $1.20
Castlemaine $3.90
Match of the round will be very close with Square just for mine. All the favs fairly easily.
Gee whiz KA i'd almost take $100 on the main.
Young side with heaps of run. I rate them as the sleepers of the comp.
As for the brough, Dex gave the boys a large spray after the flat game so he would be expecting a good win this week.
bearsboy
11 May 2007, 18:07
Good effort from the boys at the Addy today, naming their top 20 players in the BFL . Dont think you'd get to many arguments with that list .
Great to see L.Saunders continues his reign as the number 1 player in the comp
More Than a Game
11 May 2007, 18:46
Good effort from the boys at the Addy today, naming their top 20 players in the BFL . Dont think you'd get to many arguments with that list .
Great to see L.Saunders continues his reign as the number 1 player in the comp
can ya post them up here please Bearsboy?? for those of us in a land far,far away but interested in the BFL it would be great to see who they have put in their top 20. cheers!
pentium1111
11 May 2007, 18:55
Yeah Bears, I wouldn't mind having a squiz myself. Would have to say pretty obvious choice for No.1 in the comp. I'll put a few others up - Matty Fitzgerald from Gis, Kain Robbins, maybe even big Johnny Hardinge simply for his value to the way South perform. Then again looking back over these names I think I would still take Saunders every time
The little man
11 May 2007, 19:24
Hey boys as for the top 20 in todays addie theres a bloke at Kyneton named Tate who should be in top 10
davis 24
11 May 2007, 20:14
Hey boys as for the top 20 in todays addie theres a bloke at Kyneton named Tate who should be in top 10
cant agree with you anymore.... Great Call:thumbsu:
bearsboy
11 May 2007, 20:29
cant agree with you anymore.... Great Call:thumbsu:Top ten ? Turn it up !
Lets have a good look at him first, i heard he's a little light on in the brain department and easily put of his game if you get in his ear .
But in saying this apparently he does have some talent !
bearsboy
11 May 2007, 21:04
can ya post them up here please Bearsboy?? for those of us in a land far,far away but interested in the BFL it would be great to see who they have put in their top 20. cheers!I've got nothing else to do on a Friday night so here you go .
Adam Bourke and Luke West did a top 20 each which were pretty similiar but i'll put up Bourkey's cos its closer to what mine would be
1. Luke Saunders
2. Ty Zantuck
3. Kain Robbins
4. Matt Fitzgerald
5. Nathan Gilliland
6. Jason Griffin
7. Ian Martin
8. Matt O'Toole
9. Mark Fitzgerald
10. Brady Herdman
11. Ben Hynes
12. Seamus Young
13. Marty O'Reilly
14. Darren Farrugia
15. Wayne Mitrovic
16. Rod Sharp
17. Joel Malone
18. Luke Carter
19. Hamish Dahl
20. Guy Marshall
This bunch of blokes as an interleague team, could no doubt match it with the best of em !
The Talking Goat
11 May 2007, 22:11
Midget Little Man, tate has only played one game, so bit hard to squeeze in to top 20. from all reports, played a good first quarter last week against maryborough and then faded. goat out
The fatman
12 May 2007, 10:12
Odds for round 2
Kyneton $1.30
Flat $3.50
South $1.10
Mary $4.30
Square $1.70
Sandhurst $2.10
Gis $1.01
City $10.00
Eaglehawk $1.20
Castlemaine $3.90
kings i would like to have $100 on sandhurst castlemaine double both your outsiders. The rest should be pretty right. i think sandhurst with the extra game under the belt will give square a touch up 5 goals or more at this stage of the season. castlemaine for value
The fatman
12 May 2007, 10:23
I've got nothing else to do on a Friday night so here you go .
Adam Bourke and Luke West did a top 20 each which were pretty similiar but i'll put up Bourkey's cos its closer to what mine would be
1. Luke Saunders
2. Ty Zantuck
3. Kain Robbins
4. Matt Fitzgerald
5. Nathan Gilliland
6. Jason Griffin
7. Ian Martin
8. Matt O'Toole
9. Mark Fitzgerald
10. Brady Herdman
11. Ben Hynes
12. Seamus Young
13. Marty O'Reilly
14. Darren Farrugia
15. Wayne Mitrovic
16. Rod Sharp
17. Joel Malone
18. Luke Carter
19. Hamish Dahl
20. Guy Marshall
This bunch of blokes as an interleague team, could no doubt match it with the best of em !
bears 2 players i would put in would be Shane Davis did play for the vcfl and brett cook is argubaly the best ruckman in the comp.
Hope the boys at the addy do a top 20 at seasons end to see how things have changed maybe then the likes of Tate and that may have made a name for themselves and a few of the older blokes like jamie bond david nolte ty elliot may have showed age has not stopped them.
davey_magik
12 May 2007, 22:16
Anyone see Steven Reaper's goal for Kyneton today?
Beauty it was from the big man :D .
Zantuck I'll say was again a class above, the guy had no support from Flat though.
davis 24
13 May 2007, 08:33
Anyone see Steven Reaper's goal for Kyneton today?
Beauty it was from the big man :D .
Zantuck I'll say was again a class above, the guy had no support from Flat though.
Reapers Goal and cookys mark, were probably the best you will see in country footy for a long time.
After Cooks performance yesterday how was he not named in the top 20. He was outstanding.
The sloth
13 May 2007, 21:55
Odds for round 2
Kyneton $1.30
Flat $3.50
South $1.10
Mary $4.30
Square $1.70
Sandhurst $2.10
Gis $1.01
City $10.00
Eaglehawk $1.20
Castlemaine $3.90
Gee whiz KA i'd almost take $100 on the main.
Young side with heaps of run. I rate them as the sleepers of the comp.
As for the brough, Dex gave the boys a large spray after the flat game so he would be expecting a good win this week.
Sorry KA,
I know nothing about football. Not even close
b birmingham
13 May 2007, 22:02
The best players on the BFL website for the Gisborne v Castlemaine have been entered the wrong way round (both teams).
Luke Saunders best on by a mile followed by J.Duff-Tytler (b birmingham please take note).
Not a bad unit Castlemaine, had a real crack all day .
Fair enough bearsboy, i just wanted to see what the opinion of people like yourself who are "in" down there was in relation to the big fella. I certainly didn't mean to sound as though I was gunning for him, just an observation. I guess it's best to wait til the end of the year to see, one game doesn't make a season.
It certainly appears already that the top five will be the same again this year. The only change I can see is Sandhurst into top 3 for South, Square and Gissy to fight out for the all important top spot.
North City look like they've improved.:thumbsd: You might have to help me here Kings Army or Bearsboy, but surely last year they would have scored more than 1 goal on both occasions against Gisborne:confused: Good day for football too, no excuses, insipid team.
bearsboy
14 May 2007, 09:35
Fair enough bearsboy, i just wanted to see what the opinion of people like yourself who are "in" down there was in relation to the big fella. I certainly didn't mean to sound as though I was gunning for him, just an observation. I guess it's best to wait til the end of the year to see, one game doesn't make a season.
It certainly appears already that the top five will be the same again this year. The only change I can see is Sandhurst into top 3 for South, Square and Gissy to fight out for the all important top spot.
North City look like they've improved.:thumbsd: You might have to help me here Kings Army or Bearsboy, but surely last year they would have scored more than 1 goal on both occasions against Gisborne:confused: Good day for football too, no excuses, insipid team.In todays addy it says Gisborne has out scored Nth City
98.65 (653) to 16.15 (111) in the 3 games in which they have played so far.
Believe it or not they actually had a real crack for probably 2 quarters, just a very undisciplined side and it didnt take to long for them to be fighting amongst themselves . It doesnt help when your bench starts giving away 50's for getting stuck into the umpires either.
I also noticed big "Duff" snuck in the best again with 5 goals !:thumbsu:
as i see it
14 May 2007, 09:39
Top ten ? Turn it up !
Lets have a good look at him first, i heard he's a little light on in the brain department and easily put of his game if you get in his ear .
But in saying this apparently he does have some talent !
I agree lets have a bit of a look at him first, was at the flat-kyneton game Tate tore flat apart, kicked 3 goals in the first 10 minutes then was hit after he got rid of the ball had to get stretched off, Looked as though was in a fair bit of trouble.
pentium1111
14 May 2007, 14:05
Bears, this Tate is worth having a look at.
Saw his first 10 minutes at Kyneton and have never seen a bloke have more impact in 10 minutes of footy - Luke Saunders included.
Not to say he is better than Saunders but the 10 minutes he played before getting knocked out with a cheap shot was some of the most spectacular stuff I have seen. Great goal kicking, awesome marking - I want to see a bit more of him but if he gets going he'll be a real handful for opposition teams.
His knock out stated a fair blue on the outer flank aswell.
davis 24
15 May 2007, 08:43
Bears, this Tate is worth having a look at.
Saw his first 10 minutes at Kyneton and have never seen a bloke have more impact in 10 minutes of footy - Luke Saunders included.
Not to say he is better than Saunders but the 10 minutes he played before getting knocked out with a cheap shot was some of the most spectacular stuff I have seen. Great goal kicking, awesome marking - I want to see a bit more of him but if he gets going he'll be a real handful for opposition teams.
His knock out stated a fair blue on the outer flank aswell.
Tates First 10 minutes were outstanding. I have not seen 1 player dominate a first 10 minutes more than what Tate did on saturday. Kangaroo Flat can thank the guy that cheap shoted him. Becasue the way he was playing, if he played the whole game Kyneton could well have won by over 25 goals.
bearsboy
15 May 2007, 09:11
Tates First 10 minutes were outstanding. I have not seen 1 player dominate a first 10 minutes more than what Tate did on saturday. Kangaroo Flat can thank the guy that cheap shoted him. Becasue the way he was playing, if he played the whole game Kyneton could well have won by over 25 goals.Like i said, apparently he's a gun but lets remember Kangaroo Flat have won something like 3 games in 4 years so his opposition wasnt great. He'll need to stand up and kick bags against top 4 sides, which he may well do, only time will tell.
Was the hit the same incident that Marty Warry was reported for ?
davis 24
15 May 2007, 10:22
Like i said, apparently he's a gun but lets remember Kangaroo Flat have won something like 3 games in 4 years so his opposition wasnt great. He'll need to stand up and kick bags against top 4 sides, which he may well do, only time will tell.
Was the hit the same incident that Marty Warry was reported for ?
Nope Marty Warry was reported for striking Dean Funston. After getting a mouthful from the Tigers supporters. Warry waved to the kyneton crowd while walking off the ground, . Do people think he is over rated...
donwooganowski
15 May 2007, 12:28
hey there fellow big footy posters,
cameron tate did have a fair impact on the game in the first 10 against us roo boys on the weekend however he was hit with a nice clean cheap unclean shot early on which got him good. whilst i was playing, i also got the chance to pop down to inglewood at three quarter time, amazing feeling to see them get up. marty warry isnt over-rated, he has bought more to the club than AFL experience, he also bought some serious sex appeal.
zakster
15 May 2007, 14:16
how many heads down the dunny at the windy, donnie ??
zero/zilch/no/naught/not one win from 3 outings so far
looked ok at castlemaine early on in the anzac day game
since then, v. ordinary
and m. warry sexy ?? u have got to be jesting the blokes a big roly-poly meatball
tom nixon
15 May 2007, 16:18
bearsboy or KA there is always talk over the gisborne stars like saunders, davis fitzgerald, sharp and the rest who made the top 20. who are the young up and coming jets. will they be as good as these blokes or will gisborne slowly fade away?
davis 24
15 May 2007, 18:00
cameron tate did have a fair impact on the game in the first 10 against us roo boys on the weekend however he was hit with a nice clean cheap unclean shot early on which got him good. whilst i was playing, i also got the chance to pop down to inglewood at three quarter time, amazing feeling to see them get up. marty warry isnt over-rated, he has bought more to the club than AFL experience, he also bought some serious sex appeal.
Clean shot are u kidding it was a late hit which took a fantastic player out of the game. Marty Warry did nothing except get sent off. Is Drew Wight, Cameron Wights brother from Western Bulldogs.
The Talking Goat
15 May 2007, 18:16
Reapers Goal and cookys mark, were probably the best you will see in country footy for a long time.
After Cooks performance yesterday how was he not named in the top 20. He was outstanding.
Cook was named in my top 20, as was shane davis. goat out
thatswhatimtalkinabout
15 May 2007, 18:23
Cook was named in my top 20, as was shane davis. goat out
Hi Goat, just wondering where Reaper sits, ie: Top 30, 40, 50, etc.
as i see it
15 May 2007, 18:38
Whoever the flat player was (No name player) is probably lucky he hit Tate properly cos apparently he has a real go too, and hes not the smallest bloke on the field, especially when you have Eve too.
Jock Clark 2
15 May 2007, 20:54
Correct, Davis. Of the Wight brothers I have a feeling Cameron might be the superior player, though, in terms of skill and endurance.
Did you know Trent Zantuck is going to be missing from the K Flat line-up for Rounds 4 and 5. Business commitments in Melbourne.
davis 24
15 May 2007, 22:34
Hi Goat, just wondering where Reaper sits, ie: Top 30, 40, 50, etc.
Reaper along with Ty Zantuck are the two best full forwards in the league by a mile. If Kyneton get the ball into Reaper and he keeps away from injury i would be very suprized if he does not kick at least 85 goals maybe 100 if the tigers make finals
thatswhatimtalkinabout
16 May 2007, 01:35
Reaper along with Ty Zantuck are the two best full forwards in the league by a mile. If Kyneton get the ball into Reaper and he keeps away from injury i would be very suprized if he does not kick at least 85 goals maybe 100 if the tigers make finals
My thoughts exactly Davis, and I don't need to pump up the big fella's overinflated tyres anymore than they could possibly be, but I would have had in at least best 25.
The fatman
16 May 2007, 05:09
My thoughts exactly Davis, and I don't need to pump up the big fella's overinflated tyres anymore than they could possibly be, but I would have had in at least best 25.
:) Can anyone around beat the big fella a B and F cricket club champion golf club champion and a table tennis tittle at the age of 12 in the town. Now his tyres are pumped up. Top 20 for sure win more games than half the players on list no disrespect to any. May have to open up his own thread.
fifth quarter
16 May 2007, 23:01
you fellers know about all the changes to the bfl's Round 3
1/. castlemaine v north city is now at the camp reserve, scrub austar arena, still saturday though
2/. flat v south will now be played at c'bury park out at the burra, scrub dower park, but still saturday
3/. hurst v gissie is still at the q, but pencil in sunday for this one, NOT sat.
thats changes to 60 per cent of round 3's matchdays
monster mash
17 May 2007, 11:58
:) Can anyone around beat the big fella a B and F cricket club champion golf club champion and a table tennis tittle at the age of 12 in the town. Now his tyres are pumped up. Top 20 for sure win more games than half the players on list no disrespect to any. May have to open up his own thread.
Fat Man you are obviously a big fan of the Reaper boy, uderstandably, he can play........
He is odds on fav to win the goal kicking for the comp this year.
woof woof
17 May 2007, 16:57
The Tyntynder F.C in the Central Murray Football League (previously Mid Murray Football League) is having a reunion this weekend 18th, 19th & 20th of May at their clubrooms in Swan Hill. We will be acknowleging the premiership sides of the mid 80's but any player, supporter etc is welcome to attend this great weekend. If you would like more info you can contact keg18wilson@hotmail.com or ring the clubrooms on 03 50322974
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
18 May 2007, 10:27
Tyntynder?? This is the Bendigo FL thread WOOF WOOF....
Speaking of which, tips this week: Round 3 BFL 19 May
KFlat v South - South in an easy one. I've said it once and I'll say it again, why does JRombot insist on playing Ty Z @ FF when they struggle to win games? Should be smashing them in the centre. p.s. After Eaglehawk game, Ty Z walked straight off the ground, did not shake hands with anyone (not even his teammates) and went straight home. Word is he's not happy @ Flat.
Mary v GSquare - Square loves the small grounds - to win by 40 points
Cast v North - Ian Martin will set up the witches hats and the boys can do a few drills with Northies to be the tackling bags. Pies to win by 60+
Kyn v E/Hawk - Closer game than most would believe - E/hawk by 20pts
Sandhurst v Gis - Should be a good game to watch,tough one for Dragons, Gisborne by 20pts
Kings Army
18 May 2007, 16:22
Late with the Odds but here they are.
Will all the Fav's getting up last week the bookies are very happy!
Flat $100
South $1.01
Mary $3.30
Square $1.20
Sandhurst $2.00
Gissy $1.70
Nth City $6.00
Castlemaine $1.10
Kyneton $2.90
Eaglehawk $1.40
Gis V Sandurst game of the round. Looking forward to the stats in this one!
Norfolk & Clew
18 May 2007, 16:36
Flat $100
South $1.01
Mary $3.30
Square $1.20
Sandhurst $2.00
Gissy $1.70
Nth City $6.00
Castlemaine $1.10
Kyneton $2.90
Eaglehawk $1.40
I'll put $200 on Gisborne beating the slagheads at those juicy odds.
Truth Hurts
18 May 2007, 16:41
Flat $100
South $1.01
Mary $3.30
Square $1.20
Sandhurst $2.00
Gissy $1.70
Nth City $6.00
Castlemaine $1.10
Kyneton $2.90
Eaglehawk $1.40
Wouldn't the bookies be unhappy with the favs getting up?
Kings Army
18 May 2007, 16:50
Wouldn't the bookies be unhappy with the favs getting up?
Sorry Truth - the only bets I took were for the underdogs!
Truth Hurts
18 May 2007, 17:06
Sorry Truth - the only bets I took were for the underdogs!
Fair enough.... How are the boys going to go against the slags?
Kings Army
18 May 2007, 17:29
Fair enough.... How are the boys going to go against the slags?
Really looking forward to Sunday. Not sure what shape the QEO will be in as I heard the Bendigo races were washed out today. Gissy go well in the wet as no players lift their eyes when after the ball. But Sandhurst have improved alot. Could go down to the wire.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
18 May 2007, 18:03
I had a look at the QEO about an hour ago - it looks healthy (except for a few gritty patches at CHF and in the centre). The ground soaked up the 35mm of rain in a flash.
Expect Dragons to come out hard. I heard they were really focussed this week after last weeks disappointment. Still think Gisborne will win, but a close one.
zakster
18 May 2007, 22:02
sir kenny noisebone --- u r right about ty zantuck
darty said as much on radio the wed. b4 last when he mentioned the 2 zantucks were not happy at the flat a supporter must have rang romby becoz 10 mins later romby came on the line and disputed dartys comments
now u have seen trent z. is not playing sat. vs south plus its well known he wont be there next week vs square and the week after vs gissie
:confused: :confused: things mite start unravelling out at dower park perhaps :confused:
blackbeard
19 May 2007, 01:10
That you colby??
bearsboy
19 May 2007, 19:47
Caveman, Please explain !!!
Massina, likewise !!!
Supporters, Sponsors, actually all involved with these 2 clubs must be gutted .
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
19 May 2007, 22:45
Looks like I got all my tips right - Kangaroo Flat are gone with Zantuck to jump ship and put in a clearance before June 30 deadline to Airport West FC.:thumbsd:
Golden Square must have been tired from last week after scrapping in over M/B by 40 points:D
Kyneton are PAPER TIGERS!!:p
Heard that things down Kyneton way, everyone is very unhappy. With Reaps looking to jump ship and go back to Gissie
cats2rise
20 May 2007, 20:58
Heard that things down Kyneton way, everyone is very unhappy. With Reaps looking to jump ship and go back to Gissie
Anyone see his snap goal from the boundary 2 weeks ago? Nuts!
davis 24
20 May 2007, 21:01
What aload of crap.....
Reaps is not going back to Gissie people are only not happy because of the way they are playing... They know this year they have a top 5 team but there just not performing..
crybaby
20 May 2007, 21:18
What aload of crap.....
Reaps is not going back to Gissie people are only not happy because of the way they are playing... They know this year they have a top 5 team but there just not performing..
from wat it sounded like kyneton got a towln yesty.. no oneda reaps wants to go.
Jock Clark 2
20 May 2007, 21:22
BearsBoy, K Army and other Gis. supporters --- great fighting win Sunday over a very committed Sandhurst outfit.
In a low-scoring affair (but not as pathetic as Hawthorn v Sainters Sat nite AFL) Dragons led by 2 goals at the half.
Gis. booted 3.5 to one goal in the third term during which the power to the QEO went out. Then hung on in the last to win by 7 points.
CHF Richard White (3 goals) was good, Luke Saunders (1.6 for the day) was well held by Cornish and the man who dragged Gis. back into the game was Matty Fitzgerald.
Gis 2.6 5.10 8.15 9.18 (72)
Hurst 4.2 8.4 9.4 10.5 (65)
crybaby
20 May 2007, 21:26
wot do we all think bout interleague game???? DONT KNOW BOUT WORRYIN BOUT THE OVER AGE PLAYERS. SHOULD JUST KEEP IT AT UNDER 23
crybaby
20 May 2007, 21:28
BearsBoy, K Army and other Gis. supporters --- great fighting win Sunday over a very committed Sandhurst outfit.
In a low-scoring affair (but not as pathetic as Hawthorn v Sainters Sat nite AFL) Dragons led by 2 goals at the half.
Gis. booted 3.5 to one goal in the third term during which the power to the QEO went out. Then hung on in the last to win by 7 points.
CHF Richard White (3 goals) was good, Luke Saunders (1.6 for the day) was well held by Cornish and the man who dragged Gis. back into the game was Matty Fitzgerald.
WOT BOUT RUN DOWN OF OTHER GAMES JOCK???
thatswhatimtalkinabout
21 May 2007, 00:09
Well you can't have it both ways, one Gissy poster said that Bundy was only playing at Kyneton because he saved 20% of the cost of buiding his house in Kyneton. No passion for footy apparently.
You are saying that he is a weak **** that wants to go back to Gisborne because he has passion for footy apparently.
Make your minds up!
Kings Army
21 May 2007, 10:00
Sandhurst were very good. They have a good mix of midfielders and some good forwards who can take a mark. Sandhurst kicking with the wind in the last and only 5 points down were a huge chance. Fitzy and Ollie were great all day.
My highlight came after the game getting to shake the hoof of the great man - The Talking Goat!!
Kings Army
21 May 2007, 10:15
This year is mirroring last with Gis, GS, South, Sandhurst and Eaglehawk clearly the best 5 sides. Kyneton, Flat, and City are all terrible and Mary and Castlemaine are somehwere in the middle.
zakster
21 May 2007, 17:07
interleag idea a grate concept crybaby
for my 5 over 23s in the side i will go for saunders matt fitzie griffin borchard and gilly, the last 2 from shurst
be terrfic to c a full 4 quartr interleag game specially agst ballarat
Heard that things down Kyneton way, everyone is very unhappy. With Reaps looking to jump ship and go back to Gissiebig problems at kyneton ive heard (from a current player)a lot of unrest in the camp
interleag idea a grate concept crybaby
for my 5 over 23s in the side i will go for saunders matt fitzie griffin borchard and gilly, the last 2 from shurst
be terrfic to c a full 4 quartr interleag game specially agst ballarat
I think gilly might part of the u/23 squad
The Talking Goat
21 May 2007, 22:03
Sandhurst were very good. They have a good mix of midfielders and some good forwards who can take a mark. Sandhurst kicking with the wind in the last and only 5 points down were a huge chance. Fitzy and Ollie were great all day.
My highlight came after the game getting to shake the hoof of the great man - The Talking Goat!!
Pleasure was all my mine kingy. pity your old sidekick bearman couldn't come out of his cave. we could have had a big footy conference after the game. pretty impressed with those new qeo changerooms. good game yesty. much better effort by sandhurst. they will be ok. gisborne should have won by 5 goals if not for bad kicking. goat out
bearsboy
22 May 2007, 09:26
Pleasure was all my mine kingy. pity your old sidekick bearman couldn't come out of his cave. we could have had a big footy conference after the game. pretty impressed with those new qeo changerooms. good game yesty. much better effort by sandhurst. they will be ok. gisborne should have won by 5 goals if not for bad kicking. goat outI did see you getting around goat, but the bear is a busy man on game day .
Your spot on about the new rooms, sensational !
Goat, what did you think of Vigus' game ? Stewie Hamilton well and truly pulled his pants down (kept him to single figures) but Sandhurst still had him in their best.
Kings Army
22 May 2007, 10:37
I did see you getting around goat, but the bear is a busy man on game day .
Your spot on about the new rooms, sensational !
Goat, what did you think of Vigus' game ? Stewie Hamilton well and truly pulled his pants down (kept him to single figures) but Sandhurst still had him in their best.
Rubbish BB - I have not seen you that nervous to chat to the goat since you asked Leigh Matthews for an autograph and he knocked you back.
Kings Army
22 May 2007, 15:02
This weeks game look to be very one sided except for the Maine V Sandhurst.
Sqaure, Gisborne, Eaglehawk and South Bendigo are all $1.01 - you can write your own ticket for the teams they are playing up to 5 million to one.
Maine $2.30
Sandhurst $1.60